Showing posts sorted by relevance for query socks. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query socks. Sort by date Show all posts

Wednesday, October 14, 2020

Warm Toes and Funny Socks are a Great Combination

Summertime has ended and it's now time to get out the woolies!  Cold feet are one of the first things I notice when the weather changes!  Here's a great Gift Idea!

Not many of us like cold feet and for me personally, it is the first thing that I notice as the fall becomes a fact of life.  I hate having cold feet! Add a pair of socks and I'm feeling warm well into the evenings after sundown.  Toasty toes are something that I really like.  


In the summer months that's not a problem, but once October rolls around, I'm scrambling to get my tootsies into something that will keep them and me happy. 

Bring on the socks!  

The days of putting your feet into a pair of boring socks are gone forever.  Today, many of us are choosing to use our feet to help tell our story! 

There are so many choices and some really fun ideas to keep the word "BORING" out of your sock drawer.  

My son's wedding a couple of years ago, was a great time to let loose, even though it was a very formal and "special" occasion, they still wanted to add some fun.

All the groomsmen were outfitted with Socks with Star Wars themes on them!  Both the Bride and Groom loved Star Wars, so it was fitting to add  little "Space Extras" into their day.


Novelty Socks have taken the market by storm.  Today you can get socks to show support for your favorite team or sport.  You can get socks that have funny sayings on them and lots with colorful patterns.  The best thing is that these are not just for the kids anymore.

These socks come in adult sizes for both men and women.  Oh children can still get some wonderful socks too!

Funny Socks really make a great gift for almost anytime of year. Even funny socks will be useful.  They aren't too expensive either.  So you can have some fun without breaking the proverbial bank!

When my grandchildren were younger I would buy them socks that were colorful and full of many different designs.  Sorting socks after washing became a game and some fun for them too.  It's so much easier to sort socks when there's a bold design on them, then just your regular white, grey or black sports socks.

Funny and Bold socks are just so much fun compared to what we have been used to.  Designs cover every holiday, sports teams, lifestyle choices and so much more.  You can even have socks custom made just for your and your family.

My best friend gifted me a pair of socks last year.  Looking at them you wouldn't think they were too outlandish, but when you see the soles of the socks, you just have to laugh.  She knows me far too well.

You can get some idea of the socks that are available on the link below.
Novelty Socks for the Whole Family

Novelty Socks are a great gift idea all year long.  Because they are affordable, you can send someone a gift without having to worry and with Amazon you can have it sent directly to the recipient.  Just remember to mark it as a gift at the check out!  

Are you and your best friends having a sports showdown?  Get them a pair of socks with their favorite team and let them walk the walk in style and support!

I like that you can send someone a pair of socks and you know that they will find them useful and I'm sure they will have a good laugh at your choice for them.  

My eldest Grandson would love the socks with sayings on the bottom!  His favorite would be " Do Not Disturb and I'm Busy Gaming" on the feet.  
These are the ones I have and the ones I'm getting for my grandson!

I'm sure you will find a time and a celebration that would be a perfect time to send some special socks to rock your family and friends.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Review of the World's Softest Socks, Classic Collection

It's the Season for the World's Softest Socks

Even though I live on the California Central  Coast, it's cold this winter. That's why I've been stocking up on products to keep myself warm. One of my recent purchases I'm very happy with is an order of The World's Softest Socks from the Classic Collection of socks. I'm wearing one in this photo. I wish I'd gotten a better picture, but it's hard to take a picture of the side of a sock when you  have it on your foot. Neither the top of the sock or my calf is as fat as it looks. I love these socks. That's why I just went back to Footsmart's sock selection and bought more along with some other sock types since they were on sale.  There usually is a promotion or sale going on. You can see a link to it at the top of the page when you get to the site. 


Review of  the World's Softest Classic Collection Socks
World's Softest Gray Sock on my Foot
© B. Radisavljevic

Why I Love the World's Softest Socks


My feet have been giving me problems for years. In 2014 I had a partial toe joint replacement. Finding shoes to fit properly was a problem. Finding socks that don't have rough seams that hurt my feet was also a problem. I spent a lot of time looking for socks online that were warm and that would not rub against my feet in a way that hurt. My search led me to Footsmart.com where I  discovered the World's Softest Socks  Classic Collection.  I  also discovered some other items, such as the Angora sport knee warmers I reviewed earlier and some IMAK Arthritis gloves which I will review another time.


Review of  the World's Softest Classic Collection Socks


The World's Softest Socks are wonderfully soft and warm. They do not have bulky seams that cut into my toes. The tops stay up all day without slipping or binding. They are thick enough to wear with my slippers and boots. Did I mention they were really, really soft? Since I got them I haven't wanted to wear any others. I bought two pair -- the gray pair I'm wearing now and the navy blue pair you see above. I have already washed those. Since I bought these and my knee warmers, the two almost meet on my legs and I haven't needed to wear my silk long underwear over them to keep my legs warm except on the very coldest days.

I machine-washed these socks on a gentle cycle inside out in cold water. The manufacturer recommends fabric softener, but I didn't use it. I made the mistake of using Ivory Snow powder that was on hand instead of a liquid detergent like Woolite, and it never dissolved. That meant I rewashed everything in that load in plain water to try to rinse all the powder out. I air-dried my socks inside, but they can be tumble dried on low heat. The photo above was taken after I had washed and dried the socks.

I wear a shoe size of 8.5 and 9, depending on the brand. I ordered size Medium socks for women's shoe size 5.5 - 9.5 or men's size 5-8. My socks fit perfectly. They run pretty true to size. You don't need to order a larger size than you normally wear. The World's Softest Crew Socks in the Classic Collection come in a variety of colors, so I chose what would go best with my clothes. My socks do have the cloud symbols on the toes. Many reviewers on Amazon said the clouds were not on the socks they ordered there, though they are supposed to be the same socks. The reviewers felt the socks without the clouds were not as good quality as previous socks they had ordered that had the clouds. Maybe Amazon is substituting socks from a different manufacturer. I've had my socks less than a month, so they have been ordered recently, since people bought the inferior quality socks on Amazon thinking they would get what I got.

Where to Get These Socks


Amazon carries these socks, but they are not necessarily a better deal there and I didn't see that they were eligible for the free prime shipping. Here is Amazon's page for these socks and the Amazon reviews, if you prefer ordering from Amazon. I ordered mine from  Footsmart because they offered free shipping if my order totaled $75. It was very easy to find $75 worth of things I wanted. I was satisfied with all I bought there except for one item -- the Chooze Canvas slippers. They  just never felt right on my feet. It's possible I ordered the wrong size, but I don't recommend them. The soles felt bumpy. I've had better luck   with Daniel Green and Acorn slippers, both of which Footsmart also carries. Footsmart has everything that can make your feet feel better, including orthotics and remedies for bunions, hammertoes, and other common foot ailments. 

Although there is overlap between what Amazon and Footsmart carry for feet, Footsmart has many exclusive products. Although some people complained they had trouble making returns at Footsmart, my receipt came with a prepaid return label on the back for exchanges. If returns are made within 60 days with receipt, Footsmart will refund your purchase price if you made your purchase with a credit card or PayPal (but not PayPal credit.) If you are not exchanging, they will deduct the price of return shipping from your refund. I was happy with my purchases and did not want to return anything.

Even knowing that Amazon carries the World's Softest Socks, I'd still order them at Footsmart again, especially after reading that Amazon may be sending a product with the same name but lower quality. As far as I can see, the price is the same and it's easy to buy enough to get free shipping at Footsmart. I highly recommend Footsmart for products to keep your feet healthy and comfortable.  


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 9, 2020

A Review of Sock Days

Source: Pixabay
There are seven major holidays celebrated in the U.S. every year and many others celebrated around the world. Then there are innumerable just-about-daily holidays that are obscure, bizarre, weird, wacky, and downright funny. 

The majority of these are UN-official holidays, dreamed up by people to celebrate a favorite activity, craft or food. Many of these holidays have no known origin, but are fun to celebrate. Some are serious 'special days' to bring awareness to - and help for – animals facing extinction or medical conditions.

Today we are going to look at a group of funny sock holidays, including National Sock Day (December 4), Silly Sock Day (April 3), No Sock Day (May 8) and probably the funniest one ~ Lost Sock Memorial Day celebrated on May 9.


National Sock Day 


National Sock Day is an annual celebration observed every year on December 4th.  It began as a company promotion by Pair of Thieves, an American basics apparel company which makes socks, underwear, and shirts. Founder Cash Warren gave a simple explanation for the company name, which exemplifies the team's witty, mischievous spirit. “Who steals the sock that goes missing after doing laundry?” he said. “Pair of thieves.” 

The company had a celebration on December 4, 2016 where they walked through offices at Honest, Facebook, and Red Bull  with a band and Santa Claus, to spread cheer, and socks. Check it out here. 





Silly Sock Day


Source:  Pixabay

Despite it's funny name, Silly Sock Day is actually an annual awareness raising day held  on April 3rd  during Autism Awareness Week to help support autistic individuals by raising funds and awareness.  It was begun to bring awareness to autism in East Midlands, England. It is easy to celebrate – just don your most ridiculous socks and share them on Social Media with the tag #SillySockDays.


No Sock Day


We celebrate National No Sock Day on May 8th.  It's a day to free your toes from socks, and give your feet a breath of some fresh air.  The holiday was created by Ruth & Thomas Roy of Wellcat.com


Lost Sock Memorial Day


Lost Sock. Source: Pixabay
This is the day (May 9) we commemorate lost socks.  This unofficial holiday was invented to encourage people to finally let go of all those single socks they keep in a 'lost sock drawer' hoping to find their partners one day. Believe me, it's not going to happen. 

My mother kept a whole drawer just for those lost socks and over the years the drawer was stuffed full of single socks from a family of six. Us kids used to be given the job on laundry days of trying to match up the latest single socks with one in the sock drawer –  and we never once found a match. We used to kid that the washer or dryer 'ate' the socks.  True story!  

So, unless you like wearing unmatched socks, give it up and use May 9th Lost Sock Day as the time to get rid of those single socks without a partner. Or, alternatively, recycle those single socks as cleaning cloths. Or make sock monkeys or sock puppets out of them for the kids.


FAQs about Socks


Source: Pixabay

Q: How long should a pair of socks last?
A: If worn once a week, a pair of socks should last about a year. 

Q: What is the origin of the word SOCK?
A: The word sock comes from the Old English word “socc”, which means 'light slipper'. 

Q: What  is the Sock Capital of the World?
A: The Datang district in eastern China is the top producer of socks  in the world. It has become known as “Sock City” because about 40% of  the world's socks are produced there. It is estimated that in one year they make enough socks to supply two pairs for every person in the world.

Q: What are Baby Socks called?
A: Booties!


Baby Booties


That last Q&A above I just made up...  LOL. There actually ARE socks for babies, but booties are a nice alternative to baby socks and often come as a match to infant outfits. I mention booties here as a way to show off my handmade baby booties on Etsy.

Baby Booties in Crochet


A Review of Sock Days
Handmade Baby Booties on Etsy
A pretty pair of baby booties hand-crocheted in a pastel ombre yarn in white, pink green, yellow and blue acrylic yarn.

These pastel booties are sized for a 3-6 month old baby measuring 4 inches from heel to toe. They have a folded down top (roll over ankle) and white ribbon ties.

Darling handmade yarn booties to keep your baby's toes warm. Also perfect for a new baby gift or a baby shower gift.

These pastel baby booties are available in the Etsy Shop of Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Sock Reviews by ReviewThisReviews.com Contributors


Source: Pixabay

Sock Daddy Socks – Review by Wednesday Elf

Crocheted Slipper Socks - Review by Dawn Rae

World's Softest Socks – Review by BarbRad

Carhart Socks for Women – Review by Dawn Rae

Sherpa Theme Slipper Socks - Review by Wednesday Elf


Sock Days Review written by (c) Wednesday Elf – 5/9/2020





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, March 13, 2017

Carhartt Socks for Women Review

If you are familiar with the Carhartt brand, there is a good chance you think only of men's clothing. Or more specifically, men's coveralls, coats, and hats. I depend on the Carhartt brand and I have two pairs of their wonderful women's Carhartt wool blend socks. As I was browsing online for a few more pairs, I realized that I should share my Carhartt women's socks experience with you. I paused my shopping in order to review these warm, durable, and comfortable socks. 


Warm and Thick Women's Socks by Carhartt


I have to start by stating, I really hate wearing socks and shoes. Period.  When I do wear shoes, boots, or socks, they must fit well, be comfortable, and serve a purpose. If I could live my life barefoot, I would. Unfortunately, I must wear shoes and socks.

Last year, I needed some suitable socks for camping and hiking at The Shack during cold weather.  I chose two pair of Carhartt socks and couldn't be more pleased.  I am so pleased with the socks that I was browsing with the plan to order another couple of pair to keep here at the apartment.  

These are a few of the many reasons I recommend these Carhartt socks
  • keeps my feet warm but not sweaty
  • durable
  • the acrylic/polyester/nylon/wool/spandex blend (probably responsible for the two items above)
  • built-in arch support
  • heels that stay in place
  • the style creates a good fit and a sock that doesn't slide around my foot
  • top of the sock stays in place

There are few things I hate more than socks that slide around your foot, slide down your calf, and bunch up under your arch.  So uncomfortable and annoying!  But these Carhartt socks stayed in place whether I was using them as "slippers" while in The Shack or as warm socks under my rubber boots or hiking boots.  Those sewn "ribs" at the arch hug my foot and are so very comfortable.

Unfortunately, the exact pairs (the pink ones) that I purchased are currently out-of-stock and seem to be difficult to find. 

Carhartt Women's All-Season Crew Socks

The good news is that very similar pairs are still offered and are easy to find.  In fact, it seems the only difference is that the blends are ever-so-slightly different.  These purple "hiker crew" socks have similar heels, toes, and arch support. Not sold on the color purple? Don't worry, there are several other colors to choose from.

Carhartt Women's Merino Wool Blend Hiker Crew Socks

I will be ordering a couple pairs of these textured crew socks with confidence that I will love the new socks just as much as I do my pairs that are waiting for me up at my place in the woods. I like these as they are a bit higher on the calf. Slightly more coverage as I am tromping around in snow or outside in cold weather.

Carhartt Women's Merino Wool Blend Textured Crew

Related Link:


If you are in need of soft and comfortable socks, be sure to read our Barbara's article about the World's Softest Socks. In her review, she describes why her soft socks and the absence of bulky seams is her choice. 

If you are unfamiliar with the Carhartt brand, I encourage you to take a peek at their official site. For as long as I can remember, the men in my life have depended on the durability and quality of their coveralls and coats. I find that their sweatshirts, hats, and socks are always a good choice and meet my own cold weather needs. 







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, March 2, 2019

Review of Sherpa Theme Slipper Socks

Sherpa Theme Socks
Having lived in the South for many years, I recently returned to the Midwest, resulting in something I had been pretty much able to avoid in Georgia ~ Winter! Knowing my intense dislike of cold weather, my darling daughter gifted me with a very welcome item – fleece lined slipper socks.

The slipper socks she sent me are the Sherpa Theme Socks, which are fleece lined knit socks that are non-slip, very warm and cozy. They are perfect for lounging on the couch with a book on these cold winter days here in Iowa. Especially after an hour or two of shoveling the snow out of my driveway! Off with the boots ~ on with the fleecy warm Sherpa socks. 


Sherpa Slipper Socks


(c) Wednesday Elf relaxing with toasty warm feet
These Sherpa slipper socks are made of polyester and a bit of Spandex.  The fleece lining is super thick, making them very warm and comfortable.  

They have a non-slip bottom with Silicon rubber grips on the soles of the socks.  Keeps one safe walking around at home on smooth floors.

These unique socks come in different colors and patterns.  Some have cartoon animal designs. Mine are gray with a cute bear holding a coffee cup on one sock and a steaming cup of coffee on the other with snowflakes falling. The fleecy lining is white. There are also Christmas and other winter designs. These socks are sized for women in one size that fits most sock sizes. They also are available for men and for children in a variety of designs and colors. 


Alexa Rose Fuzzy Socks


Alexa Rose Fuzzy Socks

In addition to my Sherpa slipper socks, darling daughter also sent a pack of 3 Alexa Rose fuzzy socks to wear in my boots while outside on winter days. They also feel wonderful on those really cold winter nights to wear to bed. These were really needed during the Polar Vortex that hit Iowa earlier this month bringing record-breaking below zero wind chill temperatures (-49 degrees). What a treat to be able to get out of bed and have one's feet warm while walking to the kitchen to make that needed cup of morning coffee! 

The Alexa Rose fuzzy socks are made of polyester and Spandex and are very soft and warm.


Summary



(c) Wednesday Elf

So, with these Sherpa slipper socks and the Alexa Rose fuzzy socks, I think I shall now be able to last through my first Iowa winter until Spring finally arrives. I have a very thoughtful and sweet daughter to think of the very thing I needed for my return to 'Wintertime' in the Midwest. 


More Sock Reviews on Review This Reviews:








(c) Review of Sherpa Theme Socks by Wednesday Elf written on 3/2/2019.








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 13, 2017

Slipper Socks Review


Crocheted slipper socks are amazing. I have crocheted many pairs of slipper socks over the years, customizing the colors for friends and family. This year I bought yarn with the intention of again making slipper socks as gifts. Sadly, I have not yet found the time to crochet those gifts. But fortunately, I have found my beloved slippers socks for sale on Etsy and will review the reasons these are a favorite item with people I know.

Crocheted Slipper Socks


I have made these slipper socks off and on for many years. And I have a few friends who hint at wanting a new pair in a new color every time we see a scrap of yarn anywhere. 

Today I was looking for the online pattern as I may have some time to do some crochet work.  It was during that search that I found the finished slippers for sale in Etsy shops!  

Why These Slipper Socks Are Recommended


I have made these slippers for a woman who often gives handmade things to her friends and family as gifts. It was intimidating to make a handmade gift for her, but I did. I gifted her with a pair of these slipper socks that I had made, and she loved them. She wore them daily and is the only person I know of that has worn a pair threadbare.  She told me that was only because she wore them daily - including the daily walk down her paved driveway and to her mailbox! That is a high review if I've ever heard one. 

Blue Green Slipper Socks
I am able to recommend the slippers in this Etsy shop because I am familiar with the pattern. It is an excellent pattern - one that fits well. WiseAcreBoutique also offers customized sizes with your foot measurements. I am aware that this pattern is easy to adjust to unusually long, narrow, or wide fit because of the ease of adjusting the pattern. 

A few reasons these slippers are socks are recommended and requested by friends: 


  • they are made with worsted weight acrylic yarn
  • made with two strands of yarn - increasing warmth and softness
  • I have always tossed mine into the washer and dryer with no problems
  • the pattern creates a "heel" that is not bulky, fits well, and keeps the slipper sock in place
  • it seems the ridges under the heel would be uncomfortable when in fact, they provide cushioning
  • easy to pack in a suitcase for travel
  • can be made in solid and variegated yarns 
  • the "cuff" can remain upright or be folded down - I like to fold mine down. My friends keep theirs up for added coverage
  • the fit is reliable - in similar size ranges as socks. 
  • the pattern can be adjusted to fit a variety of feet 

Slipper Socks at WiseAcreBoutique 

There is a good chance I will soon make the time to crochet the gifts I've been planning for my friends. Those same friends who have hinted and outright asked for a new pair. The yarn is already purchased and waiting in my closet. But it is still unlikely that I will make the time to crochet a pair for myself. Because of this, it is good to know where I can purchase a pair of these awesome slipper socks for myself. 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, June 2, 2020

Reviewing Choosing Compression Socks

Not All Compression Socks Are Created Equal

If you find yourself having to wear compression socks, are they digging into your legs? If so, you do not have a proper fit. Let's review the things you need to know before purchasing another pair.

compression socks
These ankles don't seem to need compression socks. Do yours?
image courtesy of pixabay.com
We might assume that if this type of stocking has been recommended by a physician that the correct size would be prescribed or at least the information you need to purchase them if they are not covered under your insurance. That isn't always the case. Even in a hospital or assisted care facility, the correct fit isn't always chosen. If they are so tight they cut into your leg or so loose you have to pull them up; they are not the proper fit for your legs.

Factors To Take Into Consideration:

I think most of us would opt for a lower cost in this type of stocking that is supposed to help our circulation because we don't plan on having to wear them for an extended length of time. First of all, the cheaper ones don't usually ask for measurements of your calf or your ankle and that is important for a proper fit. They also don't normally tell you the degree of pressure the socks will provide and that is also important. 

The amount of compression that you need is determined by why you are being asked to wear these socks. 
  • Mild compression (15-20 mm Hg) is used for the relief or prevention of minor to moderate varicose veins, minor swelling of the legs and ankles, or tired and aching legs
  • Moderate compression (20-30 mm Hg) is needed for moderate to severe varicose veins, moderate to severe lymphatic edema, ulcers, or post thrombotic syndrome
  • Firm compression (30-40 mm HG) is used for ulcer management or post thrombotic syndrome
The better quality socks will provide a chart to determine what size you need. You will need to measure the circumference of your calf and your ankle in order to know what size will work best for you. A proper fitting stocking will feel snug but not tight. 

Usually if a physician has recommended that you wear the socks, they will give you some guidance on what to select. They do not have to be prescribed in order to wear them, though. Athletes often wear compression stockings to help with blood flow as they perform. They are also often used by people who have to stand on their feet for long periods of time during their work day. 

Compression socks like the ones below give you the option of the sizing and compression provided before you order them: 

Disclaimer: I am not a physician. Be sure to discuss the use and purchase of compression socks with your medical professional before using them. This is information you can be armed with when you have the discussion.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, July 7, 2018

Sock Daddy Sock Review

My sister-in-law has a rescue Boston Terrier pup ~ Abbi.  Abbi is the light of her life (after my brother, of course) and she loves to collect Boston Terrier related items to show her proud preference for this sweet dog.

While out shopping one day recently, I found the perfect gift for my sister-in-law for her birthday.  On a rack of special socks with images of dogs and cats, there was one with Boston Terrier faces and paw prints all over it.  I definitely had to get it for her. 


Sock Daddy Socks


See on Amazon

The Sock Daddy Socks are made with soft combed cotton – 200 needle count – and are machine washable.  The pair of socks I purchased has 20 to 24 Boston Terrier faces woven on each pair of these socks, interspersed with paw prints. 

These socks are available in a wide variety of colors and a large selection of dog and cat breed designs.

Animal Shelter Support



Part of the proceeds of these socks support animal shelters to find new homes for pets in need!  The label states “Help us find a home for the shelter pets!”.  



My Fur-baby nieces and nephews. 

This is another reason these socks are the perfect gift, since my sister-in-law has been involved in supporting animal rescue efforts for many years and has taken in a multitude of rescue cats and dogs over the years. At one point she had Abbi, the Boston Terrier and four cats.  Today her rescued group involves Abbi and two cats, but she continues to find homes for other animals in need. 


E&S Pets Company


The Sock Daddy socks are imported by E&S Pets, a wholesale company located in Holbrook, New York.  They specialize in pet-related products in many categories. Amazon carries a large inventory of these socks in a variety of designs of breeds of both cats and dogs. Plus they are available in a number of stores. 


The Perfect Gift for Pet Lovers


Boston Terrier Sock Daddy Socks

I am so excited that I found just the perfect gift for my sister-in-law for her birthday.  I'm sure she will enjoy showing off her love for Abbi with these look-alike Boston Terrier socks! 






(c) Sock Daddy Socks by Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Get Your Socks Wet and Keep Your Feet Happy Too! - A Product Review

Wherever you are in North America or North of the Equator, I think it is safe to say, "That Summertime is Here!"

Everyone is especially happy about that!  The weather has finally warmed up and we can get outside without all the layers to keep us warm.

What can make a fun time at the beach a little disturbing to little ones, is the temperature of the sand when the sun has been beating down on it all day.  I know I've done what I call the "Beach Polka", where you literally run over the sand as quickly as possible, looking for possible cool spots, so the bottoms of your feet don't burn. Once you reach the water's edge you are safe!  

Now for parents with a whole family of little ones, this can be a difficult dance to do while carrying the kids to the water's edge.  No need to do that dance unless you really want to!  I've found the perfect solution.  There is this neat product called water socks or water shoes!  They are meant to be used in the water either on the beach or in the pool.  

For children they come in all sorts of really cute prints and colors.  Boys and girls will love designs on these water socks.  You won't have to fight with them to keep them on their feet. With dinosaurs and unicorns, octopii, sharks and rainbows, there is a design for every one of your children. Once they find out how nice it is to walk along the beach without having your feet burn they will happily wear them.  

These water socks/shoes have 36 different colors and prints available, so that even if you have 2 or three little ones, they can all have different designs on them! I personally love the unicorn socks!  They are just so cute!

Cute is only part of the story.  These water socks will help your children be a little safer on the beach because they have a nice rubber sole that will protect their little feet from any sharp objects or rocks hiding under the sand.  The rubber soles even help them to stay secure on things like boogie boards, surf boards and even piers where slipping could be a problem.

There are no laces or ties of any kind to worry about either.  Kids can slip these onto their feet usually without any help required.  They get wet easily and they dry very quickly too.  

I think one of the best parts is that these water shoes/socks can be worn just about all summer long.  Even if the kids are playing in the driveway, their feet will be a little safer for having something covering them up.  Boating and beach volleyball are easier and a lot more fun with a nice pair of water shoes/socks on their feet!  Even splash pads are more fun without getting stubbed toes or athlete's foot! Just having your feet covered keeps you that much safer from these summer woes.   That anti-slip sole can make all the difference in the world!  No more slipping and sliding on possibly wet and greasy feeling areas.  Splash pads are notorious for that greasy feeling.  All the sunscreen creams make for an invisible slick area sometimes.  

Beach safety and water safety in general are very important to me!  I like to know that my grandchildren can have fun without possible harm in every summer situation.  I'm a big believer in safety around the water for our children, without making them fearful humans.  It's great to have the summer months to make great memories while relaxing our guard just a little.


A couple of years ago I wrote about Personal Flotation Devices for children and I still would recommend that this is of the utmost importance.  Never ever let your guard down around children and water!

With water socks/shoes, you can at least relax a little bit more and not worry about stubbed toes!  They are well protected just by being covered.  



Happy Summer to all and Stay Safe!

All pictures courtesy of  Pixabay.com







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, May 29, 2021

How Bed Socks Can Equal a Happy Marriage!

 Today I want to review bed socks because they really can help keep a marriage happy!  If your partner has cold feet, keep reading.


Reviewing bedsocks and how they can save your marriage
Original photo, Pixabay.com adapted by Lou16

May is my birthday month and after giving me a cow onesie last birthday, my husband went for something that would be a gift for both of us - bedsocks!

I imagine that there could be nothing worse than encountering a couple of blocks of ice when you're snuggled up in bed, but pushing your partner away probably isn't great for your marriage either, so - bedsocks!

I have always had cold feet, but as newlyweds, my husband acted as my human hot water bottle and would warm them up for me.   As he's gotten older he feels the cold more and if I rest my feet on the back of his calves to warm them up, I don't get a great reaction!

I will be honest, I didn't appreciate losing my little feet warmer which is why I recommend adding bedsocks to the marriage if you're in a similar situation.   No hurt feelings and no freezing feet to move away from, they really are a win/win item.

Socks are great and we've written a number of different reviews on this site about them - sock reviews - however, don't think that you can just wear a pair of socks to bed, that is not the same as bedsocks!   Bedsocks should be soft and, in my opinion, they should be fluffy.   All of the bedsocks I have owned have been very fluffy.

A bonus as you get older are the bedsocks with grips on the bottom - I really should be wearing these as I walk around the house in my bedsocks, but my husband always goes for the ones that feel nice and soft and did I say fluffy!

I think cold feet must be genetic because I can remember as a teenager my dad buying my mum a couple of pairs of bedsocks for Christmas one year.  I remember because he wrote a poem to go with them which I thought was really romantic (but I'd never have admitted that as I was a teenager!).   It was no prize-winning poem but a' roses are red' type of poem.   I think it went something like this:

Roses are red

Violets are blue

Your feet are cold

So these are for you

Now I didn't get a poem from my husband, in fact I did tell someone 'hang on romance must be dead as I got flowers from my mum, jewelry from my daughter and socks from my husband!'  They knew I was joking as the socks were really appreciated, I just wish he could've found some that looked like hoofs to go with the cow onesie, but apparently, he couldn't find any like that.   On a side note, I HAVE discovered some (although they're not bedsocks) so if you would like hoof socks check these out!  I'm thinking about getting some - if I do I'll definitely review them for you and even photograph them with my cow onesie just so you can really appreciate them!

Now, who's going to admit to having cold feet?   You know they say cold feet mean a warm heart (or is that cold hands?).




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, February 13, 2021

Review of Itasca Boots for Women

 

Itasca Women's Tahoe Suede Winter Boot
Itasca Women's Winter Boots
I moved from Coastal Georgia, which has mild winters with almost never any snow, to the Quad Cities area of Iowa. The reason for the move: to be near family. The result: the need for snow boots for the winter months.


After finding myself in snowy Iowa, I began to check out a variety of snow boots.  I shopped for everything from the over-the-shoe style (like the galoshes-type I remember wearing in my youth, growing up in New York State winters) to fleece-lined 'shoe' boots. The boot I chose is the Itasca Women's Tahoe Suede Winter Shoe Boot.






The Itasca Tahoe Suede Winter Boot for Women


My warm Itasca Winter Boots (c) Elf

The Itasca Tahoe boot has a durable suede upper over a waterproof TPR shell.  The plush boa collar is warm and attractive and has the added benefit of keeping the snow from getting inside your boots. 


The inside has a Thermolite insulation, which is nice and warm.  And the traction rubber outsole does a dandy job of giving you traction walking on snow and ice. 


The front zip opening makes taking boots on and off really easy, especially handy for stepping out of the boots on a mat inside the door without getting your socks wet. 



Sizing


The boots I purchased were sized a bit different than I am used to when buying shoes.  What I considered my normal shoe size were a little too small in boot size. And the next size up was just a tiny bit too large. I have compensated for that by wearing a pair of the warm fuzzy socks I wear around the house on really cold days over my regular socks inside the boots. Those socks fill in the extra space so that my boots now fit perfect without any slippage. 


Summing Up My New Winter Boots


Wintertime in Iowa (c) Elf

Shoveling snow in my Iowa winters has now been made a little more palatable, if not particularly pleasurable, due to boots that keep me from slipping or falling. And keep my feet warm as well. 


Related Links:

Review of the Itasca Tahoe Suede Winter Boot for Women written by (c) Wednesday Elf.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, January 19, 2019

National Popcorn Day Review

Popcorn Image Source: Pixabay
National Popcorn Day is held each year on January 19, although there is some debate about the date.  Some say it is celebrated on the 'Big Game' day (Superbowl Sunday).  No one knows the origin of this fun holiday, but whoever began the tradition obviously had good taste.



Source: Pixabay
Having recently moved to Iowa where I can drive about 5 miles in any direction and be  surrounded by fields of corn, I became interested in learning more about Popcorn Day. 






What is Popcorn?



Source: Pixabay

Popcorn is a seed that does something nifty when heated.


Corny Facts



There are four kinds of corn. The sweet corn we all love in summertime, dent corn (field corn) that is grown mainly for livestock feed and some food products, Flint corn (best known as Indian corn) used mostly for decoration around harvest time, and popcorn, which is a type of flint corn but has it's own unique characteristics.  Popcorn is grown specifically for popping. You cannot pop sweet corn, for instance, and you wouldn't want to eat field corn. 


History of Popcorn



Popcorn dates back thousands of years.  An interesting bit of history can be found on the website Popcorn . org.

Today, Americans consume over 13 billion quarts of popcorn each year, which translates to about 42 quarts per person.  


Image Source: Pixabay

It is one of the most popular snack foods, and an absolute necessity at a movie theater.  Just wouldn't be the same going to a movie without having popcorn! 

Popcorn is also a favorite around holidays, especially Christmas, as a food, as gifts and as decorations.  Who hasn't strung popcorn as a kid to put on the Christmas tree? 


Cute and Clever Popcorn Gifts


Crocheted Popcorn Playfood


Popcorn Playfood on Etsy
This red and white striped popcorn bag with individual kernels of popcorn  hand sewn to the top is a  fun gift to add to your child's collection of playfood for 'pretend' movie time or snack times.  

Hand crocheted by Kyra of Cottage Grove, Minnesota, it can be found in her Etsy Shop called "The Bossy Princess"






Popcorn Socks

Funny Socks for Popcorn Lovers

These popcorn socks make the perfect gift for any Popcorn Lover!

Cute socks for popcorn lovers created by Wine A Little Gifts on Etsy.


Popcorn Recipes



The Popcorn website has a large variety of popcorn recipes to suit any occasion.  Some delicious-looking recipes are available on the Popcorn website under Recipe Portal.


A Super Bowl Popcorn Snack  


Caramel Pretzel Nut Popcorn


Caramel Pretzel Nut Popcorn Image Source: AllRecipes


This tasty favorite from AllRecipes would be perfect for the upcoming Super Bowl Sunday or for a weekend of watching any favorite televised sport. 

Ingredients:

8 cups broken salted pretzels
20 cups popped popcorn
4 cups dry roasted peanuts
3 cups brown sugar
3/4 cup light corn syrup

1 1/2 cups butter
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions:


  1. Place the pretzels, popcorn and peanuts into a large paper bag or, if you have one, a very large bowl. Set aside.
  2. In a saucepan over medium heat, combine the brown sugar, corn syrup, and butter. Cook, stirring to melt the butter and dissolve the sugar, until the mixture comes to a boil. Once the mixture is at a full boil, continue to cook for 5 minutes, stirring constantly.
  3. Remove from the heat, and stir in the salt, vanilla, and baking soda. The mixture will foam up when you add the soda, so use a long spoon to stir. Immediately pour the sugar mixture over the popcorn and pretzels in the bag. Shake until evenly coated. For a crispier treat, boil the sugar mixture longer, or bake the finished mix in the oven at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for about 10 minutes.

*Prep Time: 15 m, Cook Time: 20 m Servings: 32.  Calories per serving: 378


Preparing Perfect Popcorn


Stovetop Popcorn Tips:


  • Step 1: Pour enough vegetable oil to just cover the bottom of a pan, turn on medium high heat.  Allow pan to warm. The best popping temperature is between 400 and 460 degrees F. Oil burns at 500 degrees. If your oil starts to smoke, it's too hot.
  • Step 2: Add enough kernels to cover the bottom of the pan single layer, shake to coat the kernels with oil, and cover with lid (too many kernels will “blow” the lid).
  • Step 3: Corn will begin to pop within 3 minutes. When the popping slows, listen until you can count 2 seconds between pops. Turn off heat and remove pan from stove-top.  Lift the lid to allow steam to escape away from your face.  Steam may burn and remaining kernels may continue to pop.
  • Step 4: Add additional flavors, herbs, or spices and enjoy.


*If you prefer microwave popcorn for a quickie snack, simply follow the directions on the package.



More Times to Celebrate Popcorn



Plush Popcorn Stuffed Toys



October is known as National Popcorn Month





(c) Written by Wednesday  Elf on 1/19/2019






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelSam MonacoSam MonacoRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten


Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X