Thursday, April 16, 2015

Review of Zazzle Placemats, Napkins and Kitchen Towels

Festive placemats, napkins and kitchen towels are a great way to show your personality in your kitchen.  Zazzle makes it easy was some great products that you can custom to fit your decor.  They also make great gifts for showers, birthdays, and weddings.

Placemats

Placemats are a wonderful way to accent your dining room table.  Zazzle helps by providing you some great products that you can customize with your own photographs, drawings, or monograms.  These placemats measure 20x14 and are made of 100% woven cotton.  The fabric is all natural fibers and is made in the USA.  These placemats are machine washable.
I created the placemat above from a photograph I took.  The pretty pink wildflowers were blooming along a trail I was walking in Shaw Nature Reserve just outside of St. Louis, Missouri.

The placemat below of beautiful green flowers was created by my friend and fellow Review This author Sylvestermouse.


Napkins

Cloth napkins are a wonderful addition to the dining room place settings.  With Zazzle you can create personalized napkins to fit your needs.  The possibilities are endless!  You might create some with holiday scenes for a favorite holiday, or perhaps napkins with photos of someone who is celebrating a special birthday.  Another idea would be to pick a theme that you enjoy or perhaps a favorite vacation that you enjoyed and add photos to the napkins.

Here are some of the features of the napkins:
  • Come in sets of 4
  • Measure 20x20
  • 100% woven cotton
  • Made in USA
  • Machine Washable
The napkin above is one I created from my photographs of a trip to Minnesota lighthouses.  The top two lighthouses are from Two Harbors, the bottom left is from Duluth harbor and the bottom right lighthouse is Split Rock Lighthouse.

For more of my lighthouse photos on Zazzle products stop by my pinterest board.
Follow Mary Granger's board Lighthouses on Zazzle on Pinterest.

Kitchen Towels

Colorful kitchen towels can add a cheerful touch to your kitchen.  I like to change my towels to fit the seasons and various holiday.  With Zazzle you can customize your kitchen towels to fit your desires.  These kitchen towels make great gifts too.  You might want to add a monogram for a newly married couple, create a festive Christmas towel using photographs from your last years Christmas tree, or create one with a design to match you kitchen decor.
Zazzle kitchen towels are made in the USA from a fabric that is a woven polyester/polamide blend. Each towel measures 16x24 and is machine washable. The towel below is one I created from a photo of a sunflower. Wouldn't this look great in a yellow kitchen?
Golden Sunflower Kitchen Towels
Golden Sunflower Kitchen Towels by mbgphoto
Browse other hand towel designs on Zazzle.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 15, 2015

Reviewing Around The Corner Crochet Borders

My Favorite Book For Crochet Borders


Do you get stuck when it comes to putting a border on your latest crochet blanket? Perhaps my review of this wonderful book Around the Corner Crochet Borders will help solve your dilemma from now on. It certainly has helped me with my projects! My only problem now is to narrow it down to which lovely border I want to try!

crochet borders book


Since I retired from my job, I have taken up the hobby of crocheting again. My husband might say that it is more of an obsession than a hobby but we won't go there today.

What I love About Edie Eckman's book


I don't know about you but I have tried to read many a crochet pattern in my day and some of them just do not make much sense. In Edie Eckman's book Around the Corner Crochet Borders pages are filled with easy to understand directions. She also shows a diagram of each border with the stitches and I love that. Sometimes when the words sound confusing, you can look at the diagram and it suddenly makes sense. At least for me, it does. 

There are over 150 borders to choose from and let me tell you, I want to try about 120 or more of them. They are that unique and lovely! Edie also spends time in the front of the book explaining about the math of choosing and creating a border for your piece. Yes, there is a bit of a science to it all! I'm sure that you have probably tried a border and it either bent forward or began to ruffle and that was not the result you wanted. The book will teach you how to get it right every time. By the way, if that border was bending forward you did not have enough stitches for the multiples you needed and if it ruffled you had too many stitches in your border for the width or length of the piece. 

crochet border

The above picture is a border that I made from the book. It is border #20 on pages 64 and 65. Isn't it cute? In the past, I would have just put the old standby of a shell border and honestly, would have been disappointed in it. I like the shells but they are just so ordinary. Oh, another thing, with each border instruction, Edie shares the multiples that are needed to properly fit the border to the measurements of your piece. That helps to narrow your choices down according to the stitch count that your piece has.

I know that I am reviewing the border book but I thought that I would also like to offer a tip on crochet hooks. I love the ergonomic ones like the one below.

ergonomic crochet hooks
Ergonomic Crochet hooks

They are my hook of choice when doing any project because the soft grips are more comfortable to use especially when I am going to crochet for long spans of time.

If you love to crochet and want some extraordinary ideas for borders, I highly recommend Around The Corners Crochet Borders by Edie Eckman. I am thrilled that I purchased it and I plan to purchase other books by the same author. She has written it all in a way that I can understand but more importantly that I can actually use.

crochet work with border

I created a sample piece for border #20 that I mentioned above just to make sure that I understand the math and the directions. What will I do with my little sample? As a Grandmother to four little girls, it will be a doll blanket for one of them. I hope you have enjoyed my review of this book, if you have any questions please feel free to ask in the comments section below. I know you will enjoy this book if you crochet and if you have been looking for something to give as a gift to someone who crochets; this book  Around the Corners Crochet Borders would be treasured by the person you give it to.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 12, 2015

How to Prevent a Door from Hitting A Wall or Closet with a Door Stop Hinge

Door Stop Hinge
Do you have a mirrored closet door that needs to be protected from a door handle that hits it when opened? And of course, being a mirrored closet, a regular door stop won't work?
A Review of a Product that Solves the Problem!
Well if so, after a bit of research, I found the perfect door stop to use that literally takes minutes to install, doesn't require any drilling, and won't stand out as an eyesore.
Hinge Pin Door Stops are a terrific little gadget that simply slip into the top hinge pin of the door causing the rubber protector to stop against the door frame and thus prevent the door or door handle from hitting the wall, closet door, or mirrored closet door beside it.
Several of the rooms in our home have mirrored closet doors that happen to be close to the main entry door of the room itself. 
The main washroom in our home is an example; when you open the washroom door, the handle can crash into the mirrored closet door and potentially break the glass. 
The floor in our washroom is ceramic, so a floor mounted door stop would be too much work to install, not to mention the awful thought of drilling into the ceramic!
The Hinge we Installed to Protect
Our Mirrored Closet Doors
So after going on the hunt for a solution, I came across the wonderful little gadget called a 'door stop hinge'. My husband literally put it on the door in five minutes.
We also used one for a door where the door would hit the wall before it would hit the door stop; for years it bothered me that our door was getting marked up, and now, after repainting our door and placing a hinge pin door stop in the top hinge...problem solved.
By Barbara Tremblay Cipak




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 10, 2015

How to Embed Your Pinterest Board in Your Blog Post

http://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/2015/04/reviewing-how-to-embed-your-pinterest.html
I am always looking for new ways to improve and increase the ways I can easily create displays for my websites and blog posts. I recently discovered how to embed a Pinterest Board in a blog post here on Blogger, as well as on websites.

I love using Pinterest! It is not only a great way for me to share my photos, articles and favorite craft tutorials, but it is also an excellent way for me to find new ideas and products.

Being able to create a specific niche board on Pinterest is really awesome. Being able to share that board with others via a blog post, is most excellent!


How to Create and Embed the Pinterest Board HTML Code


You are going to laugh at how easy it is to create and embed your individual Pinterest board. It takes only a moment to do either of these displays!


To Create This Pinterest Board, Simply


https://business.pinterest.com/en/widget-builder#do_embed_board
  • Click Here
  • Then, copy the Pinterest Board URL that you wish to display and paste it in the box. 
  • Select the size of your display from the Custom Sizes ~ Square is Shown Above
  • Click "Build It"
  • Copy and Paste the Generated Code into the html section of Your Blog Post
  •  



To Create This Pinterest Board, Simply


https://business.pinterest.com/en/widget-builder#do_embed_board
  • Click Here
  • Then, copy the Pinterest Board URL that you wish to display and paste it in the box. 
  • Select "Roll Your Own" in the Custom Sizes options
  • Select Image Width 80, Board Height 400, Board Width 800
  • Click "Build It"
  • Copy and Paste the Generated Code into the html section of Your Blog Post
  •  
There are several size options available or you can play with the display size by simply changing the numbers in the "roll your own" section.   The size I used here was the board size that I thought looked best on this particular site.

These boards are generated feeds and the looks will change each time you add a new pin to your board.


Using an Embedded Pinterest Board   


There are many ways and places that online writers might wish to use an embedded Pinterest board.  One example that immediately comes to me is if you are publishing a recipe article, you could embed your recipe Pinterest board at the bottom of  your article to show additional recipes.

If a reader clicks on one of the pictures on the embedded board, it will allow them to immediately repin the original pin, which means they could easily repin every image link showing on the board without ever leaving your article.

If a reader clicks on the "See on Pinterest" button at the bottom of the embedded board, the link will take them to the actual board on Pinterest and they can explore all of your recipes / articles on that board.

Personally, I think this is a fabulous tool for online writers and I would highly recommend trying it out.  You may well see a huge increase in not only your Pinterest traffic and repins, but also in the traffic to your other articles showing on a displayed board.



Now, just for fun, 

Here is a Gifts for Mothers Shopping Board just in time for you to make your selections for 

Mother's Day!


Pinterest Board is hosted by Sylvestermouse, but Includes
GIFT SUGGESTIONS FROM MULTIPLE CONTRIBUTORS

(Image Weight: 100, Board Height: 350, Board Width: 600)




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, April 9, 2015

Photographing Florida Wildlife

Florida has some wonderful birds and other wildlife that are very different from what I am used to seeing in the Midwest.  When I am vacationing in Florida I enjoy photographing the wildlife. On this page I will review some of the photographs I took of Florida wildlife.

Brown Pelican

I love taking a walk down the pier at Jupiter Inlet and watch the Brown Pelican's which are very prevalent in that area.  It is easy to get a photograph of the pelicans as they sit on the rocks near the pier.  These beautiful creatures can also be seen diving for fish in the area.  I wrote an article on brown pelicans and you will find more of my photos and information on the pelicans at Brown Pelican Photos.

Geckos

 These fascinating little creatures were everywhere around our condo in Florida.  I couldn't walk down the sidewalk without one running out in front of me.  My friend told me they were Amonolies, but I'm not really sure.  I tried to look them up online and found there are over 1500 species of Geckos worldwide.  I'm not sure what type these are but they sure are cute.  Usually they move way to fast to get a good photo, but one day I was taking a walk and the little guy up above was basking in the sun on the sidewalk just begging to have his photo taken.  Of course I had my camera with me and was able to capture this photo.  If you know what type of Gecko or Amonolie this is, please leave a note in the comment section.

Birds and Ducks after a Rain

Behind our condo was a park with a great walking trail along the edges.  In the middle the ground was lower and when it rained it filled with water.  One day after a rain, birds and ducks flocked to the area.  I grabbed my camera and was able to capture the photos below.  I think the white birds are Egrets but I don't know the names of the others. Again, if you can enlighten me please leave a comment.



Pelican on Beach Mouse Pad
Pelican on Beach Mouse Pad by mbgphoto
View more Pelican Mousepads at zazzle.com
Pelicans on Piers Posters
Pelicans on Piers Posters by mbgphoto
See more Pelicans Posters at zazzle.com



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 8, 2015

Review Your Digital Footprint

How to Review Your Digital Footprint -- tips to keep your online browsing safe and secure

Watch where you travel on the web and review where you've left your digital footprint. Every click you make can be recorded and analyzed in the blink of an eye.

There's been some talk among my friends about how their web habits have changed recently. They don't feel as comfortable being online these day. And, they don't know what kind of effect the web is having on their lives and on their futures.

Some friends are concerned because they believe careless online remarks can permanently damage a reputation. Others are concerned because social media seems to consume our lives. A few are glad the Internet wasn't around when they were growing up. And, most are concerned about being watched as they click from one site to another.

All of them agree, their web surfing habits are changing to a more cautious and thoughtful way of navigating in the online world to reap the benefits and avoid the risks.

Reasons to Review Your Digital Footprint


Read Coletta Teske's review of The Reputation Economy by Michael Fertik
In his book, The Reputation Economy, Michael Fertik tells us that "we've reached a point where the safest assumption is that every digital interaction you have is being permanently recorded in at least once place."

Think about how your web travels are recorded.
  • Websites use cookies to keep track of the pages you visit. 
  • Social media sites ask you to include personal information in your profile. 
  • Shopping sites store your contact and credit card information. 
  • Employers scan the resumes they collect into digital databases.
And the list goes.

When you add up all of the places you visited, all of the cookies you've collected and all of your online purchases, you have your digital footprint. Armed with your web surfing habits, any computer can crunch the data and make a prejudicial decision about the kind of person you are.

What can you do? You can either completely erase your digital footprint or conduct a digital audit to clean up your online profile.

Review Your Online Profile


In the Guide to Rethinking Resumes, Richard N. Bolles tells job seekers that "you can manage or remove anything online that might disturb a prospective employer, prior to that employer's Googling you."

Over 90% of employers check an applicant's "search engine resume" before they consider interviewing that person. Many of these searches reveal some reason for an applicant to be rejected.

There are several ways to clean up how you appear in the search engine results.
  • Type your name into every search engine and delete those posts that appear unfavorable. 
  • Scan your social media profiles and delete questionable posts. 
  • Use a service such as Reppler.com to review your social media accounts and find posts that you might want to delete.

Clean Up Your Online Profiles


If you want a fast and easy way to go through your major social media accounts and see how well you're scoring, check out Reppler. Reppler scans your Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Picasa, Flickr and YouTube accounts to give you an impression score, a list of your inappropriate posts, a look at your online profile and a notice of any security risks.


These are my results on Reppler (I've blurred the images for my network of friends). Even though I have always been careful about what I say and what I post online, it's still easy to mention something that may be considered inappropriate by others.

Reppler provides more explanation for each of areas, just click the MORE link for each section. You'll find tips to improve your image score and secure your social media accounts.

These are just a few of the ways to give yourself a digital footprint checkup. Have you changed your web browsing habits as data collection on the web has become more sophisticated? What are you doing to cope in this new world of digital data collection and data analysis?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, April 7, 2015

A Review of Products That Help Me Get a Good Nights Sleep


Do You Have Trouble Getting a Good Night's Sleep?




I find it hard to fall asleep. Not only am I very distracted by any sounds that aren’t relaxing, I’m also pretty wound up before I go to bed. I do most of my writing at night, and often the ideas are still buzzing around my head when it hits the pillow. Many times I’m not even sleepy. I’m only going to bed because I know it’s past time. 

A Review of Products That Help Me Get a Good Nights Sleep
My Son Asleep on Floor of Motel Room, © B. Radisavljevic

Some people, like my son in the picture, can  fall asleep almost anywhere, as he did on this motel room floor. My husband is another one who can fall asleep the minute he puts his head on the pillow. Sometimes he even falls asleep in his chair. Not me. 

Here's What I've Done to Start Falling Asleep Faster


Nutritional Supplements that Help Me Fall Asleep

For some time now I've been taking a couple of nutritional supplements that have helped me relax if I take them about half an hour before bed every night. One is Natrol® Melatonin 5 Mg, 250 Fast Dissolve Tablets Strawberry Flavor. It has worked better than any other Melatonin product I've tried, and I've tried a lot of them. I usually buy mine at Costco, but I have linked to Amazon here in case Costco isn't convenient for you. I also take an amino acid, Nature's Plus L-Tyrosine with B-6 500mg/50mg - 60 - Capsule. I'm  not so fussy about the brand for this. This combination helps me relax. 


Noise Blockers


I am also very sensitive to noise, and noises can keep me awake even when I'm relaxed and very tired. Before I moved here, my computer was in my bedroom and I didn’t like to turn off more than the energy- hogging display. If I tried to put it to sleep, it didn’t do any good, because for some reason I haven’t yet figured out, it suddenly woke up anyway. So as I was trying to sleep, I heard my computer working in the background, making those distracting little clicking sounds. Sometimes there were animal noises outside or the neighbor on the hill was having a very late party. Now that I've moved to the city, there are even more outside noises, as well as clicking sounds from my windows when the sun comes up. 

It seems the thing that relaxes and soothes me most when I am lying in bed is the sound of rain on the roof. It doesn’t matter how loud the rain is; it’s like a lullaby to me. I finally got the bright idea that I should look for CDs that make rain sounds. But they were hard to find. Almost all the nature sound tracks I found had more than rain in them. They had orchestral accompaniment, bird song, and other things included that although meant to enhance, only disturbed me and broke the steady sound of the rain falling.

It was only after I’d bought and tried about five other CDs that didn’t work for me that I saw Rain and Relaxation on Amazon and bought it. It’s made a great difference. If I go to bed tense or still full of creative fervor that wants to leap back to the computer and write more, I just play the CD, which I keep loaded in my CD player in my clock radio. All I have to do is press the button in the dark to start the process of calming down enough to sleep.

This also works after my early morning bladder wake-up call. At 6 AM the sun is about to rise or has already risen. The birds start making noise outside my window swamp cooler, and sometimes the neighbor’s dog is barking. Later my husband is in the kitchen making his breakfast or talking on the phone. I want to keep sleeping until about nine after my late night writing, so I play the CD again, loudly enough to block out the other noises.

I highly recommend this solution to others who find it hard to fall asleep at night or who fall back to sleep in the middle of the night after using the bathroom. It’s made a great difference in the quality of my sleep. It’s also made a great difference in my temperament in the morning when I wake up.


When Rain Alone Doesn't Do the Trick

Sometimes I need something a bit different than rain alone to put me to sleep. I have shared some of the other recordings I have used below. Although you may also feel the need for white noise, maybe something different like ocean, night nature sounds, or even electronic relaxation is what you need to do the trick. Check  these out, as well as some others that may be suggested as you look at them. 

One more hint. I have a repeat function on my CD player, but it only repeats one track. It really helps to get a CD with everything on one track. The last suggestion here, Summer Evening Serenade, is the one I currently use, since my rain cd wore out and I haven't remembered to replace it yet. It has everything on one track, and I keep it repeating all night. It used to be when a CD ended, it would wake me back up with its whirring sound as it shut off. When it keeps repeating, it doesn't do that. Some of my suggestions below are also available in digital downloads if that works for you.  

Recently I also decided to buy a white noise machine that does a fantastic job of blocking out louder sounds than the CD's  can cover up. Read my review of the Marpac DOHM-DS. 



If you have a way to watch a video on your computer until you fall asleep, I would suggest this one. When I try to put it on my computer the display goes out and I can't hear it anymore, either, so I need to use the CD's.




If You Need to Sleep During Daylight


If you sometimes need to sleep after the sun is up, I have found another useful product. I have had two  surgeries in the last year that required me to move into a one-story house to heal. Fortunately I inherited one I was mostly using for storage and entertaining from my mother , but it's in a neighborhood in the city limits, unlike our rural home. It is much noisier than in the country, and my CD's have become even more important with noisy vehicles parking outside my window and then leaving before even the roosters wake up.

This house also has lots of windows in my bedroom and they face east. Once the sun is up the room is flooded with light. After many mornings trying to keep my head under the covers to block out the sun, I finally broke down and bought this set of eye shades that comes with ear plugs -- Bedtime Bliss® Contoured & Comfortable Sleep Mask & Ear Plug Set. Includes Carry Pouch for Eye Mask and Ear Plugs - Great for Travel, Shift Work & Meditation.

I could kick myself for not getting it sooner. When I had my second surgery last December, I took them to the hospital, and you know how hard it is to have it dark there. The sleep mask was a great help in keeping light out of my eyes, though it couldn't keep the nurses from waking me up. I wasn't quite as happy with the ear plugs, but I've tried every ear plug I've been able to get my hands on, and none of them do much for me.

Begin Now To Sleep Better and Longer


If you have trouble getting a good night's sleep, I hope one of the ideas or products reviewed above will help you. Before you take any supplement, especially if you are on any prescription medications, it's best to check with your doctor first. Just because something is right for me might not mean it's right for you. The sleep mask and music I believe would help anyone. Why not click some of those links now and begin sleeping better very soon. Believe me, a good night's sleep is worth every penny it takes.  


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 5, 2015

Ready Made Figure Skating Dresses

Ready Made Figure Skating Dresses
Having spent over ten years training in this sport, the dresses played a large role  
Back In the 1970's I have to say I don't ever recall shopping for figure skating dresses; I was fortunate to have a Mom who could sew dresses for me. What I enjoyed most was being able to design my own dress styles, then mom would simply create a pattern based on that design. Thanks to Mom, I sure had some gorgeous dresses.
Nowadays, many moms are much too busy to sew their daughter's figure skating dresses so they'll either have them made by a seamstress or purchase them from a local figure skating store, other skaters, or online.
It's actually quite affordable to select a figure skating dress from Amazon. If you have to take it to a seamstress for adjustments, you can still do that. However, if the skater has a fairly typical body frame, the likelihood is the dress will fit just fine.
You'll notice the online selection is quite vast and most dresses come in alternate color choices as well as various size options.
HOW ABOUT THE FIGURE SKATING SKIRT?
Have you ever felt that you invented a new idea..lol -  I remember in the 1970's arriving at my Figure Skating Club wearing the first ever Figure Skating Skirt. I do mean 'the first'. Since I had always worn a different style top over my dresses during practice, just the skirt would be seen. So one day I asked mom, 'let's not sew a full dress, let's just do the skirt portion - we'll cut it off at the waist'. That way I can wear any top I want with it during practice, changing it daily as I always did.
Figure Skating Skirts
So there I was showing off what I believed was my invention in our skating club...after that, other club members started having them made! Of course, today they're quite common. I often wonder, did I invent this idea?
Of course you can easily find Figure Skating Skirts at Amazon as well. I've featured one here.
So go ahead and research those pre-made dresses before you decide to go to the expense of having them made! But for competition, we always love custom-made dresses don't we!
by Barbara Tremblay Cipak





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 4, 2015

Baseball Season is Back!

Wednesday Elf's Baseball Board Pin
(c) Elf's Souvenir Signed Baseball

Baseball Season begins here on the Review This! blog with a collection of  baseball stories, crafts and treats.

It's April and Springtime, which may bring those April Showers for the May Flowers, but baseball fans believe that the true first sign of Spring is the beginning of baseball season!  For all the baseball fans out there, let's check out some fun baseball stories, DIY crafts and tasty treats.









Craft a Fingerprint Baseball

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/246009198371890558/

Michelle of Crafty Morning has created an interesting baseball craft that would be perfect for an arts & crafts project to do with your children, or a fun seasonal craft to do with a Scout Troop. 

All you need is paper, paint and fingers!  

Check out the easy step-by-step directions here.

 

 

 

A Famous Baseball Sportscaster

 

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/246009198370897400/
Vin Scully

Major League Baseball Teams each have an announcer who regularly broadcasts games for their home radio or TV network.  There have been many well-known baseball sportscasters over the years, but none who have been with a team as long as Vin Scully.  Known as the Bard of Baseball, Vin Scully has been the Voice of the Dodgers through six decades. At the end of the 2016 baseball season
, at age 88, Vin retired after 67 years as the broadcaster for the Dodgers, first in Brooklyn and then in Los Angeles. 

Here is his story written by HubPages author Ellen Brundige, which she calls the Vin Scully Fanpage.

 

Baseball Cupcakes


Baseball Cupcakes
Yummy Baseball Cupcakes

Randi of Duke & Duchesses created a fun dessert that would make a great 'treat time' for after a Little League game or for a baseball-themed birthday party.

Randi's Baseball Cupcakes were done by baking a pan of cupcakes, frosting them in white frosting, then using Skittles to form the laces, placing them side by side on the frosting.





Baseball Flip Flops Flower Tutorial

 

Baseball Flip Flops
Baseball Flower Flip Flops

For the baseball mom or any fan, create a cute pair of flip flops with a flower design made from baseballs.

All you need is a pair of flip flops (new or old), 2 baseballs (anyone with kids seems to have a bunch of old ones around, or you can buy some new ones), an X-Acto knife and glue.  The 'how-to' instructions are in a YouTube video on the crafty post by KidPep, a website for Crafts, DIY and More.


The technique used for the baseball flip flops can also be used for a Baseball Hair Bow with the video on the KidPep website.

 

 

 

I'm 'Crazy About Baseball'


Your writer, Wednesday Elf, has been a baseball fan since childhood and has shared many favorite baseball memories in  “Crazy About Baseball”.

 

Opening Day of Baseball



Available on Amazon



Opening Day of the 2019 Major League Baseball Season began on March 28th.  Us baseball fans now get to enjoy 26 weeks of baseball with the 30 teams in the MLB. 


More Baseball Stories


There are many more baseball stories to check out on Review This!  Good reading for days your favorite baseball team has a 'rain-out'.

Welcome to the 2019 Baseball Season.  Let's PLAY BALL.




Wednesday Elf on Blogger and on Etsy

 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 3, 2015

Reviewing the Author, Favored1

I have followed the articles and online career of Favored1 for several years.  Our paths first crossed when we both started writing for the same company.  We initially clicked with each other simply because we have so much in common.  We both love cooking, crafts, collectibles, books, and we both have a deep personal faith.

Favored1 enjoys writing about her Christian beliefs and I admire anyone who stands before the world with deep conviction and faithfulness, especially in the face of adversity.  It comes as no surprise that her faith is reflected in almost everything she writes.



http://thomaskinkadeonlinecatalog.blogspot.com/

Collectibles Shared by Favored1


Many of us are already familiar with Thomas Kinkade's artwork, but Favored1 focuses on more than just his paintings.   She features his figurines, jewelry and other collectibles in her Thomas Kinkade Online Catalog.

Her appreciation for his work is expressed in each and every one of her articles.  She doesn't just give a list of his items, she actually selects individual pieces to feature and tells the stories behind them.  Reading her articles on the Thomas Kinkade selections is like reading poetry because she paints such a lovely picture with words in our minds even though we can see a photo of the item right in front of us.


Favored1 Reviews


Fay, aka Favored1, also writes and publishes her own reviews on her site Favored Reviews.  She most often reviews inspirational books.  I always smile when she throws in a inspiration bookmark or book cover as gift suggestions.  I, myself, have made gift selections for my own mother from Fay's inspirational reviews.

You might ask, as I did in the interview, what is Fay's personal favorite book.  Her answer is fast and direct.  The Bible is her favorite book.  Again, that comes as no surprise to those of us who have followed Favored1's online career.  She did try to give me a second choice, but there was really no reason to.  After all, the Bible pretty much covers every genre, every niche, every feeling, every personal concern.  Nothing else is really necessary even if we do enjoy the occasional fiction or inspirational supplement. 



 

 Crafting with Favored1


http://favored.hubpages.com/hub/how-to-make-hobnail-milk-glass
I love it when another writer and crafter can introduce me to a new craft, especially when it is something I have never even considered trying to create.  Fay did that very thing with her articles How to Make Hobnob Milkglass and How to Make a Washcloth Travel Tote.  I loved both of these ideas!  They are simple enough to make, but it is the simplicity that is ingenious when you consider the beauty and practicality of the end result.

Favored1 has lots of really cool craft ideas and tutorials.  Many of which you can find on Hubpages  where she has published over 150 articles.

Oh!  And, be sure to check out her Christmas Cinnamon Pine Cone Wreath.  It is totally fabulous!


   

Favored1 Cooks


I am constantly looking for new recipes!  Even though I am the Cooking for the Holidays owner and contributor, I still love discovering new recipes to cook in my own home and try out on my family, which is my personal testing ground.

http://favoredcooking.blogspot.com/


Fay's husband eats meat, but Fay does not.  This is also something we have in common, we both have a combination of meat-eaters and vegetarians in our homes to cook for simultaneously.   Finding meals that appeals to both can often be quite challenging. On Favored Cooking, Fay shares her favorite recipes.  This is a fairly new site for Favored1 and I look forward to seeing all of her future recipes published there.  You can also find some of her recipes currently published on Hubpages.


 

 About Favored1


Available on Thomas Kinkade Online Catalog
Available on Thomas Kinkade Online Catalog 
You have now had a very comprehensive look at places you can find publications and articles by Favored1, but I would like to take a moment to tell you a little more about Fay personally.  She is loyal, optimistic, joyful and a tremendous encourager.  She loves dogs, her favorite movie is the 1964 version of Cinderella, and she prefers the Bahamas for a restful vacation. It is easy to see why Fay was selected as one of the top five teachers in her home state.  She loves connecting with people from all walks of life, as well as the research required to write and teach effectively.  Her desire to serve and help others is truly her most admirable quality.

To close, I am going to quote Fay directly from our interview.  When asked her favorite quote, this was her response:

"My favorite quote is by Eleanor Roosevelt: “No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

Overcoming the feeling of being inferior has taken a lifetime it seems to conquer.   I came across this quote in my early years of teaching and realized that I had a choice about how I felt about myself.  Giving into the lie of being inferior to others will stop us from achieving our goals and dreams in life.  Believing in who God made me to be will allow me to reach anything I set out to accomplish."





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner