Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Sylvestermouse. Show all posts

Friday, April 12, 2019

Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review

Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review
While searching for light entertainment last weekend, I came across the Hallmark Movie, Love's Complicated starring Holly Marie Combs and Ben Bass.  Within a few minutes of watching, I knew that I had found exactly what I had been seeking. 

Hallmark is always a reliable source for good movies that usually leave me feeling relaxed, and sometimes even revived after a long day of work and stress.  I know I never have to worry about nudity, excessive foul language, or extreme violence when I turn on the Hallmark channel.  

In a time when movies seem to compete to see which one can be the most extreme, I am most appreciative of a reliable source of mild, lighthearted entertainment that is never embarrassing to watch regardless of whether I am alone, in mixed company, or with my children and parents.  


Love's Complicated Movie Synopsis 


It is easy to like the mild mannered, considerate & compliant Leah in Love's Complicated.   She is the type of person we all enjoy being around.  She rarely, if ever, complains, she does not engage in debates or challenging opinions, she simply goes along happily with whatever others in her life dictate.  Leah doesn't really intend to be a doormat for others, she just doesn't like confrontation.

 Love's ComplicatedCheck PriceWhen her boyfriend of 2 years enrolls her in a conflict management class, she doesn't understand why she would need to be there, especially when she finds out he is not attending the group with her.  Of course, it makes her mad and confused, but she decides to comply with his wishes and attend the sessions.  However, in an unexpected turn of events, she comes face to face with the most annoying people she has ever met.  After all, it was Cinco Dublin who criticized her published book on his radio show, stating that "although well written, Ms. Townsend's safe, Leave it to Beaver take on her childhood, leaves me wanting nothing more from this author, ever."  It is clear from the beginning that Leah has built up resentment toward Cinco and the conflict management class gives her the perfect opportunity to unleash her pent-up emotions. 

The verbal exchanges between Leah and Cinco are revealing about both of their personalities and are often humorous.  They might not be funny to me if I was one of the participates in the conversations, but listening to them made me laugh several times.  

When Leah accepted an unwanted proposal of marriage from her boyfriend, just because she wanted to comply with his desires, and her parents wishes, she finally realizes that she must learn to confront real issues.  Otherwise, she will end up in an unhappy marriage and always letting someone else dictate her life.  At that point, the need for the conflict management classes becomes apparent to Leah.



Additional Thoughts About the Movie, Love's Complicated


While I very much enjoyed this movie and watching a romantic relationship develop, I found I was more intrigued by the concept that conflict management classes were also for people who needed to learn to express their anger, instead of keeping it inside.  I've always thought those classes were for people who lashed out uncontrollably or without an obvious reason.  Recognizing that some attendees might just need to learn how to express their feelings, was rather enlightening for me.



Currently, "Love's Complicated" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  

Subscribe to the Hallmark Channel on Amazon.com
  


More Romantic Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Love's Complicated - Hallmark Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 5, 2019

How to Create Your Own Videos Ads with Ripl Video Creator

How to Create Your Own Videos Ads with Ripl Video Creator

Reviewing Ripl Video Creator - Online Website - Basic Plan is Free


Here is a simple tutorial on how to create your own video ads that can be shared on Twitter, Facebook, Linkedin, and YouTube.  Plus, you can save a copy of your created video on your own computer.

The Ripl Video Creator website is fairly easy to use, especially if you have ever used a photo editing site.  It takes only a few minutes to create a basic video ad since Ripl provides free templates to get you started.  There is also a paid version available that offers more templates.  With the paid version, you can also replace the Ripl logo in the right bottom corner with your own logo.

I use Ripl Video Creator to create ads for several websites and my Ebay store items.  It could also be used for Etsy store items, Zazzle store items or even to promote a directory that shows the variety of places you can be found online.  Because you can add text to the video, you could even add the url location on the video.

Here is the complete video of the still image shown above.  Because I saved the video on my computer, I can easily upload it to Blogger.




Or, I can insert the copy of that video ad from YouTube to Blogger or my websites.

 

 

Basic Tutorial to Get Started on Ripl Video Creator 


You will need to create an account on Ripl to get started.   To do so, you can click the link here, or simply type Ripl.com in your browsers address bar.


1.  Choose a Ripl Template


Sign in to Ripl Video Creator and select the template you like.  You can change templates as you design your ad if you don't like the way your original template selection looks.   

If you have previously started a video but not published it, you will see it labeled as "draft" and can select it from the template options. 



If you start the "post from scratch", you will be redirected to the workshop area where you can choose to see "more designs" in the left sidebar. 




When you are redirected to the templates, the free templates are shown at the top.  Simply click the one you wish to use.  The free templates change often.  There are always new options for upcoming holidays or seasons.





2.  Select Font and Add Text


A font is pre-selected for each template, but you can change the font by choosing a different choice from the right sidebar.  As you can see in the screenshot below, you can also change font colors.

Add the text in the "primary" and "secondary" boxes.  

Adding music is also an option.  Simply click the music notes to select the background music.




3.  Add Photos

Click the "photos" box in the right sidebar to upload your own photos for slideshows.  You will see a "caption" box that allows you to add text to that photo only.  Double click the caption area on the photo to add the text, move the text box, or resize it.






Note:  If you change the text color here, it will change the text color on all images in the entire slideshow.



In the case of the video slideshow ad I have used here for the example, it was at this point that I decided I preferred a different text and text background color.  The background colors are pre-selected based on the font color you choose.



3.  Publish and Share Your Created Ripl Video

After you have added all of your images, added your text, and selected font colors, your are ready to publish your video ad.

Click the right top arrow to move to the publishing page on Ripl.



Add all of the facebook pages, Twitter accounts, Linkedin accounts in the account setting, on this page.  Be sure to slide the buttons on the right of each one to "on" if you want the current video added to that particular social media page. 

Remember to turn "on" the "save to computer" button too if you wish to download a copy of the video to your computer.

Then, click the "Share Now" button.




Shared On Twitter
Shared On Facebook

 

Please Share Your Ideas


I have shared how I use the Ripl Video Creator, but I would love to hear from you! 

Tell us in our guestbook (comments section) below the ways and places you have used Ripl to promote your websites, stores or products.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 29, 2019

Needle Minders for Needlework & Sewing Enthusiasts Reviewed

Needle Minders for Needlework & Sewing Enthusiasts
A few years ago, I was gifted with a beautiful needle minder.  At the time, I had no idea what a needle minder was, but I quickly learned what a fabulous aid a needle minder can be for those of us who love to sew and do needlework.

The best description of a "needle minder" that I can think of would be to refer to it as a needle magnet that attracts and holds needles.  

I couldn't begin to guess at how many needles I have dropped, and lost, over the years.  I have even been know to wash them simply because they were attached to a blouse I was wearing while sewing.  Let's face it, when we sew, we get interrupted.  The needle is stuck quickly into "something".  We may not get back to our work within the hour, or even on the same day and we have totally forgotten what we did with our needle.

Therefore, I now consider a needle minder an essential sewing & needlework tool. 


My Needle Minder


Needle Minders for Needlework & Sewing Enthusiasts Reviewed
My needle minder is a lovely mouse, which is totally appropriate to me.  Clearly, the gift giver knew me well.  

When I am sitting behind the sewing machine, I attach my needle minder to my shirt like a brooch.  When I am cross stitching, I attach it to the aida cloth itself.  

Magnetic needle minders do not damage clothing or fabrics.  They are ingenious designs with a strong magnet that holds the needle minder from the back side.  

The magnet "attracts" needles and holds them for us.  When we return to our work, we know exactly where to look for our needles. So much better than randomly poking them somewhere and finding them later, often by surprise, when they stick you.  

I am currently working on a cross stitch design that requires dozens of different floss colors.  I frequently thread several needles in different colors so I can continue cross stitching without having to change the floss on one needle too often.  As you can see in the photo, my mouse needle minder hangs onto the multiple needles nicely, and all in one place.


Needle Minders Available Online


There are several places online that offer needle minders.  I happen to know that mine came from True North Needleminders on Etsy because it arrived attached to the store's business card.  She has a large variety of choices available so you can select the character that best reflects your preferences and personality.

Here are a few that are currently available at True North Needleminders, but you can click the store link above to see the entire collection. 

I can tell you from experience, they make awesome gifts for needlework and sewing enthusiasts.  I am most grateful to Olivia for giving me mine.



 

 

 See More Crafts & DIY Reviews On
ReviewThisCrafts.com!

  and

More Gift Ideas for Needlework & Sewing Enthusiasts


House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 22, 2019

The Interlude by Lin Stepp Reviewed

The Interlude by Lin Stepp Reviewed
Definition of Interlude: an intervening episode, period, space, etc.  

Everyone has times in our lives when we need a break from work and responsibility, especially when we are grieving.  Therefore, most of us can identify with Mallory Wingate as she seeks a refuge of peace in The Interlude.

The story takes place in the Smoky Mountains of Tennessee, which is the perfect place for respite and recovery.  I know from my own experience that the Smoky Mountains are a little piece of heaven here on earth. 


Synopsis of The Interlude


 The InterludeCheck PriceMallory has spent the last few years working full-time and also caring for her terminally ill mother.  When her mother dies, Mallory has an emotional breakdown at work.  Her concerned boss insists that she take time off, so Mallory returns to the one place where she has always found love and care, her grandparents home.

On the plane, a handsome man is seated next to her, but Mallory prefers to be left alone.  However, Lucas James is intent on engaging Mallory in conversation.  He even invites her to join him for dinner during the layover between flights.  What seems like a casual meeting and flirtation when traveling, actually takes on a totally different significance when the two passengers find their destination is exactly the same place, her grandparents home and resort.  

Mallory is slightly embarrassed to find out that Lucas is the pro-golf instructor at the resort.  Lucas is shocked to discover that Mallory is actually his employers granddaughter.  Both would prefer to keep their "interlude" a secret between just the two of them.  Both have their own issues and baggage that keeps them from desiring a romantic relationship.  

One of the things I found most interesting about this book was how the author showed us just how easy it is to say something hurtful to someone else without realizing, or even intending, to cause pain.  Most likely, we have all experienced that to some degree in our own lives, but seeing it written so vividly in the context of a conversation in a book, really can be eye-opening.  A promising friendship, or relationship, can be irreparably fractured by careless words and assumptions.


My Copy of the Book, The Interlude


I would like to thank the author, Lin Stepp, for gifting me with an advance copy of "The Interlude".  That gave me the opportunity to read and review it before the actual release date.  You will definitely want to grab your copy of this wonderful book today and start reading as soon as possible.

  


Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 15, 2019

Minestrone Soup Recipe for the Instant Pot

Minestrone Soup Recipe for the Instant Pot
When Bev reviewed the Instant Pot here on Review This Reviews, I knew I had to have one too!  It immediately went on my own Christmas wish list.

Mom and Dad granted my wish and gifted me with an Instant Pot, plus a fabulous Instant Pot Cookbook by Jennifer Smith.  It is listed as a #1 Best Seller on Amazon and there is an excellent reason why.  It truly is packed full of great recipes for the Instant Pot, as well as tips and Instant Pot use instructions.  I was extremely grateful for the use instructions!  The instructions that came with the cooker were not as clear as Jennifer Smith's instructions in her published cookbook.

One great recipe in my new cookbook is the Minestrone Soup recipe.  One of my all time favorite soups is minestrone soup, but before I had my Instant Pot, I had never made it at home.  It was always a specialty that I treated myself to when we dined at our favorite Italian restaurant.  However, I no longer have to dine out to have excellent minestrone soup!  


Minestrone Soup Recipe from the Instant Pot Cookbook
by Jennifer Smith 
 

Minestrone Soup Recipe for the Instant Pot
I made few changes to Jennifer Smith's minestrone soup recipe, but they were simple changes.  I add more carrots and less onion.  Plus, I leave out the garlic completely.  I've never been a fan of garlic and find that I prefer this soup without it.

I am sharing my version of the Minestrone Soup recipe for the Instant Pot, but you can certainly have Jennifer Smith's original version if you wish to purchase the cookbook.  It really is worth buying.  There are several other great recipes in it that I have already tried and love.  Without it, I might have ended up returning my Instant Pot.  The recipes and instructions that came with it were confusing and unappetizing. 



Minestrone Soup Instant Pot Recipe


Ingredients

Minestrone Soup Recipe for the Instant Pot
  • 2 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 of a White Onion
  • 2 Celery Stalks, diced
  • 2 large Carrots, diced
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 28 oz can Diced Tomatoes
  • 1/2 Cup Fresh Spinach, chopped
  • 1 Cup Elbow Pasta or Bow Tie Pasta (bow tie shown, but either is delicious)
  • 4 Cups Vegetable Broth (I use Simple Truth Organic)
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 15 oz can White Beans  (I use Great Northern Beans)

 Directions

  1. Preheat the Instant Pot by selecting Saute.  Add & heat the oil 
  2. Add the onion, celery & carrots.  Saute for 5-6 minutes in the heated oil, stirring constantly
  3. Stir in basil, oregano, salt & pepper
  4. Stir in diced tomatoes, chopped spinach, pasta, broth & bay leaf
  5. Press the Cancel button to stop the Saute function
  6. Close and lock the lid.  Select Pressurecook button and cook on high for 6 minutes  (note:  it takes a few minutes to heat to cooking temperate.  The cooker timer will not start counting down until it reaches the high temperature.)
  7. When the timer beeps, let the soup sit for 2 minutes, then use the quick release valve on the lid to completely release the very hot steam.  Carefully unlock and left the lid.
  8. Add the White Beans and stir
  9. Remove the Bay Leaf that was used for seasoning.  They are not very tasty to eat.

Now, it is ready to serve!



Instant Pot Use Tips
Based on My Personal Experience


The Instant Pot has a few things that are totally different than any other cooker that I have ever used. 

Instant Pot Lid Diagram - Minestrone Soup Recipe
First to note is the steam release valve on the top.  There is a lot of hot steam and pressure that builds up inside the pot and that hot steam must be released before you unlock the lid.  The Instant Pot makes that easy with the release value on the lid, but you need to stand back away from the steam.  I also recommend pulling it out and away from the underside of your top kitchen cabinets.  It will cause a moisture buildup on your cabinets if you allow the steam to release under the cabinet.  The steam release takes at least 30 seconds to fully disperse.  There is a secondary pop-up valve indicator on the lid that lets you know when it is safe to open the lid.

Second to note is the timer and recipe cook time.  The recipes tell you the cook time, but that time does not include the heating time.  The Instant Pot temperature must reach the cooking point before the timer will start counting down.  That takes several additional minutes for my Instant Pot.


Instant Pot Control Panel - Minestrone Soup Recipe
Third to note is the difference in the recipes cooking selection buttons versus how my Instant Pot buttons are labeled.  For instance, this recipe states to "select Manual", but my Instant Pot button is labeled "Pressurecook".  I am guessing that is based on the age or model of your Instant Pot.  You will need to familiarize yourself with your Instant Pot buttons before you start cooking with these recipes.

Selecting and Setting the Timer is a little confusing at first.  It is like a digital alarm clock or automobile clock.  You turn the knob to make a selection on the display and then press the knob to change the timer numbers.  Perhaps that is just me, but I thought mine was broken the first time I used it.
 

Check Out More Recipe Reviews at
ReviewThisRecipes.com



More Instant Pot Soup Recipes



A delicious recipe for potato soup cooked in an InstantPot will delight your taste buds and fill your tummy.

Potato Soup Cooked In InstantPot ReviewedInstant Pot Easy Chicken Noodle Soup
This instant pot easy chicken noodle soup will surely warm you up on those cold winter days. We are just loving our new Instant Pot.




Minestrone Soup Recipe for the Instant Pot Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, February 21, 2019

His Stubborn Sweet Bride: A Christian Historical Romance Novel Reviewed

An excellent Christian historical romance that transfixes readers with Molly's story of loss, betrayal, survival & desperate decisions. Highly Recommended!
I admit, His Stubborn Sweet Bride (Colorado Reborn Book 1) written by Chloe Carley was a big surprise for me. I loved this book! 

This is the first book by the author, Chloe Carley, that I have ever read, but it won't be the last.  I am beyond thrilled to find a new Christian author who writes unique and original content.  That is what I liked best about this book.  I didn't feel like I had ever read one that was similar in plot or characters.  Plus, I loved the unexpected surprise elements in it.  

The story takes place in 1878 in several early settlement cities in America, including Cheyenne, Wyoming, Denver &  Indian Rock, Colorado, which is beautiful, but rough country.  The depiction of the towns, the battle between the original settlers and the new comers, as well as the harrowing life events of the main character, are all reasons why I was transfixed by this story. 



The Plot of His Stubborn Sweet Bride (Colorado Reborn Book 1)


When a wealthy aristocrat from England, Nate Trowbridge, and his sister, Leonie, inherent their uncles ranch in Colorado, they decide to move to America.  Leonie is young, adventurous, and quite naive, while her older brother, Nate, is steadfast and somewhat boring.  Nate wishes to protect his sister for as long as possible.  He also desires to maintain their good name, respectability and social standing even in the new country.  

Upon arrival, they find the ranch is not exactly in the condition they expected.  Immediate repairs and restoration are necessary.  Because there is little else in Indian Rock other than his Circle T Ranch, Nate has to travel to Denver to hire craftsman, and purchase furnishings and decor.  That also gives him the opportunity to visit with old family friends.


Nate Trowbridge's Story


 His Stubborn Sweet Bride:
A Christian Historical Romance Novel
(Colorado Reborn Book 1)
Check Price
Nate believes it will be time for him to get married as soon as the ranch is renovated.  He believes his obvious choice is one of the daughters of old family friends.  Actually, over several generations, the two families have married one another to preserve their wealth and status in society.  The Chiswicks live in Denver, therefore they have already made the necessary transition to America from England.  After visiting with them, he has every reason to believe Emmaline Chiswick is like-minded and would welcome his proposal. 

Once the house repairs are finished, Nate sends a letter of marriage proposal by way of his ranch foreman, Jem, to Denver when he finds out that Jem has to go to the dentist there.  It is necessary for the doctor to give Jem a dose of laudanum so he can preform the dental work needed.  Jem is still under the influence of the laudanum when he searches for the address on the envelope to deliver the letter.  He immediately notes that the woman doesn't appear to be the type of woman he would expect his boss to court and certainly not to marry, but when Molly opens the letter, she accepts Nate's proposal.  Everything gets pretty hazy for Jem and later he awakens to find himself, along with Molly, on a train destined for Indian Rock, Colorado.  


Molly Clanahan's Story


Molly's story is one I had never considered a possibility, but I could easily see how it would happen in 1878.   It made me think of current day human trafficking and how we all want to believe it can't be true and would never happen.

When her father and brothers all died from influenza, Molly was left completely alone.  The bank foreclosed on her family farm and  she had no way to survive.  It seemed becoming a mail order bride would be her best option.  

Molly started corresponding with Jack in Cheyenne, Wyoming.  After she sent him a picture of herself, as requested, the man she believed to be a lonely widower sent her train fare to Wyoming.  When she arrived, she was met by Jack and immediately taken to his business, the local brothel.  She was expected to go to work immediately.  The promise of marriage was just a ploy to get her there.  Jack was abusive, threatening, and downright evil.  Molly felt trapped until she decided to risk her life and get away.  

Even after Molly has escaped the brothel, Jack swore to find her and make her pay for humiliating him.  She knew she was living under the shadow of fear and possible discovery.  She felt fortunate to get a job as a seamstress in Denver, but when Jack found her, she was once again desperate for escape.  That was when the man with the letter containing a marriage proposal showed up at her door. 


My Recommendation of "His Stubborn Sweet Bride"


I have now given you the basic background of the characters and book plot, but you must read this book yourself.  You might even find that you think twice before you jump to conclusions about people and judge their actions.  

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys historical fiction.  While it dips into the dark world of murder, lies, criminals, and pure evil, nothing is too graphic, yet it clearly depicts depravity.  

In addition to the expected romantic love story, the book also aptly depicts the concern and protective nature of an older brother toward his sister.  I enjoyed the way the author developed both types of love throughout the book.

 


Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 15, 2019

Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa K-Cups Reviewed

Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa k-cups are the best hot chocolate in a k-cup. After trying several brands, I finally found a delicious milk chocolate hot cocoa mix k-cup.
When I am chilled to the bone by the winter cold weather, I seek out my Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa k-cups for my Keurig coffee maker. There isn't anything better than a cup of hot chocolate on a cold day, especially when I need it fast!

I was hesitant to try the Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa simply because I don't normally like hot cocoa.  In most cases, I much prefer hot chocolate.  But, I really wanted a hot chocolate k-cup that I could make quickly when needed to warm up.  So, I kept tasting and testing.  My search is now finished and I extremely surprised that it has ended with a hot cocoa k-cup instead of hot chocolate. Regardless, I am thrilled the search is over and I have a k-cup that meets, and exceeds, my requirements.


Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa K-Cups 

Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa K-Cups, Milk Chocolate, 72 CountSwiss Miss Hot Cocoa K-Cups, Milk Chocolate, 72 CountCheck PriceI tried several different brands of hot chocolate k-cups, but most of them tasted like nasty hot water.  As I said, I was hesitant to venture into the hot cocoa k-cups.  I really didn't wish to waste my money, again.  However, the Swiss Miss cocoa is a real winner!  

The Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa from the k-cup has a nice rich and delicious taste.  Plus, it really does have a milk chocolate flavor just like the package states.  Since it is made with water, and not milk, it isn't as thick as a homemade cup of hot cocoa, but it doesn't have that cocoa aftertaste.

Now, when I come in from the cold, I have a fast and easy hot drink to warm me up.  Oh, and it is extra delicious with those little marshmallows added. 



Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa k-cups are the best hot chocolate in a k-cup. After trying several brands, I finally found a delicious milk chocolate hot cocoa mix k-cup.

 

The Snow Leopard Mug

Snow Leopard Coffee MugSnow Leopard Coffee MugCheck PriceThe snow leopard mug you see filled with the Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa in the photo, is available on Zazzle.  It is one of my own personal photos that I have made available on a variety of Zazzle products.  The Snow Leopard mug does seem totally appropriate for warm hot cocoa on a cold day.  

Visually, I think the marshmallows bring out the beauty of the Snow Leopard's gorgeous fur.  



My mug is a little different from the one that is offered on Zazzle.  In my desire to feature the snow leopard face, I didn't realize I had off-centered the image until I got my own mug in the mail.  At that time, I went back into the Zazzle mug image set-up and centered the image on each side.  


Grab Your Mug of Swiss Miss Cocoa & Join Me Today!


Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa k-cups are the best hot chocolate in a k-cup. After trying several brands, I finally found a delicious milk chocolate hot cocoa mix k-cup.


 

Swiss Miss Hot Cocoa K-Cups Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 8, 2019

Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maine Syrups & Gift Set Reviewed

Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maple Syrup & Gift Set Reviewed
I love cooking for my family, therefore a gift for my kitchen is always the right gift.  

When I received my Stonewall Kitchen gift set this year from my husband, I was immediately thrilled by the pretty blueberry batter bowl.  I admit, my one weakness is mixing bowls.  I love them, especially if they have a spout.  

I was also pretty excited to try a new pancake mix.  Turns out, I prefer the Stonewall Kitchen pancake mix to any other that I have ever tried.  That is rather surprising since I have used a popular grocery store brand for decades and have always liked the flavor and texture of the store brand.  However, the Stonewall Kitchen pancake & waffle mix has a better taste. 

The gift set also came with Wild Maine Blueberry Jam and Wild Maine Blueberry Syrup.  By now, you have probably guessed it was a blueberry themed gift set.  He also gave me a bottle of Wild Maine Maple Syrup separately.  Actually, he probably bought that for himself, but it was included with the gift.


Stonewall Kitchen Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix


 Stonewall Kitchen Farmhouse Pancake and Waffle MixCheck Price If you love pancakes, and you prefer using a mix, you will want to try the Stonewall Kitchen Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix.  As I said in the introduction, I was extremely surprised to find that I prefer it to the brand that I have used for a lifetime.

The mix requires that an egg, milk & melted butter be added, but I always have those on-hand, so no problem.  I quickly whipped up the batter and made our first batch of pancakes.  I wasn't sure what to expect since the batter was a lot thinner than other pancake batters, but my fears were unfounded.  The pancakes were delicious.

When we sat down to eat, neither one of us was talking, we were too busy eating!



My Preferred Method for Cooking Pancakes


 Oster Electric Skillet, 16 Inch, Black/Stainless SteelCheck PriceIt is important that I note how I cook the Stonewall Kitchen mix pancakes.  I use my electric skillet, set to 350°, with about a half-inch of Crisco vegetable oil covering the bottom of the skillet.  In effect, I am frying my pancakes in oil, uncovered.  I turn the pancakes when bubbles start to form on the side that is up.  I only turn them once.

Because the clean-up is easier, the second time I made these pancakes, I used my Cuisinart Griddler.  I can also cook more pancakes at one time since the Griddler opens out flat which allows me to cook on two grills at the same time.  I didn't expect there to be much difference, but there definitely was a difference.  The pancakes were simply not as good.  They still tasted okay, but after the first batch cooked in the electric skillet, they were disappointing.

Therefore, from now on, I will always cook my Stonewall Kitchen pancakes in oil in my electric skillet.


The Stonewall Kitchen Syrups


I am a huge fan of blueberry syrup when it is really good, but I hate it if it tastes artificial.  My husband prefers Maple syrup, but like me, he is selective.  It has to be real maple syrup.

Few blueberry syrups live up to my standards.  Stonewall Kitchen Wild Maine Blueberry Syrup is, by far, the best I have ever eaten!  

Believe it or not, my husband has said that the Stonewall Kitchen Maine Maple Syrup is the best maple syrup he has ever tried.  Big wins there for Stonewall Kitchen!  We are both very picky when it comes to our pancake syrup.

Oh, and the bottles are really cute too!



 Stonewall Kitchen Breakfast Gift Baskets and Sets (5 Piece Blueberry Gift Set)Check PriceMy Stonewall Kitchen Blueberry Gift Set


Yeah, I know.   Now you all want my gift set too.  Well, you can't have mine, but you can have one like it.  I can tell you from experience, this is a great gift for the cook.

Do note though that the blueberry set comes with blueberry syrup.  You may also wish to purchase the Maine Maple Syrup separately like we did.

The gift set includes everything you see in the picture and comes wrapped in the cellophane bag tied with a Stonewall Kitchen ribbon like mine in the top photo.  

Gift Set Includes:
  • Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix
  • Blueberry Batter Bowl
  • Wild Maine Blueberry Jam
  • Wild Maine Blueberry Syrup
  • Blue Spatula

 

 
Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maine Syrups, & Gift Set Reviewed

 

Related & Relative Articles


I am not the only blueberry loving Contributor!  Olivia has previously revealed her love for the fruit too. Plus, you may have recognized the phrase I used in the introduction, "my one weakness".  That is actually a quote from Lark Rise to Candleford.  Dorcas Lane uses that descriptive phrase several times in the movie and it always tickles me to hear her say it.

You may have noticed the Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix is also for waffles. Literally, it is named Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix. You can make those waffles in a really cute heart-shaped waffle maker that was reviewed here by Bev Owens.

Olivia reviews some of the best recipes, as well as a cookbook recommendation, for all of us who love to consume this delightful bit of heaven on earth!

Lark Rise To Candleford ReviewLark Rise To Candleford Review

Enjoy Lark Rise To Candleford the BBC series which inspires, enlightens and entertains the entire family. The Lark Rise to Candleford series is based on the semi-autobiographical novels by Flora Thompson

Mini Muffins- Bake Ahead and FreezeMini Muffins- Bake Ahead and Freeze
Mary Beth shared her own personal recipe for blueberry apple oat muffins here. She also gave us the basic recipe for her bake and freeze muffins which could include many different fruits & nuts.

Heart Waffle Maker ReviewedHeart Waffle Maker Reviewed
Bev reviewed this heart shaped waffle maker to make our waffles in the shape of a heart as an expression of our love. Small and lightweight this heart shaped waffle maker can be a fun addition to any kitchen.




Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maple Syrup & Gift Set Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 1, 2019

Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin

Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin
With Valentine's Day just around the corner, it is befitting that we should review a movie entitled "Be My Valentine". 

Of course, this is a sappy romantic movie with the perfect ending.  After all, isn't a sweet love story exactly what we are all seeking for Valentines?  

So, why not go ahead and tell you now, this is it! 

William Baldwin might not be as well known his brother, Alec, but he is every bit as likeable.  Perhaps, even more so.  His role in this movie as a single father actually makes him very endearing.  We see his playful side as well as his sensitive side.  But, mostly we see a father who loves his son and is willing to help him in ways that might normally be considered a mother's job.

Oh, and one more important thing, the fact that it is a Hallmark channel movie ensures us that the movie is appropriate for any age to view.


Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie


 Be My Valentine on DVD,
Prime Video or Hallmark Channel
Check Price
Firefighter, Dan Farrell (William Baldwin), believes all of the embers of love were completely doused for him when his wife died.  But, fear not, he is good-natured and happy as a single father.  His daily focus is on his son and his job.  He is definitely not looking for romance when cupid smacks him upside his head.

Kate Burlington (Natalie Brown) plans to spend Valentine's Day with old movies and comfort food.  Still feeling the sting of a failed relationship, Kate isn't looking for anyone special.  She is not even interested in having a date for Valentines.  However, when a small fire breaks out in her flower shop, she comes face to face with someone very special indeed.  The mutual interest is immediately ignited between Dan and Kate.

As they spend time together, they find they have a lot in common.  Therefore, a friendship between them just seems natural.  It isn't until Kate's ex shows up that this new relationship is challenged to the extreme.  After all, Kate had wanted to marry Gavin and it was his lack of commitment that caused the breakup.  Now, Gavin is back and wants to get married.

Ok, so the movie is probably "cheesy" and a bit predictable, but it is also still adorable.  A sweet love story for Valentine's Day for sure!







"Be My Valentine" is available on DVD or Amazon Prime Video
Currently, "Be My Valentine" is available on Amazon with a subscription to the Hallmark Channel.  


https://amzn.to/2A2nyj4


  

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Be My Valentine (2013) Hallmark Movie Review starring William Baldwin Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON: