Showing posts with label Gifts. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Gifts. Show all posts

Friday, January 5, 2018

Nordic Ware Sweet Snowflakes Pan Reviewed

Nordic Ware Sweet Snowflakes Pan
The Nordic Ware Sweet Snowflakes Pan Makes a Beautiful Pattern on an Otherwise Plain Baked Product

I received several Nordic Ware pans this year for Christmas, which thrilled me beyond belief.  I love to cook and I like for everything I bake to make a "pretty" presentation.  However, I have several recipes for baked products that are not frosted or decorated.  As a result, they may taste fabulous, but they are not pretty on a table.  When I bake those kinds of cakes or baked products in a Nordic Ware pan, then they have a pretty design on the top or a pretty shape and I am a happy baker.

Even cornbread is pretty when baked in a Nordic Ware Sweet Snowflakes pan.





The Nordic Ware Sweet Snowflakes Shortbread Pan


 Nordic Ware Sweet Snowflakes Shortbread Pan, SilverCheck PriceOkay, we can all see that the pan says it is for shortbread.  A very easy shortbread recipe is included with the pan.  

However, regardless of the title, it is a baking pan, period.  It actually may seem a little misleading that is says "shortbread".  One might think you could only bake shortbread in this pan.  Not true!  Think single layer cake and you will have a better description of the pan in my opinion.

Nordic Ware pans are made of cast aluminum and have a non-stick coating.   They are slightly heavier than the commonly used standard thin steel cake pans, but no where near as heavy as a cast iron skillet.  Like any other baking pan, I grease my Nordic Ware pans with Crisco shortening or heavy butter before each use.  The cake or bread will easily turn right out without sticking.

This particular Snowflake pan holds 6 cups.  Due to bread or cakes rising,  you never fill the pan more than half full.

I should note, I do hand wash all of my cake pans whether they are Nordic Ware or some other brand.  I want them to last my lifetime and beyond.  Each Nordic Ware pan does have a lifetime warranty, but I have never had a reason to test that warranty. 


More Nordic Ware Bakeware

Warning, once you have tried your first Nordic Ware Pan, you will want more

My first Nordic Ware pan was the Sweetheart Rose pan featured below.  I love making muffins in that pan!   Several years ago, I started making my banana bread in that pan and I love the shaped design.   I don't think I have made a regular loaf of banana bread since. 

 

Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com


"Nordic Ware Sweet Snowflakes Pan"  written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 29, 2017

Wooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes by Kalotart on Etsy Reviewed

The Biggest Hit in Our Home on Christmas!

 Wooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes by Kalotart on Etsy
Each year, I try to find a unique surprise gift for our children for Christmas.  They make a wish-list for me which helps tremendously in gift selection, but I still enjoy giving that unexpected gift that will hopefully light their eyes with excitement.  The surprise gift choice I made this year may very well be the best I have ever selected.  I gave each of them a Wooden Puzzle Compartment Box made by Kalotart on Esty.

I admit, the challenge to find a worthy surprise gift gets harder every year now that our children are both grown, especially since our daughter is married.  That means instead of two, I try to find something all 3 kids will enjoy.  

How I Found the Wooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes by Kalotart on Esty


Wooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes by Kalotart on Etsy
I shop year round for Christmas.  You see, my Christmas gift to myself and to my husband is that Christmas is paid for before Dec. 25th each year.  Neither of us like debt and we wouldn't be able to enjoy Christmas at all if we felt the heavy burden of debt waiting for us on Dec. 26th.  Therefore, when I made the surprise gift selection for our children back in July, it was not unusual.  But, it was hard for me to wait until Christmas to give it to them.

One of my favorite online sites is Etsy.  I started my search for a unique gift there and found the Wooden Puzzle Boxes by Kalotart.  When I read about László 'Kossuth' Antal, maker of the boxes, my decision was made!   There is something very special about knowing he makes the boxes based on a design by his great-great-grandfather.   A family tradition of beautiful craftsmanship!

However, even I must admit, I didn't realize how fabulous my choice was until Christmas morning.


Giving the Gift of Wooden Puzzle Boxes by Kalotart

Wooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes by Kalotart on Etsy
Our daughter spent this Christmas with her inlaws, so we Skyped each other and opened our gifts together.  I had shipped her box to them in advance with instructions to not open it until we were connected on Skype.  I handed our son his package to open once we were all seated and ready to rip of the wrapping paper.  The boxes were an instant hit because of their visual outward beauty.  Anyone would appreciate the lovely colors and designs.  

I selected a white box for our daughter & son-in-law, and a green box for our son.  I laughed because they each thought their box was the prettiest.  First score for Mom!  I chose the right color for each child.  

I wrote a note on the top of each box that told them they had to discover how to open the puzzle box in order to discover the surprise inside.  They immediately started investigating their boxes.  I offered hints, but they all replied with an emphatic "no!"  I honestly had no idea that our son-in-law loved puzzles too, but he was as invested in discovering the secret way to open the box as either my daughter or my son.

They tilted, turned, inspected, shook, and pushed sections of the box until they each found a solution, but it did take a while and was exactly the level of challenge they all enjoy.    

My parents were here for the Skype / Gift Opening session.  It was truly as much fun for us to watch "the solving game" as it used to be to see their reactions years ago to their gifts from "Santa".

Oh, one more thing!  In case you are wondering who got the third box shown in the intro picture, it was a gift for my parents which they received later on Christmas day.  


How to Purchase Your Own Wooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes by Kalotart on Etsy


The boxes are offered individually or at a reduced price in purchased in lots of 2 or more.  There are several different designs and sizes that are available in a variety of colors.  

The workmanship is beyond outstanding.  These boxes are beautifully carved and tightly assembled with exceptional fittings.  You would never know just looking at the box that it is also a fabulous puzzle with secret compartments inside.






Check Out More Gift Reviews at
ReviewThisGifts.com




Wooden Puzzle Compartment Boxes by Kalotart on Etsy Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 18, 2017

KeySmart Compact Key Organizer Review

Organize your keys with the KeySmart on Amazon
KeySmart is an ultra light weight but very durable organization system for keys. Are you tired of that mess of keys on your key chain. And that lump of keys in your pocket or the jumble of keys rattling around in your purse? This may be the perfect solution. Do you know someone whose job requires access to many keys at all times? This would be the perfect gift for that person. 


Vote of Confidence From a KeySmart Owner


Word-of-mouth recommendations are often the best way to gain information. In this case, the best review comes from someone who has owned and used this little gadget. 

I was recently with a friend who had purchased this item for himself over a year ago. And then liked it so much that he had purchased it as a gift for his brother last Christmas. I was surprised to see my friend still using the KeySmart after all this time has passed.

"You like that little thing?" I asked him

"Oh man, do I." 

How to use your KeySmart Extended Key Holder:

  • Purchase the KeySmart based on how many keys you want to organize. Note: I am referring to flat keys - such as typical house keys. Car keys will big fobs will attach to the end of the KeySmart with the loop.
  • Unscrew the sections of the KeySmart, and place your keys inside - with a washer on each side of each key.  
  • Screw the sections back together.

The KeySmart has become similar to a Swiss Army Knife of your keys.

When I told my friend that I was considering writing a review, he said, "Gadgetry, tinkery, mechanical folk will like it." He then immediately took photos of his KeySmart with the quote after "one and a half years of HARD use."

He carries his in his pocket and in his tool bag. He works hard and his tools do too. 

At first, I was skeptical and thought this was just a gimmick. But now I've decided I want one of my own for my sets of keys. 


Photos courtesy of WLSIII




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, December 4, 2017

Google Play Gift Cards: the Preferred Gifts

Google Play gift card by mail
This review about the wildly popular Google Play gifts cards may be an odd review. After all, I've never used one and I'm not certain of everything they can purchase.  I can, however, swear to their popularity and the high demand for them with the teenagers I'm acquainted with. 

As a mom and a grandmom, I am very aware that over the years I give two types of gifts: first, the kind of gift I want the recipient to have (such as socks, coats, and gloves) and second, the kind of gift the recipient wants to receive. Google Play gift cards are gifts that are most definitely in that second category. I know this to be true from the students at work. And who better to recommend gifts for youngsters than the youngsters themselves?

Google Play Gift Cards


I watched a young man who was thrilled to have received a Google Play gift card. He said due to their popularity, they were always "sold out" when it was his turn in the school store. But not on this day. On this day he was able to obtain on. It was easy to see how ecstatic he was. It was like Christmas had arrived an entire month early.  Which made me decide to check into more about the gift cards.

These gift cards can purchase anything in the Google Store. This includes:

  • games
  • apps
  • movies & tv
  • music
  • books

Google Play Gift Card Tips


The Google Play gift cards cannot purchase actual items such as electronics and accessories. Think of the Google Play gift cards as money to be spent only in the Google Play Store. An adult friend told me that these cards can also be used to purchase extra levels or currency in certain games.

The students who like these cards are using them on their Android phones and on their tablets. 

Also, Google Play cards bought in the US are to be used in the US only (apologies to our international readers). The card I have shown is an actual gift card that will be mailed to a home address. Perfect for giving a tangible gift at Christmas. 

If you prefer instant gratification, there are Google Play "cards" available via a code that is purchased then emailed to you or the recipient and redeemed using that code. 

Google Play cards come in a variety of amounts. Check out Amazon for a variety of these cards.

Holiday Gift Guide 

Related Links:


Be sure to browse the Review This! holiday gift guide for a wide variety of gift ideas and recommendations from our writers. 

How many times have you been on the road during the holidays and have needed to recharge those electronics? Avoid that problem and make the long drives far more pleasant for the children and/or yourself with the DC to AC Power Inverter/Adapter for Cars recommended by Sylvestermouse Cynthia.

Photo attribution: CCO Creative Commons


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, December 2, 2017

A Novel Gift for a Sudoku Fan

Novelty gift idea for sudoku fan
If you know someone who loves Sudoku (and don't we all have at least one person on that list?) then you're probably sick of buying them Sudoku books and no doubt they already have (or don't like) the electronic version of Sudoku.

Let's review other ideas for s Sudoku fan and there are a couple.  A gift that I thought looked really neat was one of the Sudoku mugs (mind you I always think a mug is a cool gift idea) that's available, but from experience these really don't seem to be appreciated as much as an actual puzzle book.

What is left?  Well there are some  Sudoku calendars which look really good.  I have debated getting these, but so many people just use their phones instead of a physical calendar  these days.

This leads me to another idea - something very unexpected and a very novel gag type of gift.

Introducing the Sudoku Toilet Paper!


Reviewing a Puzzling Gift Idea



Now I have to be honest I can't claim credit for this gift idea, it comes with a little story.  My boss passed away a couple of months ago and we had to clean out his office and we came across some Sudoku toilet paper.

One of his friends called in as we were still sorting through things and noticed the toilet paper and told us that he'd given it to him as he loved to do Sudoku.  I immediately asked where I could get some as I thought it would be a great idea for my mother.

The paper seemed good quality and I personally think it makes a great gag gift, but also if you're going to be in the 'little room' for a while why not exercise your 'little grey cells' at the same time!

I give it a big thumbs up as a novel gift idea for a Sudoku fan and if you're a fan and on my Christmas list - surprise!  You're getting toilet paper.

The only question now is - can I find a toilet paper holder that has a pen/pencil holder attached because you just know that you'll forget your pen when you want to solve the puzzle and I don't think it's fair to try and do Sudoku in your head!

Novelty, gag gift idea for Sudoku and puzzle fans
Please Pin Me!


What do you think a great gift idea or not?

If you prefer Suduko books or you want to give one as well then Cynthia reviews one of her favorite (like her I prefer the pen and paper form of Suduko to the electronic ones and this book sounds awesome!)

Brain Games 10 Minute Sudoku Puzzles Book ReviewBrain Games 10 Minute Sudoku Puzzles Book Review
The 10 Minute Sudoku Puzzles Book satisfies my love of Sudoku really well, it's also a ring bound book which I appreciate as it is easier for me to use when traveling or waiting for appointments.

If you're thinking wow that's a great idea, but I don't know anyone who likes Sudoku then you might be pleased to know that you can get all kinds of novelty toilet paper (who knew?) and what better gag gift for a work colleague or your best friend?

More Gift Ideas


You can find lots of different gift ideas here at Review This from gifts for tea lovers, vegan teens, cat lovers, writers and more.  Be sure to check out our Holiday Gift Guide (by clicking the picture below) or just search gifts for lots of great ideas.

Holiday Gift Guide





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 1, 2017

Bead & Sequin Christmas Ornament Kits Review

Bead & Sequin Ornament Kits Review

Make Your Own Treasured Keepsake with Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

Handmade beaded Christmas ornaments are a fabulous gift to give to just about anyone.  My own Christmas tree is loaded with Christmas tree ornaments that have been given to me over the years.  I have a whole collection of ornaments from my grandmother.  Since she is no longer with me, I cherish them more now than I did the day I received them.

I have keepsake ornaments that my parents gave to me and beautiful handmade beaded ornaments that my mother made for me when I was still a child.  I also have handmade ornaments from my children.  Now that they are grown, it is a walk in the past to touch the ornaments those precious little hands made.

Giving Christmas ornaments as Christmas gifts has become a family tradition in our home.  Why not make your own beaded Christmas ornaments and start a new family tradition today?


Beaded Ornament Handmade by My Mother


This is one of the ornaments that my mother made for me when I was a little girl. It is approximately 45 years old. It is one of my greatest treasures.

In my minds eye, I can still see my mom sitting at the kitchen table, placing each bead, each sequin in just the right place to make this lovely keepsake.  Year after year, this ornament finds it's special place on our tree.

Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

 

An Ornament I Made for Our Son

I made this spider ornament for my son 22 years ago.  Each year, regardless of when I decorate our Christmas tree, I hold the little spider aside for my son to add to the tree.  To this day, our tree is not completely finished until he comes home and hangs the spider on the tree. 


Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits


I made the spider long before the internet and computers became a household "utility".  I have never gone back to write my own instructions online.

 

This Was A Gift I Made for Our Daughter

I chose to make this ornament for my daughter because her favorite color is purple.  However, there is another meaning behind the color choice.  Purple is a combination of red and blue, the warmest and coolest colors, therefore purple is considered to be the ideal color.  Thus, an ideal beaded ornament for an ideal daughter!


 Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

 

I Made This Ornament for Each of Our Children

In addition to the ornaments I made with the individual child in mind, I have also made matching ornaments over the years for both of our children. The green carousel ornament is one that I made for both children. 

Beaded Christmas Ornament Kits

Ornament Kits or Instruction Books

I personally prefer the ornament kits because they come prepackaged with everything needed to complete a beaded ornament, except the craft glue.   However, sometimes a kit is not available in a specific color or design.  Then I pull out my trusty books and buy the supplies required separately. 

Either way, the gift of a handmade ornament is special to the recipient and will be a cherished treasure, just as the ones I have shared above, for decades to come.


Beaded Ornament Kits

Because of my on love for making beaded ornaments, I have several beaded ornament kits available in my own Ebay store.  My inventory changes often simply because they sell out and additional kits are not always available from the suppliers.

Here are a few that I currently have in stock:


RSS feeds don't always load properly. If the feed is not showing above, you can see the ornament kits available in my Ebay store by clicking here!




See More Craft Reviews at
ReviewThisCrafts.com

Where you will find some awesome Craft Reviews & Tutorials like these, and more!






Bead & Sequin Christmas Ornament Kits Reviewed by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Science Academy Lip Balm Lab Reviewed

Promote the Sciences to Girls

female scientist
Female Scientist courtesy of Pixabay.com
When I can, I love to give my grandchildren educational toys. Recently I purchased a Science Academy Lip Balm Lab as a Christmas gift for my youngest granddaughter. I thought it was worth a review as a gift idea for the readers of Review This. 

I was thrilled when I discovered the Science Academy lab kits for children! Obviously, both boys and girls can have fun with  observing first hand the chemical reactions to different materials. Either gender can be a potential scientist in the making. Since I have little girls to buy for, I love the idea of promoting any of the sciences to them. When I was a little girl, my gender did not get much in encouragement when it came to fields of science. Society has changed and I think we are doing a better job of promoting a career in science to girls but we can do better, in my humble opinion. 

There are 5 choices when it comes to the options for a gift for the child on your list. I chose the lip balm for a couple of reasons. First of all, my little six year old is obsessed with lip gloss and lip balm. Secondly, she has very sensitive skin so I was leery of the soap and bath bomb choices. The lip balm lab seemed a good option for her to have fun with while learning about chemicals and how to produce a product that she can actually use.

I love that she is going to learn about formulas while working with the kit. She will decide on colors and shimmers and can even add SPF to help protect her little lips from the sun. While experimenting with her own lip protection with her mom's assistance, she will be exposed to the possibilities that a career in science might offer to her. I am a firm believer in presenting the concepts of different professions to children as they play. We never know what might plant a seed in their young minds that later grows into a passion in their adult lives. To me, that is always a good thing!

Will my sweet little grandchild grow up to be a chemist or work in the science field? I don't know nor does she at her young little age. What this educational toy will do is give her some practical experience so that later on she will have more information to base her decision on what she wants to make a living with. Whatever she decides we will applaud her decision.

How about you? Are you planning on giving a child on your list an educational toy this year for the holidays?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 27, 2017

How to Make Easy Christmas Tree Ornaments

Ornaments made with love. 
Today I am reviewing an easy way to make beautiful Christmas tree ornaments using tri-beads. This is a great project to make with children. 

The best ornaments I've ever placed on my Christmas tree over the years were these ornaments made by my children made in school and given to me as gifts. The ornaments were special because they were made by my children. They were beautiful then because they were made by children's hands. They are beautiful still today because of the sparkling colors.

Yes, I wrote that they are beautiful still today. These ornaments are durable. I still have those ornaments from years ago. I loved these ornaments so much that I have replicated the project with the students at work. Over the years, I've sent many children home with these ornaments as gifts for their caregivers.

Now I'm sharing the step-by-step instructions how to make these incredibly simple ornaments with the children in your life. Or perhaps you want to make your own ornaments. I have to admit that sometimes I make these ornaments when I'm alone and have used them for decorations when wrapping gifts. There are many ways to enjoy these easy-to-make decorations. 

Finally, remember that the best gift you can give this season is the gift of your time and attention. Especially when you are spending time with a children. 

Materials:
plastic tri-beads 
pipe cleaners (either tinsel or chenille)
1/8" wide ribbons (optional)

Tools:
heavy-duty scissors
pliers 




Instructions:
Gather your beads and pipe cleaners. Ribbon is options (but preferred by the children).

Gather your tools. Heavy-duty scissors or wire cutters are needed to cut the pipe cleaners. And pliers to bend the wire tips are optional but highly recommended.

Be aware: Take care when cutting pipe cleaners. This project is extremely easy, with the exception of trimming the pipe cleaners. The wire is sometimes difficult to cut and the tips of the pipe cleaners are "pokey". Younger children may need to be supervised closely to ensure they don't poke or scratch themselves.


Candy Cane Ornament Instructions:


1. To make the candy cane bead ornament, knot the end of the pipe cleaner and pull the knot tight.

2. Carefully cut the end off; just below the knot. If a sharp end remains, bend it with the pliers or your fingers toward the knot, tucking it into the bulk of the knot (in order to be safe for little fingers)

3. Allow the child to slide beads onto the pipe cleaner; snugging the beads up against the knot. The tri-beads fit together beautifully and create a "round" shape. Some children like the traditional red and white candy cane stripes. Some children prefer psychedelic colors. Have fun with it.



4. Fill the pipe cleaner to the desired length; making sure to leave enough material to make a knot.( make the knot shape loosely then work to snug the knot up toward the last bead in order to hold the design together snugly).


5. Note the knot is snugged up to the last bead. Check the end for any sharp points and bend it up, out of the way, if needed (a point is visible in the photos. It is probably not unsafe to leave it, but I prefer to  bend it out of the way - just to be safe.

Finish the candy cane with a bow if desired. The ornament can be hung in the tree by the hook of the cane. Or traditional ornament hooks can be purchased and added. Occasionally, the children choose to use the ribbon for a loop at the top of the candy cane for hanging. 



Wreath Ornament Instructions:


1. Making a wreath is similar to making the candy cane except, Do Not knot either end. Thread the beads onto the pipe cleaner and gather them in the middle of the pipe cleaner.

2. Leave approximately 2" or more of empty pipe cleaner at each end. Bend the ornament into a round shape and begin to tie a know at the top (as though you are tying the first portion of a shoelace knot).

3. Pull the ends together, twisting lightly to form a single pipe cleaner from the two ends.

4. Bend the end down to form a loop; wrapping the very end around the portion of the pipe cleaner that is holding the bead. If there is a point piece remaining (as shown) use the pliers, or your fingers, to carefully wrap it more tightly around in order to hide the end.

5. Add ribbons as desired.




And with that, you have the finished products. Happy Holidays to you and yours. And remember to give the gift of your time and attention.

Note: This article was previously published elsewhere. The instructions and photographs are by the author.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, November 25, 2017

Guy Harvey Saltwater Fishing Apparel Review


Guy Harvey Fishing Hat
Working part-time in a store located in a coastal community, I've discovered that one of the most popular brands of clothing we carry is saltwater fishing apparel by Guy Harvey.  Men who are fishermen and/or love the sea especially love Guy Harvey shirts and hats.

Guy Harvey hats are among the most popular items in his clothing lines, especially among fishermen.  The signature logo of a Marlin with the Guy Harvey name stitched across it has become synonymous with deep sea fishing. 





Guy Harvey Apparel


Guy Harvey Marlin Boat T-Shirt


The Guy Harvey line of apparel includes shirts featuring various forms of marine life, hats, belts, shorts, footwear and gift items.  Popular saltwater fishing designs, especially on T-shirts, include Marlin, Tuna, Sharks, Sailfish, Redfish, and the Dolphin Fish. Many of the designs on these Guy Harvey clothing items are from the original artwork by Mr. Harvey.



We have stacks of Guy Harvey shirts in many designs and styles in the store I work for as they are extremely popular here in Coastal Georgia with the Atlantic Ocean so very near.







Guy Harvey



Guy Harvey
Guy Harvey is a world famous marine wildlife artist.  Growing up in Jamaica, he spent many hours fishing and diving with his father. Those early years created a deep love for the creatures of the sea and led to Harvey becoming a marine biologist. 

He was also inspired, from an early age, to draw the various types of fish he observed, which eventually led to his creations of marine wildlife art.  Many of Guy Harvey's marine art are today featured on his line of fishing apparel and gift items, especially popular with fishermen and coastal residents who love marine life.

A marine wildlife artist, Guy Harvey combines his unique artistic talents with his background as a marine biologist, diver, photographer and angler, to create marine wildlife art. You can view his artwork on his website.  He lives with his family in Grand Cayman and is devoted to his family and his love of the sea and all its living creatures.




Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation (GHOF)

 

Save Our Seas Turtle Poster on Amazon

With his line of clothing apparel, Guy Harvey has established the Guy Harvey Ocean Foundation (GHOF.org) and a portion of the proceeds from all his official merchandise benefits the marine conservation research and educational work of GHOF.  The foundation tags and tracks sharks and billfish to ensure that future generations can enjoy and benefit from a naturally balanced ecosystem. 



Related Coastal Clothing Links:





(c) Wednesday Elf 11/25/2017






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 24, 2017

Bibles Make Great Gifts - 5 Different Types Reviewed

Bibles Make Great Gifts - 5 Different Types Reviewed

The Best Christmas Gifts

What better gift could you give for Christmas than the very book that explains the reason for Christmas.   

I personally own 5 different bibles.  All but one was a gift given to me by someone I love and is a treasured keepsake.  Each one serves a different purpose, but I own them all for the same reason:  to know my creator better.   

When purchasing a Bible as a gift, you must first determine how the Bible will be used by the recipient.  I have a family Bible, a display Bible for immediate reference, a pocket Bible to carry in my purse, a Study Bible and a Bible that has been my companion for 30 years.   

The Family Bible

We own 2 family Bibles.  One is a family bible where births, deaths and marriages are listed. This bible will be passed down to the next generation to add to the records.  Family Bibles are often used in genealogical research.  After all, who would knowingly write a lie in the Holy Bible. 



The Family Bible in our Den

There is another large bible that lays open in our den.  Sometimes it is open to my favorite passage, Psalms 139.  Sometimes it is opened to a particular scripture to comfort, reassure, or remind us of what we have to be thankful for.  It is always there, waiting for whichever family member passes by and needs to search the scriptures. 

This Bible was selected because of the beautiful artwork by Thomas Kinkade.  The images are an inspiration and are lovely illustrations to accompany the Written Word. 




 Holy Bible: KJV Pocket Edition: BrownCheck Price

The Pocket Bible

I have a small pocket bible that is over 30 years old that I carry in my purse or pocket.  There have been times in my life when just being able to lay my hand on the leather cover in my purse, has given me the strength I needed for that moment.  At other times I have had it with me to read when I had to wait for someone or when I was on my lunch break.

I haven't worked outside of our home since shortly after our oldest child was born.  When I was employed, I worked in an office setting and a few of my co-workers were not Christians.  Where they might have taken exception to me bringing a large Bible to work, no one ever complained about my small, leather pocket Bible.  



Ryrie Study Bible

I also have a Ryrie Study Bible which I use just for that purpose, in-depth study. 

I found this particular study Bible to be essential when I taught Sunday School years ago.  The cross referencing and commentaries help with preparation to teach, understanding the Word, and certainly with personal study. 



My Companion ~ Study Bible

Last, but by no means least, I have the bible I read regularly.  It is the one that has accompanied me for decades to church, Sunday school, bible studies and at night, it rests in my night stand.  It really is over 30 years old.  The leather is worn, but the Word is still remarkably refreshing. 





Bibles and Gifts

As you can see, I believe there are several types of Bibles that serve different purposes, so when you are selecting a gift, choose the one that best suits the needs of the recipient. 

For those who don't need a new Bible, I recommend a Bible cover, or perhaps the Bible on cd.

 Embassy Black Solid Genuine Leather Bible CoverCheck Price

Bible Cover

Because our Bibles are carried from place to place, read often, and expected to endure a lot of handling, I highly recommend a Bible cover to protect your Bible.  I purchased a Bible cover for my companion several years ago to help protect the leather cover and I am really glad that I did, especially when it rains and I am trying to get to the car. 

There are many styles of Bible covers available to purchase.  This just happens to be the style I prefer.  The extra zipper pocket provides a place for my small wallet and car keys so I need not carry a purse to church.  There is also room for additional notes and the church bulletin.  I personally keep a small note pad and pen for making notes. 

Bible on CD's

Years ago I was thrilled to get the Bible on cassettes.  It was so awesome to be able to listen to the Bible being read when I was in my car or traveling. 
 




Read More Gift Reviews at
ReviewThisGifts.com




Bibles Make Great Gifts - 5 Different Types Reviewed by:





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 19, 2017

3 Completely Useless Gifts that Nobody Needs but Might Absolutely Want

A Review of Completely Useless Gifts that Aren't Necessarily Completely Useless

These three completely useless but useable gifts can be given with the intention of making someone giggle and then the shock that they can actually be useful.

If you think outside the gift-giving box, you'll appreciate these three ideas:

Nobody Really Needs Knee Warmers Do They?

Looking at these funny items, my first thought was; not something I need ... but with my bum knees something I could throw on from time to time for a little added support and warmth.

Another thought that ran through my head, if I ever washed the floors on my knees again (highly doubtful) I could put these on for comfort.

How about creating a new fashion trend - well teenagers maybe. For added warmth, they could put them over leggings.

Figure skaters would be the best candidates for these. Having spent over 10 years in this sport in my youth, I can safely say that falling is a part of learning ... especially when you're learning jumps. Learning jumps normally involves a harness, but not usually outside a lesson with your coach. Give these as a funky knee covering for the figure skater in the family. Who knows, you may encourage a new trend in the Skating Club. Anything's possible; I think I invented the skating skirt?

How About a Brain Hat? What?


Is there a genius in the family? Get a big laugh from the person who opens this wacky gift.

If you know how to knit, DIY this puppy. If not, get a few as freaky odd ball gifts for the out-standing people in your life.

We all have weird superstitions: This hat could become their needed 'Thinking Cap' to inspire new ideas. When creativity is required, they may pull on the hat and believe in it's powers. After-all, we're only limited by our thinking. Everybody in the family may want one. Better yet, wear them skiing.

Use them for Halloween. Mom and dad would look very confident trotting around with their brains on their head whilst the kids trick-or-treat.

Of course, a brain hat is just what the doctored ordered for the little-Miss-or-Mr-Know-it-All in the family. Better yet, collect a few for the Secret Santa draw.

An LED Cocktail Glass? Is There Really a Need for These?

Need? Nope. No needing these. But they sure area a funky way to light up a room. Imagine collecting a set of these and having a party where everyone is served a lighted drink. The ambience would be magnificent.

Use them for weddings, birthdays, Halloween parties, Christmas and especially New Years. Begin a collection for someone; keep adding to it - After-all, funk makes the world go 'round.

Imagine movie night at home with these cool glasses ... All the lights out except for people's drinking glasses.

How about an original teacher gift? There's no way Teacher is going to be buying herself/himself one of these, and you're sure to be the only one to show up with it.

Well there you have it, three affordable things nobody needs but somebody wants.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X