Friday, February 2, 2024

Groundhogs aka Woodchucks and Groundhog Day, February 2 Reviewed

Punxsutawney Phil
Attribution: Anthony Quintano on
WikiMedia Commons CC By-SA 4.0 Deed
One of the most popular and recognized animals on earth is the famous groundhog, Punxsutawney Phil.  He is the little creature we all turn to on Groundhog Day each year to get our weather forecast.  

No one can deny this little fellow is adorable, especially when he declares spring is coming soon!  Of course, we still love him when he sees his shadow and predicts 6 more weeks of winter, but he just seems so much sweeter when he doesn't see his shadow and promises an early spring.

In spite of the fact that groundhogs have a lifespan of 6 years, Punxsutawney Phil has been making his weather predictions since 1886.  Yes, it is true (folklore)!  As the story goes, Phil drinks "groundhog punch" aka his "elixir of life" at the picnic each year, therefore he has lived a lot longer than the average groundhog life expectancy. 

The celebrated groundhog makes his appearance on Groundhog Day, February 2 each year, to give his prediction.  He only speaks to the current president of the Groundhog Club.  Then the president translates his "groundhogese" into English for the rest of us.  Personally, I blame the club president for disturbing this old fellow and not Phil when he declares, "you will have 6 more weeks of winter!"


Early Spring Has Been Predicted by Punxsutawney Phil for 2024!
Punxsutawney Phil Groundhog Day 2022 Pennsylvania (51858204001)
Anthony Quintano from Mount Laurel, United States, CC BY 2.0, via Wikimedia Commons

 

Facts About Groundhogs

baby groundhog
Baby Groundhog
Attribution: LadyCamera, CC BY-SA 4.0,
via Wikimedia Commons

Groundhogs are members of the rodent family and are considered the largest squirrels in North America.  They have short legs and long, curved claws which allow them to burrow.  They prefer woodland areas, hedges, or open areas with plenty of ground coverage.  They can be found in the eastern parts of North America and southern Canada.

Groundhogs live alone.  Even a mother groundhog will send her babies on the way after a few months and reclaim her burrow for single occupancy. 

Groundhogs, also known as Woodchucks, eat twigs, bark, plant stems and leaves (not the seeds or blooms) and can live up to 6 years.  

An adult woodchuck will grow to approximately 2 feet and will weight somewhere between 5 - 11 lbs.

Groundhogs are one of the few animals that are true hibernators. They sleep all winter long, relying completely on their reserves of fat to stay alive. Their metabolism slows down to a fraction of normal levels to ensure their survival.   Most hibernators wake up to find food or urinate, but groundhogs don't even do that.

When threatened, groundhogs will make a shrill sound which is why they also have the nickname of whistlepigs.

 







to Read about More Beautiful and Endangered Animals!


Check Out More Animal Reviews
Here on Review This Reviews!



Groundhogs aka Woodchucks and Groundhog Day, February 2 Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, February 1, 2024

Reviewing Prom Queen by Laura Wolfe

Prom Queen book cover
Prom Queen by Laura Wolfe 

I'm not sure what made me want to read this book by Laura Wolfe, but I will definitely be diving into more of her books as I really enjoyed it.

The cover of the book says, 'We were all there 20 years ago....Only one of us killed her', that was enough of a hook for me!

This book runs in two timelines one is the present day and one is twenty years ago when the small town of Cove Haven's Prom Queen died.

The main character in the book is Brooke and she has returned to Cove Haven on the shore of Lake Michigan after her mother's death planning to renovate and sell the family home. While she's in the coffee shop she bumps into a woman who is wearing a silver locket around her neck that she instantly recognises. The necklace is one that she gave her long-time best friend for her 17th birthday and the last time she saw it was on the evening that her friend (the Prom Queen in the title) died.

The person in question was a true-crime podcaster who had decided to investigate the Prom Queen's death and she raised lots of questions as podcasters do. Bailey's death had been put down as a suicide, but her friends had often thought it could've been something more sinister. As the podcaster, Hannah probes more she and Brooke discover more things and the twists start coming.

I really enjoyed it even though I did suspect who the killer was before the end, I will confess to falling for a red herring for a few moments. I won't reveal more about that as I want you to fall for it   enjoy the book with no preconceptions!

If you like thrillers and whodunnits then you should enjoy this book. There were a couple of cliched characters in the book, but the main cast was really good.

The only thing that I didn't really like was the epilogue. I enjoyed the ending with the reveal and think it could've ended there. When I read the epilogue I said to my husband, 'that's not a nice ending, I really don't like that ending' I think it was to set up for another book, but I just didn't like it. I would recommend not reading that part, but if you're like me curiosity will get the better of you. 

For an entertaining read I do recommend it. It is marketed as a 'totally addictive and gripping psychological thriller with a heart-stopping twist' and that does sum it up although I would probably replace the psychological thriller with whodunnit as it wasn't as dark and suspenseful as a lot of psychological thrillers.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, January 31, 2024

Hypochlorous Acid: A Versatile, Innovative Health and Hygiene Solution

In recent years, there has been a growing interest in hypochlorous acid (HOCl) as a naturally occurring yet powerful solution with many applications ranging from promoting wound healing and skincare to household cleaning without toxic chemicals. This colorless, dilute acid solution is gaining recognition for its remarkable benefits and uses, making it a valuable tool in promoting health and maintaining a clean environment

In this review, I’ll share what I have learned about this safe, non-toxic, electrolyzed salt water solution and how I use it.

Hypochlorous Acid Spray for Skincare, Health & Hygiene


How I Discovered Hypochlorous Acid Spray

Last year, the esthetician from whom I buy my medical-grade skincare added a hypochlorous acid spray to the toners she carries. Since she only carries products from brands with meaningful clinical studies that validate the products' effectiveness, I knew that Hydrinity Hyacin Active Purifying Mist was a high-quality product. According to Hydrinity's Hyacin Active Purifying Mist product page, "Hypochlorous Acid (HOCl) is a potent anti-microbial and anti-inflammatory agent that works overtime to treat blemishes, renew compromised skin, and deeply calm even the most stressed and sensitive skin types, including those prone to eczema, psoriasis, and rosacea. Used by dermatologists worldwide, this refreshing purifying mist is renowned for its wound-healing abilities, is free of all chemical irritants, and safe for all skin types."

I decided to order a bottle of the Hydrinity Hyacin Active Purifying Mist from my favorite medical-grade skincare supplier, SkinBEAUTIFUL RX. I have occasional breakouts and, as I have gotten older, tend to heal more slowly from cuts and scrapes, and the hypochlorous acid spray has really helped with both. It also is great for helping to soothe insect bites.

I was really impressed with the effectiveness and versatility of this product, and I also started seeing more ads for other brands of hypochlorous acid spray, such as Magic Molecule. So I did more research into different applications and different brands and discovered there was a lot more to learn.

Understanding the Science Behind Hypochlorous Acid

Hypochlorous acid, often referred to as nature's disinfectant, is a weak acid formed through the electrolysis of salt water. It mirrors the antimicrobial properties of the body's immune system, particularly in fighting bacteria, viruses, and fungi. This naturally occurring compound is colorless, and its ability to effectively combat pathogens makes it a promising candidate for many applications.

Health and Wellness

  • Skincare: In the realm of skincare, hypochlorous acid has found its place in combating various dermatological issues. From acne treatment to soothing irritated skin, it offers a natural alternative to traditional skincare ingredients, ensuring a healthy complexion without harsh side effects.
  • Wound Healing and Infection Prevention: The innate antimicrobial properties of hypochlorous acid can accelerate wound healing. By reducing the risk of infections, inflammation, and scarring, HOCl is becoming a key component in advanced wound care, offering a gentle yet effective approach to recovery.
  • Oral Health: The incorporation of HOCl into oral care products has shown promising results in reducing bacteria in the oral cavity. This not only contributes to improved oral health but also aids in preventing conditions such as gum disease and halitosis.

Household and Environmental Applications

  • Surface Disinfection: Hypochlorous acid is an effective disinfectant for surfaces within households and in public spaces. Whether it's countertops, kitchen utensils, or bathroom fixtures, HOCl provides a safe and efficient means of maintaining a hygienic living environment.
  • Air Purification: Hypochlorous acid's ability to neutralize airborne pathogens and allergens makes it a valuable tool to promote a healthier indoor atmosphere in enclosed spaces.
  • Fruit and Vegetable Wash: Concerns about pesticide residues and contaminants on fruits and vegetables have led to the adoption of hypochlorous acid as a natural wash. Rinsing produce with an HOCl solution helps eliminate potential threats, ensuring that our produce is not only delicious but also safe.
  • Laundry Disinfection: Adding hypochlorous acid to the laundry cycle enhances the disinfection of clothes, bedding, and towels. This extra layer of protection helps provide peace of mind in a world increasingly concerned with hygiene.

More Economical Hypochlorous Acid Options

Once I started to understand the many uses for this antimicrobial solution, I started thinking of other ways I could benefit from it, such as bringing a TSA-approved spray bottle with me when I travel to disinfect airplane tray tables, public phones, and other surfaces, such as gym equipment.

I wanted to keep a small spray bottle of it in my purse to sanitize my hands after using a public restroom and another bottle next to each bathroom sink, since HOCl is less drying than alcohol hand sanitizers. (I found this article on using hypochlorous acid as an antiseptic in caring for patients with a suspected COVID-19 infection very interesting.)

And, since I use it to help heal cuts and scrapes quicker, I also wanted to keep small spray bottles in the medicine cabinet and in my nightstand.

Since the Hydrinity Hyacin Active Purifying Spray was $60 for 3 fl. oz., I wanted a more economical version for these more widespread uses.

What I discovered is that there are several brands of hypochlorous acid, with more and more coming on the market as the popularity of this product grows.

Initially, I bought some small bottles of Magic Molecule brand hypochlorous acid spray to keep by my nightstand and in my purse. But even on sale, the price was more than I wanted to spend for using it as liberally and frequently as I wanted, for everything from washing my produce to healing and soothing scrapes, cuts, and insect bites and sanitizing my hands. So, I decided to look for a more affordable bulk option that I could use to refill my little spray bottles.

I ended up buying a 1L (32 fl. oz.) refill bottle of e11ement Hypochlorous Acid Face and Skin Spray for $27.50, enough to refill a whole bunch of smaller spray bottles many times over. The e11ement Hypochlorous Acid spray works beautifully, and now I don't have to think twice about how often I use it.

If you don't already have small mister bottles into which you can decant the contents of this quart-size refill bottle, I can recommend the following:

Hypochlorous acid spray has been a great addition to our household. It's excellent to use after shaving (face or body) to soothe the skin. If you have teenagers or family members who are acne-prone, they will also benefit from using it as a facial toner after washing and drying their faces and then allowing the HOCl spray to dry before applying any other topical skincare products such as acne medication, moisturizer, sunscreen, etc.

Hypochlorous Acid: A Versatile, Innovative Health and Hygiene Solution by Margaret Schindel

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Health Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Beauty Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Green Living Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, January 30, 2024

Batter Deep Fried Mushrooms

 Mushrooms, people either love them or hate them. I happen to be someone who loves mushrooms. Mushrooms are one of the foods I love, no matter how they are prepared. I even love them raw and dipped in ranch dressing. 

Batter Deep Fried Mushrooms

Today, I'm reviewing how I made our deep-fried mushrooms. These are a perfect side to any meal or delicious as a snack anytime.

Ingredients for Batter Deep Fried Mushrooms:

12 ounces of fresh white mushrooms ( I used medium size mushrooms)
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cornstarch
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup of water
2 cups seasoned breadcrumbs ( I used Panko)

Instructions:
  1. Rinse the mushrooms in cold water and pat dry.
  2. Mix, flour cornstarch, baking powder, and salt in a medium size bowl.
  3. Add the cup of water, and whisk together until you have a smooth batter.
  4. Dip the mushrooms into the batter and let the excess drip off. You can use toothpicks or a fork.
  5. Roll the mushrooms in the breadcrumbs until they are coated.
  6. Deep fry until golden brown.
  7. Place them on a plate lined with a paper towel.

Fried mushrooms

After dipping the mushrooms in the batter, I rolled them in the breadcrumbs.

Battered deep fried mushrooms

I coated several mushrooms at a time before placing them in the oil.

Deep fried mushrooms

I don't have a deep fryer, so I used my 10-inch cast iron skillet. I filled the skillet a little over halfway with vegetable oil, and set the burner to medium heat. The oil needs to be between 325 to 375 degrees for frying. 

I used my ThermoPro TP-18 instant-read thermometer to make sure I had the right temperature. I fried 6 or 7 mushrooms at a time until they were golden brown. I removed them with a slotted spoon and placed them on a plate lined with paper towels.

Using a deep fryer would be much easier for sure. Read my friend Cynthia's review here: of The Presto GranPappy Electric Deep Fryer. This would be the perfect kitchen tool for deep frying these mushrooms.

You can serve your mushrooms with cocktail sauce, or ranch dressing, or eat them plain. 

If you like mushrooms here are some more of my favorite recipes:

Baked Stuffed Portobello Mushroom CapsBaked Stuffed Portobello Mushroom CapsGrilled Stacked VeggiesGrilled Stacked VeggiesItalian Sausage Stuffed MushroomsItalian Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

 

For more recipes on ReviewThis Click Below:



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, January 29, 2024

Reviewing My Love of Polish Pottery and Where I Shop

Polish Pottery is a type of folk art stoneware that originated in the early 1800s and was believed to be inspired by a peacock feather. It is made of the clay that is unique to that region in Boleslawiec and hand-painted using brushes and sponges. The firing temperatures result in a stoneware that is durable and resistant to chipping, cracking, and fading. I absolutely love Polish Pottery.

hand-painted Polish Pottery bowl
my new soup bowl #C38

My desire to collect Polish Pottery began decades ago.  I first saw the stoneware at a festival; I believe at the National Apple Harvest Festival in Pennsylvania. I fell in love with the bright colors instantly. The pieces are pricey (especially related to my budget back then) but I was able to purchase a small blue, white, and yellow bowl that I thought I would use for trinkets on my dresser top.  I treated that little ceramic bowl with care as I did not yet understand how incredibly durable polish pottery is. Over the years that bowl has stored trinkets, served dipping sauces, and has been a water bowl for my little quail in the winter time when it is so cold that their regular water bottles have frozen and they need a drink while I'm defrosting their bottles. The shine and paint on this first bowl is as bright and beautiful as the day I purchased it all those years ago.

hand-painted polish pottery small bowls
two of my small ice cream bowls

Previously, I thought the only way that I could buy my annual piece of Polish Pottery was to either attend festivals that included handcrafted items booths and Polish Pottery vendors. This past year at the National Apple Harvest Festival I sought out that booth, Gettysburg Polish Pottery, and was thrilled to be able to buy a large bowl. I believe it is listed as a cereal bowl but I feel that it is larger than what I usually think of as cereal bowls. To me, it is a large pasta bowl. Or a bowl for a large serving of chili on a cold winter day.

I was planning to buy another bowl of that size soon. So I reached out to Gettysburg Polish Pottery on their social media sites. I did not know how to determine the correct number or name of my bowl. I received an immediate answer and help finding the item number of my bowl. My bowl is a "C38". I was equipped to order another bowl that is the same size. 

The wonderful thing about Polish Pottery is that you can order all of your items in the same paint style. You can build an entire serving set that matches. OR you can do as I do, and order single pieces in the colors and prints that appeal to you in any given moment. 

I believe that Gettysburg Polish Pottery does mail orders. But I had planned to drive up to their store or mail order my next piece. Then one day, while randomly browsing Amazon, I found a Polish Pottery C38 bowl in the same design as that very first bowl I purchased. 

Honestly, I was a bit concerned with ordering a popular, handcrafted item from Amazon. I once thought I was ordering two boxes of authentic Mason Jars and instead received two single jars, of thin glass, from China. But even with that adventure in the back of my mind, I ordered a Polish Pottery bowl from the Polish Pottery Gallery Amazon Store

I am THRILLED with my purchase. The bowl was packed (stuffed with paper to pad it - not styrofoam) and boxed in a way that prevented breaking. It is (as far as I can tell) an authentic Polish Pottery item.  They advertise their pieces as "certified Quality 1". And best of all, it is hand-painted in that design that I first fell in love with. 

Searching the Polish Pottery Gallery on Amazon

If you know the number of the piece you are looking for, you can search for that on the Polish Pottery Gallery Amazon store. When I searched for my bowl, using just it's number "C38", this is the variety of  my bowls they currently have available

package insert from Polish Pottery Gallery
insert included with my order





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, January 28, 2024

Unveiling the Quirky Charm of Aquarius: Astrological Insights and Home Decor Tips

Unveiling the Quirky Charm of Aquarius: Astrological Insights and Home Decor Tips

Aquarius, the eleventh sign of the zodiac, symbolizes innovation, intellect, and independence. Those born between January 20 and February 18 are known for their unique perspectives, humanitarian values, and strong sense of individuality. 

Let's explore Aquarius's distinctive traits and discover how they can infuse their personality into their living spaces.

Aquarius Traits:

  1. Independent Thinkers: Aquarians are known for their independent and original thinking. They enjoy breaking free from tradition and exploring new ideas. Consider incorporating avant-garde artwork or unconventional furniture pieces into your home to reflect this trait.

  2. Humanitarian Values: Aquarians are often deeply committed to social causes and humanitarian efforts. Displaying artwork or decorative items that reflect their passion for social justice can be a meaningful addition to their home decor.

  3. Intellectual Stimulation: With a natural curiosity and a love for intellectual pursuits, Aquarians thrive in environments that stimulate their minds. Create a cozy reading nook with a collection of thought-provoking books, or adorn the walls with maps, charts, and diagrams that pique their interest.

  4. Quirky Aesthetics: Aquarians appreciate the unusual and quirky. Infuse your home with unexpected elements, such as funky light fixtures, abstract sculptures, or vibrant patterns that showcase their eclectic taste.

  5. Technological Savvy: Ruled by Uranus, the planet of innovation and technology, Aquarians often have a keen interest in modern gadgets. To appeal to their tech-savvy side, incorporate smart home devices, sleek electronics, or futuristic design elements.

Home Decor Tips for Aquarians:

  1. Futuristic Furniture: Opt for furniture with clean lines, metallic finishes, and a modern aesthetic. Futuristic chairs, tables, or lighting fixtures can add a touch of innovation to your living space.

  2. Eclectic Artwork: Select artwork that embraces unconventional themes, abstract concepts, or social commentary. 

  3. DIY Projects: Aquarians like to express their creativity through DIY projects. Make space for crafting, whether it's a dedicated art studio or a corner for experimenting with various DIY ideas.

  4. Green Spaces: Aquarians appreciate nature and its connection to humanity. Incorporate indoor plants or a small garden area to bring the outdoors inside, promoting a sense of harmony and well-being.

  5. Unique Lighting: Experiment with unique lighting fixtures that serve as both functional and artistic elements. Consider pendant lights, LED strips, or unconventional lamp designs to illuminate the space with a touch of individuality.

Decorating a home that resonates with an Aquarian's personality involves embracing their love for innovation, independence, and humanitarian values. 

By incorporating these astrological decor tips, Aquarians can create a living space that reflects their unique traits and serves as a haven for creativity and intellectual exploration.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, January 27, 2024

A Review of Hawaiian Kona Coffee

 Hawaiian Kona Coffee ~ the best coffee I ever tasted!


Kona Coffee Coffee Plantation in Hawaii


History of Kona Coffee


Coffee Plantation in Hawaii
Coffee Plantation
Pixabay Image

Coffee was not an original crop in Hawaii.  It was brought to the islands in 1828 from Brazil and planted in the Hilo area. Later, some of those coffee tree seedlings were planted on the westward volcanic slopes of the Kona region of the Big Island of Hawaii. Thus, the name Kona Coffee.


The coffee grown in Kona, Hawaii ~ today considered it's own variety called Kona Typica ~ is probably the most expensive coffee you can buy. And it is well worth it. The taste is outstanding and has become my absolute favorite. The climate in Hawaii's Kona region combined with the mineral-rich volcanic soils of Mauna Loa's steep slopes, gives exceptional conditions for growing some of the world's best coffee.


I was first introduced to Kona Coffee on a visit the Hubs & I made to Hawaii in 1989. We went to visit former California neighbors who had moved to Oahu. During our 10-day visit, we daily went to a nearby coffee house and it was there I had my first (of many, many hundreds since) cup of Kona Coffee. 


Personal Coffee Story


Coffee Cup and coffee beans
Image Source: Pixabay

When I was leaving for collage, I told my dad (a big coffee drinker) I planned to learn to drink coffee once I got to school. To me, it was a very 'grown-up' thing to do.  Dad told me I should learn to drink it black because there would be times in life when cream and/or sugar might not be handy. (I believe his thinking went back to his remembered years of World War II when things such as sugar were severely rationed). Nonetheless, his advice made sense to me.


My first dinner in the freshman dorm I ordered coffee, black. It was terrible! The next night I tried it with sugar (nope), then with cream, then with cream & sugar. I didn't like coffee in any form! But, I persevered, realizing that coffee is an acquired taste. 


Today, coffee is a absolute necessity to me first thing in the morning!  And I always drink it black. :) 


Summary



Since 100% Hawaiian Kona Coffee is so expensive (due to labor costs, limited supply, high demand and transportation costs), it is a treat obtained only occasionally. (Unless, of course, if you live in Hawaii). But the exceptional taste and quality are too good to pass up. Therefore, I have discovered a tasty compromise of the 10% Kona Coffee Blend for my daily intake of cups of Kona coffee. 


My latest 'treat' was given to me this past Christmas by my kids – probably the most expensive 100% Kona Coffee of all – the Royal Kona Coffee for Royalty. It is a private reserve medium roast whose unique flavor and aroma caused it to become the favorite coffee of the Hawaiian Royals. (This non-Royal grandma is enjoying it very much!). 



Bag of Kona coffee with coffee pot
Image by Wednesday Elf
Other brands of 100% Kona Coffee are less expensive and 10% Kona Blend coffee is very affordable. 


So, if you are a coffee connoisseur (or just enjoy a good cup of coffee), try either the 100% Kona Coffee or the 10% Kona Blend Coffee for a delicious cup of coffee! 





Quick Links:



*Kona Coffee Review written by Wednesday Elf


 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Friday, January 26, 2024

Murder on the Orient Express Starring David Suchet Reviewed

David Suchet - Poirot
I recently watched Murder on the Orient Express starring David Suchet and I was reminded of how fabulous Suchet is as Hercule Poirot.  Frankly, in my opinion, he is by far the very best Hercule Poirot ever!  It is as if David Suchet was born to be Hercule Poirot.  He brings the character to life by giving him a face, a "personality" with quirks, mannerisms and recognizable traits.  David Suchet is to Hercule Poirot what Jeremy Brett was to Sherlock Holmes: Absolute Perfection!

Murder on the Orient Express is an excellent story that makes you question what your really think and how your really feel.  Would you prefer justice or the legal system?  Exactly what is justice and who should make that call?  If necessary, could you be the executioner? Definitely a movie worth watching, especially the 2010 version starring David Suchet.

It has been years since I watched the Suchet version of the movie and I wondered how I could ever think anyone else did that character, or Agatha Christie's novel, justice.  Because the plot is so spellbinding, unless a director or writer completely rewrites Christie's work, then the movie is going to be captivating.

Back in 2017, I reviewed the "Murder on the Orient Express" version starring Kenneth Branagh as Hercule Poirot.  In that review, I commented that the actors made that movie.  It is true!  With actors like Michelle Pfeiffer, Willem Defoe and Johnny Depp, how could it not be a hit and fun to watch.  However, the story really doesn't need all the "tinsel" to be rated among the best, but I'm sure they made a big difference at the box office. 

If you only have the time and desire to watch one version of Murder on the Orient Express, I recommend the version that stars David Suchet as Hercule Poirot. 

 

Murder on the Orient Express

 Click Here to Watch Murder on the Orient Express
Episode 3 of Season 12
Check Price
The greatest detective in the world, Hercule Poirot, is fortunate to secure a seat aboard the Orient Express.  The train is sold out, but a friend, who happens to be the director of the train line, assures Poirot he will be able to accommodate him.  After much maneuvering and manipulating the passenger list, his friend is able to find a place for him.  However, this is one train Poirot may wish he had never boarded.  

Early on in the trip, Poirot is approached by a passenger who believes he is in danger.  He offers Poirot a large sum of money to protect him, but there is something Hercule doesn't like about the man, so he refuses the job.  When the man is murdered, it falls to Poirot to solve the crime.  

Who killed Samuel Ratchett and why was he targeted?  As Poirot studies the crime, he recalls seeing a picture of Ratchett in the newspapers.  As Hercule's "little grey cells" work, it all comes together.

This is a must-see movie for those who love a great mystery, especially one that challenges you to evaluate your perception of justice.







 


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com





Murder on the Orient Express Starring David Suchet Written by:

House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, January 25, 2024

Review of Smart Bird Feeder Camera

Sparrow sitting on Camera Bird FeederFor Christmas this year, I received a Smart Bird Feeder Camera.  This feeder has provided my husband and I with hours of fun, watching birds up close.  Every time a bird lands on this feeder the camera takes a ten second video and then sends it to my phone. 

Features of the Smart Bird Feeder Camera

  • HD Image Quality
  • Two-way Audio
  • Waterproof and Dustproof
  • Infrared Night Vision
  • 145 degree Wide Angle View
  • Ai Bird Recognition
  • WiFi
  • Cloud Storage

Features I Particularly Enjoy

One of the features I really enjoy is the ability to share my photos with family and friends.  When the camera sends the video to my phone, I then have the ability to share that photo with family and friends.  There are numerous ways to share the video but two of the ways I use most often are by posting the video on my Facebook page or for a smaller audience I can message or email the video to the person of my choosing. The video below is one that I emailed to myself and then downloaded it on my computer.  It shows the camera captured a Tufted titmouse.  These little birds are quite quick, and I am not often able to capture them on camera, so I was really excited to see them on the feeder camera.  You will also notice at the end of the video a little chickadee approach.


Here is a photo that I was able to take of the Tufted titmouse sitting on the feeder.  I had a camera set up inside my house to take this photo, but it gives you another view of the bird feeder.
Camera Bird Feeder
Another great feature of the camera is that the bird feeder has solar panels on the top so there is no need to plug it in or continually recharge batteries.  I have now had it for a month, and it is running great.

Easy Set Up

I found the bird feeder camera easy to set up.  It came with easy-to-follow instructions and after unpacking everything from the box and making sure I had everything, I proceeded to download and install the Vicohome Ap on my phone.   Next, I followed the instructions to sync the camera with my WiFi.  I then had to determine where to place the camera to receive good connections and my deck post worked great so that is where the bird feeder is hanging.  In less than 30 minutes that feeder was ready to photograph the first bird.

Birds Find Feeder

It did take a couple of days for the birds to find the feeder but once they did, they kept coming.  I am surprised by the wide variety of birds that have found the feeder, so far, I have had the following birds posing for the camera.
  • Eurasian Tree Sparrow
  • House Finch
  • Tufted titmouse
  • Chickadee
  • Northern Bluebird
  • Carolina Wren

Bird Feeder Camera's on Amazon

Amazon has several varieties of feeder cameras for sale.  Here are a couple that are similar to mine.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X