Showing posts sorted by relevance for query board games. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query board games. Sort by date Show all posts

Saturday, December 19, 2020

Games Day Reviewed

 

Games Day Review
"Stack O' Games" by Chealion is licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0


Games Day is held each year on December 20th. It began in 1975 by the Games Workshop of Birmingham, England in the UK.  If you are not in England, you can still get involved by playing some games wherever you live.  It's a day that brings us all together. 


History of Games Day


Source: Pixabay

Games Day was created by Games Workshop, a British game production and retail company. The company started out producing more traditional games such as backgammon and later moved on to fantasy universe games, such as Warhammer (my cousin's favorite game!). Since 1975, this day of carefree fun has become extremely popular in England and then in the United States.


How to Celebrate Games Day


Source: Pixabay

Family and friends can enjoy this Games Day in hundreds of ways. There are so many games available from the traditional ones of Chess, checkers, dominoes and backgammon to the modern day ones, which naturally include video games. Just ask any teenager! 


The 10 Most Popular Board Games


Source: Pixabay


  1. Chess
  2. Stratego
  3. Monopoly
  4. Risk
  5. The Setters of Catan
  6. Scrabble
  7. Battleship
  8. Clue
  9. Dominion
  10. Ticket to Ride


Other Game Day Celebrations


Source: Pixabay



*Links in the above list are game reviews by contributing members of ReviewThisReviews.


Summary


Some games have had enduring popularity, such as Monopoly and Scrabble. Card games have been popular since early times. There is no end to the number and variety of games in all forms and for all age groups. 


Source: Pixabay & Fotojet


MY most favorite games of all time are any card game, Scrabble and Yahtzee, in that order.  What are yours?


Games Day Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf on 12/19/2020


 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Monopoly Unicorns vs Llamas Game Reviewed

A Different Game of Monopoly

I love to play board games with my grandchildren and Monopoly is one of them. Monopoly Unicorns vs Llamas is one I think I should have so that my youngest grandchild can play, too. The standard version is a little more than she can handle at her age but this new release would be right up her little alley.

monopoly game
Monopoly: a great family game
image courtesy of pixabay.com

The new release of an old favorite is geared more for the younger set. I know my little cupcake will enjoy playing it and I can tell you right now which team she will chose to support. The unicorn team, she is wild about those mythical creatures!

Slightly Different Play in the Game

Instead of individual play in this new edition of Monopoly, the game is played with teams. Players decide which team they want to play for, the unicorn team or the llama team. Properties aren't purchased but instead as you move around the board you collect titles for your team. Things like the Sweetest, the most colorful, or my personal favorite the twinkliest eyes. You know when the game is over when all of the titles have been collected. The winning team is determined by the team who has the most titles. Now, I'm asking you. Doesn't that sound like loads of fun?

This game can be entertaining for children ages 8 to 88. Although, I love playing the original version of Monopoly, it can take hours and hours to play. The nice thing about the Unicorns vs Llamas game is that the time-frame for the game doesn't take forever for someone to win. 

Board Games Encourage Family Time

When my girls were little, I loved playing games that we could all play together. Can I tell you how many times I've played Candy Land? It wasn't so much the game that we were playing but the family time we were spending together. Once the grandchildren began to arrive, I've kept up the tradition. 

How about you and your family? Do you play games together? If you have small ones, I think a nice round of the Monopoly Unicorns vs Llamas might be enjoyable for all.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 21, 2019

Card Playing Day - Reviewing a Winter Entertainment Holiday

National Card Playing Day
Playing cards any time of year is fun, but it's an especially entertaining activity in inclement weather.  Thus it is the perfect indoor wintertime activity. This unofficial holiday is held on December 28 each year right after winter officially begins.


There are literally hundreds of different kinds of card games that can be played using a standard pack of cards.  Some of the top favorites include  Spades, Poker, Solitaire, Spite and Malice, Hearts, Spoons, Gin Rummy, Black Jack and Texas Hold’em. 


With a Deck of 52 …


Source: Pixabay

You'll Have Hours of Entertainment

From the 9th century to modern day, people have been entertained with playing cards. A simple deck of 52 provides us with hours of fun in a wide variety of card games, either by yourself (solitaire) or with groups of 2 or 4 or more. It's an activity that will never go out of style!


Cards are Popular at Any Time


Source: Pixabay

No matter what the seasonal time of year or time of day, this is a very popular form of entertainment. From simple 'matching cards' for very young children to intricate ones for adults to the ageless variations of Solitaire, cards hold our interest in many forms:


  • UNO is the Number One card game for kids (in my opinion) -- it is just as much fun for us grown up parents and grandparents to play, especially with the kids.
  • GIN RUMMY (or Gin) is a popular 2-player game that has been around since 1909. It is one of several variants of Rummy, which has been played worldwide for centuries. 
  • POKER and Texas Hold'em are both a popular choice with men
  • PINOCHLE - A game we played for several years with our best friends.
  • SOLITAIRE - Now it's Everyone's Favorite Card Game on the Computer!


Solitaire is also called Patience and refers to single-player card games involving a layout of cards with a goal of sorting them in some manner. Anyone who enjoys card games likes Solitaire. There are more variations than you can 'shake a stick at' and in today's computer age the standard Solitaire game on computer has really increased it's popularity and is irresistible when sitting in front of your computer. (My favorite version is 'Spider Solitaire)


  • THREE-THIRTEEN - a Fun 'Rummy-Style' Card Game

Source: Wikipedia

A couple years ago I learned a new card game called "Three Thirteen" that is such fun. It's a form of Rummy and is an eleven-round game played with two or more players. The Rules can be found on Wikipedia. I've played it with just two players, with three players and with 6 players and each way is enjoyable. My favorite part of the game is the fact that the wild cards change with each hand! 

*Two Years Ago: My son & I have been playing 3-13 once or twice a week all year. We have been keeping a running score sheet of each person's score, with the prize being dinner at a restaurant for the winner (paid for by the loser) at the end of the year. At the moment, I am 199 points ahead and have my choice of restaurant picked out!

*This Year: Son & I have continued our weekly 3-13 games and THIS year son is ahead in the 'free dinner' race by over 400 points. I don't think I have time to 'catch up' before the end of this year! LOL. HE already has his favorite restaurant picked out. :) 


My Love of Card Games


Personal Photo (c) Wednesday Elf

I've enjoyed card games all my life, from childhood hours of Canasta with my grandmother to teaching MY grandchildren "War" and "Uno". I grew up in a card-playing family.  My parents seemed to learn some of the most unusual card games over the years, having a "new" one to try every visit. 

My favorites are Pinochle, Kings-on-the-Corner and 3-13. And the most fun card game ever I learned by the name of "Dwindle". It may be known by other names. You can't beat a deck of cards to give you or you-and-a-group hours of entertainment


The Most Fun of All...


Playing cards were found in China as early as the 9th Century, and it's popularity has continued to grow ever since. I can't imagine not having a deck of cards around. It is fun entertainment for all ages.



Grandson Tyler (age 5) playing the  Card Game  War.



December 28 is "Card Playing Day"


Related Posts:

Games Day includes card games.


Reviewing Monopoly Deal

The Playing Card Version of the Classic Monopoly Board Game






(c) Wednesday Elf 12/21/2019. Updated 12/28/2021






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 29, 2021

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

 

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

Battleship is a classic naval combat board game of strategy and excitement. In this board game, you will search the ocean floor to destroy your opponent’s fleet of ships.

The board game was first introduced by Milton-Bradley in 1967 as a plastic board and peg game. The game battleship comes from earlier versions of a pencil and paper game from the 1930s.

Battleship has also evolved into many electronic versions of the game today. The game I had growing up was the original plastic board and peg game. I have spent many hours playing this game with my brothers and friends.

The game we have today is the same, but it was made by Hasbro. I have never tried one of the electronic versions but thought about it many times. Today I play the same battleship game with my grandchildren that I played growing up.

How to Play Battleship:

Each player has a fleet of five ships consisting of the following:

Class of Ship                       #of Hits to Sink the Ship

Aircraft Carrier                                  5

Battleship                                          4

Destroyer                                          3

Submarine                                        3

Patrol Boat                                        2

Battleship classic board game

Each player has a plastic case with two grids, white pegs, and red pegs. One grid is the ocean floor, this is where you place your fleet of ships either horizontal or vertical. The upper grid is to record your misses with white pegs and your hits with red pegs.

 You can also use your ocean floor to track your opponent's misses with white pegs. This is an option and I never use it.

A player calls out a location on the grid and the opposing player says either hit or miss. If it is a miss the first player marks the location with a white peg, so he doesn’t call that location again. If it is a hit, then he places a red peg in that location and the opposing player places a red peg in the ship that was hit.

Now, the first player must figure out if the ship is placed horizontal or vertical on the opposing player’s grid. Once a player has sunk the other player's entire fleet, he wins the game.

Battleship is just another classic game that has been around for many years and will provide hours of fun.

For more classic toys and games visit me at

 Cherished Toy Finds


Find more toys on Review This Here

ReviewThisToyReviews.com

 Battleship Board Game for ages 7 and up makes a perfect gift for hours of fun.

Hasbro Gaming Battleship GameHasbro Gaming Battleship GameCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 6, 2016

Reviewing Monopoly Deal - The Playing Card Version of the Classic Monopoly Board Game


We are all familiar with the board game, Monopoly, which has been around in its current version since 1935.  Over the years, the classic version has grown to include nearly 1300 variations, many of them theme-based. For a list of these, check this link


Monopoly has become one of the most popular games of all time. I remember spending hours playing it as a child, then with my own children, and now my grandsons enjoy it just as much. And now it is available in a quick version card game form called Monopoly Deal














A Favorite Version of the Monopoly Board Game




While visiting my 14-year-old grandson, Ryan, in Iowa in June, we played his Star Wars Monopoly game in board game form, which he absolutely loves to play. 



At the end of my visit, it was decided that Ryan would come back home with me for a visit to Coastal Georgia and the beach. He wanted to bring his Star Wars Monopoly Board Game, but there wasn't room in the car.  Instead, he discovered that there is a card game version of Monopoly, which he purchased before we left. 



 
Grandson Ryan (c) Wednesday Elf
 Let me tell you, Ryan and I have become very expert at this Monopoly card game, playing 3 and 4 games per day most days! This Monopoly Deal card game takes only about 15 minutes to play, as opposed to 3 and 4 hours to play the board game version of Monopoly.  And since it doesn't take up any more room to pack in your suitcase than a deck of cards, it is the perfect game to take on a vacation or trip.  



Monopoly Deal Card Game

 

(c) Wednesday Elf

Monopoly Deal comes with 110 cards consisting of the familiar Property Cards (like Boardwalk and Park Place), plus hotel and motel cards, money cards, and action cards which include rent cards and cards that let you steal property from the other players.  



Monopoly Deal Money

  • The Money Cards are a tad different than what you are used to in the Monopoly board game.  The denominations begin at One Million and go up to 10 Million dollars. At first it seems strange dealing with what appears to be such a large amount of money, but one quickly adapts to playing a Rent Action Card and saying things such as "Pay me $7 Million Dollars for my property"



    • Instead of 'Passing Go" and collecting $200, as in the board game, there are Pass Go cards which allow you to draw two more cards.



       

      • The "Just Say No" cards have become a favorite, as they prevent another player from stealing your property or having to pay a large amount of 'rent' on a property set with a house and a hotel! 





      Monopoly Deal Rules


      Each turn you draw two cards and can play up to 3 cards. Fortunes can change in a minute, depending upon what cards you draw and play.  To win you need three complete sets of Property Cards. 

      The game can be played with 2-5 players, which made it perfect for Ryan and Grandma to play a quick game or two between trips to the beach or my apartment pool those hot summer days here in southern Georgia.  It's also a quick game to play between dinner and bedtime. The more we played it, the more we enjoyed it. It's truly an addictive card game. If your looking for a fun family/friend game, Monopoly Deal is it.




      November 19

      is

      National Play Monopoly Day





      (c) Article written on 8/3/2016.  Updated on 10/20/2019
       



      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Friday, January 24, 2014

      About Cynthia Sylvestermouse, Contributor on Review This!

      My real name is Cynthia, but on the internet, I am known as Sylvestermouse.

      One of the first questions most people ask me is why I chose the name Sylvestermouse as my online pseudonym.  Before I answer that question, let me point out the blue mouse in my photo.

      That blue mouse, "Sylvestermouse", was my original avatar photo when I started working online over 15 years ago.  After a decade of using the blue mouse exclusively, there was a huge push to start using author photos so readers could see what the author actually looked like.  The belief being that readers connected with the author on a more personal level if they could see your face.

      I certainly did not want to leave behind or replace my mouse and just start using a cameo photo.  After all, that little mouse had it's own following!  Fortunately, a really good friend of mine happened to be in the business of creating computer images by using photos.  Think computer games and avatar images.  To this day, Indigo Janson is an excellent 3D generalist and I feel quite honored that she took my original blue mouse avatar, a photo of myself and created a professional compilation.  So now you see me, Cynthia, holding Sylvestermouse when you see my author profile image.


      So, Back to that Original Question:  Why "Sylvestermouse"?


      For that answer, we must go back to my childhood.  I grew up in a large family where everything was shared:  bedrooms, bathrooms, clothes, toys, pets, etc.  My first "mine only" pet was a wild field mouse that my brother caught for me in a Dixie cup outside of an old grocery store.   I have absolutely no idea why I named that tiny little mouse "Sylvester", but that was the name I chose for him.

      Sylvester resided in a cage right next to my bed.  He was my good morning greeter and he provided me with my nighttime lullaby, of sorts.  Long after the lights were out, we could hear Sylvester scurrying around in his bedding or drinking from his water bottle. 

      One other reason I loved him:  He was a gift from my brother

      Many years later, long after Sylvester moved to heaven, I found myself trying to choose an internet email address after we bought our first computer.  By this time, I was grown and had children of my own.  I had no idea what name to use for email.  One of my children suggested that I use a pet's name for fun.  After all, we never really expected it to be anything more than a way to exchange little messages.  Thus, I became Sylvestermouse after Sylvester the mouse.  Of course, that was obviously only the beginning.

      You can now find Sylvestermouse stores on Ebay and Zazzle.   I have a photography site, a cooking and recipe site, a crafting site, a gardening site and I contribute to over a dozen other websites.  You can find a complete list of where I publish here.


      Hobbies & Interests


      As you can probably guess by the sites I own, my hobbies include sewing and a variety of crafts.   I also enjoy photography, mainly because I enjoy traveling and taking pictures of beautiful places, nature, and animals.

      Since I have spent the last few decades of my life focusing on being a mother and making our house a home, those are the "niches" where I have the most experience.  Therefore, home related interests or one of my hobbies are most often the subjects of my articles.  Although, I very much enjoy reviewing movies, books and products that I have personally viewed, read, or used right here on Review This!


      Articles Written by Cynthia Sylvestermouse


      Most of my articles are on the two Pinterest boards below. Only approximately 50 articles are shown on each board, but you can click "Cynthia Sylvestermouse" on the Review This board or "Articles by Sylvestermouse" on my Sylvestermouse board to open either board on Pinterest. That will show you all of my articles on each board. The board on the left, are my articles on Review This! The board on the right, will feature articles from all of my sites, including Review This!

       


      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Tuesday, March 31, 2020

      Activities For Kids Reviewed

      What to do with the kids home

      Are you struggling to find activities for kids to do while they are out of school? Let me review some ideas I gave my daughter to help keep my granddaughter entertained that did not involve sitting in front of the television set. With the schools closed across the nation, you might be pretty tired of playing board games and need some fresh ideas.

      activities for kids
      Keep the kids entertained
      image courtesy of pixabay.com

      I was talking to my daughter the other day and she expressed her frustration over how to keep my granddaughter busy and entertained after she has completed her online studies for school. I'm guessing there are a whole lot of parents who are feeling the same way. My daughter said that she was so sick of the board games they had in the house and needed some ideas on other things to do. So here are a few ideas that I tossed out for consideration.

      One of the things I tried to keep in mind as I offered some options was that the activities needed to involve things that didn't require going out to buy new things. For one thing, we are supposed to refrain from leaving our homes but more importantly a whole lot of parents aren't working right now and money is tight. 

      A Few Ideas To Keep Your Kids Busy

      I suggested that on some days, my granddaughter could do some crafty type things. She loves to create all kinds of things so, I suggested that she make some things with the supplies she already has. A card to send to my Dad (her Great-Grandfather) to help cheer up his spirits. Cards for elderly neighbors that could be left at their doors keeping social distancing in mind. Pictures for her wall and that sort of thing. 

      Another activity that would take up a little time was to go on an exploration for some fun facts. Have your child think of something they would like to know more about. Perhaps they are fascinated with Giant Squids. Have them do a search for those interesting creatures and then check out some of the sites that come up. While they are looking those over, jot down some other things to look for on another day. Perhaps it could be areas where Giant Squids can be found. Make it something they have an interest in so that they find it fun.

      As I write this we are in the season where a lot of Bald Eagle's eggs are hatching. I suggested that my daughter might find one of the many nest cams so that they could watch for a while each day to monitor the progress of those eaglets growing. It is an incredible sight to behold! 

      If you are able to, let the kids go outside in your backyard to play for a while. It can be like recess at school without their friends. Toss a ball, kick a can, skip rope, play hopscotch...anything to get their little bodies in motion to expend some pent-up energy. 

      Have a good old fashioned scavenger hunt. Hide some things around the house with clues to the next item and then let them spend some time finding the items. Another option is to make a list for them to find the items on the list. Once you have done this, another day can be spent with them hiding the items and you have to find them. 

      Try to think of activities you did as a child and introduce them to your kids, who are just as bored as you are by the way. Some you will be able to do and others might just make you smile at the memory. 

      If possible, let the kids have some face-time with their friends or perhaps a grandparent. I love those video chats! We did one with my Dad the other day and he was thrilled to be able to see my daughter's and granddaughter's faces. She even showed him her progress with learning to play the fiddle...he loved it!

      Look for inspiration either online or in books. A good source of ideas would be an activity book that you might have laying around or can buy for just a small bit of money.




      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Saturday, February 1, 2020

      Dungeons & Dragons - Fantasy Role-Playing Game Review

      Dungeons & Dragons Fantasy Role-Playing Game (Source: Pixabay)

      Dungeons & Dragons (D&D) is a fantasy tabletop role-playing game first published in 1974. Designed by Gary Gygax and Dave Arneson, it is now published by Hasbro's Wizards of the Coast subsidiary. 


      What is Dungeons & Dragons?


      D&D was originally based on miniature wargames, but departs from traditional wargaming because it allows each player to create their own character to play, who embark on imaginary adventures in a fantasy setting. 


      D&D uses polyhedral dice to resolve
       in-game events.
      Source: Wikipedia 
      A Dungeon Master (DM) serves as the game's referee and storyteller, maintaining the setting where the adventures occur, and playing the role of the inhabitants of the game world. The characters form a party and interact with the setting's inhabitants and each other where they solve dilemmas, engage in battles and gather treasure and knowledge. 

      Today Dungeons & Dragons is recognized as the beginning of the modern role-playing games. It is the best known, and best selling, role-playing game in the US, with an estimated 20 million people having played the game.


      D&D Starter Set
      My son Greg discovered D&D in 1978 at the age of eight. For several years, all he wanted for gifts and to buy with his allowance were additions to the game in the form of published pamphlets (modules) which typically included a background story, illustrations, maps and goals for players to achieve. He most often played the game with his two best friends, brothers Kevin & Russell.  I remember one night in particular when the brothers were spending the night with Greg and the 3 of them were in his room playing D&D. I went in to call them to dinner and Russell (only 7 years old) said “wait, I can't leave now or my character will be in trouble. I have to finish this play first.” Made me smile. I have to say, as a mother, I really liked this early version of D&D as it heavily encouraged a child's imagination and taught them problem solving skills and strategy.  It also taught them important social skills and how to work together as a team to win the game.


      An elaborate D&D game in progress. Among the gaming aids here are dice, a variety of miniatures and a dungeon diorama. (Source: Wikipedia)

      Today's version of D&D has evolved to include miniature figures and a grid map and even a dungeon Diorama, among other advanced gaming aids. 


      D&D Resurgence


      This week, my local newspaper ran a story about the massive resurgence D&D has recently had:


      "Paladins, sorcerers and wizards unite. A new generation of players has become ensorcelled by the fantasy role-playing board game “Dungeons & Dragons.”  You don't need to be familiar with the game to figure out “Ensorcelled” means charmed or be-smitten."

      Long-time players and newcomers will tell you the game is making a new resurgence with players of all ages, especially younger players. 

      I see this resurgence in interest in D&D in my own family. My eight-year-old son is now grown and a father to four sons he is teaching the game to. His sister has joined a group who play D&D a couple Sundays each month. 

      In my local community, there are teachers who run such clubs and our local Public Library is hosting Dungeons and Dragons games every Wednesday afternoon. 


      D&D is Here to Stay


      With technology making so many video games available, it would seem that board games would become a thing of the past. Not so with Dungeons & Dragons, the most popular fantasy role-playing game of all time.







      (c) Dungeons & Dragons Review written by Wednesday Elf (1/30/2020)


      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Wednesday, November 25, 2015

      A Board Game to Encourage Your Better Self

      A Board Game that Encourages Positive Action & Thought

      Are you looking for a family game or party game to help inspire and encourage the better side of people?


      There isn't anything that says we have to continue to feed into the overwhelming negativity that seems to be infecting our lives and our playtime

      Many are consumed with violent video games and even board games that promote the not-so-nice side of people. Although game lovers will never stop playing violent and vulgar games (and yes, they can be fun too!), it's nice to know that, once in a while, we can actively switch things up to something that leans positive.

      With Thanksgiving approaching, 'Better Me' is a game the whole family can play. It encourages us to expose the better side of ourselves to others.
      "Better Me is a new approach to relationships and personal development. The game encourages it's players to take real action after the game has ended to better themselves in this life. It uses the basic principles of positive psychology to help strengthen relationships and to help tap into the better side of the human condition"
      Better Me helps you to quickly get to know people as well. If you're hosting a party and need a game to encourage conversation, this game does it in a positive, constructive and forward thinking way. You'll get to see the inside of people very quickly just by their responses to a variety of life questions and scenarios. 

      The fundamental play of the game involves Players completing their five areas of life; Heart, Mind, Body, Tangibles and People. You earn points by passing along a true compliment, sharing a story where you learned a positive lesson, and even committing to taking a positive step in your life when the game ends.

      Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Holidays - Have Fun, Be Happy

      by Barbara Tremblay Cipak
      Owner - Funkthishouse.com






      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Sunday, March 15, 2020

      10 Calming and Distracting Things to Do

      Calming and Distracting Things to Do
      With all that's going on in the world, some distraction is in order.

      When you've had your fill of news, and consumed as much info as you need for a day or so, here are some things you can do to take your mind off the world.

      1. Listen to Music

      Yes, I know, that's predictable! You've heard it a million times. The principle of Occams Razor applies right now (the simplest solution is often the best or right one - paraphrasing). With that in mind, turn off the TV for a while or forever, and pick a few songs that speak to you.

      Here, let me recommend a fantastic song for country music fans; have you listened to Blake Shelton and Gwen Stefani's song "Nobody But You?" If not, take a minute. It's a perfect song to cuddle up to or think about the one you love, and what's most important in life.

      Lyrics
      "Don't have to leave this town to see the world
      'Cause it's something that I gotta do
      I don't wanna look back in thirty years
      And wonder who you're married to
      Wanna say it now, wanna make it clear
      For only you and God to hear
      When you love someone, they say you set 'em free
      But that ain't gonna work for me"




      It's currently my favorite country music song - hope you enjoy it.

      2. Watch Inspirational Videos

      This is a little self-serving; here's one of my most recent video-poems. Written about a month ago, it's about finding clarity and calm in life.

      This year I've vowed to work on body, mind, and spirit. The video speaks to the spirit side of life. I call it Living in Light. If you need a little calm, mixed with a teaspoon of hope and faith, this one is for you.


      3. Cooking - Do You Love to Cook?

      If you love to cook there are a ton of recipes from our writers here on ReviewThisReviews. Be sure to check out the recipe section. You can find it here.

      4. Puzzles and Games

      You've already thought of this right? Board games, riddle games, and puzzles. If you're not in the mood to play family games, distract yourself with riddles. Yep, I happen to write them. Here's one, can you solve it?
      Find more at StumpedRiddles.com
      5. Dance in Your Kitchen

      Oh, that sounds really dumb, doesn't it? It's not. Turn up the radio and dance. The exercise is good for us physically and mentally. Who cares how silly we look. Blast your favorite music and go for it.

      6. Exercise

      If your health permits and you have exercise equipment, use it. If not, there are plenty of yoga and exercise videos on Youtube and TV you can follow. I like this basic exercise video for Arms. This lady features short easy-to-do videos.


      7. Draw, Paint or Create

      Now is a good time to tackle that book you've always wanted to write. If books aren't your thing, sketch or paint. Stepping back in time, it's said that the plague may have influenced Shakespeare to create his best works. You can read about it here.

      If you've wanted to write a book, but aren't sure where to start, I've written several articles with tips from my own personal experience of writing my first books. You can find them here:


      8. Binge Watch TV

      Oh my, that's too much couch time, but if you can't help yourself, here are some comical tips on what not to do when you binge-watch.

      9.  Read a Book

      If you're looking for a book to read, check out the book reviews by the Contributors on this site. There are some serious book-readers here! You can scroll through the reviews by starting here.

      10. Express Your Love to Family and Friends

      Don't hold back. Say it out loud or by text or phone if you have to, but say it. Say it over and over, and even say it for others to hear. Spread love - let your voice be heard.

      My own Mind, Body and Spirit tips for 2020 are reviewed here.


      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


      FOLLOW US ON:

      Tuesday, November 7, 2017

      Jenga Classic Game Reviewed

      Family Fun For All Ages


      Playing Jenga Image Courtesy of Pixabay.com
      It is that time of year again, we are all looking for gift ideas. Today I would like to review the classic game of Jenga for you to consider as a gift for a child or the entire family.

      We love to play games in our house. Board games are fun but when the entire family gets together some of those are too difficult for the little ones to play. Not all of the adults like playing the simpler games like Chutes and Ladders or Candy Land so the the youngest can play along. 

      That is why I love the Jenga game. Even the littlest family member can play. We have one who still delights in losing by pulling out a block and causing the tower to fall. She used to clap and say, "Do it again, do it again" or "I did it! I made it fall!" She has reached an age now where she understands that the object is to remove a block without making the tower crash and has become more skilled at playing. She is a little like her Grandma in not being too awfully competitive; losing doesn't bother her like a few of the adults who get perturbed when they lose. I think that is one of the reasons that I have always loved to play games with the children. It is fun to show them what it feels like to win but it is just as important (in my humble opinion) to show them how to lose gracefully. Depending on who is playing at the time, sometimes the kids see an example of what it looks like to be a "sore loser" and that is important for them to see, too. 



      It is a fun and inexpensive game that is easy to play although it does provide some chances for skill and strategy as the tower grows and it becomes less and less stable. Because the blocks are made of wood; it isn't going to break and it is extremely easy to store away when the game is over. We've even played with the blocks like building blocks from time to time instead of playing the actual game.

      If you are looking for a gift idea for a child, I recommend that you consider the game of Jenga. Both children and adults can enjoy playing it and it never goes out of style.


      Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


      FOLLOW US ON:
      Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

      The Review This Contributors



      Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



      Review This is Dedicated to the
      Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

      Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


      We may be apart, but
      You Are Not Forgotten





      “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

      X