Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Decor. Show all posts

Monday, July 9, 2018

Reviewing Handmade Rag Rugs

Handmade denim rag rugs by StudioAtRedTopRanch
I love rag rugs and have always loved rag rugs. Occasionally, I have made my own using strips of recycled cloth (bed sheets) and a super large crochet hook. Recently, I have learned about the hand-woven rag rugs made by StudioAtRedTopRanch. They are such beautiful rugs that I wanted to share with you.


StudioAtRedTopRanch on Etsy


This Etsy shop offers hand-woven placements, table runners, and rugs. The rugs are my personal favorite. 

Tracy is the owner/artist at StudioAtRedTopRanch.  About the rugs, she writes:


"I began making handmade rag rugs as a way to use up leftover and unloved fabric. As I studied rugmaking, it became a way to learn and preserve an art developed by women who made-do by repurposing clothes and curtains because they had no other materials available..."

One of the reasons I love her rugs is because they look a little more "finished" than my crocheted rag rugs do. I guess because hers are woven they lay flatter and looked more finished than my lumpy, thick rugs.

Another reason I really like these rugs is because they are handmade - but didn't take me weeks to make!  I enjoy making my own crafts but I just don't make much time for crafts and I have the attention span of a flea. 

One more reason I like these handmade items is because I like to support women who have small, home businesses. Besides, when someone is making something they love, and something that is meaningful to them, the quality is so much better. 

These rugs, runners, and placements are perfect gifts for people who have a country farmhouse or rustic cabin living style. Or a perfect gift for yourself - adding a touch of "home" in your favorite room. My favorite "color" (and style) is the denim rug but she offers many colors to choose from.


some of the color options at StudioAtRedTopRanch




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, May 6, 2018

8 Creative Flower Planter Ideas for Inside or Outside

Have a lot of broken down cars? Or just one?
There it is, a car planter, with the body as Art
Bring out your inner artistic side to display flowers and plants.

If you're stuck in a rut on the way you feature plants in and around the home, this list is designed to trigger an artistic spark so you can break that chain, and try something different this year.

1. Use An Old Wooden Toolbox
Old Shoes as a Planter?
Hmmm Yes? No?

If you have an old wooden, distressed toolbox - the ones with the handle across the top are especially nice - fill it with dirt, flowers, plants or spices. Place it anywhere you choose. Move it around from time to time.

2. Use Window Boxes Indoors

You've seen window boxes on outdoor railings, porches and the exterior of windows, however you can use a window box inside as well.

Find the window box that works best for your space, and simply duplicate what you would do outdoors. You can also spruce it up with decorative rocks and variety of rock garden plants. 

3. Old Tea Cups or Mugs

Old tea cups and coffee mugs are a creative way to display small plants or spices. If your kitchen has an area to display a set of cups or mugs, use them as a decorating accent or a place to hold your kitchen spices. Get each mug in a different color to add a little funk to your plant area.

A Large Cup of Flowers
4. Old Metal Boxes

You can use a new metal box as well. Any metal container in your home, that's the right size for your needs, can be filled with dirt, rocks, flowers, spices or plants. 

5. Ladder Plant Display

There are a number of ways to display plants on a ladder. You can secure the plants to each rung, or rig it so that each rung can hold a planter box. If doing it yourself isn't an option, you can get an already made free standing ladder that's designed to hold planter boxes. 

6. Drawers from Old Furniture

Rather than toss out your old dressers, use a drawer or two or three to plant flowers in.

Put the dirt directly in the drawer and plant what you want, or use it as a holder to place smaller pots already planted.

If you're able, turn it into a family affair by letting the kids paint a drawer and take care of their plants in their drawer.

7. The Top of a Birdhouse

Create edging around the roof of your birdhouse, fill it with dirt, then plant what you want in the area. It will look lovely, and the birds will appreciate it.

8. An Old Bicycle as a Home for Plants and Flowers

Position an old bike against a wall, tree or in a garden and use it as a prop for planting flowers and other plants. If it has a basket, fill it with hanging flowers. Use the wheels to grow flowers and plants that need a support to tie onto.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 22, 2018

3 Easy Ways to Cover Wall Imperfections Without Painting

Real or Faux - Brick and Wood Looks
Imperfect walls can be frustrating. We see them, where others may not, and they drive us crazy!

When painting isn't an option, or something you feel like doing, there are several other techniques you can employ to solve your flawed wall issues.

Wall Murals & Decals

Today's wall murals come in many materials; most commonly you'll find vinyl and paper.

You can get full wall coverage with a vinyl wall decal, however, it can be a bit expensive to cover a large wall. In fact, most of the large wall decals approach the five hundred dollar mark. But remember the advantage of a vinyl decal is being able to easily remove it.

If you're renting, vinyl decals are much easier to take down when the rental period is up. Depending upon the quality of vinyl you choose, you may or may not have to repair the paint underneath after removing it. However, higher quality decals tend to be removable without the worry of wall or paint damage.

If you have an overly flawed wall, another tip is to choose a geometric design in either paper or vinyl. The three dimensional look helps to hide any obvious boo-boos that might otherwise peek through a plain or solid design.

Faux Brick Wall Treatments
If a wall has quite a few flaws, wallpaper (not vinyl) may be the wiser choice.

In fact, if the walls have obvious marks or flaws to cover, then a durable wallpaper, like Grass Cloth should be considered.

You can essentially get any pattern, scenery, or design in vinyl or paper, making it possible to create virtually any artistic look you want.

Faux Wall Treatments - Faux Brick, Faux Wood

You don't have to spend a fortune to cover an unattractive wall. Faux vinyl materials exist in various styles including faux brick and wood. Or if you're willing, you can put up actual wood panels. Today's decorating choices essentially give you any design, look or color in faux or real wood.

Creating a feature wall can change the look of a room. A flawed wall gives you the chance to put your inner artist to the test. The wall that was once painful to look at, can be become your home's Picasso.

Getting started is the hardest part. Look around your room and decide what design would look best on your wall; geometric, bricks, or wood ... and then find the look you want in easy to install faux art.

3D Green Fields and Peaceful River Curtains3D Green Fields and Peaceful River Curtains
Use Three Dimensional Drapes to Cover a Flawed Wall

When you're not into painting, and you're not into vinyl decals, and you're absolutely not into wallpaper, but you need to do something to fix that eye-sore, then three dimensional drapes are the way to go. 

You don't need a window to put up drapes!

Put up the drapery rod and add the artistic scenery drapes to cover your wall, floor to ceiling and wall to wall, and you've solved your problem! Easy peasy, lemon squeezy. 

Oh, and the best part, get two or three designs in three dimensional draperies, and switch them up when you get tired of them! Go seasonal in your designs; spring, summer, fall and winter. 

There you have it, three easy ways to fix up your walls without painting; have fun!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 1, 2018

Three Unique Kids Bedroom Decor Ideas - Unconventional, Practical and Fun

Glow in the Dark Area Rugs Here
Something for the Wall, the Floors and the Bed - Unique Items that Serve a Useful Purpose and Add a Decorating Element to the Room

For the Floor - A Glow in the Dark Area Rug

A glow in the dark area rug is a fantastic way to add ambient lighting to a child's room without having to use electricity or batteries.

Depending upon the size you choose, add several glow in the dark rugs to a bedroom. If your child's room is quite large, position the rugs so that they safely lead the way out in the dark, or place them at various ends to provide soothing lighting to the entire space.

You could also place the rug in a hallway near a washroom. Again, it's an evening lighting solution without using electricity. 

For the Walls - A Picket Fence Wall Decal 
Picket Fence Wall Decals Here

Adding color and interest to the walls of child's room helps to finish off the space.

Today there are an endless supply of wall decals to choose from. Decorating unconventionally is much easier these days than it was twenty or so years ago. 

Today there's no need to stencil art on the wall, or have murals painted when you can just buy them, ready made, in the form of vinyl. 

A picket fence wall decals can be featured in a number of ways. Install it all the way around the room, on one wall, or even as a faux headboard for a bed. If the room has a number of corners or alcoves, use wall decal picket fences as a way to create areas of interest, such as a gaming or reading corner.

Zip Up Bedding
For the Bed - Zip-Up Bedding

Zip-Up bedding is perfect for kids who don't like to make their beds.

If you're tired of going into a room with a messy bed, then get the kids zip-up bedding. They're easier on mom or dad, as the kids can easily do their own beds.

Zip bedding is also an option for kids who may fall out of bed or who tend to kick the covers off at night.

Hard to make beds like Bunks or Lofts are an ideal choice for zip up bedding. The top sheet and fitted sheet are joined together making them easy to go on and off as one piece. You never have to worry about tucking sheets in, especially hard-to-get-at sides.

Since zip-up bedding comes in many designs and colors you can use them as the main bedding by just adding some decorative pillows, or put a comforter set over top. You could also fold a lovely comforter at the end of the bed making the designs in the zip-up sheets the main decorative print for the room.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 25, 2018

Five Easter Home Decor Ideas

Easter Home Décor Product Items Here - by Funkthishouse.com
Decorating for Easter can be as simple as changing the centerpiece on the table, to a more dramatic change, such as changing out the art on the wall with a seasonal Easter/Spring piece.

Let's review five Easter home décor ideas that are both traditional and unconventional.

1. Be Unconventional and Decorate a Dollhouse for Easter

Heads-up Grandparents, this is for you! Mom and Dad too of course. It's a great idea for parents (Grand and all) who don't have time to decorate the 'real' house for Easter.

Get a dollhouse and decorate it, it gives the kids something to play with and something to decorate.

Place the dollhouse in a central location, perhaps on a table in the foyer, and decorate it with Easter related characters, eggs, fun dollhouse lights, or have the kids make items for it. Get Easter cut-out books for the kids to decorate with, or just make décor items from scratch.

2. Decorate the Table for Easter

Our dining room table or kitchen table sits ready to be used as the focal point for the special occasions yet we tend to avoid using it.

The problem with using a table to decorate is ensuring it's still usable for eating. But hey, no problem, just keep it simple.

Cover your table(s) with an Easter themed tablecloth or Easter placemats and feature a lovely Easter centerpiece.
More Easter Fun by ReviewThis

3. Place Easter Bouquets or Easter Ornaments in the Main Rooms - Add an Easter Wreath

The easiest way to add a touch of Easter, is to include a bouquet or ornament in the room. You don't have to go with a standard flower bouquet (although that's always lovely) ... try an Easter egg tree or a lighted Easter display ornament.

Add an Easter wreath to the front door or add several inside the house. Place one or two in the foyer and of course find a place for one in the living or dining rooms. Again be sure to scroll down and view some examples.

4. Easter Wall Art - Add Fun Creative Pieces to the Wall for Spring

The nice thing about Easter wall art is that it works for both spring and summer. Get a piece or two and put it up in the foyer, living room or dining room for both seasons. You'll have Easter covered and the fun continues through all the warm weather.

5. Easter Pillows and Throw Blankets

The standard décor pieces for a seasonal change are pillows and blankets. They're easy to display and easy to put away. If you have pillow covers, you can just cover your existing pillows. That's a particularly popular way to change out pillows, as pillow liners are easy to store.

Changing your throws and pillows to pastels or soft tones also helps to lighten up a room giving it that fresh, airy appeal.

See the Products Here

Happy Easter :)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 18, 2018

5 Ways to Brighten Up Your Home - Get Ready for Spring and Summer the Easy Way

Brighten Up Your Space - Blonde Wood Flooring Opens Up the Room- Photo Via Pixabay
Where fall and winter had us craving darker, richer tones, spring and summer reverses that and brings out our need for a cleaner, leaner, brighter, fresher environment.

Go From Drab to Fab

When a total renovation is out of the question, you can still try any one of these five simple ideas to lighten and brighten your home:

1. Update Your Light Bulbs

You can acquire light bulbs in various shades. If you haven't tried 'Daylight' bulbs you'll want to give them a go. They emulate natural outdoor lighting and come in a number of styles, such as traditional, candle, spotlight, miniature and more. They're also useful for those who suffer from seasonal affective disorder (SAD).

2. If Your Room is Already Lighter in Shades, Add Some Black or Charcoal Accents

Sounds weird doesn't it? However the darker accents help the lighter aspects to pop and become front and center in the room. Add them in subtle areas, not as major pieces. As example the book spines in a very white cabinet could be black (or darker colors), subtle wood trim in the room could be black or charcoal, as well as a few black picture frames. However the most effective use of this darker shade is in items that are thin or long - chair legs, long arms on lamps, or the pole of a floor lamp.

3. Wall Mount Lamps

These work well in bedrooms above the end table. Choose lamps with a light cheerful lamp shade and a dark base that attaches to the wall. The light lamp shade on a slightly contrasting wall can help encourage that blended feeling a bright room often exhibits. As an example, a coastal blue wall color and lovely large white lamp shade with a black arm and mount can look outstanding.

4. If Draperies Aren't Needed, Skip them, or Use them to Frame the Window

If you live in an private area and can leave your drapes open most of the time, then do that. If you plan on never or rarely ever closing the drapes, then you can either place a light drapery panel on each end, or go ahead and put a full set of drapes, essentially left open. Choose black or charcoal drapes to frame the window ends .... with white trim and black panels on each side, you'll add to that linear look of dark accents explained in point number two.

5. The Most Obvious: Decorate Using White

White reflects light back into the room. It doesn't absorb color. If you want to have the lightest room possible, paint the walls and ceiling white, keep the floors as light as possible and kick it up to another level of brightness by using white accents, lamps and even furnishings. In the case of a bedroom, this is a fairly easy project to tackle; white bedding, white rugs, white dressers, white end tables, and white lamps. Once you've tackled the main areas, then add light pops of color in metallic, gold or chrome.

There you have it, five simple ways to brighten up your home. Scroll to view these white items to add to a home:


If you decide these suggestions are too complicated, or too much work, just change the light bulbs, open the drapes and give the room a good clean. You could also temporarily remove dark area rugs for spring and summer. Exposed floors provide a lovely consistent flow through a space, and thus removing rugs can add to that open, crisp, bright design.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 11, 2018

20 Easy Ways to Get Your Home Ready for Spring

Photo via Pixabay - Flowers, Gardening - Clearing the Yard for Spring
Winter and hibernation tend to go hand in hand. However, we've 'sprung forward' and it's time for another change in our predictable routines.

For many of us, spring brings on an itch that's not allergy related; the itch for change. Even if you're nodding your head in the negative right now, think about it ..... you've more than likely made small changes at the start of spring without knowing it; cleaning closets, washing bedding ... you know, our automatic routine that's inspired by fresh air and open windows. There's something healing about spring changes.

Here are 20 Changes You Can Make (or have made) to Brighten Your Home for Spring - Most Don't Cost a Dime (See them below the photo)
Photo Via Pixabay - Minimalism for Spring

  1. Wash and freshen up the bedsheets, bedspreads and or curtains
  2. Change the bedsheets from flannel to cotton
  3. Clear out your closets
  4. Put away the winter clothes and pull out your summer wear
  5. Clear out your yard and garden - tidy it up
  6. Wash your windows
  7. Open your windows to do an air exchange
  8. Lighten up the room by removing area rugs to expose the wood floors. This simple technique will give you that fresh open feeling for the spring.
  9. Remove your usual accessories and replace them with simple fresh spring accents
  10. Think Green - add an abundance of plants - not just one - put multiple plants in multiple areas
  11. Freshen the home with new scents - replace winter cinnamon candles with lemon, citrus and laundry candles
  12. Dress up your table (kitchen, sunroom) - Bring out a bright and cheerful table cloth and feature a lovely arrangement of spring flowers, vases and candles
    Photo via Pixabay - Add Fresh Flowers
  13. Cover your existing pillows with spring themed pillow covers
  14. If changing your bedding set to a spring theme is possible, go for it
  15. Add one new spring themed fun focal point piece to a room for the spring - a light fixture, a piece of art, new pillows, an oversized floor plant
  16. If you're planning to re-do a room, go lighter in textures, wall colors and furnishings
  17. If you're a lover of color, find a small room (an entry way or a washroom) and paint it in a bright lacquered color. Be sure you know how powerful this will be before tackling the project. If you have a room with high ceilings - even better! Also, in a larger room you could paint one wall in a bright lacquered paint. However, if your wall has a lot of flaws, stay away from this kind of paint, it tends to show every flaw!
  18. Paint a small area in your kitchen with chalkboard paint to help create an outdoor café feel
  19. Add floral prints! Don't be afraid of floral - it's not just your grandmother's favorite. Floral prints can work in moderation, especially as an accent
  20. Work to make your rooms more open and inviting - move your furniture around - a tip to remember - ensure there's a clear pathway through the room, to the doorways. With that in mind, you'll consider the rooms flow without thinking about it.
We seem to go into cleaning-clearing mode as soon as the weather gifts us with fresher, warmer air.

Breathing in the spring air gives us a cleanse inside and out but most of all, is motivating. So don't miss the moment and the mood - make those changes while you still have that itch!



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 4, 2018

5 Ways to Bring Happiness and Positive Energy Into a Room - Harness the Good

by Funkthishouse
When the world outside feels darker than usual and you want to create a sanctuary of happiness and positive energy, start with your home and personal space.

Since we can't control gravity or other people, controlling ourselves and the environment we live in can give us a sense of taking back our mind and heart.
"We are shaped by our thoughts, we become what we think. When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves" Buddha
The Emotion Code by Dr. Bradly Nelson talks about how emotions are so powerful they can literally define and determine the experiences we bring into our life. We need to take the power of the energy in our home and enhance it for good.

Lets review 5 Ways to Bring Happiness and Positive Energy into a Room:

1. Open the Window or Clear the Air in the Room

An air exchange can do wonders for a space. Even in the dead of winter go ahead and open the window for a few minutes. Fresh air reinvigorates a space and there's a sense a power in knowing you can change the energy of a room with something you can't see. If opening a window isn't an option, add a Salt Lamp. Just like the goodness of negative ions that fill the air after a thunderstorm, a salt lamp also emits negative ions. However, the radius of negative ions from a salt lamp is quite small, generally surrounding the area immediately around the lamp itself. That's a good reason to have a couple of salt lamps positioned throughout a room - especially a windowless room.

2.  Remove Items that Have Bad Memories

If there are people or items in your life that have negative energy or thoughts attached to them, be brave, and remove photos or items relating to them from your space. You're not erasing what has happened, you're simply taking back the things you CAN control; your space and your mood. If there are linens, pillows or furnishings that have bad memories attached to them, replace them. Add a little humor to the situation and have a small cleansing ceremony with Sage as you box the items up. Pass them onto the Good Will. If getting rid of your furniture isn't in the cards, try slip-covers for couches and taking on a DIY re-do project for the dressers and tables.

3.  Add Plants and Flowers

Plants freshen and clean the air in a room. For more detail on which plants do what, take a look at this list of room cleaning plants. Think in terms of volume. Add several plants in a room; floor plants, plants in plant wall holders, plants on end or corner tables, or multiple plants displayed in plant stands.

4.  Add Music to the Room

Even if you have a TV in the room to play music from the Music Channel, there's something special about listening to music the old fashioned way; from a stereo or radio. Leave the TV off - for less magnetic energy being emitted. The benefits to music are abundant; it promotes good health, helps you sleep, reduces depression and more. Keep a radio running in the kitchen with music playing all the time. We do this in our house. In fact, I can hear the music softly playing while typing this. It's incredibly uplifting to walk into a quiet kitchen that has the life of music filling the background. It brings in positive energy especially when it's a bit lonesome.  Best of all, song lyrics tell a story, and provide a lovely calming, creative visual while preparing meals or tidying up.

5.  Use the Power of Color to Enhance the Emotions You Want to Bring into a Space

Every color has a group of traits and emotions attributed to them. Understanding these traits can help you harness the mood you want your room to evoke. Here's a summary of a few of the traits associated with some of the most basic colors.
  • Orange: Boosts your energy, is fun, and adds excitement
  • Blue: Calming, relaxing, trusting, professional
  • Yellow: Moderate amounts - joy, happiness, encourages thinking/learning
  • Purple: Luxury, spirituality, creativity, royalty
  • Red: Energetic, Love - but peace and tranquility in a bedroom
  • Green: Nature, well being, refreshing, clean, simple, calming and growth
You don't have to go wild wondering how the heck you add color to your room. If you're not into painting, just add your colors via small accessories such as wall art, throw blankets, lamps, rugs, pillows and table décor.

Go ahead, take control of your home's energy and create a space that reflects happiness and positive energy.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, February 11, 2018

How to Create Color Flow Through Your Home Using a Colorful Palette

If you're partial to a colorful palette when decorating your home, but unsure of how to tackle it, the first rule is to think in terms of 'color families'.

For this article, we'll examine the colors blue, orange and white in combination.

Step 1 - Take a Look at Your Home and Notice Which Areas Can be Seen From Each Room

Start with your foyer.

What rooms can you see from your front foyer when you're standing in it? Whatever rooms you can view from the foyer, you'll want to include in the color family you choose.

As an example, using the chosen color palette orange, blue and white, you could plan the bolder choices in the rooms seen from the foyer, and use the same tones softened for the hallway.

Mix patterns in your décor to break harsh solids, and if you're into a major re-do, add lovely half or quarter wall wainscoting to the foyer, living or dining rooms.

If you're brave, of course you can work the opposite way around; put the brave bold blue, orange and white in the hallway, and use softer hues in the main rooms.

Here's an example of Living Room Design Choices - A Chair, Sofa, Rug and Coffee Table you could put together with a Blue, Orange and White/Black theme.

Step 2 - To Continue the Palette in Other Rooms in the Home Use Various Shades of the three Colors You Selected to be in Your Color Family

Flow is probably one of the most difficult things to achieve in a home. We tend to have ideas for the living room, ideas for the family, ideas for the kitchen yet many times these ideas don't naturally flow into each other. So out of color fear, we fall back to neutrals.

If you want to keep the adjoining rooms neutral, just bring in various shades of your chosen color family into the room using accessories: Pillows, throw blankets, wall art or add a punch of color with bright end tables.

Examples of color variants for orange are, corals, tangerine and grapefruit. Variants of blue can include cobalt, turquoise, delft, and navy.

Here are examples of some Blue, Orange and White Accessories to Use with Other Major Furniture Pieces being neutral (tan, white, beige):

Step 3 - When You're Decorating Rooms Not Directly Connected to the Main Area, Such as the Master Suite - Keep it Calmer by Using More Pattern than Bold Color

You can still focus on the color family you've selected for your home, and include some in the bedroom, however, do it by using more patterned pieces combined with neutral solids.

As an example, you could keep the bedding mostly white, the wall soft coral or soft blue, the bedframe a darker shade, and the drapes and chairs similar or matching in simple patterns.

Here are crisp but muted pieces for in the blue-family for a Master Suite:

Remember, once you decide upon your color family, decorating your entire home simply means introducing shades and versions of your color-family throughout your home.

By the way, you can still decorate other rooms that don't flow off an open area pretty much any color you want. However, if you're going to go completely off of your color palette in that room, be sure it can't be seen from any hallways or open areas.

Shop by Color - Have Fun!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, February 4, 2018

Where to Use Yellow in My Home to Promote an Uplifting and Sociable Atmosphere

More Yellow Home Décor Here
In Feng Shui, Yellow is considered a Fire Element.

If you're wondering what the meaning of 'Fire Element' is, it's pretty much what 'Fire' itself evokes; renewal, transformation, expansion and purification.

With the power to destroy, the result of fire is conversely true, the destruction generates an opportunity for re-birth and renewal. Of course Yellow isn't about destruction, it represents uplifting change and in Feng Shui finds it's predominance in the Reputation/Fame and Good Fortune parts of the home.

So How Does a Fire Element Color Like Yellow Uplift a Space?

If you're familiar with Feng Shui basics and the Feng Shui Western Bagua Map used for home decorating, you already know where yellow is predominately suggested to be used. Below you'll notice that red is indicated in the Reputation/Fame quadrant, but since yellow, red and orange are considered fire elements, they can piggy back off each other in their respective areas: Reputation/Fame, Love/Relationships, and Good Fortune. Also notice that 'Gold' is in the Prosperity/Wealth quadrant as well, so go ahead and feature yellow tones in that quadrant of your home.

If you're confused by what the quadrants are and what they include, see the Western Bagua Map below. To learn the basics on how to use the map, you can read more about it here.

Western Bagua Map for Feng Shui by Funkthishouse

Where to Feature Yellow in Your Home

If you're following the principles of Feng Shui, and map your house out using Western Bagua, choose the colors for each room by how the rooms are positioned on the map. By the way, you don't have to go hog-wild with the suggested color; if you're a less-is-more type, simply feature the color in selected pieces and accessories.

As an example, according to this map, if I wanted to feature yellow in my own home, I could choose it as a main color or add it in the form of accessories to our kitchen, family room or foyer.

However, the most powerful use of yellow would be to include it in our Good Fortune area, which happens to be the foyer. Prosperity/Wealth, Reputation/Fame and Love/Relationships lands in our kitchen and family room, so a bit of yellow in these rooms would also work.

So does that mean I shouldn't decorate our family room and kitchen in colors other than fire colors? No of course not. Feng Shui is simply a guideline of how to maximize the power of energy in the form of color, décor and placement. The bottom line is the power of your own energy, your own mood, and what you do to promote positivity in the home and with your family.

Yellow is an Uplifting and Sociable Color

Yellow is a good energy color that stands for clarity, optimism, joy, freshness and intellect. These attributes are key to encouraging conversation and an uplifting environment. So naturally, it makes sense to add yellow in the home to help to achieve these mood goals.

As an example if you would like to enhance communication with your significant other, go ahead and decorate your Master Suite with yellow, or just add a bit of yellow to the room. When he starts unexpectedly becoming chatty, you can smile and blame it on the yellow.

If you're looking for Yellow Home Décor pieces, click each of the boxes below and various furnishings in that category will drop down right on the page: Oh HAPPY DAY:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 28, 2018

Decorating Your Living Room With Pink and Purple

It takes a certain amount of bravery to decorate a room with such powerful yet soft colors. Not a lot of people are up to it.

Think about how many people you know who have taken the plunge and painted their foyer or main rooms Lavender. I'll take a wild guess and say, very few.

Of course bedrooms and bathrooms often see pink or purple on the wall, but it truly takes a free spirit to turn a living or dining room into a pink/purple haven.

A Pink and Purple Living Room Design Can Be Done

The first step before any decorating begins, is to determine the mood you want to create for that space when it's completed.

How do you want the room to feel to those who enter? If the answer to your question is, relaxed, calm, and serene, mixed with a touch of royalty and class, then hang on to your decorator's hat .... you're a candidate for a purple and pink living room. Yikes you say?

The Basic Template for the Room

The basic template for you space is what goes on the walls, ceiling and floor. After deciding on the mood, you must next decide these items.

However, you should have the couch, chair and rug colors established at the same time so that you can match one of the colors from those pieces with the wall and/or ceiling paint. And yes, you can paint your ceilings dark colors.

Wall Treatments - Will You Have Any?

If you're planning purple for the wall, and your budget permits it, add Wainscoting to the living room. Put the Wainscotting all the way around the walls or just on one wall - you decide. Quite frankly, all the way around is a fantastic look, especially when a great deal of color is about to be introduced to the space.

Wainscotting painted a light soft blush, versus, the standard stark white, would look incredible with dark purple walls that match a shade of purple in the area rug. This Pinterest Board features various wainscoting styles and designs. Take a look to get an idea of the choices available. There are plenty.

The Furniture and Accessories

There are an abundance of options to choose from. However, if you need the choices narrowed down, check out these pre-selected purple and pink furniture items featured here. The design choice was centered on softness and grace.
  • The Sofa: Soft Pink/Blush
  • The Rug: Darker Purple
  • The Sideboard: Dark Wood with Purple Tones
  • The Pictures: Flowered with Purple and Pink Tones
  • The Floor Poufs: Faux Fir White
  • The Coffee & End Tables: Rose Gold and Glass
  • The Chairs: Soft Pink Striped
  • The Drapes: Graceful Soft Linen Light Pink
  • The Accessories: Pink, Purple, White - Plants, Flowers and Candles
  • The Lamps: Dark purple base with light colored lamp shade (white or pastels)



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 21, 2018

Decorate with Purple in 2018 - Why? Because Ultra Violet is Pantone's Color of the Year

That's Right, Ultra Violet (Shade 18-3838) is Pantone's Color of the Year for 2018: Although not the exact shade, choose any Shade of Purple to Decorate With and You'll be Fitting In with 2018's Trend 

If you're not familiar with how Pantone's Color of the Year is selected, in summary, it's chosen as a reflection of society and it's current cultural expressions and often by it's needs.
“The Pantone Color of the Year has come to mean so much more than ‘what’s trending’ in the world of design; it’s truly a reflection of what’s needed in our world today.” – Laurie Pressman, Vice President of the Pantone Color Institute"
Individuality, unconventionality and artistic brilliance are some of the words Pantone uses to describe the reasons Ultra-Violet was chosen for 2018.

Spirituality is often associated with Purple. As an example, if you're a church goer you've seen the spiritual connection with purple during Lent when a Catholic Priest wears his purple robe. With Lent being a time of empathy for suffering and penance, purple is the chosen color for this time. It's not meant as a negative, but rather to give something of ourselves as a way of acknowledging Jesus' suffering for us.

If you're not a believer in traditional religions, purple is still referenced as an associated color for mindfulness. Whether it's for Yoga, Meditation or InspiringButterfly Lilac Bedding Duvet SetButterfly Lilac Bedding Duvet Set Gatherings, purple lighting, purple scents and purple art, are often used to compliment and reflect the calming intention of a group.

In home décor you'll find that purple is used to enhance a design that is bravely unique to the point that a home owner has no qualms about creating an environment that boldly stands out for all who enter. Call it, 'a little shock and awe in home decorating'.

Where the conservative decorator tends toward neutrals, purple is often for the individualists among us. It's not so much about being fearless, but more about recognizing self within our environment. Of course, if you're not a fan of purple it doesn't matter how much of an individualist you are, you simply won't decorate with the color!

In Business Marketing, purple is often used to represent trends, services or products that are higher in quality or sophistication. If your business reflects a higher level of quality, purple may be a color to include in your branding.

In short, decorate the way you want to decorate! No matter the trends, your home is your personal space and should reflect who you are and what you love. But if you happen to love Purple, you're in luck for 2018!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 14, 2018

3 Ways to Add Color to Your Wall Without Painting

Three Ways to Add Colors to Your 
Walls Without Painting
Photo by: Funkthishouse.com
Colorful décor comes in many funky ways, simple but true.

If painting the walls just isn't in the cards, but adding color is, you can do it by including wall and furniture items that hold colorful, necessary home accessories.

Use Your Nail Polish as a Colorful Wall Art Display - Featured Below

Instead of having a drawer filled with a collection of colorful and expensive nail polish, display them in a stylish metal rack on the wall. 

The functional dual purpose of a nail polish wall rack makes it an original accessory for a washroom, dressing room, vanity desk area, or the bedroom.

The racks themselves are fairly reasonable in price so acquiring a couple to fill a large nail polish collection won't break the bank. Best of all, with two metal wall racks you have double the wall art. 

Don't hesitate to give a nail polish wall rack as a gift. These items tend to be labelled 'perks' that most people won't bother treating themselves to, so receiving one would be a treat. If there's someone in your life who's known for their massive collection of nail polish, this item could be a hit!

Wall Unit Plant Stand for Multi-Colored Plants - Featured Below

Plants add energy, freshness and style to a room. Often times we want to add plants, but after looking around the room, come to the conclusion there's no place for them.

If you use a wall to feature a Ladder Plant Stand, you're able to locate that stand in one appropriate place in the room to display multiple plants.

Most importantly, you've added color to the room without painting the walls by using multi-colored flowers and plants. How nice is that ... instead of toxic paint, you have lovely air freshening plants.

A Spice Rack: Use a Decorative Rack in the Kitchen- Featured Below

New kitchen's normally have spice drawers, and older kitchen's tend to have spice cupboards. Who says you have to use either. 

If you're not one of the fortunate who have a modern pull-out spice cupboard located along side of the oven, then you're free to take all your colorful spices and feature them on the wall by using a Spice Wall Rack.

The metal spice racks are particularly stylish. They fit with virtually any décor style; modern, rustic, country, contemporary, and traditional. Place it for all to see, as you would any piece of wall art.

And there you have it, three easy-peasy ways to add color to the walls without painting.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 17, 2017

3 Home Decor Items that Will Add Sunshine to Your Space

Yellow Sunflower Clock Here
No need to frown when the sun isn't shining, simply add a few items to your home that bring the sunshine indoors. 

Your home is more than just an assembly of pieces, it's a reflection of who you are.

There's nothing carved in stone that says you have to limit your home decoration pieces to standard, traditional accessories and furnishings. 

Décor items that encourage positive feelings can help to create a positive mood and environment.

Here are three creative ways to add sunshine to a room using funky decorating pieces:

Sunshine, Sunflower Wall Clock

Add this 3D Yellow Leaves Sunshine Clock to the kitchen or hallway. The clock measures approximately twelve inches around and comes in three different colors.

The clocks come in pink, yellow and white making them ideal on a colorful wall as indicated in the photo. Add one to a den or outdoor patio area, or better yet, use it in a flower themed bedroom.

Add an Outstanding 3D Printed Ceiling Mural
Amazing Leaves & Sunshine Ceiling Mural Here

This is certainly unlike anything most of us have seen. Ceiling murals are fast becoming the latest craze.

The three dimensional scenery designs bring the outdoors in. Fabulous and different, that's what you get with one of this on your ceiling!

If you're not ready to add one to a main room, try it in a bedroom first. They look incredible where mouldings have been installed around the ceiling so that the mural appears inset. But if you don't have any trim to frame the mural, not worry, simply put it on the entire ceiling. 

The mural comes in seven size options and is made of a durable, waterproof, self-adhesive PVC material.

Sunshine and Trees 5pc Canvas Art
Golden Sunshine and Trees Canvas Art will add Crisp Freshness

If you're more on the traditional side when it comes to home décor, this funky yet standard canvas art piece makes an excellent choice.

Spread sunshine and a forest feel throughout the room when you feature this outstanding canvas art in the living room, den, office, or bedroom.

They also make an excellent housewarming or birthday gift. The person receiving this will certainly be thrilled ... who wouldn't be. You'll notice that this piece is quite affordable as it's non-framed. That means you have to add the canvas art to your own frame. However, you can easily find numerous pieces of already framed canvas art here.

It's five pieces are non-glare and moisture resistant. They're easy to clean as well; simply wipe them down with a slightly damp cloth. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Organizing Your Kitchen Cupboards - Where to Start?

Organizing your kitchen cabinets!
I don't know about you, but my kitchen cupboards get messy (and we won't even talk about the odds 'n ends drawer!).  I think in my mind I believe I should have a walk in pantry, but in reality I don't which means that it's not big enough!  Back in the real world I'm sure that my pantry is big enough for my household, I just need to review how to organize it better!

I did buy an expandable metal shelf for the cupboard that houses my mugs and teas and this was fantastic, but I didn't think it would work the best for my pantry.

Problem number one is herbs and spices.  Now the old spice racks that I used to have would be great except I have no where to put them and also I have a couple of herbs and spices that I buy in larger containers as I use more of them.

Problem number two is cans.  I buy quite a few canned goods especially when they're on special, but I have to stack them on top of each other to see what I have and if I want to use something it can no longer be stacked so it sits behind something else and get's doubled up.

A solution?  I came across a three tier cabinet organizer and thought yes, this could be it!  I tested it out with my herbs and spices and then with my cans and went back to get a second one.

Now I know you can get can organizers that you can fit lots of cans in and they just roll out, but I just didn't think that would work very well in my home.  With this three tier organizer I can pop on my cans and see at a glance what I have.  Now you might look at the image and think well I can't read what the label says, but I pretty much know what the cans I buy look like so I can see enough to know exactly what's there.

Click image to go to Amazon and check the price of this awesome organizer (and buy it if you want to!)

As far as my herbs and spices go I find it works well, but it may not be the best organization solution for you as you don't really see the names on the spices.

Photo by Lou16
Check out my image to see what I mean.  Now this is fine by me because I keep my herbs and spices in alphabetical order except for the the larger containers which aren't showing (they're to the right if I had a better photo to show you).

If that sounds a little OCD - it's not, I just worked retail for a decade and in my mind alphabetical for herbs is the way to go!

I also know exactly what herbs and spices I have - someone coming into my kitchen may have problems using my organizer, but you know what?  I don't care, I just want to have it organized for me (and my husband as he's a great cook)!

I have a few other problem areas that need to be organized and I'm working on them.   I need to organize my cake decorating stuff - I have an idea on how to do that so stay tuned!

Another problem area is all of the bulk foods that I have especially since my daughter turned vegan.  I also think I have a solution for this problem too so there will definitely be a follow up post on organizing your kitchen cupboards.

Do you use anything special to organize your pantry?

One thing that my entire home lacks is enough storage so I've tried lots of different ways to keeping things organized, I hope to share more with you in the future.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Wild and Funky 3D Tablecloths for Special Occasions

Lively Red Roses 3D Tablecloth Found Here
Believe it or not, tablecloths are not only practical, they can also add art to a themed party or gathering.

It's the 3D design on these tablecloths that make them outstanding ... literally, outstanding.

Although only three are featured, you can check out a wide selection of them here.

You'll find one for just about any party or occasion. Better yet, feature them all year round to add an element of funk to your space.

They're made of a high quality polyester and are water resistant. Their durability prevents pilling and fading.

Big 3D Roses Tablecloth for Valentines Day

If you're planning a special dinner for Valentines Day, decorate the table with this spectacular 3D roses tablecloth.

The visual impact is powerful and is sure to provide a little shock and awe for your guest. There are eight size options as well, so you're sure to find the right one for your table set.
Awesome 3D Soccer Tablecloth - Found here

Impressive 3D Soccer Tablecloth for Themed Parties

If you're hosting a Soccer themed party include one or more of these tablecloths to punch up the space. Use them inside or outside or hang them on the wall as art if needed.

They also make an original hostess gift. Bring one to the party and it'll surely be a hit with the guests. The unique 3D artistic design will probably become the conversation piece of the party.

Sports team organizers could also include these tablecloths for special team events.

They also make an excellent gift idea for the coach. If you need a special gift for that dedicate teacher in your life, these tablecloths quality.
Purple Blossoms 3D Tablecloth Here

Cheerful Spring Time Garden Flowers for Garden Parties

Whether you simply want to brighten up a sunroom or plan to decorate multiple tables for your garden party, this tablecloth does both.

It's uniqueness makes it perfect for bridal showers as well. Whether your party is indoors or outdoors, this tablecloth can be included. You're in luck if the bride's colors happen to be pink or purple!

Again, put it up on the wall as art, give them as gifts or just use them for their intended purpose.

Once you visit the links under the photos it will take you to the product page and you'll be given the pricing, sizing and other details. Be sure to inspect the related products at the bottom of the product page in case you're needing an alternate design for your tablecloth. There are many to choose from ... other than these three. Look for the holiday season tablecloths, they're pretty cool as well.

Happy decorating!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON: