Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Puppy Potty Trainer Reviewed

When A New Puppy Joins The Family

cavalier puppy
Puppy Potty Trainer For His Future - image from Pixabay.com
A puppy potty trainer can be a big help when you find that your family has just increased by one with a new little furry member. 

My daughter and granddaughter have just welcomed a sweet little ruby coated Cavalier King Charles spaniel to their little family. He looks much like the image to the left. Oh, he is absolutely adorable! 

As with any puppy, he will need to be trained to do his little business outside and not inside their home. Potty training a puppy can be frustrating at times but there are things that you can do to help the process along. Helping them understand what needs to be done and where; might even seem a little overwhelming if you haven't gone through the process before. 

We have a lot more on the market now to help lessen the frustration for both pet and humans as we work through those weeks of house training our little furry babies. I particularly like this option: 

What I like about this system is that it can be placed right at the patio door and immediately gives puppy the idea that this is where he will need to go to let them know he needs a trip outside. Now, he is a puppy so it might take a little while for him to figure that out but I think this will help. I also like that it has a sort of astro turf to it, helping puppy to determine that grass is better than carpet when it comes to relieving himself.

The biggest selling point for me is the ability to easily clean it! Any liquid that puppy produces is drained to the plastic tray. The tray is easily cleaned with warm soapy water. I don't think that it gets much easier than that.

I also like the idea that it is portable and that when he comes to visit Grandma in these early weeks that my daughter can bring it along with her. It should be calming for him because it will be familiar and should help to instill the concept of where to go when he needs to.

We are so excited that this adorable little guy has joined our family and just know that all of us will enjoy many years of playing, cuddling and loving him. 



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, January 23, 2017

Reviewing the Savings of a KitchenAid Artisan Mixer

I have recently decided that I need to purchase a KitchenAid
Artisan Mixer as soon as possible.  This is a complete change of mind about investing in a what I had previously considered "just another kitchen gadget". And to be more specific, another gadget that has a hefty price tag when you are budgeting every penny. But I have reviewed the many reasons of why the cost would be justified and have observed others using this important kitchen tool. Below, I will share the primary reasons that I have decided a KitchenAid Artisan Mixer is an important purchase to make, and worth budgeting for. 

Customizing Bread Recipes for Health and Savings


I am discovering the joys of homemade bread.  My first successful recipe was an easy Peasant Bread that consisted of letting it rising and punching it down more than kneading.  As I became proficient with that bread, I attempted another bread recipe - the Ultimate Bread recipe. This second bread recipe requires kneading. 

So far, I've done this kneading by hand and have had no problems. However, it is a bit time consuming and tiring. The older I become the more quickly my hands tire. I have decided to bake my own bread weekly and have done so recently but I'm learning that I need a bit of help.

Energy Savings - I am referring to my energy. I feel like there are not enough hours in the day and that I need to be twins in order to get everything finished that I want to finish on the weekends.  Making bread is a priority.  But as I am kneading, and my hands are growing tired, I think that "there must be an easier way". Well, there is.  It is a KitchenAid Artisan Mixer with a bread hook attachment. If the machine does the kneading I can save my energy for other tasks.

Money Savings - Have you noticed the prices of bread in the stores? I am a one-person household but I go through a good share of bread. I like toast and peanut butter sandwiches. I like to make grilled cheese sandwiches to go with my soup. With bread recipes that have only 6 ingredients, two loaves of store-bought bread can easily cover the costs of the ingredients to make many loaves of bread at home.

Possible Health Benefits - With 6 ingredients going into my homemade bread, I know what I am eating. The bread that I typically purchased from the store lists ingredients that I am able to pronounce. So there were no mystery ingredients. However, it also lists gluten. 

For folks who need gluten-free breads, or have preferences about the types of flours they consume, they can easily adjust recipes to suit their needs.

KitchenAid Artisan Mixer Reviews


There are many, many reviews online and much information about KitchenAid Artisan Mixers.  I will not reinvent the wheel and rewrite that information. Especially since I am not yet a proud owner of this important kitchen tool. 

Heather does own one and has reviewed her KitchenAid as well as shared important information such as the best time of year to make your purchases due to sales. If you are ready to learn more about these mixers from current owners, I would start with her review.



After reviewing the financial, physical energy, and health related savings, it becomes easy to see that a KitchenAid Artisan Mixer will be an investment that pays for itself fairly quickly. The most difficult part of the purchase will be choosing just one of the many beautiful colors. 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 22, 2017

I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair - Proceeds Donated to the Canadian Cancer Society


"I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair, Up or Down Girl, I Really Don't Care" (Lyrics)

Standing in my kitchen last Fall with the radio blasting life's lyrics from my favorite country station, the ache in these words filled the air. After hearing them, the topic of the song was clear.

Perched along side the radio, the tears flowed.  So much circling my mind from those sixteen words ... thoughts of loved ones I personally know battling cancer, and memories of those passed on.
"Phone call came in from her doctor back home
The cancer had spread and she threw down the phone
She looked in the mirror, tears running down her cheeks
Said if it all falls out, baby what would you think?" (Lyrics)
For me, there's also a personal aspect. Going through some medical challenges, the loss of my hair was a real possibility. Although I've been blessed with my dad's very thick hair, I started to lose it by the handfuls last February.

Despite this, I was one of the lucky ones. I'm managing things much better, and my hair is as thick as it's ever been again. However, the choices I had to make and am still making will forever be a part of my life. And that's ok now, for now.

There are so many levels to medical challenges. With broad smiles, or as many as we can muster, we try not to let it be an all consuming time in our life. However, the waiting hurts .. The waiting to find out; the waiting for treatment results; the waiting for procedures to be completed, and so it goes.

Strength we thought we never had, we somehow find.

And thoughts of those we love ....

What will they do if? ... how can I tell them .... circle our mind more often than we can block them.

Then yes, the thought of our hair. I cried. It isn't shallow. It's just a part of the process.

Whether the fight is cancer or a chronic disease, we know medication plays havoc on our systems, and on our hair.

But those we love and who love us, remind us:
"The heart that's inside is why I stopped and stared
I swear I didn't fall in love with your hair" (Lyrics)
To those suffering much greater battles than mine I want to hold you so tight, and make it go away.

How can we take the pain away for you? We know we can't, but we want to.

If granted one wish, mine would be magical powers to take it all away, for everyone.

I Didn't Fall In Love With Your Hair by Canadian Country Artists, Brett Kissel  & Carolyn Dawn Johnson

A Collaboration with Philanthropist W. Brett Wilson for Cancer Awareness Month in September 2016.

Released September 9th, 2016, proceeds for the song between September 9th and October 28th 2016 were donated to the Canadian Cancer Society and matched by Brett Wilson.

You can find 'I Didn't Fall in Love With Your Hair' on Brett Kissel's sixth studio album, Pick Me Up.








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, January 21, 2017

Crafty Snowmen Celebrate World Day of the Snowman - A Wintertime Holiday Review

Crochet Snowman on Etsy
Amigurumi Snowman in Crochet
January 18 is 'World Day of the Snowman', an unofficial holiday begun in 2011.  The date to celebrate this symbol of wintertime was chosen because January is usually always cold enough and snowy enough to build snowmen. The number 18 was chosen because the number "8" represents the general shape of the snowman. The "1" stands for the stick or broom often used to decorate one. 



How the Snowman World Day Began


Cornelius Gratz, a German collector, began this 'World Day of the Snowman. He has a passion for snowmen, and is known to have the world's largest collection. He believes that the figure of a snowman brings joy and wonderful childhood memories of fun in the snow.
 


History of the Snowman


Building snowmen has been a popular winter activity since probably medieval times and has become a well-known theme for Christmas and winter decorations. They are loved in children's story books and songs (such as Frosty the Snowman) and in toys and costumes. Every winter the first thing kids want to do when snow arrives is build a snowman.



Snowman & Three Boys Art Print
Snow has to be at its melting point before it is suitable to build a snowman. Powdery snow won't stick together, so moisture in the snow is needed. One rolls the snow across the yard making a ball. Most snowmen are made with 3 balls of graduated sizes, the smallest for the head. In Asia, snowmen are usually made of two such balls of snow. Then the 'snowman' is decorated with sticks for arms and other items for the face (carrot nose, rock or coal eyes, etc.). Many a fun winter afternoon is happily spent building snowmen.


This "Snowman and Three Boys" Art Print of an original oil painting is the creation of Vicki Wade Fine Art on Etsy.
 
The world's largest snowman was built in 2008 in Bethel, Maine, standing 122 feet 1 inch tall.


Crafty Snowmen


My fellow artistic craftsmen have created replicas of snowmen in many fiber arts. A crocheted snowman (as seen in the opening image) is the only way I get to enjoy a snowman here in 'snowless' Georgia. Even the occasional brief snowflurries we get here in the South in winter seldom produce enough snow on the ground to build a snowman. 




Crocheted Snowman Doll


Available on Etsy
This crocheted snowman is handmade in yarn and stuffed with fiberfill. He has black embroidered features and a crocheted carrot nose, with yarn buttons down his front. He's wearing a colorful hat and scarf and is guaranteed not to melt when brought inside. :)
Crocheted snowman can be found in the Etsy Shop of Coastal Crochet Crafts.


Snowman Kitchen Towel

 

Snowman Towel

Bring a snowman into your kitchen for a wintertime decor. This double layer hanging towel with a snowman design and snowflakes has a crochet towel topper. It was made by Julia Sherwood of Binghamton, NY and can be found in her Etsy Shop filled with Julia's Handcrafts - JSherwood.


Snowman Accessories

 

Snowman Quilted Coin Purse

Snowman Fabric Lanyard
Snowmen abound on useful accessories perfect for winter, such as this quilted snowman coin purse or this snowman fabric lanyard.  Both items are handmade by Kathie, a talented quilter from Iowa, and featured in her Etsy Shop CutePurseNalities.

*A variety of snowmen-related items are found in this crafty Etsy Shop.

The Abominable Snowman

 

Yeti, the Abominable Snowman

And let's now forget the Abominable Snowman.  A favorite from folklore and of kids who love monsters.  Today known as Yeti, this mysterious bipedal creature is said to live in the mountains of Asia.  But you can have your own Yeti in the form of a soft pillow pal sewn from sherpa minky fabric and filled with fiberfill.  He's the creation of Melissa from Denver and is featured in her Etsy Shop 'Warm Personality'.
 

World Snowman Day

 

So, however you celebrate the World Day of the Snowman this January, by building a real snowman in your front yard, or enjoying a plush snowman or snowman decor indoors, snowmen are a fun part of winter. 

(c) Wednesday Elf 

 





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, January 20, 2017

Why Drink Peppermint Tea?

Why Drink Peppermint Tea - a Twinings Peppermint Tea Review
Twinings Peppermint Tea - Photography by Lou's Designs
As I review Twinings Peppermint Tea Bags let me also answer the question 'why drink peppermint tea?' - you might be surprised at the range of benefits this delicious beverage has.

I will admit to a bias - I love, love, love peppermint tea, but who wouldn't?  I touched very briefly on why I enjoy peppermint tea on my fun tea infuser review as I usually enjoy fresh peppermint leaves steeped in boiling water.

Sometimes, however you need another source and my go to commercial brand is Twinings Pure Peppermint tea bags.

When you're unable to use fresh leaves for whatever reason then tea bags are a great idea, but I've also just discovered (thanks to Amazon) that you can buy Twinings peppermint tea in K-Cups as well which I know a lot of people use.


Why Do I Recommend Twinings Peppermint Tea Bags?


Twinings Pure Peppermint is a tea that I really enjoy and I first came across it a few years ago when I managed to kill my peppermint plant - apparently they can't be killed, but as I've said to my daughter on numerous occasions there's no such word as can't!   I had to find a replacement as I'd come to really enjoy my cup of peppermint tea after lunch so I set off on a mission to find some peppermint tea bags.

Looking at my supermarket's tea selection I couldn't find the two brands that I had previously tried (when living in New Zealand) so it was really luck of the draw that I decided to try Twinings Pure Peppermint.  Well not just luck, but three very good reasons - 
  1. The name Twinings is synonomous with good tea
  2. They were available in a 10 bag size - ideal for sampling
  3. They were on a very good special
Once I sat down to my first cup I was very happy that I had decided on this brand as it really is delicious.   I work a few days a week in an office so I leave a few peppermint tea bags there so that I don't have to miss out on my peppermint tea when I don't have my plant handy (although making my own is my still my favorite way of enjoying this beverage).



Why Drink Peppermint Tea?


The main reason I enjoy drinking peppermint tea is because it's delicious and I love the taste!   There are lots of health benefits for drinking it as well, though and it's always nice when something that is good for you also tastes delicious!

Here's some of the benefits of peppermint tea -


  • Aids digestion, including bloating, cramping, vomiting & nausea - even motion sickness can be helped with peppermint tea.
  • Boosts your immune system - it has known anti-bacterial properties which means it can help ease symptoms of illness (especially colds, flus and sinus problems) and it can also act as a preventative.
  • Helps bad breath - it doesn't just make your mouth feel fresh and smell clean from the menthol (that's what gives you the minty flavor), but because of the anti-bacterial properties it can kill off germs that cause haliotis.
  • Helps with concentration - more on that below!
  • Can provide stress relief - menthol (an active ingredient in peppermint tea) has natural sedative and anti-spasmodic properties which combined together really helps to ease stress while the anti-inflammatory properties can help to lower blood pressure allowing you to relax.
  • Helps with headaches and migraines - because of how it helps with stress and sinus (two causes of headaches) peppermint tea can be very helpful.
  • Offers sinus relief - menthol is a natural decongestant which means it provides relief from sinus pressure, it also soothes a sore throat which is handy if the sinus congestion is from a cold or flu.   I've seen it recommended to add honey to peppermint tea for sinus, colds and flus, but I've never added honey myself.

There are lots more health benefits, it's almost sounding like a superfood isn't it?   I should add however that when taking herbal infusions for a medical reason you should always talk to your doctor.  Menthol has been known to cause typically mild allergic reactions in some people so if in doubt consult a medical professional.


Why I Drink Peppermint Tea At Lunchtime


I always enjoy my peppermint tea after eating my lunch (I sometimes enjoy it at other times, but this is my favorite time).  As I've said I enjoy the flavor, it leaves my mouth feeling lovely and fresh and I also think it helps with my digestion.

I have also discovered that I concentrate better in the afternoon if I've had a peppermint tea after lunch - no more '3pm fog brain' for me.  I had been wondering if this increased concentration was just a placebo effect, but apparently there have been scientific studies (and here was me thinking I'd 'discovered' this all by myself!).

A study published in the International Journal of Neuroscience found that peppermint tea can increase focus and concentration.   Another study by the University of Cincinnati found that the scent of peppermint was even better at boosting alertness, concentration and improving memory than actually drinking the tea.

Now I'm not going to just sniff the tea and not drink it, but I take the study to mean - sit down, relax, cradle your cup/mug of precious peppermint tea and inhale the scent while also sipping slowly on it. Once it's finished you'll be set for a very productive afternoon!

Twinings Peppermint Tea Bags
Please Pin Me!






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

John Sandford Extreme Prey Book Review

First off, a confession. I have not read a SINGLE solitary John Sandford book. There are, however, many of them in my household.

Over the course of the last couple of years, my husband Chris discovered John Sandford and worked to collect and read his way through every single one of Sandford's books. I have a feeling there will be a Sandford book in my future.

Chris' most recent read was Extreme Prey and what follows is his review, which I thought I would share with you here.

John Sandford’s Extreme Prey is an exceptional read.

In the previous novel, the protagonist Lucas Davenport was leaving the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) with his daughter Letty asking, “What are you going to do next?” Extreme Prey flawlessly transitions Davenport from a badge carrying cop to a private citizen doing a favour for the state governor Elmer Henderson; a favour that finds Davenport investigating a potential threat against a presidential candidate. The fact that Davenport is not carrying a badge and has no authority kicks the story up a notch. Davenport uses old contacts and his reputation to gain support from local police while trying to convince others that there is a real and credible threat. Of course the threat is real and time is short, so the action is non-stop.

As the story unfolds, Davenport chases loose threads of evidence as he puts pieces of the puzzle together until the climactic scene arrives that is so engulfing that it will make you miss your bus stop; at least that happened to me.

For long-time fans of John Sandford, Extreme Prey effectively interweaves characters from previous books into the action as well as providing cameo roles for characters from the Virgil Flowers and Kidd series, also by John Sandford. If this is your first time reading a John Sandford book and don’t insist on starting at the beginning of a series, you will find a great read that can stand alone. Sandford gives you enough information to introduce every character without slowing down the action or distracting from this story.

Extreme Prey is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for anyone who likes police mysteries. For current fans of the “Prey” books you will find it an exciting surprise as Lucas Davenport adapts to not having a badge and the official support of the BCA. Personally I am already looking forward to Golden Prey scheduled for release in April 2017 to see what’s next for Lucas Davenport.

Extreme Prey definitely sounds like an excellent read to me and I have to thank my husband for the introduction to another author and for writing this post. I am especially thankful that he shared the fact that this book caused him to miss his bus stop. What a hoot!

Will there be a John Sandford book in your future?

Happy Reading!
Brenda & Chris

Quick Links:

Order Extreme Prey on Amazon.
Steve Berry's Amber Room reviewed.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas

Lifestyle Awareness Organic Teas 


Last time I shopped for tea, I noticed a new brand on the shelf: Lifestyle Awareness Teas. I noticed they were organic and that they appeared to support specific aspects of health. I also noticed the introductory pricing that made trying a new brand seem less risky. Since it was the beginning of a new year and flu season was well underway, I decided to purchase two of the teas: Immunity Now and Serene Slumber.

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas

I have to admit that the artwork on the packages helped sell me on these teas. I had just finished reading Elderberry Croft: Complete Collection. (Read my review of it here.)  This novel of healing hurting souls spoke often of the virtues of elderberries, and especially elderberry tea.

Although I have an elderberry tree, I've never taken the trouble to find out how to capture its healing powers by learning to make the teas and syrups talked about in the book. When I saw Immunity Now on the shelf, I decided it was time for me to try elderberry tea the way Willow served it to her friends -- with honey and lemon juice.

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas


Immunity Now Tea Supports Healthy Immune Function

About a week after I bought Immunity Now tea, my husband came down with the flu. Although we take supplements that support the immune system year round, when you have the flu, your immune system needs all the help it can get. I decided it was time to make a pot of the Immunity Now tea. I used a small, three cup pot.

 All Life Awareness teas are best made with boiling water steeped in a covered pot or mug to keep all the goodness of the herbs intact. I'm lazy, especially when I don't feel good. I'd rather make one larger pot of tea and reheat when I need more than to make tea cup by cup as needed. It works for me. Of course, if you want to keep switching your variety of tea, a single covered cup or mug may work better. Find some of each below. Tea price shown is for a multipack of six boxes. That's the deal I chose when I reordered after trying my first package of this tea. I found Amazon's price lower than the regular store price. 





My Experience with Immunity Now Tea

I started drinking Immunity Now the minute I knew Hubby had the flu. (Of course, I gave him some, too.) I don't usually sweeten my tea, but I knew that honey and lemon juice are helpful when one has a cough, so I added them to my tea.  It so happened that I had a jar of raw organic honey left from the days when my husband kept bees, so I used that. Adding the honey and lemon juice made the tea much tastier than I expected. It was also soothing. 

I kept drinking it after I got the flu myself. It made me feel better, though I have to admit it didn't seem to discourage my flu too much. I'm quite sure, though, it was a beneficial hot fluid that kept me more comfortable. 

Next, I Tried Serene Slumber


I have a terrible time getting sleepy at night. Even though I was tired and sick, I knew I would need some help relaxing enough to get to sleep. I made myself a pot of Serene Slumber. It has a number herbs that support a good night's sleep, including lavender, avena, rosepetals, chamomile, and catnip. After the tea had brewed, one sniff made me sleepy. I drank a cup, went to bed, and slept. I'm going to add this to my bedtime routine. 

A Bit More Information on Lifestyle Awareness Teas 

Lifestyle Awareness teas are medicinal. For this reason, you should pay attention to recommended dosages, or the number of cups to drink a day. The manufacturer recommends, for example, five or six cups of Immunity Now per day.  Before you take a medicinal tea, you should check with your doctor if you have a medical condition or take prescription drugs. Medicinal herbs can interact with prescription drugs, just as those drugs can sometimes interact with each other. 

Although drinking a medicinal tea may work with your body to make you more comfortable, these products are not intended to prevent, cure, or treat any disease. These teas have not been evaluated by the FDA. 

Lifestyle Awareness Teas are certified organic by the USDA. They are also Fair Trade, Kosher, gluten-free, and vegan. The tea bags are manufactured using totally chlorine-free methods. Packaging is also environmentally friendly and recyclable.

Most of all, these are some of the best-tasting medicinal teas I've tried. Each tea supports a different bodily system or function. You will want to explore all the varieties to find those that will best meet your own needs

See all Lifestyle Awareness Tea varieties here

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

TexMex Lasagna Recipe Reviewed

A Twist On A Classic Recipe

texmex lasagna
TexMex Lasagna By Bev Owens
Typically one thinks of lasagna as a classic Italian dish. Today I want to share a recipe that I created for TexMex Lasagna. It is a  little twist to an old favorite. 

I was inspired by a commercial that I kept seeing on television advertising Creamette pastas. A young woman finds out that her husband likes her Texmex lasagna even better than his mother's chicken noodle casserole. I kept thinking that it sounded good and what would I put in a dish like that. 

So, I put my thinking cap on and came up with an idea to try. I will admit that I could never con a panel of judges into thinking that I was a professional chef. On the other hand my cooking is not so bad that I would be invited to the show "Worst Cooks" either. My presentation isn't always the most lovely but usually the meal is pretty good. I think I would be graded as a decent cook with a fair amount of successes and more than enough failures in my lifetime.

When it comes to this little creation, my husband gave his seal of approval with the comment, "Honey, this is really good! I think it is my new favorite meal!" 

Momma Bev's TexMex Lasagna Recipe


Ingredients:
1 box Creamette lasagna noodles (or your favorite brand)
1 1/2 lb lean ground beef
1 16 oz container sour cream
2 large eggs
lemon juice
2 cups 4 cheese Mexican blend
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp minced garlic
salt
pepper

Directions:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a dutch oven size pot boil your lasagna noodles in salted water for 10 minutes. The salt keeps the pasta from getting sticky.

Brown the ground beef with the chili powder, garlic and salt and pepper to taste. When you add the seasoning to the raw beef the flavors are sealed in better to the meat as it browns. Once browned add the jar of picante sauce and simmer for 5 minutes.

In a mixing bowl beat the 2 eggs, add a little salt and pepper, lemon juice (about 2 cap fulls) and the sour cream. Blend well. Set aside.

Grease a 9 by 13 inch baking dish. Cover the bottom with a thin layer of the meat mixture. Place a layer of noodles on top. Pour about 1/3 of the sour cream mixture on top of the noodles. Sprinkle a light layer of the cheese blend. Add a new layer of noodles, thin layer of meat sauce, repeating the layers ending with meat sauce on top. Sprinkle more of the cheese blend on top.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes.


Mildly hot or hotter?


Depending on what your family likes, you have the option of using a mild, medium or hot version of the picante sauce. We used the medium and that was just right for the two of us. Also, I chose picante sauce instead of salsa because it is better for cooking. Both have the same ingredients it is just that the picante is basically a pureed version of a salsa and will bake better in this recipe. 

I hope you will give this recipe a try and I sincerely hope that you and your family like it as much as my husband and I did. I know I will make it again! 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, January 16, 2017

Reviewing Valentine's Day Address Labels

http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2017/01/reviewing-valentines-day-address-labels.html
Valentine address labels help you send love across the miles this Valentine's Day and every day thereafter. While we have become a digital society there are many  wonderful reasons to send those heartfelt messages through the mail. In this review I will explain why I think Colorful Images is the best place to order your personalized address labels.

Colorful Images Review


Colorful Images has been my go-to for address labels for over a decade. I ordered address labels to denote the change of seasons and to individualize my mail.  I also enjoy their choices of holiday designs and love that I can choose Valentine's designs that send a bit of love no matter what time of year I use them.

After a few changes of address and becoming accustomed to paying bills and keeping in touch with loved ones via the internet, I stopped buying address labels. But I recently placed an order again and was reminded of why Colorful Images is where I will always order my address labels. Just a few of those reasons are:
  • huge selection of address label designs - I can find something that is "me"
  • variety of address label sizes
  • choice of two different fonts
  • when ordering, you type in your address and have an immediate visual sample
  • fast delivery - 6 business days for address labels and other personalized items via standard delivery
  • faster delivery options - you can choose even faster delivery methods (adding 2 days for the printing of the labels)
  • choice of flat pages of address labels or rolls
  • reliability - I have never had a problem with an order


Why Sending Cards Through the Mail is Still Important


We have moved into the instant and digital world eliminating much of our use of sending correspondence via the mail.  However, there are many reasons to continue to send things the old-fashioned way. These are only a few:
  • recipients of handwritten mail are aware that extra time and thought was put into contacting them
  • children love to receive mail
  • elderly folks who are separated from family enjoying knowing someone is thinking of them - often displaying their cards for all to see
  • people who are hospitalized often enjoy receiving cards
  • military folks who are far from home are able to feel more connected when friends and family keep in touch via the mail


Address Labels for Valentine's Day


Colorful Images offers several Valentine's designs.  Designs range from the large round label with the Cupid design to smaller, more traditional labels with hearts.  These Special Heart labels are my favorite heart design. The design is visually pleasing and the hearts can be used for every day.


Special Heart address labels by Colorful Images


Related Article - In the review of The Gift of a Letter, Wednesday Elf explains beautifully why handwritten letters are not something to be forgotten and are, in fact, a gift. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, January 15, 2017

A Moving Country Song About Time Passing By - A Song Review

"Living Like that Year Book Picture Wouldn't Fade" (Lyrics)

Do you remember this time in your own life?

Just starting out .... the entire world in front of you and not a thought on your mind about the 'end' of anything.

All of it new, all of it ongoing, all of it always there. You never doubted that the ones you love were just a room away, a few hours away or a few days away.

To you, at this time, a kiss goodbye was merely, 'a kiss until later'.

Your journey was new and the anticipation of the trip you were about to take consumed your travels: "I want to be this", "I want to go there", "I want to accomplish that". Your path always in your thoughts, and those you loved, well they would always be there wouldn't they.

"Student hire and a fancy job, big old house and a two car garage" (Lyrics)

Chapter two of your life is in full gear. You're achieving, or trying to. You're moving forward, or planning to, and most of all you're enjoying the freedom!

You love your parents, but this time in your life feels like the reward it should be for the countless hours of work you put in to get here.

You still see your family of course, and hug them and enjoy your visits, but if you're being honest with yourself, you're having too much fun building your own life.

On lonely days you pick up the phone to call mom; she makes you feel better and you're grateful knowing that if you want, you can call her again tomorrow.

"Teenage girl and her granddad, he takes her fishing he feels bad, cause she can't take her eyes off that 'ole Facebook page, someday soon, who knows how long, she'll look up from that phone and he'll be gone" (Lyrics)

Chapter three is here and you've been fortunate to have your grandchildren in your life.

However, you're now in that special club of people who understand what it's like to view life from the road looking back. You reflect back to your own grandpa, and with a knowing grin, you get what he felt.

The view from your chair in life can't be seen by young people starting out. You recognize your younger self in them, and part of you wishes they could see it all from where you sit to spare them life's costly lessons. But they can't, and you can't.

"The Trouble is You Think You Have Time" (Lyrics)

You want to explain time to your grandchildren, but how can you. They have to travel their path and with God's good grace get to be where you're sitting now so they too can pass along treasured words of wisdom that were spoken to you yesterday .... after-all, wasn't it just yesterday?

When you look back at the choices you've made, you forgive yourself for not harnessing those unrepeatable moments with those you love; for not hugging your brother one more time; for shrugging mom off when all she wanted was another kiss from her baby; for moving far away and for any other selfish act that robbed a little love from someone you cared about.

But you're grateful to have learned so much about this trip through life. If nothing else, you see clearly now.

You realize, the trouble was you thought you had time.

Enjoy 'Time' by Award Winning Canadian Country Music Artist, Dean Brody: - More on the song here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.