Showing posts with label holiday. Show all posts
Showing posts with label holiday. Show all posts

Wednesday, March 17, 2021

March 17th St. Patrick's Day Some Facts and Fiction You May Not Know!

So Today is St. Patrick's Day and I hope you are sporting the wearing of something Green!  A Holiday Review.

So what do we know about St. Patrick and what is just added fun for all of us?

Truth be told St. Patrick was a 5th Century missionary from England, sent to bring the message of the Gospels to Ireland.  St. Patrick's Day is celebrated today because it was the day he died in circa 492 (no one is sure about the year).  
                              Stained Glass Window of St. Patrick from Junction City Ohio , found on Widipedia

Patrick's start in Ireland was not a pleasant one,  he was captured by Irish pirates and brought to Ireland as a slave.  He was about 16 years old at the time and not a particularly devout follower of the Christ.  His time as a slave in Ireland would lead him to find his faith as a Christian and from that point onwards he was quick to declare that Christianity and belief in God was the way to live.

Historians are not sure of too much regarding Patrick, as much of the written works that speak of him no longer exist.  The earliest writings seems to be a letter to Pope Boniface IV around the year 613.  

So how do we have all these "symbols" that are used extensively to celebrate St. Patrick's Day today?

Patrick is credited with teaching the Irish about the Holy Trinity using the shamrock as a way to explain the ideology/theology of 3 unique persons in 1 God.  The pagan people in Ireland had many triple deities, so using the shamrock aided him in his evangelization efforts.  

Patrick is also given the credit for ridding Ireland of it's snakes.  If you look at historical texts you will find that another Irish saint should have that credit(and even that is questionable).  It was only in the 13th century that credit seems to have shifted to St. Patrick.  In fact there evidence that Ireland never had snakes, so there was nothing for him to banish.

There is also the tale of his walking stick.  No doubt as he travelled, he used a staff or walking stick to aid his footsteps.  As he was moving from place to place in Ireland, he came to a place now known as Aspatria.  Legend has it that he stuck his walking stick into the ground and it took so long to teach the people here, that his stick had taken root by the time he was ready to move on.

What is certain is that there isn't a whole lot of St. Patrick's Story that can be held as truth, but the 300 churches and hundreds of thousands that were baptized by him helped make Ireland a Christian nation.

Today we are not so religious about St. Patrick's Day, rather we love to hang onto the "fun" side of Irish culture and traditions.  Because St. Patrick was given credit for using the Shamrock for teaching purposes, and its green, both of these became stalwarts of the Irish identity beyond the borders of Ireland proper.  One of Ireland's claims to fame is that it is the land of a thousand different shades of green!  If you have ever seen an picture of Ireland from the air, you will know that is true.

But let's have some fun now....Why do we wear green on St. Patrick's Day?
Well, this hails back to the belief in Leprechauns, which is said to come from some of the Druid folklore (pre St. Patrick).  These Leprechauns were: little people, with magical powers that could serve both good and evil. The Celtic folktales, told of  their trickery that would keep their much fabled treasures safe.  It is also said that the wearing of the green is directly related to these little creatures in that they are not able to see the color green.  Therefore you were safe from their trickery if you wore the green!

                                                                          Photo credit Spencer Platt/Getty  New York St. Patrick's Day Parade 2015


Everyone seems to be wearing green with sayings like "Kiss me I'm Irish!"  In past years, when there isn't a pandemic to keep us away, there were parades and music marking St. Patrick's Day.  The first St. Patrick's Day parade according to History.com was held in New York City in 1895. (There is a debate that there may have been a St. Patrick's Day Parade held in St. Augustine, Florida earlier than 1895) No doubt many Irish immigrants (who came during the potato famine in Ireland 1845) were the inspiration for this reveling  of cultural identity in their new home.  It was a balm to them to celebrate their heritage even though time were tough and not everyone welcomed the Irish.  


While we think of corned beef and cabbage as being a typical Irish Dinner, the truth is that in Ireland they will have Ham and Cabbage. When the Irish came to America, many were very poor so they substituted Corned beef for the Ham (it was cheaper).  Today, this is a staple meal to serve for St. Patrick's Day Dinner.

As with many things in North America, we have made St. Patrick's Day our own.  We can see people enjoying green beer or drinking the traditional Guinness while enjoying Irish step dancers and marching bands.  

Chicago even dyes their river green in honor of St. Patrick's Day.  Now that is a clever trick worthy of any leprechauns in the city.

St. Patrick's Day has become a day not just for the Irish, but for anyone who loves a good time, a great party and a reason to celebrate.  You don't have to be Irish to enjoy all the sights and sounds of a wonderful day that just happens to come on March 17th.  



After a long winter, it's nice to have something "Green" to celebrate.  Wear your Shamrocks and Green with pride and have a Happy St. Patrick's Day!











Some lovely items for your home to help you celebrate everything Irish.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, December 24, 2020

Review of Christmas Season 2020


 Christmas 2020 will soon be "Christmas past" and it certainly has been one for the books.  We will remember it as the year of the pandemic, the year without large family gatherings, the year of wearing masks, the year without Christmas parties, and the year of live stream church services.  And yet....it has not been a year without joy for me.  I may have had to look a bit to find it in other activities but as this Christmas season draws to a close I find  that I feel peace even in these crazy times.

Photographing our Decorations

I thoroughly enjoy my photography hobby and this year has given me a lot of time to take classes on photography and Photoshop.  I used some of my new found skills to photograph our holiday decorations.  Here are a few of my favorites. The first two are our tree and the outside of the house.  On both of them I used some new filters I learned how to use on a Photoshop online class.



The next two photos were made for a photography challenge on a group that gives us a weekly theme and we come up with creative ideas.  The theme for this week was "bubble wrap".



Watching Christmas Movies New and Old

I have enjoyed watching movies I have not watched for sometime and also I've found a few new Christmas movies to enjoy.  Last week fellow reviewer Sam Monaco wrote a review on Bing Crosby and White Christmas and it inspired me to rewatch that classic Christmas movie.  Here is a link to Sam's review. Bing Crosby

I also watched a movie that was new to me, although it came out in 2013.  It is called The Christmas Candle and has a delightful story of a minister who comes to a church in a small English village.  

The True Meaning of Christmas


The photo above depicts one of our Christmas decorations.  It is one of my favorites.  It is a cross that holds within it the scenes from the first Christmas.  As in every Christmas it is important to keep our hearts on the seasons true meaning.  

Luke 2:11

“For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.”

King James Version (KJV)

May you and your family experience Peace and Joy during this Christmas and throughout the coming year! 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, December 31, 2019

Review of Year End

One Year Ends Another Begins

As I write this we are celebrating the Year End of 2019 and welcoming in the new year and a new decade...2020. 

year end new begin
Wishing you all a Happy New Year
image courtesy of pixabay.com

Here is wishing you all the best in the coming year. I would like to leave you with this toast to end the year and begin our new one. It is a quote from Edith Pierce:

"We will open the book. It's pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and it's first chapter is New Year's Day."

As you fill the pages of your book of Opportunity, I hope you have few filled with sorrow and many filled with happiness. From myself and the other contributors of Review This, we wish you the best for this coming year and decade!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Lego Easter Egg Hunt Set Reviewed

Fun Idea For Easter Basket Stuffer

easter eggs
Add some Lego Fun to the Basket
(image courtesy of pixabay.com)
It is a good two months before those Easter Egg Hunts take place but I am already looking for some fun ideas to add to the baskets. Of course there will be eggs to be found. I always look for some different sorts of sweets to add but I like to hold that sugary stuff to a minimum. So, I start searching for non-edible ideas rather early. I have found something fun for this year. 

Those that know me might remember that I love to play with Legos. My brothers and I built things with those plastic bricks when we were little. Hours of fun were spent with my daughters with them. This grandma still plays with the colorful plastic pieces with her grandchildren. I even have a display of the Big Bang Theory done in Legos in our family room. 

Imagine my thrill when I found a set of Legos that creates a scene for an Easter Egg Hunt! It is a small little set with only 145 pieces so the box will fit nicely in the kid's baskets. The set allows you to build three separate locations (to hide the 3 eggs). There is a carrot garden, a flower garden and a hen house. Two figures come with the set; an adult and a child. There is a wheelbarrow, a cute little basket and a magnifying glass. Well, it is just down right adorable! 

As with most of the Lego sets once this one is assembled the different locations can be easily added to any other display you might already have on display. We rarely tear our finished sets down in this house. They are fun to pull out and play with when the kids come or Grandma goes to their house. 

If you are looking for something to add to an Easter Basket that won't throw your child or grandchild into a raging sugar high, consider a set of Lego fun with the Easter Egg Hunt.
  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Being Thankful Reviewed

Celebrating Thanksgiving

thankful
Give Thanks every day (image courtesy of pixabay.com)
Instead of spending this morning reviewing a product, I choose instead to review being thankful instead. This emotion is not something that can be purchased but instead is a choice that we make every single day, not just on Thanksgiving Day. Well, at least that is what I think. It is a choice whether we realize it or not. 

For me, every morning when my eyes open I humbly say a prayer of thanksgiving for being on this side of the dirt for at least one more day. I do look at each day as a precious gift and promise each morning to try to make the best of that day as is humanly possible for me to do. 

Sometimes our lives seem to be filled with obstacles that could make us choose to be bitter, sad, angry and lost. Holidays, often times, bring our negative emotions closer to the surface. We find ourselves being depressed due to the loss of someone close to us that won't share the holiday with us. Perhaps we are far away from home and family and are heart broken with the thought of being alone during the holiday. I know those feelings well, more than I like to remember. I can empathize and sympathize with all who feel that way as Thanksgiving approaches with Christmas not far on the horizon. 

There was a time in my life when I wasn't sure that Thanksgiving, in particular, would ever be a happy time for me again. At the time my life was forever altered just two days before the holiday. I feared that this time of the year would forever be darkened by that horrible event. I realized the following year that it would only be darkened if I let it. I could sit around and feel depressed or I could make the choice to look for the people and things in my life to be thankful for. It wasn't hard to see hundreds of reasons to feel grateful and thankful. I made up my mind that year to always look for the good and wonderful things in my life.

So, this year as every year, I am most thankful for my beautiful family. My children, my grandchildren and my loving husband fill my life with joy every day. I am thankful for a roof over my head and food on my table. I am thankful for good health and an abundance of friends. I am thankful for each day that my eyes open. There are people who are not on this earth to share the day with me this year but I am thankful for the time that I did get to share with them and I know that they are here in spirit and will always be in my heart. I won't be saddened by the things that are lost but will be happy with what is here and look forward to what is to be found. I am thankful for it all.

For those of you who are reading this, my wish is that your Thanksgiving will be filled with joy and happiness. Actually, my wish is that you find something to be thankful for every day. Just remember to look, it shouldn't be too difficult to find if you open your heart.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Holiday Gift Wrap Bundle Set Reviewed

Coordinated Packages Under The Tree

holiday gift wrap
Holiday Wrap For pretty gifting (image courtesy of pixabay.com)
Before you know it, the time for making sure we have enough supplies for our holiday gift wrapping will be upon us. I don't know about you but I like to have a nice variety of papers on hand but I also like for the packages to have a coordinated look to them. 

I found a nice bundle set to get for my gifts this year and I thought that I would share my discovery with you today. The set comes with three rolls of wrapping paper which have a design on both sides, gift tags and ribbon. I love that they are all color coordinated. The set that I plan to get is in reds and golds but there is an option to choose different color sets if the red and gold does not appeal to you. Our tree is predominately red and gold so this set will look really nice under our tree this year. 

Did you know that red and gold are very traditional colors for the Christmas holiday? Red is often used to represent the blood of Christ when he died on the cross but also the bishops robes were often red and later St. Nicholas and Santa Claus wore red. Gold represents one of the gifts brought to the Christ child and is also used to show the star over Bethlehem. 

Often times in the past I have purchased gift wrap and then tried to find tags and ribbon that would work well but that can be a real pain in the backside. Finding a set that is already matched will make my job so much easier this year. I know that most likely no one will even notice that everything is wrapped in a coordinated color scheme but I will know. Maybe it won't register with the family at all and that is just fine. It might be one of those subtle things that they know they liked it but can't put their finger on why. 

How about you? Do you like for all of your gifts to coordinate or do you just try to use up the paper you have on hand before purchasing new paper, ribbon, and gift tags? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Christmas Wrapping Paper Reviewed

Gift Wrap For The Holidays

Christmas image courtesy of Pixabay.com
As I write this review this morning we only have two days until it is Thanksgiving here in the United States. After the turkey and stuffing have been devoured on Thursday, my thoughts and deeds will turn to decorating for Christmas and wrapping gifts to put under the tree. 

My wrapping paper supply has dwindled down to almost nothing so I have been looking for some Christmas Wrapping paper to use this year. I often go with a theme for the paper that I use so that it looks nice under our tree. For some reason this year I am drawn to plaids. In the past I have used whimsical Santa paper or vintage patterns and even Victorian themed papers. The plaid will be something different for me and our tree.

I think that something like the image shown above will look nice under the tree this year. I particularly like that each roll is reversible which will give me the option of adding even more variety. The rolls are 30 inches wide giving plenty of area to wrap gifts. The paper set is a Hallmark product so I won't have to worry about flimsy paper that tears easily. Don't you just hate that? You are wrapping a gift and the paper rips from just brushing a corner of a box.

Another thing that I like about going with plaid gift wrapping paper this year is that it shouldn't be too difficult to find ribbon and bows to coordinate on the packages. I can see that a few of the plaid patterns have some blue in them. I can't tell you how many bows that I have stored away that are pretty shades of blue but don't normally work with Christmas wrap. Looks like this year I can use up some of those neglected little blue bows. Hooray!

So, how about you? Do you theme your gift wrapped packages under the tree or do you just use what is on hand for an eclectic look? There is no right or wrong way, it is a matter of preference I think. As much as I love giving gifts to my loved ones, the real gift that can't be wrapped is the joy of being with your family for the holidays. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 6, 2017

Reviewing Meaningful Gifts by SimplyYoursByDesign

Personalized ornaments and bracelets by SimplyYoursByDesign
As the season of serious gift shopping fast approaches, I want to bring attention to these personalized and meaningful gifts. In this review I will show you gifts that are not mass produced, are handmade, and are personalized to your specifications. These are gifts that are meant to last through the years.

Earlier this year I ordered custom metal garden tags from SimplyYoursByDesign and was extremely pleased with both that shopping experience and  the quality of garden tags I received. I expect that the experience with their gift items would be the same.


Engraved Double-Sided Cuff Bracelet


This lovely double-sided cuff bracelet is stamped with one word on the top side and is personalized on the inside.  This example shows the top side word as "blessed". That word can be exchanged for a word of your choice. The inside is a list of names separated by hearts. Perhaps the names of someone's children? Or a proud grandparent's grandchildren?

The top side could be engraved with the word "remember" with an important quote on the inside. Or perhaps "never forget" on the top side with a date or memorial on the inside. 

These bracelets can be as personal and unique as you can imagine - within the character limits of course. And they are available in several different metals.


engraved cuff bracelets by SimplyYoursByDesign

Engraved Metal Ornaments - Personalized for Your Family or Theirs


Many families have ornaments that they use year after year. And eventually pass down through the generations. A wonderful tradition that is even better when the ornaments don't just say "Baby's First Christmas" but also includes baby's name! 

My readers are probably more imaginative than I am and can probably come up with some fantastic ideas for ornaments. These are the ideas I've had for meaningful ornaments:
  • gift for grandparent with the grandchildren's names
  • baby's first Christmas
  • special dates or events that have occurred 
  • family name ornament
  • parent ornament listing the children's names
  • memorial ornament - to always remember
  • ornament for pet
  • couple's first Christmas together (imagine the same ornament of a different metal each subsequent year!)

some of the MANY ornament possibilities offered by SimplyYoursByDesign

SimplyYoursByDesign on Etsy


customized garden tags
As I mentioned, I had ordered personalized garden tags earlier this year (see that review here) and as a result, I continue to recommend SimplyYoursByDesign

When you order your personalized item, remember that this is a small family business and the items are engraved by hand. If you are a last-minute shopper and desire instant gratification, these are probably not the gifts for you. The folks at SimplyYoursByDesign list the current production time on their policies page, so be aware of that when you are considering ordering.

If you are looking for a special and personal gift for someone (or maybe for yourself) these may be just the things you were looking for. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 4, 2017

Happy Labor Day from the Contributors at Review This!

Today, in the United States, many are celebrating Labor Day.  This federal holiday originated from the increasing need to address the terrible working conditions during America's industrial revolution in the 19th century. A march in New York city took place on September 5th, 1882  - thus becoming known as the first Labor Day parade. Not until 1894 did it become a federal holiday. Today, Labor Day continues as a holiday to celebrate and recognize the hard-working people in the workforce and to enjoy a three day weekend as summer ends.


The Brief History of Labor Day


On the History website, there is a nice little synopsis of how Labor Day came to be. It is where I obtained the dates in the opening paragraph. I could recall why Labor Day came to be, but I could not recall exactly when.

In reading historical fiction, I've always been struck with how children were laborers in early American history and how working conditions were so very unsafe for both adults and those children. I am in awe of the rich history of how newcomers to the United States worked so extremely hard to create a life for themselves and their families.


Thoughts about Labor Day


Labor Day has a special place in my life for several reasons. I love the changing seasons that I've experienced living in both the midwest and on the east coast of our great country.  Labor Day weekend often signifies the cooling air and water temperatures - summer is winding down. I begin to think of autumn.

Across the Labor Day weekend, I often marvel at things such as train tracks (and the people who built them), the full roadside fruit stands (and the farmers who grew that food), and all of the truck drivers I see on the roads (the people who transport our goods). It is impressive to me how things have been created and invented through the hard work of others.

Most importantly to me, I notice the schools that are opening, the school buses that are practicing their routes, and the notices to drive safely to protect our children who are returning to school. I believe hard work is an important part of raising our children into responsible adults. But only a part. And I'm glad that our children are being sent to school rather than working long hours, at extremely young ages, to earn only pennies as they did in the past. Working with my father in his business and working on the farm at an early age was an extremely important part of my development. Experiences that I am thankful for. But those experiences were nothing like the children depicted in the photographs of Lewis Hine.


A look at child labor - by Russell Freedman and photography of Lewis Hine 



Happy Labor Day to You


Labor Day has morphed from a march to address unsafe working conditions in the 1800's to a long weekend with parades, picnics, travel, and back-to-school sales. Whether you celebrate Labor Day or not, the contributors at Review This! wish you a happy Monday on this day. And we thank you for your work and contributions to our lives.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 22, 2017

Reviewing Gift Tags by Nature Cuts


Recently, I have attended a few special occasions and have been invited to others. I am always amazed at how some people can throw a themed party with all of the trimmings. I am especially delighted with the thought that goes into those party favors and gift bags that follow the theme. Then I ran across these awesome gifts tags by Nature Cuts. Although I have not recently thrown a party or hosted any type of gathering, I had to review these themed gift cards.  


Gift Tags and Confetti by Nature Cuts


Nature Cuts offers handmade confetti and gift tags. While I've seen confetti used in very creative and beautiful ways recently, I am focused on the gift tags. 

Nature Cuts tags are handmade in Wisconsin, USA. Nearly all of the hundreds of gift tags offered have a nature theme; animals, trees, birds, fish, flowers, and more. 

They are made from 65lb cardstock. These gift tags come in two size/amount options:



25 tags (2.5" x 1.5")
12 tags (4" x 2.3")


Having lived in Maryland for the past decade, I am especially drawn to the crab design.  Gathering around a crab feast, with beer and friends is a way of life here. Special occasions here, such as graduations and goodbye parties, include crabs by default. I can imagine these crab gift tags put to good use at a good number of special occasions in this area.

I am sure that people who regularly host events can think of many ways in which these tags could be used. But these are the occasions I can think of:

showers
  • crab feasts
  • beach parties
  • destination weddings in rustic settings
  • beach weddings
  • bridal showers
  • baby showers
  • birthdays
  • graduation parties
  • camping family reunions
  • retirement parties
  • Halloween
  • and so many more holidays and special gatherings
spider/Halloween gift tags

Nature Cuts tags can be found in their Etsy store as well as on Amazon. The Etsy shop has been open since 2014 and there are hundreds of good reviews.  Or maybe Amazon is your favorite convenient mode of buying party supplies. Either way, there are many, many interesting and unique tags to choose from.

Woodland or Christmas Tree gift tags

Related Link:


Several of our Review This! contributors host parties, plan gatherings, and host for the holidays on a regular basis. They share their expertise with party tips, decorating, and recipes here (click link then scroll down). If you enjoy hosting events and parties, I am sure you will find something interesting and helpful there.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Go Bananas! Reviewing Banana Treats & Toys for Banana Day

Source: Pixabay
Banana Day is held annually on the third Wednesday of April.  And August 27 is Banana Lovers Day. 

Many colleges and universities celebrate 'Banana Day' with a variety of events, including games, trivia, a bunch of banana concoctions to eat and drink, and students dressing up as a banana or a gorilla.

West Chester University in Pennsylvania began an annual BANANA DAY in 1996.  That year 3,000 bananas were given to people on campus and over 50 hours of service contributed to the community. Since then it has become a morale and school pride booster for everyone. 





Fine Art Print Available on Etsy


Banana Facts


Bananas can give an instant and sustained boost of energy to your body.   It is the reason it  has become the number one fruit for today's leading athletes.  Three small bananas can provide enough energy for a strenuous 90-minute workout.  It's also good for many health reasons, making it the perfect staple in our daily diets.

There are almost 1000 varieties of bananas in the world, with the most well known one being the Cavendish banana, which is the one grown for export.  Bananas are grown in some 150 countries and produce about 105 million tons of fruit every year.  Did you know that bananas are botanically a berry?

Banana Costume


Banana Costume by The Costume Cafe

If you want to dress up as a banana for National Banana Day,  Sara Carter makes adorable costumes in many styles and sizes.  Here's her banana costume for kids.


Sara, a midwestern girl now living in Austin, Texas, loves to create unique costumes for kids that fit well and allow them to move freely.  She thinks most costumes should be able to come on and off easily and be layered over street clothes.  Her specialty is costumes that look good enough to eat... 

Sara's food-related costumes from infant size to adult can be found in her Etsy Shop she calls The Costume Cafe.

Banana Play Food


Besides being a delicious fruit to eat, bananas can also be fun as a plush toy.



Kawaii Plush Bananas on Etsy



Monkeys Love Banana Day


Cute Crochet Monkey

When you think of bananas, one's thoughts naturally turn to monkeys who love bananas.  My crochet monkey would love to eat a banana if he were real.  Instead, he'd enjoy joining a child playing with soft toy bananas at a playtime tea party.


Mark the monkey measures 12 inches tall (8 inches tall in a sitting position) and about 3 inches across. His tail is 6 inches long. He is crocheted with tan and a variegated yarn called Artist Print in shades of brown, green, purple, blue and burgundy.  Monkey is available in my Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Other Banana Days


April brings us National Banana Day, but that's not the only day we celebrate the banana fruit.

  • February 23 is National  Banana Bread Day.  With this delicious homemade banana bread recipe from Sylvestermouse, you don't have to wait until February every year to enjoy this tasty banana treat.
  • And Mary Beth of MBGPhoto here on Review This shares a different banana bread recipe using sour cream and frozen bananas.
  • Olivia Morris tells us all about National Banana Day in her article here on Review This
  • March 2 is National Banana Cream Pie Day
  • And.... August 27 is National Banana Lovers Day

So be sure and enjoy bananas in ALL its forms on these special days.... and every day!










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Merry Christmas - The Needed Power of Faith

Faith is the bird that feels the light and
sings when the dawn is still dark
FAITH

The greatest gift we can give or are willing to receive is Faith.

Faith holds the secret key to the universe.

Think of all the things we treasure but cannot see: Those untouchable, intangible valuables that matter most and ultimately hold the power of good to shape our world.

Love - We feel it, we know it's real but we cannot touch it, bottle it, sell it, or earn money from it. It's the biggest, richest gift anyone can receive and it comes straight from faith in ourselves that it exists.

Compassion - We all matter. Every single soul on earth matters. No one is greater than another and the gift of compassion shows we have faith in and believe in this untouchable energy.

Hope - Without hope, we cannot have faith. Even though hope in our hearts is not visible to those who walk by us, our body language, our energy and our demeanor have the power to pass along the gift of hope. All of it, unseen, yet felt. One life touches another every single day.

Like butter and eggs, the years blend together. Before we know it we've lived through over 50 or more Christmases. No matter the number we've had, each one blends into the other and over-time, our traditions shape us and our family.

Our children and extended family are the carriers of our roots, and passing along even the smallest sense of tradition in today's crazy-busy world has more value than decades ago.

This year, let us pass along the greatest gift, especially to our children ... the priceless Gift of Faith.

Enjoy this beautiful song by Tim McGraw, Humble & Kind - Song Review can be found here, and most of all....

Merry Christmas xxoo







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Let's Review The 'Happy' Part of Happy Halloween


Happy Halloween Garden Flag
Happiness is a Friendly, Cute, and 'Not-So-Scary' Halloween

The word Halloween was first used in the 16th Century and throughout the ages it became associated with imagery that leans toward Gothic and horror and the supernatural associated with the night. So such things as Dracula and Frankenstein, scary ghosts and haunted houses became symbols of this harvest-time holiday in books & films, costumes, parties and products. It all makes me wonder what happened to the "Happy" in the holiday known as Halloween.


For a 'Not-So-Scary' Halloween, lets look at some friendly, fun and cute items and have a truly "Happy Halloween".


 

A Happy Halloween...

Can Be Found Everywhere!



On Friendly Ghosts...

 

 

Little ghost is friendly and cute - He might 'scare' himself, but his cuteness just makes you want to smile!


The Best Ghost is a 'Friendly' Ghost


Ghosts and Haunted Houses have long been associated with Halloween and are intended to Scare us. But wait, what about Casper, the Friendly Ghost? Ghosts can be friendly and fun too.

*Casper first appeared as 'The Friendly Ghost' in a 1939 children's book and a 1945 animated cartoon.


A Pair of Plush Ghosts...

 

Plush Toy Ghosts on Etsy
 
Boo & Boo-ette


Boo and Boo-ette are a pair of the friendliest Ghosts you'll find anywhere. They can be friendly plush playmates for a child, or a fun Fall/Holiday decoration

Boo and Boo-ette are handmade in crochet of white acrylic yarn. The heads are lightly stuffed with soft polyfil. Their eyes are plastic 'safety eyes', giving them that Amigurumi personality. They are the creation of a crochet crafter from Georgia and can be found in her Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Spooky Ghost Washcloth



Ghost Novelty Washcloth

A ghost isn't really 'spooky' when it's in the form of a hand-crocheted cotton washcloth!

A fun novelty washcloth in the shape of a ghost. A cute way to entertain children at bath time or to make chore time in the kitchen washing dishes more fun. Or just display it for a Halloween decoration.


 

On Halloween Spiders and Bats...

 

Let's Review the Happy Part of Happy Halloween
Plush Pumpkin and Squiggly Spider

Pumpkins & Spiders Go Together for Halloween!


A little plush pumpkin crocheted in the Amigurumi style and a friendly squiggly yarn spider make fun toys for kids or cute Halloween decorations.

These yarn toys make a cute Halloween treat for a child in your family, or look adorable as a Halloween party table decoration. They are handmade in crochet by a Georgia crochet crafter on Etsy.



Bats Might be Scary... 

But Not When They are Colorful and Cute Crocheted Amigurumi Baby Bats




Fritz the Fruit Bat in Crochet



Baby Bats in Plush are Best...

...if you are seeking a non-scary Halloween.
 
A Baby Bat is absolutely adorable when created in the Amigurumi style of crochet. It is much cuter than those scary black bats in caves! :)

These bats are handmade and are available in the Etsy shop of Millie's Crochet House of Chesapeake, Virginia.


In Halloween Plush...

... A Halloween 'Spooky' Pup

 

Webkinz Spooky Plush Puppy


The word spooky at Halloween time always sounds scary, but not so with this plush puppy by Webkinz.  His coat is covered with fun Halloween designs.

Don't be afraid.... Spooky Puppy is friendly and fun. He's a Plush Pet by Webkinz.

 

Baby's First Pumpkin Play Set

Baby's First Pumpkin

For babies who are too young for the 'treat or treat' of Halloween, this First Pumpkin Play Set is perfect.  

My First Pumpkin Playset is by Genius Baby Toys. It is interactive with Candy Corn that crinkles, a Ghost that squeaks, a Spider rattle and a Cat that meows.









 What's Your Halloween Preference?

 

Image Source: Wikipedia

 

Do You Like a Happy Halloween or a Scary One?




Many of the Halloween Happiness Items Shown Here...


Are the crafty and artistic creations found on Etsy & Zazzle!


Related Links:


For more Halloween reviews on everything from decorations to costumes to party food, check out these articles on Review This Reviews.



© 2012 Wednesday-Elf - The Happy in Halloween was originally published on another site.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X