Showing posts sorted by relevance for query 4th of july. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query 4th of july. Sort by date Show all posts

Friday, July 1, 2016

4th of July Desserts Reviewed - Part II of the Review This 4th of July Menu

ReviewThisReviews.com
The 4th of July desserts are not only delicious, but they are quite colorful.  They are a great way to include red, white & blue in your Independence Day menu. 

My family loves desserts and the 4th of July recipes provide a great opportunity to play in the kitchen while preparing unique treats.

Of course, many of the cakes and cupcakes require food coloring, but there are other ways to create beautiful 4th of July desserts using fruit to add the desired colors to the holiday meal.

There are lots of spectacular dessert options created just for the 4th of July celebrations.  Join me today as we explore and review a variety of recipes that we believe you and your family will also enjoy.  Choose the one that best suits your families dietary needs and culinary preferences.  


4th of July Dessert Recipes in Red, White & Blue

Cakes & Cupcakes 


All three of these recipes are delicious and decorative for the 4th of July.  None of these cakes or cupcakes require food coloring to create a colorful presentation.


Fruit Desserts


Sometimes all we really desire is a easy to construct fruit dish to serve for dessert. 




Special Colorful Treats

These colorful treats require a bit of advance planning and preparation, but they are well worth the time and trouble.




More 4th of July Celebration Recipes & Articles from the Contributors of Review This!


Presented by Dawn Rae on July 4th


Additional Recommended Reading

Could You Survive Emigrating to An Untamed Land? A Book Review Written by BarbRad that begs us all to consider what it was really like for immigrants to America in the 1800's. 
 



Note:  A Special Thank You to Susan Deppner for Creating our 4th of July Celebration Intro Photo Template!

All of the images used in this article are from the original sites of the featured dessert.
The Fourth of July Sprinkles in the intro photo can be purchased by clicking this link



4th of July Desserts Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Celebrating an All-American 4th of July - Part I

Our reviewers have teamed up to help you celebrate an All-American 4th of July. Enjoy our menu ideas, recipes, and entertainment.
This July 4th, the United States of America celebrates its 240th birthday.  At Review This!, we're celebrating with good company, great food, and more!

Our group of dedicated reviewers have teamed up once again to provide menu ideas, recipes, and entertainment, this time in honor of Independence Day.

I'll provide main dish ideas and recipes today, then watch for desserts and appetizers the next couple of days, followed by special music and a fireworks show. We've got you covered for the entire 4th of July weekend!

Main Dishes for an All-American 4th of July


When I think 4th of July, I think picnic. And when I think picnic food, I think of hot dogs and hamburgers. I'll admit, those two staples are my favorite picnic main dishes, but these days it's fun to think outside the box a bit, too.

For instance, baby back ribs and brisket smoking on the grill are mainstays for many families around the country, especially here in the mid-South where I live. If you're not sure how to proceed, our good friend (and excellent cook) Sam shares instructions on how to cook ribs on the grill.  Mmmm, looks and sounds delicious!
How to Cook Ribs on the Grill
from Sam's Place
Many backyard cooks turn to chicken, from grilled boneless chicken breasts to rotisserie chickens cooked slowly above the coals. Chicken drumsticks are an inexpensive way to feed a crowd and are easy to prepare on the grill. Try Cajun Blackened Chicken on the Grill, as we did. Is your mouth watering yet?
Cajun Blackened Chicken on the Grill Recipe from RecipesForRealPeople.com
Cajun Blackened Chicken on the Grill
from Recipes For Real People
  
For more out of the box, all-American options, there's a growing list of vegetarian and vegan picnic food. If that sounds like your 4th of July cup of tea, don't miss this Grilling Vegan Style cookbook review, written by our own team member, BuckHawk. The recipes include vegan burgers (portobello, anyone?), hot dogs and sausages, as well as awesome outdoor food such as Summer Bruschettas and Grilled Eggplant and Herb Rounds. I can make a main dish out of these tasty bites any day of the year, can't you?

I hope these Independence Day main dish recipes and menu suggestions have your mouth watering. Check out the links above, then follow the links below as we continue to celebrate an All-American 4th of July!

Join us at the links below as we continue our All-American 4th of July celebration. Next up: 





This installment of "Celebrating an All-American 4th of July" brought to you by
Susan Deppner

Have a Safe and Happy 4th of July!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 27, 2014

Cooking for the 4th of July

Family and friends gather in our home every year to watch the 4th of July fireworks and celebrate Independence Day.  Long before dark and fireworks, the table is always laden with a variety of food in order to accommodate the various preferences, health issues and diets.


Appetizers  to Start

 

Fruit is the one food choice we all have in common and is part of every holiday menu.  However, for our 4th of July celebration, we also get to include Watermelon and Cantaloupe.  We have several family members who enjoy creating shaped bowls from the watermelon rind and filling it with a variety of fresh fruit balls and berries.  Ct_mom shows us all how to do that in her article Fun Carved Watermelon Ideas.  She even included how to make a watermelon keg in her article, which is something I have never done before and would love to try myself this year.



Main Course for Our 4th of July Meal

 

http://food.squidoo.com/homemade-barbeque-recipe-for-the-best-barbeque-sandwiches
For many years now, I have made my own special barbeque recipe for sandwiches simply because it is my husband's favorite sandwich meal.  

For our vegan daughter, we will prepare Grilled Black Bean Burgers.   I was rather excited to discover that Black Bean Burger recipe by Tvyps since I am always searching for a meat alternative to serve for our daughter.



Drinks & 4th of July Dessert 



http://sylvestermouse.hubpages.com/hub/4th-of-July-My mother always brings the 4th of July Flag Cake.  She started making that cake for the 4th of July when I as a little girl.  Here we are decades later and it is still a family favorite.  

I also make homemade, fresh squeezed lemonade for our gathering.  My lemonade recipe is really very easy to prepare and is the most requested summertime drink in our home, but it is always fun to add a little fun to the mix with Mocktails by hlkljgk.




Write & Share Your 4th of July Recipes


The Fourth of July celebration is truly a blast in our home!   I am always looking for new ideas and recipes to serve and share.  

If you have a recipe for the 4th of July celebration that you would like to share, simply leave your link in the guestbook below.   



If you are planning a party for the 4th of July, you will definitely want to visit "Patriotic Party Time" for a wealth of suggestions and tips.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, July 2, 2016

Reviewing July 4th Appetizers - Part III of the Review This 4th of July Menu

Ah, appetizers, the food teaser for any fun meal gathering. July 4th, in the heat of the summer brings many families and friends together for some great meals. That naturally includes appetizers. So it's time to review some of these. Be sure to check out Parts I and II in our 4th of July Menu reviews as well. Susan Depner brings us some delicious main courses and Sylvestermouse presents favorite red, white and blue desserts.

A Tasty Dip Appetizer

Deb Lindsey for the Washington Post

Although I've not enjoyed hot and spicy food, I did enjoy this take on a south-of-the-border favorite. is a tasty dip appetizer that combines pumpkin seeds (pepitas) and a flavorful variation on tomatoes (tomatillos). It's simple to make and can be prepared ahead of time. That's a big help for busy folks who still want to have a great gathering for July 4th.
Pepita-Tomatillo Dip

The Washington Post newspaper published this recipe with it's variation from Food editor Joe Yonan. Be sure to check out his delightful addition of a touch of honey to make this a great addition for your July 4th celebration.




Refreshing July 4th Appetizer


I was delighted to find one of my favorite chefs, Jacques Pepin, has created a delicious and refreshing appetizer to enjoy for any July 4th celebration. His Watermelon with Feta Cheese and Mint adds a bright spot of color to your table. It doubles nicely as a salad, too. And who doesn't love double duty recipes?

This is a simple to make dish. But, fair warning - make on the day of your celebration for the best presentation. Watermelon tends to lose its crispness when stored for very long. The good news is that it takes very little time to make Watermelon with Feta Cheese and Mint. So enjoy this refreshing appetizer.

And Speaking of Watermelon Appetizers 


Deb Lindsey for the Washington Post
As long as we are enjoying watermelon, we can't forget the delightful gazpacho as a July 4th refreshing appetizer. Worldlyvegetarian blogger Visi Tilak has created a delicious gazpacho from watermelon and tomato. 

This is one simple recipe. (Hmm, I guess you might be noticing a theme in these appetizers - simple, easy.) Literally just run everything through a blender and serve. Tilak adds a topping if you want to do that. Frankly, I was just delighted with how delicious the base recipe was. But, you can make a nicer presentation with her basil, avocado, and red onion topping. And yes, this recipe works nicely to make ahead and store in the fridge.

More July 4th Menus from Review This


Be sure to check out more of Review This July 4th menus. Start with main dishes reviewed by Susan Depner. She offers up some fun, interesting and unique options for your celebration.

Then get all the patriotic dessert ideas you want from Sylvestermouse. She presents some of the most beautiful looking and delicious desserts.

Enjoy your 4th of July celebration and keep it safe.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 19, 2020

4th of July Placemats Home Decor Review

Decorating with 4th of July Placemats is fast & easy. Selecting Independence Day placemats is fun, but here are a few things to keep in mind before you buy.
Placemats are such a fast and easy way to decorate your home for the 4th of July, or any holiday.

Holidays are normally celebrated with family & friends gathering around tables laden with delicious food.  Hamburgers, Barbecue sandwiches, or hot dogs are often the normal fare for the 4th of July celebrations, but they aren't really "pretty" food.  Colorful placemats provide a very pretty setting for our tables.  They can even make plain white disposal plates more attractive by giving them a lovely background.  Plus, they protect the table.

The featured placemats come with matching coasters and napkins to complete a beautiful table setting.  This set is waterproof and easy to wipe clean.

I chose this set because I have a dark wood dining room table & cobalt blue Fiesta plates. I needed the light or white background for the red, white & blue design to really pop.



 

Selecting 4th of July Placemats


There are a few things to keep in mind when selecting holiday placemats.  A lovely design is clearly the first thing that grabs your attention, but you will also want to consider the following details when making your final choice.
  • How will they Look with Your Dinnerware
  • Are the Placemats Waterproof 
  • Are they Heat Resistant 
  • Are they Non-Slip
  • Will they Protect Your Table
  • Are they Easy to Clean
  • Would they Need to be Ironed 
  • Do they have Matching Napkins
  • Do they have Matching Coasters
  • Do You Want a Matching Tablerunner for Serving Dishes
  • Price (if they are priced individually, consider the cost of 4 or more)

You may have laughed over the question of "do they need to be ironed", but these days, that is a huge issue for me.  Decades ago, I didn't mind washing and ironing placemats.  However, now I prefer avoiding the iron when possible.  Especially, if I am the chef & hostess for the celebration.

I washed all of my placemats, napkins & coasters in cold water with white vinegar in my washing machine immediately upon delivery (prior to taking the picture in the introduction).  The vinegar helps to set the colors so they won't fade.  I dried them in my dryer for 10 minutes in spite of the directions telling me to hang dry them.  As you can see in the introduction photo, they are perfect and required no ironing.

Because the placemats and coasters are backed with a second layer of plain fabric, they appear to be a little darker than the napkins in person and the napkins appear to have brighter print.  However, do not be alarmed.  That really is just an appearance different due to the multiple layers needed for protecting the table.
 




House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, June 16, 2016

Patriotic Dog Bandanas, Collars, and Clothes

Bandanas, Collars, and Clothes: Apparel for Your Patriotic Pooch. Let's review a few ways your dog can help you show off your patriotic pride.
The Reviewer's Dog, Daisy, Models Her
Patriotic Bandana on the 4th of July

Bandanas, Collars, and Clothes (Oh, my!):
Apparel for Your Patriotic Pooch


It's summer, which is synonymous for "fun," and one of the most fun holidays of the year happens to fall smack dab in the middle of summertime, on the 4th of July.

While picnics, parades, and parties are popular ways to celebrate Independence Day, people love to dress up in patriotic patterns and colors, too, to demonstrate their love for their country. For those of us whose pets (in this case, dogs) are important members of our families, we like to include them in our celebrations, too.

Let's review a few ways your dogs can help to show off your family's patriotic pride.












Red, White, and Blue Bandanas for Dogs


Patriotic Bandana with Space for Tags by KirasPetShop on Etsy
Patriotic Bandana with Space for Tags
by KirasPetShop on Etsy
During the weeks leading up to the 4th, it's easy to find bandanas in patriotic colors and designs as you stroll through your local department store. While it's fine to pick up an extra bandana for the pup, there are options that work better for dogs than using scarves designed for people.

For instance, take a look at this, my favorite dog bandana design, which works with the dog's collar. The bandana actually attaches over the collar using velcro, a feature you may have seen before, but the truly unique part is that there's a slot in the middle for the dog's tags to hang through. That's not only convenient, it also keeps the scarf from sliding around the dog's neck while you're on your daily walk. Order this bandana in sizes from extra-small to extra-large.

Prefer a different style or design? You'll find a huge selection of patriotic dog bandanas at this link.

Dog Collars for the 4th of July

Fourth of July Girl Dog Collar by Puptique on Etsy Red White Blue Plaid Dog Collar and Bow Tie from WagglesandCompany on Etsy

A red, white, and blue dog collar is a quick and simple way for your patriotic pooch to show her true colors. Stars, stripes, and American flag patterns are always popular. Consider a bright patriotic collar with a pretty bow for her or choose something more subdued like the red, white, and blue preppy plaid collar for him, as shown above.

Digital Camo Dog Collar by Swanky Pet on Etsy
ACU Digital Camo Dog Collar by Swanky Pet on Etsy

If you're looking for something a little different but equally patriotic and perfect for a dog belonging to a veteran, take a look at this awesome made-to-order digital camo dog collar. It's sturdy and includes a high-quality metal ring (or substitute plastic hardware) for displaying your pup's dog tags. 

Patriotic Dog Clothes


Thank God For Our Heroes Patriotic 4th of July Dog Dress by JustForBella on Etsy
Thank God For Our Heroes Patriotic 4th of July Dog Dress
by JustForBella on Etsy
I've saved my favorite 'til last. This is for the girls, custom made for dogs 8 to 18 inches in girth. It's a harness dress, which I like because of the practicality, its custom fit, and the velcro openings at the neck and tummy. The embroidered message on the back of the dress says, "Thank God for our Heroes" in red and blue and includes white stars as well. The patriotic-patterned skirt is trimmed in pretty rick-rack and the outfit is topped off with a beautiful bow and heart-shaped button. There's a convenient D ring at the waist for attaching her leash. This is such a beautiful dress, created by a popular, 5 star-rated Etsy designer/seller. Be sure to check out her other designs, too, including this whimsical, totally adorable, and very seasonal red, white, and blue flip-flops dog harness
Whimsical Patriotic Flip-Flops Dog Harness by JustForBella on Etsy
Whimsical Patriotic USA Flip-Flops Dog Harness by JustForBella on Etsy

No matter which patriotic holiday is on the calendar, I hope you'll include your canine companions in your celebrations. Before you take your dog out during the day, even if it's just for your daily walk through the neighborhood, take an extra few seconds to tie on a patriotic bandana or switch to a red, white, and blue collar. It's an easy and fun way to show off your patriotic pride. 

Have a safe and happy 4th of July! 

Susan


P.S. Did you know that July 5th is the day that the greatest numbers of dogs are admitted to animal shelters? Please keep your pets indoors and safe during 4th of July fireworks celebrations so they don't run away.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

July 4th Ladies Tank Top Reviewed

Apparel For July 4th Celebration

usa flag
To Celebrate Our Nation's Birthday
Ladies are you looking for a new tank top to wear for your July 4th celebration this year? I would like to review an option for you today.

Chances are whether you plan to attend a local parade, a picnic, cookout or the fireworks display the temperature will be warm. A tank top offers a perfect option for the weather and the celebration you plan to attend.

Actually, the option that I am going to show you will work beyond the July 4th holiday. It can be worn any time during the warm months of the year to show your patriotism or just as a really cool top.



4th of July Tank Top

The great thing about this tank top for ladies is that it is quite casual and can be worn with your favorite shorts, pair of jeans or even slacks. I particularly like that it is extra long and could even be worn as a cover-up for the pool or beach. So, there is a lot of versatility for this particular choice for your celebration of our nation's birthday.

I also noticed that if you do not like this particular design you have the option to choose a different pattern. One has mostly stars on a blue background while the other is sort of a reverse of the design above. There is also a great selection of sizes available for this tank top.

So, how about it? Have you thought about what you will be wearing for the July 4th celebration that is just around the corner?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, June 29, 2014

Patriotic Party Time

Happy Independence Day! 
As Independence Day approaches, I am both excited and a bit sad. It's always been sort of the halfway point for summer and I am NOT ready for Summertime to end. So, I am choosing to focus on the holiday and summer parties instead. Come along for some great ideas and suggestions from our Squidoo lensmasters.

Patriotic Parties Rock!

A patriotic theme is perfect for Memorial Day, Labor Day, and of course, Independence Day. However, it's also perfect for almost any summer celebration. You could use a patriotic theme for events like:
  • Family Reunions
  • Graduations
  • Retirement Parties
  • Picnics
  • School Reunions and so much more.
It really is a perfect theme all summer long. Let's look at some ideas for patriotic parties from lensmasters. 

What Say You, Squidoo? 

Starting with lensmaster angelastvs, we get a great overview and party suggestions. From decorations to games to food, she has included lots of ideas in her lens titled: Patriotic Party Planning

Partybuzz has some great ideas for a budget-friendly party. In her lens, How to Plan a July 4th Party on a Budget, she shares some of the ideas she uses with her own family parties. From centerpieces and decorations on through activity ideas -- all are easy on the wallet. 

Finally, Michelle_L shares ideas from her own 4th of July party. Grilling out, crafts and more food and decorations are suggested in this fun lens titled: 4th of July Party Ideas -- Recipes, Crafts and Decorations.

What About You? 

Do you have some summer fun family traditions incorporating a patriotic theme? For example, I shared my family's patriotic buffet at the beginning of summer. We'd love to hear about them! Join Squidoo and write your own suggestions and recommendations for free! As the Party Planning Contributor on Squidoo, I'll help you anyway I can as well as promote your party lens(es). 

It's all about sharing and helping. Happy Independence Day, America! 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 4, 2016

Happy 4th of July!

Photo credit:  Cynthia Sylvestermouse



Happy Independence Day!


This is the day we have been preparing for and looking forward to for some time. Many of us are celebrating with friends and family. Some of us carry on traditions from one July 4th to the next. Regardless of how you are spending this day, the Contributors of Review This want to take a moment to wish you and yours a happy and safe 4th of July!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 28, 2016

Memorial Day Recipes Reviewed - Part II

Desserts

Source: Sylvestermouse

Memorial Day - a patriotic remembrance holiday and the one thought of as the beginning of Summertime - is usually filled with activities, celebrations, family get-togethers and, most importantly, food.  Whether you have an indoor, sit-down meal with family or an outdoor picnic in the backyard or at a park or beach with a group, deciding on the perfect menu is fun.

Once you have your main dish Memorial Day meal planned, perhaps from ideas listed on Memorial Day Recipes Reviewed - Part I , here are some suggestions for the dessert part of your day of celebration.



Grill Cupcakes

 

Recipe and Photos by Chef Amber of Hot Springs, Arkansas for FrugalMomEh.com


If your Memorial Day meal involves food cooked on the grill, these Grill Cupcakes would make the perfect complementary dessert for your backyard barbecue.  Recipe and whimsical design featured by Elizabeth of Canada on her delightful blog Frugal Mom Eh.


Patriotic Red, White & Blue Chocolate Cookies


Source: Two Sisters Crafting

Cookies are a dessert that is perfect for a picnic in the park or at the beach as they are portable, needing no sit-down plate or fork to eat.  These Red, White and Blue cookies would make a patriotic and fun dessert for Memorial Day.  And they are 'chocolate' too. Yum! 


Chocolate cookies with Red, White and Blue Holiday M&M Mix are a quick, easy and fun holiday dessert for any of our patriotic holidays, Memorial Day, Flag Day, 4th of July or Veterans Day. 

This recipe comes from the Two Sisters Crafting blog


Flag Fruit Dessert

 

Source: Family Fresh Meals

For an indoor holiday meal (in case rain spoils an outdoor event this Memorial Day), fruit always makes a wonderful dessert.  Corey of Family Fresh Meals came up with a patriotic way to display a fresh fruit platter with her Easy Flag Fruit Dessert.  Using blueberries, and red fruit such as cherries, strawberries and raspberries, she spread her fruit flag out on a serving tray. A bowl of blueberries represent the field of stars background in the top left corner, then rows of red fruits make the red stripes.  Since there isn't a white fruit, she came up with little pretzels covered in yogurt or white chocolate for the white stripes. Very clever and a light & satisfying tasty dessert.  This dessert could also be served on other patriotic holidays, such as Flag Day and the 4th of July.



Patriotic Pies


Source: Cassie Johnston on eHow

Then there are patriotic cakes and pies. This homemade American flag blueberry/cherry pie decorated with pastry stars and topped with vanilla ice cream would be a sensational finish to your  Memorial Day meal. Recipe is by Cassie Johnston on eHow.

Memorial Day Meals


Hope everyone enjoys a terrific and tasty Memorial Day with these menu ideas and recipes for Patriotic Main Dishes and Desserts. 

To make your Memorial Day celebration complete, add in some Patriotic Music.  Enjoy your weekend!


Happy Memorial Day!

 

Memorial Day Recipes Reviewed - Part II written & presented by:

Wednesday Elf

 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, February 2, 2014

How to Write for an Internet Audience -- Party Planning Niche

As the Party Planner Contributor on Review This, I have been spending some time on the topics that include parties -- checking out the articles, promoting them and seeing what areas/party topics are lacking in suggestions and advice.

Let me first say, there are a lot of awesome articles about parties. YAY! However, there are a few that niche that could use some help, as well.

This is what I want to talk about today -- giving people what they want and need in our writing. Being a successful and valuable addition to the internet.

Filling a Need with our Writing

You see, we (the Squidoo Community) know that internet searchers are real people looking for real solutions to real problems -- all sorts of problems. The bottom line is -- no matter the subject -- they value experience.

When you have done something and write about it on Squidoo, a blog or your website, you are sharing your experience, what you learned and how/if you would do it the next time. This is valuable information we can share with each other.

This, of course, includes party planning. When I search for ideas for parties online, I want to know specifics, read your real-life experience, the planning and the final outcome. I want to know what worked for you and decide for myself if it will work for me.

What I don't want to see is an article that isn't really an article but a glorified shopping list. Where's the value there? I can go straight to the party supply sites and order anything I might need.

When I started my internet search, what I wanted was some advice, suggestions and assistance. Sure, if you are thrilled with a product that really made your party perfect... I want to know. But, if all you are offering me is a bunch of links to other sites, then why should I visit your article, page, website or blog in the first place? Again, there is no value.

Value is Real and Tangible 

Think about it in this context... The advertising world uses actors to portray real people in real situations to sell their products. Why? Because society is programmed to believe that an announcer "telling" us why the product is great can be deceptive. But, if we see people using it, happy with it, showing us how to use it -- we are much more likely to believe we need or want it.

I guess what I am saying -- and I, personally, think -- is that regardless of the topic you want to write about or whatever your niche is -- Be Real! Share your experiences, what worked, what didn't, how to is a wonderful format to write an article or post. Additionally, if you use "How To" in the title, internet searchers can see, right away, that they need the information.

Bottom line: make it personal, share your experiences, successes and failures. You've already been in our shoes. We can learn from each other and all be better for it.

Writing for the Party Planning Topic/Niche

What does all this mean to anyone wanting to write for the party planning topic on Squidoo? It means tell us about a particular party or event you planned or were a part of. Show us pictures, share your decisions -- good and bad -- tell us the story of hosting or planning that party for that specific occasion.

Instead of writing an article titled: Dora the Explorer Party Goods

Write this: My daughter's Dora the Explorer Birthday Party

Instead of this: Planning a Wedding
Write this:  How I Planned my Entire Wedding Myself

Instead of this: Planning a 4th of July Party
Write this: Ideas from our Annual 4th of July Patriotic Party

You get the idea... By sharing from first hand experience you build credibility and authority with searchers and with search engines. We'll believe you and listen to your advice.

Now, head off to Squidoo and write a party planning article that will help others. If you are not sure where to start or need inspiration, try reviewing a product you have used from one of the following lists: Party Planning Books, 3 Tiered Stands and St. Patrick's Day Party Items. Or, strike out on your own. Either way, I can't wait to read it! Good luck!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

The Best Way to Get Ready, Party Time is Here

In a couple of days Summertime will Officially be here! 

Along with Summertime comes Party Time! It's high season for Graduations, End of School Years, and let's not forget about the Fourth of July!  For Canadians that would be the First of July!

party time, dollar tree, review this, setting a beautiful table



Everyone is looking forward to being with friends and family especially when the weather is warm and sunny!  Let's Review some of the best ways to get ready for all of those wonderful outdoor BBQ's and Holiday celebrations. Summertime is a wonderful time for us to enjoy our company, friends and the great outdoors at the same time.

Party planning can be fun, but it can also be costly.  Dollar Tree is a great place to get all those party needs at a reasonable cost. Red, White and Blue party supplies can be had for the best 4th of July party ever!  Canadians can skip the blue and stick with red and white!  Everything from glasses, plates and cutlery for your table and all of it color coordinated, can be had right here!


Setting a table for an outdoor party is easy when you can get everything you need in one place.  From the decorations to balloons, napkins and snacks.  You can even get mixes and drinks for the kids without any problem at all.  Dollar Tree is a one stop shop for all things party related.


When I have been invited to a backyard party, I like to come with something in hand to add to the table.  I will buy a nice bowl or two and then fill one of  them with my special salad and another with a dessert!  The host and hostess are always happy to see my contribution to the party and they always go over really well.

My favorite salad is easy to make, looks really good and is a healthy alternative!  This comes from a friend of mine who is a Naturopathic Doctor! Take a look and see if you don't agree that it looks delicious.
dollar tree, backyard party time, summer festivities, BBQ's, Review This


Dr. Amy Tung's Baby Arugula, Seaweed & Kale Salad with Roasted Almonds and Fresh Herbs 🌿 .

1 cup unsalted almonds
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt
4 cups kale
3 cups baby arugula
1/2 cup soaked and drained dried kelp
2 Tbsp each chopped fresh dill, parsley and cilantro 
1 Tbsp chopped fresh oregano
.
Dressing: 
1 Tbsp lemon juice
1 Tbsp good quality balsamic vinegar 1 clove garlic, grated or pressed
1 tsp kosher salt
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
.
Toss almonds with extra-virgin olive oil and salt. Spread on a baking sheet and bake in a preheated 350F oven for 15 minutes, turn every 5 minutes or until nicely browned. Cool.
.
In large bowl combine kale, baby arugula and herbs. Cover with damp paper towels and reserve.
.
For dressing, combine lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, garlic and salt. Whisk in olive oil.
.
Just before serving toss greens with dressing. Serves 6 - 8 people

decorations, party time, dollar tree, setting a beautiful party

The other bowl is for fruits that I love to bring along to a backyard get together.  Summer is the season to enjoy all of the abundance around us! There is no better way to enjoy fresh and good for you food than to prepare a large bowl of summer ripe and summer sweet fruits.

My favorites are strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, watermelon cubed or balled, melons (honeydew and cantaloupes) cut into strips or cubed, apples and cherries.  Add a special Citrus Honey dressing (by that is just superb!  Just one warning,  do not place this dressing on the fruits until you are ready to serve.  Some of the fruits may become soggy if mixed too early.

Citrus-Honey Dressing Ingredients:
• 2 tablespoons honey
• 1 teaspoon orange zest
• 1 teaspoon lime zest
• 2 tablespoons fresh-squeezed orange juice
• ½ tablespoon fresh lime juice


May your summer be wonderful, may you have many friends and family to share it with you and may you make memories that will keep you smiling for many years to come!  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, July 3, 2016

Celebrate July 4th with Lighted USA Wall or Window Signs

Lighted USA Sign Via Amazon
More Letters & Sign Choices Here
Whether you're Decorating for a Patriotic Party or Choose to Feature Your Pride of Country all Year Round, a Lighted USA Sign Works Perfectly

When we celebrate special occasions, we tend to think of lighting in terms of decorative strings, however there's a way to incorporate art, decor and lighting when you use marquee signs or lighted letters and symbols. Not only do they funk-up a space, they also provide ambient lighting.

In fact, make it a habit to slowly collect all the letters of the alphabet, plus a few a popular letters in duplicate, so you can spell anything you like for all special occasions. 

As an example on July 4th, spell out 'USA', and change it up for other celebrations. Here are just a few popular ways you can interchange letters for other holidays and parties:
  • Valentines Day, spell out 'LOVE'
  • How about 'EASTER'
  • For someone's birthday, spell out their name in lights
  • For Halloween, spell out 'BOO' in lights
  • Of course, there's 'Merry Christmas'
  • Use them for weddings, 'Bride & Groom' or spell out the couple's names
  • How about 'The Bride Rocks'
  • Or 'BrideZilla"
  • or just get funny, and spell out something sarcastic and feature it in your front window!
You get the lighted picture!

With all the letters of the alphabet, you're only limited by your imagination. So go ahead and start with the letters USA; use them to celebrate July 4th, or to honor a returning soldier, then continue to collect the rest of the alphabet. 

What's July 4th without a Patriotic Song

Take a minute to enjoy this fantastic song by Faith Hill, called 'American Heart' - The video is as much fun as the song!


Happy 4th.... <3





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret Schindel Sam MonacoSam Monaco BuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X