Showing posts with label romantic movies. Show all posts
Showing posts with label romantic movies. Show all posts

Friday, July 31, 2020

When Calls the Heart - Hallmark TV Series Reviewed

When Calls the Heart
Many years ago, I read the "Canadian West" book series by Janette Oke.  A few years ago, I started watching the Hallmark channel series "When Calls the Heart" which is based on that book series and is titled after the first book in the series.  

A few weeks ago, I decided to start watching the TV series again from the beginning.  I do love the show!  With the promised release of season eight in 2021, I wanted to go back to the beginning before the new series actually airs.  Yes, I realize I have plenty of time before 2021, but I rarely spend a lot of time watching TV during the holidays and I expect it to take me a few months to watch all of the episodes again.

I would also like to read the book series again.  Janette Oke is one of my favorite authors.  Decades ago, her books were responsible for my discovery of romantic books with a religious theme, which is my preferred book genre.  Any time I see her name on a book, I know I am safe to read that book.  That is extremely important to me.  I don't like grotesque or explicit content in a book or in movies.  Having authors I know will protect my eyes and mind from uncomfortable subject matter makes my book and movie selections a whole lot easier.

This sweet series, that deals with real life issues, is an inspiration.  I really like all of the characters and actors past and present.  

There are extremely sad times in the show, but overall I am left with a feeling of happiness after watching an episode.  And, I am always eager to watch the next one. It is so nice to be able to watch them back to back, without delays or months between the seasons. I have been surprised to realize there were a few things I had forgotten and have enjoyed rediscovering them.


The Synopsis of the Hallmark Series, When Calls the Heart


 When Calls the Heart - Seasons 1-5
Ultimate Collector's Edition
Check Price
In search of a purposeful life, Elizabeth Thatcher (Erin Krakow) accepts a teaching position in Coal Valley in western Canada.  She immediately discovers that her wealthy family background has not prepared her for the frontier.  That is pretty obvious to everyone, but she is determined to survive, thrive, and succeed.  Fortunately for Elizabeth, she is befriended by a very respected and loved resident, Abigail Stanton (Lori Loughlin) who supports and encourages her in her new life.

Coal Valley has recently endured a horrific coal mine explosion that has made dozens of the women in town (including Abigail Stanton), widows and many of the school children fatherless.  Their church, which housed their school, was burned down.  The classroom has been moved into the saloon, the only local business with a large enough room.  The saloon also doubles as a hotel, which means the students are occasionally interrupted by guests coming in or out, even though the bar is closed during school hours.

Shortly after Elizabeth arrives in Coal Valley, a newly assigned Mountie arrives.  Constable Jack Thornton is not happy with his new assignment.  He was headed to the desired and prestigious assignment of Cape Fullerton when he was redirected and sent to Coal Valley instead.  As soon as Jack hears Elizabeth's last name, he realizes she is the reason he was reassigned and is immediately resentful.  She is clueless about why the new Mountie seems to be mad at her until he explains that clearly her father had him reassigned so he could watch over his "princess" daughter.  Elizabeth isn't happy about it either.  She wants to prove herself capable and independent. She doesn't want or need a Mountie "taking care" of her and she is quick to point that out to Constable Jack.  This is just the first of many conflicts and misunderstandings between Elizabeth and Jack.

Each episode is filled with frontier adventure, drama, life, love, & loss.  Elizabeth is the main character, but there are several other individuals whose stories and lives become very important to the viewer.  Be prepared, you may find yourself talking to the TV, laughing, crying, hissing or even booing some of the people and scenes in this fabulous Hallmark series which will leave you wanting more.  
 

One Extra Note: Be sure you have access to Season 6 before you watch Season 5. You won't wish the finale of Season 5 to be the last thing you see.






Currently, the "When Calls the Heart" seasons can be purchased on DVD linked above, but are also available on Amazon to pay per episode though Season 7.  


More Great News for "When Call the Heart" - Hallmark has announced there will be a Season 8!


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com
Or TV Series or Mini Series Reviewed Here



When Calls the Heart - Hallmark TV Series Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 15, 2020

A Summer Romance Hallmark Movie Reviewed

I can always depend on Hallmark to provide wholesome entertainment!

A Summer Romance
Hallmark movies have been called "cookie cutter", "unrealistic" and "predictable".  Okay, that may well be true, but who cares.  I love Hallmark movies!  

Hallmark movies are what I call easy watching, like easy listening music.  Not especially profound or deep, but they leave me feeling happy and relaxed.  For me, that is most important when watching movies.  I don't personally need depressing or upsetting, or even realistic all of the time.  But, I'll take "happy" anytime!

I happened upon "A Summer Romance" recently, starring Erin Krakow, who I think is adorable.  It did take me a few minutes to adjust to her character in this movie.  After all, I see her as Elizabeth in "When Calls the Heart" which is an awesome Hallmark series.  She also stars in a Christmas movie I previous reviewed, Finding Father Christmas.  She does an excellent job of acting in all of these movies and has quickly become my favorite Hallmark actress.  Krakow is not exclusively "Hallmark".  They just happen to be where I have seen her most often.

"A Summer Romance" is another sweet romantic movie that ends exactly the way we all hope it will.  Still, it's fun to watch, especially when they take a boy out of the city and introduce him to an unpretentious country girl.  



Plot of the Hallmark movie, A Summer Romance


 A Summer RomanceCheck PriceSamantha Walker is now the sole owner of the Montana ranch that has been in her family for generations.  Unfortunately, a large ranch is expensive to maintain.  Repairs have required Sam to take a bank loan, which she is several months behind on with payments.  That leaves her ranch vulnerable to vultures who desire to build a country club on her land.

Richard Belmont (Ryan Paevey) has already developed a plan to acquire a certain ranch in Bighorn, Montana.  He is certain he can persuade the owner to sell.  What he doesn't realize is that the owner has plans of her own to make her ranch profitable.  

Sam is weighing all of her options, which is why she agrees to meet Belmont and consider his offer.  But, the ranch has been in her family for generations and it is home.  When Richard arrives in Bighorn without reservations for a room, Sam ends up inviting him to stay in the guesthouse on the ranch.  

As Richard spends time with Sam and the residents of the ranch, they all actually become friends.  That is not the best alliance for the man, and the company, who plans to buy the ranch home out from under the owner, now friend.  

Richard only thinks he is completely in charge of the deal.  Sam only thinks she is making the decision.  And, yes, you will have to watch the movie if you want to see what happens.





Currently, "A Summer Romance" can be purchased on DVD linked above, but is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



A Summer Romance - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 20, 2019

A Gift Wrapped Christmas Movie Review

A Gift Wrapped Christmas Movie Review
Most people would say that a review of "A Gift Wrapped Christmas" could be summed up with one word.  I can hear the men in the house saying words like cheesy, sappy, predictable, mush, but the women would say, adorable, sweet, loving, and romantic.  While I doubt very many males would sit down and watch this movie, I do think women will enjoy it.  It provides a nice escape for 87 minutes.

Before I watched this movie, I was not familiar with any of the actors, but I thought I would give it a chance. I was seeking a Christmas movie that didn't require me to be heavily invested. Because I was physically tired and emotional exhausted, I simply wanted a reprieve from reality for just a bit.  That is exactly what I got with A Gift Wrapped Christmas!



A Gift Wrapped Christmas Movie Synopsis


 A GIFT WRAPPED CHRISTMASCheck PriceGwen is a personal shopper that has a unique talent.  She knows what style and colors would look best on her clients at first glance. Matching their personalities requires more individual interaction, but her vivacious personality endears her to them quickly.  

When she is assigned as Charlie Baker's personal shopper, he is not particularly happy with her clothing choices for him.  However, he learns to trust her opinions and gift selections for the people on his Christmas shopping list.  

Because Gwen researches the gift recipient, she is able to buy relevant gifts that are perfect for everyone.  When Charlie reaps the benefits from the gifts she has sent to others in his name, he begins to reconsider his initial opinion of Gwen and her advice. 

In addition to Gwen's ability to delight Charlie's associates with gifts, she also seems to have a knack for making his 8 year old son happy.  

Even though both Charlie and his son, Owen, enjoy having Gwen around, his girlfriend, Victoria, does not.  As a matter of fact, Victoria has her own plans for a special Christmas gift she expects Charlie to give to her.  She is happy to give Gwen a precise description of the engagement ring she should purchase for Charley to give to her.  However, Gwen is not too happy to take her instructions from Victoria.  

I'm sure you can imagine what happens next, but imagining is not as much fun as watching.  I recommend you find a hour this holiday season to gift yourself with the time to watch this delightful Christmas movie.  It will put a lovely smile back on your own face!  

A Gift Wrapped Christmas Movie Review



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



A Gift Wrapped Christmas Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 12, 2019

Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review

Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review
While searching for light entertainment last weekend, I came across the Hallmark Movie, Love's Complicated starring Holly Marie Combs and Ben Bass.  Within a few minutes of watching, I knew that I had found exactly what I had been seeking. 

Hallmark is always a reliable source for good movies that usually leave me feeling relaxed, and sometimes even revived after a long day of work and stress.  I know I never have to worry about nudity, excessive foul language, or extreme violence when I turn on the Hallmark channel.  

In a time when movies seem to compete to see which one can be the most extreme, I am most appreciative of a reliable source of mild, lighthearted entertainment that is never embarrassing to watch regardless of whether I am alone, in mixed company, or with my children and parents.  


Love's Complicated Movie Synopsis 


It is easy to like the mild mannered, considerate & compliant Leah in Love's Complicated.   She is the type of person we all enjoy being around.  She rarely, if ever, complains, she does not engage in debates or challenging opinions, she simply goes along happily with whatever others in her life dictate.  Leah doesn't really intend to be a doormat for others, she just doesn't like confrontation.

 Love's ComplicatedCheck PriceWhen her boyfriend of 2 years enrolls her in a conflict management class, she doesn't understand why she would need to be there, especially when she finds out he is not attending the group with her.  Of course, it makes her mad and confused, but she decides to comply with his wishes and attend the sessions.  However, in an unexpected turn of events, she comes face to face with the most annoying people she has ever met.  After all, it was Cinco Dublin who criticized her published book on his radio show, stating that "although well written, Ms. Townsend's safe, Leave it to Beaver take on her childhood, leaves me wanting nothing more from this author, ever."  It is clear from the beginning that Leah has built up resentment toward Cinco and the conflict management class gives her the perfect opportunity to unleash her pent-up emotions. 

The verbal exchanges between Leah and Cinco are revealing about both of their personalities and are often humorous.  They might not be funny to me if I was one of the participates in the conversations, but listening to them made me laugh several times.  

When Leah accepted an unwanted proposal of marriage from her boyfriend, just because she wanted to comply with his desires, and her parents wishes, she finally realizes that she must learn to confront real issues.  Otherwise, she will end up in an unhappy marriage and always letting someone else dictate her life.  At that point, the need for the conflict management classes becomes apparent to Leah.



Additional Thoughts About the Movie, Love's Complicated


While I very much enjoyed this movie and watching a romantic relationship develop, I found I was more intrigued by the concept that conflict management classes were also for people who needed to learn to express their anger, instead of keeping it inside.  I've always thought those classes were for people who lashed out uncontrollably or without an obvious reason.  Recognizing that some attendees might just need to learn how to express their feelings, was rather enlightening for me.



Currently, "Love's Complicated" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Romantic Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 1, 2019

Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin

Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin
With Valentine's Day just around the corner, it is befitting that we should review a movie entitled "Be My Valentine". 

Of course, this is a sappy romantic movie with the perfect ending.  After all, isn't a sweet love story exactly what we are all seeking for Valentines?  

So, why not go ahead and tell you now, this is it! 

William Baldwin might not be as well known his brother, Alec, but he is every bit as likeable.  Perhaps, even more so.  His role in this movie as a single father actually makes him very endearing.  We see his playful side as well as his sensitive side.  But, mostly we see a father who loves his son and is willing to help him in ways that might normally be considered a mother's job.

Oh, and one more important thing, the fact that it is a Hallmark channel movie ensures us that the movie is appropriate for any age to view.


Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie


 Be My Valentine on DVD,
Prime Video or Hallmark Channel
Check Price
Firefighter, Dan Farrell (William Baldwin), believes all of the embers of love were completely doused for him when his wife died.  But, fear not, he is good-natured and happy as a single father.  His daily focus is on his son and his job.  He is definitely not looking for romance when cupid smacks him upside his head.

Kate Burlington (Natalie Brown) plans to spend Valentine's Day with old movies and comfort food.  Still feeling the sting of a failed relationship, Kate isn't looking for anyone special.  She is not even interested in having a date for Valentines.  However, when a small fire breaks out in her flower shop, she comes face to face with someone very special indeed.  The mutual interest is immediately ignited between Dan and Kate.

As they spend time together, they find they have a lot in common.  Therefore, a friendship between them just seems natural.  It isn't until Kate's ex shows up that this new relationship is challenged to the extreme.  After all, Kate had wanted to marry Gavin and it was his lack of commitment that caused the breakup.  Now, Gavin is back and wants to get married.

Ok, so the movie is probably "cheesy" and a bit predictable, but it is also still adorable.  A sweet love story for Valentine's Day for sure!







"Be My Valentine" is available on DVD or Amazon Prime Video
Currently, "Be My Valentine" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  


https://amzn.to/2A2nyj4


  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 18, 2019

Sabrina (1995) Movie Review

Sabrina (1995) Movie Review
Sabrina is an older movie from the 50's that starred Audrey Hepburn and Humphrey Bogart that was remade in 1995.  The newer version starred Harrison Ford and Julia Ormond. Normally, I prefer the original, especially when actors like Bogart and Hepburn are in them.  However, with this particular movie, I actually prefer the '95 version.  Surprisingly, I felt Ford was more believable than Bogart in the part of Linus Larrabee. 

The plot of the two movies is similar, but has some major differences aside from the actors.  In the 50's version, distraught by David's lack of interest, Sabrina attempts suicide, but is discovered by Linus before the deed is done.  In the 90's version, Sabrina loves David, but does not even consider suicide and simply leaves for a fashion internship in Paris.  I prefer the stronger woman who doesn't define herself totally by a man's interest, or lack thereof. 

It is really hard to believe it has already been over 20 years since the Ford & Ormond version was released.  Whether you wish to go back 20 years, or 60 is up to you.  Either way, it is a great romantic movie!



Sabrina, the Movie


 Sabrina (1995)Check PriceThe Larrabees are an extremely wealthy family that consists of two sons and their widowed mother.  Linus is extremely serious and completely devoted to the success of the family business.  David is a playboy and is only interested in spending money and women.  They live in a huge house with pools, tennis courts and plenty of staff, including a chauffeur.

Sabrina Fairchild is the chauffeurs daughter who grew up "above the garage next door" to the Larrabee brothers.   Secretly, she had a huge crush on David, the younger brother all of her life.  Even as a young adult woman, Sabrina is still enamored with David in spite of his playboy, womanizing ways.  

The movie opens with Sabrina, a young woman, climbing a tree to watch David and his latest conquest from afar.  Of course, she wishes she was the one dancing and laughing with David.  He may know who she is, but he is not the least bit interested in Sabrina.

In an attempt to help Sabrina, her father sends her to Paris for a few years to study fashion, to mature and hopefully to get over David.  When Sabrina returns home with a totally new look, she is still smitten with David.  Because of her new haircut, contacts, stylish clothes, and make-up, David doesn't recognize Sabrina and is immediately interested.  He invites her to attend his mother's birthday party that night and she accepts.  Linus, on the other hand, knows Sabrina immediately and is not the least bit happy about his brother's interest in her.

David is engaged to the daughter of the owner of Tyson Electronics, which is currently considering a merger with the Larrabee company.  Linus is not about to let David mess up their business deal by betraying Elizabeth Tyson while playing around with Sabrina.  Linus intentional sets out to distract Sabrina and pursues her romantically himself.

No one expects the outcome of the games these two brothers are playing, especially Sabrina.  It is truly a very sweet love story.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Sabrina (1995) Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 11, 2019

Lucky 7 Hallmark Movie Reviewed

Lucky 7 Hallmark Movie Reviewed
If you are seeking a sweet, romantic movie to watch, you need look no further!

You can probably tell by looking at the actors photos that this is an older movie.  It was actually released in 2003.  However, unless you are familiar with the real ages of the cast, you would never guess that Lucky 7 is over 15 years old by watching it.  I didn't note anything else in the movie itself that would "date" it.  Perhaps, I was enjoying watching it too much to look closely. 

This is not your typical "girl has to choose between two boyfriends" movies.   The plot is more detailed than that.  In fact, one of these men only needs a pretend girlfriend for a weekend.  And, Amy is not quite ready for the other one to call her his "girlfriend", even though she hopes to marry him.


The Plot of Lucky 7


At the age of 7, Amy's (Kimberly Williams-Paisley) ill mom is spending the last days of her life on this earth with her husband and daughter.  During a mother-daughter chat, she gives her daughter an outline of what and when she should do things in her life.  She lists things like summer camp, high school, and the age she will be when she goes on her first date.  At that point, Amy asks if she will marry him and her mother says no and places a #1 by the word "boy".  The timeline continues through grad school and #7 boyfriend, the one that Amy will marry.
 
Lucky 7 Hallmark Movie Review
Amy lives her life by that timeline.  It is the thread that still binds her to her mother.  She has finished grad school and is working as a lawyer.  When she meets the man she believes is the one she should marry, she has to devise a way to postpone things somehow since he is only #6.  

Amy was recently invited to attend an out of town wedding with the man who serves her bagels every morning.  She decides that is her opportunity to sneak in a #6 boyfriend, therefore Daniel (Brad Rowe) will ultimately be her #7 boyfriend and she can marry him and remain true to the timeline.

Peter Connor (Patrick Dempsey) isn't looking for a girlfriend, but he wants his friends to stop worrying about him.  He believes if he takes a "girlfriend" to an upcoming wedding, they will think he has moved on with his life after being jilted.  Therefore, he needs someone to go to his friends' wedding with him and pretend to be his girlfriend.  He asks Amy, a nice customer in the bagel store, if she will go with him.  She commits to helping him find someone.  When she shows up the day before the wedding saying she will go with him, he is rather surprised, but happy to have a companion.

Things don't exactly turn out as planned.  I'm sure you will enjoy the movie as much as I did!


Ways You Can Watch Lucky 7 



Currently, "Lucky 7" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Romantic Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Lucky 7 - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 3, 2018

Love on the Air Hallmark Movie Review

Love on the Air Hallmark Movie Review
Good Morning Romantics!  

Imagine being live on the air with the person that annoys you most in life.  Broadcasting your arguments for the world to hear, while also giving relationship advice to listeners.  Well, that is exactly what happens to Sonia (Alison Sweeney) and Nick (Jonathan Scarfe) in the Hallmark movie, Love on the Air.

The only thing better than a sweet romantic movie, is one that also makes you smile.  Better yet, one that makes you laugh.  Yes, I found myself laughing a few times during this movie.  

I found out for myself, that it is the perfect movie for an afternoon or evening indoors.  After working in the yard for a few hours, I needed a break from the heat and a relaxing movie that wouldn't take a lot of mental investment to appreciate.  And, that is exactly what I got with the Hallmark movie, Love on the Air.   

A sweet, easy to watch romance.  



Hallmark Movie Love on the Air Plot


 Love on the Air Hallmark MovieA Hallmark Movie Subscription is Required to View This Movie On AmazonBoth Sonia and Nick are talk show hosts for their own individual shows, except at different radio stations.  Nick's Man Cave airs at night, but Nick wants to stop working at night.   Sonia already has a daytime slot, but it is broadcast by a smaller station.

Sonia's show is based on developing a relationship that allows a woman to follow her dreams and career.  She encourages women to not base their lives on love relationships.  Her theme phrase is "be an island".  She believes "getting married doesn't mean giving up your identity.  The question is not who's going to let you.  The question is who's not going to stop you."  In her personal life, Sonia has been in a long-term relationship with her fiance and they are planning their wedding.  Her segmented view of a romantic relationship seems to be working for her and Scott.

Nick's show gives advice to men about how to not be taken advantage of by an overbearing woman.  He gives dating advice like, not spending too much money on first dates, or not spending money on sending flowers.  Instead, he suggests cheap dates and flowers picked from a garden, preferably not from your own garden.  He states on the air that the word "girl-friend is a misnomer".  In his personal life, Nick doesn't pursue long-term relationships.  He appears to be content with being single.

When Sonia is asked to cover for another female on WCV radio station, she is thrilled.  Even though it is a nighttime show, it has a huge following.  It just so happens that Dr. Lynne's show airs right after Nick's Man Cave show.   During the Dr. Lynne show, Sonia's fiance dumps her (inadvertently) on the air.  She has no idea that her fiance was influenced by Nick's Man Cave advice that was on shortly before her program began, but she handles it with as much grace as she can muster.  Surprisingly, Sonia's rating soar as a result of that excruciating experience.

Nick and Sonia meet for the first time by accident at an afternoon movie matinee.  Not realizing who the other one is, they strike up a conversation and seem to like each other just fine.  Nick opts to sit behind Sonia during the movie and even shares his popcorn with her.  After the movie, they get into their first spat over who is going to pay for coffee.   Of course, Nick feels he must tell his audience all about it.  He didn't realize Sonia was in the station, able to respond to his story, until she interrupted his broadcast.  The fire between them as the argued shot their ratings through the ceiling and up to the sky.  And that is when the station decided they needed to co-host a morning show!

Once they had forged a sort-of friendship, Nick decides to help Sonia get Scott back.  Even more fun follows, which means you must see the show for yourself to find out what happens. 

Currently, Love on the Air is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love on the Air - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse

 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 20, 2018

The Reality of Love Movie Review

The Reality of Love Movie Review - I Want to Marry Ryan Banks
If you are seeking a really cute love story with a fairy-tale ending, then allow me to recommend The Reality of Love.  Not only is it a sweet love story, but it is a testament to true and devoted friendship.   

I'm not really a big fan of reality television shows, but I am a huge fan of the Hallmark channel movies.  Therefore, I found myself watching this movie a few days ago and I loved it.  If the real reality shows were more like this movie's reality show, then I would probably be more inclined to watch them.  One thing I suspect they both have in common is that the editors of the program cut, edit and alter the participants to appear the way they want them to in the show.  But, things aren't always as they seem on screen.


The Reality of Love Movie Synopsis


 When Todd (Bradley Cooper) and Ryan (Jason Priestley) graduate from college, they drive almost 3000 miles from Boston to Hollywood to celebrate.   While trying to impress a couple of girls in a bar, Ryan claims to be an actor.  He is immediately approached by a casting director who is looking for just the right guy for a movie.  She requests his manager's name and Ryan responds by introducing Todd as his manager.  

The movie fast forwards to 10 years later when Ryan has become a huge success and Todd has in fact worked as his manager.   However, Ryan's last film was a failure and his career is sinking fast.  Todd comes up with the idea of featuring Ryan on a reality television show named "I Want to Marry Ryan Banks" and letting America pick a wife for Ryan.  

The applicants flood in for the show.  It seems everyone wants to marry Ryan Banks.  Todd and Ryan pick 30 girls from the submitted videos which will be interviewed in person and 15 will be selected for the show.  

From the very beginning, Charley (Emma Caulfield Ford) is America's top choice to be Ryan's wife.  Because Ryan wants to maintain his popularity with the public, he is willing to romance and select Charley as his bride.  However, there is just one big problem.  His best friend and manager, Todd, has fallen head over heels in love with Charley during the filming and production of the show. 

One friend has to make a sacrifice that will affect the rest of his life for his best friend. 




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 13, 2018

Navigating The Heart Movie Review

Navigating the Heart Movie Review
The movie Navigating The Heart starring Jaclyn Smith and Tim Matheson was actually released in 2000.  However, I only discovered it this week.   I love it when I find two of my favorite actors in a old movie that I have never seen before.  I know I am guaranteed a wonderful movie experience.  I was certainly not disappointed with this one. 

Navigating The Heart is a great romantic movie where two people from completely different backgrounds fall in love.  What makes this movie even better is that it is based on a true story.   The book entitled "Fishing with John" was written by Edith Iglauer, the main female character in the story.  She tells the story of their love and sadly brief life together in this bestselling memoir.   The movie only captures the story of how they met and fell in love.  For the details of their subsequent life on the boat, you would need to read the book.

To be completely honest, if it were not based on a true story I would have a hard time believing a beautiful, sophisticated city woman would fall in love with a small town fisherman.  Normally, we would have to suspend reality to embrace this story, but not with Edith Iglauer (Jaclyn Smith) and John Daly (Tim Matheson).


Navigating The Heart Synopsis

Navigating the Heart Movie Review
Edith Iglauer  is a somewhat arrogant, although justifiably so, writer for Manhattan magazine, which has just been taken over by a new owner with very different ideas about how a magazine should run.  Previously the "literary journalists" were allowed to choose their own article subjects.  Now, they will be assigned.  

This decision to assign subjects and articles burns right to the core of Edith's literary heart.  She is not happy about the idea and doesn't hesitate to express her opinion.  She feels her 15 years of dedication, as well as her contribution to the popularity of Manhattan magazine, should be rewarded and praised.  It is beneath her to be treated like an upstart that needs to be spoon-fed or assigned specific boring subjects to cover.  
 
Her first assignment is to write a piece about the excessive price of salmon.  Needless to say, Edith is outraged at the idea.  After all, her expertise is in covering politics.  Interestingly enough, when she investigates the industry for her assignment, she does find a huge political influence.  But she doesn't know that will be the case as she reluctantly heads to British Columbia, Canada to get background for her article.

I had to laugh out loud when Edith arrived at the fishing pier dressed for the office, wearing toeless heels and pulling her luggage on wheels.  It really is the perfect illustration of how out of place she was in a fishing town.

Navigating the Heart Movie Review
After learning that John Daly is the best source of information for her article, Edith asks a local female fisherman to take her out to John's boat.  He is no happier to see her there than she was to have been assigned the article.  However, after some persuasion, he allows her onto his boat and proceeds with the business of catching, cleaning and icing fish.  Needless to say, Edith is sickened by what she sees and smells.  Again, I had to laugh when she quoted Mark Twain, "fishing is a jerk at one end of the line waiting for a jerk at the other end".

Determined to write a story and not be beaten by this assignment, Edith ends up back on a John Daly's boat in spite of how much she really dislikes him.  At constant odds with each other, while exchanging hateful barbs, Edith makes bad matters worse by accidentally starting a fire on the stove.  Later that night, in the midst of a storm, they hit a log and the boat starts taking on water.  Declaring "mayday" and requesting assistance, John does his best to seal of up holes, and then they wait.  Ironically, it is during that time of waiting for help, possibly facing death, that they talk and a friendship is forged. 

Edith does write her story, but her whole life is changed after visiting BC, Canada, where she finds so much more than just content for a story.


Watch Navigating the Heart or Read the Book







House of Sylvestermouse




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X