Showing posts sorted by relevance for query serving. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query serving. Sort by date Show all posts

Tuesday, October 16, 2018

Rectangular Serving Plates Reviewed

Serving Platter For Large Dinners

turkey needs plate
This turkey needs a serving plate (image from Pixabay.com)
Let's review an option for rectangular serving plates, today. I know, as I write this we haven't even celebrated Halloween yet this year. Before we know it, it will be time to sit down to Thanksgiving Dinner and then in December there will be the Christmas Dinner. Do you have enough serving plates to accommodate those larger portions of food?

I have found a set of three serving plates that will come in mighty handy for those dinners or parties that we often host during the year. What I love about this set is that they do not have a design that will make you feel like you can only use them for one specific holiday. I have always been fond of those wonder old turkey platters with the turkey design on them but they look a little silly if you use them for anything other than Thanksgiving. So, they sit in the cupboard to be pulled out once during the year. That is not very practical is it? 

What I love about this set of three is that you have three different sizes of plates to serve on: small, medium and large. The largest plate is 15.6 inches by 8.8 inches and will serve nicely for a large turkey, ham, or pot roast. The medium size is 13.8 inches by 7.5 inches and will work well with a variety of dishes for the dinner or party. The smallest plate is 12.2 inches by 6.5 inches and is perfect for appetizers or just about anything! 

I also love that they are white in color. There is nothing that will distract from any pattern we might have on our dinnerware. They can be used for any occasion we plan to serve a lot of people and will stack nicely in the cupboard. 

This set of three rectangular serving plates are made of porcelain so that can be used in the freezer or oven and can be washed in the dishwasher. Now, I think that makes them even more practical! 

How about you? Do you think that this set of serving platters would function well for your large gatherings of family and friends during the year? 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 30, 2016

Appetizers on Ice Buffet Serving Trays Review

For many years, I have made appetizer and fruit trays for our guests during the holidays.  The smell of food cooking always makes everyone hungry long before the dinner is ready.  Fruit and vegetable appetizers are the perfect way to take the edge off hunger without completely ruining the meal.

Appetizers on Ice Buffet Serving Trays Review

The only problem with cut fruit and vegetables is the short counter life.  Both fruit and vegetables start to "age" as soon as they are removed from the refrigerator.  Once they have set out for a short while, there is absolutely nothing appetizing about looking at them, much less eating them.   This year I tried something new.  I purchased several iced buffet serving trays and they were fabulous!

I actually left the cut fruits and vegetables out for hours.  At the end of the day, they were just as ripe and delicious 10 hours after I first set them out.  I did have to change the ice several times during the day, but that was easy.  I was also able to save the leftovers to eat later.


Buffet on Ice Serving Trays with Lids


Because I wasn't sure whether I wanted the iced trays with or without lids, I purchased one of each.  After using them both, I now have a clear preference for which one works best for our family.  I actually liked the lidded appetizer on ice tray the best.  Since the appetizers were set out for all day "grazing" instead of a short duration luncheon style buffet, it was wonderful to have the food covered.  

 Prodyne AB-5-L Appetizers-On-Ice with Lids
  • Revolving Tray - Lazy Susan Style
  • Pretty Scalloped Edge
  • 3 Lidded Sections
  • Lids have Handles 
  • Removable lidded Dip Dish included
  • Clear
  • Lightweight 
  • 16 3/6" wide
  • 5" deep
Note:  Before I purchased this tray, I read the reviews.  Several people complained about the vent holes.  They were not a problem at all for the fruit, vegetables or cheese that I served.  However, if you are serving an appetizer that has sauce, then I would recommend the tray below.

As you can see in the photo, you fill the bottom tray with a layer of ice, set the tray section over the ice, then cover with the lids.  When the ice melts, you remove the lidded sections, pour off the water and add a new layer of ice.


Buffet on Ice Serving Trays without Lids


 Clear 2pc Appetizer Server with Ice TrayThis is the second iced buffet serving tray I purchased and used.  It does not have lids, it does not turn, and it does not have the vent holes like the tray above.  The sections have solid bottoms.  This is a two piece design where the entire top tray lifts away from the lower tray of ice.

However, there are no lids and no removable dip dish.  This style would be an excellent choice for a luncheon or buffet dinner where an open server would be preferred. 

This is a perfectly acceptable appetizers on ice buffet serving tray and I will certainly use it again.  But, my first choice would be the pretty scalloped tray with the lids and separate dip dish above. 

Both serving trays would need to be hand-washed.  


For More Great Product Reviews,
Visit ReviewThisProductReviews.com 


Appetizers on Ice Buffet Serving Trays  Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, November 3, 2016

Thoughtful Thanksgiving Hostess Gifts

You're invited out to Thanksgiving dinner! Here are five thoughtful gifts your hostess really wants.

Reviewing Gifts Your Hostess Really Wants


You've been invited to a friend or family member's house for Thanksgiving dinner. Lucky you! So now you have a dilemma: what would be the perfect hostess gift to say thank you for the hospitality?

To make your job easier, I've  chosen five different gifts that I'd love to receive if I were serving as your Thanksgiving hostess this year. While your hostess may not have the same tastes that I have, I think there should be an idea or two here that will work to elicit a "Thanks for being so thoughtful!" response from your hostess.








Give the Gift of a Seasonal Spa Treatment


The Gift of a Seasonal Spa Treatment For Your Thanksgiving Hostess | ButterCosmetics on Etsy
ButterCosmetics on Etsy
Who wouldn't need a spa treatment following a busy Thanksgiving day, or even a long weekend, of cooking, eating, and entertaining? This is a first class gift item, handmade with the best, soothing, healing ingredients you'll find anywhere. Honestly, I'm not usually much of a spa gal, but I would love to treat myself with these bath and lip products. A Thanksgiving hostess gift definitely fit for a queen.


A Gift for the Thanksgiving Cook


Premium Vintage Serving Spoon from MilkandHoneyLuxuries on Etsy, a beautiful, thoughtful hostess gift.
MilkandHoneyLuxuries
Look at this "I'm Thankful For You" serving spoon. Show me a cook who doesn't need another serving spoon and I'll show you . . well, it doesn't matter because any hostess could use an additional big serving spoon at Thanksgiving dinner. And how special is this one? Hand stamped with the words, "I'm thankful for YOU" with a heart, this is beautiful and such a very thoughtful gift! This premium vintage serving spoon is made to order by the creative and well-known folks at Milk and Honey Luxuries. I adore it and bet your hostess will, too.


The Hostess Gift That Keeps on Giving


Pass the blessing along with this Thanksgiving hostess gift, a Giving Platter from DaySpring.
DaySpring Cards and Gifts
Gift your hostess with a plate of your own specialty cookies, candies, or bread presented atop this "Share" Giving Platter. How does it work? The hostess gift arrives on the plate, homemade or even store-bought by you. The printing on the plate says "share," and a simple canvas tag with a verse is included, tied with a ribbon of jute. The verse on the tag begins, "This plate has no real owner, its journey never ends. It travels on a spontaneous path to neighbors... family... friends."

So after Thanksgiving, when life has settled down for a few minutes, your hostess friend can add her own goodies and present the plate to yet another neighbor or friend. Perhaps the plate, eventually, will make its way back with you since, as the verse says, "its journey never ends." Consider this gift idea for a hostess who is known to be a "giver." She'll love passing the blessing along in the future.


A Simple "Thank You" Will Do 


Thank You figurine by Willow Tree and Dayspring, a thoughtful Thanksgiving hostess gift.
Thank You Figurine by Willow Tree
This "Thank You" figurine by Willow Tree on Dayspring would be a beautiful choice for a hostess. She's little, just 5 1/2 inches high, but her message ("So appreciative of all you do!") is a big one that will encourage and lift up your hostess each time her eye catches this thoughtful gift.

Artist and sculptor Susan Lodi creates every figure in her Willow Tree collection with expressions revealed through gestures and absence of facial features, so the recipient can interpret its meaning in a personal way. What a beautiful way to show your appreciation for the kindness your hostess shows you.


Say "Thank You" With Flowers


Beautiful, Fresh Fall Flowers from FTD and DaySpring
When in doubt, flowers are a tried and true thank-you gift for a hostess. This beautiful, fall-colored Give Thanks Fall Bouquet would make a perfect, seasonal choice for a Thanksgiving hostess. More arrangements are available at the link. Good news is that all you have to do is the ordering; FTD delivers!  


How did I do? I hope you've discovered the perfect gift for your Thanksgiving hostess this year. I'd love to know what you chose, so don't be shy about leaving a comment below. I hope both you and your hostess have a very happy Thanksgiving!

~ Susan


Still looking? Check out these Gift Reviews from our Review This! team.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, September 2, 2017

Review of Our Favorite Seafood Dip ~ with Recipe

Family Game Night Snacks (c) Elf

Homemade Clam Dip & Chips
 
The gathering of family and friends over holidays, for special events and celebrations, or for card & game nights, calls for finger food type snacks. The quickest and most popular of these type of snacks are what we all like to refer to as 'chips & dip'.


Many years ago our grocery store carried, along with your typical onion dip and guacamole dip, a creamy cream cheese type dip with clams. The seafood lovers in my family absolutely loved it. Somewhere along the line the store-bought clam dip disappeared from the dairy section, probably due to lack of popularity as not everyone likes clams. (Can't imagine that, but it's true!). :-)


We really missed not being able to buy clam dip any more, so I got to pondering on it and figured out it couldn't be that hard to come up with my own version. Using some suggestions from an appetizer cook book for seafood-type dips, this 'homemade clam dip' is what I 'invented'. My family and friends liked it so much that it has become the 'expected' snack item at our house for any time we get together. It's best served with ripple-style chips and/or pretzels because it is a bit 'stiffer' than some dips and the regular chips break apart too easily while 'dipping'.


My son recently called me long distance because he couldn't find his copy of my recipe and needed a review of the ingredients for the batch he was making. Others have asked for the recipe too, so I decided to share it here. Hope you enjoy it at your next gathering.


RECIPE For Clam Dip


Ingredients
Ingredients


  • 1 (or 2) 8-ounce package Cream cheese, softened
  • 8 ounce tub Sour cream, Use 'light' version, if desired
  • 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire Sauce
  • 1 teaspoon Lemon Juice, bottled or Fresh
  • 3 or 4 Scallions or Green Onions, chopped
  • Dash Pepper
  • 1 or 2 cans Canned Clams, drained
  • Large Bag Ripple-style Potato Chips and/or Pretzels


Instructions


  1. Place opened package of cream cheese in a medium bowl to soften.
  2. Finely chop 3 or 4 fresh scallions (or green onions). Amount depends on your personal preference.
  3. When cream cheese is soft enough to work with, add the chopped green onions, Worcestershire sauce, lemon juice and pepper. Stir to mix.
  4. Add the sour cream a few spoonfuls at a time, stirring into the cream cheese mixture.
  5. Continue adding sour cream until the dip is the consistency you prefer. Some like it stiffer, somewhat like a spread you could serve on crackers; others like it soft enough to use with chips and pretzels.
  6. When the dip is mixed to the consistency you like, add the clams (drained, but allow a tiny bit of clam juice to remain for a nice extra flavor).
  7. Cover and refrigerate for several hours or overnight to allow the flavors to nicely blend. Stir once again before serving with the chips and/or pretzels.
+Cook's Note: I often double the recipe, depending upon the size of the group I am serving it to, as you will find it gets eaten quickly! :)

*Extra Note: We like lots of clams in our dip, so I prepare it with two cans, but one can works just as well.



Cook Time

Prep time: 30 min

Ready in: 30 min

Yield: Serves 4-6 people

Clam Dip ready to eat and enjoy!






Cream Cheese

Available on Amazon
KRAFT PHILADELPHIA CREAM CHEESE BRICK ORIGINAL 8 OZ PACK OF 4

Cream cheese dips, clam and otherwise, are my favorite kinds of dip.

I made a batch of my clam dip for a recent visit from my son & family. It's our favorite snack and is always expected.




 

 

Chips and Other Dips!




Source: Pixabay

If clams are not your favorite, there are lots of other kinds of dips from spinach and guacamole to onion dip to salsas. Any dip and combination of chips (potato, tortilla, pretzels) make great finger food snacks for any kind of party or get-together.







Dip Cookbook




Available on Amazon


Dips is a dip cookbook with more than 40 recipes ranging from quick & easy dips to fancy party dips.  A cookbook filled with dip recipes for any party or occasion.


Are you a fan of 'chips & dips?'  What is your favorite kind of dip? 


For a variety of other kinds of appetizers, check out these fabulous appetizer reviews compiled for your snacking pleasure here on







National Chip and Dip Day is


March 23


Originally written © 2013 Wednesday-Elf.  Updated for Review This! on 3/8/2019




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, September 6, 2016

Soft Foods: Potatoes Reviewed

Potatoes Are A Perfect Soft Food For Dentures Or Tender Gums From Oral Surgery

I'll be reviewing ideas for serving potatoes to yourself or the family member who has tender gums from prepping for dentures or oral surgery of any kind, today.

There is the obvious idea of mashed potatoes but they do not have to be the traditional serving. Trust me, you begin to want some kind of variety with your soft foods as it takes months for your gums to heal after having your teeth pulled and while you are adjusting to your new dentures.

So, for some variety in those mashed potatoes add different items to the dish. Personally, I love to add some minced garlic from time to time. They are also good with some shredded cheese. Sour cream and chives is another way to spice up those good old mashed potatoes. One evening I cooked some baby spinach leaves until tender and added those with a touch of sour cream and it was absolutely delicious!

One of my favorite potato dishes is creamed peas with red potatoes. This dish is a great source when soft foods are called for.

Creamed Peas With Red Potatoes

Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds of red potatoes 
1 1/2 cups of frozen baby peas
3 tbsp sliced green onions
4 tsp butter
4 tsp all purpose flour
1 cup milk

Directions:
Scrub potatoes and cut into fourths (smaller if you like). Cook potatoes in boiled salted water for about 15 to 20 minutes or until soft. Drain and set aside.

Cook peas and onions in a small amount of boiling salted water for about 8 to 10 minutes. Drain and set aside. 

Make a thin white sauce by melting the butter, slowly adding the flour while stirring. Add a dash of salt and pepper. Slowly add milk while stirring the sauce. 

Combine the peas and potatoes, add the white sauce and mix together well. 

This is a wonderful addition to any meal whether you need soft foods or not! 

Another choice for potatoes is the traditional baked potato. Just make sure that it is cooked soft enough that you can mash it with your fork and you will be able to eat it without hurting those tender gums. Your choice of toppings are up to you, making sure that the toppings are not going to take too much chewing.

Cheesy Potatoes With Olives

Another potato dish that I fix often and even more while my gums have been tender is a cheesy twist on hash browns. 

Ingredients:
1 pkg frozen hash browns
1 cup sour cream
1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese (sharp is really good in this recipe)
10 to 12 Green Olives stuffed with pimento diced
Salt
Black Pepper

Directions: 
Allow hash browns to partially thaw enough that you can break them apart easily.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine the sour cream, cheese and diced olives in a bowl. Add a dash of salt and black pepper.

Lightly oil a casserole dish. (I actually use butter to coat the sides and bottom). Mix the hash browns with the sour cream and cheese mixture and place into the casserole dish. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes.

I am not sure that I would have ever made this recipe if I had not been served it one evening at a friend's house many years ago. Those olives really add a nice variation to cheesy potatoes! Kind of salty and tangy, it is really scrumptious!

These are just a few ideas for preparing potatoes as a soft food option for tender gums. The wonderful thing is that every single one of these potato ideas are delicious at any time! What is your favorite way to eat potatoes?








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 27, 2016

Memorial Day Recipes Reviewed - Part I

The Main Course

 

Memorial Day is historically the date we set aside each year to honor and remember those who gave their lives for our country while serving in the U.S. military.  It is always observed on the last Monday in May.  The entire weekend before Memorial Day, families & friends all across the US gather together for parties and picnics.  We celebrate our freedom, our nation, the beginning of summer and the end of the school year.   We decorate with red, white & blue, we sing patriotic songs, we laugh, we love, we remember, and we eat

In preparation for the weekend of festivities, the contributors of Review This sought out some great recipes for Memorial Day to share.  Today, we will start with the main course.  


Recipes for the Grill


The days that fall right between spring and summer make the perfect time for an outdoor party.  As a few of the grilling experts gather around the grill, the rest of us mingle, laugh and enjoy tasting the appetizers on the buffet table.

It is an afternoon full of fun and good food!  

Not sure what you are going to grill yet?  Well, here are a few suggestions.  
 

 Coca Cola BBQ Ribs Slow-Cooked Barbecue Ribs Honey & Beer Glazed BBQ Chicken




Memorial Day Recipes Cooked Inside to Be Served Outside


Picnics with family and friends are always great, but sometimes we want to be able to cook the main course ahead and serve it once the guests arrive.  That means no on has to actually man the grill during the party.

Here are a few Memorial Day recipes that you cook indoors, but can be served inside or out. These recipes are also very child friendly so you may want to include them even if you plan to grill too. 

 

A Fruit Treat for Our Vegan & Vegetarian Readers


We all have vegan or vegetarian family members or those who are on special health diets.  We certainly do not want them left out of the fun and food.  

You can create this beautiful fruit bowl by simply combining the red, white and blue fruits in a patriotic bowl. 

Blueberries, raspberries, strawberries and watermelon stars are the perfect combination!   They are also delicious added to lemonade, although you may prefer pineapple stars for the drink.  Either the fruit bowls or the patriotic punch served in a beautiful crystal pitcher would be a real crowd pleaser as well as a lovely presentation.

Red, White & Blue Lemonade for a Patriotic Punch Drink


 Wilton Stars Nesting Metal Cutter Set

To Make the Pineapple or Watermelon Stars in the Patriotic Fruit Bowl or Lemonade

Simply cut them out with cookie cutters. 


I tend to prefer the metal cookie cutters when cutting fruit or cake simply because they have sharper edges.   With the Wilton metal cookie cutters, I get a nice sharp point at the tips of each of the stars.  Because this set comes with 4 cutters in the various sizes, it is really the perfect choice.  You can choose the actual size of the stars to fit the bowls or serving dishes you are using.  Because they nest, they are much easier to store.

One note:  If you are going to let little hands help you cut your fruit, opt for the plastic set of cookie cutters made by Wilton.  The edges of the cut may not be as precise, but the child's finger will be safe.

  

We will be continuing our Memorial Day Weekend Celebration


Please join us for our featured Memorial Day Dessert Recipes and for the Patriotic Celebration in Music.

May all of your Parties and Travel over this
Memorial Day Weekend be Safe and Fun!




Memorial Day Recipes Reviewed - Part I written & presented by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Reviewing Jenaluca Kitchen Scoop Set

Set Of Kitchen Scoops: The perfect gift for a bride



Recently, I was invited to a bridal shower for one of the neighbor girls down the street. There wasn't even a hesitation as to what I would get for the shower. I have a favorite gift to give when it comes to brides, a set of kitchen scoops.




Why scoops you ask? Well, for one thing I feel that every cook needs a good set of scoops whether she or he realizes it. Once they have them in their kitchen, they find that there are so many ways to use them.

Wouldn't one scoop be enough? Actually, I like having the different sizes in my kitchen, let me explain.

The Large Scoop: Not just for ice cream

Included in the set above is the large size that immediately brings to mind scooping ice cream. Yes, I use it for ice cream and sherbets all the time. I also use it for scooping portions of mashed potatoes onto our dinner plates along with any other mashed veggie that we may be having. When making cupcakes, I use the large scoop to put my batter into the baking cups so that my cupcakes are a uniform size when baked. It also works nicely for serving portions of pudding into a pretty dish for dinner guests. The large scoop holds 3 tablespoons of whatever you are scooping so it is easy to find all kinds of uses for it. 

The Medium Scoop: Cookies anyone?

The medium sized kitchen scoop holds 1 1/2 tablespoons of ingredients so I use it the most for my cookie dough. It is a perfect size and I love that my cookies are a uniform size when baked. It is also the kitchen scoop that I grab when I make meatballs. Once the grandchildren came along, I also use the medium scoop for serving the little ones their portion of mashed potatoes. I like to use this size for smaller cupcakes and muffins, too.

The Small Scoop: A fruitful tool

The third and smallest tool in this kitchen scoop set holds 2 teaspoons of ingredients. I love to use it for melon balls and any other fruit that can be scooped. It is also handy when I want to make smaller meatballs. Since I know that it holds the two teaspoons, I will often grab it to measure out ingredients for recipes, too.

Choose Scoops That Last: 

There is hardly a day in my kitchen that I'm not grabbing at least one of my kitchen scoops for something. When I first started out, I had a fairly cheap ice cream scoop and it wore out pretty quickly. I replaced it with a relatively inexpensive one and that one wore out, too. Finally, the light bulb came on in my head! These are tools in your kitchen that are used often so buy a good one that will last. In the long run, I've saved myself money by purchasing the better quality scoops that last for what seems forever. 

That is why when I have a gift to purchase for a bride, I choose a good set of kitchen scoops like the Jenaluca set. I know she will use them for a very long time in her own kitchen. I know they are good because I use them myself.  





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 14, 2014

Thanksgiving Side Dishes ~ Part II of Thanksgiving Recipes on Review This!

CC BY-NC-ND 2.0 ~ Photo by Julie on Flickr.com

Thanksgiving is historically the time for a great feast and celebration. Therefore, we have joined together to offer a fantastic "feast" of side dish recipes today on Review This. I asked my co-workers, which just happen to be an awesome group of writers and online contributors, to share their personal side dish recipes for Thanksgiving. They have been most generous and I am certain we have something here for everyone.

The "first Thanksgiving" in America was celebrated in 1621 and lasted for 3 days. Some of us have family, friends and guests who drive or fly long distances to spend 3 or more days with us during the Thanksgiving holidays. Therefore, we have 3 day Thanksgiving celebrations too, which means we serve multiple meals and we need a variety of recipes to see us through the festivities. 

 

Fruits First


A holiday would simply not be complete without the fruit dishes. They always round out a meal with a healthy treat for all of us, but for the Vegans and Vegetarians in our mist, they are a absolute must.

Cranberry sauce is often found on a traditional Thanksgiving dinner table.  However, Mbgphoto shares a recipe for her very own creation of Cranberry Applesauce that sounds out of this world delicious. Plus, I give you my very own submission for a Quick & Easy Fruit Salad recipe that my own family requests for every holiday.


 

Green Vegetables

Green vegetables are essential to a healthy diet, but for some reason, they seem to be the hardest to get people to eat, especially children.  Perhaps, these delicious recipes will help.






Rice Recipes


Rice is a staple food for many of us and while we are most content to eat it by itself, it is truly an excellent additive to many recipes.  Elsie Hagley and Merry offer recipes that include rice.  Either, or both,  would be perfect side dishes for this Thanksgiving. 
 

 

Potato & Yam Recipes


All of my life I have considered potatoes and yams to be as "traditional" as the turkey when preparing the Thanksgiving dinner. The only question was which sweet potato casserole recipe to use. It seems like every member of our family has a different personal favorite potato recipe. As a result, we have actually started preparing and serving several potato recipes so everyone can enjoy their preference on Thanksgiving.  After seeing these recipes, we may well be having a few more on the table this year.

 


 

Great Mixed Vegetable Recipe 


For a awesome vegetable mix, this would be the recipe of choice. Adventuretravels combines carrots, beetroots, parsnips & onions with fennel to deliver a divine side dish for Thanksgiving.
 

 

Delicious Extras


I am going to quote Margaret directly here because I don't believe I could say it any better any other way.  "These healthier candied walnuts or pecans make a wonderful, healthy holiday nibble (or any other time), and if they're chopped up they're yummy sprinkled on or tossed with nearly any Thanksgiving vegetable or side dish."

That one quote was enough for me.  I will be serving Margaret's candied pecans this year on Thanksgiving.  My whole family loves nuts!



More to Come


Festive cheese and garlic bread  by BritFlorida

Last week, we provided an easy and delicious way to bake a Turkey for Thanksgiving. Today, we featured side dishes and tomorrow we will be concluding our Thanksgiving recipes series with desserts. I hope you will all join us again tomorrow to delve into dessert recipes with us here on Review This!

If you have published a side dish recipe that would be great for Thanksgiving, we would love to have you share it with us.  Please leave the link to your recipe in the guestbook below.


A note of my own Thanksgiving:  I want to thank each of the writers and contributors who responded to my request and submitted recipes for this special Thanksgiving Side Dish Recipes article.  You are all a true treasure trove of resources for which I am most grateful.

Wishing everyone a very happy and blessed Thanksgiving!
 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, March 30, 2014

Who's Ready for Some Party Food?

Inevitably, no matter what type of party you are hosting, you're going to need food. It might just be snacks, appetizers, desserts or maybe even a full meal but food is a must! The wonderful authors (called Lensmasters) at Squidoo have certainly got you covered for party food ideas.

Kids Party Food Ideas

Food for kids parties is important. They will run home and brag everyone about the wonderful treats that were served at the most recent party. It can be something as simple as pizza or as fun as tacos. Or, maybe it's all about the sweet treats. Anyway you slice it, MaggiePowell shares her experience and ideas in her article (called a lens) titled Kid Friendly Party Food.

This mom has three kids with three birthdays each year. She has tons of experience in hosting kids and teens parties and with what types of foods they prefer. There are tons of suggestions for everything from snacks to cakes to meals. Anyone planning a party for children, tweens or teens should definitely give this a read!

Teen Girls Party Food

Teen girls can be picky about eating. Claremckenzie shares her experience in menu planning in her article Party Food for Teenage Girls. From suggestions for the menu to serving dishes to make the food look great, Clare has got you covered!

I love the simple to read instructions for kabobs, pinwheels and the like. Of course, she has a section all about sweets too!

Appetizer Parties

MareeT shares some of her best ideas for throwing a wonderful appetizer party. In Party Appetizer Ideas, MareeT explains that the party can be as large or as small as you like -- but it will be great with some pre-planning. Along with the food, she touches on invitations, music, punch, serving dishes and much more!

Some of her recipes look so darned good -- I am getting hungry just reading them (and drooling over the photos). I also love the little tips she posts on the post-it notes. Sharing these gems can help us all host a better party!

Do you have some tried and true recipes you use for parties, get togethers or potlucks? Consider sharing them on Squidoo! It's simple, free and only takes a couple of minutes to get started. If you have toyed with the idea of writing online, try Squidoo. What could be better?



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, March 29, 2014

Chocolate Fondue Review

Instant happiness, just add chocolate. So adding chocolate fondue to your dessert world means not only happiness but fun, too. I dipped into the melting pot of Web pages to find you lots of suggestions for chocolate fondue recipes, tips and ideas.

Dark Chocolate Fondue Recipe


Plain old chocolate is always delicious, but adding in some sophisticated extras can make your own fondue extra special. MSchindel found the The Best Chocolate Fondue Recipe for Dark Chocolate Lovers. Alright, I will admit it. This is one I am in love with. So I'm letting the secret out. It's honey and Cognac that makes this recipe extra special.

She gives us plenty of suggestions for making this chocolate fondue recipe a different but still special treat. It's a wonderful recipe for a romantic dinner dessert. It's a wonderful recipe for serving to guests. But, this is a chocolate fondue that any sophisticated taste will enjoy.

Chocolate and Hazelnut 


I'm not limiting my chocolate fondue choices to just Cognac though. How about some hazelnut liqueur? That's a special ingredient in BlueObsidian's Chocolate Hazelnut Fondue.

It's a simple recipe with plenty of taste. One worth serving to family and friends. She adds a nice selection of goodies to dip into that Chocolate Hazelnut Fondue. My favorite suggestion is fudge. Talk about a double whammy of chocolate. I think I'm in heaven!

Basic Chocolate Fondue Recipe


A good basic fondue recipe is always needed. If you have young children in the family or gathering, you probably don't want to serve them liqueur-based chocolate. RatRaceRebel shares her favorite basic Chocolate Fondue Recipe. It's simple and easy.

Oh, yes, she also offers a more grown-up tasting recipe. But the basic works great for children's dipping. She even suggests ideas for birthday party fondues. Imagine topping fondue dips with candy sprinkles! Perfect birthday party fun.

Melting Chocolate for Fondue and More


Maybe you would love to make a chocolate fondue, but really aren't sure how best to melt the chocolate. Stangerj tells you how. He has plenty of other special notes in his page Chocolate Fondue Recipe - Enjoy. Plus, a great recipe for basic chocolate fondue.

There's more, though. He even offers a tempting recipe for sugar-free fondue. Now there is something worth trying if going without the sugar is important to you.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 15, 2020

A Review of My Favorite Teas from Bigelow and Celestial Seasonings

A Review of My Favorite Teas from Bigelow and Celestial Seasonings
Image © Barbara Radisavljevic


Hot Tea Warms Me up During Every Season


I am a tea drinker. Although I tried, I could never learn to enjoy coffee. As I read my friend and fellow contributor Louanne's review on hot tea, I realized I had a few favorite hot teas, as well. The ones I drink on a daily basis are pictured above. You've probably seen them in the tea aisle when you shop -- unless they are missing. I've found I can't always rely on my local stores having them in stock when I need them. Here's what I do to make sure I always have the teas I drink daily on my shelf. And here's how I drink them.

I Break All the Rules

I'm a tea heretic. I make my tea a pot at a time and reheat cold tea in the microwave as needed. When the pot is empty, I make another one. I first boil a full kettle of water in my Cuisinart Aura Kettle. I bought it and wrote that review in July, 2018. It's still serving me well after 18 months, and I expect it will last forever. 

While I'm watering for the water to boil, I prepare two of my five teapots by putting the bags in. I know I'm supposed to wait until the water boils and rinse out the pots with boiling water, but I don't. I still think the tea tastes good. I'm not a purist.

When the water boils, or slightly before for green or herbal teas, I pour it into my two prepared pots, one which makes about four cups and one which makes about two. If it's afternoon and my decaf teas are running low, I set up the larger pot with herbal and/or decaf bags. I make an herbal tea in the smaller pot, usually one my husband likes. If it's evening and my green tea is running low, I set up the large pot with my Honey Lemon Ginseng Green and the smaller pot with a decaf tea. I normally make four pots a day for the two of us to share. 

Morning Tea

Why I Like Celestial Seasonings Honey Lemon Ginseng Green Teas with White Tea for Smooth Taste.
Image © Barbara Radisavljevic


My preferred morning tea is Celestial Seasonings Honey Lemon Ginseng Green Teas with White Tea for Smooth Taste.  The teabags come in pairs. I use four bags in my larger teapot. This tea has just enough caffeine to ease me into my day. I like its mild taste with just a touch of sweetness. I prefer my tea with no sweeteners or milk. As you can see, the teabags are not sealed from the air. They have no strings, tags, or staples, either. This is because Celestial Seasonings wants its products to be sustainable and not put anything unnecessary into the landfills. That being said,  these bags are not as easy to remove from the pot as the less sustainable ones with strings and tags. 

Since I drink a pot of this tea every day, it goes fast. Each package is almost a week's supply for me, and I don't like to run out of it. So I order it in 6-packs from Amazon and use their Subscribe and Save plan so that I will get an even lower price and will be sure I won't run out. 
*
*

Late Afternoon and Evening Tea


My preferred teas for late in the day are pictured in the image at the top. Again, I break the rules. I mix the two. I've always liked the mild orange-spice Constant Comment from Bigelow. It used to be the only tea I drank for several years after a friend told me about it. I sometimes also drank Bigelow's Lemon Lift, another great black tea. But I know I should avoid caffeine late in the day.

Now I use the decaf version of Constant Comment late in the afternoon and evening and mix it with the Celestial Seasonings Honey Vanilla Chamomile. I mix two bags of each in the large teapot. As you can see, Bigelow does seal their tea bags, and they do have tags and strings.

The Celestial Seasonings Honey Vanilla Chamomile is often out of stock where I shop, so to be sure I have it when I want it, I order it through Amazon's Subscribe and Save program, too. The chamomile helps relax me before bed and the delicate honey and vanilla flavor blends well with the orange and spices in the Constant Comment. Have you experimented with mixing tea flavors yet?

*

*

Constant Comment is popular enough that I can usually find it where I shop, but sometimes they don't carry the decaffeinated version. Not everyone carries the Constant Comment Green Tea, either. That's why I also use Subscribe and Save to get those. It usually saves money, as well.

*
*

Whenever and however you enjoy your tea, you may want to try one or more of the teas above that have become my favorites. And if you're not feeling up to par, you may also want to try a medicinal Life Style Awareness Tea. Learn more about all kinds of tea from Cynthia Sylvester Mouse, who started this blog so that all of our contributors could share their reviews in one place.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X