Showing posts with label Party Planning. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Party Planning. Show all posts

Sunday, June 24, 2018

When You Need Ideas on What to Write Inside a Greeting Card, Check Out These Words of Inspiration

Find a Collection of Sayings for Cards Here
When Words Fail You

One of the quirkiest things I've enjoyed doing as a hobby for decades is coming up with sayings to write on the inside of cards.

Since my friend and I were young twenty-somethings, we've been drawn to card shops. You could usually find us in a local card shop pulling the funny cards, laughing as we blurted the creative sentiments to each other.

In those early years, I remember thinking, if I had to do it all over again, I'd go into the advertising business so I could write funny lines for cards and create commercials.

Then came the internet, where I discovered I could put all those useless one liners rolling around in my head to good use.

Thus Was Born My Hobby - Writing Sayings for Cards

You'll find sayings for many types of cards: For a new home, a new driver,
Review These Sayings You Can Write in a Card
engagements, bridal showers, weddings, birthdays, sympathy, friends, to say thank you and much more.

It's a crazy knack to be able to write card sentiments in no time flat.

On a good day I'm able to sit down and pump out 50 to 100 ideas in an hour or less. Sometimes those crazy one-liners just keep coming. Of all the skills, THIS is the one I got??

When You're Stuck, Use These Sayings

For those who struggle with what to write inside a card, don't sit there racking your brain trying to find the best words.

Simply go to one of my card saying pages and choose something to put on the card, or just use a blurb as inspiration to write your own personal note.

Writing funny card sayings is my favorite thing to do, however, I've written just as many that are serious and even somber.

If I had to select, I'd say the sayings I've written for Sympathy Cards are the most useful. When dad passed away we received cards from all over the country with personally written notes and they meant so much to us.

I was completely shocked at how reading those notes eased my pain for a few moments. The thoughtfulness put into a few kind words meant more than I can express. That moment was my inspiration to put together a list of written sayings for sympathy cards.

Personally I always write a note when I give someone a card. You don't have to write long paragraphs either, just one or two lines of thoughtfulness can make all the difference.

Have fun finding the best sayings that fit your special someone. Here's a card already completed with the saying on it. It's oozing sarcasm for that friend who loves sarcasm :)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 19, 2017

3 Completely Useless Gifts that Nobody Needs but Might Absolutely Want

A Review of Completely Useless Gifts that Aren't Necessarily Completely Useless

These three completely useless but useable gifts can be given with the intention of making someone giggle and then the shock that they can actually be useful.

If you think outside the gift-giving box, you'll appreciate these three ideas:

Nobody Really Needs Knee Warmers Do They?

Looking at these funny items, my first thought was; not something I need ... but with my bum knees something I could throw on from time to time for a little added support and warmth.

Another thought that ran through my head, if I ever washed the floors on my knees again (highly doubtful) I could put these on for comfort.

How about creating a new fashion trend - well teenagers maybe. For added warmth, they could put them over leggings.

Figure skaters would be the best candidates for these. Having spent over 10 years in this sport in my youth, I can safely say that falling is a part of learning ... especially when you're learning jumps. Learning jumps normally involves a harness, but not usually outside a lesson with your coach. Give these as a funky knee covering for the figure skater in the family. Who knows, you may encourage a new trend in the Skating Club. Anything's possible; I think I invented the skating skirt?

How About a Brain Hat? What?


Is there a genius in the family? Get a big laugh from the person who opens this wacky gift.

If you know how to knit, DIY this puppy. If not, get a few as freaky odd ball gifts for the out-standing people in your life.

We all have weird superstitions: This hat could become their needed 'Thinking Cap' to inspire new ideas. When creativity is required, they may pull on the hat and believe in it's powers. After-all, we're only limited by our thinking. Everybody in the family may want one. Better yet, wear them skiing.

Use them for Halloween. Mom and dad would look very confident trotting around with their brains on their head whilst the kids trick-or-treat.

Of course, a brain hat is just what the doctored ordered for the little-Miss-or-Mr-Know-it-All in the family. Better yet, collect a few for the Secret Santa draw.

An LED Cocktail Glass? Is There Really a Need for These?

Need? Nope. No needing these. But they sure area a funky way to light up a room. Imagine collecting a set of these and having a party where everyone is served a lighted drink. The ambience would be magnificent.

Use them for weddings, birthdays, Halloween parties, Christmas and especially New Years. Begin a collection for someone; keep adding to it - After-all, funk makes the world go 'round.

Imagine movie night at home with these cool glasses ... All the lights out except for people's drinking glasses.

How about an original teacher gift? There's no way Teacher is going to be buying herself/himself one of these, and you're sure to be the only one to show up with it.

Well there you have it, three affordable things nobody needs but somebody wants.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 17, 2016

Use Funny Wine Glasses to Break the Ice

A Little Drinking Humor - Get it Via Amazon

More Funny Wine Glasses Here
Did You Know Your Dinnerware Can Provide Humor?

When you host a party where everyone knows each other, conversation and laughter generally come easy. 

However, where people aren't as familiar with each other, we generally use a variety of tools to break the ice.

Party tools normally include the standards such as games, music videos and dancing. However there's another creative way to generate conversation - hand your guest a drink in a funny wine glass.

There are a vast number of funny sayings that can be found on wine glasses, and some do include 'bad words' *gasp!*. But hey, if your crowd is into nasty humor, be sure to include these.

Here are just a few funny sayings you'll find on wine glasses...enjoy! - Find these Quotes on Wine Glasses Here
  • I do yoga, just kidding, I drink wine in yoga pants
  • 'Novinophobia' - The fear of running out of wine
  • It's not really drinking alone if the dog is home
  • Not every girl is made of sugar and spice and everything nice, I'm made of sarcasm, wine and everything fine
  • Some people just need a high five - in the face, with a chair.
  • Let's get ready to stumble
Get yourself a table filled with an assortment of funny of glasses, and let people pick the glass that best suits their personality.

As your guests begin to chat with each other, the wine glass becomes the ice breaker.

Have fun, now I'm craving wine!








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 26, 2015

Here's an Original Party Idea, Riddle T-Shirts!

Here's a Riddle T-Shirt!

Wear a Riddle & Stump the Crowd - Riddle T-Shirts are Great for Parties, Fun Events or Social Gatherings

If you're going to a party, put one of these on just to drive everyone nuts! More Riddle Shirts Here
With the riddle on your back, you could have a crowd of people gathering 'round competing to solve it. Although the answer is on the front of the shirt, you can cover it with the "Guess the Answer" sticker until someone figures it out!
You know how else you can drive someone around the bend?
Standing in line at the grocery store with the shirt on! The person behind you may tap you on the shoulder for the answer....I'm sure they would need the answer before they could leave, otherwise it could get stuck in their brain!
5 Ways You Could Save the World by Wearing a Riddle T-Shirt:
  1. You'll cure boredom for everyone standing in line at the DMV
  2. Line-Ups at public bathrooms will become more interesting
  3. When you get asked to step outside of your vehicle, turn around and play 'stump the officer' - he'll be busy trying to solve your riddle (just kidding!!! don't do that)
  4. For those who still end up in lines at the bank, life just got more interesting for them thanks to you
  5. People may actually look up from their Cell Phones to converse with others!!!! Oh my gawd, that's a biggy.
On the other hand....

5 Ways You Could Cause Havoc by Wearing a Riddle T-Shirt:

  1. Someone waiting in line for the bathroom passes on the next available stall to solve your riddle instead, and pees on their shoes, or worse, pees on yours
  2. Customer Service Reps at the DMV get side tracked with your Riddle T-Shirt and cause the lines to get longer, then people start to hate you
  3. The Police Officer couldn't solve your Riddle-T and gives you a bigger ticket
  4. Everyone stops using bank machines just so they can get in line to read and solve riddle T-Shirts, all Bank Machines begin to rust.
  5. Everyone starts talking to each other, eye to eye, and start falling in love, cheating on their significant others, divorce court gets over crowded...but on the upside, you could keep everyone in line at Divorce Court busy trying to guess your T-Shirt Riddle? Just don't piss off Judge Judy.
So, are you up for solving any more of my personally written riddles?? Don't do it! don't try to solve these riddles, it'll only suck precious time out of your day, RESIST!!!! Ok, fine, you're weak, go here.

You're not home free yet! Here's another one of my Riddles ... in Video!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Reviewing Halloween Party Invitations

Planning a great Halloween party means choosing great invitations, too. In fact, I start with the invitations. They can help me pick the theme, give me decor ideas, even menu options. So I'm giving you a review of some of my favorite choices for great Halloween party invitations.

Halloween Party Themes


If you think your party theme is simply Halloween, I have some news for you. There are many different themes that can all fall under this holiday heading. When planning your party this year, there are things to think about. Such as: do you want to have a costume centered party? You might even give away prizes for the best costumes. Do you want to have a family-oriented party where it's appropriate for children as well?

Planning your theme can be as important as planning your menu. Many of your guests will enjoy designing their costumes based on your theme.

Vintage Halloween Theme


I've reviewed party invitations for a vintage Halloween theme. These are great for guests who really love to dress in period costumes. Vintage parties are easy to decorate. The look of old mansions or manor homes that have gone to ruin is not only vintage, but also traditional Halloween. So decorating ideas and props are plentiful.

Cute and Fun Halloween Theme


There is certainly a cute side to Halloween. For a family-oriented party where scaring the kids is not the idea, you'll want to choose a theme around the sweet side of the holiday. Smiling pumpkins, candy corn, and butterfly costumes can be a great theme. Of course, you want your guests to know your party is designed around the sweet side so choose cute and fun Halloween party invitations.

Ghoulish Themes


For many, the eerie, spooky and creepy side of the holiday is the best way to throw a party. Ghoulish Halloween Party Invitations reviews some those theme ideas. This theme opens up the costume options to many. Personally, a ghoulish touch to my costume is always fun. I've been known to add a little fake blood to a princess costume.

So start thinking early about your Halloween party. The planning takes some time and you'll want to choose invitations that not only match your theme, but also show your guests what to expect. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, July 13, 2014

Theme Parties are the Best!

Party occasions come in all shapes and sizes but party theme ideas will always out number them. Themes can bring fun, whimsy and an opportunity to embrace a different time or place or can bring a fantasy world to life.

They can also be less dramatic but still there -- bringing cohesion to party organization, decorations and even the food (if you choose to go that far)!

During my years in the event industry, I was constantly asked if a theme was "necessary" for parties and events from birthdays and showers to reunions and weddings. The short answer is -- no, they are not necessary. The longer answer is -- a theme can actually help a host/hostess when planning a party.

What the heck do I mean by that? Let me explain...

Do I have to have a Theme for my Party/Event?

Certainly not. However, a theme can actually help with the planning and pulling off of a party. Parties are usually planned in advance and include some or all of the following elements:

  • Invitations
  • Set up and Decorations
  • Food or Meal
  • Cake or Desserts
  • Favors or Guest Gifts

The occasion of your event or party can give you some help or direction when planning but a theme can really bring it all together.

With a central theme, it narrows the vast choices out there for the above mentioned elements. It gives you a starting point and a finish line. And, it can help rein-in ideas and keep you focused on the big picture you are trying to create.

What is a Theme?

Kids birthday parties are definitely theme occasions but adult parties and events can benefit from a theme as well. A theme can be whole hog or subtle, your choice. But, most parties have some sort of a theme.

Even when you simply choose a color scheme and coordinate the above elements with that scheme -- that's a theme too. It's a subtle theme, but a theme nonetheless.

Theme Ideas Abound

Luckily for us and everyone searching for party/event ideas, here are some articles that share a plethora of information that can help. Do you like Tea Parties?  Christine shared her ideas for a child's birthday with a tea party theme in her lens, "Planning an Alice in Wonderland Tea Party".

Got someone that loves guitars and music? PartyBuzz helped plan and execute that theme for her grandson's birthday. The lens is titled "Teen Party Ideas: Guitars and Music Notes".

How about a Las Vegas theme? That one can be loads of fun, especially for adult events like birthdays, reunions, fundraisers and more!

Have you hosted a great theme party? I invite you to write about it. Use lots of photos too! As the Party Planning Contributor, I would love to help you promote your lens when it's finished.

What are you waiting for? Start writing!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, June 8, 2014

June is Wedding Month!

I love weddings anytime of year but June holds a special place in a bride's heart. I thought I would look around at what helpful information and ideas Squidoo has to offer a bride, groom, mother-of-the-bride, mother-of-the-groom or other host of a wedding celebration.

Squidoo and Weddings

Let me just say, Squidoo does weddings up right and even has a category just for weddings. The main category is broken down again to 17 different sub-categories. This makes it so much easier for a bride (or whomever) to find just the right information for anything to do with weddings.

Planning a wedding is a lot of work but can be a lot of fun as well. Gathering ideas and suggestions and then sifting through them can inspire your own unique ideas.

Maybe you are stuck for music ideas for the ceremony? At Squidoo, you can find suggestions from a church organist for ceremony music.  Or, perhaps you need some inspiration for your personal wedding vows. Reading what others did can unleash a person's creativity.

You can find help with wedding flowers, traditions, general planning and more. Themed weddings are very popular. Seeing what others did may spark something new and different for yourself.

On a budget? Got you covered there too! Budget Weddings is filled with ideas you can incorporate to keep costs under control.

Everything from music to vows to food and reception decor -- you name it and Squidoo has it covered! It is a wonderful resource brides and other make use of everyday!

If you are planning a wedding, or have a friend or relative planning a wedding that could use some inspiration, point them to Squidoo. The wealth of information makes it invaluable. Best of all: It's FREE!

If you want to share your experiences about weddings or any events to help others, join me on Squidoo as a writer. I am the Party Planning Contributor and I will help in any way I can as well as promote your finished lenses (articles).

It's almost summer -- jump right in, the water's great!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 25, 2014

Kick off the Summer with a Party!

Historic Falls Park, Pendleton, IN
I do love the summer! Here in the Midwest, we might not have a gorgeous ocean and beach but we do have our own great summer sights. The flowers, the creek falls, the kelly green grass, the blue sky, the vitamin D filled sunshine and 3 fun holidays to boot wrap up our summer season!

Memorial Day starts everything in late May, Independence Day is midway and the end of summer is signified by Labor Day every year.

Memorial Day/Weekend Party or Get-Together

Since we are smack in the middle of Memorial Weekend today, I thought I would take you through our celebration last year (this year's is tomorrow.)  Each year, my family gets together for and on Memorial Day. It's our "Kick Off to Summer Party" and one of my favorites.

I know I have mentioned it before but here I go again... I am a military brat -- specifically the U.S. Navy. My dad was career Navy. My parents actually met when both were stationed at the Naval Air Station in Pensacola, Florida. Both my grandfathers were U.S. Navy veterans as is my only brother.

Suffice is to say, we are a patriotic bunch! So, because the Memorial, Independence and Labor Day holidays are patriotic in nature, that's the theme we use for all three. It's a lot of fun and we leave some of the decor up all summer -- red, white and blue is very appropriate for a summer season boasting 3 patriotic holidays.

Stars & Stripes -- Red, White & Blue

The color combination is timeless. The primary color scheme is used by Countries for their flag, sports teams and schools for their colors, in home decorating (especially in the cottage, vintage and nautical decor themes) and so much more.

Last year, I decided to use a "vintage feel" with the patriotic theme and loved the way it turned out. I wrote about it here: My Patriotic Buffet Table for our Summer party. Burlap, baskets, bandanas and mini flags come together to create a festive, fun and whimsical buffet table for our party. What do you think?
My Patriotic Summer Buffet Party


Summer Parties

The summer is filled with parties, occasions and get togethers in addition to the holidays mentioned above. Do you have a traditional get-together each summer or a special occasion you'll celebrate this year? Could be anything, like:

  • Graduation Party
  • Neighborhood Block Party
  • Birthday
  • Wedding
  • Baby or Bridal Shower
  • Class Reunion
  • Family Reunion
  • Annual Luau Party 
  • Summer Picnics

Think about sharing your ideas and experiences with others that want to hold a successful event. Do you have a favorite pot luck dish you always make or take? Are you throwing a shindig to celebrate your daughter's graduation or your son's wedding rehearsal dinner? Are you the "Picnic King/Queen"?

Being the Party Planning Contributor on Squidoo, I can point you to a great outlet for sharing your experiences with others here on the world wide web. Best of all -- Squidoo is FREE!!! You might even earn a little you can put towards your next big party!

Let me know (in the comments) if you write an article about a party so I can help you promote it! Most of all, have a wonderful summertime!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 18, 2014

Graduation Party Ideas for Your Graduate

It's May and "graduation season" is just starting. If you have a graduate in the family, you may be in need of graduation party ideas. Luckily, Squidoo can help!

Whether graduating from pre-school, kindergarten, middle school, high school or college, a graduation party is in order. Graduating is a big achievement regardless of the level. Family and friends will love to celebrate with your graduate, so let's get started with some graduation party ideas.

Graduation Time!

This time of year, every time I check my mailbox I get another graduation announcement. Between friends and family, I definitely keep busy during May and June with all the graduations.

At this point, my kids have graduated from everything except college -- and that's coming soon enough. Graduation parties are one of my favorites. It's a time to let the student shine, show accomplishments and revel in the attention for their success.

A few years ago, I noticed there were hardly any lenses about hosting graduation parties. So, I wrote a lens sharing my experiences with the grad parties I have hosted and helped plan. It was and still is a popular reference for parents of graduates.

Today, I started looking around and realized there are a lot more lenses dealing with graduation parties. I decided to visit and maybe get a few new ideas I can pass along to friends and family.

Graduation Party Ideas

Here are a few lenses that should definitely be on your list if you are planning a graduation party.
My Daughter's Grad Party Memorabilia Table 

Graduation Centerpieces is an eclectic mix of ideas for table decorations for you party. Everything from very simple to ornate. Lensmaster celebrate has something for everyone.

Another great resource I found was Graduation Party Decorations. Every party needs decorations and lensmaster 3QuartersToday shares some of her ideas. Drawing from her experience hosting parties for her daughter and step-daughter, she has some great grad party decorating ideas.

Lensmaster, DinosaurEgg, has some great suggestions for a graduation cake for the party. In her lens titled, Graduation Cakes -- Hooray!, we find everything from sheet cakes to shaped cakes to candy all appropriate for graduation. 

Check out all that Squidoo has to offer on the subject of graduation parties. Your party will be a resounding success when you use Squidoo for ideas!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 11, 2014

Party Ideas for Mother's Day

First of all:  Happy Mother's Day to all the moms out there!

Now, I realize that today is actually Mother's Day so these ideas for a Mother's Day shindig will probably go on the back burner until next year. Still, it'll give you plenty of time to come up with something to blow mom's socks off with next year!


A Party? For Mother's Day?

Sure! A party is really just two or more people celebrating something -- a holiday, milestone, achievement, success, etc... Mother's Day certain falls in this realm. Mother's are forever planning parties and events for their children, why not plan something in her honor?

I ran over to Squidoo to see what suggestions were available. As always, I was not disappointed. Squidoo really is a fount of information. If you search for "Mother's Day", you will be rewarded with ideas for gifts, crafts, trivia, cards, poems, songs, gift baskets and, of course, food.

Then, I searched for Mother's Day Party and was pointed towards some really cool ideas for celebrating this wonderful person in your life.


A Mother's Day Tea Party

WriterJanis tells us, "This is a chance to get dressed up and give Mom an elegant celebration"  in her lens titled How to Throw a Mother's Day Tea Party. She gives us ideas for invitations, decorations, which teas to serve, food and dessert ideas as well as music and even games.

This lens is truly a one stop shop for inspiration for your Mother's Day celebration. Bookmark it for future reference!


Mother's Day Picnic

A cool and different idea for celebrating mom's day is a picnic. It's May, warmer and people are itching to get outside. The Perfect Mother's Day Picnic by vermontmom has a host of ideas to choose from, even getting the kids involved in the preparations.

As she says in her intro, you'll find some tips and ideas to make your picnic "almost as special as your mom." What a sweet sentiment. 

Do Something for Mom

Moms are great and we should celebrate them more than once a year but doing it up nicely on Mother's Day can't hurt. Take some time to research and plan a wonderful party or get-together for your mom. She'll always remember...

Wishing everyone and their mother a wonderful Mother's Day, 2014!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, April 6, 2014

Please Pass the Punch

Credit: Andrea Parrish Geyer under CC by ND-2.0 License
What's a party without liquid libation? Yes, every party also needs a variety of drinks for your guests. Luckily, Squidoo is chuck full of punch, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drink recipes as well as some great suggestions for serving your drinks.

Punch for Kids and Adults

My absolute favorite, all time punch recipe has the be the old fall back of sherbet punch. Any flavor will do (although green/lime is my favorite). I have served it at baby and bridal showers, weddings, graduations, open houses for different holidays, school parties, and almost any other party occasion that comes to mind.

Sylvestermouse shares her recipe in her article aptly titled Sherbert Punch. The recipe I use is a bit different than the one Miss Mouse uses but I can tell you from experience, both are fantastic punch offerings for any party -- kids or adult.

 BuckHawk shares, in her article titled Party Punches for Every Occasion, a lot of different punch recipes. Her's include punches made with cider, a golden wedding punch, shower punches and even a recipe that uses Jello as an ingredient. (I may have to try this one!)

Non-Alcoholic Party Drinks

Depending on the season of your party, you can serve wonderful frozen or cold refreshments or piping hot drinks to your party guests. For spring or summer, you might serve a refreshing flavored iced tea or a non-alcoholic "mocktail".

Mix them up by the glass, pitcher or gallon. Your guests can serve themselves and then dress them up with fun swizzle sticks or cute paper drink umbrellas. No alcohol required for fun here!

Alcoholic Cocktail Party Drinks

Is it 5 o'clock somewhere? If you are hosting an adult party then alcoholic offerings are another choice for your party. There are literally thousands of different drinks you can make for a party that don't require a seasoned bartender.

Consider choosing only a couple and label them as "signature drinks" for your event. Give them a name that goes along with the event in some way and make them up by the gallon or punch bowl. The best party drinks are self serve.

A good hostess/host wants her/his guests to be happy. Instead of waiting in long lines for a bartender to mix drinks one at a time (not to mention the expense of a full bar), self-serve "signature drinks" keep everyone happy. Make a drink station -- decorate it with your party motif -- and off you go!

Squidoo is Party Headquarters

Squidoo is a veritable treasure trove of punch and drink recipes. Take a look for yourself the next time you are planning a party or get-together or just want to enjoy a new, different liquid libation!

Have you got a special drink or punch recipe you always use for parties? Consider sharing it with the world by writing your own article on Squidoo. It's fast, easy and fun! 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 30, 2014

Who's Ready for Some Party Food?

Inevitably, no matter what type of party you are hosting, you're going to need food. It might just be snacks, appetizers, desserts or maybe even a full meal but food is a must! The wonderful authors (called Lensmasters) at Squidoo have certainly got you covered for party food ideas.

Kids Party Food Ideas

Food for kids parties is important. They will run home and brag everyone about the wonderful treats that were served at the most recent party. It can be something as simple as pizza or as fun as tacos. Or, maybe it's all about the sweet treats. Anyway you slice it, MaggiePowell shares her experience and ideas in her article (called a lens) titled Kid Friendly Party Food.

This mom has three kids with three birthdays each year. She has tons of experience in hosting kids and teens parties and with what types of foods they prefer. There are tons of suggestions for everything from snacks to cakes to meals. Anyone planning a party for children, tweens or teens should definitely give this a read!

Teen Girls Party Food

Teen girls can be picky about eating. Claremckenzie shares her experience in menu planning in her article Party Food for Teenage Girls. From suggestions for the menu to serving dishes to make the food look great, Clare has got you covered!

I love the simple to read instructions for kabobs, pinwheels and the like. Of course, she has a section all about sweets too!

Appetizer Parties

MareeT shares some of her best ideas for throwing a wonderful appetizer party. In Party Appetizer Ideas, MareeT explains that the party can be as large or as small as you like -- but it will be great with some pre-planning. Along with the food, she touches on invitations, music, punch, serving dishes and much more!

Some of her recipes look so darned good -- I am getting hungry just reading them (and drooling over the photos). I also love the little tips she posts on the post-it notes. Sharing these gems can help us all host a better party!

Do you have some tried and true recipes you use for parties, get togethers or potlucks? Consider sharing them on Squidoo! It's simple, free and only takes a couple of minutes to get started. If you have toyed with the idea of writing online, try Squidoo. What could be better?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 16, 2014

A Father's Review of "Father of the Bride"

This week, I had the opportunity to read a truly wonderful review. It combines storytelling and a review, producing an article anyone would be proud to read or write. As a matter of fact, it also won the Squidoo "Review of the Day" honor. Definitely worth a minute or two of your time.

Keeping it Funny

The review grabs your attention immediately with a title like this:
"This is why I'm glad I didn't run over Steve Martin". 
I giggled as soon as I read that. 

Not only did author pgallagher grab my attention, he held it because he kept the promise his title made -- told us why he was glad he didn't run over Mr. Martin. He even goes so far as to share his humorous thoughts at the time of the "almost" mishap!

Keeping it Real

He tells us about the kinship he feels with the character from the film (George Banks). Since pgallagher is a father to two daughters, it wasn't such a stretch.

I think this is my favorite line in the whole review: "Father of the Bride will be relevant for as long as parents have children that grow up and get married."

Storytelling + Review = One Heck of an Article! 

I applaud you, pgallagher. This review was perfect (if there such a thing.) The formula works! It is possible, readable and more interesting when we use stories and personal experience in our writing on Squidoo and anywhere on the web.

It makes us better writers but more important, better people when we share. Please, take a moment and read the review. You won't be sorry. Leave pgallagher a comment with your impression of his review. He's relatively new to Squidoo (Sept. 2013) and only has 3 lenses so far.

If he keeps putting out articles like this one, he will have a long and prosperous career at Squidoo!

You Can Join the Fun Too

There is a almost no limit to the topics on Squidoo. The Squidoo Contributors write about most everything. Find a favorite niche topic (mine is party planning) and start reading and writing. I know you will love it as much as we do!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 9, 2014

Reviews of Movies about Parties and Occasions


Wedding Movies



The Party Planning niche on Squidoo has had a very busy couple of weeks. I published my newest curation list filled with party movies and have had people write some terrific reviews.

The movie list has a little bit of something for everyone including all sorts of parties and occasions like:

  • Weddings
  • Graduations
  • Anniversaries
  • Baby Showers
  • Bachelor Parties
  • Beach Parties
  • and even children's parties
With such wonderful participation, I wanted to make sure I highlighted some of the reviews this week. I will include the remainder in next weeks post. I don't want to leave anyone out!


My Big Fat Greek Wedding


I love this movie and so does Lensmaster wir55. She wrote an awesome review of the quirky, romantic comedy.

I agree with her (and the story line) that families are so very loving but can be overwhelming all at the same time. Sorting through the emotions can lead to some humorous incidents in our lives.

I think this film brings home the fact that you marry the whole family when you marry your spouse!

I think one of my favorite parts of the film is watching Toula grow and change into the self-confident person her mother always knew she was. Yes, mothers know more than any of us give them credit for, more often than not.

Like the movie, this review is definitely worth reading. Thanks wir55!



Runaway Bride


This review was by our very own BuckHawk -- aka Susan. I love Julia Roberts and have seen every single film she has made. There is just something about her that comes across the screen as genuine.

As Susan said in her review of the movie, it's a film you can watch over and over. I still laugh at all the same parts but usually find a new bit of humor each time I watch.

The pairing of Julia and Richard is classic. Their chemistry and penchant for straight-faced humor is unmatched. It's definitely one of my all time favorite romantic comedies.

Thanks for the review, Susan. I really enjoyed it.


Monster-in-Law


This movie about an interfering mother-in-law was reviewed by VeganEater. Again, a cute movie with a wedding and romance as a central theme. This time, it also involves a mom professing to be protecting her son from his future wife.

VeganEater shares her impressions of all the characters as well as which are her favorite. Surprisingly, it's not any of the leads. You'll have to read her review to find out!

This movie stars Jennifer Lopez and Jane Fonda. They are perfect and play very well off each other. It's funny how the son/fiance is oblivious to what is actually going on. (I think I know a few men that fit that can have the same problem at times...)



Your Turn


There's still plenty more party type movies on the list if you want to try your hand at reviewing one. It's easy! What are you waiting for?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 23, 2014

Writing Online -- Learn by Example

Writing online, especially when sharing stories about a subject you love, is easier than you might think. Writing for the internet is a far cry from what was taught in English - Language Arts classing in high school.

While you should still watch your grammar (or have someone proofread for you), online writing is better described as "conversation writing". Write like you would tell a story to a friend. I actually have a friend that talks to herself while working through writing a story online. In essence she is dictating to herself as she goes.

It's funny, I read mine out loud after I've written it to make sure it's easy to understand -- she does it as she's writing. There is no right or wrong, just what works for you.

Storytelling Everyday


At parties, in the bleachers or around the water cooler at work, we tell stories everyday. Simply start writing the stories that can be helpful to other people in some way. The internet is about helping each other by sharing our passions, experiences, successes and even failures. (I personally believe there is no such thing as a failure as long as you learn something from it.)

I have recently written 2 articles (lenses) on Squidoo that revolve around party planning. One was about a baby shower I co-hosted and the other was my daughter's sweet 16 party. In both instances, I shared what we did and made suggestions others can use when they go to planning a party for any occasion.

They didn't take much time to write but can be found by the right person searching for ideas for their particular party or shower. 93% of online activity begins with a search engine. Hopefully, my stories -- my articles -- will be indexed and displayed for those searchers.

Learn by Example


The contributors on Squidoo write their own stories as well as promoting the stories of others to help get the word out. Learn by their examples and the examples they feature.

Writing a story from personal experience, about a topic you have passion for, and publishing it to the web will help others find you too. You can be a writer -- you just have to write from the heart!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 16, 2014

Niche & Focus in Party Planning Articles

What is a niche? No, not the recess in a wall for displaying items but rather the definition as it pertains to writing for the internet.

Merriam-Webster defines a niche as:

: a job, activity, etc., that is very suitable for someone

: the situation in which a business's products or services can succeed by being sold to a particular kind or group of people

I think the contributors here on Review This! fit both bills. Our chosen niches are very suitable for us because we live them or are very active within the subject.

As the Squidoo Contributor in the Party Planning niche, I am always looking to hook up with others -- whether as readers or writers or both -- that are active within this niche topic.

If you are a young mom, you have lots and lots of birthday and other occasion party planning in your future and might could use some inspiration from others that have been there and done that.

Others of you might have already hosted a lot of different parties with great success. You have a sure-fire party food recipe or are super organized when it comes to planning and can share your tips or maybe you are a DIY Queen and want to share your party decorating ideas. All are welcome and encouraged!

There will always be people planning parties in need of inspiration and ideas. By sharing our personal experiences and knowledge, you help our fellow man/woman. What could be better?

Focusing When Writing in the Party Planning Niche


When we write, sometimes we have a tendency to include every little thing in our lens or article. What happens then is the helpful information a reader was searching for is lost in a sea of other information they don't really need. Result? Hitting the back button and no interaction or conversion from the article.

The best way to really reach our target audience is to focus on one or two elements instead of the whole. Squidoo used the example of a camera.

baby shower buffet table
My Sister's Baby Shower Buffet Table
Let's say you are taking a picture of a park playground. The whole picture involves lots of elements. This one might have a slide, a merry-go-round, monkey bars and swings. There's lots going on in the whole area. But, you can narrow the wide angle camera lens down to a telephoto shot of just the slide or the swings and have a much better chance of your target audience finding your article.

In party planning, there are tons of areas: Food, Games, Decorations, Invitations, take home treats, themes and more.

By narrowing the focus to one area, people that are looking for help in that particular area will find what they need quickly. They will also be more apt to interact or convert than they will if they have to sift through information they don't want or need.

I just published an article/lens in my niche this week. It had to do with a baby shower my sister and I threw for our other sister. But, instead of filling it chock full of ideas and possibly overwhelming a reader with unwanted information, I chose to focus or narrow it down to the baby shower food and buffet table we made for the party.

Remember, always tell people exactly what your article is about in the title and then deliver in the body of the article. Good luck and remember to contact me when you write in the party planning niche so I can help you promote and build a following!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 9, 2014

Writing for the Party Planning Niche

This week, I was asked the following question and I wanted to address it here on the Review This! blog. A visitor (lurker, really -- she reads a lot but is afraid to dive into the writing) asked me:

"How can you tell a story about party planning? You have a very hard task!"

Glad you asked! I'm gonna tell you.

The Basics of Storytelling

You can tell a story about almost anything. Stories are told day in and day out in print, online, videos, television and radio. Commercials are mini-stories -- or at least the good ones are. I apply the storytelling philosophy to everything write -- whether it's on Squidoo or on one of my websites.

People react well to stories. They look for parallels in our lives -- things they can relate to and then act or react accordingly.

So how does all this tie in with writing for a party planning niche? Easy. Tell the story.

Parties in Our Lives

Every single one of us has planned and/or hosted some sort of party(ies) in our lives. 1st birthday, a sweet 16, a weddding, a St. Patrick's Day party, an anniversary, a Super Bowl party...

Write about that particular party and your specific experiences.

For instance, last year, my niece turned 16. My sister asked me to help her plan the Sweet 16 party. I did, it was a blast and I wrote a lens about it -- Sweet 16 -- Let the Planning Begin.

It tells the story and gives examples (pictures) of ideas others can build on for their party planning needs. It also showcases some products I used during the planning. That's the key. Display products that you actually use(d) and tell people "How" you use them. Otherwise, your lens or article will sound like an ad copywriter spewing features of something they need to sell.

Yes, we sell. There is no shame in that. But, we sell what we use, have experience with and tell a story of what, where, why and how we used it. That's valuable to internet searchers. How do I know?

Because the Sweet 16 lens I just mentioned above --  on average, it stays in the high 2nd teir, makes sales and has been pinned 364 times from the Squidoo page (others repin the pin). I have had more than one person contact me (I do suggest you make sure your Squidoo contact button is turned on) asking specific questions and even sending me photos of their party my article inspired them to plan. That's a great feeling.

Start Writing About Your Parties

Think of the parties you have helped with or hosted. Did your neice just turn one? Did your sister have a baby shower? Are your parents celebrating a big anniversary? Did your brother have an engagement party? Did your son just graduate from high school? Are you hosting your annual St. Patrick's Day party?

All these life occasions usually involve celebrations of some sort. Let's hear about them, brag about what you did! It can help others that are looking for ideas and inspiration!

I came across a lens recently that does a great job of telling the story of planning her daughter's birthday party. It's titled Monster High Birthday Party Ideas written by BellaMommyDesigns. She wrote from her experience and shared photos, products and ideas to inspire others in their party planning.

So, as long as you attack the writing from the perspective of relaying personal experience or storytelling, anyone can write about planning parties! Come join me and let me help you promote your writing! Visit me at Party Planning Contributor at Hubpages. Can't wait to read what you write!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 2, 2014

How to Write for an Internet Audience -- Party Planning Niche

As the Party Planner Contributor on Review This, I have been spending some time on the topics that include parties -- checking out the articles, promoting them and seeing what areas/party topics are lacking in suggestions and advice.

Let me first say, there are a lot of awesome articles about parties. YAY! However, there are a few that niche that could use some help, as well.

This is what I want to talk about today -- giving people what they want and need in our writing. Being a successful and valuable addition to the internet.

Filling a Need with our Writing

You see, we (the Squidoo Community) know that internet searchers are real people looking for real solutions to real problems -- all sorts of problems. The bottom line is -- no matter the subject -- they value experience.

When you have done something and write about it on Squidoo, a blog or your website, you are sharing your experience, what you learned and how/if you would do it the next time. This is valuable information we can share with each other.

This, of course, includes party planning. When I search for ideas for parties online, I want to know specifics, read your real-life experience, the planning and the final outcome. I want to know what worked for you and decide for myself if it will work for me.

What I don't want to see is an article that isn't really an article but a glorified shopping list. Where's the value there? I can go straight to the party supply sites and order anything I might need.

When I started my internet search, what I wanted was some advice, suggestions and assistance. Sure, if you are thrilled with a product that really made your party perfect... I want to know. But, if all you are offering me is a bunch of links to other sites, then why should I visit your article, page, website or blog in the first place? Again, there is no value.

Value is Real and Tangible 

Think about it in this context... The advertising world uses actors to portray real people in real situations to sell their products. Why? Because society is programmed to believe that an announcer "telling" us why the product is great can be deceptive. But, if we see people using it, happy with it, showing us how to use it -- we are much more likely to believe we need or want it.

I guess what I am saying -- and I, personally, think -- is that regardless of the topic you want to write about or whatever your niche is -- Be Real! Share your experiences, what worked, what didn't, how to is a wonderful format to write an article or post. Additionally, if you use "How To" in the title, internet searchers can see, right away, that they need the information.

Bottom line: make it personal, share your experiences, successes and failures. You've already been in our shoes. We can learn from each other and all be better for it.

Writing for the Party Planning Topic/Niche

What does all this mean to anyone wanting to write for the party planning topic on Squidoo? It means tell us about a particular party or event you planned or were a part of. Show us pictures, share your decisions -- good and bad -- tell us the story of hosting or planning that party for that specific occasion.

Instead of writing an article titled: Dora the Explorer Party Goods

Write this: My daughter's Dora the Explorer Birthday Party

Instead of this: Planning a Wedding
Write this:  How I Planned my Entire Wedding Myself

Instead of this: Planning a 4th of July Party
Write this: Ideas from our Annual 4th of July Patriotic Party

You get the idea... By sharing from first hand experience you build credibility and authority with searchers and with search engines. We'll believe you and listen to your advice.

Now, head off to Squidoo and write a party planning article that will help others. If you are not sure where to start or need inspiration, try reviewing a product you have used from one of the following lists: Party Planning Books, 3 Tiered Stands and St. Patrick's Day Party Items. Or, strike out on your own. Either way, I can't wait to read it! Good luck!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 26, 2014

Let's Party! I'm the Party Planner Contributor on Review This

Hi there. Welcome to Review This! My name is Mandee and I am the Party Planner Contributor on Review This. I am tasked with recruiting more writers for the Party niche as well as getting our helpful articles out there to be found on the internet.

I currently also have a couple of websites in the party planning niche where I also write about all aspects of hosting parties. Anything from food/menu, decorations, themes, buffet table set up, gifts and more can be found on Squidoo as well as my sites.

I want to formally invite you to start writing with me! If you have ever held or helped with planning a party or any sort, you qualify. That means 99.9% of us are qualified. Sharing your ideas, suggestions and experiences with others from all over the globe via the internet will help us all when it comes to hosting our next party or event.

It's not hard, I promise. In fact, I think you'll have fun! You don't have to be a journalist, English major or have any other requirements. All you do need is to love helping others and sharing your experiences.

DebW07 did that here in her review of a party planning book: Top Tips for Planning a Memorable Party.

Parties Fill Our Lives 

All of our lives are filled with occasions that can be, and often are, celebrated with parties and get-togethers. Occasions like:

  • Baby Showers
  • Bridal Showers
  • Graduations
  • Holidays
  • Birthdays
  • Anniversaries
  • Promotions
  • Retirements
  • Engagements
  • Weddings
  • Reunions (family and school)
  • Proms & School Event
Choosing decorations, colors and themes as well as planning the menu, guest list and activities can be a daunting task. Some love it, some hate it but we all seem to do it at one point or another. That's how we can help each other -- by sharing.

Sharing what worked, what didn't -- menu ideas -- diy decorating ideas & projects -- best sources for invitations, decor, gifts -- and lots more -- will only help the next time we plan a party.

Start Writing and Helping Others

If you are interested in helping me out, join Squidoo. It's a FREE platform where you can write about your experiences and share your advice. You can even earn a little money by featuring products you used to make the party picture perfect! What are you waiting for?

If you are charged up and want to get started right away -- here are a couple of ideas for you. You can review a party planning book you own or have read from this list or, if you have a favorite 3 tiered serving stand you use at all parties, choose it from this list.

So, start going through those picture albums of cousin Cindy's wedding reception, your sorority sister's baby shower, and little Lucy's 1st birthday party. If you helped plan and execute those events, you can help others with your experiences.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.