Showing posts sorted by relevance for query hostess gift. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query hostess gift. Sort by date Show all posts

Saturday, June 20, 2020

Pineapple Day Holiday Review

Pineapple Day Review
Source: Pixabay

Pineapple Day (also International Pineapple Day) is celebrated each year on June 27.

Pineapples are a tropical fruit native to the America’s. It is a lush, prickly, green leafed ground fruit that is a delicious addition to just about any meal. Pineapples do not grow on trees, as many people assume. They are actually herbaceous perennials, meaning they are leafy, not woody, plants that grow for more than two years. 

How June 27th became Pineapple Day



Source: Pixabay

The way Pineapple Day holiday started is a funny story. It was begun as a tease by Andrew Lee, cofounder of Firebase, on June 27, 2011 when his partner walked into work and asked Andrew why he had a pineapple on his desk. Read here to learn how the First Pineapple Day Got Started!  


Crafty Pineapples


Pineapples are a sign of Hospitality

The pineapple, along with a house motif, are traditional symbols of hospitality. Welcome your guests with these symbols, perhaps in the form of a pillow or two. A darling Country Pillows pattern is presented below and can be found on eBay

Hospitality Pillows Pattern

A set of Country Pillows to crochet in an afghan stitch. The motifs are worked in cross stitch after the 12" pillows are crocheted.   A matching ribbon is woven through the crochet to frame the motifs.

These country pillows will make your guests feel right at home! The pineapple and house motifs, traditional symbols of hospitality, let them know they are welcome, while  the teddy bear motif greets them with a warm hug.   Fashion them in soft country colors.

Color charts for the three motifs are included.





Pineapple Home Decor with Handmade Coasters

Handmade Pineapple Coasters on Etsy
The pineapple is a symbol of hospitality and friendship, particularly throughout the South, so using coasters with this design in a social situation is perfect.

Pineapple coasters measure 4 x 4 inches. Created in acrylic yarn colors of yellow, gold and green for the pineapple design on an eggshell white background. Each coaster is trimmed in light green. The pineapple design is outlined in embroidery black outline stitch with crochet thread.

A pretty set of Pineapple coasters for your tabletops. They also make a lovely hostess gift for a holiday dinner invitation or a housewarming gift or birthday gift. Lovely home decor for any home. 



Pineapple Accessories



Pineapple Fabric Lanyards & Key Fob - Etsy

Useful accessories in a pineapple theme handmade by CutePurseNalities on Etsy.  Two styles of quilted fabric lanyards in different colors and a matching key fob, all in pretty pineapple prints.  



  • The fabric key fob that has pineapples on a blue background. It is made with 100% cotton fabric, cotton batting, interfacing and metal hardware. Length is 6" and the strap is 1" wide.


  • One lanyard is made with 100% cotton fabric that has cute pineapples on a blue background with a silver swivel clip. Perfect for holding and Id badge, name tag or keys. Length is 20" and the strap is 1" wide.

  • The other lanyard shown is made with 100% cotton fabric and a silver swivel clip. The fabric has pineapples and hibiscus flowers in lavender, yellow and orange on a purple background. Perfect for holding an Id badge, name tag or keys. Length is 21" and the strap is 1" wide.


Ways to Celebrate Pineapple Day

The very best way to celebrate this day is by eating this delicious fruit in any number of  ways. Freshly cut and eaten in slices, it is a refreshing treat. 


Image Source: Pixabay
Or bake it into an American favorite dessert, the Pineapple Upside Down Cake ~ rich and delicious made with slices of pineapple laid on the bottom of a pan along with a sugary mixture, then the cake batter poured on top. When baked and turned out of the pan, the bottom becomes a delicious topping. Check out the recipe here.

You can also enjoy a delicious drink with either plain pineapple juice, or in a rum drink called Piña colada.


Celebrate Pineapple Day on June 27.


Fresh Pineapples at the grocery store. (c) Elf



For more Holiday Reviews, 
Check out ReviewThisReviews: Holidays.


Related Articles: 





Pineapple Day Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf on 6/27/2020.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 20, 2019

Recipes & Food Reviewed on Review This Reviews!

Treasures from the Archives of Review This Reviews! 


The one thing we all have in common is that we all must eat to survive.   Beyond that one commonality, our choices greatly vary based on diet restrictions, ingredient availability, or simply on food preferences. 

Whether the focus is breakfast, lunch or dinner, we have reviewed food for every mealtime of the day.  Some of us prefer to start a meal with dessert, while others will mainly focus on protein, vegetables, fruit or fiber.  There is something here for everyone!

Since cookbooks are often a fabulous source of recipes, we frequently review cookbooks as well as individual recipes.

With over a dozen contributors, you are sure to find a new recipe, food, or cookbook recommendation reviewed on Review This Reviews that you will love.  We even have drinks! Enjoy our smoothie recipes, plus, our tea and coffee reviews.  

Small Appliances & More Reviewed

In addition to food itself, several of our contributors have tested and reviewed small appliances that help any cook prepare a delicious meal.  Rice makers, air fryers, Instant Pots, food dehydrators, and more small appliance reviews can be found in our Home Appliances section.  Why not make your life a little easier with the right appliance that takes some of the work out of cooking.

Presentation, cooking utensilsserving dishes and food storage are also reviewed here. We even have few hostess gift recommendations for those cooks who treat us with a special meal.


We may not eat together, but we can certainly enjoy the same delicious meal. 



A Review This Pinterest Board - Recipes Reviewed 


There are dozens of Recipes, Food, & Cookbooks
Reviewed by our Contributors!
The board below features 30 of our most recent reviews.


Click through to Pinterest to see all of the Recipes that have been Reviewed by Review This Reviews Contributors! 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 17, 2019

Six Easy Christmas Tree Alternatives

Alternatives to Standard Christmas Trees


There are alternatives to putting up a fully decorated Christmas Tree. When time, health or motivation gets in the way of decorating the way you used to, check out these options:

1. Christmas Tree Art Drapes

You have to check these out; they're gorgeous. These drapes are full floor to ceiling curtains featuring 3D holiday scenes. The entire drapes are an art canvas, except instead of being on canvas, the art is on cloth. If you have a large window or sliding patio door, remove your existing drapes and put these up for the holidays. 

2. A Tabletop Christmas Tree

A tabletop tree is the easiest way to bring a little cheer into your home during the holidays. One of ReviewThisReviews writers, Dawn Rae, provides several creative suggestions here. Of course, tabletop trees can also be used to accessorize a fully decorated home. They also make an excellent hostess gift.

3. Freestanding Cardboard Christmas Trees
When you need a simpler
decorating plan

Of course, this particular choice is better utilized as party decor. However, there are several ways to incorporate cardboard trees into the home. For those who like to feature multiple trees but don't have the energy to go all out, these fun designs are an alternative. Also, you can use them as a way to add a safe festive feel to a child's room or playroom. 

4.  Christmas Tree Wall Decals

If you have a little more energy and enjoy decorating the walls, then you'll love this idea. Wall decal Christmas Trees are a fun way to add festive art to a room. When the holidays are over, simply remove them. Since they have more of an artsy animated look to them, they're ideal in a room where the kids tend to gather, even their bedroom. How nice would it be to read holiday bedtime stories with a fun Christmas Tree decal front and center in the little one's bedroom?

5. Pull Up Christmas Trees

These are an absolute must for people who don't have time for anything elaborate during the holidays! They fold completely flat into a storage bag. You may have to buy the storage bag separately. When the holiday season rolls around, unzip the bag and pull up the pre-lit, even pre-decorated Christmas Tree. That's right, most of them come fully decorated. A couple of these trees will eliminate a ton of work yet still give your home or office that lovely holiday feel.

6. Christmas Trees or Decor Featured on a Rug

If the wall, a tabletop, or draperies are out of the question, how about a bit of the holiday spirit on the floor? These holiday-themed area rugs feature various scenes that you can easily incorporate into your home. The nice thing about a carpet is the ease of taking it out and putting it away. Feature a festive rug in your foyer, one in the kitchen or living area, and add a small table-top tree or Christmas tree ornament, and your decorating is finished. You've decorated without a lot of effort. With a rug, there are no boxes to unpack or carry; store it in a closet or under a bed until the season is upon us.

As we get older, decorating the way we used to can become challenging. Our hearts may want to go all out, but our bodies won't let us. So don't hesitate to seek out something easier that works for you and your life. These days, there's something beautiful about going 'small.' It's like getting back to the basics and focusing on what Christmas is really about; love.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, November 7, 2019

DIY Pumpkin Succulent Centerpiece



It's pumpkin season!  Now is the perfect time to round up some pumpkins and create unique centerpieces as a festive touch for your holiday celebrations.  A DIY pumpkin succulent mini garden will be the perfect addition to your Thanksgiving decor.  Not only will it be a real attention-getter when you host guests for the holidays, but you will have the benefit of enjoying your new container garden long after you finish all those turkey left-overs.

Here's What You Need:
  1. One large flat pumpkin 
  2. A variety of succulents
  3. Clear gel glue
  4. Spray adhesive
  5. Moss
It's best to use a flat pumpkin with a slightly indented center .
While I prefer to use a pumpkin in its natural state, I chose to paint mine for this demo project.  I used a lovely Solstice Blue paint color (a subtle blue-gray) that will blend in with the woodland theme I am using for my holiday decorations.  It reminds me of the beautiful shadows you see on fresh snow.  A neutral colored pumpkin better accents the succulents.

Removing the Stem

Once the paint was dry, I used my Dremel with a cut-off wheel to remove the pumpkin stem. 

Spraying on Elmer's Craft Bond 
I then sprayed adhesive on the center top of the pumpkin where the moss will be placed. 

Press Moss Into the Adhesive
While the adhesive was still fairly wet and tacky, I pressed a nest of moss onto the sticky surface.  It seems I got a little moss happy.  Could have used a bit less moss, but it would have made a big mess to attempt to remove it.  I let the adhesive set for several minutes before moving to the next step.

Preparing the Roots for Planting

While the adhesive was setting up, I gently removed the soil from the cacti roots in preparation for planting them on the surface of the moss.  I also separated the succulent clusters so I would have more options for spreading out individual plants.

Vary Succulent Colors, Textures, and Heights
Start your succulent placement with your largest plant.  Visually, it is most pleasing to the eye to position the first cactus off-center and toward the edge of the pumpkin.  It is also a good idea to group your taller cacti near that first featured plant.  You will use clear gel glue to fasten your succulents to the moss.  Don't worry!  The glue won't hurt your succulents.

Time to Lightly Mist the Moss
Once your pumpkin succulent centerpiece is complete, carefully give the moss a light misting of water.  You will provide moisture to the moss about once a week.  It's important not to let water pool under your plantings.  It will lead to premature rot.  Simply tip your pumpkin slightly to the side to drain any excess water after each misting.  

To extend the life of your pumpkin, and to give your succulents what they need, carefully choose a location away from heaters.  Try to situate your succulent container garden such that your cacti get the sunlight they need without getting too much heat on the pumpkin.  Likewise, take care to protect your succulents from freezing if you will be displaying your centerpiece on a porch or outdoors.

One last tip:  Place your pumpkin on a piece of cork or thick cardboard to keep the bottom from early decay (especially if placed in a location where surface dampness occurs).  Take care to protect your indoor furniture with the use of a waterproof planter mat.

With proper care, your pumpkin succulent centerpiece should last several weeks.  Once the pumpkin has reached the end of its season of life, you can either cut off the top of the pumpkin and plant it on top of appropriate cacti soil, or transplant the newly rooted succulent cuttings to another container.  Of course, you may also choose to use a faux pumpkin to eliminate this step.

It's easy to see why these pumpkin centerpieces are so popular.  Besides being unusual and visually stunning, they let you take your creativity to a whole new place.  This DIY centerpiece is sure to be a fun conversation-starter at your next gathering.  Why not make one to share for a hostess gift?  Who wouldn't love such a thoughtful gesture? 

Enjoy this project and my best wishes to you for a blessed holiday season.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, June 24, 2019

City Pickers: Raised Garden Bed Review

My collection of pots for the container garden had become sad and unusable. A refresh was desperately needed and I went on the search for raised garden beds.

 I'd love to have truly raised garden beds about five feet high in the yard, but for now I was searching for a garden bed suitable for the deck. I am very happy to have purchased the City Pickers raised garden bed and will be purchasing more!
City Pickers green raised garden bed on wheels

City Pickers Raised Garden Bed


The size of the garden bed at 24.5" by 20.5" is perfect for the deck. Large enough for room to plant a nice selection of plants, but small enough to move easily. The watering system is also a huge plus as the system holds 2 quarts of water.

They seemed to think of everything when designing this mobile garden including:

  • Self Contained automatic watering system
  • Mobile, on caster wheels
  • Aeration
  • Mulch cover
  • Easy to move
  • Fun colors from the neutral to bold
  • Reasonable price point
  • Waist height version on wheels

Who Wants Color?


I loved the City Pickers is available in 9 colors!

  • Terra Cotta 
  • Aquamarine
  • Cobalt Blue
  • Brown
  • Grey
  • Hunter Green
  • Lime Green (my choice)
  • Red
  • Sandstone

How Much Potting Mix To Fill The Garden Bed?


I used 4 bags of 8 quarts each of potting mix to fill the garden bed plus the recommended cups of lime. The directions are very specific to use potting mix, not topsoil or potting soil! The directions stated 1.5 cubic feet of potting mix is needed to fill the bed; however it depends upon how much muscle you or you have access to! The smaller bags of potting mix are easier to transport and are also frequently on sale.

Assembly Of The City Picker


The City Picker does need to be assembled and the assembly took less than five minutes! It is very easy and quick and requires little labor. One of the advantages of a mobile raised gardening bed is the ease of movement and convenience.


The City Pickers is on wheels which do need to be inserted into the bottom of the bed. I was very pleased to find it took no effort to insert each wheel! Seems like a simple request, but one of my pet peeves for furniture that needs to be assembled is wrangling with the coaster wheels;  these wheels were so easy to pop in and lock on the bottom of the City Pickers garden bed.

Best Way To Save! Swagbucks Hack


This is my favorite way to earn rewards points combined with the ease online ordering! I found one color of the City Pickers in my local big box store, but knew there was a wide selection of colors as I had researched the garden beds online. I really wanted a cheery blue or fun green garden bed.

Back to the internet and I used my swagbucks account to order online from the big box store and have the bed delivered to my door. The option to have the item delivered free of charge to the big box store also is very handy to use and saves time as the items can be picked up at the door at the customer service area.

Swagbucks is a free account in which points are earned for purchases at most online and bricks and mortar stores. The points can then be used for gift cards which are ordered online from the Swagbucks account and the gift code is delivered to your inbox. I love it and this system has worked flawlessly for my shopping.

Click here to sign up for Swagbucks (free!)

 

More Reviews From The Gardeners And Nature Friends at Review This Reviews

Balcony Gardening Tips by Olivia Morris
Garden Kneeler Review by BarbRad
Water A Flower Day by Wednesday Elf
Hostess Gifts For The Gardener by Olivia Morris 
Planting In Spring For Summer by Cynthia Sylvestermouse
Creative Flower Photography by Mary Beth Granger



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Wild and Funky 3D Tablecloths for Special Occasions

Lively Red Roses 3D Tablecloth Found Here
Believe it or not, tablecloths are not only practical, they can also add art to a themed party or gathering.

It's the 3D design on these tablecloths that make them outstanding ... literally, outstanding.

Although only three are featured, you can check out a wide selection of them here.

You'll find one for just about any party or occasion. Better yet, feature them all year round to add an element of funk to your space.

They're made of a high quality polyester and are water resistant. Their durability prevents pilling and fading.

Big 3D Roses Tablecloth for Valentines Day

If you're planning a special dinner for Valentines Day, decorate the table with this spectacular 3D roses tablecloth.

The visual impact is powerful and is sure to provide a little shock and awe for your guest. There are eight size options as well, so you're sure to find the right one for your table set.
Awesome 3D Soccer Tablecloth - Found here

Impressive 3D Soccer Tablecloth for Themed Parties

If you're hosting a Soccer themed party include one or more of these tablecloths to punch up the space. Use them inside or outside or hang them on the wall as art if needed.

They also make an original hostess gift. Bring one to the party and it'll surely be a hit with the guests. The unique 3D artistic design will probably become the conversation piece of the party.

Sports team organizers could also include these tablecloths for special team events.

They also make an excellent gift idea for the coach. If you need a special gift for that dedicate teacher in your life, these tablecloths quality.
Purple Blossoms 3D Tablecloth Here

Cheerful Spring Time Garden Flowers for Garden Parties

Whether you simply want to brighten up a sunroom or plan to decorate multiple tables for your garden party, this tablecloth does both.

It's uniqueness makes it perfect for bridal showers as well. Whether your party is indoors or outdoors, this tablecloth can be included. You're in luck if the bride's colors happen to be pink or purple!

Again, put it up on the wall as art, give them as gifts or just use them for their intended purpose.

Once you visit the links under the photos it will take you to the product page and you'll be given the pricing, sizing and other details. Be sure to inspect the related products at the bottom of the product page in case you're needing an alternate design for your tablecloth. There are many to choose from ... other than these three. Look for the holiday season tablecloths, they're pretty cool as well.

Happy decorating!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Unconventional Christmas Decor to Serve Your Inner Wackiness

You're not conventional. Everybody knows that about you. So don't disappoint them, go ahead and add these three odd-ball Christmas décor items this holiday season.

Elf Leg Covers for Your Chairs or End Tables

If your goal is hearing your guests let out a belly laugh when they see what crazy décor idea you've come up with, then Elf Leg Covers should do the trick.

The set comes with four leg covers - enough to do one chair. However, they're not expensive so budget permitting, get enough to do several chairs.

If the budget allows for only one set, then you could plan to use them on a hallway end-table or an end-table that's clearly visible in a room.

When a Full Blown Santa Suit isn't in the Cards, Greet Your
A Santa Sweatshirt for the Hostess
Guests Wearing a Santa Sweatshirt


If two of you are hosting a Christmas gathering or party, greet your guests wearing these festive borderline ugly sweaters. They don't qualify as full blown ugly because, after all, they do honor the big guy.

You won't have a problem finding your size, as they range from Small to Triple X.

This sweater is a standard pullover with a round neck and cotton liner. Also, there are two convenient pockets on the side. Double check the size chart because sometimes it's better to order a size up.

A Santa Sweatshirt also makes an excellent hostess gift. It's original, funny and best of all, useful for the season.

Decorate the Toilet - Show Off Your Goofy Side
Turn the Toilet into a Snowman

Why not? Go ahead. When else do you get to decorate the toilet? Go full-on-tacky with your washroom décor. Forget classy, go for the laugh.

This funny snowman toilet accessory is just what's needed when your guests open the washroom door to do their business - snowman eyes looking right at them. A relaxed bathroom-goer is a happy bathroom-goer.

Less tension, more smiles helps to ensure everything comes out ok.

The set comes as seen in the photo: With the mat, the toilet seat cover and the tank cover. It doesn't list washing instructions, but if it were me, after the party's over, I would wash on delicate and hang to dry.

Have fun, get silly for the season!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 5, 2017

Review of 3 Original Gift Ideas for Cat Lovers

Cat lovers are so much fun to buy for! And there seems to be an endless supply of funky cat gifts to choose from.

Only true cat lovers understand the connection between feline and human. We've heard all the reasons why; they're independent, when they want love they'll let you know, and yes they're smart. Whatever it is that forms that connection, it exists and it's deep.

3D Kittens in the Sky Duvet

If the person you're giving the gift to has a sense of humor and appreciates funky home décor, they'll love this artsy kitties peeking through to the sky duvet set.

This set comes in three sizes, Twin, Queen, and King and consists of a duvet cover, a flat sheet and pillowcases. However it doesn't come with a comforter insert, so you'll have to acquire that separately if needed.

The material is a blend of fifty percent tencel and fifty percent cotton, making it not only a funny choice but also a comfortable one.

Lifelike 3D Kitty Pillows


These are the cutest pillows aren't they!

Best of all they're affordable. At the time of writing, if you're looking for a gift under twenty dollars, these will fit the bill. Note that prices can change, and although the price is under twenty dollars at this moment, it could go up or down.

The photo of the pillows shows three kitties but the price only includes one. When you visit the link you'll see there are two cat pillow choices, versus three depicted here.

The price of these pillows make them a good multiple gift purchase. Acquire several and keep them on hand for housewarming or to give to the kids of the household you're visiting.

A Freaky Kitty Mug

This freaky kitty cat mug is perfect for that quirky friend who enjoys a gift that's funky. This kitty mug literally stands out; look at the cat stretch.

Again, at the time of writing, the mug is currently under twenty dollars. Of course, that can change but for now it's ideal if you're looking to spend money within this price range.

Give this one as a teacher gift, an office party gift, a hostess gift, gift for the kids of the home you're visiting, or give several of them as set to make a main gift for that special cat lover in your life.

So whether it's bedding, pillows or a mug, these are affordable gifts to stay under a hundred dollars, and even under twenty dollars.

Novelty gifts are remembered and laughed about for years, so don't hesitate to choose one.

Happy Shopping!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 29, 2017

Three Affordable Holiday Accessories to Deck Out Your Christmas Dinner Table

Get Set of 8 Santa Hat Chair Covers Here
Get a jump on the Christmas Holiday season by having all the little things addressed early.

Too often we leave those small decorative items we've always wanted until the last minute then think, 'nah', maybe next year.

Don't do that this year. Life is short.

Christmas Chair Covers

Chair covers make a lovely addition to a Christmas table setting; when you're aiming for a red-green table setting, they complete the festive look and feel.

They're not a one trick pony: Chair covers can also be used for home Christmas parties or even holiday birthdays.

Featured in the photo are a set of 8 Santa Claus Hat Chair Covers. You'll be surprised by how affordable they are. Get a jump on your holiday plans. Generally you'll want to allow 3 to 7 days for order processing and 2 to 8 days for shipping. Start today and you'll have plenty of time.

Christmas Silverware Stockings
Stocking Stuffed for Dinner Display - Get them Here


Imagine each place setting graced with a funky Christmas stocking stuffed with silverware.

When you visit the link on the featured photo you'll see that two stocking sets are included. They indicate that a knife and fork and stocking come with each one. Although the photo does show a spoon, the description doesn't mention one.

Also, you can easily DIY this idea. Simply use a small stocking from other décor items you've collected, or make them. Place your silverware inside and you're done.

Use this idea to hold dinner cutlery for buffets. Place your silverware inside and tie a Christmas ribbon around it if the stocking is too loose to keep it held in place. Display them on your buffet to enhance your holiday presentation.

Wine Bottle Sleeves Here
Holiday Wine Bottle Cover Decorations

Accessorize the table with these funky Santa and Snowman wine bottle sleeves. Place them anywhere the wine is on display. Use them and re-use them as need be during the holiday season; they'll add whimsy to your holiday party.

Give them out as a Hostess or holiday gifts. When bagging or wrapping a bottle of wine isn't your thing, these decorations do the job.

If you're hosting a non-alcoholic dinner, place these around other bottles on the table, and when dinner is done, hand them out to the kids.

Theses type of accessories serve multiple purposes. Collect a variety of whimsical decorations so they're handy for additional table décor, or to have available as occasional gifts to hand out during the holidays.

Note that when you visit the link under the photo, additional information will be provided, including the price. These wine bottle sleeves don't come as a pair, you'll have to order each separately.

Get planning, the Holidays are around the corner - beat the rush this year!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Harvest Time Home Decor Review


Harvest Time is a great time of year to decorate your home in Autumn colors that reflect the gorgeous changing leaves of Fall. It's also a time of holidays like Halloween and Thanksgiving that include the lovely harvest-related colors of orange, brown, yellow and red.

There are many beautiful items that show off the bounty of the harvest season. Among the most unique are those that are handmade by clever crafters or created by fabulous Indie-Artists in art and photography.

For a very unique touch to your Harvest-theme décor this Autumn, come look at some of these clever, and often one-of-a-kind, handmade items available on Etsy.... and elsewhere across the web.



*The beautiful Fall photograph in the introduction can be found on Zazzle. 
 

Harvest Time

 

Harvest Time is the time of year when crops are harvested, especially autumn.


Harvest Wall Decor

Pumpkin and Gourds ~ 
Autumn Fall Gourd Pumpkin Art Photo / Print by eball photography on Etsy.

Bring a bountiful Pumpkin Harvest into your kitchen or family room with this outstanding photo to frame and hang on the wall for a lovely Autumn décor.

*Photographed by Earl Ball of Delaware for his Etsy Shop.


Pumpkin Coasters

Pumpkin Coasters on Etsy
Pumpkin design beverage coasters are perfect for home decor in the Harvest-time-Autumn-Fall season, or fun all year round for anyone who likes pumpkins.

This set of 4 drink coasters, each with a pumpkin design, measure 4 x 4 inches. They are created using plastic canvas and acrylic yarn in two shades of orange, plus brown and green on an off-white background. Perfect colors for your Harvest time decor.

Pumpkin design drink coasters also make an attractive and useful  hostess or housewarming gift. 

 

Pumpkin Patch People!


Pumpkin Patch People Pattern - Amigurumi Dolls in Crochet

If you are a crochet crafter, you can create your own Pumpkin Patch for Harvest Time.  This set of cute crocheted pumpkin patch people is perfect for your Harvest Season décor. Decorate your table throughout the Fall, or use for a Halloween Party decor.


Created by Janine of Worchester, England, it is available as a pattern to create your own harvest décor. Pattern includes "Pumpkin Patch Pete and Polly" dolls, along with pumpkins, ghosts and a black cat. This pattern is just one of a selection of original and fun Amigurumi crochet patterns found in her Etsy Shop she calls mojimoji design.


Harvest Moon


Harvest Moon. Source: Wikimedia Commons

 

Yellow Full Moon & Starry Sky Wall Clock
Yellow Full Moon & Starry Sky Wall Clock

by RavenSpiritPrints
This Harvest Moon Clock is a Unique Autumn-Time Clock...

Enjoy a Harvest Moon throughout the Autumn Season with this creative Wall Clock by Raven Spirit on Zazzle.


 







Useful and Attractive Kitchen Decor for the Fall

 

Autumn Leaves Cluster Embroidered Hand Towel
Embroidered towels with Autumn scenes  continue the Harvest Theme...

Beautifully embroidered Autumn designs on towels for the kitchen or bath set the scene for Harvest Time. Brilliant Autumn Leaves Cluster makes a perfect design for Fall.

This is the design of Embroidery Everywhere of Oakland, California. Visit all her lovely embroidery designs in her Etsy shop.





Harvest Time Refrigerator Magnet

Even the magnets on your refrigerator can be changed for the Autumn Season. This 'Bountiful Harvest Cornucopia' magnet is from the Zazzle store of Sandy Mertens, who is SandyMertens and Sandyspider on HubPages! Sandy's designs are created using a variety of vintage and modern photos and drawings.
 

 

 

 

 

 

THANKSGIVING

Handmade Turkey Beverage Coasters
Harvest Time includes the Thanksgiving holiday. These handmade drink coasters with an attractive turkey design make a perfect accent for your Thanksgiving table. 

Lovely Autumn and Harvest time Seasonal Decor and a terrific hostess gift for a holiday dinner invitation.

The design is created on plastic canvas using acrylic yarn in harvest colors. The turkey design is done in tans and browns with a touch of orange for the beak and legs. Turkey sits on a pretty yellow background. 


These harvest colors coasters measure 4 x 4 inches and are available in the Etsy shop of Coastal Crochet & Crafts.


The Harvest Time Season is Special

Get in the spirit of the season with a variety of seasonal decor.  

For more Harvest-Time suggestions, check out these reviews by our Review This contributors.



© 2011 Wednesday-Elf. Updated for Review This Reviews on 8/30/2019





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Thoughtful Last Minute Hostess Gifts for Gardeners

Christmas is Just Around the Corner.  

Let's review some lovely Hostess gifts for your friends who love to garden.  

If you are anything like me, even though we've had fair warning, Christmas seems to have been sprung upon us in very short order.  Along with Christmas coming so quickly, invitations to visit with family and friends have also been coming in quicker than the squirrels can empty the bird feeders.


What can you do when you really know you'd love to visit, but refuse to come empty-handed?  The first thing is Don't Panic. Let this list help you figure out the best and nicest hostess gift to bring to your friends on your upcoming visit.

Gardeners by their very nature love Plants!

Everyone loves flowers, but gardeners love things that grow!  So a really nice idea would be to bring a potted plant to your host or hostess.  At Christmas time you will find lovely bulb sets that will surely be enjoyed by your gardening friends.  Amaryllis and Paperwhites are typically sold around this time of year as Christmas gifts, but they also make lovely and thoughtful Hostess Gifts.  Most of these are sold with a pot, all the planting media and the bulb which may already show signs of growth. All it needs is a lovely gift bag and a bow!  
Amaryllis will grow for years after the initial gift has had its day and bloomed.  Gardeners will take care of the bulb so that it will bloom for them again and again in years to come. It will remind them of you and your thoughtfulness.
gifts for gardeners who have everything. great garden gifts, best gifts for gardeners
This plant will give your gardening friends something really beautiful to look forward to.  These blossoms are just out of this world beautiful.  I can't think of a single person whether they are gardeners or not, that wouldn't marvel at this beauty.  

Can we spice it up a bit?

Along with things that grow, you will find many herbs available at this time of year as well.  Rosemary makes a lovely scented gift that your gardener friends can use to make the kitchen smell really nice and they can use the herbs for cooking as well.  Just add a nice little pot and you have a lovely gift. Gardeners can get creative with the rosemary, as it prunes really nice and can be trained into shapes that are really quite interesting. Something to keep your gardening friends happy during the cold months of the year. 

best gifts for gardeneres, gardeners best gifts, great gifts for gardeners who have everything

How about something More Christmassy?

Typically available at this time of year are Christmas Cactus.  Not at all prickly, they are usually covered in either white, pink or red flowers at the end of their scapes.  A very pretty and easy to grow plant that any gardener would enjoy wholeheartedly.  Give them some light and water and they will happily bloom for a few weeks or more.  These will also continue to grow throughout the year and rebloom the following year again on new growth.  Each year these plants become more beautiful and larger in size. They are easily contained though if space is at a premium.  
best gifts for gardeners who have everything, great garden gifts, best gardening gifts

Remember that Plants are Living and Cold will Affect Them.

Just one word of caution, if you are bringing plants as a Hostess Gift, and you live where winter is cold, please take care to wrap your gift well so that it doesn't freeze or suffer from getting cold.  Preheat your vehicle and wrap the plant with two layers of plastic and tie or secure it shut so that the cold air doesn't touch the plant and all will be well.

My friends already have too many plants, don't you have any other suggestions?

If you don't want to bring a plant and would prefer another gift that is not subject to the weather, let me let you in on some little gift ideas that every gardener I know would appreciate. 

Every gardener I know never ever has enough pairs of gardening gloves.  I have at least 4 pairs on the go at any one time.  So a pair of gardening gloves and a few packets of seeds done up in a little package will bring smiles of gratitude from your Host or Hostess.  

A nice hand cream is also something that we can never have enough of either.  Hands even when protected by gloves, can become rather dry.  A lovely scented hand cream would be nice and not too expensive.  

Another handy gift would be a thermal mug or cup for coffee, tea or water.  Sipping while you work in the garden is a luxury and much needed in the summer months.  Not having to stop what you are doing to get that sip of water is even better.

Gardeners love a great apron.  One with pockets in them to hold the seed packets, clippers or gloves when they stop for a minute.  It also helps to keep them just a little cleaner while they are working away in their little paradise.  

Do you need more suggestions?

There are many more gifts for the Gardener Friends on your list. Just for your enjoyment and for their pleasure I am including another list of  Host/Hostess gifts that would be sure to please. So here goes:

  1. Garden Stakes or Markers
  2. A Small Watering Can
  3. Books or a Magazine subscription, Farmer's Almanac
  4. Funny Garden inspired T-shirts
  5. Bonsai Gift Set (available at Amazon)
  6. Garden inspired Coffee Mug
  7. Kangaroo Garden Bag (a collapsible compost bag, also available at Amazon)
  8. Gardener's Journal
  9. Windchimes or Suncatchers
  10. Willowtree (tm) Figurine "Angel of the Garden"
All of these suggestions are under $25.00, and I know from personal experience that Gardeners who love to entertain, would enjoy any of these suggestions.

Let the Friend who invites you over the holidays know how much you appreciate his/ her efforts in the garden and I'm sure you will see the biggest "Thank You" smile for miles around.
Appreciation of family and friends never gets old and at Christmas time or over the holidays even more so.  

May your Holidays be filled with good friends, and family!  May there always be smiles and lots of laughter!  Happy Holidays.

You can read more about Gardening or Gardening Gifts on Review This or follow the links below!
Pictures on this Review This Post all come from Pixabay in the order that they appear here!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret Schindel Sam MonacoSam Monaco BuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X