Friday, September 30, 2016

Reviewing the Book, Hide in Time by Anna Faversham

Review and recommendation of the book, Hide in Time by Anna Faversham.  A riveting book that includes time travel, romance, and a very unique twist for doppelgangers exchanging places in time.
I have just finished reading the book "Hide in Time" by Anna Faversham and I can easily recommend it to anyone.  To be completely honest, I was actually surprised by how much I really liked this book.  I am not a fan of time travel books, mostly because I don't believe time travel is possible.  But, like any really good fiction is apt to do, this book caused me to "suspend reality" and embrace the plot.

Because I don't often read time travel books, the beginning was a little confusing to me, but after the first few pages, I got it!  Once the author smoothly lead me by the hand through a wall that separates the 1800's to the twenty-first century, I was hooked.  I needed to see what would happen to Laura who found herself lost in a world that was 200 years beyond her life.  

Because we can study history, I think it would be easier to go back in time, but imagine what it would be like to be cast into the world 200 years into the future.


The Book, Hide in Time by Anna Faversham 

Synopsis Written by Cynthia Sylvestermouse

 Hide in TimeCheck PriceAfter discovering her fiancé had been unfaithful, Laura boarded a ship to America.  She wanted to get as far away from him as possible.  She wanted a new start.  She meant to be traveling to a new world, but she had no way of knowing she would actually be traveling to a different place in time.  She knew she wouldn't know anyone in America, but she didn't expect to be clueless about fashion, jargon, idioms, and a more informal way of living.  

The shipwreck she survived changed her life forever.  When she washed up on shore, the land was the familiar, but everything else had changed.  It was to her great fortune, that Matt Redfern, the first person to actually speak to her, was always willing to help the helpless.  Since she had no memory of who she was or where she was from, he helped her get medical attention.  When she still could no "find her past", he helped her establish a new life and guided her in starting her own business.  

Five years after Laura was tossed into the future, she had found her footing there.  She was thriving, actually living.  Although she had regrets, she was content.  During the past 5 years, Laura investigated the area of her arrival and discovered the secret of time travel.  She also discovered that she was invisible when she returned to the past and it was clear her future belonged in the future.  Then she met Xandra.  

She saw so much of herself in Xandra.  They had so many things in common, even looks.  She felt she had actually found someone who would be a real friend.  Someone who could understand her unique ways and would like her because of them.  Laura hoped Xandra could be the sister she had never had, or at least believed she had never had.   However, when Xandra found herself on a murderer's hit list, she needed a safe haven and Laura had the answer.  She sent Xandra back in time.

As this point the book is divided in chapters where the reader is following two stories.  Laura in the future and Xandra in the past.  A truly fascinating exchange of lives.  It was a very interesting twist to doppelgangers trading places and I really, really liked it a lot.  So much so, I plan to read it again!  I feel like I may have missed some hidden nuggets in the story.


My Recommendation of the Book, "Hide in Time"


When I think about it carefully, I know there were several reasons why I really liked this book and why I would highly recommend it to anyone.

First, it shows us that we can completely change the course of our own lives when needed and find happiness in a new place.  It might take some time to readjust, but we can survive and adapt to new surroundings and people.

Second, it highlights how people are basically the same today as they were hundreds of years ago.   Evil still abounds and good people still exist to maintain the balance that is our world.

And, last but by no means least, I like the concept about time travel in "Hide in Time".  You can't go back!  Once you have crossed into a different place in time, you can't return and just pick up where you left off.  Yes, Laura returns, but she cannot be seen.  She can whisper to the living and they hear her, but they believe she is what most of us would think of as a "ghost".  

As I said at the beginning of this article, I don't believe in time travel, but if there were such a thing, it would have to be in a way that everyone traveling in time couldn't constantly be changing the future by visiting the past, literally. 


More Books By Anna Faversham

Now that I have discovered the author, Anna Faversham, I will be reading more of her books!
 


Read More Book Reviews On ReviewThisBooks.com



Book Review of "Hide in Time" Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse


Thursday, September 29, 2016

Halloween Countdown Calendar Reviews

A countdown calendar will help put the "How many days 'til Halloween?" question to rest. Here are three Halloween countdown calendars that you can make yourself.

October is a long month and with Halloween coming at the very end, it can seem like forever to a child who can't wait to wear his new costume and go trick or treating around the neighborhood.

A Halloween countdown calendar will help put the "How many days 'til Halloween?" question to rest. Here are three easy Halloween countdown calendars that you can make yourself.

Downloadable Halloween Countdown Calendar | ReviewThisReviews.com | AbilityPoweredDesign on Etsy
AbilityPoweredDesign on Etsy

Downloadable Halloween Countdown Calendar


Since I'm sure I'm not the only one who puts off projects until the last minute, I'm going to start with this one. It's super-quick and easy to make for as little as three dollars if you have a spare picture frame on hand.

Simply purchase this Halloween Countdown Calendar download, print it out immediately, put it in an 8 x 10-inch frame and you're ready to start counting down the days 'til Halloween. Each day, use a dry erase marker (available at the link or at your local discount store) to write the number on the glass. Next day, wipe off the number and update. Hooray, you're one day closer to trick-or-treat!

I've personally purchased many downloadable files from Etsy and just love the ease and convenience. This is a great project, simple and fun. I think this would make a cute gift for a teacher, neighbor, relative, or friend, too. Choose a pretty black, orange, or gold frame, include a new marker with the gift, and voila! I know I'd be impressed if someone made one of these for me. Oh, and if you like the idea but would prefer another design, you'll find many more choices in AbilityPoweredDesign's Etsy store.


No Tricks! Halloween Countdown Calendar With Treats


No Tricks! Halloween Countdown Calendar With Treats | ReviewThisReviews.com | OhHappyDay.com
OhHappyDay.com
This next project is from the Oh Happy Day blog and I think it's adorable. It takes more time to make, but it's actually quite simple, the supplies are easy to find, and the end result is quite impressive and makes a beautiful, seasonal display. What's more, you'll be able to add little candies or stickers to the adorable cupcake-cup witch's hats to add even more fun each morning when your child counts down one more day.

Chiara, who wrote the post, includes complete directions and awesome photos to help make this project really easy. I hope you'll leave a comment on her blog if you like this project.









DIY Halloween Countdown Calendar With Printable Numbers



DIY Halloween Countdown Calendar With Printable Numbers | ReviewThisReviews.com | DIY Network
DIYNetwork Blog
Next we have a Halloween countdown calendar project from the DIY Network blog. This is another countdown calendar that will take a bit of time to put together, but it's a simple craft that even a beginner can handle.

I love the popular chevron-patterned gift bags and the printable letters and numbers, all in seasonal black, orange, and white. (Note: I can see this project being carried over to other holidays, using other colors, can't you? Love it!)

The project calls for either a bulletin board, as shown, or a foam board. The supplies are inexpensive, the instructions are complete, and the final product is adorable.







So there you have it, three easy DIY Halloween Countdown Calendar projects. I hope one or all appeal to you. Which one do you like best? If you make and use one of these, I'd love it you come back to let me know. Have a happy Halloween!

~Susan

Click Here to Read More Halloween Reviews From Our Review This! Team



Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Review This: What are the 10 Most Wanted Halloween Treats

We all know it's coming and we all know that we will enjoy the evening!

What's coming? Why, the most important night of all nights, for anyone who is under 14 years of age!

 These pictures belongs to me, please ask if you want to share them elsewhere!


Let me give you a hint! Kids have been thinking about it since school started. They have changed their minds a dozen or more times. They are driving their parents crazy with outrageous costume ideas!  

  Why it's Halloween of course!

These pictures belongs to me, please ask if you want to share them elsewhere!
                               


So once the costume question has been settled, what's the next most important part of the Halloween festivities?


If you guessed the treats, you would be right! Did you know that there are Treats that are Favored by the youngsters? They will seek you out if you happen to be shelling out their favorites!  You will get the biggest thanks from all the little Goblins and Witches for miles around.



So What are these 10 Favorites, you might ask! Let me enlighten you and make all the kids in your neighborhood really happy!


Starting with the Best and Most Wanted!

  1. Butterfingers/Starbursts
  2. Milky Way Bars
  3. Twix Bars
  4. Skittles
  5. Milk Duds
  6. Snickers
  7. Reeses Pieces
  8. Tootsie Rolls/Tootsie Pops
  9. Kit Kat Bars/Nerds
  10. Sour Patch Kids

All of these are readily available, so if you are going to buy treats, they might as well be something the kids are really going to enjoy. (If there are any left overs, you just might enjoy them too!)

Now for every 10 that the Kids really want to have, there must also be 10 that they really don't want to have!


So here the list that will prove a waste of money in the eyes of all the Hobo's, Captain Americas, Princesses and their ilk!

  1. Toothbrushes
  2. Apples
  3. Orange taffy pieces
  4. Candy rings
  5. Good and Plenty
  6. Jaw breakers
  7. Dubble Bubble gum
  8. Chocolate coins
  9. Necco wafers
  10. Candy corn
Halloween time is a great holiday for everyone to let their inner child out to play for a while. You know you will be spending money on candy for the kids, so you might as well get them something that they will enjoy.

Just don't buy your candy too early because you know that you will have to do some quality control on just how fresh these Candies are and that will not be good for you or the kids in your neighborhood!

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Reviewing A Crochet Pumpkin Pattern

Crochet your own pumpkin for Fall

crochet pumpkin
Crocheted Pumpkins
As I write this review of a fun crochet pumpkin pattern, we are officially into the fall season here in my neck of the woods. I found this pattern last year about this time and decided having some decorations that I made myself would be a fun way to celebrate autumn in my dining room. 

The advantage to crocheting a pumpkin is that it works for fall, Halloween and even into Thanksgiving. As you can see by the photo at the left, I have the crochet pumpkins that I made last year in a display with real pumpkins and a few acorns. For right now, the display is for Halloween. Once we move into November, I will take out the real pumpkins and add some dried corn, maybe a gourd and some pine cones from my back yard. The small amount of time that I invested into making the large pumpkin and the small one has turned out to serve me well for decorating for more than one holiday. 

I found the crochet pumpkin pattern on The Crochet Crowd website, last year. I often go to this site when I am looking for something fun to crochet either for myself or for gifts. Mikey, the owner of the site, often offers a tutorial with the patterns that he showcases and I find them very easy to follow. The video below was really easy to follow!

Video Tutorial For Crocheting A Large Pumpkin






The pattern was really easy to follow, especially after having watched Mikey in the tutorial video. I find that the videos are so handy because I can start and stop them as I progress through the crochet pattern.

You can pick the color of orange that you want for your crocheted pumpkin at your local craft store or online. You will need some brown for the stem (I used some scrap brown) and just a tiny bit of green for the curly little leaf. You will also need some stuffing for the inside. One thing that I found was that you do not want to be frugal with the stuffing. Put plenty of it inside your pumpkin or you might find that your finished crochet pumpkin is flat looking.

If you like to crochet and make decorative items for your home, you will enjoy making this pumpkin in the large size or any size for that matter. Mikey provides a video for large, medium and small. I love that my cute pumpkins don't have to be carved, won't turn bad and they are easily stored away until next fall when I am ready to use them again.

Monday, September 26, 2016

IKEA Poang Chair Review

IKEA Poang Chair (photo: Amazon)
Over the past many years, the IKEA Poang chair has been a favorite in my home. If you have not heard of the IKEA store or the Poang chair, you must check them both out. In this review I will describe my experience with this stylish, comfortable, easy-to-move, and space-saving chair.


IKEA Poang Armchair: Comfort and Style


My Poang is approaching 10 years of age. I purchased it when I relocated to the east coast and had an entire apartment to furnish. I had never heard of an IKEA store. But during my first visit to the store, and my first sit in the chair, I purchased a Poang without a second thought.  My plan was to use this lightweight chair until I settled in and bought a substantial (and expensive) chair - such as an upholstered recliner.  

I love my Poang so much that I haven't given a recliner a second thought. I have changed the cushions on my chair once.  I replaced the white cotton canvas (what was I thinking?  I had a dog!) cushion with a red leather cushion. I must say that the white canvas did last longer than they should have - and were machine washable. But after time, I thought the leather would be easier.

My chair is perfect for watching television, reading, and blogging from my laptop.  In fact, I'm writing this now from the comfort of my chair. The bentwood frame allows some rocking motion - which I love.  The curve of the chair back and the head cushion support my back, neck, and head in a way that is so comfortable that I can easily doze off in this chair. 


Poang support and cushion (photo: Amazon)



Why Choose a Poang Series Chair?


  • stylish - comes in a variety of colors
  • comfortable - curved back and cushioned head rest perfect for relaxing
  • sturdy - despite it's light weight, it is very strong and sturdy - listed as being able to hold up to 375 lbs.
  • the cotton canvas cushions are washable and the leather cushions wipe clean
  • placed in a grouping, multiple chairs would be a perfect conversation area
  • small enough to place in a reading nook, bedroom area, or other small area
  • lightweight - extremely easy to move to other areas of the home or to a new home
  • not quite a rocking chair, but perfect for rocking a baby, or yourself, to sleep
  • whether you live in a large or small square footage home a Poang would fit nicely
One or two online reviews state that if you are an older person the chair is difficult to get up and out of. Thus far, I am not finding that to be true. Nor have my older guests had trouble getting out of the chair. Also, I am no skinny-minny and I never feel that this chair is going to break or tip over.

One word of caution:  I did not find this level of sturdiness to be true for the separate footrest. I once sat on the footrest and the bottom popped out - suddenly depositing me to the floor. 

In my home, my chair is so popular that it isn't easy to get a chance to sit in it. "Move your feet, lose your seat" is the rule here when it comes to sharing our IKEA Poang armchair.

Mittens thinks this is her chair

Read decor articles on Review This! and more product reviews on ReviewThisProducts.com




Sunday, September 25, 2016

Reviewing Orange and Black for Halloween and How it Affects Feng Shui

A Good Choice for Halloween & Beyond 
A Water Feature (Via Amazon)
Surround it with Pumpkins

Are you worried that adding more orange and black than usual will upset the Feng Shui you've worked hard to create in your home?

If so, don't worry, it's all good.

What matters is a healthy balance of the five basic elements of Feng Shui.

These five elements are Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water. 

For the purpose of this article, we'll just cover the colors Black and Orange and how you can easily integrate Halloween Decor into your home without the worry of affecting your home's 'balance' (Chi) - meaning, it's good energy.

Orange (A Fire Element Color) - The Social Color

Orange is the color of social activity and conversation. In fact orange is an excellent paint color choice for the kitchen for that very reason.

Kitchens are typically the gathering place for people to converse, so adding orange to your kitchen simply aids in encouraging communication. You can do this by adding items with Halloween or Fall Colors to the space; center pieces, window stickers, and pumpkins.
Bagua Map Created by Funkthishouse.com

However, orange pumpkins usually end up in our foyer or front step. That's a good thing; as you can see by the Feng Shui Bagua Map attached, the Foyer or front entrance area is usually the center part of our home, where we focus on bringing in good fortune.

Adding earth elements such as pumpkins to the hallway or entrance area will merely enhance the balance needed to encourage a little more good fortune.

Black (A Water Element Color) - The Flow of Chi (Good Energy) in Your Home/Life

Black is a huge part of Halloween Decor and like orange, tends to be focused in the Foyer, Front Yard or Entrance Way.

With Black being a Water Element, it represents the flow of energy up and into your home. However, during the Halloween Season we tend to put out some funky freaky items and that's ok too - these items are temporary and relate to fun, so enjoy the night!

However, if you want to keep some standard Feng Shui rules in place even with your Halloween Decor, add black colored elements that are 'flowing'.

A good choice is a rug for the front step that has a wavy element to it, or is round. You could add a round Halloween Rug with Black and Orange in it.

Other items you can add to your front door area are; A black framed mirror (works for Halloween), black metal pots (fill them with Halloween Decor - like a witches brew, straw, a Halloween head prop, yikes! or just a simple fall plant).

An actual water feature in your front yard or entry way is the ideal water element. Decorate it for Halloween, then remove the Halloween Decor from the water feature, and you'll have a basic Feng Shui piece all year 'round to aid in encouraging abundance and success into your life.

So remember the basics: Your front door and entry way are where the flow of Chi enters your home and Water Elements and dark colors such as black can work well.

Conversation, good energy and social connection is brought out with Orange, so place it in your home where you want this part of your life improved - and that certainly is the Front Door when those little Trick or Treaters show up for their candy.

Trick or Treat!




Saturday, September 24, 2016

Planning a Halloween Party


Halloween Witch, GraphicStock.com

Halloween Party Planning Reviewed


Any good party requires some planning and a Halloween party is no different. So it's time to review getting your plans together for a good Halloween party. There are basics that we all need to think about. When is the party? Who are we inviting? What will they eat and drink? Along with other things. That's what we'll go through here. The things to consider for Halloween party planning.

Halloween Party Preparation


As with any party, preparation is key to helping you have a great celebration and getting to enjoy it yourself. And the preparation needs some planning. Get started early so that you have plenty of time to order the fun home decorating items, buffet decor and specialty goodies.

Look at your planning list and make sure you're timing gives you enough time to get everything done.
  • Plan the date, time, location and theme if you want one, like All Spiders or Zombie Invasion..
  • Decide on the guest list.
  • Order the Halloween party invitations - remember to include special notes about theme, costumes and food where needed to prepare your guests.
  • Plan the menu, buffet or table decorations and what extras you need to make creepy or ghoulish treats (like dry ice for a punch or brain molds for food fun.).
  • Determine what home decorations you want. This may include your front porch or yard for welcoming your Halloween party guests. 
  • Make absolutely sure you plan in time for you to enjoy the party. You don't want to be cooking while everyone else is having fun. 
  • If you have kids included in your party, remember to plan Halloween games and activities for them.

Halloween Bathroom Decor for the Party


Decorating the bathroom your guests will use is a big part of the fun. It sure is for me and I've got some great ideas for you.
  • Start with a funny skeleton door cover. Let your guests know immediately where the bathroom is located with the perfect addition.
  • Add a ghoulish toilet topper. These are clings that can complement your theme, or just be another way to decorate for your Halloween party. 
  • Then finish off with a set of Halloween hand towels. Make sure your guests are fully immersed in the fun of your party. 

Halloween Party Planning Review


Get your Halloween party planning ready. This way you won't find yourself scrambling for what you need or settling for something not nearly as good. Party planning is the key to a great and fun Halloween celebration.  And be sure to check out my Halloween Haven - Website Review for more tips and suggestions for your own Halloween party.

Friday, September 23, 2016

How to Create a Beautiful Fall Harvest Display for Your Yard or Porch

Reviewing Outdoor Fall Displays

Learn how to create a beautiful fall harvest display in yards or porch, capture the brilliance of flowers and combine it with the great harvest fest. As the weather starts to cool down and the leaves start to change colors, everything appears to be gradually preparing for a long winter's sleep.  While the fall colors are beautiful, our yards don't seem quite as vibrant and colorful as they have been.  We desire a way to hold on to the beautiful summer flowers and green lawns, but to still embrace the gorgeous fall changes.  Some of us have found the perfect solution.  

It isn't time to really start decorating for Halloween, but we can start decorating our yards for fall in a way that will compliment the Halloween decor when it is time.  Plus, thanks to the milder weather, we can leave these fall displays intact until Thanksgiving.  By creating a beautiful fall harvest display in our yards or on our porch, we capture the brilliance of flowers and combine it with the great harvest fest.  Some of the vegetables or flowers may have to be replaced over the course of the next few months, but the backdrops and foundations can easily remain.

Start by choosing a beautiful setting in front of a tree with the dramatic fall color leaves, like a maple tree.  Or, build your display on your front porch where it will be better protected from weather.

Here are Some Ideas for Creating a
Beautiful Fall Harvest Display for your Yard or Porch


Learn how to create a beautiful fall harvest display in yards or porch, capture the brilliance of flowers and combine it with the great harvest fest.


Foundations for a Fall Harvest Display


As with any creation, a strong, firm foundation will ensure the longevity of your fall yard display.   There are a variety of of items that are easy to obtain, or perhaps that you already have on hand, that make the perfect display base or foundation.

Decorative Hay Bales

20 in. and 32 in. PVC Hay Bale Set - Reusable hay bales

  1. Hay Bales
  2. Wooden Benches
  3. Wagons
  4. Wooden Crates
  5. Wheel Barrow 
  6. Wicker Baskets
  7. Wooden Baskets

Note:  The featured hay bales are PVC Hay Bales made for decorative purposes.  If you build your fall display with real hay, you can later use the hay to mulch your flower or vegetable garden, to prevent soil erosion, or to protect and cover seeds.

 


Decorative Items for a Fall Yard Display 


5' Scarecrow Fall Harvest Halloween Decoration
5' Scarecrow Fall Harvest 
Halloween Decoration
Once we have our foundation in place, we can start adding the fun, decorative items that we have chosen.  I usually add my main feature next which is most often an owl or a happy scarecrow.  You can always make your own scarecrow by stuffing old clothes with straw, creating a face or mask, and topping him off with an old hat.  Or, you can purchase a ready made scarecrow.

Additional Fall Decoration Suggestions for Your Display
  1.  Pumpkins 
  2.  Gourds
  3.  Leaves
  4.  Flowers:  Mums, Sunflowers, etc.
  5.  Plants:  Ornamental Cabbage or Kale 
  6.  Ornamental Grass
  7.  Tall Corn Stalks
  8.  Indian Corn  
  9.  Pine Cones
  10.  Sting of Lights
  11.  A Bunch of Acorns  (You would need a bunch of acorns in a basket for them to show on the display.  Or, you could stuff the bottom of the basket and put the acorns on the top) 


If you build your display on your porch, you could even make a fall wreath for your front door that coordinates with your display.





"How to Create a Beautiful Fall Harvest Display for Your Yard or Porch Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse


Thursday, September 22, 2016

Reviewing Wham! Fantastic Album

80s pop group Wham!'s first album - Fantastic, containing some of the best Wham! songs from the 80s.
Wham! Fantastic Album
The early 80s saw two childhood friends become pop stars with their first album, they were known as Wham! and their album was simply called Fantastic.   As a teen I thought the album was summed up nicely with that name so here's my review of Wham!'s Fantastic album.

Anyone who loves 80s pop music would have heard of Wham! and would probably enjoy their songs, as a teen I thought they were fantastic and I had one wall in my bedroom dedicated to their posters!  That said I'm all grown up now and I still like this album!   Admittedly it's probably a case of nostalgia and the fact that it makes me think I'm still a teenager, but I believe this album has stood the test of time.

The Fantastic Album by Wham! was their first album and was a number one hit on the UK album charts.   The songs (written by George Michael) were part satirist and part social commentary which is why I think they were so popular.

As MTV had just been 'born' the group made also produced some great 80s music videos to accompany their singles.

Young Guns (Go For It!)

Wham!'s First Hit Single


Although Young Guns was actually Wham!'s second single to be released, it was their first hit and the introduction to many teenagers to this 80s duo.

The BBC program Top of the Pops (TOTPs) is credited with this single taking off. The single Young Guns was still outside of the Top 40 when Wham! were scheduled to appear.

Now at this time in the UK TOTPs was still compulsory viewing for the younger generation as other music shows such as The Tube were not around just yet. I can remember sitting down watching TOTP when Wham! came on and I was hooked on the beat (and the boys!).

Everything about Wham! was perfectly timed for 1982. George Michael has said that he was inspired to write the song after seeing a number of their school friends getting married straight out of school.

The music video for this single shows George singing to Andrew and trying to get him not to throw his life away by getting married early. Referring to him as "Hey Sucker" he tells him -

"See me, single and free
No tears, no fears, what I want to be.
One, two, take a look at you
Death by matrimony!" 
And warns that if he marries now he's crazy and his future is going to be -
"Sleepless nights, on an H.P. bed
 A daddy by the time you're twenty-one"


If you've enjoyed that music video, download Young Guns by Wham! now.

Wham! Rap

Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley


With the success of Young Guns (Go for it!) Wham! decided to re-release their first single Wham! Rap.

Their first few singles and accompanying videos told stories which were part satirist and part social commentary. Wham! Rap was their first single, although it never broke into the top 40 initially. Their second single fared better and so they re-released Wham! Rap the following year and it was a top ten hit in the UK.

Wham! Rap is about youngsters living the high life on the dole chasing their pleasures and shrugging their responsibilities. Prancing about in their jeans and leather jackets George and Andrew seemed to embody the hedonistic values of the song.

From the opening line the Wham! boys seem to be thumbing their nose at people who work and glamorizing the idea of being on the dole (a stark reality for a number of young people in the UK at the beginning of the 80s).

"Hey everybody take a look at me,
I've got street credibility,
I may not have a job,
But I have a good time,
With the boys that I meet "down on the line"


If you enjoyed this hit Wham! song then download it from here and listen to Wham Rap whenever you like!

Bad Boys

One of the Best Wham! Songs


I absolutely LOVED this song when it came out. The rhythm and words are both catchy and appealed to the youth of the time. I still can't help singing along when I hear this song.

As with Wham!'s other songs from their first album Fantastic!, Bad Boy tells a story. Embracing the age of the music video Wham! told the song's story visually as well.

Bad Boys is about a rebellious teenager and his worried parents and was always going to appeal to Wham!'s young audience. The song starts off with the words

"Dear mummy, Dear Daddy,
You had plans for me, I was your only son."

and goes on as only a rebellious youth would holding everything 'bad' in high esteem and looking down on everything 'good.'

Parents asking - "Where were you last night?" were portrayed as being nosy busybodies as opposed to worried parents.

As a teen at the time I could really relate - as a mother now I shudder! I do still love the song though:)


If you want to be transported back to 1983 then download Bad Boys here and listen to it whenever you like!


Club Tropicana

One of the Top Wham! Songs

Club Tropicana is a musical send up of the Club Med scene. This scene was where 18-30 year olds could take a package holiday with other 18-30 year olds. The result was a booze ridden week of hook-ups!

"Club Tropicana, drinks are free,
Fun and sunshine - there's enough for everyone.
All that's missing is the sea,
But don't worry, you can suntan!"

This was the last of four singles released from their first album - Fantastic!. All four of the singles had made it into the Top Ten and Wham! were on top of their game.

The idea of every single telling a story and then the music video reiterating the story visually was a successful ploy of Wham!s.


As the song goes......" fun and laughter - there's enough for everyone. All that's missing is the ..." song - download it now and have a good time!


Fantastic - by Wham!

The album Fantastic by Wham! was released on 9th July 1983 and reached number one in the UK album charts.

Original Fantastic Track Listing

1. "Bad Boys" - 3:19 (Written by George Michael)
2. "Ray Of Sunshine" - 4:43 (Written by George Michael)
3. "Love Machine" - 3:19 (Written by Pete Moor &, Billy Griffin)
4. "Wham! Rap (Enjoy What You Do)" - 6:41 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
5. "Club Tropicana" - 4:28 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
6. "Nothing Looks The Same In The Light" - 5:53 (Written by George Michael)
7. "Come On" - 4:24 (Written by George Michael)
8. "Young Guns (Go For It!)" - 3:55(Written by George Michael)


Wham! Fantastic AlbumWham! Fantastic Album
In 1998 the cd was reissued and contained three bonus tracks –

1. "Bad Boys" – 3:19 (Written by George Michael)
2. "Ray Of Sunshine" – 4:43 (Written by George Michael)
3. "Love Machine" – 3:19 (Written by Pete Moore & Billy Griffin)
4. "Wham! Rap (Enjoy What You Do)" – 6:41 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
5. "A Ray Of Sunshine (Instrumental Remix)" - 5:40 (Written by George Michael)
6. "Love Machine (Instrumental Remix)" - 3:28 (Written by George Michael)
7. "Club Tropicana" – 4:28 (Written by George Michael & Andrew Ridgeley)
8. "Nothing Looks The Same In The Light" – 5:53 (Written by George Michael)
9. "Come On" – 4:24 (Written by George Michael)
10. "Young Guns (Go For It!)" – 3:55 (Written by George Michael)
11. "Nothing Looks The Same In The Light (Instrumental Remix)" - 6:40 (Written by George Michael)

I hope you've enjoyed this musical hop back to the 80s with me, now confession time.  Although I had a wall dedicated to Wham! I didn't actually own this particular LP. My brother had it, I just may have (purely in the role of big sister) commandeered it so much that you would think it belonged to me!

One of the popular albums of the 1980s was Wham! Fantastic album which hit the number 1 spot on the UK album chart.

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Review of the KitchenAid Artisan Mixer

KitchenAid Artisan Review, or Why I Love My Blue KitchenAid Artisan Mixer!

 KitchenAid KSM150PSBW Artisan Series 5-Qt. Stand Mixer with Pouring Shield - Blue Willow

My son gave me my KitchenAid Artisan mixer in Cobalt Blue for Christmas in 2006 and I have loved this stand mixer ever since. Of course the most important reason I love it so much is that my son gave it to me! Second would have to be that it's Cobalt Blue, one of my favorite colors! (My kitchen is Blue and White and Stainless Steel.) But even though that is plenty enough to make it one of my favorite appliances in the kitchen, there is so much more to love about the KitchenAid Artisan stand mixer!

Before I got it, I had 2 hand mixers and a food processor and a food grinder, but the KitchenAid stand mixer actually replaces the food processor and the food grinder for me. In fact, with the bread kneading attachment, it takes away the need for a bread maker, really, since the hard part of bread is the kneading. I use my bread kneading attachment all the time in the Winter when I make bread several times weekly. (It came with the mixer.) So that's 4 appliances in one! Cool, right?

And this mixer is strong! They say it has 325 watts of power. (Whatever that means!) What I know is that it whips everything fast with no problem whatsoever! Plus the head tilts back, so easy to get the bowl off the stand.

And about the attachments: Mine came with a wire whisk attachment that will whip cream in a few minutes with ease, the kneading attachment which they call the dough hook, and flat beater attachment that is for things that are truly hard to mix, like stiff cookie dough, or maybe meatloaf. It also came with a shield to keep food from spattering, and a chute for adding in more ingredients. It also comes with a 5-quart polished stainless steel bowl to add to the beauty of this mixer!

In the reviews I read on Amazon, some people noted that this mixer is very heavy so hard to put away and retrieve. Maybe so, but it's beautiful and so useful that it's fine to leave it out on the counter all the time in a place of honor; that's what I do. In fact if you've seen any of my recipes online, you have most probably seen it in some of the pictures, because I don't put it away, ever. It sits on the counter, right next to the wine. Priorities, you know?

KitchenAid Stand Mixer Colors



KitchenAid Stand mixer colors
KtchenAid Stand Mixer Colors


I love Blue, so my son gave me a Blue KitchenAid Mixer, but they are available in an array of colors to go with any kitchen or kitchen theme. You can see in the picture there are different shades of Blue, Red, Green, Yellow, Black, Gray, and even White. (Yes, they have more than one shade of White.) And there are Stainless Steel and Copper too. Here are just a few of the ones available! White, Black, Yellow, Tangerine, Espresso, Watermelon, Ice Blue, Almond, Aqua, Pink, Bayleaf Green, Cranberry, Blue Willow, Boysenberry, Silver, Copper, Cornflower, Blue, French Blue, Apple Green, Red, Gray, Stainless Steel.


*Note about the KitchenAid Mixers Sale


If you are searching for the sale on KitchenAid mixers, it usually happens in January and July. But you don't have to wait to get a great price on one. Amazon always has great deals and you can almost always work out a way to get FREE SHIPPING. On any item, click "More Options" to see other ways to buy it, including free shipping options.



Video Review of the Best KitchenAid Mixer


See why someone else agrees with me that the Artisan KitchenAid mixer is the best stand mixer! Of all the KitchenAid food mixers, it's the one with the most rave reviews!

Want to see it again, and check out the accessories that come with it? Just click on the link. Happy Cooking!