Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Double Black Diamond K-Cups Reviewed

Darkest Roast Coffee From Green Mountain

Cup of Dark Coffee image from Pixabay.com
Starting a k-cup in my brewer is one of the first things that I do in the morning. My husband accidentally purchased the Double Black Diamond k-cups recently when I had asked him to get me the usual dark roast that I keep in our cupboard. (I'm guessing he didn't have his glasses on, saw a D in the title and threw it in the cart.)

I will admit that I was a little upset but decided I would give this blend a try. It was a dark roast after all and that is what I prefer. My first cup seemed just a tad strong but I quickly became used to it. Now, I'm actually glad for his mistake because I really like the flavor. The packaging states that it is the darkest roast that they make. I chuckled at their claim on the box that says on a scale of one to ten this one rates an eleven.

The coffee is also an Extra Bold which is a term that is often confused with the roast profile of a coffee. It has nothing to do with the roast which could be light, medium or dark. The roast is determined by how long the beans are roasted in the machine for that purpose. The longer the beans are roasted the darker the beans become. The term extra bold actually has to do with how much coffee is in the k-cup. They don't specifically say how much more coffee is in the cup but often the standard is as much as 25% more. Depending on one's taste buds that could result in a richer body or a better flavor.

I personally like a strong flavor to my cup of coffee; often a light roast almost tastes watered down to me. So, I enjoy the dark roast of Double Black Diamond and since it is extra bold (with more coffee) a k-cup gives me a nice strong cup to start my day.

One might think that because you are brewing the darkest roast with a little more coffee that it would just be exploding with caffeine. Actually the amount of caffeine in any cup of coffee (light, medium or dark) is pretty darned close to the same. Oh there might be a minimal difference but not much. The amount of caffeine in a cup of coffee actually has more to do with how the grounds were measured out to make a cup or pot and not by the roast. The roasting process doesn't alter the amount of caffeine much at all.

To me it is about flavor. I like a lot of flavor to my coffee and that is why I am glad that my husband made a mistake when he brought home a box of Double Black Diamond K-cups instead of my usual choice.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Halloween Dress For Women Reviewed

Add A Seasonal Dress To Your Choices

halloween pumpkins
Halloween Is Coming 
Having a Halloween dress available to wear is a really fun idea for women. Fortunately, you do not have to choose something that looks like a costume.

Back when I was a working woman, I liked to wear seasonal items to work. It was one way that I could show my festive spirit, no matter what holiday was approaching. It was easy to find things for the Christmas holidays but not so much for Halloween. 

I could usually find fun earrings to wear but when it came to clothing there wasn't much of an option. There were sweaters but they could be bulky and sometimes too warm for daytime wear.

Working women today do have more options to be festive in the workplace and still be dressed appropriately. One dress that I particularly like is suitable for many different women. It can be dressed up for the office or made casual for shopping or parties.

I have always liked to have items in my own wardrobe that can function more than one way. The old trick of dress it up or dress it down kind of thing. I don't know about you but my closet isn't big enough to have clothes that are only worn once a year.

There are so many ways to wear the dress shown above! It could be worn in the office with dress shoes and a gold necklace. In the evening, it would look just as cute with a pair of black leggings and more comfortable shoes. Mom could wear it to the Halloween party in her child's classroom or while taking the munchkins out for trick or treating. I see a lot of versatility in this Halloween dress.

It is made with a nice soft fabric that will have a little stretch to it; making it comfortable to wear. A variety of colors and patterns are available to really personalize this new addition to your wardrobe. The length of the dress should come to the knee which is also a versatile style for dressing up or down depending on where you will wear it.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, September 25, 2017

Reviewing Ravensburger Puzzles Over 2000 Pieces

Ravensburger Puzzles
Even though I love puzzles, and always have one in the process on my table at work, I had no idea there were jigsaw puzzles over 1,500 pieces in size. Were you aware of the huge number of pieces available in puzzles? I had not been aware and this discovery is thrilling. Ravensburger is a brand of puzzle that I can count on for quality. You can believe that I'll be measuring my table at work ASAP and ordering the largest Ravensburger puzzle that will fit.


Ravensburger Brand Jigsaw Puzzles


I had previously reviewed the Ravensburger brand of jigsaw puzzles and I was happy to show you the Disney's Pixar: Artist's Desk 1,000 piece puzzle. I shared that I love puzzles and I shared the reasoning behind keeping a puzzle available in my office at all times. 

There is currently a puzzle on my table of a lower quality. I cannot wait to replace it with a new Ravensburger. And as I stated above, I am going to order the largest puzzle that will fit on my table. The photo shows the 27" x 20" puzzle at the edges of the table, but the puzzle was not centered.  If centered in the middle of my round table, I believe I can accommodate a larger puzzle.  Hopefully, at least a 2,000 piece puzzle. 


Ravensburger Disney's Pixar Artist's Desk (27" x 20") 


Ravensburger 2,000 Piece Jigsaw Puzzles


Ravensburger offers several 2,000 piece puzzles. I am leaning toward the Underwater puzzle. It measures 38.5" x 29.5". I love the marine life scene and because it is Ravensburger brand, I can trust that it is well-made.


Underwater

Ravensburger 5,000 Piece Jigsaw Puzzles


5,000 pieces! Can you imagine? This Beneath The Sea is 5 times the amount of puzzle that is normally on my table at work. I love the idea. I can't imagine that my table will accommodate a 60" x 40" puzzle. Maybe I'll have to exchange tables! 

Please note that I am leaning toward the marine life puzzles because I tend toward topics that the children would like. Not always. Sometimes I choose an adult scene such as maps, landscapes, or art. But I often tend toward themes preferred by the children.


Beneath The Sea

In the 5,000 piece category, Ravensburger also offers The Tower of Babel, Views of Modern Rome, Colin Thompson: Bizarre Town, and the Sistine Chapel


Ravensburger 18,000 Piece Jigsaw Puzzles 


This 18,000 piece puzzle titled At The Water Hole is amazing. It measures 109" x 75.5". Far too large for my current table, I'm sure. But the more puzzles I look at the more convinced I am that I need a new table. I will keep you updated. 

Paradise Sunset and Magical Bookcase are two additional puzzles in the 18,000 piece category.


At The Waterhole

Ravensburger also offers two jigsaw puzzles larger than 20,000 pieces! A View of Manhattan at 32,000 pieces and Memorable Disney Moments at 40,320 pieces.

I have focused on the marine and wildlife themes that would be of interest to the children at work. But Ravensburger offers many themes and many sizes of puzzles. To see their full inventory, check out the official Ravensburger site


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Look up, Look way Up Suddenly, Migratory Birds are Moving!

The Seasons are Changing and so is everything around us.  Leaves are starting to turn their blazing colors or orange and red, gold and crimson,  The air is thick with movement.  Birds are chattering away and filling themselves up with seeds, butterflies are filling up on nectar and inevitably we know that they will become visions of the past.  Let's Review what kind of Migratory Birds we will be seeing in the skies over the next few weeks, or at least until the snow starts to fly. While we are at it, we will also look at some Fall Fun that we can have with our families.
migratory birds, fall migration, bird flocks, birds getting ready to migrate

What are Migratory Birds?

In the northern hemisphere, we have changing seasons and with those changing seasons we are also treated to changing wildlife around us.  Birds that spend their winter months  in Mexico and Central America and further south are moving north in the spring.  Likewise when it starts to get cooler here, those same birds are now making plans to head back to their southern feeding grounds.  Now not all birds migrate, but many do! In the fall we are treated to some of the nicest color changes that our landscape can offer.  Trees are turning colors and seed production is at an all time high.  Sunflowers are a favorite feeding stop for many migratory birds. They feed on the oily seeds to give them the strength they will need to make the long trip south.  

food for migratory birds, sunflower seeds, oily seeds for bird food,
Oily Sunflower Seeds are a great food source for birds.

What kinds of Birds will you see Migrating?

The list of migratory birds for us is rather long, but you might not see all of these in your area.  Some of the most startling ones are the geese, which fly in their never changing "V" pattern.  If you listen you will hear them before you see them.  All the honking they do to let their own flock know where they are going. Hummingbirds will be visiting all the feeders and emptying them out, they have a long trek in their near future. It's a great time to make sure there is nectar in those feeders.  There are hundreds of different birds that will be migrating and depending on where you live you may or may not see them all.  If you are into Birdwatching, your chances at recognizing which birds are in the air will be a lot better!  A good pair of binoculars and a really good Bird Book will help you become more familiar with the movement in the air.  

If you are interested in a list of all the Migratory Birds of North America, click on that link and Wikipedia will list all the birds that are making their moves in the fall.  Check on both the Eastern and Western areas as some of them will not be seen on one side or the other.  

Family Fun During the Fall


I love watching the birds in the changing seasons.  There is a great opportunity to share with our children and grandchildren, the changes that nature goes through when one season moves into the next.  There is always something to learn.  Family camping trips always highlighted birdwatching and just learning about nature around us. Trees and flowers change too and many children are busy collecting leaves for school projects.  There are some wonderful ideas for Fall learning and things for children to do.  It's not just the birds that they can learn about, it's the changes in nature from the ground right up to the sky.

Now don't forget, when you see the leaves falling down, it's time to Look up, Look way up, you will probably be treated to some migratory birds in your area.  Have you ever seen something so beautiful?


All pictures are from Pixabay.com
If you would like to know more about bird watching you can click on these links and learn more about the wonderful world of Birds and Bird Watching.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Review of Outward Hound Dog Life Jacket

Finn's new Outward Hound life jacket.
When I recently adopted a disabled dog, I made a promise to Finn that I would do everything in my power to help him thrive.  Because his back legs do not function normally, and he cannot walk or run, I knew that swimming could provide Finn with a freedom of movement he had never before experienced.  I immediately went online and ordered an Outward Hound Fun Fish Life Jacket so Finn could dive into some water fun.  This is one of the best purchases I have ever made for one of my beloved animal companions.

I looked at a lot of life jackets for dogs before selecting this particular model.  Because Finn has limited use of his back legs, it was important to find a life jacket that would stabilize him in the water.  The neckband floatation bib on this life jacket was just what Finn needed to keep him from rolling over onto his side.

My little "Nemo's" first swimming lesson.
The two handle straps on the back of the life jacket have been essential during Finn’s initial swimming lessons.  They make it easy for me to build his confidence as I hold on and slowly move him through the water.  He feels safe, which is the most important thing when introducing a dog to water activities.  For anyone who takes a dog boating, this feature could mean the difference in saving an animal that has fallen overboard.  The straps can be easily hooked with a pole or paddle handle.

I also appreciate the design and construction of this life jacket. The Velcro closures and adjustable nylon straps make it easy for me to snug up Finn’s life jacket in a way that is secure and yet comfortable for him.   And then there is the cuteness factor.  Everyone who has seen my Finn in his new swimming gear thinks he looks like an adorable little Nemo.  I do think it’s one of the cutest life jackets on the market.   

Finn goes kayaking.
Who should own a dog life jacket?  Anyone who has a backyard pool, or who takes a dog boating, or who lives in hurricane country, or who has a weakened or elderly dog, or who is teaching a young pup to swim, or who wants to offer water therapy to a dog in recovery.  A life jacket is a great confidence booster for a fearful, reluctant, or struggling canine swimmer.  It can be the key to helping your dog discover, or retain, the joys of water play.

In terms of value, the Outward Hound Fun Fish Life Jacket is hard to beat.  I got a great price, along with all of the features I need to keep my precious pup safe.   After testing this dog life vest, I can say without hesitation that I would buy it again.  I highly recommend it, as do a few thousand other dog-lovers.  You can check out all of the reviews when you click through any of the links on this page.

Has your dog ever used a life jacket?  Please share your thoughts or experiences.  Thanks!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Xylitol Makes Life Sweeter As It Protects Your Teeth: A Review

Why Xylitol Is Now My Preferred Sweetener

Although I try to avoid sugar, I do like to make food sweeter sometimes. I don't want to use artificial sweeteners like saccharin because I consider them unhealthy and many have an unpleasant aftertaste. I was delighted to discover Xylitol. I can sweeten foods and drinks while improving my dental health instead of destroying it.


Jarrow Formulas XyliPure, Supports Gastrointestinal Health, 454 gJarrow Formulas XyliPure, Supports Gastrointestinal Health, 454 g

What is Xylitol?

Xylitol is a sugar alcohol that the body can metabolize without using insulin. It has the same kind of sweetness as sugar, and I've never noticed an aftertaste. 

It produces a lower glycemic response than either glucose or sucrose (table sugar.) That's why it is the sweetener of choice for many diabetics. 

Xylitol has 40% of sugar's calories -- about 10 calories per teaspoon, and about 95% of sugar's sweetness. The Jarrow brand I have shown you here is a non-GMO product and is appropriate for vegans and vegetarians. It is for humans only. It can be fatal to dogs or birds. 

For more scientific information on the chemistry of Xylitol, check this Wikipedia article on Xylitol. 


My Dentist Introduced Me to Xylitol because It Helps Prevent Tooth Decay


I had four root canals at the beginning of this year. My dentist knew I needed better preventive care, so she told me about the positive effects of Xylitol on dental health. Xylitol doesn't break down in the same way sugar does. It keeps bacteria from sticking to your teeth and also helps your mouth maintain a healthy neutral pH level. This makes it better for dental health than Stevia, another natural sweetener.

Other Benefits of Xylitol


When I first started using Xylitol, I thought it was only helpful for improving dental health. I've since learned that it may also increase collagen synthesis and make bones stronger and skin smoother.  Those are really great side effects.

I was quite surprised to discover that Xylitol also has decreased the rates of acute ear infections in some children who attend day care. It appears that this happens when the children chew Xylitol gum. Why? Because it decreases the bacteria in the mouth that can contribute to these infections.   

How I Use Xylitol

I get my Xylitol in four ways:


  1. Xylitol Powder
  2. Xylitol Gum
  3. Xylitol Candy
  4. Basic Bites
The first Xylitol products I used were the expensive ones my dentist recommended. Once I discovered that I could get other brands cheaper on Amazon, I decided to try them. I've not been disappointed. I am perfectly happy with the Jarrow Brand of Xylitol power and I've signed up for automatic shipments on Amazon. Others may prefer the Xylitol brands made from birch. I'm assuming that mine is made from corn, but it's non-GMO, so I don't care.

 I like to mix about a cup of Xylitol power with a couple of tablespoons of cinnamon and keep it handy to sweeten toast and cereal. I sprinkle this mixture on the power breakfast I eat almost every morning since I often leave the dates out now. The dates used to supply most of the sweetness. See the recipe I invented here.

Xylitol Makes Life Sweeter As It Protects Your Teeth: A Review
My Homemade Power Breakfast of Oatmeal, Fruit, and Nuts Topped with Xylitol and Cinnamon,                             © B. Radisavljevic

I sometimes put plain Xylitol in an especially sour herbal tea. Normally, though, I don't sweeten tea. 

My dentist recommended Dr. John's brand Xylitol powder, gums, and candies, so I tried that brand first. I've not yet used it all. I am not in the habit of chewing gum but do it now for my dental health. Dr. John's gum flavor only lasts for about the first minute of chewing. I've also tried Dr. John's Luscious Licorice™. but it's quite expensive compared to the other brands on Amazon I'd like to try next.  It's good, but just too expensive. I'm not fond enough of hard candies anyway to keep buying them. Other brands of Xylitol powder, candy and gum appear to be a better value, and when I run out of my current supply I'll be trying them. As you can see above I've now switched to Jarrow Xylitol Powder. It's cheaper and I notice no difference in flavor. 

Both my husband and I use Basic Bites chocolate chews because my dentist recommended them for use twice a day after brushing and flossing. They contain Xylitol, but it's the last ingredient, not the first. Cocoa powder is the third ingredient. It's soft and chewy and designed to coat the teeth to protect them against bacteria and to prevent dry mouth. It's also quite tasty. It's now a different formula than when we first bought it and is now packaged in a bag instead of the container I pictured. I transfer it into that container when I open a bag.  Click the link for the complete ingredient list of the new formula. We liked the old formula, which also had coconut oil and more Xylitol, better. 

My husband uses OraCoat XyliMelts at bedtime to keep his mouth moist as he sleeps. He uses a CPAP machine and that dries out his mouth. Dry mouth can lead to tooth decay. At night he sticks one of the XyliMelts on a molar or a gum and it increases saliva, freshens breath, and keeps his mouth moist. He skips the Basic Bites at night most of the time now and uses the XyliMelts instead. He still uses Basic Bites after breakfast.

 XyliMelts are designed to be used when you sleep and they last about 3-8  hours when used at bedtime. They last about half that time when used during the day. They are discreet and don't affect clarity of speech when you are awake. you can even use them if you have dentures or braces. 

Xylitol Vs Sugar


Xylitol has many advantages over sugar for people who need to watch their weight or lower their glycemic response to food. It's not quite as sweet as sugar but is sweet enough to satisfy me as a sugar substitute. It has less calories than sugar, and as noted above it can help prevent tooth decay whereas sugar can cause it. 

Sugar is cheaper in the short run, but over the long haul, it may cost thousands of dollars in dental expenses that consistent use of Xylitol products might make unnecessary. I wish I'd been using it over the past few years. I might have saved the over $20,000 we spent on my four root canals this year.

Since I started using Xylitol, I haven't touched my sugar bowl. Although I rarely bake anymore, I could substitute Xylitol for sugar in my baked goods in equal amounts. According to National Geographic it is one of the two best substitutes for sugar in baking. It cannot be used in recipes like candies where it would need to liquify or caramelize.

Xylitol Makes Life Sweeter As It Protects Your Teeth: A Review
Image Created in PicMonkey by Barb Radisavljevic

If You Try Xylitol, I Think You'll Like It


I hope I've convinced you Xylitol may be a good way to enjoy sweetness while helping to prevent cavities and promote healthy teeth. Use instead of sugar to sweeten beverages and cereals to reduce calories. Chew a bit of Xylitol gum or suck on a hard Xylitol candy after eating snacks between meals when you don't normally brush. Use Basic Bites after you brush and floss at night, and use ZyliMelts to prevent dry mouth while you sleep -- especially if you use a CPAP machine.

Xylitol has become a sweet part of our dental hygiene regime. Why not order some to try now and see what it will do for you? It's made a big difference to us. 





A Parting Word of Caution


Although Xylitol has many benefits, as I've shown above, we can still get too much of a good thing. The label on my Xylitol container states that if I consume more than 25 grams a day, I might get diarrhea. This is because Xylitol doesn't completely break down during digestion. One can gradually build up to a higher tolerance level, but one probably doesn't need so many sweets anyway. 

Xylitol is not toxic to humans, but it is TOXIC TO DOGS. You need to be sure you don't put it into foods they might be tempted to eat. You would not want to use it in a hummingbird feeder, either.

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. These products are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Purrfect Pumpkin Hand Soap Reviewed

Foaming Hand Soap Smells Like Pumpkin Pie

pumpkin pie
Pumpkin Pie image courtesy of Pixabay.com
Let's review a hand soap that smells like pumpkin pie today. We have reached that time of year where it seems that just about everything turns into a pumpkin. Or is it more that the pumpkin turns into all sorts of things? We find pumpkin flavored coffee, milkshakes, cookies and an assortment of all kinds of products. I wonder if they got the idea from Cinderella where the pumpkin turns into a coach? 

Truth be told, the flavors or scents that become available are more a pumpkin spice rather than just pumpkin. They taste or smell like a pumpkin pie rather than the autumn jewel that is in the squash family.

I have found a hand soap that is fun to use as fall approaches and Halloween isn't too far around the corner. Just push the pump and the wonderful aroma of pumpkin pie wafts into the air with a fun foam to wash your hands. My grandkids love the foam and I find that they are more eager to wash their hands with it. The soap, itself, gently cleans and since it has aloe and vitamin e in the mix, your hands feel ever so soft after you are finished. 

Another fun thing about this seasonal hand soap is the packaging. Black cats and pumpkins decorate the container giving it a fun Halloween appeal. It can be a functional decoration to have in the kitchen or bathroom. The cats even appear to glitter a little, making it purrfectly fun for kids and adults!

I also like that I can get it in a convenient two-pack! Each container holds just short of 9 oz so they last a while. Typically, if I put them out in early October, they last through Halloween and a little behind. Of course, my mileage varies depending on how often the grandchildren visit and how many times they volunteer to wash their hands!

So, if you are looking for a fun decoration for fall, have a penchant for the aroma of pumpkin, cinnamon and vanilla (pumpkin pie) and want a great hand soap; I suggest you try this fun soap.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, September 11, 2017

Emergency Preparedness: Headlamp Review

Headlamps for emergency lighting
Recent events have caused many of us to think about emergency preparedness. Hurricane Harvey only recently exited Texas and Hurricane Irma is in Florida as I am typing this. There are almost too many wildfires in the western United States to count -forcing people to evacuate their homes. Whether we are talking about emergencies as devastating as these or emergencies as small as a flat tire on the side of a dark highway, we need to be prepared. There is a list of things that need to be included in our preparations, but today I want to talk about headlamps. I believe that headlamps are a required item when talking about safety and being prepared.


What is a Headlamp?


Headlamps are battery operated, hands-free "flashlights" that attach to your head by an elasticized headband. 

Why is a headlamp important when we all probably own flashlights or candles?  I too own an assortment of candles, flashlights, and lanterns (gas, battery, and solar operated). So why do I highly recommend purchasing an additional item for emergency lighting? 


Headlamps are important and unique for the following reasons:


  • hands-free 
  • flame-free
  • safe
  • battery operated with a long battery life
  • AAA batteries are easy to keep on hand
  • headlamps are small enough to have with you everywhere 
I depend on my headlamps when I am camping at The Shack. I carry one with me in the Jeep, in the event of a break-down on the side of the road. The headlamp attaches to my head and I can use both hands for whatever I need to do. Imagine changing a tire in the dark, while trying to hold a conventional flashlight. Now imagine changing a tire in the dark, while a beam of light automatically shines on whatever you are facing. 

I love candles and always have a large selection on hand. But there are times I do not want to risk an open flame.  

Lanterns are great for lighting large areas, such as rooms, but more difficult for any activity that requires light focused on a specific area or activity. My lanterns also seem to burn through fuel or batteries very quickly.

Ladies, for many of us, headlamps initially feel silly. But if you are stranded in the dark and want to use your hands, if you need an inexpensive and reliable lighting source, or if you find yourself outside in the dark, you will very quickly become accustomed to the feeling of having a light strapped to your head. 

I have had really good luck with the Energizer brand of headlamps. The elastic band is adjustable for my big head. It is also more durable than the bands on other headlamps I've purchased. The plastic pieces on my Energizer are durable. I have broken the piece that attaches the light to the headband on an off-brand of headlamp.

I have had this Energizer headlamp for two years or so. I've changed the batteries once. And I use it for every trip up to the Shack as a primary lighting source as well as for short periods of loss of electricity in my apartment. I highly recommend that we all have immediate access to a headlamp as a part of our emergency preparedness.

Related Emergency Preparedness Reviews:


Heather shares the importance of Emergency Survival Kits (aka Bug Out Bags). In the event that you should not shelter in place, it is important to have your emergency items packed and ready to go in an instant. Heather lists the contents of a good bug out bag.

Cynthia Sylvestermouse reviews an emergency power failure light that doubles as emergency lighting that turns on automatically as soon as the power turns off and a nightlight every other evening.

Barbara Radisavljevic reviews a battery operated LED light source that she uses: the MalloMe LED lantern. She liked her lantern so much that she was sorry she hadn't bought more. Read why she recommends that particular LED lantern.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, August 26, 2017

Let's Review My Favorite Hand Held Lemon Juicer, That's Not For You!

The best hand held lemon juicer could be yours!
I absolutely love my hand held lemon juicer and when I purchased it I really believed that it was the best lemon juicer available.

If I was to buy a lemon squeezer today, however I would buy a different one, read on and find out why I absolutely love, love, love my lemon juicer, but would still buy a different one if it needing replacing!

I have a hand held aluminum lemon squeezer style of citrus press that I use for my lemon juice and what's not to like? This is what it does -


  • It produces lots of lemon juice
  • It is really easy to use
  • The bright yellow really brightens up your day when you get it out of the drawer!


Really it does everything it needs to do and it does it really well so why would I not say that it's the best lemon juicer around anymore?

Well I was browsing Amazon as you do and I came across a citrus squeezer with that little banner over it - Amazon's Choice - so I looked at it and wondered where it had been a few years ago because I would definitely have brought it instead.

Let's look at the two of them and see if you can guess why (mine is on the left)



Can you spot the difference?  It's the lime insert!

Fresh Lemon Juice is the BEST Lemon Juice!


Now when I was younger no one I knew used fresh lemon juice they used a bottle of lemon juice that was kept in the fridge once opened and that was what I thought lemon juice was until I moved to New Zealand.

In New Zealand back then most people seemed to have a lemon tree in their gardens (this isn't the case as much any more unfortunately) so fresh lemons were abundant and the idea of buying lemons was almost unheard of!   When my husband and I brought our first home we had the requisite lemon tree and I realized that I was never going to go back to using 'fake' lemon juice again!

Unfortunately these days I have to buy my lemons, but I am planning on planting my own tree again soon!

Why Use a Lemon Squeezer?


When I squeezed my first lemon by hand I used one of the type of lemon squeezers pictured below, what about you?

How do you squeeze your lemons?


The problem with these is that the action required is no good for my wrists (I have Rheumatoid Arthritis so twisting motions aren't the easiest for me), plus it takes more strength then the hand held squeezer I now use.  I also used to always find that the pips would manage to get into my cup/bowl every single time!

Now if you don't fancy the old fashioned lemon squeezer featured you could try an electric juicer.  I do have one and it is awesome, but if I want to squeeze some lemon or lime juice for a recipe or drink I find it's too much trouble.   To be honest making a lemon and honey drink or squeezing some lemons to add into my tea or for cooking (like this Tex Mex Lasagne) I'm not going to use my electric juicer.   I'm lazy and as great as the juicer is I'm not cleaning it for a little lemon juice!

The heavy duty hand held lemon squeezer is awesome - it squeezes the lemons or limes with little effort on your part, no pips get into the cup/bowl and you can wash it up in no time - perfect!

Why a Metal Lemon Squeezer?


I choose a metal lemon squeezer because I really wasn't sure that a plastic one would last for long.   The one I have is an enamel coated heavy duty aluminium lemon squeezer and I've had it for years.  It still looks brand new even though I couldn't begin to calculate how often it's been used.

My lemon squeezer was also available in two other sizes -

Hand Held Citrus Presses

The smallest one is for limes, the yellow for lemons (which is the one I chose) and the orange for oranges.  My husband was going to buy the green one for me as well, but I said no.

I have actually used the lemon one for limes as well because basically I didn't want two gadgets that did the same thing cluttering up my kitchen drawer.  If the other hand held juicer had been available with the lime insert in it I would have purchased it in a heart beat!

So as much as I love mine, it's not the one for you - the one I recommend for you has a lime insert with it - Click Here for a short video showing it in action


So Which Do You Think is the Best Hand Held Lemon Juicer


I recommend the hand held metal lemon/lime squeezer myself, but I do still love my own lemon squeezer and I have no problems squeezing limes with it!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Medmassager Foot Massager Review: Therapy for Feet and Legs

Why We Bought the Medmassager Foot Massager

My husband suffers from numbness in his feet. I often have restless legs and muscle spasms in my feet. Last time we shopped at Costco, they were demonstrating the Medmassager Foot Massager. My husband sat down to try it out while I finished shopping. By the time I returned, his feet felt so much better he was sold. So we brought it home.

Medmassager Foot Massager Review: Therapy for Feet and Legs
Using the Medmassager Foot Massager

Using the Medmassager Foot Massager

The foot massager is very easy to use. Just plug it in, put your feet on it, and set the speed. The cord is long enough (8 ft.) to plug into a power strip beside my chair and still stretch as far as Hubby's chair with no problem. Makes it easy to share. He uses it twice a day or more. I use it when I feel I need to. 

One can massage one's feet with or without shoes or stockings. We feel most comfortable using it with shoes on. That seems to work best if one has sensitive feet. You can feel the vibration all the way to your knee. Technically, it isn't vibration. It oscillates rather than vibrates, making the massage more effective. I'm afraid I forgot the distinction when we made the video below.  

The massager has eleven speeds. Most people start at the lowest speed and work up until they find the speed that suits them best. Hubby prefers "3." Depending on how you move the massager around and where you position your feet or calves you may ease many different kinds of pain.

  • Calf pain
  • Restless leg syndrome
  • Tired feet and ankles
  • Plantar fasciitis
  • Heal and Bone Spurs
  • Neuropathy
  • Tense toes
Many of the above conditions may be associated with serious medical conditions, such as diabetes. These conditions may require medical treatment, and the massager was not intended to treat these conditions. 

Here's What Hubby Has to Say about the Foot Massager

I asked Hubby to offer his opinion while he was massaging his feet tonight. Here's what he had to say. 


I realize the bar is hard to see because it's black like the rest of the massager, but it helps one position one's feet to massage the heel. One can also wrap one's toes around it. One can also move one's arch over the bar slowly to relax the area. The oscillation has really helped restore Hubby's circulation to alleviate the numbness in his toes.  



Our Recommendation 

If you suffer from sore feet, toes, or legs, this massager will probably offer you some relief. It does seem to help circulation in the leg and foot. When we first got to Costco that day we bought it, Hubby could barely walk. After sitting trying the massager in the store for a few minutes he was walking with much less pain. He didn't want to leave without taking it home. 

I don't have exactly the same kind of pain. I find the massage does help my feet relax, but even the lowest speed is fairly strong for me and also it feels good, I want to see my neurologist before using it too often. I have had neck surgery and was recently rear-ended, and I want to wait until I'm sure the oscillation is safe for me. Different conditions require different treatments. If the doctor gives his OK, I'll be using it more often. If you have reason to believe you have deteriorating disks in your spinal column, I'd consult a physician before using this. If you don't, I'd highly recommend it. 

The foot massager comes with a thorough instruction manual with hints on how to help different foot and leg problems and cautions where necessary for specific medical conditions. Read it thoroughly before using the unit for the first time. 

Also be aware that the unit is heavy when you put it on the floor and pick it up again. If you are unable to pick up things easily from the floor, you may need help using this. I  had to help my husband, who has had both hips replaced, at first, but he has since learned to use the machine by himself if I'm not around. He does have some trouble reaching the adjustment knob, and I turn off the machine for him if I'm in the room. 

You should not use the massager for periods of longer than 15 minutes at a time, so you also may want to pick up a Time Timer that shows you exactly how much time you left until the end of your massage. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Snug Denture Cushion Reviewed

When a simple adhesive isn't enough

upper denture
Denture image courtesy of Wikimedia Commons
The Snug denture cushion may be the answer to a fit that is no longer working for you. Let me review what I am now using to help you determine whether it might work for you or not.

Most people find that using a simple adhesive like Sea Bond will take care of dentures that slip. It was certainly the answer for me for several months. I really liked the simpleness of applying the wafer and it kept my denture in place all day. 

Over the course of time my gums changed enough that an adhesive just was not enough. It is a normal process for the swelling from teeth removal to go down and that will invariably change the fit of your denture. So, what does a person do?

The dentist who removed my teeth and made my denture was not willing to fix what I consider his mistake (which is a whole different story!). He would add a liner which was an additional expense that I honestly didn't feel that I should have to incur. Especially not when I have only had the denture for a little over a year. Needless to say, I won't be returning to his office for any kind of dental work. So, what is my solution?


I looked at my options and finally found a solution that is working for me. Snug denture cushion has been a wonderful product and finally my dentures fit like they should have from the beginning.

In each box there are two rectangle pieces of pliable material. You will have to trim them to fit your denture but that was not difficult to do at all. The instructions in the box are very good in explaining the process. Take your time and fit the cushion around the surface and then slip your dentures in. You will be amazed at how easy it really is!The fit, for me, is perfect!

The cushion is soft and it does not irritate my gums. There is no noticeable taste to get used to, either. Another bonus is that each night, I can remove my denture and place it in a effervescent solution to clean. I then rinse it off in the morning and I'm good to go. The cushion lasts for about two weeks which is really nice. Once the fit starts to deteriorate a little, you just peel off the used one and apply a new one.

So, if you have been struggling like I have and your dentist will not cooperate in helping you without doing a process that will cost you even more money; I recommend trying the Snug Denture Cushion.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, August 14, 2017

Reviewing Gentle Yoga Accessories

Gentle Yoga with help from Yoga Accessories
I have recently joined a weekly Restorative Yoga class (also called gentle yoga). The yoga has been so beneficial to my physical and mental health that I wish I had the time to attend the class several times a week. Sadly, I do not. But I do have an internet connection and access to gentle yoga "classes" in the comfort of my own home. Whether in a class or at home, there are several items that make this Yoga more effective; mat, blanket, bolster, blocks, and a strap. I want to share a quick overview of these items and the supplier I've found.

If you are familiar with the benefits of yoga and yoga accessories, please feel free to jump ahead to the Yoga Accessories store. I have found that they offer high quality items, affordable prices, and fast delivery.


The Benefits of Gentle Yoga


I have always enjoyed yoga. And up until a few years ago, I really enjoyed the Yoga Burn type of yoga. The type where I felt as though I was working out and working up a sweat doing it. But as the years have gone by, I have gained weight, lost muscle, lost flexibility, and my lack of range of motion is embarrassing.  I have allowed a stressful job to negatively impact my health.

I needed something, some form of exercise, that suits my current physical and mental state. This gentle yoga class is good for my body as well as my mind. I am increasing flexibility and range of motion. I am also finding that the meditative style of this yoga is helping me to release stress. I am more calm and sleep much better after the yoga class. I can feel my stress level lowered.


Gentle Yoga Accessories


In this yoga class, I have been introduced to several helpful accessories; blanket, bolster, blocks, and a strap. As I have begun to do yoga at home, I have found a reliable supplier for these items.  I highly recommend Yoga Accessories for your yoga supplies.

Mat - Yoga mats are familiar things to most folks. They provide a bit of padding as well as a no-slip surface.  I love that Yoga Accessories offers mats in many different colors. They also offer mats in different thicknesses. My preference is the very thin mat that provides no-slip and a sort of hygienic barrier between me and the floor. But there are also thicker mats of you are looking for more padding.


1/8" Lightweight Classic Yoga Mat

Bolster - Bolsters come in several sizes and either a round shape or a more flattened-oval shape. I am getting a lot of use from my new round bolster. It is used to prop up the knees, to assist while laying in the child pose, and my favorite pose - laying on it along my spine. This pose seems to release tension in my back and shoulders.


small junior sized round bolster (22" x 7")

Blanket - A blanket does what a bolster does, but on a thinner scale. You can also use the blanket to sit on, adding padding between your bottom and the floor. I also often use it under my head and under my neck for padding and support. 


Yoga Accessories Traditional Mexican Yoga Blanket

Blocks - Blocks are used as props for stability and/or for comfort. For example, while in certain poses that are meant to be restful, if you aren't quite flexible enough you aren't able to relax. The blocks can be placed to help you relax.


High Density and Lightweight Foam Yoga Blocks


Strap - As I mentioned, I have lost flexibility and range of motion. A few years ago, I could grasp my hands behind my back, lean over, and raise them above my head. Now I can barely clasp my hands behind my back.  A strap can be used to help with that move until you become able to perform the move without the extra assistance.  In only 4-5 weeks time, I am noticing improvement in my flexibility and will soon be working without the strap.


8' Cinch Buckle Cotton Yoga Strap



An Amazon Prime Free Gentle Yoga Video


I love this gentle yoga so much and am realizing so many benefits from it in just a few weeks that I've begun to practice at home. I was thrilled to find a free video, that is included with my Amazon Prime membership, that is very similar to the class I attend. If you have a Prime membership, you can take a peek at Easy - Gentle Yoga with Michele Fife to see what I am trying to describe.


A relaxing and helpful pose with the help of a bolster
photo: Yoga Accessories

*photo credits: all photos from Yoga Accessories 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, August 12, 2017

Popsockets - The Smart Phone Accessory You Never Knew You Needed!

Reviewing Popsockets the smart phone accessory you never knew you needed!
Popsockets are the smart phone accessory that you never knew you needed!  If you have a teen then these are the best gift idea ever - they will love them and you may save yourself some money - sound good?  Read on as I review popsockets for you.

If you're in a hurry jump straight to a selection of popsockets to purchase.

I'll review exactly what popsockets are as well as offering some cool popsockets for sale.  As I'm not sure whether you are new to popsockets or just looking to buy one I've included a list of what's on this page and you're welcome to jump straight to the appropriate section.

What's on This Page?


What is a Popsocket? | How Do I Save Money With a Popsocket? | Where to Position Your Popsocket | Cool Popsocket Designs | A Marble Popsocket? | Popsockets - A Great Gift Idea, Not Just for Teens | What Do You Think of Popsockets?

What is a Popsocket?


So exactly what is a popsocket I hear some of you asking, well I had never heard of them until recently when my daughter came home with one stuck on the back of her phone.   It looked like a smaller version of a bathroom hook to hang towels off of and I really couldn't see why she would want a round 'knob' stuck on the back of her phone.

Then she demonstrated it (with it 'popped out') and I realized what a cool idea it was, check out the image below to see how it works

What is a popsocket and how does it work?


Basically it's a way to hold your phone while you scroll through Facebook, text your mom or snapchat with your friends.  It's a very basic idea which is quite genius - a basic must have accessory for any smart phone.  Even my daughter commented that she didn't know how much she needed it until she had it and I think you'd feel the same way once you got one.


How Do I Save Money With a Popsocket?


Now you're probably thinking okay the popsocket looks great, but you said something about saving money - please explain!

Now I'm not sure how people keep dropping their phones and getting yet another screen cracked, but it seems to happen way too much and as the phones get thinner they seem to slip out of the hand even easier.

There have been several occasions when my daughter has nearly dropped her phone and it has only been saved because the popsocket is between her fingers.   As an aside, I've only had to replace her screen once, whereas some of her friends have had their whole phones replaced due to being dropped on many occasions!

Teens aren't the only ones who drop their phones, we have a friend who if he hasn't lost his phone has damaged it due to it falling more times than he's had hot dinners!   If you're a bit of a butter finger when it comes to your phone then you need to consider a popsocket.


Where to Position Your Popsocket?


Where to position your Popstocket?
Photo credit - Lousdesigns.com
So you've taken the plunge and brought yourself a popsocket and you know it sticks to the back of your phone (or phone case), but where?

My daughter spoke about positioning her popsocket with the distain that only a teenager can show because apparently most people put their popsockets in the middle of the phone which is wrong in many cases -although not always.  Confused?

Before you position your popsocket you have to look at how you naturally hold your phone - text, phone, scroll, snap a selfie and just see how you're holding your phone.  My daughter has small hands and a large phone and is usually texting rather than scrolling (she doesn't do social media!) so she has positioned her popsocket a little lower.

If my husband were to have one he would want his to be in the center because he holds his phone very much in the center with one hand while using the other hand to text (and he always puts it on speaker to talk).

For myself I would probably have the popsocket slightly lower than my daughter and a little more to one side as that's where I tend to hold my phone.

So to sum up look at how you're holding your phone to use it before you do add your popsocket and that way you'll know exactly where it will be most comfortable for you.

Cool Popsocket Designs


There are lots of different designs available for the popsocket, as you can see from the photo above my daughter has a blue mandala design, but there are a range of different ones available including plain white or plain black ones and these few here -



Now although I say to put your popsocket on your phone, obviously if you use a case you need to put it on the case.  One of my daughter's friends has the blue nebula popsocket featured above on a case with the same design which really stands out.

It makes me think that you could have a different popsocket for each phone case you have and really make a statement!

A Marble Popsocket?


My daughter did want a marble popsocket when she first looked at them and by that she didn't mean one made of marble, but rather a design that looked like marble.  Talking to the lady who runs a small phone accessory store at our local mall it appears that the marble popsockets are definitely the most popular ones with the teenage market.

I was thinking of getting one for my daughter's birthday, but when they say marble they forget to tell you how many different ones that encompasses - blood marble, blue marble, white marble, the list just seems to go on and on...


Popsockets - A Great Gift Idea, Not Just For Teens!


Not only are popsockets on every teen's gift list they would also be ideal for a number of other people.  If I didn't use a flip case for my phone I would definitely be rocking a popsocket myself!

Popsockets aren't expensive which means they are perfect as a stocking filler, an office secret Santa gift, a neighbor gift or just as a little thank you for someone.

As I've mentioned these can be stuck on phone cases and/or phones so even if they already have a popsocket they could always have another one because I don't know many people (teens especially) who only have one phone case.

What Do You Think of Popsockets?


I'd love to know your thoughts on this smart phone accessory.

















Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.