Showing posts with label lego. Show all posts
Showing posts with label lego. Show all posts

Saturday, December 25, 2021

Merry Christmas from Review This Reviews

 Merry Christmas to everyone from all of us here at Review This Reviews.

Merry Christmas Greetings


For me, Christmas is a time to be spent with the people you love and a wonderful time to create memories.  Everyone celebrates Christmas differently and has different Christmas traditions, one such tradition is the Christmas Tree.

Some people put the tree up as soon as Halloween is over and others on December 1st, when I was a child it was Christmas Eve in our household.   My brother and I tried to talk my parents into putting it up earlier and one year we thought victory was ours as mum relented and said okay we'll put it up on the Saturday before Christmas.

As it got closer to Christmas we realized that Christmas was on a Sunday which meant the Saturday before Christmas was, in fact, Christmas Eve!  When my daughter was younger we would put our tree up on the 1st Saturday of the school holidays.   This leads us to how you decorate your Christmas tree, there are lots of ideas that can be found on this Christmas Facebook page.   We used to have special ornaments that we put up every year, but some people like to create a new theme every year.

My brother and his family have a tradition of giving their children a present every Christmas Eve which is a pair of pajamas for them to wear that night.   They used to open the presents while still in PJs so it meant all the photos always looked good!

Growing up we would use pillowcases in lieu of stockings and when talking to some other ex-pats from the UK a few years ago we found that we had very similar things placed in our stockings each year!  There would always be an orange, a toffee dime from the Quality Street tin(how strange that this was the one that my parents didn't like from Quality Street - a must-have for any English household over the holiday season at that time!).   There would also be a book and/or a little game to entertain us and a nice outfit to wear.   

After waking our parents up at whatever time in the morning it was that we discovered Santa had been we had to go back to bed and weren't allowed up until 9am, hence the book/game.   Then we had to get dressed (hence the new clothes) and eat breakfast (which was usually porridge that took soooo long to cook!) before we were allowed into the front room to see the Christmas tree and all the gifts.   I can feel the excitement just recalling the moment when we could see the tree on Christmas morning. 

I have spent far more Christmases in the antipodes than I did in the UK so Christmas for me these days is in summer (I do still miss Christmas being in winter though I must admit).   Our family Christmases certainly look different to my childhood Christmases for one thing we usually watch Christmas movies (my daughter used to love Elf, whereas my husband and I are more Die Hard fans) in the lead up to the big day - when I was growing up we didn't watch much television.

Board games were a big part of our Christmases and I know they are for lots of other families as well.   I also come from a family of readers so there were occasions where after Christmas lunch was over we would all be stuck with our noses in books!  If you're after a book to read then be sure to check out our recommendations, and best of all most of these can be downloaded to your Kindle straight away (just in case no one gives you a book this year!)

Some people enjoy doing jigsaw puzzles, others build Legos whereas others take walks as a family or for people Downunder it often means being in the pool or playing backyard cricket.   The first Christmas we spent in New Zealand we went down to the beach and tried out fly fishing rods that mum and dad had got, then found a log and tried our version of tossing the caber, I seem to recall a jandal throw as well.   Our very own Christmas games on the beach!

Whatever you're doing and whoever you're spending Christmas with this year make sure you are making some fantastic memories.   Keep safe, have fun and goodwill to you all.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 29, 2021

Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Kit Reviewed

Scooby Doo Lego
As a special treat for Halloween a few years ago, I gave my all-time favorite trick or treater (my son) the Lego Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion.  He loves it!

Scooby-Doo, Shaggy, Daphne, Fred & Velma have been the source of entertainment for many years in our household. All ages seem to adore them, laugh with them, sing along with the intro music, and even call out the question "Scooby-Doo, where are you?"  

We are also fans of haunted houses!  Therefore, the Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion was a perfect "treat" choice. Not only does the set come with members of the Scooby-Doo gang, it also includes a ghost & a vampire.  However, there is one notable missing character and I have given the information below on how to buy him separately.

One very unique feature of this set is the "man" eating plant, reminiscent of the Venus Fly Trap plant recently reviewed by our own contributor, Raintree Annie.  (You can read her Venus Fly Trap review by clicking here.)

This fabulous set has 860 pieces and would be a fun project for the family on Halloween, or any time.  Over the years, I have been blessed many times by our son sitting at the dining room table, letting me sort out pieces for him into like piles, while we talk and he builds the set. These are memories that I cherish and I know you will too.  I highly recommend taking the time to sit with your Lego builder while he or she works.  You will discover a totally different reason to love Legos!

 

Lego Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Kit #75904

The mansion alone is awesome with it's clock tower and adjoining rooms, but when you add the Halloween pumpkins, the black knight, a vampire, a ghost, and the Scooby gang, you have perfection!

The set also includes a motorbike with a sidecar, the fabulous man-eating plant with a snapping mouth, and a bunch of additional accessories including food for our always hungry friends.

When completed, the Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion is 14" tall, 12" wide, & 5" deep.

 LEGO Scooby-Doo 75904 Mystery Mansion Building KitCheck Price



Scooby-Doo Mystery Mansion Lego Availability

This Lego set is retired, therefore, you will need to search for the set on Amazon, Ebay or a different secondary market.  If you don't see it today, check again on a later date.  Sellers frequently add new items on Ebay.  It is one of my favorite source for retired Lego sets! (links for Mystery Mansion (shown above) on Amazon or on Ebay)


Oddly enough, Fred was not included in this set.  He can be pretty expensive when sold separately, so I would recommend pairing the Mystery Mansion Lego set with the Lego Scooby-Doo Mystery Machine Set #75902.   (The following words are links to the Mystery Machine on Amazon or on Ebay)


The images below are linked to the sets available on Amazon.

Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 8, 2021

LEGO Disney Castle Set - Cinderella's Castle Lego Set #71040 Reviewed

This Lego Disney Castle set #71040 is the perfect memento of a wonderful vacation or an awesome reminder of a favored fairy tale.

This Cinderella's Castle Lego set is quite unique in size and color.  The set consists of 4080 pieces, stands over 2 feet tall when finished, and could easily be another family time adventure to assemble.  With it's impressive details, arched doorway, stunning spires and marvelous turrets, this Lego castle is a fabulous replica of the real castle at our favorite family vacation destination.

Cinderella's Castle in the Walt Disney World Resort is easily recognizable to anyone.  It is almost always featured in Disney World's advertisements and brochures.  

It serves as the gateway entrance to the enchanted theme park, Fantasyland, which is full of villages, characters, and rides.  Families, groups & friends stop for photos in front of the castle and that photo is often their most treasured keepsake of their visit to Disney World. Therefore, the Disney castle is indelibly etched in our minds as the symbol of the Magic Kingdom.


The Fabulous Lego Disney Castle Set #71040

 LEGO Disney Castle 71040Check PriceSeveral of our favorite Disney characters are included in the kit. With Lego, you can always add more Disney characters to join Mickey Mouse, Minnie Mouse, Donald Duck, Daisy Duck and Tinker Bell at Cinderella's castle.

As I previously mentioned, the set has 4080 pieces. It is recommended for ages 16+.  I know from experience that these ages are "recommendations" based on intricacy of the set, size & number of pieces, and dexterity. If you have a younger child who would like to build the Disney castle, why not create another wonderful memory by helping them.  I fondly remember sitting at the dining room table, sorting Lego pieces into "like" piles for my son, when he was in elementary school. Not only did we accomplish building a magnificent Lego set, we talked about anything and everything. Building Lego sets together is about building relationships when you work together.

 Inside the CastleThe back side of the Lego castle is also truly awesome!  It allows us to take a peek at each room in the Lego Disney castle. The set includes mirror, chest, bed, spinning wheel, curtains, vases, chandelier, armor, shields and other decorative accessories are all included in the set.

There is also a hidden section under the roof to store the glass slipper or the special Lego piece created to look like a fairy-tale book. 

Because either side has a finished appeal, you can decide which way you wish to display the castle.  You could even place Mickey Mouse or the other characters in the rooms just for fun. What a delightful, easy way to change things around.

 

The Lego Disney Castle measures over 29” (74cm) high, 18.8” (48cm) wide and 12” (31cm) deep.

 

The Missing Element

Normally, Lego has everything you could think of, or wish for, in a Lego set.  However, in this set, there is no Cinderella figure.  I couldn't help but think they really should have included Cinderella.  After all, she is readily available in other sets and could easily transition into this set without having to design a new figure.

Personally, I like the Cinderella figure below. I prefer the white detail in her gown that is not on some of the other Lego Cinderella figures.

For me, the castle is complete only when the lovely Cinderella there to greet her mouse and duck guests!

 LEGO Disney Princess Cinderella's Kitchen (30551)Check Price



Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 27, 2021

Disney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed

For those who love Winnie-the-Pooh, there is a Lego set just for us!

When I discovered the Winnie-the-Pooh Lego set, I got really excited. I adore Pooh & Eeyore and they are both in this set.  I know there are many Tigger fans out there who will be thrilled to know Tigger is also included.

The entire Lego scene is set around the Pooh's house in Hundred Acre Wood.  Like so many of the Lego castles and marketplace stores, the treehouse opens in the back to reveal Pooh's kitchen and bedroom. Truly awesome!

This would be a great Lego set for parents to help their young children assemble.  Lego states the set is for 18+.  Due to the intricacy and small pieces, I agree.  But, children will love the set for decor and play, therefore I would recommend parents make a fun activity to share with their child and build it together.

This is a set Lego lovers of any age will enjoy building, and certainly one we will all enjoy displaying. We never truly outgrow Pooh and his friends!


 

Winnie-the-Pooh Lego Set #21326

 LEGO Ideas Disney Winnie The Pooh 21326
New 2021 (1,265 Pieces)
Check Price
This set has 1265 pieces. When complete, the tree house measures approximately 9" high, 7" wide and 8" deep.  There is a beehive with honeybees included so you can delight your Pooh with his own food source up in his treehouse.

Pooh can invite his favorite friends into his home for tea (tea cups are included) or perhaps he can entertain them by reading from his storybook.

Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends can go exploring.  After all, they aren't confined to the treehouse.  In our home, they could even take a ride in a Starfighter or visit Jabba Palace.  With Lego, the adventures are endless.

For adults, like myself, who simply love Pooh & Lego, we might prefer a display case.  You really don't have to tell everyone that you secretly take your Legos out and play.  Whoever said imagination and playtime ends at the age of 21?  Not me! 

 LEGO Ideas Disney Winnie The Pooh 21326 Building and Display Model for Adults, New 2021 (1,265 Pieces)Check Price T-Club Acrylic Display Case for Lego 21326 Dustproof Clear Display Box Showcase for Lego 21326 Winnie The Pooh (NOT Included The Model) (Painted)Check Price





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 11, 2020

Spider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed

Spiderman Far From Home Lego Set
When my son recently showed me the latest Lego set he had built, I was surprised by how many things were included in this Lego masterpiece.  It is not unusual for Lego to create an impressive building set, but I am always amazed by how they have moving parts and hidden features.

We are huge Lego fans! I know a Lego set is the perfect gift to give our son, as well as several other males in the family. Normally, he tells me what new sets he wants most for Christmas or his birthday.  That is always helpful. Not just for me, but for other family members who wish to give a desired gift.  Honestly, it would be impossible for me to remember which sets our son already owns, unless they are displayed on his shelves.  After all, I am not the only person who gives him Legos, plus he buys for himself.  But, regardless of how many he has, he knows exactly which ones he owns and which sets he would like to have. 

We like to give him the Lego sets with significance to all of us.  Since we saw the movie "Spider-Man Far From Home" together, this particular set has special meaning with related memories.  

The Spider-Man Far From Home Lego set was a gift we gave him for Christmas 2019.  You can see for yourself that he waited over a year to actually built this particular set.  I have said many times in the past that, to our son, Legos are like my craft kits.  We want them immediately so they will be on hand when we are ready to create!  It is also wise to purchase Lego sets before they are retired and you have to pay a premium to second-hand dealers to get one.

This set is currently available and not yet retired.


Spider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130

As I previously noted, this Spider-man set has several really neat features.  Some, like the colored pieces for lights or the engine exhaust plume, are always attractive features.  My favorite feature of interest in this set is that Spider-man drops from the belly of the plane and hangs by a "thread".

I also love the mini-figures that are included.  In addition to Spider-man, Happy Hogan, Nick Fury, and Mysterio are all part of this set.  As always, the mini-figures can be seated in the planes cockpit or "attached" wherever desired.  

 LEGO Marvel Spider Man Far From HomeCheck Price

More Specifications & Included Pieces

  • 504 pieces
  • Stark Jet with dual passenger cockpit, opening hatch for Spiderman & adjustable wings
  • 6" high x 9" long
  • Mini-figures:  Spider-man, Mysterio, Nick Furry & Happy Hogan
  • 2 Drones
  • The hero weapons include energy bombs, gun & shooter

 

This set is recommend for ages 8 years and up.  I sure am glad they don't put a top age limit on Lego sets.  After all, building Legos is not limited to children.




Check Out More Lego Reviews Here On

Review This Reviews!





Spider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 21, 2020

The Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed

You've just finished the next great Lego masterpiece!  Now what?

The Perfect Lego Display Shelves Reviewed
The biggest problem for any avid Lego builder is where to display their finished objet d'art.  After spending hours, often days, building a Lego design, you're pretty excited and wish to set it in a place of distinction.  Any open, flat surface is subject to being seized for Lego display.

Many Lego builders don't plan to play with their creations.  They have the heart of an artist, or an art collector.  For them, the completed project is a valued treasure that should not be tampered with or dismantled.  

I have often felt like the Lego masterpieces that our son has made deserve to be placed behind museum ropes, never to be touched again.  Perhaps an alarm should be set up to alert the household if anything, like a dog's tail, gets too close.  

While ropes and alarms would be extreme, the reality is that we really don't want the finished Legos to be thwacked.  I suspect all Lego builders have had the horrible experience of helplessly watching their masterpiece literally break to pieces.  That experience is neither fun, nor desired.

Therefore, Lego treasures need a safe place for display.  In my most recent search, I found a set of shelves that is perfect for Lego display!



Lego Display Shelves


 Ameriwood Home Hazel Kids'
4 Shelf Bookcase, White
As you know, Lego projects come in all sizes.  Even mini-figures are extremely popular and collectable.  Finding a way to display everything together, in a way that each piece can been seen well, is very challenging.  


With standard shelves, the back of the sets tend to be blocked by the shelve just above them.  An observer must contort their bodies, or hunker down to be able to see the complete finished Lego.  Even then, you're not getting a really good look and are tempted to pick it up so you can really see it.

With the tiered shelves, it is no longer necessary to struggle to see the larger Lego completely without touching it.  Only the bottom shelf sitting on the floor seems to be tucked away & slightly hidden from view.  However, the front wood piece does keep feet from accidentally kicking whatever is displayed on that lowest shelf.

Bookcase Shelves for Lego Display

As you can see in the picture above, the shelves are deep enough for those Star Wars Kylo Ren's TIE Silencer, the Darth Maul's Sith Infiltrator and tall enough for even the Imperial TIE Fighter.  My son used the next shelf for a collection of Lego Rebel Starfighters, including Luke Skywalker's X-Wing.  The very top shelf was reserved for the tallest in this group, his combined Jabba Palace & Rancor Pit set beside the Jabba Sail Barge.

It took us approximately one hour to assemble the shelves. The bookcase was very heavy broken down and in the box. Once they were assembled, the shelves were easy to slide across the carpet and into place.


Additional Ideas for These Bookcase Shelves


These shelves would be awesome for displaying anything.  As a matter of fact, I am considering replacing the shelves in my craft room with several sets of these bookcase shelves.  I love the tiered design that allows you to easily see the back of each shelf.  They would definitely allow for better organization.

They would also be awesome for actual books!  Like Legos, books come in many sizes.  It would be so nice to have my bookshelves organized with the smaller books on the top shelf of the tiers and the largest on the bottom.  Sure would make scanning the titles easier!

Last, but not least, the bookcase shelves would be great in a kids room for their toys.  I haven't actually tried to climb on the shelves myself, but the tiered design would certainly make these shelves less likely to turn over.

 


Check Out More Home Decor Reviews at
ReviewThisDecor.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 30, 2019

Reviewing Lego City Airport | Lego City Set #3182

Lego City has grown so much since it's inception in 1969 that it needs an airport like this one -
lego city airport 3182
Lego City Airport from Amazon

This Lego City set includes an airplane, airport terminal along with arrival & departure signs, crew and passengers.   It has a revolving door which is pretty neat, a VIP lounge, a baggage claim area and a check-in area complete with an x-ray machine.

There is even a baggage cart in this set to allow you to transfer the bags from check in to the airplane and from the airplane to the baggage claim area.

There are 5 lego mini figures in this Lego City Airport set and they are a pilot, flight attendant, steward, service man and passanger.

Lego City Airport #3182 on Amazon
The Lego City Airport #3182 set contains 703 pieces and has great playability after the building is completed.   Personally I love all of the little details like the soda machine and the computer behind the ticketing counter.

Now although I feel that this is a great set and would be loved by any Lego fan the biggest disappointment to me is the lack of mini figures.   Honestly if I went to an airport and found I was the only person there to catch a flight , well that's never happened!   Luckily when it comes to passengers you can use mini figures from other sets.

Let's look at airport staff next.   You do have a pilot and stewardess so that's good and I have been on smaller planes where that is all the staff, but in the actual airport?   That's a different matter.   We have one person to do passport control, check baggage, issue tickets, answer any enquiries, work in the control tower etc.   When it comes to outside there is only one person to drive the baggage out to the plan, load the plane, check the engine and fill up the fuel as well as signalling the plan to direct it when taking off and taxi-ing in.

Having said all this about the mini figures I guess it's a great excuse to buy some more!

There are lots of Lego City sets available and I do have to admit that Lego City is by far my favorite theme:



Lego City Fire Station - Reviewing Lego Set #7208
Lego City Fire Station - Reviewing Lego Set #7208
This Lego City set contains 662 pieces and once completed provides hours and hours of fun (much like the rest of the Lego City range). The fire station is fully manned with a whole shift on duty at any given time


Reviewing The Lego City Construction Site Set
Reviewing The Lego City Construction Site Set
Lego City is a hive of activity as new buildings have been approved by council - have you seen everything that's happening on the Lego City Construction Site? It's lots of fun with Lego Rollers, Lego Cranes, Lego Dozers and more 


Check out our other Lego reviews here - Lego Reviews on Review This Reviews.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Lego City Fire Station - Reviewing Lego Set #7208

"Lego Set 7208" "Lego City Fire Station" "Lego Fire Station"
Buy Lego City Fire Station here!


For new readers, I used to review Lego sets years ago and my favorite range was definitely the Lego City range.   I even had an alter ego called Leo who has made a surprise appearance on Review This Reviews while reviewing the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery set.

Now I know that all things fireman related are always popular with children and I can relate as when I was younger my dad was a fireman so I got to ride in a fire engine for real and even go down the fire pole (yes it is as fun as it looks!).   It's no surprise then that the Lego City Fire Station would be a popular set.   Why don't we review it now?

Lego City would not be complete without a fire station and they have a great one with Lego City Fire Station (7208)!

This Lego City set contains 662 pieces and once completed provides hours and hours of fun (much like the rest of the Lego City range).   The fire station is fully manned with a whole shift on duty at any given time - this means that you get not 1, but 5 firemen minifigures which is just fantastic in my opinion.

The set also includes a fire truck that has a ladder which actually rotates - just what you need to rescue people from the top of a burning building.   There is even a cat and a tree that it can fit in so that the fireman can 'rescue' it.

No expense has been spared by Lego City in making sure their fire fighters have everything they need including a second vehicle which is a much smaller one that's ideal for their rescue work.

There are lots of little inclusions in this set which are fun like a coffee machine, a television and a table with a computer.  I always think that it's often these little extras which are important when it comes to playing with the set after it's been built.


Lego Fire Station Set
Lego City Fire Station with a Fire Engine & Fire Rescue Truck


Now once you've got the Lego City Fire Station you can rest assure that the citizens of Lego City will all be safe, but I'm a great believer in that you can never be too careful so if you wanted to you could get more fire sets such as a fire fighting helicopter to keep any bush fires on the outskirts of the city under control!   If you want to check out all of the Lego City fire sets then you can find the best selecion at - Lego City Fire Sets.


A Couple of Warnings for This Lego City Fire Set

The first one is that once they have this fire set many children will then request one of the Police Station sets (unless they already have them that is)!  I mean do you know of any cities that have a fire station, but no police station?

The other thing to be aware of with this set is that once it's built it shouldn't be moved.   The downside is that it's not built on one of the larger base plates so when you try and move it you'll find it breaks and has to be rebuilt.   What this means is if you have room build it in situ so that your child can play with it where it is, if you don't have room then build it on a tray or something that it can be carried on.

Lego Sets Stimulate Children's Minds & Imaginations

Lego sets are great for children as the process of building the set stimulates their mind into figuring out how to build it whether your child chooses to follow the instructions or try and figure it out on their own.   Actually putting the set together is good for their fine motor skills which is invaluable.

Lego also helps a child to learn patience and perseverance as they have to take their time to build the set before they can play with it.

Once a set is built Lego keeps giving as now it's time to play and there's nothing like a Lego City set to stimulate a child's imagination and they can spend hours playing with them.

What Do You Think Of Lego?


Do you think Lego sets make great gifts for children?   Or do you enjoy them yourself?   If you love Lego yourself or have a Lego fan to buy for then why not check out all of our Lego Reviews.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Lego Easter Egg Hunt Set Reviewed

Fun Idea For Easter Basket Stuffer

easter eggs
Add some Lego Fun to the Basket
(image courtesy of pixabay.com)
It is a good two months before those Easter Egg Hunts take place but I am already looking for some fun ideas to add to the baskets. Of course there will be eggs to be found. I always look for some different sorts of sweets to add but I like to hold that sugary stuff to a minimum. So, I start searching for non-edible ideas rather early. I have found something fun for this year. 

Those that know me might remember that I love to play with Legos. My brothers and I built things with those plastic bricks when we were little. Hours of fun were spent with my daughters with them. This grandma still plays with the colorful plastic pieces with her grandchildren. I even have a display of the Big Bang Theory done in Legos in our family room. 

Imagine my thrill when I found a set of Legos that creates a scene for an Easter Egg Hunt! It is a small little set with only 145 pieces so the box will fit nicely in the kid's baskets. The set allows you to build three separate locations (to hide the 3 eggs). There is a carrot garden, a flower garden and a hen house. Two figures come with the set; an adult and a child. There is a wheelbarrow, a cute little basket and a magnifying glass. Well, it is just down right adorable! 

As with most of the Lego sets once this one is assembled the different locations can be easily added to any other display you might already have on display. We rarely tear our finished sets down in this house. They are fun to pull out and play with when the kids come or Grandma goes to their house. 

If you are looking for something to add to an Easter Basket that won't throw your child or grandchild into a raging sugar high, consider a set of Lego fun with the Easter Egg Hunt.
  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 7, 2018

Lego Creator Holiday Bakery Set #10216

Lego Creator Holiday Bakery Set 10216
Purchase your franchise here!
I was going to review the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery Set for you today, but I decided to let an alter-ego of mine tell you all about this gorgeous Lego set.

I hope you enjoy his story  review ...

Reviewing the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery


"Have you heard of the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery? Apparently there are lots of different ones around, but the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery that I know is located just outside of Lego City and is very popular at the holidays because a lot of Lego City residents buy their Christmas trees just outside and pop into the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery to purchase some of their delicious cupcakes.

My name is Leo G Brick and I'm actually what is known as a Lego Minifigure, I don't think I'm that different to you, the reader though in that I absolutely love bakeries. I love the smell of fresh bread and the taste of cakes, biscuits, muffins, croissants - just about anything you can find in a bakery! I was so excited when I heard that the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery was coming to the outskirts of Lego City, I must admit I ate far too many baked goods on the opening day!

The Lego Creator Holiday Bakery is actually available as a franchise that is quite affordable for anyone to purchase, click the link to find out more -

Get the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery to Your Lego City!

Now it’s called the Holiday Bakery because the original one opened before Christmas and it had Christmas decorations up ... the baker (pictured below) ‘forgot’ to take the decorations down and so the name stuck! In our Lego City we all go there when we’re getting our Christmas trees which further perpetuates the name, but the cupcakes, croissants and baguettes taste good all the time.

I love to visit on birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine’s Day and any other special occasion when I can ‘pretend’ I need to eat some delicious food. After all we don’t want the Baker to have to close because his trade only visits once a year!

Winter is great there though because there is a pond that ices over so you can ice skate which means you burn off calories that can ‘allow’ you to eat more cake – that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!"

Lego Creator Holiday Bakery - a collectors set
PIN ME!


LEGO Creator Holiday Bakery 10216 

Set Details

The Lego Creator Holiday Bakery set comes with 7 1/2 minifigures – which sounds strange!

Basically the minifigures are as follows -
  • Baker 
  • Horse Carriage Driver 
  • Christmas Tree Seller 
  • 2 females 
  • 2 children 
  • 1 lower half of a body stuck in snow!
As well as these minifigures this Lego set also contains a horse and a snow owl.

According to the official product description the set -
  • Features LEGO Power Functions lightup brick which lights the interior of the bakery when you push it! 
  • Includes lots of fun winter accessories like a dark blue minifigure hood with new fur print! 
  • Prepare holiday treats and ring up sales at the cash register! 
  • Skate on the frozen pond made of 8×8 transparent blue plates! 
  • Interesting elements include a camera, tan baguettes, croissants, green apple, 8×8 transparent blue plates, medium blue tiles and even a new caramel color for several brick and arch elements outside the bakery! 
  • Features an evergreen tree for decorating, tree sellers stand and even a horsedrawn cart! 
  • Bakery measures 7 (18 cm) wide! 
  • Completed model (depending on space allocated between the individual parts) measures 16 (40 cm) wide, 12 (30 cm) deep and 7 (18 cm) high!

What Do You Think of This Lego Creator Set?

I hope you enjoyed Leo's review of this fun Lego set, if you already have the Creator Holiday Bakery set then you might be happy to know that there are a range of Lego Creator houses available too.

Not sure if this set is the one for you?  Well then why not check out some of the other Lego reviews here on Review This (they aren't reviewed by Leo, but by human reviewers including a couple by me!) -

Reviewing 2004 Lego X PodsReviewing 2004 Lego X Pods
A fun Lego on the go toy - the 2004 Lego X Pod range - perfect for any Lego loving child ... and for any parent who has to wait with them anywhere!

Reviewing Lego Off Road Power Set - Lego #5893Reviewing Lego Off Road Power Set - Lego #5893
I love Lego's Creator range of sets and this Off Road Power set is no exception.   3 Fun vehicles to make and play with, what more can you ask for.

Reviewing a Set of Basic Classic LegosReviewing a Set of Basic Classic Legos
A Review of the Lego Classic Creative Supplement Set.   This set is called classic for a reason, they will always be welcomed in anyone's Lego collection.

Lego Big Bang Theory ReviewedLego Big Bang Theory Reviewed
A set for grown ups and kids to enjoy, the Lego Big Bang Theory set is a fun piece to build and display





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, March 24, 2018

Reviewing Lego Off Road Power Set - Lego #5893

Lego Off Roader Set Reviewed
Buy the Lego Off Roader Set here!
The Lego 5893 set is part of the Creator 3 in 1 series and is known as the Off Road Power set. Not only can you build an awesome Off Roader with this Lego Creator set, but when you're bored with it you can transform it into something else!

The Lego 5893 set comes with instructions for three different Lego builds which is why the Creator 3 in 1 series is so popular. As a mom I feel like I'm getting value for money because once they've exhausted all of the play with one model they can rebuild it into another - how good is that?

Let's take a look at the three different things that this Lego Creator 5893 set can be transformed into (and let's not forget they can always create their own models without instructions).

Lego Off Roader

The First Build from Lego #5893

Lego Off Roader #5893

As you can see from the picture this completed model is of an off road vehicle with a trailer and quad bike. This offers a lot of imaginative play once the build is completed.

The build itself is not going to be over too quickly either as this set does have over 1,000 pieces that need to be put together.

So this particular first model has three components to it – the off roader, the trailer and the quad bike so let’s have a look at them all.

When the off roader is completed it measures 10 inches or 25 cm long and looks pretty cool as you can see in the image above. You can open the doors of the truck, put down the tailgate as well as opening up the hood. When you do open the hood you may feel a little disappointed to see you only have a V6 engine (a V8 would've been much better in my opinion), however when you look at what great features the 4×4 has you can forgive the engine size. The vehicle has working steering, suspension and (the creme de la creme) a self-winding winch!

Basically this 4×4 off roader is a really cool vehicle to build as well as being a lot of fun to play with just by itself, but you don’t have it just by itself instead it comes with both a trailer and a quad bike.  A little note if you are buying it for a younger Lego builder than recommended there are components with the engine that will probably require adult help with, even if they're experienced.

Trailer has a ramp at the back to enable your to drive the quad bike on and off – this can be put up when not in use. It also has a cool kick stand so that when it’s not attached to the off roader it can stay still. It’s the attention to detail on this model that really shines through and makes it a great set.

The quad bike is also pretty cool, although I am quite partial to playing with quad bikes! When it’s build the bike measures 4 inches or 10 cm long and one of it’s features that I think really makes it is the tilt steering.


Lego Truck with Digger


Second Build from Lego #5893

Lego Truck with Digger #5893

Diggers are always cool and so are trucks so when Lego offers a model of a truck that has a digger on it you just know this model is going to be a hit!


Lego Dune Buggy


Third Build from Lego #5893

Lego Dune Buggy #5893

This racing car/dune buggy model is the easiest of the three models to build so if you’re buying the set for a child that doesn’t have a lot of experience with Lego (yet), it’s a good idea to encourage them to make this one first before tackling the other two (the ‘main’ model of the 4×4, trailer and quad bike is definitely the hardest of the three).

A little boy that I know well finds this buggy great fun to play with (although he’s a little younger than the recommended age and his father built it!), it seems really tough and certainly stood up to racing on the concrete area in the back yard with no problems whatsoever.


What Do You Think of the Lego Creator Off Road Power Set?

Personally I think it’s really cool, I particularly like the Quad bike that’s included as part of the first build – what do you like about the set?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X