Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Thursday, November 10, 2022

Review of Suet Nuggets for Birds

 

Nuthatch waiting turn for Suet Nuggets 
One of my favorite wild bird foods to use in our backyard feeders are Suet Nuggets.  These little pellets contain a blend of suet and other high oil content ingredients.  I find them easy to use, less messy than other feed, and the birds love them.  I find them easier to use then the suet cakes and there is less waste with the nuggets.



In my yard they are particularly popular with the Downy woodpeckers, but I have also seen other woodpeckers, nuthatches and even sparrows feed on them.  I have seven different types of bird feeders in my yard, and the one that is most popular is the suet nugget feeder.

In this photo a female Downy is getting the last bits of the nuggets out of the feeder.  Below is a male Downy enjoying the nuggets in the wintertime.


The suet nuggets are designed to attract a wide variety of wild birds.  They are formed into soft nuggets so that they are easy for beaks to break apart.  They may be served alone (as you see I have done in the feeder above) or combined with other feed.  These nuggets are ideal for year-round feeding.  I always have a feeder full of these nuggets in my backyard.

The nuggets are available in a variety of flavors.  I have tried the sunflower, bluebird and woodpecker varieties but the one I use the most often is the peanut variety.
Red-bellied Woodpecker



As you can see in the photo above even the sparrows enjoy the nuggets.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Long, Lined Leather Gloves — A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love

With the winter holidays fast approaching, many of us are starting to think about Hanukkah, Kwanzaa and Christmas gifts for teachers, friends, family and other loved ones. Gloves are traditional and practical gifts, but not always exciting. A gift-worthy pair needs something special, such as a pretty color or luxury materials, to make the recipient's eyes light up when they unwrap their present.

The long lambskin leather touchscreen gloves I bought myself a couple of years ago are beautifully made, have a soft, plush lining, look and feel much more expensive than they are and keep my hands and arms toasty warm during the cold winter months.

I'm sharing my in-depth product review of these yummy, extra-long, warm winter gloves that would make a luxurious and surprisingly affordable gift idea for the women on your holiday shopping list.

Soft lambskin leather long, warm winter gloves with cozy plush lining
Beautiful VIKIDEER long leather lambskin gloves with a soft, warm, plush lining that are also touchscreen compatible to work with your mobile phone, tablet or Kindle

Here in New England, winters are long, snowy and bitter cold. Even when I lived in New York City, I always purchased warm winter gloves that extended several inches above my wrist. However, once I moved to the Boston area I found that they weren't long enough to protect my forearms from the bite of the arctic winter wind, which forced its way inside my coat sleeves every time I bent my arms to take something out of my purse, such as a tissue or bus fare, or use my phone.

I have always had a weakness for high-quality, cashmere-lined lambskin leather gloves. I had several pairs, purchased when I still lived in Manhattan and long before I got my first mobile phone, that were still in great shape. However, in addition to not being long enough, they also weren't touchscreen compatible. So, when I used public transportation to get from our house in the suburbs into Boston and back, every time I wanted to check the status of the bus I was waiting for, listen to my audiobook, check my email, text or phone messages, call a taxi, etc., I had to remove my right glove and expose my hand to the freezing cold.

I tried a pair of long, knitted cashmere gloves similar to, but a bit shorter than, these long cashmere blend touchscreen gloves. Although they were long enough to protect my forearms when I bent my elbows and allowed me to keep my hands covered while using my phone, they weren't warm enough for my needs.

Eventually, however, I found my current pair of well made, very warm, long leather gloves with touchscreen compatible fingertips. Jackpot!

What I Love About VIKIDEER Long, Lined, Warm Lambskin Leather Gloves

Here are some of the reasons I recommend these excellent quality, surprisingly affordable VIKIDEER lined, long, warm leather gloves for yourself or as a gift.

Buttery Soft, Supple, Genuine Lambskin Leather

These feel deliciously smooth, soft and luxurious from the moment you take them out of the box.

Pair of long brown leather winter gloves with one cuff turned back to show plush fleece lining
The silky soft, plush polyester fleece lining of these winter gloves keeps hands toasty warm

Warm, Plush Lining

The genuine leather shell, silky soft polyester plush lining and windproof, close stitching keep even my temperature-sensitive hands toasty warm during our cold, snowy, windy New England winters.

Long Enough To Protect Forearms Against the Wind

I bought these luxurious leather gloves in the three-quarter length (15.5" long), which covers most of my forearms, so when I bend my arms there's no gap where skin is exposed to the cold or wind. These warm winter gloves are also available in a longer elbow length (19.6" long).

woman wearing coat with arm bent to show long leather gloves covering forearms
Even when I bend or raise my arms, my forearms stay warm covered by these long winter gloves

Choice of Four Colors

Both the 15.5-inch and 19.6-inch lengths are available in Black, Brown, Champagne (which I would call tan or saddle brown) and Red. I bought the 15.5-inch long gloves in the rich, dark chocolate brown to go with my faux fur-lined microsuede hooded coat. I'm also planning to buy a black pair to go with my nearly ankle-length, black, hooded down coat, which I wear on the coldest days.

High Quality, Made to Last

The materials and workmanship make them durable and wear resistant. The lambskin leather also becomes even softer and more supple with wear and gradually conforms to the shape of your hands over time.

After wearing mine frequently throughout two frigid Massachusetts winters, the leather as well as the fleece lining and stitching have all held up beautifully.

Touchscreen Compatible

These may look like traditional, high quality, warm leather gloves, but there is a hidden feature (probably conductive thread stitching or fabric between the lambskin leather shell and the soft, cozy plush lining) that also makes these touchscreen gloves. I love being able to use my mobile phone, tablet or Kindle while I'm on the go without having to remove my gloves (especially since it is harder to put a long glove back on while wearing a long-sleeved winter coat).

True to Size

These are sold in small, medium, large, extra-large and extra-extra large sizes rather than numerical glove sizes. I ordered the medium, which equaltes to my usual glove size 7, and found that the fit is true to size. At the time of this post's publication, 88% of Amazon buyers who rated the fit of these gloves also said they fit true to size.

Here is a size guide to help you choose the best fit for yourself or your gift recipient:

Small (6.5)

Medium (7)

Large (7.5)

X-Large (8)

XX-Large (8.5)

Attractive Gift Box

These beautiful, warm winter gloves arrive in an elegant tissue-lined gift box with gold embossing, ready for holiday gift giving. Just add wrapping paper and a bow!

A Fantastic Value

These plush lined, genuine lambskin leather gloves look, feel and last like pairs that cost much more. The gift box is a lovely, unexpected bonus.

Luxury Gifts for Her at An Affordable Price

You won't find more elegant, luxurious, well made and affordable gifts for women for less than $37 for these 15.5-inch, three-quarter-length lambskin leather gloves. Even the longer, 19.6-inch elbow-length gloves cost less than $40.

They would make excellent Hanukkah, Kwanzaa or Christmas gifts as well as birthday or Valentine's Day gifts that the lucky recipients will enjoy and appreciate for many years to come.

Consider a Pair For Yourself

These high-quality warm winter gloves are as practical as they are pretty. If yours don't have touchscreen compatible fingertips or you're tired of having cold hands in the winter, consider treating yourself to a pair of these beautiful, long-lasting, affordable, long leather gloves. You deserve to have warm hands this winter, too!


Long, Lined Leather Gloves — A Luxurious, Affordable Gift She'll Love by Margaret Schindel


Get More Gift Ideas From My Product Reviews

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set

The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments

The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker

The Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

Flippy Tablet, Kindle, Phone, and Book Stand Lap Pillow Review

Hamama Microgreens Starter Kit and Seed Quilts Review

Read More Gift Reviews From Our Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Christmas Wreath Storage Containers


Christmas Wreath Storage Containers Reviewed

Halloween is over and that means the Holidays are now in full swing. It's time to think about getting all of those Thanksgiving and then, Christmas decorations out of storage.

Soon Fran and I will have our basement floor lined with the dozen or so totes where we store all of our decorations.

Call us old-fashioned, but we really don't decorate for Christmas until Thanksgiving is over.


 It seems that the retail stores begin earlier every year. Our Wal-Mart store had Christmas decorations out before Halloween.

We decorate all of our windows and doors with wreaths. We have several different sizes of wreaths, from 24-inches to 36-inches. Our Christmas wreaths are one item that doesn't seem to store very well in totes.

 Every year when the Holidays are over and it's time to pack it all up, I found myself battling to store the wreaths in plastic bags.

A couple of years ago I finally broke down and bought these handy Christmas wreath storage containers. Now it is so easy to get them out and store them every year. No more fighting pulling them out, and putting them back in plastic bags.

These wreath storage containers are made with tear-resistant plastic, and feature heavy-duty sturdy handles, with dual zippers and a card slot.

They are large enough to also fit garland and string lights on top of the wreaths for easy storage. These containers come in different sizes to easily store and protect all of your seasonal wreaths.

Zober 2-Pack Christmas Wreath Storage Bag 36Zober 2-Pack Christmas Wreath Storage Bag 36Buy Now

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 6, 2022

Extra Bed Space with an iDOO Self-Inflating Mattress - We Bought it, We Love it

self-inflating mattress review - 5 star recommendations

A self-inflating mattress is a practical, convenient item to have on hand for sleepover guests.

When all the bedrooms are filled, and you at least need a comfy place for someone to crash for the night, a self-inflating mattress solves the problem.

Here's the iDOO Mattress Available Via Amazon (This is the Latest Model - The Newer iDOO Model):



What Are the Benefits of a Self-Inflating Mattress:

  • If storage space is tight in your home, you can easily flatten this mattress out and slide it under a bed. That's exactly where we store ours.
  • It comes with a storage bag as well.
  • The self-inflating aspect is an absolute must! We used to have mattresses that we had to inflate with a manual pump; What! No thanks. We've long switched to a self-inflating version for our guests.
  • Simply plug the mattress in, and watch it quickly inflate within two minutes! Easy, peasy.
  • This mattress deflates as quickly as it inflates.
  • It's made of non-toxic material and has a non-slip base.
  • We purchased the original model (older model iDOO) twin size from Amazon Canada, which measures 75"x 39"x 15" -  there's a link to that one below. The newer model is slightly bigger at 76" x 39" x 18". Both accommodate a weight of up to 550lbs.
  • Although it's a twin size, my very tall son had no problems sleeping on it; there's plenty of room.
  • The raised edges make for a nice, flat bed.
  • It's designed to be puncture resistant and has a waterproof layer on top.
  • Initially, I stated that twin bed sheets fit this mattress - (and they may) - however, I remembered that I used full bed sheets. I haven't personally tried twin bed sheets. I figured full bed sheets would be better, given the depth of the mattress.
5-Star Rating Recommendation From Our Family - If You're Expecting Sleepover Guests for the Holidays, Be Sure to Check This Product Out

I highly recommend this self-inflating mattress; it's affordable, practical, and easy to store away when you don't need it.

What I like about having an inflatable mattress in our home is the ease at which I can pull it out for unexpected overnight stays.

The best part about an inflatable mattress is being able to use it in any room in the home!

Set it up in the family room, a bedroom, a rec room, an office ... essentially any place you prefer to have your temporary sleeping area. I love that flexibility.

We've used our inflatable mattress for overnight guests in our bedrooms and the family room.

We purchased the older model, which is a tad smaller, measuring 75" x 39" x 15" versus  76" x 39" by 18" for the newer model. 

You can read more about the newer version here on Amazon


The equivalent of what we purchased on Amazon USA seems to only offer the 18" high model. If I was buying from Amazon USA, I'd go with the new model.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 1, 2022

Reviewing Warm, Wearable Oversized Hooded Blankets.

 


I absolutely love my warm Kudd.ly oversized hooded blanket!! I have never had one before but this year with energy bills rising fast and watching how much we put the heating on this autumn and winter we needed other ways to keep warm. 

We bought the Kudd.ly hoodie brand which I would recommend,  but there are many different companies selling them now. So it is best to see what is available to you and what is important to you. 

These hooded blankets are really great. They are generously oversized and have a hood and arms with plenty of room. The length for an adult, clearly depending on height, is generally mid thigh to around knee length or a bit longer. 

You simply pop it over your head and it is a massive cosy, warm cover-up. This means that it is easy to relax on the sofa with it on and also you can easily move around the house while wearing it and keep warm, unlike a blanket that slips off or trips you up.  


Our Kudd.ly is made of plush soft polyester on the outside and sherpa lined and thus very warm and soft to wear. The hood goes right over my head so plenty big enough if you find you need that extra warmth.

We mainly wear them first thing in the morning when having our breakfast and coffee and in the evenings once we settle down to watch a film or read or go on the internet. I do wear it when I am working from home though probably not for a work Zoom Call although I have come close when I forgot I was wearing it!! 

Once it gets much colder in winter I can see us wearing them during the day when we are at home. 


Sizing Of The Wearable Hooded Blanket

Ours is one size fits most people. Most of the hooded blankets I have seen are one size fits most. They are not designed to be form-fitting or even neat fit but rather a great big oversized cuddly wearable blanket. 

As an example, It fits both me at 5 foot 8 inches tall and my 6 foot 2 inches, tall husband, with room to spare and is plenty big enough in all measurements. 

If you are buying a different brand it is just best to check how big it is and how it fits.  

Many brands also do children's sizes so best to check what is the most suitable for your child. 



Benefits Of Wearable Hooded Blankets

  • It really does keep you very warm. It can be worn over anything so day clothes, dresses and PJs or just over a vest top or T shirt.
  • It is long enough on most people to either wear with trousers, joggers or PJs or leggings or if you are warm enough on its own.  
  • It is not size specific so once you have one it doesn't matter if you gain or lose weight and is especially useful when buying for teenagers who can wear the adult versions and still wear it as they grow taller.
  • Clearly, it will depend on height but for many adults, an adult size will probably be around mid thigh to knee length or slightly longer. So for most adults you are not in danger of tripping up over it when walking around or going up and down stairs like you would if walking around with a blanket around your shoulders with the danger of it slipping off.

  •  

  •   On children it will depend on their height and probably best to buy a child size specific hooded blanket. I would probably aim for no longer than just below the knee or maybe mid calf length for a child to be safe walking around in it. Many older teenagers would be fine in an adult version. 
  • It looks good and covers you up, so you can certainly open the door to delivery drivers or neighbours without worrying you look like you are in your night clothes at 7pm!




  • These hooded blankets come in many different colours and designs for both adults and children so it is matter of choosing your favourite. There are block colours, patterned designs, tie dye designs, children and teens designs in fun and funky designs or with animal features. The Sherpa fleece inside is very soft and usually white. 
  • The massive kangaroo-type pocket at the front is great for carrying around all those little bits and pieces! It's also great for keeping your hands very warm

  • I think they are suitable for everyone from men to women, older children to elderly people. 
  • On a cold day or night, you just feel so warm and cosy and cuddly which is a great feeling! 
  • If you don't need to wear them for example in the warmer weather, they come in a great bag that they can also be stored in. 
  • As you are so warm and they are much warmer than normal jumpers or sweaters, you won't need to have the expensive heating on so much so over time they will more than pay for themselves. 



Care Of A Wearable Hooded Blanket

Our Kudd.ly hooded blanket is fully washable on a gentle cycle. To dry either hang to dry outside on a washing line or inside over an airer or a gentle tumble dry. It has washed and dried beautifully. 

Personally, I think you need at least two each, so one to wear and one in the wash. Once you have one you never want to be without it for a minute!

  


 The Oversized Hooded Blanket As A Gift

They make wonderfully thoughtful gifts and the only decision really is whether it's a child or adult size and which color to buy and will suit everyone from older children to elderly people in the family! 

Any gender can and do wear these hoodies, it is just a choice of which colour and design! 

You have no worries about what size the buy as this garment does fit most people. 

I do think especially for winter Birthdays and for Christmas gifts these wearable oversized hoodies are a very thoughtful and fun gift. As it is so huge it also really feels like a substantial gift and can be tried on straight away. 

Different brands do vary in price and quality so do check out before you buy. 

As for negatives I really cannot find any. I just wish I had bought them for us and for gifts years ago.



If you want to feel toasty warm from head to toe in the colder months, consider buying a Warm Wearable Oversized Hoodie Blanket and also Women's Warm Winter Sherpa Lined Pants reviewed by Sylvestermouse Cynthia.


More Product Reviews On Review This Reviews

More Fashion Reviews On Review This Reviews




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 31, 2022

Reviewing Two Styles of Aprons Found on Etsy

I have had aprons on my wishlist for many years. But they are just one of those things that don't seem like a necessity - until I slop tomato sauce on a favorite shirt. Because I don't spend as much time in the kitchen as some people do, aprons definitely felt like a splurge. Now that I own two aprons, I'm not sure why I waited so long!  I did need them. I chose two different styles and I am very pleased with both. 


Old Fashioned CrossOver Apron by TheFortiesRevisited

The Apron:  I have wanted a crossover apron for years.  I prefer to slip something on and off over my head as opposed to messing with ties. The aprons in this shop caught my eye because of the retro style (I think it was the edging that made me think of older style aprons) and the beautiful choices in prints.  The word calico always makes me happy. 

The apron I chose was a cute, light colored, calico floral print with contrasting edging. I chose the style with the sections edged, giving the apron a somewhat geometric shape. The shop offers styles without so much edging. But the contrast on the apron I chose caught my eye. 

The online description is:

"This old fashioned Grandma full apron has subtle coral and blue flowers on a pale yellow background that has a tiny dot. It's trimmed in a dark green bias. The apron design is an 1940's vintage style to complete the look."


 The apron is handmade. The material is cotton.  It is machine washable. 

The Shop: Sally Hill is listed as the owner of TheFortiesRevisited. The shop is located in Worthington, Ohio, US. 

The store lists a variety of items including: full aprons, half aprons, clothes pin bags, smocks/cobbler aprons, children's aprons, and mother/daughter matching aprons. There is a large selection of premade items but if you don't see what you want special orders are accepted. Do you remember rick rack? She even offers aprons with rick rack! She also offers a wide variety of holiday prints. I had a hard time choosing which print I wanted because there were so many I liked.

The Mexican Apron by Orozocosshop

The Apron: While I went to Etsy to shop for a long, crossover apron, these Mexican aprons took me back in time to a neighborhood I lived in years ago. Many of the older Mexican women wore aprons in this style. I remember one abuela in particular who wore similar aprons every day. In fact, I'm not sure if I ever saw her without her apron.

I purchased the black and white check pattern apron because it was more my style than some of the floral embroidered styles offered on Etsy. Honestly, since it reminded me of that sweet woman it was an emotional purchase rather than a purchase with a plan of using the apron regularly. But, I now wear this apron daily!

The online description is: 

"A Mexican style two pocket apron made of lightweight check fabric poly/cotton with bias decoration, opened at the bottom back. Four pleats in front and four at the back.  30 inches long from the shoulder."

 


The apron is handmade. The material is cotton. I did not see that it is listed as machine washable but I am sure it is. However, I will hand-wash it because the material is a bit more thin and I already hand-wash many items.

The Shop: Gabriela is listed as the owner of the Ozorocosshop. The shop is located in Chicago, IL, US.

Comparing the Two Aprons

These aprons are different and I like each for different reasons.  The crossover apron is a thicker material so it will likely last longer. The Mexican apron is made from thinner cotton and will likely wear out sooner. BUT it will be more comfortable in the summer months. The Mexican apron is more full coverage around my torso and protects my entire shirt while the crossover apron is longer and protects most of my jeans. 

Frankly, the aprons have more similarities than you might expect. Both aprons have generous pockets (I've collected the chicken eggs using those pockets!).  And both aprons are very easy to get on and off by slipping them over my head; the crossover with it's straps and wide open backside and the Mexican apron with the very long slit in the back (I apologize that I could not get a good photo of the backside of that apron but if you look closely you can see the slit in the photo).

Now I know when I drop things with liquids, splash, or cook and splatter that my clothes are protected. Both aprons make me very happy and I'm pleased with these two purchases.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 30, 2022

A Whiskey Glass Gift Set - I Loved it So Much, I Bought it Twice

Whiskey Glasses Gift Set

With the holidays coming up, gift buying is creeping into our brains. I have to admit, I'm still trying to keep that door shut for a bit!

Times are tough at the moment, so if you're seeking a gift that's both affordable and elegant, you have to check out this Whiskey Glass Gift Set

I've purchased this gift set twice for two people. They appreciated the gift and loved the whiskey glasses as well.

What Is So Good About this Whiskey Glass Gift Set Anyway?

  • It comes in a lovely, elegant gift box
  • It includes 4 crystal whiskey glasses
  • Included is 1 tong
  • There are also 8 granite chilling whiskey rocks included
  • There's also 1 black velvet bag to safely store the whiskey rocks
  • The whiskey glasses are chip and scratch resistant
  • The glasses also have thick sides and a solid base
  • The glasses have diamond-like details, texture, and sparkle in the light
  • These glasses are ideal for Bourbon, Scotch, and Whiskey Lovers
  • The whiskey glasses are solid to hold - you feel like you're holding something of substance
What Rating Do I Give This Gift Idea

This Whiskey Glass Gift Set gets a five-star rating from me.

I purchased this first for my oldest son as a birthday gift, then, after seeing how nice it was for the price, I decided to buy one for my brother's birthday.

My brother and I don't usually exchange birthday gifts, but this birthday was a milestone birthday for him, and I knew this set would be something he would use. Plus, the price range was ideal.

When you don't normally exchange gifts with people, but decide for one reason or another that you want to get them something, this is a practical, thoughtful, classy, and affordable choice (in my humble opinion).

In summary, if you know someone who could enjoy a whiskey glasses set like this, don't hesitate; it's excellent value for the price.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 26, 2022

How To Get Bright, Younger-Looking Eyes In 60 Seconds

Today I’m delighted to share my review of a new-to-me beauty discovery, Bausch + Lomb LUMIFY Redness Reliever Eye Drops. 

I inherited my dad's very sensitive, easily irritated eyes. The whites have gradually developed increasing redness over time, especially when my eyes are tired or after I have applied eye makeup. The redness in the whites of our eyes not only detracts from their appearance but also makes us look older and more tired.

My mom suffered from dry macular degeneration that left her legally blind, so I'm extremely careful about what I put in my eyes. Until recently, I limited myself to occasional use of sterile, single-use saline eye drops when my eyes ache. However, I recently learned about LUMIFY Redness Reliever Eye Drops from Bausch + Lomb from a knowledgeable and trustworthy YouTube beauty influencer I follow, Sheri from Graceful Beauty and decided to give them a try. (I highly recommend subscribing to Sheri's Graceful Beauty YouTube channel.)

I have been absolutely amazed and delighted by the remarkable difference one drop in each eye makes after just 60 seconds. My eyes instantly look whiter, brighter, refreshed and much more youthful!

Read on to check out my before-and-after photos!

Make Eye Redness Disappear in 60 Seconds - Before and After close up photos of eyes
These unretouched close-up comparison photos of my eyes were taken just one minute apart, before and after I applied one drop of Bausch + Lomb LUMIFY Redness Reliever Eye Drops to each eye.

LUMIFY Redness Reliever Eye Drops Are Like Photoshop For Your Eyes!

LUMIFY redness reliever eye drops are a brimonidine tartrate ophthalmic solution 0.025% from Bausch + Lomb, the makers of the Ocuvite Eye Vitamin and Mineral Supplement that I have been taking for many years on the advice of my opthalmologist. They're a brand I know and trust.

Here's what I love about the LUMIFY Redness Reliever Eye Drops:

Safer Than Other Redness Relieving Eye Drops

  • These FDA-approved eye drops contain no bleach or dyes. 
  • According to the LUMIFY website, what makes this product different from its competitors is that "Other redness relievers constrict the arteries in your eyes, which can deprive the eye of oxygen. And that works to relieve redness at first, but commonly causes rebound redness. But low-dose brimonidine...restricts the venules, which helps to relieve redness without limiting the flow of oxygen...[for] whiter, brighter looking eyes that last up to 8 hours - with a low risk of rebound redness when used as directed."

Unique Formulation

  • LUMIFY claims to be the only over-the-counter redness reliever eye drops product that contains brimonidine. I did a quick search on Amazon for the active ingredient, brimonidine tartrate, and none of the the other products that appeared in the search results contained this ingredient.

Works in One Minute, Lasts for Hours

  • LUMIFY Redness Reliever Eye Drops are clinically proven to to reduce redness in 1 minute. Just one drop per eye is all you need to see the drops work their magic!    
  • The company claims the effects last for "up to eight hours." Although I find that they start to wear off sooner, I'm very pleased with how long the improved appearance of my eyes lasts. 
Check out these close-up photos before-and-after of my eyes to see the difference they make in just 60 seconds!
My eyes immediately before applying one drop of LUMIFY Redness Reliever Eye Drops to each eye; as you can see, the red lines and the redness in the inner corners make them look older and more tired.

This close-up photo was taken one minute after I applied the LUMIFY eye drops. The red lines are almost entirely gone and the redness in the inner corners has disappeared. You can see how much whiter and brighter my 68-year-old eyes look compared to the "before" photo.

Doesn't Sting My Sensitive Eyes

  • As I mentioned, my eyes are extremely sensitive. I was delighted (and relieved) to discover that these drops don't sting my eyes at all!

Safe for Contact Lens Wearers

  • Although I don't wear contacts, according to the LUMIFY FAQ, "LUMIFY can be used with contacts, but be sure to take them out before putting LUMIFY in your eyes. Wait 10 minutes before putting your contacts back in after use of LUMIFY."

Flents Ezy Drop Eye Drop Guide Helps You Apply Eye Drops Quicker, Easier, More Accurately and More Hygienically

  • It's important to keep the tip of any eye drops bottle from touching your eye to avoid contaminating the drops with bacteria. However, appling eye drops to our own eyes without touching the tip to the surface of our eyes can be tricky (and sometimes frustrating).
  • Although we can get better with practice, it's much quicker and easier to use an aid like the Flents Ezy Drop Eye Drop Guide that lets you position the tip of the bottle directly over your eye while keeping it a safe, hygienic distance from the surface.
  • By ensuring correct placement every time, this application aid helps you avoid wasting expensive eye drops (and getting them on your face instead of in your eyes!).

How To Get Bright, Younger-Looking Eyes In 60 Seconds by Margaret Schindel


Read More of My Beauty and Health Product Reviews

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

The Best Wet Brushes for Detangling Your Hair Without Damage

Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

Olaplex No.0 Intensive Bond Building Hair Treatment + No.3 Hair Perfector Product Review

VOLO Hero Premium Microfiber Hair Towel Product Review

The Best Low Carb Keto Gift Ideas: Keto Gift Guide

Review of EltaMD® and Colorescience® Mineral-Based Physical Sunscreens





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, October 23, 2022

Have You Heard of DampRid? - I Tried It, Check Out This Personal Review

Review of DampRid - Yes or No?

We don't have a dehumidifier in our basement.

We weren't in the mood to make that purchase yet.

We knew we had to do something with that typically musty smell you get in the basement, and I had seen commercials for a product called "DampRid." 

So, of course, off I went to investigate.

What is DampRid?

Basically, DampRid is a hanging moisture absorber that helps to rid a space of humidity and, thus, odors.

You can use it just about anywhere; closets, basements, bathrooms, laundry rooms, storage, garages, boats, RVs, and more.

They're designed to last approximately 60 days. However, they lasted at least 90 days in my basement.

How Does Damp Rid Work?

It comes with 3 hanging moisture-absorbent packets per box.

Yes, it has a hanger hook on each one, so it's easy to hang anywhere.

Essentially it's a dehumidifier that doesn't need electricity.

The top half of the bag has scented (or unscented) absorbent crystals, and the bottom has an empty bag that will slowly fill with water as the moisture is pulled from the air.

How I Used DampRid

I took the three hanging bags and put them in three different spots in our basement.

Then, I forgot about it.

After going to check it months later, I noticed that the bottom bag for each had, in fact, filled with water it drew from the air.

I figured it would work, but I was still surprised to see the water there - yep, it indeed worked.

Did It Make Our Basement Smell Better?

Yes, DampRid did, in fact, get rid of the stinky/musty smell in our basement. 

Just be aware that when you first hang the product up, the scented crystals are quite strong, but the scent does fade.

I like the strong smell, but others with sensitivities may not.

If you're sensitive to smells, they do offer a fragrance-free product.

Would I Recommend DampRid?

Heck yes!

In fact, I bought a second box of three hanging packets and put them in the basement again.

Our basement absolutely smells better, and humidity is being drawn out. 

Obviously, it's not as good as an electric dehumidifier, but I'm happy with this product.

I don't want something else to plug in to drive up our hydro bill! So, this product serves the purpose.

Granted, I have to keep replacing it every 90 days or so, but I'm willing to do that.

I'm actually considering another box for my closets.

If you're ok with scented products, go ahead and give this one a try. However, they do offer a scent-free product.

Five stars.

You can find it on Amazon here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 19, 2022

An Old Idea Gets New Life ~ A Fitness Product Review


Are you interested in knowing how to increase your bone density, increase your circulation and generally feel better than you do right now?  How about something that will help with weight loss, muscle toning and increased metabolism or help with balance!  Keep on reading.....

Maybe I'm dating myself, but I want to know: How many of you remember the old vibrating belt massagers/exercisers that almost every woman swore by in the 1950's and 60's?

They would stand with a belt that went around the hips and turn on the machine that would then shake them up for 10 to 20 minutes or more.  They were touted as the perfect way to get in shape/stay in shape/and get rid of cellulite for that perfect figure.

Well for years that seemed to be something that women did to keep themselves feeling better about their own looks (or to keep their husbands happy).  Today we are not so inclined to do this for anyone other than ourselves.

Vibration Plates or Full Body Vibration (FBV) are one of the newest fitness trends and this one seems to have many health benefits as well.  Vibration Plates or Platforms are easy to use, don't take a lot of time and the benefits seem to be almost instant.  Even these little ones seem to be benefitting from a ride on the vibration plates.


  

Now in all seriousness, Vibration Plates are a wonderful way to exercise without having to stress your body beyond what is your normal. Even age is not a barrier to using this platform.  What is important is that we do things to make our bodies work and feel better for ourselves and in turn our families will benefit when we are at our best.

Many doctors are on board with the benefits that these Plates will have on the body.  They consider that with the vibrations our bodies are being toned as the muscles react to being activated by the movements.  Doctors claim that Blood circulation is increased, lymphatic systems drain better and bone density is increased too.  Fitness instructors also seem to love these machines as well.  

We purchased one after reading about increased circulation benefits especially for someone with Peripheral Neuropathy!  This is a condition that my other half has and his abilities to walk are becoming much more difficult.  This condition makes it hard for him to feel his feet as there is very little nerve sensations in both his hands and feet.  We were looking for something that would help him keep his sensations in his feet or even increase his nerve reaction.  Circulation is a big part of this condition.  So we are happy that this Vibrating Platform/Plate, is recommended as part of that process.

It seems that many Doctors, Physiotherapists, Fitness Trainers and Athletes  are all using this new tool to recover, recuperate, exercise and strengthen their bodies.  As you can see in the You Tube below this Doctor explains how these Vibration Platforms work.  Now I'm not a medical doctor and before you buy something like this, you should talk to your own health care professional or do your own research.  



There are many different types and manufacturers of these Vibration Plates and the prices range from $100.00 to many hundreds.  I would highly recommend that you speak to your health care professional or a fitness trainer and get some recommendations for your own specific needs.  You can even go to some gyms and try them out before you decide to buy one for yourself.

We purchased this one as it came recommended by friends and other family members.  It suits our needs and was not too expensive.  Both my husband and I use it for the health benefits and so far it is working well for both of us.  


While we are making the most of this new fitness/health trend, you should check it out and see if it fits into your own lifestyle and see if you would benefit from using this type of physical activity.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush

I have been using Oral-B or Philips Sonicare ultrasonic toothbrushes for many years, at my dentist’s recommendation. In August, I replaced my old, expensive ultrasonic toothbrush with an excellent and surprisingly inexpensive model (from a lesser-known brand), which has smaller brush heads that fit into hard-to-reach areas, soft, rounded bristles that are gentle on my aging gums, and a choice of five brushing modes.

Even though my new Dnsly electric toothbrush had great customer reviews and was highly recommended by a well-known and respected YouTube influencer whose product recommendations I have come to trust, I was still a bit skeptical about the quality of such an inexpensive product. However, my oral health team was impressed with the state of my teeth and gums during my routine dental cleaning and checkup 10 days ago. I'm delighted that my new Dnsly has been dental hygienist- and dentist-approved.

I'm excited to share my product review of this terrific electric toothbrush set, which comes with seven regular brush heads, an interdental brush head and a fitted case for storage and travel and costs less than $30 at time of publication. Update 10/24/22—the entire set now costs less than $25 on Amazon!

Dnsly Electric Toothbrush With Custom Travel Case, Protective Cover and 8 Brush Heads

Why the Dnsly Electric Toothbrush Is a "Best Buy" For Savvy Consumers

Here are some of the key features that make this Dnsly Electric Toothbrush Set With Replacement Brush Heads and Travel Case a smart purchase.

40,000 VPM for Effective Cleaning and Plaque Removal

Although the American Dental Association says that both manual and electric toothbrushes can clean teeth effectively when using the correct brushing technique, clinical studies have shown that “electric toothbrushes, which combine ultrasonic and sonic (or acoustic and mechanic) actions, may have the most promising effect on good oral health” compared to manual toothbrushes.1 

On the Amazon product page, the manufacturer refers to this electric toothbrush mostly as "sonic" but also as "ultra sonic." It vibrates at up to 40,000 VPM (vibrations per minute), which is in the same ballpark as many ultrasonic toothbrush models from Philips Sonicare and Oral-B.

Digel, I., Kern, I., Geenen, E. M., & Akimbekov, N. (2020). Dental plaque removal by ultrasonic toothbrushes. Dentistry Journal, 8(1), 28. https://doi.org/10.3390/dj8010028

Choice of Five Brushing Modes

There are five tiny LED lights down the front of the handle labeled W, C, S, P and M, respectively, that allow you to choose among the following brushing modes to customize your oral health care routine:

  • White mode (W): strong vibration helps whiten and brighten teeth by removing surface stains.
  • Clean mode (C): medium vibration for routine cleaning / twice-daily brushing.
  • Sensitive mode (S): gentle vibration for first-time electric toothbrush users or those with sensitive teeth and gums.
  • Polish mode (P): stong vibration/invert frequency helps polish and brighten teeth.
  • Massage mode (M): gentle vibration/invert frequency for gum massage and increased circulation to improve the health of your gums.
    • Note: I could not find any information on what "invert frequency" means (or does) in the context of electric toothbrushes.

Just press the large Power on/off button (inside the gold circle) repeatedly to cycle through the different modes. The nice thing is that it will remember the mode you used last and return to that setting automatically the next time you press the Power button. 

I have used the Clean, White and Massage modes so far. I think the White mode is gentle enough for daily use, thanks to the soft, rounded bristles on the brush heads.

2-Minute Smart Timer With 30-Second Pauses and Auto Shutoff

Most dentists recommend brushing your teeth for 2–3 minutes, or 30–45 seconds per quadrant. This Dnsly Electric Toothbrush pauses after each 30-second interval to let you know it's time to move on to the next quadrant, then shuts off automatically after two minutes.

7 Brush Heads and 1 Interdental Brush

The American Dental Association recommends that you replace toothbrushes, or brush heads for an electric toothbrush, every three to four months (or sooner, if the bristles are visibly frayed). 

The Dnsly brush heads have blue bristles at the top and bottom that, with use, gradually fade from blue to white  as a helpful reminder to discard and replace the brush head.

I really like the smaller brush heads and the thin, pointed, interdental brush head with white bristles, since both make it easier to get into tight, hard-to-reach areas. The interdental brush is also great for cleaning around and in between dental braces.

The DuPont bristles with rounded tips are gentle on gums and enamel, which is another reason I decided to try this set.

30-Day Rechargeable Battery Life

A full charge, which takes 4 hours, lasts for at least 30 days, based on brushing for two minutes twice a day.

USB Charging (Charging Cable Included)

The included USB cable can be plugged into any socket with a USB interface, such as a car, laptop or phone charger adapter or power bank socket. You can keep both the cable and an inexpensive USB wall charger/plug adapter in the bathroom for when the battery needs charging (roughly once a month).

The Dnsly electric toothbrush has a low battery indicator that lets you know when it's time to recharge it. It also automatically shuts off after the battery has been fully charged to prevent overcharging.

Fitted Travel Case and Protective Brush Head Cover

The hard plastic, fitted toothbrush travel case has molded sections to hold the handle, one brush head and the interdental brush head. There is also a space-saving clear, hard plastic brush head cover if you want to travel with just the handle and one brush head, rather than the larger, fitted storage case that also holds the interdental brush head.

IPX7 Waterproof

The IPX7 Waterproof rating means your Dnsly electric toothbrush can survive immersion in water up to 1 meter deep for 30 minutes without damage.

You can thoroughly clean the entire brush with soap under hot running water and even brush your teeth while you are taking a shower, if you wish.

Two Color Choices

I purchased this set in black, but there is also a pink Dnsly electric toothbrush set with 8 brush heads and travel case that is identical to the black version, except that it comes with three types of brush heads and the bristles are pink and yellow.

Less Than $25 for the Entire Set

At just $24.29 for the black set ($26.09 for the pink and white set) with free shipping for Amazon Prime members as of 10/24/22, this Dnsly set delivers a huge bang for the buck.

You can also get a set of two Dnsly sonic toothbrushes, one black and one pink, with 8 color-coordinated brush heads (four of each color), 2 interdental brushes and 2 clear brush head covers (but no fitted travel cases) on Amazon for just $34.99. Having two sets in different colors makes it easy for spouses, partners, siblings, roommates, etc. who use them to tell which toothbrush is theirs.

Inexpensive Replacement Brush Heads

Replacement brush heads for Philips Sonicare and Oral-B ultrasonic toothbrush models tend to be expensive. At the time of this post's publication, a set of 7 Dnsly black toothbrush replacement heads costs just $8.89 and a set of 7 Dnsly pink and white toothbrush replacement heads costs just $6.99. 

Each set of replacement brushes includes three "daily" brush heads, three "hard" brush heads with firmer bristles and one interdental brush. The savings on not only the initial toothbrush set but also the replacement brushes was a major selling point for me.

Features Not Included in the Dnsly Electric Toothbrush Set

Even though this set is excellent and a tremendous value, there are a few features that some of my previous Oral-B and Philips Sonicare ultrasonic toothbrushes had that the Dnsly does not.

No Charging Base

The only way to charge the Dnsly is with a USB cable (included). While many people prefer this method, some may prefer having a dedicated charging base plugged in near the bathroom sink.

Since hearing several respected medical and dental experts advise "don't brush where you flush," I have started storing my toothbrush in my bedroom instead of my bathroom anyway, so the USB charging requirement isn't an issue for me.

No Battery Charge Level Indicator

My last Oral-B ultrasonic toothbrush had four stacked LED lights on the handle to indicate how much charge was left. Since I used to store the toothbrush on its charging base, however, I never looked at it unless I was traveling for an extended period.

The Dnsly's low battery indicator works fine for my purposes.

No 3-Minute Timer Option

I liked the choice of 2-minute (30 second intervals) or 3-minute (45-second intervals) brushing times on my pricy Oral-B model. However, if I want to spend a bit more time on certain areas, it's easy enough to press the mode button of my choice to resume brushing after the 2-minute automatic shutoff.

Note: None of my Oral-B or Philips Sonicare toothbrushes had bluetooth connectivity or wireless fast charging, and neither does my new Dnsly model. However, one or both of these features are built into many of the newer models from these leading brands.

The Perfect Travel Toothbrush

Even if you don't want to replace your current ultrasonic toothbrush, this very inexpensive Dnsly set would be great to keep in your carry-on luggage for traveling, thanks to its long battery life, convenient USB charging, toothbrush travel case and protective brush head cover.

A Great, Affordable Gift Under $25

This Dnsly electric toothbrush set would make a great gift for anyone who is currently using a manual toothbrush, wears braces, is a college student, or has difficulty getting their current toothbrush into hard-to-reach places.

It also makes a great stocking stuffer. No one would guess that this set, complete with travel case, brush head cover, seven brush heads with fading bristle replacement indicators, interdental brush head and USB charging cable, costs less than $25!


The Best Dentist Approved, Inexpensive, 5-Mode Electric Toothbrush by Margaret Schindel

Read More of My Product Reviews

The Best Affordable, Super Sharp Kitchen and Steak Knives Set

The Best Powerful, Lightweight Stick Blender With Versatile Attachments

The Best Large, Sturdy, Adjustable, Over-the-Sink Dish Drying Rack

The Best Bone-Conduction Bluetooth Headphones Review: Shokz OpenRun Pro

The Best High Security Micro-Cut Shredder for Documents, Media and Credit Cards

The Best Affordable Microfiber Cloths for Cleaning Eyeglasses, Screens & Lenses

The Best Tool Roll Organizer To Store & Protect Your Tools

The Best Affordable Programmable Large- and Small-Batch Coffee Maker

The Best Acrylic Fabric Paints for Painting Clothes and Accessories

Best Manicure Tools for Strong, Healthy Nails

Thermos Stainless King Travel Tumblers & Travel Mugs Review




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X