Tuesday, October 25, 2016

Reviewing A Crochet Poncho Pattern

Easy Pattern To Crochet Your Own Poncho

crochet poncho
Crochet Poncho a work in progress
As promised a few weeks back, I will review a crochet poncho pattern that I am currently working on for myself. You can see on the left the finished front panel of my colorful little addition to my wardrobe. 

Ponchos are trendy right now in the crochet world and this one is pretty easy to make. If you have ever done a granny square, you will master this pattern pretty quickly. There are only two rows to learn and then it is just a repetition of them until you have the desired length. 

I found this crochet poncho pattern while reading a post from Mikey at The Crochet Crowd and decided that I would give it a try. I love ponchos and since I seem to always be cold I thought it would be nice to have one that I can just wear around the house to keep my shoulders warm. I used some spare yarn that I had in my stash to create something that would go with many of my tops. I can wear it at home or I can wear it when I go out to do errands. 

The fun thing about this easy to crochet pattern is that it is so versatile. The original pattern shows it using just one color of yarn. I decided to get creative and use 7 colors. Mikey in his video tutorial used a variegated yarn. The same pattern looks totally different when you work with your own creativity.  

If you have been thinking that you would like to add a poncho to your wardrobe and want something unique that can't be found in stores, I recommend trying this easy to crochet poncho pattern as an option. It really does not take very long to stitch up! One would even be a nice gift for someone you love or they are nice to hook-up and donate to a local shelter. 

Monday, October 24, 2016

Natural Sinus Relief with Neti Pot

Neti Pot is a method of natural sinus relief and health that has been relied upon for centuries in other parts of the world. It's use in the US is increasing as more people find increased sinus health and infection prevention with regular nasal irrigation. I am convinced that my own Neti Pot use has prevented many sinus infections and headaches. In this quick review, I will outline how I use Neti Pot as an almost daily part of my health and hygiene routine. 

As the seasons change, my co-workers have taken turns fighting sinus infections and illnesses that involve pain, phlegm, and missing days of work.  I have not yet caught this round of sinus germs and I attribute that to the Neti Pot. I recommended nasal irrigation to a friend at work, and had a hard time explaining it to her. As I was searching for a "how to Neti Pot" video for her, I decided to share the information here.  I would like for everyone possible to find sinus and allergy relief. I also should add that at times using the Neti Pot has alleviated some of my migraine pain.

Sinus Irrigation as Illness Prevention

In the spring, our own Bev Owens reviewed NeilMed Sinus Rinse. She shared how adding this sinus irrigation to her daily hygiene routine has alleviated her sinus headaches. Please take a peek at her review to learn how helpful nasal irrigation has been for her.

Personally, I use a ceramic Neti Pot, warm water, and a bit of salt. Initially, I tried to learn how to Neti Pot when I was already ill.  For a week or so, no water passed through my nasal passages - that is how swollen and congested my sinuses were at the time. Thankfully, I did not give up.  

Every morning I lean over the bathroom sink and use Neti Pot.  Since I've begun this routine on a regular basis, I've only had a sinus infection/bronchitis type illness that required a doctors visit and prescription medication 2-3 times over the last decade. Historically, I'd visit the doctor for such illnesses 4 - 6 times each year!

It is very important that the water is a good temperature.  I check my water temperature on my wrist, as I did with baby's bottles. Too cold is painful.  Hot water could be damaging.  Baby bottle temperature is soothing to me. Learning to relax enough to allow the water to pass through is not an easy thing for some people. But I encourage you to try and to practice before giving up. I believe it is well worth the practice.

I prefer the ceramic Neti Pot because: 

  • it holds the warmth longer than plastic
  • it seems to be easier to clean than plastic
  • the Neti Pot (versus a nasal spray bottle) holds more water and more fully flushes my sinuses
  • the model of Neti Pot I use, has a partial top covering, which prevents me from spilling water on my face
ceramic Neti Pot

Others Who Recommend Neti Pot and Nasal Irrigation

I am not a doctor. Nor can I give trained medical advice. I highly recommend that you choose Neti Pot and nasal irrigation after consulting with your doctor. I am only sharing what has worked very well for me and has nearly eliminated my use of allergy medications and visits to the doctor for sinus/congestion types of illnesses.  

The writers on WebMD shares a brief history of nasal irrigation, comments that research proves that it works, why it works, and how to use a Neti Pot.  This is a fairly complete and concise overview for beginners.

Many hundreds of Neti Pot purchasers give 4.5 - 5 star ratings on Amazon Neti Pots. See their recommendations on the various styles

I know someone who frequently tells me that because I Neti Pot, I'm going to die from the water-born, brain-eating amoeba.  My first thought is that swimming in fresh water during the summer months is far more dangerous than using my Neti Pot. But, out of an over abundance of caution, I am including this informative video from The Doctors.  I have also begun to refrain from using tap water in my daily routine. The Doctors speak of the amoeba concern as well as demonstrate how a Neti Pot is used.

For more helpful product reviews browse articles on ReviewThisReviews.com

opening photo design courtesy of FotoJet and Pixabay

Sunday, October 23, 2016

The Ideal Upbeat Wedding Song - You'll Love This One!

Find Autograph by Dallas Smith Here
 Plus More Dallas Smith Songs!

Review of a Wedding or Engagement Song

If you're looking for an Upbeat Wedding Song that conveys just the right message in words from him to her, then you'll want to check this one out...

This very catchy tune is by popular Canadian Country Music Artist, Dallas Smith.

I'm a Dallas Smith fan, so introducing you to his latest hit song is my pleasure!

This wedding song is about his wanting to 'change your autograph'. Women's Lib aside for a minute, how sweet is that! 

Of course some of us don't change our autograph when we marry and that's perfectly fine.

This song simply celebrates his attraction and love for her to the point that he wants to 'change her autograph so everybody knows that he's the lucky one'. 

Autograph is the prelude of emotion before he puts a ring on it: He sees her, and like the true passion that love can be, the song expresses how he wants to share his name with her.
Autograph by Dallas Smith
"I'd change your autograph
I'd put my name on you
And I'd put a big old ring on your left hand
so everybody knew
that I'm the lucky one
With heaven on my arm,
sun's going down
Edge of town
one knee on the ground
I'd change your autograph" 

Listen to More Wedding Song Choices Here


Friday, October 21, 2016

Fabulous Faux Fur Coats, Jackets, Throws and More Reviewed

Faux Furs Really are Fabulous Alternatives

Since I own several Fabulous Fur coats by Donna Salyers, I can personally attest to the high quality and beauty of these faux furs.
Because I think animals have the loveliest fur,  I was thrilled when I discovered Fabulous Furs, a company that manufactures exquisite faux fur coats.  The soft feel coupled with the warmth of fur makes a beautiful, warm and luxurious coat, jacket or throw. 

Even though I think animal fur is gorgeous, I have always refused to wear real mink coats or any other real fur coat.  In spite of being surrounded by women in society who consider animal fur the ultimate fashion statement, I remained "unfashionable". 

When my husband gave me my first Fabulous Fur coat, I was absolutely amazed at how beautiful and warm it was to wear.  I now have several faux fur coats and I thoroughly enjoy wearing them.   I adore my collection of Fabulous Fur coats that imitate the natural beauty of animals and I am extremely proud that they are not real animal fur.  Anyone who knows me well, knows how much I love animals!  I would never consider harming or killing an animal for the sake of my own vanity. 

The Coats and Jackets are Available directly from Donna Salyers Fabulous Furs website

Dress up your Home too!

 60X86 SIGNATURE THROW WHITE MINKCheck PriceIn addition to stunningly gorgeous coats, jackets, vests, ponchos and wraps, Fabulous Furs also offers a variety of beautiful faux fur throws.

Our daughter owns the faux fur white mink throw and matching pillow.  It was a rather extravagant purchase at the time we purchased them, but she really wanted that throw and pillow set.  As it turns out, it was a great investment.   That throw and pillow set have been the one constant through several paint colors and decor changes in her bedroom.

White is not everyone's first choice, but there are several fur color options available.  The puma, lynx, red fox and sable are a few of my own favorites.

Fabulous Furs Offer Superior Service

Bunny Fur Coat
I have had the opportunity to deal with Donna Salyers' customer service department via the phone too.  A few years ago, we purchased a little pink rabbit faux fur for our niece for Christmas. 

When I ordered it, the coat was out of stock and due before Dec. 28th.  However, I'll have you know, I received it Dec. 24th.  I know they went the extra mile to get that coat to us by Christmas when many companies would have simply figured the sale was made, what difference did it make.  Well, it made a difference!  They now have several loyal customers in our family.

Most Excellent Customer Service!   

That evening, our niece had no more ripped into the package, before she was wearing her new coat and muff.  The house was full of people and was quite warm, but we couldn't talk her out of that coat.  She loved the gift and she looked like an adorable pink bunny in it. 

As a side note, in that shipment they accidentally included a luxurious Sable vest.  I suspect that was due to rushing the order out for me and probably several other customers too.  It was such a soft and beautiful vest!  However, since I had not ordered or paid for the vest, I had to force myself to call customer service and tell them about the error.  That sable was so soft!  I confess, I petted it for a while before I taped up the box for return. 

My Personal Recommendation

Leopard Faux Fur coat
Since I own several of these coats, I can personally attest to the high quality and beauty of these faux furs.  My leopard coat is actually prettier than the real leopard fur coats that I have seen in department stores. 

The very best thing is that those gorgeous big cats were not killed so I could have a coat that duplicates their natural beauty.  

As a seamstress, I can also tell you that these coats and jackets are well made.  The lining is exceptional and the buttons or snaps are secure.  The pockets are also well hidden in the seams and lay flat.   

I always appreciate extraordinary workmanship! 

Inspiration for Fabulous Furs

Donna Salyers, President and founder of Fabulous-Furs, explains how the company began . . .

"Inspiration for Fabulous-Furs came nearly two decades ago when I was on my way to purchase a mink coat.  On my car radio, Paul Harvey described kittens being skinned to become "mink" teddy bears.  Instead of buying a coat that day, I was inspired to create a luxurious alternative."

You can read Donna's full statement and timeline by clicking here.

After discovering Fabulous Furs
I decided you can never have too many fur coats!  

(Faux, of course!)

Read More Product Reviews On ReviewThisProducts.com

"Fabulous Faux Fur Coats, Jackets, Throws and More Reviewed" Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse

Thursday, October 20, 2016

The Wives of Los Alamos by Tarashea Nesbit

The women wives in this book arrived from around the world. They came from different lifestyles, backgrounds and situations. Their average age was 25. Their educational backgrounds varied from those with doctorate degrees to stay at home moms to dancers. Most did not know exactly where they were going or what awaited them when they arrived in Los Alamos, New Mexico. These women were forced to come together to create a life for their families in New Mexico.

TaraShea Nesbit's The Wives of Los Alamos is the story of the women who supported the men who worked on one of the biggest research projects in World War II. Unknowingly, these families would be tied to a huge development that changed the course of history.

Their lives during the time they spent in Los Alamos were tough but they had even bigger challenges ahead when their experience was over and they had to weigh their contribution to the creation of a hugely destructive development of the 1940s known as the Manhattan Project.

Is The Wives of Los Alamos a True Story?

Here a 9 minute video in which Nesbit shares a bit of the real story which she writes about in the book:

Would I Recommend This Book?

The story is told by all of the women together in one voice. That is, the book is written in the first person plural a method that I personally did not care for. Here's an example from the beginning:

"We were European women born in Southampton and Hamburg, Western women born in California and Montana, East Coast women born in Connecticut and New York, Midwestern women born in Nebraska and Ohio, or Southern women from Mississippi or Texas, and no matter who we were we wanted nothing to do with starting all over again, and so we paused, we exhaled, and we asked, What part of the Southwest?"

That voice was okay for the first while but eventually I would rather have had the story told by a single individual. I can, however, see how this voice allowed many viewpoints to be expressed in each situation but there are many who could not get past the author's style. Others, however, really enjoyed this book and the style it was written in.

At the end of the book, I was left with a lot of thinking to do. How did those individuals cope with knowing they had made such a horrific contribution to the war effort? How would you cope? How would I?

Yes, I would recommend this book because it is a novel about a very significant scientific development in world history that takes place in the United States. You might want to read it for that fact alone and you never know, you might enjoy the style, too.

You can buy your copy from Amazon by clicking right here. If you do read it, be sure to come back and let us know what you think about the style and the story.

Happy Reading!
Treasures By Brenda

Quick Link:

Buy your copy of The Wives of Los Alamos on Amazon.

Wednesday, October 19, 2016

Review of Gifts Related to Harvest in California Wine Country

It's Harvest Time in Paso Robles Wine Country

Harvest time in wine country is the most exciting time of year. If you live on a road with at least a dozen wineries within four miles, as I do, there is something going on almost every weekend, and usually competing events. There are First Crush events and Harvest Celebrations. That means concerts and food, and lots of wine tasting. You can smell the aroma of crushed grapes as you drive past. 

Review of Gifts Related to Harvest in California Wine Country
Grapes Ready for Harvest, © B. Radisavljevic 

Watching the Harvest

Since I live so close to so many vineyards, I've had opportunities to watch the grape harvest, especially at my neighbor's winery, Croad Vineyards.  That link will take you to more photos and videos of the Croad harvest as I saw it. Earlier this year I also had the opportunity to watch the bottling truck in action. Here are some photos of the bottling truck's visit to Dark Star Cellars, another neighboring winery. 

This video shows you how the wine actually gets into the bottles as I witnessed it. 

The Grape Vines at Harvest Time

The vines themselves are laden with purple fruit. Usually by harvest time the leaves have turned into the various shades of red, rust, and  gold. After the grapes are harvested, they are gathered in plastic bins for processing.  They may go into a machine such as the one in the poster below at Zenaida Cellars in Paso Robles to have the stems removed. People stand by to make sure  everything works properly and nothing is missed.

One of the most popular wineries in autumn is Niner Estates, home to Heart Hill, pictured on a poster below. The natural heart-shaped grove of oak trees was on the hill long before the vineyards were planted around it. It's beautiful at any time of year, but in fall around harvest time the vines frame the heart with autumn colors. Heart Hill appears on many of my Zazzle products, including postcards, necklaces, keychains, plaques, ornaments, and more. They can be customized to remove, change, or add your own text. 

You can find more scenes from harvest time on Zazzle products in my collection Harvest Season in California Wine Country

Visit Paso Robles Wine Country

The City of Paso Robles and the surrounding rural areas of Templeton and San Miguel are home to over 200 different wineries. If you are a wine lover, it's worth a trip here. If you come, you will want to try some of the award-winning wines at Sculpterra Winery. While you are there you can enjoy its famous sculpture garden and enjoy its Sunday afternoon concerts. It's one of my favorite places. It's about ten miles east of the city of Paso Robles. 

The wineries closest to my home are Croad Vineyards, Niner Estates, ZinAlley, Donati Family, and Aron Hill -- all on Highway 46 or close to it. Other 46 West wineries where I often shoot photos for my Zazzle products are Zenaida Cellars, Castoro Cellers, Peachy Canyon, and Doce Robles. If you click through to my Zazzle collection linked to above, you will see photos from some of those wineries on my products. 

More Photos of Wine Country During Harvest Season

Review of Gifts Related to Harvest in California Wine Country
Doce Robles Scene During Harvest Season, © B. Radisavljevic  

Review of Gifts Related to Harvest in California Wine Country
Croad Vineyard at Harvest Time, © B. Radisavljevic 

Review of Gifts Related to Harvest in California Wine Country
Hay and Autumn Vineyards at Doce Robles, © B. Radisavljevic
This scene appears on many of my products 

Review of Gifts Related to Harvest in California Wine Country

I hope you've enjoyed your virtual tour of wine country at harvest time. Be sure to pick up a souvenir from this trip at California Wine Country Memories and Gifts. 

Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Reviewing Maids of Misfortune

A Victorian Mystery Taking Place In San Francisco

victorian houses san francisco
Victorian Houses In San Francisco Pixabay.com
As I have started to read the book Maids of Misfortune, I thought it might be fun to review the book here on Review This. M. Louisa Locke wrote this book as the first in a mystery series that seems pretty promising for those of us who like a good mystery and enjoy historical fiction. 

In this first book of the series, we find ourselves in San Francisco, California during the Victorian Era. Our main protagonist is Annie Fuller who isn't exactly like most ladies of her time. She isn't amoral or anything but not quite up to those strict standards of social behavior of her time. Instead of doing needlework and delicate hobbies, Annie has to make a living on her own. Having been raised by her father she has skills in business and finance that just isn't deemed proper for females in the 1870's. 

Annie inherited a house in San Francisco from her aunt and has made it into a boarding house. Her husband left her penniless after having committed suicide and so the house was really a godsend. In order to make ends meet and to keep the boarding house in business Annie has a side job. Because she is a woman she can not open a business as a financial adviser, men just would not support her business. So, to get past that she disguises herself as a gypsy and pretends to be a clairvoyant. She calls herself Madame Sibyl and wears a dark wig and pale makeup to hide her true identity. Oddly, men and woman take her business advice (especially for the stock market) as a psychic but wouldn't consider taking the same advice if she offered it as a business woman. Oh the Victorians!

Annie has built up a pretty steady clientele as a psychic and has become fond of several of her regular patrons. Matthew Voss has been a weekly client for quite a long time and has done well with the advice that Annie/Madame Sybil has given him. Annie feels that he has also become a friend. So, when Mr. Voss is found dead in his home from poisoning something doesn't seem right. The police have deemed it a suicide but Annie just knows that can not be right. When Annie as Madame Sybil is questioned by Matthew's attorney she finds out that it seems that Matthew was pretty close to insolvent. 

Annie knows that the information about Mr. Voss is incorrect and that something is very wrong. She knows that he owned several successful stocks and had just sold quite a few of them in order to buy his partner's share of the furniture business that they owned together. Where are the stocks? Why is there no money in the bank or cash to be found? Annie and Nate the attorney begin to try to figure out who killed dear Mr. Voss.

This has been a delightful book to read. Annie is a woman before her time and I love how she and Nate work together under the Victorian social restrictions. I definitely will read more books in the series.

You can purchase this book in paperback form but you can also order it in digital form. Currently, the digital version is free for the reading. That may change in the near future but right now you can download it at no expense. Fun, huh?

Monday, October 17, 2016

Best Emergency Survival Kits

Reviewing Survival Emergency Kits for Earthquakes,
Hurricanes,Tornadoes and Other Disasters

best emergency survival kits
Emergency Earthquake Kit

Earthquake Survival Kits are essential for any family households living in earthquake areas. These Emergency Earthquake Kits keep your family safe in a time of emergency. You know the old saying, "It's better to be safe than sorry." Be prepared in case disaster strikes with an earthquake emergency kit.

I lived in Southern California almost on top of the San Andreas Fault line for many years so I know! California rocks, and it rolls too! We had more than a few major earthquakes when I lived there, and you never know when it might happen again. Be prepared!

And anything you need for earthquake emergencies holds true for all the other natural disasters that can occur. Right now it's hurricane season and the East coast has been battered with a huge one and there is lots of flooding. You never know when Mother Nature is going to decide to let loose! 

Here you will find wilderness survival kits and some of the supplies that are in them in case you already have a kit and are just adding more supplies.

In a hurry? Click here for Earthquake Survival Kits!

Protected by Copyscape DMCA Takedown Notice Infringement Search Tool

"By failing to prepare, you are
preparing to fail."
~Benjamin Franklin

Short List of Supplies You Should Have in An Emergency Survival Kit

Survival Kit List

For most people who prepare for Emergencies, it means having a Bug Out Bag. A short list of supplies follows:

Food and water

Clothing, things that mix and match


Cash and Credit Cards

Vital Documents (Identification, Medical Records, Prescriptions, Family Photographs)

Shelter (at minimum a large poncho which could be tied down but a tent is better)

Useful Tools (such as flashlights, matches and other fire starting tools)

First Aid Kit

Small Knife

Solar Lights


Your Bug Out Bag should be packed and ready to go at a moment’s notice; food and water should be checked regularly and replaced when necessary. 

Set up a schedule to rotate your older items to your home pantry and add new ones to the Bug Out Bag.

So besides your Prepared Emergency Survival Kits with all the tools, add your personal items from this list , and you are prepared to survive if the worst happens and you need to get by without all the modern technology we are used to.

Emergency Humor Postage
Earthquake Survival Kits

In Case Of Emergency ... Run Like Hell postcard
In Case Of Emergency … Run Like Hell by GrungeFactory

Deluxe  Emergency Survival Kits

Emergency Earthquake Survival Kits~for 4 People 

One has a backpack, one has a bag, so choose what works best for you. Many people think these are the best survival kits overall.
Water and Food lasts 5 Years
Radio, Flashlight and Cell Phone Charger
First Aid Kit
Be Prepared!

2 Person Emergency Earthquake Survival Kit

Best Emergency Survival Kit for 2 people.
Great wilderness survival kit which includes a  backpack! If you need an Emergency Survival Kit for 2 People, this has everything you need. 

Emergency Survival Kit for 1 Person
Best Earthquake Emergency Kit for One Person

Ready America  Grab-n-Go Emergency Kits, 1-Person 3-Day Emergency. They are the same except one has a backpack and one has a bag. Sustains one person for three days. Food, water, emergency poncho, First Aid kit (33 piece), Safety light stick (1) You might want to add in some of the tools down below. 

Emergency Supplies for Earthquakes and Disasters

Water Filter

The most important thing you need to survive in the event of an emergency is clean water! If you do nothing else, prepare to be able to filter your water so it's safe to drink. Humans cannot survive more than about 3 days without water. We can survive without food for much longer. But water is essential to life. In case you run out of water, a water filter will allow you to have clean water from whatever water source you encounter. This would also work if you are traveling and are not sure the water is safe.

 LifeStraw Personal Water Filter0/AmazonBlack-e1413517778206.png" style="height: auto; max-width: 100%;" />

Water for Emergencies

In case you want to take water with you, these packets have pure water and will be safe to drink for at least 5 years.

Radio for Emergencies and Earthquakes

If all Hell breaks loose, you will need a radio to keep up with announcements. This is great in any emergency situation!
 Sangean LB-100 Compact AM/FM Ultra Rugged Radio Receiver

Emergency Tools

Everything you need to go camping or have in an emergency situation until life gets back to normal.

Emergency Survival Mylar Sleeping Blanket


Very lightweight but strong and warm, for those cold nights! Great for camping too. You would be amazed how warm mylar is to sleep under! 

Magnesium Fire Starter

A fire starter is very handy to have because who wants to rub sticks together to start a fire? Not me! This little tool makes it very easy. Hmm, maybe it would help in the fireplace too! 

Emergency Shelter Tent

If you are in an emergency situation and need shelter, a mylar tent will keep you cozy and warm and it is lightweight so easy to carry in a backpack or a bag. Then when you are ready to pitch your tent, it is very easy to do!
 Survival Shack® Emergency Survival Shelter Tent | 2 Person Mylar Thermal Shelter | 8' X 5' All Weather Tube Tent | Reflective Material Conserves Heat | Lightweight | Waterproof | Best Survival Gear

Chocolate Emergency!

Be Prepared With Survival Food Kits

3 Month Emergency Food Supply Kit

No matter what happens, earthquake, hurricanes, tornadoes, other natural disasters, political fallout, nuclear war, martial law, etc. you will have plenty of food to survive until you can grow more! This is a serious disaster kit! But maybe you and a few others are pooling your resources and looking for a complete long term food emergency kit. This is the one.

One Month Emergency Food Supply

If it's just you or a couple, this might be enough for a while till you can get to a place where there will be more food. 

"Be Prepared... the meaning of the motto is that a Scout must prepare himself by previous thinking out and practicing how to act on any accident or emergency so that he is never taken by surprise."
~Robert Baden-Powell,
Founder, Boy Scouts of America

Sunday, October 16, 2016

Decorating Your Bedroom for Fall

Find This Fall Duvet Set & More Here

Temporarily Change Your Bedroom's Decor to a Fall Theme

Reviewing Ways to Satisfy Your Urge for a Seasonal Change Without Spending a Fortune

With a bedroom, we rarely think about making a seasonal change mostly because we believe it would be time consuming and pricey.

However if  Fall is your favorite season and you'd like to bring fall colors into your bedroom without doing a major over-haul, here are three ways you can accomplish that without breaking the bank:

1. Cover Your Existing Comforter and Pillows with an Autumn Duvet Bedding Set

If your bedroom's existing color scheme is fairly neutral or decorated with a few fall color tones already, then go ahead and bring fall into your bedroom by putting a calming fall duvet cover over your existing comforter. By doing this, you still keep your existing comforter; you're simply temporarily covering it up. Don't forget to change those pillow cases as well.

You don't have to spend a fortune either. You can find Duvet sets for under $100, and the best part, when you're ready to go back to your standard decor, just remove it. Or better yet, replace it with a
Fall Themed Drapes Here
Christmas Duvet Set.

2. Switch Your Standard Drapes Out for those that Feature a Fall Scene

This temporary change isn't as easy as the bedding change, however, if you choose drapes that go up the same way as your existing drapes, it's a breeze.

We rarely think to inter-change our draperies, yet window coverings can change the entire feel and look of a room. In the case of fall colors they add warmth and coziness.

Again, when you're ready to go back to your standard decor, remove them until the next time.

3. Add a Double Sided Fall Room Divider - Surprisingly, They Don't
Find This Room Divider Here, Plus Others
Cost a Fortune

Granted, this is a more difficult addition to a bedroom (unless your bedroom is fairly large). 

It's also a useful piece for large dual purpose rooms, such as bedroom/office combinations. 

Because this piece is prominent, it isn't something you can easily store away, but why would you want to - just move it to another room. 

You can place this gorgeous artistic piece in the family room, an office, a study area, a foyer or any place where there's a need to create a division in an open area.

Changing Your Decor for the Season is the Best Way to Get Over the Craving to Buy a New Home

My days as a Realtor afforded me the opportunity to understand the many reasons people decide to move. 

People often expressed this common sentiment ... 'we need a change'. 

You may in fact need that change. However, before you decide whether moving is the right thing, go ahead and redecorate a little. Sometimes the changes we need are minor.

After-all, decorating changes are a lot less expensive than moving.
"Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns" by George Eliot

Saturday, October 15, 2016

Let's Review The 'Happy' Part of Happy Halloween

Happy Halloween Garden Flag
Happiness is a Friendly, Cute, and 'Not-So-Scary' Halloween

The word Halloween was first used in the 16th Century and throughout the ages it became associated with imagery that leans toward Gothic and horror and the supernatural associated with the night. So such things as Dracula and Frankenstein, scary ghosts and haunted houses became symbols of this harvest-time holiday in books & films, costumes, parties and products. It all makes me wonder what happened to the "Happy" in the holiday known as Halloween.

For a 'Not-So-Scary' Halloween, lets look at some friendly, fun and cute items and have a truly "Happy Halloween".


A Happy Halloween...

Can Be Found Everywhere!

On Friendly Ghosts...



Little ghost is friendly and cute - He might 'scare' himself, but his cuteness just makes you want to smile!

The Best Ghost is a 'Friendly' Ghost

Ghosts and Haunted Houses have long been associated with Halloween and are intended to Scare us. But wait, what about Casper, the Friendly Ghost? Ghosts can be friendly and fun too.

*Casper first appeared as 'The Friendly Ghost' in a 1939 children's book and a 1945 animated cartoon.

A Pair of Plush Ghosts...


Plush Toy Ghosts on Etsy
Boo & Boo-ette

Boo and Boo-ette are a pair of the friendliest Ghosts you'll find anywhere. They can be friendly plush playmates for a child, or a fun Fall/Holiday decoration

Boo and Boo-ette are handmade in crochet of white acrylic yarn. The heads are lightly stuffed with soft polyfil. Their eyes are plastic 'safety eyes', giving them that Amigurumi personality. They are the creation of a crochet crafter from Georgia and can be found in her Etsy Shop Coastal Crochet Crafts.

Spooky Ghost Washcloth

Ghost Novelty Washcloth

A ghost isn't really 'spooky' when it's in the form of a hand-crocheted cotton washcloth!

A fun novelty washcloth in the shape of a ghost. A cute way to entertain children at bath time or to make chore time in the kitchen washing dishes more fun. Or just display it for a Halloween decoration.


On Halloween Spiders and Bats...


Plush Pumpkin and Squiggly Spider

Pumpkins & Spiders Go Together for Halloween!

A little plush pumpkin crocheted in the Amigurumi style and a friendly squiggly yarn spider make fun toys for kids or cute Halloween decorations.

These yarn toys make a cute Halloween treat for a child in your family, or look adorable as a Halloween party table decoration. They are handmade in crochet by a Georgia crochet crafter on Etsy.

Bats Might be Scary... 

But Not When They are Colorful and Cute Crocheted Amigurumi Baby Bats

Non-scary vampire bats -- created in crochet

Baby Bats in Plush are Best...

...if you are seeking a non-scary Halloween.
A Baby Bat is absolutely adorable when created in the Amigurumi style of crochet. It is much cuter than those scary black bats in caves! :)

These bats are handmade in many colors and are available in the Etsy shop of Crafty Cat in Steuben, Maine.

In Halloween Plush...

... A Halloween 'Spooky' Pup


Webkinz Spooky Plush Puppy

The word spooky at Halloween time always sounds scary, but not so with this plush puppy by Webkinz.  His coat is covered with fun Halloween designs.

Don't be afraid.... Spooky Puppy is friendly and fun. He's a Plush Pet by Webkinz.


On Friendly Halloween Pumpkins...


Percy the Pumpkin

A Happy Halloween Amigurumi Pumpkin - A Pattern to Crochet Your Own!

Percy the Pumpkin is a Halloween-themed pattern created by Elizabeth of Chicago and featured in her Etsy Shop called Davey Dreamer "Too Cute"

The pattern also includes instructions for 'Cameron the Candy Corn'. :)


Baby's First Pumpkin Play Set

Baby's First Pumpkin

For babies who are too young for the 'treat or treat' of Halloween, this First Pumpkin Play Set is perfect.  

My First Pumpkin Playset is by Genius Baby Toys. It is interactive with Candy Corn that crinkles, a Ghost that squeaks, a Spider rattle and a Cat that meows.

 Time for a Halloween Poll:


What's Your Halloween Preference?


Image Source: Wikipedia


Do You Like a Happy Halloween or a Scary One?

Many of the Halloween Happiness Items Shown Here...

Are the crafty and artistic creations found on Etsy & Zazzle!

Related Links:

For more Halloween reviews on everything from decorations to costumes to party food, check out these articles on Review This Reviews.

© 2012 Wednesday-Elf - The Happy in Halloween was originally published on another site.