Saturday, October 2, 2021

Reviewing Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney

I loved Sometimes I Lie by Alice Feeney but be warned you need to concentrate when reading it as it has some delicious twists in the storyline.


Sometimes I Lie reviewed - a dark psychological thriller with a number of twists
Image created via Canva by Lou16

When I was looking for a new book to read I came across this one and this is how it was described on Amazon:

My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me.

1. I’m in a coma

2. My husband doesn’t love me any more

3. Sometimes I lie

Unnerving, twisted and utterly compelling, you won’t be able to put this thriller down. Perfect for fans of Behind Closed Doors, The Girl on the Train and The Woman in the Window.

This totally intrigued me so I then looked at some of the reviews and a number of the reviewers said that they were left confused or that their minds were messed up and I just knew I was going to enjoy it.

If psychological thrillers are your thing then you will really love this, but it's certainly not one you can read with distractions as there are a number of twists to this story.

The book is absolutely amazing for a debut novel and I cannot wait to read more of Alice Feeney's work.

There are three storylines running through the book: firstly the present where Amber is in a coma; secondly in the days leading up to the accident that put her in a coma and thirdly there are diary entries from fifteen years prior.

I enjoy a dark psychological thriller and this book ticked a lot of boxes for me, I found it really chilling in places (especially the diary entries).  It is definitely not something you can read while doing anything else though as there's a lot of things to keep track of and, remember, do not take anything at face value!

I don't want to put much information about the storyline as I don't want to ruin it for anyone, just trust me this is a book for you if you loved The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins, And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie or The Three Women by Valerie Keoch.

Do you enjoy psychological thrillers?





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

5 comments:

  1. Oh Lou, this looks like the kind of book I could sink my teeth into. I like thrillers that mess with my head! So I think I will put this on my to read list right now. Can I read this just before going to bed or will I be up all night? Oh it doesn't matter, if it's a good story I will read it anyway and anytime. Here's to a sleepless night!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've enjoyed psychological thrillers in the past and this one sounds like one I would like. Thanks for introducing me to 'Sometimes I Lie'.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Well, I am quite intrigued! Psychological thrillers are not my normal fare, but I do enjoy a really good one on occasion. Clearly, this is one I must read. Adding it to my kindle to await a rainy day when I have no other distractions.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Psychological thrillers are definitely not my thing, but this one sounds like a real humdinger for fans of this genre!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I can see this being an incredibly fascinating and compelling read for all lovers of psychological thrillers. Thank you for your review !

    ReplyDelete

Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X