Showing posts with label holiday. Show all posts
Showing posts with label holiday. Show all posts

Tuesday, November 20, 2018

Being Thankful Reviewed

Celebrating Thanksgiving

thankful
Give Thanks every day (image courtesy of pixabay.com)
Instead of spending this morning reviewing a product, I choose instead to review being thankful instead. This emotion is not something that can be purchased but instead is a choice that we make every single day, not just on Thanksgiving Day. Well, at least that is what I think. It is a choice whether we realize it or not. 

For me, every morning when my eyes open I humbly say a prayer of thanksgiving for being on this side of the dirt for at least one more day. I do look at each day as a precious gift and promise each morning to try to make the best of that day as is humanly possible for me to do. 

Sometimes our lives seem to be filled with obstacles that could make us choose to be bitter, sad, angry and lost. Holidays, often times, bring our negative emotions closer to the surface. We find ourselves being depressed due to the loss of someone close to us that won't share the holiday with us. Perhaps we are far away from home and family and are heart broken with the thought of being alone during the holiday. I know those feelings well, more than I like to remember. I can empathize and sympathize with all who feel that way as Thanksgiving approaches with Christmas not far on the horizon. 

There was a time in my life when I wasn't sure that Thanksgiving, in particular, would ever be a happy time for me again. At the time my life was forever altered just two days before the holiday. I feared that this time of the year would forever be darkened by that horrible event. I realized the following year that it would only be darkened if I let it. I could sit around and feel depressed or I could make the choice to look for the people and things in my life to be thankful for. It wasn't hard to see hundreds of reasons to feel grateful and thankful. I made up my mind that year to always look for the good and wonderful things in my life.

So, this year as every year, I am most thankful for my beautiful family. My children, my grandchildren and my loving husband fill my life with joy every day. I am thankful for a roof over my head and food on my table. I am thankful for good health and an abundance of friends. I am thankful for each day that my eyes open. There are people who are not on this earth to share the day with me this year but I am thankful for the time that I did get to share with them and I know that they are here in spirit and will always be in my heart. I won't be saddened by the things that are lost but will be happy with what is here and look forward to what is to be found. I am thankful for it all.

For those of you who are reading this, my wish is that your Thanksgiving will be filled with joy and happiness. Actually, my wish is that you find something to be thankful for every day. Just remember to look, it shouldn't be too difficult to find if you open your heart.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, October 30, 2018

Holiday Gift Wrap Bundle Set Reviewed

Coordinated Packages Under The Tree

holiday gift wrap
Holiday Wrap For pretty gifting (image courtesy of pixabay.com)
Before you know it, the time for making sure we have enough supplies for our holiday gift wrapping will be upon us. I don't know about you but I like to have a nice variety of papers on hand but I also like for the packages to have a coordinated look to them. 

I found a nice bundle set to get for my gifts this year and I thought that I would share my discovery with you today. The set comes with three rolls of wrapping paper which have a design on both sides, gift tags and ribbon. I love that they are all color coordinated. The set that I plan to get is in reds and golds but there is an option to choose different color sets if the red and gold does not appeal to you. Our tree is predominately red and gold so this set will look really nice under our tree this year. 

Did you know that red and gold are very traditional colors for the Christmas holiday? Red is often used to represent the blood of Christ when he died on the cross but also the bishops robes were often red and later St. Nicholas and Santa Claus wore red. Gold represents one of the gifts brought to the Christ child and is also used to show the star over Bethlehem. 

Often times in the past I have purchased gift wrap and then tried to find tags and ribbon that would work well but that can be a real pain in the backside. Finding a set that is already matched will make my job so much easier this year. I know that most likely no one will even notice that everything is wrapped in a coordinated color scheme but I will know. Maybe it won't register with the family at all and that is just fine. It might be one of those subtle things that they know they liked it but can't put their finger on why. 

How about you? Do you like for all of your gifts to coordinate or do you just try to use up the paper you have on hand before purchasing new paper, ribbon, and gift tags? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, November 21, 2017

Christmas Wrapping Paper Reviewed

Gift Wrap For The Holidays

Christmas image courtesy of Pixabay.com
As I write this review this morning we only have two days until it is Thanksgiving here in the United States. After the turkey and stuffing have been devoured on Thursday, my thoughts and deeds will turn to decorating for Christmas and wrapping gifts to put under the tree. 

My wrapping paper supply has dwindled down to almost nothing so I have been looking for some Christmas Wrapping paper to use this year. I often go with a theme for the paper that I use so that it looks nice under our tree. For some reason this year I am drawn to plaids. In the past I have used whimsical Santa paper or vintage patterns and even Victorian themed papers. The plaid will be something different for me and our tree.

I think that something like the image shown above will look nice under the tree this year. I particularly like that each roll is reversible which will give me the option of adding even more variety. The rolls are 30 inches wide giving plenty of area to wrap gifts. The paper set is a Hallmark product so I won't have to worry about flimsy paper that tears easily. Don't you just hate that? You are wrapping a gift and the paper rips from just brushing a corner of a box.

Another thing that I like about going with plaid gift wrapping paper this year is that it shouldn't be too difficult to find ribbon and bows to coordinate on the packages. I can see that a few of the plaid patterns have some blue in them. I can't tell you how many bows that I have stored away that are pretty shades of blue but don't normally work with Christmas wrap. Looks like this year I can use up some of those neglected little blue bows. Hooray!

So, how about you? Do you theme your gift wrapped packages under the tree or do you just use what is on hand for an eclectic look? There is no right or wrong way, it is a matter of preference I think. As much as I love giving gifts to my loved ones, the real gift that can't be wrapped is the joy of being with your family for the holidays. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 6, 2017

Reviewing Meaningful Gifts by SimplyYoursByDesign

Personalized ornaments and bracelets by SimplyYoursByDesign
As the season of serious gift shopping fast approaches, I want to bring attention to these personalized and meaningful gifts. In this review I will show you gifts that are not mass produced, are handmade, and are personalized to your specifications. These are gifts that are meant to last through the years.

Earlier this year I ordered custom metal garden tags from SimplyYoursByDesign and was extremely pleased with both that shopping experience and  the quality of garden tags I received. I expect that the experience with their gift items would be the same.


Engraved Double-Sided Cuff Bracelet


This lovely double-sided cuff bracelet is stamped with one word on the top side and is personalized on the inside.  This example shows the top side word as "blessed". That word can be exchanged for a word of your choice. The inside is a list of names separated by hearts. Perhaps the names of someone's children? Or a proud grandparent's grandchildren?

The top side could be engraved with the word "remember" with an important quote on the inside. Or perhaps "never forget" on the top side with a date or memorial on the inside. 

These bracelets can be as personal and unique as you can imagine - within the character limits of course. And they are available in several different metals.


engraved cuff bracelets by SimplyYoursByDesign

Engraved Metal Ornaments - Personalized for Your Family or Theirs


Many families have ornaments that they use year after year. And eventually pass down through the generations. A wonderful tradition that is even better when the ornaments don't just say "Baby's First Christmas" but also includes baby's name! 

My readers are probably more imaginative than I am and can probably come up with some fantastic ideas for ornaments. These are the ideas I've had for meaningful ornaments:
  • gift for grandparent with the grandchildren's names
  • baby's first Christmas
  • special dates or events that have occurred 
  • family name ornament
  • parent ornament listing the children's names
  • memorial ornament - to always remember
  • ornament for pet
  • couple's first Christmas together (imagine the same ornament of a different metal each subsequent year!)

some of the MANY ornament possibilities offered by SimplyYoursByDesign

SimplyYoursByDesign on Etsy


customized garden tags
As I mentioned, I had ordered personalized garden tags earlier this year (see that review here) and as a result, I continue to recommend SimplyYoursByDesign

When you order your personalized item, remember that this is a small family business and the items are engraved by hand. If you are a last-minute shopper and desire instant gratification, these are probably not the gifts for you. The folks at SimplyYoursByDesign list the current production time on their policies page, so be aware of that when you are considering ordering.

If you are looking for a special and personal gift for someone (or maybe for yourself) these may be just the things you were looking for. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, September 4, 2017

Happy Labor Day from the Contributors at Review This!

Today, in the United States, many are celebrating Labor Day.  This federal holiday originated from the increasing need to address the terrible working conditions during America's industrial revolution in the 19th century. A march in New York city took place on September 5th, 1882  - thus becoming known as the first Labor Day parade. Not until 1894 did it become a federal holiday. Today, Labor Day continues as a holiday to celebrate and recognize the hard-working people in the workforce and to enjoy a three day weekend as summer ends.


The Brief History of Labor Day


On the History website, there is a nice little synopsis of how Labor Day came to be. It is where I obtained the dates in the opening paragraph. I could recall why Labor Day came to be, but I could not recall exactly when.

In reading historical fiction, I've always been struck with how children were laborers in early American history and how working conditions were so very unsafe for both adults and those children. I am in awe of the rich history of how newcomers to the United States worked so extremely hard to create a life for themselves and their families.


Thoughts about Labor Day


Labor Day has a special place in my life for several reasons. I love the changing seasons that I've experienced living in both the midwest and on the east coast of our great country.  Labor Day weekend often signifies the cooling air and water temperatures - summer is winding down. I begin to think of autumn.

Across the Labor Day weekend, I often marvel at things such as train tracks (and the people who built them), the full roadside fruit stands (and the farmers who grew that food), and all of the truck drivers I see on the roads (the people who transport our goods). It is impressive to me how things have been created and invented through the hard work of others.

Most importantly to me, I notice the schools that are opening, the school buses that are practicing their routes, and the notices to drive safely to protect our children who are returning to school. I believe hard work is an important part of raising our children into responsible adults. But only a part. And I'm glad that our children are being sent to school rather than working long hours, at extremely young ages, to earn only pennies as they did in the past. Working with my father in his business and working on the farm at an early age was an extremely important part of my development. Experiences that I am thankful for. But those experiences were nothing like the children depicted in the photographs of Lewis Hine.


A look at child labor - by Russell Freedman and photography of Lewis Hine 



Happy Labor Day to You


Labor Day has morphed from a march to address unsafe working conditions in the 1800's to a long weekend with parades, picnics, travel, and back-to-school sales. Whether you celebrate Labor Day or not, the contributors at Review This! wish you a happy Monday on this day. And we thank you for your work and contributions to our lives.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, May 22, 2017

Reviewing Gift Tags by Nature Cuts


Recently, I have attended a few special occasions and have been invited to others. I am always amazed at how some people can throw a themed party with all of the trimmings. I am especially delighted with the thought that goes into those party favors and gift bags that follow the theme. Then I ran across these awesome gifts tags by Nature Cuts. Although I have not recently thrown a party or hosted any type of gathering, I had to review these themed gift cards.  


Gift Tags and Confetti by Nature Cuts


Nature Cuts offers handmade confetti and gift tags. While I've seen confetti used in very creative and beautiful ways recently, I am focused on the gift tags. 

Nature Cuts tags are handmade in Wisconsin, USA. Nearly all of the hundreds of gift tags offered have a nature theme; animals, trees, birds, fish, flowers, and more. 

They are made from 65lb cardstock. These gift tags come in two size/amount options:



25 tags (2.5" x 1.5")
12 tags (4" x 2.3")


Having lived in Maryland for the past decade, I am especially drawn to the crab design.  Gathering around a crab feast, with beer and friends is a way of life here. Special occasions here, such as graduations and goodbye parties, include crabs by default. I can imagine these crab gift tags put to good use at a good number of special occasions in this area.

I am sure that people who regularly host events can think of many ways in which these tags could be used. But these are the occasions I can think of:

showers
  • crab feasts
  • beach parties
  • destination weddings in rustic settings
  • beach weddings
  • bridal showers
  • baby showers
  • birthdays
  • graduation parties
  • camping family reunions
  • retirement parties
  • Halloween
  • and so many more holidays and special gatherings
spider/Halloween gift tags

Nature Cuts tags can be found in their Etsy store as well as on Amazon. The Etsy shop has been open since 2014 and there are hundreds of good reviews.  Or maybe Amazon is your favorite convenient mode of buying party supplies. Either way, there are many, many interesting and unique tags to choose from.

Woodland or Christmas Tree gift tags

Related Link:


Several of our Review This! contributors host parties, plan gatherings, and host for the holidays on a regular basis. They share their expertise with party tips, decorating, and recipes here (click link then scroll down). If you enjoy hosting events and parties, I am sure you will find something interesting and helpful there.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, April 15, 2017

Go Bananas! Reviewing Banana Treats & Toys for Banana Day

Source: Pixabay
Banana Day is held annually on the third Wednesday of April.  That makes April 18 Banana Day this year. 

Many colleges and universities celebrate 'Banana Day' with a variety of events, including games, trivia, a bunch of banana concoctions to eat and drink, and students dressing up as a banana or a gorilla.


West Chester University in Pennsylvania began an annual BANANA DAY in 1996.  That year 3,000 bananas were given to people on campus and over 50 hours of service contributed to the community. Since then it has become a morale and school pride booster for everyone. 



Banana Facts


Printable Kitchen Decor Print from SimplyGiftsOnline on Etsy
Bananas can give an instant and sustained boost of energy to your body.   It is the reason it  has become the number one fruit for today's leading athletes.  Three small bananas can provide enough energy for a strenuous 90-minute workout.  It's also good for many health reasons, making it the perfect staple in our daily diets.

There are almost 1000 varieties of bananas in the world, with the most well known one being the Cavendish banana, which is the one grown for export.  Bananas are grown in some 150 countries and produce about 105 million tons of fruit every year.  Did you know that bananas are botanically a berry?






Olivia Morris tells us all about National Banana Day in her article here on Review This!



Banana Costume


Banana Costume by The Costume Cafe

If you want to dress up as a banana for National Banana Day,  Sara Carter makes adorable costumes in many styles and sizes.  Here's her banana costume for kids.


Sara, a midwestern girl now living in Austin, Texas, loves to create unique costumes for kids that fit well and allow them to move freely.  She thinks most costumes should be able to come on and off easily and be layered over street clothes.  Her specialty is costumes that look good enough to eat... 

Sara's food-related costumes from infant size to adult can be found in her Etsy Shop she calls The Costume Cafe.

Banana Play Food


Besides being a delicious fruit to eat, bananas can be a fun play food for little ones. 



Plush Banana Fruit Playfood

This cute banana plush is all hand crocheted by Olivia Laws of Tennessee. It can be found in her Etsy Shop Olivia Laws Art

This little nanner doesn't have any removable parts, so it makes a good teething toy. It also makes a great unique stress ball plushy or decoration

Gorillas Love Banana Day


Baby Gorilla
When you think of bananas, one's thoughts naturally turn to gorillas and monkeys who love bananas.  My baby gorilla would love to eat a banana if he were real.  Instead, he'd enjoy joining a child playing with soft toy bananas at a playtime tea party.

Baby Gorilla is a plush toy version of a zoo or jungle animal from the family of apes. He is handmade in crochet using light brown and eggshell white acrylic yarn and filled with new soft fiberfill. His eyes and nose are plastic safety craft eyes.  His 'smile' is embroidered in yarn.

Baby Gorilla wears a blue bib with an appliqued yarn heart in pink. The bib is tied on with a bow and is removable.

Baby Gorilla measures 8 inches tall in a sitting position. His legs are about 3 inches long and his arms (always longer than the legs on gorillas) are 5 inches long.  He's available in my Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts.



Other Banana Days


April brings us National Banana Day, but that's not the only day we celebrate the banana fruit.

  • February 23 is National  Banana Bread Day.  With this delicious homemade banana bread recipe from Sylvestermouse, you don't have to wait until February every year to enjoy this tasty banana treat.
  • And Mary Beth of MBGPhoto here on Review This shares a different banana bread recipe using sour cream and frozen bananas.
  • March 2 is National Banana Cream Pie Day.  If you don't want to go to the trouble of making a whole pie, this quick & easy Banana Pudding Recipe from Susan Deppner is a terrific substitute for celebrating this day.... and any day you get a craving for a banana dessert!


  • And.... August 27 is National Banana Lovers Day


So be sure and enjoy bananas in ALL its forms on these special days.... and every day!










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Merry Christmas - The Needed Power of Faith

Faith Wall Quote Here
FAITH

The greatest gift we can give or are willing to receive is Faith.

Faith holds the secret key to the universe.

Think of all the things we treasure but cannot see: Those untouchable, intangible valuables that matter most and ultimately hold the power of good to shape our world.

Love - We feel it, we know it's real but we cannot touch it, bottle it, sell it, or earn money from it. It's the biggest, richest gift anyone can receive and it comes straight from faith in ourselves that it exists.

Compassion - We all matter. Every single soul on earth matters. No one is greater than another and the gift of compassion shows we have faith in and believe in this untouchable energy.

Hope - Without hope, we cannot have faith. Even though hope in our hearts is not visible to those who walk by us, our body language, our energy and our demeanor have the power to pass along the gift of hope. All of it, unseen, yet felt. One life touches another every single day.

Like butter and eggs, the years blend together. Before we know it we've lived through over 50 or more Christmases. No matter the number we've had, each one blends into the other and over-time, our traditions shape us and our family.

Our children and extended family are the carriers of our roots, and passing along even the smallest sense of tradition in today's crazy-busy world has more value than decades ago.

This year, let us pass along the greatest gift, especially to our children ... the priceless Gift of Faith.

Enjoy this beautiful song by Tim McGraw, Humble & Kind - Song Review can be found here, and most of all....

Merry Christmas xxoo







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Let's Review The 'Happy' Part of Happy Halloween


Happy Halloween Garden Flag
Happiness is a Friendly, Cute, and 'Not-So-Scary' Halloween

The word Halloween was first used in the 16th Century and throughout the ages it became associated with imagery that leans toward Gothic and horror and the supernatural associated with the night. So such things as Dracula and Frankenstein, scary ghosts and haunted houses became symbols of this harvest-time holiday in books & films, costumes, parties and products. It all makes me wonder what happened to the "Happy" in the holiday known as Halloween.


For a 'Not-So-Scary' Halloween, lets look at some friendly, fun and cute items and have a truly "Happy Halloween".


 

A Happy Halloween...

Can Be Found Everywhere!



On Friendly Ghosts...

 

 

Little ghost is friendly and cute - He might 'scare' himself, but his cuteness just makes you want to smile!


The Best Ghost is a 'Friendly' Ghost


Ghosts and Haunted Houses have long been associated with Halloween and are intended to Scare us. But wait, what about Casper, the Friendly Ghost? Ghosts can be friendly and fun too.

*Casper first appeared as 'The Friendly Ghost' in a 1939 children's book and a 1945 animated cartoon.


A Pair of Plush Ghosts...

 

Plush Toy Ghosts on Etsy
 
Boo & Boo-ette


Boo and Boo-ette are a pair of the friendliest Ghosts you'll find anywhere. They can be friendly plush playmates for a child, or a fun Fall/Holiday decoration

Boo and Boo-ette are handmade in crochet of white acrylic yarn. The heads are lightly stuffed with soft polyfil. Their eyes are plastic 'safety eyes', giving them that Amigurumi personality. They are the creation of a crochet crafter from Georgia and can be found in her Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Spooky Ghost Washcloth



Ghost Novelty Washcloth

A ghost isn't really 'spooky' when it's in the form of a hand-crocheted cotton washcloth!

A fun novelty washcloth in the shape of a ghost. A cute way to entertain children at bath time or to make chore time in the kitchen washing dishes more fun. Or just display it for a Halloween decoration.


 

On Halloween Spiders and Bats...

 

Plush Pumpkin and Squiggly Spider

Pumpkins & Spiders Go Together for Halloween!


A little plush pumpkin crocheted in the Amigurumi style and a friendly squiggly yarn spider make fun toys for kids or cute Halloween decorations.

These yarn toys make a cute Halloween treat for a child in your family, or look adorable as a Halloween party table decoration. They are handmade in crochet by a Georgia crochet crafter on Etsy.



Bats Might be Scary... 

But Not When They are Colorful and Cute Crocheted Amigurumi Baby Bats




Fritz the Fruit Bat in Crochet



Baby Bats in Plush are Best...

...if you are seeking a non-scary Halloween.
 
A Baby Bat is absolutely adorable when created in the Amigurumi style of crochet. It is much cuter than those scary black bats in caves! :)

These bats are handmade and are available in the Etsy shop of Millie's Crochet House of Chesapeake, Virginia.


In Halloween Plush...

... A Halloween 'Spooky' Pup

 

Webkinz Spooky Plush Puppy


The word spooky at Halloween time always sounds scary, but not so with this plush puppy by Webkinz.  His coat is covered with fun Halloween designs.

Don't be afraid.... Spooky Puppy is friendly and fun. He's a Plush Pet by Webkinz.

 

On Friendly Halloween Pumpkins...

 

Percy the Pumpkin

A Happy Halloween Amigurumi Pumpkin - A Pattern to Crochet Your Own!

Percy the Pumpkin is a Halloween-themed pattern created by Elizabeth of Chicago and featured in her Etsy Shop called Davey Dreamer "Too Cute"

The pattern also includes instructions for 'Cameron the Candy Corn'. :)

 

Baby's First Pumpkin Play Set

Baby's First Pumpkin

For babies who are too young for the 'treat or treat' of Halloween, this First Pumpkin Play Set is perfect.  

My First Pumpkin Playset is by Genius Baby Toys. It is interactive with Candy Corn that crinkles, a Ghost that squeaks, a Spider rattle and a Cat that meows.









 What's Your Halloween Preference?

 

Image Source: Wikipedia

 

Do You Like a Happy Halloween or a Scary One?





Many of the Halloween Happiness Items Shown Here...


Are the crafty and artistic creations found on Etsy & Zazzle!


Related Links:


For more Halloween reviews on everything from decorations to costumes to party food, check out these articles on Review This Reviews.



© 2012 Wednesday-Elf - The Happy in Halloween was originally published on another site.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, September 17, 2016

A Tasty Review for National Cheeseburger Day - September 18

Cheeseburger for National Cheeseburger Day September 18
Cheeseburger (Source: Pixabay)

National Cheeseburger Day is one of those 'unofficial' holidays with no known source, although several restaurants have laid claim to it over the years going back to the 1920s.

As the story goes, Lionel Sternberger supposedly invented the cheeseburger in 1926 while working at his father’s Pasadena, California sandwich shop, “The Rite Spot”.  During an experiment, he dropped a slice of American cheese on a sizzling hamburger.




Other Possible Origins of National Cheeseburger Day


  • In 1928, O'Dell's restaurant in Los Angeles served a cheeseburger smothered with chili. It cost 25 cents.
  • Kaelin’s Restaurant in Louisville, Kentucky says it invented the cheeseburger in 1934.
  • It's said that a trademark for the name “cheeseburger” was awarded to Louis Ballast of the Humpty Dumpty Drive-In in Denver, Colorado in 1935, and Gus Belt, founder of Steak n' Shake is known to have applied for a trademark for the word in the 1930s. 

Whatever it's origin, the cheeseburger, America’s favorite sandwich of a hamburger  topped off with a piece of cheese, is enjoyed by millions every day.  Somewhere along the line, September 18 was designated as "National Cheeseburger Day".


Having your Cheeseburger in a Restaurant


Source: PIxabay
If you plan to go out to eat a cheeseburger on September 18, here are some free cheeseburger discounts and coupons compiled by Go Banking Rates website to help you celebrate National Cheeseburger Day.  For instance, Steak 'n Shake is offering a Philly Cheese Double Steakburger and Fries for just $3.99 with the coupon in this article until October 23. And by searching the web, you can find other special deals and freebies offered by a variety of places aimed at helping you enjoy a Cheeseburger!  Some of these offers are good for several days or weeks after the event.



Cooking your Own Cheeseburger


Article from "Recipes for Real People"
One of our contributors here on Review This!, Susan Deppner, wrote an article on her "Recipes for Real People" blog about Delicious Hamburgers on the Grill 

With the addition of a slice of cheese, this hamburger recipe can easily be turned into a cheeseburger on the grill. 

Susan also tells us about National Hamburger Day, which takes place on May 28th. Between Hamburger Day and Cheeseburger Day, we will never run out of fun occasions to enjoy one of our favorite dishes!


More Cheeseburger Recipes


Image courtesy of mbgphoto
Mary Beth Granger (mbgphoto here on Review This!) gives us a wonderful alternative to a cheeseburger on a bun. 

Here's her recipe for Cheeseburger Soup!





Cheeseburger Cookbook



Available on Amazon

If you are looking for more cheeseburger recipes, this cheeseburger cookbook recipe collection will show you how to dress up your everyday cheeseburger and take it to the next level of 'deliciousness'.  

The pages are filled with 37 mouth-watering cheeseburger recipes.  Try them all until you can decide which is your favorite! 





Crafty Cheeseburgers!

 

Cheeseburger Potholder Set in Crochet on Etsy
Cheeseburger Potholders in Crochet
Since I'm a crochet crafter, I decided to create in yarn a set of potholders which, when stacked together, look like a cheeseburger. If you'd like to make your own, I put together a tutorial for a free crochet pattern for these Cheeseburger Potholders

If you don't crochet, but would like a set, one can be ordered in my Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts. The latest set has sold, but a custom order can be created just for you.

These cheeseburger novelty potholders are sure to be noticed and talked about when displayed in your kitchen. They are also a very practical addition to your kitchen helpers.





Happy Cheeseburger Day!

 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, January 23, 2016

Pie Day Review - January 23

Review of Pie Day ~ January 23

Apple Pie
In my opinion, every day should be Pie Day, but let's review a few pie facts in honor of National Pie Day held each January 23rd.

Pie Day was begun in the 1970s in Colorado when Charlie Papazian declared his birthday to be National Pie Day.  Today 'Pie Day' is sponsored by the American Pie Council, which is an organization set up to preserve America's pie heritage and promote “America's love affair with pies”.

There are fruit pies and custard pies and cream pies, with apple pie leading the way.


A Few Pie Facts

You could go to Pie School to learn about pies, or you could learn a great deal by reading this Pie Post!

Pie School Cookbook

  • Nearly one out of five Americans prefer apple pie. Next favorite is pumpkin pie, followed by pecan, banana cream, and cherry pie.
  • Pumpkin pie was first introduced to the holiday table at the pilgrim’s second Thanksgiving in 1623.
  • When invited to a family or friend's house for a holiday dinner and asked what dessert we could bring, pie was the winner at 29%, followed by cake (17%) and cookies (15%). Surprisingly, ice cream wasn't in the top three spots.

SPECIAL PIE DAYS



In our own glad and fortunate country the seasons are known by their respective dominant pies—for each there is an appropriate pie, with apple pie for all the year round.... The perfect days of June welcome the lip-painting berry pies.... Then, as nature paints the forests with her magic brush, comes in the golden glory of the year, the royal pumpkin pie!

             ~New York Times, 1902 May 3rd

Besides National Pie Day celebrating all pies, we have individual days to recognize specific kinds of pies.

*There's Cherry Pie Day on February 20, naturally associated with President's Day due to the George Washington story of cutting down the cherry tree.

*Apple Pie has it's own special day (Apple Pie Day) held on May 13.


Did you know that the first apple pie recipe was printed in England in 1381? 

*March 2 is National Banana Cream Pie Day

*May 8 is National Coconut Cream Pie Day.


My mother was not much of a cook (our dad did most of the cooking in our family), but she was a wonderful pie maker and coconut cream pie was my dad's favorite, so we had it often. Yum! 

 

Toasted Coconut Cream Pie



Recipe for Toasted Coconut Cream Pie
Our own Susan Deppner here on Review This! has a wonderful recipe for toasted coconut cream pie. She shares it on her yummy food blog "Recipes for Real People".

*On July 12 we have National Pecan Pie Day, a true Southern favorite.

*National Lemon Meringue Day is held on August 15 and Peach Pie Day is August 24.

*September brings us National Strawberry Cream Pie Day on the 28th of the month.

*October 23rd is National Boston Cream Pie Day.

*November has two special 'pie' days: Bavarian Cream Pie Day  on the 27th and Lemon Cream Pie Day on the 29th.


National Pumpkin Pie Day



We tend to associate Thanksgiving with Pumpkin Pie, but the actual designated National special day for it is actually Christmas Day (December 25).   But pumpkin pie is also associated with Halloween as pumpkin is the symbol of Harvest Time.


Pumpkin Chiffon Pie
Sylvestermouse Cynthia has a yummy recipe for Pumpkin Chiffon Pie.  It can be found on her Cooking for the Holidays site.

Chocolate pie doesn't appear to have a designated day, but being MY favorite of all pies, it definitely SHOULD.  Any day is special to me when I can have chocolate pie! There IS a National Chocolate Pecan Pie Day on August 20.

There are also meat pies, especially popular in England and perhaps the forerunner of the original pie, and vegetable pies such as Sweet Potato Pie and Rhubarb Pie and Tomato Pie, but our focus today has been on favorite 'dessert' pies.


Pie Town, New Mexico



Daily Pie Cafe, NM

If you REALLY love pies, there is a special place for pie lovers.  It's called Pie Town, New Mexico, a small community that got its name from an early bakery for making dried-apple pies established by Clyde Norman in the early 1920s.   Located just north of the Gila National Forest, Pie Town has a population of 186 people.  A "Pie Festival" is held on the second Saturday of September which includes a pie-baking contest, games and races, music, food, and arts and crafts.

Photographer Russell Lee (working for the Farm Security Administration) photographed Pie Town and its people in 1940. In 2005, Lee's photos, and the local restaurant the Daily Pie Cafe were the subject of an article in Smithsonian magazine. CBS News Sunday Morning aired a story about the town in 2015.


Delicious Homemade Pie Recipes



300 recipes for homemade pie in this Pie Cookbook
Available on Amazon

Whichever pie is your favorite, you can find a whole lot of pie recipes (300)  in Pie: 300 Tried-and-True Recipes for Delicious Homemade Pie.

Rated near the top at #29 in pie cookbooks, this recipe book with the short title (PIE) is filled with 300 pie recipes for everything from fruit pies, berry pies, nut pies, custard pies, turnovers, and ice cream pies to the perfect pie crusts.  Author Richard Haedrich is a cooking teacher and cookbook author who compiled this Pie cookbook because of his lifelong passion--the making and baking of all manner of pies.


Besides January 23rd, we have December 1st also designated National Pie Day. With two national days and a host of days associated with individual kinds of pies, we will never be without an excuse to indulge this favorite dessert.

Come tell me YOUR favorite kind of PIE, this most traditional of American desserts.  If I've left out any, let me know. 

Quick Links:

Recipes for Real People
Cooking for the Holidays
PIE Cookbook on Amazon


*Article written by Wednesday Elf (c) on 1/23/2016.  Updated on 1/7/2018




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.