Saturday, December 3, 2016

Aroma Digital Rice Steamer Review

Rice Steamers Review
It's been 3 years since I got my Aroma Digital Rice Steamer. So I decided it was time to share my review of how it's worked in my kitchen. Along with sharing some of my favorite recipes for delicious rice and grains, you can learn a few of the tricks I've discovered to make perfect grains every time. You can never go wrong with a great rice side dish. Or maybe a base for a yummy stir-fry. Or any number of other ways to enjoy rice and grains.



Review of Aroma Digital Rice Steamer


Aroma Digital Rice Steamer
After reviewing many different choices, I picked the Aroma brand for my rice steamer for several reasons. First, the capacity. This can make 8 cups of rice. At a half cup per portion, you could feed 16 with one batch. Granted I've never tried to feed 16 people at once, but it's nice to know I can. Second, it has both a white rice setting and a brown rice one. That's important when you use healthy grains like quinoa and millet. Use the brown rice setting for these, which cooks a bit longer giving you fluffier grains.

The third and final reason I chose the Aroma brand was the price. It's not the cheapest one on the market, but it's certainly affordable and fit nicely into my tight budget.

A feature of the Aroma Digital Rice Steamer that I didn't think I would need is a delayed timer setting. WOW - that has turned out to be the feature I most enjoy. If I want to serve dinner at 6, I just start the rice steamer at 3, set it for 3 hours delayed and the perfect rice is ready when the rest of dinner is finished. The delay cycle is long enough that you can set it before leaving for work if you want.

Cooking Different Grains in the Aroma Rice Steamer


Since I've cooked different grains and a variety of rices, I can offer you a few tips to make them perfectly every time. For grains like quinoa and millet, I've found that a little bit less liquid makes a perfectly cooked grain. The Aroma rice steamer comes with a measuring cup for the grains. Per each cup of grain, I use 1 1/2 cups of liquid. For wild rice, I use 2 1/4 cups of liquid. For stickier rice, I use about 2 cups of water and for long grain rices, I use about 1 3/4 cups of liquid.

This may seem a little picky, but it matters. You want the rice or grains to turn out to be perfect for the recipe you're making so a little pickiness works wonders. All the water is absorbed into the rice so the amount does matter.

Onion Wild Rice Recipe


One of my family's favorite recipes is Onion Wild Rice. And it's so easy to do. This recipe makes 4 servings.
  • Finely chop about half of a yellow or white onion.
  • Add the onions and the dry wild rice to your rice cooker.
  • Add 2 1/4 cups of broth, vegetable, chicken or beef broth works.
  • Add in a dash of salt and pepper to your own taste.
  • Stir the mixture up and turn on the rice cooker to the brown rice setting. 
See, I told you it was easy. I've tried it with ground dried Shitake mushrooms as well and that works great, too. With a rice steamer, you can let your imagination help you create interesting dishes.

Coconut Almond Grains


This is another easy recipe using quinoa and millet together. They are similar grains, but have slightly different flavors. To your rice cooker add:
  • 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened dry coconut flakes
  • 1/4 cup almond slivers or chopped almonds
  • 1 cup of mixed quinoa and millet - can be equal portions or not
  • 1 1/2 cup of liquid - water works just great, as does broth
  • Salt and pepper to taste
Stir this up and turn on your rice cooker, setting for brown rice. Another simple way to add healthy grains to you meals.


Choosing a Rice Steamer


The market has many different rice steamers. Nearly every small kitchen appliance maker makes one. So you will need to make a choice. The Aroma brand is not as well known as others, which is why I felt it needed a review after all my years of using it. 

Companies like Oster and Cuisinart also make rice steamers. You may be more comfortable with a brand you recognize. Besides the brand name, you also want to consider capacity. Make sure you can make enough cooked rice to feed your family. For many price is a major consideration. You need to balance how often you will use the rice steamer, the features, the capacity, and the price. See more about how to choose a small kitchen appliance for your own needs.

See more great product reviews at Review This! Products


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, December 2, 2016

The Night Before Christmas Book Review

The Night Before Christmas by Rose Collin is a very cute vision of the beloved poem illustrated with bears instead of people.
The Night Before Christmas is a classic children's Christmas book that we all know and love! 

The poem, Twas the Night Before Christmas, is often one of the first poems a child memorizes.  Children quickly embrace the poem's meter without realizing they are being exposed to a true art form.  It has such a lyrical cadence that it could almost be sung instead of recited.   Most parents have it memorized so well that they are rarely actually reading when they select that book for the bedtime story.

Every home with a child has at least one copy of this wonderful holiday book and some of us have several copies.  It is fun to compare the different illustrations!  Actually, the pictures are every bit as important as the story itself. 


History of "Twas the Night Before Christmas"

 The Night Before Christmas - 1963Check Price
It may surprise you to know that the author of the poem is contested.  

The story was originally named A Visit from St. Nicholas and published anonymously in 1823, but claimed four years later by Clement Clarke Moore.  The validity of that claim has been disputed.  

The family of Henry Livingston, Jr. maintains that he was the actual author.  Henry Livingston, Jr. was in fact a distant relative of Clement Moore's wife.   

In my opinion, that dispute casts a bit of a shadow over this wonderful poem.  It is so very sad when someone tries to steal another's work.  Obviously, 200 years after the fact, we can't know for sure which is the thief.  

It is just a real shame that a story with such impact for centuries cannot be unequivocally attributed to the proper author.


Review of the Visual Art


 The Night Before Christmas
by Rose Collins
Check Price
The classic illustrations are colorful and magical.  We can almost feel the warmth of the fireplace, the cold of the snow and the see the twinkle in Santa's eye.  They beautifully reflect the words of the poem.

I was recently given a copy of "The Night Before Christmas" by Rose Collins.  I discovered an illustrated version that evokes nostalgic feelings in parents, but has a whole new appeal for children.  Instead of people, this version features bears.   Santa Claus is still human, but he visits a family of bears on Christmas Eve.

This digital book appeals to me personally because I love teddy bears!  Of course, I still love the original illustrations, but this is a really cute way to embrace yesteryear while giving it a touch of current day fun.

Rose Collins also makes a few changes in the words to current day language.  For instance, instead of "the children were nestled, all snug in their beds", she writes "the children were sleeping all snug in their beds".  I also emitted a wee giggle when I noted that she renamed Donner, Donna, which is obviously current day influence as well.

http://amzn.to/2gvyps8
A Page from the Kindle Book, The Night Before Christmas by Rose Collins


Reading Books with Illustrations Digitally


For several years, I have enjoyed reading books on my Kindle Paperwhite.  However, I have often lamented that I wish I could see the images in color, especially when reviewing children's books or viewing cookbooks.  So often, those images really do make a huge difference.  I asked my fellow contributor, Susan Deppner, our resident electronics guru, if she had a solution for that.  Boy, did she ever!  

I quickly hopped over to her comparison review of the different Kindles and knew in just a few moments that I needed the Kindle Fire! 

You, too, can read Susan's excellent comparison of the digital readers by clicking this link.  It is a must read when selecting a new Kindle.


I will continue to read my novels on my Kindle Paperwhite, but I have to tell you.  I do love my new Kindle Fire that shows images in color.

The Night Before Christmas by Rose Collin is a very cute vision of the beloved poem illustrated with bears instead of people.
A photo of my own Kindle Fire opened to a page of "The Night Before Christmas" by Rose Collins

Encourage Your Child to Read with Their Own Kindle Fire





The Night Before Christmas Book Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, December 1, 2016

1byone Wireless Driveway Alarm Review

Let me tell you about the 1byone Wireless Driveway Alarm that we own and highly recommend to help keep individuals and families safe.

Give the Gift of Home Security for Less Than $20

A few years ago at Christmas, one of our thoughtful sons gave us the gift of a 1byone Wireless Driveway Alarm. Having lived here with us for most of his life, he was well aware that sometimes visitors made it all the way to the porch before we had any idea there was someone walking or even driving down our long, rather secluded driveway. What a great gift idea!

After using the alarm for just a short time, not only were we glad we had it, we knew that we never wanted to be without it. Let me tell you about this wireless driveway alarm that we still own, use every day, and highly recommend.

The brand name of the unit we own is 1byone (one by one) and the cost for the motion sensor detector and the receiver system is less than twenty dollars (currently $15.99 as I type this, price subject to change). Even adding the cost of the batteries needed to power the unit, the word "cheap" comes to mind, but I don't want to give you the idea that this is an inferior product as it certainly is not.

How Does the 1byone Wireless Driveway Alarm Work?


The driveway alarm's weatherproof motion sensor uses passive-infrared (PIR) technology. | ReviewThisReviews.com
On the left is a photo of the weatherproof motion sensor with its passive-infrared (PIR) technology mounted on a tree partway down our long driveway. When a car comes down the driveway, the unit senses both a change in temperature and motion, the light on the unit flashes as it sends a signal to the receiver inside the house, and both the alarm and the light on our unit give us a signal that we should take a look outside to see who or what has set off the alarm.

The driveway alarm's receiver with settings on the sides. | ReviewThisReviews.com
On the right are pictures of the receiver which we keep in a convenient spot on a counter where we can both see it and hear it. The unit is on and, as you can see in the photo on the bottom right, is set in the low volume chime mode. Trust me, "low" is plenty loud enough that we can hear it throughout our entire house. If we used the receiver outdoors, for instance if we moved it to the back porch while we were working in the garden, we might set it to make more noise. In some situations, we might turn off the audible signal altogether and just use the light.

In our situation, one sensor for the driveway and one receiver for the house are all we need. However, the device is expandable so that, if you have more than one driveway or area to cover, you can add on multiple sensors and/or receivers. One reviewer uses a set indoors, with the sensor in a child's bedroom and the receiver in the parents' room, so that they can tell if their toddler gets up during the night. Another reviewer uses a set by the back door so he'll know when the dogs are at the door, ready to come back in for the night. With some creative thinking, perhaps you'll come up with even more great ideas on where to set up your driveway alarm system even if you don't have a driveway!

How Long Will This Inexpensive Alarm System Last?


We received our driveway alarm three years ago and it worked perfectly until about six months ago when, thanks to squirrels (we think), the outside unit became undependable. Rather than replacing just the sensor, I simply ordered an entire new system. As for battery life, we have changed the batteries about once a year.

What About False Alarms From the Motion Detector?


Yes, we occasionally get false alarms. Our sensor is mounted on an oak tree and deer love to eat acorns, so recently, as the acorn crop was plentiful this year, visiting deer set off the alarm on a regular basis. We are aware that deer cross our driveway frequently, so we take that into consideration when checking outside after the alarm sounds. We occasionally notice squirrels in the area, too, and occasionally a neighborhood dog passes by. Neither set off the alarm often enough that we complain. An occasional false alarm from our wildlife neighbors is expected and we're fine with that.

Heat is another factor that affects the sensor and can cause false alarms. It is advised that you don't install the sensor in an area that gets direct sunlight, including near a window that absorbs heat that might set off the alarm.

Occasionally, on a particularly windy day, we turn off the alarm to avoid false alarms from blowing leaves or tree limbs. Living in a wooded area, that is just a factor we have to consider and work around.

Would You Buy This Driveway Alarm Again?


Overall, I'd rather have occasional false alarms than not have the driveway alarm. I've come to depend on it when expecting visitors and, especially, when unexpected visitors or delivery drivers arrive.

I like to know anytime someone is coming or going and since I can't watch outside all the time, and because our trusty watchdog isn't always on duty (lots of naps, you know), I am thankful that the 1byone Wireless Driveway Alarm is always on the job.

So yes, I would buy it again and I definitely recommend it to others who care about keeping themselves and their loved ones safe.

P.S. Just a reminder that a driveway alarm system would make a wonderful gift for someone whose safety you care about. This is one of the most thoughtful gifts we've ever received. 

~Susan
Read more of my reviews.
Read even more great product reviews at ReviewThisProductReviews.com


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Gloria Vanderbilt Jeans for Pear-Shaped Women: A Review

Gloria Vanderbilt Jeans Fit My Pear Shape

Believe me, when your waist and hip are the same size, it's hard to find jeans that fit. Often the inseam is too long. And I like to have my waist where it belongs naturally. None of those tummy-revealing low waists appeal to me. I  have too much tummy to reveal. 

Gloria Vanderbilt Jeans for Pear-Shaped Women: A Review
Gloria Vanderbilt Amanda Heritage Fit with Tapered Leg and Classic Rise, © B. Radisavljevic  


I took a chance on a recent visit to Costco and bought a pair of the Gloria Vanderbilt Penelope Convertible Cargo jeans I saw there. I knew I'd be making the trip again in a week and could return them if necessary. But they fit and I decided to keep them and look for more. When I returned a week later I found more Gloria Vanderbilt jeans in different styles. 

I bought two pair of the Amanda Heritage Fit with Tapered Leg, and Classic Rise.  They had stretch fabric to accommodate me as my weight fluctuates.  They have a classic fly front with a button at the top of the zipper. They also have belt loops for when you want to tuck in a shirt. They are also handy if you lose a bit at the waist and need help holding your pants up. 

What I Like About the Amanda Heritage Fit with Tapered Leg, and Classic Rise.

It fits my pear-shaped figure. Funny how the perfect figure I had when young turned pear-shaped by the time I hit sixty. My waistline seemed to disappear, but most jeans manufacturers seem to think one's waist should be smaller than one's hips. For me, that was no longer the case. When I tried the Amanda jeans on, they weren't too tight around the middle and they stayed up. The belt helped, but I could get along without it when my shirt was untucked, my preferred way to wear a shirt.

I also liked that I had no trouble buttoning the button above the zipper. I did not even have to hold my breath. The jeans stretched just enough to keep me comfortable. I even wore these while eating Thanksgiving dinner and the jeans did not get too tight.

Gloria Vanderbilt Jeans for Pear-Shaped Women: A Review
Gloria Vanderbilt Amanda Jeans with Shirt Untucked, © B. Radisavljevic 

To Belt, or Not to Belt


In most of these pictures I'm wearing a belt, since the jeans do have belt loops. I don't really like wearing belts, which is why I normally buy pull-on pants. I actually hadn't worn a belt in so long that I had forgotten where I'd put them. I finally found the two I had bought a couple of years ago to fit my growing waist line.

When I first  wore these jeans around the house for a few hours and then to the gym, I was wearing the belt. I decided not to take it on our trip to Madera to have Thanksgiving with the family, since I was planning to  wear my shirt untucked. The car trip was about seven hours round trip with about three pit stops each way. We  were at my nephew's house in Madera for about five hours. I would have been better off to bring the belt, since after several hours wear, the jeans were beginning to droop a bit at the waist.

Do you need a new belt for your current size? Here are some suggestions to go with jeans. I think I'm going to get that invisible belt that easily fits under even a fitted shirt. It not only doesn't show, but it also stretches to fit any size I happen to be. The leather belts are perfect for when I want a belt to show. I'm wearing a belt in most of the photos here.


Gloria Vanderbilt Jeans for Pear-Shaped Women: A Review
Wearing Jeans with Belt, © B. Radisavljevic 

Gloria Vanderbilt Jeans for Pear-Shaped Women: A Review
Back View of Gloria Vanderbilt Amanda Jeans, © B. Radisavljevic 
The Amanda style is available in many colors and sizes. I liked that I could get the short size with an inseam that fits me. The jeans also come in  average, tall, petite, and plus sizes. I bought the burgundy color I'm wearing in these photos, and also a pair of gray jeans.

My Gloria Vanderbilt Penelope Convertible Cargo Jeans 

These were the first pair I bought to see if the Gloria Vanderbilt jeans were sized right for me. They fit perfectly. They have two side pockets on the front, two buttoned pockets in back, and a buttoned pocket on each leg. There is another button on each leg to adjust the convertible roll cuff hem. The legs are loose and comfortable. These are great for hiking. Like the Amanda style, they have belt loops, and close in front with a button and zipper. You can see the Penelope in the photo below, along with the other styles. 

My Amanda Classic Fit Denim Jeans

These are still Amanda jeans, but they have a sleeker look than the Heritage Fit. Both have the waist where it naturally should be. The Classic Fit Denim jeans look just a tad dressier. This pair is just as comfortable as the other two styles. The reason I don't have photos of me modeling them is that I think Hubby was tired of taking the pictures. You can see this best-selling style below with the pictures of the other jeans. It's the left one in the top row.   


Where to Buy These Jeans

You may get lucky and find these locally like I did, but you may find that style, size, and color choices are limited. Online stores are likely to have a better selection. You can click any of the pictures above to check out the availability of your chosen styles and colors at Amazon. There is also a great selection of the Amanda jeans at eBay you may want to check out.

There's only one thing I did not like about my jeans. They had way too many tags and labels to remove. Most came off easily, but not this one. It was firmly stuck and only came off piece by piece. But don't let label removal discourage you. They probably stick those babies on to make life a bit harder for shoplifters.


Long Label Was Hard to Remove. © B. Radisavljevic 


Isn't it time to buy a new pair of jeans? 


Gloria Vanderbilt Jeans for Pear-Shaped Women: A Review

***


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Stuffed Elephant Toy Reviewed

 For A Child Who Loves Elephants

African Elephants from Pixabay.com
Today, I am reviewing a stuffed elephant toy that I want to get for my 5 year old granddaughter. This post will be more than just about a toy, though. Last spring my granddaughter and her Mom visited Disney World where she learned of the plight of our elephants. Bless her little heart she took the information quite seriously and has vowed to save the elephants! 

She is so serious about it that she wants to create a vlog to get the word out to everyone she can. When asked what her goal was she said, "I want all of the children to know about the killing of the elephants because if we don't do something my kids won't have any elephants." Did I mention that she is 5 years old? She and her Mommy figured out that with 35,000 elephants killed each year that by the time she is 19 there will be no more elephants in the wild. I know that I am her Grandmother and a little biased but I think this is pretty impressive for one so young. 

So, I am doing what I can to help her learn about elephants by giving her books and films about real elephants. I also want her to be able to cuddle with an elephant and that is why I came up with the idea to get her a stuffed one. 

I have always been fond of the Jellycat line of stuffed toys so I immediately searched for one from that company. 

I know from having purchased stuffed animals made by this UK firm before that they are made with care and are quite durable. I think she will like this one because it sort of resembles the African elephant with the large ears. He looks so sweet and soft and I am curious to hear what she names him. There is no doubt in my mind that he will have center stage on her bed!

I want to applaud Disney for educating children not just about elephants but about our environment as a whole. They do quite an impressive job as witnessed by how much they affected my granddaughter. This child has taken all of this to heart and can quote so many statistics about elephants that it would blow your mind. She can look at a picture and tell you whether the elephant is from Africa or Asia. She can tell you why elephants are so important to the eco system. Her passion for this project not only touches my soul but makes me want to help her.

I knew that poaching elephants for their tusks was a horrible problem but hadn't really given it too much thought other than to think what an awful situation. Now, that my little granddaughter has decided that she can save them; I have learned so much more. Most of the information is brought to me from the mouth of a 5 year old who has the determination of a 35 year old!

I keep thinking that on a trip where you would think that a 5 year old would come back with tales of the Princesses, the rides, and the characters of Disney that what she came away with was the desire to save the elephants. As I said, I am biased but she is one very incredible child! She is already showing us that she will be a leader of some sort. She will not just sit by and let things happen; she will be an activist when it comes to changing things for the better.

Perhaps you could help her and the elephants by teaching your children and grandchildren about elephants.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, November 28, 2016

Butterfly Christmas Tree Ornaments - A Beautiful Holiday Theme

butterfly ornaments christmas tree
Butterfly Christmas Ornament Photo by Louanne Cox
of  Lous Designs.com
Have you ever heard of butterfly Christmas tree ornaments? I had never thought of adding butterflies onto my Christmas tree until recently when I saw this tree (pictured) decorated in a local store with it's large silver butterfly ornaments on it.

This year we've been treated to record numbers of Caper White butterflies in our garden along with the usual Common Crow, Orchard Swallowtail and just a couple of Monarchs so I'm very pro-butterflies at the moment!

There's just something magical about butterflies and the way they flit around, there's also something magical about Christmas which means they're a perfect fit!

There are lots of different types of butterfly Xmas ornaments around so I've just selected a few that I like the look of to share with you and think about how to incorporate them on your Christmas tree.  Let's review some of the gorgeous ornaments I've found including glass ornaments, silver ornaments and bright ornaments....

Glass Butterfly Christmas Ornaments



I love this glass butterfly ornament for a couple of reasons (besides the fact that it's gorgeous that is!), one is that it can be personalized which means it can be used to commemorate an occasion/person or be used as a gift idea.

The second reason is that it's clear so you can use it with any color scheme on your tree and it will reflect the other decorations beautifully. This ornament is definitely on my short list for adding these gorgeous creatures to my tree for the holidays.

I also like the idea of getting a set of butterfly Christmas ornaments and I thought this next set of three was absolutely gorgeous.   My daughter would have found them very pretty when she was younger (as a teen I'm not sure what her thoughts would be now!)

glass butterfly christmas ornaments


Set of 3 Colorful Glass Butterfly Christmas OrnamentsSet of 3 Colorful Glass Butterfly Christmas Ornaments
Each of these gorgeous ornaments has hand painted detail on them and also come with a silver cord for hanging.

Reading through the reviews it sounds as though these ornaments are a nice weight for hanging on the tree which is really good. I definitely think these make my short list for butterfly Christmas ornaments, now I just have to convince my hubby that I need even more ornaments for our trees.

One of the happy customers also mentioned adding this set of butterflies to a set of hummingbird Christmas ornaments to pop on their tree which has me thinking 'ooh hummingbirds'! I do think that these ornaments would look great with any bird ornaments, but they would also look good as a change from the 'standard' bauble style ornament as well.


Silver Butterfly Christmas Ornaments


Adding Sparkle to Your Holidays!

As it was a silver looking (although not genuine silver) ornament that first made me aware of butterfly Christmas tree ornaments I just had to include some here and there are certainly a lot to choose from starting with this following set found on Amazon.....




It doesn't tell me what these ornaments are made of, but looking at them I think they look very lightweight and certainly not a really high quality ornament (although I could be wrong),  I do like this set of 6 though because it looks very similar to the large ornament I saw in the store I mentioned.

I could see these ornaments shining on my white Christmas tree with my 'vintage colors' bauble style ornaments that I purchased earlier in the year.   These are dusky muted pinks, muted golds, very pale blue colored ball ornaments.  They are remarkably similar in color to the other ornaments used on the tree I featured in the introduction image.

Another idea of silver butterfly ornaments are the range of filigree ones that are available like this in loving memory one -



So do you think you'll be hanging a few butterflies on your Christmas tree this year?  I'm hooked on the idea, I just have to get it past hubby as he does think I have too many Christmas ornaments (I didn't realize that too many existed!)


How to Showcase Your Butterfly Christmas Ornaments

The best way to showcase your butterfly ornaments really depends on which ornament you choose and how many.   Since I've been looking for some of these ornaments I've come across a few different images including a tree that was heavily laden with butterfly ornaments (and no other type) in lots of bright colors.

A combination of butterfly and floral ornaments on your tree will help to give a feel of spring to your Christmas tree which will make it unique.

Although I'm thinking of adding any I buy to a white tree, I do think a green tree would best suit butterfly ornaments.   Having said that silver butterflies on a black tree would look very dramatic.

Let me know how you think butterfly ornaments should be showcased on a Christmas tree.

Before we go though let me share a few gorgeous butterfly ornaments that I've found on Etsy (I do love that site, but my savings account doesn't!)



Oh, I so NEED a third Christmas tree!  You can find me indulging in my love of Christmas ornaments at Christmas Tree Ideas.

Butterfly Christmas tree ornaments




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, November 27, 2016

Furniture That Doubles for You and Your Pet

Aquarium Coffee Table
Two Solutions in One

Did You Know You Can Find Furniture that Doubles as Home Decor for You, and Provides a Space for Your Pet?

These days living space, particularly in urban centers, is at a premium.

As an example, at the time of writing, the average price of a 1 bedroom apartment with under 700 square feet of living space in New York City is generally over $3000 per month.

Certainly those living in apartments find themselves struggling to allocate space for their pets. Heck, we're in a good sized home and struggled to find practical room for our doggie without compromising our home's overall decor.

For those who are sticklers about flow and decorating coordination, there are furniture items that double as a space for pets as well as serve a purpose for our own use.

An Aquarium Coffee Table:

Well, aren't these cool! When you visit this product's link above, you'll notice they come in coffee table or end table designs.

You can use an end-table fish tank on either side of a bed or couch, or just use the coffee table design in a main room. Granted, these items can be pricey, however, they're meant to solve space issues as well as create interest and house our fishy pets.
A Coffee Table Pet House &
Additional Designs Featured Here

The lovely added benefit of a coffee table fish tank is the beautiful relaxing water and ambient lighting they provide. Essentially, they're a constant night light.

They not only work for residential properties, but are also an excellent idea for business foyers or as added interest and decor in an elaborate office.

End Tables that Double as Beds for Cats or Dogs:

This is a fantastic solution when finding a bed space for your fur baby is an issue.

When your home doesn't practically allow for your pet's bed, coffee table pet cubbies solve the problem.

Many of us who have or have had pets know they often sleep under the table, and most certainly YOU CAN create your own pet bed directly under any open table.

However, if you need an enclosed space for your pet that features a door, there are several lovely coffee table pet designs to choose from. You can see some of these additional choices when you visit the above linked photo featuring a coffee table pet house.

If you have dog cages in your home to house your pet for a few hours while you're out or at bedtime, you know only too well how these items can disrupt the overall look of a room.

That's where lovely coffee table cages provide the perfect solution: They'll blend with the design of your room and provide a lovely dog/cat house for your pet.

There are always solutions for creative space management - Check out these additional ways you can maximize space for just about anything in the home:





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, November 26, 2016

A Review of Sports-Related Soft Toys for Tiny Tots

Plush Sports Throw Pillows

Is dad or big brother or sister a sports fan, or does your family participate in sports?  The littlest family members love to imitate and these sports-related soft toys are just the thing for little brother/baby sister to feel a part of the sports world the rest of the family enjoys.

When a new baby is born, how many times have you heard the new dad say "I'm going to get him a bat and ball and teach him baseball" (or football or basketball).   Or the big brother who plays soccer has a little brother or sister who wants to play too.  



The regular sized sports equipment is too big for little ones to use.  And babies & toddlers need toys that are soft for safety. The sports toy suggestions presented here are just the thing for the smallest family members.


First Sports Bag

 

My First Sports Bag
This 5-piece playset is recommended for ages 6 months to 5 years

It's never too early to start practicing to be an all-star! Perfect for one of baby's first toys and other younger siblings who want to imitate the big brother or sister who is into ball sports! 

This soft-sided bag includes a soft baseball that crinkles, a basketball that rattles, a soccer ball that boings, and a football that squeaks.   The balls all fit inside a colorful bag complete with touch and close fasteners for secure storage.

Baby Gund My First Sports Bag is a fun stuffed sports-related toy for babies and toddlers.



My First Golf Bag

 

My First Golf Bag Playset

A Sporty Plush Playset for ages one month to 5 years


The next pro golfer in your family can start to practice at an early age with this four-piece playset that has a soft 6" golf bag with touch and close fastener, a plush golf club, a tee and a ball that rattles.

Made by Gund, My First Golf Bag Playset is just what your junior duffer needs to score a (mini) hole-in-one.


First Tackle Box


My First Tackle Box Toy


This plush tackle box toy is recommended for children from 6 months to 5 years

Is grandpa or dad a fisherman?  Kids want to watch when grandpa is tying flies for his fly fishing trip or dad is checking out his tacklebox for a fishing day at the lake.  Give your toddler his very own tackle box that is soft and safe for him to play with while you are working with yours. 

This plush toy tackle box is just the right size for the youngest anglers, measuring about 7" long and 4" high. It also has a handle for carrying around.

Three soft play pieces come with the tackle box and fit inside.  There is a cute plush worm that crinkles, a little blue fish that squeaks, and, of course, a fishing pole.  The fishing pole has a red bobber that has a touch & grab white ring which makes it easy for baby to 'catch' the fish! 

First Tackle Box is a GUND plush playset for the smallest 'anglers'.

Soft Toys by GUND and Melissa & Doug


All three of the soft playsets with a sports theme shown here are made by Gund, a company that has been known as the 'World's Most Huggable' since 1898. For more than a century, GUND has been creating unique teddy bears and other soft toys recognized the world over for their quality and innovation.

The plush basketball, baseball, soccer ball and football shown in the opening photo are sports throw pillows by Melissa & Doug, a well-known company of quality products since their beginning in 1988. Decorate a child's bedroom with these sports pillows, or toss them around as soft ball toys.



It's Holiday Shopping Time!


For more toy suggestions for the children on your shopping list, check out the items in the 'Holiday Gift Guide: Online Shopping Directory' from our Review This! contributors. 




(c) Wednesday Elf 11/26/2016








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.