Showing posts with label romantic movie reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label romantic movie reviews. Show all posts

Friday, August 3, 2018

Love on the Air Hallmark Movie Review

Love on the Air Hallmark Movie Review
Good Morning Romantics!  

Imagine being live on the air with the person that annoys you most in life.  Broadcasting your arguments for the world to hear, while also giving relationship advice to listeners.  Well, that is exactly what happens to Sonia (Alison Sweeney) and Nick (Jonathan Scarfe) in the Hallmark movie, Love on the Air.

The only thing better than a sweet romantic movie, is one that also makes you smile.  Better yet, one that makes you laugh.  Yes, I found myself laughing a few times during this movie.  

I found out for myself, that it is the perfect movie for an afternoon or evening indoors.  After working in the yard for a few hours, I needed a break from the heat and a relaxing movie that wouldn't take a lot of mental investment to appreciate.  And, that is exactly what I got with the Hallmark movie, Love on the Air.   

A sweet, easy to watch romance.  



Hallmark Movie Love on the Air Plot


 Love on the Air Hallmark MovieA Hallmark Movie Subscription is Required to View This Movie On AmazonBoth Sonia and Nick are talk show hosts for their own individual shows, except at different radio stations.  Nick's Man Cave airs at night, but Nick wants to stop working at night.   Sonia already has a daytime slot, but it is broadcast by a smaller station.

Sonia's show is based on developing a relationship that allows a woman to follow her dreams and career.  She encourages women to not base their lives on love relationships.  Her theme phrase is "be an island".  She believes "getting married doesn't mean giving up your identity.  The question is not who's going to let you.  The question is who's not going to stop you."  In her personal life, Sonia has been in a long-term relationship with her fiance and they are planning their wedding.  Her segmented view of a romantic relationship seems to be working for her and Scott.

Nick's show gives advice to men about how to not be taken advantage of by an overbearing woman.  He gives dating advice like, not spending too much money on first dates, or not spending money on sending flowers.  Instead, he suggests cheap dates and flowers picked from a garden, preferably not from your own garden.  He states on the air that the word "girl-friend is a misnomer".  In his personal life, Nick doesn't pursue long-term relationships.  He appears to be content with being single.

When Sonia is asked to cover for another female on WCV radio station, she is thrilled.  Even though it is a nighttime show, it has a huge following.  It just so happens that Dr. Lynne's show airs right after Nick's Man Cave show.   During the Dr. Lynne show, Sonia's fiance dumps her (inadvertently) on the air.  She has no idea that her fiance was influenced by Nick's Man Cave advice that was on shortly before her program began, but she handles it with as much grace as she can muster.  Surprisingly, Sonia's rating soar as a result of that excruciating experience.

Nick and Sonia meet for the first time by accident at an afternoon movie matinee.  Not realizing who the other one is, they strike up a conversation and seem to like each other just fine.  Nick opts to sit behind Sonia during the movie and even shares his popcorn with her.  After the movie, they get into their first spat over who is going to pay for coffee.   Of course, Nick feels he must tell his audience all about it.  He didn't realize Sonia was in the station, able to respond to his story, until she interrupted his broadcast.  The fire between them as the argued shot their ratings through the ceiling and up to the sky.  And that is when the station decided they needed to co-host a morning show!

Once they had forged a sort-of friendship, Nick decides to help Sonia get Scott back.  Even more fun follows, which means you must see the show for yourself to find out what happens. 

Currently, Love on the Air is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love on the Air - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse

 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, April 13, 2018

Navigating The Heart Movie Review

Navigating the Heart Movie Review
The movie Navigating The Heart starring Jaclyn Smith and Tim Matheson was actually released in 2000.  However, I only discovered it this week.   I love it when I find two of my favorite actors in a old movie that I have never seen before.  I know I am guaranteed a wonderful movie experience.  I was certainly not disappointed with this one. 

Navigating The Heart is a great romantic movie where two people from completely different backgrounds fall in love.  What makes this movie even better is that it is based on a true story.   The book entitled "Fishing with John" was written by Edith Iglauer, the main female character in the story.  She tells the story of their love and sadly brief life together in this bestselling memoir.   The movie only captures the story of how they met and fell in love.  For the details of their subsequent life on the boat, you would need to read the book.

To be completely honest, if it were not based on a true story I would have a hard time believing a beautiful, sophisticated city woman would fall in love with a small town fisherman.  Normally, we would have to suspend reality to embrace this story, but not with Edith Iglauer (Jaclyn Smith) and John Daly (Tim Matheson).


Navigating The Heart Synopsis

Navigating the Heart Movie Review
Edith Iglauer  is a somewhat arrogant, although justifiably so, writer for Manhattan magazine, which has just been taken over by a new owner with very different ideas about how a magazine should run.  Previously the "literary journalists" were allowed to choose their own article subjects.  Now, they will be assigned.  

This decision to assign subjects and articles burns right to the core of Edith's literary heart.  She is not happy about the idea and doesn't hesitate to express her opinion.  She feels her 15 years of dedication, as well as her contribution to the popularity of Manhattan magazine, should be rewarded and praised.  It is beneath her to be treated like an upstart that needs to be spoon-fed or assigned specific boring subjects to cover.  
 
Her first assignment is to write a piece about the excessive price of salmon.  Needless to say, Edith is outraged at the idea.  After all, her expertise is in covering politics.  Interestingly enough, when she investigates the industry for her assignment, she does find a huge political influence.  But she doesn't know that will be the case as she reluctantly heads to British Columbia, Canada to get background for her article.

I had to laugh out loud when Edith arrived at the fishing pier dressed for the office, wearing toeless heels and pulling her luggage on wheels.  It really is the perfect illustration of how out of place she was in a fishing town.

Navigating the Heart Movie Review
After learning that John Daly is the best source of information for her article, Edith asks a local female fisherman to take her out to John's boat.  He is no happier to see her there than she was to have been assigned the article.  However, after some persuasion, he allows her onto his boat and proceeds with the business of catching, cleaning and icing fish.  Needless to say, Edith is sickened by what she sees and smells.  Again, I had to laugh when she quoted Mark Twain, "fishing is a jerk at one end of the line waiting for a jerk at the other end".

Determined to write a story and not be beaten by this assignment, Edith ends up back on a John Daly's boat in spite of how much she really dislikes him.  At constant odds with each other, while exchanging hateful barbs, Edith makes bad matters worse by accidentally starting a fire on the stove.  Later that night, in the midst of a storm, they hit a log and the boat starts taking on water.  Declaring "mayday" and requesting assistance, John does his best to seal of up holes, and then they wait.  Ironically, it is during that time of waiting for help, possibly facing death, that they talk and a friendship is forged. 

Edith does write her story, but her whole life is changed after visiting BC, Canada, where she finds so much more than just content for a story.


Watch Navigating the Heart or Read the Book







House of Sylvestermouse




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, April 6, 2018

At Home in Mitford - Hallmark Movie Review

At Home in Mitford - Hallmark Movie Review
At Home in Mitford is a sweet, romantic movie based on the novel by Jan Karon.  I read the book several years ago and was quite delighted when I found that the Hallmark Channel had released the movie.   I always trust Hallmark movies to be appropriate for family viewing.  Since I knew the plot of the book, I anticipated an excellent movie.  I was not disappointed!   It was truly an enjoyable way to spend my Sunday afternoon.

Jan Karon's books are easy reads which may well explain why they are so popular and why she is on the New York Time's bestselling author list.  At Home in Mitford is the first book in the Mitford series.

The Mitford book series is absolutely perfect for a Hallmark movie.   


At Home in Mitford Movie & Book Plot


 At Home In MitfordCheck PriceMitford is a fictional town set in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  It resembles hundreds of small towns in America where people live slower paced lives, plant backyard gardens and look out for each other.  

Andie MacDowell plays the part of Cynthia Coppersmith, a burnt out, uninspired, recently divorced children's book author who returns to her childhood refuge in Mitford.  Even though her uncle has died, he left his home to Cynthia and she desperately needs the solace of his safe-haven.  With her book deadline approaching, Cynthia and her cat, Violet, take off for Mitford and hopefully renewed inspiration.

As the new woman in town, Cynthia immediately starts attracting attention from the bachelors, but she isn't looking for a relationship.  When the realtor asks her to dinner, at first she declines his offer, but eventually reconsiders.  

Father Tim is her next door neighbor who has recently adopted a big dog that can't be held by mere fences.  Therefore, Father Tim and Barnabas also burst unexpectedly into Cynthia's life.  Father Tim, an Episcopal priest and Cynthia quickly become friends in spite of her original anger over being disturbed and having a portion of her fence knocked down. 

I'm not going to tell you which bachelor Cynthia selects.  To find that out, you will have to watch the movie.   But, what I will tell you is that At Home in Mitford is a delightful movie (and book) about a woman who finally finds where she truly belongs.


House of Sylvestermouse




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, January 6, 2017

Love by Design Movie Review

Love by Design Movie Review
Love by Design starring Giulia Nahmany, David Oakes and Jane Seymour, is a wonderful romantic comedy that leaves us feeling hopeful and happy when the underdog succeeds in business, plus finds real love.

Since we have all experienced injustice to some degree, we enjoy movies where the maltreated prospers.  Love by Design is the perfect romantic movie for a much needed break from intense reality and drama.  Plus, the less glamorous yet highly creative, hardworking, kindhearted girl finds love and success in a highly competitive world of fashion.

As a Jane Seymour fan, I was instantly drawn to the movie while searching for a romantic movie I have never seen before.  Even though Seymour does not have the leading role, she does play a very important part in the movie.  She is the fashion magazine editor that frowns on Danielle's appearance and ultimately fires her.  As always, Seymour is a joy to watch even when she is playing the part of a snobbish, egotistical and ruthless fashion magazine editor-in-chief.


Synopsis of Love By Design


 Love By Design
Own on DVD
When Danielle doesn't fit the image of a Beguile magazine designer, Vivian (Jane Seymour) replaces her with a "more appealing" spokesperson.  Danielle is rightfully distressed when she sees that this "better choice" is not presenting her own presentation to the clients, but the one Danielle, herself, designed and wrote.  Danielle erupts in anger and is fired from her high prestige fashion job in New York City.  She needs to get far away and decides to return to her home in Romania.  

By returning to her childhood home, she also returns to her love for sewing and designing clothes that fit the real women around her.  She loves making clothes that truly flatter the individual wearing them and those women love her designs.   

While finding herself again, she also finds true love when she meets Adrian (David Oakes).  The relationship is not without stress, but it is easy to be confident that the two will end up together.

Sometimes we just need a great romantic movie, even if it is transparent and predictable.  We simply need to let our minds and bodies rest and be entertained for a brief spell.  




Giulia Nahmany

I had never heard of the lead actress, Giulia Nahmany.  While watching the credits at the end of the movie, I noticed that she also wrote the story and was one of the executive producers of the movie.  I wanted to know more about her, so I did a bit of research and found that she started her career as a soloist.  Pretty cool!  So, not only can she write, act, and produce a movie, she can sing.  Impressive!!!  Somehow, I think we will be seeing her again in the future and the next time, I will know her name.

 

Conclusion


Of course, I love the romantic plot of Love by Design.  I also enjoyed the way the movie embraced multiple body types in fashion.  Danielle's creations flatter several different shapes and sizes. 

Many of us can relate to the women in the movie.  We want fashion that will compliment our bodies.  We should not have to fit our bodies to the current fashions.  As a curvy female, I can relate to Danielle who is constantly dieting in order to try to meet an unrealistic body size expectation.  I also know exactly how frustrating it is to try to buy clothes in a fashion world that designs for a smaller, straight or flat body type.

Some would say that both expectations in this movie are unrealistic.  Perhaps they are, but we still desire to be loved.  And, to have fashion designers who create fabulous fashions for all of us.





Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love by Design Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 16, 2016

Christmas in Connecticut Movie Review

http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2016/12/christmas-in-connecticut-movie-review.html
Last week I reviewed a fabulous contemporary romantic Christmas movie, The Spirit of Christmas. This week I am shifting the focus back to an old holiday classic.  Christmas in Connecticut may be over 70 years old, but it is far from outdated.  It is simply a fun movie about a woman who gets caught in her deceptions and tries desperately to cover her tracks, and keep her job!

Barbara Stanwyck takes the lead role as Elizabeth Lane in this Christmas romantic comedy and Dennis Morgan plays the part of the unsuspecting soldier who joins her "family" for Christmas.
 
For some of you it may matter that this movie is in black and white. It has not been colorized like some of the old classics.  For me, I enjoy the step back into a simpler time and a movie that stands on it's own as pure entertainment.



Synopsis of the Christmas in Connecticut Movie Plot


Elizabeth Lane is an extremely popular journalist who claims to be a fabulous cook, a wife, a mother, and the ideal homemaker.  She is able to write well enough that no one even suspects she is unmarried and completely clueless about preparing food.  Even the publisher has no idea she is a fraud. 

 Christmas in Connecticut (BD) [Blu-ray]The story takes place during WWII.  Jefferson Jones is one of two survivors when his naval warship was torpedoed by a German submarine.  He and his fellow survivor spent 18 days in a raft on the ocean.   Needless to say, they were literally starving and Jefferson dreamed of a fabulous meal anytime he slept.  When they were finally rescued and hospitalized, Jefferson could not eat solid food and was placed on a milk diet.  He continued to crave a real meal.  He was so desperate to eat, that he even proposed to one of the nurses so she would take sympathy on him and bring him food.

After 6 weeks in the hospital, and many meals, he was no longer anxious to get married.  The nurse thought that if he simply experienced a home for Christmas and observed how wonderful it could be to have a wife, that surely he would follow through and marry her.  She wrote Alexander Yardley, the publisher of the magazine that employed Elizabeth Lane.  She requested that they extend an invitation for Christmas to this soldier who had been through such an ordeal and had no where to go for the holidays.  In response to the letter, Mr. Yardley insisted that Elizabeth Lane and her family include Mr. Jones in their Christmas celebration.  No only that, Mr. Yardley invites himself to come spend a few days with them for Christmas too.

That is where the fun begins!  Elizabeth must find a farm, a husband, a child and learn to cook outstanding meals in a few short days before Mr. Jones and Mr. Yardley show up to join her and her family for a Christmas in Connecticut. 

http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2016/12/christmas-in-connecticut-movie-review.html


Christmas in Connecticut Trailer


This is an old Hallmark channel trailer.   I did check the Hallmark channel schedule for showtimes.  At the time of publishing, Christmas in Connecticut was not on this seasons schedule.   However, you can continue to check it here:








Check Out More Movie Reviews at ReviewThisMovies.com



Christmas in Connecticut Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, July 31, 2015

"The Proposal" with Sandra Bullock Movie Review

http://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/
Let me "propose" this solution for an otherwise boring evening!

The Proposal starring Sandra Bullock and Ryan Reynolds is a delightfully entertaining movie.  Even though the movie is pretty predictable, it is refreshingly funny and romantic.

Sandra & Ryan really are a good match!  Not only are they a cute couple, but they appear to interact naturally with each other.

Betty White, Mary Steenburgen and Craig T. Nelson each added their own special touch of fun and awesomeness in their supporting roles.  The total cast really made this movie one of the best romantic comedies I have ever seen.


Review of The Proposal


 The Proposal (Single-Disc Edition)A hilarious romantic comedy that will keep everyone laughing!

This is one of the best movies I have seen in decades.  My son took me and my husband to see this movie the week it opened.  The guys really went just to accompany me, but they ended up being thoroughly entertained too.

I don't know about the rest of you, but I get really tired of going to the theater, paying astronomical admission prices, then going home more depressed than I was before I went.  Oh wait, I wasn't depressed before I left home!

Regardless, that was not the case with this movie.  I actually felt lighter and happier when I left the theater and wonders of all wonders, I was laughing.  When this happens, it is an occasion to rejoice; and write a review!

Be warned though, there is a nude, well mostly nude, scene.  However, it was so funny that I forgot to be embarrassed.


The Proposer 

Margaret Tate 


Sandra Bullock as Margaret Tate
Sandra Bullock has always been one of my favorite actresses.  Not only do I think she is beautiful and witty, she appears to be the type of person I would want for a best friend.

If I had read the screenplay first, I never would have pictured Sandra Bullock playing the part of Margaret Tate.  Gratefully, I was not on the casting committee because she certainly is the perfect choice.

She is extremely entertaining without being crude, rude or socially unacceptable.  Well, maybe she was a bit rude in this movie, but she is still somehow very lovable.


The Proposee 

Andrew Paxton 

82nd Academy Awards, Ryan Reynolds - army mil-66450-2010-03-09-180346b
Surprise, surprise, surprise!  Ryan Reynolds is truly remarkable!

While he has never especially impressed me in the past, I couldn't even tell you what I have seen him in before, he was phenomenal as Andrew Paxton. You absolutely must see this movie!  His expressions alone should make this a box office hit.

Nothing less than an Oscar deserving performance! 

While he may not have received an Oscar, he did win MTV's Best Comedic Performance Award for this movie.


The Plot of "The Proposal" 

Only a teaser. I won't give the whole movie away 


When Margaret Tate learns that she faces being deported due to an expired visa, the manipulative and despised executive declares that she is actually engaged to her unsuspecting assistant, Andrew.

http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/dvd/disney/proposal/proposal1.gif
Shortly thereafter, Margaret and Andrew find themselves in the Immigration office insisting that they really are in love.  In order to prove to the suspicious immigration officer that they are the "real thing", Margaret once again lies and states that they actually have plans to spend the weekend with Andrew's family in Alaska, where they intend to announce their engagement to his family.  After being totally caught off guard by this declaration, Andrew decides to make a few demands of his own, starting with a proposal.

Alaska becomes the setting for one comedic episode after another.

At the risk of being redundant, You Simply Must See This Movie!


The Proposal Trailer

Join me for a brief look at the movie!




Others Opinions of "The Proposal" 

Reviews 


http://g-ecx.images-amazon.com/images/G/01/dvd/disney/proposal/proposal5.gif
Entertainment Weekly by Lisa Schwarzbaum
"The chemical energy between Bullock and Reynolds is fresh and irresistible"

The Hollywood Reporter by Kevin Lally 
 "The situations might be formulaic, but the teamwork of the two leads brings them to sparkling life"

Chicago Sun-Times by Roger Ebert 
"Recycles a plot that was already old when Tracy and Hepburn were trying it out. You see it coming from a great distance away. As it draws closer, you don't duck out of the way, because it is so cheerfully done, you don't mind being hit by it"

Los Angeles Time by Betsy Sharkey 
"Just a good old-fashioned romance, one in which people actually bring out the best in one another rather than the worst. How novel is that?"



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 4, 2015

Moonstruck Love in a Classic, Funny Nicolas Cage & Cher Movie

Moonstruck on Amazon
Snap Out of It! It's a Moonstruck Movie Review!

That's what Cher says to Nicolas Cage when he tells her he's in love with her, "Snap out of it!", then she slaps his face! It's a famous, classic scene in the 1987 movie Moonstruck starring Cher and Nicolas Cage.

A Movie about Love Centered Around 'Cosmo's Moon'

Moonstruck ranks as one of my personal all time favorite romantic comedies. If you haven't seen it, and you're a fan of funny romantic movies, then you're sure to enjoy this one! You know a movie ranks high on your radar when you start quoting lines from it all your life! Well, that's what this movie did to me!

Some of the famous movie quote lines from Moonstruck:
  • When you love them they drive you crazy because they know they can (A quote by Olympia Dukukas who plays Rose Castorini, Cher's (Loretta Castorini) mother in the movie
  • Rose Castorini asks, 'Do you love him Loretta? Loretta says, 'Yah Ma I love him awful', 'Awe gee that's too bad', says her mother
  • It's Johnny Cammareri <---It's the way Julie Bovasso who plays 'Rita Cappomaggi' says this - She plays Cher's Aunt in the movie
  • La Bella Luna!
  • Alla famigilia, Salut!
What is Moonstruck About?

The movie is about a thirty something woman, Loretta Castorini, played by Cher, whose boyfriend, Johnny Cammareri, played by Danny Aiello, finally proposes to her. She accepts because she feels it's time to be married.

Her mother Rose asks her, 'Do you love him Loretta', she says no Ma..she responds saying she only likes him and that he's a good man. Her mother is relieved to hear that, because as pointed out in the above famous quote, Rose tells her daughter, 'when you love them, they can drive you crazy'. Rose's husband Cosmo (Loretta's father in the movie, played by Vincent Gardenia), drives Rose crazy; she loves him, and suspects he's having an affair.

After their engagement, Johnny has to fly to Palermo, Italy to be with his dying mother, and he asks Loretta to go visit his brother Ronny (a brother she had no idea he had!) Johnny wants to resolve his differences with his brother, and asks Loretta/Cher to invite him to the wedding.

Loretta goes to see Ronny (played by Nicolas Cage). He's a funny dramatic caricature of a scorned man. Ronny blames his brother for the lose of his fiance five years previous. Loretta ends up going upstairs to his apartment to talk sense into him, and one thing leads to another and they sleep together, but even worse, they fall in love!

At the end, her mother asks her, about Ronny, 'Do you love him Loretta?' ...Loretta says, 'Yah, Ma I love him awful'...her mother says, 'ah gees, that's too bad'.

There are a lot of other 'love mix-ups' taking place, which make this movie pure entertainment to watch!

Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

What is Cosmo's Moon?

The movie centers around the moon, referred to in the movie as Cosmo's moon. Rita's brother, Raymond Cappommagi played by Louis Guss tells the story of when he was a young boy who saw this huge moon in the sky, so he proceeded to his bedroom window to look at it and he swears he saw Cosmo standing outside his sister's window. Apparently the 'ole wise tale is that the moon brings the woman to the man.

Here's the Movie Trailer:

Article by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Funkthishouse.com


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, December 21, 2014

A Good Romantic Comedy for the Whole Family

Available on Amazon
If you're looking for a good romantic comedy movie, look no further! While You Were Sleeping is a flirty, fun, cheerful film that the whole family can watch.

What's the Movie About?

Sandra Bullock plays Lucy Moderatz, a Chicago Transit Token Collector who's in love with a handsome man she's never met, but sees everyday taking the train. That man is played by Peter Gallagher; his character's name is Peter Callaghan.

On one particular day, a mugger pushes Peter onto the tracks, and Lucy, without thought for her own safety jumps into action and saves Peter from an oncoming train. When he's brought to the hospital, unconscious and in a coma (where he stays for most of the movie), they won't let Lucy see Peter because she's not family...at which point she quietly says under her breath, 'oh that's alright I was just going to marry the guy'. One of the nurses hears what she says, misunderstands it, and lets her see Peter, explaining to the hospital staff that she's 'Peter's fiance'. His family show up and are told by a nurse that Lucy is Peter's fiance - they're rather shocked! It seems she's not really Peter's type as Peter is a high powered lawyer, where Lucy is a down to earth loving, single, non-manipulative women...the type Peter doesn't usually attract.

Lucy Falls in Love with Peter's Whole Family

The story centers around Lucy being unable to tell Peter's family that she's not really his fiance because for the first time in a long time she feels like she's part of a family again. You see, Lucy lost both her mother and father, was an only child, and doesn't have family.

The story centers around Christmas time as well, so being invited over for Christmas and being around all the fuss of the season in a family home gives Lucy a sense of connection she's long needed.

Things Get Complicated When Lucy Meets Peter's Brother Jack

Lucy ends up spending the night on the couch at Peter's parents home after dinner and late that night Jack, played by Bill Pullman, comes home..Lucy hears him speaking to his sister Mary, pretends to be sleeping and tries to slip out quickly in the morning to avoid speaking with Jack. Unfortunately that plan doesn't work; Jack is waiting on the staircase to speak to Lucy before she leaves. You can see that despite that fact that he doesn't believe she's Peter's fiance, he's very attracted to her. Thus, things begin to get emotionally complicated when neither Lucy or Jack can tell each other their true feelings about each other..since, after all, Lucy is engaged to his brother (but not really!).

The Movie is Filled with Numerous Funny Characters

One of the funniest characters is Joe Fusco Jr., played by Michael Rispoli! He's the son of the landlord in the building Lucy lives in. He has a 'thing' for Lucy, but of course, she's sweet to him, but doesn't have 'those feelings' for him. He flirts with her in comical ways..one day he's standing at the bottom of the staircase as Lucy's unlocking her apartment door, flashing some tickets, he shouts up to her.."Tomorrow night, eight o-'clock... I got ice capades...I know I guy" - This movie line gets tossed around in our house all time!
Peter Boyle plays Ox Callaghan, the father and his dry sense of humor adds dimension to the film as well as Jack Warden who plays 'Saul', the family friend.

How does it End?

I won't be spoiling the ending on this one, so if you haven't seen it, you'll have to watch to see how it all turns out. It's a wonderful feel good movie to watch on girls night or with the family. It usually comes on TV during the holiday season. I watch it every year!

My Personal Sense when I Watch the Movie

I'm not sure if this happens to you; but some movies bring me back to a point in my own life and leave me almost missing that time gone by. My early 20's remind me of Lucy's life: I moved to Toronto, had finished school, was working and loved being a city girl. The 'city setting' makes me think of my young days of living on my own, in my own apartment in Downtown Toronto...a time I loved. Watching the characters walk through the city, and laugh together...the cold winter days and nights...all of it brings a familiar smile to my face. Her fun loving relationship with Jack also reminds me of another time in my own life: Love how this movie makes me feel!

Here's a teaser with the movie trailer!



By Barbara Tremblay Cipak
Funkthishouse.com


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, July 18, 2014

Romantic Movies for Men, Reviewed by Men

It is rare to gain insight on what romantic movies we can get men to watch with us, and enjoy. Sometimes we can get our guys to watch a chick flick with us, but they don't really like the movie. They are watching it just to spend time with the women they love. Of course, we appreciate their willingness to sit through these romantic movies, but it would truly be more fulfilling for a couple if both partners could enjoy the picture. 

I really wanted to find some romantic movies to recommend that the guys would also value as a good movie. I am most grateful to the gentlemen who have reviewed a few romantic movies that appeal to a man. Since I have personally seen all of these movies, I know women will enjoy them too. 

So, without further ado, let's view the romantic movies that appeal to both sexes. 


The African Queen 

 The African Queen
We can always depend on Bogie to deliver!  

He possesses a unique attraction for both men and women and Katherine Hepburn certainly makes a strong female balance as his partner.  Together they seem to have an indivisible bound as they work side by side with a common goal.  

Tony Leather offers an exceptional review of The African Queen.  He wrote such an intriguing review that I had to watch the movie again, even though I have seen it dozens of times in the past.
 


It Happened One Night 

 It Happened One NightIn another exceptional review, Maugustine shares that this is "the film that made me fall in love with film".  Wow!  What a phenomenal compliment to any movie, but especially a romantic movie.  If only Clark Gable and Claudette Colbert could know the impact that they had with the one picture.

I am not a filmmaker like Maugustine, but I do love a great movie and It Happened One Night is definitely one of my own personal all-time favorites.  Not only is it romantic, but it is also funny.  A romantic comedy is simply the best!





Seven Brides for Seven Brothers 

 Seven Brides For Seven Brothers [DVD]
I am thrilled to know that this movie also appeals to men and I appreciate Rusty1430 for giving us a man's perspective of  Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.

I adore this film, but I had never even considered the impact of the brothers relationships to one another.  

Since I have 4 brothers myself, I truly appreciate this new insight and wholeheartedly agree with Rusty1430.





More Romantic Movies for Men
 
I know there are more romantic movies that both men and women will enjoy. These were just a few that I found that men have reviewed and recommended for us. 

I would love to invite more men to step up and share your reviews.  Please leave your review links in the guestbook below.

We could all use a little help. After all, we want our men to be happy with the movie selections too.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, July 4, 2014

Romantic Comedies Rediscovered

Sometimes we just need to be able to take a break, get away from the daily routine of work and stress. It is at those moments when I start plunging into the depths of the romantic comedy movie reviews, searching for just that right combination of love and laughter to help me sit back, relax, and lose myself for a few hours in a romantic tale that is sure to have a happy ending. 

There are dozens of romantic comedies to choose from, but today we are going to take a close look at only two reviews written by a couple of fantastic writers.  

Both of these movies were released over a decade ago, but it truly is a lot of fun rediscovering them.  It has been so long since they were originally released that it is almost like seeing them again for the first time!


Overboard


 OverboardSusan-Zutautas wrote an excellent review of Overboard.  In all honesty, I had totally forgotten this movie until I read Susan's review.

The movie was released in 1987, back in the days of waiting for years for movies to be offered on VHS tapes and before there was a video rental store on every corner.  Of course, even that has changed now and we can easily have a rental movie streamed right into our homes without ever moving from the couch.  Certainly makes watching a great movie at home a whole lot easier. 

Overboard was, and is, a very entertaining romantic comedy.  Once you have read the review, I have no doubt, you too will be "streaming" a bit of laughter into your home.



The Wedding Singer


 The Wedding Singer (Totally Awesome Edition)Our very own "Party Planning Contributor" takes us all back to the past by reviewing The Wedding Singer.  Oh, yes!  I do remember when this movie was released.   

I have to admit, I think I probably laugh more at the 80's references than anything else in this movie, but I do think it would be entertaining for any generation.  It is always a good thing when we can look back at our youthful selves and laugh a little.

I watched the clip that Decorating for Events shared in her review and I truly laughed at that short clip.  I think only Adam Sandler could sing  "all I want to do is grow old with you" and make me laugh.  It also gave me a renewed appreciation for Billy Idol.


I truly do love movies that make me laugh, especially if they have a romantic storyline.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Pride and Prejudice

There is one movie and book that stands out in our hearts as an all time favorite for most forever hopeless romantics.  Pride and Prejudice is not only a classic in literature, but it is also a work of art in the movie industry.  

It is truly my own personal all time favorite.  Perhaps, largely owing to the fact that my daughter and I spent countless hours watching the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice throughout her high school years.   Any rainy weekend or holiday break was all the reason we needed to break out the dvds.

As soon as the new version starring Keira Knightley was released in the theaters, we were in attendance for it's debut.  We both now own a copy of that dvd as well. 

Ironically, we each have a different movie version of Pride and Prejudice that we prefer.



PRIDE & PREJUDICE DVD'S REVIEWED

I have personally seen 3 of the 4 versions available and I do have my own preference.   Obviously, the story-line is the same, but the actors do play a major part in personal choice, as well as the depth of detail.  I tend to always prefer the movie that most closely aligns with the original book, mainly because I usually watch the movie because I first loved the book.  

I find deviations distracting even when I do appreciate some things simply don't come across as well on the screen.  I completely understand that screenwriters and directors take liberties to make a more entertaining movie.  

I would love to hear your opinions.  Please leave your comments and tell us which version you prefer.  

However, I will warn you in advance, her reviews will send you running to your dvd players and searching for your own copy, or copies, of Pride & Prejudice.  

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!


  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.