Showing posts with label historical fiction. Show all posts
Showing posts with label historical fiction. Show all posts

Thursday, October 13, 2022

Book Review The Diamond Eye

 

Imagine that you are a young woman in 1940's Russia.  You are a mother raising a young son alone as you work in a library and study to gain your degree.  You are forging along in everyday life when suddenly your country is invaded, and you are facing a world at war.  In this riveting novel, Kate Quinn gives a look into the life of Mila Pavlichenko, a young history student and mother who joins the Russian military and becomes a world-famous sniper.



I found this book to be very intriguing.  Mila is a young woman who married way too young when she found she was pregnant.  She is raising a young son and trying desperately to get a divorce from her older and emotionally abusive husband.  This is not easy in 1940's Russia.  She is a passionate history student and loves her studies.  Then Hitler invades the Ukraine and Russia, and she feels compelled to sign up to protect her homeland.  

Mila is a strong woman who does nothing partway.  When assigned the task as a sniper, she becomes the best and shoots over 300 of the enemy.  Her talents gain her fame, and she is sent on a good will tour of the United States where she befriends Eleanor Roosevelt.  This friendship and the dangers that come with it made this one of the best books I've read in a long time.   

The book is based on a true story and most of the people and many of the events really happened.  In the author's notes at the end of the book she details what parts were true (based on Mila's memoirs) and what parts she fictionalized.  I found this very interesting and would highly recommend this book to anyone who loves a good mystery, historical fiction and intrigue.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 16, 2022

The Social Tutor Book Review

The Social Tutor
If you are looking for a sweet, romantic easy to read book, you will love "The Social Tutor" by Sally Britton.  It is the first book in her Branches of Love series and quite a delightful read.

Earlier this week, I was without electricity for approximately 5 hours. Since I couldn't cook, work around the house due to the dark, or even work on my computer, I grabbed my Kindle and settled in to read. I opened it to "The Social Tutor" and was immediately allowed to relax as I was pulled into a lovely story set in the early 1800's in England. A time when women were expected to marry someone who benefited their family whether they were in love or not.

I am a huge historical fiction fan and I prefer clean romantic stories. "The Social Tutor" was the perfect choice for me!  When the electricity was restored, I was already so deep into the book that I didn't set it down until I had finished reading the entire book.


The Social Tutor Book Synopsis

It had been made perfectly clear to Christine Devon that she would marry someone who would bring wealth, business associations and hopefully a title to her family.  Her father would give her one season in London to complete this mission.

Christine was the second daughter in the household. Her older sister had failed to make the desired alliance and was relegated to overseeing her father's household. He would not waste any more money on her.

 The Social Tutor: Branches of Love, Book 1Check PriceBecause she was under so much pressure, Christine knew she would need help. Since her mother had died years before, she had never been taught how to attract a man's attention, engage him in an acceptable conversation, and make him choose to marry her out of all of the eligible young women in the "marriage mart". 

Thomas Gilbert had been friends with Christine's mother. They had shared a love for horses and Mrs. Devon had taken him under her wing to teach him about horses. It was Thomas's desire to add a horse breeding venture to his family's farm.  With the right horse selections, he believed he could bred champions and sell them to society members who demanded the best. 

Christine decided she would ask Thomas to tutor her. In exchange for the lessons, she would allow him to borrow the horses she had inherited from her mother.  Even though Thomas wasn't exactly sure at first how he could help her, the offer was too good for him to pass up. After all, Miss. Devon owned the best horses in the area and their offspring would be highly desired.

They agreed to meet every 3rd day until Christmas (only a few months) to prepare her for the social season which would begin immediately thereafter.  Thomas had no idea just how naive and trusting Christine was.  He knew she would be eaten alive by both the men and the women of society and he suspected that is what happened to her older sister. Without their mother's direction and oversight, it would be like a lamb among wolves. Out of loyalty to her mother, he could not let that happen to Christine.

Perhaps, you think you have already figured out what happens. Maybe you have, maybe you have not. Either way, it is a charming romance to read. I have no doubt, you will want to continue reading through the entire series.

 



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com





House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 5, 2022

Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 1) Reviewed

Silver Dollar Duke
I am quickly becoming a big fan of historical fiction books written by Sally Britton. Previously, I read the Supposed Scandal series and loved all three books.  

Silver Dollar Duke is the first book in the "Hearts of Arizona" series and I really enjoyed the story. I have no doubt I will love the next 2 books in this series as well. I plan to start reading the second book, Copper for the Countess, immediately.

I wasn't sure how an American silver dollar would relate to an English duke, but I was rather intrigued by the title. Turns out, the silver dollar played a big part in the duke's life, but I won't ruin that touch of mystery for you by sharing that significance in this review.

This is a rather light, entertaining read that any historical romance fiction fan would enjoy. In most of the books I read, the female is the central focus of the story. While there is a prominent female character, the duke and his childhood dreams are the highlight of this book.

 

Silver Dollar Duke Synopsis

As the second son of a marquess in England, Evan Rounsevell had his life mapped out for him. He knew he would be required to “work” for his father even though all of the family property would be inherited by his older brother, and then his brother's son. 

 Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 1)Check PriceDuke didn't resent the expectations or family obligations, but he did have a lifelong dream. As a child, he had met Buffalo Bill and had seen him perform. Duke wanted to visit the wild west of America and experience being a cowboy firsthand before he was completely entrenched in England. He spent his childhood learning to shoot, practicing lassoing a cow by lassoing sheep, and riding horses. As an adult, he knew he would have to run away for a little while to have the opportunity to make his dream come true. That is exactly what he did! 

Duke quickly found himself running out of money as he traveled across America. He needed a job to continue his adventure and for his return ticket home. When he met the Bolton brothers in Tombstone, Arizona, they offered him a job as a ranch hand on their father’s ranch along with the promise of getting to participate in a cattle drive. Duke was thrilled by this fabulous, once in a lifetime opportunity. It was exactly what he had always desired. 

There were some unexpected experiences in his wild west journey including falling in love with the ranch owner's daughter, Daniella "Dannie" Bolton.

The last thing Dannie needed was another "temporary" man in her life. From the very beginning, Duke had made it clear that he had to return to England. They agreed to be friends and nothing more, but the "best laid plans" often go awry.

 Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 1)Check Price Copper for the Countess: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 2)Check Price A Lady's Heart of Gold: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 3)Check Price Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance - AudioCheck Price

 



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com





House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, May 26, 2022

Mistress of the Ritz-Book Review

 


This book was introduced to me by a friend who read it for her book club.  She said it was a book all the club enjoyed.  After reading it, I can see why.  It has everything I like in a story: history, romance, secrets and true to life characters.  The story is inspired by the true life story of Claude and Blanchette Auzello.  Claude was the French director of the Ritz and Blanche was his American wife.


The Story Line

This compelling novel takes us to the glamor of the Ritz and introduces us to all the wonderful characters who enter its doors.  We see bits with Ernest Hemingway, Coco Chanel, F. Scott Fitzgerald and many more memorable characters from the 1940's.

The story begins in the 1920's when Claude Auzello meets Blanche, an American who has come to Paris in the hopes of becoming an actress.  Claude sweeps Blanche off her feet and they settle into life at the Ritz, where Claude becomes the director.  Life at the Ritz is glamorous and the guests are pampered by Claude and his staff.  Blanche enjoys meeting all of the memorable characters in the Ritz bar.

Life goes along at the Ritz with the glamor of the place and the work of Claude putting a tamper on their marriage.  Blanche and Claude get along but sometimes their differences also draw them apart with each of them living their own lives and keeping secrets.  Everything changes in June 1940 when the Nazi's invade Paris and take over the Ritz as their headquarters.  The Ritz staff is kept but moved to the back of the building and now must cater to the Nazi's every wish, all the while being afraid of every move they make.  

I don't want to spoil more of the plot but the French Resistance plays a big part in the rest of the book and secrets are kept, even from those they are closest to.

The Book on Amazon



My Thoughts on the Book

I really enjoyed the book.  It is the first book I had read by Melanie Benjamin, and I will certainly check out more of her books.  I highly recommend this compelling book.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 16, 2022

Book Review - The Four Winds by Kristin Hannah

The Four Winds is a fictional novel based on the events that occurred during the Great Depression and the Dust Bowl. More specifically, how one woman from Texas - Elsinore (Elsa) Wolcott - made exceedingly difficult decisions to try to keep her children alive during the 1930s. 



Elsa Wolcott lived her childhood in solitude. Defined as medically fragile and as "not nearly pretty as her sisters" the story opens as she is turning 25 and facing a future as a spinster. 

"There was a pain that came with constant disapproval; a sense of having lost something unnamed, unknown. Else had survived it by being quiet, by not demanding or seeking attention, by accepting that she was loved, but unliked" -excerpt from The Four Winds 

Elsa had learned to entertain herself by reading and survived the cruel comments by making herself as invisible as possible while her family carried on in an otherwise tight-knit group. Things started to fall apart when she informed her family that she wanted to attend college in Chicago. Her family was relatively affluent and cultured but the answer from her parents was a resounding no. They continued to define her as ill. She quietly returned to her room upstairs to her reading.

The next morning, while walking through town to the library, Elsa stopped at the mercantile where she was told about a piece of red silk. The store owner wanted Elsa to inform her beautiful sisters of this dress material. Instead, Elsa bought it for herself. 

The resulting red dress, glittery silver headband and an secret attempt to enter a speakeasy during the days of prohibition changed everything. 

Elsa responded to the first attention she received. And Raffaello entered her life. Very quickly, Elsa went from being the daughter of the in-town-living, Christian, daughter of a successful business man who sells tractors to the farmers to the wife of a young, Italian, Catholic son of struggling farmers.

 Elsa became a farmer's wife. A mother. And she became a part of a family.

The years pass. In 1934, the Great Depression had been in full swing. And it was an extraordinarily hot August. Unknown to Elsa and her family, the Dust Bowl is coming.

As the heat and dust settled in for months, and then years, Elsa had to decide whether to remain on the "farm" (now a pile of dust) with her family or escape to California for work. 


How the Story Impacted Me

I had some vague awareness of both the Great Depression and of the Dust Bowl. I knew that both were disasters. And I knew that my grandparents were frugal - saving every little thing in case it would be needed as a result of their experience (or their parent's experiences) during this era. My grandparents have been gone for a long time now. And I wish I knew their stories. But I don't. 

Now I realize how very little I know of that era and what people went through trying to survive the times. I was aware that the Dust Bowl occurred. For some reason, I imagined that nearly the entire US was in drought for a single growing season. I did not realize that it spanned the middle US states, hitting Colorado, Oklahoma, Kansas, Texas, New Mexico the hardest. And that it lasted for years.  I knew that crops were killed. I did not realize the enormous toll it took on all livestock and wildlife. And I did not realize the extent of human lives lost. Of course, the death toll was not accurately recorded during these crises but it is thought that hundreds to thousands died of Dust Pneumonia alone. And several hundred thousands fled the plains area to try to survive. 

This story impacts me now as I consider the current happenings in the US. Wild fires, droughts, and torrential spring rains during planting season is impacting agriculture. As is the current economic situation. Many farmers and ranchers are in a tough situation as I type this. Reading this book now reminds me of the time I read the book Jaws on my first trip to Florida and visit to Cocoa Beach. I was afraid to enter the ocean for fear of what might be lurking. I am currently concerned about food supplies, our farmers and ranchers, and what disaster may be lurking next. 

Do I wish I hadn't read this book. My answer is a resounding NO. I am glad to have read this book and recommend it to others. It is a story of a woman who had not received unconditional love as a child and who not only gave unconditional love to her children but who would die for them to save them. It is the story of navigating parent-child relationships. It is a story of proud, hard-working people who just wanted to be able to take care of themselves. Their tenacity and willingness to work hard despite the odds inspires me. Despite the very tough topic and times, this book was filled with love stories. 


Bits from Author Kristin Hannah

Ms. Hannah wrote her Author's Note in May 2020. In the three years that she was writing this book the pandemic arrived in the US. Imagine that. Writing about the death, famine, and destruction of the dust bowl during the death, near-famine, and destruction of the pandemic. 

The Author notes that the timeline is not completely accurate in her fiction. She includes a suggested reading list on her website for more historically accurate information. Ms. Hannah also mentions having taken a tour of "Weedpatch" camp in Arvin, California. And a novel by Sanora Babb titled Whose Names Are Unknown. I find it interesting that Babb's manuscript was submitted in 1939 and was not published until 2004. Read more about that here. I will be reading Ms. Babb's book.


Other Books of Interest

Reading about the dust bowl reminded me of another famine. The potato famine. Like the Dust Bowl, I had known that a potato famine in Ireland occurred. But I had no idea of the extent of it until I had read Galway Bay by Mary Pat Kelly.  You can read my review of that historical fiction here. I highly recommend it and have read it more than once.

Apparently, the Review This Reviews! contributors are Kristin Hannah fans. Our previous reviews are listed below:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, March 24, 2022

Book Review Smoke on the Whiteadder

 

This thrilling historical novel takes place in Scotland in the 1500's.  It is very well researched and in addition to following the  tale of the Cowan family you will learn about historical figures such as Mary Queen of Scotts, Queen Elizabeth, King James I, Sir Walter Raleigh, and many more memorable people from this time period.  

The Plot Line

     The story follows the lives of the Cowan family who live in Chirnside, Berwickshire, Scotland in the estate called Edington.  They are tenants of Sir Lauder.  Sir Lauder lives in the castle on the  manor and his tenants live on his property in meager housing.  They tend the land around their homes and pay a portion of their income as rent to Sir Lauder.  Sir Lauder has great control over his tenants including what they plant and what animals they have.
      In this book we are first introduced to Paul Cowan, as he is meeting with Sir Lauder for his report of his crops.  In the book we follow the joys and sorrows of the family through three generations.  We rejoice in the marriages and births and are sad when death, famine and home burnings are way too prevalent through the years.  The book shows how the political and religious turmoil of the times effects the family and their lifestyle.

The Book on Amazon

Here is a link to the book which can be purchased through Amazon both as a paperback and in electronic form.  Smoke on the Whiteadder

The Author's Notes

The author's notes are of course at the end of the book, so I didn't realize that the Cowans were a real family until I got to that point.  For me, this made the story even more interesting,  Here is a quote from the author's notes.
     "This family saga is based on the genealogial journey of my maternal ancestors, the Cowans.  It necessarily includes mention of related families as they encoountered the Cowans.  Consequently, you will be introduced to people with many other surnames.
     I like to put my stories in context with the broader social picture, especially as it describes the conditions that resulted in particular actions on the part of the story's charcters.  For this reason, the book includes vignettes about people like Henry VIII, Mary I, known as Bloody Mary, Elizabeth I, Sir Walter Raleigh and many more."

My Recommendation

I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  I found  it very compelling and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.  I am looking forward to the next book by the author where he continues on with the story of the Cowans.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 11, 2022

The Innkeeper and the Fugitive (Tales from the Highlands Book 3) Book Review

the innkeeper and the fugitive
Every once in a while I come across a series where each book is worthy of a separate review.  That is the case with the "Tales from the Highlands" by Martha Keyes.  All of the books have been captivating and have characters we wish to see succeed and others we wish could be brought to justice.

Angus MacKinnon has been the antagonist throughout the series. He is the self-centered laird of Benleith who stops at nothing to get what he wants, including kidnapping women and shipping them to the colonies for lives of servitude. 

Glenna, who is a maid at Glengour Inn, is another character in all of the books.  She is one of the women that Angus kidnapped previously, but she was rescued before the ship sailed. Needless to say, she abhors Angus. 

Christina and Lachlan Kincade own Glengour Inn, as well as the Dunverlockie castle and surrounding estate.  Because Christina was originally married to Angus' cousin, he believes Dunverlockie rightfully belongs to his clan.

Knowing these characters and the previous interactions with one another allows the reader to fully follow the story-line established in book one and continuing with each subsequent book.  Therefore, I highly recommend starting with The Widow and the Highlander, but this is a great story with or without the previous books.

 

The Innkeeper and the Fugitive
Tales from the Highlands Series - Scotland 1763

 The Innkeeper and the Fugitive
(Tales from the Highlands Book 3)
Check Price
In a desperate attempt to escape an unwanted marriage, Ana MacMorran must flee her home.  Her father is determined to see her wed Angus MacKinnon, which would unite their material & monetary holdings.  But, Ana knows Angus is a cruel man and she harbors no illusion that he would be kind to a wife.  She pleads with her father, but he will not relent.  As far as her father is concerned, she is underage, he has pledged her to Angus, and she will marry him.  

Having heard that the tinker and his wife are traveling through town, stopping at the Glengour Inn, Ana runs in the hopes that they will allow her to leave the area with them.  If they will simply take her as far as Fort William, she could get a ride to Glasgow where she can seek refuge with a childhood friend who previously planned to marry her.  Unfortunately, Ana arrives too late and the tinker has already left.  She decides to hide in the inn's stable for the night.

When Hamish, the innkeeper, discovers a woman in the stable, he assumes she is the new cook, Dorcas, they have been expecting.  Ana seizes the opportunity to hide in plain sight under another woman's identity. She hopes that will give her time to send word to her friend to come and get her.  Plus, as a cook, she can hide from the town's people by staying in the kitchen. It is not a perfect plan, but it is the best she has for now. However, Glenna recognizes her and Ana fears it is over for her even before she had any real chance of escape. But, Glenna has great sympathy for her and agrees to help her hide, covering for her when she might be expected to show her face in the inn.

As the days go by, everything seems to slip into a routine.  That is, until the real Dorcas MacGurk arrives.     





You may also be interested in reading my reviews of the first 2 books in the series

the Widow and the HighlanderBook 1 - The Widow and the Highlander Book Review The Widow and the Highlander - excellent book. When Christina's husband dies, she is sole heir. His family is not willing to let her have the estate and are determined to regain control of the estate one way or another.

The Enemy and Miss InnesBook 2 - The Enemy and Miss Innes
The Enemy and Miss Innes is a wonderful romantic historical fiction about enemies who unite against common foe. This is the 2nd book in fabulous Tales from the Highlands series by Martha Keyes



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 18, 2022

The Enemy and Miss Innes (Tales from the Highlands Book 2) Book Review

Almost a year ago, I reviewed the first book in the Tales from the Highlands series by Martha Keyes.  I truly loved The Widow and the Highlander book and I hated it when it ended.  I was saddened even more when I realized that the second book in the series had yet to be released.  Even though I did not want to, I was forced to move on, at least for a little while.  

As soon as The Enemy and Miss Innes, the second book in the Tales from the Highlands series, was released, I added it to my Kindle Paperwhite.  Unfortunately, the release wasn't the best timing for me, but the book waited there patiently.  I started reading it a week ago and was, once again, pulled back into the drama of the Highlands of Scotland in the 1700's.  Back to the days of kingdoms, lairds (lords), and a ruling hierarchy with limitless power. 

I was not disappointed!  This was a book well worth the wait.  The Enemy and Miss Innes is another fabulous book by Martha Keyes.  While it continues the series started with The Widow and the Highlander, it could be an easy stand alone book for historical fiction fans. Just because I have enjoyed this series so much, I would recommend starting with the first book in the series.

 

The Enemy and Miss Innes Synopsis
Tales from the Highlands Series - Scotland 1762  

 The Enemy and Miss Innes
(Tales from the Highlands Book 2)
Check Price
Malcolm MacKinnon is once again ordered to do something he does not want to do by Angus MacKinnon, the laird of Benleith. Since his mother and younger siblings are also dependent on Angus, he has no choice.  It is a well known fact that Angus is ruthless, even murderous, when he wants something. He does not hesitate to threaten Malcolms' family when faced with the least resistance. Now, Angus seeks revenge on the Innes sisters.  Since the eldest has a protector in her husband, he sets his sights on the younger sister, Elizabeth.  Her willingness to speak her mind and publicly degrade Angus has made her his latest target. 

Angus wants Malcolm to get Elizabeth to fall in love with him (Malcolm) so he has a way to get at her to exact his revenge. This "idea" doesn't appeal to Malcolm but he knows he has to at least give the appearance of trying to carry out Angus's plan.

Elizabeth Innes has been by her sister's side throughout her recent widowhood and subsequent difficulties. She is her outspoken defender and doesn't hesitant to take on anyone face to face, including Angus MacKinnon and his "second in command", Malcolm MacKinnon.  

In an effort to keep Elizabeth focused on work and out of trouble, her sister, Christina, asks her to remodel Glengour Inn, which was recently damaged by fire.  This is a task Christina readily accepts.  When she arrives at the inn to discover the innkeeper has hired Malcolm MacKinnon, she is determined to keep an eye on him. She believes he has a different agenda separate from working on repairs to the inn. 

Neither Christina nor Malcolm are happy with the current situation, but they are both determined to carry out their projects at the inn and tolerate each other.  They do not expect to end up on the same side and caring for what happens to one another.


I am thrilled to see more books have been added to this series and I am so excited to read the remaining books!




You may also be interested in reading my previous review of The Widow and the Highlander.

The Widow and the HighlanderThe Widow and the Highlander Book Review
The Widow and the Highlander - excellent book. When Christina's husband dies, she is sole heir. His family is not willing to let her have the estate and are determined to regain control of the estate one way or another.



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 4, 2022

Her Unsuitable Match (Supposed Scandal Series) Reviewed

When determining if someone is an unsuitable match, we must first consider the criteria. Society may look at financial status or social status of an individual, while the person desiring a match may be seeking something totally different.

I suspect we have all known couples we felt were ill-matched but seem completely happy with one another.  There are a variety of reasons why we wouldn't think they would be a good fit.  The heart rarely looks at social status, education level, finances, or even physical looks based on the current day opinions or popularity. 

In the book, "Her Unsuitable Match", I questioned whether the title referred to the individual her family had selected for Pippa, or if it was based on the individual Pippa selected.  Either way, both sides thought someone was an unsuitable match for the Earl's daughter.

However, what was most interesting about this book was that Pippa didn't seek someone based on any of the previously mentioned criteria.  She wanted someone who would allow her to be free, which meant she needed a husband who didn't make any demands on her, her time, or her money.  Interesting dilemma for a Regency era (1795-1820) setting. 


"Her Unsuitable Match" Book Synopsis

Lady Philippa Gillensford is 23 years old, past the expected age for marriage.  Wishing for his daughter to have some choices in life, Pippa's father had stipulated in his will that she would be given her own dowry if she was unmarried at 23, as an inheritance so she could live independently.  That is exactly what she wanted, but her mother and her oldest brother who was now the Earl, had a totally different opinion and they were determined to have their way regardless of the cost.

 Her Unsuitable Match
(Supposed Scandal)
Check Price
Pippa's mother wanted her to marry someone equal or of greater social station.  Her brother had someone specific selected and had already granted Lord Walter permission to marry his sister.  Pippa was repealed by the very presence of Walter who sought to marry her even if he had to ruin her reputation to do so.

Lord Walter Ruthersby (the suitor), the dowager Countess of Montecliff (her mother), and Richard, the Earl of Montecliff (her brother), colluded to force Pippa into this alliance and marriage.  All of society seemed determined to see Lord W & Lady P wed, especially once there was gossip and a touch of scandal associated with the couple.  But Pippa knew she was innocent and she had no desire to marry anyone, especially Ruthersby.

Pippa did have one very strong alliance of her own.  Her younger brother, Adam and his wife, Elaine wanted her to be happy. They were blessed with a marriage based on love and they would have preferred that for her, but Pippa didn't have any love interest. She did, however, desire independence and they supported her choice. 

When the earl refused to give Pippa her inheritance, she sought legal counsel.  Even though she was willing to pursue her rightful inheritance in court, she knew that might not be successful.  However, marrying someone else would end that ridiculous torment. Recalling a man who had stepped in to defend her, she decided to make an offer to a soldier.  A gentleman she hoped would join in a contract that would be mutually beneficial without the normal marital confines.  

Myles Cobbett had returned from war with severe battle scars, both physically and mentally.  He found a reclusive lifestyle with a daily routine, along with his small pension, provided a tolerable life. He didn't really have hope for more. When he was presented with an unusual marriage contract, he felt needed again and compelled to assist the damsel in distress. He believed he could provide the shelter from social norms that she needed and she offered to provide dowries for his younger sisters to hopefully ensure better marriages for them.  

The marriage arrangement seemed like the perfect solution for both Pippa and Myles, but the aforementioned alliances against Pippa were not sated and they were relentless.  After all, marriages could be set aside by annulments and jealous gossips still wagged their tongues with reckless abandon. 


Conclusion

It is impossible to not like Myles Cobbett and to feel sympathy for Pippa.  In spite of her social standing, they are the underdogs we all want to see succeed.  

While not your typical romantic novel, this book does pull at the emotions of the reader.  We would all love to see these two people happy.  

I read the book in two evenings.  It was rather hard to put down.  I wanted to see what was going to happen, who would succeed in their pursuits and what inevitable changes would have to be made. 

I do highly recommend this book for the hopeless romantic and those who enjoy rooting for the underdog.

 



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, October 28, 2021

Review of The Keeper of Happy Endings

 

Book Review: The Keeper of Happy Endings
This was another book I downloaded from Amazon Prime and I was absolutely captivated from page one.  In this book the author, Barbara Davis, weaves a wonderful tale of two woman decades apart whose lives are very similar.  Both have a fiance' who is missing and they fear they have lost. Both are devastated by their tragedies and at first have trouble finding the strength to continue on with their lives.



Soline

Soline Roussel has learned the bridal industry from her family.  For generations the family has had a bridal shop in Paris where they are well known for the magic in their dresses that bring happy endings to the brides who wear them.  The dresses are all hand made and beautiful and Soline learns to carefully stitch the dresses.  All is well till the war comes to Paris along with the German occupation.  Dresses are no longer in demand and Soline is pulled in many directions including working with the resistance.  Heartbreak and grief lead her to America where she starts a new life.

Rory

Decades later Rory comes in contact with Soline when she leases Soline's old bridal shop for a gallery for unknown artists.  Rory has a tragedy herself in a missing fiance' and a domineering mother.  She is torn between hiding and moving forward.  I would love to tell more of the story but do not want to spoil the surprise and twists and turns of the story.  Let us just say that the two women meeting will become a turning point in both of their lives.

Other Books by this Author

I  first read a book by Barbara Davis when it was an Amazon Prime first read last year.  The Last of the Moon Girls was another book the captivated me right from the beginning.  Here is a review I wrote about it.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 15, 2021

With Love, Louisa: A Regency Romance - Larkhall Letters Book 3 Reviewed

With Love, Louisa Reviewed
The Larkhall Letters book series has kept me reading, and laughing, for days! 

I've quickly moved from one book to the next.  Most recently, I finished reading With Love, Louisa.  Sadly, I now have to wait for the next book in the series to be published to continue following the lives and escapades of the ladies and gentlemen of Larkhall. However, you can start the series today, then wait along with me in eager anticipation of the 4th book.

In book 3, as you would expect from the title, Louisa Rosemeyer is the main character. Previously, she has been a likable support character in the series.  We first meet Louisa in book 1, The Ace of Hearts.  She and her older sister Alice (the main character of book 1) visit Larkhall for the summer in hopes that one or the other will find a lovable husband so they can avoid being forced into arranged marriages by their stepfather. 

In book 2, The Captain's Confidant, Louisa had become Bridget Northcott's companion, which allows her to safely remain at Larkhall and travel with the Northcott family. 

Book 3 opens with Louisa feeling uncomfortable with continuing to live at Larkhall with Bridget's brother, Matthew, her self-appointed older brother, and their elderly aunt. She believes it will cause a great scandal if she remains in the home with a single man.

Unexpectedly, the shy Louisa manages to find herself in an extraordinary situation that had me rolling with laughter as she winds up in the very worst place while seeking a hiding place in an unfamiliar home.


With Love, Louisa Book Synopsis

 With Love, Louisa: A Regency Romance
(Larkhall Letters Book 3)
Check Price
When Louisa Rosemeyer decides it is time for her to leave the protection of Larkhall, she pens a letter to her wealthy widowed aunt, Mrs. Irwin, whom she hopes would welcome a companion. Louisa hasn't met Mrs. Irwin, but she knows she owns an estate, Benham Abbey, in Folkswich. To her happy surprise, Louisa receives a response to come as soon as possible.

However, Mrs. Irwin did not write the letter.  Her tenant, Jack Warwick, replied to Louisa and signed Mrs. Irwin's name. He believes it would serve his disagreeable landlord right to be required to receive unwanted company and believes it would be a grand joke on Mrs. Irwin.

Upon arrival at Benham Abbey, Louisa is mistaken by the housekeeper as a hired maid and escorts her to the servant's quarters. Because it is already bedtime, Louisa believes this is a mistake that can be rectified in the morning and she is exhausted from travel.  However, she can't sleep due to hunger.  She decides to venture to the kitchen for a snack. When she hears a man's voice, she is frightened.  After all, why would a man be in her elderly aunt's home?  Fearing that it could be an intruder, she decides to hide, but she has to keep moving further away as it seems the man is following her.  

Both the man and Louisa are shocked by what happens next!

 

Conclusion

It is rare for me to find a book series that every individual book deserves a separate review.  However each book in the Larkhall Letters by Ashtyn Newbold has an excellent plot with wonderful characters and could easily be enjoyed without having read other books in the series.

With Love, Louisa is a delightfully entertaining story with several difficult situations that must be dealt with properly and in accordance with societal rules.  

In the end, I feel I have made a few new friends and I wish them every happiness.  


Read My Other Reviews of Books in the Larkhall Letters Series

 The Ace of Hearts Review The Captain's Confidant Review




Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 24, 2021

The Captain's Confidant: A Regency Romance - Larkhall Letters Book 2 Review

I previously reviewed the first book in the Larkhall Letters series. Because it was such a delightful book to read, I immediately started the second book in the series, The Captain's Confidant

We originally met Bridget Northcott in book 1, The Ace of Hearts. I instantly liked her!  She was a gracious hostess, sweet friend, and clearly someone who could keep secrets.  In book 1, Bridget didn't even tell her brother, Matthew, Alice Rosemeyer's real reasons for visiting his estate, Larkhall.

When Bridget shared her own secret with Alice and told her why she wasn't interested in considering any would-be suitors, it is obvious why keeping confidences was so important to Bridget. She had a big secret of her own!  For years, she had been in love with her brother's friend, Captain Colin Foster.

Any romantic reading the book would hope that Bridget's captain returned her love. However, at the beginning of book 2, when we discover that Captain Foster is engaged to someone else, that hardly seems likely. 


The Captain's Confidant Synopsis

 The Captain's Confidant: A Regency Romance (Larkhall Letters Book 2)Check PriceWhen his older brother dies in an accident, Captain Foster is forced to return home and assume his place as heir and master of Thorncarrow.  Colin resents having to leave his career and his beloved sea. He has been living the life he wanted.  Now, he is choked by obligations, debt, and an unwanted estate. Captain Colin Foster is a very unhappy man.

When they find out that Colin is back at Thorncarrow, Matthew and Oliver Northcott make plans to visit him.  They hope they might be able to help him ease into his new role as owner of an estate. Plus, they are interested in how he had so quickly become engaged to their neighbor, Miss. Tabitha Terrell.  

Bridget is heartbroken to hear of Colin's engagement and questions how he could even consider marrying Tabitha. He knows firsthand of the spiteful things that Tabitha did to Bridget when they were kids. She is determined to find out how he could possibly love her and convinces her brother, Matthew, that he should allow her to accompany them to Thorncarrow.  However, upon arrival, is seems Colin is not thrilled to see Bridget. He sends her and her companion to stay in the dower's house with his mother.

In her own state of distress, Bridget decides to vent her anger through a letter that is never meant to be delivered.  However, a maid finds the letter and promptly takes it to the addressee, Captain Colin Foster.  After Colin reads the letter, he decides to write one of his own and that is how Bridget becomes the Captain's confidant. 


My Conclusion

Sharing secrets with someone you trust is something we all need to be able to do from time to time. Knowing they would never betray you is paramount.  

This is a sweet story of an old friendship that is reestablished after years of separation.  It is also the story of forgiveness and reconciliation of other broken relationships.  No doubt, there is a message of encouragement laced within the pages of this story for all of us if we take the time to reflect upon it.

 




Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X