Showing posts with label Valentines Day. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Valentines Day. Show all posts

Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Reviewing Santas Village Cookie Jar

Cookies At Grandma's House

Whether you are already a Grandma or a Grandma in waiting, I'll just bet one of the things that you love to have around the house for children (actual kids or the adults in touch with their inner child) who visit are cookies. Now, it is one thing to just have the cookies available and it is totally another thing to have a special cookie jar for the children to get the cookies from. One of my fondest memories of my own Grandmother's house is her cookie jar. For one thing, it never ever seemed empty. Hers was not a fancy one, it was very simple, actually. As the Grandma to 5 precious little ones, I am carrying on the tradition and making sure that there are always cookies in a cookie jar when they come to visit. Oh who am I kidding? There are always cookies in my cookie jar! 

I Might Have A Problem

Unlike my Grandma, I have this penchant for fun cookie jars. I like to have ones on display that follow with the seasons of the year. It is a weakness of mine, I admit, but a fun little hobby just the same. In my opinion, one can not have too many cookie jars. 

So, last year my Christmas themed cookie jar accidentally got broken. No, it wasn't one of the kids who broke the lid but one of the adult kids who dropped it on the floor. Was I angry? Oh no! The breaking of the lid offered up the opportunity to find a new one. I love the thrill of the hunt, don't you know!

I've been looking around and finally found the perfect replacement for my Christmas Cookie Jar.

This is perfect for me to place the cookies in! It is so very cute and festive and large enough to hold several cookies, brownies and other sweet treats. I love that it looks like it is a part of Santa's Village and I will tell the kids that Mrs. Claus and the elves have been busy keeping the jar as full as possible.

How do I keep the jar full? Well, as much as I would appreciate Mrs. C and the elves help, they don't come through for me. So, I bake the cookies up ahead of time and freeze them. I can pull out a variety at any time. I start as early as October and keep them in empty coffee tins separated by waxed paper. This Grandma/Mom never runs out of cookies. And listen, if you don't enjoy baking like I do that is really not a problem. You can always buy an abundant supply at the store bakery or on the cookie aisle of the grocery. The cookie police are not going to come arrest you if the cookies and treats are not made in your own kitchen.

Besides traditional Christmas cookies, I also make up batches of Buckeyes, those wonderful peanut butter balls dipped in chocolate! Those are my favorites even though technically they are a candy and not a cookie. I also make batches of what I call "wreaths" which are a form of Rice Krispie treats with a twist. Instead of the rice krispies I use corn flakes, put green food coloring in the marshmallow mixture and top with red M&M's. They kind of look like holly leaves and berries.

How about you? Do you have a special Christmas Cookie jar in your home? What kinds of cookies do you like to have stored in them?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 3, 2015

How to Make a Personalized Ornament or Decorative Tile to Honor or Remember a Much Loved Pet

Wouldn't you like an ornament of your pet hanging on your Christmas tree?


Eldon the Cat Yawning, © B. Radisavljevic
Eldon the Cat Yawning, © B. Radisavljevic
Pets are an important part of the family, but unlike your children, they can't make special ornaments to hang on the tree.  They can, however, have their pictures displayed on customized ornaments you can create at Zazzle. You know your cat or dog (or rabbit or bird or turtle or whatever pet you have) is full of personality. You probably have a memorable picture of your pet on your computer right now, just waiting to be made into an ornament or decorative tile. 

The process is simple Just follow my links to Zazzle and use my easy directions to customize. I used a former neighbor's cat, Eldon, as my model, since I don't have any pets at this time. Eldon has already crossed the Rainbow Bridge. An ornament is a great way  to memorialize him,  as you might want to do for a pet who is no longer with you. During the holidays, we miss those who are gone the most. That certainly includes our pets.


Sarah the Cat Sitting, © B. Radisavljevic
Sarah the Cat Sitting, © B. Radisavljevic
And don't forget your friends. Maybe you have a pet sitter who would like an ornament or decorative tile with your pet's picture for Christmas. Maybe your children who have moved away from home and left the family pet behind would appreciate a decorative tile or trivet to remember them all year. Or maybe you have a great shot of a friend's pet that friend would appreciate as an ornament or decorative tile. Just use your imagination and you will soon know what to give those people who won't really tell you what they want, but they really do love their pets. These ornaments don't even have to hang on a tree. They can  hang anywhere you can attach them so you enjoy them all year. 

How to Customize an Ornament for Your Pet Keepsake

You met Eldon above. Now let's see him on a premium square ornament. There are many shapes you can choose, but because Eldon has a long tail, I had to make a square ornament to squeeze it all in. Square is one of the easiest ornament shapes to work with. 

Just click the ornament images to get to  them on Zazzle.

When you click on Eldon's ornament, it will take you to its product page. I'm now going to change Eldon's ornament into one to memorialize Sarah, my neighbor's cat who visited me daily and hung out on my porch, always there to greet me when I came home, always hoping for the cat treat she knew she'd get from me. She died this year and we miss her. Read about my relationship with and see more pictures of Sarah here. 

This is how you can change the ornament for Eldon to one in honor of your pet, as I did to make mine in honor of Sarah.   

  • On the ornament, you will see the  "Customize it!" button. Click it. The photo will change to a design view with some red boundary lines. 
  • Look to your right under "Customize it!" Scroll past the blue icons. 
  • Look for Eldon with "Change Image" on his right. 
  • To put your pet's picture in, just click to change.
  • Upload a picture from your computer. The picture you upload should be at least 2" square, 300 pixels resolution, and in png format. 
  • Use the buttons over where you changed the photo, to increase or decrease the size of the photo in the frame to fit or fill it. you can also use buttons to move the image up and down, left and right. Just play with it. You want to keep the image within the inner red box to keep it from being cropped. Test by clicking the button underneath to change to art view. That shows you how your finished product will look. 
  • Above where I changed the image, you can change the text to match your pet's name and date, to remove any text, or to change the text to whatever you want to say. While the square is still around your text, you can drag it wherever in the product you want it to be. 
  • As you scroll down the right side, you can change the background color or the ornament's shape and style.   I normally pick my style first and then fiddle with the images and text, either of which you can change from this screen.

If your image doesn't look quite right, you can use the "arrange" or "edit" drop down menus, or you can mouse over the icons to see what they do and use them to make your picture large enough to fill all the space or smaller to  fit better. You can play with them until your ornament looks the way you want it to. The previews where you choose your shapes shows you how  your photo will look in those other shapes. When your ornament is just right, use the big blue/orange button near the top right to "Add to Cart." (It's blue until the mouse turns it orange.)

Here's how Sarah's ornament turned out. Notice that I dragged the text to a location where it would show better.



Now Let's Look at Some Other Ornament Styles



First, meet Nicki. She was the shiest of one neighbor's cats and she didn't like to pose. I was lucky to get her at all. I have put her on a premium round ornament, and her photo had to be 2.13" x 1.25," resolution 300, png format. Larger pictures will also work, but they shouldn't be any smaller. The important thing to remember about round ornaments is that the subject should be easy to center. Before you choose a shape, be sure your photo can conform to it. 



Let's Look at the Ceramic Ornaments You Can Make from Your Pet's Pictures


Let's meet Pumpkin, the most docile of my previous neighbor's cats. She's a sweetheart, but I had to get candid shots. I have her on a ceramic round ornament. You can use the customize button to switch pictures and text. Your picture should be about 1150 pixels in diameter, 300 resolution, and png format. 
See how easy it was to get her centered? 

Ceramic ornaments have two sides you can fill and you have a lot of design flexibility. Be sure to customize both sides by clicking under the ornament to choose the front or back to work with. I put the date on the  back side, leaving the front for just the photo. You can also make both sides identical. 







Zazzle is playing around with their image links and in some cases below you will see the design, not the actual ornament. If you click the title link of the ornament, it will take you to how the design will look on the ornament, and you will also have the option of choosing the design in a different shape.

Here are some other appealing kitty ornaments you might get ideas from. This one has a frame. Just click through and put your cat into the frame.


The heart-shape ornament is also very popular. Here are some of my favorites.
This ornament is two sided. It features two photos of the same cat. I show you the back side here. One could also choose to put a picture of two  different pets on the two different sides -- maybe even a cat and a dog. 

And, lest you think I'm anti-dog, here is an ornament featuring a canine pet.


Some photos will do well on the oval shape. I like this one.

Puppy Kitten Snow Cabin Christmas Ornament

I think the star is the most complicated shape to fit a photo into, but here's one that worked well. 

If You'd Like a Pet Keepsake Larger than an Ornament to Display All Year, Make a Decorative Tile or Trivet


For a tile such as the one below, use a 4.25" x 4.25" picture, 300 resolution, png format. If you want some wiggle room, you might make your picture a bit larger to make sure it will fill the space. You can, of course, also add words. When you click through to the product page, you can customize with your own picture and words, but you will also have the option of adding a frame to make this a trivet or a box, for which this would be a decorative top. One tile gives you three different options. Here are what some others have done.

Are You Inspired to Make an Ornament or Tile to Honor Your Pet Yet?

I hope I've given you some inspiration and some practical help on how to do it. Please use the comment section for feedback, questions I've not answered, more ideas for using pet ornaments, or just to let me know you were here.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Valentine's Day: A Review of the Fun Side

Since this is Valentine's Day, it's time review a few of the fun and interesting things about this holiday. Some history, some cooking, even some romantic ideas. Along with some not-so-romantic ideas as well.

Historical Valentine's Day


Ever wonder how this tradition of Valentine's Day got started? Turns out to be a religious feast day, originally. There really was a man named Valentinus who was later cannonized in the Christian faith. Seems St. Valentine was known for performing illegal marriages. Of course, there is more to the history of Valentine's Day. But, it's fun to see how it's origins really happened.

Offbeat Holiday Traditions


Mind-floss.com pulled together a fun collection of offbeat Valentine's Day traditions (www.mentalfloss.com/article/61624/offbeat-valentines-day-traditions-around-world). Some are interesting, some are funny, while others are just plain strange.

My favorite is the tradition from Finland. They don't celebrate with romance but with friendship. Then there is the humorous, while traditionally romantic Valentine's Day custom in Taiwan. The meaning of the number of roses a guy gives a gal can change their lives significantly.

Valentine's Day Food Under Review


Certainly, modern day traditions include plenty of food for this celebration. Chocolate, of course. But, there are other fun options. Cooking for the Holidays author Cynthia gives us a fun collection of easy ways to decorate cupcakes for Valentine's Day.

Here on Review This, you can find a great review of other Valentine's Day food treats. Do we ever have enough heart-shaped goodies? Not in my view.

As long as we are celebrating Valentine's Day, why not celebrate with all kinds of love, whether the romantic kind or the friendship kind.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Craft Review: Easy Handmade Valentine's Decorations

Craft Review:  Easy Handmade Valentine's Decorations (by Coletta Teske)

Show your love on Valentine's Day with the gift of your own handiwork. Inside this craft review, you'll find ideas for easy handmade Valentine's decorations.

The simplest expressions of love can leave the biggest impact on your loved one's heart. Especially when those tokens of affection are made from the heart and made by hand.

With Valentine's Day just around the corner, review this list of easy handmade Valentine's decorations and find a craft that will melt your loved one's heart.

Pour Your Porcelain Heart Out

Porcelain heart decorations are an easy kitchen craft

These white porcelain hearts are a kitchen crafter's delight. With a few simple ingredients from your local grocery store and pharmacy, you can cook up a batch of cold porcelain and mold it into any shape.

Cold porcelain is a homemade air-drying modeling clay made from white glue, cornstarch, cold cream, and glycerin. The ingredients are mixed together in an old saucepan, cooked over medium heat until it looks like clay, and kneaded until the mixture is smooth.

You'll find a detailed tutorial on how to make cold porcelain at CraftStylish. There are pictures to guide you through the porcelain making process step-by-step. And, there are ideas for molding the porcelain clay into different shapes.

Hang Your Heart on Your Hearth

Valentine's heart garland decorations can be hung anywhere in the house

Garlands are the perfect decoration for any occasion. On Valentine's Day, create a garland of hearts and hang those hearts all over a room.

Cut hearts out of any material you have in the closet and attach those hearts to a string. You can use fabric, paper, or plastic. Whatever material your heart desires.

Felt is a popular crafting material this year and Marie Williams Johnstone has an easy tutorial for a Valentine felt heart garland. To cut the felt, you'll need a good pair of scissors. To put the garland together, you'll need basic hand sewing skills.

More Valentine's Decorations and Crafts

Pinterest is a wealth of resources for handmade Valentine's decorations and crafts ideas

Pinterest is blushing with Valentine's Day craft and decoration ideas. Here are a few Pinterest boards that you may find inspiring:
  • Valentine's Romance by lakeerieartists has pins for heart-themed garlands, giant paper roses, wreaths, greeting cards, and date night ideas.
  • Valentine Crafts and Gift Ideas by annmackiemiller has pins for heart-shaped yarn and string projects. If you love to crochet, you'll find several Valentine-themed projects.
  • Heart Shapes I love! Crafty by haydnsgrammie has every heart design imaginable. This is the place to go when you need inspiration for a one-of-a-kind heart.
  • Valentine Crafts and Ideas by planetpals has Valentine crafts and activities for kids with an earth-friendly approach.

Creating a handmade token of your love is a gift that creates lasting memories. In the time you spend watching a TV show, you can also make a craft or decoration to celebrate your Valentine.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 6, 2015

Valentine's Day Crafts Reviewed

Be My Valentine World Website
I have always loved making Valentine's Day crafts, but it wasn't until my children started crafting, that I learned to truly appreciate receiving a handmade Valentine's Day gift.  There are no possessions in this world that I cherish more than the gifts my children have made for me and I proudly display those little treasures throughout my home.


Hanging Hearts Valentine Craft for Kids 

diy mini heart mobile
As parents, we want to find easy crafts for our children to make so they will experience the deep felt pleasure of creating something awesome.  It is even better when we teach them to make gifts for others, perhaps their grandparents or siblings.  But, to be the recipient ourselves, is truly a treasured gift as well as a memory that stays with us all of our days.

If we are fortunate enough to be a part of the actual making of the craft, then we have shared irreplaceable, valuable time with the most precious "gift" we have ever been given.

Vicky Barone shares how to make the Hanging Hearts Valentine shown in the photo.  With her step by step instructions, including photos to help us along the way, she makes it so easy, that even a child could do it.  Wouldn't this make a beautiful Valentine gift!  


Craft Tissue Paper Hearts 

http://leehansen.com/articles/easy-heart-crafts.html
Lee Hansen shares another fabulous hanging heart craft that would touch any mother's or grandmother's heart if we were blessed enough to receive this valentine.
Would you believe this awesome Valentine's Day gift is made from a cereal box and tissue paper?  

I truly love this very practical and economical approach to making craft gifts that will no doubt be a treasured possession.  

Lee provides very easy instructions to make this wonderfully fabulous heart.   I can just imagine the fun children will have tearing the tissue and decorating this heart.



DIY Valentine Candles

https://www.stewardshipathome.com/diy-valentine-candles/
Another fantastic and easy Valentine craft is these DIY Valentine candles.  

With a store purchased candle and a few simple supplies including tissue paper, wax paper, and markers, these awesome candles will light up the recipients day and make their heart glow with delight.

You will find the simple directions to make these candles on Simple Saving Savvy, so grab you hot glue gun and get ready to decorate your own candle that is sure to brighten someones day with this special messenger of love.



Easy Valentine's Day Crafts for Seniors

 Valentines Crafts for Seniors
From one of our very own contributors here on Review This, Mary Beth shares an extremely easy Valentine craft idea for seniors to make. 

Most of us understand how physically limited senior adults can be and how frustrating it is for them, especially when they still want to be creative and working themselves.

She shares from her own experiences derived from helping her mother and her mom's friends to have fun crafting in spite of their limitations. 

Her craft ideas and recommendations would also be fun and easy for very young children.


Make a Sailor's Valentine


I, myself, have been crafting for as long as I can remember.  Many years ago I made Sailor's Valentines for my children.  To this day, the Sailor's Valentine is still my own personal favorite of all Valentine's Day crafts.  I think, perhaps, that may well be the romantic in me though.  I truly love the idea and history behind the Sailor's Valentine.

If you would like to learn how to make a Sailor's Valentine, or to read about the history of this special valentine, simply visit me by clicking the link or the photo below. 

Sailor's Valentine




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Reviewing Be My Valentine World


Every January, I start thinking of Valentine's Day. And searching the Web for ideas. That's where the website By My Valentine World comes into play. It's the kind of site that makes my preparation for this February holiday so much easier.

Celebrating Valentine's Day doesn't just mean your spouse or significant other. For me, it includes my family. Especially my darling granddaughters. So I look for delightful ways to show them how loved they are.

Valentine's Gifts for Children of All Ages


With my grandchildren, the ages span from pre-teen to toddler. That means I need to find a variety of gift ideas. And I found them. Be My Valentine World has a wonderful collection of ideas for kids of all ages. I found great gifts for my 13-year-old granddaughter. Now that's say something. Kids that age are hard to shop for.

Of course, stuffed animals are always easy choices for the younger girls. Our own contributing writer Wednesday Elf shared some great red stuffed animals in her article right here on Review This. My favorite is that darling ladybug! But, for the adults, heart-shaped chocolate candy seemed ideal. 

Planning a Be My Valentine Dinner


Including in my celebration every year is a dinner for the whole family. I like to have a fun theme and Be My Valentine is an easy one. That's where the website came in even more handy. All the ideas for delightful extras are there.

Creating a centerpiece for the table is simple with things like vintage candy jars and Valentine's Day candle holders. These can be arranged on red or pink placemat to make a charming centerpiece for the dinner table.

Planning the menu will certainly include some great heart-shaped treats for everyone. Somehow, I never have enough ideas for those. But our own Sylvestermouse created a page here on Review This just for those kind of Valentine Day's treats.

Ideas Abound from Be My Valentine World


There are plenty more ideas for every way you want to share Valentine's Day on Be My Valentine World. That's one of the great parts about this holiday. You can celebrate it in many different ways. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two, the school kids day in the classroom, or a big family dinner for those you love, it's all still Valentine's Day.

It's also one of those things I enjoy about writing on Review This. I get to tell you about those great websites and articles that help you celebrate. Be My Valentine World is one of those sites.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, January 24, 2015

Red Gifts and Romantic Ideas for Valentine's Day

Valentine Penguins on Etsy
Our favorite February holiday ~ Valentine's Day ~ is just around the corner. Time to  look at  some romantic ideas and red gift choices for that special someone in your life.

Red and Pink, along with white, are traditional Valentine's Day colors.


  • Red is a symbol for passion and deep love. 
  • Pink stands for affection, sweetness and understanding and is a combination of red and white.  


A plush penguin in  one of the Valentine colors of red or pink, handmade in crochet, makes a cute gift for your sweetheart. This cuddly stuffed animal is perfect for a favorite girl.  These round and roly-poly penguins measure 5 x 5 inches and make an adorable gift.  They are available in the Etsy Shop of Coastal Crochet Crafts.

Handmade Happiness in Red Plush


Plush Penguin in Valentine Colors of Red & Pink
Valentine Plush Penguin
Handmade red plush animals are fun gifts for your special Valentine. 

This plush penguin in Valentine colors of red and pink will win her heart. Round and cuddly, your special someone will love this sweetheart penguin.



Perhaps a Lady Bug is your choice for a red plush gift.


Handmade Ladybug Stuffie
Plush Ladybug in Crochet
Lady Bugs are a symbol of good luck and happiness, making a lady Bug plushie a happy gift to that special lady in your life.






Red Octopus in Plush for Valentine's Day - Etsy

A mini crocheted octopus in red makes a cute gift for your favorite Valentine.  It would look darling sitting on her desk at work or home as a reminder of the sweet person who gave it to her.



A Special Card - Sweet, Funny, Fun




Top off your Valentine gift with a fun card.   

This card by aaronsgraphics on Zazzle may not be perfectly romantic, but your sweetheart will get a laugh and a smile out of it.  
Simply tell them "I love you every single day", "But today you get a card!"


Symbols of Love

Image Source: Pixabay

If anyone has ever wondered how the heart became the symbol of love, and such burning questions such as 'why is the heart red', here's a light-hearted (yes, that's an intended pun) imagined conversation between Dr. Sheldon Cherry and a 2,000-year-old cardiologist.



Valentine's Day and Romance Go Together


For a list of romantic movies, books, songs and sweet stories perfect for Valentine's Day, check out these wonderful suggestions from many of the reviewers here on Review This in our ROMANCE section.


Valentine's Day is a Favorite Chocolate Holiday


As Lucy Van Pelt of Peanuts once wisely said “All I really need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt!”  And no one at Review This knows more about chocolate than our own Susan Kennedy. Check out lots of her chocolate recipes and stories perfect for this chocolate holiday.



Have a Happy Valentine's Day


So, Happy Valentine's Day to you from the Peanuts gang and all of us at Review This







(c) Wednesday Elf. Article written on 1/24/2015.  Updated on 1/26/2019




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 23, 2015

Food Review: Special Treats and Recipes for Valentine's Day



Be My Valentine World
Show someone how much you love them on Valentine's Day with these special treats and recipes.   

Here are a few suggestions for making this Valentine's Day fun, memorable and full of hearts for you and the one, or ones, you love.  

Delight your sweetheart with unique treats throughout the day, starting with a heart shaped breakfast.  We have even included a special gift for your backyard birds.

 

Heart Shaped Breakfast Waffles


Why not start the morning off right with heart shaped waffles.  Waffle batter is pretty easy to make.  You can either use a product like Bisquick and simply add milk, eggs and vegetable oil, or you can whip up waffles from scratch with a recipe like this one.   The secret ingredient to making homemade waffles delicious is a 1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla Extract. 

Heart Shaped Waffle Maker available on Amazon.com

Add some delicious strawberry syrup or raspberry topping to the breakfast table, and your family is sure to be singing your praises all day long.


*All of the recipes are linked for easy clicking to find the delicious recipes.  Plus, you will find a selection of Heart Shaped Waffle Makers by clicking here.




Mozzarella Cheese Filled Heart Shaped Snacks


I recently came across this recipe pictorial for Mozzarella Cheese Filled Hearts posted by a friend on Pinterest.  I simply had to seek out the original recipe and tutorial post to share here on Review This!

These treats look easy and delicious for an afternoon snack, a treat for a child's lunch box, or perhaps an appetizer for a Valentine's Day romantic dinner. 

The recipe and directions for these awesome Valentine's Day treats can be found on Hungry Happenings.  

Beth also provides a recipe for Roasted Red Pepper Pesto which makes the perfect red sauce for dipping for Valentine's or any day.

These mozzarella hearts really are a cool "twist" on the mozzarella sticks that are popular appetizers in so many family restaurants.    




Valentines Peep Pops   


Another fun and easy treat would be these Peep Pops.  

Brianna gives us excellent instructions with lots of photos so we can makes these specialty chocolate goodies.

It is truly amazing how many different shapes are available in our favorite "Peeps" these days.  They certainly allow us to make a lot of really awesome and tasty gifts by serving as the foundation for specially made designs.  

I never could make myself eat the little chicks, but I have no trouble devouring the Peeps hearts.     



Valentine's Day Chocolate Mice


I am sure it will come as no surprise to anyone that one of my own personal favorites has to be these Chocolate Covered Cherry Mice

They are the perfect way to give chocolate covered cherries and Kisses for Valentines Day.

Chocolate Covered Cherry Mice


Roasted Red Pepper Pesto
Roasted Red Pepper Pesto
Roasted Red Pepper Pesto
Roasted Red Pepper Pesto

A Special Treat for our Feathered Friends

We certainly don't want to forget to make a special treat for our backyard birds.  They are always so faithful to sing to us and to add beauty to our ordinary days.

Chrysa provides us with directions and a recipe to make a Valentine Bird Feeder Heart


Many of us experience extreme cold, snow and ice during the month of February.  These hearts are fun and easy to make.  They are a wonderful way to say thank you to our outdoor "friends" as and a beautiful way to provide food during the winter months. 




Heart Shaped Cake


Last, but my no means least, I want to share the gift I enjoy making for my own family each Valentine's Day.  

Heart shaped cakes are easy to make with the right pans and they can be made in any flavor of cake and icing.  Over the years, I have made pink and red icing for the cakes, but my husbands' favorite is a simple German Chocolate cake in the shape of a heart.

*Additional Heart Shaped Bakeware
 

Share your favorite Valentine's Day Treat

Have you published an article about your favorite Valentine's Day treat?  We would love to see it!  Please leave the link in our guestbook so we can visit.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Merry Christmas from the Review This Staff



Merry Christmas

From all of us at
Review This

May your hearts sing with Joy at the Wonder of the Season!

May you Delight in the Beauty around You!

May you enjoy the laughter and joy of family and friends.

May the peace of God surround you as you celebrate the birth of His Son!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X