Showing posts with label Forever Hopeless Romantic Contributor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Forever Hopeless Romantic Contributor. Show all posts

Friday, August 15, 2014

Romantic Broadway Musicals

I dearly love going to the theater to see a Broadway musicals even if I have seen the same musical a dozen times before.

When I was a teenager, I volunteered to usher at our local community theater just so I could see the plays for free.  I was always enchanted by the musicals.  

Night after night I would sit totally engrossed in the play and the music.  Occasionally, I would be so moved by the actors that I would forget that I actually had responsibilities during intermission and after the production ended.  I really just wanted to sit there, close my eyes and try to memorize the scenes, the lyrics, the lines, simply everything that I had seen.


Broadway Musical Favorites

The Phantom of the Opera (Original 1986 London Cast)
 As an adult, I am still captivated by the stage, and I am still especially fond of musicals.  I shall never forget the first time I saw Andrew Lloyd Webbers "Phantom of the Opera" or the incredibly fantastic version of "Les Miserables" featuring the music by Claude-Michel Schonberg. 

While those two Broadway musicals stand out in my mind as my personal all time favorites, I have seen many other remarkable musicals including Beauty & The Beast which I just happened to take in while visiting Chicago.  I had always considered it a child's play, but I found it incredibly enchanting and entertaining even as an adult.


 Hello, Dolly! (1994 Broadway Revival Cast)
 Many years ago, I had the pleasure of seeing some of what I consider to be the Broadway Musical classics.  I mentally danced along with Anna and the King of Siam in The King & I, I explored the mountainside and fell in love right along with Maria in The Sound of Music.  I played a serenading violin in my mind as I absorbed Fiddler on the Roof and I shall never, ever forget seeing Carol Channing up close and personal in Hello Dolly.  I was gifted front row seats for that musical and Miss Channing was beyond incredible!

I remember some of the musicals plays I attended in my youth better than others, but I very much look forward to seeing their revivals in upcoming productions.  I often seek out reviews of Broadway musicals prior to purchasing tickets to determine if I really wish to see a particular production.  That is especially important in difficult economic times when we need to be a bit more discerning about how we spend our money.  

Therefore, I would love to read your reviews of your favorite romantic Broadway musicals!  If you have previously published a review, please leave the link in the guestbook below.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 8, 2014

Cheap Date Ideas: Inexpensive Dating for Couples

Whether you are a single couple searching for inexpensive dating ideas, or a married couple with or without children seeking ideas for cheap date nights, the ideas featured here today will provide you with dozens of suggestions for things a couple can do together without having to spend a fortune.

Dating can often "break the piggy bank", especially in difficult economic times.  Many of us are barely paying the rent, much less having surplus income to pay for expensive date nights.  We all need a bit of dating advice and suggestions for how to date without going into debt.



Spend Time Together Without Spending a Fortune

  1.   Go on a Picnic, a Walk in the Park or a Combination of the two.
  2.   A museum 
  3.   An art gallery or art show that features "starving artist"
  4.   An antique store & be amazed at the memories they can elicit and the stories you each could tell.
  5.   The local Zoo happens to be my personal favorite.
  6.   The local Botanical Gardens.  Be sure to pay close attention here and find out her favorite flower.
  7.   Horseback Riding
  8.   Hiking!  Scout out short trails in advance and be sure to tell her to dress for walking outside.
  9.   Go swimming.
  10.   Bowling can be lots of fun, especially if you don't keep score.
  11.   Skating:  Depending on your area, it could be either roller skating or ice skating. 
  12.   Kite Flying is really inexpensive, especially if you already own a kite.
  13.   Rent a movie and make your own popcorn at home.
  14.   Any local event like the fair, craft fairs, free concerts, etc.
  15.   Walk around the mall, chat and have lunch in the food court.
  16.   If you happen to live close to one, go to the beach and take your own cooler of soft drinks.
  17.   Play a video game together.
  18.   Play board games or cards 
  19.   Cook dinner together.
  20.   Take the music into the backyard and dance under the stars.


More Cheap Date Suggestions 

If you have additional cheap date suggestions or if you have already published an article about dating, I would love to hear from you.  Simply leave your article link in the comments section below.
   


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 1, 2014

I Need More Books! Romance Preferred

I finished my last book on my Kindle yesterday and went in search of more romance books to add to my Kindle collection.  Purchasing books for my Kindle is a fairly new activity for me and one I find that has it's own form of difficulty.   

For as long as I can remember, one of my favorite activities has been physically going to a bookstore, spending hours scouring the bookshelves, reading the back covers, as well as the reviews, and carefully selecting books for purchase.  As a result, I have always had a reserve of books waiting for me to read.  

Since my daughter gave me a Kindle for Christmas, I stopped going to the bookstore and I started perusing the selection of books offered on Amazon.com and downloading the books on my Kindle.  I recently discovered that is not the best way to select romance books to read.  As Forrest Gump would say, that is a bit "like a box of chocolates.  You never know what you're gonna get" and I have been rather disappointed on a few occasions when I download a book and find it completely unacceptable reading for me.  

After experiencing the disappointments, I have reverted back to depending on reliable reviews from trusted sources before I purchase a book. 



Christian Fiction

Christian Fiction is my personal preference.  I never have to worry that I will be inviting unwanted mental images or graphic details when I read a Christian romance.  I also feel pretty safe in recommending these books to my mother, my daughter or anyone of any age.

In my quest for new books to read, I realized there is an excellent resource for this genre right here on Review This!




Historical Romance 

Historical Romance is such a fabulous niche when a writer has actually researched an era and writes with factual content.  

I sought out Jenms Guide to Historical Romance to satisfy my historical romance appetite.  

She introduces us to 2 "solid" historical authors with recommended book series, as well as giving us several Top Ten Lists separated by genre niche.

These recommendations and reviews give me a much better place to start my search for new romance books instead of using the Amazon search engine. 



Readers Need More Recommendations


I am fully aware that each reader has their own preference, just as each writer has their own style.  If for no other reason, reading book reviews before you buy a book can save money, as well as time, and a great deal of anxiety can be avoided by simply reading reviews first.

Readers everywhere want in-depth and precise reviews.  If you have a book that you can recommend, I invite you to leave your review link in the guestbook below.  Your reviews do not have to align with my personal preferences.  There are readers for every genre and I am certain we all would rather have an honest review of a book before we buy it.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 25, 2014

Live Like There is No Tomorrow!

When it comes to love and romance, I can't think of a better quote than "Live Like There is No Tomorrow!"  

We have all heard that phrase many times before, but the quote took on a whole new, very realistic meaning as I read Countrysunshine's article today.  

I was completely captivated as their years together and apart unfolded before my eyes in just a few minutes of reading Our Love Story.  

There are many thoughts and comments I could write here on the heels of reading the in-depth love story she shared, but I am not going to write them.  I want each reader here to have the time to read the article for yourself without spending one extra moment with me.  

May we all "Live Like There is No Tomorrow!"






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 18, 2014

Romantic Movies for Men, Reviewed by Men

It is rare to gain insight on what romantic movies we can get men to watch with us, and enjoy. Sometimes we can get our guys to watch a chick flick with us, but they don't really like the movie. They are watching it just to spend time with the women they love. Of course, we appreciate their willingness to sit through these romantic movies, but it would truly be more fulfilling for a couple if both partners could enjoy the picture. 

I really wanted to find some romantic movies to recommend that the guys would also value as a good movie. I am most grateful to the gentlemen who have reviewed a few romantic movies that appeal to a man. Since I have personally seen all of these movies, I know women will enjoy them too. 

So, without further ado, let's view the romantic movies that appeal to both sexes. 


The African Queen 

 The African Queen
We can always depend on Bogie to deliver!  

He possesses a unique attraction for both men and women and Katherine Hepburn certainly makes a strong female balance as his partner.  Together they seem to have an indivisible bound as they work side by side with a common goal.  

Tony Leather offers an exceptional review of The African Queen.  He wrote such an intriguing review that I had to watch the movie again, even though I have seen it dozens of times in the past.
 


It Happened One Night 

 It Happened One NightIn another exceptional review, Maugustine shares that this is "the film that made me fall in love with film".  Wow!  What a phenomenal compliment to any movie, but especially a romantic movie.  If only Clark Gable and Claudette Colbert could know the impact that they had with the one picture.

I am not a filmmaker like Maugustine, but I do love a great movie and It Happened One Night is definitely one of my own personal all-time favorites.  Not only is it romantic, but it is also funny.  A romantic comedy is simply the best!





Seven Brides for Seven Brothers 

 Seven Brides For Seven Brothers [DVD]
I am thrilled to know that this movie also appeals to men and I appreciate Rusty1430 for giving us a man's perspective of  Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.

I adore this film, but I had never even considered the impact of the brothers relationships to one another.  

Since I have 4 brothers myself, I truly appreciate this new insight and wholeheartedly agree with Rusty1430.





More Romantic Movies for Men
 
I know there are more romantic movies that both men and women will enjoy. These were just a few that I found that men have reviewed and recommended for us. 

I would love to invite more men to step up and share your reviews.  Please leave your review links in the guestbook below.

We could all use a little help. After all, we want our men to be happy with the movie selections too.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 11, 2014

Romantic Picnics


https://sylvestermouse.com/My husband and I frequently share a romantic picnic, often in our own backyard simply because it is convenient, peaceful and our own personal temporary hideaway haven. 

I am blessed with a friend and partner in this life that doesn't mind slapping together sandwiches, grabbing a bag of chips, glasses of lemonade and heading outside. 

We spend hours laughing, talking about our co-workers, sharing our thoughts, hopes, wishes, dreams and ideas. We have had so many fun picnics in our backyard over the last few months, that he feels he personally knows all of the Contributors on Review This!  

You see, it is very easy for me to break from my computer work and head out for a picnic in the backyard with my sweetheart at lunchtime and then return to work. Therefore, my co-workers are often fresh on my mind. 

I won't share their personal life experiences publicly, but I will tell all of my readers that my husband hears about every success, every trial, every new home, every flat tire, every death and every life of my fellow writers. He laughs, gets appropriately angry when my friends don't get the needed help, and grieves right alongside me when tears are shed. 

This may not sound exactly romantic to some, but the bond created between my husband and myself as we share about our days, our friends, our experiences, is a bond that romantic writers only wish they would capture with words.   Having someone to share those everyday moments and feel what you feel is the true meaning of "romantic" and is what every forever hopeless romantic seeks in their own life.  

Now, lets plan your picnic!



Romantic Picnic Ideas

If you are interested in a good old fashioned picnic, complete with a picnic basket and blanket for sitting, you are going to love Mcgilwriter's article,  Romantic Picnic Ideas.  

Just reading the article brings back fond memories of planning for a lakeside picnic or park picnic ahead of time.  

I really liked his suggestion of a starry nights picnic!  Yes, I do see that in our future.

I also loved his proposal idea.  Quick tip guys, girls love this kind of picnic romance. 



Picnic Backpacks – Get Your Hike On and Take A Gourmet Lunch With You 

My husband and I love to hike!  We usually take our furbabies with us, but on my photo shoots or really long trails, we leave the pups home.  Those hikes would be the perfect time for a Picnic Backpacks!

Yes, I need one of these!  I have added it to my birthday wish list.  I bet I know one thing I will be getting for my next birthday now. 



How to Pack a Beach Picnic 

A picnic on the beach sounds divine!  I love the beach, the ocean, watching the sea life and even building sand castles.

ClassyGals not only tells us How to Pack a Beach Picnic, but she also shares excellent tips for a beach picnic and recommended beach picnic food.  

So, while we are building our sand castles, we will also be building a stronger bond with each other and lasting memories.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 4, 2014

Romantic Comedies Rediscovered

Sometimes we just need to be able to take a break, get away from the daily routine of work and stress. It is at those moments when I start plunging into the depths of the romantic comedy movie reviews, searching for just that right combination of love and laughter to help me sit back, relax, and lose myself for a few hours in a romantic tale that is sure to have a happy ending. 

There are dozens of romantic comedies to choose from, but today we are going to take a close look at only two reviews written by a couple of fantastic writers.  

Both of these movies were released over a decade ago, but it truly is a lot of fun rediscovering them.  It has been so long since they were originally released that it is almost like seeing them again for the first time!


Overboard


 OverboardSusan-Zutautas wrote an excellent review of Overboard.  In all honesty, I had totally forgotten this movie until I read Susan's review.

The movie was released in 1987, back in the days of waiting for years for movies to be offered on VHS tapes and before there was a video rental store on every corner.  Of course, even that has changed now and we can easily have a rental movie streamed right into our homes without ever moving from the couch.  Certainly makes watching a great movie at home a whole lot easier. 

Overboard was, and is, a very entertaining romantic comedy.  Once you have read the review, I have no doubt, you too will be "streaming" a bit of laughter into your home.



The Wedding Singer


 The Wedding Singer (Totally Awesome Edition)Our very own "Party Planning Contributor" takes us all back to the past by reviewing The Wedding Singer.  Oh, yes!  I do remember when this movie was released.   

I have to admit, I think I probably laugh more at the 80's references than anything else in this movie, but I do think it would be entertaining for any generation.  It is always a good thing when we can look back at our youthful selves and laugh a little.

I watched the clip that Decorating for Events shared in her review and I truly laughed at that short clip.  I think only Adam Sandler could sing  "all I want to do is grow old with you" and make me laugh.  It also gave me a renewed appreciation for Billy Idol.


I truly do love movies that make me laugh, especially if they have a romantic storyline.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 20, 2014

Time Travel Romance Books

Summer is definitely upon us and it is time to pack for our vacation.  I always carry a tote bag containing a few new romance novels to read while riding in the car or reclining on the beach.  

I didn't have to go very far for romance book recommendations before I found two book reviews that immediately grabbed my attention.

Since I don't normally read time travel books, I am really excited to venture into this new area.  After all, I am still amazed that the Hunger Games trilogy fed my romantic books appetite.  So, why not time travel too?

Now I ask you, who wouldn't want to travel back in time and experience a heart pounding romance?



The Time Traveler's Wife



TanjaCrouch wrote the movie review for The Time Traveler's Wife, but while reviewing the movie, she also reviewed and recommended the book.  

When I read her words, "You can feel the love between Clare and Henry which makes some of the scenes truly heartbreaking", I knew I had to read this book.  

Couple that with the idea of meeting your future husband when you are a child and waiting to grow up so you can meet him, well now that is just too romantic!

Fortunately, I will be traveling with my husband and he is accustomed to seeing me cry over books.



Outlander

LNAngel captured my attention and intrigued me immediately with the title of her review:  Outlander: The Only Book Series I Can Read Again & Again.  When someone tells me they can read a book over and over again, I know it has to be a fabulous book. 

I also like history and I love a book that takes place in the past, especially if it is historically correct.  

Ok, a married woman finding love and romance through time travel?  I don't know what to think at the moment, but I was so impressed with LNAngel's review that I have ordered the book for my Kindle and I will be reading it very soon.  







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 23, 2014

A Knight in Shining Armor ~ A Romantic Book Review

Finding a good book to read is often not easy and I rely heavily on reviews written by other unbiased readers.

I am always reading a book.  As soon as I finish one book, I start another.  Some books, like The Hunger Games Trilogy are so captivating that once I start reading, I simply cannot put them down until I have finished reading the entire book.  Most books I read over the course of a few days an hour or so at a time.  

My reading time is my unwinding time.  A time were I allow my mind to shift from reality to fiction and to get lost, for just a little while, in a made up world.  I prefer romance novels, or at least a book that has a strong romantic story woven into it like the Hunger Games.


A Knight in Shining Armor

 

Upon-Request captured my interest in her review of A Knight in Shining Armor with her very first words, "A love that is timeless...".  For a truly forever hopeless romantic, I honestly don't know a more appealing phrase.

The book was originally published in 1989, but apparently it's appeal is timeless.   


Upon-Request explains that even though she read it decades ago, she still remembers it fondly, but you will want to read her review for yourself! 



An Invitation to Share Your Review


I would love to read more romantic book reviews and I would certainly be thrilled to be able to share them here with our readers of Review This! 

If you have written a review of a romantic book that you would like to share,  simply leave us the link in the guestbook.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 9, 2014

Pride and Prejudice

There is one movie and book that stands out in our hearts as an all time favorite for most forever hopeless romantics.  Pride and Prejudice is not only a classic in literature, but it is also a work of art in the movie industry.  

It is truly my own personal all time favorite.  Perhaps, largely owing to the fact that my daughter and I spent countless hours watching the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice throughout her high school years.   Any rainy weekend or holiday break was all the reason we needed to break out the dvds.

As soon as the new version starring Keira Knightley was released in the theaters, we were in attendance for it's debut.  We both now own a copy of that dvd as well. 

Ironically, we each have a different movie version of Pride and Prejudice that we prefer.



PRIDE & PREJUDICE DVD'S REVIEWED

I have personally seen 3 of the 4 versions available and I do have my own preference.   Obviously, the story-line is the same, but the actors do play a major part in personal choice, as well as the depth of detail.  I tend to always prefer the movie that most closely aligns with the original book, mainly because I usually watch the movie because I first loved the book.  

I find deviations distracting even when I do appreciate some things simply don't come across as well on the screen.  I completely understand that screenwriters and directors take liberties to make a more entertaining movie.  

I would love to hear your opinions.  Please leave your comments and tell us which version you prefer.  

However, I will warn you in advance, her reviews will send you running to your dvd players and searching for your own copy, or copies, of Pride & Prejudice.  

I look forward to hearing your thoughts!


  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 25, 2014

Romantic Movie Reviews: Persuasion and The Bridges of Madison County

Romantic movies are always in season, but on those rainy afternoons in spring, I simply love grabbing one or two of my favorite romance movies, popping them into the dvd player, settling down under a warm blanket and letting the romance of their stories wash over me.

As the rain drops are softly falling on the flower buds in my backyard, the awakening of love is unfolding on the screen.  For just a little while, I am resting and allowing my heart to absorb the nurturing effects of a fabulous love story.  

Like the flowers, we all need those rainy days and the tender time of restoration they provide.


Persuasion

Ibidii selected one of my own personal favorites to review when she wrote her article.
 
The movie Persuasion is packed with those heart stopping moments of unobserved love and longing so clearly evident to the viewers in the faces of the characters, but carefully hidden from the view of the object of their desire.  

A love that stood the test of time, separation & persuasion.


The Bridges of Madison County

I have long been an admirer of Clint Eastwood.  I even named my first dog after a character he dashingly played in an old western from my childhood days.  However, until I read a review of The Bridges of Madison County written by Freshstart7, I had never seen this particular movie.   

Because of her recommendation, I watched and experienced my own shower of tears over this movie.  

Ironically, I found it too was the story of a love the stood the test of time, separation & persuasion.  



Romantic Movies Reviewed

Some days seem to be made for romantic movies.  There are some movies we know that we will love when we see the trailers, or even the cover of the dvd.  But, there are others that are discovered because someone took the time to write a review, we separated ourselves from our daily schedules and were persuaded to encounter love. 




********************


If you have a review you would like to share, please leave the link in our guestbook below.

 
Don't Put Off Until Tomorrow,
What You Can Review Today!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 28, 2014

Reviews of Romantic Books

Reading is such a huge part of my life, I simply cannot imagine a day without a book in my hand.  

I love to read.  Books can transport us across the world in an instant, take us back to the past, give us insight into a variety of personalities and help us understand why people say things or behave a certain way.  

Even in the fast and easy to read novellas, I recognize I am learning about people, places, ideologies and history.



Romance Hidden in Other Genres

Romantic books are my personal favorites, but romance is not limited to one genre.  As a matter of fact, the most romantic books I have read recently would not be categorized as romance novels.  I recently read The Hunger Games Trilogy, which is most often cataloged as Science Fiction or Action & Adventure.  While I enjoyed the futuristic setting and the action packed drama, the tender affections, selfless love, and developing romantic relationship was clearly the thread throughout the books that keep me reading.  As a matter of fact, I was so captivated by the romantic story line, that I read all three books in a few days.


http://www.amazon.com/The-Night-Circus-Erin-Morgenstern/dp/0307744434?tag=review-this-20
Bekat recently reviewed another book that would be found on the Fantasy or Psychological Thrillers shelves.  

However, just reading her review of The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern reveals the underlying love story and beckons me to start reading the book today.





Classic Romance Novels

When I was younger, I focused on the classics.  After all, I knew I would not be disappointed with Classic Romance novels.  Over the last few years, I have actually found it interesting to go back and read them again.  It is amazing to me to realize that what I admired or adored in my youth is no longer my focus as I read them again.  Perhaps that is one of the reasons why they are "classics".  They have an appeal for every generation and age. 

Because the classics are almost always on the "reading lists" in high school, most of us are already familiar with them and have a basic knowledge of their story lines before we ever pick them up to actually read them.  

http://www.amazon.com/Gone-Wind-75th-Anniversary-Edition/dp/1451635621?tag=review-this-20In her review of Gone With the Wind, BeatriceRyanDesigns immediately focuses on the era.  We can learn so much about history in the pages of our great Classic Romance Novels without even realizing we are also getting a lesson in historical lifestyles, fashion and world changing events like war. 

Truthfully, I probably learned more about the Civil War in the pages of Gone with the Wind, than I did in any history class.


Britflorida gives us another look at history with her awesome review of Jane Eyre and how so much of the book is actually a reflection of the authors personal experiences.  

I do agree with her completely.  There are definitely aspects of that book that I view differently today than I did when I first read it in high school.



Contemporary Romance Novels

Sometimes I just want a great love story.  A book to help me relax and unwind.  Frankly, a book that will take my mind off of everyday tensions and simply entertain.  I don't even mind if they have an obvious end.  In fact, I often read this type of book because I want it to end with "happily ever after." 


I found out recently that Mbgphoto and I have that in common.  She reviewed and recommended Winners by Danielle Steel.  

In her review, she tells us that she read this book in it's entirety in one sitting.  

Sometimes that is exactly what we need!     





********************

Romance is not defined by, or limited to any person, place, time or event.  We can all fall in love, often quite unexpectedly. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 14, 2014

Let's Talk Romance!

Have you ever wondered, just what exactly is romance? 

I am intrigued by the varying opinions I have encountered over the years.   Some instantly think of sex, and perhaps that is understandable considering the daily diet of seductive advertising we are all forced to ingest. 

I have oft heard the term "a deep, abiding love" and while that is closer to my definition, it doesn't totally define romance. 


What do you call romantic? When you see a young man open the car door for his date, or a gentleman pull out the chair for his dinner partner, do you refer to those actions as romantic? 

How about the selfless acts in the storybooks of the girl selling her hair and the man selling his watch, just so they can afford to give each other the perfect gift?   Or, is it when you see two people with their heads together listening only to each other as the rest of the world goes on around them. 


The Definition of Romance


I would submit that romance is the expression in action of a deep emotion, a more continual caring evidenced through communicative glances, electrified touches and an intangible connection. 

********************

Debw07 offers her definition of romance and gives suggestions in her article Hopeless Romantic.  I did chuckle as I read her lens when I discovered we shared the same Hollywood heartthrob "crush".  

Even though I have seen almost all of her recommended romantic movies, she did review one romantic movie that I haven't seen yet.  All of my loyal readers know how much I love discovering a new (regardless of release date) romantic movie!


Romantics are always discovering unique ways to say "I love you" to their one and only love.  

One of my all time favorite writers on Squidoo, Loreleicohen, offers several fun and fabulous ways to do just that in her article,  How Do You Say I Love You?

I always enjoy reading articles written by authors who share personal experiences while giving awesome recommendations.  



Now tell me, what is your definition of romance?
  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 28, 2014

Romantic Movie Reviews: The Bodyguard, 10 Things I Hate About You, While You Were Sleeping, Anne of Green Gables, Brief Encounter, & The Way We Were

http://reviewthispersonalreviews.blogspot.com/2014/02/romantic-movie-reviews-bodyguard-10.html
I absolutely love being the romantic movies!  I have had so much fun reading the reviews of the best romantic movies for the last few weeks, and I have found myself grabbing my own old copies of the movies to watch them again.  

In a few cases, I have actually been introduced to new romantic movies by our review authors.  I really do love that!  Having a movie reviewed and recommended, truly helps me find entertainment that I have previously missed, but that I am sure to enjoy.  


Recommended Romantic Movie Reviews


The BodyguardThe Bodyguard review written by ThanksDevine, is a perfect example of an older movie being brought back to mind by an excellent review.  

Just reading his words filled my mind with memories of the scenes from that movie and made me want to relive the experience of watching Whitney Houston and Kevin Costner fall in love on the silver screen.  

This movie is filled with passion and I was reminded of looks of longing and desire these two exchanged with each other as I read this review.


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00447L4KA/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00447L4KA&linkCode=as2&tag=review-this-20&linkId=4WTL23ZIFO2GGCCQDaisyDixon reviewed 10 Things I Hate About You and I was, once again, swept back to the past.

I had not even realized Heath Ledger was the male star in that movie.  When the movie was originally released, Heath was new to Hollywood.  As a matter of fact, since reading this review, I did a bit of research and found that "10 Things I Hate About You" was Heath's first movie.  

This was such a tender movie about first loves and discovering romance. I had to watch it again and, of course, my heart cried for both actors as their relationship developed.

I will admit, I also cried at the realization that the real man, Heath Ledger, was taken from all of us way too soon.   



http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/6304765266/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=6304765266&linkCode=as2&tag=review-this-20&linkId=SPG5YOSF4MBZOJVH
While You Were Sleeping  is one of my personal all time favorite romantic comedies. 

Crystalwriter wrote an excellent review of this fabulously fun movie.  Sandra Bullock and Bill Pullman both have a way of making you feel like you know them personally.

The two of them together in any movie is bound to be a hit, but this really is The Best Case of Unexpected Love.  

There are several quotes from this movie that you are apt to hear me reference on a daily basis.  I might mention "leaning" or "pencils" and if you have seen the movie, you will definitely grasp the implication.  


Romantic Movies by Special Request





http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0007NMHNS/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B0007NMHNS&linkCode=as2&tag=review-this-20&linkId=DQ2QBEADFFLWX2IF
WhiteIsland88  suggested that I include Anne of Green GablesI immediately applauded her movie suggestion.  In less than 24 hrs, she had written an outstanding review of the movies.

The romance part of the story comes more into focus in the second movie, but we chose to add and review the trilogy.  

While there is no question that you could enjoy the second movie without having seen the first movie, the trilogy is simply more complete with the beginning and end.  They are all worthwhile and highly recommended. 



Since I have never personally seen the movie Brief Encounter, karen1960's review was especially intriguing to me.


I do love the older movies and the beauty of black & white.  I always enjoy the close up look at historical places, architecture, clothing styles and political references of what would have been current day when the movies were originally made.

I have added this movie to my list of must sees.  I am certain there is a rainy Saturday in my future when this will fit with my desire of the day.


The Anniversary of a Romantic Movie Classic

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000W453KQ/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B000W453KQ&linkCode=as2&tag=review-this-20&linkId=7CDRIXVWK6DE6F6Z
I had not realized that it had been 40 years since I first viewed this movie until I read this review written by Serendipity831.

Talk about a flood of memories! I definitely experienced flashbacks as I was reading this review.  It is so hard to believe it has been 40 years.  I can easily remember exactly how I felt when I first saw The Way We Were.

Many of us grew up with the golden voice of Barbra Streisand setting the tone of our days and "singing" our lives. When she was teamed with the beautiful "golden boy", Robert Redford, to make this movie, it was bound to be a smash hit! 

Happy Anniversary to "The Way We Were" !


Future Romantic Movie Reviews

If you would like to share your romantic movie review with us, simple leave the link to that review in the comment section at the bottom of the list.  

I look forward to reading and sharing your review!
 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 14, 2014

Valentines Day Special Edition ~ Romantic Movies & Music

Happy Valentines Day and welcome to this special edition of Romantic Movies & Music!

As many of you already know, I am a hopeless romantic!  Love and Romance are the essence of the beautiful rose called life.  Without it, most of us would wither and die.  

Because "forever hopeless romantics" are in love with love, we naturally gravitate to romantic movies and music.  In celebration of Valentines Day, the day set aside every year for love and lovers to celebrate, I am featuring a large selection of romantic movie and music reviews written by other forever hopeless romantics on Squidoo.  

These are all exceptional reviews and I warn you now, it is truly impossible to pick a favorite.  So get out those tissues because, without further ado, I give you:


Most Excellent Forever Hopeless Romantic Movie and Music Reviews

*All Photos are Linked to Actual Review Articles Written by Noted Authors

 
 Is Your Love Somewhere in Time? ~ A Fabulous Movie Reviewed by notsuperstitious13 The Notebook-True love at its best! An Outstanding Review by FreshStart7 Review of "The Cutting Edge" Movie ~ Precious Memories by DecoratingforEvents A Personal Reaction & Review of You've Got Mail by nicolepyles86 A Good Romantic Comedy Movie for the Whole Family ~ While You Were Sleeping Movie Review by Brite-Ideas Love Doesn't Just Happen, Sometimes You Have to Work For It! ~ Love Comes Softly Review by Grammieo Only You Movie with Robert Downey Jr ~ Reviewed by Kinworm "Grease": A Wholesome Youth Musical Review by Charito1962 Before Sunrise: a Different Romance Movie ~ Review by Aibrean82 40 Year Ago ~ Memories of Romeo & Juliet by Grammieo Who Could Ever Forget Wuthering Heights Reviewed by Kiwinana71


 

More Romantic Movies & Music

Because love and romance are a part of every day, I will continue to search for more romantic movies and music reviews to share with you right here on Review This!  

I would also welcome your romantic music & movie reviews!  Please, share the links to your reviews with me.  I would hate to miss something awesome!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 7, 2014

A Little Romance with Elvis

 A Little Romance with Elvis
Most of us have great memories associated with Elvis and his music. We can remember the first time we heard Elvis sing. We remember his movies, his good looks and his charming smirks. To this day, I am tickled when I view videos and I see him do that little half smile while he is singing.

Many of his songs are important to us and are associated with someone we knew, dated, fell in love with or even married. Elvis touched our hearts in his own special way and we all know where we were and what we were doing when his death was announced. 


Elvis changed music, he influenced lives and he left us wanting more.


The writers featured here today share their memories, those magic moments that included Elvis and his songs.
 


Can't Help Falling in Love


These are both most excellent reviews of the same song, but from a totally different perspective.  I can easily identify with each one.  I have absolutely no problem believing Elvis sang this song to both a woman and to God.  The expression of not being able to help "falling in love" would easily be true for either and I do agree with TheCureforYouthMinistry, Elvis did love gospel music and I do truly believe he loved God.  I don't doubt for one second that he did smile over the use of this song in church.

https://amzn.to/2CCtlYz
Cherylfay shares her own personal memories of falling in love and her association with this song in Can't Help Falling in Love.  She recalls in vivid detail exactly how she felt when her own blue eyed babe winked at her.

This is truly a fun article to read.  Who knows.  She just might make you start remembering too!

TheCureforYouthMinistry shares a completely different perspective in this article, The First Time I Heard Elvis in Church.  I have personally never heard anyone sing "Can't Help Falling in Love" in church, but I think it is totally applicable and appropriate with just the portion of the lyrics that say "take my whole life too".  I also love the idea of using popular music to make a spiritual point.  I would have thought that was awesome as a youth or young adult.  Even now, I can truthfully say  I will never again hear the song exactly the same way now that TheCureforYouthMinistry has caused me to listen to the song in a totally different way.   



 

Love Songs with Elvis

https://amzn.to/2GCaJur
Grammieo  delights us all with Can Anyone Say SwoonJust the title of the article says it all and made me smile.  

I can understand why Grammieo decided to review the full album instead of just one song.  It really is difficult to choose just one favorite.

Join Us and Share Your Elvis Memories

It is not too late for you to join us! We would love for you to share your memories and tell us all about your favorite Elvis song.

Would you believe there are over 100 romantic songs by Elvis?  Feel free to review more than one song if you so desire. 

 

Don't Put Off Until Tomorrow, What You Can Review Today!



Forever Hopeless Romantics on Facebook





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON: