Showing posts sorted by relevance for query hostess gift. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query hostess gift. Sort by date Show all posts

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Thoughtful Thanksgiving Hostess Gifts

You're invited out to Thanksgiving dinner! Here are five thoughtful gifts your hostess really wants.

Reviewing Gifts Your Hostess Really Wants


You've been invited to a friend or family member's house for Thanksgiving dinner. Lucky you! So now you have a dilemma: what would be the perfect hostess gift to say thank you for the hospitality?

To make your job easier, I've  chosen five different gifts that I'd love to receive if I were serving as your Thanksgiving hostess this year. While your hostess may not have the same tastes that I have, I think there should be an idea or two here that will work to elicit a "Thanks for being so thoughtful!" response from your hostess.








Give the Gift of a Seasonal Spa Treatment


The Gift of a Seasonal Spa Treatment For Your Thanksgiving Hostess | ButterCosmetics on Etsy
ButterCosmetics on Etsy
Who wouldn't need a spa treatment following a busy Thanksgiving day, or even a long weekend, of cooking, eating, and entertaining? This is a first class gift item, handmade with the best, soothing, healing ingredients you'll find anywhere. Honestly, I'm not usually much of a spa gal, but I would love to treat myself with these bath and lip products. A Thanksgiving hostess gift definitely fit for a queen.


A Gift for the Thanksgiving Cook


Premium Vintage Serving Spoon from MilkandHoneyLuxuries on Etsy, a beautiful, thoughtful hostess gift.
MilkandHoneyLuxuries
Look at this "I'm Thankful For You" serving spoon. Show me a cook who doesn't need another serving spoon and I'll show you . . well, it doesn't matter because any hostess could use an additional big serving spoon at Thanksgiving dinner. And how special is this one? Hand stamped with the words, "I'm thankful for YOU" with a heart, this is beautiful and such a very thoughtful gift! This premium vintage serving spoon is made to order by the creative and well-known folks at Milk and Honey Luxuries. I adore it and bet your hostess will, too.


The Hostess Gift That Keeps on Giving


Pass the blessing along with this Thanksgiving hostess gift, a Giving Platter from DaySpring.
DaySpring Cards and Gifts
Gift your hostess with a plate of your own specialty cookies, candies, or bread presented atop this "Share" Giving Platter. How does it work? The hostess gift arrives on the plate, homemade or even store-bought by you. The printing on the plate says "share," and a simple canvas tag with a verse is included, tied with a ribbon of jute. The verse on the tag begins, "This plate has no real owner, its journey never ends. It travels on a spontaneous path to neighbors... family... friends."

So after Thanksgiving, when life has settled down for a few minutes, your hostess friend can add her own goodies and present the plate to yet another neighbor or friend. Perhaps the plate, eventually, will make its way back with you since, as the verse says, "its journey never ends." Consider this gift idea for a hostess who is known to be a "giver." She'll love passing the blessing along in the future.


A Simple "Thank You" Will Do 


Thank You figurine by Willow Tree and Dayspring, a thoughtful Thanksgiving hostess gift.
Thank You Figurine by Willow Tree
This "Thank You" figurine by Willow Tree on Dayspring would be a beautiful choice for a hostess. She's little, just 5 1/2 inches high, but her message ("So appreciative of all you do!") is a big one that will encourage and lift up your hostess each time her eye catches this thoughtful gift.

Artist and sculptor Susan Lodi creates every figure in her Willow Tree collection with expressions revealed through gestures and absence of facial features, so the recipient can interpret its meaning in a personal way. What a beautiful way to show your appreciation for the kindness your hostess shows you.


Say "Thank You" With Flowers


Beautiful, Fresh Fall Flowers from FTD and DaySpring
When in doubt, flowers are a tried and true thank-you gift for a hostess. This beautiful, fall-colored Give Thanks Fall Bouquet would make a perfect, seasonal choice for a Thanksgiving hostess. More arrangements are available at the link. Good news is that all you have to do is the ordering; FTD delivers!  


How did I do? I hope you've discovered the perfect gift for your Thanksgiving hostess this year. I'd love to know what you chose, so don't be shy about leaving a comment below. I hope both you and your hostess have a very happy Thanksgiving!

~ Susan


Still looking? Check out these Gift Reviews from our Review This! team.



~Susan Deppner
Read more of my reviews.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Thoughtful Last Minute Hostess Gifts for Gardeners

Christmas is Just Around the Corner.  

Let's review some lovely Hostess gifts for your friends who love to garden.  

If you are anything like me, even though we've had fair warning, Christmas seems to have been sprung upon us in very short order.  Along with Christmas coming so quickly, invitations to visit with family and friends have also been coming in quicker than the squirrels can empty the bird feeders.


What can you do when you really know you'd love to visit, but refuse to come empty-handed?  The first thing is Don't Panic. Let this list help you figure out the best and nicest hostess gift to bring to your friends on your upcoming visit.

Gardeners by their very nature love Plants!

Everyone loves flowers, but gardeners love things that grow!  So a really nice idea would be to bring a potted plant to your host or hostess.  At Christmas time you will find lovely bulb sets that will surely be enjoyed by your gardening friends.  Amaryllis and Paperwhites are typically sold around this time of year as Christmas gifts, but they also make lovely and thoughtful Hostess Gifts.  Most of these are sold with a pot, all the planting media and the bulb which may already show signs of growth. All it needs is a lovely gift bag and a bow!  
Amaryllis will grow for years after the initial gift has had its day and bloomed.  Gardeners will take care of the bulb so that it will bloom for them again and again in years to come. It will remind them of you and your thoughtfulness.
gifts for gardeners who have everything. great garden gifts, best gifts for gardeners
This plant will give your gardening friends something really beautiful to look forward to.  These blossoms are just out of this world beautiful.  I can't think of a single person whether they are gardeners or not, that wouldn't marvel at this beauty.  

Can we spice it up a bit?

Along with things that grow, you will find many herbs available at this time of year as well.  Rosemary makes a lovely scented gift that your gardener friends can use to make the kitchen smell really nice and they can use the herbs for cooking as well.  Just add a nice little pot and you have a lovely gift. Gardeners can get creative with the rosemary, as it prunes really nice and can be trained into shapes that are really quite interesting. Something to keep your gardening friends happy during the cold months of the year. 

best gifts for gardeneres, gardeners best gifts, great gifts for gardeners who have everything

How about something More Christmassy?

Typically available at this time of year are Christmas Cactus.  Not at all prickly, they are usually covered in either white, pink or red flowers at the end of their scapes.  A very pretty and easy to grow plant that any gardener would enjoy wholeheartedly.  Give them some light and water and they will happily bloom for a few weeks or more.  These will also continue to grow throughout the year and rebloom the following year again on new growth.  Each year these plants become more beautiful and larger in size. They are easily contained though if space is at a premium.  
best gifts for gardeners who have everything, great garden gifts, best gardening gifts

Remember that Plants are Living and Cold will Affect Them.

Just one word of caution, if you are bringing plants as a Hostess Gift, and you live where winter is cold, please take care to wrap your gift well so that it doesn't freeze or suffer from getting cold.  Preheat your vehicle and wrap the plant with two layers of plastic and tie or secure it shut so that the cold air doesn't touch the plant and all will be well.

My friends already have too many plants, don't you have any other suggestions?

If you don't want to bring a plant and would prefer another gift that is not subject to the weather, let me let you in on some little gift ideas that every gardener I know would appreciate. 

Every gardener I know never ever has enough pairs of gardening gloves.  I have at least 4 pairs on the go at any one time.  So a pair of gardening gloves and a few packets of seeds done up in a little package will bring smiles of gratitude from your Host or Hostess.  

A nice hand cream is also something that we can never have enough of either.  Hands even when protected by gloves, can become rather dry.  A lovely scented hand cream would be nice and not too expensive.  

Another handy gift would be a thermal mug or cup for coffee, tea or water.  Sipping while you work in the garden is a luxury and much needed in the summer months.  Not having to stop what you are doing to get that sip of water is even better.

Gardeners love a great apron.  One with pockets in them to hold the seed packets, clippers or gloves when they stop for a minute.  It also helps to keep them just a little cleaner while they are working away in their little paradise.  

Do you need more suggestions?

There are many more gifts for the Gardener Friends on your list. Just for your enjoyment and for their pleasure I am including another list of  Host/Hostess gifts that would be sure to please. So here goes:

  1. Garden Stakes or Markers
  2. A Small Watering Can
  3. Books or a Magazine subscription, Farmer's Almanac
  4. Funny Garden inspired T-shirts
  5. Bonsai Gift Set (available at Amazon)
  6. Garden inspired Coffee Mug
  7. Kangaroo Garden Bag (a collapsible compost bag, also available at Amazon)
  8. Gardener's Journal
  9. Windchimes or Suncatchers
  10. Willowtree (tm) Figurine "Angel of the Garden"
All of these suggestions are under $25.00, and I know from personal experience that Gardeners who love to entertain, would enjoy any of these suggestions.

Let the Friend who invites you over the holidays know how much you appreciate his/ her efforts in the garden and I'm sure you will see the biggest "Thank You" smile for miles around.
Appreciation of family and friends never gets old and at Christmas time or over the holidays even more so.  

May your Holidays be filled with good friends, and family!  May there always be smiles and lots of laughter!  Happy Holidays.

You can read more about Gardening or Gardening Gifts on Review This or follow the links below!
Pictures on this Review This Post all come from Pixabay in the order that they appear here!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, March 12, 2015

Review of Personalized Gift Bags on Zazzle

I like to be creative with my gift wrapping and Zazzle makes this a pleasure with their line of custom boxes and bags.  You can choose from many different styles and sizes and design you gift container to be perfect for your recipient.

You might want to add names or initials to you gift box/bag or perhaps a special photo.  Here are a few ideas from the authors at Review This.

Gift Bags

Gift bags come in four different styles: small, medium large and wine. You can choose either a glossy or a matte finish.  

Review This author Coletta designed this beautiful large gift bag out of a photo of a Copper Ti Plant.


Favor Boxes

Favor boxes are very popular for all types of parties and events.  You will find them at weddings, showers, birthday parties, corporate events and just about any place you have a gathering of people.  Zazzle has 5 great styles of containers that can be customized to fit your needs.
  • Classic Style
  • Heart Box
  • Gable Box
  • Take Out Box
  • Tent Style Ribbon Box
The tent style box below was created by Review This author Susan.  Wouldn't it be great for a favor box for a baby shower.
Rubber Duck Family on Blue Favor Box
Rubber Duck Family on Blue Favor Box by BuckHawkParty
Look at another favor box
Here is another favor box that Susan created this one is in the gable style.

Polka Dots of Pale Yellow on Pink Favor Boxes
Polka Dots of Pale Yellow on Pink Favor Boxes by BuckHawk
View more Polka dots Favor Box at zazzle.com

Wine Boxes

Wine makes a great hostess gift.  It becomes even more special when you design a custom box for your wine.  If you are going to a fall party this box that I created out of my autumn leaves photo would make the perfect box for your wine gift.  
Autumn Leaves
Autumn Leaves by mbgphoto
View Autumn leaves Wine Gift Box online at zazzle



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 5, 2017

Review of 3 Original Gift Ideas for Cat Lovers

Cat lovers are so much fun to buy for! And there seems to be an endless supply of funky cat gifts to choose from.

Only true cat lovers understand the connection between feline and human. We've heard all the reasons why; they're independent, when they want love they'll let you know, and yes they're smart. Whatever it is that forms that connection, it exists and it's deep.

3D Kittens in the Sky Duvet

If the person you're giving the gift to has a sense of humor and appreciates funky home décor, they'll love this artsy kitties peeking through to the sky duvet set.

This set comes in three sizes, Twin, Queen, and King and consists of a duvet cover, a flat sheet and pillowcases. However it doesn't come with a comforter insert, so you'll have to acquire that separately if needed.

The material is a blend of fifty percent tencel and fifty percent cotton, making it not only a funny choice but also a comfortable one.

Lifelike 3D Kitty Pillows


These are the cutest pillows aren't they!

Best of all they're affordable. At the time of writing, if you're looking for a gift under twenty dollars, these will fit the bill. Note that prices can change, and although the price is under twenty dollars at this moment, it could go up or down.

The photo of the pillows shows three kitties but the price only includes one. When you visit the link you'll see there are two cat pillow choices, versus three depicted here.

The price of these pillows make them a good multiple gift purchase. Acquire several and keep them on hand for housewarming or to give to the kids of the household you're visiting.

A Freaky Kitty Mug

This freaky kitty cat mug is perfect for that quirky friend who enjoys a gift that's funky. This kitty mug literally stands out; look at the cat stretch.

Again, at the time of writing, the mug is currently under twenty dollars. Of course, that can change but for now it's ideal if you're looking to spend money within this price range.

Give this one as a teacher gift, an office party gift, a hostess gift, gift for the kids of the home you're visiting, or give several of them as set to make a main gift for that special cat lover in your life.

So whether it's bedding, pillows or a mug, these are affordable gifts to stay under a hundred dollars, and even under twenty dollars.

Novelty gifts are remembered and laughed about for years, so don't hesitate to choose one.

Happy Shopping!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Tuned Wind Chimes Review

The beautiful, melodic sound of tuned wind chimes can brighten a cloudy day.
The beautiful, melodic sound of tuned wind chimes
can brighten a cloudy day.
If you ask me, wind chimes are a necessity on any porch or in a favorite garden spot, adding beautiful melodies to the fragrant air on a lazy afternoon. Tuned wind chimes are a wonderful choice to provide the most pleasing music to the ear, and a set of tuned wind chimes is a thoughtful choice for a gift for any occasion, especially during the spring and summer. Everyone loves wind chimes!

Several years ago we lost our house to a wildfire. During the months that our new home was being constructed, I knew that one thing we must have for our new, roomy front porch was a set of wind chimes. I chose Woodstock Chimes for their quality and "Amazing Grace" chimes specifically. The tubular chimes are tuned to the opening notes of the hymn "Amazing Grace," a tune that almost everyone recognizes and a song with a message that spoke volumes to us as we recovered from our traumatic loss. The chimes really were a perfect choice. The tune, the tone, and the message won me over.

The wind chimes in the short video below aren't mine, but it's kind of fun for me to listen to this because mine sound exactly the same and I can hear them chiming outside my home office window as I type this. If you choose Amazing Grace tuned wind chimes, yours will sound the same, too, since they're all perfectly tuned exactly the same way.

Play the video to hear how the chimes sound. Can you pick out the tune?


Prefer a different tune or tone? Click here to see more Woodstock tuned wind chimes.

Another impressive tuned wind chimes company that I recently found is Amish Chimes. Their chimes, too, are high quality with absolutely beautiful tone. I'm looking forward to adding a set of Amish Chimes to our back porch. Click the link to see and hear their selection. 

Tuned wind chimes are a wonderful gift idea for just about anyone. They're a great addition to a porch, patio, or garden area and they're available in sizes ranging from very small and high-pitched to long tubes with a very deep pitch. No doubt you'll find just the right set for someone special in your life.

A Set of Tuned Wind Chimes, A Great Gift Idea for . . .

  • Easter
  • A Birthday
  • Christmas
  • Father's Day
  • Mother's Day
  • A Wedding Gift
  • A Hostess Gift
  • A Grieving Friend
  • A Housewarming Gift
  • Your Favorite Gardener
  • Yourself!

So tell me, who do you know that deserves their own set of tuned wind chimes?

Tuned Wind Chimes Links:


~Susan Deppner
Read more of my reviews.

Still Shopping? Don't Miss Our Review This Gift Guide!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 15, 2020

Gifts that Fit in a Mug - 10 Mug Theme Ideas

Gifts that Fit in a Mug
Review of Gifts that Fit Into a Mug

Mugs are a lovely, personal, and often affordable gift. However, sometimes they aren't quite enough. If you need to add something to your mug-gift, consider filling the mug with several small items or even pricier contents.

Here Are 10 Theme Ideas for Gifts that Fit In a Mug:


Fill a mug with any combination of these suggestions, then wrap it with clear cellophane paper and tie a lovely ribbon around it.

1. The Sweet Tooth Mug - Retro Candy

When filling a mug with goodies, we usually think of chocolate or candy. For older folk, consider choosing candy from their youth. 

2. The Crazy Cook Mug - Small Kitchen Gadgets

For the cook in the family, or as a hostess gift, fill a mug with small handy kitchen gadgets. Consider items like; wine corks, a garlic press, citrus squeezers, potato peelers, chip clips, and whisks. Add whatever the cook would appreciate.

3. The Destined To Be a Star Mug - Make-Up

If you're fortunate enough to know the type of make-up your recipient prefers, then fill a mug with several of her favorites: Mascara, lipstick, blush, eye shadow, foundation, and concealer. Use hair or make-up brushes to add a bit of height and layering. Choose a fun-girly-mug, fill it, then wrap it with lovely girly cellophane. 

4. The Diva Mug - A Mug of Underwear - What?

If you can't stand being predictable, then a mug full of underwear has your name written all over it. Stuff it full with themed underwear; days of the week, funky colors, funny sayings ... you get the picture. Stack them up so they're double the height of the mug. 

5. The Next J.K. Rowling Mug - Note Pads & Writing Tools

For the artsy-fartsy type, put a few narrow writing pads in the middle, then surround it with pencil crayons, pens, pencils, and markers. Save some money and take a trip to your local Dollar Store and gather up the items you need. 

6. The Green Giant Mug - Gardening Gadgets & Accessories

There's an endless list of items for this one! Seeds, plant spike fertilizers, gardening gloves, small hose attachments, and small gardening tools. Don't worry if the items are taller than the mug, even by a lot, because that makes the gift more substantial and looks prettier. Head to the Dollar Store for this one; you'll find many ideas in this category.

7. The Phone Addict Mug - Techie Gadgets

If you're willing to spend a little more, fill the mug up with tech gadgets such as ear pods, earphones, a phone case, a phone holder, and how about a phone jail. A phone jail is too big for the mug, so get the jail and put the mug with all the gadgets inside - lol.

8. The Stay Calm and Carry On Mug - Soothing, Calming Items

Fill this one up with things that help a person unwind: A stress ball, bath beads, bubble bath, fidget spinners, vitamins, and soothing foot insoles.

9. The Pandemic Mug - All Things Related to Crazy 2020

It might be challenging to find smaller items from 2020 for a mug, but it's not impossible. Here are several ideas; face masks, a 2020 ornament, a toilet paper Christmas ornament, a funny 2020 t-shirt, a stress ball, a thermometer, a spa gift card, a lottery ticket because, yah, why not, it's 2020.

10. The Lucky B*stard Mug - Every Thing Related to Good Luck

Fill this one with items that scream good luck and positivity! Lottery tickets, crystals, a rooster keychain (roosters are a symbol of good luck), astrology gadgets, their birth sign on gadgets, a small astrology booklet, and a personally written letter bragging them up about how awesome they are.


If gifts that fit in a mug are a bit too much work, check out these 10 small gifts that can fit into an envelope.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, June 20, 2020

Pineapple Day Holiday Review

Pineapple Day Review
Source: Pixabay

Pineapple Day (also International Pineapple Day) is celebrated each year on June 27.

Pineapples are a tropical fruit native to the America’s. It is a lush, prickly, green leafed ground fruit that is a delicious addition to just about any meal. Pineapples do not grow on trees, as many people assume. They are actually herbaceous perennials, meaning they are leafy, not woody, plants that grow for more than two years. 

How June 27th became Pineapple Day



Source: Pixabay

The way Pineapple Day holiday started is a funny story. It was begun as a tease by Andrew Lee, cofounder of Firebase, on June 27, 2011 when his partner walked into work and asked Andrew why he had a pineapple on his desk. Read here to learn how the First Pineapple Day Got Started!  


Crafty Pineapples


Pineapples are a sign of Hospitality

The pineapple, along with a house motif, are traditional symbols of hospitality. Welcome your guests with these symbols, perhaps in the form of a pillow or two. A darling Country Pillows pattern is presented below and can be found on eBay

Hospitality Pillows Pattern

A set of Country Pillows to crochet in an afghan stitch. The motifs are worked in cross stitch after the 12" pillows are crocheted.   A matching ribbon is woven through the crochet to frame the motifs.

These country pillows will make your guests feel right at home! The pineapple and house motifs, traditional symbols of hospitality, let them know they are welcome, while  the teddy bear motif greets them with a warm hug.   Fashion them in soft country colors.

Color charts for the three motifs are included.





Pineapple Home Décor with Handmade Coasters

Handmade Pineapple Coasters on Etsy
The pineapple is a symbol of hospitality and friendship, particularly throughout the South, so using coasters with this design in a social situation is perfect.

Pineapple coasters measure 4 x 4 inches. Created in acrylic yarn colors of yellow, gold and green for the pineapple design on an eggshell white background. Each coaster is trimmed in light green. The pineapple design is outlined in embroidery black outline stitch with crochet thread.

A pretty set of Pineapple coasters for your tabletops. They also make a lovely hostess gift for a holiday dinner invitation or a housewarming gift or birthday gift. Lovely home decor for any home. 



Pineapple Accessories



Pineapple Fabric Lanyards & Key Fob - Etsy

Useful accessories in a pineapple theme handmade by CutePurseNalities on Etsy.  Two styles of quilted fabric lanyards in different colors and a matching key fob, all in pretty pineapple prints.  



  • The fabric key fob that has pineapples on a blue background. It is made with 100% cotton fabric, cotton batting, interfacing and metal hardware. Length is 6" and the strap is 1" wide.


  • One lanyard is made with 100% cotton fabric that has cute pineapples on a blue background with a silver swivel clip. Perfect for holding and Id badge, name tag or keys. Length is 20" and the strap is 1" wide.

  • The other lanyard shown is made with 100% cotton fabric and a silver swivel clip. The fabric has pineapples and hibiscus flowers in lavender, yellow and orange on a purple background. Perfect for holding an Id badge, name tag or keys. Length is 21" and the strap is 1" wide.


Ways to Celebrate Pineapple Day


The very best way to celebrate this day is by eating this delicious fruit in any number of  ways. Freshly cut and eaten in slices, it is a refreshing treat. 


Image Source: Pixabay

Or bake it into an American favorite dessert, the Pineapple Upside Down Cake ~ rich and delicious made with slices of pineapple laid on the bottom of a pan along with a sugary mixture, then the cake batter poured on top. When baked and turned out of the pan, the bottom becomes a delicious topping. Check out the recipe here.

You can also enjoy a delicious drink with either plain pineapple juice, or in a rum drink called Piña colada.


Celebrate Pineapple Day on June 27.


Fresh Pineapples at my grocery store. (c) Elf



For more Holiday Reviews, 
Check out ReviewThisReviews: Holidays.


Related Articles: 





Pineapple Day Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf on 6/27/2020.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Wild and Funky 3D Tablecloths for Special Occasions

Lively Red Roses 3D Tablecloth Found Here
Believe it or not, tablecloths are not only practical, they can also add art to a themed party or gathering.

It's the 3D design on these tablecloths that make them outstanding ... literally, outstanding.

Although only three are featured, you can check out a wide selection of them here.

You'll find one for just about any party or occasion. Better yet, feature them all year round to add an element of funk to your space.

They're made of a high quality polyester and are water resistant. Their durability prevents pilling and fading.

Big 3D Roses Tablecloth for Valentines Day

If you're planning a special dinner for Valentines Day, decorate the table with this spectacular 3D roses tablecloth.

The visual impact is powerful and is sure to provide a little shock and awe for your guest. There are eight size options as well, so you're sure to find the right one for your table set.
Awesome 3D Soccer Tablecloth - Found here

Impressive 3D Soccer Tablecloth for Themed Parties

If you're hosting a Soccer themed party include one or more of these tablecloths to punch up the space. Use them inside or outside or hang them on the wall as art if needed.

They also make an original hostess gift. Bring one to the party and it'll surely be a hit with the guests. The unique 3D artistic design will probably become the conversation piece of the party.

Sports team organizers could also include these tablecloths for special team events.

They also make an excellent gift idea for the coach. If you need a special gift for that dedicate teacher in your life, these tablecloths quality.
Purple Blossoms 3D Tablecloth Here

Cheerful Spring Time Garden Flowers for Garden Parties

Whether you simply want to brighten up a sunroom or plan to decorate multiple tables for your garden party, this tablecloth does both.

It's uniqueness makes it perfect for bridal showers as well. Whether your party is indoors or outdoors, this tablecloth can be included. You're in luck if the bride's colors happen to be pink or purple!

Again, put it up on the wall as art, give them as gifts or just use them for their intended purpose.

Once you visit the links under the photos it will take you to the product page and you'll be given the pricing, sizing and other details. Be sure to inspect the related products at the bottom of the product page in case you're needing an alternate design for your tablecloth. There are many to choose from ... other than these three. Look for the holiday season tablecloths, they're pretty cool as well.

Happy decorating!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Handmade Harvest-Time

It's Harvest Time, the time of year crops are traditionally harvested. This coincides with Autumn, the season of colorful leaves, cooler nights, pumpkins and apples, and the holidays of Halloween and Thanksgiving.



The term 'Harvest' came from England and was the name for the season between summer and winter until Autumn began to be used in the 16th century. In Britain the season is usually considered to be from August through October and in the United States from September through November. The term 'Autumn' is also interchangeable with 'Fall', used mainly in America. Unlike the other three seasons, there does not seem to be a common word for this season in all the Indo-European languages. Autumn and Harvest-Time are my favorite terms to use.


Autumn Themed  Crafts


Acorns




Handmade Harvest-Time
Custom Crochet Fall Acorn Beanie
Autumn is a favorite time of year for crafters and the Indie-artists in the fields of art and photography because the lovely harvest-related colors of orange, brown, red and yellow lend themselves to beautiful creations. 

Since acorns are plentiful in the Fall, this crochet acorn hat is perfect for the season.  A leaf and a small acorn adorn the top of the hat, and are attached to the stem of the acorn. Made in super soft cotton yarn, the hat is available in sizes from newborn to adult large.

Place your order for an acorn hat with Monica of Costa Mesa, California.  You can find her in her Etsy Shop "Ruffle Stitch Kids." These hats make a great gift for all the 'nuts' on your list and is perfect for those Fall photos. 


Pumpkins



Handmade Harvest-Time
Pumpkin Potholder and Matching Dishcloth
Pumpkins are also perfect for a harvest time decor as seen with this set of pumpkin potholder 
and dishcloth combo.

In addition to sprucing up your Fall home decor, this pumpkin set makes a unique hostess gift when invited out to dinner, especially during the Harvest-Time season.  Or nice for a wedding gift for a Fall wedding. 






More Ideas for Handmade Harvest Time



  • Sylvestermouse shows us a collection of beautiful beaded cross-stitch kits with lovely Thanksgiving designs to stitch up for the most popular 'harvest holiday' – Thanksgiving Day!






When you think of 'handmade harvest-time', you may consider crafts as the only field that's considered handmade. Not so, in my opinion.




Pumpkin Muffins by Mary Beth Granger


  • I consider cooking a handmade 'delicious delight', as you can see in this yummy pumpkin muffin recipe by mbgphoto.

  • And 'gardening' gives us all that wonderful homegrown food. You don't need to have a farm or even a large garden plot in your yard. As Dawn Rae shows us, you can also grow and harvest your favorite foods like squash and tomatoes in a simple container garden on your apartment balcony.



Enjoy the colors of the Autumn Leaves as you 'trick or treat' for Halloween and plan your Thanksgiving feast in a multitude of handmade ways from crafting to cooking to planning your next garden for Spring.




Have an Awesome Autumn and Harvest-time.



(c) 12/02/2014 Wednesday Elf. Updated 9/27/2019




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 17, 2015

I Love Yarn Day - October Fun for Crafters

Yarns
 The Craft Yarn Council (CYC), which represents the leading yarn companies, accessory manufacturers, and magazine and book publishers in the yarn industry, created I Love Yarn Day to share their affection for yarn and “stitch it forward” by teaching at least one newbie to knit, crochet, weave, spin or bomb.  It's a way to honor all those who create in the fiber arts and is held on the second Saturday of October.

My favorite crafts involve yarn – thus, there's nothing I like better than to talk about the projects my fellow fiber fans and I love to create.

The Crochet Crowd


My main (and favorite) yarn craft is crochet, a craft I've been doing for more than 40 years.  I taught myself to crochet as I am left-handed and no one could seem to teach me as everyone I knew who crocheted did it 'backwards'. (Well, maybe I'm the one who is backwards!). :) 




Plush Penguin
Plush Soft Toy Penguin
My favorite items to crochet are plush animals, especially soft toy penguins.  I make them in all the colors of the rainbow, including the actual black and white tuxedo penguin. 

Penguin is crocheted in a round and roly-poly Amigirumi style and measures about 5 x 5 inches.


Handmade penguins in this round style are very popular as a child's playtime pet plush animal, as it's just the right size for little hands to hold. This one is particularly adorable!


My plush penguins can be found in my Etsy Shop (Coastal Crochet Crafts), along with a whole bunch of stuffed animals and plush toys. 


Crochet Your Own Plush Animals

 



Crochet Plush Animals Pattern Book


If you love to crochet plush animals, this pattern book of over 40 patterns for soft and snuggly toy animals in four different sizes, giving you 160 different possibilities.  The patterns use simple crochet techniques with step-by-step instructions which enable even a complete beginner to get started right away.

It's available on Kindle and in paperback on Amazon. 











The Nifty Knitters


I've tried knitting in the past, but will never be as expert at it as these knitters whose work I admire.


Lots of knitters make handmade hats and scarves, afghans and sweaters, but a few make really unique and one-of-a-kind items.  A group of Australian crafters (two daughters and their moms) have banded together to produce a a shop (Made with Altitude ~ the "Store Where Your Imagination Will Soar!") filled with four different crafts from 4 unique individuals whose stories and perseverance will amaze you.  My admiration for them and their work amazed me when I read their story.  



Knitted Flower
Smiling Sunshine Flower

Since this is an article about yarn crafts, I chose to feature here the shop's unique knitted item called Smiling Sunshine Flower, a flower toy hand-knit with a splash of love, and a little ray of sunshine.  Flowers always bring smiles and delight, and with this handmade knitted flower you can have flowers all year through.  Smiling Sunshine Flower has big full blooms measuring 9 ½ inches across, and is 15 inches long.  A wonderful gift to brighten someones day. 


Plastic Canvas Projects


Crafting designs on plastic canvas with yarn is a fairly new endeavor for me.  I began just a few years ago when I realized that my little balls of yarn leftover from my crochet projects were filling up an entire plastic bucket.  Since plastic canvas crafts, such as coasters and tissue box covers, take only a very small amount of yarn, this craft is a great way to use it up. Waste not, want not… as they say! 



The most enjoyable part of working with plastic canvas is watching the design come to life as you stitch with various colors.  My favorite project to create in this medium is beverage coaster sets. 



Pineapple Beverage Coasters
This is a set of four (4) beverage coasters with a design of a pineapple. The pineapple is a symbol of hospitality and friendship, particularly throughout the South, so using coasters with this design in a social situation is perfect.

Pineapple coasters measure 4 x 4 inches. Created in acrylic yarn colors of yellow, gold and green for the pineapple design on an eggshell white background. Each coaster is trimmed in light green. The pineapple design is outlined in embroidery black outline stitch with crochet thread.


A pretty set of Pineapple coasters for your tabletops. They also make a lovely hostess gift for a holiday dinner invitation or a housewarming gift. Lovely home decor for any home.

The design is created on plastic canvas using acrylic yarn in harvest colors. The set can be found in my Etsy Shop, Coastal Crochet Crafts.



A Favorite Etsy Yarn Crafter

 

Halloween Treats Tic-Tac-Toe Game

Gail of Gails Crafts on Etsy has a very clever line of Tic-Tac-Toe games created with plastic canvas and yarn.  She makes these games for a variety of seasons and holidays and each one is cute and creative.  



This set includes a game board and 10 game pieces (5 each Jack-O-Lanterns and candy corns) and two fabric storage bags.

Game board is made from 7-mesh plastic canvas and 4-ply yarn. Game board is a 7”square  This and other sets, along with a wide variety of plastic canvas projects and other creative crafts, can be found in Gail's Etsy Shop called Gail's Crafts



Helpful Hints for Yarn


Beverly Owens, one of our creative crafters here on Review This, has reviewed a very handy tool every yarn crafter needs ~ the Stanwood Yarn Ball Winder.  If you have a large 'stash' of leftover yarn, like I do, this tool is perfect!

Now that you have your scraps of yarn neatly wound, check out these ideas from Favecraft on ways to use up those scraps. You don't even have to be a knitter or crocheter to find creative ways to use yarn.



50 Yards of Fun



Knitting Toys from Scrap Yarn


This book is perfect for using up your yarn stash.  There are patterns for a delightful collection of over 30 irresistible toys and each project uses only about 50 yards of yarn!

Knit just five basic body shapes, each shown in several variations, to create knitted animals, robots, monsters, and characters of every description.





Celebrate I Love Yarn Day


So, for 'I Love Yarn Day' or any day, grab your skeins and balls of yarn, your knitting needles, crochet hooks or yarn needle and begin a new project.  Hand-crafting with yarn is a very relaxing hobby and your finished projects are a delight to behold.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X