Showing posts with label Country Music. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Country Music. Show all posts

Sunday, July 1, 2018

A Terrific Upbeat Country Song that Makes You Feel Happy

Listen to "Long Live the Night" by the Reklaws
Great Song! - Available on iTunes
Canada Loves Country Music

To honor Canada Day I wanted to take a minute and introduce you to this brother and sister duo, Jenna and Stuart Walker, known in the Canadian Country Music scene as 'The Reklaws'.

We music fans switch up our favorite songs from time to time, and at the moment this brother and sister duo from Cambridge, Ontario, Canada have me blasting their latest song Long Live the Night.

With the world dishing out stress like skittles right now, sometimes we need a song that makes us jump around and dance like fools.

Long Live the Night by the Reklaws is therapeutic for me; it's that 'release song'.

When the local radio station plays this tune, ask my kids just how nuts their mom gets. Yep, bat*hit bouncing looney. The volume dial gets turned up to 40 and everything else in the world stops. The only thing I hear (and of course the neighbors) is this song. For 3:32 nothing else matters.

We all need a song that reminds us to take a breath and have fun. With all the serious issues that fill our days sometimes the only solution is upbeat, positive music.

The Lyrics Remind Us of the Important Things - These Particular Lyrics Hit Me Like a Ton of Bricks:

Full moon rising
We ain't there yet
Every minute's a memory so drink it in
Before you know it's over, man it flies by fast
Make it last

For those of us who have lived a little longer and who have grown kids, words like 'before you know it's over, man it flies by fast' have an especially poignant meaning.

Oh the power of a song! This young talented duo takes me back to the days when my husband and I were building memories.

The song's upbeat energy reflects my overall happy nature, but most of all it brings me through all those wonderful moments we've lived: Young people dating, fun parties, professional careers that had wonderful moments, weddings, babies, toddlers, new homes, family gatherings, and just loving the journey.

Of course, like everyone else, we've had our share of problems, but when I'm listening to Long Live the Night, it's the good part of our life that surfaces.

That's why I love this song! It brings out the good. It reminds us "Every minute's a memory so drink it in".

Be sure to listen to it - You can find More about The Reklaws at their Website





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, June 25, 2018

Site Review: Drageda - The Heart of Country Music

Reviewing the Heart of Country Music.
I am in a mood. I don't want the television on - polluting me with all of it's negativity. I'd rather listen to some music. Only trouble is, I'm tired of the local radio stations that play the same songs every hour. When I'm in this mood, a song that I love quickly becomes a song that grates my nerves due to the repetition. Today, I'm in the mood for a specific type of song, a country song that makes me feel good. So I turn to a familiar website for inspiration. Since you may not be familiar with Drageda.com I thought I'd do a quick site review and introduce you.


Drageda.com - The Heart of Country Music


Our very own Review This! contributor, Barbara Tremblay Cipak (Brite-Ideas) is the creator of Drageda.com.  I am not writing this review because she is a co-writer on this site. Rather, I am writing this review because I truly find her personal website to be heart-felt, informational, and helpful.


What is Drageda.com ? 


Drageda.com is "not your typical find a country song site".  Barbara has created the site to assist with finding the right country song for your feeling, special occasion, or that particular moment in your life. Whether it is a birthday, wedding, or memorial.... whether is about family, friendships, love, break-ups, or grief and loss... Barbara reviews and categorizes songs to fit the moment in time.

What in the world does Drageda stand for ?


Drageda stands for Don't Ride Alone Get Emotional Daily Assistance.


Why I Recommend Drageda.com


Even though I listen to country music (I like many genres, and am a radio station surfer, but I tend toward country the most), Barbara's reviews have introduced me to new artists and new songs. 

All of her reviews are heartfelt. She provides the links to the music or videos, her interpretation of the songs, and portions of the lyrics. 

The site is easy to use. There are a variety of categories that are easily accessible via the links at the top of the page. This includes the categories: Breakup, Family, Friend, Funny, Hope, Happy, Love, Perspective, Time Passing, and Death & Loss. There is also a Country Gifts category. Some of those categories have sub-sections.

If you can't find what you need there, or just for fun, check out the Country Song Lists page. While on the website, that link can be found in the very top left corner of the page. You'll be taken to a page where the categories of songs are searchable and listed by category phrases (in 4 different tables) such as:

  • Thank You: I'm feeling so grateful for the people in my life
  • Date Night: Songs for a night of just kissing
  • Cheater: Support songs if the MoFo cheated!
  • USA or July 4th country songs
  • Canada country songs
  • songs to honor Dad
  • songs to celebrate Mom
  • and many more categories
In addition to the specific Drageda.com song reviews, on the right side of the page, there are two itunes sections that list the current top 10 country music videos and the current top 10 country music albums.  Using those sections, I have found songs/videos I wasn't familiar with and because that section links to itunes, I am able to listen to song samples for free (I really like free). 

Finally, and sometimes most importantly to me, there is a noticeable absence of ads and pop-ups. I really find those "subscribe" pop-ups, ads, and websites that are as full of ads as they are content so annoying that I'll sometimes immediately click out of a site. I appreciate that Barbara (whether intentional or not) is so focused on the feelings of the music and the music itself that disruptive ad placement is excluded. What a breath of fresh air these days.

There is only one small addition that would be helpful for me personally on Drageda.com. That would be a section just for music that celebrates country living and the natural world. When I'm in this mood, that is the music I lean toward. However, even without this specific section, I was able to find the perfect song (and it turns out an entire album) that fits my mood today.  Celebrating "country" and the natural world.  



Son of the Sun
by: Dierks Bentley 
album: The Mountain



This is probably a song I would not have found without help from Drageda.comI'm glad to have found it. My home is filled with feel-good music and songs that fit my emotional needs for today. Just how Drageda intended.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, June 10, 2018

A Gift You Can Give for Graduation that Doesn't Cost Any Money

Make this Cake?
If that's Too Hard,
Photo Via Pixabay
To the future graduate expecting cash, let me start by saying, I'm sorry.

For the gift giver aiming for 'it's the thought that counts', here's a thoughtful, personal and easy way to express your congratulations to the graduate.

Forward a Song by Email or Share it on Social Media with a Lovely Personal Comment to Honor the Graduate

Although it doesn't sound like much, the secret is in choosing a song with lyrics that suit the person receiving the dedication.

It can be incredibly time consuming to find the right song. Below you'll find a video playlist to quickly scroll through that features various songs about moving forward or looking back on life.

The songs featured below have been carefully chosen for their range in tempo and mood, so hopefully you're able to find something that suits the personality of your Graduate.

You can arrow through each of the 24 songs featured in the video below relatively quickly or go here to listen to a short preview of each song.



If I had to choose my favorite song for a graduation celebration or to honor someone who wants to make a difference in life, I would pick "I Was Here" by Lady Antebellum.

The lyrics to 'I Was Here' talk about wanting to make a difference in this world and wanting to do something that matters. Both the music and lyrics are inspirational.

Be sure to listen to 'I Was Here', it's a wonderful song:


You could of course send a graduation card with a lovely personal note inside.

If you need help in finding the right words, here are some sayings to help get those neurons moving. Use the sayings as is, or modify them to suit the graduate.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 27, 2018

Blessings on Your Memorial Day Weekend

From the Writers of ReviewThis we would like to send our United States readers best wishes for a lovely Memorial Day Weekend. 

In remembrance, we celebrate by honoring those who have paid the ultimate price to defend our freedoms.

For those outside of the USA, here's a quick summary of what Memorial Day is about: It's origins are from Decoration Day, a day of honor following the US Civil War. By 1971 Memorial Day became an official federal holiday to honor all those who lost their lives serving in the US armed forces.

Honor, Grace and Love - To All Who Lost Their Lives in Defense of Country
Photo: Via Pixabay 
This hauntingly gorgeous song, "When the Angels Came Down" by Kevin Costner (yes that Kevin Costner) and Modern West, remembers history and the Fallen - It's very moving.


If you want to read more about this song, the story behind it's writing and it's meaning, you'll find it explained here at The Heart of Country Music.

For those who have suffered loss and who are remembering their loved ones, we're thinking of you and we thank you and your family. We remember.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, April 29, 2018

Most People Are Good by Luke Bryan

Listen on Apple Music
When I first heard "Most People Are Good' on the radio, it reminded me of a poem I wrote nearly 20 years ago based on the same premise called, 'I See Good People'.

If you find yourself frustrated with the negative energy that seems to infect our airways and unfortunately the internet, then you'll want to listen to the bit of hope expressed in the music and lyrics of this Luke Bryan song.

Are Most People Basically Good?

The operative word here is 'most'.

One way to answer that question is through a famous quote in the James Allen (b.1864-d.1912) book, 'As a Man Thinketh':

Mind is the Master power that moulds and makes,
And Man is Mind, and evermore he takes
The tool of thought, and, shaping what he wills,
Brings forth a thousand joys, a thousand ills,
He thinks in secret, and it comes to pass:
Environment is but his looking-glass

James Allen, a British Philosophical Author, is quoted as saying, "A man is literally what he thinks, his character being the complete sum of all his thoughts".

Another famous quote by Buddha says exactly the same thing, "We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world".

We march through history with lists of famous souls who have repeated this same principle from century to century. I think they're trying to tell us something?

Life's Challenges Can Shade Our Hearts

No matter how much sunshine we allow in our life, there's always some darkness to overcome. However, those dark moments don't have to define us.

Luke Bryan expresses it well in this verse:

(Lyrics) I believe them streets of gold are worth the work
But I still wanna go even if they were paved in dirt
I believe that youth is spent well on the young
'Cause wisdom in your teens would be a lot less fun
I believe if you just go by the nightly news
Your faith in all mankind would be the first thing you lose

Every generation has it's struggles, and progress isn't easy, but basic goodness is something we can only control from within, and as James Allen so eloquently states in the above quote, "The tool of thought, shaping what he wills, brings forth a thousand joys, a thousand ills".

According to most of the great minds that came long before us, 'we are what we think'. Simple, yet hard to master.

Luke Bryan's song reminds us that it may be as simple as choosing to believe that most people, are in fact, good.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 7, 2018

A Country Song about Watching the Person You Love Marry Someone Else

Country music songs almost always tell a story, and Marry Me by Thomas Rhett tells the story of a heartbroken man accepting that the woman he loves is about to marry someone else. The music video implies a happy ending, however, the lyrics of the song leave the listener feeling like he's lost her forever.

Listen to the Song with Lyrics & Video Here

Marry Me is a Song About Lost Love and Reflection

Every storytelling song serves a purpose, even if that purpose is to remind us of hearts broken and love lost. There's something kind-of comforting when you hear the words of a song describe what's going on in your life. Even though only time can heal this kind of pain, 'Marry Me' is almost an empathic lullaby for the broken hearted.

Have You Ever Broken a Heart or Had Your Heart Broken in This Way?

More than likely you have. Most of us have a story that, in some way, fit the words of this song. That's actually the good-problem with songs; even though we may be long passed a challenge, the song brings us right back to that gut-wrenching time in our life ... and although painful, often still brings about something good to remember and reflect upon.

Maybe that's why music is therapy: An artist writes a song, and unexpectedly we find ourselves cast in that song's leading role.

A Little About Thomas Rhett

Thomas Rhett (born Thomas Rhett Atkins Jr.) has a flourishing career in country music. If you haven't heard Thomas' other hit songs, Die a Happy Man, Make Me Wanna, and It Goes Like This, be sure to give them a listen; you'll be bouncing and swaying in your seat!

Thomas Rhett grew up with music all around him, as his dad is also well known in Country Music circles; Rhett Atkins.

For Big Machine Records, Thomas Rhett released three studio albums; It Goes Like This in 2013, Tangled Up in 2015, and Life Changes in 2017. He's not only written for himself, he's also penned songs for Jason Aldean, Lee Brice and Florida Georgia Line.

Fans of Thomas Rhett can find him in the usual online places, Facebook, Twitter and of course his own website.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, June 11, 2017

In Case You Didn't Know by Brett Young - The Best Dedication Love Song From a Man to a Woman

When you've been married for over three decades and one day your hubby, while tidying up the kitchen and listening to the radio, sweetly says, "this song, have you heard it, it says what I feel about you ... it's my song to you".

Well, um yes ... I was caught off guard. Completely off guard.

You see I'm the one who writes about the meaning behind song lyrics for Drageda.com - The Heart of Country Music, and my husband isn't one who closely listens to the lyrics of a song ... or so I thought??

A few hours later the song played again, and with John standing on the other side of the kitchen and I by the radio, our eyes met in a long stare while I took the lyrics in for the first time. As we both began to slow dance, I remember thinking how life and love continues to surprise me.

It doesn't matter how old we get, just like a field of wild flowers, love can continue to grow.

From young people who accidentally met 36 years ago to our lives today, we've managed to survive some pretty crazy odds. Our life was never perfect, far from it, but one of the biggest factors that sustains us is our willingness to keep moving forward through it all.

Each year for our wedding anniversary I select a song that speaks about our relationship, but I never really think the 'ole hubster will pay attention to the lyrics in those chosen tunes.

For our 29th anniversary I selected Better Man by Tim McGraw, and for our 30th the celebration song was Dance With Me by Johnny Reid.

But for anniversary year 32, without ever suspecting it, the task of choosing a song wasn't left to me. 'In Case You Didn't Know', chosen by my husband, is song 32.

If you're looking to dedicate a love song to her, don't hesitate, this is a gorgeous song.

The song, sung by Brett Young and written by Young, Trent Tomlinson, Tyler Reeve and Kylie Schlienger, charted to number one in Canada's Country Billboard as well as number one on the US Hot Country Billboard. It currently remains in the USA's top ten country songs on iTunes.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Country Songs that Celebrate Mom - Don't Miss These Beautiful Songs

The Garden Lesson - A Reminder of Life's Simple Joys
It Doesn't Have to Be Mother's Day to Let Mom Know She's Special

If you're looking for a nice tidy list of songs that tell stories about how wonderful mom really is, you'll want to scan this growing list.

To make it easier, listen to the playlist featured below. It includes songs from being thankful for mom, reflecting on life as a mom, to honoring mom's incredible strength.

Each mom is different, each life story it's own, and thus finding the right words makes song hunting a unique and personal search. In fact, choosing a song for mom can be a time consuming proposition, so be sure to scan the Playlist to save yourself some of that precious time.

This list was put together to shorten the song hunting process. Songs are always being added, so be sure to check back.


Mom may appreciate the simple thoughtful gift of a song posted on Facebook in her honor. If mom has a sense of humor, add a funny comment in the post to lighten things up.

A Song For Mom from Dad

If you're looking for a song to honor the woman in your life, here's the winner: "In Case You Didn't Know" by Brett Young.

Today, Mother's Day, my husband heard "In Case You Didn't Know" on the radio in our kitchen for the first time. He was cleaning up dishes when out blasted the words to this gorgeous song. I was sitting in the backyard when he unexpectedly popped his head out to tell me this is his song to me, then added, "the words say exactly how I feel about you".

He's generally not one to listen intently to the words of a song (quite the opposite of me), and I can't put in to words how surprised I was to hear him say this. You see, we've been together for 36 years, married for 32 of those next week, and in that one split second, I loved him all over again, in a new way if that's possible. So guys, don't underestimate the power of the little things, because it's those little things that hold the greatest value.

It was a lovely Mother's Day for me - dinner with our sons, and a quiet waltz to this song with my husband in the kitchen.



Our kitchen has heard a lot of songs, and it's floor felt the feet of a great deal of dancing over these passed 30 years - I hope yours has as well.

Happy Mother's Day




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, April 2, 2017

Understanding What a Woman Really Wants


Watching the Academy of Country Music Awards Tonight, the Lyrics of One Song Jumped Out and Stole the Show

This year it was the lyrics from Faith Hill and Tim McGraw's latest hit song, Speak to a Girl.

Comfortably cuddled on one couch, with hubby relaxing on the other, my ears and eyes stood to attention as the beautiful Ms. Faith Hill began to sing the words to this song.

My first thought was writers Shy Carter, Dave Gibson and Joe Spargur, nailed the message, and of course the delivery by Faith and Tim sealed the power behind it.

These lyrics are especially powerful...
She don't give a damn 'bout your pride or the lies that you're hiding behind
She just wanna feel that you're real, that she's near to the man that's inside
She don't need to hear she's a queen on a throne, that she's more than amazing
She just wants you to say what you mean and to mean everything that you're saying
Being a mom of four sons, a wife, a sister to two brothers, and a daughter of an amazing father, the male psyche has been a part of my life from birth.

Surrounded by guys, I'm not going to sugar coat this, I have strong opinions about the plight of men. However, what struck me about the above words was how these four lines concisely sum up what matters most to women.

She don't give a damn 'bout your pride or the lies that you're hiding behind (Lyrics)
Yes. Thank you lyricists. Of course we don't want to be married to a book of secrets, but we understand that in your soul, like in our own, there's a place that belongs only to you and your God.

However...

She just wanna feel that you're real, that she's near to the man that's inside (Lyrics)
This is the message I've been trying, in my girl-way, to drive home to my sons, even my husband. Guys, if you're reading this, it's all about 'connection'. When we connect to you in mind, body and soul, we truly become your soulmate, your lady ... especially mind and soul.

From what I've seen, and what I've learned, unfortunately it is possible to go through life and never fully connect with your man. You can love, but never totally connect, you can admire but never totally connect, you can be friends but never totally connect. Sorta sad, but it happens often.

There's only one way to fully connect...

She just wants you to say what you mean and to mean everything that you're saying (Lyrics)
It's easy to create a block around ourselves, especially to those close to us. We may not mean to, but we all do it. We're holding back, we're not committing completely, we're failing at the one thing that appears to be the secret to our soul's freedom; the gift of oneness.

If you want to understand what your lady really wants, listen to this song and work towards connecting with her in mind and soul ... the body will follow in due time.



By the way, you'll also want to pay extra attention to these lyrics, "You better respect your Mama, respect the hell out of her" - because you've heard it before .... A girl will sum up the kind of man you'll be by how you treat your mother.

Give your lady the only gift she really wants - yourself, all of you.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 5, 2017

A Song About How Delicate Love Really Is - We Are Glass

(Lyrics) - "We may shine, We may shatter, We may be picking up the pieces here on after, We are fragile, We are Human, We are shaped by the light we let through us, We break fast, Cause we are Glass"

Glass by Thompson Square speaks to the delicate nature of a couple's love.

In this life our ability and willingness to love is constantly being tested.

Whether it's the love we have for our significant other, or love for people we don't know, love is constantly under attack. There's a battle between darkness and light and life's complexities often pull us in one direction or another.

"We Are Human, We Are Shaped by The Light We Let Through Us"

When we're unsure whether someone deserves our love, often that's our test. It's not easy, but who in this crazy life can say the journey from cradle to grave is easy.

What does it mean to love?

The answer may be as simple as the question.

We simply choose to.

We make that choice.

It's safe to say that very few people, past and present, have successfully pulled off unconditional love towards the human race.

What is unconditional love? It excludes the word 'But':
  • He loves me but...
  • My love is real except for...
  • I can love, but I don't forget....
  • Your love is real, but let's face it....
  • I love them when...
  • I'll forgive you but...
  • I Love you but...
The ultimate test in living our human life is to master ourselves.

There isn't a greater battle than our battle with self.

When we choose to live with love, really make that choice, it's a peace filled life.

But .... we are glass, we break fast.

(Lyrics) "We might be oil and water, this could be a big mistake, we might burn like gasoline and fire, It's a chance we'll have to take"








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair - Proceeds Donated to the Canadian Cancer Society


"I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair, Up or Down Girl, I Really Don't Care" (Lyrics)

Standing in my kitchen last Fall with the radio blasting life's lyrics from my favorite country station, the ache in these words filled the air. After hearing them, the topic of the song was clear.

Perched along side the radio, the tears flowed.  So much circling my mind from those sixteen words ... thoughts of loved ones I personally know battling cancer, and memories of those passed on.
"Phone call came in from her doctor back home
The cancer had spread and she threw down the phone
She looked in the mirror, tears running down her cheeks
Said if it all falls out, baby what would you think?" (Lyrics)
For me, there's also a personal aspect. Going through some medical challenges, the loss of my hair was a real possibility. Although I've been blessed with my dad's very thick hair, I started to lose it by the handfuls last February.

Despite this, I was one of the lucky ones. I'm managing things much better, and my hair is as thick as it's ever been again. However, the choices I had to make and am still making will forever be a part of my life. And that's ok now, for now.

There are so many levels to medical challenges. With broad smiles, or as many as we can muster, we try not to let it be an all consuming time in our life. However, the waiting hurts .. The waiting to find out; the waiting for treatment results; the waiting for procedures to be completed, and so it goes.

Strength we thought we never had, we somehow find.

And thoughts of those we love ....

What will they do if? ... how can I tell them .... circle our mind more often than we can block them.

Then yes, the thought of our hair. I cried. It isn't shallow. It's just a part of the process.

Whether the fight is cancer or a chronic disease, we know medication plays havoc on our systems, and on our hair.

But those we love and who love us, remind us:
"The heart that's inside is why I stopped and stared
I swear I didn't fall in love with your hair" (Lyrics)
To those suffering much greater battles than mine I want to hold you so tight, and make it go away.

How can we take the pain away for you? We know we can't, but we want to.

If granted one wish, mine would be magical powers to take it all away, for everyone.

I Didn't Fall In Love With Your Hair by Canadian Country Artists, Brett Kissel  & Carolyn Dawn Johnson

A Collaboration with Philanthropist W. Brett Wilson for Cancer Awareness Month in September 2016.

Released September 9th, 2016, proceeds for the song between September 9th and October 28th 2016 were donated to the Canadian Cancer Society and matched by Brett Wilson.

You can find 'I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair' on Brett Kissel's sixth studio album, Pick Me Up.








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 15, 2017

A Moving Country Song About Time Passing By - A Song Review

"Living Like that Year Book Picture Wouldn't Fade" (Lyrics)

Do you remember this time in your own life?

Just starting out .... the entire world in front of you and not a thought on your mind about the 'end' of anything.

All of it new, all of it ongoing, all of it always there. You never doubted that the ones you love were just a room away, a few hours away or a few days away.

To you, at this time, a kiss goodbye was merely, 'a kiss until later'.

Your journey was new and the anticipation of the trip you were about to take consumed your travels: "I want to be this", "I want to go there", "I want to accomplish that". Your path always in your thoughts, and those you loved, well they would always be there wouldn't they.

"Student hire and a fancy job, big old house and a two car garage" (Lyrics)

Chapter two of your life is in full gear. You're achieving, or trying to. You're moving forward, or planning to, and most of all you're enjoying the freedom!

You love your parents, but this time in your life feels like the reward it should be for the countless hours of work you put in to get here.

You still see your family of course, and hug them and enjoy your visits, but if you're being honest with yourself, you're having too much fun building your own life.

On lonely days you pick up the phone to call mom; she makes you feel better and you're grateful knowing that if you want, you can call her again tomorrow.

"Teenage girl and her granddad, he takes her fishing he feels bad, cause she can't take her eyes off that 'ole Facebook page, someday soon, who knows how long, she'll look up from that phone and he'll be gone" (Lyrics)

Chapter three is here and you've been fortunate to have your grandchildren in your life.

However, you're now in that special club of people who understand what it's like to view life from the road looking back. You reflect back to your own grandpa, and with a knowing grin, you get what he felt.

The view from your chair in life can't be seen by young people starting out. You recognize your younger self in them, and part of you wishes they could see it all from where you sit to spare them life's costly lessons. But they can't, and you can't.

"The Trouble is You Think You Have Time" (Lyrics)

You want to explain time to your grandchildren, but how can you. They have to travel their path and with God's good grace get to be where you're sitting now so they too can pass along treasured words of wisdom that were spoken to you yesterday .... after-all, wasn't it just yesterday?

When you look back at the choices you've made, you forgive yourself for not harnessing those unrepeatable moments with those you love; for not hugging your brother one more time; for shrugging mom off when all she wanted was another kiss from her baby; for moving far away and for any other selfish act that robbed a little love from someone you cared about.

But you're grateful to have learned so much about this trip through life. If nothing else, you see clearly now.

You realize, the trouble was you thought you had time.

Enjoy 'Time' by Award Winning Canadian Country Music Artist, Dean Brody: - More on the song here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, October 23, 2016

The Ideal Upbeat Wedding Song - You'll Love This One!

Find Autograph by Dallas Smith Here
 Plus More Dallas Smith Songs!

Review of a Wedding or Engagement Song

If you're looking for an Upbeat Wedding Song that conveys just the right message in words from him to her, then you'll want to check this one out...

This very catchy tune is by popular Canadian Country Music Artist, Dallas Smith.

I'm a Dallas Smith fan, so introducing you to his latest hit song is my pleasure!

This wedding song is about his wanting to 'change your autograph'. Women's Lib aside for a minute, how sweet is that! 

Of course some of us don't change our autograph when we marry and that's perfectly fine.

This song simply celebrates his attraction and love for her to the point that he wants to 'change her autograph so everybody knows that he's the lucky one'. 

Autograph is the prelude of emotion before he puts a ring on it: He sees her, and like the true passion that love can be, the song expresses how he wants to share his name with her.
Autograph by Dallas Smith
"I'd change your autograph
I'd put my name on you
And I'd put a big old ring on your left hand
so everybody knew
that I'm the lucky one
With heaven on my arm,
sun's going down
Edge of town
one knee on the ground
I'd change your autograph" 



Listen to More Wedding Song Choices Here

Enjoy!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 31, 2016

We'll Build This Love From the Ground Up - The Perfect Wedding Song by Dan + Shay

Find 'From The Ground Up' Plus Over 40 Additional
First Dance Wedding Songs Here
You're Getting Married Congratulations!

Your love is long standing, almost nostalgic, and trying to find a song that fits the two of you isn't easy. I'll bet you've long since figured this out.

Have you spent hours on end listening to every single word of too many wedding love songs already? Don't worry, we've all done it. Every relationship is unique, and the words we dance to represent part of the promise we're making to each other ___ which is why we're all so picky.

From the Ground Up by Dan + Shay - Is This You?

The song is sung from a man's point of view, and all that he'll be and do for his bride.

Grandma and Grandpa set the example of a life that held strong through decades of change, chance and choice. They've set the stage, and showed you what happens when love is built from the ground up.

It's not just a memory, it's not just 'I Do'. It's a commitment, a promise that the wedding day is one piece of the foundation you're building together. You're making this promise for a lifetime.

You'll build your own family and you'll stand beside each other through all of life's trials and smiles.

When you look at grandma and grandpa, you both understand that life goes by in a blink and today's wedding is the celebration of what you know will last til death do you part.

You'll be each others shelter during hard times, and as two old souls you know first hand that love is about being there for better or worse.  Your very clear about one thing; the path of grace is found on the road of love.

When your own decades have passed and it's your turn to sit in grandma and grandpa's chairs, you'll hold each others hands, watching your grandchildren make that same promise you're making today - a love built from the ground up.
"Just take my hand and I'll be the man your dad hoped I'd be" (lyrics)


The only way through life is to live it with love, compassion, promise and kindness. You both know this already, that's why you're perfect for each other. The depth of this song says it well.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 24, 2016

5 Personal Choice Country Songs that are Easy to Sing

Read about More Songs at The Heart of Country Music
Review Your Own Talent...Did you sing any Songs?
How did you do, were they easy?
This list is purely based on personal choice, so you may not find these songs the ones you would choose!

Just wanted to give you a heads up in case you're gasping in shock at what I've deemed 'easier'.
Let's face it, if in your own opinion you can't sing, there isn't a country song that can fix that. But, if you like to hum a country tune for fun, give these a try :)

I've selected the song videos with lyrics so you can have your own private karaoke session right here while you're reading.

Don't be shy either; If you haven't heard the song before, listen to it once, then on the second run through, sing along and judge for yourself.

Stay by Sugarland - A Beautiful, Heartbreaking Song - Jennifer Nettles Singing, with Kristian Bush on Guitar

A Song About Infidelity - In the Key of A & uses the Chords D,A,Em,G,F#m, and Bm


There's just Jennifer and the guitar in this song, and it's spectacular. 

If the song is in your key, with only a guitar, you may find it an easier song to sing. Apparently, Kristian Bush' brother is playing the Organ as well, but I have to be honest, I hadn't noticed that. If an acoustic song is your thing, be sure to try this one out.

Jennifer Nettles wrote Stay completely on her own. She tells the full story of how the song came to be on CMT (Country Music Television). She explains how she wanted to write a song from the perspective of the mistress versus the traditional position of the wife being cheated on.
In 2009 Stay Won the Grammy for Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal, and Best Country Song

Stay was released as the fourth single on Sugarland's album 'Enjoy the Ride' - The album came out in November 2006, and Stay, was released in September of 2007. The song sold nearly 2,000,000 copies as of April 2013 and was certified Platinum.

The Video for the Song is a very simple presentation of Jennifer singing, however it still earned a number ten spot on CMT's Hundred Greatest Videos.

This Kiss, by Faith Hill - Sing a Happy, Bouncy Country Song!

The Key of E Major - Notes in E Major: A, B, C#/Db, D#/Eb, E, F#/Gb, G#/Ab , and the Chords in E Major: E, F#m, G#m, A, B, C#m, D#dim


What makes this song so much fun to sing is the way the lyrics flow together, especially the chorus where the main words have several syllables: 'it's centrifugal motion, it's perpetual bliss, it's that pivotal moment, it's subliminal'. If you like a bouncy sound with phrasing that alternates quite a bit within a song, then you'll probably enjoy singing this one. The slight changes in pace and the way the words tell a story, makes 'This Kiss' a terrific good mood song to sing!

This Kiss by Faith Hill Became a Very Popular Cross Over Country Hit

It was number one on the US and Canadian Country Charts as well as receiving numerous other accolades from many other countries. It reached number 13 in the UK Singles Chart, 52 on the German Chart, and 4th in Australia.

Crazy, by Patsy Cline is Crazy Good and I'll Venture a Guess that Almost Everyone Who Knows the Song has Tried to Sing It !

Chords in the Key C - With 12 Key Variation


Just adding this song to the page has caused me to start singing it endlessly! For those of us who categorize this song as 'easy to sing' I'll say it's because of it's crisp, clean easy flowing music and lyrics. There aren't too many surprising changes of direction. Although, to really sing the crap out of this, some god given talent comes in handy!

The Story Behind How 'Crazy' Was First Introduced to Patsy Cline, is Fascinating!

Patsy Cline's song, Crazy, was composed by Willie Nelson. She chose the song as the follow up to 'I Fall to Pieces' and the song helped to further propel her cross over fan base.

Apparently Willie Nelson, who was a struggling artist at the time, convinced Patsy's husband, Charlie Dick, to have Patsy listen to the song. Because the demo featured the song by Willie as mostly speaking the lyrics off the beat, Patsy hated the song! However, the song was rearranged as a ballad to become the hit we know today.

The House that Built Me, by Miranda Lambert

The Key of F Major


What I find nice about this song is the slightly lower tones in the verses and the way song peaks higher in the chorus. Sounds typical of most songs but the way this song makes the key changes makes me personally feel comfortable singing it.

The emotion and story attached to it also makes it an easy song to connect to as well. Of course, any song where you have a connection to the lyrics, you're automatically going to sing better. 

This song is about a girl all grown who goes back to her family home, now owned by another family, and asks if she could have one more look around...she says, I won't take nothin' but a memory. If these words reflect your life story, then you'll enjoy putting your heart into this song.

'The House that Built Me' was Planned for Blake Shelton to Record, Until Miranda Lambert Heard it

The song was released in March of 2010 on her third album, Revolution. It turned out to be the fastest rising single to date of her career. By the 12th week of it's release it was Miranda's first number 1 hit on the U.S. Billboard Country Charts. It stayed there for four weeks as well. The song went Platinum.
Miranda Lambert received a Grammy for this song at the 53rd Annual Grammy Awards in 2011 for Best Female Country Vocal Performance for the song.

Temporary Home by Carrie Underwood - A Song with a With a Spiritual Message

In the Key of C Major


What's most beautiful to sing about this song is the message.

It's a passionate song telling a story of difficult plights using showing that each journey is our Temporary Home - A little boy's temporary home in foster care, a mother and child in a temporary home seeking shelter, and the last most powerful verse, a dad on his dying bed in the hospital saying goodbye to his daughter explaining that this was simply his temporary home. 

If you're looking for a song, and feel comfortable singing in the key of C major, then you'll find this one a beautiful song to try.

Carrie Underwood was Inspired by the Book 'The Purpose Driven Life' by Pastor Rick Warren - In the book he states, our human existence is simply 'our temporary home'

The song was released in December of 2009 and was the Second Single from her Third Album, 'Play On'.
Carrie Underwood is a spiritual person and her heart is poured into this song with tremendous emotion.The song manages to avoid being preachy by showing people's tough life circumstances in a way that ultimately leads to hope, no matter the struggle.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 29, 2016

Memorial Day Music - Duty, Grace, Thanks and Faith

Photo by Sylvestermouse
Every year on the last Monday in May, now known as Memorial Day, the United States honors those who have served.

Across the land, citizens bow their heads to thank those who put their lives on the line, and shed tears of pride and pain for those who paid the ultimate price.

This weekend of celebration will be filled with food, family gatherings, reflection and without a doubt, music.

If your gathering needs just the right song, with just the right words, you'll want to add these message driven country songs to your playlist.

Country Songs for Your Memorial Day Weekend and Beyond
These Song Choices Speak to Duty, Grace, Thanks and ultimately the Soul's Peace; Faith

DUTY
American Soldier by Toby Keith

Those who serve do so with a sense of duty to family, to country, to a better world. They don't do it for the glory, they don't do it for the money, they just do it, and although they give a piece of their soul, they don't want to die, but if that happens, they do it for us. That's what a sense of duty is.

They are out there, on the front lines, seeing, feeling, living things we'll never fully understand ... things they never want their kids to have to live through. Their sense of duty goes beyond one lifetime. That's what this first song is about.

Listen to this song, and you'll feel the heartbeat of an American Soldier:


GRACE
The Angels Came Down by Kevin Costner & Modern West

(Yes that Kevin Costner): Modern West performed this song in April 2014 at a ceremony where a memorial was dedicated to five men who died in  Afghanistan.

The song was written with the Civil War in mind. The lyrics provide grace through the visual of angels coming to rescue souls from blood stained battlefields.

The haunting lyrics paint a picture of the ultimate sacrifice and in the end ultimate love. They experience the grace of angels carrying their souls to a place of peace ... the best lyric "they left no one and they placed no blame" -  what this world has the potential to be, no blame.
(Lyrics) And the Angels came down to the fallen men
and they held their hands as they prayed for them
they carried their souls beyond the moon and the sun
they prayed for them one by one
The Angels worked so hard for so many years
to heaven and back again, they shed so many tears
they left no one and they placed no blame
walking all alone in the southern rain

THANKS & COMMON PURPOSE
I Want You to Live, by George Canyon

As a Canadian writing this article, I want to extend my thank you to all who have served and continue to serve on both sides of our border. No matter our individual political leanings, it's safe to say we all share a few things in common: The lands of the free, and prayers that our men and women return home to us safe, alive.

Our tears are your tears, your tears are our tears. We're neighbours sharing the longest free border in the world. To those of you who have lost someone, no matter which side of the border you live on, know that I include you in my prayers, and thank you with every breath we and our children take. We know the gift of our loved-ones smiling faces come courtesy of many before us who paid for that freedom with their life. It will never be forgotten.

This song by Canadian Country Artist George Canyon says it well; 'I Want You to Live'

(Lyrics) "Takes all of her strength to go through his things, it feels like she's holding him again, the letters he wrote, the books that he read, and some of the shirts still have his scent"...

While we all pray for peace, we thank all who have served and who continue to serve ... making the ultimate contribution toward mankind achieving that goal; the perfect union.


FAITH
Believe by Brooks & Dunn 

I'll end this selection of songs for Memorial Day, with this message of faith delivered in lyrics that the tell the story of a little boy and his close friend 'Old Man Wrigley'.

Old Man Wrigley, who served in the Navy, became a positive influence in this young boy's life. This little boy, now a young man away at school, receives a call from his mom to let him know that Old Man Wrigley died. The news hits him hard.

The passing of his old friend causes this young man to reflect on this sweet old man who taught him more about Purpose than he had yet imagined in the springtime of his life.
(Lyrics) I can't quote the book
The chapter or the verse
You can't tell me it all ends ... In a slow ride in a hearse
You know I'm more and more convinced
The longer that I live
Yeah, this can't be
No, this can't be
No, this can't be all there is
These words by Brooks & Dunn sprinkle light on the pain of loss. Your loved ones, my loved ones are still with us. When that salty water leaks out of your eyes, there's a hand you can't see wiping away that tear. I believe.


Hold on to love, you'll take it with you.

With Love, Always, Barbara

You Can Find these Four Songs to Add to Your Playlist Here





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 8, 2016

4 Country Songs to Celebrate Mom

Mom Loves You No Matter What, but She May Love You A Little Extra If You Dedicate Just the Right Country Song to Her...

Whether you want to thank Mom, honor Mom or just express how she inspires you, there's a country song for that. Below are four popular songs with descriptions about the story regarding Mom.
Where we're unable to express just how we feel about mom, a song can step in and describe, in just the right way, what's in our heart.


Don't Forget to Remember Me, by Carrie Underwood

This is such a pretty song; it really does bring you back to a time in your life. It was written by Morgane Hayes, Kelley Lovelace and Ashley Gorley and made it's release in March of 2006. It reached number 2 on the Billboard Country Charts and number 49 on the Hot 100. Carrie Underwood's mother is in the video as well.


This song is gut wrenching. For all of us who recall the anticipation and heartache we felt the day we moved out of our parent's home, the lyrics in this song tell the story of this marker in our life. 
Personally I've never forgotten my own moving day, way back in 1979....heading into my first apartment in the city; just mom and I cleaning the place together and setting up what would become my new home for several years.
I'll never forget the feelings I had the day she had to leave to go back home...I was a bit afraid, a little bit anxious to begin my new life, but mostly it just hurt for a while - The song says it well :
'Eighteen years had come and goneFor Momma they flew by, But for me they drug on and on, We were loadin' up that Chevy, Both tryin' not to cry, Momma kept on talkin', puttin' off goodbye, Then she took my hand and said, Baby don't forget to remember me'
As a daughter I can say this particular lyric in the song hits home the most; "I called Mama up last night, And even when it's not, I tell her everything's all right". Doesn't matter how old we get, we always want to spare mom unnecessary worry.

Somebody's Hero, by Jamie O'Neal

This song is so moving that I dedicated a full page review about it.

If your a grown woman and Mom is on in her years, then you'll appreciate this song and the incredible message of a lifetime of gratitude between mother and daughter.

The video is equally moving. It expresses the lyrics by telling the story of a young girl who grows with the love of her mother, and how that relationship goes full circle from a Mom caring for her daughter to a daughter caring for her mother.

When you hear and watch the last verse in the video, especially if your mom is a senior citizen, be ready to shed a tear:
'She's somebody's hero, A hero to her mother in a rockin' chair, She runs a brush through her silver hair, The envy of the nursing home, She drops by every afternoon, Feeds her mama with a spoon, And that smile lets her know, Her mother's smile lets her know, She's somebody's hero'
The song was written by Jamie O'Neal, Shaye Smith and Ed Hill. It was released as the second single from her Album 'Brave'. On the Hot Country Charts it reached number 3 and thus provided Ms. O'Neal with her sixth top 40 country hit and her third top ten.



The Baby, by Blake Shelton

Blake Shelton was quite young when he recorded this song.

Get ready to cry, you won't be able to hold back the tears on this song, especially if you're the youngest child or Mom.

I can personally relate to the theme of this song - I'm a mom of four sons, and my 4th boy arrived quite unexpectedly when I was 40 years old. So to hear Blake Shelton sing the lyrics about the youngest always being referred to as the baby touches me deeply.

In fact my youngest, who at the time of me writing this page, is soon to be 16 years old and yes, is still referred to as 'my baby'. Although he gets mad when I say it now, so I can only say it to his father when I'm talking about him - I love that! Now I call him 'my angel' in french until he grows back into me calling him his baby again...and he will.

This song, in perfect country style, tells the story of the youngest son growing up as 'the baby' all the way to the time when mom is on her deathbed where he's rushing to be by her side.

Honestly, it's hard to listen to; from the perspective of mom, just thinking about any of my sons hurting when it's my time to leave bothers me; just never want to see them hurt (no matter how unrealistic that is, us mommies feel that way).

Written by Michael White and Harley Allen, this song was included on Blake Shelton's album 'The Dreamer' and was released as the first single for it in 2002. It reached and stayed at number for three weeks.




Angels, By Randy Travis

Narrated as a Story to Remind Men Who've Forgotten Where They Can Find an Angel

The beauty of this song, along with the lyrics, is the way the story of where to find an angel is narrated by Randy Travis. The video shows a group of men gathered for a night of relaxation and conversation talking about many subjects in life when the talk of 'Angels' comes up. Most of them say they've never seen a real angel, or wouldn't know one if they did. That's when Randy Travis points out that to see an angel they only need to look in their mother's eyes.
"Are you telling me you've never seen an angel,  never felt the presence of one standing by, No robe of white, no halo in site, Well you missed the most obvious thing, Man, are you blind? Just look in your mothers eyes" 
The song goes on to ask the men... who has been there for them from birth and through life, who stands by their side no matter what, and who came running every time they cried out, taught you wrong from right, waited up at night and prayed that you'd be alright.

If you'de like to add one of the above songs to your playlist, you can find them here, along with several other country songs for Mom.

Note: 'OMG Mom Was Right Pillow Can be Found Here, along with several other Pillows and Throw Blankets to Honor Mom.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.