Saturday, September 5, 2020

Reviewing Arbonne Intelligence Lip Treatment

Do you suffer from cracked dry lips during winter? I usually do, something about the dry winter air so when I heard of a lip treatment that Arbonne had I was keen to try it. 

Arbonne's Intelligence Lip Treatment with Raspberry seed oil



Now I use a shea butter lip balm every day (Arbonne of course, those who know me know how loyal I am to this brand) and my lips haven't felt as bad the last couple of years. I also used another Arbonne product that was a lip scrub and salve, but lip scrubs should only be used once a week (some people say 2-3 times a week, but for cracked lips my research comes down firmly on no more than once a week). 

When someone mentioned the Arbonne Intelligence Lip Treatment I was intrigued, but I didn't actually get it until a few months ago - just before our Australian winter began. It's suitable for all skin types and is designed to help promote younger looking lips, but I was interested in the claim "Deeply hydrates, moisturizes and protects the natural moisture barrier ..." and winter seemed the perfect time to trial it for myself. 

The tube seemed quite small when I received it, but having used a lot (according to my husband too
Arbonne's Lip Care Range

many!) of Arbonne products I knew that a little would probably go a long way. I squeezed out an amount that would fit on a pinhead and rubbed it on my lips - it felt really nice like a moisturiser combined with a lipstick but one with no stickiness or tackiness about it. 

I certainly didn't need my lip balm, although I kept it in my bag and applied some after lunch. 

I used the lip treatment every day for a week and my lips definitely felt softer, I decided to continue using it for another week and then I switched to using it every couple of days. 

If you get dry lips in winter I really recommend trying this and you'll know if it's working after a week which is great because Arbonne gives all of it's products a 45 day money back guarantee so if you don't like it you can send it back! 

It also says that it can reduce the look of fine lines and wrinkles and plumps the lips' appearance so that they look younger - I'm really not sure about that. I feel like they look a little plumper, but that could be because they are smoother as they aren't as dry so the jury on that is out as far as I'm concerned. 

I know that some people use this in place of lipstick when they are going for a natural day time look and other people use it as a primer before adding their lipstick. 

The key ingredients in this lip treatment are the following botanicals: 

  • Alfalfa extract 
  • Chicory root extract 
  • Ginger 
  • Cocoa butter 
  • Raspberry seed oil 
  • Cloudberry extract 

It is now spring here in Australia and I still have the small tube so it really does go a long way.   What do you do for dry lips (if you suffer from them)?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, September 4, 2020

Set of Stainless Steel Stackable Magnetic Measuring Spoons Reviewed

Set of Stainless Steel Stackable Magnetic Measuring Spoons Reviewed
I have always enjoyed cooking, but there are times when it is more of a job than a joy. Having the right tools in any endeavor can make a world of difference in the overall experience.  It was truly shocking for me to discover how much these particular measuring spoons improved my attitude.  I had not previously realized how much I was struggling with my older measuring spoons.

I am no longer a spring chicken, but I embrace my age and appreciate the good things about being at retirement age.  Still, there are a few things I miss when cooking.  I can't read small numbers without reading glasses or a magnifying glass.  My hands are not as steady as they once were.  I have aches and pains from standing too long now.  Plus, I seem to get annoyed by insignificant stuff more easily.  The latter issue is most likely a result of the previous 3 issues.  I hate not being able to easy sail through the preparation of a recipe or meal.  

Lest you think I am complaining, I am not.  I recognize these are simple inconveniences, not problems.  I am only explaining in advance why the measuring spoons matter.


Stainless Steel Stackable Magnetic Measuring Spoons - Set of 6 


There are many reasons why I love these measuring spoons and think everyone should have a set. Whether you cook often or only occasionally, you will want the best measuring utensils available.  These are the best measuring spoons and here is why:

Because I have found these measuring spoons make such a huge difference for me, I own two sets.  Being able to see the measurement labels without the aid of reading glasses, plus not having to hold the measuring spoon in one hand, while I pour ingredients with the other hand, makes the task extremely easy.  

As incredible as it may sound, these measuring spoons make me feel like a spring chicken in my kitchen again.  Attitude affects the whole process!









Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, September 3, 2020

The Book of Two Ways - A Review

Pre-order Your Copy Now
Your plane is about to crash.  As your life, your hopes, your dreams, your frantic thoughts plunge out of the sky, what is it—who is it—you fix upon?  For the passenger in seat 12C, surprisingly, it wasn’t her beloved husband, Brian, or her much-adored daughter, Meret, that came to mind.  No, it was Wyatt who streaked across her consciousness.

Dawn Edelstein survives that crash.  In the aftermath of having had those life-flashing-before-her-eyes moments, the airline offers her a flight to anywhere she needs to go.  She should go home, but where is home?  Is it the home she knows now, or the home she once found in the man she loved so many years ago?  

The Book of Two Ways, by Jodi Picoult, is a book of what ifs, a book of parallel universes, a book of diverging and converging pathways.  It is a book that explores what might have been even as one is living the what is.

Before Dawn got the call that her mother was dying of cancer, she was deeply, passionately in love with her life as an Egyptologist graduate student working on a dissertation delving into The Book of Two Ways.  That book was the Egyptian's map to the afterlife.  There were two pathways one could follow on the journey to the next plane.  

When Dawn was faced with the decision no daughter wishes to face, she chose to leave behind her much-anticipated life of the mind, in academia, and life of the heart, with Wyatt Armstrong, the man with whom she shared the exhilaration of discovery.  Together, they had burned bright with promise.

As things come to pass, Dawn’s season of maternal care-giving leads her to a new career as a death doula—one who helps those on their end-of-life journeys.  She meets, and marries, Brian Edelstein,  a physicist.  Their life is unfolding rather predictably until Dawn’s moment of reckoning on that plummeting aircraft.

Dawn accepts that free ticket to anywhere from the airline.  Her destination?  Egypt.  Wyatt.  Her unresolved past.

How will this decision impact her future, her marriage, Wyatt, her relationship with her child, her trajectory through life?  No spoilers here.  You will want to read The Book of Two Ways to learn how things resolve themselves (or not).  

I have always found Jodi Picoult’s books to be compelling.  She is an extremely gifted writer who always takes her readers on journeys that matter.  This book was one of my most anticipated reads of 2020.  I was elated when approved to review an ARC ahead of the September 22nd release of this publication.

My enthusiastic interest in The Book of Two Ways had to do with my current explorations into becoming an end-of-life doula.  It comes as no surprise that the chapters dealing with Dawn’s interactions with those in the process of transitioning from this life were my favorite chapters.  

Though I have long found Egyptian life quite fascinating, I felt a bit mired in the denser sections of this book (and I typically enjoy the challenge of great depth).  That said, I greatly admire the intense research and explorations that went into birthing this highly ambitious novel.  I’m glad I read this book and do encourage you to let it take you on what it is sure to be a very reflective journey.  This book is meaty and will require something from you.

If you, like me, have ever pondered the what-ifs of your life choices, you are sure to come away from this read with the kinds of insights that will enrich your current pathway.  I have no doubt this book will come to mind the next time I am standing at a crossroads.  

I wish to thank Jodi Picoult and her publishing company, Random House, for this opportunity to read The Book of Two Ways in return for an honest review.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, September 2, 2020

Why are Teddy Bears the Best Gift Ever?

According to the Days of the Year.com, September 9th is Teddy Bear Day!  It's coming up soon, so you have time to get ready!

Now I just have to ask, "Who doesn't Love Teddy Bears?"


Image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay

In our family Teddy Bears have always played an important role.  Starting with my Uncle, who has in excess of 80+ bears in his collection, and my Mother-In-Law who collected bears for many years right down to our grandchildren who have their favorite bears, we are a teddy bear loving family.

When you hear that someone is expecting a baby, one of the first things that baby will receive as a gift is a Teddy Bear.  Everyone always loves to give that Teddy a squeeze or two before it goes home with the new baby, you just can't help yourself.

What makes these bears so lovable?

Let's start with a bit of history!  Teddy Bears got their first real stroke of fame after 1902!
Then, President Theodore Roosevelt, refused to kill a bear while on a visit to a Natural Area in Mississippi!  They had chained a bear so that it would be an easy kill for him.  The President refused to shoot him.  A toy maker in New York, loved the story so much, he made a toy bear and asked the President's permission to name him "Teddy".    Hence the first Teddy Bears bore the name "Teddy" in his honor.

Fast forward to today, we are still in love with this icon of a toy!  In fact I don't know a single child who hasn't had a teddy bear somewhere in his life.  

It's a great toy for either boys or girls and sometimes even for the young and the young at heart.  When we were in Jasper (Alberta, Canada) last year, the only thing my uncle wanted was a Teddy Bear!
We didn't fail in our attempt to bring him one either.  The Jasper National Park had a Gift Center and Teddy Bears (Black Bears) were there!   The purchase helped raise money for on going Naturalist Programs in the National Park.  So we purchased a bear and felt good that we were fulfilling two wishes with the one purchase.    

There isn't a celebration anywhere that can't be enhanced by the addition of Teddy Bears!

Baby Showers, Gradations, Weddings have all been settings where Teddy Bears have had a place.  

Even in hard times, Teddy Bears can make life easier, especially for children.  I know my own granddaughter took her Teddy "Alfie" with her when she needed her appendix removed.  Having his comfy, stuffed body close to hers made going to the hospital a little more "bearable".   The nurses at the hospital even had a tiny hospital gown for the bear!




There is something about their plump, plush bodies that seem to give comfort to an ailing child.  Many a child has used their bears as a "confidante" or a reading mate.  Children are even encouraged to bring their favorite Bears to school.  Show and Tell time would be pretty dull without at least a bear or two. Even riding in the car is more fun when you share your Car Seat with your favorite friend.



The Police and Ambulance workers in our city carry Teddy bears with them on patrols!  If a child is in need of comfort, there is a Teddy Bear ready and willing to be with the child in need.  Traumas can come in many different places and the Teddy Bears are there just waiting to help.  One size Bear fits all!  

Social workers use Teddy Bears with children in some very hard and dark places in their little lives.  The children seem to relate to the bears and will tell them all kinds of things that they may not tell an adult.  To many children, their teddy bears are their best friends!

September 9th this year is Teddy Bear Day.  Why not have a great Teddy Bear Picnic at your house for all your furry, fluffy and stuffy bears (and whatever other animals you have)!  Invite the Grandchildren to bring theirs along too!  

You can then tell them the story of the Teddy Bears Picnic and if you still have time for some fun, put on the music too!  

If you are really interested in Teddy Bears as a collectible (and some are) then you could invest in a book. 



 The Teddy Bear Encyclopedia is one book that we had purchased for my Mother In Law when she was setting out to collect her bears.  She knew everything there was to know about what made them collectible or not.  This book is a great resource for everything you could want to know about Teddy Bears!  I bet you didn't know there was such a book!

My own collection of Teddy Bears is pretty neat I think.  Inherited from my mother-in-law is the one Steiff Bear, he's little, but oh so lovely!  Steiff Bears are definitely collectibles and are easily known by the "button" you find in his left ear!  If you buy one of these for your children, do not remove that stud!  You can find  out more about Steiff Bears right here!  Some of the bears pictured below are from my own childhood and they still live with me. 



Teddy Bears have all kinds of facial expressions and sometimes it\s hard to find that one that just speaks to your heart.  This bear is an Amazon Favorite.  He just has so much character in his face and the size of the bear is just perfect for little kids and bigger ones too!

Philbin as this bear is known, is the same one my granddaughter has, she renamed him CoCo!  I love the character that comes through his facial features.  He just is so much cuter in person (so to speak)!  He's soft and squishy, molds easily to a little ones face or body and is just cuddly.  He's one popular bear for those reasons and more.

Of course there are also many hand made Teddy Bears that are also special in their own way.  Someone took the time to craft a bear just for you!  It is a "one of a kind" and will always be that.  How special could your next Teddy Bear gift be?

One of our contributors here at REVIEW THIS REVIEWS, makes hand made bears and other animals all available at her Etsy Shop, just click the link  CoastalCrochet Crafts !  I'm sure Miss Elf (as she's known here) would only be too happy to send you one of her "special bears".  

There are many days in the year dedicated to celebrating Teddy Bears and I love to celebrate often.  It certainly has made 2020 more enjoyable.  Teddies don't worry about spreading anything but love!










Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 1, 2020

Review of Budweiser Beer Battered Cod by Seapak



Mothers everywhere know their children's favorite meal – fish sticks and Mac & Cheese. Frozen fish sticks used to be really good (even adults liked them), but lately it seems they are not as tasty as they used to be.  It seems to me that many of the frozen breaded or battered fish products have changed in recent years to a lesser quality (or my taste buds don't care for them as much).  But recently I discovered a frozen fish product that is not only VERY tasty, but does not have that 'packaged' taste so often prevalent.

The product is called Budweiser Beer Battered Cod produced by SeaPak, the Shrimp & Seafood Co.  It is wild caught cod fillets in a crunchy beer batter and it is delicious.  

It's like having your kitchen become your new favorite Pub. 

SeaPak


The SeaPak company is known as the Shrimp & Seafood Co. They are known as the #1 retail brand in the frozen specialty seafood category. 

SeaPak has been making great tasting and high quality seafood products for over 70 years. They choose only the best seafood for their products and their signature seasonings, breadings and sauces bring you an authentic coastal seafood flavor right to your home dining table.

They are known for their Shrimp dishes (including Jumbo Butterfly Shrimp, Shrimp Scampi and Popcorn Shrimp), as well as their Maryland style Crab Cakes and Fish products which appeal to seafood lovers of all ages. 


Budweiser Beer Battered Cod



This beer battered cod is very fresh tasting and delicious.  The product comes from a fishery that has been independently certified to the MSC's standard for a well-managed and sustainable fishery. (www.msc.org) 

Quick and easy to fix in a conventional oven at 425 degrees, cooking in a single layer on a baking sheet for 17-18 minutes. Turn over half way through cooking. 


Ways to Serve:


Cod Filets with Macaroni & in a Sandwich

I have had this beer battered cod with Mac & Cheese and also as a fish sandwich on a roll with macaroni salad.  I think it would be good any way you serve it. The combination of Cod and the Budweiser Lager Beer used in the batter is yummy. You will find more serving suggestions and recipes for this product and the other SeaPak selections on the recipe section of their website


Where to Buy:

This Beer Battered Cod and other SeaPak seafoods are available from Target and Walmart and most of your favorite grocery stores (Kroger, Hy-Vee, Publix). 


For a quick and easy meal on no-time-to-cook busy days, these SeaPak seafood selections are a delicious product to keep in your freezer, and a satisfying meal choice. 





Available at:




*Images by Wednesday Elf

+Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, August 31, 2020

Reviewing the Casdon TOY Dyson Ball Vacuum

Last weekend I traveled to visit my son and family and attend my granddaughter's birthday party. It had been over a year and a half since I had seen them so this was a special occasion on so many levels. But what to get a girl for her 4th birthday.  You get her what she wants. Thank goodness she wasn't asking for a pony.  She wanted a vacuum. I chose the Casdon Toy Dyson Ball Vacuum and she loved it.



Casdon Toy Dyson Ball Vacuum

As soon as my son told me that my granddaughter has been asking him for a vacuum cleaner, I began shopping for a suitable toy vacuum. 

Of course these toys range from lightweight and inexpensive toys, to better-built but "comic" vacuums (The Fisher Price version for example) to more expensive, battery-operated toys.  I was looking for a realistic but miniature style.

And I found the toy Dyson Ball vacuum.  It is offered by several different sellers on Amazon and I chose the CASDON version.  I am so glad I did. It arrived quickly (a day sooner than promised) and was better than I expected. Based on a couple of reviews, I am wondering if some of the sellers are selling knock-offs. 

These are the features I noticed about this toy:

  • this toy Dyson Ball Vacuum is well-made and sturdy.
  • uses 4 C batteries to make a suction sound and spinning motion (with an on/off switch)
  • there is a bit of suction and a 'dust bin" to empty
  • It is a nice size - just right for my 4 year old granddaughter (she's a small 4)
  • maneuvers like an adult-sized ball vacuum
  • comes in a variety of colors
I chose this in pink because granddaughter wears some favorite pink dresses.

Children love to be "little helpers".  This is one reason toys such as vacuums (tiny kitchens, brooms, tools, etc) are so popular. Toys such as this also help with motor skills and coordination. Also, as on reviewer on Amazon explained, some children with autism or anxiety disorders, who are fearful of the adult-sized vacuums, may be able to use and enjoy this tiny, quieter version to get over their fears. 

Initially, I thought I would not buy this as a gift, especially after having not seen them for such a long period of time. But then I decided that it was what she had been asking for and what she wanted. It was a hit. She exited the party (ours were the last gifts she opened thankfully) to go inside and begin vacuuming with a big grin on her face.

Click the photo for more information
Click the photo for more information

 

Related Link:

To see more of our Toy reviews and recommendations (many of which are toys we've purchased for our children and grandchildren) either click the "Toys Reviews" tab near the top of this page or check out our Toy Reviews board on Pinterest. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, August 30, 2020

These Keto Nuggets are Too Good - Resist the Temptation!

These Keto Nuggets are Too Good!

My friend and fellow writer on ReviewThisReviews, Margaret, has written an extensive series on Keto. If you're considering Keto as a way of eating, be sure to check out her helpful ongoing advice and tips. Her latest detailed and very informative article was on Keto Muffins.

Being a Keto warrior myself for about a year and a half, I have a bit of keto experience under my very loose belt now. This brief review is specifically about one particular Keto product I recently tried.

Here's a photo of it:




Am I Serious About Not Buying This?


For me, yes, lol. If you love a bit of crunch, not too much sweetness, and something the size of more significant popcorn pieces, these are calling your name.

I'm not a sweets person: I can take sweets or leave them. However, there's something about this Keto treat that challenged my self-control! My usual food discipline was weakened for the first time in a year and a half on Keto.

I've lost over 60 pounds to date, and honestly, I won't keep these Keto Nuggets in the house any longer. Isn't it funny that something is too good?

They contain just what the package says; dark chocolate, pecans, almonds, and hemp seed. I'm so grateful I ate the entire bag in three days because just typing this would send me looking for it.

The Keto Numbers on Keto Nuggets


According to the package, one serving of nuggets is 20 grams, that's about three-quarters of an ounce. That one serving is broken down as follows: 4 net carbs, 6 total carbs, 2 grams of fiber, 9 grams of fat, 2 grams of protein, and 120 calories. That's undoubtedly Keto friendly. However, stopping at one serving is the problem.

If you feel you can stop eating these at a couple ounces, go for it. I honestly struggled with limiting my intake, and I rarely struggle with food on Keto!

Would I Recommend These as a Keto Treat?


Absolutely. Keto Nuggets are fantastic; however, they lead me into temptation, and I had to deliver myself from food evil. For you, they may be just fine. Consider yourself warned, they're delicious.

I live in Canada and purchased these at our local Costco. I did check Amazon to see if they carried it (in case you wanted it, not me!); however, the Keto Nuggets they sell are higher in carbs and not precisely the same as the one I've featured here. They were an excellent price at Costco; on sale for about $10 - which is why I grabbed them. Tell me the store guru's don't know what they're doing.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, August 29, 2020

Marie Callender's Shrimp Mac & Cheese Bowl Review

Marie Callender's Shrimp Mac & Cheese Bowl Review
Frozen dinners are, naturally, not anywhere as good as home-cooked meals, but they are convenient for a segment of the population. These include singles, college students, widow/widowers living alone, and busy moms who find a day became too busy to cook.

There are a wide variety of brands of frozen dinners on the market today.  Some are just okay, some are pretty average, and then there are a couple which stand out in taste and deliciousness, making them an above-average, close-to-homemade choice for a meal. Stouffer's Frozen Foods has been just such a line of frozen meals for me for many years, until I came across another one just as good or better.  It's the Marie Callender's line of frozen dinners. 


Marie Callender


Marie Callender's story is a Heritage of Homemade.  She believed that slowing down to share a meal strengthened the bonds of family and friends. 

In the 1940s, she began baking pies in her home kitchen, which her son delivered on his bicycle to local restaurants in their Orange, California area. By 1948 she was able to open her first bakery, where she baked over 100 pies every day. 

In 1964, Marie's family opened the first of what eventually became a chain of pie and coffee shops.

Today it has expanded to frozen pies and other desserts, and into frozen meals available in grocery stores.  


Marie Callender's Shrimp Mac & Cheese Bowl


I have tried ~ and very much enjoyed ~ the Marie Callender pot pies and a few varieties of her frozen dinners. Recently I discovered a new line of products – microwavable bowls, and purchased the Shrimp Mac & Cheese Bowl.  It was Delicious! 



Image Source: (c) Elf
The Shrimp Mac & Cheese Bowl consists of shrimp over pasta with a buttery white wine cheese sauce. Mmmmm! 

It is a big bowl of succulent premium shrimp with pasta in a creamy sauce made from scratch with real butter and white wine. 

The bowl cooks up quickly in the microwave on high for 3 minutes, stir, re-cover and cook an additional 1-1/2 to 2 minutes.  VERY hot when done, so remove carefully.  Stir & enjoy!  I did! It is very fresh tasting and delicious. 


Summary


Check out the complete line of Marie Callender frozen dinners and bowls.  The variety is amazing and everything I have tried is very good. You can see the various meals available on the Marie Callender Website.




Image Source: (c) Elf

For the story of Marie Callender, check out this book about her life.





Related Links:






*Review of Marie Callender's White Wine & Butter Shrimp Mac & Cheese Bowl by:

Wednesday Elf 
8/29/2020






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 28, 2020

Cast Iron Trivets Reviewed

Cast Iron Trivets Reviewed
My Cast Iron Cow Trivet
I like to surround myself with pretty things that are functional. After all, an item doesn't have to be ugly simply because it is utilitarian.  This is especially true in the kitchen.

I have cooked with a cast iron skillet for as long as I can remember.  I use a cast iron trivet, which I have also had for as long as I can remember, to protect my counter top from the extremely hot and heavy skillet.  However, I recently purchased a cast iron dutch oven for baking bread. I immediately realized that I needed a second cast iron trivet for my new dutch oven's lid which is equally as hot and heavy as the pot itself.

I happened to be exploring an antique store a few weeks ago when I came across an adorable dog cast iron trivet finished just like my cow trivet.  Well, of course, I had to have that!  The dog trivet had a hanger on it which gives it a dual purpose.  It is also kitchen decor.  Yes, I can hang it right on my wall where it will be very convenient and easy to find when needed.

After I got home, I looked at my long time friend, the cow cast iron trivet. I couldn't believe it!  She has a hole for hanging too that I never noticed before.  It was pretty exciting to discover that my pretty cow can also be displayed.  

Using functional cast iron trivets as "pictures".  I love it!


Functional Beauty of Cast Iron Trivets


Unlike many current day trivets that sit flat on a counter top, my cast iron trivets are raised on feet.  That allows the pot or skillet to cool from the bottom as well as the top and sides while protecting my counters from the intense heat.  Since they are also made of cast iron, they are perfectly designed for the weight of cast iron cookware.


Features of the Cast Iron Trivets

Puppy Cast iron Trivet
My Newly Acquired Puppy Cast Iron Trivet
  • Protective rubber feet to protect walls or counter tops 
  • Strong enough to hold heavy skillets, pots & pans
  • Tolerates heat from hot pan without sustaining damage
  • Available in a variety of designs 

My trivets are bronze, clearly from an era when brass was prominent in home decor.  New cast iron trivets are most often black, which match the standard cast iron cookware.  However, there are a few available that are painted like the rooster trivet shown below.

Now, if I only had more wall space in my kitchen, I could have a whole barnyard of animal trivets surrounding me.  





Antique Cast Iron Trivets


If you prefer the bronze or antique trivets, Ebay is the perfect source.  Keep it mind, if you don't see one you love on Ebay today (linked for easy access), you just might see one tomorrow.  Items on Ebay change constantly thanks to the vast numbers of sellers on the site.






Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, August 27, 2020

Visit Missouri- Review of Frontier Park-St. Charles


Located on the Missouri Riverfront in St. Charles you will find a wonderful park, the Lewis and Clark Boathouse Museum and a delightful nature center.


Lewis and Clark Boathouse Museum



The Lewis and Clark Boat House and Museum is a wonderful way to spend time reviewing the history that took place in this area.  There is a wonderful display on the Lewis and Clark Expedition with maps for you to follow the paths taken.  There is a replica of a keel boat used during the expedition times and many other artifacts from the era.  

The  museum also gives a lot of information on the Missouri River ecosystem.  

Outside the museum you will find a wonderful nature center.  It is a small area but packed with informational signs and lots of beautiful flowers.  I particularly like to photograph the sunflowers.  

Here are some photos from a late July visit to the area.


 




I was delighted by all of the colorful cone flowers that were in bloom on this visit.






Frontier Park

Just east of the museum area on the riverfront you will find Frontier Park.


The park covers 16 acres and is a wonderful way to spend a leisurely time watching the boats on the riverfront, watching events on the stage, visiting the old railroad depot, or taking a walk along the Katy trail. Here are the features of the park according to the St. Charles Parks website.

  • 16 Acres
  • 15 Foot Lewis & Clark Statue
  • MKT Depot
  • MO Dept. of Natural Resources Katy Trail runs through Frontier Park
  • Outdoor Jaycee Stage
  • 2 Picnic Shelters
  • Paved Hike/Bike Trail
  • Rest Area (Benches)
  • Restrooms are open year round.


From <http://www.stcharlesparks.com/park/frontier-park/



At Christmas time the city celebrates a "St. Charles Christmas Traditions".  One of the traditions includes a parade featuring Santa's from various countries.  At the end Santa Claus stops at the railroad depot above for children to visit and have their photos taken with Santa Claus  A couple of years ago my two youngest granddaughters were visiting before the holidays and I took them to see Santa.  The depot was a wonderful spot for this tradition.  



The St. Charles area features a lot of festivals held in the area and the stage seen above is often the place where entertainment is featured. People can bring their lawn chairs and sit in the grassy areas surrounding the stage.  Some of the festivals include an Independance Day Celebration, Festival of the Little Hills, Craft Fairs and much more.

This area along the Missouri riverfront in St. Charles is a real treasure of the city and an area I never tire of visiting.

Zazzle Products from my Photographs





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X