Showing posts with label autumn. Show all posts
Showing posts with label autumn. Show all posts

Monday, October 30, 2017

No Fuss Caramel Apple Treats

Easy and delicious caramel apples
During this time of year, the one treat I find myself craving constantly is a caramel apple. That is the one thing I always buy at fall festivals and fairs. Because I have never felt like bothering with the mess of melting the caramels, I never have them at home. Fortunately, there are a few delicious ways to take care of my caramel apple cravings without the fuss and muss. In this review I will show you a few of those caramel apple treats.


Ms. Prindable's Caramel Apples


There is no fuss or muss if you buy your caramel apples already made. Food stands at local apple harvest festivals or state fairs have the most amazing caramel apples. But what if you want a caramel apple and don't feel like leaving the house? 

I believe it was two years ago when someone gave me a wonderful gift of a Ms. Prindable's caramel apple. That gourmet apple was divine. I don't recall which flavor I had, since Ms. Prindable's carries a variety of caramel-covered apples, but I do recall it was covered in roasted nuts. It was rich, delicious, and it was one of the large apples. That gourmet apple was a very welcomed and thoughtful gift.

A few of the delicious selections that Ms. Prindable's offers on Amazon

Werther's Sugar-Free Caramel Apple Hard Candies


The least fussy-mussy caramel apple flavored treats are the Werther's sugar free hard candies. Even though they are hard candies and  even though they are sugar-free, these are some of my favorite autumn candies. 

These Werther's candies truly taste like caramel and green-apples. They are small treats that are individually wrapped - small enough to carry several of them in your pocket or your purse. Because they are hard candies there is no mess other than having to throw away the wrapper.

In addition to the sugar-free hard candies, Werther's offers caramel apple flavored hard candies and caramel apple flavored soft candies.

The Werther's caramel apple candy selections on Amazon 

Caramel Apple Pops


Caramel Apple Pops are green apple-flavored hard candies on a stick with a coating of caramel. They are wonderful but not quite as easy to carry in your pocket or purse.  You can definitely keep them handy at home or in your desk drawer. And they are a popular Halloween treat. 

Caramel Apple Pops

Making Caramel Apples at Home with AllRecipes


Well folks, I've now spent so much time thinking about caramel apples that I looked for a tutorial on making them at home. AllRecipes has this "recipe" and video showing the steps of melting the caramel in the microwave and coating the apples. 

You can be sure that I'll be snacking on the caramel apple treats above, but I also may end up making some caramel apples at home this year with the help of allrecipes.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Halloween Garden Cleanup and Planting Time Too! Let's Review How to Get This Done

Summer's Heat has given way to Autumn cooler temperatures, let's review ways to get your garden ready for the oncoming cold that is sure to happen.


Autumn is that wonderful time of year when the weather gets a little cooler and the days start to have a little bite in them.  Leaves are turning those beautiful shades of yellow, gold, orange, and red. Everywhere the eye goes, it's a myriad of beautiful colors to keep us all in Awe!  What a wonderful mystical, beautiful time of year.  The Maker's  paintbrush is never still and our picture changes daily.
Everyday,  I look out over my balcony and the trees are changing colors from one day to the next.  Yesterday the leaves were all green and today it seems that they are turning shades of gold, red, browns and oranges.  One day makes such a difference.


It's also time to get cracking on the Autumn garden chores! 


If you are not sure what to do with all those leaves,  give that link(Autumn garden chores) a quick review, your garden will love you for it.  It doesn't hurt to organize our chores for the best outcomes in our gardens. 


Cooler Days and changing colors are a shock to the system after all of summer's warm days.  Time moves on and these changes are a gardener's Alarm Clock, because the next thing is garden cleanup before the winds of winter come.


Don't fret!  Garden cleanup is easier than you think.  You just need the right tools and the right attitude and your job will be done lickety split!


Because Autumn is also the time for Halloween, we can do two things at once!  By using our leaves in funky Halloween decorator bags, we now have our glorious pumpkin display all done.  Or if you prefer you can also make crazy spiders and pumpkins to give all the kids a good chuckle.   Packing those bags will be child's play after raking them all together and then using our monster hands to stuff the bags. Now after all the festivities are over, don't throw all those beautiful leaves away. Use a chipper/grinder to make the world's easiest and best mulch for your garden beds. The extras can go into the composter along with the worms and everyone will be happy! You won't believe the work that those worms will do in the composter.  Even in the winter months, those worms are working away.  The beauty of a compost heap is that it will remain warm all winter long.  The worms will be happy and so will you when you see what they accomplish while you are inside staying toasty warm.

Autumn is also a great time to buy yourself a new pair of gloves, because I'm sure the ones you started out with in the spring have seen better days, and they just might be on sale at this time of year. You know you will always use them.



Once the gardens are all cleaned-up, it will be easy to see where to plant all the tulips and daffodils, crocus and snowbells, grape hyacinths and some irises too!  The time to do that is now!   Fall Bulbs are available in just about every garden store around.  If you want that gorgeous Spring Garden you do have to plant those bulbs in the fall.  Spring will be just bursting forth sooner than you think and those bulbs will be so happy to grow in your well mulched beds. It's a little bit of heaven in just a few short months and something to pin your hopes on while the cold winds blow. The Leaves you have mulched added under the bulbs will give those bulbs an extra boost of good compost right under their roots, so they will grow big and strong! You won't be disappointed. Good gardeners and great gardens all give so much credit to the mulch that is brought right down into the soil. Best of all, it's free fertilizer and no chemicals! All natural, Mother Nature will thank you and so will all your family when they are enjoying the fruits of your labor. Such a pretty sight, a well tended garden can bring a smile to you and everyone else too!

I hope you take the time to enjoy the changing of the seasons and preparing your gardens for the Spring of 2018!  In planting for the spring, you give everyone a reason to hope for the future and the brightness of your fabulous garden to come.
reviewthisreviews.png

All pictures are courtesy of Pixabay.  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Harvest Time Home Decor Review


Harvest Time is a great time of year to decorate your home in Autumn colors that reflect the gorgeous changing leaves of Fall. It's also a time of holidays like Halloween and Thanksgiving that include the lovely harvest-related colors of orange, brown, yellow and red.

There are many beautiful items that show off the bounty of the harvest season. Among the most unique are those that are handmade by clever crafters or created by fabulous Indie-Artists in art and photography.

For a very unique touch to your Harvest-theme décor this Autumn, come look at some of these clever, and often one-of-a-kind, handmade items available on Etsy.... and elsewhere across the web.



*The beautiful Fall photograph in the introduction can be found on Zazzle. 
 

Harvest Time

 

Harvest Time is the time of year when crops are harvested, especially autumn.


Harvest Wall Decor

Pumpkin and Gourds ~ 
Autumn Fall Gourd Pumpkin Art Photo / Print by eball photography on Etsy.

Bring a bountiful Pumpkin Harvest into your kitchen or family room with this outstanding photo to frame and hang on the wall for a lovely Autumn décor.

*Photographed by Earl Ball of Delaware for his Etsy Shop.


Pumpkin Coasters

Pumpkin Coasters on Etsy
Pumpkin design beverage coasters are perfect for home decor in the Harvest-time-Autumn-Fall season, or fun all year round for anyone who likes pumpkins.

This set of 4 drink coasters, each with a pumpkin design, measure 4 x 4 inches. They are created using plastic canvas and acrylic yarn in two shades of orange, plus brown and green on an off-white background. Perfect colors for your Harvest time decor.

Pumpkin design drink coasters also make an attractive and useful  hostess or housewarming gift. 

 

Pumpkin Patch People!


Pumpkin Patch People Pattern - Amigurumi Dolls in Crochet

If you are a crochet crafter, you can create your own Pumpkin Patch for Harvest Time.  This set of cute crocheted pumpkin patch people is perfect for your Harvest Season décor. Decorate your table throughout the Fall, or use for a Halloween Party decor.


Created by Janine of Worchester, England, it is available as a pattern to create your own harvest décor. Pattern includes "Pumpkin Patch Pete and Polly" dolls, along with pumpkins, ghosts and a black cat. This pattern is just one of a selection of original and fun Amigurumi crochet patterns found in her Etsy Shop she calls mojimoji design.


Harvest Moon


Harvest Moon. Source: Wikimedia Commons

 

Yellow Full Moon & Starry Sky Wall Clock
Yellow Full Moon & Starry Sky Wall Clock

by RavenSpiritPrints
This Harvest Moon Clock is a Unique Autumn-Time Clock...

Enjoy a Harvest Moon throughout the Autumn Season with this creative Wall Clock by Raven Spirit on Zazzle.


 







Useful and Attractive Kitchen Decor for the Fall

 

Autumn Leaves Cluster Embroidered Hand Towel
Embroidered towels with Autumn scenes  continue the Harvest Theme...

Beautifully embroidered Autumn designs on towels for the kitchen or bath set the scene for Harvest Time. Brilliant Autumn Leaves Cluster makes a perfect design for Fall.

This is the design of Embroidery Everywhere of Oakland, California. Visit all her lovely embroidery designs in her Etsy shop.





Harvest Time Refrigerator Magnet

Even the magnets on your refrigerator can be changed for the Autumn Season. This 'Bountiful Harvest Cornucopia' magnet is from the Zazzle store of Sandy Mertens, who is SandyMertens and Sandyspider on HubPages! Sandy's designs are created using a variety of vintage and modern photos and drawings.
 

 

 

 

 

 

THANKSGIVING

Handmade Turkey Beverage Coasters
Harvest Time includes the Thanksgiving holiday. These handmade drink coasters with an attractive turkey design make a perfect accent for your Thanksgiving table. 

Lovely Autumn and Harvest time Seasonal Decor and a terrific hostess gift for a holiday dinner invitation.

The design is created on plastic canvas using acrylic yarn in harvest colors. The turkey design is done in tans and browns with a touch of orange for the beak and legs. Turkey sits on a pretty yellow background. 


These harvest colors coasters measure 4 x 4 inches and are available in the Etsy shop of Coastal Crochet & Crafts.


The Harvest Time Season is Special

Get in the spirit of the season with a variety of seasonal decor.  

For more Harvest-Time suggestions, check out these reviews by our Review This contributors.



© 2011 Wednesday-Elf. Updated for Review This! on 10/16/2018





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Decorating Your Bedroom for Fall

Find This Fall Duvet Set & More Here

Temporarily Change Your Bedroom's Decor to a Fall Theme


Reviewing Ways to Satisfy Your Urge for a Seasonal Change Without Spending a Fortune

With a bedroom, we rarely think about making a seasonal change mostly because we believe it would be time consuming and pricey.

However if  Fall is your favorite season and you'd like to bring fall colors into your bedroom without doing a major over-haul, here are three ways you can accomplish that without breaking the bank:

1. Cover Your Existing Comforter and Pillows with an Autumn Duvet Bedding Set

If your bedroom's existing color scheme is fairly neutral or decorated with a few fall color tones already, then go ahead and bring fall into your bedroom by putting a calming fall duvet cover over your existing comforter. By doing this, you still keep your existing comforter; you're simply temporarily covering it up. Don't forget to change those pillow cases as well.

You don't have to spend a fortune either. You can find Duvet sets for under $100, and the best part, when you're ready to go back to your standard decor, just remove it. Or better yet, replace it with a
Fall Themed Drapes Here
Christmas Duvet Set.

2. Switch Your Standard Drapes Out for those that Feature a Fall Scene

This temporary change isn't as easy as the bedding change, however, if you choose drapes that go up the same way as your existing drapes, it's a breeze.

We rarely think to inter-change our draperies, yet window coverings can change the entire feel and look of a room. In the case of fall colors they add warmth and coziness.

Again, when you're ready to go back to your standard decor, remove them until the next time.

3. Add a Double Sided Fall Room Divider - Surprisingly, They Don't
Find This Room Divider Here, Plus Others
Cost a Fortune

Granted, this is a more difficult addition to a bedroom (unless your bedroom is fairly large). 

It's also a useful piece for large dual purpose rooms, such as bedroom/office combinations. 

Because this piece is prominent, it isn't something you can easily store away, but why would you want to - just move it to another room. 

You can place this gorgeous artistic piece in the family room, an office, a study area, a foyer or any place where there's a need to create a division in an open area.

Changing Your Decor for the Season is the Best Way to Get Over the Craving to Buy a New Home

My days as a Realtor afforded me the opportunity to understand the many reasons people decide to move. 

People often expressed this common sentiment ... 'we need a change'. 

You may in fact need that change. However, before you decide whether moving is the right thing, go ahead and redecorate a little. Sometimes the changes we need are minor.

After-all, decorating changes are a lot less expensive than moving.
"Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns" by George Eliot




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, October 3, 2015

Autumn Artistic Endeavors Craft Review

The first day of Fall has arrived and artists and crafters are inspired to create in natures' Autumn Season colors.  Reds and yellows, orange and brown show up in art and photography and a variety of handmade items.  Let's review a few of these.


Autumn Leaves

The beautiful colors of the Autumn leaves draw thousands of visitors each year to New England and the mountains and forests across the country.  Mary Beth (mbgphoto) has captured many gorgeous views of the colorful leaves with her lovely photos, many of which you can see in her Autumn Art article here on Review This!  You can also find her Fall photography featured  on a variety of items in her Zazzle stores, such as this "Autumn Beauty" note card from her Beauty in Nature page.


Pumpkin Patch

 

(c) Personal Photo/Wednesday Elf

Autumn is the season for harvest time and Halloween.  Pumpkins are the focal point of this season, especially for hand-crafted items.  From playtime plushies to handmade dishcloths for your kitchen chores to accessories such as purses, pumpkins are a fun theme. 



Plush Pumpkin & Stuffed Spider




Plush Pumpkin and Toy Spider
Pumpkin & Spider Toys in Plush on Etsy
A cute set for this coming Halloween and Autumn season of a plush pumpkin and a toy stuffed spider. Fun for kids as a Halloween treat or use for a Halloween Party or Harvest-time decor.

Plush pumpkin is about 5 inches tall, including the stem, and 4 inches wide and is filled with soft new polyfil. Created in the Amigurumi style, plush pumpkin has cute features for a face and is finished off with a stem and leaf on the top.

Toy stuffed spider measures about 2 inches tall and 6 inches across his 8 squiggly legs.  His orange eyes are embroidered, giving him a spooky personality.


The plush pumpkin set is available in the Etsy Shop of Coastal Crochet Crafts.  



Autumn Time Quilted Purse for Halloween

 

Black Cats & Haunted Houses Halloween Purse

This Halloween purse is lime green with black haunted house, trees, cats and owls, white moon and the words "Happy Halloween" in white. The inside is lined with black fabric that has green polka dots.



Quilted Fall Coin Purse
The Halloween Quilted Purse is just one of a wide variety of quilted purses in the Etsy Shop of Cute PurseNalities, which also features handy coin purses and fabric lanyards. Pictured is a handmade quilted coin purse in an Autumn design.


Cooking in the Fall

 

Chocolate Halloween Ghost Train Cake
Cooking, to me, is both an art and a craft.  Creative recipes are something to be treasured, as Sylvestermouse Cynthia shows us with her Chocolate Halloween Ghost Train Cake tutorial.  

The recipe and tutorial for this fantastic cake are described in her "Cooking for the Holidays" blog. 





Pumpkin Potholder and Washcloth for your Autumn Kitchen Decor



Handmade in Crochet Pumpkin Shaped Potholder and Dishcloth
Pumpkin Duo Potholder and Dishcloth on Etsy

A potholder is a necessity when baking and it's delightful to have one that matches the Autumn theme. Pumpkins are a large part of this Harvest-Time season, so let's have some pumpkin kitchen helpers.

This pumpkin potholder is handmade in crochet in washable orange acrylic yarn with a green top. It measures 9.5 x 11 inches and is made double-thick.


Cleaning up from baking your pumpkin dessert is more fun when you have a pumpkin shaped dishcloth to use.  It measures a generous sized 9.5 x 9.5 inches.  Handmade in cotton yarn makes this dishcloth a joy to use for your kitchen chores.  


This kitchen duo in the shape of a pumpkin of a potholder and matching dishcloth can be found at Coastal Crochet Crafts on Etsy. 


The Fall Season has Arrived


So, enjoy the Fall Foliage in photos or have fun with hand-crafted harvest-time pumpkins, or bake a favorite seasonal dessert while you enjoy the cooler weather and the colors of Autumn.  Welcome to Fall.


(c) 10/3/2015 Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Handmade Harvest-Time

It's Harvest Time, the time of year crops are traditionally harvested. This coincides with Autumn, the season of colorful leaves, cooler nights, pumpkins and apples, and the holidays of Halloween and Thanksgiving.



The term 'Harvest' came from England and was the name for the season between summer and winter until Autumn began to be used in the 16th century. In Britain the season is usually considered to be from August through October and in the United States from September through November. The term 'Autumn' is also interchangeable from 'Fall', used mainly in America. Unlike the other three seasons, there does not seem to be a common word for this season in all the Indo-European languages. Autumn and Harvest-Time are my favorite terms to use.

Autumn Themed  Crafts


Acorns




Custom Crochet Fall Acorn Beanie
Autumn is a favorite time of year for crafters and the Indie-artists in the fields of art and photography because the lovely harvest-related colors of orange, brown, red and yellow lend themselves to beautiful creations. 

Since acorns are plentiful in the Fall, this crochet acorn hat is perfect for the season.  A leaf and a small acorn adorn the top of the hat, and are attached to the stem of the acorn. Made in super soft cotton yarn, the hat is available in sizes from newborn to adult large.

Place your order for an acorn hat with Monica of Costa Mesa, California.  You can find her in her Etsy Shop "Ruffle Stitch Kids." These hats make a great gift for all the 'nuts' on your list and is perfect for those Fall photos. 


Pumpkins


Pumpkin Potholder and Matching Dishcloth
Pumpkins are also perfect for a harvest time decor as seen with this set of pumpkin potholder 
and dishcloth combo.

In addition to sprucing up your Fall home decor, this pumpkin set makes a unique hostess gift when invited out to dinner, especially during the Harvest-Time season.  Or nice for a wedding gift for a Fall wedding. 





More Ideas for Handmade Harvest Time



  • Sylvestermouse shows us a collection of beautiful beaded cross-stitch kits with lovely Thanksgiving designs to stitch up for the most popular 'harvest holiday' – Thanksgiving Day!



  • Wednesday-Elf found some really fun and practical handmade harvest-related designs on Etsy by clever crafters who love to create in Autumn themes.


When you think of 'handmade harvest-time', you may consider crafts as the only field that's considered handmade. Not so, in my opinion.



Pumpkin Muffins by Mary Beth Granger

  • I consider cooking a handmade 'delicious delight', as you can see in this yummy pumpkin muffin recipe by mbgphoto.

  • And 'gardening' gives us all that wonderful homegrown food. You don't need to have a farm or even a large garden plot in your yard. As Dawn Rae shows us, you can also grow and harvest your favorite foods like squash and tomatoes in a simple container garden on your apartment balcony.



Enjoy the colors of the Autumn Leaves as you 'trick or treat' for Halloween and plan your Thanksgiving feast in a multitude of handmade ways from crafting to cooking to planning your next garden for Spring.



Have an Awesome Autumn and Harvest-time.



(c) 12/02/2014 Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 6, 2014

Mid-Atlantic Fall Foliage

I love the mid-Atlantic region during every season of each year. As summer comes to a close, I am a bit sad that the window of opportunity for hiking, camping, swimming, and fishing is coming to a close.  I feel a rush to cram in as much outdoor activity as possible, before the snow flies.  And yet, the gorgeous color palette of autumn in this area more than makes up for having to put shoes back on my feet.

I am a little far-reaching in what I consider the mid-Atlantic. Therefore, from as far north as the Adirondacks in New York, as far west Central West Virginia, as far south as the end of the Blue Ridge Parkway in North Carolina, and everywhere in between the fall foliage viewing reigns supreme.  

Let me try to show you why I believe this.

Blue Heron photograph by Nancy Rotenberg

Adirondack Park, New York --  The Adirondack Park was established in 1892 in New York and is the largest park in the lower 48 states.  I have spent some time in the Adirondacks during one summer (July) and it was a wonderful experience.  I dream of returning during the autumn. I would love to sit lakeside, in the peaceful setting, and watch the autumn colors of the Adirondack Mountains dancing on the smooth lake water.

Gauley River Photograph by Raymond Gehman
Fayette, West Virginia -- West Virginia is a magical state in regards to flora and fauna.  I have made many Sunday drives through portions of the state but I haven't seen half as much as I have wanted to.  I want to spend a length of time in Central West Virginia.  It turns out that my oldest son beat me to it.  Through work, he went to the Fayette area and rafted the white water of the Gauley River.  The rafting adventure was amazing and he encourages me to go.  I will at some point. Can you imagine seeing the fall foliage from rafts in the river? Breath-taking.  If you look closely, you can see the shapes of the rafts in the photograph.  



Linn Cove Viaduct, Blue Ridge Parkway, NC photograph by Panoramic Images
Blue Ridge Parkway (Virginia and North Carolina) -- I've driven down a good portion of the Blue Ridge Parkway.  We went at a leisurely pace and stopped at many of the over overlooks just to look and breathe.  Again, I went during the summer or late summer months.  I intend on making the drive again, with some overnight stops, during the autumn.  I can't even imagine the blues of the mountains (for which they were named) in combination with the firey colors of falling leaves.  I want to drive every mile of the 469 mile mountain top miracle. 

The beauty of the mid-Atlantic is that I don't have to drive that far to find beauty.  I can find it within minutes of my own home.  


Written by Dawn Rae
Disclosure: In affiliation with AllPosters.com, Dawn Rae is a blogger and content writer who may earn compensation from the sale of AllPosters products.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner