Saturday, September 9, 2023

9/11 Memorial – Overland Park, Kansas – Travel Review

 

We Will Never Forget


Granite Tile from the flooring of the World Trade Center
This granite tile is at the entrance to the Overland Park, Kansas 9/11 Memorial.

It says:

Enter the 9/11 Memorial by walking across the granite flooring from the World Trade Center.


On September 11, 2001, 2977 people lost their lives in the horrendous terrorist attacks on our nation, including 441 first responders.  Many cities around the country have built 9/11 Memorials, both large and small.  I recently discovered one near me located in Overland Park, Kansas ~ a southern suburb in Kansas City.  It tells the story of that fateful day, and specifically honors the 343 firefighters who died that day trying to save others. It is located next to the Overland Park Fire Department Training Center. These Kansas City firefighters are the caretakers of this memorial. 


Visiting there, even 22 years afterwards, brought fresh tears to my eyes as I read the educational panels telling the story of each downed flight on that tragic day. 


Overland Park’s 9/11 Memorial honors those who lost their lives on September 11, remembers their sacrifices, and teaches future generations about a day we will never forget.


At the Overland Park 9/11 Memorial you will experience:


*A 14-foot, 2.5 ton steel beam from ground zero.


A 14-foot, 2.5 ton steel beam from ground zero
Steel Beam from Ground Zero


This was acquired in 2009 by application from Overland Park firefighter Trevor Miller and Capt. Paul Bishoff.


See and touch a real part of the World Trade Center, and memorialize those who are no longer with us. 


*Four educational panels tell the stories of each downed flight.


Educational Panels depicting the 9/11 Attacks
Educational Panels Depicting the 9/11 Attacks

  • American Airlines Flight 11 out of Boston struck the North Tower of the World Trade Center at  846 A.M. 
  • United Airlines Flight 175 from Boston struck the South Tower of the World Trade Center at 9:03 A.M.
  • American Airlines Flight 77 left Dulles International Airport in D.C., bound for Los Angeles, and struck the Pentagon in Washington D.C. At 9:37 A.M.
  • United Flight 93 from Newark, New Jersey, which was later assumed to have been headed either to the Pentagon or the White House, was brought down in an empty field in Shanksfield, Pennslyvania by the brave passengers who refused to let the highjackers bring about any more destruction in the United States.


At 9:45 A.M., barely one hour after the first attack, US Airspace is shut down under Operation Yellow Ribbon. This operation ordered all civilian aircraft to land at the nearest airport. This Operation prevented any further attacks by aircraft from occurring. 


Medallions marking the time each flight crashed on Educational Panels at the Overland Park, KS 9/11 Memorial
Medallions mark the time each flight crashed

On September 11 each year, the shadow of the 14 foot artifact crosses these panels and sunlight passing through a hole in the girder which follows that diagonal line, passing over the four medallions at the time they went down.


For a complete timeline, as depicted on the stories of each of these flights, click here.


*A victim’s panel which alphabetically lists all the names of those who died on 9/11. The side of the panel states:


9/11 Memorial Victim's Panel with all the names of the victims
Victim's Panel

No Day Shall Erase You From the Memory of Time   ~Virgil


*A weeping wall fountain that represents those who survived.


9/11 Memorial (Overland Park, KS) weeping wall representing those who survived
Weeping Wall

*Granite tiles pulled from the World Trade Center after the attacks. 


"Honoring Footsteps Gone Silent"


Summary 


I encourage you to seek out  such 9/11 Memorials in your area and help keep the remembrance alive by helping those too young to remember to learn about the terrorist attacks that claimed thousands of lives on September 11, 2001. Because, we SHOULD Never Forget! 

Remember – Honor – Educate


YouTube Video of the 9/11 Memorial @ Overland Park 9/11 Memorial.




Location:


Overland Park 9/11 Memorial is located next to the Overland Park Fire Department Training Center

Address

12401 Hemlock

Overland Park, KS 66213

Phone

913-888-6066

Hours

8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Admission

Free


For more Travel Reviews, Click on


+All images are personal photos taken by Wednesday Elf


*Travel Review of the Overland Park, Kansas 9/11 Memorial was written by Wednesday Elf.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, September 8, 2023

Review of The Last Eligible Bachelor by Ashtyn Newbold

The Last Eligible Bachelor book cover
The Last Eligible Bachelor is the third book in the Seasons of Change series

The series is written by several authors who each write separate books in the set.  

Thus far, I have found that these books could easily be read as stand-alone books if a particular story appeals to you.  Since the series is historical Christian romance fiction, which is my favorite genre, I have chosen to read the entire series and I started with the first book.  However, they do not even require being read in order since the characters in the books are all different.  They are related in theme only.

None of the books have had a huge emphasis on religion.  Rather, they are simply clean reading without any violence, gore or explicit sexual content.

I have previously read, and reviewed, books written by Ashtyn Newbold.  I really enjoy the humor and witty conversations in her novels, which has now placed her in a category of favored authors for me.


Synopsis of The Last Eligible Bachelor

When Sophia Sedgwick is invited to a private party of "acceptable" young socialites to vie for one eligible bachelor, she is not interested in going.  However, her parents insist on her attendance.  It is a month long event, requires traveling across England to the hostesses estate, and living there for the duration.  Sophia doesn't know anyone who will be there, including the matchmaking hostess, and they have never met her.  She devises a plan that will allow her to spend the month with her friend, while still satisfying her parents.  After all, they need never know that the "Sophia" in attendance is not her.  She will send her personal maid in her place.

 The Last Eligible Bachelor: A Regency Romance (Seasons of Change Book 3)Check PriceDue to her father's recent arrest, Tillie Sherbrooke and her mother are now household staff on the estate of friends who took pity on them after their downfall from society.  They certainly did not want to see them homeless.  Tillie becomes Sophia Sedgwick's personal maid.  At first, that is a difficult position for Tillie since she had previously known Sophia as an equal.  Sophia seems to have no problem relegating Tillie to the lower class.  She tells Tillie that since she was born and raised a lady, she is the perfect stand-in for her.  When Tillie is hesitant to play along, Sophia threatens to have both her and her mother removed from their positions and home.  Tillie reluctantly agrees to the plan.  Sophia further instructs her to simply attend and make sure she did not appeal to the bachelor.  

Mr. Hill is immediately drawn to Sophia (Tillie) because she is kind and less conceited than the other women he has already met. She makes it clear she is not seeking a husband.  She would suit his purposes perfectly.  She would allow him to distance himself from the match-matching and overtly flirtatious women in attendance.   He devises a plan that will allow him to fulfill his obligations without having to commit to one of the other women.  He proposes that he and Sophia (Tillie) pretend to court each other until the end of this ridiculous party.  Tillie is reluctant to agree.  After all, she is supposed to be Sophia.  Anything she does will be attributed to Sophia.  However, when she discovers that Mr. Hill is related to someone who has the power to change her life drastically, she agrees to his plan.

With this alliance, the two interact with each other without reservation or pretense and they become friends.

 


 

As I previously stated,  this is a romance novel,  so you can probably surmise what happens next.  But I assure you, there are surprises.  I found this to be a very enjoyable read.  The witty characters humored me greatly.  I anticipated a happy ending, therefore the novel did not make me feel stressed or overly anxious.  However, when I was 80% of the way through the book, even though I was very sleepy, I refused to give in to rest until I had finished the book.  So, be forewarned, you might not be able to put this book down until you have reached the end.

 

Previously Reviewed from the Seasons of Change Series


Books by Ashtyn Newbold Previously Reviewed on ReviewThisReviews.com



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, September 7, 2023

Oven Baked Zucchini Sticks

 These oven-baked zucchini sticks are a great way to use the abundance of your zucchini crop. They make a perfect appetizer for any meal, or just have them as a snack.

Oven Baked Zucchini Sticks

These zucchini sticks or fries are so crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. Bobby and his girlfriend Abby made dinner the other night. They made these delicious zucchini sticks as an appetizer.

If you don't have a garden, just pick up a couple of medium-sized zucchini at the grocery store or your local farmers market. With a few more ingredients that most of us already have in the pantry, you'll be on your way to making this easy and tasty appetizer. 

Baked zucchini fries

First, peel and cut the zucchini in half. Then, slice them like french fries, about 3 to 4 inches long. This part was my job, Bobby and Abby did the rest.

Prepare zucchini fries

They set up a dredging station with flour, a beaten egg, and seasoned bread crumbs. First, the flour, then dip them into the egg, and then the bread crumbs. 

Baked Zucchini Sticks Ingredients:

2 medium size zucchini peeled and cut

1 teaspoon olive oil

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1 large egg beaten

1 cup Panko Breadcrumbs

1 teaspoon paprika

1 tablespoon parmesan cheese

Salt and Pepper to your taste

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees
  2. Peel and cut the zucchini into 3 to 4-inch pieces.
  3. In a flat dish add the flour, salt, and pepper.
  4. Beat the egg in a small bowl and mix with olive oil.
  5. In a flat dish mix the breadcrumbs, paprika, and parmesan cheese.
  6. Prepare a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.
  7. Dip the cut zucchini into the flour, egg, and breadcrumbs and place on the prepared cookie sheet. Place them at least 2 inches apart.
  8. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until they are golden brown.
Serve right out of the oven with your favorite pizza sauce or ranch dressing for a tasty appetizer or snack.

For more recipes on Review This Click Here:









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, September 6, 2023

Checklist for Travelling Abroad While Leaving a Senior at Home! FYI

Our lives seem to take turns and detours that we never expected.  That makes for an interesting time and a time to learn all kinds of things that we had never thought of before.  This is Coming from the Heart and I hope it might help you as well.

We are finding out that talking to friends in similar situations helps. Yet depending on where you are living and what kind of "help" is available for seniors, your plans may have to be adjusted accordingly.

Let me back up a little and explain:

We are currently looking after my 92 year young mother.  She has just moved into our home as she is no longer able to take care of herself properly.

We have help that comes into the home 3 times a week to bathe her  That is a chore that I really didn't want to do as I have mobility issues myself.
elderly woman


So now there is a new wrinkle in the mix.  Both my husband and I were planning a trip before Mom came to live with us and we are not getting any younger either,  So what do you do?

Mom is not able to live on her own and we are running out of time to go on this trip.  The options need to be looked at and plans made for her care before we commit to our own travel ideas.

So we need to make sure there is a place that will take her for a short-term stay.  One that is clean and nice.  One that cooks meals that she will enjoy,  One that has some activities to keep her mind active and off of the fact that we are not there.  One that will look after her medications and also her general health while we are gone.

hands


That's not too much to ask, is it?

So where do we start?  

  • Thank goodness there are places that have "RESPITE CARE".  These are rooms that are set up like a bedroom (sometimes private or semi-private) in Registered Nursing Homes. We are in the process of checking out 3 or 4 of these homes and choosing the one that seems to fit all our requirements.
  • Making sure that the place of temporary residence has all the required information regarding 1. prescriptions. 2. Family Doctor's phone number.  3.  Next of kin in case of a great emergency.  4. All necessary tools to make her stay comfortable (glasses, hearing aids, walkers etc.)
  • Labelling all of her clothing.
  • Packing her favorite toiletries, creams, lotions and potions.
  • Making sure she has shoes as well as her slippers.
There is a lot of things that need to be looked after  before we can leave and not need to worry.  Also the grandchildren (who are well into their 40's and beyond) will know where she is so that if they feel like going out for dinner with her, they will know what the ground rules are as well.

Preparedness is key in doing this,  Everything needs to be in order and then we can go on our holiday without the panic that might otherwise make a holiday into a nightmare instead.

I am preparing a Mom's Diary, a book with all of her most important information. Lists of Medications, Doctor's phone number, hospital where she has been before, grandchildren's phone numbers, Health Card information, Dentist info (just in case), and any other information that may benefit the caregivers at the home.  Allergies and food sensitivities will be noted as well.  Favorite foods and least favorites will also be listed.
diary blank pages



We are trying to make this a good experience, so that if we travel again, we know exactly what we need to prepare.

Clothing labels for her personal things. We are looking for labels that are easy to attach and yet are not irritating to the person wearing them.  As always, Amazon is a great place to find just about anything and they have a whole bunch of "label" possibilities!  This is the one that I happen to like:
 

clothing labels

But there are many other choices as well.

We are hopeful that by taking all these steps, we will make sure that my Mom has the best of care while we are away and that putting all of this into play, we may be able to travel again and have a much easier preparation because some of it has already been done!

I will come back here and let you all know how successful we were and if there were any other things we should have included or not!

Hope this helps anyone who is thinking or living the same journey as we are on!


 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, September 5, 2023

Reviewing Worlds Apart by Jane Crittenden

Book Review - Worlds Apart by Jane Crittenden

If you're after an easy-to-read romance with a dash of teen angst then Jane Crittenden's debut novel, Worlds Apart is perfect for you.

Amy moved to New Zealand with her family as a pregnant eighteen-year-old and has made a life for herself and her daughter in Auckland, New Zealand. As she is nearly finished with a day of celebration at her cafe on the beach in walks her high school sweetheart.

The novel switches between four friends in the sixth form (16-18 years of age for people who aren't familiar with the UK schooling system) in the UK to the present time in Auckland, NZ. As teens Amy, Olivia, Chris and Paul are in Sixth Form together and hang out outside of school. Amy and Chris are in love with each other, Olivia is in love with Chris and Paul is mooning over Olivia.

When Amy finds herself pregnant as her parents are planning to emigrate to New Zealand she ends up writing a letter to Chris to let him know about the pregnancy and gives it to her beloved dad to deliver. She then moves to New Zealand with her parents and waits for him to follow. He doesn't and she ends up raising her daughter as a single mum and also using her baking talent to make a name for her cafe set beachfront in Auckland.

There are some twists and misunderstandings abound in this book, along with a second chance at romance - can the flames between first loves be reignited 18 years later?

It was definitely an easy read so if you're looking for something non-taxing to read while relaxing this fits the bill. I read it in less than a day. I think if you like authors such as Jo Jo Moyes or Barbara Davis I think you'll enjoy this book.

As a side note, I found it interesting as to how different a personality her best friend in her late 30s, Shannon, was to her best friend in her late teens, Olivia, was. It made me think about how different my circle of friends has become in different stages of my life.

I read this as part of my Amazon Prime membership, if you enjoy getting sneak peeks at new books as well as access to the Prime Reading as well as Amazon Prime videos then this is definitely something to consider getting. You can watch every episode of Jack Ryan, among other things.

If you've read Worlds Apart, let me know what you thought in the comments.

Book Review of a Second-Chance Romance, Worlds Apart
Pin Me!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, September 4, 2023

Reviewing Captain Jack's Bt and Controlling Garden Pests Organically

As a new gardener, I was thrilled when I had a group of beautiful and perfectly formed cabbage heads growing and approaching harvest. I was so proud. Then I went away for 3 days. When I returned, the leaves were full of holes and the plants were covered in slimy spots. My cabbage was no longer perfect and I was concerned that it wasn't edible. Honestly, the mysterious damage caused me to lose my appetite.

Cabbage covered in cabbage worms

I immediately  turned to my gardening mentors on the internet and they informed me that I had severe insect damage. Some folks called them cabbage worms and some folks called them cabbage moths. The slimey black dots were the droppings. I did wonder which it was... the worms or the moths. Turns out, it was both. The life cycle of this destructive thing includes moth and worm. 

The moths are white. The type I recall seeing since childhood in pastures and gathered on the edge of mud puddles. The worms are green... almost the color of my cabbage and very difficult to see. Once I knew what to look for I found that I did have a severe (and sudden) infestation.

Some friends stated they use insecticides that most consider to be chemicals. Others stated they use an oil in order to remain organic.  I opted for Captain Jack's Bt spray as it is advertised as organic. And I ordered the chemical powder as a back-up because I didn't trust that something organic, after this much damage, would take care of the problem.

One heavy spray of Captain Jack's Bt took care of the worms and the moths! 

Ultimately, I was disgusted by the amount of droppings I had observed on the cabbage so I didn't end up eating any myself. But the chickens loved the heads of cabbage for snacks.

Captain Jack's Bt Organic Spray

Please do your own research. I am a very new gardener. So I am only passing along what I have been told and what I observed. I do not feel that I can personally confirm that Captain Jack's Bt is fully organic. But it was so strongly recommended as an organic treatment that I feel I must share the information. 

The active ingredient of Captain Jack's Bt is "bacterium Bacillus thuringiensis". This is a naturally occuring bacteria in the soil. When eaten by certain insects, it damages the gut health of the insect and kills the insect. 

When you spray the Captain Jack's Bt on the cabbage, the moths and the worms ingest it.  I found that this works very quickly (a matter of days) and my cabbage moth/worm problem was solved.

It is reported that bacterium Bacillus thuringiensis (Bt) does not harm beneficial insects as the normal chemcial balances in their guts are not impacted by the Bt. Same with humans.

Captain Jack's Bt is useful for the following insects:

  • cabbage looper
  • hornworms
  • tent caterpillar
  • gypsy moth
  • bagworm 
  • and many more

In addition to cabbage plants, it is useful for the following:

  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • kale
  • mustard greens
  • eggplant
  • pepper
  • melons
  • tomatoes
  • shade trees
  • ornamentals

Whether you are a seasoned gardener or as new as I am, you may find that Captain Jack's Bt is a great choice for you. I know I'll be ready next year and treat my cabbage before I lose all of those beautiful heads to pests.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, September 3, 2023

Witchy Boo-Boos Halloween Word Search - Hot Off the Press

I've recently completed my 32nd published activity book, and this one is a fun word search puzzle about Halloween witches and their goof-ups! Step into a world where witches aren't brewing potions, but they're stirring up giggles and guffaws! 

Halloween Delights: Spellbinding Word Searches with Wacky Witchy Combinations: Crack the Clusters, Seek the Words

I'm breaking all the witchy rules this Halloween with a word search experience unlike anything you've seen before. Welcome to the enchanting realm of Witchy Boo-Boos, where the magic of laughter meets the spirit of Halloween.

๐Ÿ”ฎ Discover Witchy Mishaps: Dive headfirst into a spellbinding universe filled with comically disastrous adventures and quirky witchy escapades. These aren't your typical spells; they're hilarious blunders, mishaps, and bewitching bloopers that'll leave you in stitches!

๐Ÿ•ท️ Hashtag Hauntings: It's like a social media feed from the witching world! Solve word clusters that resemble hashtags - guess the phrase, find the phrase, and let the hilarity ensue.

๐ŸŽƒ 1440 Phrases and Words to Unearth: Get ready for a delightful challenge as you uncover 1440 bewitching phrases and words. Each word search is a potion of amusement, guaranteed to tickle your funny bone and cast a chuckling spell on you.

๐Ÿงน Cackle-Worthy Confessions: Brace yourself for fits of laughter as you stumble upon funny, sarcastic, and eye-rolling boo-boos and witchy bloopers. These spellbinding slip-ups will have you howling with glee and enchanted by the whimsical world of the Broomstick Brigade.

I've brewed up 60 puzzles, each telling a tale of a wacky witchy escapade or mishap. 

Here's a sneak peek at some of the puzzle titles you'll be unraveling:

  1. Magical Mayhem: When I Accidentally Summoned an Army of Squirrels
  2. The Spellbook Shuffle: When I Got My Potions and Recipes All Mixed Up
  3. Magical Mess-Ups: The Comedy of Failed Attempts at Flying
  4. When My Witchy Love Spell Went Crazy Wrong
  5. Brewing and Belly Laughs: The Hilarious Stories Shared in the Witch's Tavern
  6. Bewitched Cooking Blunders: The Disastrous Kitchen Curse

⏱️ Race Against Time: Unleash your competitive spirit as you race against the clock to conquer each spellbinding puzzle. Challenge yourself or fellow puzzle enthusiasts to see who can master the witchy quest with lightning speed!

๐Ÿ“š Enchantment on Every Page: Dive into an enchanting experience with one puzzle per page, designed for easy readability and maximum enjoyment. And when you're ready to reveal the magic behind the words, rest assured that the answers to your witchy riddles are tucked away at the back of the book.


Available on Amazon

What Makes This Halloween Word Search Book Different?

I aim to make unique word search books. This book is another one of those original creations.  The word phrases to find range from funny, silly, and humorous to eye-rolling. All created by this witch in spirit!

Plus, it's a game that lets you compete with yourself or friends to claim the title of the ultimate witchy word searcher. 

I thoroughly enjoy designing, creating, and writing funny word search books, so you'll always get something original.

Here's a Sample Puzzle for You!

Halloween Witch Word Search by StumpedBooks






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, September 2, 2023

Meatloaf Recipe from a Meal Pioneer

 Review of a locally famous take-home meatloaf.


Image of a meatloaf and the recipe for it

Earlier I reviewed the family owned Hen House Supermarkets located in the Kansas City area. They are part of the Balls Food Stores begun one hundred years ago (1923) by Sidney & Mollie Ball. These markets have been family owned all this time, first by Sidney & Mollie, then by their son, and now by their grandson.


Reading the story of Mollie Ball, I discovered that she was no doubt a pioneer in the field of take-home “Grab n' Go” meals. 


When World War II began, many mothers and wives began working in defense plants and found it difficult to find time to make dinner for their families. Mollie said “no problem, we'll make take-home dinners for you.” Her take-home meatloaf, in particular, became famous throughout the neighborhood. 


Today it is easy to find 'ready-made' or frozen meals at the supermarkets, ready to cook for a quick dinner. Not so in the 1940s, but Mollie made it happen. She was a true pioneer when it came to 'take-home' meals. Mollie Ball was known for her generosity and for caring about the larger community. 


Her original recipe for Mollie's Meat Loaf is shared below with permission from the Ball Food Stores.


Mollie's Meat Loaf

Mollie's Meatloaf Recipe Ingredients:


2 cups bread crumbs

2 tbsp. Flour

1 ½ tsp. Salt

4 tbsp. onion, chopped fine

¼ tsp. Paprika

¼ tsp. Mustard

1/8 tsp. Sage

½ lb ground beef

½ lb ground veal

½ lb ground pork

1 egg

1 ½ cups milk


Mollie Ball's Meatloaf Instructions:


  1. Mix together the bread crumbs, flour, salt, pepper, onion, paprika, mustard and sage.  Work this into the meat.
  2. Add beaten egg to the milk and knead into the meat mixture gradually.
  3. Mold into a loaf and place strips of bacon over top.


Cook at 375 degrees F for 2 hours


Makes 8 servings. 



Summary


The Hen House Supermarket in Kansas City

The Hen House and other Balls Food Stores in Kansas City are well-known for their locally-sourced fruits, vegetables, bakery items and meats. Their website also has a selection of recipes for your cooking and eating pleasure. 



Happy Eating! 



*Mollie Ball's Meatloaf Recipe Review is written by Wednesday Elf







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, September 1, 2023

From Chicago With Love (2023) aka Lease on Love Movie Review

From Chicago With Love Movie Review
I had previously skipped over From Chicago With Love starring Rebecca Liddiard & Dan Jeannotte simply because the title did not pull me in.  It sounded like a byline for a radio station.  

In my opinion, the movie cover image didn't match the title, but it also didn't give any obvious clue about the plot of the movie, other than it features a cute couple.  I assumed they were co-workers, perhaps both anchors on a radio show.  

None of those things are true!

It turns out, this movie was originally released as "Lease on Love" in 2022.  I'm not sure I would have found that title any more appealing in a search. 

Title changes can be very confusing.  This isn't the first time I have seen a title change on a movie.  I recently reviewed "Friend Request" aka "Chance at Romance".  

Some title changes make sense.  For instance, The Avengers in the US was renamed Avengers Assemble in the UK to avoid confusing it with a TV series that carried the same name.  Others title names are changed due to copyrights. They may also change when the movie is released on DVD.  Regardless of the reason, I would personally prefer titles not being changed after they have been released.  Of course, I would understand why a title would change from trailer time to release time.

Either way, this was a great romantic movie that I would recommend for light entertainment.  Just be sure to search for both names along with the actors names.


From Chicago With Love Synopsis

Poppy's life appears to be perfect.  She is engaged to be married soon to a nice guy she has been dating for a long time.  What viewers notice immediately is that Poppy is always giving in to what her fiance, Joel, prefers.  For example, even though she has a great apartment, they plan to live in his apartment once they are married.  He doesn't want her to bring anything to the apartment after they are married, except herself and her clothes.  Exclusions include a Gainsborough couch that she wants to keep.  He suggests they should pick out a new couch together.

She also has a good job as a marketing specialist, but she feels she is not appreciated by her boss, Ingrid Jordan.  She would love to be given free rein with an ad campaign, but Ingrid has her own creative, somewhat extravagant, ideas.  Ingrid is a phenomenally successful beauty therapist and influencer on social media and believes she is solely responsible for her success, even though Poppy has been with her all along.

Ingrid sets up a meeting with a top executive from Aspire Ad Agency to help her launch Jordan eye shadow. Aspire happens to be the ad agency where Poppy has dreamed of working.  

The executive, Milo Asher, turns out to be a gentleman Poppy met at her apartment building earlier that morning.  He wanted to rent the penthouse, but the manager is extremely selective about who rents there. Tony will only lease to someone who is "stable".  

Poppy would love to get a job at Aspire Ad Agency, which Milo can give her.  Milo would love to get the penthouse in The Gregory apartment building, but he needs a fiance to appear more settled.  A plan is hatched between them that Poppy will pretend to be his fiance, which surprisingly her real fiance approves. 

As you can imagine, things don't go exactly as planned.  



This story line makes for a unique and entertaining romantic movie.  You will not be surprised by the ending, but it is still a delightful movie experience.

I watched "From Chicago With Love" on Frndly TV on the Great American Family channel, which allows you to record a movie and watch it later.  

Currently, you will need a streaming service that carries the Great American Family channel to view this movie.



Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



From Chicago With Love (2023) Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, August 31, 2023

One of the Girls by Lucy Clarke, A Book Review

A psychological thriller set in Greece. Join the hen party and try to figure out whodunnit in this thriller!

I chose Lucy Clarke's One of the Girls simply because it is set in Greece, a country I’d love to visit. I honestly paid little attention to what it was about and when it was set. I was looking for a novel that would offer a peek into Greece and the cover design surely emphasized the beautiful white and blues of that country. The text added interest with comments like:

Full of suspense and unexpected thrills, it is hard to put this book down as you try to figure out the whodunit.” – USA Today

“…a masterclass in simmering tension and shocking revelations.” – Rosie Walsh

It will “keep you guessing which friend is behind the murderous plot.” – PopSugar

Be warned, this book is light. My copy had big text and short chapters and was, therefore, a fast read. I zoomed through it with each chapter making me wonder which one of the women commits the crime and what exactly the crime would be though I definitely was waiting for someone to be murdered.

The chapters are read from the viewpoint of each of the characters. One minute you are hearing from Lexi, the next from Bella, the next from Eleanor and so on. The women are a varied bunch with differing connections to the bride. And, of course, secrets. 

The story tells the tale of six women at a hen party in Greece. A hen party, for those who might not know, is when a bride-to-be gets together with a few or many friends to celebrate her upcoming marriage. Like a stereotypical bachelor’s party, it can include alcohol and outlandish behavior. This story does.

RECOMMENDED


Is One of the Girls recommended by me? Yes, if you are looking for a simple thriller set in the sun. In the end, you will be guessing who did it. In the meantime, you can enjoy the fresh food and sunshine of Greece served up with a shot of Ouzo. As Zachary Houle, who clearly did not enjoy the lightweight nature of the book says, “it requires no brain cells to enjoy.” I don’t have a problem with that especially if you are aware of that fact when you pick the book up. Escapism and armchair travel via a book is not a bad thing in my mind.

Readers on Goodreads gave the book an average of 3.98 stars and those on Amazon an average of 4.1. Both platforms clearly had people who liked the book and who did not, with lots of comments like it’s good for “fans of twisty thrillers with a beautiful setting.” I was willing and glad to be a one of those fans. 

Find your copy and read the reviews of One of the Girls by Lucy Clarke on Amazon by clicking right here. When you read the book, be sure to come back and let us know what you think.

See you
At the book store!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE ARMCHAIR TRAVEL:


Another book set in Greece: Jeffrey Siger's The Mykonos Mob (Island of Secrets) Reviewed

Jeffrey Archer's False Impression, A Book Review

Where the Crawdads Sing, A Book Review

Michael Crichton's Travels, A Book Review


Looking for a trip to Greece? Visit via your armchair and, at the same time, try to figure out who did it...in Lucy Clarke's One of the Girls.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Reviews Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWomanThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoTracey BoyerLou16BarbRadBev OwensBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsHeather426Coletta TeskeMissMerFaeryMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X