Showing posts with label toys. Show all posts
Showing posts with label toys. Show all posts

Friday, August 27, 2021

Disney Winnie the Pooh #21326 Lego Set Reviewed

For those who love Winnie-the-Pooh, there is a Lego set just for us!

When I discovered the Winnie-the-Pooh Lego set, I got really excited. I adore Pooh & Eeyore and they are both in this set.  I know there are many Tigger fans out there who will be thrilled to know Tigger is also included.

The entire Lego scene is set around the Pooh's house in Hundred Acre Wood.  Like so many of the Lego castles and marketplace stores, the treehouse opens in the back to reveal Pooh's kitchen and bedroom. Truly awesome!

This would be a great Lego set for parents to help their young children assemble.  Lego states the set is for 18+.  Due to the intricacy and small pieces, I agree.  But, children will love the set for decor and play, therefore I would recommend parents make a fun activity to share with their child and build it together.

This is a set Lego lovers of any age will enjoy building, and certainly one we will all enjoy displaying. We never truly outgrow Pooh and his friends!


 

Winnie-the-Pooh Lego Set #21326

 LEGO Ideas Disney Winnie The Pooh 21326
New 2021 (1,265 Pieces)
Check Price
This set has 1265 pieces. When complete, the tree house measures approximately 9" high, 7" wide and 8" deep.  There is a beehive with honeybees included so you can delight your Pooh with his own food source up in his treehouse.

Pooh can invite his favorite friends into his home for tea (tea cups are included) or perhaps he can entertain them by reading from his storybook.

Winnie-the-Pooh and his friends can go exploring.  After all, they aren't confined to the treehouse.  In our home, they could even take a ride in a Starfighter or visit Jabba Palace.  With Lego, the adventures are endless.

For adults, like myself, who simply love Pooh & Lego, we might prefer a display case.  You really don't have to tell everyone that you secretly take your Legos out and play.  Whoever said imagination and playtime ends at the age of 21?  Not me! 

 LEGO Ideas Disney Winnie The Pooh 21326 Building and Display Model for Adults, New 2021 (1,265 Pieces)Check Price T-Club Acrylic Display Case for Lego 21326 Dustproof Clear Display Box Showcase for Lego 21326 Winnie The Pooh (NOT Included The Model) (Painted)Check Price





Check Out More Toy Reviews at
ReviewThisToys.com
Or
Reviews on Lego Sets
Right Here On Review This Reviews!

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, July 18, 2021

Radio Red Flyer Wagon - Reviewed

 

Radio Red Flyer Wagon Reviewed

Four wheels, a box, and a handle, what could be simpler. What I’ve just described is a whole bunch of fun with your kids or your grandchildren. 

The Radio Flyer Red Wagon, we bought one when our grandson Bobby was almost 2 years old. We have had such wonderful times taking walks around the neighborhood, to the local playground, and to parks with all of our grandchildren.

 


Are you thinking about joining the gym to get yourself in shape? Save your money, just take the kids for a stroll in the red wagon, and you’ll get plenty of exercise, especially if you take on some hills, and I mean going up the hills not down.

Every ride we used as a time to learn new things with our grandchildren. In the spring when everything is blooming we would point out the different flowers and trees in bloom. In the fall when the leaves were turning all of the vibrant colors, we would collect them and talk about what makes them change colors.

Bobby is going to be 16 years old now, so he is a little too big to fit in the wagon. His little brother Tyler also had so much fun with this wagon, Tyler is now 10 years old.

Now the fun is with our two granddaughters Giada and Guiles. Every time they visit they enjoy the wagon rides just as much.

Radio Red Flyer Wagon

A few years ago we decorated our wagon for the local village, July 4th celebration. The village held a contest and a parade for the best-decorated bikes. So, we decorated the wagon, we didn't win but we sure had a lot of fun.

Red Flyer Wagon Features:

The wagon is made of sturdy plastic; it has 2-fold up seats, and seat belts to hold your precious cargo securely. There are four molded cup holders so you can bring along the kids’ favorite drinks. The wagon has the National Parenting Center’s Seal of Approval.

If you have kids or grandchildren the Radio Red Flyer Wagon makes a perfect gift. Our wagon is now 14 years old and still in great shape. We have made memories for a lifetime with our wagon.

This is the wagon we have but they make so many different styles. Check them out and find one that's right for you.

Radio Flyer Pathfinder Wagon, Base Red, 39Radio Flyer Pathfinder Wagon, Base Red, 39Radio Flyer Pathfinder Wagon, Base Red, 39

 

Find more Product Reviews on Review This Here:



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 17, 2021

Reviewing Round Tree-Swings

 As a child, my favorite playground toy was the swing. Metal  A-frame swing sets were in many yards. My family had one. And I loved to play on it, swinging so high that the legs lifted out of the ground and threatened to tip over. As I am making plans to move out of my apartment and into my own home, one of the things on my "must have" list is a swing. But what type? I have recently decided that I will have a single round tree swing.

My son on their tree swing

Over time, my son had sent photos and videos of my grandkids in their round swing. They loved that thing and laughed the entire time I pushed them in it during visits. It was durable and only needed a sturdy tree branch to hang from. And as you can see from the photograph above, it was sturdy enough for adults. However, I am a larger adult and did not feel confident using it. 

As time grows closer to moving to my own land, I have thought about swings. I want one the grandkids can enjoy when they visit but also one that I can use.  And I weigh a good bit more than my son does. So I was considering using an old fashioned wooden swing hanging from a tree branch or from the underside of my deck.

Then, a benefit of being an Amazon affiliate, I see what others are purchasing. I saw the SUPER DEAL 48" round, web swing. Rated up to 700 lbs, I can easily swing on this securely.

You see, as an Amazon Affiliate, I am able to see what was purchased via the links on my reviews. I cannot see who purchased it (providing privacy for the buyers) but I do get a link for the item. And I was thrilled to see this swing! It was a sign that I need a comfy tree swing rather than a wooden swing.

SUPER DEAL Extra Large 48" Web Swing

With over 1,000 ratings, this swing is rated at 4.8 out of 5 stars (at the time of this writing). Reading over the reviews and comments, a couple of the previous complaints have been addressed and have been fixed. For examples, there were a few older reviews that stated the knots/fasteners did not hold up. A more recent review shows photos of the improved clamp system. 

Details:

  • 48" diamater, extra large swing
  • Durable - rope and frame made of UV resistant materials
  • Metal frame
  • 71" rope length
  • holds up to 700 pounds

You may be asking why I don't buy an A-frame swing set. Or a play set that includes a swing. 

The number one reason I don't want to purchase a stand-alone swing set is because then I have something to mow around.  Also, with my steep slope yard, the A-frame swing set would not be safe.  

My grandkids all live several hundreds of miles away. If I were going to have children at my home on a regular basis, a play set would be the best option (except for the large up-front expense). For all of these reasons I am opting for a round, web swing.

And this Super Deal, super-sized swing will be perfect as I'll be able to lounge in it. Whether hanging from a tree branch down in my woods or from a support beam on my deck, you can count on me using this swing often.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 11, 2020

Spider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed

Spiderman Far From Home Lego Set
When my son recently showed me the latest Lego set he had built, I was surprised by how many things were included in this Lego masterpiece.  It is not unusual for Lego to create an impressive building set, but I am always amazed by how they have moving parts and hidden features.

We are huge Lego fans! I know a Lego set is the perfect gift to give our son, as well as several other males in the family. Normally, he tells me what new sets he wants most for Christmas or his birthday.  That is always helpful. Not just for me, but for other family members who wish to give a desired gift.  Honestly, it would be impossible for me to remember which sets our son already owns, unless they are displayed on his shelves.  After all, I am not the only person who gives him Legos, plus he buys for himself.  But, regardless of how many he has, he knows exactly which ones he owns and which sets he would like to have. 

We like to give him the Lego sets with significance to all of us.  Since we saw the movie "Spider-Man Far From Home" together, this particular set has special meaning with related memories.  

The Spider-Man Far From Home Lego set was a gift we gave him for Christmas 2019.  You can see for yourself that he waited over a year to actually built this particular set.  I have said many times in the past that, to our son, Legos are like my craft kits.  We want them immediately so they will be on hand when we are ready to create!  It is also wise to purchase Lego sets before they are retired and you have to pay a premium to second-hand dealers to get one.

This set is currently available and not yet retired.


Spider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130

As I previously noted, this Spider-man set has several really neat features.  Some, like the colored pieces for lights or the engine exhaust plume, are always attractive features.  My favorite feature of interest in this set is that Spider-man drops from the belly of the plane and hangs by a "thread".

I also love the mini-figures that are included.  In addition to Spider-man, Happy Hogan, Nick Fury, and Mysterio are all part of this set.  As always, the mini-figures can be seated in the planes cockpit or "attached" wherever desired.  

 LEGO Marvel Spider Man Far From HomeCheck Price

More Specifications & Included Pieces

  • 504 pieces
  • Stark Jet with dual passenger cockpit, opening hatch for Spiderman & adjustable wings
  • 6" high x 9" long
  • Mini-figures:  Spider-man, Mysterio, Nick Furry & Happy Hogan
  • 2 Drones
  • The hero weapons include energy bombs, gun & shooter

 

This set is recommend for ages 8 years and up.  I sure am glad they don't put a top age limit on Lego sets.  After all, building Legos is not limited to children.




Check Out More Lego Reviews Here On

Review This Reviews!





Spider-Man Far From Home Lego Set #76130 Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 31, 2020

Reviewing the Casdon TOY Dyson Ball Vacuum

Last weekend I traveled to visit my son and family and attend my granddaughter's birthday party. It had been over a year and a half since I had seen them so this was a special occasion on so many levels. But what to get a girl for her 4th birthday.  You get her what she wants. Thank goodness she wasn't asking for a pony.  She wanted a vacuum. I chose the Casdon Toy Dyson Ball Vacuum and she loved it.



Casdon Toy Dyson Ball Vacuum

As soon as my son told me that my granddaughter has been asking him for a vacuum cleaner, I began shopping for a suitable toy vacuum. 

Of course these toys range from lightweight and inexpensive toys, to better-built but "comic" vacuums (The Fisher Price version for example) to more expensive, battery-operated toys.  I was looking for a realistic but miniature style.

And I found the toy Dyson Ball vacuum.  It is offered by several different sellers on Amazon and I chose the CASDON version.  I am so glad I did. It arrived quickly (a day sooner than promised) and was better than I expected. Based on a couple of reviews, I am wondering if some of the sellers are selling knock-offs. 

These are the features I noticed about this toy:

  • this toy Dyson Ball Vacuum is well-made and sturdy.
  • uses 4 C batteries to make a suction sound and spinning motion (with an on/off switch)
  • there is a bit of suction and a 'dust bin" to empty
  • It is a nice size - just right for my 4 year old granddaughter (she's a small 4)
  • maneuvers like an adult-sized ball vacuum
  • comes in a variety of colors
I chose this in pink because granddaughter wears some favorite pink dresses.

Children love to be "little helpers".  This is one reason toys such as vacuums (tiny kitchens, brooms, tools, etc) are so popular. Toys such as this also help with motor skills and coordination. Also, as on reviewer on Amazon explained, some children with autism or anxiety disorders, who are fearful of the adult-sized vacuums, may be able to use and enjoy this tiny, quieter version to get over their fears. 

Initially, I thought I would not buy this as a gift, especially after having not seen them for such a long period of time. But then I decided that it was what she had been asking for and what she wanted. It was a hit. She exited the party (ours were the last gifts she opened thankfully) to go inside and begin vacuuming with a big grin on her face.

Click the photo for more information
Click the photo for more information

 

Related Link:

To see more of our Toy reviews and recommendations (many of which are toys we've purchased for our children and grandchildren) either click the "Toys Reviews" tab near the top of this page or check out our Toy Reviews board on Pinterest. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 16, 2020

Toys Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 


Our contributors have a lot of experience with toys.  Most of us are parents and several of our contributors are grandparents.  Plus, we remember the toys we loved the most in our own childhood.  

Many of the toys from our childhood have been updated, or brought back as new versions.  Therefore, we have decades of toy experience from the user, as well as the giver, prospective.  

From toys that teach to toys that are basic emotional comfort, we review them.  We even review card games and board games that are played by multiple players.

Not only do we review toys for children, we also review toys that are appropriate for teens, like the Science Academy Lip Balm Lab, Legos, or a Remote Controlled Helicopter.

If you are searching for an appropriate toy gift, or toy gift ideas, Review This Reviews is definitely a resource you will want to explore.  

Who knows?  You just might find something new for yourself too!



Toys:  Collectibles For Ourselves & Children


When we hear the word "toy", we most often think of children.  However, some adults enjoy collecting toys.  Consider the generations of Barbies, or perhaps Matchbox cars.  Those are easy examples of collectible toys.

Regardless of age, we all love the feel and comfort of a plush animal.  Many adults have plush animal collections, whether intentional or unintentionally.  Plush animals seem to have a place in everyone's heart.  They can even be used as home decor, especially during the holidays.

Join us, as we explore the world of toys!


A Review This Reviews Pinterest Board - Toys Reviewed 


The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 31, 2020

Baby Yoda (The Child) & The Mandalorian Star Wars Series Reviewed

Baby Yoda (The Child) & The Mandalorian Star Wars Series Reviewed
With the release of "The Mandalorian" on the Disney channel, Star Wars fans have gone crazy over the adorable "Baby Yoda"!

In the The Mandalorian episodes, "Baby Yoda" is simply called "The Child".  After all, he is not Yoda.  He looks like Yoda to fans, therefore he is widely known off-screen as Baby Yoda. 

One look at "The Child", humans & creatures on and off-screen are smitten with his enchanting personality, as well as his looks.  A slight tip of the head is all it takes for "The Child" to have you under his spell.  You, too, will wish to hold and protect him! 
  



 

Star Wars:  The Mandalorian Series


 Star Wars The Mandalorian Poster BookCheck PriceMandalorians are an elite group of trained warriors who never reveal their own identity.  In the series, "The Mandalorian" is a bounty hunter for hire.  When a bounty hunter is commissioned to track, find, and capture a target, opinions of the target are not his concern.  However, when the Mandalorian sees the child, he doesn't have a clue about his species and wonders about his clients intent for this youngster.  As the story progresses, what becomes obvious to him is that "The Child" needs protection from his client.

To break the Guild code of conduct and steal the child in order to protect him, the Mandalorian must choose a lone existence, which makes him the hunted as well.

At times, he finds aid from friends, as well as a few who don't mind alliances as long as they are paid.  But every step alone this protective path has dangers.  The Child is fortunate to have a true warrior by his side and the Mandalorian finds out just how fortunate he is to have The Child by his side.

This is a fabulous Star Wars series that I highly recommend!  As a matter of fact, just reviewing it makes me wish to stop and watch it again.  I can hardly wait for season 2.  Beware though, "The Child" will steal your heart!





Season 1 is available to watch now on Disney Plus.  Season 2 is already in production and will release in the fall of 2020.







Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Baby Yoda (The Child) & The Mandalorian Star Wars Series Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Monopoly Unicorns vs Llamas Game Reviewed

A Different Game of Monopoly

I love to play board games with my grandchildren and Monopoly is one of them. Monopoly Unicorns vs Llamas is one I think I should have so that my youngest grandchild can play, too. The standard version is a little more than she can handle at her age but this new release would be right up her little alley.

monopoly game
Monopoly: a great family game
image courtesy of pixabay.com

The new release of an old favorite is geared more for the younger set. I know my little cupcake will enjoy playing it and I can tell you right now which team she will chose to support. The unicorn team, she is wild about those mythical creatures!

Slightly Different Play in the Game

Instead of individual play in this new edition of Monopoly, the game is played with teams. Players decide which team they want to play for, the unicorn team or the llama team. Properties aren't purchased but instead as you move around the board you collect titles for your team. Things like the Sweetest, the most colorful, or my personal favorite the twinkliest eyes. You know when the game is over when all of the titles have been collected. The winning team is determined by the team who has the most titles. Now, I'm asking you. Doesn't that sound like loads of fun?

This game can be entertaining for children ages 8 to 88. Although, I love playing the original version of Monopoly, it can take hours and hours to play. The nice thing about the Unicorns vs Llamas game is that the time-frame for the game doesn't take forever for someone to win. 

Board Games Encourage Family Time

When my girls were little, I loved playing games that we could all play together. Can I tell you how many times I've played Candy Land? It wasn't so much the game that we were playing but the family time we were spending together. Once the grandchildren began to arrive, I've kept up the tradition. 

How about you and your family? Do you play games together? If you have small ones, I think a nice round of the Monopoly Unicorns vs Llamas might be enjoyable for all.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 30, 2019

Reviewing Lego City Airport | Lego City Set #3182

Lego City has grown so much since it's inception in 1969 that it needs an airport like this one -
lego city airport 3182
Lego City Airport from Amazon

This Lego City set includes an airplane, airport terminal along with arrival & departure signs, crew and passengers.   It has a revolving door which is pretty neat, a VIP lounge, a baggage claim area and a check-in area complete with an x-ray machine.

There is even a baggage cart in this set to allow you to transfer the bags from check in to the airplane and from the airplane to the baggage claim area.

There are 5 lego mini figures in this Lego City Airport set and they are a pilot, flight attendant, steward, service man and passanger.

Lego City Airport #3182 on Amazon
The Lego City Airport #3182 set contains 703 pieces and has great playability after the building is completed.   Personally I love all of the little details like the soda machine and the computer behind the ticketing counter.

Now although I feel that this is a great set and would be loved by any Lego fan the biggest disappointment to me is the lack of mini figures.   Honestly if I went to an airport and found I was the only person there to catch a flight , well that's never happened!   Luckily when it comes to passengers you can use mini figures from other sets.

Let's look at airport staff next.   You do have a pilot and stewardess so that's good and I have been on smaller planes where that is all the staff, but in the actual airport?   That's a different matter.   We have one person to do passport control, check baggage, issue tickets, answer any enquiries, work in the control tower etc.   When it comes to outside there is only one person to drive the baggage out to the plan, load the plane, check the engine and fill up the fuel as well as signalling the plan to direct it when taking off and taxi-ing in.

Having said all this about the mini figures I guess it's a great excuse to buy some more!

There are lots of Lego City sets available and I do have to admit that Lego City is by far my favorite theme:



Lego City Fire Station - Reviewing Lego Set #7208
Lego City Fire Station - Reviewing Lego Set #7208
This Lego City set contains 662 pieces and once completed provides hours and hours of fun (much like the rest of the Lego City range). The fire station is fully manned with a whole shift on duty at any given time


Reviewing The Lego City Construction Site Set
Reviewing The Lego City Construction Site Set
Lego City is a hive of activity as new buildings have been approved by council - have you seen everything that's happening on the Lego City Construction Site? It's lots of fun with Lego Rollers, Lego Cranes, Lego Dozers and more 


Check out our other Lego reviews here - Lego Reviews on Review This Reviews.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 2, 2019

Lego City Fire Station - Reviewing Lego Set #7208

"Lego Set 7208" "Lego City Fire Station" "Lego Fire Station"
Buy Lego City Fire Station here!


For new readers, I used to review Lego sets years ago and my favorite range was definitely the Lego City range.   I even had an alter ego called Leo who has made a surprise appearance on Review This Reviews while reviewing the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery set.

Now I know that all things fireman related are always popular with children and I can relate as when I was younger my dad was a fireman so I got to ride in a fire engine for real and even go down the fire pole (yes it is as fun as it looks!).   It's no surprise then that the Lego City Fire Station would be a popular set.   Why don't we review it now?

Lego City would not be complete without a fire station and they have a great one with Lego City Fire Station (7208)!

This Lego City set contains 662 pieces and once completed provides hours and hours of fun (much like the rest of the Lego City range).   The fire station is fully manned with a whole shift on duty at any given time - this means that you get not 1, but 5 firemen minifigures which is just fantastic in my opinion.

The set also includes a fire truck that has a ladder which actually rotates - just what you need to rescue people from the top of a burning building.   There is even a cat and a tree that it can fit in so that the fireman can 'rescue' it.

No expense has been spared by Lego City in making sure their fire fighters have everything they need including a second vehicle which is a much smaller one that's ideal for their rescue work.

There are lots of little inclusions in this set which are fun like a coffee machine, a television and a table with a computer.  I always think that it's often these little extras which are important when it comes to playing with the set after it's been built.


Lego Fire Station Set
Lego City Fire Station with a Fire Engine & Fire Rescue Truck


Now once you've got the Lego City Fire Station you can rest assure that the citizens of Lego City will all be safe, but I'm a great believer in that you can never be too careful so if you wanted to you could get more fire sets such as a fire fighting helicopter to keep any bush fires on the outskirts of the city under control!   If you want to check out all of the Lego City fire sets then you can find the best selecion at - Lego City Fire Sets.


A Couple of Warnings for This Lego City Fire Set

The first one is that once they have this fire set many children will then request one of the Police Station sets (unless they already have them that is)!  I mean do you know of any cities that have a fire station, but no police station?

The other thing to be aware of with this set is that once it's built it shouldn't be moved.   The downside is that it's not built on one of the larger base plates so when you try and move it you'll find it breaks and has to be rebuilt.   What this means is if you have room build it in situ so that your child can play with it where it is, if you don't have room then build it on a tray or something that it can be carried on.

Lego Sets Stimulate Children's Minds & Imaginations

Lego sets are great for children as the process of building the set stimulates their mind into figuring out how to build it whether your child chooses to follow the instructions or try and figure it out on their own.   Actually putting the set together is good for their fine motor skills which is invaluable.

Lego also helps a child to learn patience and perseverance as they have to take their time to build the set before they can play with it.

Once a set is built Lego keeps giving as now it's time to play and there's nothing like a Lego City set to stimulate a child's imagination and they can spend hours playing with them.

What Do You Think Of Lego?


Do you think Lego sets make great gifts for children?   Or do you enjoy them yourself?   If you love Lego yourself or have a Lego fan to buy for then why not check out all of our Lego Reviews.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, July 10, 2019

Let's Review Some of Disney's Pook-a-Looz Plush Toys

Disney's Pook-a-Looz Plush Toys

Disney's Pook-a-looz Plush Toys Are Too Cute!


If you're reading this page it is probably not because you do not know what a Pook-a-looz is but rather because you are seeking one or the other of Disney's tremendously popular line of Pook-a-looz. But just in case you don't know, let me make an introduction. Pook-a-looz are a group of plush toys considered in the words of Disney, "too cute for their own good." They are soft and cuddly and collectible and they present the Disney characters you know and love in a slightly different format than we are used to. Pook-a-looz are popular with all ages including because they represent classic Disney characters with a modern twist.

If you've been searching for a specific Pook-a-looz or for that matter any Pook-a-looz, you will find a large selection on this page of wonderful, colorful, fun Pook-a-looz toys. ENJOY.

eBay is the best place to buy these pieces as I edit this page in March of 2021. You can see all of the Pook-a-Looz by clicking right here.  

Mickey and Minnie Mouse 
Mickey Mouse Pook-a-Looz


Minnie Mouse Pook-a-Looz

Wikipedia says that Mickey Mouse was first created by Walt Disney in 1928, which means he is getting to be near a hundred years old. He's anthropomorphic. That is, an animal, though in my mind he barely resembles a mouse, dressed in human clothing. Here are Mickey and Minnie Mouse in Pook-a-Looz form. Both done in their classic Disney style. Which one is your favorite character? Which is your favorite Pook-a-looz?

Find Mickey and Minnie Pook-a-Looz on eBay by clicking here.

Toy Story 

Toy Story Buzz Lightyear Pook-a-Looz

Toy Story Woody Pook-a-Looz


Toy Story continues to be a particularly popular franchise. My children grew up with the first and second movie and, therefore, I quite enjoy the characters, Woody and Buzz Lightyear. If I had to pick one, I could not because they are both important to the movie and in my mind you cannot have one without the other. Who do you love better? Which is your favorite in Pook-a-looz form?

Find Toy Story Pook-a-Looz on eBay by clicking here.

Alice in Wonderland  

Alice in Wonderland's Cheshire Cat Pook-a-Looz


The Cheshire Cat character from the book and the movie versions of Alice in Wonderland is a very popular character and I think this bright and cheerful pink striped version by Pook-a-Looz is well done. As a matter of fact he's one of my favourites from this story franchise. That's not to say that I don't like the others, of course. Other Pook-a-Looz from the Alice in Wonderland story line include Alice, the Queen of Hearts and the Mad Hatter, as shown below. Who is your favorite Alice in Wonderland character? Which Pook-a-looz version do you like the best?

Find Alice in Wonderland Pook-a-Looz on eBay by clicking here.

Nightmare Before Christmas  

Nightmare Before Christmas Pook-a-Looz


The Nightmare Before Christmas has attained cult status and is another movie that has been reproduced by Disney in Pook-a-looz form. Here you can see your favourite characters, including Jack Skellington, the Santa version of Jack Skellington, the Oogie Boogie and Sally. Which Nightmare Before Christmas Pook-a-Looz do you like the most? Which is your favorite character from Tim Burton's movie? Do you like these ones? Find these Nightmare Before Christmas Pook-a-Looz on eBay by clicking here.

The Muppets  


The Muppets Pook-a-Looz
Well, you will not find all of the Muppets made into Pook-a-looz dolls but you will find Kermit, Fozzy Bear, Gonzo and Animal. Miss Piggy seems the rarest.  If you are interested in buying Miss Piggy or just in seeing the Pook-a-looz version on eBay, just click here. Anyway, I am a particularly big fan of The Muppets so once again hard pressed to pick a favourite in Pook-a-looz form. How about you?

Find The Muppet Pook-a-Looz on eBay by clicking here.  


Winnie The Pooh and Friends 


Winnie the Pooh Pook-a-Looz
Yes, Disney has recreated the Winnie the Pooh characters as Pook-a-looz and shown here are Winnie the Pooh, Eeyore and Piglet versions. I love them all. I think that Eeyore is very realistic, don't you? At least as realistic as he can be.  Which one is your favorite Pooh character? Which is your favorite in Pook-a-looz style?

Find Winnie the Pooh Pook-a-Looz on eBay by clicking here.

Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs  


Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs Pook-a-Looz
Fans of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs will not want to miss these Pook-a-Looz dolls. I do not know if all seven of the dwarfs were produced in Pook-a-looz form. I have been able to find Dopey and Grumpy and, of course, Snow White, as shown above. They're both adorable, don't you think?

Find Snow White and the Seven Dwarf Pook-a-Looz on eBay by clicking here.

More Pook A Looz Plush Toys


As Disney says, these Pook-a-Looz are too cute! There are many Pook-a-Looz available and I have just shared a few here with you. You can also find Tinker Bell, Peter Pan, Dumbo, Chip N Dale, Lilo and Stitch,  Pinocchio and more of both Mickey Mouse and  Alice in Wonderland's friends. Are there any specific ones that you are searching for?

I notice that the Snow White pair have commanded the highest price on eBay recently followed by Mickey and Minnie as Santa Claus and Mrs. Claus and then Dumbo. The highest price in the past year went to the alien Stitch from the movie Lilo and Stitch, who sold for a whopping $170. Mary Poppins, a pink Angel version of Stitch and Oogie Boogie from the Nightmare Before Christmas all fetched around $50.  

In general, however, these toys have not yet become extremely expensive so at this time you can start building or keep building your collection. See for yourself what Pook-a-Looz are available right now on eBay by clicking right here and happy shopping!

See you
in the toy aisle!
Brenda

More Disney Gift Ideas:


Disney Gift Ideas
Disney Frozen Gift Ideas
Disney Coffee Mugs








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Lego Easter Egg Hunt Set Reviewed

Fun Idea For Easter Basket Stuffer

easter eggs
Add some Lego Fun to the Basket
(image courtesy of pixabay.com)
It is a good two months before those Easter Egg Hunts take place but I am already looking for some fun ideas to add to the baskets. Of course there will be eggs to be found. I always look for some different sorts of sweets to add but I like to hold that sugary stuff to a minimum. So, I start searching for non-edible ideas rather early. I have found something fun for this year. 

Those that know me might remember that I love to play with Legos. My brothers and I built things with those plastic bricks when we were little. Hours of fun were spent with my daughters with them. This grandma still plays with the colorful plastic pieces with her grandchildren. I even have a display of the Big Bang Theory done in Legos in our family room. 

Imagine my thrill when I found a set of Legos that creates a scene for an Easter Egg Hunt! It is a small little set with only 145 pieces so the box will fit nicely in the kid's baskets. The set allows you to build three separate locations (to hide the 3 eggs). There is a carrot garden, a flower garden and a hen house. Two figures come with the set; an adult and a child. There is a wheelbarrow, a cute little basket and a magnifying glass. Well, it is just down right adorable! 

As with most of the Lego sets once this one is assembled the different locations can be easily added to any other display you might already have on display. We rarely tear our finished sets down in this house. They are fun to pull out and play with when the kids come or Grandma goes to their house. 

If you are looking for something to add to an Easter Basket that won't throw your child or grandchild into a raging sugar high, consider a set of Lego fun with the Easter Egg Hunt.
  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, July 31, 2018

Disney Descendants Gift Ideas Reviewed

Gifts For The Under Twelve Kids

maleficent descendants
Disney's Maleficent Sculpture courtesy of Pixabay.com
Children under twelve, especially the girls, are most probably huge fans of the Disney Descendants movies. I know one of my granddaughters absolutely loves the characters and stories. She has asked for some items for both her birthday and Christmas. 

If you are not familiar with this very popular Disney story line, let me give you a brief little synopsis. When the Beast and Belle (Beauty and the Beast) marry they unite all of the kingdoms into the United States of Auradon. It is an idyllic place hidden away where the "good" characters of Disney tales reside. The villains of those same stories are imprisoned on the Isle of the Lost with their sidekicks and various accomplices in evil. Some time has passed and those characters that we all grew up with have children of their own, the Descendants. 

Prince Ben who is the son of Beast and Belle is about to become King of Auradon. He feels that it would be beneficial to invite four of the troubled teens from the Isle of the Lost to come be educated at Auradon Prep and to live among the residents of the peaceful kingdom of his father and mother. He chooses Carlos (son of Cruella de Ville),  Jay (son of Jafar), Evie (daughter of The Evil Queen) and Mal (daughter of Maleficent). So the first movie is about the transition of those teens into the Auradon realm. 

A sequel was released in 2017 called Descendants 2. It continues with the plot of the Villain Kids trying to fit in. Mal becomes frustrated with the expectation that she be Royally Perfect and returns to the Isle of The Lost. New characters are introduced with Uma (daughter of Ursula), Harry (son of Captain Hook) and Gil (son of Gaston). Uma is resentful of not being chosen by Prince Ben and is the self proclaimed leader of the Villain Kids on the island. She isn't real happy about Mal returning, as you might imagine. 

So, if you have a child on your gift list who loves Disney; I would imagine that they are quite familiar with these two movies. There are all sorts of gift ideas for these little fans. Of course, there are action dolls that they can collect and play with. If they do not already have one, a DVD of each of the movies is a great idea. There are all sorts of activity books to color and create with and there are even costumes for the various characters of the movies. They can carry their items to and from school in a Descendants backpack and they can wear socks and other clothing with this theme. As with all Disney brands, there are many items that will make a child happy to have.

This brand is not going to go away anytime soon as a Descendants 3 is scheduled to be released in 2019. You might ask your little one which of the characters they love the best and start to stock up for gifts. My little one loves Uma. I wonder which one your little one loves. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 7, 2018

Lego Creator Holiday Bakery Set #10216

Lego Creator Holiday Bakery Set 10216
Purchase your franchise here!
I was going to review the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery Set for you today, but I decided to let an alter-ego of mine tell you all about this gorgeous Lego set.

I hope you enjoy his story  review ...

Reviewing the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery


"Have you heard of the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery? Apparently there are lots of different ones around, but the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery that I know is located just outside of Lego City and is very popular at the holidays because a lot of Lego City residents buy their Christmas trees just outside and pop into the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery to purchase some of their delicious cupcakes.

My name is Leo G Brick and I'm actually what is known as a Lego Minifigure, I don't think I'm that different to you, the reader though in that I absolutely love bakeries. I love the smell of fresh bread and the taste of cakes, biscuits, muffins, croissants - just about anything you can find in a bakery! I was so excited when I heard that the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery was coming to the outskirts of Lego City, I must admit I ate far too many baked goods on the opening day!

The Lego Creator Holiday Bakery is actually available as a franchise that is quite affordable for anyone to purchase, click the link to find out more -

Get the Lego Creator Holiday Bakery to Your Lego City!

Now it’s called the Holiday Bakery because the original one opened before Christmas and it had Christmas decorations up ... the baker (pictured below) ‘forgot’ to take the decorations down and so the name stuck! In our Lego City we all go there when we’re getting our Christmas trees which further perpetuates the name, but the cupcakes, croissants and baguettes taste good all the time.

I love to visit on birthdays, anniversaries, Valentine’s Day and any other special occasion when I can ‘pretend’ I need to eat some delicious food. After all we don’t want the Baker to have to close because his trade only visits once a year!

Winter is great there though because there is a pond that ices over so you can ice skate which means you burn off calories that can ‘allow’ you to eat more cake – that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!"

Lego Creator Holiday Bakery - a collectors set
PIN ME!


LEGO Creator Holiday Bakery 10216 

Set Details

The Lego Creator Holiday Bakery set comes with 7 1/2 minifigures – which sounds strange!

Basically the minifigures are as follows -
  • Baker 
  • Horse Carriage Driver 
  • Christmas Tree Seller 
  • 2 females 
  • 2 children 
  • 1 lower half of a body stuck in snow!
As well as these minifigures this Lego set also contains a horse and a snow owl.

According to the official product description the set -
  • Features LEGO Power Functions lightup brick which lights the interior of the bakery when you push it! 
  • Includes lots of fun winter accessories like a dark blue minifigure hood with new fur print! 
  • Prepare holiday treats and ring up sales at the cash register! 
  • Skate on the frozen pond made of 8×8 transparent blue plates! 
  • Interesting elements include a camera, tan baguettes, croissants, green apple, 8×8 transparent blue plates, medium blue tiles and even a new caramel color for several brick and arch elements outside the bakery! 
  • Features an evergreen tree for decorating, tree sellers stand and even a horsedrawn cart! 
  • Bakery measures 7 (18 cm) wide! 
  • Completed model (depending on space allocated between the individual parts) measures 16 (40 cm) wide, 12 (30 cm) deep and 7 (18 cm) high!

What Do You Think of This Lego Creator Set?

I hope you enjoyed Leo's review of this fun Lego set, if you already have the Creator Holiday Bakery set then you might be happy to know that there are a range of Lego Creator houses available too.

Not sure if this set is the one for you?  Well then why not check out some of the other Lego reviews here on Review This (they aren't reviewed by Leo, but by human reviewers including a couple by me!) -

Reviewing 2004 Lego X PodsReviewing 2004 Lego X Pods
A fun Lego on the go toy - the 2004 Lego X Pod range - perfect for any Lego loving child ... and for any parent who has to wait with them anywhere!

Reviewing Lego Off Road Power Set - Lego #5893Reviewing Lego Off Road Power Set - Lego #5893
I love Lego's Creator range of sets and this Off Road Power set is no exception.   3 Fun vehicles to make and play with, what more can you ask for.

Reviewing a Set of Basic Classic LegosReviewing a Set of Basic Classic Legos
A Review of the Lego Classic Creative Supplement Set.   This set is called classic for a reason, they will always be welcomed in anyone's Lego collection.

Lego Big Bang Theory ReviewedLego Big Bang Theory Reviewed
A set for grown ups and kids to enjoy, the Lego Big Bang Theory set is a fun piece to build and display





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X