Showing posts with label dedication. Show all posts
Showing posts with label dedication. Show all posts

Sunday, January 22, 2017

I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair - Proceeds Donated to the Canadian Cancer Society


"I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair, Up or Down Girl, I Really Don't Care" (Lyrics)

Standing in my kitchen last Fall with the radio blasting life's lyrics from my favorite country station, the ache in these words filled the air. After hearing them, the topic of the song was clear.

Perched along side the radio, the tears flowed.  So much circling my mind from those sixteen words ... thoughts of loved ones I personally know battling cancer, and memories of those passed on.
"Phone call came in from her doctor back home
The cancer had spread and she threw down the phone
She looked in the mirror, tears running down her cheeks
Said if it all falls out, baby what would you think?" (Lyrics)
For me, there's also a personal aspect. Going through some medical challenges, the loss of my hair was a real possibility. Although I've been blessed with my dad's very thick hair, I started to lose it by the handfuls last February.

Despite this, I was one of the lucky ones. I'm managing things much better, and my hair is as thick as it's ever been again. However, the choices I had to make and am still making will forever be a part of my life. And that's ok now, for now.

There are so many levels to medical challenges. With broad smiles, or as many as we can muster, we try not to let it be an all consuming time in our life. However, the waiting hurts .. The waiting to find out; the waiting for treatment results; the waiting for procedures to be completed, and so it goes.

Strength we thought we never had, we somehow find.

And thoughts of those we love ....

What will they do if? ... how can I tell them .... circle our mind more often than we can block them.

Then yes, the thought of our hair. I cried. It isn't shallow. It's just a part of the process.

Whether the fight is cancer or a chronic disease, we know medication plays havoc on our systems, and on our hair.

But those we love and who love us, remind us:
"The heart that's inside is why I stopped and stared
I swear I didn't fall in love with your hair" (Lyrics)
To those suffering much greater battles than mine I want to hold you so tight, and make it go away.

How can we take the pain away for you? We know we can't, but we want to.

If granted one wish, mine would be magical powers to take it all away, for everyone.

I Didn't Fall In Love With Your Hair by Canadian Country Artists, Brett Kissel  & Carolyn Dawn Johnson

A Collaboration with Philanthropist W. Brett Wilson for Cancer Awareness Month in September 2016.

Released September 9th, 2016, proceeds for the song between September 9th and October 28th 2016 were donated to the Canadian Cancer Society and matched by Brett Wilson.

You can find 'I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair' on Brett Kissel's sixth studio album, Pick Me Up.








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 20, 2016

A Song for People Enduring Cancer

Brett Kissel, I Didn't Fall in Love with Your Hair
and More Here
'I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair' by Canadian Country Music Artist Brett Kissel & Featuring Carolyn Dawn Johnson

Written by Rachel Bradshaw, Kyle Jacobs and Billy Montana, this moving song was released in September 2016 for Cancer Awareness month with proceeds donated to the cause between the dates September 9th and October 28th 2016.

Philanthropist W. Brett Wilson, also played a role by matching the amounts earned and donating those funds to the Canadian Cancer Society.

Like most songs do for the artist, it struck a personal chord for Brett Kissel; his mom has battled cancer.

Why This Song Says So Much

Battling cancer certainly goes deeper than potentially losing our hair. However, when the news hits us that we could be facing this horrendous fight, some of us think of this superficial thing...our hair.

After first hearing this song blaring from the radio in my kitchen, the lyrics stopped me in my tracks. Listening to every word, the tears flowed.

The song speaks to the love of one soul for another; it reminds us what true love means and that our body really is our temporary home. The cliche 'beautiful on the inside' has greater meaning when you process these lyrics.

Love is an unseen force, yet the most powerful in the world.

How do we know we are loved by another?

We know because we feel this invisible energy. The feeling of love resonates in this gorgeous song. 'He didn't fall in love with her hair' - he fell in love with her soul, her being - This untouchable force survives all things tangible.

We are reminded that our love for each other cannot be measured by something physical, like our hair or our body shape. Love is a connection that survives the seen. This intangible force captures our spirit, and in doing so, gives us the secret to life.

We are all here perfecting that secret. 

Love is where we find the light and it's the only road that takes us home. Get out the tissues as you listen to this song.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 13, 2016

A Moms Song for a Child Leaving Home

If I Could by Barbra Streisand
A Further Review about the Song Meaning Here

One of My Sons is Moving Out in Two Days & the Lyrics to this Song Say What We Moms Feel

I've been one of those lucky moms; all four of my sons still live at home.

Yes, that's right, and we love it that way.

But my second boy, a guitarist and artist on the rise in a band called Coldfront, is moving out on his own. He's anxious to fly, but I'm not ready to let him. I'll never be ready.

Totally biased I'm about to blurt out all the cliches moms say: He's smart, organized, gorgeous and talented. I guess that's suppose to bring a measure of comfort.

But really, how did all the moms of the world get through this part of life! It's hard.

He's turned out to be a wonderful young man, and he's ready. The high point is what he's given me; the proof that he's ready.

After our son explained his plans to his dad and I on how he's going to manage this big step, we were so proud. Later that night we were lamenting on how hard this is, and how much we would miss him. But then his dad said, 'he's just like you! he's so much like you, and for that reason, I won't worry so much'.
"I've Watched You Grow So I Could Let You Go" (Lyrics)
Most of my friends have had their children move out already.

Looking back, I know I'm feeling my own mother's heartache as my brothers and I moved out.

At 19, mom and I drove to Toronto where I would start University and share an apartment with a friend. Mom helped me set-up the place, spent two days with me and after hugs and kisses, I remember standing at that apartment door watching her walk down the hall towards the elevator where she waved a final goodbye.

This coming Monday, I will understand what my mother felt that day. I'll say goodbye to my boy, my life, and pretend he's just going away for the weekend and that he'll be back in a few days. Without doing that, I'd be a mess, and on such a milestone for him, don't want him to feel my pain.

Right now I'm lucky. I can hear the boys laughing and talking to each other from their bedrooms. My dad used to say to me that he was happiest when all of us were home safe and sound. I miss my dad. I sure could use a hug from him right now. Dad would be so proud of him, of all the boys.
(Lyrics)
If I could, I would try to shield your innocence from time
but the part of life I gave you isn't mine
I've watched you grow so I could let you go
if I could
I would help you make it through the hungry years
but I know that I can never cry your tears
but I would
if I could
If you're looking for lyrics that say exactly what a Mom wants to say to her children, this is the perfect song - Get the tissues ready - I'm spent after listening to it <3



Things I'll have to deal with in the coming days:

  • How will I handle walking by his empty bedroom?
  • Missing the big glorious mess he leaves in his room
  • His cooking for us once in a while
  • His smile
  • His hugs
  • His brothers will miss him too
That's it, we're going to visit him - did I mention he's moving 5 hours away.

Yesterday he was just a baby.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 14, 2015

A Lifetime of Friendship and All that Ultimately Matters in This Life, Love

Time & Love - Two Things that Never Die 

Words for the Wall - Wall Decal

Starting with a Poem:

You Stayed
A journey from 1979
my journey with you
my friend
you stayed,
Always and forever
you have been by my side,
throughout all this time
you have stood patiently,
During times when my life
pulled me in a hundred directions
you still stayed,
We have survived three decades of changes
from single girls
to married women
to the birth of children
there you stayed,
Through a thousand tears
and a million laughs
you stayed,
We are bonded in a such a way
that the word friend is too casual
we are sisters,
Distance may keep us apart
but sisterhood keeps us together
You can know I'm here
I can know you're there,
This gift of timeless friendship
can never be measured in miles
it's a treasured constant
Others may come and go
but my friend,
We stay
Angel Statue

Inspiration Sometimes Comes from the Most Unexpected Places

Obviously friendship is the inspiration, but the details of what led to this poem were unexpected.
The year was 2007, on Mother's Day. My family, (kids, step-kids, hubby) had our normal get-together here at the house.
It was rather an event filled day. About one hour before everyone arrived I split my head open on the edge of my youngest sons bed. I was so mad at myself! I ended up at the hospital for about 3 hours and six stitches later was back home. My husband and kids pitched in and handled things; everything was under control. 
Anyway, dinner was great, and the night moved along nicely as usual with some watching tv (football I think), one of my other sons playing guitar, the little one playing xBox, and my step-daughter, myself and her hubby in the kitchen chatting it up. The conversation that night was really great. We talked about the Five Stages of Marriage that I had recently heard on the John Tesh radio show. it was quite interesting. My hubby and I are definitely in stage 5. However, my step kids were quite interested in assessing what stage their relationships were in. It was fun and quite comical.
Anyway, the conversation led into my step daughter paying me a nice compliment about why she believed my marriage to her dad was successful. I was grateful for her take on it, but proceeded to tell her, that wasn't the reason. She looked a tad surprised. So I said, "Do you want to know why our marriage is a success?"....you could have heard a pin drop.. both she and her hubby were waiting for me to give the "big secret", "the reason a marriage works", "the answer for all mankind"...lol...ok.not...I proceeded to give her the answer according to me ..."The reason your Dad and I have had a successful marriage of 22 years is that "We Stayed".

Through it all, I stayed. Through it all, he stayed: In sickness and in health, for richer or for poorer, in good times and in bad. When there may have been reasons for others to think we shouldn't stay together, it didn't matter, we stayed - My own personal experience taught me first hand that love CAN survive most everything.

What Inspired Me, Continued...

So, this leads me to this poem.
Nearly a month later, on the night before I was leaving to go out of town to visit my parents, I sat down in front of my computer and began the night by listening to a beautiful song called Indescribable. No matter your faith or belief system, this song exudes love.
While listening, I began thinking about that conversation with my step-daughter, and about who else in my life have "stayed". That led me to my friend for whom this poem was written.

I started remembering when my friend and I met and what our journey of 29 years included. I started thinking about how many 19 year olds today will have the same close friend 29 years later. I started thinking how rare this must be. 
With my friend's birthday approaching, this poem was my way of showing her my love and appreciation for "her staying"...through it all. 
So with the beautiful song "Indescribable, by Chris Tomlin" playing in the background, I opened up "Notepad" and started to write the short poem featured at the beginning of this article.


Today - UPDATES
Since writing this 8 years have passed. My husband and I are still going strong having recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. My friend and I are friends til the end and I'm off to visit her for her birthday in a week. We continue to stay.

By Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Drageda.com 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 19, 2014

The Incredible Power of Love

Where We Are by Westlife
Another Sunday Post Another week gone by, and as the Country Music Contributor for Review-It, it's my privilege to introduce you to yet another beautiful song.

However, this week I hope you don't mind if I take you outside the country music genre to introduce you to one of the most powerful songs about losing someone you love you may ever hear.

It's such an emotional song, that I want to warn you that if you're feeling a little too emotional over the passing of someone you love, you may not be able to watch and listen to it right now. Having recently lost my dad, both my husband and I have weeped during this song. The music, the message and the story behind the song will deeply touch your soul. I'm sure of it.

The song was written and dedicated to two of the band member's fathers who passed away much too soon.
Memorial Wall Quote
You'll notice when you watch it, the two members in the middle only do the back-up singing during this song: Without knowing for sure, I suspect the song is in honor of their dads. I know for a fact I wouldn't be able to do any singing after the loss of my own dad. As with most families, none of us could barely speak, much less sing. This pain you can cut with a knife.

My dad passed away on March 5th, 2013, and there isn't a second that goes by that I don't have him in my thoughts. I've written so much about dad; some may think I've written too much, but when you've loved someone so deeply, and they've loved you unconditionally in return for your entire life, there's a part of you that will belong to them beyond a human existence, and 'til the end of time. Missing someone this much is almost like bleeding tears. Trying to find a way to explain it to others is hard, actually impossible. Only those who feel this, know this.

It's also the strangest pain. Although it's gut wrenching to miss a person this much, it's a feeling I would never trade. Without it, I would have never known and been loved so perfectly by the most wonderful dad a girl could ask for. So to have had this Father in my life for 78 years, I'll gladly take this pain now. I'm grateful and thankful to have been so loved. Because of his love, I work to spread a little more goodness wherever and whenever I can. When I'm feeling sad or wronged (which isn't often) I remember all the blessings in my life; my dad, my mom, my brothers, my children, my husband, my friends online and offline, and mostly the love I carry inside of me through all of life's challenges, no matter how big.

That is, for me, the incredible power, and gift of love.

Go hug someone you love today, I'll be sure to do it as well, many times.

In memory of my dad; wish I could hear your voice again. Thank you for always being there for me, for all of  us - You are my reason Dad.



By Barbara Tremblay Cipak Country Music Reviewer
Drageda.com - Don't Ride Alone, Get Emotional Daily Assistance


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON: