Showing posts with label suspense movie. Show all posts
Showing posts with label suspense movie. Show all posts

Friday, October 26, 2018

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review

Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review
The old classic movies starring Bette Davis still stand out in my mind as the very best suspense movies ever made.  Pure acting excellence coupled with a great plot is all too often missing in current day films.  Therefore, when I want to see a really great movie, I frequently look to the classics of the past.

I was recently reminded of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte and simply had to watch it again.  I remembered bits and pieces of the plot, but had totally forgotten the reason John Mayhew was killed and who was responsible for his death. 

Once again, I was pulled into the story of the movie and the mystery behind the murder.  I had totally forgotten the motive and the secrets surrounding the crime.  Ironically, I didn't remember the opening scene of the movie at all, and it sets the stage for the events that follow.  Actually, I wonder now if I had ever seen the opening before since it precedes the credits and the title of the movie.

This movie makes you think.  It will remind you that betrayal often bears a hefty price.  It will make you grateful that you are not wealthy.  Sadly, wealth makes you a target, especially when you are too old to defend yourself.


The Plot of Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte


 Hush.Hush, Sweet CharlotteCheck PriceThe movie and story begin in 1927 when Charlotte Hollis (Bette Davis) was young and in love with John Mayhew, (Bruce Dern) who is already married.  When Charlotte's father (Victor Buono) is informed that his only daughter is entangled with a married man, he is determined to see the relationship end.  

The movie opens with the meeting between Mr. Hollis and John Mayhew.  Mr. Hollis is furious and disgusted with idea of his beautiful daughter being involved with a married man.  He refuses to accept that this man will have both his daughter and her inheritance, the land and property he has struggled to make prosperous.  

Mr. Hollis demands to know their plans after informing John that his wife, Jewel Mayhew, told him about their affair.  When John tells him that they had planned to run off from a dance together the following night, Mr. Hollis instructs him to break off the relationship with Charlotte instead.  In reference to his home and daughter, he lashes out at John and says, "I created both and I am going to keep 'em."


The Murder of John Mayhew


At the dance the following night, John does as he was instructed and breaks off his relationship with Charlotte.  She is devastated and runs from the room after exclaiming "I could kill you!" 

Moments later, the murderer enters the room with a meat cleaver and John is killed by an unseen assailant who cuts off his hand and head.

When Charlotte enters the dance hall with blood on her white formal dress, the music stops and everyone turns to stare at her.  This introduction section of the movie ends with her father approaching her to remove her from the room.



The Tortured Spinster in Hush Hush Sweet Charotte


The movie fast-forwards to 1964.  Charlotte's father is dead and Charlotte is basically alone with only her long-trusted housekeeper, Velma (Agnes Moorehead), to care for her.   Rumors of the crazy spinster, perhaps murderer, prompts even the children in town to taunt and tease Charlotte relentlessly.  She never leaves her own property, but they come to her home to torment her.

If you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love the classic movie, Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte starring Bette Davis.
This file is in the public domain on Wikimedia
Unfortunately for Charlotte, Louisiana seizes her property to build a bridge through her land to join roads.  But, Charlotte refuses to leave the house or even acknowledge the legality of them stealing her home & property.  She grabs her rifle and shoots at the demolition team with the road construction crew, which brings the sheriff out.  Even though he doesn't want the responsibility, the sheriff informs Charlotte that she has only 10 days to vacate the premises.  Charlotte is desperate.  She has already contacted her cousin to come and help her.  After all, Miriam (Olivia De Havilland), was taken into her home as a child when her own parents were killed, and subsequently cared for by Charlotte's father.  Surely she will know what to do to save the estate and help her.

When Cousin Miriam admits there is nothing she can do to save the property, Charlotte becomes enraged and reveals that Miriam was the one who told John's wife, Jewel Mayhew, about Charlotte and John's affair.  

It becomes all to clear that poor Charlotte is only hanging on by a short thread mentally.  She frequently lapses into confusion and mourns for John all over again.  It also becomes abundantly clear that someone is torturing Charlotte by sending letters and leaving macabre reminders of the murder in her home, as if she isn't tortured enough by the memory of her lover being killed.  She even begins to believe that John is visiting her again, playing the piano, and singing to her.


Dr. Drew Bayliss (Joseph Cotton), who was once Miriam's boyfriend, is Charlotte's attending physician.  He is certain she is close to needing full commitment due to her failing mind.

Charlotte clings to her love for John and highly treasures the gift he gave to her.  It is a music box that plays the tune of the his song to her. 



Another Important Character in the Plot


Mr. Willis is an insurance investigator who was previously a news reporter.  He is investigating why no one ever claimed the life insurance after the death of John Mayhew.  He wants to interview Jewel Mayhew, as well as Charlotte, in the hopes of finding the answer.

 Both of the women seem to like him.  Jewel Mayhew invites him into her home for a chat.  She gives him a letter for safekeeping along with her permission to open it at the time of her death.  She believes he will know what to do with the information in the letter.

Even Charlotte trusts Mr. Willis and talks openly with him until someone touches her beloved music box.  Then she flies into a rage and orders everyone from the house.


The End


There is no way I will  reveal the end, or even who murdered John Mayhew.  What I will say is that if you enjoy a fabulous suspense movie that has a unexpected end, you will love Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte.






Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Hush Hush Sweet Charlotte Movie Review Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse







 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, October 5, 2018

Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed

Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed
I have always loved the Alfred Hitchcock suspense movies.  Hitchcock truly was the master of suspense.  No need for gore or extreme violence in his movies.  They are simply pure suspenseful entertainment.  Many of my favorite actors often starred in Hitchcock movies.  To be honest, I'm not sure if they were my favorite actors first, or if the Hitchcock movies introduced me to them.  With real actors like Jimmy Stewart, Cary Grant, Grace Kelly and Ingrid Bergman, plus Alfred Hitchcock as the director, the movies were destined for great success!

Ironically, until recently, I had never owned any of the Hitchcock DVD's.  My son corrected that horrific oversight by gifting me with an Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films collection of DVD's.  Then, he and my husband joined me for a film festival in our den.  We cooked hotdogs, drank cokes and watched several of the movies together.  Because there are six movies in my new collection, we have enough left for more film festivals in our den.  Needless to say, I look forward to our next Hitchcock binge.  

It had been a while since I watched any of the Hitchcock movies and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing them again.  However, for my son and my husband, it was their first time to see "Suspicion" and "Strangers On a Train".  Now, Alfred Hitchcock has 2 new fans! 


Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection


Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films
Click to Buy Now
The collection my son chose to give to me includes:
  • Suspicion starring Cary Grant and Joan Fontaine
  • Strangers on a Train starring Farley Granger
  • I Confess starring Montgomery Clift
  • Dial M for Murder starring Grace Kelly
  • The Wrong Man starring Henry Fonda
  • North by Northwest starring Cary Grant 

For our first film festival, we watch "Suspicion" and "Strangers on a Train".  They are both great movies!


Review of Suspicion starring Cary Grant 


Lina McLaidlaw (Joan Fontaine) seems destined to be a spinster until she meets the charming Johnnie Aysgarth (Cary Grant).  She falls head over heals in love with him.  Lina is quick to forgive any of Johnnie's minor flaws like his gambling or his outrageous stories created to cover for his actions.  

When one of Johnnie's old friends shows up for a visit, Lina is quick to welcome him to their home.  Beaky (Nigel Bruce) is very easygoing and likable.  He is constantly making excuses for Johnnie's decisions and seems to thoroughly enjoy watching him make up his grand stories to cover his latest scheme.  His adoration of Johnnie endears him to Lina.

When Beaky is murdered, Lina suspects her own husband and she worries that she will be his next victim.  Thus the name of the movie, "Suspicion".

This film is suspenseful right up until the very end. 




 

Strangers on a Train Review


When Guy Haines (Farley Granger) meets Bruno Antony (Robert Walker) on a train, he doesn't realize he is in the company of a psychopath.   

Bruno does start to put Guy on edge though when he starts talking about Guy's life.  He knows way too much about Guy, his adulterous wife, and his girlfriend.  When Bruno suggests that he will kill Guy's wife if he will in turn kill his father, Guy just wants to get away from Bruno.   However, as far as Bruno is concerned, a deal has been struck.

When Bruno kills Guy's wife, Guy realizes how very serious Bruno was with his "murder trade" suggestion.  What does he do?  Now, Bruno is threatening to set Guy up as his wife's murderer.  Surely he won't kill Bruno's father in return. 

 

 

Both Suspicion and Strangers on a Train are suspense filled dramas that are sensational and I highly recommend them to anyone who enjoys a great suspense movie.  As for me, I look forward to our next "at home" film festival.

More Alfred Hitchcock Film Collections

 

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Alfred Hitchcock Suspense Films Collection Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, February 2, 2018

The Open House Movie Review (2018)

 The Open House Movie Review (2018)
If you love a horror movie, the kind that will invade your dreams with nightmares, The Open House is for you. 

I know we have readers who enjoy safely having their wits scared out of them.  To be honest, I am not that person.   But, I did watch this movie from beginning to end.  I selected The Open House myself believing it would be a great mystery movie.  I expected suspense, but I was certainly in for quite a shock.  Not to mention the days of terror filled moments that followed.   I watched it nearly a week ago, and I still can't look into a dark room without feeling the chills run down my spine.  And, don't even suggest I take a shower when I am alone in the house.  Trust me!   If my shower water suddenly turns cold, I am not going to investigate.   I am locking myself in the bathroom with all the lights on until the sun rises the next day. 

Now, I hope if you decide to watch The Open House, you will be better prepared than I was for the movie.


The Open House Movie Synopsis 


The movie begins with a happy couple and their Olympic hopeful son, Logan.  It is very clear the parents support their only child's dream.  However, the movie turns tragic when Logan's father is hit by a car when he is crossing the street.  Logan helplessly witnesses his father's death. Those are images that will haunt him for the rest of his life.

 The Open House Movie Review (2018)
Logan and his mother, Naomi,  find themselves thrown into a desperate financial situation.  They are forced to move from their home.  It seems fortunate that Naomi's sister has a furnished house in the mountains that is for sale.  She offers to let them stay there for free noting that the mansion is better lived in than left vacant and they can look after the house for her.  The only consideration is that she needs them to vacate the house every Sunday so the real estate agent can host an open house.  A mere inconvenience when you get to live free right?  I am certain Naomi and Logan would never have considered moving into that house, whether it was free or not, if they had any idea what would happen to them there.

Who checks the house carefully after an open house?  Do you believe the realtor has kept a close eye on everyone who visits your home during an open house?  I would certainly hope so.  But, what if there are several people visiting the open house?  Or, if someone comes through the back door instead of the front door and the realtor never even sees them?  What if you are not really familiar with the house yourself?  Would you feel comfortable laying down to sleep in an unfamiliar home after an open house?  I admit, I never really thought about it before.  We see open house signs in surrounding neighborhoods weekly.  It is a commonplace event.

One thing that is now for sure, if I ever decide to sell our house, we will NOT host an open house! 


Where to Watch the Open House (2018) by Netflix 


Currently, the movie is only available on Netflix.   A subscription to Netflix is required to view their movies.  Normally, Netflix will make their movies available to purchase on DVD the following season.      



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



The Open House Movie Review (2018) Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 8, 2017

Murder on the Orient Express (2017) Movie Review

Murder on the Orient Express 2017 Movie Review
Even though I have seen several previous versions of "Murder on the Orient Express" and was very familiar with the plot, I loved this new adaptation and can highly recommend it!  

I am a huge Hercule Poirot fan!  In my heart, David Suchet will always be Poirot.   His image is the one my mind's eye will see when I hear or think of the fabulous Agatha Christie detective.  However, since I am reviewing the newly released "Murder on the Orient Express" movie, I need to start by critiquing the actor that played the part of Hercule. 

I was quite impressed with Kenneth Branagh who was cast as Hercule Poirot.  He also co-produced this latest version of "Murder on the Orient Express" which most likely gave him more freedom to develop the character to suit his own style and personality.  He is not an actor I was previously acquainted with, so there was no other character I had to toss to the back of my mind to enjoy his performance. 

When the movie first started, I wasn't sure I was going to be able to embrace Branagh as Poirot, even for a few hours.  But, after the first 20 minutes, I was fine with him playing the part.   By the end of the movie, I was singing his praises for taking on a role that was "owned" by another actor and doing a supreme job of becoming Poirot.  I certainly wouldn't mind seeing him continue as Poirot in future movies.


The Plot of "Murder on the Orient Express"


 Murder on the Orient ExpressCheck PriceI was recently reminded that not everyone is familiar with the plot or knows the story of "Murder on the Orient Express".  Frankly, I was rather shocked to learn that one of my family members that attended the movie with me had neither seen the movie, nor read the book.  Therefore, for those of you who are unfamiliar with the story, I will provide a brief synopsis.

The Belgian detective, Hercule Poirot, is precise in his every deed and action.  He would even be considered fastidious.  This is an endearing quality to those of us who believe everything should be "just so".  He is highly intelligent and uses his "little grey cells" to examine every minute detail of a case.  As Poirot himself would tell you, he is "probably the greatest detective in the world".  

At the insistence of an old friend, Poirot boards the Orient Express train seeking a bit of a holiday.  What he actually got was a case of murder.  When an avalanche of snow stopped the train dead in it's tracks, one of his fellow passengers was found dead in his bed.  He had been murdered and Hercule Poirot was certain the murderer was also a fellow passenger.  He immediately started investigating the case, forcing those world famous "little grey cells" to work quickly lest another passenger should fall victim to the murderer.

He quickly deduces that the murder is somehow related to the previous murder of a child.  The abduction and subsequent murder of the child will remind you of a real case in history, the Lindbergh baby.  In fact, Agatha Christie's novel, "Murder on the Orient Express" was based on that real life murder.

Every passenger on the train is considered a suspect!
I'm not going to tell more of the plot simply because I don't wish to spoil the movie for anyone who is not already familiar with the plot.  What I will tell you, is that Poirot's own sense of justice is challenged by what he uncovers in this case.


The Actors Make the Movie


While there are a few deviations in this movie from the original novel, overall the characters were familiar enough that I don't believe it was neither a hindrance nor an improvement to the plot.  What did really matter is the cast of stars who played the parts.  These faces have long entertained us and they were all excellent choices for their respective parts.

  • Michelle Pfeiffer - the widow
  • Johnny Depp - the gangster
  • Willem Dafoe - the professor
  • Penelope Cruz - the missionary
  • Judi Dench - the princess

In addition to the award winning actors and actresses, you will recognize several other faces even if you don't know their names, yet!




The Scenery in Murder on the Orient Express (2017)


The scenery is stunningly gorgeous!   In addition to an unbelievably outstanding studio set of Longcross Studios in London, some of the landscape shots were made at the border between Switzerland and Italy.  The fantastic, out of this world mountains were filmed in New Zealand. 
 



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Murder on the Orient Express (2017) Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, August 25, 2017

Perfect Plan (2010) Movie Review - Emily Rose & Lucas Bryant

Perfect Plan (2010) Movie Review - Emily Rose & Lucas Bryant
Perfect Plan is not in my normal genre of movies to watch, but surprisingly I liked this thriller mystery movie. It was fairly predictable, but that was mostly because of the written movie description. It revealed too much of the plot in my opinion. When it comes to a mystery movie, I prefer that the "mystery" be left to be discovered when watching, not in the movie description that should be labeled spoiler alert.  Nevertheless, the actors still make the movie worth watching.

Some of you may already be familiar with the actress, Emily Rose.  This was the first movie I have ever seen her star in and it made me look her up to see her other tv films.  I did see several TV films listed that I plan to watch soon.  Frankly, I liked her better than many of the current day major movie actresses in Hollywood.  


The Perfect Plan Movie Plot

The movie opens with two campers being murdered one night.  Their identities are not revealed until later in the film when their brother starts searching for them.  Within minutes of the first scenes, we are moved from the Appalachian Trail to Chicago city where we meet Lauren Baker.
  
 Perfect Plan (2010)
Starring Emily Rose & Lucas Bryant
Lauren (Emily Rose) is co-owner of In the Loop Realtors.  She and her best friend, Maddie, are struggling to keep the company open in the depressed real estate market.  When Lauren lists a mansion in an exclusive area, they see an opportunity for things to financially turn around for them.  

The mansion is owned by a brother and sister who inherited it when their parents died in a car accident.  Since neither of the siblings live there, they want to sell fast.  When Lauren quickly finds a cash buyer, everyone is happy.  At least, they are happy until they see the newspaper article about the bodies of Sean and Rebecca Crawford being found on the Appalachian Trail in PA.   


Perfect Plan Movie Rating and Recommendation


Personally, I thought the movie was pretty good.  I appreciated the plot twists and lack of grotesque murder scenes.  However, this movie is for mature audiences only due to adult scenes and content.

While it may not be an "edge of the seat" thriller mystery, it is well worth watching. 


Perfect Plan (2010) is available on Amazon and is included for free with Prime Membership.




Perfect Plan (2010) Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, February 4, 2016

Bridge of Spies Movie Review

"Bridge of Spies" movie review, starring Tom Hanks. The movie is suspenseful, historically significant, a thriller that held my attention all the way through. Here are my top 3 impressions.
My husband and I went to the movies last weekend to see "Bridge of Spies." We don't go out to see movies very often, but this one attracted both of us, my husband because of the Cold War era setting (1957-1962), me because of the spy story. Other than knowing that the movie was inspired by actual events and that Tom Hanks was the star, I knew very little about it. I learned a lot during the 142 minutes we watched and that's what I want to talk about in this review.

There were a number of young people in the audience and by "young people" I mean teenage boys (Saturday night, $3 movie). There were a few old mature baby boomer-era folks like us, but most members of the audience were too young to remember first-hand much about the Cold War. As I watched and the story unfolded, I found myself wondering how much of this history the audience had ever read about, learned about in school, or knew about at all, and how they felt about the movie, the story, the characters, the historical significance, as the story was revealed.

"Bridge of Spies" tells the real-life story that centers around attorney James Donovan (Tom Hanks) and his role in defending accused (and widely presumed guilty) Russian spy Rudolf Abel, as well as Donovan's role as civilian negotiator, recruited by the CIA and tasked with securing the release of captured American U-2 spy plane pilot Francis Gary Powers. Those two events become entwined in a tale of patriotism, duty, character, and the sanctity of the United States Constitution, the likes of which was impressive, to say the least.

It's hard to talk about the movie without giving away much of the story, so I'll focus on three impressions that I took from the film and try to avoid spoilers.

Berlin Wall, eastgerman border guard looks at the Kubat-Dreieck, July 1st 1988
Berlin Wall, East German border guard
looks at the 
Kubat-Dreieck, July 1st 1988
First was the representation of the city of Berlin, where construction of the infamous wall dividing East from West was being completed as Donovan arrived to negotiate Powers' release. Today many of us remember that wall in its later life, graffiti covered and coming down in pieces following the urging of President Ronald Reagan. The movie gave a taste of how horrifying life actually was on the east side of that wall for the honest-to-goodness human beings who lived, and tried to escape from, there. As I watched the movie, that part of history really came alive to me and affected me as no history textbook ever did.  

My second impression is that, while there were humorous moments, there was a little more laughter in the theater than I thought appropriate. That brings me back to the audience. I almost wish I could have done a quick exit interview with some of the movie-watchers to ask how they liked the movie and what about it impressed them the most. I really hope some of the young people in the audience will remember the film as they study the post-World War II period in history class. I wish I would have appreciated my world history class more, 'way back when I was in high school, still in the midst of the Cold War years.

Third, and perhaps the impression that is most important to me, was the character of James Donovan. This was a man who stuck with his principles unwaveringly, going above and beyond, doing the right thing not only when his own reputation as well as his patriotism were questioned by friends, neighbors, and coworkers, but also when his wife's and children's very lives were threatened. I'm not sure what drove James Donovan, but how impactful his actions must have been to his children and even to his neighbors once his task involving Gary Powers was revealed!

I recently read a movie review by friend and fellow reviewer Cynthia in which she gave the movie a low rating in large part because the writers strayed so far off the real-life incident on which that particular movie was based. That got me thinking and wondering how accurate "Bridge of Spies" is, in relation, especially, to the portrayal of James Donovan. So I went looking and quickly found this article from Forbes which confirmed that screenwriter Matt Charman felt "just how important it was to tell this story right and do justice to everyone involved." He also confirms in his interview, regarding the Donovan family at the movie premiere, "... their reaction was the most wonderful review you could ever get and I feel proud we put the real man up there." I was very happy to read those words.

The movie is suspenseful, historically significant, a thriller that held my attention all the way through. Based on my impressions from watching the movie and what I have since read about the real events, I give this movie 9 stars out of 10 and highly recommend it for families including children over age 13 (based on the intensity of the subject).

"Bridge of Spies" stars Tom Hanks, directed by Steven Spielberg. Academy Award winner for Best Supporting Actor, Mark Rylance as Rudolf Abel. Release date: October 16, 2015. DVD release date February 2, 2016.

Enjoy this trailer:



LINKS:
Recommended Reading: Strangers on a Bridge: The Case of Colonel Abel and Francis Gary Powers by James Donovan (#1 NYT Bestseller)

Buy or Rent "Bridge of Spies" from:
Family Video
Walmart
Amazon

Photo Attribution: Berlin Wall Photo CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

~Susan
Meet the Reviewer




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, September 27, 2015

Limitless, The Movie - Now a TV Series

Limitless, The Movie
Have you ever seen this movie? Bradley Cooper, Abbie Cornish, and Robert De Niro are the stars.

The movie has now morphed into a TV Series carrying the same title as the movie 'Limitless'.

Perhaps you managed to catch the TV Season opener this past week (September 2015)? It was entertaining, and I'll be including this one on 'my fave new fall shows' list. 

Although the stars of the TV Series are Jake McDorman and Jennifer Carpenter, fans of Bradley Cooper will still see him in several episodes playing the character he becomes in the Movie, 'Senator Edward Mora' ... enough of a reason to watch!

In the movie, Bradley Cooper plays Eddie Morra, who's a struggling artist with a case of writers block that essentially spirals him into a less than stellar life.  

He runs into the brother of his ex-girlfriend who introduces him to a drug that is designed to take the human brain from 20% usage to essentially 100% usage. The movie offers a lot of twists and turns and certainly keeps your interest all the way to the end. 

I've always been fascinated by the untapped power and mystery of the human mind and wondered what society would be like if our brains worked at 100% capacity. If every living soul operated at maximum potential, would that generate more good, more evil, or both?
In the movie, Eddie Morra is learning at light speed, working at maximum capacity - he learns to play the piano in three hours, he learns new languages almost instantly and he becomes a financial genius. 

Here's the 2011 Movie Trailer for Limitless:



Can you imagine having that kind of brain power?






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, April 17, 2015

Movie Review: A Good Marriage by Stephen King

I am not truly a Stephen King fan, although I do recognize his writing talent.  In fact, the reason why I am not a huge fan of his books is simply because his stories often scare me half to death.  That fact alone best demonstrates that he is an excellent writer of horror and suspense.

Since I joined Sling TV a few months ago, I am back to watching movies, TV series, and news again.  After a day of work, I find a good movie at home quite relaxing.  My husband and I enjoy watching movies together and we alternate who selects the movie for the evening.

Because I am a romantic at heart, I was drawn to the movie "A Good Marriage".   Because it was written by Stephen King, my husband enthusiastically sat down to watch it with me.  It was an excellent movie that we both enjoyed viewing, but I have to warn you, it still haunts me a bit.


Synopsis of "A Good Marriage"


This movie gets right to the heart of the story almost immediately and we were drawn into a world of suspense very quickly when the wife discovers that her husband is a serial killer.

I had never really considered how the wives of serial killers react or feel, especially when they are so totally clueless to the dark side of their spouse.  When she accidentally uncovered indisputable evidence that her husband was in fact the notorious killer "Beadie", she was forced to face the obvious and decide how she was going to react and respond.

Most of us sitting here would be thinking just call the police, but the story was so well written that I could easily understand the hesitance and denial, questioning how it could possibly be true that a loving and devoted husband and father could be the torturing, killing creature that was terrorizing women.

I was rather surprised by how the wife, after her initial shock wore off, logically made a plan and methodically carried it out.  She certainly proved to be her husbands equal when it came to being able to "act" normally while simultaneously setting the stage for "capturing" her own mark.

Since I never believe in spoiling the show for others when I review a movie, I will stop there and reveal no more than the basic plot.  Besides, this is a movie that you absolutely must see for yourself and follow the moment by moment details.  I would be cheating you of the magnificence of the author by writing more myself.


 

 The Actors in "A Good Marriage"


Joan Allen is the wife, Darcy.  Anthony LaPaglia plays the role of the husband, Bob.  Anthony LaPaglia is the perfect choice because he really does have that normal, nice guy appearance who anyone would trust, yet he is easily believable as a methodical serial killer.

Like LaPaglia, Joan Allen looks the part and she did an exceptional job of playing a calculating wife who is capable of her own deceptions.

Together, they make me believe we can never really know our friends well and we certainly have no idea what they might be capable of given the right set of circumstances.


My Rating of the Movie, "A Good Marriage"


I have seen what the critics say about the movie and I also see the star rating on Amazon.  However, I am not going to fall in line with others.  I would give this movie 5 stars.

I base my rating on the fact that this was a suspense thriller that I could watch without being grossed out.  Graphic images were certainly not necessary to scare me, or to make me sit on the edge of my seat.  I believe that is the mark of a truly outstanding writer, as well as believable actors.

In addition to that, I appreciated the thoughtful perspective of someone who is also a victim of a serial killer, but is more often considered complicit in the crimes.  I think we all want to believe the "Bundys" and "Dahmers" of the world have some "telling" personality traits that anyone close to them would easily recognize.  Because we think there is no way they could not have known, we often make the family members pariahs in the community.  Any movie that can cause me to evaluate my own thoughts deserves a higher rating.


I highly recommend this movie for any adult.  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.