Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, September 16, 2022

The Social Tutor Book Review

The Social Tutor
If you are looking for a sweet, romantic easy to read book, you will love "The Social Tutor" by Sally Britton.  It is the first book in her Branches of Love series and quite a delightful read.

Earlier this week, I was without electricity for approximately 5 hours. Since I couldn't cook, work around the house due to the dark, or even work on my computer, I grabbed my Kindle and settled in to read. I opened it to "The Social Tutor" and was immediately allowed to relax as I was pulled into a lovely story set in the early 1800's in England. A time when women were expected to marry someone who benefited their family whether they were in love or not.

I am a huge historical fiction fan and I prefer clean romantic stories. "The Social Tutor" was the perfect choice for me!  When the electricity was restored, I was already so deep into the book that I didn't set it down until I had finished reading the entire book.


The Social Tutor Book Synopsis

It had been made perfectly clear to Christine Devon that she would marry someone who would bring wealth, business associations and hopefully a title to her family.  Her father would give her one season in London to complete this mission.

Christine was the second daughter in the household. Her older sister had failed to make the desired alliance and was relegated to overseeing her father's household. He would not waste any more money on her.

 The Social Tutor: Branches of Love, Book 1Check PriceBecause she was under so much pressure, Christine knew she would need help. Since her mother had died years before, she had never been taught how to attract a man's attention, engage him in an acceptable conversation, and make him choose to marry her out of all of the eligible young women in the "marriage mart". 

Thomas Gilbert had been friends with Christine's mother. They had shared a love for horses and Mrs. Devon had taken him under her wing to teach him about horses. It was Thomas's desire to add a horse breeding venture to his family's farm.  With the right horse selections, he believed he could bred champions and sell them to society members who demanded the best. 

Christine decided she would ask Thomas to tutor her. In exchange for the lessons, she would allow him to borrow the horses she had inherited from her mother.  Even though Thomas wasn't exactly sure at first how he could help her, the offer was too good for him to pass up. After all, Miss. Devon owned the best horses in the area and their offspring would be highly desired.

They agreed to meet every 3rd day until Christmas (only a few months) to prepare her for the social season which would begin immediately thereafter.  Thomas had no idea just how naive and trusting Christine was.  He knew she would be eaten alive by both the men and the women of society and he suspected that is what happened to her older sister. Without their mother's direction and oversight, it would be like a lamb among wolves. Out of loyalty to her mother, he could not let that happen to Christine.

Perhaps, you think you have already figured out what happens. Maybe you have, maybe you have not. Either way, it is a charming romance to read. I have no doubt, you will want to continue reading through the entire series.

 



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com





House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, September 15, 2022

Barking to the Choir - Book Review

Some books change us by flipping what we think we know, or what we think we are about, on its head. Barking to the Choir is one of those books. I am not the same person I was when I first cracked open the cover of this book.

In showing me what radical kinship looks like—in living it out on these pages—Gregory Boyle has me wondering: 

What if outreach to the marginalized is really about being willing to be reached by them?

What if it's about receiving rather than giving or doing?  You know—truly receiving the unwelcome with a welcoming embrace?

What if I came to know, deep within my core, that you are the other me, and I am the other you... that our separateness is only an illusion?

What if I said yes to entering into the fullness of kinship with you, and you, and you?

What if we meet there at the edge of I and Not I and discover unity?

What if we lifted one another out of isolation by merely showing up... every time?

Perhaps radical kinship begins with living these questions. 

Perhaps compassion is the answer to every question.

Perhaps the welcoming embrace begins there—begins here.

I open myself to it... to being it.

I invite you into this beautiful kinship. 









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 9, 2022

A Daring Proposal: A Regency Romance (Memorable Proposals Book 3) by Jennie Goutet Reviewed

I rarely read a series where I would say the author saved the best book for last, especially when I enjoyed all of the books in the series. However, in the case of "A Daring Proposal", I do think Jennie Goutet saved the best 'til last.

Perhaps this book was my favorite because the main character has been a part of the previous two books and I already liked her. Maybe, it was because I just liked the true historical story line so much. Most likely, it was both.

Each of the books in the series could be read independently, but I do think, in this case, Phoebe Tunstall's character was developed over the entire series. Therefore, even though it is my favorite, I think the series should be read in order. Otherwise, you might miss just how unusually "daring" Phoebe becomes in "A Daring Proposal".


A Daring Proposal Synopsis
1815 - London, England & Brussels, Belgium

Phoebe Tunstall has already enjoyed four London seasons. There is a concern that she may well end up being considered "on the shelf" by potential suitors. At 22, she is far from an old maid, but society tends to focus on the newest, brightest stars that appear on the scene. Phoebe was not looking forward to another season, especially since her sister, brother, and best friend were all now married. She would feel alone in the crowd.

 A Daring Proposal (Memorable Proposals Book 3)Check PriceBecause she often stayed in her vivacious sister's shadow, Phoebe was viewed by society as shy, perhaps disinterested or unavailable, as she attended to her elderly aunt. Something Phoebe shared with no one, including her twin sister, is that her heart was unavailable. For as long as she could remember, she had loved someone who viewed her "like a little sister". Still, she realized she needed to marry, even if it wasn't a love match, and a fifth season might be her last chance.

When her friend, Lydia, suggested she accompany her and her husband to Brussels instead of staying in London, Phoebe surprised herself by considering it. As she mentally recounted Frederick Ingram's suggestion that she do "something daring", she decided she would do just that and accept his sister, Lydia's, invitation to go to Brussels. She would cast off this despair, all expectations and embrace the opportunity to travel somewhere new.

That turned out to be the best decision she could make because "somewhere new" offered her the opportunity to be someone new. Well, at least, someone new to Brussels society, where she was immediately received as a desirable partner at every ball & social gathering.  Little did she expect to catch the eye of someone she had known all of her life or to be caught in the middle of a war.

_______

 

We may not immediately think of Brussels as the setting of a war, but it was in fact, the location of the Battle of Waterloo, which ended with the final defeat of Napoleon, and as in all wars, with many deaths.

Jennie Goutet did a masterful job of threading the story of "A Daring Proposal" into the fabric of real historical events and real people. 

This entire "Memorable Proposals" series is truly wonderful. I highly recommend all three books to anyone who enjoys historical romantic fiction, but especially "A Daring Proposal" because of it's historical accuracy.

I previously reviewed the first book in this series and you can read that review here: A Regrettable Proposal


Currently, all of these books are available for free with a Kindle Unlimited membership





House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 3, 2022

Book Review of Listen to Me by Tess Gerritsen


A Rizzoli & Isles suspense thriller


Listen to Me is #13 of 13 in the Rizzoli & Isles series.  Jane (Rizzoli), homicide detective with the Boston Police Department and Maura (Isles) Boston Medical Examiner, return in another thriller. This time Jane's mother is looking into a mystery of her own. 




Synopsis


While Jane and Maura are trying to solve what appears to be a completely senseless murder of a widowed nurse, Jane's mother Angela worries and wonders about what is going on in her neighborhood. There's the gossip about the runaway teenager down the block and the strange neighbors who have just moved in across the street. When Angela tries to tell her detective daughter about this, Jane writes it all off as her mother's overactive imagination. 


Meanwhile, the lack of clues in the murder are driving Jane and Maura crazy. 


This particular novel is laid out in an interesting manner. Chapters in this story are headed with and switch back and forth from MAURA to JANE to ANGELA (Jane's mother). Within each chapter, we learn more background about each of the characters, including some about their personal lives. 


Summary


As Jane and Maura struggle with trying to solve the murder case, they seem to lose sight of something sinister happening much closer to home. When Angela is kidnapped in broad daylight right in front of her home, Jane discovers that her mom's concerns and the current police case are actually related. 


Read “Listen to Me” to learn how both situations are resolved. 


TV Series


Tess Gerritsen's Rizzoli & Isles book series inspired the TV series by the same name (Rizzoli & Isles) starring Angie Harmon and Sasha Alexander. The series ran for 7 seasons on the TNT cable channel. It can now be seen in reruns on Lifetime and other channels. Each of the 7 seasons and the complete series are also available on DVD.


*Listen to Me, a book review by Wednesday Elf

 

 



For more book reviews, check out ReviewThisBooks.com 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, September 1, 2022

Limitless - Book Review


There would be gold medals and world records, and plenty of them, but that is not the Limitless in Mallory Weggemann's story.  No.

Becoming limitless was, and is, about diving in to discover what is on the other side of fear—the kind of fear that could have become more paralyzing than her T10 spinal injury.

Mallory's story could have ended when she was 18, but as we shall read, it did not. Some might say it began then... her story. I'm not seeing that.

What I did see in reading this memoir is that it is much more than a story of how Mallory Weggemann became a Paralympic champion. Amazing as that is, the heroic journey is in how a young woman chose to be more than what others imagined she could be after becoming a paraplegic.

I saw how it is possible, through choices, to be more than our circumstances—how one moves forward from pain, and devastation, and the grief caused by both.

Right alongside Mallory, I learned how we cannot ever live less of a life than we are capable of living. 

We all have disabilities. Some are just more visible than others. The thing is this: We must not let them define us. We are so much more than the artificial limits that contain us if we surrender to them.

I encourage you to experience Mallory Weggemann's victorious anthem, as sung on the pages of Limitless and on many championship podiums. It is my hope that those who do so will begin to envision a new limitless life for themselves. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 29, 2022

Book Review: The Promise Between Us by Barbara Claypole White

The Promise Between Us is a novel about a group of people living with varying degrees of anxiety. Trying to get through each day is difficult enough, then add to that that some of them are trying to keep their individual past traumas secret. The characters are flawed and their lives are complicated and messy. 



"Best selling author Barbara Claypole White writes hopeful family drama with a healthy dose of mental illness" - About The Author on goodreads.

 The Promise Between Us by Barbara Claypole White

Maisie MacDonald, 5th grader, is a quirky, young girl living with her father and step-mother. Her mother passed away when she was very young. At least, that is what she has been told. On the outside, to those who meet her, she looks and sounds confident. She has her own style of dress and is quite able to self-advocate. On the inside, she is constantly worried about things such as whether she's been bad or disrespectful. If those around her are going to die and if they do it will be her fault.  She tries to keep her fears and thoughts secret but they are starting to show to those observing her.

Callum (Cal) MacDonald is Maisie's father. He would do anything to protect his daughter. Cal has recently married Lilah. Together, they are working together to sort out the intricacies of becoming a family. They are aware that Maisie has some anxiety; especially about transferring to middle school after 6th grade. 

Uncle Jake,  "who's Dad Point Two" as Maisie refers to him, is a family friend (Cal's best friend) who has helped raise Maisie thus far. On one hand, he is a shallow, handsome actor. On the other hand, he cares for Maisie deeply and probably understands her the most.

Katie Mack is an artist that is volunteering at a program for 6th graders.  Even though Maisie is only a 5th grader, she and her friend have been enrolled in this program. Katie and Maisie meet at the art museum. Katie has struggled with debilitating (life-threatening) anxiety and OCD with fire being one of her main fears. She responded by taking control of those fears to the best of her ability and learning to weld and create metal sculptures. Maisie is drawn to Katie's work. 

Personal Thoughts About The Promise Between Us

Perhaps I enjoyed this story so much because I work with children who have a variety of mental health diagnoses. Day after day, I am both exhausted by the work AND exhilarated by something said or done by these unique individuals. Day after day I have the thought that if we (the allegedly "normal" folks) tried a little harder to listen or understand our lives would be that much more enriched. Instead, we generally try to teach others to "act right" or "behave" or think a certain way. I enjoyed The Promise Between Us because of it's real portrayal of characters who are struggling. 

There are a small number of reviews that mentioned their dislike of the repetition in the story. The truth is, that is the reality of anxiety and Obsessive Compulsive Disorder. Repetitive and intrusive thoughts that occur over and over and over.  That sort of repetition is what real humans live with on a daily basis. Although, difficult to read at points (yes, it is repetitive) it is part of what made this story so believable and made the characters real. If the repetition irks you, imagine what it is like to try to live a productive life with that happening in your head.

Warning: This book deals with difficult subjects related to anxiety, OCD, and trauma. There are difficult scenes in the story that may trigger some people.  And if it were a movie, it would carry a warning for nudity/sex. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 27, 2022

The Big Dark Sky by Dean Koontz – Book Review

Dean Koontz is a master storyteller. His fiction journey began when he was a senior in college and won an Atlantic Monthly fiction competition. Since then, he has never stopped writing.



Koontz latest book published in 2022, The Big Dark Sky, is all we have come to expect from this master of suspense.


Synopsis


Image by Daniel Burkett  from Pixabay 
The setting is Montana where, as a girl, Joanna Chase lived on a ranch until tragedy changed her life. At age 9, after both parents die, Joanna goes to live with an aunt in Santa Fe, New Mexico.


Now it is twenty-five years later. Joanna is a writer still living in Santa Fe. She has only vague memories of the past until she begins to receive pleas – by phone, through her TV, in her dreams.


I am in a dark place, Jojo. Please come and help me.


Unable to ignore these desperate pleas, Joanna is compelled to return to Montana.  Unknown to her until she arrives back at Rustling Willows Ranch, other people, including a scientist, a boy from Joanna's childhood, a private investigator and a computer expert, have also been drawn to this isolated area in Montana, haunted by a sense of imminent danger.


Meanwhile, on the outskirts of this remote ranch, a madman lurks with a disturbing vision which tells him that mass murder is the only way to save the future. 


Summary


Available on Amazon

The synchronicity of coincidences brings together this band of strangers under Montana's big dark sky. Will they be able to defeat the threat that could spell the end for humanity? 

The Big Dark Sky is listed as a #1 Bestseller in Amazon's Science Fiction Adventures~


More Reviews of Books by Dean Koontz:




*The Big Dark Sky – Book Review by Wednesday Elf


  










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 26, 2022

A Regrettable Proposal: A Regency Romance (Memorable Proposals Book 1) by Jennie Goutet Reviewed

This is the first book written by Jennie Goutet that I have read, but it won't be the last! 

I have stayed up late, into the wee hours of the morning, for the last two nights reading "A Regrettable Proposal" because I was so absorbed in the story. I simply could not put the book down, even though my eyelids keep closing out of sheer exhaustion. I would wake with a start and begin reading again.  While I desperately needed sleep, I hated it when I got to the ending of the book. Fortunately, there are two more books in the series.  I will start reading book 2 tonight and I can hardly wait. 

Like all Regency Romance novels, this historical story takes place in 19th century England. "A Regrettable Proposal" follows the traditional style of writing by being clean & wholesome to read. It beckons us back to a time of elegance, balls, elaborate ballgowns, horse drawn carriages, and high society. 

In my personal opinion, it is the mark of an extraordinary writer to be able to captivate a reader with a romantic story absent explicit sex, foul language, or extreme violence. 

 

A Regrettable Proposal Synopsis
1812 - London, England

 A Regrettable Proposal: A Regency Romance (Memorable Proposals Book 1)Check PriceStratford Tunstall never expected to be the fifth Earl of Worthing, but when both of his male cousins were killed in war and his uncle died, he fell heir to the Worthing estate, title, and responsibilities. "Family members who had not cared to know him before now would descend upon him at Worthing."  Also, his uncle had taken a ward under his protective wing many years ago and she was also being summoned to the reading of the will.

Eleanor Daventry had no idea what was about to happen to her, but she knew she would survive somehow.  She had been fortunate that her father's long time friend, the fourth Earl of Worthing, had provided for her since her father's death. Under his guardianship, she had received an excellent education and he had already provided for her upcoming "first season" to be presented to society.  While the expectations would be for her to secure a titled suitor, she would prefer to secure a job and marry for love. Regardless, she would try to enjoy her season in London with her best friend, Lydia Ingram, from school.    

The reading of the will surprised everyone, especially Eleanor. Now, what must she do?  

The reading of the will also made Stratford wonder what he must do.  

___________

 

While the Regency time period paints the picture of elegance, beauty, gentility & tranquility, people have always been human. Therefore, there has always been pride, arrogance, envy, & harsh realities. 

This Regency Romance novel is one I can highly recommend to anyone who enjoys historical romantic fiction.


At publishing time of this review, "A Regrettable Proposal" is available for free with a Kindle Unlimited Subscription. Or, you can purchase it with the link below.






House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, August 25, 2022

Sharing Your Memories

Sharing Your Memories
Have you ever wanted to share your memories for your grandchildren and future generations?  There are so many ways to accomplish that and yet, sometimes it is hard to know where to begin.  You could record yourself talking about your memories, write them out by hand into some type of book or type them into various memory book programs.  In this post I will review three of the different methods I have used to share memories with my grandkids.

Memory Book

When my oldest two granddaughters were 13-14 years old, they went through Confirmation at their church. As a gift for each of them I presented them with a book of memories from my life.  The book I used was called, Grandmothers Memories to her Grandchild (a journal of faith and love).


This book has pages for you to write small paragraphs about yourself and other family members.  The paragraphs are interspersed with beautiful photographs of Thomas Kinkaid paintings and faith-based prose.

The book has a place to add the members of your family tree and a page about your birthday, full name and place of birth.  In addition to these pages there are many other topics for you to write your memories.  Here are a few of the topics:
  • What happened in the world when you were born?
  • My favorite verse about love.
  • The best thing about being your grandmother.
  • Memories of my Mother.
  • Memories of my Father.
  • Favorite photos of you and me.
  • Favorite Bible verse.
There are many other subjects that help to give you ideas of what to write.  I found this book easy to write and I like the way it turned out.  I wrote in the book over a 6-month time frame to give me time to think about each subject and then put down my thoughts.

Story Worth Book

On Mother's Day, my son and daughter-in-law gave me a subscription to the "Story Worth" memory book.  Each week I was emailed a question from the company and then I would write my answer to the question and add any photos that I had that would go with that subject.  At the end of 52 weeks the questions and answers, along with the photos were put into a book.   Here is the cover from my book.
Here are a few of the topics from my book.  They are all listed in the index of the book.
  • How did you feel when your first child was born?
  • Which fads did you embrace while growing up?
  • Describe one of you most memorable birthdays.
  • What is one of your favorite memories of your mother?
  • Did you have a car in high school?
  • Who are the best cooks in your family?
  • What did you read as a child?
  • Who inspires you?
  • What simple pleasures of life do you truly enjoy?
  • If you could choose any talent to have, what would it be?
  • Tell me about your siblings.
This is just a sampling of the questions to give you an idea of the types of questions in the book.  If you are sent a question that just doesn't work for you, you can ask for a replacement question.  I did this a couple of time during the year but after some thought I found I could find something to write for every question.

Shutterfly Book

After making memory books of my life, my husband and I decided we would also like some books made of his memories.  I have always made a photo book each year using the format in Shutterfly.  In looking at their options I found that I could also use pages of text in Shutterfly in addition or instead of photos.  We decided this would be a good option for making a book of my husband's memories.

We started with some basic questions that he answered, and that I put in the book along with corresponding photographs.  We then looked at all the questions that I answered in my books, and we used those questions as a starting point for his book.  Each week I give him one or two questions.  I then add the answers to the book.   I also go through old photo albums and copy any photos that will work with the questions.  We are still in the process of creating this book, but I really like the way it is turning out.

Whatever method you decide to use, I encourage you to get started.  I think it is good to do it over several months to a year.  At the end of the project, you will have a wonderful sense of accomplishment and your family will have a wonderful gift from you.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, August 18, 2022

One Thousand Wells - Book Review

 

It takes audacity to dream of providing clean water for one thousand African communities. Beyond that, for twenty-one-year-old Jena Lee, what it would really take was learning what love requires—learning to love the world in all its brokenness, rather than trying to save it.

Of course, a love like that is born of risk, and doubt, and sometimes even, disillusionment. A love like that engenders a humbling vulnerability that can shake you to your core.

One Thousand Wells is the memoir you write after, or amidst, the transformation that has stirred your spirit and connected your deep gladness to the world's deep thirst. First, though, to identify that purpose and mission—that soul level gladness—you must find the stories that sing to you. For Lee, those stories came from people who had typically been overlooked. 

Before Africa, Jena found herself drawn to the plight of the homeless. While volunteering at a Red Cross Shelter during high school, Lee discovered that among the homeless she had found her home. In the midst of their brokenness, Jena found that which is sacred.

When one has an overpowering sense of calling, there can be overwhelming questions: Where to begin? What to do? With whom to partner? How to inspire others to care about what you find to be most important in the world? 

Without visibility and a powerful platform, even the best of intentions can fail to advance a desperately needed mission. Fortunately, there would be no failure to launch. With perfect timing, Jena Lee was connected to the Grammy Award-winning band Jars of Clay. Together, they would co-found the nonprofit Blood:Water and find the way forward.

For anyone with a heart for spreading love where it is needed most, Jena Lee Nardella's journey of outreach and inreach is sure to encourage action. How will we respond? What won't get done if not for us?

Let us each find that intersection where our deep gladness meets the world's deep need.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Katherine Faulkner's Greenwich Park Book Review

Katherine Faulkner's Greenwich Park is a domestic psychological thriller. Learn more here.

The cover of Katherine Faulkner’s Greenwich Park reads, “gripping and haunting and gorgeously suspenseful” and I agree. I was drawn to the book by the title, a romanticized area of London, England, and by the artwork. 

Greenwich Park the book is a murder mystery of the best sort. It draws you in. Pick it up and you might not want to put it down. Pick it up and you will find yourself guessing whodunit. I failed at the guessing of who did it, which I expect is good because it means the book has twists and turns.  I thoroughly enjoyed the journey. 

Greenwich Park is a domestic psychological thriller that is set in the current day in the south east of London. It tells the story of a pregnant woman’s privileged life in a stately Victorian home and of her family and friends. Off work because of her history with difficult pregnancies and because of current health concerns, the main character, Helen, finds herself bored and lonely. That is, until she befriends a woman named Rachel. Rachel is also pregnant but embraces none of the care that many women exercise when they are pregnant. She smokes and she drinks and she is not very interested in her body or her unborn baby. She’s loud and she's obnoxious but, however, she is fun and she quickly manages to infiltrate Helen’s tidy little world. But is it really tidy?

Helen has been described as someone who has everything including “a perfect husband, a perfect brother and a perfect sister-in-law. When she meets Rachel, she also has the perfect nightmare.” 

I like Crime by the Book’s three-point list of reasons to read the book. She says that it pulls back the curtain on the lives of people who appear to have picture-perfect lives, that it is a story of obsession and cat-and-mouse tension and that it is intricate and effortlessly told. 

If it helps, Crime by the Book says that this book is similar to books to those written by Lisa Jewell, who I have yet to read.

FAST FACTS:


Author – Katherine Faulkner
Format – Hardcover, paperback, Kindle, audiobook, audio CD
Genre – Domestic Psychological Thriller
Pages - 375
Publication Date – September 13, 2021
Publisher – Simon & Shuster
ISBN Number – 978-1-9821-5031-0

If you love a good thriller, you will enjoy Greenwich Park. The book is definitely dark, looking into the world of pregnancy and early motherhood, of friendships, of privileged lives lived and, of course, of the secrets that people keep. I think that it is an excellent first novel, which the author wrote while she herself was on maternity leave.  The rights to the book have been sold and I will be watching for a movie or television series as well as for a second book by Faulkner. Meanwhile, you can order your copy of Greenwich Park from Amazon by clicking right here.

See you 
at the book store!
Brenda



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 13, 2022

The Investigator by John Sandford – A Book Review

 A Letty Davenport Novel



John Sandford has written 31 books in the 'Prey' series starring Lucus Davenport.

In an early Prey novel, Lucus, an agent for the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) meets Letty, a 12-year-old living in rural Red River valley. Letty ends up the center of a series of killings, and when her mother becomes one of those murdered, orphaned Letty becomes a ward of Lucus and his wife, Weather. 


As the Prey series continues, Letty is featured in several other stories. First as the Davenport's ward, then as their adopted daughter, fans of this series of novels enjoy following the antics and adventures of Letty as part of the Davenport family, watching her grow up and go off to college. 


The Investigator Novel


Available on Amazon
The Investigator is the first novel to star Letty Davenport as the central character. Now 24 years old and a college graduate, we find Letty working in Washington, D.C. in a desk job for a U.S. Senator. Restless and bored, Letty is ready to quit when she is offered a task she can't refuse: a real investigator job through the senator's office in conjunction with the Department of Homeland Security. 






The Plot


Image Source: Pixabay

Several oil companies in Texas have reported thefts of crude oil. Letty's assignment is to uncover not only who is stealing and selling the oil, but learn what the thieves are doing with the profits. Rumors link this to a radical militia group and the Department of Homeland Security is extremely worried about the stolen profits financing a domestic terrorism plot. 


Letty is partnered with a DHS investigator, John Kaiser. As the two head to Texas, the case quickly turns deadly. Letty and John now know they are on the track of something bigger. This militia group, led by a woman, has set in motion an explosive plan and time is running out for them to stop it.


Summary


This fan of Sandford's Prey Series is delighted to see a favorite minor character become the main character in her own crime fiction story. I have a feeling that the author is planning a new series starring this delightful and talented young lady ~ Letty Davenport. 


Related Links:



Book 1 of 1: Letty Davenport - An Amazon Editor's pick of Best Mystery, Thriller & Suspense: 



*Book review of The Investigator is written by Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, August 11, 2022

Update on Book Club

 


In January of 2020 I wrote a review on Book Clubs.  If you are interested in starting a book club, I would recommend you read that review here Review of Book ClubsIn that review you will find out how the book club I belong to is set up and how we handle the meetings.  In this post I will update you on what we have been doing since that last review and a little bit about some of the books we have been reading.

Our Book Club in 2020/2021

As you can all imagine 2020/2021 was a bit challenging for our bookclub.  With the pandemic we had to look at how we could do it differently.  We didn't meet at all for the first few months, but then in the summer of 2020 we all ventured out and met on my deck, where we could wear masks and social distance with each other.  We hadn't picked any one book to read, but rather all discussed what books we had been reading.  During the rest of 2020 we only met one more time in someone's family room where we could spread apart.  In 2021 we decided to venture out and start choosing monthly books.  A few didn't make it at first, but eventually most of our members returned to our monthly meetings.  

We read 11 books in a year, skipping the month of December where we all meet for a holiday luncheon instead of our regular meeting.  In the next section I will discuss the last 11 books we have read.


Books we have Read in the Last Year

  • When we started meeting again on a regular basis one of the first books we read was Educated by Tara Westover.  It was a very thought-provoking book that gave us lots to discuss.  Fellow reviewer Olivia Morris has also read the book and wrote a review which will tell you a lot more about the book. Educated
  • The next book we read was The Book of Two Ways by Jodi Piccoult.   Jodi Piccoult is a favorite author that always spends a lot of time researching the books that she writes.  This book deals with Egyptology along with discovering the relationships of the people involved.  Most of our members really liked the book, although a few wished it had a bit less technical items on Egyptology.
  • The Giver of Stars was a book we read by Jo Jo Moyes. This book takes place in depression-era America in the hills of Kentucky.  It starts with Alice who has married a rich American to escape the stifling rules of her parents in England.  She soon finds that the hills of Kentucky can be just as stifling, and she signs up to be a traveling librarian from Eleanor Roosevelts new plan to bring books to rural America.  The book shows us the brave women who worked this program and their relationships.  It is based on a true story, and we found it very intriguing.
  • The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson is another book about the traveling book program.  You can read more about it in the review that I wrote.  The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek and also one that fellow reviewer Dawn wrote Here .
  • The next book we read was Gray Mountain by John Grisham. This book deals with mining and many of the legal battles the ensue when it is abused.  It is very well written, and you can really become involved with the characters.
  • The Hypnotists Love Story is a novel by Liane Moriarity.  We have read several books by this author and know they will always give us a lively discussion. This one did not disappoint.
  • The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton is a wonderful mystery that takes place in Australia in the early 1900's.  It is a work of historical fiction.
  • The Husband's Secret is another book by Liane Moriarity.  Everyone enjoyed the discussion on this book, and we delved a lot into secrets and what we would tell and what we would not.
  • Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman was our next book. It was a very interesting book about a young woman who lives a very structured life.  She struggles with everyday social skills and tends to say exactly what she is thinking.  This all changes when she meets Raymond.  You must read this book to find out more!
  • Wish You Were Here by Jodi Piccoult.  This was my favorite book this year.  In this book Jodi tackles a very timely subject as the book begins in March of 2020 just at the start of the pandemic.  I wrote a review of the book which you can find at Wish You Were Here. 
  • A Divided Loyalty by Charles Todd is a detective story which takes place in England.  It features Scotland Yard detective Ian Rutledge and is an interesting mystery.  We had a good discussion on the methods used to solve the mystery.
  • The last book on my list is the one we will be discussing this month.  I have read the book and thoroughly enjoyed it.  It is Mitch Albom's Finding Chika. Fellow reviewer Pat Austin (aka Wednesday Elf) has written a review on this book. Finding Chika

I Hope you enjoyed hearing about these books and perhaps you will find one or more you'd like to read yourself.  Happy Reading!!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 5, 2022

Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 1) Reviewed

Silver Dollar Duke
I am quickly becoming a big fan of historical fiction books written by Sally Britton. Previously, I read the Supposed Scandal series and loved all three books.  

Silver Dollar Duke is the first book in the "Hearts of Arizona" series and I really enjoyed the story. I have no doubt I will love the next 2 books in this series as well. I plan to start reading the second book, Copper for the Countess, immediately.

I wasn't sure how an American silver dollar would relate to an English duke, but I was rather intrigued by the title. Turns out, the silver dollar played a big part in the duke's life, but I won't ruin that touch of mystery for you by sharing that significance in this review.

This is a rather light, entertaining read that any historical romance fiction fan would enjoy. In most of the books I read, the female is the central focus of the story. While there is a prominent female character, the duke and his childhood dreams are the highlight of this book.

 

Silver Dollar Duke Synopsis

As the second son of a marquess in England, Evan Rounsevell had his life mapped out for him. He knew he would be required to “work” for his father even though all of the family property would be inherited by his older brother, and then his brother's son. 

 Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 1)Check PriceDuke didn't resent the expectations or family obligations, but he did have a lifelong dream. As a child, he had met Buffalo Bill and had seen him perform. Duke wanted to visit the wild west of America and experience being a cowboy firsthand before he was completely entrenched in England. He spent his childhood learning to shoot, practicing lassoing a cow by lassoing sheep, and riding horses. As an adult, he knew he would have to run away for a little while to have the opportunity to make his dream come true. That is exactly what he did! 

Duke quickly found himself running out of money as he traveled across America. He needed a job to continue his adventure and for his return ticket home. When he met the Bolton brothers in Tombstone, Arizona, they offered him a job as a ranch hand on their father’s ranch along with the promise of getting to participate in a cattle drive. Duke was thrilled by this fabulous, once in a lifetime opportunity. It was exactly what he had always desired. 

There were some unexpected experiences in his wild west journey including falling in love with the ranch owner's daughter, Daniella "Dannie" Bolton.

The last thing Dannie needed was another "temporary" man in her life. From the very beginning, Duke had made it clear that he had to return to England. They agreed to be friends and nothing more, but the "best laid plans" often go awry.

 Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 1)Check Price Copper for the Countess: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 2)Check Price A Lady's Heart of Gold: An American Victorian Romance (Hearts of Arizona Book 3)Check Price Silver Dollar Duke: An American Victorian Romance - AudioCheck Price

 



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com





House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X