Showing posts sorted by relevance for query Valentine. Sort by date Show all posts
Showing posts sorted by relevance for query Valentine. Sort by date Show all posts

Friday, February 6, 2015

Valentine's Day Crafts Reviewed

Be My Valentine World Website
I have always loved making Valentine's Day crafts, but it wasn't until my children started crafting, that I learned to truly appreciate receiving a handmade Valentine's Day gift.  There are no possessions in this world that I cherish more than the gifts my children have made for me and I proudly display those little treasures throughout my home.


Hanging Hearts Valentine Craft for Kids 

diy mini heart mobile
As parents, we want to find easy crafts for our children to make so they will experience the deep felt pleasure of creating something awesome.  It is even better when we teach them to make gifts for others, perhaps their grandparents or siblings.  But, to be the recipient ourselves, is truly a treasured gift as well as a memory that stays with us all of our days.

If we are fortunate enough to be a part of the actual making of the craft, then we have shared irreplaceable, valuable time with the most precious "gift" we have ever been given.

Vicky Barone shares how to make the Hanging Hearts Valentine shown in the photo.  With her step by step instructions, including photos to help us along the way, she makes it so easy, that even a child could do it.  Wouldn't this make a beautiful Valentine gift!  


Craft Tissue Paper Hearts 

http://leehansen.com/articles/easy-heart-crafts.html
Lee Hansen shares another fabulous hanging heart craft that would touch any mother's or grandmother's heart if we were blessed enough to receive this valentine.
Would you believe this awesome Valentine's Day gift is made from a cereal box and tissue paper?  

I truly love this very practical and economical approach to making craft gifts that will no doubt be a treasured possession.  

Lee provides very easy instructions to make this wonderfully fabulous heart.   I can just imagine the fun children will have tearing the tissue and decorating this heart.



DIY Valentine Candles

https://www.stewardshipathome.com/diy-valentine-candles/
Another fantastic and easy Valentine craft is these DIY Valentine candles.  

With a store purchased candle and a few simple supplies including tissue paper, wax paper, and markers, these awesome candles will light up the recipients day and make their heart glow with delight.

You will find the simple directions to make these candles on Simple Saving Savvy, so grab you hot glue gun and get ready to decorate your own candle that is sure to brighten someones day with this special messenger of love.



Easy Valentine's Day Crafts for Seniors

 Valentines Crafts for Seniors
From one of our very own contributors here on Review This, Mary Beth shares an extremely easy Valentine craft idea for seniors to make. 

Most of us understand how physically limited senior adults can be and how frustrating it is for them, especially when they still want to be creative and working themselves.

She shares from her own experiences derived from helping her mother and her mom's friends to have fun crafting in spite of their limitations. 

Her craft ideas and recommendations would also be fun and easy for very young children.


Make a Sailor's Valentine


I, myself, have been crafting for as long as I can remember.  Many years ago I made Sailor's Valentines for my children.  To this day, the Sailor's Valentine is still my own personal favorite of all Valentine's Day crafts.  I think, perhaps, that may well be the romantic in me though.  I truly love the idea and history behind the Sailor's Valentine.

If you would like to learn how to make a Sailor's Valentine, or to read about the history of this special valentine, simply visit me by clicking the link or the photo below. 

Sailor's Valentine




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, January 15, 2023

A Review of The Evolution of Valentine's Day: From Ancient Rome to Modern Times

A Review of the Evolution of Valentine's Day

As we all know, Valentine's Day is a holiday celebrated on February 14th each year. It is a day to express love and affection to those close to us.

Valentine's day has progressed into something almost unrecognizable from the debated time it became a thing.

Roman Festivals?

The history of Valentine's Day is not well-documented, but it is believed to have originated from ancient Roman festivals. 

The Roman festival of Lupercalia, celebrated in mid-February, is thought to have played a role in the development of Valentine's Day. 

This festival honored the gods Juno and Faunus and included the exchange of love notes and the pairing of couples through a lottery.

Christianize a Pagan Festival or to Honor St. Valentine?

However, Valentine's Day as we know it today is thought to have been influenced by the Christian Church. 

One theory is that it was created to Christianize a pagan festival, while another suggests it was designed to honor Saint Valentine, a martyr who was executed on February 14th. 

Saint Valentine was a Catholic priest imprisoned and executed for secretly marrying couples during a time when marriage was banned by the Roman Empire. He was later canonized as a saint, and his feast day was set on February 14th.

Gradually Becoming a Day of Celebrating Love

During the Middle Ages, Valentine's Day was celebrated as a day for exchanging love notes and gifts, similar to how it is celebrated today. 

In the 18th and 19th centuries, Valentine's Day became more commercialized, and it was common for people to exchange gifts such as flowers, chocolates, and cards.

The Modern World Saw the Rise of Valentine's Day as a Day of Love in the Early 20th Century

Valentine's Day February 14th

Valentine's Day became popular in the United States in the early 20th century. During this time, Hallmark began mass-producing Valentine's Day cards, further popularizing the holiday. 

While the history of Valentine's Day is not well-documented and is shrouded in mystery, it is clear that it has evolved over time to become a day for expressing love and affection to those close to us. 

Whether it originated as a pagan festival, a Christian holiday, or a day to honor a martyred saint, it has become a beloved annual tradition celebrated worldwide.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, January 24, 2015

Red Gifts and Romantic Ideas for Valentine's Day

A collage of red and pink plush penguins in crochet
Valentine Penguins on Etsy
Our favorite February holiday ~ Valentine's Day ~ is just around the corner. Time to look at  some romantic ideas and red gift choices for that special someone in your life.

Red and Pink, along with white, are traditional Valentine's Day colors.


  • Red is a symbol for passion and deep love. 
  • Pink stands for affection, sweetness and understanding and is a combination of red and white.  


A plush penguin in one of the Valentine colors of red or pink, handmade in crochet, makes a cute gift for your sweetheart. This cuddly stuffed animal is perfect for a favorite girl. These round and roly-poly penguins measure 5 x 5 inches and make an adorable gift.  They are available in the Etsy Shop of Coastal Crochet Crafts.

Handmade Happiness in Red or Pink Plush


Handmade red or pink plush animals are fun gifts for your special Valentine. 

These plush penguins in Valentine colors of red and pink will win her heart. Round and cuddly, your special someone will love this sweetheart penguin.



Perhaps a
Crochet Ladybug Plush Toy
Crochet Ladybug Plush Toy
LadyBug
is your choice for a red plush gift.



Lady Bugs are a symbol of good luck and happiness, making a lady Bug plushie a happy gift to that special lady in your life.







Crochet plush octopus in Valentine colors of pink and red
Cute Valentine Octopus in Pink or Red Crochet



A mini crocheted octopus handmade in red or pink makes a cute gift for your favorite Valentine.  It would look darling sitting on her desk at work or home as a reminder of the sweet person who gave it to her.



A Special Card - Sweet, Funny, Fun




Top off your Valentine gift with a fun card.   

This card by aaronsgraphics on Zazzle may not be perfectly romantic, but your sweetheart will get a laugh and a smile out of it.  
Simply tell them "I love you every single day", "But today you get a card!"


Symbols of Love

Illustration of the words LOVE surrounded by hearts
Image Source: Pixabay

If anyone has ever wondered how the heart became the symbol of love, and such burning questions such as 'why is the heart red', here's a light-hearted (yes, that's an intended pun) imagined conversation between Dr. Sheldon Cherry and a 2,000-year-old cardiologist.



Valentine's Day and Romance Go Together


For a list of romantic movies, books, songs and sweet stories perfect for Valentine's Day, check out these wonderful suggestions from many of the reviewers here on Review This in our ROMANCE section.


Valentine's Day is a Favorite Chocolate Holiday


As Lucy Van Pelt of Peanuts once wisely said “All I really need is love, but a little chocolate now and then doesn’t hurt!”  And no one at Review This knows more about chocolate than our own Susan Kennedy. Check out lots of her chocolate recipes and stories perfect for this chocolate holiday.



Have a Happy Valentine's Day


So, Happy Valentine's Day to you from the Peanuts gang and all of us at Review This






(c) Wednesday Elf. Article written on 1/24/2015.  Updated on 1/16/2024






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, February 6, 2024

Reviewing The Romantic Story Of Valentines Day Cards

White, pink and red roses


I love Valentines day and enjoy the romance and fun of it. My husband and I still celebrate it 
and while we do not generally do anything very expensive, often we go for a lovely walk and a coffee somewhere in the countryside or at the beach. Perhaps a picnic if the weather is good enough, occasionally a dinner out or we cook a delicious meal and we often watch a good film in the evening. 

Each year we buy or make each other a Valentines Day Card. We have kept all our cards to each other and over the years it has made a lovely nostalgic collection of our life together.

The history and traditions of valentine cards is interesting, though maybe the early history a little imprecise and seems to have started in ancient Rome.  There is some debate about who was St. Valentine with several  men competing for that title. However, according to some sources, the first Valentine card was sent by St. Valentine of Terni. He was a  Christian martyred in the 3rd Century, imprisoned for performing marriages, especially those of Roman Soldiers at a time when Emperor Claudius banned his soldiers from marrying so as to keep them battle ready and free from family obligations. 

He apparently wrote a farewell letter to the daughter of his jailer who he had befriended and healed. When he wrote the letter he signed it "your Valentine". Of course other versions of the Valentine story may well exist!

White and pink roses in soft focus


Valentine cards became more usual in the Middle Ages. This was a time when people began to celebrate  romantic love and courtship. Of the earliest valentine cards some were poems or songs written by famous poets, such as Geoffrey Chaucer and Charles d’OrlĂ©ans.

In the 18th and 19th centuries, valentine cards became more popular and people started to make them by hand, using paper adorned with lace, flowers and ribbons. Being handmade individually many of these cards were very expensive to produce and time consuming to make, often being very intricate and people must have had wonderful crafting skills.

Many declared messages of love as we would expect, but others were humorous or even surprisingly insulting!

I enjoy making Valentines cards from photographs of flowers and animals and nature in our garden and surrounding areas, some of which I have posted here. Most are messages of care and love. I have not made any insulting ones!


Here is one from made from a photograph of a gorgeous Labradoodle playfully and lovingly gazing up at us.


However, It wasn't until the late 18th century that the first printed valentine cards appeared in England but once they did they soon spread to other countries, especially the United States.

By the mid 19th century the penny post made it easier and cheaper to send Valentines cards. Gradually over time valentines cards became more accessible and less expensive to buy and send. 

Today it is again becoming more expensive to use the post to send cards and with the growth of digital communication we can now increasingly send messages and cards electronically via our technical devices. On most of my cards there is the option to have it as a printed card or downloadable to a device. 


This one is made from a gorgeous bouquet of very soft pink roses and delicate ferns.

I recall at school and University many Valentines cards were sent anonymously causing great intrigue and excitement as to who your secret admirer could be!

I think these days Valentines cards can be sent to someone you love or who you admire. However, depending on their content and picture they do not always have to be sent to a love interest, but rather to anyone who you care about and want to brighten their day.

I doubt St. Valentine of Terni could have imagined the development of Valentine cards as they are today!


Here is one made when we visited the beach and saw this "I Love U" inscribed on a rock! 


I wonder where Valentines day traditions will go in the future and whether young people will carry on the tradition or change and modify it. 

Today Valentine cards are still a kind and lovely way of expressing care, love and affection for special people in your life.


I thought these pale pink waterlilies were so beautiful sitting next to each other, so took a photo and made them into a Valentine day card. 









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, February 5, 2016

Valentine Crafts Reviewed

Valentine Crafts Reviewed
My loyal readers will not be the least bit surprised to hear me say, I love crafts!  Not only do I enjoy creating things myself, but I love to look at tutorials.  Even if I don't end up making a particular craft, I often take away really valuable advice and tips when watching or reading tutorials.

Some of my personal favorite gifts have been handmade crafts.  My mom quilted a throw for me several years ago.  My grandmother made a huge stuffed mouse for me when I was little.  I have ornaments on my Christmas tree that friends and family have made for me.  Year after year, I loving place them in their "spot" on the tree.  

Some of my best childhood memories were opening my gifts and discovering that Mom had made me a new dress, blouse, or rayon* overalls.  Yes, I expect I was the only person ever to have silky overalls, but I loved them!  They suited my feminine tomboy image.  Although, I admit it.  I did not climb trees in those overalls, but I do believe I wore them fishing.  

By the way, did I mention that those rayon overalls were a Valentine's Day gift?  If memory serves me correctly, I do believe they were.  They were certainly lovingly sewn and made just for me.  Isn't that really the best kind of Valentine's Day gift?

Now, let's explore some really wonderful Valentine's Day crafts that would make fabulous gifts!

  *For those who may not know, rayon is a material that looks like silk or satin, but is actually more durable than either.


Valentine's Day Crafts Make Great Gifts


The Keepsake Box


Valentine Crafts for Seniors
Here is a great Valentine's Day craft!  One of our very own contributors, Mary Beth, shared how to decorate a heart shaped keepsake box in her article, Crafts for Seniors.  This is such a perfect craft for parents to make with their young children.  It requires very little, if any, crafting experience and gives a child a real sense of accomplishment.  

But the really cool thing about this craft is that it is not limited to little children.  Anyone could make a beautiful keepsake box for their sweetheart, mom, dad, friend, sibling, or child.  In Mary Beth's case, she helped her own mother make a beautiful box.  These types of memories, and times spent with the people we love, are a big part of what makes me love crafting so much.  Both the memory and the box are true cherished keepsakes.



The Sailor's Valentine


Sailor's Valentine by Sylvestermouse
The Sailor's Valentines that I made for our children is one of my own personal favorite crafts.  It is a simple technique that has stunning results.

A sailor's valentine is made with a variety of seashells.  The art of creating a sailors valentine is simply laying the shells out in a pattern that is visually appealing.  As my grandmother used to say, "how can you fail when you are using such beautiful things to begin with?"  She was absolutely right, of course.  Seashells are quite beautiful individually.   Placed in a pattern or design, seashells are spectacular!

You can learn the history of this craft as well as how to make an easy Sailor's Valentine in this tutorial:  Sailor's Valentine



Heart shaped Puzzles

The Heart Shaped Puzzle


If you want to give, or send, a secret message to your sweetheart, you will love the idea of creating a Heart Shaped Puzzle.

There are a couple of ways to craft a puzzle.  You can either purchase a puzzle kit, print your own design and completely make the puzzle yourself.  Or, you can simply craft your design with a message and allow the online company to print your image on the puzzle and send it to you to give completely ready to assemble.


I absolutely love the idea of making a one of a kind puzzle for your sweetheart with a private message or photo.  The question is, will you help put the puzzle together or simply watch the process in anticipation of the moment you sweetheart figures it out.


Handmade that is Ready-Made for You to Purchase

If the holiday has sneaked up on you, as holidays are apt to do, then I have a suggestion for you too!   You can still give a handmade gift.  Our own Elf has you covered.  In her Etsy shop, Wednesday Elf offers these really fabulous Valentine Heart Coasters.  Now, I shall forewarn you, there is only one set left, so you will want to act quickly.  I heard tell of a certain mouse that had her eye on these lovelies.  She might sneak right in there and snatch these coasters for her sweetheart.

Handmade Valentine Heart Coasters
  


Your Turn!


I have shared some ideas, but I would love to hear from you too!  Please leave your Valentine's Day Craft link in the guestbook below.  I know I am not alone!  We would all love to discover more Valentine's Day crafts that would make great gifts.

 
 
Valentine's Day Crafts Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, January 31, 2015

Reviewing Be My Valentine World


gift basket
Every January, I start thinking of Valentine's Day. And searching the Web for ideas. That's where the website By My Valentine World comes into play. It's the kind of site that makes my preparation for this February holiday so much easier.

Celebrating Valentine's Day doesn't just mean your spouse or significant other. For me, it includes my family. Especially my darling granddaughters. So I look for delightful ways to show them how loved they are.

Valentine's Gifts for Children of All Ages


valentine candyWith my grandchildren, the ages span from pre-teen to toddler. That means I need to find a variety of gift ideas. And I found them. Be My Valentine World has a wonderful collection of ideas for kids of all ages. I found great gifts for my 13-year-old granddaughter. Now that's say something. Kids that age are hard to shop for.

Of course, stuffed animals are always easy choices for the younger girls. Our own contributing writer Wednesday Elf shared some great red stuffed animals in her article right here on Review This. My favorite is that darling ladybug! But, for the adults, heart-shaped chocolate candy seemed ideal. 

Planning a Be My Valentine Dinner


valentine cake
Including in my celebration every year is a dinner for the whole family. I like to have a fun theme and Be My Valentine is an easy one. That's where the website came in even more handy. All the ideas for delightful extras are there.

Creating a centerpiece for the table is simple with things like vintage candy jars and Valentine's Day candle holders. These can be arranged on red or pink placemat to make a charming centerpiece for the dinner table.

Planning the menu will certainly include some great heart-shaped treats for everyone. Somehow, I never have enough ideas for those. But our own Sylvestermouse created a page here on Review This just for those kind of Valentine Day's treats.

Ideas Abound from Be My Valentine World


There are plenty more ideas for every way you want to share Valentine's Day on Be My Valentine World. That's one of the great parts about this holiday. You can celebrate it in many different ways. Whether it's a romantic dinner for two, the school kids day in the classroom, or a big family dinner for those you love, it's all still Valentine's Day.

It's also one of those things I enjoy about writing on Review This. I get to tell you about those great websites and articles that help you celebrate. Be My Valentine World is one of those sites.


Posted by: BuckHawk
Buckhawk

About This Contributor

BuckHawk decribes herself as "Basically a lazy person who prefers the easy things in life." So that's what she writes about. Easy home decorating, easy recipes, easy entertaining. But, she is also a lover of animals, gardening and crafting. You'll find her writing all over the Web, but with Review This Reviews! she has the opportunity to write about all of her loves.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, February 14, 2023

A Valentine's Day Music Collection

Looking for some romance music for Valentine's Day or another romantic occasion like a wedding? Take inspiration from this review.

If you are looking for romantic Valentine's Day music, look no further. Take inspiration from this review of a few Valentine's Day music ideas. It includes a couple of my favorite soundtracks that are available on compact disc and a a couple of others that sound fantastic. I have arranged my picks by release date. Enjoy.

FRENCH KISS SOUNDTRACK (1995)

An excellent soundtrack from the romantic comedy, French Kiss.

French Kiss is a great movie that also has a beautiful soundtrack with light pop music. The movie a very popular romantic comedy starring Meg Ryan and Kevin Kline. It features a variety of artists that you will recognize, including Van Morrison, Ella Fitzgerald and Zucchero. Find your copy of the French Kiss soundtrack here on Amazon.

CHOCOLATE SOUNDTRACK (2000)    


Discover the Chocolat movie soundtrack. A lovely, instrumental recording perfect for Valentine's Day or any romantic dinner.

I will admit, I am biased because I thoroughly enjoyed the movie Chocolat but, regardless of whether or not you have seen the movie, if you appreciate instrumental music, you will find this soundtrack beautiful. The movie starred Juliette Binoche and Johnny Depp and the CD transports you to the setting of the movie, small town France. It is a perfect backdrop for your Valentine's Day dinner.  Released in 2001, it contains about 40 minutes of perfectly romantic music. Find your copy of the Chocolat soundtrack here on Amazon.

DISNEY'S FAIRY TALE WEDDINGS (2005)


For young and old, this instrumental CD offers up some familiar Disney songs for Valentine's Day.

Another instrumental collection, people who love Disney's love stories will enjoy this compilation. It includes songs from Beauty and the Beast, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Lady and the Tramp and numerous other Disney shows. Whether you listen to this on a CD or through Amazon's streaming service, would be great background music for Valentine's Day. Find Disney's Fairy Tale Weddings here on Amazon.

MARTINA MCBRIDE'S MY HEART (2005)


Martina McBride's My Heart (2005) is perfect for Valentine's Day or romantic music.

Martina McBride’s CD My Heart was released by Hallmark for Valentine’s Day in 2005. It features eight romantic songs that were picked by McBride herself. Some are her own songs; others, covers. This CD is shorter than some but it was quite successful upon its release. McBride sounds lovely in this compilation, which is good for Valentine’s Day and any other romantic occasion even a wedding. If you want to add it to your collection note that I found a better selection of this CD from sellers on eBay. Look for Martina McBride's My Heart here on eBay.

VALENTINE'S DAY SOUNDTRACK (2010)


The Valentine’s Day movie soundtrack includes 18 songs from the 2010 movie of the same name.

Released slightly more recently in 2010, the soundtrack to the Valentine's Day movie is another great choice. The movie included a wide variety of popular actors including Julia Roberts, Jamie Foxx and Anne Hathaway. The CD includes recordings from a wide variety of artists who you will recognize including the likes of Taylor Swift, Willie Nelson, Jewel, Amy Winehouse, Nat King Cole and Maroon 5. Find your copy of the Valentine's Day soundtrack here on Amazon.

NOW THAT'S WHAT I CALL A LOVE SONG (2023)


Perfect for Valentine's Day, Here's the new Now Music compilation called Now That's What I Call A Love Song!

Definitely the newest in this series, this set was released in February of 2023 from the people who have presented more than 110 CDs in the NOW Music series. This compilation is packed with new and old love songs by artists you know including but not limited to the likes of Ed Sheeran, Fugees, Sam Smith, Celine Dion, Whitney Houston, Elton John, Sting, Billy Joel, Norah Jones, Seal, Lana Del Ray, Kacey Musgraves, Nelly Furtado, Miley Cyrus, Dua Lipa, Ariana Grande, Kylie Minogue, Little Mix, Justin Bieber, John Mayer, Cold Play, Pretenders, Robbie Williams and Christina Aguilera. I think this one would make great listening for anyone but would be especially fun for a mixed generation gathering since it presents something for everyone. Find your copy of Now That's What I Call A Love Song here on Amazon. If you want a mix of music that includes today's artists, this is the compilation for you.

Do you have any favorite Valentine's Day music?

Happy Valentine's Day!
Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

QUICK LINKS:

Love chocolate and France? You will enjoy the movie Chocolat!

Yes, I love French Kiss. Learn more here.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, February 8, 2020

Reviewing the Perfect Valentine's Day Card

What is it that makes the perfect Valentine's Day Card?   Do you know?  I do!


the perfect valentines day card


What makes the perfect Valentine's Day card is YOU!   Knowing and caring for your special person means that whatever card you choose will be the perfect Valentine's Day card.

There can be so much pressure on new couples around February 14th as they try and find the perfect card, the perfect gift or the perfect date.   I've even known someone who always broke off his relationships (if he happened to be in one when February began) just so he didn't have to deal with Valentine's Day!   Luckily he has now settled down with the love of his life and they don't celebrate Valentines Day at all.

My husband and I don't usually celebrate Valentine's Day as it's only a week after our wedding anniversary, but when we first started dating we did and I couldn't tell you what gifts I received, but the cards were the important thing.  My husband always says he's useless at choosing cards (and I must admit I do wonder where he goes sometimes until I open them up!), but he always finds one that says the perfect thing (for me that is) or a blank one when he's feeling like writing me a few paragraphs about what I mean to him.

So what is the perfect Valentine's Day card?   It's the one that shows the person you care for how much you care by either knowing what they love or by expressing your feelings for them or both.

If the person you love enjoys poetry by the likes of Poe then they may appreciate a Gothic Valentine's Day card, if you first bonded over the Walking Dead or on a Zombie walk then check out some of the Zombie Valentine's Day cards available.

Maybe your partner is a math geek or loves the Doctor in which case one of these Geeky Valentine's Day cards might be up their street.

If I was purchasing a card for my husband this year then any dog Valentine's Day card would be a winner, but this one would probably get him misty eyed -




If my daughter was getting her partner a Valentine's Day card (and I suspect they will be) then she'd probably get either a car one or one like this -




Would you guess they both love boxers?   Whereas my hubby is a total sucker for any Staffy type of dog.

The perfect Valentine's Day card is one that says I know you, or I'm listening to you.   So what type of Valentine's Day card would be perfect for the special person in your life?


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Craft Review: Easy Handmade Valentine's Decorations


heart made out of red buttons


Show your love on Valentine's Day with the gift of your own handiwork. Inside this craft review, you'll find ideas for easy handmade Valentine's decorations.

The simplest expressions of love can leave the biggest impact on your loved one's heart. Especially when those tokens of affection are made from the heart and made by hand.

With Valentine's Day just around the corner, review this list of easy handmade Valentine's decorations and find a craft that will melt your loved one's heart.

Pour Your Porcelain Heart Out



These white porcelain hearts are a kitchen crafter's delight. With a few simple ingredients from your local grocery store and pharmacy, you can cook up a batch of cold porcelain and mold it into any shape.

Cold porcelain is a homemade air-drying modeling clay made from white glue, cornstarch, cold cream, and glycerin. The ingredients are mixed together in an old saucepan, cooked over medium heat until it looks like clay, and kneaded until the mixture is smooth.

You'll find a detailed tutorial on how to make cold porcelain at CraftStylish. There are pictures to guide you through the porcelain making process step-by-step. And, there are ideas for molding the porcelain clay into different shapes.

Hang Your Heart on Your Hearth



Garlands are the perfect decoration for any occasion. On Valentine's Day, create a garland of hearts and hang those hearts all over a room.

Cut hearts out of any material you have in the closet and attach those hearts to a string. You can use fabric, paper, or plastic. Whatever material your heart desires.

Felt is a popular crafting material this year and Marie Williams Johnstone has an easy tutorial for a Valentine felt heart garland. To cut the felt, you'll need a good pair of scissors. To put the garland together, you'll need basic hand sewing skills.

More Valentine's Decorations and Crafts



Pinterest is blushing with Valentine's Day craft and decoration ideas. Here are a few Pinterest boards that you may find inspiring:
  • Valentine's Romance by lakeerieartists has pins for heart-themed garlands, giant paper roses, wreaths, greeting cards, and date night ideas.
  • Valentine Crafts and Gift Ideas by annmackiemiller has pins for heart-shaped yarn and string projects. If you love to crochet, you'll find several Valentine-themed projects.
  • Heart Shapes I love! Crafty by haydnsgrammie has every heart design imaginable. This is the place to go when you need inspiration for a one-of-a-kind heart.
  • Valentine Crafts and Ideas by planetpals has Valentine crafts and activities for kids with an earth-friendly approach.

Creating a handmade token of your love is a gift that creates lasting memories. In the time you spend watching a TV show, you can also make a craft or decoration to celebrate your Valentine.





Posted by Coletta Teske
Coletta Teske

About This Contributor

Coletta Teske writes reviews on books, business management, writing, crafting, cooking, and gardening. She is also an avid recycler and shares her tips on recycling. She delights in upcycling an old object, recycling or transforming discarded items into a new treasure.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, January 22, 2023

Unscramble Your Love: A Large Print Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book

A Review of Valentine's Day Word Scramble Activity Book - Be My Valentine

Looking for a unique and fun way to celebrate Valentine's Day? 

Hot Off the Press - An Introductory Review of a Fun Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book With a Twist

Look no further than this original, full-color Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book! With 500 words to unscramble and thought-provoking prompts centered around the theme "I Love You Because...", this book is the perfect activity for couples or a fun way to unwind for anyone.

Be My Valentine's Word Scramble Activity Book

Added Value With A Fun, Full-Color Interior

Unscramble your love in style with this Valentine's Day word puzzle book featuring colorful backgrounds on every page, adding a splash of brightness to your reading experience. 

Each puzzle is set against a different vibrant background, making the book more interesting and engaging.

Double the Fun: A Puzzle Book & Game

Challenge your loved one to a puzzle showdown, race against the clock, and see who can unscramble the words the quickest. 

Keep track of your progress with the designated time-tracking section on each puzzle, perfect for a fun and exciting Valentine's Day activity. There's also a place for notes to help you think it through in written form.

500 Words To Unscramble With 50 Different Love-Related Prompt Chapters

Each of the fifty puzzle pages features ten word scrambles per page. Each of the pages represents a different love-related topic.

Be My Valentine Word Scramble: For Couples, Family, and Friends

This Valentine's Day Word Scramble Book makes a perfect gift for your loved one, friends, or family. Whether you're looking for a unique gift for your significant other or a fun activity to do together, this book is sure to be a hit. It's a great way to show your love and appreciation while having fun and spending quality time.

Valentine Word Scramble Book Sample Interior

A Book That's More Than Just a Pretty Cover: A Fun Activity and a Coffee Table Must-Have


It is a great activity and makes a beautiful coffee-table book, gift book, travel activity book, and waiting room book. So, don't miss out on this Valentine's Word Scramble Book; it's something to do, and adds a lovely decor piece to any room.


There's More!
  • There is a mix of medium, challenging, and a few easy word scrambles to solve
  • Thinking of proposing? The last puzzle is "Will You Marry Me" <----Yep.
  • Large print and measures 8.5 by 11 inches, making it easy to read
  • Answers included at the back
  • Only two puzzle answers per page, making the answer pages easier to read as well
Whether we know the history of Valentine's Day or not, it is now known as the day we show our love with cards, gifts, or maybe just a hug.

Here's a gift idea; flowers, chocolates, dinner, and an activity book for the one you love.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, February 14, 2015

Valentine's Day: A Review of the Fun Side

cupid on valentine card
Since this is Valentine's Day, it's time review a few of the fun and interesting things about this holiday. Some history, some cooking, even some romantic ideas. Along with some not-so-romantic ideas as well.

Historical Valentine's Day


Ever wonder how this tradition of Valentine's Day got started? Turns out to be a religious feast day, originally. There really was a man named Valentinus who was later cannonized in the Christian faith. Seems St. Valentine was known for performing illegal marriages. Of course, there is more to the history of Valentine's Day. But, it's fun to see how it's origins really happened.

Offbeat Holiday Traditions


Mind-floss.com pulled together a fun collection of offbeat Valentine's Day traditions (www.mentalfloss.com/article/61624/offbeat-valentines-day-traditions-around-world). Some are interesting, some are funny, while others are just plain strange.

My favorite is the tradition from Finland. They don't celebrate with romance but with friendship. Then there is the humorous, while traditionally romantic Valentine's Day custom in Taiwan. The meaning of the number of roses a guy gives a gal can change their lives significantly.

Valentine's Day Food Under Review


cupcake with heart on top

Certainly, modern day traditions include plenty of food for this celebration. Chocolate, of course. But, there are other fun options. Cooking for the Holidays author Cynthia gives us a fun collection of easy ways to decorate cupcakes for Valentine's Day.

Here on Review This, you can find a great review of other Valentine's Day food treats. Do we ever have enough heart-shaped goodies? Not in my view.

As long as we are celebrating Valentine's Day, why not celebrate with all kinds of love, whether the romantic kind or the friendship kind. 




Posted by: BuckHawk

Buckhawk

About This Contributor

BuckHawk decribes herself as "Basically a lazy person who prefers the easy things in life." So that's what she writes about. Easy home decorating, easy recipes, easy entertaining. But, she is also a lover of animals, gardening and crafting. You'll find her writing all over the Web, but with Review This Reviews! she has the opportunity to write about all of her loves.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X