Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Monday, March 6, 2023

Reviewing Liquid IV for Hydration

I have had some health issues for a very long time that result in pain, lethargy, and dehydration. I recently received advice to use Liquid IV for rehydration. I reluctantly agreed despite my reservations about trying yet one more chemical concoction that doesn't work. However, I have found that this drink powder added to 16 ounces of water makes me feel significantly better. 



What am I talking about?  What is a hydration drink? I was very skeptical when my new doctor suggested that I give this over-the-counter powder a try. I almost didn't make the purchase. After all, drinks such as Pedialyte and Gatorade never seemed to make a difference in how I felt. And things that previous doctors have suggested have had side effects; more problem than cure. But this new doctor seemed to take a new holistic approach and I decided to give it a try.

I am NOT a doctor. And I am not passing on my experience as medical advice. If you aren't feeling well please consult your doctor. This is not a medical review as Liquid IV is a drink powder - not a medical intervention. This is not a pharmaceutical.

Liquid IV Hydration Multiplier

Liquid IV Hydration Multiplier is a flavored powder that is non-GMO, great tasting, drink mix that when added to water delivers "hydration to the bloodstream faster and more efficiently than water alone". 

  • contains 3x the electrolytes of traditional sports drinks
  • 5 essential vitamins (B3, B5, B6, B12, and Vitamin C)
  • uses Cellular Transport Technology (CTT) to hydrate faster than water alone
  • no artificial flavors
  • great taste
Reviews are positive and people who recommend Liquid IV are athletes, people who work outdoors in the heat, and people like me. At the time of this writing, there are over 31,000 reviews and 4.7 out of 5 stars on Amazon for the strawberry flavor (there are several flavors to choose from - I prefer the strawberry).

One bit of information of interest about the company itself is that they report their mission is to "Change the World by helping people everywhere live better lives." They report working with a variety of organizations and individuals to get Liquid IV "into the hands of millions of people".  I have not researched and am unable to confirm that this occurs. But if it does, that is a wonderful thing. 

My Personal Hydration


No matter how much water I drink, and I drink quite a bit every day, I struggle with dehydration. And we know that hydration is important for the human body.

"Your body needs to be hydrated to function at its best. If there isn't enough liquid in your body, essential functions like circulation don't perform as smoothly and your organs won't get necessary nutrients, resulting in less efficient performance" - Texas Health and Human Services

 

Liquid IV is helping me to feel better and to function better. I keep some handy for daily use, travel, and days that I'm working here on the homestead and exerting myself more than usual. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 5, 2023

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 2: Choosing the Best Mattress for Your Needs

In 2021, my husband and I became the proud owners of a Saatva mattress. This post is the second in a series of candid, in-depth reviews in which I share our personal experiences as a couple shopping for, choosing, ordering and sleeping on our first Saatva mattress, adjustable base and bedding, as well as exchanging the split-top mattress we initially chose for a standard (solid) version of the same model.

In part one of this series I explained why we wanted to replace our old mattress with a Saatva, the unexpected opportunity that enabled us to shop for one sooner than expected, our most important needs and wants and the models we considered based on those criteria.

In today’s post I’ll share the extensive product research I conducted to help us choose the best Saatva mattress for our needs and my experiences interacting with both the company’s website and its customer service representatives, as well as my favorite third-party expert mattress review sites.

How to Choose the Right Saatva Mattress for you and your partner

Disclosure: I have joined the company’s affiliate program, which means that if you choose to make a purchase through one of the links in this post I may be eligible to receive a commission, at no cost to you. I highly recommend the Saatva company and its products for their excellent quality, performance, price and customer service. The opinions, product reviews and recommendations in this post are my own and are based on my personal experiences. The decision to click on those links to learn more about the company’s products or make a purchase is greatly appreciated, but entirely up to you.

How to Choose the Best Saatva Mattress for Your Sleeping Preferences and Needs

I have been buying online since 1995, not long after Amazon launched. One of the things I love most about shopping online is how easy it is to research and compare products before deciding which ones to purchase. Since our sleep quality has a profound effect on our quality of life, I put even more time and effort than usual into researching which Saatva mattress would best meet both my and my husband’s needs and sleeping preferences.

Here are the resources I used to evaluate in depth the five mattress models we considered and finalize our decision on which would work best for us as a couple.

Mattress Buying Guide

Saatva's Mattress Buying Guide is a great place to start your mattress selection journey, regardless of which brand of mattress you decide to purchase.

It explains the four main mattress types (innerspring, memory foam, latex and hybrid) and compares them according to six key criteria: price, lifespan, firmness levels, motion transfer (a major consideration if you sleep with a partner), edge support and which sleeping position(s) each type is best suited to.

The Saatva Mattress Buying Guide also walks you through five key high-level decisions: choosing the type of mattress you want, determining your ideal firmness level, picking the right size, deciding on a mattress base, and (last, but not least) reading the fine print. It also answers a few FAQ and recommends taking the mattress quiz.

Although my husband and I struggled a bit with some of these decisions, since we have different preferences for firmness and sleep positions, this buying guide really helped us begin to narrow and prioritize our list of models to consider.

Mattress Quiz

Armed with our requirements and preferences wish list and what I learned from the Ultimate Mattress Buying Guide, my next step was to take the Saatva Mattress Quiz.

I admit to having been a bit skeptical about the results since it only asked about my weight range, how I like my mattress to feel and my sleep concerns, not those of my sleeping partner, although I could tell it that my husband and I had different firmness preferences and different preferred sleep positions.

However, the recommendations it offered were surprisingly appropriate, and I moved the Loom & Leaf Relaxed Firm memory foam mattress and the Saatva Solaire to the top of our “short list” of contenders.

Sleep Enlightened Blog

Saatva’s Sleep Enlightened blog is dedicated to educating people about how to choose the best mattress for their needs, the importance of sleep and how to get a great night’s sleep, regardless of which mattress brand, type or model they sleep on.

It includes thoughtful, well-researched and well-written posts about how to choose a mattress as well as about sleep health, sleep-related lifestyle tips and other valuable content.

This blog is well worth the read for anyone who could benefit from more restful, refreshing and restorative sleep (i.e., nearly everyone!).

Product Information

Saatva does a terrific job with its product pages. They are designed to give visitors the most important information about each product as clearly and concisely as possible, keeping the details hidden until the site visitor chooses to click to learn more about something on the page.

I loved the use of exploded views to show the anatomy of each mattress model, including the different layers, materials, construction and the role that each layer plays in providing comfort, support, durability and other desirable characteristics.

Exploded view diagram of Saatva Solaire mattress
The product page for each mattress model includes an exploded view diagram showing all the layers and explaining the function and purpose of each

The clean, uncluttered product page design has a lot going for it, but also one significant drawback for a product research junkie like me: There is no way to view all the product information about a particular mattress at one time. Since I wanted to do an in-depth comparison of different models in our consideration set, I tried to create my own side-by-side comparison chart by going to each model's product page, clicking on each topic, drilling down through each clickable element and copying and pasting the details into a table, but I finally gave up. (That said, however, most mattress shoppers probably neither want nor need as much granular detail as I did when comparing different models.)

Thanks in part to the candid feedback I shared with my friend Joe, Saatva’s chief marketing officer, the product pages are now more helpful and consistent in their layout, making it easier to compare product information about different models. The company also added a comparison page that let customers easily compare Saatva models side-by-side based on mattress type, firmness, sleep surface materials, core and base support, cooling levels and other key features and attributes.

I also had a hard time finding detailed information about the differences between an upper-flex king and a split king Solaire mattress and their respective advantages, limitations and other key considerations, such as needing to use special split-top sheets for an upper-flex mattress and requiring a compatibly configured adjustable base for either an upper-flex or a split king.

Now, the Saatva Solaire mattress product page now contains a new section that provides a lot more information about the upper-flex option and adjustable bases in a much more visible location.

Solaire Upper-Flex Mattress + Adjustable Base Plus
The Solaire mattress product page now makes it easier to learn about the split-top “upper-flex” option, which needs to be paired with an upper-flex Adjustable Base Plus

Note: I will also provide detailed side-by-side comparisons of all the queen and king Saatva Solaire mattress configuration options in the last post in this series.

Customer Reviews and Questions

Reading customer product reviews is always a key part of my pre-purchase online research. Since I knew that (unlike some companies) Saatva doesn’t edit or filter their customer reviews, I felt confident that the reviews were authentic.

I spent quite a bit of time reading the customer reviews on saatva.com for the five mattress models on my list and was impressed by the overwhelmingly positive feedback. An impressive number of customers complimented not only the quality and comfort of the Saatva mattresses they purchased but also the outstanding customer service they received. Even buyers who ultimately decided to return their mattresses during the generous trial period were effusive in their praise of the company and its products!

I also looked at the customer questions and the answers provided by a Saatva representative, which were clear, helpful and timely. Most of the questions I looked at had received same-day answers. In retrospect, I wish I had taken advantage of the “Ask a question” button when I was doing my product research!

Online Chat

Next, I decided to use the website’s online chat option to speak with a Saatva Sleep Guide (customer support representative) to get more personalized recommendations based on more detailed input, especially since I wanted to find a mattress that would meet both my and my husband’s different needs.

After the representative listened to our list of wants and needs, I was surprised and impressed that she initially suggested we might want to consider buying just a Saatva latex mattress topper or memory foam topper rather than a whole new mattress, which would be considerably less expensive, since our mattress wasn’t that old. That’s just one of many examples I encountered that proved the authenticity of Saatva’s “How can I help you?” versus “What can I sell you?” philosophy.  However, since our mattress sagged so badly, my husband and I wanted to replace it rather than trying to get by for another year or two with just a new topper.

The more I spoke with the representative, the more I leaned toward the Saatva Solaire mattress, since each side could be customized to my husband's and my individual firmness preferences and the air chambers would make the center sagging that we typically experienced with our mattresses less of an issue (as long as we didn’t set the firmness settings on our respective sides too far apart).

The representative also made a good case for the Zenhaven dual-sided natural latex mattress, which has both a Luxury Plush side with a medium (4–5) firmness and a Gentle Firm side with a firmer (7–8) firmness. She recommended using it with the Luxury Plush side up for us, which “contours to your body effortlessly to relieve pressure points from all sleep positions” and would work whether my husband and I were in the “spoon” position on our sides or whether we turned on our backs or stomachs.

Third-Party Mattress Review Sites and Buying Guides

Years ago, when I was doing market research into the mattress industry, I found out that many of these types of sites are owned by media companies that are paid to promote more obscure mattress brands while purporting to be objective in their reviews and recommendations. (No wonder mattress shopping can be so confusing! It's hard to know whom to trust.)

Fortunately, even though virtually all the review sites and buying guides receive free products for review and use affiliate links to support themselves, there are sites such as Mattress Clarity, The Sleep Judge, Good Bed and Sleepopolis that provide in-depth, expert reviews using pressure mapping technology and other objective tests as well as subjective evaluations. Some also include balanced, detailed video reviews along with their written reviews. 

Reading and watching their Saatva product reviews reinforced that either the Solaire or the Zenhaven would be the best mattress choice for my husband’s and my needs.

Phone Calls With a Saatva Mattress Showroom Manager

I had one advantage over the typical online Saatva mattress buyer: My friend Joe at Saatva arranged for my husband and me to have a phone conversation with Michael, the manager of the flagship Saatva Viewing Room showroom in New York City, to help us finalize our choice between the Solaire and the Zenhaven.

Saatva Viewing Room flagship showroom in New York City
Saatva’s flagship Viewing Room in New York City, one of six (soon to be eight) showrooms across the U.S. where you can view, touch and try out different Saatva mattresses, adjustable bases, bedding and other products in person

Joe and I had agreed that no one should know I had any contacts at Saatva. We wanted to ensure that I would not get preferential treatment, since our goal was for me to give him objective feedback on my experience as a first-time Saatva customer. However, since Michael’s job is to help in-person visitors to the Saatva NYC showroom, there would have been no reason for a remote customer to call him for advice. So, as a favor to me, Joe asked Michael if he would be willing to help some friends (i.e., my husband and me) choose between two Saatva mattresses we were considering and to provide his thoughts on whether an adjustable base would be a worthwhile investment for us.

Michael was kind enough to make time to speak with us on his day off. He was incredibly knowledgeable, extremely helpful and very patient with our many questions. He recommended a Solaire for us over a Zenhaven.

When we asked about whether an adjustable base would be worth the cost for us, he asked us several questions to determine how much we would likely use and benefit from the additional features the adjustable base provides. Based on lifestyle and health considerations, such as my husband’s and my different sleeping and waking times, my frequent insomnia and our common back and joint pain, he felt that the adjustable base would provide significant benefits, especially in the top-split “upper flex” configuration that would allow either of us to raise the head of just our side of the bed without affecting our partner's side.

Choosing Between a Standard and Upper-Flex King Solaire Mattress and Adjustable Base

After discussing our needs, wants and concerns in detail with Michael, he ultimately recommended a king Saatva Solaire mattress in the upper-flex configuration with the Saatva Adjustable Base Plus (which was then called the Lineal adjustable base), with the understanding that the upper-flex king Adjustable Base Plus would be a final sale purchase.

When we raised our concerns about the width of the center gap down the upper third of the mattress, since we sleep in the “spoon” position for part of every night, Michael said he thought it probably wouldn’t bother us much, especially if we also ordered the diamond-quilted upper-flex king organic cotton mattress pad that he also recommended for us, which would provide added comfort, protect the mattress and fill in the center split somewhat. He also pointed out that if we ordered the king upper-flex and the split turned out to be a problem, we could exchange it for a solid king Solaire mattress within the extremely generous Saatva home trial period (which was 180 nights and is now 365 nights — one full year to try out your new mattress!).

The other important consideration was that the Adjustable Base Plus for the king upper-flex Solaire mattress would be two Twin XL adjustable bases that would be joined during the delivery and set-up process. If we decided to exchange the king upper-flex mattress for a solid one, the bases could be reconfigured during the delivery and set-up of the new mattress so that both the head and the foot of the entire bed would be raised and lowered in sync. However, unlike the standard Twin XL bases used with a standard king Solaire mattress, the bases used in the upper-flex configuration would not have the wall-hugger technology that simultaneously glides you back toward the wall as you raise the head of the bed, keeping your bedside table, remote, lamp, etc., in easy reach. Since the adjustable bases are final sale, if we went with the upper-flex base, we wouldn’t be able to exchange it for the standard king with the wall-hugger capability if we decided to exchange our upper-flex Solaire mattress for the standard version.

After much discussion, my husband and I finally decided that if we didn’t give the upper-flex option a try, we would always wonder whether we had made the right choice.

Ordering Online and Updates

In my next post I’ll share my experience with placing our Solaire mattress, Adjustable Base Plus and mattress pad order online.

Be sure to subscribe* to Review This Reviews to be notified when new posts in this Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper series (and my popular keto diet success series) are published!

*See the email subscription box in the sidebar; if you are viewing on a mobile device and don't see the sidebar in your browser, click on "View web version" at the bottom of the page.

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 2: Choosing the Best Mattress for Your Needs by Margaret Schindel

Posts in This Series

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 1: The Journey Begins

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 2: Choosing the Best Mattress for Your Needs

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 3: Ordering a Mattress and Adjustable Bed Online

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 4: Organic Cotton Bedding Product Review

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 5: White Glove Delivery and Setup

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 6: Solaire Mattress and Adjustable Base Plus Product Reviews

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 7: Exchanging a Mattress

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 8: Which Queen or King Size Saatva Solaire Mattress and Adjustable Base Is Right for You?

Read more product reviews from our Contributors at ReviewThisProductReviews.com.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 3, 2023

Toilet Paper Holder Storage Stand Reviewed

It is frustrating to run out of toilet paper when you most need it!  I suspect we have all found ourselves in that difficult spot at one time or another.  

Many years ago, I discovered the value of having a toilet paper storage stand in each of our bathrooms.  That is especially important for guests since they would have no idea how to find additional toilet paper if needed and are not likely to want to streak through the house searching for it.  Plus, they would be greatly embarrassed to call out for more TP, then sit and wait.

As you would imagine, our toilet paper storage stands are our toilet sentinels ready to serve at a moments notice without verbal requests.  

When I clean the bathrooms each week, I fill the stands back up to maximum capacity, even if they only require one additional roll of toilet paper to be completely full.  One never knows when resources will be most needed.

This also helps me keep up with when supplies are low in the house and need to be purchased.

 

Toilet Paper Storage Stands 

We don't have cabinets in our bathroom toilet areas, aka water closets.  I've never been fond of hanging cabinets over the toilet, especially in a small area.  The toilet paper stand holders that sit on the floor are perfect for service with a less cluttered overall appearance.

We have 3 different styles in our home.  One that is a bit more decorative in our guest bathroom, a sturdy chrome design in our main bathroom, and a small over the tank single roll holder in our bedroom bathroom, which is the smallest water closet in our home.

Seeing the different designs available makes me wish we had more bathrooms, but I am still truly happy with the choices we made a few decades ago.  Fortunately, this is something we have never had to replace.

Click here to choose the style, color and design that best suits your home decor.  If you like the ones that we have in our home, you will find them available by clicking the images below.  One additional thought, if you purchase the mega rolls of toilet paper, you might prefer the toilet paper holder stand that has the single pole up the center.  While the mega rolls will fit in my stands, they are a much tighter fit than the large toilet paper rolls.


 iDesign Metal Tissue Holder Stand The Twigz CollectionCheck Price iDesign Classico Metal Toilet Paper HolderCheck Price Over the Tank Toilet Paper Roll Holder - hook fits both sidesCheck Price Spectrum Diversified Rounded Paper Roll Holder ChromeCheck Price





More Bathroom Articles of Interest


Creative Storage Solutions for the BathroomCreative Storage Solutions for the Bathroom
Brite-Ideas previously offered a different solution for a unique toilet paper holder.  You can visit her article by clicking here.

Clean Your Bathtub Without Harmful Chemicals or FumesClean Your Bathtub Without Harmful Chemicals or Fumes
Clean a porcelain bathtub without any fumes or harmful chemicals! The Mr. Clean Magic Eraser does a better job of cleaning the tub too.

Clear Bathroom Countertop Tray ReviewClear Bathroom Countertop Tray Review
This clear countertop bathroom tray was originally a drawer organizer. However, it is the perfect countertop tray for hairspray, lotion, makeup & more

Easy Bathroom MakeoverEasy Bathroom Makeover
Sam shares how to give your small bathroom a new look with this easy bathroom makeover with a new peel & stick floor, plus finishing tips.

IKEA Luxurious Bathmat ReviewIKEA Luxurious Bathmat Review
Reviewing the luxurious TOFTBO bathmat by IKEA. Vibrant colors, soft on the feet, and quick-drying are just a few of the reasons you'd love this bathmat too.


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse
 
 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, March 1, 2023

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 1: The Journey Begins

Sleep plays a vital role in our physical and mental health and emotional and psychological wellbeing, so it’s important to choose a mattress that will help you fall asleep, stay asleep and wake up rested, refreshed and ready to make the most of the day. Luxury mattress models are usually more comfortable, offer better support and use higher quality materials and construction, so they won’t break down as quickly and won’t need to be replaced as often. Some models are compatible with an adjustable base. Others have air chambers that can be inflated or deflated to make the mattress firmer or softer to suit your preference and sleeping positions.

Saatva manufactures and sells high-quality luxury mattresses directly to consumers for significantly less than comparable models from big name brands sold in department stores and mattress stores. In 2021, my husband and I ordered a Saatva mattress and were extremely impressed with the entire customer experience.

This is the first in a series of detailed reviews in which I will share our customer experience shopping for, choosing, ordering and sleeping on a Saatva luxury mattress, bedding and adjustable base, as well as the white glove delivery and set-up, exchanging the first mattress we chose for a different configuration, and in-depth product reviews of the Saatva Solaire customizable firmness air bed mattress, Saatva Adjustable Base Plus (formerly Lineal adjustable base) and bedding we ordered.

Adventures in Mattress Shopping: An in-depth, personal review of my Saatva customer experience

Disclosure: I have joined the company’s affiliate program, which means that if you choose to make a purchase through one of the links in this post I may be eligible to receive a commission, at no cost to you. I highly recommend the Saatva company and its products for their excellent quality, performance, price and customer service. The opinions, product reviews and recommendations in this post are my own and are based on my personal experiences. The decision to click on those links to learn more about the company’s products or make a purchase is greatly appreciated, but entirely up to you.

Why We Chose a Saatva Mattress

I first heard about Saatva in 2017, about a year after our previous mattress purchase, when my friend and former boss joined the company and asked me to do some freelance marketing research for them. In the process, I gained a valuable and eye-opening education about the mattress industry’s marketing and sales practices as well as mattress types, materials, construction, quality and pricing.

My husband and I had always bought good quality, moderately priced mattresses. We couldn’t justify spending a lot more money on a high-priced luxury mattress. We thoroughly researched product reviews before making a mattress purchase, and they all felt comfortable and supportive after we brought them home…for a while. However, John and I are “spooners” and after two or three years, each mattress would start to sag around the edges and develop a trough in the center. After I shared with him the new insights into mattresses and mattress shopping I had gained from my research project, we agreed that we wanted our next mattress to be a Saatva and started saving up for one.

Not long after our last mattress started breaking down and we were waking up more and more tired and with muscle aches, I got a call from my friend Joe at Saatva. His timing couldn’t have been better.

Joe and I had worked together closely for many years and conducted many customer experience audits for clients, and he also was familiar with my product reviews here on Review This Reviews. He asked whether I might be interested in ordering a Saatva mattress of my and my husband’s choosing, which we could keep, in exchange for providing detailed and candid customer feedback on my Saatva purchasing experience that he could share with his team. If we had a good customer experience and were pleased with the mattress, I also would write an unbiased, in-depth product review to share on Review This Reviews. If we were disappointed by the mattress or our customer experience, I would not publish a review, but Saatva could use the candid feedback I provided to improve their products and customer experience. Either way, the mattress would be ours to keep.

Our Must-Have and Nice-to-Have Mattress Requirements

My husband John and I agreed on the following priorities for choosing our new mattress:

  • King size
  • Excellent neck, hip and back support
    • Areas where we are both prone to joint pain and muscle aches
  • Durable materials and construction
    • Will resist sagging and furrowing, especially around the edges and in the center, where we sleep in the spoon position
  • Good for multiple sleeping positions
    • We both are side sleepers for the most part, but John also likes to take naps on his stomach.
  • Comfortable
    • Preferably cushiony enough to contour to our bodies, especially for side sleeping, but also firm enough to provide good support in any sleeping position
  • Compatibility with an adjustable base preferred, but not essential
    • An adjustable base had been on our wish list for many years, since one or both of us often need to lie on our backs with our heads elevated (because of my bad seasonal and indoor allergies and John’s mild sleep apnea) or to elevate our lower legs to relieve back pain. If we did end up getting one, we knew we would make good use of it.
  • Minimum 15-year warranty
    • This wouldn’t be a problem for any Saatva mattress we chose, thanks to the remarkable Saatva Friends for Life Lifetime Warranty. “From the moment our white-glove crew delivers it to you, fresh from the factory, we guarantee that it will be free from defects for as long as you own it. And if you ever have a problem, we’ll take care of it hassle-free.” Product warranties, especially for big-ticket purchases, don’t get much better than that!
  • Generous in-home trial period
    • At the time we ordered our mattress last year, Saatva’s in-home trial period was a generous 180 days. It has since been increased to a full year, giving customers 365 nights to sleep on their new Saatva mattress at home before deciding whether it is right for them! As a Saatva customer, if you decide to return or exchange your mattress for another Saatva mattress during that home trial period, you can just call the company and have them pick up the used mattress and refund the purchase price, less a $99 processing fee (to cover the cost the company pays to the carrier to have your mattress picked up and transported from your home).

How We Decided Which Mattresses to Consider

Since we hoped to be sleeping on our new Saatva mattress for many years to come, I wanted to be very thorough in my due diligence to make sure we chose the best model for our needs. Armed with our requirements list, I decided to start by refreshing my memory about the different types of mattresses Saatva makes and the sleeping positions and preferences each is best suited to, as well as learning about the newer products the company had added since I worked on my research project for them in 2017.

At the time (February 2021), There were eight mattress models available (the new Saatva Memory Foam Hybrid Mattress had not yet been introduced). Three of the mattresses were easy to exclude from consideration: The dual-sided Saatva Youth (for kids), the Crib Mattress and the Saatva HD mattress designed for larger/heavier bodies.

That left five potential candidates to explore.

Saatva Solaire Precision Adjustable Air Mattress

I asked Joe which mattresses he and his wife had chosen Joe for their own home, and he said they owned two Saatva Classic innerspring mattresses (one “luxury firm” and one “firm”) and one Zenhaven all-latex on an adjustable base, which let them elevate the head or foot of the mattress (or both). He also suggested that John and I look at the Saatva Solaire mattress, a newer model that I was not yet familiar with and the one that Saatva’s president and CEO and his wife had chosen for their bedroom, along with the “upper-flex” configuration and an adjustable base.

The Solaire's key feature is a layer of individual air chambers that can be inflated or deflated with the remote control to make the mattress firmer or softer. There are 50 firmness settings so you can fine-tune the firmness to your precise preference if you wish. On a king Solaire each side can be adjusted independently, so spouses or sleeping partners can customize the firmness to their individual preferences on their respective sides of the mattress.

In the “upper-flex” option (available for queen and king sizes only), the upper part of the mattress is split down the center to allow the head of each side to be raised or lowered independently when paired with a compatible adjustable base, such as the Saatva Adjustable Base Plus, that has been configured for a top-split mattress. (“Upper-flex is Saatva’s term for this upper-split configuration, which is more commonly referred to as split-head, head split, split-top or top split).

"Upper-flex" Saatva Solaire mattress
In the "upper-flex" configuration of the Saatva Solaire mattress, the uppr portion is split to allow each side of the head of the bed to be raised and lowered separately, when paired with a compatible adjustable base

Since John and I often go to sleep and wake up at different times, the ability to elevate the head of the bed on our side without disturbing the other’s sleep was very appealing. Our only hesitation about getting the split-top, upper-flex king Solaire instead of the standard, solid king was whether one of us might end up with an arm stuck in the narrow gap along the top-center split. In addition, since we had never slept on an adjustable air bed type, we had no idea what it would feel like or how comfortable or supportive we would find it.

Loom & Leaf Memory Foam Mattress

John and I preferred the feel of a memory foam mattress to any other type we had tried, so we were pretty sure we would be comfortable on a Loom & Leaf memory foam mattress…at least, until the sagging and furrowing started, if it behaved like our previous memory foam mattresses. We liked that, unlike our previous memory foam mattresses, the Loom & Leaf has a high-density foam base underneath the memory foam layers, which are topped with a cooling gel-infused foam layer for added comfort and spinal support.

Given our chronic joint pain and backaches, reading that the Loom & Leaf’s ultra-premium 5-lb. memory foam, which adds durability and support, “conforms to your body and helps to relieve joint and back pain while keeping your spine in neutral alignment” definitely struck a positive chord. Maybe the combination of this denser memory foam and high-density foam base would resist sagging and furrowing better than our less expensive memory foam mattresses?

The Loom & Leaf mattress’s comfort level is described as “Relaxed Firm,” combining “plush comfort and contouring support” with a medium firmness, making it “a great option for solo sleepers or couples (especially ones who snooze in different sleep positions).” So, the Loom & Leaf seemed to tick several boxes on our wish list. It was also compatible with an adjustable base.

Saatva Classic Innerspring

When we were kids, John and I slept on traditional innerspring mattresses. We’ve also slept on them together during various hotel stays over the past 27 years and never found them to be particularly comfortable. However, we have never tried a hybrid innerspring. I knew that the original, flagship Saatva Classic innerspring mattress introduced in 2011 remains the company’s best-selling mattress and had earned many thousands of rave customer reviews. So, we decided to keep an open mind and learn more about this hybrid innerspring.

Saatva Classic innerspring mattress cross-section cutaway
This cutaway section shows the layers, materials and construction of this Saatva Classic luxury hybrid innerspring mattress, from the heavy-gauge tempered steel coils to the plush, 3-inch Euro pillow top

The Saatva Classic’s dual-coil system includes a support base of heavy-gauge, tempered, recycled steel coils that provide stability and resist sagging and a second layer of individually wrapped, pocketed coils that conform to the body, relieve pressure points and reduce motion transfer (so turning over or getting out of bed is less likely to disturb a partner). John and I both have back problems, so the pairing of the company’s patented spinal zone active wire with premium high-density memory foam for enhanced lower back support and pressure relief in the center of the mattress sounded great for us. The memory foam and the 3-inch, organic cotton, quilted Euro pillow top layer filled with a mix of plush fibers and comfort foams would likely make this hybrid innerspring a lot more comfortable than the older, traditional innerspring mattresses we had tried. 

The Saatva Classic also offers a choice of two heights (11.5 inches or 14.5 inches) and three comfort levels (Plush Soft, Luxury Firm or Firm). Luxury Firm, the most popular firmness level choice by far, was “designed to replicate the comfort level used in luxury hotels” and provide “a perfect balance of comfort and uplifting support,” which made it suitable for any sleep style and a good option for couples like us who prefer different firmness levels.

The 11.5-inch Saatva Classic is compatible with an adjustable base, although the thicker 14.5-inch model is not.

Zenhaven Natural Latex

John and I tried a latex mattress (the one we were sleeping on at the time) because latex is supposed to retain its resilience and supportiveness longer than memory foam. Although ours had, indeed, held up a couple of years longer than our previous mattresses, it was much less comfortable and didn’t provide the contoured support of its memory foam predecessors and we were tired of waking up with sore muscles and aching joints. Initially, I hadn’t planned to include it on our list of potential candidates, but I decided to refresh my memory about this model.

I remembered that, unlike our old latex mattress, Saatva’s Zenhaven natural all-latex mattress is dual-sided and can be flipped with either the softer Luxury Plush side or the Gentle Firm side facing up. There was a good chance that at least one of the sides would be more comfortable than our old latex mattress. Better yet, if we found the other side reasonably comfortable as well, when the side we were sleeping on eventually started to sag we could flip it to the other side, effectively doubling its useful life.

In addition, natural latex is naturally hypoallergenic, antimicrobial and resistant to dust mites, mold and other common indoor allergens, and the natural latex used in the Zenhaven is also certified free of harmful chemicals. Since John and I both suffer from a plethora of allergies including pollen, dust and mold, that was an important consideration that earned this natural all-latex mattress a place on our list of models to consider. The Zenhaven was also compatible with an adjustable base.

Saatva Latex Hybrid

The last option we considered was the Saatva Latex Hybrid mattress, which pairs a support base of individually wrapped recycled steel coils, like the Saatva Classic hybrid innerspring, with a 3" layer of 5-zone natural latex that conforms to and supports the body and provides enhanced lumbar support and pressure relief. According to the product description, the Saatva Latex Hybrid’s “luxury plush” feel and firmness make this mattress a good choice for any sleeping position, which was one of our key requirements.

Even though we weren’t big fans of the latex or innerspring mattresses we had slept on, we had never tried a latex and innerspring hybrid, so I decided to keep this one on our initial list of options. It was also compatible with an adjustable base.

Next Step: Culling the Herd

In my next post in this series, I’ll share the factors we considered, the steps we took and our interactions with customer support that helped us narrow these choices and, ultimately, finalize our decision on the best Saatva mattress for our needs.

Be sure to subscribe* to Review This Reviews to be notified when new posts in this Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper series (and my popular keto diet success series) are published!

*See the email subscription box in the sidebar; if you are viewing on a mobile device and don't see the sidebar in your browser, click on "View web version" at the bottom of the page.

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 1: The Journey Begins by Margaret Schindel

Posts in This Series

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 1: The Journey Begins

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 2: Choosing the Best Mattress for Your Needs

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 3: Ordering a Mattress and Adjustable Bed Online

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 4: Organic Cotton Bedding Product Review

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 5: White Glove Delivery and Setup

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 6: Solaire Mattress and Adjustable Base Plus Product Reviews

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 7: Exchanging a Mattress

Confessions of a Saatva Mattress Shopper, Part 8: Which Queen or King Size Saatva Solaire Mattress and Adjustable Base Is Right for You?

Read more product reviews from our Contributors at ReviewThisProductReviews.com.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 28, 2023

A Review of the Foodsaver Vacuum Sealing System



Considering the price of food today, it is ridiculous to let it spoil.  It is like throwing your money in the garbage!  If you are like me, you have a lot of good intentions when it comes to the food you buy.  

Such as:

You buy a family sized package of pork chops, thinking how many meals you are going to make with all that meat and when you get home from the store, in a rush as always, you just toss it in the freezer.  Then when you want to make porkchops for dinner, you go to the freezer, only to see six porkchops frozen together in a big lump.  Now you know if you thaw them all, the ones you don't cook will probably spoil before you decide to have them again for dinner, so you just leave them in the freezer and have spaghetti instead.

This same scenario is played again and again over the next few months until that package of porkchop is darkened and dried up with freezer burn.   With regret, you take it out of the freezer and throw it in the trash.

You know this has happened to you, it has happened to all of us!  I cannot count the number of times I have bought large portions, intending to save money by meal planning, only to end up thowing it out.  It either spoils or gets lost in the freezer.  

The day I decided to change this pattern of behavior was the day I cleaned out my chest freezer when we were preparing to move.  I just could not believe the amount of freezer burned meat and other items that were in the bottom of that freezer.  The food that I ended up throwing out could have fed us for a month!.  I said right then and there, no more!!!

After much research and talking to friends, I decided to buy a Foodsaver V4400 Vacuum Sealer.  


It is their middle of the road sealing machine, not the top end or low end.  I had recently had a dozen meat chickens butchered (we moved out to the country) and I thought this would be a great time to try out our Foodsaver.  With only two of us in the house, those 12 chickens would be in the freezer for a long time and I did not want them freezer burned.

My husband and I sat down and read the directions and found them very clear and easy to understand.  We grouped the chicken pieces how we wanted to freeze them and we were off!  We were both surprised how quick and easy it was to package all that chicken.  While we were at it, we decided to package up some green beans that I had picked and cleaned the day before.  They came out beautifully.  Even after packaging all that, we still did not use up all the bags that came with the machine when we bought it.  We were impressed!


How to Use a Foodsaver Video



In case you are thinking that you only need a vacuum sealer if you raise your own chickens and garden, nothing could be further from the truth.  We also use it for cheese, lunch meat, fruit and many other things that we buy at the grocery store.  It cuts way down on food spoilage.  A block of cheese that is vacuum sealed will not mold for weeks if stored properly.  You can also vacuum seal all kinds of leftovers, from steak to Sweet and Sour Pork.  It will lengthen the shelf life of just about anything in the refrigerator.

As many bags as they did give us with the machine, they did eventually run out.  To buy more, I took a look on Amazon, and found the Foodsaver bags to be pretty pricey. However, there are perfectly good bags of other brands that work well and are less expensive.  The kind I use and like best are Reli Vacuum Sealer Bags.  You get 4 rolls of 8" wide x 50 feet long, so they can be cut to any size.



While a Foodsaver is not an inexpensive purchase, if you use it, I guarantee that you will save money on food and you will recover the price you paid.  You will also find that your food tastes better when stored properly.  It is definitely worth it.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 27, 2023

Dog Slicker Review

Rain rain go away! It's that time of year - oh wait! That is every time of year in this area of the United States where rain seems to be a year long event. The weather has been so rainy this year I decided the Fluff, aka as the dog, needed some rain attire to brave the elements.



I purchased the HDE Dog Rain Slicker and have not been disappointed! Easy to wear, functional, a breeze to put on and take off plus the slicker comes in a few fun colors and patterns. The slicker comes in four sizes and I chose a medium which fit true to the size chart.

Selection of Patterns and Colors

This rain slicker comes in a large selection of colors and patterns. I chose the humorous pattern for a change of pace. And --- chances are if it is raining hard enough for a dog rain coat in the northern United States a little whimsy is a good idea to brighten the mood for all. I will say dog walkers passing by do get a good chuckle out of this coat.

Function

This dog coat is more like a slicker. The coat is very lightweight, yet has enough body so that the hood will stay on. The reflective stripes are a good safety feature and the velcro makes it easy to put the coat on and take it off. 

What Does The Fluff Think?

The fluff approves of the coat! The fluff tolerates the hood. As you can see by this slightly side eye look of OK I won't protest, I don't love the hood, but I will humor you.





I like the hood because the fluff is not a wash and wear dog. The fluff has real hair verses fur which means that rain equals wet hair equals blow dryer equals now we have an issue.  As the fluff has curly hair as well the hair needs to be dried to avoid matting. I appreciate the fluff cooperates with the hood for heavy rain events. If the weather is just drippy I do not always use the hood.


Recommendation

I really like this rain coat for the price and function particularly in the warm weather months in the northern United States. I reviewed a heavier rain coat which I use for the colder heavier rains earlier this year. Both coats work well all year round and are a good addition to your pet tool belt of accessories to make your life and your pet's life just a little easier and more comfortable.

More Dog Rain Coat reviews >> Yellow Dog Rain Coat reviewed





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, February 22, 2023

Prostormer Electric Paint Sprayer - Reviewed

Springtime is on the way, and with spring and summer weather comes many outdoor projects. One, in particular, is outdoor painting. Last year I took on the task of painting our deck.

Prostormer Electric Paint Sprayer

We have a large deck on the back of our house, it measures 35 ft. x 12ft. deep. Our large deck along with good weather provides us with the perfect outdoor space for fun, and entertaining family and friends.

Last summer it was time to paint the deck for another season of outdoor fun. The first thing that I had to do was clean and remove all of the dirt and loose paint. For this, I used my Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer click the link to see my review of the pressure washer.

After cleaning the deck it was time to paint, so, I painted all of the railings with a brush and the deck floor with a roller. 

lattice

That only left the lattice around the outside of the deck. Lattice is the framework of crossed boards around the bottom of the deck as seen in the photo. 

The last time that I painted our deck I painted the lattice with a small brush. This was not only backbreaking but took a long time to complete as I have 35 ft. and 12 ft. deep on both sides to paint. 

I needed an easier way to paint the lattice so, I started looking for an electric spray gun. I've never owned a spray gun before and really didn't want to spend a lot of money. After looking through what Amazon had to offer and reading many of the reviews, I found this Prostormer 750-Watt Spray Gun.

The Prostormer was reasonably priced and easy to use. We followed the easy operating instructions to get it all set up and ready to go. While I continued to paint the deck, my grandson Tyler sprayed the lattice around the bottom of the deck with the Prostomer 750. 

What you get with this Prostormer Spray Gun:

  • 1 Prostormer electric paint sprayer
  • 1 1200ml tank
  • 4 different size spray nozzles
  • 1 Funnel to fill the tank
  • 1 cleaning needle
  • 1 cleaning brush
  • 1 user manual

My new spray gun was also very helpful in between the deck boards. The roller or even a paintbrush didn't get paint in between the deck boards very well but, the sprayer did the job with ease.

Spray guns are a perfect option for fences, window shutters, furniture, ceilings, and hard-to-reach places with a roller or brush.

I'm very happy with my Prostormer spray gun, and as you can see it is a great price.


Find More Product Reviews here:



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, February 14, 2023

A Valentine's Day Music Collection


If you are looking for romantic Valentine's Day music, look no further. Take inspiration from this review of a few Valentine's Day music ideas. It includes a couple of my favorite soundtracks that are available on compact disc and a a couple of others that sound fantastic. I have arranged my picks by release date. Enjoy.

FRENCH KISS SOUNDTRACK (1995)

An excellent soundtrack from the romantic comedy, French Kiss.

French Kiss is a great movie that also has a beautiful soundtrack with light pop music. The movie a very popular romantic comedy starring Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline. It features a variety of artists that you will recognize, including Van Morrison, Ella Fitzgerald and Zucchero. Find your copy of the French Kiss soundtrack here on Amazon.

CHOCOLATE SOUNDTRACK (2000)    


Discover the Chocolat movie soundtrack. A lovely, instrumental recording perfect for Valentine's Day or any romantic dinner.

I will admit, I am biased because I thoroughly enjoyed the movie Chocolat but, regardless of whether or not you have seen the movie, if you appreciate instrumental music, you will find this soundtrack beautiful. The movie starred Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp and the CD transports you to the setting of the movie, small town France. It is a perfect backdrop for your Valentine's Day dinner.  Released in 2001, it contains about 40 minutes of perfectly romantic music. Find your copy of the Chocolat soundtrack here on Amazon.

DISNEY'S FAIRY TALE WEDDINGS (2005)


Disney's Fairy Tale Weddings

Another instrumental collection, people who love Disney's love stories will enjoy this compilation. It includes songs from Beauty and the Beast, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Lady and the Tramp and numerous other Disney shows. Whether you listen to this on a CD or through Amazon's streaming service, would be great background music for Valentine's Day. Find Disney's Fairy Tale Weddings here on Amazon.

MARTINA MCBRIDE'S MY HEART (2005)



Martina McBride’s CD My Heart was released by Hallmark for Valentine’s Day in 2005. It features eight romantic songs that were picked by McBride herself. Some are her own songs; others, covers. This CD is shorter than some but it was quite successful upon its release. McBride sounds lovely in this compilation, which is good for Valentine’s Day and any other romantic occasion even a wedding. If you want to add it to your collection note that I found a better selection of this CD from sellers on eBay. Look for Martina McBride's My Heart here on eBay.

VALENTINE'S DAY SOUNDTRACK (2010)


The Valentine’s Day movie soundtrack includes 18 songs from the 2010 movie of the same name.

Released slightly more recently in 2010, the soundtrack to the Valentine's Day movie is another great choice. The movie included a wide variety of popular actors including Julia Roberts, Jamie Foxx and Anne Hathaway. The CD includes recordings from a wide variety of artists who you will recognize including the likes of Taylor Swift, Willie Nelson, Jewel, Amy Winehouse, Nat King Cole and Maroon 5. Find your copy of the Valentine's Day soundtrack here on Amazon.

NOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL A LOVE SONG (2023)


Perfect for Valentine's Day, Here's the new Now Music compilation called Now That's What I Call A Love Song!

Definitely the newest in this series, this set was released in February of 2023 from the people who have presented more than 110 CDs in the NOW Music series. This compilation is packed with new and old love songs by artists you know including but not limited to the likes of Ed Sheeran, Fugees, Sam Smith, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Elton John, Sting, Billy Joel, Norah Jones, Seal, Lana Del Ray, Kacey Musgraves, Nelly Furtado, Miley Cyrus, Dua Lipa, Ariana Grande, Kylie Minogue, Little Mix, Justin Bieber, John Mayer, Cold Play, Pretenders, Robbie Williams and Christina Aguilera. I think this one would make great listening for anyone but would be especially fun for a mixed generation gathering since it presents something for everyone. Find your copy of Now That's What I Call A Love Song here on Amazon. If you want a mix of music that includes today's artists, this is the compilation for you.

Do you have any favorite Valentine's Day music?

Happy Valentine's Day!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

QUICK LINKS:












Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Reviews Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWomanThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoTracey BoyerLou16BarbRadBev OwensBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsHeather426Coletta TeskeMissMerFaeryMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X