Showing posts sorted by relevance for query cupcakes. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query cupcakes. Sort by date Show all posts

Friday, October 28, 2016

Instructions for Easy Stenciled Cupcakes for Halloween

Decorate Halloween Cupcakes with Stencils Reviewed

Stenciling cupcakes is a fun and easy way to decorate a cupcake. I am sharing simple step by step in instructions for stenciling Halloween Cupcakes along with lots of photos and tips.
Stenciling cupcakes is a fun way to decorate cupcakes. Using stencils is a pretty easy way to decorate beautiful Halloween cupcakes that are certain to be a frightening fantastic addition to your party table.

By simply using stencils, confectioners sugar or sanding sugar, you too will be able to create tasty treats that double as great Halloween decorations.

If you can't find the cupcake stencil you want, why not use a small cookie cutter?

Let me show you exactly what I am talking about and what your guests will be talking about at your Halloween party when you make these creepy cupcakes!


Choose the Right Cupcake Recipe


Stenciling cupcakes is a fun and easy way to decorate a cupcake. I am sharing simple step by step in instructions for stenciling Halloween Cupcakes along with lots of photos and tips.
For convenience, I used boxed cake mixes to make my cupcakes. I baked 12 large Triple Chocolate Fudge with a Betty Crocker Super Moist cake mix and 12 large Lemon Supreme cupcakes with Duncan Hines Moist Deluxe cake mix. 

I selected these flavors because I knew I would not be icing all of them and I wanted cupcakes that would taste good without icing.

Delicious filled cupcakes would be ideal for these stenciled cupcakes for Halloween since they will not be frosted.

Here are a few recipes you might like for your frost-less cupcakes.

Recipes for Cupcakes that are Delicious Without Icing




Supplies You Will Need to Get Started Stenciling

Supplies for Stenciled Halloween Cupcakes
  • Baked Cupcakes ~ I baked Triple Chocolate Fudge and Lemon cupcakes
  • Stencils or Cookie Cutters
  • Confectioners Sugar
  • Sanding Sugar ~ your choice of colors
Decorators note:  An essential tool for decorating with Confectioner's sugar is a cup with a mesh top.


Recommended Powdered Sugar Shaker


With Stainless Steel Mesh Dome Lid 


This cup will allow you to literally sprinkle confectioners sugar onto your cupcake once the stencil is in place. It will cut down on the mess often associated with decorating with confectioner's sugar.


Directions for Stenciling Cupcakes


  1. Using Cupcake Stencils - Place the stencil on the cupcake
  2. Sprinkle Cupcake with Confectioners Sugar then Slowly
  3. Gently Lift Stencil Off of Cupcake

Easy Stenciled Cupcakes for Halloween

 

Use A Cookie Cutter to Stencil

If you don't have stencils on hand, you could also use a small cookie cutter.  Owls and ghosts were not included in my stencil pack, but I wanted cupcakes decorated with them.  Since I love owls and ghosts at Halloween, I used my cookie cutters.  It is the same process, you simply have to make sure you have a good hold on the cookie cutter and have it firmly pressed against the cupcake top so the powdered sugar doesn't escape the sides. 

Stenciling Iced Cupcakes


Stenciling cupcakes that have icing is a little messier and a bit more tricky, but can certainly be done!  

To stencil an image on icing or frosting, you would want to use sanding sugar instead of powdered sugar.  The sanding sugar does have an added "sparkle" benefit.

You do need to be extremely careful when you lift the stencil or cookie cutter off the icing to keep from dropping excess sugar outside of the image lines.  The icing tends to try to hold on to your stencil.  I recommend lifting it straight up and off the cupcake  without tilting the stencil.

Directions for Stenciling Cupcakes with Sanding Sugar


  1. Using Cupcake Stencils - Place the stencil or cookie cutter on the frosted cupcake
  2. Sprinkle Sanding Sugar on the Cupcake,  then Slowly
  3. Gently Lift the Stencil Straight Up & Off of Cupcake 


Cupcakes for Halloween Stenciled with Sanding Sugar

 These Cupcakes were Decorated with
Lemon Frosting and Brown Sanding Sugar

 

Using Cookie Cutters & Stencils to Decorate Cupcakes


Stenciling cupcakes is a fun and easy way to decorate a cupcake. I am sharing simple step by step in instructions for stenciling Halloween Cupcakes along with lots of photos and tips.
Black Cat Cupcake
Lemon Cupcake & Black Sanding Sugar
When you decorate your Halloween cupcakes with stencils or cookie cutters, your variety is limited only by your cookie cutters, stencils and supplies.   I have dozens of cookie cutters and several packs of Halloween stencils.  I enjoy playing around with them and seeing what unique cupcakes I can create.  Now, everybody knows you can't celebrate Halloween without the black cat.  Isn't he spectacular on his golden moon cupcake!

They are also great for cakes! 


You can see my directions on how to stencil a Halloween cake by clicking this link to Cooking for the Holidays


Supplies Used in This Article


Confectioners Sugar is available in most grocery stores.  A variety of sanding sugar colors is not as easily obtained.  I purchase mine online.  

I also purchase my cookie cutters and stencils online. 



The Stencils


The stencils used in this article are an older pack of Martha Stewart Halloween stencils - M230600 (UPC #015586743364). The pack includes the bat, 2 jack o' lantern faces, the witch, the spider, the web, the skull & crossbones and the raven. (Neither the raven nor the web are shown on the front of the package.)  The only place I could find them at the time of writing this article was on eBay.


Since eBay inventory changes constantly, I recommend checking here again soon if you don't see exactly what you want right now.



 

 

 

See More Recipes On ReviewThisRecipes.com


More Recipes by Sylvestermouse
Peach Cobbler RecipeQuick and Easy Peach Cobbler Recipe
My mother's peach cobbler is one of my favorite desserts.  Actually, it is my favorite breakfast too. I have even been known to eat it for lunch.
Peanut Butter Fudge RecipePeanut Butter Fudge Recipe
This is my mother's recipe for Peanut Butter Fudge.  I have never seen it published anywhere else, but it is the best I have ever tasted.


"This Tutorial for Easy Stenciled Cupcakes for Halloween" Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 10, 2018

Reviewing National Vanilla Cupcake Day


November 10th is known as National Vanilla Cupcake Day ~ an unofficial, but tasty, holiday.

Cupcakes, Fairy Cakes, Patty Cakes


Image Source: Pixabay

Cupcakes are single serving cakes which are thought to have gotten their name from being baked in cup-shaped molds.  In the United Kingdom they are known as fairy cakes and in Australia they are called patty cakes

Vanilla cupcakes are made by adding vanilla extract to the cake batter and sometimes to the icing.


Did You Know…


...that vanilla is the only fruit-bearing and edible orchid in the world?

Vanilla is  extracted from the seed pods of the Vanilla orchid. It is one of the most expensive spices in the world (second only to saffron).  


Plain Vanilla


Even though Vanilla is expensive, it is one of the most popular flavors in the world. Today, it is used in a wide variety of food items and even in products, such as perfumes, soaps, and candles.  Vanilla is considered to be one of the plainest flavors available; thus, the term plain vanilla has come to be used to describe things that are very basic and ordinary.


Vanilla Cupcake Recipes


*For a quick way to bake vanilla cupcakes, one can always use a store-bought mix.

**For those who enjoy creative baking from scratch, I found two fabulous vanilla cupcake recipes for you to try.


The Most Amazing Vanilla Cupcakes
The first one is called The Most Amazing Vanilla Cupcakes recipe and is from Rachel Farnsworth of The Stay At Home Chef .

It is an easy to make one-bowl recipe. You'll never need another boxed mix again!

Rachel also includes some very helpful cupcake baking tips in her blog post for her Most Amazing Vanilla Cupcakes recipe.










Vanilla Cupcakes from Live Well Bake Often
The second Vanilla Cupcake recipe is from Danielle of Live Well Bake Often

Danielle's secret ingredient to her delicious cupcakes is sour cream! 

*Check out both Rachel's and Danielle's recipes before you begin baking your own vanilla-cupcake-recipe. 






Vanilla versus Chocolate


If you prefer chocolate instead of vanilla, you only have to wait for 11 months to celebrate Chocolate Cupcake Day on October 18.



Happy National Vanilla Cupcake Day
November 10 


Be sure and share your baked goodies with your family and friends. 


For more Cupcake Reviews & Recipes
Check out ReviewThisReviews: Cupcakes



Written by Wednesday Elf 11/10/2018







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 22, 2017

Cupcake Cakes Cookbook Review

Cupcake Cakes Cookbook Review
Cupcakes have always been a favored treat for school days, parties, or just for dessert. They are even better when they are arranged to make a fun design. 

Consider the cupcake cake on the front of the Cupcake Cakes cookbook.  It looks like an ice cream cone, but in fact it is 18 cupcakes frosted and arranged in a delightful design pattern.  And, seriously!  What could be easier?  10 chocolate cupcakes, 7 strawberry cupcakes and 1 cherry frosted cupcake.  Once decorated with the Good & Fruity candy that looks like sprinkles, you have made a beautiful ice cream cone cake.  Truly fabulous! 


Using Store Bought Cupcakes 


I normally make my own cupcakes, but if you find yourself in a rush, you could simply buy cupcakes from the grocery store or bakery.  Purchase whatever decoration candy is needed and the necessary frosting color, and whip out that cake design in no time.  Using the ice cream cone cupcake cake again as the example, it would be extremely easy to buy chocolate and strawberry cupcakes, the Good & Fruity candy, and a can or tube of cherry frosting.  This is perfect for the mom who is required to bring cupcakes for the classroom party, but doesn't have time to bake.


The Cupcake Cakes Cookbook 

The Cupcake Cake Cookbook - Inside the cookbook
I own several cookbooks that include cupcake cakes, but this is my personal favorite.  All of the cupcake cake designs are easy to replicate, yet they are adorable.  

The book is fairly small compared to other cookbooks, plus it is lightweight.  That makes it extremely easy to grab and carry to a party or school destination if you need it for reference when assembling the cake.  

It has a spiral binding inside the cover which makes the book lay open flat.  Anyone who has ever fought to keep a cookbook open to a specific page knows just how fabulous an internal spiral binding is to the chef.

Cupcake Cakes has instructions for 25 different cupcake cakes and each one is awesome.  I love all of the animal designs myself, but there is also a wizards hat for Harry Potter fans, a flower bouquet cupcake cake and a princess crown for girls.  There is even a treasure chest cupcake cake design which would be perfect for a scavenger hunt party or pirate themed party.

Cupcake Cakes Cookbook Review


Buy Your Own Copy of Cupcake Cakes 

The book is available for a Kindle, but I recommend the actual hardcover book since there are color pictures.  Of course, if you have a Kindle Fire, that is not an issue since it shows pictures in color. 


Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




Read More Cookbook Reviews atReviewThisReviews.com ~ Cookbooks


Cupcake Cakes Cookbook Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, March 11, 2017

Mystery Series Review: Cats, Cupcakes and Killers

Cats, Cupcakes and Killers
Mystery series are always fun to read, especially when you can get them in a nice boxed set. Author Sylvia Selfman has done just that with her Izzy Greene series in Cats, Cupcakes and Killers. All seven mysteries are published together for Kindle and e-readers. What could be more enticing for a mystery story lover such as myself?



Cats, Cupcakes and Killers Starring Izzy Greene


This fun series is considered a cozy mystery series. (More about that coming up.) It's also an enjoyable romp through life with Izzy Greene, our amateur sleuth. The setting is a modern day Palm Springs retirement community. Yep, our Izzy (short for Isadora, of course) is a widow living happily in retirement. Happily that is, until murder comes knocking at her door. Well, the murderer comes knocking, followed by the police detective who wants her to just find a hobby. And one that doesn't involve murders, please.

In the first book, Izzy ends up with a companion cat named Sherlock. Really, that's his name. This ushers in pets as integral parts of the various murder investigations. Which allows the author to weave some extra humor in.

Cats, Cupcakes and Killers
Not that she needs extra humor. There is plenty around the cupcake and dessert loving duo of Izzy and her best friend and sleuthing partner, Flo. Of course, we are treated to decadent descriptions of these rich sweets. Enough to make a chocoholic like me go rushing to the nearest bakery. With chocolate cupcake in hand, or mouth as the case may be, I'm off reading the next in the series. 

Author Sylvia Selfman has put together a humorous premise for this mystery series. Every one is just plain fun reading. None of these books will ever win a Nobel prize for literature, but they don't have to. In my opinion, fun reading is worth it's weight in gold. (Not sure what that weight is, but it sure sounds good, doesn't it?)

Cozy Mysteries - The History and Progression


In the days of Agatha Christie, the term cozy mystery got it's start. It was meant to describe a mystery setting where a very limited number of people could be the murderer. A family gathering at the locked estate of the victim, a weekend getaway on an island resort, even a formal birthday party where all the guests stay overnight.  The victim and the suspects are all in a "cozy" situation.

Since that original description, the term cozy has come to include a broader use. It's not just about the suspects anymore. It's now applied to mysteries that allow you read them curled up on the couch for an afternoon. Instead of the suspects, we the readers are cozy.

Sylvia Selfman decided to include both definitions in her Cats, Cupcakes and Killers series. I have been curled up in my favorite reading chair enjoying the stories of Izzy's limited setting for suspects. Cozy mysteries from any angle.

My Word of Caution for this Mystery Series Review


It's rare for me to care much about a typo or two in a book that I'm reading. Proofing isn't all it's cracked up to be. And we know that we're all only human, we make mistukes. But, with this series, along with many others I have read recently, typos seem to be popular. Maybe it's the software that put these into Kindle format, maybe it's the authors themselves. Whatever it is, be aware that there are enough typos to cause you some reading stoppage. My advice - try to ignore them and enjoy the story. Typos included, the cozy mysteries are worth it.

Besides, the price is completely right. Ninety-nine cents for the complete series of 7 mystery novels. For that price, I'll forgive the typos. It's even better if you belong to Kindle Unlimited. So take a risk - not much of one anyway - and enjoy Cats, Cupcakes and Killers.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, March 21, 2014

Creating Chocolate Fun in the Kitchen

Go ahead, admit it. You love getting creative in the kitchen. And when it involves chocolate, whoa, even better! Throw in a healthy helping of laughter and you just can't have more fun. Aren't you drooling to find out what I'm about to tell you? Well, get ready. It was all around a Web page.


So, stop thinking about making a page as boring writing. Thinking of it as telling your story of the day you decided to make Chocolate Lab Cupcakes. Of course, chocolate is involved in this.

The Story of Chocolate Lab Cupcakes


Our very own Cooking for the Holidays reviewer makes amazing cupcake creations. Snowman Cupcakes, I just had to try my hand at making Snowman Cupcakes myself. My first mistake was not following her directions. But, my hilariously miserable attempt turned into a page.


My second mistake was failing to use chocolate. Ergo, the idea of Chocolate Lab Cupcakes was born. Don't you know the entire effort, which took all afternoon and into the evening, was documented in photos. This was meant to be a page, you know.

Creating Fun in the Kitchen


In my kitchen that day, I was quite busy creating chocolate fun. OK, my kitchen turned out to be a mess. But, the clean-up was worth it! A day of hilarious fun was set up to be a Web article.

My bet is that many of you enjoy getting creative in the kitchen. Whether a masterpiece like the amazing Snowman Cupcakes, or one hilariously miserable attempt like my Snowman Cupcakes, a Web article is easily available from it. 

Don't forget to add the chocolate. Because, well, everything tastes better with chocolate.

Take bunches of photos of the whole process. Even jot down some of the jokes that came from your attempt. Or jot down serious notes if you must.

That combination of notes and photos can easily turn into an article. A page that will forever give you the memories of one time of creating chocolate fun in the kitchen.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 29, 2017

The Best Halloween Treats for Trick-or-Treaters & Halloween Parties

Halloween Trick or Treat Time
Bethany Lowe Trick or Treat Time Figurine

Trick or Treat, then Trade 


When I was a little child trick or treating with my siblings, there was a wide variety of Halloween treats that we would receive.  Some were coveted by almost everyone in our home and others seemed to be rejected by almost everyone.  If you happened to be the one who loved the unpopular treat, you really had it made.  Other kids would just hand it over to you.  No trade necessary.  They didn't want it and you were the happy recipient of their "trash."  To my fortune, I was the only one in our family who loved "Smarties".  Do you remember those? 

I had a brother who wanted all the jaw breakers. That was pretty cool for me because I certainly did not want them and he didn't like the "girly" candies.  Even as an adult, he would still give me candy corn, even though he had developed a bit of a sweet tooth himself and enjoyed his fair share of the little morsels. 

Everyone has a favorite treat and I hope you will each take a moment to tell us about your preferred Halloween "treat." 
 

Rice Krispie Treats

Rice Krispie Treats
In our neighborhood, we always had the "June Cleaver" types who must have spent days baking the treats to hand out on Halloween.  One of my favorite Mrs. Cleaver treats were the Rice Krispie Treats.  Oh how I thought I had died and gone to heaven when I found the "Mother of Halloween" home.  I often considered running back to my home, changing costumes and returning for seconds.  I never did that though because my siblings would have gotten way ahead of me and who knew what other treats were waiting just around the corner. 

The Original Rice Krispie Treat Recipe 

 

Candy Apples

Candy Apples


Another Mrs. Cleaver treats were the Candied Apples. 

No one ever gave those away!  We might only be able to eat 3 or 4 bits of it before we were either sick or full, but they would not be open for barter.  Thinking back now, I honestly don't know why we liked them so well because they would stick to our teeth and fingers.  Perhaps it was because they really were such a rare treat.  

If I made them now, I would cut them up into bite-size pieces, but I have no doubt, they would still stick to my teeth.

How To Make Candy Apples


Caramel Popcorn Balls 


Caramel Popcorn Ball Recipe
To this day, I love Caramel Popcorn.  When I would see that Saran Wrapped Ball of Heaven about to be dropped in my bag, I would reach out and tenderly receive it in my hand.  I couldn't possibly risk having my glorious gift battered in that bag of less desired, envious pieces of tooth rotting contraband. 

Oh, the howl that would have ensued if the wrapping had come off and it had to be thrown away.  I can just imagine how we would have sounded like a pack of wolves moaning to the moon about our lost treasure. 

Recipe for Caramel Popcorn Balls


Halloween Cupcakes 


The Best Halloween Treats for Trick-or-Treaters & Halloween Parties
The mother who made cupcakes would have to receive my "Mother of All Holidays" Award.  I cannot even begin to imagine having the time or the temperament to create such delicacies to hand out to children on Halloween. 

I don't know, maybe they only gave them to their favorite neighborhood goblins or maybe we received them because our Mother was the PTA president for so many years.  Whatever the reason, we all loved the payoff.

Okay, full disclosure.  I confess that I do make Halloween Cupcakes for my favorite trick-or-treaters.  Even the big kids (adults) who won't dress up and go door to door for Halloween are recipients of my Halloween cupcakes.

How to Stencil Halloween Cupcakes Tutorial 

 


Dubble Bubble Tub, Original Flavor, 380-Count, 60.3 Oz(3.7 lb)Dubble Bubble Tub, Original Flavor, 380-Count, 60.3 Oz(3.7 lb)Check PriceBubble Gum 


Bubble Gum was fun for the whole family.  We had the Biggest Bubble Contests and there was always someone (usually the sweet, timid one of the group) who would try to pop the bubbles by jabbing their fingers toward your mouth.  Half of the time, they would pull their finger away with your whole ball of gum.  

It was always interesting when we returned to school after Halloween to discover who had the new hair bob.  Everyone knew she was the one who had not listened when her parents said "Don't fall asleep with that Bubble Gum in your mouth."

 

Candy Sucker Lollipop Assortment (144 pc)Candy Sucker Lollipop Assortment (144 pc)Check PriceSuckers 


Now I ask you, what child doesn't like a sucker? 

The green ones were especially popular.  For some reason, my brothers always associated the green suckers with flatulence.  I swear they ate those suckers just so they could have an excuse to do what they wanted to do.  Around our house, if you saw a green sucker, you knew what was about to happen. 

My parents wore stern faces while the rest of us roared with laughter.
 

Taffy wrapped in Black and Orange Wrappers

5 LB. Halloween Mix (Assorted) Salt Water Taffy - Gourmet Taffy by Taffy Town5 LB. Halloween Mix (Assorted) Salt Water Taffy - Gourmet Taffy by Taffy TownCheck Price
This was the candy I grew to hate.  For days after Halloween, you didn't know when you would have a taffy torpedo aimed at your head.  The harder they got, the more dangerous they became. 

I truly believe we had a few neighbors in cahoots with my brothers.  It seemed like every year they received a ton of these diabolical disks.

The taffy is no longer wrapped in the plain black or orange wrappers, but I bet the pieces still pack a punch when hurled through the air. 

 

Halloween Candy Bars 


MARS Chocolate Favorites Halloween Candy Bars Variety Mix 96.2-Ounce 250-Piece BagMARS Halloween Candy Bars Variety Mix 96.2-Ounce 250-Piece BagCheck PriceIf you can't have homemade treats, this was the next best thing.  It was obvious which neighbor was handing out candy bars by the huge gathering of ghosts, witches and goblins at their door.  Back in the 60's, it just wasn't as common for people to splurge on store bought treats as it is today.  No, they were few and far between.

Candy Bars were definitely the best bargaining chip.  Amazingly, I could get my brothers to trade at least 3 or 4 Smarties for one candy bar!  Well, at the time I thought it was a great deal.  We were all happy with the trade so what did it really matter.
 

Trick-or-Treating Fun


I would be the first to admit that I was blessed to grow up in a large family.  It had, and still has, many advantages.  The Halloween candy in-house traders market always made trick-or-treating more fun.  It is wonderful to look back on those memories and laugh.  Just remember, in a large family like ours, anything bad that ever happened was the dog's fault and I had 5 built-in witnesses to testify to that fact!

You don't have to have 5 siblings to start your own Halloween candy trader's market.  Simply grab a few friends to trick-or-treat with and meet up at someone's home afterwards.  Then, let the candy trading begin! For those of you trick-or-treating with me this year, I have dibs on the Smarties!



 




Check Out More Halloween Fun Reviews at
Halloween on Review This!

 

 The Best Halloween Treats for Trick-or-Treaters & Halloween Parties Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 4, 2015

Baseball Season is Back!

Wednesday Elf's Baseball Board Pin
(c) Elf's Souvenir Signed Baseball

Baseball Season begins here on the Review This! blog with a collection of  baseball stories, crafts and treats.

It's April and Springtime, which may bring those April Showers for the May Flowers, but baseball fans believe that the true first sign of Spring is the beginning of baseball season!  For all the baseball fans out there, let's check out some fun baseball stories, DIY crafts and tasty treats.









Craft a Fingerprint Baseball

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/246009198371890558/

Michelle of Crafty Morning has created an interesting baseball craft that would be perfect for an arts & crafts project to do with your children, or a fun seasonal craft to do with a Scout Troop. 

All you need is paper, paint and fingers!  

Check out the easy step-by-step directions here.

 

 

 

A Famous Baseball Sportscaster

 

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/246009198370897400/
Vin Scully

Major League Baseball Teams each have an announcer who regularly broadcasts games for their home radio or TV network.  There have been many well-known baseball sportscasters over the years, but none who have been with a team as long as Vin Scully.  Known as the Bard of Baseball, Vin Scully has been the Voice of the Dodgers through six decades. At the end of the 2016 baseball season
, at age 88, Vin retired after 67 years as the broadcaster for the Dodgers, first in Brooklyn and then in Los Angeles. 

Here is his story written by HubPages author Ellen Brundige, which she calls the Vin Scully Fanpage.

 

Baseball Cupcakes


Baseball Cupcakes
Yummy Baseball Cupcakes

Randi of Duke & Duchesses created a fun dessert that would make a great 'treat time' for after a Little League game or for a baseball-themed birthday party.

Randi's Baseball Cupcakes were done by baking a pan of cupcakes, frosting them in white frosting, then using Skittles to form the laces, placing them side by side on the frosting.





Baseball Flip Flops Flower Tutorial

 

Baseball Flip Flops
Baseball Flower Flip Flops

For the baseball mom or any fan, create a cute pair of flip flops with a flower design made from baseballs.

All you need is a pair of flip flops (new or old), 2 baseballs (anyone with kids seems to have a bunch of old ones around, or you can buy some new ones), an X-Acto knife and glue.  The 'how-to' instructions are in a YouTube video on the crafty post by KidPep, a website for Crafts, DIY and More.


The technique used for the baseball flip flops can also be used for a Baseball Hair Bow with the video on the KidPep website.

 

 

 

I'm 'Crazy About Baseball'


Your writer, Wednesday Elf, has been a baseball fan since childhood and has shared many favorite baseball memories in  “Crazy About Baseball”.

 

Opening Day of Baseball



Available on Amazon



Opening Day of the 2019 Major League Baseball Season began on March 28th.  Us baseball fans now get to enjoy 26 weeks of baseball with the 30 teams in the MLB. 


More Baseball Stories


There are many more baseball stories to check out on Review This!  Good reading for days your favorite baseball team has a 'rain-out'.

Welcome to the 2019 Baseball Season.  Let's PLAY BALL.




Wednesday Elf on Blogger and on Etsy

 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 29, 2014

Cooking for Dogs


Everyone knows how much we love our dogs.  In a way, we treat them like children.  If one seems out of sorts, we sit with them, pet them and try to figure out what might be wrong.  I have even been known to run to the vet's office without make-up and still in my pajamas. 

Any time we go out to eat, we absolutely must bring home a treat for our furbabies!  After all, they have had to stay home and guard the house.  They deserve a special something for their devotion and hard work, which brings me to our featured article for the day.


Cupcakes for Dogs

Susan Zatautas shared a recipe for  Cupcakes For a Dogs Birthday and I can hardly wait to pop some in the oven.  Why wait for a birthday?!!  My babies deserve a treat today!  I just know Merlin will devour the cupcakes in a flash and our prime & proper Daisy will take her time and savor the flavor.



Now, I just need to figure out how to keep their "dad" from eating their cupcakes too.  Of course, I didn't see anything in the recipe that would prohibit him from testing these delicious treats too, even if they are labeled Cupcakes for Your Dog.

Bone Appétit Puppies!  









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 11, 2014

Special Easter Treats Equal Special Easter Memories

I have always enjoyed creating fun food for holidays, birthdays and special occasions, but Easter treats are especially delightful.  There is something inherently fun about bunnies, lambs, chicks, and decorated eggs.  

They all represent the celebration of new life and spring, which make them most appropriate for our Easter celebrations.  


Making Special Memories While Making Special Easter Treats

In our home, everyone gets involved in making special Easter treats.  One of my all time favorite Easter memories was actually when my son was in college.  He called to ask if he could come home for the weekend before Easter, bring a friend and make Easter cupcakes for a charity bake sale.   

There are many reasons why that request thrilled my soul, all of which I am sure any mother of college age children could understand.   I had a wonderful time drinking coffee, taking pictures and watching the guys "create" their special Easter treats.   It is truly amazing what all you can learn about your children if you simply listen to their conversation while they decorate cupcakes.  

The faces they put on the Easter bunny and lamb cupcakes were simply downright hilarious.  Needless to say, their cupcakes sold out at the bake sale and I never even got to taste one myself, but I know for a fact, they were delightful.

Cupcakes in photos were created by using
  the Wilton Mini Cakes Bunny Rabbit Pan Mold 
 and the Wilton Lamb Mini Treats Pan



More Special Easter Treats Suggestions 

Stepping out of my own kitchen and into the homes of other  authors, I find there are several awesome Easter treat suggestions that would truly be a lot of fun for the whole family.  

http://hubpages.com/food/easter-cake-pops-recipe
Andreaberrios  invites us to make this gorgeous and creative Easter Cake Pops.  

She offers suggestions and recipes for chicks, bunnies and Easter egg cake pops.  I am certain any of these would be extra special Easter treats.





Seeking More Special Treats 


If you are like me and you are constantly on the lookout for special treats.

Now tell us, do you have a special Easter treat story full of special Easter memories to share?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X