Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 7, 2022

Flex Seal Liquid Rubber - Reviewed

 Flex Seal liquid rubber in a can is a liquid rubber sealant coating. Flex Seal can be brushed on, rolled on, poured, or dip something to create a rubber coating.

Flex Seal Liquid Rubber - Reviewed

Flex Seal is an easy-to-use liquid coating that dries to form a watertight rubberized seal. Once Flex Seal is cured it will seal out water and moisture on a variety of surfaces.

Projects that I have used Flex Seal For:

Closet Corner

My basement closet corner was the very first project where I used Flex Seal. The wall and baseboard were wet and turning black from mold.

I was walking around the hardware store trying to figure out how to fix this and that is when I found Flex Seal. I had seen it advertised on television so I thought why not give this a try.

After we cleaned all of the mold from the wall and baseboard, I painted the area with a primer. Then, I brushed the Flex Seal onto the wall, baseboard, and even part of the floor.

As you can see in the photo, after two years there is no moisture or mold. 


Outdoor table
This is our outdoor dining table. I told Fran last year that this would be it for this table, next year we will have to get a new one.

It is a glass top table with a metal edge. The problem is that over the years the edge rusted. I have restored this table a couple of times and really thought it was time to get rid of it.

The edge rusted to the point where it had some holes. I filled the holes with a product called JB Weld SteelStick, sanded it down, brushed Flex Seal over the edge, and then spray painted to match the color. 

We just may get one more year out of this table.


My third project for Flex Seal was to seal some leaking gutters. The end caps and seams on the house gutter were leaking when it rained. 

I brushed on Flex Seal to all of the seams and end caps on the gutters and the problem was solved. This I don't have a photo of because there was no way that I was going back up the ladder to take pictures.

I'm very pleased with the performance of Flex Seal on the projects that I have used it on. I am sure there are many more uses for Flex Seal. It comes in a liquid, spray, and caulking I believe you can buy it in white or black.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 6, 2022

Reviewing Vacuum Sealing Jars with a FoodSaver Machine

Bad news. All dry foods such as beans, rice, flour, corn meal, and pasta may have been exposed to moths or weevils during processing and packaging at food plants or during shipping. This is how these bugs are able to hitchhike into your home - even if your kitchen is pristine. If you suddenly have tiny beetles in your flour or moths in your bag of beans, it is because the eggs have had time to hatch before you've cooked the item. Yuck! One solution to avoid this is vacuum sealing your dry goods in jars. And the FoodSaver does this.



The FoodSaver machine is fairly well-known. Many people know that it is a machine that vacuum seals food into special plastic bags. When air is removed from food products that food stays fresher longer. And many are aware that vacuum sealed frozen food is at less risk for freezer burn. But not as many people know that Mason jars can be used with the FoodSaver machine to vacuum seal food in jars. 

Important Note: Not all FoodSaver machines have the Accessory Port that is needed to vacuum seal jars. If you are shopping for a FoodSaver machine so you can seal jars, make sure that the machine has the Accessory Port

Jar Sealer Attachments

I purchased a set of the jar sealer attachments. The set included the hose and two jar attachment lids; one wide mouth sized and one regular mouth sized. 

In just a few easy steps, you can seal food into jars:

  • place dry food such as rice, pasta or beans into the Mason jar
  • lay the flat lid on top of the jar
  • press the correct size of jar sealer - wide mouth or regular - over the lid and jar
  • insert the hose into the jar sealer and into the FoodSaver
  • move the FoodSaver lever to the "operate" position
  • press the button for "vacuum"
  • after hearing the vacuuming begin then end, and after the light turns off, move the lever to the open position (releasing the pressure)
  • remove the jar sealer from the jar
  • gently check the lid to test for a seal
  • label the lid with the food item and date
  • I add the ring to help keep the lid secure in case I bump the jar - but I do not screw the ring on tightly
If you are a visual learner, I have prepared a very brief video to show how I seal my jars:




Important Vacuum Sealing Flour Caution

Because flour and similar items are finely ground, the action of the vacuum sealing process can pull the flour into the accessories. So you'll need to use some sort of barrier between the flour and the vacuum sealer.  I have seen some folks use a piece of cloth or paper towel inside the top of the jar when vacuum sealing flour into jars. However, I do not feel that I'd be coordinated enough to insert the cloth correctly. While I MUCH prefer vacuum sealing in jars, flour is the one thing I prefer to use the FoodSaver plastic bags for. I learned to seal using a bag in a bag; the flour in either a clean paper lunch bag or the bag it is packaged in then sealed in the FoodSaver plastic bag.

Why I Vacuum Seal My Food

While living at my last apartment, I had purchased some bulk rice and beans. Because I was feeding only one or two people I did not go through those those bulk items very quickly. One day, I opened the cupboard to find a bag of rice with a swarm of moths inside. It was like a bad scary movie. I did some research and that was when I learned that the eggs of these insects can be present in dry foods before they reach our homes. But I was also living an a metro apartment complex where the exterminators were frequently seen onsite to battle a variety of creepy things. So really, it's hard to tell where my rice infestation came from. But it was disgusting. And I never want it to happen again.

Now I live in my single dwelling home. I do not have to be concerned about what might be living in someone else's home just on the other side of my wall. But I have a new risk for bugs. Rather than purchasing my groceries every day or two in meal-sized portions as I usually did living in a metro area, I now purchase items in bulk. My goal is to go to the store for non-perishable items only once every month or two. But that increases the opportunity for these hitchhiking eggs to hatch.

I LOVE the option of vacuum sealing in jars. I can easily see what I have. Jars are more secure (I have seen videos of people discovering rodents have chewed through plastic tubs used to store their vacuum sealed bags). If I have a large jar of vacuum sealed pasta, I can open the jar and use a very small amount and reseal the jar. 

I would say that I am saving money by buying in bulk but with today's extreme inflation I do not feel as though I am saving money. However, I am protecting the food I have invested a good deal of money in and I am reducing the number of times I need to drive to the store. There have also been times that pasta is not available on the store shelves but I am able to relax knowing that I have a little of my own in a jar at home. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 5, 2022

The Best Cosmetics Storage Holder - According to Me and Others!

Makeup Cosmetics Organizer

Even though I don't wear much makeup, I do have specific items for that 'five-minute face.'

For decades, the frugal me would use little storage baskets or small decorative gift boxes with lids to store cosmetics. The problem with putting makeup in a box is digging to find what you need and forgetting about the items buried in the bottom.

A Five Drawer Stackable Transparent Makeup Organizer

After researching various products, I decided to get "A 5 Drawer Stackable, Transparent Makeup Organizer." The one I purchased on Amazon Canada is here. Unfortunately, I couldn't find the exact same one on Amazon USA; however, I did locate an even larger acrylic stackable makeup holder on Amazon USA here.

Be sure to check out the sizes. I have two stackable items that fit low enough against my mirror.

The Organizational Problem I Solved

To do my five-minute face, I use specific items and pulling each one out was taking up surface area on my vanity table. 

I've wanted a better organizing system for cosmetics for years but was never willing to treat myself! I'm so glad I finally bought myself this bonus gift!


As you can see in the above photo, each cosmetic drawer is sorted according to what I use. Best of all, when I need something, I simply pull the drawer open, use the item, put it back, and close the drawer. Nothing has to go onto the vanity table, taking up space.

Here's How I Sorted My Own Personal Cosmetics Unit Based on What I Use:

  1. The top drawer has eye makeup
  2. The second drawer has lip related items, nail files, scissors, and clippers
  3. The third drawer has blush and brushes
  4. The fourth drawer has mascara and my favorite under-the-eye brightener. 
  5. The fifth drawer holds some musk oil, some cream, and hair bands
Since I essentially use everything until it's gone, I don't have drawers or containers filled with old, unused makeup. For that reason, two stackable organizers are perfect.


In the above photo, notice that the bottom drawer is deeper. That's another reason I selected these two stackables. The top stackables are narrower drawers, but I needed at least one deeper drawer.


Here's a close-up photo of the narrow drawers. As you can see, the cosmetics in this drawer (mascara and under the eye cream) fit perfectly fine.


What I like about this unit is being able to put an eyeshadow collection box directly on top. It fits nicely. I made sure the width of the organizer would comfortably fit the eyeshadow box.


Notice the thickness and quality of the plastic. This is NOT a cheap flimsy piece of plastic. When you slide the drawers open, they stay in position nicely. Don't pull them too far because they'll come out. However, that's not an issue either because they quickly go back in place. 

Notice the non-slip black sheet that's included in each drawer. The non-slip insert is not only ideal for keeping things in place but also adds a decorative element.


You don't have to stack them. If your space is more conducive to a side-by-side storage system, you can position them beside each other.

Where to Get This Cosmetics Organizer - A Re-Cap

The makeup organizer above, that I purchased on Amazon Canada is here. Unfortunately, I couldn't find the exact same one on Amazon USA, however, I located an even larger acrylic stackable makeup holder on Amazon USA here. It's just as nice.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 3, 2022

McIntosh Van Gogh Fine China Tea Mug with Lid & Infuser Review

Van Gogh Mug
I love my new Van Gogh fine china lidded tea mug that my son gave me for Mother's Day this year.  Not only is it beautiful, it is quite serviceable.  

The mug came with an infuser which allows me to steep my loose tea leaves in the mug, plus a lid to cover it while it steeps. 

The infuser basket fits right inside the top of the mug. The lid has an opening that allows it to slip over the basket tab and completely cover the mug. The lid can be used with or without the basket inserted. 

The basket could also easily accommodate a tea bag, but I was thrilled to be able to simply pour my loose leaf tea in the basket, pour water over it, put the lid on, and let it steep. It is nice to eliminate the need for a tea bag. I enjoy being able to purchase loose leaf tea blends that allow me to add or mix flavors as desired.

The mug and lid are made of fine bone china, therefore it is very lightweight even when it is filled with tea. The lid could also be inverted to use as a coaster.

Previously, I have always covered my tea mugs with a saucer while the tea steeps.  It is wonderful to have a perfectly fitted matching lid with this beautiful tea mug, which I will, no doubt, use every day.

 

Van Gogh Designs on Fine China Tea Mugs

 McIntosh Van Gogh Almond Blossom Fine Bone China (15 oz) Tea Mug with Lid and Infuser in Matching Gift BoxCheck Price The design on my mug is the Vincent Van Gogh "Almond Blossoms".  Since blue is my favorite color, it was the perfect gift choice for me. 

Thanks to Van Gogh's style, the Almond Blossoms painting looks a lot like my favorite flowering tree, the dogwood. Thus, when I look at the lovely blue mug with the ivory blossom tree, it all represents my "favorites" to me, especially since it was a gift from my favorite son.  Okay, you got me!  He is my only son, but he is still my favorite son in the whole world.

The mug, lid and basket are all dishwasher and microwave safe.  I did wash them in the dishwasher before and after the first use without any issues.  While I may choose to wash them by hand, it is nice to know they can be washed in the dishwasher.

The mug, lid and infuser set are available in several Van Gogh designs. Each comes in a matching gift box. They are all lovely!  I do believe my son has hit on a new collection that he could add to each year for several years to come. 


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, June 2, 2022

Coleman Camp Oven Review


Who knew a Coleman Camp Oven could prove to be an essential baking tool at home? When I purchased this oven for a camping trip, it never once crossed my mind that I would find myself thankful for its use during an extended power outage at my primary residence. I have actually used it more at home during the pandemic than I would ever have imagined.


Deliciousness! That is the word I associate with my little camping bakery. Imagine waking up to the irresistible aroma of fresh-out-of-the oven hot cinnamon rolls. Oh my yes! One might even make up an excuse for a staycation if this is how we roll.


And that's only the start of the day. How about some homemade pizza for lunch? Such a breeze to bake in your Coleman oven. I found it best to bake the pizza on the top rack in the oven, though some cooks use a pizza stone on the bottom rack with very good results.


Getting back to the oven itself, let's take a look at a few of the great features, along with more baking tips. When first unboxing the oven, I was pretty surprised at how compact it folds up for storage and travel. Very impressive design. It takes up almost no room in the Rubbermaid tote I use for organizing my camping kitchen gear. Included in the box: Coleman Camp Oven, two baking racks, and instructions.

Set-up takes less than 30 seconds. Open a couple of latches, unfold the oven, lock the latches, and pop in the two racks. Didn't even break a sweat.


The oven sits over the top of a burner on my Coleman propane stove. To bake with the oven, you do need the stove and a full one-pound bottle of propane. I made the mistake of starting a pan of muffins with a partially empty propane canister attached to the stove. The propane ran out before the muffins had finished baking. Lesson learned. 


You will note the heat indicator gauge on the front door of the camp oven. I keep an eye on the temperature as the oven initially preheats and also while my food is cooking. It only takes about a minute for each 100 degrees of heat gain. Amazing!


That said, the most important thing I have learned about baking temperatures with my Coleman oven is to bake things at a lower temp than what is recommended on the recipe or package. I get perfect muffins and cinnamon rolls when I bake them 100 degrees below the temperature I would use in a regular home oven (250 degrees instead of 350 degrees). They bake for about the same length of time.


Finally, it is important to use this camp oven out of the wind. If you are cooking outdoors on a windy day, or a chilly day, a windbreak makes a huge difference. Some owners of this oven cover it with a small welding blanket to help conserve heat when cooking outside in conditions that would make the oven work harder and longer. They do this because the oven has vent slots where heat can escape. I haven't tried this, but I appreciate the tip, and could see myself making use of this idea.

For a very moderate price, the Coleman Camp Oven is a winning addition to any camper's kitchen. And, as I have experienced this year, it is invaluable for those temporarily unable to use their regular home oven. It definitely perked me up on days when I would have had no other way to bake my meals. I can honestly say I am happy I made this purchase. Enough said. Let's eat!




You may also be interested in this related review by a writing colleague: Coleman Classic Stove










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, June 1, 2022

Dieting is Hard Work, But Health and Wellness is So Important! A Product Review

 Dieting is never easy.  Putting on the pounds happens when we aren't looking and unless you are blessed with an amazing  metabolism that burns everything (all the calories) you will probably gain some weight over the years.

                                                             Image by Michal Jarmoluk from Pixabay


It seems that women in particular have a much harder time to loose the extra pounds than our counterparts.  Why?  Well let's just say that hormones have a lot to do with that excess and why we can't seem to drop those pounds as easily.

Now I know that if you have been reading Review This Reviews, you will have come across some really good articles about a diet that seems to work for just about everyone.  Margaret Schindel and Barbara Cipak Tremblay have written about their journey with weight loss using the Keto Diet!  These two ladies are good friends of mine and while I was sceptical, I did trust that their journeys using this new way of eating were in fact the truth!

Well two years ago, I made the decision that it was high time that I took on a weight loss program again.  I had done many stints with Weight Watchers and Crash Dieting (of all kinds) and had limited success!  The problem was that none of that weight loss was sustainable for me.

I was at a point in my life where my knees hurt so badly and the excess weight that I had on my frame was not at all helping me feel better.  So after looking at this "new" weight loss system, I decided to jump on board and give it my best effort.

I am happy to say that in the last 2 years I have lost over 80 pounds and the amazing part of this is that I have kept that weight off and not regressed!  Has it been easy?  NO!  Dieting is never easy but I must say that this has been the best way for me to lose these pounds and not feel like I was missing out on life.  In my opinion, this is where many diets fail.  You feel so deprived that you break down and over indulge.  The slope is slippery once you start down that road, as I'm sure many of you are already aware.

Barbara and Margaret have done a great job in making me aware of ways to cook, bake, and all the great ways to enjoy food even in company.  No feeling like you have to watch others enjoy their meals while you nibble on a plate of greens that even Mr. Bunny might turn his nose up at.

My own personal downfall is the need for sweets.  Any diet will definitely cut most of the sweets right out of the picture.  Sugar is after all one of the biggest reasons we have a weight problem to begin with.  Enter what I have found to be a life saver in my diet lifestyle!  They are called "Love Good Fats".  




These bars are full of nuts and good things that are on the Keto Diet.  They are Keto Certified, Gluten Free, Kosher, and non-GMO!  Made in Canada, these bars are delicious to say the least!  When I am feeling like I'm deprived of those sweet wonders that my friends are all indulging in, I make sure I have one of my Love Good Fats Bars with me!  (I actually take two or three because my friends all want to try them too).  Now I have a special treat just for me and my feelings of deprivation are not weighing me down (pardon the pun).

I would highly recommend these bars if you are on a Keto type diet, they are tasty, full of good fats, low in sugars and other hidden calorie boosters too.  

Right now in the US, you can get some of these Love Good Fats bars on Amazon, but in Canada, you can order them directly from the company! 


 

 I am checking into the ability for our American friends to order directly from the company as well and will update this when I have an answer for you.  I have looked into the bars available in the States and it seems that you only have the Mint Chocolate bars available.  In Canada, we have many more options.  I will update and hopefully you too can enjoy the nutty ones we are able to purchase.   

UPDATE!!!!! You can go to the Store Locator page and see where Love Good Fats are available closer to your own State!  Just follow this link:Store Locator

Just one caveat, with Keto dieting and these Love Good Fats bars, it's very hard to stop at one!  But, if you are having success with the Keto Lifestyle, then you know how to tell yourself that one is enough or to plan your meals so that your Carb counts can be within the range you need for your own personal dieting style.

I hope this Review helps you on your journey to a healthier and more sustainable way of life and that you do take the time to read some of Barbara's or Margaret\s Keto Reviews.  They are both full of excellent information that will help you on this journey through life. 





These are just a few of the many articles that I'm sure you will find interesting and very easy to follow and make yourself.   ReviewThisReviews.com and look for articles by Barbara (Brite-Ideas) or Margaret Schindel  you will come up with more information to help you become a successful Weight Loss Warrior!







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 30, 2022

A Review of Reverse Mortgages



 


If you are like me, you have probably heard the term "Reverse Mortgage" and wondered what that was and how it worked.  I heard snippets of information from commercials, but I never really understood how reverse mortgages work, or had enough information to decide if they were a good or a bad thing.  So I decided to do some research and educate myself on the subject. 

What Is A Reverse Mortgage?

A loan for people over the age of 62 that own their home or are in the process of paying back a mortgage on the home they live in.  The collateral for this load is the home itself and the equity the owners have built up in it. 

 Do You Have to Pay it Back?

We all know there is no such thing as a free lunch, so you do have to pay back a reverse mortgage.  But this loan does not have to be paid back until the last surviving homeowner either:

  •      Passes away
  •      Moves out
  •      Does not live in the home as a primary residence for over 12 months

When any of these three things happen, the estate of the homeowner has to repay the loan, in full, within 6 months, or sell the house to repay the loan.  The good news is, if the home sells for less the balance of the loan, the estate is not liable to pay the difference!  The lending institution takes the loss.  If the house sells for more than the balance of the loan, the estate keeps the difference.  One of the few win/win situations you will ever see in finance!

What If I Already Have a Mortgage On My Home?

This is not a problem and will not prevent you from applying for a reverse mortgage.  You can take out a reverse mortgage and pay off your mortgage, to get rid of that payment every month.  If you qualify for a reverse mortgage that is more than what you owe, you then have access to the rest of the loan amount.

How Much Money Can I Get?

How much the loan will be for depends of a few things:

  •      Age of the homeowner
  •      Current interest rate
  •      Value of the house
  •      Government loan limits

How Will I Get My Money?

There are several ways to receive the proceeds from a reverse mortgage:

  •      Equal monthly payments for a fixed amount of time or for as long as the owners live         in the home.
  •      Lump sum of money, all at once
  •      Line of credit that the homeowner can draw on as needed.

You may also get a combination of any of the above, like a lump sum of a certain amount and the rest monthly, or a lump sum in the beginning and then a line of credit.  The terms of a reverse mortgage are extremely flexible.

Can I Outlive My Reverse Mortgage?

A mortgage of this type is not due as long as the homeowner lives there as their primary residence and maintains the home, no matter how long they live.  You cannot outlive a reverse mortgage.

Do I Have Any Obligations During the Tenure of the Loan?

You must maintain the home in good working order, keep it insured to value and keep the taxes current.  In other words, simply do the things you probably already do.  The house must be kept in good repair, insured and you must pay the taxes. That's all.

Whether or not a reverse mortgage is a good idea for you is something that only you can decide.  The best way to make a decision is to get all the information you can and this article is only a short outline of the basic facts.  It also does not take into consideration that laws differ from state to state and country to country.  If you are considering a reverse mortgage, please make sure to get all the information regarding the laws in your area.*

___________________________________________

*This article is for informational purposes only and is not meant to provide legal advice or information on which to base any financial decision.  The writer is not liable for the result of actions taken from reading this article.

Image Credit:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/miran/6951472582/sizes/l




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 28, 2022

Review of the 5-Cup Mr. Coffee Mini Brew

My new coffeemaker



I have had many Mr. Coffee coffeemakers over the years and always bought the 12-cup size. Since I am now the only coffee drinker in the house, when it came time to replace my old coffeemaker I decided to 'downsize'. Thus, I purchased the 5-Cup mini brew Mr. Coffee


My purchase decision was based on four things:

Mr. Coffee 5-Cup Mini Brew

  1. Only one coffee drinker living in my house.
  2. The fact that I've noticed I now (usually) only drink two cups of coffee each morning instead of the 4 or 5 I used to drink. 
  3. This coffeemaker brews just 5 cups (25 oz.) instead of the larger 12-cup size, which is just the right amount for two 12-ounce cups of my mug-size cups of coffee at a time. If more is needed, or you have coffee-drinking company, it is quick to brew another pot.
  4. The small size of the Mini Brew coffeemaker fits so much better on my kitchen shelf, taking up less space.



Features of the Mr. Coffee Mini Brew




  • Since I was going to a smaller coffeemaker, which is less expensive than the larger 12-cup version, I decided to splurge on a 'programmable' one. It has some nice features.
  • Brew Later. You can set it ahead to automatically turn on, letting you have fresh-brewed coffee ready when you get up.
  • Auto Pause.  Allows you to grab a cup while the coffeemaker is still brewing if you cannot wait (which I seldom can first thing in the morning!). 
  • As with the larger versions, this Mr. Coffee Mini Brew has an easy to view water window, handy for filling the coffeemaker. 
  • Most important ~ it has a 2-hour auto shut-off feature. It automatically turns itself off if you forget.


The Important 2-hour Auto Shut-Off Feature



Let me tell you how important this feature is in ANY coffeemaker. Years ago I had a non-programmable, standard Mr. Coffee coffeemaker. It worked fine, except you had to remember to turn it off when you were done drinking coffee for the day.


Hubby & I would leave for work after coffee and breakfast and drive 18 miles to the office. At work, the coffee pot in the break room would remind me of my own coffee pot at home. Three different times I was suddenly so convinced in my mind that I had not turned off my coffee pot that I had to call my neighbor and ask her to run over and check my coffee pot. Once I DID leave it on.  After the third time of this 'did I, did I not' turn off the coffee pot, I gave up and bought a programmable one that shuts itself off! It is well worth the piece of mind to have this auto shut-off feature, even if you are now retired and home all day most days. 


Summary


I am very pleased with my new 5-cup programmable Mr. Coffee Mini-Brew coffeemaker


*Review of the Mr. Coffee Mini Brew Coffeemaker is written by Wednesday Elf





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 25, 2022

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

Pizza is the most popular food in the world, according to TasteAtlas. A 2019 online survey of more than 2,000 U.S. adults ages 18 and older conducted by The Harris Poll on behalf of California Pizza Kitchen found that pizza was the #1 food Americans would choose if they could eat only one food for the rest of their lives.

Take-out pizzas from your local pizzeria and ready-to-bake frozen pizzas from the supermarket can be convenient and often tasty. Unfortunately, most are very high in calories, fat and carbs. Homemade keto pizza crusts based on variations of the popular "fathead dough" are a reasonable alternative to traditional pizzas crusts made with wheat flour for someone on a gluten-free or low carb diet. Making your own pizza with high-quality, fresh, wholesome ingredients also lets you control the nutrition of both the crust and the toppings. It can also be messy and, depending on the recipe, possibly time-consuming.

In this review, I’ll share a delicious, quick and easy low carb keto pizza recipe that you can get on the table in just 30 minutes from start to finish, using a frozen KBosh keto crust and your choice of low carb toppings. These gluten-free, keto-friendly frozen crusts are extremely low in calories as well as carbohydrates and come in several different flavors, both sweet and savory. They are also very thin, so they crisp up quickly and allow your favorite toppings to be the center of attention.

This quick and easy low carb keto pizza recipe is intended as a starting point that you can customize to your taste with your choices of KBosh keto crust flavors and yummy toppings.

Photo of Low Carb Pizza With KBosh Keto Crust
This quick and easy low carb keto pizza recipe can be on the table in as little as 30 minutes!

Takeout Pizzas Are Loaded With Carbs and Calories

My husband and I are both pizza lovers and “foodies.” Until a few years ago, getting a large takeout pizza and a couple of big side salads was a frequent mid-week ritual for us. Our favorite was Bertucci’s Sporkie pizza, a wheat flour crust layered with sweet Italian sausage, ricotta, shredded mozzarella, grated Pecorino Romano and house-made tomato sauce, with extra toppings of roasted eggplant and caramelized onions. This scrumptious pie has a fabulous flavor and texture, but the nutritional profile is less than stellar. The large pies are cut into eight slices, and based on my calculation using Bertucci’s May 2022 Menu Nutritional Information, our usual serving (1.5 slices) of a large Sporkie pizza with added roasted eggplant and caramelized onions weighs in at a whopping 840 calories, 13g of saturated fat, 60g of cholesterol, 1,815 mg of sodium, 76.5g of carbohydrates, 6g of fiber, 20 mg of sugar and 28.5g of protein!

After a serious health scare in 2019 gave me the motivation to lose nearly 60 pounds on a ketogenic weight loss diet, I decided to adopt a healthy, low carb lifestyle and find healthier, low carb alternatives to my favorite high-carb foods, and Sporkies became a thing of the past for us. I'm still hoping to perfect a delicious and easy keto pizza recipe with a crust that resembles the ones served at Bertucci's, so I can make a low carb version of our beloved Sporkie with roasted eggplant and caramelized onions. In the meantime, however, I have been experimenting with different, healthier, low carb pizza crust options.

KBosh Keto Cauliflower Crust Nutrition and Ingredients Label
Each KBosh Keto Crust has just 45 calories and less than 1 carbohydrate per serving!

Fathead Dough Keto Pizza Crusts vs. KBosh Keto Crusts

The most popular low carb and keto pizza recipes feature thin crusts made with some variation on "fathead dough," made with mozzarella cheese, butter or cream cheese, egg, coconut and/or almond flour and sometimes additional ingredients. Two good ones to try are the Keto Magic Mozzarella Dough recipe from All Day I Dream About Food and The Best Keto Pizza Recipe (Fathead Dough) from Wholesome Yum. Although I haven't yet found a recipe that produces a low carb pizza crust with the taste, texture and aroma of a traditional, wheat flour-based crust, these fathead dough variations offer a tasty and satisfying alternative for people who are watching their carbs.

KBosh Keto Crusts are made from many of the same ingredients as fathead dough, but they also contain low carb vegetables, such as cauliflower, zucchini, pumpkin, spinach or broccoli, depending on which flavor you choose. This gives them a somewhat different taste and texture than fathead dough type crusts and makes them lower in calories, fat and carbohydrates than regular fathead dough keto pizza crusts.

  • Ready to Use. Keto pizza crusts made from fathead dough need to be made from scratch. KBosh Keto Crusts arrive frozen and don't need to be thawed. Just remove the package from the freezer, gently separate the two crusts and crisp them up in a nonstick frying pan for a few minutes before adding your toppings and baking.
  • Lower in Net Carbs. Fathead dough based pizza crusts typically have 2–3.5 net carbs per serving. All KBosh keto pizza crust flavors have only 1 net carb per serving except the chocolate zucchini dessert pizza crust, which has 2 net carbs per serving.
  • The Entire KBosh Keto Pizza Crust (3 Servings) Has Just 3 Net Carbs and 120 Calories! That's low enough to allow you to indulge in an entire pizza with low carb toppings, if you are so inclined.

KBosh keto pizza crusts are also gluten-free and much lower in calories and carbohydrates than other popular gluten-free pizza crusts, such as Udi's Gluten Free Pizza Crust (200 calories and 34g of carbohydrates per 1/2-crust serving) and CauliPower All About the Base cauliflower pizza crust (170 calories and 28g of carbs per 1/3-crust serving).

Note: I also plan to try a few keto pizza crust mixes and will share any that I can recommend in a future product review.

Homemade Low Carb Ham and Asparagus Pizza on a KBosh Zucchini Keto Pizza Crust
I made this delicious, quick and easy low carb pizza using a KBosh zucchini keto pizza crust topped with sauce, three kinds of cheese, asparagus and ham. Here it is fresh from the oven, ready to devour!

Customize Your Pizza Topping Choices to Suit Your Preferences and Nutritional Macros

Another great thing about making your own homemade pizzas is that you can easily tailor your choices of pizza crust and toppings to suit your mood, the contents of your fridge and pantry, your low carb or keto macros, and the rest of your day's meal plan. 

For example, I can lower the carbs and increase the protein by skipping the pizza sauce and topping my keto pizza crust with whole milk mozzarella, crumbled bacon or sausage, and maybe some fresh asparagus and mushrooms. On days when I can afford a few more carbs, I might add some low carb pizza sauce and fresh red bell pepper and swap out the bacon or sausage for diced or julienned deli ham.

Photo of baked low carb pizza with KBosh pumpkin zucchini keto crust

Quick and Easy Low Carb Pizza Recipe With KBosh Keto Crust

Prep Time:

12-15 minutes

Cook Time:

12-15 minutes

Total Time:

24-30 minutes

Servings:

3 Servings

Ingredients

  • Low carb pizza sauce with no added sugar, such as Rao's Homemade All Natural Pizza SauceYo Mama's Classic Pizza Sauce, or Thrive Market Pizza Sauce
  • Whole milk ricotta cheese
  • Whole or part-skim mozzarella cheese, shredded or whole
  • Fresh or frozen, sliced or chopped, raw or cooked mushrooms, asparagus, bell peppers, red onions artichoke hearts or other low carb vegetables, roasted garlic gloves
  • Sliced olives
  • Anchovies
  • Cooked and crumbled ground beef, pork, turkey, chicken, or bulk sausage
  • Cooked and crumbled bacon
  • Cooked low carb breakfast, Italian or other sausage links, cut into coins, half moons, chunks or 1/3" to 1/2" dice OR cooked, crumbled, bulk low carb sausage meat
  • Thinly sliced deli ham, diced or julienned
  • Fresh herbs, such as oregano, thyme, rosemary or basil leaves
  • Freshly grated, aged Parmigiana Romano cheese, as a final topping (optional) and to patch any tears or cracks that may develop while manipulating the fragile crust before it is baked.

Tools, Supplies & Equipment Needed

Instructions

1. If using a pizza stone, place it on an oven rack in a cold oven. Preheat the oven to 425 °F.

Important tip: Never put a cold pizza stone into a hot oven! These stones are usually made of either ceramic or cordierite, materials that can withstand high heat but must be heated gradually to avoid thermal shock, which could cause them to crack.

Toppings prepped for low carb pumpkin zucchini crust pizza
All the ingredients for my KBosh keto crust low carb pizza (excluding the grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese and olive oil), prepped and ready to assemble.

2. Set out and prep your choice of toppings.

Browning KBosh zucchini keto pizza crust in a nonstick skillet
I forgot to take a photo when I was browning the KBosh pumpkin zucchini keto crust, but here is the KBosh zucchini keto crust I used for my three-cheese, fresh asparagus, ham low carb pizza.

3. Lightly oil the nonstick skillet with olive or avocado oil and preheat it for a minute or two over medium to medium-high heat. (Read why you should never preheat an empty nonstick pan.) While the pan is preheating, remove the KBosh keto crust package from the freezer. Cut open the plastic sleeve and carefully separate the two crusts. Slide the extra crust back into the plastic sleeve, seal it inside a large zippered freezer bag and return it to the freezer for storage.

Gently peel away the parchment from the remaining frozen crust and use the tip of the knife or spatula, if necessary, to carefully pry off the dessicant packet. Place the crust in the lightly oiled, preheated skillet and and pan-toast each side for 2–3 minutes, using the extra-wide, 6-inch slotted spatula to help you lift the edges to check the color and to turn over the crust after the first side is a rich medium brown. (Using an extra-wide turner to flip the fragile KBosh keto crust helps to lower the chances of causing tears or cracks.)

Tip: The KBosh crusts are very thin and somewhat fragile until they have been browned on both sides. To separate the frozen crusts, I slide the tip of a dinner knife or thin spatula between the parchment paper separators and slowly and carefully work my way around from the edges toward the center.If the crust develops any cracks or tears as you are separating the frozen crusts, prying off the dessicant packet or flipping the crust as you are browning it, see my quick and easy KBosh keto crust tear repair trick, below. Using freshly grated Parmigiano-Romano cheese and heat to "glue" the cracked or torn edges together works like a charm!

Trimming parchment paper to fit a round pizza baking pan
If using a round pizza baking pan, fold the parchment paper in half crosswise, then center the pan on the folded edge and trace around the rim, then trim off the excess, leaving a center gap for tab handles.

4. While the crust is browning, trim the sheet of unbleached baking parchment to fit your stainless steel pizza pan (if using) or fold the sheet of baking parchment in half lengthwise. Center the stainless steel pizza baking pan on the fold and trace around the edges to make a cutting template, leaving a 2-inch gap in the center to allow for tabs that will serve as handles. Trim the parchment along the guidelines as shown in the photo, then unfold the paper liner and center it on the stainless steel pizza pan.

Note: If you are using a dark nonstick baking sheet instead of the stainless steel pizza pan, I still recommend lining it with baking parchment to help absorb moisture from the crust and ensure that it doesn't stick to the baking sheet.

Topping the pizza sauce with large mounds of ricotta cheese
For a solid layer of ricotta over pizza sauce, place large, oval spoonfuls of ricotta in a flower pattern.

Spreading the ricotta evenly over the pizza sauce
Then, with the back of the spoon. gently spread the cheese to fill in the gaps between the "petals."

5. When both sides of the KBosh keto crust have been cooked to the desired doneness, remove the pan from the heat and allow the crust to cool for a few minutes. Then, using the extra-wide slotted turner, gently transfer the cooled crust to the prepared stainless steel pizza pan or dark nonstick baking sheet, centering the crust on the parchment liner. Spread a thin layer of your pizza sauce, pesto or other sauce over the crust, leaving a generous margin of bare crust around the edges, especially if you plan to add a layer of ricotta cheese. You can add small dollops of ricotta evenly spaced on top of the sauce layer or, for a solid layer of ricotta over the sauce, use a larger spoon to scoop and place large, closely spaced mounds and then use gentle pressure to spread the soft cheese and fill in the gaps, as shown.

Unbaked KBosh pumpkin zucchini pizza crust with all toppings added
I topped the sauce and cheese on this KBosh pumpkin zucchini crust with red peppers and Portobello mushrooms, then sprinkled julienned ham across the top, distributing everything evenly.

6. Layer your remaining toppings in whichever order you prefer, taking care to distribute all the toppings evenly among all the slices.

I usually decide the layering order for each pizza based on the specific characteristics of the toppings I have chosen, including whether they are raw or cooked. For example, here is how I layered my toppings on the KBosh pumpkin-zucchini keto crust pizza I made last week while my husband and I were away on vacation. I started with a thin layer of pizza sauce, topped with a thicker layer of whole milk ricotta and then a layer of sliced whole milk mozzarella cheese. The vegetables came next. First, I built a low "retainining wall" from short pieces of fresh red bell pepper strips around the perimeter to help limit the spread of the melting ricotta and mozzarella layers in the hot oven. Then, I arranged fresh Portobello mushroom slices over the cheese in a symmetrical pattern (for even distribution) and tucked more red bell pepper pieces in between. Then I sprinkled julienned deli ham over the vegetables, added a dusting of freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese and a light drizzle of olive oil before placing my pan of "loaded" low carb keto pizza into the hot oven, atop the preheated pizza stone.

Baked low carb keto pizza with KBosh pumpkin zucchini crust topped with pizza sauce, three cheeses, portobello mushrooms, red bell peppers, ham and baconom,
This low carb keto pizza with sauce, ricotta, mozzarella, red peppers, Portobello mushrooms, julienned ham, freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese and olive oil smelled amazing, hot from the oven!

7. Protect your hands with oven mitts, then open the oven and carefully place the stainless steel pie pan on the preheated pizza stone. Close the oven and bake the pie for 11–13 minutes, or until the cheese has melted and started to brown lightly. Carefully remove the pan from the oven and transfer it to a rack, then let it cool for a few minutes to let the crust and toppings set up a bit. Use the tabs you left on both sides of the parchment paper liner to transfer the pizza onto a cutting board. Use a pizza wheel or, preferably, a rocker-style pizza cutter (which won't drag the melted cheese around as you cut) to cut the pie into four or six slices. Serve each person 2–3 slices, along with a knife and fork if you make a "loaded" pizza with lots of toppings, like the ones in the photos. (The thin, flourless, gluten-free crust isn't sturdy enough to support that much weight if you pick up the slice with your fingers.)

Note: Each KBosh keto crust serves 3, according to the packaging, and 1/3 of a pie is a good serving size. However, since the calories and carbs are so low, my husband and I often cut the baked pie into four large slices and eat two large slices each.

Quick & Easy KBosh Keto Crust Tear Repair Trick

My Secret? Use Freshly Grated Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese as a Strong, Tasty "Hot Glue" for Repairing Any Cracks or Tears!

The two frozen keto crusts usually are stuck together pretty firmly inside the plastic sleeve, despite the parchment paper separators. Being both very thin and frozen hard makes them fragile until they have been crisped up. They may crack (or an edge may break off) when you are trying to separate the frozen crusts or pry off the dessicant packet. Also, when you are pan-toasting a frozen KBosh keto crust, it will remain fragile until it has been properly browned on both sides and allowed to cool and crisp up, (which is why I highly recommend using a 6-inch-wide spatula/turner for lifting, flipping and transferring these crusts from the skillet to the parchment lined pan).

Fortunately, even if an edge breaks off completely, there's an effective, quick and easy fix.

Photo of frozen crust with broken-off edges aligned in preheated skillet
See how one edge of this KBosh keto crust broke off completely? No worries! I started the repair by placing the pieces in the preheated, lightly oiled skillet, aligning the broken edges as closely as possible.

If a piece breaks off the outer edge while you are separating the two frozen crusts, lay both parts of the broken crust in the preheated, oiled skillet, taking care to align the broken edges. Then, sprinkle a generous line of freshly grated Parmigiano Romano along the entire length of the broken edges, as shown in the photos.

Photo of grated Parmesan cheese covering the entire break
Sprinkle freshly grated, aged Parmigiano Reggiano cheese over the entire break and heat (or continue to heat) the KBosh keto crust.

As the crust heats up, within 30–60 seconds, the grated cheese will melt and form a sturdy patch across the broken edges.

Photo of melted cheese repair reattaching the broken edge piece to the crust
After 30-60 seconds, the cheese will melt.

If the crust tears or breaks when you are checking for doneness or turning the crust over to brown the other side, patch the crack or break the same way, keeping the crust in the pan until the cheese has melted fully.

This repair trick works so well that I sometimes sprinkle a light, even layer of freshly grated Parmigiano Reggiano cheese across the top of my frozen KBosh keto pizza crust as soon as I add it to the nonstick skillet. This has several benefits. It adds flavor; it helps to reinforce the fragile crust as it is browning (I usually oil the skillet a bit more when I do this); and it helps prevent the pizza sauce from soaking into the crust. Just make sure you flip the crust when you transfer it to the parchment paper so the Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese layer is facing up!

Photo of the reverse side of the repaired crust
As you can see, when I flipped over the crust to brown the other side, the melted cheese formed a sturdy patch that made the torn area one solid piece again.

Important: Don't try to substitute shelf-stable parmesan cheese that contains cellulose (basically sawdust - ugh!) as an anti-caking agent. For this purpose, you WANT the grated cheese to stick together so it melts into a stronger, more solid patch over your tear or crack!

KBosh Keto Pizza Crusts: A Delicious Investment in Healthy Eating

Like most keto-friendly prepared foods with healthy, high-quality, nutritious ingredients, KBosh keto crusts aren't inexpensive. But for the price of a takeout pizza, I can have a delicious, hot, low carb pizza made with fresh, healthy ingredients on the table in just 30 minutes, without leaving the comfort of my home.

After a long day, it's well worth it to me to be able to serve my family a yummy, healthy, low carb, high protein dinner with lots of flavor and very little effort.


The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe by Margaret Schindel

Posts About My Keto Diet Journey

My First Year on The Keto Diet

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part One

Preparing to Succeed on the Keto Diet, Part Two

Low Carb Muffins & Cupcakes: Treats to Enjoy on a Keto Diet

Low Carb Keto Chocolate Yogurt Granola Chip Pudding Recipe

Good Dee’s Keto Cookie Low Carb Baking Mix Review

Hamama Microgreens Growing Kit Review & Success Tips

My Favorite Hamama Microgreens Seed Quilt Accessories

Keto Cheddar Cheese Biscuits With Chives Recipe

The Ultimate Keto Hot Chocolate Recipe

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

The Best Low Carb Keto Cinnamon Muffins

Wholesome Yum Keto Bread Mix and Yeast Bread Recipe

The Good Chocolate 100% Organic No Sugar Dark Chocolate Review

The Best Advice to Maintain Your Keto Diet Weight Loss

My New Irresistibly Delicious Keto Cheese Crackers Recipe

Luscious Low Carb Keto Triple Peppermint Cheesecake Brownies Recipe

Quick & Easy Livlo Blueberry Scones Keto Baking Mix Review

Snack Better With The Best Healthy Keto Cookie Dough Bites

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Pizza Recipe

The Best Quick and Easy Low Carb Keto Shortcake Cupcakes Recipe

Reviews of the Keto Diet by Barbara C. (aka Brite-Ideas)

My Personal Keto Testimonial

How I Stayed Committed to the Ketogenic Way of Eating

Read More Recipe Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Reviews About Health and Wellness by Our Review This Reviews Contributors






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X