Showing posts with label fantasy movie. Show all posts
Showing posts with label fantasy movie. Show all posts

Friday, November 23, 2018

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Reviewed

Fantastic Beasts The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Poster
Newt Scamander and his Fantastic Beasts return to discern and defend what is right in the magical realm of Harry Potter.  Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald, just like Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, takes us back in time to 1927, decades before Harry Potter is born.  It gives more details about the past than we were ever given in the Harry Potter books or movies. 

For Harry Potter fans, you will be very pleased to see the background relationship and understand the bond between Grindelwald and Dumbledore.  For Fantastic Beasts fans, you will be trilled to see some of your favorite beasts again, as well as meet a few new beasts.  

Our entire group was immediately enchanted by the baby Nifflers at the beginning of the movie.  

Speaking of enchantments, as you would expect, this fantasy movie is filled with magic, spells, and special powers.  We even get to see Newt ride some of the Fantastic Beasts, which was truly fantastic!

Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Released In Theaters on Nov. 16, 2018


The Plot of Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald 


 FANTASTIC BEASTS: CRIMES OF GRINDELWALD (2018) Original Authentic Movie Poster 11x17 - Single - Sided - Eddie Redmayne - Johnny Depp - Ezra Miller - Kathrine WaterstonCheck PriceGellert Grindelwald (Johnny Depp), who has been imprisoned by the Magical Congress of the United States of America, is being released into the custody of representatives from the London office.  However, on their return to London, Grindelwald escapes with help from one of his followers.

Grindelwald has a cult-like following that desires to maintain the pure blood line of wizardry, as well as declare their supremacy to muggles (non-wizards).  According to Dumbledore, Grindelwald  has "a vision that he would rise to dominance over the Wizarding world".  

Because of a childhood pact, the beloved Hogwart professor, Albus Dumbledore (Jude Law), cannot move against Grindelwald, so he meets with Newt Scamander to ask him if he will take on the task.  But, Newt prefers to remain neutral.  He does not want to pick a side, even though his own brother, Theseus, works for the Ministry of Magic. 

Regardless of his wish to remain neutral, Newt is once again pulled into the feud between the Ministry of Magic and Grindelwald.  There are some interesting plot twists and family ties that keep you spellbound right up to the end.



My Recommendations and Personal Opinion


Before you see the movie, be prepared and committed to paying close attention.  Distractions could cause you to miss some very important insights, comments or even characters.  For instance, Harry Potter fans will be especially interested in the character, Nagini.  

I thoroughly enjoyed the movie and highly recommend it to Harry Potter and Fantastic Beasts fans.  Most likely, you will come away from the theater with a greater appreciation for Newt Scamander.
 




Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Movie ReviewIf you haven't already seen Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, you can read that review and rent the DVD by clicking here.
Unlike the Harry Potter movies, "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" is not based on a published book. It is a screenplay based on a text book that was written by a fictional character in the Harry Potter books.







Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Fantastic Beasts: The Crimes of Grindelwald Movie Reviewed Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, May 25, 2018

Wonder Woman (2017) Movie Review

Wonder Woman Movie Review
The new movie, Wonder Woman (2017), took me by surprise.  I didn't expect to like it.  As a matter of fact, ever since I saw the first preview for it in the theater, I have made comments about how no one could ever be Wonder Woman after Lynda Carter.  However, when my son gave me the DVD for Mother's Day, of course I immediately popped it into the DVD player for us to watch together.  I now freely admit, Gal Gadot is fabulous as Wonder Woman and I loved the movie.

I was a teenager during the Wonder Woman television series back in the seventies and I can easily remember how much the guys in school "admired" Lynda Carter.  Admittedly, her costume was too racy for me to want to wear, but everyone thought she was perfect.  In today's world, that Wonder Woman costume seems rather mild by comparison to many of the others that are made for women.

Speaking of the costume, the new costume design for Wonder Woman is pretty awesome.  It seems more appropriate for an Amazon warrior.  While it still has the corset bodice, it is designed to resemble armor.  The gladiator paneled skirt is definitely an improvement.  In my opinion, this costume does give Wonder Woman more credibility as a fighter instead of just a visual feast for men.


Wonder Woman Movie (2017)


 Wonder Woman (2017) -
Available on DVD, Blu-ray, Amazon Video, & More
Check Price
I loved the way this movie gave us the entire backstory on Diana, Wonder Woman.  If I ever knew it, I certainly didn't remember it.  That alone made the new movie worth watching.  I also appreciated the historical setting.  From the very beginning, we are able to identify the time period simply by the German insignia on the uniforms.  The soldiers wore the iron cross (WWI) instead of the swastika of the Nazi party (WWII). 

After a few "current day" introduction scenes, we are transported back in time and to the island of Themyscira, homeland of the Amazon.  Diana's mother is the queen of the Amazons and she desires to keep Diana safe.  Defying Queen Hippolyta's orders, the queen's sister, Antiope, starts training Diana as a warrior.  Both women know Diana's true identity and purpose, but the queen wishes to protect her as long as possible.  Antiope wishes to prepare her for the inevitable.  When Hippolyta discovers Antiope is training Diana, she is furious, but after reasoning with her, Antiope convinces her that Diana needs to be trained for war.

When an airplane breaks through the barrier that separates our world from the island of Themyscira, Diana dives into the water to investigate.  She subsequently saves the pilot's life and brings him to shore.  Unfortunately, Steve Treyor's plane is followed by a warship and the first battle of the movie begins between the Germans and the Amazons.  Once the Germans are defeated, the women interrogate Steve.  By using the lasso of truth, they are able to quickly get information about "the war that will end all war".  Recognizing that humanity needs her help, Diana volunteers to take Steve back and aid in the war against Ares, the god of war.  Together, Diana and Steve travel back through the separating barrier and to London.  "Wonder Woman" is determined to fight against darkness and evil, but Diana finds that isn't as easy to identify as she expected.





My Recommendation  - Wonder Woman (2017)


Wonder Woman (2017) is truly a wonderful movie.  I encourage everyone to set aside any preconceived notions about Wonder Woman and watch the new movie.  I think you too will be pleasantly surprised. 



 

 

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

The Age Of Adaline Movie Review

The fantasy romance movie, The Age Of Adaline, grabbed my attention from the first frame and didn't let go. Here's my movie review.
Like the fantasy romance movie genre? I didn't know that I did until I recently watched The Age Of Adaline. And then I watched it again. I was mesmerized by the characters and totally spellbound by the story. The movie grabbed my attention from the first frame and didn't let go. But that's what a fantasy movie, or any good movie, should do, right?

The Story


The movie tells the story of Adaline Bowman (played by actress Blake Lively), born in 1908, who at the age of 29 suffers an accident that renders her "immune to the ravaging of time. She will never age another day." While the thought of never growing older may be appealing, the realities of the situation create circumstances that require Adaline to make major adjustments in her life as the decades pass.

Keeping her secret isn't easy. During her lifetime, Adaline must pass up many close relationships, including the opportunity for true love.

The most important relationship of her life, though, is with her daughter, Flemming (played by Ellen Burstyn). I loved the interaction between the two where the younger actress took on the mothering role to the older actress. The relationship was absolutely convincing and very touching.

Without giving away too much of the story (the trailer gives away much more), I'll just say that during the course of this amazing movie lightning strikes and love prevails.




Who Should Watch This Movie?


If you like romance movies, choose The Age Of Adaline. I wouldn't call it a chick flick, though. In fact, while my husband didn't start out watching with me, he was drawn in by the drama (and Harrison Ford's voice) and enjoyed what he saw.

If you like good drama, a fascinating story, and beautiful actors who bring complex characters to life, give this movie a try. If you're not sure about the fantasy element, give it a chance anyway. Like me, you might be surprised.

The Age Of Adaline is rated PG-13. Nearly 25,000 Amazon reviewers rate the movie 4.4 out of 5 stars. It gets five from me.

Buy or watch the movie here (currently included with Amazon Prime):



~Susan

Check Out More Movie Reviews at




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, April 14, 2017

Somewhere in Time Movie Review

Somewhere in Time Movie Review
Somewhere is Time is one of my all time favorite romantic movies.  It is hard to believe, but it was released over 35 years ago.  To this day, I can hear Elise (Jane Seymour) calling out through time to "Richard" in my mind.  The agony and desperation in her voice is heart-wrenching. 

Scenes from this movie were long ago impressed on my mind and they haunt me to this day.  The exquisite and beautiful Jane Seymour reaching out in time to the young and handsome Christopher Reeve is an unforgettable image of timeless love.

In case you haven't already seen the movie, allow me to introduce you.  If you have seen it, I recommend watching it again.  The beauty of a romance that erases the walls of time is just as poignant and gripping today as it was 37 years ago.  Perhaps even more so.

The exquisite and beautiful Jane Seymour reaching out in time to the young and handsome Christoper Reeve is an unforgettable image of timeless love.

Synopsis of the Movie Somewhere in Time

The opening scenes of the movie take place at an after play party on May 19, 1972.  Richard Collier, a young play-writer, is celebrating the success of his play with friends when an elderly woman approaches him.  She gently places a beautiful pocket watch in his hand and softly says "come back to me".  Then she turns and leaves the building.  Since Richard has never seen her before, he is somewhat mystified by her gift and words.  

 Somewhere in Time (Collector's Edition)Eight years later, Richard is a writing a new play, or at least trying to write one.  It is not coming together easily for him.  Even listening to his favorite soothing music, Sergei Rachmaninoff's "Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini", is not helping.  Out of sheer frustration he decides to take a trip, to get away from the monotony of the routine of his life in Chicago.  He simply starts driving with no apparent destination when he spots the Grand Hotel in Mackinac Island, Michigan.   For some inexplicable reason, he is drawn to the hotel and signs in to stay one night.  The elderly bellboy, Arthur, thinks he recognizes Richard, but a lot of people have come to the Grand Hotel since 1910 when he first arrived there with his father.

When Richard goes to dinner, there is a 40 min wait, so he starts exploring.  He discovers a picture of Elise McKenna in the hotel's Hall of History and is captivated by her beauty.  He wants to know more about her.  He goes to the local library to research Elise McKenna and found she was a great box office draw in the early 1900's.  She was born nearly 100 years earlier in 1885.  When he finds a photo of her in her later years, he realizes she is the woman who gave him the watch at the party back in 1972.  Now, he must know more!

He located the home of the biography writer to get more information on Elise.  The writer had a collection of McKenna's personal items, including a dress from her last play and a book she was particularly fond of on time travel.  He found out that Elise had died the same night she had given him the watch.  

Somewhere In Time (1998 Re-recording) <br> You can hear the beautiful redition of Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini , along with John Barry's score hereSomewhere In Time (1998 Re-recording)
You can hear the beautiful redition of Rachmaninoff's Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini , along with John Barry's score here. Purchase if desired.
As he continues to explore Elise's belongings, he is drawn to a music box designed as a replica of the Grand Hotel.  When he opens the lid, he is surprised and further intrigued to hear it plays "Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini".

Later, when he is back at the hotel, he searches for the hotel registers from 1912 and finds his signature in the register confirming what he already suspected.  He was a guest at the Grand Hotel in 1912.

He immediately went into action.  He bought a suit from around 1912, cut his hair to match the style of the early 1900's, purchased 1912 money, and returned to the Grand Hotel.  He removed everything that was current day from his sight and made a recording to help "hypnotize" himself to travel back to June 29, 1912.  He laid on the bed, played the tape and started the process of traveling back in time.  Back to 1912.  

Back to the Grand Hotel of 1912  where she preformed, and back to her.

The exquisite and beautiful Jane Seymour reaching out in time to the young and handsome Christoper Reeve is an unforgettable image of timeless love.


He closed his eyes and woke up in the past, 1912, but in the wrong hotel room.  As soon as he escaped that room, he went in search of Elise.  He found her walking by the lake and approached her.
Her first words to him were "is it you?"  He answered, "yes".


The exquisite and beautiful Jane Seymour reaching out in time to the young and handsome Christoper Reeve is an unforgettable image of timeless love.
   
One of my personal favorite scenes in the movie is when Elise is having her photo taken after her final performance at the Grand Hotel.  Richard enters the room and right as she looks at him, the photographer captures that expression of love on her face.  That photo is the picture that is hanging in the Grand Hotel's Hall of History. 

The exquisite and beautiful Jane Seymour reaching out in time to the young and handsome Christoper Reeve is an unforgettable image of timeless love.



Somewhere in Time Movie Trailer



Add Somewhere In Time to Your Romantic Movie Collection Today!

Learn more about the man and his journey back to love!





Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, November 25, 2016

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Movie Review

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Movie Review
Whether you are a Harry Potter fan or not, most of us can easily enjoy the movie "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them".  As a animal enthusiast, I was instantly enchanted by the Fantastic Beasts!  I wanted a pair of each one and I suspect everyone in the theater felt exactly the same way.

If you are a Harry Potter fan, you will already be familiar with terms like "muggle" and "Magizoology".   But, even if you have never been exposed to Harry Potter, you would quickly figure out their definitions.  I know this with certainty because a member of our group had never seen a Harry Potter movie, nor had he ever read any of the books.  I asked him if that was a problem for him and he said, "Not at all!  You don't have to be familiar with Harry Potter to recognize the face of evil".  He went on to say, "this movie can stand on it own merit."  That is actually very important to note.  The movie can and does appeal to even non 'Harry Potter' fans.   


The movie really gets started with a platypus or echidna looking creature called a Niffler that fancies sparkly things.  An adorable little thief if ever I saw one.
  
A note of interest for animal lovers:  The platypus and the echidna are both members of the same mammal subclass called monotremes.

*Please read my caution for children

"Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" Movie Plot


 Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find ThemUnlike the Harry Potter movies, "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" is not based on a published book.  It is a screenplay based on a text book that was written by a fictional character in the Harry Potter books.  In the Harry Potter books, the Magizoologist (magical beast zoologist), Newt Scamander, is the expert on magical beasts and the writer of the textbook "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them".  The textbook, Newt Scamander, magizoologist, and the Fantastic beasts are all imaginary creations straight from the mind of J. K. Rowling, the very real author of the Harry Potter books.  She simply wrote the screenplay to expand on a character, Newt Scamander, that was not fully developed in the Harry Potter books.   

In the movie, Newt Scamander, the author of the book, "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them", arrives in New York with only a small suitcase in hand.  That suitcase is actually a portal into his world of Fantastic Beasts.  It is also the creatures way into the human world.

When the Niffler escapes the suitcase, the excitement begins as Newt tries to track the little bandit.  His path crosses with Jacob Kowalski who happens to be carrying an identical suitcase.  The suitcases are accidentally swapped and Jacob gets the surprise of his life when he gets back home and opens the one he has.  Several fantastic beasts escape into the city.  

As you would expect, Newt has also discovered the mix-up.  However, Newt himself has attracted the attention of an Auror, a police officer of the wizard world, and she is tracking him because he is an unregistered wizard in the city.  The Auror, Tina, and Newt end up searching for Jacob and the lost animals together.  When they find him, they discover that he has been bitten by one of the Fabulous Beast.  Because they need to keep the muggle, Jacob, under observation to know if he will have a reaction, the 3 end up going to Tina's apartment for the night.  It is there that the guys meet Tina's sister, Queenie.

After they have retired for the night, Newt takes Jacob into the world of Fabulous Beasts via the suitcase portal.  It is here that we, the audience, also meet these magnificent magical creatures.

Even though Newt and his Fabulous Beasts are not responsible for the evil in the city, they are brought into the battle between the dark wizard, Gellert Grindelwald, and the Magical Congress of the United States of America when Newt is falsely accused of being Grindelwald's ally.


Aside from telling you a few of my favorite things about the movie, this is where I am going to stop because I really don't want to spoil anything for anyone.

My favorite Fantastic Beast is actually the Thunderbird.  Such a magnificent, powerful yet gentle, bird. As the name implies, this Fantastic Beast is a catalyst of thunder, lightning and rain. He also warns of impending immanent danger. I do so love a creature that warns us to get prepared.

My favorite movie quote from Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them is "worrying only makes you suffer twice."

My favorite character was a real surprise to me!  When I heard that Johnny Depp was in the movie, I expected it to be his character.  However, as I left the theater, I realized that my favorite character was actually Jacob.  Funny!  It was a movie full of wizards, yet it was the muggle that I admired the most.

One interesting note, Jacob is a baker.  Once you have seen the movie, you will want to look at these Fantastic Beast Biscuits!  Years before the movie, Elynmac shared these Dragon Biscuits with the online world.

Elynmac's Dragon Bisquits
Elynmac's Dragon Biscuits - Simply Click Here to See Her Featured Biscuits

 

Is "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" for Children?


I have no doubt this is a question that will be debated for many years to come.  However, I am going to step out with a personal opinion.  I do not think the movie "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them" is a movie that would be appropriate for any child under 12.  

I don't offer that opinion lightly.  I think all children of any age would love the beasts and be fascinated by the fantastical animals.  My concern would not be with the animals, but with the violence in the movie.  There are several murders in this movie and they are somewhat jarring and unexpected.  

If I err, I would err to the side of caution, especially with the minds of precious children.  They will see enough violence in their lifetimes without having to endure it in the form of entertainment at an early age.



When you see the movie, do come back and tell me your favorites!  I would love to hear them.


Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, May 13, 2016

Review of "The Huntsman: Winter's War" A Captivating Movie

http://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/2016/05/the-huntsman-winter-war-movie-review.html
In 2012, the movie "Snow White and the Huntsman" was released in theaters.  It seized the childhood fairy tale and brought it to an adult audience.   That movie focused on the evil queen, Ravenna, sending the huntsman to kill Snow White after the infamous mirror on the wall informed her there was "another destined to surpass" her beauty.

"The Huntsman: Winter's War" gives the background story of the huntsman in the fairytale.  He was raised to be a warrior in the kingdom ruled by the Ice Queen, Freya, who was Ravenna's sister. 

The movie started a little slow.  Plus, after 4 years, I found myself struggling to remember if we had ever been introduced to Freya before.  However, I did finally settle into watching the drama of the Ice Queen unfold before me and frankly didn't care whether we knew the queen from Snow White had a sister.  Once I was able to set that aside, I very much enjoyed the movie.

 

About The Huntsman: Winter's War 

Freya, the Ice Queen


http://amzn.to/278v5UL
Unlike her selfish sister, Ravenna, who had schemed and murdered in order to become queen and to take control of a kingdom, Freya was a sweet girl content with a more common life that included love and a family.  It is well known that Ravenna, the queen, is a sorceress.  We learn in this movie that her powers are not even conquered by death. 

Ravenna had often admonished Freya that she should seek her own supernatural powers, embrace them and become powerful like herself.  When Ravenna discovered she had a new rival, her diabolical actions cost Freya everything that was ever important to her, including the life of her only child.   Once Freya's daughter was murdered, she turns ice cold toward everything and everyone.   She is immediately overcome by anger and hatred.   Her entire body becomes a vessel for evil and wickedness.  She finds her supernatural power in being able to literally freeze anyone and watch their bodies shattered as broken ice.  This ability reflects her frozen heart and she feels nothing but disdain for anyone who loves.  She sees it as a great weakness that should be eliminated.  

Freya leaves her sister's kingdom to establish her own domain.  



 

The Huntsman:  Eric (Chris Hemsworth)

 

Chris Hemsworth
Freya conquers region after region in order to build a massive kingdom.  She spares the lives of the children and brings them to her castle to train them as warriors.  She also strives to eradicate love from their lives.

As you may have guessed by now, Eric is one of the children she "captures" to train as a warrior.  He and Sara, another child captured in the same raid, excelled as warriors.  They also fall in love with each other, a sin punishable by death in the Ice Queen's kingdom.

The Ice Queen forms an ice wall between the couple as their comrades carry out orders to attack and kill each of them.  After watching Sara's murder through the ice, Eric is rendered unconscious and thrown into a river by his "adopted" brother.  He survives, but ends up in the land of Snow White mourning the death of his beloved wife. 


My Opinion and Recommendation of The Huntsman:  Winter's War


 The Huntsman: Winter's WarTo be blunt, I liked this movie a lot better than it predecessor, "Snow White and the Huntsman".   

It is easy to accept Charlize Theron as the gorgeous queen whose beauty cannot be surpassed.  As always, her performance was exceptional!  How someone can be so beautiful, and yet be the face of evil at the same time, is quite fascinating.

Emily Blunt was Freya and did an outstanding job of playing the part of a fractured soul struggling to survive an unimaginable experience.   Her facial expressions throughout her reign as the Ice Queen revealed just enough to make you wonder if she struggled with her determination to extinguish any semblance of love. 

These two woman on the screen together are quite impressive.  They are both beautiful woman with regal carriage.  Their acting is superb, and their costumes in this movie are exquisite.  

To the naysayers of this movie who bemoan the fact that Kristen Stewart (Snow White) was not in this movie, I have to say I disagree.  She was not needed, nor was she missed.

As far as the huntsman and the love story in this movie, Eric and Sara were easy to like.  Their relationship and the evolution of romance shows that regardless of laws and hardships, people still care for each other.  The human desire for love and natural response to love cannot be exterminated.  

I also really liked the ending of the movie, but you will have to go see it yourself to know what happens.  Actually, you should go see it for yourself!  Don't let the negative press and reviews that are just plain wrong keep you from going to this movie.



The Huntsman: Winter's War Movie Review & Recommendation Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, April 22, 2016

The Jungle Book (2016 film) - Movie Review

By Disney [CC BY-SA 4.0
(http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0)],
via Wikimedia Commons

The newly released movie, The Jungle Book, is the best new movie of 2016!


The combination of a fabulous book, excellent actors, and spectacular animation techniques makes The Jungle Book one of the best movies ever released.  

I sat in amazement as I watched the new movie version of The Jungle Book unfold on the big theater screen.  The characters were so realistic it was seriously hard to believe that they were not real live animals.  

I have read the book by Rudyard Kipling several times, I've seen the original Disney The Jungle Book many times, but the new Jungle Book movie starring Bill Murray as Baloo literally breathed new life into the old beloved story.


Bill Murray as Baloo


By Paul Sherwood from Welland & Toronto, Canada
(Bill Murray  Uploaded by Diaa_abdelmoneim)
[CC BY 2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)],
via Wikimedia Commons
For as long as I can remember, Baloo has been one of my all time favorite animal characters.  His cheerful personality in the original Disney movie always made me want to dance and sing right along with him.

I didn't initially want to see the new Jungle Book movie because I didn't want my mental image of the beloved bear to be ruined.   Once I found out Bill Murray was Baloo, I decided it might be okay.  It was better than okay!

Bill Murray is Baloo!   There could be no better choice to play that part.  Since Bill Murray has always been part comedian and part serious actor, he was perfect for the part!!!  Baloo the Bear is fun-loving, easy going and yet very powerful in the jungle.  All of those descriptions apply as well to Bill Murray.



Oh, and yes!  He does sing "The Bare Necessities" with Mowgli.  They were so precious together.  


Christoper Walken as King Louie


John Harrison [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)
or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)],
via Wikimedia Commons
King Louie was always my least favorite character in The Jungle Book.  Much to my surprise, that is no longer true.  This is The Jungle Book character that has forever changed for me, and it is a great change.

Christoper Walken, as King Louie, was magnificent!  The man actually made me like the orangutan.  So much of Christoper Walken's personality showed though that the orangutan made me laugh.   

The really crazy thing, there was a part of me that wanted Mowgli to give this King Louie the desired red flower (fire). 





Exceptional Animation in Jungle Book 2016


I've seen a lot of animated movies in my lifetime, but the new Jungle Book animation is truly beyond spectacular.  You can see the real human actors in the facial features of the animals.  Their voices were not simply dubbed in.  When I looked at the face of Baloo, I could see Bill Murray's expressions.  The same thing was true for King Louie.  Those eyes are so very recognizable especially when the voice matches.  

Each of the animals were exceptional!  I dearly loved Mowgli's wolf mother, Raksha in the new movie.  She is gorgeous, expressive and very believable.  Prior to seeing this new adaptation of The Jungle Book, I would not have even remembered her name.  Now, her image and her protective strength will come to mind when I define motherhood.  

It is truly hard to believe that this movie, this story that I was previously so familiar with, had such a powerful impact of me.  I largely attribute that affect to the realistic animals and their interaction with what appears to be a real human boy.


You can see for yourself in the photos above how very realistic the animals look and how beautiful they each are.   The little wolf cub sitting next to Mowgli is his little wolf brother, Grey.  The stunning beauty in the lower right photo is Mowgli's wolf mother, Raksha.


The Two Big Cats in the The Jungle Book


Shere Khan, the tiger, is so gorgeous that at first he is really hard to dislike.  Just in case you are not familiar with the story, Shere Khan desires to take revenge on Mowgli for the injuries he suffered when he killed Mowgli's human father.   His hatred of the man-cub is palpable and sadly diminishes his outward beauty.

I saved one of the best til last.  As the story goes, after Shere Khan kills Mowgli's father, Bagheera finds him and gives him to the wolves to raise because of their strong, protective family pack.   Bagheera, who is so profoundly well played by Ben Kingsley, is beautiful inside and out.  I have always thought black panthers were pretty, but Bagheera's beauty goes beyond the fur.  He is wise, protective, intelligent, loyal and above all else, good.


More Notable Actors in The Jungle Book 2016 

Simply stated, all of the actors are exceptional and deserve a standing ovation for their performance.  

Here are a list of the main actors in Jungle Book  (2016) 

All of these actors, and more, worked together to make The Jungle Book film of 2016 the best movie of the decade!  You will not want to miss it.  While quite suitable for kids, this movie is not just for children.
 

The Jungle Book (2016) Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, January 8, 2016

Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Review

Expect the Unexpected!


http://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/
We recently went to see "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" and I was actually very surprised by how much I enjoyed the movie.  You see, I am a huge Star Wars fan.  The very first "Star Wars" movie came out when I was a teenager so you could say that I have grown up with "Star Wars".   Almost 40 years of Star Wars influence and I was not ready to let go of the original characters and embrace a new generation.

Daily, I am surrounded by Star Wars characters.  Yoda sits at my kitchen sink overseeing all my activities.  Darth Vader hovers by my the coffee pot and frequently speaks to me. Well when I push his little button, he speaks to me.  I also own a Ewok plush.  And to this day, Jabba the Hut totally grosses me out.  Oh, yes!  I even have Star Wars Christmas decorations.  Wanna see Yoda in a Santa suit?  Just come to my home next Christmas.



Star Wars: The Force Awakens - My Biggest Surprise

 Star Wars: The Force Awakens Deluxe Figure Play SetBased on the trailers I had seen, It appeared that the new Disney made Star Wars movie was moving beyond my favorite things and characters.  I didn't think I could stand watching that happen.  When my son wanted me to go see the movie with him,  I decided spending time with him was more important than hanging on to the past.  However, I was in for a huge surprise!

Harrison Ford (Han Solo), Mark Hamill (Luke Skywalker), Carrie Fisher (Princess Leia) were back and even Peter Mayhew returned to play everyone's favorite Wookiee, Chewbacca.  I do want to make one note here.  There were actually two actors who played the part of Chewbacca in "Star Wars: The Force Awakens".  Joonas Suotamo stepped in to cover the action scenes for Peter Mayhew. 

In addition to these fabulous actors who made the characters come to life in the original "Star Wars" movie nearly 40 years ago, "The Force Awakens" also included C-3PO and R2-D2. 

Plus, the Millennium Falcon is back!

I missed Yoda, but otherwise it seemed like a wonderful reunion until the unthinkable happened.





Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Review for Original Star Wars Fans


If you are an old Star Wars fan, by now you already know that this movie takes place decades after the original confrontation with Darth Vader, but there is a new Dark Side, just as there is a new generation that is strong with the "Force" fighting for the Republic. 

Sadly, just as Darth Vader was Leia and Luke's father, Kylo Ren is Leia and Han's son, Ben.  It seems to be a family trait to betray the Republic and move to the dark side. 

We were never meant to like Darth Vader, and we most certainly do not like Kylo Ren.  The atrocity he commits to "prove" himself will forever define him as the greatest villain in the "Star Wars" series of movies. 

If you are a huge original "Star Wars" fan, prepare yourself!  Things will never be the same again.



This Reviewers Opinion of Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Review

 

 Star Wars: The Force Awakens Visual DictionaryMuch to my surprise, I really liked the way they tied the old with the new.  There does come a time in life to pass the gauntlet to the young.  To let them have their own generation of heroes and villains.  I have no doubt there are more revelations and surprises for the "Star Wars" future films.

I also really liked the new characters.  I look forward to seeing Rey, Finn and Poe Dameron take on this new generation of the dark side.  Plus, it appears as if we will be seeing a lot more of Luke Skywalker as he assumes the tasks of Jeti mentor and instructor.  I anticipate really liking the mature Mark Hamill, perhaps even more than I did when he was oh, so very young.

I assure you, I will cheer wildly when they finally take down Kylo Ren.  I await the day when his empty helmet sits next to the disfigured Darth Vader headpiece in a lineup that demonstrates that good will conquer evil even if evil rules for a day.   




May The Force Be With You!

Star Wars: The Force Awakens Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 30, 2015

Crimson Peak Movie Review

This movie actually has a lot to recommend it.  Crimson Peak is not just a scary horror movie with ghosts, it has a fantastic mystery plot.
Crimson Peak is the perfect mystery movie for Halloween!  Of course, it would be a great horror flick anytime of the year, but the release of this movie was perfectly timed for Halloween this year.

This movie actually has a lot to recommend it and I was not disappointed.   Crimson Peak is not just a scary horror movie, even though the ghosts are the scariest I have ever seen, bar none.  The movie has a fantastic mystery plot.   At one point, you may think you have it figured out, only to be stunned by the truth when it is revealed.

Tom Hiddleston is also a huge draw for this movie.  He has that perfect "innocent", disarming and enchanting personality with just enough edge to be fascinating and mesmerizing.  Just like his performance as Loki in the movie Thor, as Sir Thomas Sharpe in Crimson Peak, the audience embraces him.  We want to trust him!

The two beauties in his life are equally beguiling.  His sister, Lady Lucille Sharpe (Jessica Chastain), is the embodiment of old world grace and style on the surface with just enough arrogance and talent to broadcast her existence of entitlement.

Even though she is from an equally wealthy background, Edith Cushing (Mia Wasikowska) is like an open book.  Her childlike charm and exuberance announce her naiveté.  It is obvious that her father has protected and cherished his only daughter.


Synopsis & Review of the Crimson Peak Movie Plot

Written by Cynthia Sylvestermouse

 Crimson Peak Tom Hiddleston as Sir Thomas Sharpe Poster Promo 8 x 10 Inch PhotoThe movie starts at a very difficult time in young Edith's life when her mother has just died of black fever.  We are told how she never got to even say goodbye to her mother.  It isn't long before Edith is visited by the ghost of her mother with a warning to "beware of Crimson Peak."   Years pass, and unfortunately, it isn't until after Edith is married that she even identifies the location of Crimson Peak.

Sir Thomas Sharpe breezes into Edith's life and doesn't hesitate to show his interest in the pretty young woman.  He peruses her and singles her out publicly as his choice of dance partner.  Although Edith has a long established affection and friendship with Dr. Alan McMichael (Charlie Hunnam), she is still totally and completely captivated by Sir Thomas's attention.

After the unexpected death of her father, Sir Thomas Sharpe swoops in as a buffer to Edith's indescribable pain over the death of her remaining parent.   She marries him without hesitation and moves to his family mansion in England which she soon learns is also known as Crimson Peak.

At Crimson Peak, Edith is haunted by even more ghosts who are trying to communicate with her.  When she suspects she is being poisoned, she starts to summon the ghosts and to listen to her eerie messengers.



Recommendation of Crimson Peak

First, let me start here by telling you that Crimson Peak is rated "R" for a reason.  Not only is it violent and scary, it also has crude language and adult content.  In all honestly, there were a few times when I had to hide my own eyes.  I knew I didn't want those images replaying in my head for years to come.

As a whole, and largely because of the mystery plot, I would highly recommend this movie to anyone who has the stomach for it and an interest in horror flicks.

Ironically, considering the mystery plot, the ghosts and grotesque scenes seem to "fit" this movie.  They are not contrived to booster the rating to R.  It is truly a well earned "R" rating, but do be warned, it is not for the faint of heart.

It is truly the perfect Halloween movie!


Happy Haunting!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.