Showing posts with label cooking. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cooking. Show all posts

Friday, November 3, 2023

Extreme Heat Resistant Gloves for Baking, Cooking or Grilling Reviewed

heat resistant oven grill gloves
My son recently gave me a pair of extreme heat resistant gloves to use when I am baking or cooking in the oven.  I immediately loved them for the exact same reason I prefer gloves over mitts in outdoor wear.  I have the use of my fingers which means I can get a better grip on ovenware.

Plus, the gloves come far enough up my arm that they prevent burns to my wrists.  Previously, that was not a problem.  However, when we were forced to purchase a new oven a few years back, I quickly realized the racks inside the oven were set in slightly different places then they were in my old oven.  I found that out when I burned my wrist on the center rack, twice, because it sits a little higher.  Of course, I know that now, but it is nice to have the added protection provided by these new oven gloves. 

He gave me the blue gloves because my favorite color is blue. I also like the "flowing water" design on the gloves.  They are also available in orange or red, which resemble fire.

The gloves are one size which means the glove fingers are longer than my fingers, but that is okay.  It actually offers room for my long finger nails.

The construction of these gloves is impressive!  The black fabric is aramid fiber, which is better known as Kevlar, the trademarked name of the same fiber made by Dupont.  The blue design is made of silicone and the gloves have a cotton lining on the inside for comfort.

The makers do give the warning that the gloves are made for heat resistance, not flame or hot liquid.   

 

Extreme Heat Resistant Gloves for Cooks

I would recommend these gloves to anyone who cooks.  I have used oven mitts my entire life, but I much prefer the freedom of dexterity offered by gloves.  I also like the non-slip silicone design that allows me to get a better grip on bakeware. 

  • Extreme Heat Resistant up to 1472°F/800°C 
  • Grill or Oven Use
  • Non-slip, 2 Sided Silicone Coverage 
  • Made of Aramid Fiber
  • Cotton Liner
  • Long Sleeve Length for Added Protection
  • Loop for Hanging
  • Washable:  Machine or Hand 
  • Hang to Dry 

 


heat resistant gloves for baking, cooking or grilling



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, May 9, 2023

Char-Griller Smokin Champ Review

 Ghar-Griller Smokin Champ Review: The Smokey Goodness of Grilling

Char-Griller Smokin Champ Review

Most people love the taste of smoked food. And, if you are one of those people you need a good quality smoker grill in your life. The Char-Griller Smokin Champ is one of the best affordable smoker grills for the market, and it's perfect if you love to cook with smoke.

This grill is designed to give food that perfect smokey flavor, and it will not disappoint you. The Smokin Champ will deliver consistent results with its even heat distribution and adjustable vents. Whether you're grilling, smoking, or even baking the Smokin Champ will help you get the perfect results every time.

In the photo above is my Smokin Champ just after we assembled it. My daughter got this for me four years ago for Father's Day and it's everything that I expected. This grill has served us well for the last four years and I expect many more.

My Char-Griller Smokin Champ is made of high-quality steel that lasts years. It has a large cooking area of 614 square inches with a warming rack of 315 square inches, making it easy to cook for a large group of people. Or, it's just as convenient to cook for two people as most time it's just me and Fran grilling some burgers and veggies.

Features of my Smokin Champ:

  • Large cooking area
  • Warming rack
  • 3 cast iron cooking grates
  • Side firebox
  • Easy slide-out drawer to clean the firebox
  • Built-in thermometer to monitor the temperature 
  • Side shelf for utensils
  • Ashpan with hangers for charcoal grilling

Char-Griller Fire Box

This is a photo of the firebox, it is also made of heavy-duty steel with a drawer that pulls out for easy cleaning. The firebox is separate from the main chamber making it easy to add wood or charcoal without losing heat in the main chamber.

My smoker is known as an offset smoker. There are many other types of smokers on the market. But, I prefer the offset smoker, it takes a little time to learn how to control the temperature, so there is a little skill involved. Once you have mastered it you will be very happy with the results of the food you cook. 

Overall, Char-Griller Smokers are an excellent and affordable choice for anyone who just loves to cook with smoke. Or, if you don't want to use the smoker you have the option to just grill over charcoal. It's perfect for backyard barbecues and family gatherings. This smoker and grill has served our family well over the last four years and I'm looking forward to this year's grilling season. Every grill master in the family needs a fun apron. Check out my article on Funny Grill Master Aprons.

Here is a link to some of my favorite grilling and smoking recipes:

Main Dishes/Grilling

If you like cooking with charcoal, Char-Griller has a great affordable selection of Smokers and Charcoal Grills.

Char-Griller E1224 Smokin Pro 830 Square Inch Charcoal Grill with Side Fire Box, 50 Inch, BlackChar-Griller E1224 Smokin Pro 830 Square Inch Charcoal Grill with Side Fire Box, 50 Inch, BlackCheck the Price

 

Click here for more Product Reviews from our contributors: ReviewThisProductReviews.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, January 20, 2023

Huge 14" Dash Electric Skillet Reviewed

Electric Skillet Review
I have cooked with electric skillets my entire adult life, and that's a long time.  My parents gave me a new electric skillet for my last birthday. It is very large, but I was thrilled with the gift.  I knew immediately that it would reduce the length of time it took me to fry chicken simply because I could fry double the amount at one time in one electric skillet.

In the past, when I fried chicken, it took almost 2 hours in one electric skillet.  Years ago, my brother gave me a second electric skillet so I could use two at a time. That has been a fabulous time saver, but it still required clean up of two electric skillets.

My first experience with my new large Dash electric skillet was, of course, frying chicken.  This skillet will fry 6 - 8 chicken breasts or thighs (depending on size), 10 - 12 legs, or a combination of pieces all at one time in approximately 45 minutes.  I deep fry my chicken so it does take a lot of vegetable oil to fill the skillet, but it took a lot for 2 electric skillets too.  

The clean up is much easier than with my original electric skillets.  After I dispose of the oil, I wipe out the Dash skillet, set it in my sink and wash the inside of the skillet. Thus far, after several uses, the skillet doesn't even look like it needs to be washed after I wipe it out, but I still wash it!

When my siblings were home for the holidays, I took my Dash skillet over to my mom's house to cook.  My oldest brother joined me in the kitchen to make our family spaghetti.  There is no real set recipe for the family spaghetti.  We have a basic beginning of ingredients, but then we season with "whatever" to taste.  

I must say, cooking the spaghetti with my brother was one of my all-time favorite cooking experiences.  He brings a whole new attitude to preparing a meal.  Think the French Chef!  He adds a dash of this and a dash of that to create a delicious dinner.  I will never be able to duplicate that spaghetti, but it truly was the best I have ever eaten. Would you believe we added worcestershire sauce to it?  As Emeril would say, that certainly "kicked it up a notch"!

Most recently, I fried pork chops in my Dash electric skillet.  Wow! How awesome it was to be able to fry 10 boneless breakfast chops at once. For another dinner night, I fried 6 bone-in 3/4" pork chops all at one time.  They were all tender and outstanding!  As a matter of fact, my husband said the bone-in chops were the best he had ever had including what he had eaten in restaurants.  

I can hardly wait to try something new in my Dash electric skillet!


The 14" Dash Family Size Electric Skillet

 DASH Family Size Electric Skillet with 14 inch Nonstick Surface + Recipe Book for Pizza, Burgers, Cookies, Fajitas, Breakfast & More, 20 Cup Capacity, 1400-WattCheck PriceAfter I received the Dash Electric Skillet, I was anxious to try it out.  I've been pleasantly surprised by this skillet.  It cooks evenly and cleans up quickly.  

The tempered glass lid has a seal around it that locks in the heat, almost creating a steam effect to cooking.  I credit that for why the pork chops I cooked were so tender.

Features of the Dash Skillet

  • 20 cup capacity
  • 2.5" Depth
  • Tempered Glass Lid with seal
  • Non-stick Surface
  • PFOA-Free  (the chemicals used on nonstick surfaces)
  • Cool Touch Handles
  • Removable Cord
  • Non-Slip Feet
  • 4.5-qt. capacity
  • 6.7"H x 18.9"W x 16.5"D

I came across this interesting video on Youtube.  I thought you might enjoy watching it too. I never would have thought to make a pizza in the skillet.

 


 



 

Read More Kitchen Product Reviews On
Kitchen Products





House of Sylvestermouse






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, December 30, 2022

How to Make a Water Bath for Cheesecake Baking Review

Cheesecake Water Bath
There are benefits to preparing and using a water bath when baking cheesecakes or custards.  For one thing, it will keep your cheesecake from cracking and will prevent the filling from drying out.  Plus, it will prevent the cheesecake springform pan from leaking in your oven. 

A water bath is simply a pan of hot water, which will low boil when baking your cheesecake.  It will be very hot!  Be sure to leave your cheesecake cooling in the oven, in the water bath, for an hour after the baking is complete.  Just turn your oven off, leave the oven door slightly open and walk away for an hour.

Since you will be setting your filled cheesecake springform pan in the water bath, it is important to select a pan that your springform pan can easily sit in without tilting it or forcing it.  I have an oversized cake pan that I use.  The size of your springform pan will determine what size you need for the water bath.

For instance, I use a 9" springform pan and an old 18" x 12" sheet cake pan.  (that is all I use that cake pan for now because the coating is ruined)

Water Bath


How to Make a Water Bath for Cheesecake

When you have used a water bath for the first time, you will realize how very easy it is to set up.  

Since I have been asked the "what" question several times, I realize that just saying "bake your cheesecake in a water bath" is lacking in information.  Therefore, I'll share exactly what to do to make a cheesecake water bath here.

Cheesecake Water Bath
Step 1:  Wrap your springform pan in aluminum foil to prevent the water leaking into the cheesecake pan. I use heavy duty 18" wide aluminum foil, but you can use two pieces of standard, everyday 12" aluminum foil by folding them together with a seam that will not leak to create one large piece of foil.     

Step 2:  Set your filled cheesecake springform pan in the wider cake pan.

Step 3:  Add hot water in the wide cake pan, halfway up the outside of the springform pan.

Step 4:  Place in the oven & bake according to recipe.

Step 5:  Turn off the oven and leave the cheesecake in the water bath in the oven for one hour to cool.

 

Note:  The cheesecake and hot water together can be very heavy.  You may prefer to set your cheesecake in an empty cake pan in the oven, then add the hot water using a oven proof measuring cup.

cheesecake in the oven for waterbath

 

Click Here to See My Cheesecake Recipe Published on Review This Reviews!

 Wilton W6516 Perfect Results Sheet Cake PanCheck Price Calphalon Nonstick Bakeware, Spring Form Pan, 9-inchCheck Price Reynolds Wrap Heavy Duty Aluminum Foil, 18 inch, 37.5 Square-Foot Roll (Pack of 1)Check Price

 

Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com






How to Make a Water Bath for Cheesecake Baking Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





© 2022 Cynthia Sylvestermouse
 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, October 3, 2022

Salt Potatoes a Tasty Side Dish

 These easy-to-make salt potatoes are a perfect side dish to compliment any meal, and your family and friends will love them.

Salt Potatoes a Tasty Side Dish

Salt potatoes are a regional side dish that originated in Syracuse New York. The potatoes used for salt potatoes are, first harvested small young potatoes.

As the potatoes cook, the salt forms a crust on the outside, while the inside is soft and creamy. I garnished my salt potatoes with fresh parsley and chives and served them with melted butter to pour over the soft creamy inside.

I honestly have never heard of salt potatoes before. I was telling a friend that I was going to smoke a turkey breast over the weekend and he suggested making salt potatoes as the side dish.

Salt Potatoes

We have lived in Western New York for 33 years and I have never seen these in the grocery store until now. Apparently, you can buy salt potatoes in a kit. So, look in your local grocery store to see if you can find Salt Potatoes in a kit.

If you can't find a kit, you can use young small white potatoes and one cup of salt to six cups of water.

How to make Salt Potatoes:

5 lbs. small white potatoes (Washed)

1 cup salt

6 cups water

1/2 cup melted butter

Fresh parsley (Chopped)

Fresh Chives (Chopped)

Directions:

  1. Bring the water and salt to a boil until all of the salt has dissolved.
  2. Add the potatoes and boil for 25 to 30 minutes until the potatoes are soft and tender.
  3. Drain the water, pour over the melted butter and garnish with parsley and chives. Serve with more melted butter.
Needless to say that these salt potatoes were a big hit with the whole family. They made a perfect side dish for my Hickory Smoked Turkey Breast.

Here is the link to my:

Find more recipes on Review This here:


 







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, September 26, 2022

5 Best Cooking Themed Hallmark Movies

As Hallmark fans know... the answer to many problems in a Hallmark movie is... hot chocolate! Hallmark fans also love their food and cooking themed movies. So many fun and yummy Hallmark movies to view it is difficult to narrow the field to just five movies. But here it goes, my top 5 favorite Cooking Themed Hallmark movies.

cooking themed movies banner

1. Cooking With Love

Lights, camera and conflict; well, romantic conflict of course this is a Hallmark movie. Alie Liebert and Brett Dalton comprise the TV producer and temperamental chef turned cooking show host with an easy rom com repertoire. Enjoy the witty comments between the leads as they navigate the foodie journey.

2. Truly Madly Sweetly

This cooking rom com movie scores on every Hallmark movie scorecard! Dylan Neal and Nikki DeLoach two favorite Hallmark leads unite for witty banter, rom com fun and Hallmark chemistry as they co inherit a small town bakery and where the baking journey leads.  These Hallmark stars do not disappoint!

3. The Secret Ingredient 

What happens when you are unexpectedly competing with your ex fiancée in a baking competition? Valentine's Day theme? Brendan Penny and Erin Cahill make a very believable rom com team in this cross between Top Chef, Top Baker and Hallmark Romance movie.

4. The Sweetest Christmas

Two High School sweethearts  meet up years later - will the romance be rekindled? Lacey Chabert finds herself competing in a gingerbread house sculpture contest with a little help from her old sweetheart Lea Coco a restaurant owner. Cute chemistry, cute theme, cute Hallmark movie!

5. You're Bacon Me Crazy

Two dueling food truck chefs compete and the bacon is aflying! Michael Rady and Natalie Hall lead their food trucks through the paces in what could be a life changing competition. Foodie and food truck aficionados will appreciate the storyline.

Bonus Hallmark Foodie Movies

Vineyards across the land are an integral backdrop to quite a few Hallmark movies. And what goes well with wine... food of course! So while not necessarily cooking themed, the following movies feature wine, romance and gorgeous scenery along with more than one meal!

In The Vineyard Collection:

  • Summer In The Vineyard
  • Autumn In The  Vineyard
  • Valentine In The Vineyard

Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, April 22, 2022

Pampered Chef Boil-Over No More Pot Cover Splatter Guard Reviewed

Boil-Over No More
When I was invited to a Pampered Chef party recently, I attended only because a friend was hosting it.  I have a few Pampered Chef items in my kitchen and love them, but I wasn't shopping their catalog or seeking more of the products before I received the party invitation.  I ended up finding several new products that I really wanted in my kitchen. One of those products was the large Boil-Over No More. 

I was shocked by how much I love the Boil-Over No More pot cover. The first time I used it with my T-fal 5 quart dutch oven stockpot, I was dancing around the kitchen praising the cover.  I could not believe it actually kept the pot of boiling chicken from boiling over.  After that experience, I could hardly wait to try it while boiling potatoes, which makes a huge starch-water mess on my smooth top stove when they boil over. I was thrilled to see that the boiled potato water did not boil over.

Needless to say, this is my favorite new kitchen cooking accessory! Now I always use it instead of the pot lid and my smooth top stove stays clean. 

 

The Pampered Chef Boil-Over No More 

boil over no more pot cover guard on pot
There are two sizes available.  I only purchased the large Boil-Over No More for my large dutch ovens or stockpot, which are the pots I use most often when when boiling anything.

The Boil-Over No More sinks slighting into the pot and has little flaps on the top for steam release.  It is almost 13" wide and will fit most standard size skillets too.  The small handles on each side allow you to easily lift the cover off.  To check the water level, I simply lift one of the flaps to peak inside the pot without removing the Boil-Over No More.  I do remove the entire cover if I need to add water.

The Boil-Over No More is dishwasher safe.  I store my cover by leaning it against the wall inside my cabinet, next to my stacked pans. That makes it very easy to locate and pull out when needed. 

 

You can purchase your own Boil-Over No More by clicking the E-bay link below.

ebay banner

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, August 16, 2021

Emeril Lagasse Pasta and Beyond Review

 

Emeril Lagasse Pasta and Beyond Review

There is no doubt that our family loves pasta. We enjoy making our own homemade pasta whenever time allows.

We have had and used, our Atlas pasta machine for years, and with this machine, you can make different types of noodles. With everybody’s busy schedules we don’t always have the time to make the dough, roll it out and run it through the machine.

It was just after Christmas 2020 when I was flipping through the television channels, and I came across Emeril Lagasse’s infomercial for his Pasta & Beyond machine.

I immediately stopped flipping the channels, number one because I like Emeril Lagasse and number two, I love homemade pasta. I’m usually not an impulse buyer, but after watching the infomercial I knew that I had to have this.

I bought the complete system, which includes a shredder, a slicer, a meat grinder, a slow juicer, and a frozen treat maker. This post is about the pasta machine, as I have not tried the others yet. Although, my daughter did use the meat grinder and she liked its performance.

What you get with Pasta and Beyond:

The pasta machine

Liquid measuring cup

Dry measuring cup

Mixing Chamber

Pasta Discs (8 different types of pasta)

Spatula/cleaning tool

Cleaning brush

A recipe book that includes so many pasta recipes, and there is even a gluten-free pasta recipe.

The different types of pasta that you can make with your Pasta and Beyond:

Pasta Discs

Penne

Spaghetti

Linguine

Tagliatelle

Udon (This is one I haven't had before)

Angel Hair

Fettucine

Lasagna

Making homemade pasta with this machine is so easy. You just add the dry ingredients into the mixing chamber. Prepare the wet ingredients in the provided measuring cup. Turn on the machine according to the instructions. Then, add the wet ingredients slowly through the mixing chamber lid.

The machine will mix for about 5 minutes and then it will go in reverse to begin extruding the pasta. The best part is that you can have homemade pasta on the table in about 30 minutes.

If you are in a pasta-making mood the pasta is easy to freeze. Make a few pounds of your favorite, freeze it, and have homemade pasta anytime. The machine is also very easy to clean.

Wet and Dry Ingredients

In this photo, we are getting ready to make some homemade linguine. We used Emeril's Pasta recipe with all-purpose flour and semolina flour. 

A ten-second video of making our linguine

One pound of Linguine

This is our one pound of linguine that we made in about 30 minutes. This was homemade, and oh so fresh, we enjoyed linguine and clam sauce that day.

I wonder what my grandmother would think of this machine. Growing up I watched her make homemade pasta all the time, only it was all by hand.

There are other pasta machines on the market and I can't speak to their performance. I can tell you that I am 100 percent satisfied with my Pasta and Beyond.

EMERIL LAGASSE Pasta & Beyond, Automatic Pasta and Noodle Maker with Slow Juicer - 8 Pasta Shaping Discs BlackEMERIL LAGASSE Pasta & Beyond, Automatic Pasta and Noodle Maker with Slow Juicer - 8 Pasta Shaping Discs BlackCheck the Price

 

For more ReviewThis Product Reviews Click here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, July 8, 2021

Review of My New Air Fryer

 

new air fryer photo by mbgphoto

My brother and my neighbor have both been telling me about the wonders of their air fryers, so when I found a great sale on Amazon I decided it was time for me to buy one and give it a try.  I had been getting in a real rut with my cooking and in fact I dreaded to have to cook meals each day.  Well, I will tell you with my new combination air fryer griller I am looking forward to each mealtime and deciding what I can make next.  The possibilities seem endless.  So far I have made shrimp, chicken wings, waffle fries, grilled sandwiches, donuts, apple chips, and reheated toasted ravoli.  All were very easy and what was really great was how easy it was to cleanup the fryer.

Features of my Power XL Grill Air Fryer Combo

The air fryer that I choose has 12 different cooking modes.  Although I don't anticipate using all of them, I can see where several will come in very handy.  There is a separate lid that I can use when I want to slow cook, steam, saute, rice, simmer, sous vide, fry or keep warm.  When I want to use the following modes: air fry, grill, bake, or roast I use the air frying lid.


I really like that it has a slow cooker option too.  I was worried about space for the air fryer but now I can put away several of my other appliances and just use the Power XL for everything.

I have not made fried food for years, but with the option of using little or no oil for the air fryer I can have crispy food and they can still be healthy without compromising any of the taste.

 

Recipes I Have Tried

My Power XL  came with a recipe book so it gave me some good ideas to start. I also found that if I wanted to cook something I could just ask Alexa and she would give me a recipe.  For instance I asked our  Alexa to give me a recipe for shrimp and she provided me with several options.  I could also ask what time and temperature to use for cooking chicken wings and she gave me the answer.  There are also tons of recipes online to try for air fryers.  

The first recipe I tried was one for shrimp.  It was so very easy. I brushed the raw shrimp with a mixture of olive oil and seasonings and then put them in the basket of the air fryer.  I cooked them at 400 degrees for 8 minutes and they came out perfectly cooked and a little crispy on the outside.  They were wonderful and this is a recipe I am sure I will use often.

For a breakfast treat I made some donuts in the air fryer.  They were also so simple and delicious.  I took a package of Pillsbury Grands biscuits and cut out a hole in the center.  I then cooked them for 6 minutes in the air fryer.  When they were finished I took them out and brushed them with some melted butter and sprinkled on a cinnamon/sugar mixture.  They were delicious.  Here is a photo I took.

cinnamon sugar biscuits made & photographed by mbgphoto

I also made some apple chips by slicing an apple thin and adding a mixture of cinnamon and nutmeg.  They were a wonderful snack.  Here you see them laid out in the air fryer.

apple chips air fried


What I am Looking Forward to Trying

I have a lot of different recipes marked to try in the future.  In the cookbook that came with the PowerXL was a recipe for a cherry dump cake that I will be trying this weekend.  My brother made it and said it turned out great.  A nice feature is that you can bake a cake without having to turn on the oven and heating up the house in the hot weather we are having.

Some other recipes I have found that I will try in the near future include: chicken parmesan, chicken drumsticks, french toast, egg-bacon-cheese biscuits, air fried vegetables, and fried zuccini.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, June 29, 2021

ThermoPro TP-20 and TP-18 Food Thermometers Reviewed

 

ThermoPro TP-20

Three years ago I received my Char-Griller offset smoker as a Father's Day gift. I was so excited and could not wait to use it. My Char-Griller is a combination smoker and charcoal grill.

As I was in a hurry to get started, I quickly realized that I needed some additional tools to help control the temperatures of the grill and the food. Even though the grill has a thermometer on the lid of the grill the temperatures can vary by 40 to 50 degrees throughout the grill.

After much research, I found the ThermoPro TP-20 remote food thermometer with dual probes. Now, I can remotely monitor the internal temperature of the food that I'm cooking along with the inside temperature of the grill.

ThermoPro TP-20 Features:

LCD Display (Liquid Crystal Display) - Displays all icons temperatures and time
Dual probe temperature display
Programmable alert with preset temperatures for different foods
Tolerance for internal food temperature is + or - 1.8 degrees
Displays in Fahrenheit or Celsius
Count down or count up timer
Remote Transmitter

The dual probes allow me to monitor the internal temperature of two types of meat or two sections of a large piece of meat.

With the 40 to 50-degree variance that I mentioned earlier, you want to be sure that you are cooking the meat at the proper temperature.
 
I always use the second probe to monitor the grill temperature of the cooking surface of my grill. The unit comes with a handy clip so you can clip the probe onto the grill grates. With the remote transmitter, I can monitor the grill and the food from anywhere. 

ThermoPro Instant ReadTP-18:

I have the old-style meat thermometers but you have to insert them into the meat and wait for the temperature to read. When your cooking over a hot surface this presents a problem.

The TP-18 is an ultra-fast digital instant-read thermometer you will get reading in about two seconds. This comes in handy for checking different portions of the meat while cooking. 

I also use both the TP-20 and TP-18 while cooking inside. The wires on the TP-20 are long enough to have the probe inserted into your favorite roast in the oven and have the monitor on the countertop.

I am very satisfied with the performance of both of my ThermoPro thermometers for the past three years and would recommend them to anybody.

Check out just a few of my favorite smoking recipes:

Long Smoke Pulled PorkLong Smoke Pulled PorkLong Smoke Pulled PorkSmoked Bone in Chicken BreastsSmoked Bone-in Chicken BreastsSmoked Bone in Chicken BreastsSlow Smoke Pork RibsSlow Smoke Pork RibsSlow Smoke Pork Ribs

 

Find More Product Reviews on ReviewThisReviewThisProductReviews.com


ThermoPro TP18 Ultra Fast Thermocouple Digital Instant Read Meat Thermometer for Grilling BBQ Smoker Kitchen Food Cooking Thermometer for Oil Deep Fry Candy ThermometerThermoPro TP18 Ultra Fast Thermocouple Digital Instant Read Meat Thermometer for Grilling BBQ Smoker Kitchen Food Cooking Thermometer for Oil Deep Fry Candy ThermometerCheck the PriceThermoPro TP-20 500FT Wireless Meat Thermometer with Dual Meat Probe, Digital Cooking Food Meat Thermometer Wireless for Smoker BBQ Grill Thermometer, 2.67 x 4.94 x 1.10ThermoPro TP-20 500FT Wireless Meat Thermometer with Dual Meat Probe, Digital Cooking Food Meat Thermometer Wireless for Smoker BBQ Grill Thermometer, 2.67 x 4.94 x 1.10Check the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, July 10, 2020

Lodge Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven With Loop Handles

Cast Iron Dutch Oven and Lid Skillet
When fellow contributor, Dawn Rae, started tempting me with homemade bread recipes, I decided I needed a dutch oven.  My husband loves homemade bread and I enjoy cooking, so it was time to test my bread baking skills again.

It has been years since I have baked bread other than my banana bread.  I used to bake bread every week, but I got out of that habit when I let my sour dough starter ruin.  I would love to find another really good sour dough starter.  Until then, Dawn's Artisan Bread Recipe is great!  Actually, it is faster and easier than the sour dough bread I used to make and my family seems to be just as happy with Dawn's Artisan Bread. 

There are a lot of dutch ovens available, but I wanted the cast iron version.


The Versatility of Cast Iron


 Lodge Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven on Gas StoveI have cooked with a cast iron skillet my entire life.  It is heavy compared to other skillets, but you can't beat it when frying fish, frying pork chops, or baking cornbread.  

You can use cast iron on a stove top, electric or gas, as long as it has range burner elements (not recommended by some glass stove top manufacturers for a flat surface glass stove top).  
Update: Contributor Sam Monaco comments below that he uses his cast iron skillet on his glass stove top all of the time.

Cast Iron will also go in the oven, which is how my mother, my grandmother, my great grandmother and I have all baked cornbread.  That is why I wanted the cast iron dutch oven.  I knew it would be most excellent for baking!

Cast Iron can also be used on a open flame, like a campfire.  I have been known to fish which is rather ironic since I don't eat trout or catfish.  However, when you come from a family with 4 brothers and a mother who loves catfish, you better fish or you are left behind counting the hours.  Besides, I love quietly floating down the river in a boat, soaking in the sun and the beauty of nature surrounding me.  

One year, Dad hired a guide.  We caught our limit by midday, but didn't have any desire to stop fishing.  So, we pulled to shore, built a campfire and cooked our fish in a cast iron skillet along with some potatoes the guide provided.  After lunch, we fished a few more hours and brought home fish for dinner.  That is how I discovered a cast iron skillet could be used over a open campfire!


My Cast Iron Dutch Oven


 Lodge Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven With Loop Handles, 5 qtCheck PriceI purchased a 5 qt. Lodge brand cast iron dutch oven and I have be thrilled with it for several reasons.

  • The lid doubles as a skillet
  • I really like the handles on both the lid & the dutch oven
  • It is just the right size for the oven
  • Perfection in cooking due to even heating 
  • Easy to wash, dry & re-season* 
  • I know it will outlast me, which means I will never have to buy again
  • Lodge is a trusted name in cast iron.  Over 100 years in business

*Seasoning cast iron is simply rubbing it lightly with vegetable oil after washing while it is still warm from the hot water wash or you can place it back in a warm oven after applying the oil.

I chose the basic cast iron dutch oven mainly because I loved the dual purpose lid.  I knew I could flip the lid and bake cornbread on top while a roast baked below it in the dutch oven.  The top would not only be a lid for the roast, but also a skillet for the cornbread.  

One note about using the lid on the dutch oven.  In the photo, you see the lid and dutch oven handles are evenly aligned.  I prefer to offset them slightly so lifting the hot lid is much easier.

Dawn Rae chose an enameled cast iron dutch oven which should be fine for cooking on a flat, glass stove top.  You can read her review here: Enameled Cast Iron - Pricey But Worth It 


You too can Bake Dawn's Easy No-Knead Dutch Oven Artisan Bread! 
To make my bread in the intro photo, I used Dawn's recipe. 
I added 3/4 cup cranberries, 3/4 cup walnuts & 1T honey.
Simply click the image below for her recipe. 

crunchy-no-knead-round-loaf-bread





Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X