Friday, August 11, 2017

Sunbeam Shoulder Wrap Heating Pad Reviewed

Sunbeam Shoulder Wrap Heating Pad Reviewed
If you ever have shoulder or neck pain, you will understand instantly why I love my Sunbeam Shoulder Wrap Heating Pad. 

After decades of trying to force a standard back heating pad to wrap around my neck, I finally invested in a heating pad that was made specifically for shoulders and necks.  It is well worth every penny I paid for it!
 
When I think of the thousands of times that I tried to hold a heating pad between my neck and shoulder, I seriously wonder why I waited so long to search for a shoulder wrap heating pad.  

Since I need both hands to type, I really don't have an easy way to hold a square heating pad in place between my neck and shoulder.  If I try to hold it in place by squeezing it between my shoulder and neck, then I end up with even worse neck pain.  Out of desperation, I've even tried tying a heating pad to my neck with a long shoe string.  Actually, that kind of worked. but I don't recommend it.  What I do recommend is the Sunbeam Shoulder Wrap Heating Pad.



The Sunbeam Shoulder Wrap Heating Pad

Sunbeam 885-911 Renue Heat Therapy Neck and Shoulder Wrap
This is truly one of the best gifts I have ever given myself!  Even if I am not in extreme pain, the warmth gives relief to my shoulders when I spend the day typing.  

The shoulder wrap heating pad has several features that I love, but my favorite is that little heated piece of fabric that goes up the back of my neck.  Having the heat situated and held in place on the vertebral segments in my neck is fabulous!  It tends to make my lower back quite jealous.

Other Wonderful Features of the Sunbeam Shoulder Wrap Heating Pad

  •  Magnetic Clasp in the front to hold it closed at the throat
  •  Multiple Heat Settings from Warm to High Heat
  •  Designed to "drape" over Shoulders and Around Neck
  •  Weighted to Hold in Place
  •  Auto Shut-off after 2 hours
  •  Super long Electric Cord  (Mine is 9 feet) 
  •  Odorless, unless you use a pain relieving cream or rub for  penetrating relief.
  •  Machine Washable
The instructions say that you can lightly spritz the wrap with water for a damp steam effect, but I have never tried that.  I use mine dry. 

 
Read More Product Reviews at
ReviewThisProductReviews.com




Sunbeam Shoulder Wrap Heating Pad Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, August 10, 2017

Review of Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse

Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse

Rockland Breakwater Lighthouse

 

In the 1800's the Rockland harbor was one of the busiest on the mid coast of Maine.  A thriving limestone industry along with shipbuilding and fishing made this harbor essential for the mid Maine economy.  In order to protect the harbor between 1881 and 1899 a long granite breakwater was built.  In 1902 a lighthouse on the end of the breakwater was put into operation.  The tower of the lighthouse is 25 feet tall and it is attached to a keeper's house.  The light of the lighthouse flashes white every 5 seconds and in foggy weather a fog signal puts out one blast every 15 seconds.


Long Rocky Walk to Lighthouse


Rocky Walk to Light
As you can see in the photo above the breakwater is made of chunks of granite.  On the day we visited there were several people walking down the breakwater to see the lighthouse at the end.  After walking about a quarter of the way, I decided the long walk with my camera equipment was a bit treacherous so I stopped put on my long lenses and photographed from a distance.  I also took several shots from the shore. One of the photos from the shore captures Owls Head lighthouse in the distance. Click on the link below the photo to read more about Owls Head lighthouse.

Owls Head Lighthouse

Today the lighthouse is still an active aid  to navigation.  You can visit the lighthouse by walking the 7/8 of a mile down the granite breakwater. Here is a photo of the lighthouse taken from the shore.




Ledges by the Bay

 

The motel that we stayed at was about a mile from the lighthouse and we had a wonderful view of another small bay adjoining the Rockland harbor.  The photos below show the view from our room.  It was exciting to watch the beautiful colors of the sunrise and sunset and to see the clipper ships sail past our view.





Zazzle Products from my Photos




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Book Lovers Day, Let's Review Coffee Table Books for Everyone

In honor of Book Lovers Day, I'm looking at my collection of books and marveling at the variety of subjects that grace my coffee table!

Let's Review what makes a great Coffee Table Book Collection and see where it takes us.
coffee table books, special interest coffee table books, myriads of book topics
The beauty about Coffee Table books is that they are really truly works of art in themselves.  The topics can range from Architecture right through to Zebras in the Serengeti!   There are subjects that are as individual as we all are.  What appeals to one person may not appeal to another and yet when I look at Coffee Table Books (the big ones with beautiful pictures of people and places), I am always in awe at the myriad of choices.  The one common part of every Coffee Table Book is a great review of the topic and pictures that you and I will never be able to replicate.  

Travel Books

Travel books make a great collection that will be enjoyed by your many friends and family.  Especially if they are places that you have visited.  Most of the time these Travel Books have the highest quality pictures and always done under the most perfect conditions.  Now let's be clear, I am not talking about "Travel Guides" for different destinations, but rather those beautiful large hard covered books that show places in their best and most photographic light.  I have a beautiful book on the Sistine Chapel.  It is one of my favorite Coffee Table Books, because while I have seen the Sistine Chapel with my own eyes, trying to get a great picture of it when there are hundreds of people milling about, is almost impossible.  
travel coffee table books, art and architecture books, places and people coffee table books


Special Interest Books

Everyone has their own special interests and that is what makes coffee table books so interesting to me.  You may like History, while someone else is into the History of Comics.  Both of these subjects are well covered in Coffee Table Books.  There is everything in between too!  Fashion, Wars, Machinery, Animals and a host of other topics are all bound up in beautiful books that just wait for your eyes to enjoy them.  The turning of the pages will show you picture after picture of marvels that man has either made, built, destroyed and more.  There are books to inspire and even Old First Edition books that are proudly displayed on the coffee table or a bookshelf close by.  One of my favorite topics is Architecture, so needless to say this book featuring works of Gaudi, happens to be a "go to"  book when I need to relax and just enjoy some amazing buildings that are famous in their own rite.
coffee table books, architecture picture books, special interest coffee table books

Humor and Levity don't stray too far from our Coffee Table either!

My husband can be found on a Sunday evening enjoying the antics of "Calvin and Hobbs!"  He had started to collect the comics out of the paper especially when he found one that related so well to our children.  He would keep these in a file folder at his desk.  One time when one of  our boys came home, they found his "clippings file!"  That Christmas they got together and purchased the Complete Collection of Calvin and Hobbs for their dad.  Today, 10 years later, it is not uncommon to see him enjoying this gift and laughing with delight.  Friends have come for a visit and found themselves drawn to our eclectic collection of coffee table books.  Needless to say we enjoy sharing these books with our friends.  Is there a rhyme or reason for any of these books to be there?  No, other than they are all topics that we enjoy.  We can pull out a book and lose ourselves in the Space Race, the Sistine Chapel, Gaudi's amazing architecture or just laugh with Calvin or Elizabeth in my "For Better or Worse Collection."  Of course these days there is also a whole section in our bookcase beside the coffee table for the Complete Works of  Dr. Seuss!  When the grandchildren come to visit, they have their own "little library" and sit quite contently on the floor, flipping through their books strewn all over the coffee table.

Topics for Everyone!

Coffee Table Books come in any genre imaginable.  There are lovely books on Dogs, Cats, Birds, Mountains, Fish in the Oceans, and the list is endless.  I would suggest that if you have a friend or two with a special interest in a certain topic, you will find a Coffee Table book that they would enjoy for many years to come.  They do make a great gift for that person that has just about everything under the sun and I know that they will get enjoyment out of your thoughtfulness.  A beautiful quote that suits your friend and the topic of the book is all that needs to be added.  What a wonderful gift indeed!

Just In Case:


There is the chance that you don't really like these lovely picture books, so for those who would rather have a pile of paperbacks or latest Best Sellers on their coffee table, then check out all the great Book Reviews you'll find right here: Review This Book Reviews

All pictures are courtesy of Pixabay.com







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

The Collection (A Series) Reviewed

An Intriguing Drama Series To Stream 

sewing machine for fashion
Sewing Machine image courtesy of Pixabay.com
The Collection is a series of episodes that can be streamed through an Amazon Prime membership. My husband and I started viewing it this weekend and we are really caught up in the drama of the show. 

The story takes place in the late 1940s after WWII in Paris. It revolves around the fashion industry focusing on a small house of couture called Paul Sabine. 

In case you are not much of a history buff, during the war France was occupied by the Germans. As one can imagine the fashion industry of Paris suffered during this occupation. In fact, Hitler wanted to move the fashion houses and designers to Germany. 

The series hints at some collaboration with the Germans during the occupation and also shows how the industry is trying to make a comeback and restore its recognition of being the best place in the world for couture and new styles.



I am not one who really gets too caught up in fashion but I do love the premise of this series. The set designs are remarkable! I love seeing how the staff worked at making a design on paper come to life in the sewing room. The attention to detail in how that room would have looked is amazing. In one scene a girl is working on a dress on a mannequin and my husband said, "What does she have on her wrist?" It was a wonderful old fashioned pin cushion that a seamstress would have worn on her wrist for convenience.

One might think that most men would not enjoy this series much since it deals with Paris fashion houses. My husband is really enjoying it because there is more than just creating unique dresses involved. I mentioned the hints of collaboration with the Nazis. There is an American reporter who is trying to dig up some dirt on that front. There is also a conflict between the two Sabine brothers that is quite interesting. Paul, who is known as the owner and top designer of the House of Sabine doesn't really design the dresses. His brother Claude is the real talent behind their designs but the public doesn't know that. I don't think most of the staff realizes who the real genius is. The mother of the brothers is pretty interesting too! There is something from her past that makes her mysterious. Paul is holding something over her and she does not want Claude to find out. She is a real piece of work!

We are finding that there is enough going on that both genders, male and female, can enjoy this series found on Amazon. The story holds your attention and keeps you wondering what will happen next. It is currently rated 4.6 stars out of 5 so it would appear that most viewers are rating it highly.

 Currently the only way to view it is through your Prime membership. That might change in the future but for now only Prime members can watch it for free. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 7, 2017

Moodle Stressed Review

Moodles - doodles that change your mood.
What is a Moodle? In a Google search, the word "Moodle" brings up a variety of search results. The Moodle I am reviewing is a book series that was designed by the author to improve mood through doodling. This is a book that I personally would have picked up from the shelf, flipped through, then put back on the shelf and wandered away. But after seeing the Stressed volume put to use, I decided that I needed to help spread the word about the Moodle series.  


What is a Moodle and why is there a series?


The Moodle books were written and illustrated by Emily Portnoi. She describes the books as:


"...a new concept in therapeutic doodling - fun doodle books for adults or children, with the power to change your mood"  -- Emily Portnoi

Ms. Portnoi is a Designer, Art Director, and Illustrator. I think that her enjoyment of aesthetics and fun art is easy to see in the pages of her book.


Why I recommend the Moodle Stressed Volume


Since I admitted that this is a book that I would have leafed through then left behind on the bookstore shelf, why would I now recommend that very same book? I recommend it because one of my "kids" recommended it. And I watched as this young person "Moodled" into calmness.

There is nothing new about coloring, doodling, and fidgeting (keeping the hands busy while focusing on a task) as a means of relieving stress or anxiety. Ms. Portnoi writes that her books are a new concept in therapeutic doodling. I don't fully agree with that statement. Doodling/drawing is something that I've done with the kids I work with for just over two decades now (wow, time flies!). Some of the doodles in the Moodle book were very similar to things I've done with the kids over the years.

Are you still wondering why I recommend these books? I can see why you would be wondering that.  Let me explain a little more.


  • The size of the book is a handy size (approx. 6" x 7.8").   
  • The bold print of the illustrations is eye-catching and Ms. Portnoi's illustrations are fun and engaging.  
  • What is new about her books is the variety of activities. All of the suggested doodles are open-ended and can be as brief or detailed as the user chooses.  
  • The page corners are rounded and smooth
  • The pages are thick and a slightly "slick" paper stock (I am not a publisher, so I am unsure of the correct terminology). Not too slick for pens and pencils, but not regular rough paper stock.
  • The feel/texture of the pages were clearly pleasing to the youngster I was with while we colored in the book.

A few quick photos I took of some of the pages in the Stressed volume to show the variety of activities

The book is suitable for pencils, pens, and colored pencils. I did note that my young friend was using markers and gel pens. Some of the most vibrant and "wet" ink markers/pens did slightly bleed through the pages while some of the gel pens did not.

While this book was not my cup of tea, it was clearly very enjoyable for this young person. The activity did in fact improve mood and release stress in a remarkably short period of time. 

As we sat and colored, I realized that I should stock up on some of the books in this series. I think that the book series will be helpful for folks who need to calm, focus, release stress, and improve mood. In my mind, I created a list of some of the people I will recommend the book to - including folks on the Autism Spectrum and who have difficulties with symptoms of anxiety, impulsivity, and ADHD.


The Moodles series offered on Amazon - including Moodles Happy


Related Link


I enjoy coloring and doodling and was recently reminded of the importance of carrying supplies with me. I prefer mandala style coloring pages and discovered these small on-the-go adult coloring books.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 5, 2017

Salt Life Review

Salt Life Signature Decal
What is Salt Life, you may be asking?

Salt Life, as defined by the Urban Dictionary, is:

“Salt Life ~ Originally a sticker on the back of cars used to denote a surfer, bodyboarder, or general beach bum whose  life centered around the ocean or related beach going activities.”



Recently I reviewed apparel by Southern Fried Cotton, carried in the clothing department of the store I work for.  Since our store is located in a coastal community, we cater to ocean and beach related clothing, popular in our area.  Salt Life is another Southern and Coastal Company which manufactures the type of clothing we carry.

 

Origin of Salt Life


The Salt Life brand has come to represent the ocean and the many activities centered around it. It appeals to those who enjoy an active lifestyle surrounding surfing, fishing, diving and days spent on the beach.

Salt Life was begun in 2003 by four men who, besides being friends, were also passionate about the ocean and all it has to offer.  These four 'watermen' are from Jacksonville Beach, Florida and thus that is where their company is located. Salt Life is more than just a Logo ~ it represents a style of life that is ocean and beach related.



Explore the Salt Life in TeeShirts, Hats, Decals and Lots More...

 

Cut Salt Marlin Life T-Shirt
Popular with fans of ocean fishing is the Salt Life Marlin Tee Shirts. They come in a variety of colors, and are found in different designs such as the Sun Tee (marlin leaping with sun behind it), Palm Tee (showing a palm tree on the beach and the marlin leaping in the ocean), and Marlin Waves (colorful design of a marlin leaping out of a large ocean wave). 

The Ocean Life tee shirt line represents all there is to love about the ocean ~ the surfing, swimming, fishing and fun beach life.

There are fishing theme T-shirts with the “Life in the Cast Lane” sayings and designs such as hook, line & sinker that fishermen love.  There are skull themes and anchor images, turtles and many others.



Sea La Vie Ladies T-Shirt @ Salt Life

Especially for the ladies, there are scoop neck Tees with clever sayings that remind one of the  ocean and coast, such as “Sea La Vie”, “Seahorse Daze”, and “Living Salty Turtle”.
 

Salt Life Anchored Hat

Salt Life also has a wide variety of hats for these seaside activities.  Live the Salt Life is one of their favorite mottos.  This 'Anchor' hat is a favorite for your beach-going activities.

 

Salty Crab Decal @ Salt Life

And, of course, there are stickers and decals, such as the one seen in the Introduction image and this Salty Crab decal.  Check out all the Salt Life images of fishing poles and fish, sea turtles, palm trees, Salty crab and more. 


Salt Life also carries clothing for kids, a line of shorts for men & women, and other beach gear such as beach towels, flags and coolers.

Everything that is a reminder of your favorite oceanside sport or beach activity.  Check them all out on the Salt Life website.

 

Salt Life Food Shack


In addition to their clothing and gear designs, Salt Life also has restaurants called 'Food Shacks'. Currently, these restaurants are located in Jacksonville Beach, Florida, St. Augustine Beach, Florida and Fernandina Beach, Florida, with plans to open more. They are known for their eclectic seafood menu and are lively hangouts for the beach-going crowd.

Enjoy Local Fried Shrimp and Beer Can Chicken, salads and tacos and Fresh Rolled Sushi, fresh fish and salt water favorites.  Check the Jacksonville Beach menu here
for these and many other selections, all available in their casual yet trendy open-air space located near the beach. Their motto is “Pull up a stool. Eat. Drink. And be Salty.” 


Roatan Marine Park


The Salt Life Company 'gives back' in an effort to protect the oceans they love and preserve the seas and coral reefs for future generations. They have teamed with Roatan Marine Park to protect the waters and reefs in Roatan, Honduras. Check out the Roatan Marine Park website
to see how they are working to provide a sustainable marine environment that can provide fisheries and tourism without harming the ecosystem.


Summary

 

Salt Life Signature Turtle Decal

Everyone enjoys the Salt Life, whether it's participating in water sports or simply having a 'beach day'. The Salt Life clothing and gear is perfect for anyone, seaman or land lovers,  wanting a trip to the beach. The Salt Life Food Shacks specialize in tasty seafood.


Live the Salt Life!



Quick Links:
 

Salt Life Website
Salt Life Food Shack
Salt Life Tees, Gear & More on Amazon






*Salt Life Review by Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 4, 2017

How to Create An Image Slideshow & Add Image Slideshow in Blogger Post Reviewed

How to Create An Image Slideshow & Add Image Slideshow in Blogger Post

Easy Instructions for Creating a Slideshow for Blogger Posts


Blogger is a fabulous free blogging site, but it does have it limits.  While you can easily add single images to a blogger post, there is no slideshow option available.  Therefore, we must improvise by creating and adding our own slideshows to our Blogger articles. 

Last week, I featured a slideshow in my How to Grill the Perfect Steaks article.   While the images were not especially "pretty", the pictorial tutorial would be extremely helpful to a grilling beginner.

This week, I will show you how to create and add your slideshows to your own Blogger posts.  If you follow these few simple instructions, you will find out for yourself just how easy it is to generate beautiful image slideshows to feature on a Blogger post.


How to Create An Image Slideshow for Blogger

You do need a Google account since we will be using the Google Slides.   Follow these very easy steps to create your own slideshow.

  1.   Click here to open Google Slides
  2.   Select "Blank" under Start a Presentation
  3.   Select "Insert" then "Image" from the Drop Down Menu
  4.   Upload Your Image 
  5.   Add Additional Images by Clicking the + sign on the top left
      and repeat Step 3 until all of your images are added.

Slideshow Showing Images of Steps


 

How to Add an Image Slideshow in a Blogger Post

Once you have finished adding all of the photos to your slideshow, it is time to publish and embed the slideshow in your Blogger post.


  1. Select File and scroll to "publish to web"

  2. How to Add a Slideshow to Your Blogger Post


  3. Copy the Code
  4. Add Image Slideshow in Blogger Post

  5. Paste the code in the html of your Blogger post
How to Create An Image Slideshow for a Blogger Post

 

This is How It Looks on Compose in Your Blogger Post

How to Create An Image Slideshow for a Blogger Post


Additional Options In Google Slides for Creating Slideshows

  • You can change the background color under the Layout Tab
  • Change the layout to accommodate 2 images instead of one
  • Images can be Cropped
  • Change the layout to Combine Text and Photos
  • Text can be Added on Photos 
  • Add Links to Photos
  • Rearrange the Images by Simply Dragging Image
  • Add or Change Photos after the Slideshow is published
  • Built-in Spell Checker
  • Undo & Redo Buttons


Example Slideshow



 

 

More Tips & Tutorials for Blogger




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, August 3, 2017

Mr. Church Movie Review

Inspired by a True Friendship


Recently I went in search of a good movie. What I found was a character who touched my heart. His name and that of the movie? Mr. Church. Here's my review.

It's been hot out, good movie watching weather, so recently I went in search of a new movie to enjoy. What I found was a character who touched my heart. His name? Mr. Church.

I was attracted to the movie at first by the number of excellent reviews, over 18,000 on Amazon, averaging 4.7 out of 5, with zero 1-star ratings (which may put the accuracy of the old saying, "You can't please all the people, all of the time" in question).

The movie description came next, something about a little girl, her dying mother, their cook, and a family bond that lasts forever. I watched the trailer, though I actually suggest that you might want to skip that. I like to go into a movie knowing little about the twists and turns of the plot and this trailer, typically, does give a few things away. But, on the other hand, you might want to watch it just to get a taste of the beautiful mood of the movie. And it is a beautiful movie. I'll leave the trailer decision up to you.

The movie stars Eddie Murphy and Britt Robertson. Yes, the same Eddie Murphy that you might know from Saturday Night Live or The Nutty Professor. But this movie is no comedy. It's a touching drama that will capture your curiosity just like Mr. Church captured Charlie's (Britt Robertson's character) when she first saw him and reported to her mother that, "There's a black man in our kitchen, cooking eggs."

Every character in the movie is well written, well cast, and well acted. Even the minor characters, those with less time on screen, are important as is every line of dialogue they speak. In fact, this movie reminds me of a wonderful book, one with not a single word that isn't important to the whole of the story. The setting, too, beginning in 1971 Los Angeles, was perfect.

I want to tell you more, but I don't like spoilers and I hope you'll trust that I'm steering you in a direction you'll be glad you followed once you watch the movie and get to know Mr. Church for yourself.

This movie is rated PG-13. It contains some rough language, but only in what I would call "appropriate places," and the subject matter is not intended for young children.

Mr. Church is available at the link to rent, stream, or purchase on DVD and may be included with your subscription of Amazon Prime.


~Susan Deppner
Read more of my reviews.

Check Out More Movie Reviews At




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

How To Trap Those Flies That Drive You Crazy: A Window Fly Trap Review

Flies in Your House Can Drive You Crazy

I'm usually pretty sane, but if I'm preparing a meal or trying to eat, seeing flies buzzing around me drives me nuts. Flies are dirty and carry diseases. I don't want them in my kitchen when I'm preparing, serving, or trying to eat food. 

How To Trap Those Flies That Drive You Crazy: A Window Fly Trap Review
Photo Courtesy of Pixabay, edited on FotoJet


Imagine my distress when my husband left the door open two weeks ago while he went outside to get something and about a dozen flies flew in! Once the flies were in, they didn't want to go back out.

 For at least ten days I fought them with folded newspapers and a fly swatter to no avail. Those pesky flies knew how to settle just where they would land on a clean dish or plate of food were I to swat them. I did get a couple who lit where I could hit them, but most escaped from my attacks. It seemed for every one I killed, two more would appear in its place. It seemed everywhere I went in the kitchen or family room, at least five flies were circling in the air. My stress level was high. 

My Electronic Fly Trap

After a few days of watching helplessly as the flies treated my table and walls as their personal airport, I remembered I once had an electronic trap for mosquitoes and other flying insects. I hadn't used it for years and was, in fact, storing it in the kitchen at our other house. I decided to retrieve it. In the past, it had caught a few flying insects. The one I own is obsolete now, but it was similar to this one and worked the same way. 


It uses light to attract the insects. Then it sucks them into a lower compartment with a powerful fan and traps them there. Eventually, they dehydrate. These traps work pretty well for mosquitoes, as I remember. Reviewers on eBay seem to agree with me. It may work for you if you have a problem with mosquitoes.

However, it did not work very well on my flies. I had it on the kitchen table and turned it on at night before I went to bed after other house lights were off. At my first morning bladder call, I'd shut the trap before the sun was up.  Unfortunately, my husband got up after me and thought he should turn it on again, which opened the trap. I'm not sure it ever caught a fly for long. Their numbers did not seem to decrease.

I brought my vintage Stinger NOsquito Ma06 Indoor Insect Mosquito Bug UV Light Quiet Electronic Trap | eBay decades ago. I don't remember where. I did find one like mine on eBay, which you can see if you follow the link above. 

Shopping for a Solution to My Fly Problem

Finally, I couldn't stand it anymore. I had to find a solution! I went to Walmart in search of fly paper, but they didn't have anything but sprays. I don't like poisons, especially spray poisons, anywhere I prepare or eat food. Rather than drive all over town, I checked Amazon. I found a description for Catchmaster Window Fly Traps.

These simple window traps got four to five-star reviews, depending on package size and seller. They were really cheap in comparison to the electronic zappers and light traps, some of which got much lower reviews. I figured I didn't have much to lose by trying the Catchmaster traps. They are very simple to use. They catch the flies that land on them with a very sticky surface that holds them in place. I keep my traps beneath the blinds that cover the windows.

How to Set the Catchmaster Window Fly Trap


How To Trap Those Flies That Drive You Crazy: A Window Fly Trap Review
Image created on FotoJet, © B. Radisavljevic

Here's how to prepare your traps:

  1. Open the package
  2. Pull out the trap
  3. Tear the narrow release strip off the trap
  4. Stick the trap in the corner of a window
  5. Be careful to put it where you won't need to touch it to open and shut the window
  6. Peel off the large release liner that faces toward you. 
  7. Wait patiently for the flies to land

My Results

How To Trap Those Flies That Drive You Crazy: A Window Fly Trap Review
Victims Trapped in My Kitchen Window. © B. Radisavljevic


I tend to be impatient, and catching flies this way isn't instant. I had put six traps in windows the day I got them. The next day only four flies were stupid enough to land on them. (I hate that flies seem to be smarter than I am.) As I write this, I've had my traps up for about ten days. I have trapped thirteen flies, a few gnats, and a couple of baby spiders that must have just hatched. I still have one very smart fly who continues to stay away from the traps. My east windows seem to catch the most flies.

Two days after I'd placed my first traps, Hubby went to shopping and found some Pic Window Fly Traps and brought them home. He didn't realize I still hadn't used all my Catchmaster traps. I finally decided to try a couple of the Pic traps to see if they would do any better at catching the flies still in the air. I picked one window and a bathroom mirror where I'd not yet caught any flies and put a Pic trap in another position in each of those places. They haven't caught any flies, either. Not yet.

Perhaps I just put the Pic traps in bad places, but a fly had circled that bathroom about every time I'd walked in. The Pic traps got better reviews a couple of years ago, but more recent users say they aren't as sticky as they used to be and aren't catching flies as well anymore.


How To Trap Those Flies That Drive You Crazy: A Window Fly Trap Review
God Designed the Very Best Fly Trap, © B. Radisavljevic
Of course, there is the messiness factor, and one can't be too squeamish.

My Recommendation

If flies are your primary problem, electronic zappers and light traps with fans probably won't work for you. I've read the reviews for just about all of them. I was leaning toward the light-fan combinations that plug in like night lights, but they got bad reviews. The electronic gadgets seem to work better on smaller flying insects with lighter bodies. They may be effective with gnats and mosquitoes, but the house flies that drive me crazy are much heavier. 

The Catchmaster Window Traps I tried worked pretty well. I'd much rather deal with one stubborn fly than fourteen. Getting the gnats and baby spiders, along with anything else that wants to land on my windows, is a bonus. 

I believe these traps are a great value for the money. My life has been much calmer since I put them in my windows. There is a bit of a yuck factor in having to look at trapped flies, but you can decide where to place your traps. If you put them in top window corners instead of the lower ones you won't have to look at them so often. You also need to be careful not to touch the sticky part of the traps. My mini blinds hide the traps, including the one next to the table, most of the time.

If flies in your kitchen drive you as crazy as they do me, I believe these window traps will help you as more or more than the other fly catching gadgets I've tried or looked at. Why not pick up an inexpensive package now so you'll be ready immediately to fight any flies who invade your home. Any mosquitoes, gnats, fruit flies, moths, and spiders you catch will just be a bonus. 




See more product reviews from our contributors.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

Fancy Feast Wet Cat Food Reviewed

Convenient Way To Purchase Food For Your Cat

tabby cat
Cat image courtesy of Pixabay.com
Let's talk about an option to feed our cats today by reviewing Fancy Feast wet cat food. My older kitty is kind of persnickety about what she will eat and what she will not. Why is it that cats seem more finicky about their food than dogs do? Every cat that has ever owned me, has had a definite opinion about what they want to eat. 

For many years, I fed my cat dry cat food and it was just fine. As she has aged, she started having problems with constipation and it was suggested that I switch her to wet food. That switch has helped tremendously! 

In the wild, cats love to dine on mice, bless their souls! It turns out that they instinctively know that a mouse provides a pretty balanced diet when it comes to a cat's health. As disgusting as it might sound to us humans, the mouse provides the right amount of meat, liquid and calcium for the feline digestive system. House cats (our pets) don't usually get to control their diets with mouse morsels like their feral cousins do. Our giving them only dry food may not meet their moisture requirements in their diets.

In my attempt to ease my own kitty's digestive troubles, I tried a few different kinds of wet cat food. She seemed to like the Fancy Feast meals the best. Once I had determined that, I started ordering it online because it is so darned convenient!


I love that there is a nice variety to choose from and that I can offer her something different each day. Typically, I will order a box like the one above and then the next time choose maybe the seafood collection or a different collection. My kitty seems to prefer the classic pate meals but there are options of grilled and ones with gravy, too.

The ability of having the cat food delivered to my door is wonderful! I find that I shop more and more that way for all sorts of products, not just my cat food. It is convenient, economical and I don't have to worry about having run out of food for my cat or the humans in the house. Don't you just love it?




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X