Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Book Reviews. Show all posts

Saturday, September 23, 2023

Review of the Zoomigurumi Crochet Craft Books Series

 As we crochet crafters know, Amigurumi is the Japanese art of crocheting small, stuffed yarn creatures. Zoomigurumi takes it one step further and concentrates on animals found in the wild or domesticated ones we have as pets. 


A collage of the 12 craft books in the Zoomigurumi book series

This series of twelve craft books features patterns for a wide variety of very cute and clever animals to crochet as huggable soft handmade toys. Each book in the series features from 12 to 15 animal patterns, each one by a different designer. The patterns range from beginner to advanced, so every crochet crafter can find one or more to fit their abilities. The series was produced by AmigurumiPatterns.net, a popular handicraft website. 


The List of the Zoomigurumi Craft Books


Zoomigurumi Craft Book #1 book cover
Book 1 of 12. Zoomigurumi. 12 designers have teamed up in this first Zoomigurumi craft book to give you patterns for a Baby Bear, a Pig, a Toucan, a Tiger and a Pony, a Monkey and Lil Quack the Duck, a Lemur, a Fox, Dakota the Dog and Eduardo the Donkey, a Moose, a cute Mouse and a Bunny. 




Zoomigurumi 2 book cover
Book 2 of 12. Zoomigurumi 2. This volume has 15 cute and cuddly amigurumi animal patterns for a Turtle, a Cow, a Raccoon, a Beaver, a Kitten and a Dog, a Fox, an Elephant, a Bunny, a cute Skunk, two lovable Lambs, a Lion and a Tiger, Manfred the Mouse and Penny the Piglet. 


Book #3 in the Book 3 in the Zoomigurumi Craft Book Series - book cover
Book 3 of 12. Zoomigurumi 3.  This volume has 15 new Amigurumi animal patterns from 12 top designers. The patterns include Henry the Hippo, a darling Fawn, a Penguin, a Husky dog, a Duckling, a  Giant Panda, a Cow, a Hedgehog, a Fox, a cuddly Lamb, a Turtle, a pair of Kangaroos, a Red Panda, a Bird and a Reindeer.


Zoomigurumi 4 book cover
Book 4 of 12. Zoomigurumi 4. This book has 15 new animal patterns created by 13 talented designers from all over the world. Create your very own kitten, dolphin. elephant, giraffe, orangutan, deer, seahorse, and an adorable bumblebee wearing sunglasses. The craft book also contains seven more animal patterns.


Zoomigurumi 5 Book Cover
Book 5 of 12. Zoomigurumi 5.  Here we have 15 more cute Amigurumi animal patterns. My favorite is the Walrus. And the beautiful peacock on the cover is a darling pattern. There is also a camel to crochet, a flamingo, a rhino, a trout, and a teddy wearing a hoodie.



Zoomigurumi 6 Book Cover
Book 6 of 12. Zoomigurumi 6. From the red panda on the cover to the owl in a sweater, to a sweet shark, a sloth and a swan, this book of 15 patterns will keep your crochet hook busy! Don't forget to check out the hummingbird, a panda, two dachshunds and Mortimer the Mammoth. 


Zoomigurumi 7 Book Cover
Book 7 of 12. Zoomigurumi 7.  The mallard duck and babies on the cover will entice you to their patterns, plus some unusual ones such as a seagull, a Llama, a moose, a zebra, a stork, a pony and a chicken on a nest. 



Zoomigurumi 8 Book Cover
Book 8 of 12. Zoomigurumi 8.  Come and crochet a parrot, a baby seal, a goat, a giraffe and a caterpiller. Don't forget the meerkat, the beaver and the raccoon. Such darling patterns from so many talented designers. 



Zoomigurumi 9 Book Cover
Book 9 of 12. Zoomigurumi 9. Fifteen more adorable patterns from the friendly horse on the cover to an anglerfish, an otter with his seashell, a sheep, and even a Gecko. From patterns that are beginner-friendly to some suitable for advanced crocheters, they are all accompanied by easy-to-follow instructions and clear illustrations. 


Zoomigurumi 10 Book Cover
Book 10 of 12. Zoomigurumi 10. The kangaroo and  her 'joey' on the cover will keep you from resting that crochet hook. The 'zoomies' in book 10 include a feisty crab, a bouncy kangaroo, a lively squirrel, and a dainty bunny, along with a gorilla, a badger, a koala and Andy Ant! 


Zoomigurumi Endangered Animals Book Cover
Book 11 of 12. Zoomigurumi Endangered Animals. This is a special edition of the Zoomigurumi series featuring 15 of the wild animals on our planet that are threatened. Crochet a collection of these special animals, including a lovable giant panda, a precious monk seal, a gorgeous blue whale and a darling pangolin! There is also a mountain gorilla and her baby, a polar bear, and Cleo the Yellow-Crested Cockatoo


Zoomigurumi Favorites Book Cover
Book 12 of 12.  Zoomigurumi Favorites. This crochet pattern book completes the Zoomigurumi series with 30 of the best-loved patterns from the other books. With Zoomigurumi Favorites. your house may transform into an entire amigurumi zoo! 



The Zoomigurumi series of crochet craft pattern books are all available on Amazon


My Zoomis!


My handmade crocheted 'Zoomies' from the craft patterns in the Zoomigurumi Craft Book Series
A few of my crocheted 'Zoomies'

Here are a few of the cute zoomigurumi animals I have crocheted from this Zoomigurumi series of crochet pattern books.  My favorites, to date, are the wonderful walrus and the Giant Panda Bear. They are currently available in my Etsy Store Coastal Crochet Crafts. I DO so love to crochet and finding these darling patterns was a true delight. 


Happy Crocheting! 


Links to more reviews of crochet craft books:


For More Book Reviews, check out ReviewThisBooks.com

For More Craft Reviews, check out ReviewThisCrafts.com 


*Review of the Zoomigurumi Series of crochet pattern books written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, September 20, 2023

Winning the Endgame ~ A Book Review

 

Jamie Lee Curtis on Anti-aging
Get used to it, the Population of the world is aging and aging quickly.  Let's clarify, it is still aging one day at a time, but there aren't as many young ones coming up in the ranks to fill our shoes and our responsibilities to our family's and society as a whole.

Gone are the days when your children would look after you when you were no longer able to do it yourself.  Today we need to make our own plans for what our future looks like and there is no better time to start than right now!

Aging is something that we really don't give too much thought to.  It's a topic that really doesn't interest us until we are at that "AGE" when our bodies and maybe our minds start to slip a little.  \

I can remember vividly during my 40's and early 50's never needing a phone book!  I could remember peoples' faces and names and yes their phone numbers as well.  Then all of a sudden one day I could not remember a friend's phone number that I would have called at least twice a week.

What was going on with me?  

It was time to take a good hard look at the aging process and understand what was happening to my mind as well as my body.

No one has the magic pill that will keep these things from happening to us, but we can and do have tools that will make life (and aging) that much easier.

First and foremost, get used to writing things down.  You will NOT remember! ( Or you might remember two weeks later )  Get used to it!

Don't give in though!  Reading and using your mind to do puzzles, crosswords, math problems like SUDOKU, will help to keep your mind sharp.  So don't just sit back and let nature take it's course without giving it a hard time.  Using the brain cells will help to keep it active.  

Join some groups that will teach you new skills.  Maybe something that you have been wanting to do for a long time, but never had the opportunity or time to pursue.  Painting, quilting, needlepoint, card playing, fitness classes ( for seniors of course), sitting in on some university courses or listening to podcasts on any topic you enjoy, will help to keep your mind and even your body moving.

Take the time to do some reading about aging, what to expect and how to win at the "End Game"!

We will all do this at some point in our lives, so let's do it our way!

This book might be the help you need to get you started!

winning the endgame

With a little humour and lots of honesty, this time in your life could be the best that ever was!  Winning the Endgame is an easy read and just might get you on the road to looking at the rest of your life with open eyes and a willingness of spirit.  

May we all live our lives well and smile at everything that we have experienced during our voyage around the sun!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, September 19, 2023

Reviewing The Forgetting by Hannah Beckerman

Reviewing The Forgetting by Hannah Beckerman
The Forgetting by Hannah Beckerman was a beautifully crafted book and a real page-turner. It is about two women and they tell their stories in alternating chapters. Let me tell you about them; first, there is Anna who we meet when she wakes up in a hospital bed in London and has amnesia. She doesn't even remember her husband, Stephen.

When Anna is discharged to move home it's like her house is a stranger's home. Stephen takes her to a few places that they used to frequent, but it doesn't jog any memories. She really can't even enjoy her favourite novels. She is feeling trapped and quite disorientated in her life.

The author writes so well that you can feel Anna's frustration at not being able to remember. I also didn't like her husband Stephen and felt very suspicious of him. I was glad when she met a new friend as her life was so insular and it seemed strange that there was no one except Stephen to help her remember her past.

Next, we meet Libby who is a new mum to baby Leo and is looking at returning to work. She lives in Bristol and is close to her parents and sister and is newly married to Dominic. Her husband is definitely gaslighting her and I will admit to being frustrated at her blind loyalty to him. I really wanted to shake some sense into her!

Dominic's controlling behaviour did make me think that his stories about his parents were probably not the whole truth and I was looking forward to getting to the bottom of that mystery when his mother turned up. The book was so well written that I got extremely agitated when he put his career ahead of Libby's chance at a promotion - I wanted to reach into the book and tell her to snap out of the spell he had over her!

I absolutely loved this book and couldn't put it up until I was finished. I did guess the twist, but it took me a little longer than it generally does. 

I was very happy to see that Hannah Beckerman has written other books and I'm keen to read them too. Have you read The Forgetting or any of her other novels?

This book came up as recommended for me in my Kindle Unlimited subscription and I thoroughly recommend downloading it when you have a few hours free, curl up with your favourite cup of tea, grab a snack (like these delicious protein cookies) and enjoy!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, September 18, 2023

The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon Book Review

A newborn was abandoned in a small town laundry. He was left in a basket and found on the verge of death. His story made the news and he was named Moses. Unlike the biblical babe left in the basket and placed in the river, this Moses was a crack baby. Crack babies, due to being exposed to drugs before their birth, are expected to have many physical and mental difficulties. In some ways, Moses followed a similar trajectory as many children born with drug exposure and with absent parents.  He was passed from home to home, had difficulty in school, and was thought to have seizures and hallucinations. However, he is also very different than those similar children in a way that can either be considered a blessing or a curse - depending on how you look at it. 

The Book of Moses written by Amy Harmon


"People love babies, even sick babies. Even crack babies. But babies grow up to be kids. Nobody really wants messed up kids."

I was lost in Amy Harmon's The Law of Moses. From the prologue that warned of heart-breaking loss to the last few words I was hooked. I fell in love with Georgia and Moses. We join their lives as they are in their senior year of high school. 

Moses eventually comes to live with Kathleen, his great-grandmother. He is turning 18 and will be aging out of the system. He is a very talented mural painter, painting his graffiti where he shouldn't and he sometimes knows people he shouldn't.  Kathleen lives next door to Georgia's family and has made arrangements for Moses to work on their farm. 

Georgia was the youngest child, born years after her own siblings. But she had grown up with many children as her parents were foster parents. As the story begins, her family is running an equine therapy program. While Georgia has seen Moses previously, during his visits with Kathleen when he was younger, this is the first time she's getting to know him. Or trying to get to know him. While most everyone else is suspicious or afraid of Moses, Georgia is drawn to him. But he's one of those "troubled" kids that most people avoid. Even the horses want to remain far from him. But Georgia can't stop herself. 

"Whatever it was, when Moses came to Levan, he was like water-cold, deep, unpredictable, and, like the pond up the canyon, dangerous because you could never see what was beneath the surface. And just like I'd done all my life, I jumped in head first, even though I'd been forbidden. But this time, I drowned."

The story continues over the next several years as Georgia and Moses go through some very difficult times, with and without each other, moving into adulthood. They are faced with adult problems and adult decisions.

My review does not do this story justice. I almost didn't write a review because I cannot describe it adequately without spoilers. Amy Harmon's writing is beautifully descriptive. It is easy to imagine the horses, scenery, and breath-taking murals. The characters are unique. Georgia and Moses are independent, strong, very different from each other, and both are very stubborn. This is described as a young adult and/or a coming of age romance but it is far from being confined to those genres.  It includes the mysterious disappearances of young ladies, beautiful murals being painted on buildings and overpasses of people who are missing or passed away, and a "different" young man who everyone blames for some of the bad things that happen. This story also has a paranormal aspect. I hadn't known that before I chose to add this book to my Kindle. If I had known, I probably would have passed the book by. I feel that most books with a paranormal bend seem contrived and difficult to believe. But Amy Harmon introduces and proves Moses' special abilities in a way that seems possible. Georgia and Moses are flawed characters who might not be easily likable but who won't be easily forgotten. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, September 16, 2023

Dark Angel by John Sandford – Book Review

Book #2 in the Letty Davenport Series


An image of computer code

Readers of the book review of The Investigator here on ReviewThisReviews will remember who Letty Davenport is – the adopted daughter of Lucas Davenport from John Sandford's Prey novels. 


Now Letty returns in Dark Angel, Book 2 of 2 of what I suspect will be a continuing series. Fans of the Prey series starring Lucus will be delighted with the adventures of Letty Davenport.  As always, anything by John Sandford is an excellent read! 


Dark Angel Synopsis


Dark Angel book cover
In the first Letty Davenport novel, Letty proved herself as an investigator with incredible skills with firearms. Her actions drew the attention of several branches of the US government. Thus, the Department of Homeland Security and the NSA have now tasked her with infiltrating a hacker group intent on wreaking havoc. 


Letty and her reluctant partner from the NSA (Rod Baxter, a computer whiz) pose as free-spirited programmers for hire. They drive to Los Angeles, headquarters of the hacker group, and begin the process of getting accepted by the Ordinary People group in order to uncover their plans. 


Come to find out, the Ordinary People hacker group are not the real enemy. It seems the Russians have ulterior motives to eliminate the hacker group who have the ability to disrupt railway travel at a time when Russia is about to invade Ukraine. 


Summary


Letty and a couple friends from other government agencies become bodyguards to the Ordinary People group while the group works on the solution to hindering Russia's plans, thus putting their lives in grave danger. 


An exciting new Letty Davenport novel I highly recommend. 

Dark Angel book cover

Dark Angel is available in a variety of formats here on Amazon


For more book reviews of John Sandford books, click here.


For more Book Reviews in any genre, go to ReviewThisBooks.com


*Book Review of Dark Angel written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, September 8, 2023

Review of The Last Eligible Bachelor by Ashtyn Newbold

The Last Eligible Bachelor book cover
The Last Eligible Bachelor is the third book in the Seasons of Change series

The series is written by several authors who each write separate books in the set.  

Thus far, I have found that these books could easily be read as stand-alone books if a particular story appeals to you.  Since the series is historical Christian romance fiction, which is my favorite genre, I have chosen to read the entire series and I started with the first book.  However, they do not even require being read in order since the characters in the books are all different.  They are related in theme only.

None of the books have had a huge emphasis on religion.  Rather, they are simply clean reading without any violence, gore or explicit sexual content.

I have previously read, and reviewed, books written by Ashtyn Newbold.  I really enjoy the humor and witty conversations in her novels, which has now placed her in a category of favored authors for me.


Synopsis of The Last Eligible Bachelor

When Sophia Sedgwick is invited to a private party of "acceptable" young socialites to vie for one eligible bachelor, she is not interested in going.  However, her parents insist on her attendance.  It is a month long event, requires traveling across England to the hostesses estate, and living there for the duration.  Sophia doesn't know anyone who will be there, including the matchmaking hostess, and they have never met her.  She devises a plan that will allow her to spend the month with her friend, while still satisfying her parents.  After all, they need never know that the "Sophia" in attendance is not her.  She will send her personal maid in her place.

 The Last Eligible Bachelor: A Regency Romance (Seasons of Change Book 3)Check PriceDue to her father's recent arrest, Tillie Sherbrooke and her mother are now household staff on the estate of friends who took pity on them after their downfall from society.  They certainly did not want to see them homeless.  Tillie becomes Sophia Sedgwick's personal maid.  At first, that is a difficult position for Tillie since she had previously known Sophia as an equal.  Sophia seems to have no problem relegating Tillie to the lower class.  She tells Tillie that since she was born and raised a lady, she is the perfect stand-in for her.  When Tillie is hesitant to play along, Sophia threatens to have both her and her mother removed from their positions and home.  Tillie reluctantly agrees to the plan.  Sophia further instructs her to simply attend and make sure she did not appeal to the bachelor.  

Mr. Hill is immediately drawn to Sophia (Tillie) because she is kind and less conceited than the other women he has already met. She makes it clear she is not seeking a husband.  She would suit his purposes perfectly.  She would allow him to distance himself from the match-matching and overtly flirtatious women in attendance.   He devises a plan that will allow him to fulfill his obligations without having to commit to one of the other women.  He proposes that he and Sophia (Tillie) pretend to court each other until the end of this ridiculous party.  Tillie is reluctant to agree.  After all, she is supposed to be Sophia.  Anything she does will be attributed to Sophia.  However, when she discovers that Mr. Hill is related to someone who has the power to change her life drastically, she agrees to his plan.

With this alliance, the two interact with each other without reservation or pretense and they become friends.

 


 

As I previously stated,  this is a romance novel,  so you can probably surmise what happens next.  But I assure you, there are surprises.  I found this to be a very enjoyable read.  The witty characters humored me greatly.  I anticipated a happy ending, therefore the novel did not make me feel stressed or overly anxious.  However, when I was 80% of the way through the book, even though I was very sleepy, I refused to give in to rest until I had finished the book.  So, be forewarned, you might not be able to put this book down until you have reached the end.

 

Previously Reviewed from the Seasons of Change Series


Books by Ashtyn Newbold Previously Reviewed on ReviewThisReviews.com



Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, September 5, 2023

Reviewing Worlds Apart by Jane Crittenden

Book Review - Worlds Apart by Jane Crittenden

If you're after an easy-to-read romance with a dash of teen angst then Jane Crittenden's debut novel, Worlds Apart is perfect for you.

Amy moved to New Zealand with her family as a pregnant eighteen-year-old and has made a life for herself and her daughter in Auckland, New Zealand. As she is nearly finished with a day of celebration at her cafe on the beach in walks her high school sweetheart.

The novel switches between four friends in the sixth form (16-18 years of age for people who aren't familiar with the UK schooling system) in the UK to the present time in Auckland, NZ. As teens Amy, Olivia, Chris and Paul are in Sixth Form together and hang out outside of school. Amy and Chris are in love with each other, Olivia is in love with Chris and Paul is mooning over Olivia.

When Amy finds herself pregnant as her parents are planning to emigrate to New Zealand she ends up writing a letter to Chris to let him know about the pregnancy and gives it to her beloved dad to deliver. She then moves to New Zealand with her parents and waits for him to follow. He doesn't and she ends up raising her daughter as a single mum and also using her baking talent to make a name for her cafe set beachfront in Auckland.

There are some twists and misunderstandings abound in this book, along with a second chance at romance - can the flames between first loves be reignited 18 years later?

It was definitely an easy read so if you're looking for something non-taxing to read while relaxing this fits the bill. I read it in less than a day. I think if you like authors such as Jo Jo Moyes or Barbara Davis I think you'll enjoy this book.

As a side note, I found it interesting as to how different a personality her best friend in her late 30s, Shannon, was to her best friend in her late teens, Olivia, was. It made me think about how different my circle of friends has become in different stages of my life.

I read this as part of my Amazon Prime membership, if you enjoy getting sneak peeks at new books as well as access to the Prime Reading as well as Amazon Prime videos then this is definitely something to consider getting. You can watch every episode of Jack Ryan, among other things.

If you've read Worlds Apart, let me know what you thought in the comments.

Book Review of a Second-Chance Romance, Worlds Apart
Pin Me!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, September 3, 2023

Witchy Boo-Boos Halloween Word Search - Hot Off the Press

I've recently completed my 32nd published activity book, and this one is a fun word search puzzle about Halloween witches and their goof-ups! Step into a world where witches aren't brewing potions, but they're stirring up giggles and guffaws! 

Halloween Delights: Spellbinding Word Searches with Wacky Witchy Combinations: Crack the Clusters, Seek the Words

I'm breaking all the witchy rules this Halloween with a word search experience unlike anything you've seen before. Welcome to the enchanting realm of Witchy Boo-Boos, where the magic of laughter meets the spirit of Halloween.

๐Ÿ”ฎ Discover Witchy Mishaps: Dive headfirst into a spellbinding universe filled with comically disastrous adventures and quirky witchy escapades. These aren't your typical spells; they're hilarious blunders, mishaps, and bewitching bloopers that'll leave you in stitches!

๐Ÿ•ท️ Hashtag Hauntings: It's like a social media feed from the witching world! Solve word clusters that resemble hashtags - guess the phrase, find the phrase, and let the hilarity ensue.

๐ŸŽƒ 1440 Phrases and Words to Unearth: Get ready for a delightful challenge as you uncover 1440 bewitching phrases and words. Each word search is a potion of amusement, guaranteed to tickle your funny bone and cast a chuckling spell on you.

๐Ÿงน Cackle-Worthy Confessions: Brace yourself for fits of laughter as you stumble upon funny, sarcastic, and eye-rolling boo-boos and witchy bloopers. These spellbinding slip-ups will have you howling with glee and enchanted by the whimsical world of the Broomstick Brigade.

I've brewed up 60 puzzles, each telling a tale of a wacky witchy escapade or mishap. 

Here's a sneak peek at some of the puzzle titles you'll be unraveling:

  1. Magical Mayhem: When I Accidentally Summoned an Army of Squirrels
  2. The Spellbook Shuffle: When I Got My Potions and Recipes All Mixed Up
  3. Magical Mess-Ups: The Comedy of Failed Attempts at Flying
  4. When My Witchy Love Spell Went Crazy Wrong
  5. Brewing and Belly Laughs: The Hilarious Stories Shared in the Witch's Tavern
  6. Bewitched Cooking Blunders: The Disastrous Kitchen Curse

⏱️ Race Against Time: Unleash your competitive spirit as you race against the clock to conquer each spellbinding puzzle. Challenge yourself or fellow puzzle enthusiasts to see who can master the witchy quest with lightning speed!

๐Ÿ“š Enchantment on Every Page: Dive into an enchanting experience with one puzzle per page, designed for easy readability and maximum enjoyment. And when you're ready to reveal the magic behind the words, rest assured that the answers to your witchy riddles are tucked away at the back of the book.


Available on Amazon

What Makes This Halloween Word Search Book Different?

I aim to make unique word search books. This book is another one of those original creations.  The word phrases to find range from funny, silly, and humorous to eye-rolling. All created by this witch in spirit!

Plus, it's a game that lets you compete with yourself or friends to claim the title of the ultimate witchy word searcher. 

I thoroughly enjoy designing, creating, and writing funny word search books, so you'll always get something original.

Here's a Sample Puzzle for You!

Halloween Witch Word Search by StumpedBooks






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, August 31, 2023

One of the Girls by Lucy Clarke, A Book Review

A psychological thriller set in Greece. Join the hen party and try to figure out whodunnit in this thriller!

I chose Lucy Clarke's One of the Girls simply because it is set in Greece, a country I’d love to visit. I honestly paid little attention to what it was about and when it was set. I was looking for a novel that would offer a peek into Greece and the cover design surely emphasized the beautiful white and blues of that country. The text added interest with comments like:

Full of suspense and unexpected thrills, it is hard to put this book down as you try to figure out the whodunit.” – USA Today

“…a masterclass in simmering tension and shocking revelations.” – Rosie Walsh

It will “keep you guessing which friend is behind the murderous plot.” – PopSugar

Be warned, this book is light. My copy had big text and short chapters and was, therefore, a fast read. I zoomed through it with each chapter making me wonder which one of the women commits the crime and what exactly the crime would be though I definitely was waiting for someone to be murdered.

The chapters are read from the viewpoint of each of the characters. One minute you are hearing from Lexi, the next from Bella, the next from Eleanor and so on. The women are a varied bunch with differing connections to the bride. And, of course, secrets. 

The story tells the tale of six women at a hen party in Greece. A hen party, for those who might not know, is when a bride-to-be gets together with a few or many friends to celebrate her upcoming marriage. Like a stereotypical bachelor’s party, it can include alcohol and outlandish behavior. This story does.

RECOMMENDED


Is One of the Girls recommended by me? Yes, if you are looking for a simple thriller set in the sun. In the end, you will be guessing who did it. In the meantime, you can enjoy the fresh food and sunshine of Greece served up with a shot of Ouzo. As Zachary Houle, who clearly did not enjoy the lightweight nature of the book says, “it requires no brain cells to enjoy.” I don’t have a problem with that especially if you are aware of that fact when you pick the book up. Escapism and armchair travel via a book is not a bad thing in my mind.

Readers on Goodreads gave the book an average of 3.98 stars and those on Amazon an average of 4.1. Both platforms clearly had people who liked the book and who did not, with lots of comments like it’s good for “fans of twisty thrillers with a beautiful setting.” I was willing and glad to be a one of those fans. 

Find your copy and read the reviews of One of the Girls by Lucy Clarke on Amazon by clicking right here. When you read the book, be sure to come back and let us know what you think.

See you
At the book store!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

MORE ARMCHAIR TRAVEL:


Another book set in Greece: Jeffrey Siger's The Mykonos Mob (Island of Secrets) Reviewed

Jeffrey Archer's False Impression, A Book Review

Where the Crawdads Sing, A Book Review

Michael Crichton's Travels, A Book Review


Looking for a trip to Greece? Visit via your armchair and, at the same time, try to figure out who did it...in Lucy Clarke's One of the Girls.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, August 26, 2023

Voice of Fear by Heather Graham

 Book Review of a new Krewe of Hunters Novel


Image of a cemetary

This reviewer previously gave you book reviews of Heather Graham's Krewe of Hunters series, along with her Harrison Investigations series and the Bone Island Trilogy.


Readers of these reviews may remember that the Krewe of Hunters are a group of unusual FBI agents who are called upon when something complex (and usually paranormal) is going on. In that series, Graham was up to book #37. Voice of Fear is the latest, Number 38, in the series that involves a murder mystery, a ghost story, a history lesson, and a love story. 


Synopsis of Voice of Fear


Voice of Fear Book Cover
This novel takes place in Washington, DC (headquarters of the Krewe of Hunters) and surrounding Virginia countryside. It involves one of the newer members of the Krewe team, FBI Agent Jordan Wallace. Jordan is close to solving a human trafficking case she has been working on undercover. She somehow makes a rookie mistake, letting her guard down, and the mission is almost botched. Then, Patrick Law, criminal psychologist, rescues her and several collage girls about to be abducted, but most of the kidnappers get away.


Jordan feels she couldn't have made a worst first impression, especially when she is then partnered with Patrick as the case moves forward. 


Patrick Law has the ability to get inside a criminal's head and has been an asset for the Krewe of Hunters team, even though he is not an FBI agent. Patrick is one of triplets. One sister works for the Krewe of Hunters team. The other one is a book editor who also has the ability to decipher the criminal mind through words and 'consults' with this special team. All three have the same strange ability to 'see' and 'talk to' ghosts. 


One of the girls who had been abducted by this group of criminals who kidnap, then sell to the highest bidder, gorgeous girls, is a girl named Susie whom Law Enforcement officer 'Alfie' had been helping. Alfie is killed in the line of duty while on a previous raid before Susie can be found. Now a ghost, and friends with several Krewe members who can see and talk to him, Alfie helps with solving this human trafficking ring while also searching for Susie.


We find several scenes in the book taking place in and around cemeteries, including the one where Alfie is buried; a cemetery specific for law enforcement personnel killed in the line of duty. An interesting factoid in the story tells us the difference between a graveyard and a cemetery.  A graveyard grows up around a church and a cemetery is freestanding, a place specifically for the dead. 


Summary


Voice of Fear Book Cover

It is quite obvious that the 'love story' part of this book will occur between Jordan and Patrick as they are partnered together to solve the case. And the 'ghost' part with Alfie is fun and fascinating. It makes you wish you too could be friends with ghosts. 


I liked all the characters in Voice of Fear, many of whom will be familiar to previous readers of this book series. As the newest book in the Krewe of Hunters series, it was a fun book to read and I highly recommend it to readers of this genre. 


Links to Previous Reviews of Books by Heather Graham:



For More Book Reviews on Review This! Click On:


*Book Review of Voice of Fear written by

~Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, August 23, 2023

Summertime and the Reading is Easy ~ A Book Review

Summertime is a great time to catch up on reading material that has been stacking up and this past week I found myself in need of an easy read while waiting for x-rays to be done in the hospital waiting room.

As luck would have it I happened to download a book called The Waiting Room by Joan S. Peck, that I was waiting to read.  I did not quite expect to be reading it while I was doing my own waiting in the Waiting Room, but that is exactly what happened.

As I am writing this review for you, I am nursing a broken shoulder!  That is making my life a little more difficult than Allison's, Bella's and Marianne's.

These three women met while undergoing their yearly Mammograms.  Every woman knows how wonderful these tests are (not) and how they can bring you to your lowest common denominator!  But it's a great way for three very diffferent women to meet.  Allison the most outgoing of the three asks the other two if they would like to go out for a coffee after their mammograms are done.  

Bella and Marianne had not made any other plans for that day, so going out for a nice brew after a stressful test seemed like a great idea.

For the first little while these three are testing the waters of friendship.  They are learning a little bit about each other and after a few awkward moments, laughter is sounding around the table.

https://amzn.to/45F06SV

Each of these women knew that they had found something that they needed from each other.  Nothing was more important than having someone to share life's moments (good ones and bad) with.  Someone who understood what life was like from a woman's perspective.  Who knows, this could be the start of a great friendship.

After that first girl's coffee date, they all decide that they will do this again in a weeks time.  After all, they would be meeting back at the Waiting Room to get the results of their mammograms. 


The Waiting Room is a lovely book that I'm sure many women could immediately relate to.  There are crazy things happening in each of their lives and a good observation from an outside party is sometimes what is needed so badly.  These three become sounding boards for each other and yes, they become the best of friends.

I really enjoyed this book as a summertime read, it's not heavy in details that you need to remember to make sense of the story line, but there are details in there that I'm sure most women could understand and have an  opinion about.

Sit back, grab a good cup of coffee or lemonade and open this book.  You will find yourself transported to another time in your life when you wish you had a really great friend to share your problems with, while finding solutions that work for everyone.

I'm sure you won't be disappointed!  


HAPPY SUMMERTIME READING








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, August 22, 2023

Reviewing The Myrtlewood Mysteries Omnibus

 After her grandmother passed away a series of events led Rosemary Thorn and her teenage daughter Athena to the delightful village of Myrtlewood in Cornwall. As things started happening they ended up being unable to leave the town under police orders. By the time they were allowed to leave, they had both realised that Myrtlewood was home.

Now Myrtlewood is no ordinary West Country village, its inhabitants are magical from members of the Fae world to witches, vampires, shapeshifters and even a werewolf. It seems that Rosemary's bad memory is in part due to the fact that her late grandmother bound her magic and now that she's deceased it's time for Rosemary to both learn to grow and master her magical abilities as a powerful witch.

Reviewing Myrtlewood Mystereis Omnibus by Iris Beaglehole
Image by Lou16 using Canva

They also discover that her daughter Athena is part witch and part Fae through her deadbeat dad (who ends up being something completely different).

I really enjoyed the humour with a dollop of magic in this book and the idea of a self-cleaning house and a refrigerator that re-stocks itself is one that has me putting my hands up to move to Myrtewood and become a witch!

I don't want to give away too much but I decided to read book 1 (I didn't know there was an omnibus so I got the books separately but as I have Kindle Unlimited (KU) I wasn't worried, if you don't have KU then you really should purchase as an omnibus), four days later and I am part way through the fourth book in the series.

If you're unsure whether you want to read a paranormal/supernatural book then let me assure you the biggest thing about this book is the characters. It's a lovely cast of people and the author herself wrote it as a Gilmore Girls style of book with a magical bent. Instead of all of the festivities that Stars Hollow celebrated in the Gilmore Girls you get introduced to a lot of old English festivities. There's also a character (his name is Ferg and I think he's great) who refers to Saturday as Saturn's Day as he doesn't want to disrespect the gods by using the short version!

There's some romance, but the books are G-rated. This is refreshing as I have delved into a couple of series in this genre and they both have had a lot of sexual content which didn't add to the storylines at all.

Each book in this omnibus is based on a different festival and they each pick up where the other one finished.

The first book, Accidental Magic, is based on the Imbolc festival. You may have heard of this by the name of Saint Brigid's Day, Saint Brigid is actually Myrtlewood's saint and does make an appearance in the third book to talk to her grandfather Belenus.

The second book, Experimental Magic, is based on Ostara otherwise known as the Spring Equinox. This is a time when the veil between worlds is the thinnest which is why we also get a peek into the Fae realm.

The third book, Combustible Magic, is based on the Beltane festival complete with fire sprites and the god Belenus making an appearance.

Have you read any of these books by Iris Bealehole and if so what did you think of them?

Enjoy a cup of tea while you read the delightful Myrtlewood Mysteries






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, August 15, 2023

Team Spirit: Roots Canada Book Review

Team Spirit: A Field Guide to Roots Canada takes a peek into Roots Canada and founders Michael Budman and Don Green and how they built a wildly successful business.

Detroit natives Michael Budman and Don Green became Canadian sensations when they opened the first Roots store in Toronto in 1973 and had a stroke of luck (or was it genius) in the form of the negative heel shoe.

Because they had spent summers at a camp in Ontario’s magnificent Algonquin Park, they decided to use a beaver and other Canadian references in their business. Their story, therefore, is about Canada and Canadian culture. That is, camp culture and wilderness culture. Those themes helped Budman and Green build an empire that today includes fashion and so much more.

Written by Geoff Pevere, this Team Spirit takes a peek into the lives of these two men and how they built a business based on “integrity and quality.” It shares information about the celebrities from the worlds of music, film, fashion, art, literature and sports and it shares how they built a business promoting “Canadian culture to Canadians” that is now worth more than $121 million dollars and recognized around the world.

Published on October 20, 1998 by Doubleday Canada, it contains 152 pages of text and pictures. The Toronto Sun said, "Without question, this is the funniest book of the year and the last word on Canadian pop culture."

Quill & Quire said, the book tells “the story of Roots, the company that brought funny shoes, branded sweatshirts, and doofy Olympic hats to millions of Canadians.” However, they go on to say, “It’s full of wordy, pretentious fawning, and it’s tough to sit through.

The charming origin story has been told over and over again so a book about how they actually built their business would have been welcome. This one does not do that. Nor does it tell their story from a biographical view point. Instead, it shares, according to Quill & Quire, “little pieces of the Roots story.” That seems fair.

CBRA Online says that the Roots story in this book “gets to be a bit much, especially when Roots’ essentially capitalistic nature and purpose is kept in mind.” They are, after all, a business that wanted to and does make money, lots of money. Like Quill & Quire, CBRA reminds us that this is not a business history nor a biography. They elaborate by saying, “It is a colorful, impressively illustrated presentation of Roots products in various settings accompanied by a pop culture text …that does not do justice to the subject.

Reviewers seem to agree that this book is perhaps more of a coffee table book than it might have been. It is light with text and it is heavy with photographs of celebrities.

If you love Roots products and you want to read more about the back story of Roots Canada Ltd., Team Spirit will share that with you. Just don’t expect it to be really deep. It will do a better job of giving you a look back through the world of Roots and the celebrities associated with it during the last 50 years. Note that the book is out of print but that Team Spirit: A Field Guide To Roots Culture can still be found on Amazon by clicking here

A reminder that this book was published in 1998, which means that it is no longer up to date. There has been at least one very significant change to the company since then. In 2015, the majority interest in the company was sold to Searchlight Capital LP though the founders continue to hold a small interest.

See you
At the bookstore!
Brenda

MORE READING:


Roots items in my eBay store.

Roots Canada Leather Products.

The Roots Canada Story: A Brief History.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Reviews Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWomanThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoTracey BoyerLou16BarbRadBev OwensBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsHeather426Coletta TeskeMissMerFaeryMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X