Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Movie Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, November 18, 2022

Catering Christmas (2022) Movie

When scanning the current Christmas movies, I came across Catering Christmas starring Merritt Patterson and Daniel Lissing. It is a great romantic movie to add to your "must see" Christmas movie list. As a matter of fact, I plan to watch it again.

I was not previously familiar with Merritt Patterson, but after seeing this movie, I really like her.  I have seen Daniel Lissing in other movies, notably When Calls the Heart series where he played the part of Jack Thornton.  He was extremely popular on that series because of his gentle and caring demeanor.  That personality trait shines through in Catering Christmas as well.

While this movie may be predictable, it is still entertaining.  Both main characters are adorable and several times made me laugh. It is always nice to find an uplifting movie to watch and I highly recommend this movie.


Catering Christmas (2022) Review

As the owner of a catering business, Molly Frost (Merritt Patterson) is working hard to succeed in her community, but she needs clients.  All to often, she loses bids to cover events to her competitor.  When she is approached by Jean Harrison to cover the local Christmas Gala sponsored by the prominent Harrison Foundation, she is over the moon, until she finds out she will have to compete to get the job. Jean requests that she come to her home and prepare a meal for her evaluation and comparison to the other caterer.  

Molly is in need of a sous chef to help her prepare the meal and quickly hires her employee's friend.  She doesn't know him, but she trusts her friend/employee.  The "friend" is to meet her at the Harrison estate.  When the unknown man enters the Harrison kitchen, Molly assumes he is her sous chef for the day.  Intrigued, Carson Harrison (Daniel Lissing) plays along, until the real sous chef shows up!

-----

Jean Harrison is ready to pass the torch of the Harrison Foundation to her reluctant nephew, Carson.  He is a successful photographer and is not ready to accept full responsibility of the foundation, but he does agree to help his aunt by taking over this year's annual gala.  His first task will be to set the menu for the evening.  He doesn't really care and is content to pass that off onto the caterer, but Jean does not approve of the dinner selections.


There are big adjustments and changes for everyone involved.  It is rather entertaining to watch the various relationships evolve. I even found myself laughing a few times.


Currently, Catering Christmas is only available on Hulu or on YouTube (below)



 

Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Catering Christmas (2022) Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 14, 2022

A Cozy Christmas Inn: Hallmark Christmas Movie Review

Garland is back! Yes, one of our favorite Christmas Hallmark towns in Alaska has made a resurgence in a new must see Hallmark Christmas movie A Cozy Christmas Inn.

If the words, "It's Garland, you know" ring familiar from your Hallmark Christmas movie past that you will undoubtedly be delighted the town and its' main characters (including Garland) have returned.

The sequel to Christmas Under Wraps

 Always a Hallmark favorite and in my top ten of Hallmark Christmas movies with Candace Cameron Bure and David O'Donnell is Christmas Under Wraps. Candace plays a city doctor transported without choice to practice in Garland - the Alaska town which is all about Christmas in true Hallmark style.

David O'Donnell returns as Andy to A Cozy Christmas Inn and fills the viewers in with referenced remarks to the first movie. But no worries for new viewers, the references are a veiled wink to the first movie and not needed for anyone to enjoy this fun Hallmark Christmas movie.

Jodie Sweetin ironically replaces Candace Cameron Bure as the love interest for Andy! Andy has traded his plane in for architecture and refurbishing a country inn. Jodie Sweetin arrives representing a possible purchaser and who knew, who could predict, but of course the two have a history.... and off we go for a traditional tried and true Hallmark Christmas movie.

Who Is Back?

Andy

Andy's dad (who just happens to heavily resemble Santa)

Hattie and the coffee shop

The theme music, one of the best for Hallmark

Garland town

The "shipping company" and the "elves"

Jeans lined with sweatpant material and the general store

Stars, pilots and airplanes - shoewear, heels, and boots

Mark your viewing calendars for Christmas Under Wraps and A Cozy Christmas Inn this holiday Hallmark season. Both Hallmark movies with A actors, A chemistry and overall grade of Hallmark A!

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 7, 2022

Movie Review: News of the World

News of the World is a western drama movie in which a Civil War veteran finds himself responsible for an orphaned child. Both girl and man have suffered great losses and face many continued dangers traveling the across the southwest with a goal of taking her home to reunite with family. Since he's taking her to Texas, he may finally return to his own home. At one point, he says, "We all have demons to face going down this road".  This movie is beautifully acted and set in a rugged, wild setting. 


Years after the end of the Civil War, Captain Jefferson Kyle Kidd has not yet returned home to San Antonio. Instead, he travels by horseback from town to town reading the news to those who would pay ten cents. He is welcomed and paid for his readings. In small towns, often with either people who cannot read or towns so remote that news from the outside world is rare, his reading is information and entertainment. The country is still torn with settlers taking Indian lands, Indians killing the settlers, the military killing the Indians, and settlers clashing against each other. But the Captain travels alone and minds his own business. At least until the day he finds a hanged man who had been transporting a young Kiowa girl. Her blonde hair and her agency orders inform the Captain that this Kiowa girl was abducted six years ago and is now being returned home to her biological family. As he is at the scene of this ruined wagon and murdered man, the military rides up. They question the Captain and allow him to go. They advise him to fetch her to Red River to the command post. And he does. The glitch is that Captain Kidd is informed there that the next Indian agent in line to take responsibility of the child is not due to return to the area for months. Captain is expected to care for her until that time.

We soon learn that no one wants this child. She no longer speaks English or German. Only one other person they come across speaks Kiowa. Most people consider her to be wild and treat her as such. No one wants her except for the one group of men who want her for nefarious reasons. 

Can Caption Kidd keep her safe and help her find home? Can young Cicada/Johanna find a place in the world and a family of her own? Will the Captain return to his home? These questions will be answered as they battle would-be kidnappers during an out-gunned shootout, roadside desperados, a dust storm, and long days of travel across the dry and rugged Texas terrain.

I enjoyed this movie very much. It deals with issues of grief and loss. And finding family after family is gone. It deals with how people respond to children who are different and how different cultures view each other. Young actress Helena Zengel was mesmerizing. She seemed to be genuinely experiencing the loss, fear, uncertainty, and return of memories during their travels. Tom Hanks' performance was wonderful but there was one occasion that I was taken back to his role in Saving Private Ryan. Regardless, the pairing of Hanks and Zengel was amazing and both were perfect for those roles.

There are bonus sections at the end of the DVD version of the movie that I also enjoyed. The bonus sections included outtakes, interviews, behind the scenes, and commentary by the writer-director. My favorite was the section showing the Kiowa tribe members who came to tutor actress Zengel and to be a part of the movie. 

This movie is available on DVD, Blu-Ray, and Amazon Prime Video.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 24, 2022

Noel Next Door Review: Hallmark Christmas Movie

Hallmark begins the Christmas movie season with the premier of Noel Next Door starring Natalie Hall and Corey Sevier. Get ready for the tried and true Hallmark Christmas theme with neighbors, Grinches and the holiday season.



Noel is the next door neighbor who is attempting to reestablish her life with her young son. Jeremy is the Grinch next door neighbor with medical challenges as he attempts to navigate the season along with his grouchy holiday attitude. 

As the two neighbors unknowingly interact outside of the neighborhood, the misunderstood neighborhood Grinch and Noel begin to establish a friendship and you know what happens in Hallmark movies!

Chemistry And Christmas Grinches

The key to any Hallmark Christmas movie or any Hallmark movie is the chemistry. Noel and Jeremy have good banter and believable chemistry. The storyline is Hallmark, nuff said which is why... Hallmarkies love Christmas Hallmark movies. 

Overall I'd rate Noel Next Door a Hallmark B. Worth watching, but probably not on the rewatch list. And if you know Hallmarkies, rewatching is also key to Hallmark Christmas movie season!

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 17, 2022

Movie Review: Where the Crawdads Sing

 I enjoy reading more than keeping up with the newest movie releases so I have mixed feelings when one of my very favorite novels is adapted for the big screen. I am often disappointed in the movie version. But not this time. Not with Where the Crawdads Sing. I have enjoyed this movie so much that I've re-watched it several times since purchasing the DVD just a few weeks ago. I think the producers did a phenomenal job bringing Kya to the screen and keeping her story true to the book.



Movie Review: Where the Crawdads Sing

The setting is a small town near the marshlands of North Carolina. The town is shook in the 1960s when the popular young man, Chase Andrews, is found dead at the lookout tower that stands watch over the marsh. But the story begins years before that with the Clark family.

The Clark family lives in a small shack near the water's edge, in the marsh. Mr. Clark is clearly fighting some sort of inner demons and takes it out on those closest to him. Mrs. Clark is a mysterious lady. She lives in that marsh, with an angry man, a handful of children, and a pair of alligator shoes. She is an artist of some sort; painting plein air. She loves her children. Including her youngest, 6 year old Kya.

Over time, the Clark family grows smaller. At one point, young Kya is living alone with the man who physically abused everyone in the family. She trusts no one, has abandonment trauma, and relies on the marsh. Missing her brothers, it is not surprising that she grows to become happy when she sees her youngest brother's friend in his boat. At first, she can only wave and call a greeting to young Tate while her scowling father steers their boat past. 

Living at a level of loneliness that is suffocating, the marsh supports Kya. The townspeople call her "marsh girl". They bully her the one day she attended school as a very young girl. On any rare occasion that a human comes to her home, Kya runs and hides like a wild animal; disappearing into the marsh. 

Kya slowly begins to trust the waterfront shop owners and they grow to love her. As she becomes a beautiful young woman she becomes more interesting to Tate and to Chase Andrews. We see that she has inherited her mother's artistic ability but what else will she inherit?

When Chase Andrews is found dead at the tower that overlooks the marsh, everyone immediately defines it as murder and everyone immediately blames "the marsh girl". Was it murder? Was it an accidental fall?

The marsh knows.

Behind the Scenes

This movie is gorgeous. The scenery is wonderful with birds, tides, water, vast expanses and micro close-ups. In the special features, the producers (Reese Whitherspoon and Hello Sunshine) talk about the setting.

This movie is emotional. You feel the changing moods of the people as clearly as you see the changing times of day on the water.  

The actors and actresses were amazing. Most all of them were new to me and I look forward to seeing them in other roles. 

This movie stayed true to the Kya I met in the novel. Author Delia Owens appears in the features also. It was interesting to see them speak about choosing the actors, setting, and how to get through the timeline of Kya's story in the condensed movie version. I think they pulled it off wonderfully and could only  be improved (and not by much) in a mini-series length. 

Special Features included with the DVD:

  • Adapting a Phenomenon
  • Lyric Video "Carolina" by Taylor Swift
  • Creating the World
  • Women in Focus
If you have never seen this movie, or read the book, I highly recommend both. It may be more interesting to see the movie before you read the book in order to avoid the spoiler of knowing how Chase Andrews came to be dead.

Find Where the Crawdads Sing on Amazon Prime.

The Book Reviews: Where the Crawdads Sing


Where the Crawdads Sing was such a good book that two of us reviewed it here on Review This Reviews. You can read my review of the book (and see a photo of the marsh near where I was living) here and read Treasures by Brenda's review of the book here.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 10, 2022

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2022 Reviewed

 It's time! Hallmark Christmas 2022 Movies have arrived! Time to move aside the pumpkins and bring on the Christmas Hallmark movies.


Hallmark Christmas movie season includes the beloved Hallmark favorites from years past and begins October 21, 2022. Movies will air on both the Hallmark Channel and Hallmark Movies and Mysteries channel.






The 2022 Hallmark Christmas Movie Schedule has been released and here are a few to look forward to! There will be 31 new movies on Hallmark and 9 new for Hallmark Movies & Mysteries channel.

A Holiday Spectacular 

The Radio City Rockettes and Radio City Music Hall will be featured! Sounds ... spectacular. Join Ginna Clair Mason, Derek Klena, Ann Margaret and Eve Plumb on this wonderful journey through New York at Christmas with the Rockettes playing a pivotal role.

Jolly Good Christmas

London background with a Hallmark favorite lead! Will Kemp and Reshma Shetty will provide the rom com chemistry as Hallmark fans experience London, shopping, and gift choices at Christmas. Fans will remember Will Kemp from his Hallmark movie Christmas Waltz with Lacey Chabert.

Haul Out The Holly

Lacey Chabert is back for her 12th Hallmark Christmas movie. It wouldn't be with Lacey! In this movie she teams with a Hallmark favorite Wes Brown and Lacey plays abit off type as she is the reluctant Christmas fan and the campaign ensues to bring her on board for Christmas fun.

A Cozy Christmas Inn

Jodie Sweetin (Full House) and David O'Donnell brave Alaska, Bed and Breakfast's and Christmas as exes thrown together ... its' a Hallmark movie, I think we know the rest of the storyline (yeah!)! O'Donnell might also be noticed as the lead in the top ten Hallmark Christmas movie Christmas Under Wraps with Candace Cameron Bure, also in Alaska! Full circle with Hallmark, Full House and Alaska!

Full Hallmark Schedule for Christmas 2022 is >>> Here 

There will be three all new movies each weekend night on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Released for Christmas In July 2022

My Grown Up Christmas List - Kevin McGarry and Kayla Wallace navigate the military and the holidays as their connection grows.

Campfire Christmas - Tori Anderson and Corbin Bleu rekindle a romance as their families reunite for fun, romance and campfires at the families' Christmas In July annual celebration.

Christmas In Toyland -Jesse Hutch and Vanessa Lengies star in this Christmas tale revolving around a toy store and its' importance for a town.

Jesse Hutch you may recall from his pairing with Candace Cameron Bure in the classic Let It Snow Hallmark movie.

More Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2021 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

You, Me & The Christmas Trees by The Savvy Age

A New Year's Resolution by Cynthia 

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age

Debbie Macomber's Mr. Miracle Hallmark Movie Review by Cynthia


Where To Find Hallmark Christmas Movies?


If your cable subscription includes Hallmark channels then Hallmark Channel is available with the Hallmark Everywhere App. Your cable subscription username and password will be needed to log in.

 Hallmark Movies Now  is a streaming service for a monthly fee. A seven day free trial is available to give the channel a no obligation spin.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, September 26, 2022

5 Best Cooking Themed Hallmark Movies

 As Hallmark fans know... the answer to many problems in a Hallmark movie is... hot chocolate! Hallmark fans also love their food and cooking themed movies. So many fun and yummy Hallmark movies to view it is difficult to narrow the field to just five movies. But here it goes, my top 5 favorite Cooking Themed Hallmark movies.


1. Cooking With Love

Lights, camera and conflict; well, romantic conflict of course this is a Hallmark movie. Alie Liebert and Brett Dalton comprise the TV producer and temperamental chef turned cooking show host with an easy rom com repertoire. Enjoy the witty comments between the leads as they navigate the foodie journey.

2. Truly Madly Sweetly

This cooking rom com movie scores on every Hallmark movie scorecard! Dylan Neal and Nikki DeLoach two favorite Hallmark leads unite for witty banter, rom com fun and Hallmark chemistry as they co inherit a small town bakery and where the baking journey leads.  These Hallmark stars do not disappoint!

3. The Secret Ingredient 

What happens when you are unexpectedly competing with your ex fiancée in a baking competition? Valentine's Day theme? Brendan Penny and Erin Cahill make a very believable rom com team in this cross between Top Chef, Top Baker and Hallmark Romance movie.

4. The Sweetest Christmas

Two High School sweethearts  meet up years later - will the romance be rekindled? Lacey Chabert finds herself competing in a gingerbread house sculpture contest with a little help from her old sweetheart Lea Coco a restaurant owner. Cute chemistry, cute theme, cute Hallmark movie!

5. You're Bacon Me Crazy

Two dueling food truck chefs compete and the bacon is aflying! Michael Rady and Natalie Hall lead their food trucks through the paces in what could be a life changing competition. Foodie and food truck aficionados will appreciate the storyline.

Bonus Hallmark Foodie Movies

Vineyards across the land are an integral backdrop to quite a few Hallmark movies. And what goes well with wine... food of course! So while not necessarily cooking themed, the following movies feature wine, romance and gorgeous scenery along with more than one meal!

In The Vineyard Collection:

  • Summer In The Vineyard
  • Autumn In The  Vineyard
  • Valentine In The Vineyard

Hallmark Christmas Movies Reviewed

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age

Broadcasting Christmas by Cynthia

Top Ten Hallmark Christmas Movies by The Savvy Age







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 22, 2022

Reacher TV Series Reviewed (Season 1 - 2022)

The Reacher Amazon Original TV series is a captivating suspense
My husband and I spent the last two nights watching the new TV series, "Reacher", based on the character in the books by Lee Child. Obviously, it was a spellbinding series since we watched all 8 episodes in 2 nights. We probably would have watched them all the first night if we had started them earlier in the evening.

I'll start this review by telling you what I liked best about this series, then I will share what I didn't like about the series. Normally, if I am recommending a movie or book, I don't talk about my personal negative opinions. However, in the case of this Amazon Original series, I do think anyone considering watching the shows should be prepared.

What I liked best: the actor that played Jack Reacher. Alan Ritchson is the perfect choice! Totally believable as a former US Army major in the military police with a history of handling difficult cases and standing in harms way.

Something else I liked: the story. It is a captivating suspense. It was not easy to guess who was a good guy and who was a bad guy. That shocking element is always appreciated in a suspense story.

What I don't like: the nudity, the gory images, and one other main character that was not believable as the character she played. I watch a variety of movies with my husband, son, father & brothers. I am hardened to a lot of scenes and images, but this series takes them to an unnecessary extreme level. 

I do recommend this series for adults only.  Just be prepared to close your eyes at times.


Reacher Series Synopsis

 Reacher – Official TrailerCheck PriceJack Reacher shows up in Margrave, Georgia at the worst possible time for himself, but at the best time for Margrave.  As the new stranger in town, he is immediately suspected as the murderer when 2 bodies are found.  

He is arrested for the murders, sent to jail, "accidentally" placed in the "lifers" section of the prison, and forced to defend himself and others. However, as soon as he is released, he starts working with the police to find the real killers because one of the victims is someone very special to him.

Current events, memories, past decisions & actions, lifestyle, friends and family are all recounted and questioned throughout the series. We learn a lot about Jack Reacher, past & present, and find he is someone we would all like to know and have around when needed.

Not only is this a suspenseful series, but it will tug at your heartstrings and perhaps, even pull a tear (or two) from your eyes.


More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Reacher TV Series Reviewed (Season 1 - 2022) by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, July 11, 2022

Hallmark Christmas In July Movies 2022

Ready, set and go! Hot and humid weather can only mean a little air conditioning and cueing up the Hallmark Christmas in July movies! The favorite Hallmark Christmas movies are back from all years plus a few new Hallmark surprises.


Here are a few of my favorite Hallmark Christmas movies showing this July. 


Crown for Christmas  - Danica McKellar and Rupert Penry-Jones

One of the top if not at the very top Hallmark Christmas Movies of all time ! Danica McKellar is transported from her job as a maid in a swanky hotel to a nanny for an extremely adorable prince with an equally cute and trouble making princess. Great chemistry between all three leads and the palace staff make this a modern day romcom Hallmarkies will watch again... and again.

Christmas at Graceland - Kellie Pickler and Wes Brown

Enjoy a trip to Graceland via Hallmark which provides the love, romance, and country music. You haven't seen Graceland until you have seen Graceland decked out for Christmas.

Christmas Under Wraps - Candace Cameron Bure, David O'Donnell

In the top of Hallmark Christmas movies I can and do watch multiple times in a year. There I said it!  Bure is a career only focused doctor transplanted for a residency in a small Alaska town. A little Christmas romance percolates with the local Christmas family which happens to have a Christmas themed business with its' CEO who happens to look very Santa like. Hmmm. No disappoints here  and the leads do not disappoint.


Our Christmas Love Song - Alicia Witt, Brendan Hines

Fans of both Hallmark stars are in for a treat as these actors sing, act and dance their way through a Hallmark movie country style. Country music is the backdrop along with an original song by Alicia Witt.



New 2022 Christmas Movies

Hallmark fans will be delighted that Christmas In July this year will include  brand new Christmas movies - albeit early.

My Grown Up Christmas List with Kayla Wallace and Kevin McGarry

Campfire Christmas with Tori Anderson and Corbin Bleu

Christmas In Toyland with Vanessa Lengies and Jesse Hutch

Hallmark Christmas Movie Reviews

Hallmark Christmas Movies 2020 Reviewed by The Savvy Age

Finding Father Christmas by Cynthia

Christmas Tree Lane by The Savvy Age




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, June 17, 2022

It Was Always You Movie Review

It Was Always You
The only thing better than a clean, romantic movie is a romantic movie that makes us laugh. 

Erin Krakow shares her geeky side in the movie, "It Was Always You". When she hits the dance floor, she is downright funny as she demonstrates how this attractive, successful woman clearly doesn't know how to dance.  At least, that is true in the movie.  She is awkward, yet adorable because she can laugh at herself. Perhaps, all she really needs is the right partner.

Krakow is probably best known for her long lasting role as the main character in the current Hallmark series, "When Calls the Heart". However, she has proven many times that she is not just a "one hit wonder" in movies. Several movies starring Erin Krakow have already been reviewed and recommended here on Review This Reviews!  

Each time I see her in a new movie, I think "this one is my favorite". As of today, "It Was Always You" is my favorite Erin Krakow movie. I look forward to seeing how Hallmark tops this one. Frankly, I think that is a difficult challenge.


"It Was Always You" Hallmark Movie Synopsis

 It Was Always YouCheck Price & Viewing OptionsDr. Elizabeth Hall has achieved everything she set out to accomplish. She has a successful dental practice that she shares with her long time friend and fiance, George Belling.  But something is still missing. 

As a child, Elizabeth looked upon her neighbors as the perfect family and that is what she wants most. The Belling family welcomed Elizabeth into their home and she shared many happy occasions with them. Her best memories are of times spent in the Belling home and with the Belling children. Just like any close family, she shared their hurts, pains, loses, and love. It seemed only fitting that she should marry George Belling and secure her future with their family.

When Elizabeth and George joined the whole family for a weekend of celebrations, Elizabeth found herself searching for something she had not realized she was missing.  Her own real happiness.


 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



It Was Always You - Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 27, 2022

Paddington (2014) Movie Review

If you are seeking a fun and entertaining movie for the whole family to watch, kids included, I recommend Paddington (2014).  The movie was inspired by the book, "A Bear Called Paddington",  written in 1958 by Michael Bond and illustrated largely by Peggy Fortnum.

The movie follows the foundation of the book, which makes a beloved bear from our past, an adored bear in our present.

Through fabulous film animation, the developers have taken the lively bear from our minds and created a very life-like replica of the enchanting Paddington bear.  He is so sweet and respectful that you wish you could snatch him from the screen and give him a hug.

Paddington is joined by Hugh Bonneville (the father in Downton Abbey) and Nicole Kidman to recreate this children's literature masterpiece into a delightful comedy film for all.  I should warn you in advance, it might make you wish to paint trees in the entry of your home and slide down a banister.

Lesson learned: if you invite a bear to stay in your home, you will want to personally introduce him to indoor plumbing and teach him how to properly use it.  Otherwise, you might need additional home insurance.


Paddington Movie Synopsis


 PaddingtonCheck Price When Paddington's uncle is killed and his home in darkest Peru is destroyed by a storm, he and his aunt decide to move to London, which is the home of a dear explorer friend who previously delighted them with stories of his glorious homeland.  Aunt Lucy and Uncle Pastuzo never really expect to accept the explorer's open invitation to visit London, but now it seems the best option.  

When they reach the cargo ships, Aunt Lucy tells Paddington that she will be going to the Home for Retired Bears and that he will travel alone to London where she is certain he will find a new home. After all, it is not time for him to retire.  She places a tag on a string around his neck as she explains how, in the past, Londoner's took in children in railway stations during wartime and provided a safe and loving home.  After placing his uncle's red hat on Paddington's head, Aunt Lucy kisses him goodbye and leaves the little stowaway in a covered lifeboat with a suitcase full of marmalade.

In the London train station, the Brown family is returning home when they pass a bear.  Mrs. Brown turns around and goes back to check on the little bear.  After talking to him and reading the note on his tag, she decides they should help him find a safe place.  That safe place ends up being their home and that is where all the fun begins!

 


This is a movie everyone should watch!  Take the time to fall in love with the little bear in the red hat & blue coat.  You may wish to bring him home too!


 

 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Paddington (2014) Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 29, 2022

As Luck Would Have It - Hallmark Movie Review

As Luck Would Have It

The Hallmark channel is always a reliable source for clean, romantic movies or fun mysteries without the gory scenes.  

For those of us who love Hallmark movies, we don't mind that they are often predictable.  After all, a lot of movies are predictable, especially if you search for a movie by category. 

On Hallmark, viewers don't have to worry about uncomfortable scenes in mixed company or with children in the house.  Personally, I don't like having inappropriate or disgusting images burned into my mind.  Therefore, Hallmark is my favorite movie channel, even if the movies are often described by some as cookie-cutter.

As luck would have it, I recently happened upon this sweet romantic movie starring Joanna Garcia Swisher.  I liked it so much that I watched it twice in one week. I kept trying to place why Swisher felt so familiar to me.  Then it dawned on me: she is one of the main characters in the TV series, Sweet Magnolias.  Her character in both this movie and the TV series are very similar and easily likable. 

Allen Leech is also a familiar face thanks to his role as Tom Branson in Downton Abbey.  Fans will also note similarities between his characters, Tom and Brennan.  Again, he is likable in spite of, or perhaps because of, his Irish temperament. 

Together, they make a lovely couple!

 

As Luck Would Have It  (2021)  Hallmark Movie

Lindsey Johnson is a young, single, vivacious go-getter that works for a real estate developing company that has its eye on purchasing a specific piece of land in Kilabbey, Ireland.  However, there is one big problem in the way.  Currently, an old castle is built on the property.  The Krispen Group, Lindsey's employer, wants to buy the land, tear down the castle, and build a new resort hotel in its place.

 As Luck Would Have ItCheck PriceThe Kilabbey town inherited the castle and the property from the last original family member.  The town council's desire is to refurbish the castle and maintain the history of this gorgeous landmark.

There is a clash when the protectors of history meet with the ambitious developers who want to change everything. The Krispen Group is not the first company to want to swoop in and grab the desired property. To date, the town council has held firm on not selling to anyone who wants to replace the castle, a cherished landmark in the heart of the town.

As the Krispen Group's most experienced and successful representative, Lindsey arrives in Kilabbey right before the annual Match Making festival.  This big event brings a lot of tourists to Kilabbey in the hopes of finding true love, as well as guests who have wonderful memories of past festivals.  The final festival celebration is always held in the Ballydonal castle, which was the original festival site.

Due to the city council's refusal of the Krispen Groups proposal, Lindsey decides to stay in Kilabbey in the hopes of finding a way to get them to accept their offer.  

The week long Match Making Festival in Kilabbey provides tremendous insight into the town, the people, their love for their history, and their beloved castle.  Plus, Lindsey makes new friends from other parts of the world who treasure Kilabbey, the castle, and their festival.

 

 



"As Luck Would Have It" is a must-see movie for those who love romantic movies, as well as those who love a touch of history. The setting is gorgeous and will make you want to visit the fictional town of Kilabbey, Ireland or better yet, travel to Dublin Ireland and tour Howth Castle where the movie was actally filmed.

 

2 Ways to Watch "As Luck Would Have It"

 

 

More Great Movies Reviewed


Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



As Luck Would Have It - Hallmark Movie Review by:
House of Sylvestermouse



 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 18, 2022

Movie Review: The Biggest Little Farm

I recently watched The Biggest Little Farm and loved it so much that I am going to order the DVD so that I can watch it repeatedly. The Biggest Little Farm is a film documenting a couple who jump from apartment life to farm life and their progress toward regenerative farming. It is a beautifully filmed story about chasing and obtaining dreams as well as caring deeply for the land.



"This all started with a promise we made to a dog"

 In 2010, John and Molly were living in an apartment in Santa Monica, California. She is a private chef who specialized in traditional cooking methods. She dreamt of owning a farm and growing everything she could cook. While they lived in this apartment, she grew her own tomatoes on her balcony and shopped at farmer's markets.

John is a filmmaker. While filming an animal hoard situation, with over 200 animals being removed, John met one particular dog and fell in love. They adopted the big black fluffy dog with the just-look-at-those eyes and named him Todd.

"Todd filled us with purpose."

"We made one promise to him... our home would be his last."

Except Todd was not necessarily cooperative. He. Barked. Nonstop. Large fluffy dog in an apartment barking during every moment his family is away is not a good situation. The poor neighbors complained. Molly and John tried many different things to try to solve the problem including dog trainers, calming dog vests, and taking him everywhere they went. 

Eventually, the eviction notice arrived. Molly and John had some tough choices to make.

They decided that Molly's dream of living on a farm would be the solution. Farms are perfect for dogs. And for people who eat farm to table. Except there was a problem. Molly and John did not have the funds. So they got investors for this land and this "old way of farming". And they purchased Apricot Lane Farm approximately 1 hour north of Los Angeles.

They wanted to turn this neglected piece of land into a healthy and thriving farm with traditional farming practices and they highlighted how farms have turned into singular-focused businesses. For example, each farm specializes in one item such as avocados. Or chickens. But Molly and John wanted to "emulate how natural ecosystems work. They regulate themselves through diversity".  But how to achieve that? 

A man named Alan York mentored them. He had a vision that they couldn't quite see. And he had a plan. This plan included starting the land over and removing what had been planted there. John and Molly didn't quite understand where he was going with his plan. It's hard to understand what you don't know but they followed his advice the best they could.

In order to avoid spoilers, I will stop here.

Recommending The Biggest Little Farm

I highly recommend this film. The cinematography was breath-taking at points. The film was a combination of high quality and beautifully filmed sections that were "National Geographic" in quality mixed with clips from what appeared to be home-videos shot from a handy cell phone. 

I did find myself wondering how in the world they just happened to have all of these video clips over the years that were adequate to tell the story. And the cynical side of me thought it had to be set up or staged in some way. But during an interview I have since watched, John answers that concern. Being a filmmaker, documenting their journey was a part of his everyday life (I imagine much like I find myself filming my chickens, deer, and the sunsets on my ridge each day). In addition, some of their interns had a similar interest in journalism. So they decided to video and to save those videos; the good, bad, and in between. This is how they had so many pieces of the journey on video.

At points, I also thought that they were going to go down the path of farmer-bashing which would have irritated me. But they didn't. They pointed out that farming has been moving away from farms with a variety of crops/livestock to businesses with a single crop/focus.

Is their natural, regenerative ecosystem something I could replicate? Well. No. I am not up to the challenge of finding investors to buy 200 acres of land. Nor am I organized enough to bring in interns to help. I can barely manage myself most days. However, I would LOVE to have this sort of ecosystem, in miniature, on my land in some way. Much like when John and Molly listened to Alan York's directions in the beginning, I just don't quite get it. But I am trying to learn.

This is not a how-to movie. There are no step-by-step directions and I will have to do much research on my own. However, this movie does give a visual overview of how a very damaged ecosystem begins to find it's balance with some help. This movie inspires. This also is a movie about humans who loved a dog enough to give him his forever home.

Rent or Buy The Biggest Little Farm?

You can do as I did and rent this movie on Amazon Prime for just a few dollars. I realized that with Amazon Prime, I could rent movies and avoid buying the DVDs and Blu-Rays that stack up and collect dust when I don't care to view them again. When I rent a movie that I know I'll want to re-watch many times, I do end up buying the copy. This is one of those movies that I will order so that it is on my bookcase and I can watch it again and again.

 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X