Showing posts with label storage. Show all posts
Showing posts with label storage. Show all posts

Monday, July 29, 2019

Reviewing the Origami Rack: Folding Storage Racks

Reviewing my Origami Rack.
A friend told me that he had a shelf for me. He said he'd bring it over if I wanted it. I said yes with some hesitance. Maybe I am a shelf snob. Because I did NOT want a flimsy plastic rack or one of those ugly metal racks that are often used in workshop spaces. Fortunately, the shelf unit he brought to me is an Origami Rack and it is AMAZING! I couldn't be more thrilled with this storage solution.


Origami Folding Racks



My friend carried the folded shelf up to my third floor apartment. In the living room, he pulled the shelf open with one move and fastened it open with two small latches. My shelf is on wheels, so I easily wheeled it to the corner of my teeny dining room.

These racks are great for indoor use, laundry rooms, garages, and anywhere that extra storage space is needed. 

The folks at Origami Racks state:



If I don't need to use this shelf, it folds flat to approximately 3 inches thick. (Unfortunately, I did not measure it while it was still folded).


My Storage Needs



I need storage in this teeny, tiny apartment. There is barely space to turn around, let alone store things. Even though I'm not looking for "pretty" storage, it helps that this shelf isn't ugly.

My rack measures 63" tall x 2' wide x 2' deep. It is on wheels and has four shelves.

When in use, this shelf is incredibly strong. On one shelf I have two partial 20 lb bags of dog food, the plastic dog food bin (I mix two brands and put the ready-to-use food in the bin) and a 5 gallon bucket that is full of cans of food and bags of rice (we were expecting a hurricane and I stocked up on food). One shelf easily holds these large items. I will need to do some re-arranging and decide exactly what I want to store on these shelves. I just excitedly threw these items on the shelves: glad to get some of these things out from under my table and up off the floor. Also, the cat litter took up a large bit of the space in my bathroom linen closet. I'm glad to have extra space in that closet and thrilled that the Origami shelf holds such heavy items. 

Some of the photos online make the shelves appear flimsy, as though the joint in the shelf would be a weak point. But be assured that these shelves are strong!

Related Links:

Origami Rack has a shop on Amazon - if you are like me and are a prime member and love the free shipping and the delivery (I hate carrying things up my three flights of stairs). On that Amazon page, you can see a variety of items as well as photos of the shelves when folded. 

Visit the Origami Rack website for more information and to see what shelves are currently offered. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 9, 2019

Dorm Storage Bins Reviewed

Maximize Storage In The Dorm

dorm clutter
Dorm Space Is Limited
image courtesy of pixabay.com
A review of dorm storage bins might come in handy for many as the time for young adults to go off to college approaches. The students who are required to live in a dorm room or opt to continue dorm life will quickly find that storage space is at a minimum.

Small spaces shared with at least one more inhabitant can become crowded and cramped very quickly. The old adage "A place for everything and everything in its place" applies particularly well in a college dorm room. For freshmen students, this will be the first time living away from home. Mom or Dad won't be around to pick up after them. If there is a mess, it will be up to them to clear the clutter they created. 

A great solution is to provide your college student with the option of storing much of their necessaries in storage bins. Of course, we need to understand that they may promise to use them but may not for a while. It might take some time for them to tire of tripping over things left on the floor to see the beauty of those bins you so lovingly provided. A few or maybe many times of not being able to find something they need might be the catalyst for them to use those bins. Well, at least, we can hope! Another adage comes to mind, "You can lead a horse to water but you can't make him drink." Some will embrace the concept while others will forever wait for someone else to clean up the mess. At least they will have the option if the storage bins are there waiting for them.

A collection of different sized containers in a dorm room can be so very handy. They can be placed under beds, stacked on the floor, placed on shelving units, or just about anywhere to conserve space and add to the storage dilemma. We as parents and grandparents know the value of having containers to help prevent clutter so we can gently remind out young adults of the value as they leave on the adventure of living away from home.

One option that I found appealing was a collection providing medium, large and jumbo sizes. The fabric is a durable bamboo blend and comes in either a gray and brown color or a dark taupe. Nothing flashy just colors that will blend-in nicely. There is also a sturdy rope handle that will allow for easy moving if heavy items are placed inside. 

What do you think? Would the college student in your life benefit from a storage solution like this for their dorm room?




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 28, 2018

Fabulous Heavy Duty Gift Wrap Storage Bag Reviewed

Fabulous Gift Wrap Wrapping Paper Storage Bag Reviewed
Last year, I purchased a fabulous gift wrap storage bag from Current catalog.  I didn't know if I would like it or not, but the price was right and I had very little to lose by trying it.  I knew if it worked for me, I would be thrilled to have a protective way to store my wrapping paper from year to year.

As it turns out, this is one of the best purchases I have ever made!

Like most gift givers, I spend a lot of money on wrapping paper.  I love to have pretty gifts under the tree.  Or, an attractively wrapped gift for birthdays and other occasions.  However, I don't like dirty or ripped paper and I often end up buying new wrapping paper annually for Christmas or even if I have only one gift to wrap.  I have always known that it was a waste of money to buy a whole roll for one gift, but I won't give a gift unless it is attractively wrapped.  I have been known to even re-wrap a gift if I don't think it is pretty.

Gift Wrap Clear Vinyl Storage Bag - 8-1/2" x 31" Long

Gift Wrap Clear Vinyl Storage Bag - 8-1/2" x 31" Long

 

Clear Wrapping Paper Storage Bag

https://amzn.to/2URIYFZ
There are several things I really love about this wrapping paper storage bag.  To start with, I love that it is clear and I can see the paper being stored without opening the bag.  I really do hate having to hunt for a specific wrapping paper just to wrap a gift.

I also love that it keeps my wrapping paper clean and pretty, ready to be used immediately.  When I stored my wrapping paper in the shipping box, not only could I not see what was inside without opening the box, but the paper would often get creased or even torn when the box was moved around.

Since I store my Christmas wrap in my attic, I am especially thrilled that no attic dwellers or debris can get inside the bag and be my special Christmas surprise. 

This storage bag is large enough to hold 8 - 10 rolls of wrapping paper, depending on their size.  As you can see in the photo, it will hold the longer wrapping paper rolls too, or you could use that top space for bows, ribbon, tape, and other wrapping supplies.

I absolutely love the handles!  The top handle makes it easy for me to carry down the attic stairs and the reinforced double handle on the sides make it easy for me to carry from room to room.  The zipper top allows easy access, plus keeps the storage bag closed up tight when not stored.  

I sure wish I had this wrapping paper storage bag sooner!  I carefully select our annual Christmas paper and I wish some of our older paper was still in good enough condition to use.  It would be a tremendous money saver to be able to use the leftover paper.

I should add that I also have a separate gift wrap storage bag for birthday wrapping paper.  I keep it in our hall coat closet for extremely easy access.  I just reach in and grab the bag when I need to wrap a gift.  The only way it could be easier, or better, is if the gift would wrap itself.

The featured wrapping paper storage bag is available on Amazon or directly from Current catalog.  Both are linked below for your shopping convenience. 

Wrapping Paper Storage Bag
Click Here to Buy from Amazon










For More Gift Wrapping Reviews, Check Out These Articles 




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 3, 2017

7 Creative Ways to Utilize the Space Under Your Staircase

Photo by Pixabay
When we're doing a re-design or trying to figure out how to add another useable space to our home, rarely do we think to use the open space under our staircase.

So long as there's a floor and wall area under your stairs and you're willing to tackle a re-do, you're only limited by your imagination.

Let's Review Seven Creative Ways to Use Your Staircase Space:

1.  A Pantry - What a Cool Idea

If you've always wanted a kitchen pantry but lacked the space to put one in, your staircase (upper or lower) can serve as the perfect place to store your kitchen goods. Be sure to scroll through the Pinterest board below to check out exactly what it could look like. Have the exterior match your walls, include a door, lighting and put multiple shelves around the space. Include a rolling tray for portability.

2. An Indoor Dog House - Check out the Gorgeous Design Ideas Below

Cut-out a doggy door to create a full fun dog house under the stairs. Finish the space off any way your heart desires. Add a large soft comfy bed for your fur baby, add lighting and decorate the outside wall with your doggy's name and other personal doggie decorating details. Leave it open for Fido or add a mini-doggie-barn-door as featured in one of the doggie stair case rooms below!

3. An Extra Sleeping Area - When Space is at a Max, Make more Space

When guests come to visit, a sleeping station under the staircase can serve as an alternative area for the kids to use when their room is being used by company. The kids will love to cozy-up in the cubbie under the stairs. Add lighting, book shelves, leave it open to the room or add a barn door to close the space off. Be sure to check out the artistic examples featured below in the Pinterest Board.

4. A Desk Working Area or Homework Station - Perfect for Under Lower Level Staircases

Of course you can create a desk station under an upstairs staircase as well. Depending upon the space you're working with, add a smaller desk with shelves above and below, or add a wrap around desk that includes a few chairs so that more than one person can use the space at the same time. Below you'll see several desk-stair design ideas.

5.  A Washroom - When Space is a Premium

When you need an extra washroom but have no idea how to fit it into your limited space, then be sure to assess whether it can be added under the stairs. Assuming plumbing isn't an issue, add a toilet, sink, flooring, trim, a door and décor and you now have another washroom. You'll see an example of washrooms under staircases below as well.

6. A Reading Nook - A Place to Quietly Read and Write

Include a comfy built-in couch with soft cushions, a throw blanket, shelves stacked with your favorite books, adjustable lighting and you're all set! You'll see several examples of just how cozy these areas can be featured in the Pinterest Board below.

7. Storage - There are Many Design Ideas for Extra Storage

Below you'll notice a number of different storage ideas for under the stairs. You can build just shelves, partial shelve or both shelves and drawers. You can finish the look with elegant trim, add doors, or make the storage drawers and shelves pull out for easier access.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Three Ways to Hide Clutter

Yep. It's that Time of the Year ... We Look at all our 'Stuff' and Think, "It's Time for a Tidy"

Of course, half the battle is admitting there's a problem! After that it's twenty five percent action and twenty five percent organizational and creative storage solutions.

Even though our clutter is organized, most of the time we're just sick of seeing the neatly stacked piles of life that take away from the overall look of our room.

The solution is equal to the mess you're dealing with: Simple mess, simple solutions, horrendous gut wrenching disaster ... major project.

If you're dealing with a relatively simple mess, here are three ways you can hide clutter:

DECORATIVE ROOM DIVIDERS

Today's room dividers are inventive and artistic. They not only give you a practical way to hide clutter, they also double as art.

When you check out the choices of room dividers available you'll notice the wide range of art scenes featured on them. They come in designs from landscapes to cartoon characters, making them ideal for any room in the home or office.

These are particularly useful in a bedroom that doesn't have a closet. As an example, if you're using a standing hanging rod to hold clothes, put it behind a room divider and it doubles as a place to privately change clothes and it hides the clutter.

A STORAGE BENCH
Storage Bench Featured on Funkthishouse


If your clutter problem is more about the miscellaneous items that never seem to find a home, use a bench as the main gathering place for them.

Whether it's shoes, school books, extra blankets and pillows, seasonal clothing, or photograph albums, a storage bench is a magnificent piece to tuck them away into.

Not only is it a place to hide the mess it's also an extra spot to sit. There are many places you can use a storage bench; the master suite, a child's bedroom, the front foyer, the family room, in your home office or even in the garage.

There are numerous storage bench designs to choose from, so be sure to check them out. You'll find additional styles when you visit the page featuring the above storage bench.


A SECRET PASSAGEWAY BOOKCASE

What? Yes, that's right, they really do exist. Of course this solution is certainly more involved and will require at least intermediate DIY skills, or you'll have to have someone put it in for you ... BUT it's worth it, they're super cool!

They really are as described, an actual bookcase that either swings inwards or outwards leading to a secret room or other space in the home.

If you have a small office in the corner of room and would like to hide important or private papers from prying eyes, then put one of these James Bond creations in .... I mean how many people do you know that have one?

There are a number of designs to choose from. They vary in style, color, features, size and type of wood. You'll see more bookshelf doors when you visit the above featured Hidden Door Bookshelf.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 26, 2016

Reviewing Wrapping Paper Storage Solutions

Every single year, as Christmas approaches, I pull out my random rolls of unused Christmas wrapping paper. Every year I find that it is wrinkled, ripped, and not suitable for wrapping gifts. Year after year I throw out wasted paper that could have been saved - if only I had known how. It is wasteful, expensive, and frustrating. Today, I have researched and found the perfect solution for storing my unused wrapping paper. I am implementing an easy and inexpensive solution for saving my rolls of wrapping paper for next year.


Wrapping Paper Storage Woes


Last year, I thought I was slick.  I had a box that was nearly as tall as the rolls of paper.  I stood the wrapping paper on their ends in that box and thought they were stored safely until this year.

Lo and behold, I pulled them out of the edge of the closet and discovered that I still needed to go buy new rolls of wrapping paper.  Ugh! Even in this box, that had seemed perfect a year ago, the rolls had loosened and the ends had crinkled and wrinkled.

In prior years, I had tried to re-wrap the rolls in their cellophane as well as I could and stand them up in a closet corner. That didn't work. I have just laid all of the rolls on a pile on the closet shelf.  That didn't work either. In all of those prior years the paper becomes dusty or wrinkled.


Wrapping Paper Storage Solutions 


Pinterest is a great resource. You can find photograph images of almost anything you could think of. This includes storage solutions for rolls of wrapping paper. You can choose from dowel rod racks, a large variety of re-purposed baskets, modified shoe storage bags, and so many more storage ideas. I love the dowel rod racks - what a great idea. But in my small living space, I need a storage solution that is more compact.

I've chosen my solution.  And I think it'll be perfect.  It will keep the rolls from loosening.  They will be protected from dust and wrinkling. The entire thing will be kept in an out-of-the-way place in my closet.  I  think it is a perfect solution.

I will be using a combination of toilet paper rolls and a clear garment bag for wrapping paper storage this year. The process is as easy as:

1. Save empty toilet paper (or paper towel) rolls
2. Cut the toilet paper roll cardboard from end to end
3. Slip one of these cardboard rolls over each end of the gift wrap  (The gift wrap roll is then held snug enough to prevent loosening)
4. Place the secured gift wrap rolls into a garment bag
5. Close bag and hang in the closet

Easy.  And the end result will be less expensive than replacing rolls of gift wrap each year.



I've chosen a clear garment bag because I am forgetful. If I can't see the wrap through the bag, I'm likely to forget where I've safely stored my gift wrap rolls.  I'd imagine that a darker bag would also provide the added benefit of protecting the wrapping paper from light and possible fading.


40" long, clear hanging garment bag


Hopefully, you have already found a storage solution that works for you and have eliminated the waste of ruined paper. If you haven't already, you might want to give this a try.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, February 14, 2016

Creative Storage Solutions for the Bathroom

Creative Toilet Paper Storage Idea
With the newer, more modern designs of Bathrooms, storage space for toiletries can be at a premium.

Even when, at first glance, there seems to be quite a bit of storage in the washroom, once we start filling the cupboards, there never seems to be enough.

Creative storage solutions for the bathroom means thinking outside of the box.

Toilet Paper Storage for a Small 2 Piece Washroom

In a small 2 piece washroom, there may be a little bit of cupboard space, or if there's a pedestal sink, no cupboard space. Hmmmm...What to do????

When storage is limited, I've come up with a creative
Inside View - Neat & Tidy
solution:
I had an old standing vase from way-back-when, that I decided to use in my main washroom to store toilet paper. 
We do have a cupboard in the washroom under the sink, but that's being used for other items. By having the toilet paper in the vase, the cupboard has room for many other items instead.
If you don't have an old vase to use, you can always pick one up at a flea-market or via online or local shopping. 
However, don't limit yourself to just a vase, any type of decorative storage container about 2 feet tall, that's quite narrow, will work.

Additional Storage Ideas for the Washroom

You can also acquire a bathroom floor storage cupboard system. As you'll see here, there are numerous designs, colors and styles to choose from. Be sure to check them out.

Some come in extremely narrow designs (approximately 6" wide) so they're able to fit in that small space beside the toilet. 

Other style options are slightly larger, as well as being designed for corners. If your washroom has unused corner space, consider a corner storage cabinet. Most offer small counter surface enabling you to put something decorative (or practical) on top of it.

When you're doing this year's spring cleaning, remember to think creatively when it comes to storage. In fact, if you're getting the itch to sell your home, try re-organizing a room before you jump through that very large hoop! It may even scratch that itch for change.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, January 21, 2016

Iron and Wicker Baker's Rack With Drawers

Shopping for our new house, this wrought iron and wicker bakers rack with drawers caught our eye immediately. There's no question that we made the right choice.
Our Iron and Wicker Baker's Rack
Several years ago, when we were building our new house, we spent hours looking for just the right furniture to fill it. Since this (hopefully) will be the last house we ever own, it was important to us to choose what we really loved and, in many cases, what we had always talked about having in our home.

One item we had dreamed about for years was a baker's rack. The new kitchen had just the perfect wall for one, so we began our hunt. This wrought iron and wicker bakers rack with drawers caught our eye immediately. We've had it almost four years now and there's no question that we made the right choice. Here's my review.

(Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.)

Why Choose This Baker's Rack?


Here's why I chose this particular piece of furniture for our kitchen. One, wrought iron has always been a favorite of mine, possibly because it's pretty much indestructible, plus I just like how it looks. We already had chosen wrought iron and glass coffee and end tables for the living room, plus our front door has a swirly iron-looking design, so the style fit. Really, I think it would fit any decor.

Next, I love baskets. The four wicker basket drawers not only look beautiful and add texture to the piece, they're quite roomy and, at 14 inches deep, 11 inches wide, and 8 1/2 inches tall, provide quite a bit of storage space. The drawers are sturdily built on a wire frame and are supported by a metal runner on which the drawers slide when pulled out or pushed back in. There are no rollers, but the drawers slide easily. I wouldn't load these down with anything particularly heavy but, after almost four years and plenty of use, our wicker drawers look and function as good as new.

Iron and Wicker Bakers Rack Fits Perfectly In Our Kitchen
Our baker's rack, a perfect fit between the
back door and kitchen windows.
The top shelves of the baker's rack are wire, not solid, spaced about an inch apart. Because I use the shelves to display my salt and pepper shaker collection, we chose to add a piece of our wood grain floor tile to create a solid surface. The wire surface is perfectly fine for displaying most items, but I did want to make it clear that if you intend to use those shelves for displaying very small items, you'll want to add a board or a perhaps a piece of glass to keep your treasured items from slipping through the space between the wires.

The oak-veneer counter surface above the drawers isn't fancy, but it's solid and very nice and, in our case, just happens to match our kitchen table. It's a roomy space, perfect for a cookbook collection, a cookie jar, or perhaps some larger decorative pieces you'd like to show off.

Iron and Wicker Bakers Rack With Drawers - Assembly Required

Assembly Required


Yep, as you can see in the picture the baker's rack arrived in a whole lot of very well-packaged pieces. While I'm sure I could have assembled it myself, I have a very patient husband (ahem) who managed to put the rack together with very little trouble. There was one piece that just didn't fit, though, and after a brief, friendly phone call, the manufacturer quickly shipped us a replacement piece and all was well.



Where to Buy Your Iron and Wicker Baker's Rack


When I shop for furniture online it's always where I know I'll get excellent customer service should a problem arise. Most of the time that leaves me with my two favorite sites, Walmart and Amazon, both of which carry this product. It's important to know that these two large, reputable retailers are very competitive when it comes to pricing. Today when I checked on this baker's rack the price, indeed, is identical on those two sites. For me, shipping is also free (your circumstances may differ).

So where should you buy? I'd say read both listings today, confirm costs, and choose your favorite. Always check for shipping cost and shipping speed and other nuances that might apply when shipping furniture. I think you'll be happy with your new baker's rack whichever site you choose.

So tell me. Would you choose this baker's rack? Do you enjoy shopping for furniture online? I love reading your comments and appreciate any input or insight that you care to share on the subject. Thanks for reading!

~ Susan
Meet the Reviewer

QUICK LINKS:

Bakers rack photos property Susan Deppner




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner