Showing posts with label cleaning. Show all posts
Showing posts with label cleaning. Show all posts

Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Kray Spray Mop Kit Reviewed

Mopping Floors Made Easier

floor mop
Mop and bucket image courtesy of pixabay.com
Let me review my new favorite tool the Kray Spray Mop for you today. This wonderful addition to my arsenal for cleaning is so much better than what I have been using. 

For the last several years I have used a combination dust mop and wet mop made by a well known company. It is fine but I constantly had to buy replacement pads that were for dry dusting of the floors or the wet ones when I wanted to clean the floors. I found it to be inconvenient and after a while costly to be always buying the refill packs. That won't be a problem any longer. 

As I looked into getting a spray mop, I almost purchased the one from the same company who makes the one that I have now. What I didn't like about that particular brand was that the mop required batteries to operate the spray action. I noticed in the some of the reviews that some people experienced problems with the battery operation so I kept looking. That is when I found this one that does not use batteries at all. 

Another feature that I did not like about the competitor was that you had to use their solution (another thing to have to replenish) and those bottles could not easily be refilled. The Kray Spray mop kit comes with three refillable bottles that I can put my own solution in. I like that idea a lot! I can mix different cleaners for the different floor types in my home. 

I also love that the kit comes with five microfiber pads that attach to the mop head with a velcro type system. The pads are re-usable and I can throw them in the washing machine when they become soiled. No more having to buy replacements! The pads can be used for dust mopping or I can just use the spray feature when I want to wet mop. Easy peasy! 

For me, this mop kit will be so much easier to use and much more economical, too. How about you? Does this mop kit appeal to you? 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Baking Soda Hacks Reviewed

Economical And Non-toxic: Baking Soda

baking soda
Baking Soda image courtesy of Pixabay.com
Let's review some uses or cleaning hacks for baking soda today. Most folks know that this common item on our pantry shelves can be used for more than just making our cakes taste better. Sodium bicarbonate (baking soda) can be used to hack right through cleaning tasks throughout our homes. It doesn't cost very much and provides an environmentally friendly and much less toxic way to keep our homes clean and smelling fresh.

I'm sure that most of you already know the old trick of opening a box of baking soda and placing it in your refrigerator to get rid of unpleasant odors. What else can you use it for?

Stainless steel sink image courtesy of pixabay.com
Stainless steel sinks and appliances are quite popular in kitchens, currently. They do look great! Have you found that they are a little difficult to keep looking nice, though? My stainless sink shows water spots and they drive me crazy! I try to wipe water out after each use but my husband isn't so good about it. We have to be careful with cleaning stainless steel, abrasive products can cause scratches and a residue that will actually rust in time. Enter our friend, baking soda! I clean my sink with good old sodium bicarbonate. I just sprinkle a little in the sink, take a damp sponge and clean like I would with an abrasive product. Rinse it and it shines like new!




When it is time to bring out the pretty silver for a family dinner, I don't use those awful smelling silver cleaners. Nope, I use my baking soda to do the job. I don't have to worry about making sure about getting those toxic particles off of each piece and they look so clean and shiny. Just make a paste with baking soda and a little water and your silver will shine!

For my combs and brushes that accumulate oil over a span of time, I place some warm water in my bathroom sink; add 1 teaspoon of baking soda and let the comb and brush soak for a while. I rinse them off, dry them and they are ready to use.

Cleaning the microwave is now a cinch! I just dampen a sponge, sprinkle some baking soda on top and wipe the microwave down. Rinse with a clean sponge and I'm done.

Don't you hate to clean your oven? The products for this purpose smell so bad and can't be good to breathe in. My oven is actually a self-cleaner but the energy used to heat it up to the temperature it takes to literally burn off the soil is not good in my opinion. I sprinkle baking soda on the bottom of my oven and then spray it with water to dampen it. I let it sit overnight and then wipe it clean the next morning. I haven't wasted energy or created toxic fumes in my home and my oven looks awesome!

There are so many ways to use baking soda in our homes to cut grease, deodorize and clean. I've only mentioned my most favorites here today. What about you? Do you use baking soda for more than baking? What is your favorite baking soda hack?





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

Clorox Disinfecting Wipes With Micro-Scrubbers

Perfect For Bathroom Cleaning

Bathroom sink image from Pixabay.com
Today, I would like to review the Clorox Disinfecting Wipes with micro-scrubbers for you wonderful readers. I absolutely love to use these handy wipes to clean my bathroom but they also work in other rooms in the house.

I have used the regular Clorox wipes for quite a few years and was delighted when I found the ones with the micro-scrubbers! One side has these little bumps in the fiber to better attack that nasty soap scum that develops on the sinks and shower. 
One thing that I have always loved about the Clorox disinfecting wipes is that these little cloths  kill 99.999% of bacteria that may be lurking on our counter tops and other surfaces in our homes. Cleaning with them can destroy cold and flu viruses and even staph, e. coli, Salmonella and Strep! 

They are so convenient to use, too. Just pull a cloth or wipe from the container and begin to clean. It is that easy. Once you have finished with the wipe just toss it in the trash. 

I also love that these wipes do not smell like clorox bleach but come in scents that are not so offensive. I particularly like the citrus blend. 


The wipes work well in the kitchen especially when something sticks on the stove-top or counter. Those little scrubber fibers help to loosen the dried on mess and clean the surface without leaving a scratch. I love that!

I keep a container in each of the bathrooms and in the kitchen at all times. I also have one stored with my cleaning supplies for when I am cleaning any of the other rooms that might have a surface that can be cleaned with the wipes.

In our home I find them very convenient to use when I need to do a spot clean or when I am deep cleaning a room. They work well on glass surfaces, toilet seats, enamel sinks, faucets and my stainless steel sink. I have not really found a surface that I can't clean with them. If you haven't tried the micro-fiber scrubber wipes; I can highly recommend them to you. I think you will be pleased with the results you get. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, March 2, 2017

13+ Best House Cleaning Tips to Make Spring Cleaning Easier Than Ever

Best House Cleaning Tips Reviewed


Turn dreaded chore time into not-so-bad time with satisfying, built-in rewards when you use these 13+ best house cleaning tips ever.
Do the words "spring cleaning" make you cringe? Does the mention of "Saturday chores" send your kids into hiding?

Never fear! With the house cleaning tips you'll find below, you'll learn how to turn dreaded chore time into not-so-bad time with satisfying, built-in rewards.

So get comfy as you peruse these 13+ tried and true, best house cleaning tips ever, provided by yours truly and some of my fellow Review This! reviewers.

How to Make Housework Less of a Chore


1. Set the Mood With Music. Listening to upbeat music keeps me groovin' while I'm movin', getting those kitchen chores done! The Temptations didn't sit still and neither do I when I play my favorite Temptations music while I'm cleaning the house or washing the dishes. It's amazing how much housework I get done during the 2 minutes and 45 seconds of "My Girl," cleanin' to the smooth rhythm, singin' along in my private kitchen karaoke.

Music is a great motivator. Why not make a game of it? Can you (or the kids) finish folding the laundry before the last note? See how many pots and pans get washed while "you do the things you do" (don't forget to sing along!). Before you know it, your work will be done and you'll still be smiling and boppin' to the beat. Try it. I think you'll like it!

2. Set a Timer. Imagine this scenario:

Mom: "Come on, kids, it's time to do chores."
Kids: "Oh, boy! We get to use the timer!"

I can't promise you that using timers and other fun tools will make your family excited about doing their chores, but it couldn't hurt. In fact, using minutes as motivation is something that is appealing to me as an adult having to do housework on my own, without the company of my now-grown children. Even adults like to play games, and games make chore time go by a lot faster. While the reward is getting to look around and see floors and tables shiny and clean instead of dusty or dingy and kitchen counters clear instead of cluttered with dirty dishes, the fun can be in the getting it done.

Dustmop slippers make quick work of dog hair and dust bunnies on hard surface floors.
The author's feet in her dustmop slippers.

3.  Use Fun Cleaning Accessories. Wish I would have invented dust mop slippers! They're great for hardwood, laminate, or tile floors and come in various styles with sizes to fit everyone in your family. I've tried them (those are my feet in the picture) and they work great for picking up dog hair and dust bunnies. My fellow reviewer, Barbara Tremblay Cipak, explains more in her review, How To Sweep Your Floor Without Lifting a Finger.




Clean Green! How to Make Housework Environmentally Friendly


4. Make Your Own Cleaning Products. Okay, so housework can't be all fun and games. If you're seriously concerned about cleaning with chemicals, make it a point to learn how to use "green" methods to clean all of the surfaces in your home, from floors to countertops and even clothing. Learning what's in the products that you use will really help push you along the road to getting those toxic cleaners out of the house for good!

When it comes to using chemicals and household cleansers, it's important to know what you're handling and to keep your family safe. One way to do that is with homemade cleaning products. For my favorite solution, read Best Homemade Tub and Shower Cleaner Recipe (http://www.lifeinout.com/2017/02/best-homemade-tub-and-shower-cleaner.html).

5. Use White Vinegar For Cleaning. In addition to my two-ingredient homemade bathtub cleaner, don't miss Bev Owens' White Vinegar for Cleaning Review for more ways to use this old-fashioned but very effective one-ingredient product that you probably already have in your kitchen.


Use the Right Tool For the Cleaning Job


6. "Honey, Where Did You Put The Extension Cord?" One of the best (though fairly obvious) pieces of advice I've ever heard about cleaning is to make sure the vacuum cleaner has a long cord, even if you have to use an extension cord, and plug it into an outlet in a central location. I used to have to stop and unplug and re-plug the sweeper halfway up the stairs. Is that silly, or what? When I discovered that I could just use the plug at the foot of the stairs and it would get me through three rooms and all the way up the stairs, well I wish I had a dollar for every time I didn't have to unplug and re-plug from then on!

My bObi Pet robotic vacuum cleaner speeds off to clean under the bed.
"Bobi" speeds off to clean under the bed.
That's part of what I mean by using the proper tool. Of course if you have a robotic vacuum cleaner (I love my new bObi Pet robotic vacuum cleaner), the cord might not be the issue. Another tool that I finally bought was a handheld vacuum cleaner for the furniture. I have lots of attachments for my upright, but to use them I'd have to get the long hose and add it to the short hose and find the furniture attachment. . . Forget all that. Now I have a wonderful handheld vacuum that I can use for all the furniture without lugging accessories around. This very affordable investment was a no-brainer.

7. Toilet Tools. Another excellent tip that I've learned is to have a set of cleaning tools and cleaner in every bathroom and on every floor of the house. There's no reason to run downstairs for the toilet bowl cleaner when you have a second bottle in the upstairs bathroom. A variation on the theme is to use a handy-dandy tote for your cleaning products and carry them from room to room as you clean. That works well, too. The cleaning tote is an excellent tool, just as important as what's inside.

I also keep a roll of paper towels in every bathroom, handy for quick wipe-ups when I just want to throw away the towel and not wash and reuse it. I actually like that better than keeping the roll in the tote since they're always right there when I need them (or when the cat throws up on the bathroom floor).

8. Cleaning Furniture. In recent years, microfiber fabrics have become popular for everything from clothing to furniture. Furniture upholstered in microfiber is comfy,  attractive and, actually, fairly easy to keep clean. Don't put off what you might think is a major chore. Read my article on Cleaning Microfiber to learn how to clean yours.

9. What's Better Than Microfiber? It's easy to find cleaning cloths made from microfiber, but my preference is a cloth with an even finer weave, something called Mirafiber. I use it for everything from cleaning mirrors and dusting the television and computer screens, to cleaning the kitchen appliances and the bathroom sink. Read my Review This! article, Best Cleaning Cloth? The Ultimate Cloth, to learn why I recommend it.

10. Cleaning Hard-to-Reach Places. Once again, reviewer Bev Owens comes to our rescue with a helpful review of one of her favorite cleaning tools in Review of a Telescoping Corner Broom.

11. Cleaning Grout. Some cleaning jobs are more challenging than others and when it comes to cleaning grout, sometimes you need to go the extra mile. If your grout situation has you stymied and you want a solution that will really work, Barbara provides information on the products and methods that her family used to successfully tackle their grout in her article, How to Successfully Clean Grout.


More of the Best House Cleaning Tips Reviewed


12. Got Kids? Review This! contributor Wednesday Elf has put together a compilation of house cleaning tips and tricks that are especially useful for people with kids. But don't take my word for it. Click through to read her A Review of Spring Cleaning Tips to learn more.

13. One Last Best Tip.  If you need help with housework, especially the big jobs, hiring a local pro or handy-person can be a very worthwhile splurge. To find help with house cleaning, yard and outdoor chores, window or carpet cleaning, floor refinishing and more, check out the new Home Services department from Amazon. While many services are only available in select cities, one of those locations might be near you and pros are being added to the service providers every day. Services are described in detail and price is determined up front based on your needs. It's easy to request a no-obligation estimate. Just use the link above or click on the graphic below.




Really, doing chores isn't so bad when you incorporate tried and true house cleaning tips such as these in your daily, weekly, or seasonal cleaning routine. So tell me, did you learn anything new here? Which tip is your favorite?

Happy Spring cleaning!


~Susan
Read more of my reviews.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

White Vinegar For Cleaning Review

A Less Expensive Way To Clean: White Vinegar


We all have to have cleaning supplies in our homes but we do not have to always purchase the most expensive products. White vinegar has been a favorite cleaning supply in my home for years. Let me share with you some of the ways that I use this inexpensive product to do some pretty basic cleaning around the house.

You will find that it can be used in just about any room in your home to assist you in ways that you may never have even considered. I use it most in my kitchen, laundry and bathrooms but they are not the only areas where white vinegar can be your cleaning buddy.

In The Laundry Room: 

Do you ever encounter new clothes that have colors that "bleed" or run into the other colors? Fabrics sometimes do not hold the dye properly and when we wash our clothes that pretty red blouse just might make our white shirt become pink. There is an inexpensive way to stop that from occurring! The first time you wash an article that you think might not hold the dye well, wash it in cold water and use 1 cup of white vinegar in the load. The vinegar sets the dye into the fabric and it will not bleed or run onto your other clothes in the future. I recommend washing that article by itself that first time or at least with like colored items.

Many Uses In The Kitchen:

I use white vinegar in my kitchen for more than just adding to a recipe from time to time. In fact, I probably use it more for cleaning tasks than I do for cooking. There is always a 1 gallon jug under my sink for cleaning purposes. 

We are plagued with extremely hard water in my area and the lime deposits are always an issue. When I boil water for any recipe there is often a residue left in my pans. It does not wash out easily with simple soap and water. So, I pour about 1/2 cup of white vinegar into the pan and let it sit for about 5 minutes. That dissolves any lime residue and then I can successfully wash the pan as usual. 

Got a faucet that isn't giving you the pressure it once did? Or worse it has started to spray water out the side instead of streaming downwards! If you unscrew the tip of the faucet and soak it into white vinegar for about an hour, you will get rid of those little rocky minerals that have clogged the faucet tip. Rinse it off and screw back on...your pressure is back and there is no more spraying where it isn't supposed to be. 

I also like to make a solution of 1 part vinegar and 1 part warm water to use to clean my counter tops and range about once per week. They get wiped down with soapy water after every use but once a week, I like to clean them with the vinegar solution to help get a deeper clean. 

I also use that same 1 to 1 ratio for my windows around the house. I just put it into a spray bottle and spray the glass and wipe it all off with old newspaper. There are no streaks and the windows are sparkling clean. It is also good to wipe off chrome and metal fixtures in your kitchen and bathrooms.

Clogged drains:

Got a drain that is running slow or is just plain clogged? You can use those products made for unclogging but a lot of those are toxic to breath and can harm your drains and pipes. Try this instead. Pour baking soda down the drain, then pour vinegar on top of that. Let it bubble and sit for an hour or two and then rinse it down with boiling hot water. Voila! Your drain has now been unclogged. If it is a really bad clog, you may have to repeat the process. This method is much less toxic to you and better for your drains.

In The Bathroom:

I use the vinegar solution that I mentioned about to clean my sinks, showers and tubs on a regular basis. It helps to get rid of any soap scum that has built up and it helps with any lime scale that is starting to build up. 

I also use white vinegar in my toilets about once a month. Before I go to bed, I pour the vinegar into the bowl and let it sit overnight. In the morning I brush the bowl and flush. It helps break up any lime that may be forming and disinfects the bowl. 

Stains:

I use vinegar and baking soda to work on stains, also. I form a paste with the baking soda and a little vinegar. I apply the paste to the stain, let it dry and then wipe off. If it is clothing, I just wash the article and the stain is gone. I have used it on fabric on my furniture, too. In the case of furniture I just vacuum the dried paste up. It also works on carpets. Obviously with carpet or furniture you should probably test it first to make sure you don't remove the dye in the fabric. Honestly, I have never had a problem with discoloration when I use the vinegar paste method.

These are just a few ways that I use vinegar around my home. How about you? Do you have a cleaning tip using white vinegar?





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 26, 2017

Spring Cleaning of the Soul or Soles or Both

Creative Shoe Bench! See This & More Here
When spring is springing we get the urge to neatly place, organize and tuck

Things around the home that didn't bother us over the winter months, like piles of shoes and boots in the closet and the front door, start to get under our skin.

So we spring into action.

Typical Scenes Across the Country...

With hands on our hips, crookedly we stand in the foyer evaluating our winter clutter, thinking ... 'how did I stand this for so long' !

And before we know it, the itch to organize turns into a full blown rash and we're looking around the house trying to reshuffle pieces of furniture, repurpose dressers, and re-do closets.

Freeing ourselves of the unnecessary, we start with the basics ... we bag'em and tag'em.

We only mean to clean the house, but our soul gets spit and polished too.

What?

We don't plan for this to happen, in fact we never do. But year after year, without fail, we feel lighter.

Closets Come First...

We've jammed our closets with extra sweaters, bulky coats, mitts, hats, boots, and too many pairs of shoes. It's not right.

We know it's not right. Guilty.

But, during the holiday season we really did have bigger fish to fry ... Like cozying up to a warm fire. Overflowing closets somehow made the fire feel better. It's winter ... we're not all there. There's a name for our condition: Cabin Feveritis.

But the frequent appearance of the sun along with the disappearing biting cold begins to wake us from our tolerant coma and we're ready to make tough choices ... But where do we start? ....

We figure it out.

To clean our soul, we start with soles.

The stinky invaders come first.

Ahhhh, we've lightened up just thinking about it ....

Sorted shoes; who'da'thunk that all it took was 'sorted shoes'?

All this time we thought life was complicated. Sole ... Soul? Well my gawd, life's greatest mystery has been solved.

Moral of the story - clean your closets, organize your soles, and the future is yours! ... Not really, but at least your closets will look great while your soul floats.

Don't Stop with Shoes, Here are additional Ways You Can Organize Your Life:


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, March 17, 2016

Best Cleaning Cloth? The Ultimate Cloth

Use the Ultimate Cloth to dust and clean the TV and other electronics
Use an Ultimate Cloth to safely dust and clean
the TV and other electronic devices.
Time for housework? Weekend chores? Spring cleaning? If you dread cleaning house, perhaps you're not using the right tools. Because I believe no one should hate housework, I decided to share this review and personal testimonial about one of my very favorite cleaning tools, the best cleaning cloth I've ever used, the Ultimate Cloth.

You've heard of microfiber, I'm sure. As great as a microfiber cloth may be, the Ultimate Cloth is better. Why? Because it does a better job of cleaning, capturing and holding onto dirt. The Ultimate Cloth is made from MiraFiber which consists of fine, synthetic fibers, smaller than microfiber, that are so tiny they work amazingly well to grab and trap dust, dirt, and grease rather than just pushing it around.

Another great thing about the Ultimate Cloth is that it's machine washable and reusable. In fact, the cloth comes with a 5-year guarantee. Use it, wash it, and use it again, over and over for years. I've had my Ultimate Cloths for nearly four years and continue to use, wash, and re-use the same ones.




Streaky Glass and Mirrors? You Need the Ultimate Cloth!


I like the Ultimate Cloth better than regular microfiber cloths and prefer them especially for cleaning glass and mirrors, the TV screen, and even the screen on my Fire tablet and my phone. These cloths work beautifully in the kitchen on our stainless steel refrigerator, stove, and microwave, too. I also have one dedicated to the bathroom where I use it regularly to wipe down the shower walls and glass shower door.
The Ultimate Cloth makes quick work of fingerprints on stainless steel refrigerators and other appliances.
Dampen an Ultimate Cloth to easily clean smudges
and fingerprints from your stainless steel appliances.

Wet an Ultimate Cloth then wring it out well to clean fingerprints off painted surfaces such as walls, cabinets, or doors (inside or out). Our dog, Daisy, has a tendency to rub against the edge of the kitchen cabinet as she turns one particular corner so when I notice that the oil from her hair has accumulated there, it takes just seconds to dampen an Ultimate Cloth and easily wipe that greasy surface grime from the painted cabinet.

To use an Ultimate Cloth, always start by washing it out well (or run it through the washer) to remove any lint that might be left behind in the manufacturing process. Use a clean cloth dry for electronics, but otherwise dampen it slightly and wring it out well for most other surfaces.

Note that the cloth itself won't scratch, but never rub any surface with a cloth that has gotten especially dirty or has been used to clean greasy surfaces or if the cloth might have picked up any solid particles which could scratch the surface you want to use it on.

When you order, buy an extra pack of Ultimate Cloths to use on the car. Dedicate one to cleaning the windows, dusting the dashboard, or cleaning leather or vinyl surfaces inside. Use another when you wash the outside of the car. They work really well to clean hub caps, too, but don't re-use the same cloth on the paint until you've washed the cloth well to remove any grime or grease.

While the Ultimate Cloth can be used dry for some surfaces (like electronics screens) and cleans well with just water for most other surfaces, if you prefer to use a spray or other chemical cleaner on some surfaces, that's fine. Just remember to throw the cloth in the wash when you're finished so you don't accidentally use the chemical on a surface where you shouldn't.

The following under 3-minute video provides lots of information and will probably answer most of your questions about MiraFiber, so I'd suggest you watch it to learn more.



Machine Washable. Bleachable. Comes With a 5-Year Warranty.


Use this link to order a set of two Ultimate Cloths from Vat19. Since that company charges a flat shipping rate, you might want to order a couple of packs or more (they actually make a thoughtful gift) to have on hand. 

The price might seem high for a cleaning cloth, but I can honestly say that I've gotten more than my money's worth and I have no problem at all justifying the cost. And when I think how many paper towels I might have used in their place over these past few years, there's just no doubt at all that I've gotten my money's worth, and I believe that you will, too. 

Thanks for reading my Ultimate Cloth review. I can honestly say these are the best cleaning cloths I have ever used and I recommend them highly.

~Susan
Meet the Reviewer

Photos belong to the author




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 28, 2016

How to Sweep Your Floors Without Lifting a Finger

Floor Cleaning Slippers
They Come in Other Colors & Styles
Whether it's Spring or Any Other Season, the Floors Always Need Sweeping ... Ugh!

Did you know you can sweep your floors all day long without thinking about it or using a broom?

Yes that's right .... all you have to do is walk around your home with slippers that sweep for you.

Do You Have Pets that Shed?

Are you buried in animal fur? Do you need a rescue team to come in and find you and the kids buried in a fog of dog hair? Ok, sure it's not that bad (it could be?).

Well, if you need a rescue, then get the entire family their own pair of dusting slippers. They come in sizes that fit men, women and kids.

Are You Sick of Seeing the Dust on Your Hardwood Floors?

You're not alone. Did you know that darker shiny hardwood flooring shows almost every speck of dust, especially when the sun beams down on them through windows (yah, you know that already) ... and did you know that's one of the reasons people now choose a flatter finish for their hardwood.

In fact my brother and his wife just finished building their home and they specifically choose hardwood that wasn't shiny to avoid seeing every bit of dust and dog hair they used to see in their
Another Style
An affordable choice for your cleaning party!
previous home.

Well, these slippers are also a great house warming gift for people moving into a new house.

In fact, a creative basket of cleaning goodies to make life easier, is an ideal gift!

Add these slippers to your cleaning gift basket and they'll love it! Hopefully my brother and his wife don't read this article, because guess what they're getting from me?

So How Do You Clean the Slippers that Do the Cleaning?

It's easy. Just detach the bottom velcroed micro-fiber cleaning piece and toss them in the washing machine. Depending upon the style you choose, some come as an entire piece as featured in the photo here labelled 'another style'.

Get a pair for everyone in the family and have them wear their cleaning slippers throughout the day and at least you'll stay ahead of the dust!

How About A Slipper Party?

Yah, that's weird.

But if you're into wacky-party themes, you can hold a 'Help Me Clean My House Party' and everyone gets a free gift! A pair of cleaning slippers that you provide for each person as they enter and that they have to wear at the party.

Sure, your house will be a mess of glasses, food and other party goodies, but at least your floors will look good! Best of all, no shoes on in your home, no bare-feet, and no smelly socks. All your guests will be wearing a new pair of cleaning slippers.

Would it be expensive - well, if you compare these to other items you have to acquire for a party, this is in the range .... 10 Slippers would be about $70 to $150 bucks, depending upon the style you choose.

Have Fun Cleaning!
by Barbara


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 21, 2016

How to Change the Look and Feel of a Room Without Spending a Fortune

A Simple Facelift to our Washroom: A paint job,
new accessories, de-cluttering and cleaning
Total Cost: $150
If you live in a place where changing seasons are a part of life, you know exactly what it means to 'feel the coming change in the air'.

You probably find it hard to explain to someone who's never experienced this artful conversion, what it does to the senses, and how it unwittingly triggers a multitude of emotions within us.

How Changing Seasons Get Us Thinking About Changing our Homes or at the Very Least, Changing Our Decor

Since, at the time of writing this, Spring is on it's way, typically many urges hit us. Some of them include renewal, freshness, cleanliness, and in the case of selling and buying a home, the urge for a new beginning. However, before you jump into the often exhausting process of selling a home, read this article to test your resolve.

So How Can You Make Changes in Your Decor Without Dropping Big Bucks?

Here are Four simple, inexpensive decor ideas:

  1. Add an Area Rug to a Room: If you have a room with tile or hardwood flooring, changing your existing rug, or adding one where one never existed, can dramatically change the look and feel of the space. You may be thinking that Area Rugs are just too expensive, however, be sure to check out these very popular and affordable rugs, you'll be surprised by the big bang you get for your buck!
  2. Clean and De-Clutter Your Space: This one change costs nothing but time and effort. Stand back from your room and take stock at what's in your room, and make a decision to remove any pieces of furniture and knick-knacks that seem to overwhelm the space.
  3. Re-Arrange Your Space: This makes the biggest change. Take a look at your space; look at the position of the window, the door(s),  and how the traffic in the space flows, then change the space by keeping 'traffic flow' in mind. In other words, don't block any area where people would naturally walk as they enter, with furniture. This small technique will visually increase the size of your space and also give your room a greater sense of openness. 
  4. Add Accessories to Warm Up the Room: Point number two talks about de-cluttering, but that doesn't mean you have to remove every single decorative accessory. The items that generally add to the 'feel' of a space are Throw Blankets and Pillows. Without over doing it, sparingly include these items and you'll absolutely soften the space. 
There are many other ways to change the look and feel of a room without spending money, as well as an endless supply of DIY projects you can tackle, however, before you jump into these more complex tasks, start by using what you have - look around your house, re-use pieces from another room - creatively use the pieces you already own! 

Change doesn't have to involve spending a fortune!

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 10, 2016

An Easy Way to Organize Your Linen Closet

Photo by Funkthishouse.com
If Opening Your Linen Closet Causes Heart Palpitations, It's Time for a Spring Sort!

If you have a big family, and many different sizes of beds, as we do, then this practical linen-sorting tip can help.

Here's How I Solved the Problem of Mixing Up the Various Sizes of Linens for each Room in the Home:

In our washroom we have a closet we're currently using as a Linen Closet. It doesn't matter where your linen closet is located, so long as it's large enough to use sorting bins.

We have five bedrooms and four sons. Each bedroom has a different sized bed; double, queen, single, king ... so my linen closet was ALWAYS a disaster! Plus I also found myself unfolding and re-folding sheets after grabbing the wrong sized sheets for a bed!

One Day, I HAD Enough and decided to find a way to organize the closet so that finding the right sheets for the right bed wouldn't be such a hassle!

NOW Each room has it's own storage bucket with the respective sized Bedding in it. You could also put their bedding in their bin in their bedroom closet, but that doesn't work for us.
By Funkthishouse.com
First of all, I know the sheets would end up in a heap, and second there wasn't any more space to do it that way.

You can see by the photo that each child has it's own storage container with their linens in it, with the second shelf reserved for towels.

The extra containers have pillow cases in them, divided up by size - One container has 'double/queen sized pillow cases' and one of container has 'king sized pillow cases'.

Our master bedroom actually has two containers - one container holds the 'flannel sheets' and the other holds the summer 'cotton sheets'. Also, on the very bottom of the closet I keep a laundry basket for the boys to put their dirty clothes in.

I've lightly written the boys names on each of their respective containers so that I can quickly find the sheets for the bedroom I need.

It's working out very well. Although, sometimes I do put the wrong sheets in a bucket and have to correct it.

It is a bit of a pain to take the buckets out that are on the very top, but they're the ones I use less frequently. Plus I prefer it this way over the mess that it once was.

This was easy to do; just measure the width and depth of the shelves, decide how many containers you need and then be sure you pick containers that will fit nicely on the shelves.

PS: Keep the containers OPEN to easily reach in and grab bedding without having to open and close them each time

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Owner - Funkthishouse.com

Added Bonus: Check out creative laundry room sorting tips for a small space here !


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, October 14, 2015

Reviewing the Swiffer Sweeper Floor Mop

Dry Sweep Or Wet Mop With One Tool

Here are some reasons that I feel that every home (large or small) needs a Swiffer Sweeper Floor Mop. How often do you find that you need to sweep up a small area in your home that does not have carpet on it? It is not big enough of a job to pull the big old vacuum out. There are times when a small area of non-carpeted floor gets soiled by a spill or muddy footprints. Do you mop the entire floor or could you just do the small surface area?

There was a time when I would have dragged out the vacuum for those small jobs or I would have filled the mop bucket up and mopped the entire floor. I no longer do that for those small jobs. I use my Swiffer Sweeper Floor Mop, instead.


What I love about this handy little sweeper/mop is that it can do two jobs for me. If I just want to sweep a little dust off of the floor, then I can use one of the disposable dry cloths. It picks up hair (helpful with our cat), dust and dirt really well. They are easily placed on the sweeper edge by pressing the ends into the four little slots and removed just as easily. I just wad them up and toss in the trash basket.

When my husband, cat or the grandkids track in mud from outside or if I happen to spill something in the kitchen, all I have to do is get one of the wet cloths and attach it to the sweeper/mop. Once the area has been mopped, I just toss the soiled sheet into the trash.

Storing the Swiffer Sweeper Floor Mop is easy, also. The head folds down so that it doesn't take up much room in my little cleaning closet where I keep all of my cleaning supplies.

You only have to purchase the sweeper mop once, then as needed you can purchase refills in both the dry and wet versions.

I like to get the Dry Cloth Refills in the 48 count box because I sweep my tile floors just about every day with this little broom or dust mop tool. If I am going to run the vacuum on the carpets then I will use it on the tiled floors, too. But for those quick little once a day tasks of sweeping the floors this little sweeper works like a charm.

The wet sheets come in a smaller count of only 12. That is just fine for my needs because I don't use them as often. I do not mop my entire floor with this handy little tool, although I could if I wanted to. If it is an all floor job, then the mop bucket and mop come out of the cleaning supply closet. I use the Swiffer wet cloths and sweeper for the small little mopping jobs that come up once in a while.

If you are like me and find that just about every day there is a small little sweeping job staring you in the face, I can highly recommend using this product.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Review of a telescoping corner broom

How to clean high ceilings and corners

I don't care what kind of structure you live in (be it a house, apartment or cave) you surely have places like the ceiling that need a good cleaning every once in a while. It is just high enough that you can't easily reach it to wipe away the cobwebs that accumulate on a regular basis. Let me tell you what I use for those jobs. A telescoping corner broom is my tool of choice. 

Your ceilings might be 7 or 8 feet high and in my case I have areas that are much higher (those cathedral ceilings look awesome but can be a bear to keep clean!). It seems that the spiders never stop in their quest to spin webs to catch their next meal. Now, I don't begrudge them their food but those webs get unsightly pretty danged quick. I appreciate that the spiders trap mosquitoes, flies and other creepy crawlies that I don't want in my home but do they have to be so darned industrious? 

There was a time that I would do all sorts of acrobatic feats in trying to remove said spider webs from the high places in my home. Many would be good candidates for "don't try this at home, boys and girls". That is until I got my telescoping corner broom, now that clean-up is a breeze! 

I can carry one tool and adjust it to the height I need and I can swivel the head to meet the angle I am aiming for. For most of my ceilings and high corners I can keep the broom at its minimum height of 33 inches (almost 3 feet) and I can quickly brush away the cobwebs. When I get to the family room or the stairwell, all I have to do is adjust the length of the broom and voila I can quickly wipe away the spider family's dinner table. Yes, I actually have areas where I need to extend the broom to its maximum length of 54 1/2 inches (almost 5 feet) to reach the top but it is so easy to do that I don't mind it. The broom is lightweight, too. I can stand on the floor and reach all of the high places without having to worry about falling off of a chair or ladder. 

My corner broom is a few years old now so it is a different color than the ones available now but the color doesn't matter, it is the ease and efficiency that this cleaning tool provides that is important. 


It is so simple to adjust the head to the angle you want and lock it in place. There is a knob that you loosen, angle the broom head and then tighten the knob back. I love the angled bristles because that really does take care of the corners nicely. Adjusting the length is easy, too. All you do is loosen the pole at the joint and pull it up to the height you want (or down) and tighten it back up. Easy peasy!

Honestly, I can't believe that I waited so long to find one of these brooms. It makes cleaning so much easier and even if we were to move to a smaller home with no cathedral ceilings, I would still use my telescoping corner broom.

Oh and it isn't difficult to clean the broom head once you have your ceilings done. You can take it outside and swipe through the bristles a few times to remove the webs and dust that was once on your ceiling or you can do like I do and just run the vacuum wand over it a couple of times.

If you don't have one of these corner brooms as a part of your cleaning routine, you really should consider getting one. They are typically under $10 and one of the most useful tools I have besides my vacuum and mop.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, May 3, 2015

How to Remove Scratches from Auto Paint

                           Mequiar's Car Care Kit

The Preferred Scratch Removal Compound and Polisher to Remove Scratches from Auto Paint - A Personal Review

There is no doubt that in our house, my husband is the 'car cleaning go-to-guy'. If there's a car to be cleaned, he's probably outside doing just that! It's no exaggeration to say that he's an expert. He's spent years mastering his craft and is very proficient at auto detailing to the point that the car looks like showroom condition when he's done with it!
One of the areas he's learned a lot about is how to remove scratches from auto-paint. Personally, I had no idea that this was doable right from home, until I actually watched him do it.
Here you'll read about my husbands favorite products for scratch removal and how to properly apply them. These products are not chosen on a whim either, he's extensively researched them and
Ultimate Compound
personally loves the results he gets. Of course, it's certainly up to you what you ultimately decide to use, these are just suggestion based on personal choice and experience.
Meguiar's G17216 Ultimate Compound - 15.2 oz.
He loves working with this compound because he says it gives him great results. It has a diminishing abrasive, so he doesn't have to worry about damaging the paint finish. He'll give the bottle a good shake before he uses it as well.
The video below gives you a good explanation of the product - it's one he's watched a few times.


The Car Polisher That Gives Excellent Results
The Porter Cable 7434XP is his favorite. Tips on how to use it:
First thing is to choose the proper cutting pad; it's usually identified by the manufacturer. If you happen to use the wrong pad, you'll probably notice that it's very porous and that the compound will deeply embed itself and will not remain on the surface to do it's job. The cutting pads are more dense and the cutting compound should stay on the surface to do it's work.
PORTER-CABLE 7424XP 6-Inch Variable-Speed Polisher
Porter-Cable Polisher
This is his first choice for a polisher. It turns out to also be a best seller on Amazon. He says it's a terrific tool that's given him great results.
He's used it all day long to remove swirl marks and scratches and the machine showed no signs of slowing down or heating up. He feels it's good value for the money too.

Additional Tips Regarding the Porter Polisher

Be sure to prime the pad with a lubricant so it's not dry when you are about to use it. In regards to the polishing pattern to use; first use a small diameter pad for small areas - he says he uses an up and down pattern with a 50% overlap and a side to side motion with a 50% overlap. He only does an 18inch by 18inch section at a time.
As mentioned above, the product has a diminishing abrasive that will break down within minutes of use and you will see the product turn to a shiny finish. After a minute or two you can wipe it off with a micro fiber cloth. Continue to prime the pad before adding more product. Also, clean your pads after each use.

A Helpful Video on Polishing Your Car






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, April 18, 2015

A Review of Spring Cleaning Tips

 

Especially Useful Tips for People with Kids

 

Funny Spring Cleaning Saying

Whether you need a way to help de-clutter or clean kids toys, or tips for getting your kids involved in Spring Cleaning, the Review This blog has a few suggestions.

One of the best ways to be successful with big cleaning chores such as Spring Cleaning is to get the whole family involved.  Kids can clean, whether they believe it or not!  One good hint, for major cleaning or just daily cleaning, is to get a small kitchen timer and have the kids 'clean their room' until the buzzer goes off.  They (and you) will be amazed at how much they can accomplish working against the clock. It becomes a game for them.


Toy Clutter Control



Organizing Toys
Kids Activities Blog


On the Kids Activities Blog, Holly has a wonderful article of 15 kid tested ideas for toy clutter control.


Toy Hammocks Save Space

Toy hammocks are wonderful space-saving ways to store toys off the floor, and a quick way to 'pick-up' and 'put-away' those toys.


Handmade Crochet Hammock for Stuffed Animals



Crochet Toy Hammock on Etsy

A crochet crafter in Virginia Beach, VA crochets toy hammocks for all those cute stuffed animals your children collect and keep forever.  Hang it next to their bed, so their special stuffed animals are still close but don't take up the space in their bed any more.  

Two sizes are available  (40 by 28 by 28 inches for regular and 50 by 34 by 34 inches for large).  A wide variety of color choices are available in her Etsy Shop called Just Yarning.



Green Cleaning Ideas


For those of you who prefer cleaning with environmentally-safe products, HubPages author Chen has an article on Green Spring Cleaning Tips using handy products such as baking soda and white vinegar. Products such as these are safe for even children to use while helping mom clean.



More Simple Cleaning Tips from the Contributors here on Review This!






  • And Bev has also found a telescoping corner broom which is terrific for cleaning those hard to reach those high ceilings and corners. 

 

House Cleaning Tips all in one Place


Available on Amazon

For all of us who live a busy life, house cleaning at any time is a chore.  This book of House Cleaning Tips and Tricks from Amazon has helpful hints and time-saving tips all in one place.  

Getting organized has never been easier.











Spring has arrived!



Putting off Spring Cleaning

Hopefully, this collection of tips and hints will give you a head start with your Spring Cleaning.  Or... you can enjoy putting it off until next year!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, February 15, 2015

How to Successfully Clean Grout

Colorfast Grout Colorant

How to Clean Grout - A Review of the Products & Methods We Used

The best way we found to clean grout was to paint and seal it. Forget trying to scrub the dirt out of the grout lines 'til your arms fall off. We used this Colorfast Grout Colorant. You'll see some before and after pictures of our kitchen floor.
We've tried a few different ways to clean the grout on our ceramic floors - We've used a steamer (maybe you've seen that method advertised on the shopping channel) and we've even gotten down on our hands and knees and tried to bleach out those ugly dark lines with a toothbrush!
Guess what, both the steamer method and the hard-labor scrubbing method worked as well, but not even close to what this product did for our floors. Make sure you look at the before and after picture so you can see the final result.
Our kitchen tile floor was white, but the grout that was originally used by the builder of our house (19 years ago), was a light greyish color. I've never really liked that look - you know, where you see square
Here is our kitchen floor - Before on the left,
 on the right, After
tiles defined by grout lines that essentially make the tiles appear to be checkered on the floor.
After researching numerous product options for cleaning our grout, my husband decided to give this tile grout paint/sealer a try. It was a wise choice!
He selected the white grout colorant and carefully followed the instructions that came with the product. He put the colorant directly on the light grey grout but prepped the tile grout first according to the instructions. He put two coats, and applied it until the color of the tile grout was nice and white and clean looking. Note: you may not need two coats, we just decided to do it.
Also, we had a couple of chips in the white tile squares, and we HATED the look of that! So instead of going the route of replacing tiles, he simply dabbed the chipped areas with this grout paint.
Heavy Duty Steamer
Our plan is to eventually do a full kitchen renovation, but in the meantime we wanted to do something that would give our kitchen a bit of a clean facelift....because we really didn't like those dark lines!
It also seals the grout at the same time, so that dirt and grime have a harder time penetrating the surface and thus dirtying it up again! We've had it on our floors now for four months and it still looks great.
I'm not naive enough to think that this grout paint and sealer will last forever, and I'm sure at some point my husband will have to do a reapplication...but...so far so good - and YES my house has a lot of traffic - 6 people! (four boys!)
So, if you decide to go this route to clean your tile floor grout, just be sure you select the color you want and follow the directions on the package.
A Heavy Duty Steamer
If you would rather use a steamer to clean your tile grout,here's the floor steamer we've actually used - This can be used for so many other things as well - We've steamed the mattresses, the floors, tile grout, draperies, and even used it to steam the carpets in our car. It works very well, but it won't change the color of your grout - it will simply get the dirt out.

ADDED BONUS TIP:

When you use a grout colorant that is close in color to the overall color of the actual tile, it aids in the tile appearing more like one-continuous-piece.
In a smaller space, having tiles appear as individual squares can contribute to the room seeming even smaller. So the more you're able to get the floor to look as though it flows as one piece, the better for size impression.

by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Funkthishouse.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.