Showing posts with label Review This Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Review This Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, January 10, 2023

Animals: Pets & Wildlife Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews!

The contributors of Review This Reviews love animals, especially our pets.  As families with pets, we have found several fabulous products to make our pet's more comfortable for home or travel.  For instance, did you know there are disposable pet bowls?  They make traveling with dogs much easier or make the pet sitters life easier because they can simply throw away the food bowls instead of washing them.  

For pups that don't like to get wet in the rain, there are doggy rain coats. Or, if your dog needs a hair cut and you don't want to pay a professional doggy hair stylist or your pup just needs a trim between stylist visits, then we recommend this cordless clipper for you

Click Here for More Dog Related Reviews!


For cats, why not have a lovely end table that doubles as a comfortable cat house?  That gives the cat privacy while still being in your protective company.  Many cats will run for shelter when company comes in.  The cat house gives them that needed place until they are ready to venture out again.  With a cat cushion inside, the end table becomes a cat bed too.

Click Here for More Cat Related Reviews!

If you don't have a pet yet, or perhaps want to add to your pet family, you may want to consider a hairless guinea pig. This review shares the things you should know before you decide to bring a guinea pig home.  

 

Of course, none of us wish to think of our beloved pets being lost and unable to find their way home. During the month of July, we celebrate National Lost Pet Prevention Month and focus on learning how to protect our pets and prevent our pets getting lost. 


Wildlife Around Us

Several of the Review This Reviews Contributors enjoy exploring the great outdoors and taking pictures of the wildlife. That leads us to doing research on the animal and writing a review on the wildlife we found interesting or pretty enough to photograph.


We invite you to explore our world of AnimalsPets & Wildlife!

The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

What is Jolabokaflod? Christmas Eve Traditions to Try! Holiday Gift Ideas

 So you might be wondering what a Jolabokaflod is and why it's important!  Well in the interests of learning something new every day, this is one word and idea that really resonates with me and my family.

Jolabokaflod is an Icelandic Christmas Eve tradition.  Every one in the family gets a "book" gift on Christmas Eve and the rest of the evening is spent reading and drinking  hot chocolate and eating some of those wonderful Christmas cookies that seem to magically appear at this time of year.




Our family is blessed in so many ways!   All our children are grown and have children of their own. Our children and grandchildren don't really need more "stuff".   Each family member has a roof over their heads and food on the table.  Clothes in the closets and shoes/boots for whatever weather conditions may be outside.  So what more do we need?

The simple answer is NOTHING!  

The most important things to us (my husband and myself) is BEING with each other and sharing time together.  Yet at Christmastime, we also like to do something special for our family.

So this year we have made the decision to do what they do in Iceland.  Instead of gifts for the adults we will focus on purchasing a book that we have loved and share it with another member of  the family.  

The grandchildren will still receive traditional Christmas gifts, but a book might find it's way into that idea too! We love reading and love promoting reading skills to our grandchildren as well. 

If you are looking for a great list of books to peruse, you don't have to go too far!  Review This Reviews has an amazing list of books that have been reviewed by the writers of this site!  There is everything from Puzzle Books and Riddles, to Murder/Mysteries, Biographies, Cozy Romances and so much more!  

Some books are from new authors and some are from well known authors who have been writing for years.

There is something for everyone at ReviewThisReviews.com!  Click on the link and then follow the tabs across the top!  The first one you come to is BOOK REVIEWS.  How much easier can gift finding get?


We (my other half and I) will be using this link to find the gifts for our own first of a kind, Jolabokaflod that we will celebrate this year!  

Now I have to add an addendum:  This idea is not for every one and if you are interested there are a host of "OTHER" reviews that might help you find that perfect gift if you are celebrating in a more traditional way.

May Your Christmas be everything that you hold dear to your hearts and may you enjoy each other's company making great memories as you go along!  Blessings to all!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 4, 2022

Best Gifts for Christmas 2022 - Recommended by the Contributors of Review This Reviews!

Best Gifts for Christmas
Shopping for Christmas gifts is not always easy, especially if you have a long gift list.  The contributors of Review This Reviews would like to help you quickly check those names off your list so you can move on to celebrating Christmas with less stress.

Each contributor has selected one gift to recommend here. There are gift selections for women, men, children, and there is even a gift suggestion for pet owners included! 

We have a larger selection of choices featured on our Christmas Gifts Pinterest board, if needed.

We invite you to sit back and enjoy shopping from the comfort of your own home! 

 

FAST CLICK INDEX - Click the Category Title to Jump to Specific Section 


Best Gift for Readers

 Kindle Unlimited Gift SubscriptionCheck PriceYears ago, my daughter gave me a Kindle Paperwhite.  

Even though I was hesitant to set aside physical books, once I started reading books on my Kindle, I found I really liked how lightweight and thin it was compared to an actual book. It is so easy to slip into my backpack, tote or purse and take my entire collection of books with me anywhere I go. This is especially awesome when we travel.  

My mother-in-law lives in a small apartment on a very fixed income. She doesn't have room or money for an extensive book collection. The Kindle made the perfect Christmas gift for her. We included a subscription to Kindle Unlimited with her Kindle and we can renew it every year, if desired. Since she loves the Kindle & the subscription, I expect this is something we will do for years to come. Kindle Unlimited allows her access to thousands of books for free. It is like owning your own multi-level library full of your preferred genres of books!

I love the Kindle Paperwhite for reading books, but if you want colored images on your e-reader, I recommend the Kindle Fire. Great for Cookbooks, Magazines, video games & more.

  Gift choice from Sylvestermouse - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here 



 Wild Bird 24 oz. Wire Tube Nugget Feeder Check Price

Best Gift for Nature Lovers & Photographers

My husband and I enjoy spending time sitting at our kitchen table and watching the birds in our backyard. 

I have several feeders in our backyard, but my favorite is this wonderful feeder that holds suet nuggets. This feeder attracts a variety of birds, particularly different woodpeckers and nuthatches. 

I keep it up and full year-round and set up my camera to photograph the wide variety of birds that visit this feeder.

  Gift choice from Mbgphoto 





The Best Gift for Those Who Like Tool Organization

 Grypmat Pro, Original Flexible Tool Tray Organizer, Industrial Strength, and Heat Resistant Silicone-Polymer Mat, Non-Magnetic, Grips To Any Surface With Easy Clean Up, Seen on Shark Tank (Trio Pack)Check PriceGrypmat is a trademarked, silicone tool organizer that sticks to surfaces and keeps your tools near you while you are working. It holds tools, bolts, screws, and other items and prevents them from rolling away or getting lost while protecting your work surface.  

In December 2020, I gave my best friend a Grypmat. I was so glad to give a gift that has been so useful and enjoyed by him. My friend fixes anything and everything; automotive, HVAC, and major home repairs just to name a few of his specialities. I had witnessed times where he dropped tools into areas that are difficult to reach so I bought a Grypmat for him. He said he loved it then. I recently asked if he still uses it and he gave an emphatic yes. He said, "I like that it's chemical resistant and hasn't bloated, weakened, or stained." My friend was so excited to talk about it that he offered to send me photos of his current project using the Grypmat. I declined. I am taking his word for it that he recommends and uses the Grypmat.  

The mats come in a couple of different colors and three different sizes. You can purchase just one mat or a set of three. It is a plus that Grypmat is a Veteran-founded company founded by former Air Force F-16 Mechanic, Tom Burden. Be careful to purchase the Grypmat instead of a knock-off. The imitations are not the same quality.

  Gift choice from Dawn Rae - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here 



Best Gift For Shipping Food

 1 lb Glazed Pecan Tin | River Street SweetsCheck Price

Ship a Special Treat! 
 
Glazed Georgia Pecans are a tasty treat for the holidays. Handmade at River Street Sweets candy store on the river walk along the Savannah River in Savannah, Georgia, these glazed pecans make a great stocking stuffer/Christmas Gift.

For more variety, check out their pecan pralines or fantastic fudge.


 

Gift choice from Wednesday Elf - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here




Best Gift For Christmas Decor

 12Pcs Ivory Resin Nativity Figurines Set Christmas Ornaments GiftsCheck Price

Oh yes, we will celebrate Christmas and for us it's such a wonderful time of year. As we are aging our ways of celebrating are changing somewhat and that's not a bad thing. So how do you share Christmas and still Transition to a New Way to Celebrate?
 
A lot has to do with mind set and ours hasn't changed too much. It is still for us a more "Spiritual Celebration" than one of lots of gift giving and running around in a crazy frenzy.
 
We no longer put up the Natural Christmas tree as we are seldom home to enjoy it. We are the ones who do the travelling from one family to the other!
 
So, is Christmas still fun? You bet it is! With a little imagination and less money than an artificial tree would cost, we decorate and make our home Christmassy but without the mess!
 
And our Focus is on “The First Christmas Story”. Merry Christmas Everyone!

  Gift choice from Olivia



Best Gift For Exercising


Are you a desk jockey? 
 Cubii JR1, Under Desk Elliptical, Bike Pedal Exerciser with LCD Tracker Screen, Adjustable Resistance, Work from Home FitnessCheck Price
 
If you spend most of your day sitting down, then yes, I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but yes you are. 
 
Most of us who sit all day, be it at a desk or not, generally don't get the exercise we need. My mother bought me the "Cubii" - an under the desk bike pedal, and it gets an "OMG I Needed That" rating! It keeps my legs limber and moving on and off throughout the day, as I work. It's also the best frustration workout! Peeved at something, pedal it off. In fact, I'm using it right now while typing this. 
 
Yep, 5 Stars!

  Gift choice from Brite-Ideas - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here




Best Gift For Coffee Lovers

 Keurig K-Duo Plus Coffee Maker, Single Serve & 12-Cup Carafe Drip Coffee Brewer, For K-Cup Pods or Ground CoffeeCheck Price
My husband loves our Keurig K-Duo Plus Single Serve and Carafe Coffee Maker. 

It was the perfect gift for our two-person household and is one that he uses every day to make his cup or two of coffee. He uses two refillable pods, which make the Keurig a more economical and environmentally friendly choice. 

I love that it brews one cup of coffee for Chris or a whole pot when our family is home for the holidays. 

For small households like ours or homes with few coffee drinkers most of the time, this is the perfect coffee maker. 


  Gift choice from Treasures by Brenda

 

 

 Fire Starter - Natural Pine Fire Starters for Fireplace, Campfires, Grill, Wood & Pellet Stove, Chimney, Fire Pit, BBQ, Smoker - 60 Pack w/10 Min Burning Time - All Weather & Odorless FirestarterCheck Price

Best Gift for Outdoor Enthusiasts

These eco friendly fire starters by Gerossi are fast, convenient and oh so easy to use!  

The gift all love to receive, but rarely purchase for themselves.  

These little fire starters are a game changer to start smokeless fires whether at home, the park, the campsite or in your yard!  

Perfect for backyard fire pits, barbeques, tabletop fire pits and old fashioned campfires.

  Gift choice from The Savvy Age 






Best Gift For Music Lovers


 Shokz (AfterShokz) OpenMove - Open-Ear Bluetooth Sport Headphones - Bone Conduction Wireless Earphones - Sweatproof for Running and WorkoutsCheck Price A good set of headphones is a must for anyone who enjoys listening to music, podcasts, audiobooks, etc. My husband and I love our Shokz bone-conduction Bluetooth headphones, which are extremely lightweight and comfortable enough to wear for hours at a time. They deliver superb sound quality and leave our ears uncovered so we can hear a phone ringing or a car approaching.
 
Shokz OpenMove Open-Ear Bluetooth Sport Headphones have the same bone-conduction technology and sweat-resistance and cost less than half the price of the top-of-the-line Shokz OpenRun Pro model I own (see link to my previous in-depth review)!
 
Gift choice from Margaret Schindel - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here




 Ninja AG301 Foodi 5-in-1 Indoor Grill with Air Fry, Roast, Bake & Dehydrate, Black/SilverCheck Price


Best Gift For the Cook

The Ninja Foodi Indoor 5 in 1 Grill will be the perfect addition to your kitchen. We've had ours for a couple of years now and wonder how we ever got along without it.
 
The grill feature grills meats to perfection in no time at all. We love using the air fryer for all kinds of meals and snacks. You can read my full review of the Ninja Foodi
 

  Gift choice from Sam - To Read His Full Review, Click Here






 Wolf-Garten RR1500 Bypass Secateurs, 28.1x3.62x2.5 cm, RedCheck Price Best Gift for Gardening

Wolf-Garten By Pass Secateurs are a treasured practical gift that I use frequently in the garden for a variety of small and large pruning tasks.

 
They have a scissor like cutting action perfect for younger growth. The plants benefit from the sharp blades that cleanly cut branches and stems and the light comfortable grip and ease of use means we can use these secateurs for longer. The bright colour looks good and means I do not lose them in the garden! Still going strong after significant use, these secateurs make a thoughtful and practical gift.

  Gift choice from Raintree Annie - To Read Her Full Review, Click Here


Best Gift For Pet Owners

 HOVONO Double-Compartment Pet Carrier Backpack for Small Cats and DogsCheck Price
I really love my Hovono Double Compartment Pet Carrier because it has so many uses! 

Not only can I take more than one of my cats to the vet at a time, I can also take my two kitties hiking with me! 

It can also be used as a backpack for camping, the large double compartments will hold all the equipment you need. 

The best part is knowing that if I need to leave my home in an emergency, I can pack both my girls and leave with them safe and comfortable. I highly recommend this! 


  Gift choice from Tracey Boyer




Gift Recommendations for Children

 Kids Toy Tin Tea Set & Carrying Case
Recommended by Sylvestermouse
 Collectible Funko Wizard of Oz Plushies
Recommended by Treasures by Brenda
 Sleepy Time Gifts for Kids
Recommended by Wednesday Elf
 Family Game Night - Here to Slay
Recommended by Dawn Rae
 Battleship Classic Board Game
Recommended by Sam



MORE CHRISTMAS GIFT SUGGESTIONS


(if the Pinterest board is not showing on your browser, please visit it by Clicking Here)







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 20, 2022

A Review of Emergency Preparedness - Is it Really Necessary?

 


Preparing for an emergencies, what some people call "prepping" has been laughed at for decades.  It brings to mind images of crazy people putting bunkers in their back yards and sitting on hundreds of boxes of army rations.  

However.....

What about preparing for real life emergencies that could really happen?  Floods, hurricanes, tornadoes and even terrorist attacks or rioting.  Any of them could really happen, but the most likely to happen is prolonged power outage.  The grid could go down for many reasons, and stay down for days or even weeks.  Would you be prepared if that happened?

What is  Emergency Preparedness?

Emergency Preparedness is planning for an unexpected, serious occurrence that could pose a threat to the health and wellbeing of you and your family.  It can be something as dangerous as a gas explosion, to something less dangerous, but still devastating, like a flood or a serious problem with your electrical supply.

How Can Planning Help?

Emergency planning helps to reduce the amount damage an emergency does to your life, the lives of your family and your property.   If the incident is catastrophic, planning can actually save your life.  In an emergency, people are scared, confused and in a panic about what to do and how to take care of themselves and their loved ones.  If you are prepared, it will significantly reduce your fear because you know you have a plan and the items you need to make sure you are safe and cared for during a bad situation.

How Can I Know What Kind of Emergency to Prepare For?

The simple answer is:  you can't.  You have no way of knowing what will happen, so the best thing to do is to take care of the basics that you need in any emergency situation.   

  1. Food -  Have some food that you can eat without having to cook it, even better if it does not have to be refrigerated.  Peanut butter, crackers, beef jerky, protein or granola bars, honey, cookies and things like this are easy to store and will keep you going if you are in a situation where you have no electricity and can't cook.  It is always safer to have your own food available when a bad incident occurs so you don't have to go out, which in an emergency can be dangerous.  Keep your emergency food in totes in a cool dry place and don't forget to switch it out for fresh a few times a year so it does not go out of date.  
  2. Water - Water is something most people take for granted as always being available, and therefore it is not necessary to store it.  This is not true.  Your water supply may become contaminated or your local water treatment facility could break down and stop supplying water.  The best way to be prepared for this situation is to store some water.  You can buy cases of bottled water, or 5 gallon plastic jugs that are available in most big box stores.  Having clean water to drink and wash yourself with is one of the most important things in an emegency.  Never take water for granted, it can be the difference between life and death.
  3. Shelter - The other part of having shelter is having a way to keep warm, should something happen in the winter.  Your house is normally excellent shelter, but if you lose the ability to heat it, it can be nothing but a giant refrigerator.  If this happens, find one room that is small and can be closed off and get a propane heater like Mr. Heater  that is safe to use inside the house. Bring in blankets and warm clothes and stay in that room to keep warm.  If you have a situation where you are forced to leave your house, such as a fire, flood or earthquake, you need to have a tent or tents to stay in outside, along with clothing, food and water to take with you. 
Is There Anything Else I Should Stock Up On?

There are so many things that are good to have but here are some of the most important:

  • Flashlights and batteries
  • First Aid Kit
  • Candles and the means to light them
  • Power Bank Charger to charge your cell phone
  • Knife
  • Aspirin
  • Garbage Bags
  • Sleeping Bags or Blankets
  • Heavy Socks and Hats for all family members
  • Firewood (if you are able to build a fire outside where you live)
  • Some type of weapon to defend yourself

Last Thoughts on Emergency Preparedness

These ideas are just the very basics you will need for a short term emergency, for longer term situations the list of what you would need would be much longer.  The above mentioned items are minimum of what every household should have in case of an emergency.  Having these items on hand will make you feel calmer, safer and better prepared should the worst happen.  Pick up a few items a week until you have what you need and as they say about being prepared for anything:

It is better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, March 22, 2022

Photography Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 


Every writer, blogger, publisher, or editor knows how important images are in an article or book.  People love to see what they are reading about, especially in a review.

All of the contributors on Review This Reviews feature photos in their articles.  Many of us take our own pictures, and on occasion we even explain how we edited the image.  Or, we might offer the image printed on an item like a coffee mug, greeting card, t-shirt, etc. on Zazzle or Amazon.

While we all dabble in photography to some degree, none of us are more experienced than our own contributor, Mary Beth.  We are truly honored to have her as a member of our contributing team.  In fact, she is one of the founding members.  Mary Beth has been sharing her photos, photo tips, and photography expertise with us since day 1 of Review This Reviews!  We have all read excellent advice, tucked away her tips for our own use, and have learned valuable lessons from Mary Beth's photography pages.

Not only are there tips for taking better pictures on Review This Reviews, but there are recommendations for photography equipment, accessories, and editing an image. 

Some of the most popular articles on Review This Reviews can be found on our travel reviews where several contributors share their personal photos from fabulous destinations.  Our gardening reviews would not be complete without the lovely photos featured in them, while our recipe review photos will make you want to run to the kitchen and start cooking.

Photos also take centerstage in our Craft & DIY tutorials, as well as our Pet Product reviewsDiana Wenzel (Renaissance Woman) has a unique talent for combining those two categories with her wonderful DIY pet beds & bird feeders.  I might also mention here that Diana is an extraordinarily talented photographer.

Sometimes it is just fun to flip though the articles on Review This Reviews just to look at the pictures. 
 

We invite you to explore our world of photography!

The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 14, 2021

Christmas Gifts Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 

Whether you are shipping Christmas gifts or giving them in person, the contributors of Review This Reviews have some fabulous Christmas gift suggestions.

Many of us struggle with what to give.  It is a tremendous help to have a place we can trust to share personal reviews of wonderful gifts the writers have either given or received.  While the featured gifts could be given at different times of the year, these reviews have made it to this page because they are excellent suggestions for Christmas.

One of our contributors has a special talent for writing riddles and creating word search puzzles.  You will find Barbara's published books in our collection of reviews.  She has published a Christmas Riddles book, as well as a Christmas Word Search book.  These books would be awesome gifts and stocking stuffers.

There are gift reviews for women, men, & children, plus reviews that have focused on specific hobbies or for the home.  For instance, there is one review specifically written for gift recommendations for crafters and sewing enthusiasts and several written for those who love to cook.  After all, our contributors cook, therefore we have excellent gift suggestions for the "chef" in your life.

We have an assortment of jewelry reviews, apparel reviews, and even a few suggestions for your quirky friend or family member.  From Cow Onesies for Adults to Sudoku Toilet Paper, we strive to add a bit of humor to everyone's holiday.

The Pinterest board below serves as a catalog of awesome Christmas gifts!  When you see a picture of a gift on the board that you like, simply click it to read the full review.  From there, our reviews provides links for purchasing the items you choose.

Have fun shopping for Christmas gifts instead of stressing over what you can give.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Holidays Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 

We all enjoy special events, celebrations, and fun holidays. Seems mankind is always seeking something new to celebrate, or a reason to bring a bit of joy into our daily lives. After all, there needs to be a balance to work and responsibilities. 
 
Companies, special project groups, focus groups and campaigns have brought some fun to otherwise normal days by naming days, or even months, for fun things or activities. 

Did you know there is a National Lollipop Day, or a Hot Tea Month?  For those of us who love cookies, there is even a Bake Cookies Day appropriately set a week before Christmas.  

Of course, there are days to celebrate our favorite animals.  Who wouldn't love International Rabbit Day and National Dolphin Day!

We also celebrate relaxing!  So, hang your hammock on National Hammock Day , grab a Paczki or popcorn, a book or headphones, and take the day off.  If you prefer, spend your day off enjoying your hobby.  After all, there is a National Hobby Month, even though a month is not long enough to celebrate our favorite hobby.

Come to think of it, there should be a Review This Reviews Day!  Select the best day for celebrating Review This Reviews, share your ideas in the comments below, and we will take all of the recommendations, choose a specific date, and declare it Review This Reviews Day!  

Our contributors enjoy highlighting these days of celebration.  We hope to bring a little sunshine to your day and give you a reason to smile and have fun.  In addition to the major holidays, we review the fun holidays, explain their origins when known, and encourage our readers to focus on fun and happiness.

Let's find a reason to celebrate!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, September 13, 2020

Craft Reviews, DIY & Craft Tutorials on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 


We are blessed to have several experienced crafters on Review This Reviews!  Not only are we home to a few crocheters & stitchers, but we are quite proud of our contributors who make their own DIY craft projects.  We all get pretty excited when a new and original craft tutorial is published here.   It is awesome to be surrounded by such creative talent.

If you would like to make an original cat bed, Renaissance Woman shared her very own creation and tutorial.  She has also taught us how to make a gorgeous birdbath and bird-feeder for our gardens.

If you prefer creating beautiful crafts from kits, our contributors have reviewed some pretty awesome kits that make crafting easier for anyone.  Some are made just for kids, while others will appeal more to adults.  Children can enjoy painting rocks or make a water globe, to name a few, while adults may prefer the challenge of a Quilt Magic kit or beaded ornament kits.  Plus, Bev reviewed a paper flower kit that is recommended for children, but adults would also enjoy.

If you don't wish to be confined to the contents of a kit and would rather select your own fabrics & embellishments, you will find multiple tutorials for creating a craft using your own materials & supplies.  Dawn shared a very popular detailed tutorial for making easy Christmas ornaments, while Mickie shared how to make a mosaic flower pot with tiles, broken dishes or pottery.

In addition to kits and tutorials, a few of our contributors have opened Etsy stores and sell their own handmade items.  They make awesome gifts and home decor.


Plus, there are many craft books, patterns, craft supplies, and featured offsite craft projects reviewed right here on Review This Reviews.  



Join us in our creative world of Crafts, DIY & Tutorials!


A Review This Reviews Pinterest Board - Craft Reviews, DIY & Craft Tutorials


The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 17, 2020

Writing: Website, Blogging, & Book Publish Tips Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 


Every writer needs a little help at times. Whether you are writing online, or writing a book, there are moments when you are stumped or don't know how to do something.

Starting a new blog or website can be a daunting task.  Self-publishing a book is equally, if not more so, challenging.

Writers want to focus on writing.  We don't want to get bogged down with the "mechanics" behind it all.  However, there are necessary elements that are requirements of any art form.  Writing is no exception.

Don't let those irritants, or your lack of platform or software  knowledge, end your dreams and ambitions because you give up due to exasperating chores.  

Several of our contributors have taken the time to write easy to follow tutorials and writing tip reviews.  We have all benefited from experienced writers who are willing to share the secrets of the trade.  Well, they feel like secrets because information is elusive.


Writing: Blogging Tips


Many companies self-promote with blogs.  Even if they own a website, they have a blog writer to keep the website current and relevant in the search engine's "eyes".   

There are thousands of individuals who work from home as promotion affiliates.  In fact, all of the contributors of Review This Reviews are promotion affiliates.  Several of us work on multiple websites.  This makes us uniquely qualified to help other writers who are seeking help.

Blogger, aka Blogspot, and Wordpress are the most commonly used online writing software.  They each require a writer to jump in and learn through experience.  Once a writer gets past the basics of writing with online software, they want to know how to do things they see on other sites.  Therefore, we publish how-to articles for specific tasks such as using link jumps in an article that allows your reader to "jump" to a specific section of an article.  

If you wish to have your Blogger blog use a custom domain name instead of a blogspot domain name, we have an article that shows you how to set that up.

You can check out our Blogging Tips & Tutorials by clicking here!  Plus, if you see something on our site that you wish to do on your own site, simply ask us.  If we don't already have a published tutorial, we will try to write one.


Writing: Book Publishing Tips & Tutorials


A few of our contributors self-publish their own books.  Barbara Tremblay Cipak (Brite-Ideas) has written several in-depth and informative reviews on writing and publishing your own book.

If your dream is to be an Indie Writer (an author who self-publishes), than Barbara will be your best friend!  She shares writing tips and publishing recommendations based on her own experience.  You get the benefit of her publishing pains!

Book Self-publishing help can be found by clicking here.


Writing: Website Reviews


Our contributors have reviewed websites that are available to help online writers create beautiful promotion images, banners, & introduction images.  These image websites are essential, especially when preparing images for multiple social media sites.  Most of these sites offer a free version.

If you are a promotion affiliate, Easy Product Displays (linked here) is a website that helps you search and set up a beautiful display of items from Amazon, Zazzle, and ShareASale.  This is a tremendous help if you don't like writing your own html code, but want an attractive display of products.  




You will find dozens writing articles on Review This Reviews to help you create the blog, website, or published book you desire.  


A Review This Reviews Pinterest Board - Writing


The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 16, 2020

Toys Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 


Our contributors have a lot of experience with toys.  Most of us are parents and several of our contributors are grandparents.  Plus, we remember the toys we loved the most in our own childhood.  

Many of the toys from our childhood have been updated, or brought back as new versions.  Therefore, we have decades of toy experience from the user, as well as the giver, prospective.  

From toys that teach to toys that are basic emotional comfort, we review them.  We even review card games and board games that are played by multiple players.

Not only do we review toys for children, we also review toys that are appropriate for teens, like the Science Academy Lip Balm Lab, Legos, or a Remote Controlled Helicopter.

If you are searching for an appropriate toy gift, or toy gift ideas, Review This Reviews is definitely a resource you will want to explore.  

Who knows?  You just might find something new for yourself too!



Toys:  Collectibles For Ourselves & Children


When we hear the word "toy", we most often think of children.  However, some adults enjoy collecting toys.  Consider the generations of Barbies, or perhaps Matchbox cars.  Those are easy examples of collectible toys.

Regardless of age, we all love the feel and comfort of a plush animal.  Many adults have plush animal collections, whether intentional or unintentionally.  Plush animals seem to have a place in everyone's heart.  They can even be used as home decor, especially during the holidays.

Join us, as we explore the world of toys!


A Review This Reviews Pinterest Board - Toys Reviewed 


The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X