Friday, March 24, 2017

Clever Travel Companion Women's Tank Top & T-Shirts with Secret Pockets Reviewed

http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2017/03/clever-travel-companion-womens-tank-top.html
Almost a year ago, I introduced our readers to Clever Travel Companion Leggings for women.  When I wrote that review, I knew I loved those leggings more than any other single garment in my wardrobe.  The safety factor alone simply makes those leggings priceless.  Today, I would recommend that you also take a close look at the Clever Travel Companion Tank Tops and T-Shirts. 

I personally own several of the Clever Travel Companion Tank Tops and one of the t-shirts.   I originally bought the tank top to wear while cutting the grass.  Everyone knows what a hot job yard-work can be, so I have no doubt that you will understand why I wanted a tank top.  Plus, I needed a tank top that would give me full coverage.  After all, I still have to consider that we have neighbors and most of them have no desire to be flashed.

I know you are already wondering why this particular tank top is better than any other.  Well, let me tell you.


The Clever Travel Companion Women's Tank Top 


As I previously mentioned, I own several of the tank tops.  I wanted the white for my outdoor work.  White is simply cooler in the summer months.  However, I discovered this little top was a lot more valuable than a simple work shirt!  Now, I wear them year round. 
 Clever Travel Companion Unisex Tank Top with Two Secret PocketsCheck Price
I wear my Clever Travel Companion tank tops under almost all of my blouses.  I don't have to explain to any woman why a tank top is fabulous under a blouse.  I never have to worry if the buttons come unbuttoned or if the blouse pulls open between buttons.  Everything is all nice and covered underneath by the tank top.  This much we all know and understand.  But what makes this brand of tank top better?  The secret pockets!

In all honestly, if anyone looks closely enough, they will see the zippers for the pockets.  They are not totally camouflaged.  But, I will tell you this, anyone studying that part of the shirt better be more concerned about my reaction than they are about whether they can see a zipper.  

The pockets are actually just under the arms and the zippers are set approximately 1.5" in front of the center seam of the top.   Clever Travel Companion Unisex Tank Top with Two Secret Pockets, White, MediumCheck PriceBecause of the way the pockets are set in sideways, it is very easy to place my drivers license and house key in one pocket and my cell phone on the other side in the other pocket.  This allows me to lock up the house while I am working outside.  And, of course, if I am going somewhere, there is no need to carry a purse.

I have to tell you, being able to place all of those things in shirt pockets is a lot better than putting them in my jeans pockets.  For some reason, I have never been able to find a way to put my cell phone and house key in my jeans pockets without having them ride up and out of the pockets while I am working.  Or jabbing me in the leg.  I don't know if you have ever experienced having a key stab you in the leg when you are trying to lift garbage bags or plants, but I have and it really hurts.


The Clever Travel Companion T-Shirt


I recently purchased the Clever Travel Companion T-Shirt to wear under my motorcycle gear.  Now, don't freak out on me here fellow contributors.  I know you find it shocking that I have motorcycle gear, but I do.  I don't drive a motorcycle, but I do ride and I am a firm believer in safety first.  I have a full set of armored cycle gear.  After all, I am rather partial to my bones and skin. 

The secret pockets in the t-shirt allow me to store my keys, driver's license, a credit card and my cell phone.  If I take my jacket off when we stop somewhere, I don't have to worry about those items because they are safe in my t-shirt pockets.   



Benefits of the Clever Travel Companion Tank Tops & T-Shirts

  • 2 Secret Pockets with Zippers
  • Pockets are Lined
  • Safe from Pick Pockets
  • 100% Cotton (tank) 
  • 95% Cotton & 5%Spandex (t-shirt)
  • Machine Washable
  • Hang Dry or Tumble Dry Low
  • Available in Black, White or Gray 
  • T-Shirt is also Available in Pink    

I know at least one of you is going to ask me if I feel uncomfortable reaching into those pockets.  Or, if the bulk of my cell phone bothers me under my arm.   The answer to both of those questions is "no".  I am a lot more comfortable knowing that my key, id, credit cards, cash and keys are safe than I am concerned about someone seeing me reach into a pocket under my arm.


More Travel Related Articles of Interest

Review of Clever Travel Companion LeggingsThe Clever Travel Companion Leggings
Security is my #1 concern when I shop, travel, hike, bike, or just walk around the block. These leggings give me the safety of 2 hidden pockets and allow me to retire my purses completely.

How to Pack for Your VacationHow to Pack for Your Vacation
Pack Right, Pack Light My traveling motto is “To Pack Right, Pack Light.” After you have made you travel plans, one of the hardest things to do is pack your suitcase for the trip. Here are my best packing tips!

Travel TipsTips for Traveling
Tips from an Experienced Traveler! In this article, I will share my best travel advice and tips for traveling to help reduce the stress related to travel, which will help ensure a successful vacation.


 



Review of the Clever Travel Companion Women's Tank Tops & T-Shirts with Secret Pockets Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, March 23, 2017

Review of The Heart of the Ocean Necklace

 The Famous Heart of the Ocean Necklace

Titanic Heart of the Ocean Necklace

The Heart of the Ocean Necklace is an iconic piece of jewelry from the blockbuster movie, Titanic. This ocean diamond necklace is probably the most famous necklace in movie history. And the Heart of the Ocean diamond necklace worn by Kate Winslet in the movie Titanic is a piece of that cinematic history. 

Although you might not be able to afford the original Heart of the Ocean pendant (even if it were for sale), you can find Titanic Heart of the Ocean replica jewelry online that is sure to dazzle and sparkle just like Kate's did in the movie.

The famous Blue heart necklace is featured in both films, the original from 1948 and the newer movie featuring Leonardo Dicaprio and Kate Winslet in 1997. Both movies feature a heart ocean pendant. If you like the Blue heart necklace that looks like the one from the Titanic movie you can find one here in a variety of colors.

A diamond Titanic heart in Blue, Pink or Crystal clear is a gorgeous and elegant fashion jewelry piece. The Pink Titanic heart replica of the original Blue heart necklace is stunning and would look amazing for prom. There is also a Crystal clear diamond Titanic heart that can be worn by a bride on her wedding day. The famous Titanic necklace replica is a beautiful addition to your jewelry box. If you already know you want it now, click here!



If I can stop one heart from breaking, I shall not live in vain.
~Emily Dickinson

The Heart of the Ocean Necklace in Blue
Blue Sapphire Heart of the Ocean Pendant


In Titanic, The Heart of the Ocean necklace was one of the stars of the movie, central to tying the present exploration to the past and its heartbreaking story. That Blue heart necklace was not only beautiful, it signified the life Rose gave up for the love she chose instead of the arranged one of her mother.


Pink Heart of the Ocean Necklace


Wouldn't this Pink Heart of the Ocean Necklace be perfect for prom, or a wedding, or the opera? If you are more a Pink type than a Blue type, this Pink Heart Crystal replica of the Heart of the Ocean is just your style. I love Pink myself, might have to get two necklaces!


There is no charm equal
to tenderness of heart
~Jane Austen

Clear Heart of the Ocean Necklace 
Titanic Crystal Heart


Do you like ice jewelry? If so you can have a heart ocean pendant in clear and still have the Titanic Heart necklace experience! Looks like a diamond Titanic heart!



Red Heart of the Ocean Necklace 
Red Titanic Heart Necklace


Ruby Red Heart of the Ocean Necklace is dazzling and will work with many looks, but Red goes really well with Twilight style, or for a bold statement for any dressy occasion. The one pictured here is fine jewelry, but if you are looking for costume jewelry, just click it to see more choices.



More Colors of The Heart of the Ocean Necklace
Heart of the Ocean Sets


There are lots of other colors available in the iconic style of the Heart of the Ocean, so if you have a different one in mind, just click any necklace photo on this page to see more. There are sets too, featuring earrings and in a few cases, bracelets. It's such a beautiful design, don't you agree? I am having a hard time choosing the best color to get!



Wherever you go,
go with all your heart.
~Confucius

Titanic, the Epic Movie
One of the Most Romantic Films of all Time

The Heart of the Ocean is the necklace central to the story in the Titanic. It is one of the threads running through the movie, and a symbol of what Rose gave up to be with the man she loved. The movie won all kinds of awards and is a tearjerker for sure. A love story for the ages, so well told. It's one of my favorite movies of all time. Celine Dion's fantastic song, "My Heart Will Go On" is featured in the Titanic movie.


History of The Titanic Heart of the Ocean Necklace
The Famous Titanic Necklace


The Heart of the Ocean (also known as Le Coeur de la Mer) is the name of a fictitious Blue diamond featured prominently in the 1997 film Titanic.
Historically, there was a Blue diamond pendant on the Titanic. It was given to RMS Titanic passenger Kate Florence Phillips by her married lover, Samuel Morley, as the pair fled to America to make a new life for themselves.

Morley perished in the sinking, and it is believed that this tragic love story was the inspiration for James Cameron's film. The necklace has recently been featured in many Titanic exhibits.

London based jewelers Asprey and Garrard created the necklace used during the filming with a Blue cubic zirconia set in White gold. The cost of the necklace was approximately $10,000. Today, it resides in Twentieth Century Fox's archives. They were also commissioned during the release in 1997 to make a real "Heart of the Ocean" necklace using the original design. The result was a platinum-set, 170-carat (34 g) heart-shaped Ceylon sapphire surrounded by a row of 65 round diamonds, totaling 36 carats (7.2 g).

The necklace was valued at $3.5 million. It was sold at a benefit auction for the Diana, Princess of Wales Memorial Fund and Southern California's Aid For AIDS for $2.2 million, with the condition that Celine Dion would wear it to the 1998 Academy Awards ceremony. She sang the film's theme song "My Heart Will Go On." The necklace now belongs to the daughter of a wealthy Asprey client.

During the same period, jeweler Harry Winston used a 15-carat (3.0 g) Blue diamond in his interpretation of the "Heart of the Ocean" necklace. This $20 million necklace was worn by Gloria Stuart to the 1998 Academy Awards. (She played the older Rose in the movie.)

~Excerpted from The Heart of the Ocean at Wikipedia.com. Visit for more fascinating history about this famous necklace.

More jewelry gifts are available here: Best Toys and Gifts

The way is not in the sky.
The way is in the heart.
~Buddha




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

5 Ways to Guarantee Hummingbirds will Come to You! Feeder Reviews

Hummingbird Feeders and Bright Red Plants are the best way to ensure that these little birds will indeed find you!

Everyone loves these little birds who fly thousands of miles to visit their summer homes.  We will review a few of the ways to entice these little birds to visit and maybe even call your backyard their home for the season.  
                                                 https://pixabay.com/en/hummingbird-feeding-beak-bird-2069273/

Every gardener I know loves to have a backyard full of birds, bird houses and bird feeders.  Nothing thrills them as much as the return of the elusive hummingbirds that flit through the air like little dashes of light.  The whole idea of having these little birds in the garden makes me happy.

So what's the secret to having them come and stay a while? 

First and foremost, you have to make your yard more appealing to these little birds.  If they feel you are putting out a welcome mat, they just might come to visit.  If they like what they find, they will probably stay a while.  So let's see what we can do to make them feel welcome.

Knowledge about their likes and dislikes!

Hummingbirds are migratory birds.  They do not stay all season long in the north, it's too cold for them.  But once spring and summer arrive, they do head north for a visit.  They will come and breed, stay for the summer and then head back to the south for the winter.  Hummingbirds are tiny little creatures that weigh just a few ounces.  They require lots of nectar to keep them going.  Their metabolism is one of the fastest working metabolisms that you will ever find.  They need lots of nectar to keep them flying.

That is the first secret to attracting the hummers to your yard.  You need to provide a source or two of that nectar that they must have to live.
 
The second secret is to have lots of colors that hummers like in your yard.  This can be done by attaching red or orange colored ribbons to trees and bushes.  The hummers as they are headed north, scope out these colors and are attracted by them.  They assume there are flowers full of nectar for their feeding purposes.

The third secret is to then have lots of plants that are in fact good nectar producers.  Feeders are great, but they also like plants,  they will use the soft leaves and petals for their nests and spider webs to hold them all together.  So leave those spider webs out there.  

The fourth secret is to have lots of hummingbird feeders in your yard.  When plants are dying back and not producing flowers full of nectar, the hummers will need an alternative source of nectar. Hummingbirds can also be quite possessive and will fight over the feeders.  It's better to have one too many feeders than not enough.  If you set them out, they will come. 

The fifth secret is to have a water source handy.  They love fountains or water misters.
If you don't believe me watch this short video and you will see the difference that a water feature can make...Hummer's Bathing and Drinking Station.

Have you ever wondered why Hummingbird feeders are always red and yellow in color?

The quick answer is that these are the colors that really attract hummers.  Many red and reddish-orange plants are great nectar providers.  This color can be spotted by the hummers from miles away.  If you have red flowers and feeders in your yard, they will make a beeline for your yard.  Even before the flowers are in bloom in your area, put out some hummingbird feeders and they will find you.  Once summer is in full swing, the flowers will enhance their nectar likes.

What are the best flowers to grow for hummingbirds?

As stated earlier, red, reddish-orange and red with yellow flowers are the favorite colors for hummers. Some of the flowers and vines that fit this bill will be:
Columbines, Salvias, Cardinal climbers, Agastache, Liatris, Bees Balm, Trumpet vines, Morning Glories, Scarlet Runner Beans, and Honeysuckles.

One year I planted a whole row of Canna across my front garden.  I was delighted when I was out there and a hummingbird was right by my ear.  I could hear his wings flapping and I watched in delight as he swooped in and out of the flower row.

What are the best feeders for hummingbirds?


First Nature 3055 32-ounce Hummingbird FeederFirst Nature 3055 32-ounce Hummingbird Feeder
Hummingbird feeders are usually red in color to attract the birds as they are flying. They can spot this color from far away and will make a straight path to the feeders they find easily. Filled with sugar water they are an instant boost for their feeding needs.













It is not necessary to add red food coloring to the sugar water contained in the feeders. Some experts suggest that the red food coloring actually harms the birds. All you need is one part sugar to 3 parts water to keep the hummingbirds happy. You make your own syrup by boiling these two ingredients and then cooling the mixture.  Placed in the feeders the birds will be super happy.

Having more than one feeder in your yard will keep the birds from fighting over the food supply.
Hummingbird feeders need to be kept clean. If the sugar water stands for more than a day or two it may become contaminated. This will make the birds sick. So once you start to put out food for them, you must remain attentive to the feeders.
They are easy to clean with soapy water, rinse them well and refill them with nectar. Hang them back outside.



As you can see with these examples of hummingbird feeders, all of them have wide openings so that cleaning them out will be much easier.  I have purchased hummingbird feeders that are more artistic looking, but they are impossible to clean completely.  I don't want to harm the birds with unclean feeders.  These are my favorites from the ones available through Amazon.

The Migration of Hummingbirds for 2017






As you can see from the map, the Hummingbirds are already on their way north.  This is the current map for 2017 and you can log when you see your first hummer on the map by going to this site:
Migration Map 2017

It is part of the link below and will allow you to enter your information.  Will you be the first one in your state to log a sighting?
A Great Resource for Hummingbird Lovers


The BBC has amazing nature videos available and the one I have highlighted for you below is wonderful.  In our climate we don't have all the beautiful hummingbirds that are in the world, so you can enjoy and see some of the other species of hummers and their beautiful plumage.  Some species are really quite impressive in both color and their way of life.  It's a great resource for sure.

Super Hummingbirds BBC

My Conclusions


Putting up hummingbird feeders is a little bit of work, but it is worth the time and trouble when you are treated to the sight of these little miracles flitting about in your backyard.  The most important thing is to keep the feeders clean and filled.

I love my hummingbirds and will do everything in my power to make sure they know they are welcomed into my yard.  How about you?  Will you put up a feeder or two?  I can assure you that once you have been treated to hummingbirds in your yard, you will want them to come back again and again.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

Jhirmack Silver Plus Shampoo Reviewed

Great Shampoo For Gray, Blonde, or Bleached Hair

My choice of shampoo happens to be Jhirmack Silver Plus. I have been using this shampoo for quite a long time to help my graying hair look better. 

I wish that I had inherited my paternal grandmother's hair which was the most beautiful white. My father also has gorgeous white hair. I, on the other hand, got my mother's genes when it came to hair. My hair has a mousy kind of dull look if I do not use the Silver Plus shampoo by Jhirmack. As you can see from the picture on the left, the shampoo brightens my hair and gives it a nice white look. 

I am not embarrassed to have gray hair, in fact I embrace the aging color that adorns my head. I sometimes laugh that I would never consider trying to hide the gray because I have earned every single gray hair on my head. I don't mind being gray, but I do want it to look nice and not dull and unattractive in color.

Silver Plus is formulated for gray, blonde, bleached or highlighted hair. The shampoo has a purple color and there is something about that purple that tones down any brassy or yellow tones in the hair. 

The shampoo has Green Tea Extract and Folic Acid which help to strengthen and condition my hair. Macadamia Nut Oil moisturizes my rough and limp hair without making my scalp feel greasy. I find that I do not need to use a conditioner when using this shampoo but it may depend on how easily your hair might tangle whether you will need a conditioner or not. It is enough for my hair.

So, if you would like to tone down any brassiness to your hair or help your graying hair look whiter, I highly recommend this shampoo by Jhirmack called Silver Plus.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Monday, March 20, 2017

Is Elvis Alive? Losing Graceland Book Review


Losing Graceland: What Would Elvis Be Like If He Were Alive?


For the life of me, I cannot explain exactly why I read Losing Graceland: A Novel. I know why I picked it up - in part because it is a fictional story about what Elvis might be like if he had faked his death and was still alive and in part because I have always been interested in Elvis Presley.

Of course, you cannot and probably should not judge a book by the cover and in this case sandwiched between the two covers was some content that I was not comfortable with. That's your warning. This book has sexual content that might make you uncomfortable. It did me. And did I mention violence? There is some of that, too.

But still, I read it right through to the end. Something compelled me to keep reading. I wanted to know what would happen to the aging Elvis impersonator (who might really be Elvis) and the young man he hired to help him find his granddaughter. The adventures were entertaining. Along the road there was a fight with biker gangs (and befriend them), a visit with an oracle and a battle to save a hooker from her pimp.

At first glance, this book is a light read but it also deals with two interesting lives: that of an old man whose body is unwell, who has an addiction to pain killers and who lives with an incredible legacy and that of a young man who is heart broken and unemployed.

Reviews of this book are a mixed bag with most people saying they enjoyed reading it. Take one old man with a lifetime of regrets, add a young man with his future before him and what do you have? An emotional story, perhaps a bit too short. If you're a fan of Elvis, the consensus of the reviews is that this is an enjoyable lightweight fictional story. It will make you think about what Elvis Presley might be like today if he were still alive.

Click here to order your copy of Losing Graceland: A Novel from Amazon.

What would Elvis Presley be like if he were alive?


I want to close by telling you about a scene in this book when Elvis takes the stage at an impersonator contest and the crowd really goes wild just as though they were seeing the real Elvis.  A lady faints. A young mother hardly knows her child needs her. Another woman screams that she cannot breathe. Two men have a fist fight. A young girl vomits. Hands grope on stage for Elvis. The crowd screams. The announcer begs people to be calm. Elvis leaves the stage and says to his travelling companions, "Heartbreaker still breaking hearts. You like my show?" I did like your show, Elvis, and I will admit, you gave me goosebumps.

If Elvis was still alive, he would be 82 today. I think that it would be interesting if he were still alive, although not so much if he was in the condition of the impersonator in Losing Graceland. I cannot help but wonder what it must have been like to have seen Elvis Presley in person. What was it like to be Elvis Presley? And finally, what would he be like today if he were still alive?

What do you think Elvis Presley would have done with the rest of his life if he had lived past the age of 42?

Brenda
Treasures By Brenda

More Elvis Presley Reading


The Best Elvis Presley Movies
Elvis Presley starred in 31 movies and 2 concert documentary films all of which were released in movie theatres. On this page, we celebrate the three of the films that are considered his best...

Elvis Presley Christmas Duets
In 2008, long after his death, Elvis Presley released this album, Elvis Presley Christmas Duets on which he could be heard singing Christmas songs with some of today's top female vocalists. Learn more...

The Elvis Presley Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich ...
Understandably, residents of Tennessee feel a sense of pride when they think of their home state. There are many iconic things that have come out of Tennessee: the Vols, Kenny Chesney, the 1982 World's Fair, and the Elvis Sandwich...

Copyright 2011 Treasures By Brenda


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Sunday, March 19, 2017

Add this Unexpected Piece to Complete a Dollhouse Themed Room

Personally, a Dollhouse Themed Bedroom would be My Second Favorite Theme for a Little Girls Room (The First Being a Barbie Theme)

Being a little girl in the 60's and 70's may be the reason I grew up to love Dollhouses and Barbies, however my independent nature tells me the real reason is .. I simply loved both.

I look back and remember how fortunate I was to have a mom who decorated my room in a way I wanted; It was a purple, pink and white room with hand painted purple and pink furnishings and best of all, a purple shag rug! For the 1970's where shag rugs were the thing, a purple shag rug went against the grain of the colors of the day which were Avocado Green and Harvest Gold.

Best of all, I had a fabulous collection of Barbies; and mom even knit clothes for them! Next to Barbies, dolls and dollhouses were my fave - In fact, anything dolls; dollhouses for Barbies, life size dollhouses, clothes for dolls, furniture for dolls, and paperdolls - especially paperdolls!

Time marched on, and being the mom of four sons, I never had the chance to create a dollhouse themed space for a daughter.

Seriously, I could go nuts today creating a dollhouse themed space - the décor choices are almost endless! However in dollhouse décor one of the most unique pieces to add is a dollhouse area rug. Why? because it's unexpected, and not often incorporated into a room.

Floor Décor Grounds a Space, Literally and Figuratively

Most of the time we consider a dollhouse rug for a child's playroom or play corner, and of course, that works, however, imagine the impact if used as the focal point in a bedroom.

Depending upon the dollhouse rug, most come in a variety of sizes. With the average bedroom size tending to be 10ft by 12ft, a dollhouse rug of at least 5ft by 7ft can anchor the space and provide enough detail and color to draw out from to complete the room.

The impression of a busy, colorful artistic rug defines the space. The additional dollhouse themed items complete the room, but the rug serves multiple purposes; it adds warmth, texture, color, playful interest, and most of all is a functional piece of art.

We all know that floors, walls and windows are the fundamental space definers, however, choosing pieces that also double as art, or make a stylistic contribution, takes a space from 'eh to wow.












Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Saturday, March 18, 2017

Civil War On Sunday - Young Readers Book Review

This review is of book #21 (Civil War on Sunday) in the Magic Tree House series by Mary Pope Osborne 


Available on Amazon

Last week my son & family visited me in Savannah, Georgia. We did a number of 'tourist' type things in and around the area.  

One of these was a tour of Fort Pulaski National Monument, a Civil War landmark located on Cockspur Island between Savannah and Tybee Island, Georgia. 


Fort Pulaski National Monument


Naturally the tour ended up in the gift shop where my 7-year-old second-grade grandson David found a children's book about Civil War times that he fell in love with. Of course his dad bought it for him, as it's easy to agree to buying a book when you want to encourage reading in children. 

Well, you can't believe how this book excited David. Within the next 4 days he had read this 96-page paperback book all the way through twice and was on his third reading. 


David carried this book everywhere all week. He even insisted on taking it out to breakfast at a restaurant on River Street in Savannah, and it later got accidentally left behind in the Visitors Center bathroom as we walked the length of Savannah's famous River Street.  Luckily we figured out the last time anyone noticed he had been carrying it (right outside the Visitors Center) and looked there first before we left to drive home about two hours later.  

David was nearly in tears thinking his beloved book was lost and wanted to immediately return to Fort Pulaski to buy another copy! Happily the book was found safe & sound at the Visitors Center.


Chapter Book for Children

Magic Tree House List of Books (Children's Books Wiki)

The book "Civil War on Sunday" is part of the Magic Tree House book series by Mary Pope Osborne.  The series is numbered (this one is Magic Tree House #21) and features two children (Jack & Annie) who appear to have 'back in time' adventures through a Magic Tree House at their Frog Creek, Pennsylvania home. 

The Magic Tree House series are beginner chapter books for children in grade levels 1-4 who are just graduating to longer books and more exciting adventures. 

This particular book has Jack & Annie transported magically to a field near the Civil War fighting in Richmond, Virginia where they meet Clara Barton, become volunteer nurses and save the life of their very own great-great-great-grand-father. This story allows 6-9 year olds to learn the basics of Civil War history while enjoying an interesting tale. It's obvious this series of books is written in a way that will capture a young reader's attention, as shown by the immense and immediate interest my grandson David has shown.



Author Mary Pope Osborne


Mary & Will Osborne (Wikipedia Public Domain)
Mary Pope Osborne is a strong proponent of children's literature and her Magic Tree House series of books is highly regarded by parents, teachers and libraries for their power to instill a passion for reading in children.  Osborne has written over 100 books for children and young adults from novels to picture books and from biographies to mysteries.


The Magic Tree House Series

 

Magic Tree House Boxed Set

The Magic Tree House Series introduces the world to Jack and Annie, a brother and sister who discover a magical tree house filled with books. 

Mary's Magic Tree House books have been written in conjunction with her sister, Natalie Pope Boyce, and her husband, Will Osborne. The fiction series are supplemented by the Fast Tracker Series as the perfect way for kids to find out more about the topics they discover in their favorite Magic Tree House adventures. They are nonfiction stories designed to give young readers a fun and easy way to find out more about their favorite places, time periods, and subjects.  The series includes subjects from history (such as the Civil War, Revolutionary War and World War II), along with books about dinosaurs, Merlin and fairy tales, pirates and ninjas, animals like polar bears, lions and tigers, sports-related stories, and weather adventures like earthquakes and tornadoes! The range of topics is wide and diverse with subjects that appeal to all children.


For more information about all the books, along with games to play and suggestions for both parents and teachers, visit the Magic Tree House Website.



David is Now a BIG Fan of the Magic Tree House Series


David with his Civil War Book

Since acquiring this book about the Civil War at Fort Pulaski a little over a week ago, David  has become such a fan of the Magic Tree House Series  that his  parents have already ordered him two more books from Amazon and David has told me which one he wants next (Danger in the Darkest Hour - taking place in 1944 during World War II) as my birthday gift to him in April.  

With many, many books available in this series, I will have an easy time selecting gifts for him for some time to come. 
















Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Friday, March 17, 2017

Fairfield Road Movie Review

 Fairfield Road
Click Here to Watch on Amazon.com

Fairfield Road is one of those "feel good" movies you grab when you want a relaxing romantic story.  It doesn't require you to think real hard or really even force a moral issue.  It is simply easy viewing.

There are definitely times when life itself is requiring real focus and we want a movie we can sit down with that will take our minds off of our own dilemmas for just a little while.  A show that will allow us to relax our hearts, souls and minds, which allows us to step back into our own world again feeling better.  


Fairfield Road Movie Synopsis


As with all Hallmark original movies, Fairfield Road is a movie you can watch without worrying about language, onscreen adult behavior or gory scenes.  None of that stuff is part of the Hallmark presentations.  It truly is wonderful to have a safe source of entertainment.  

The front cover of the Fairfield Road DVD says "When Noah lost his job, he found his life."  That really is the movie in a nutshell.  
 Fairfield Road (Hallmark)
On DVD
Check Price

Noah is a high power political campaign strategist for the Boston mayor when he is given the opportunity of a lifetime.  He is hired by a senator in Washington, DC.  He immediately calls his girlfriend to tell her the good news.  She informs him, and rightfully so, that she is not going to move to Washington with him without a ring on her finger.  Therefore, Noah decides to propose marriage, and his girlfriend eagerly accepts.  However, when Noah subsequently finds out that his girlfriend has been unfaithful, he breaks that engagement and prepares to move alone.  Well, not completely alone.  He does take his dog along as he heads to Washington, DC and his new job.  Unfortunately, on the way, his cell phone rings and he is informed that his new employer, Senator Hayden has just publicly admitted he accepted illegal campaign contributions.  Therefore, Noah no longer has a job.


Without a job, a fiance, or even a home, Noah heads for Cape Cod where he had previously planned a romantic weekend with his ex-fiance.  Since he had the engagement ring shipped there to the Landing Inn on Fairfield Road, he decides he can pick up the ring and spend the time alone to consider his options and what he will do next.  It is there that he meets Hailey, and does finds the town needs his occupational expertise.

As you would expect, everything ends well, but it is fun to watch it all unfold.  




Check Out More Movie Reviews at
ReviewThisMovies.com



Fairfield Road Movie Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Thursday, March 16, 2017

Reviewing the Detective Jack Stratton Mystery Series

7 reasons I recommend the Detective Jack Stratton series by Christopher Greyson. A mystery-suspense-romance series review.

Before I came across the best-selling Jack Stratton mystery series, if you would have told me that a series exists that consists of killer plots, characters that I'd care about, murder and mystery, action and adventure, all while maintaining a moral high ground (i.e. a "clean" read), I'd say you must be dreaming. Of course I'd love that combination, but what writer could possibly pull it off?

Author Christopher Greyson did.

In fact, the author pulled off the combination in stellar fashion with the Detective Jack Stratton Mystery series. I've read all six of the current books and look forward to the seventh which is coming soon.

7 Reasons I Recommend the Jack Stratton Series by Christopher Greyson


If you're a reader but are not yet sure that the books will appeal to you, let me explain further why I believe they should be on your "must read" list. Here's my review including the top seven attributes that I appreciate about the Detective Jack Stratton mysteries and why I highly recommend this series to fans of mystery, suspense and, yes, even romance. (Looking for spoilers? You won't find them here.)

1. I care about the characters. I love series books and the key to holding my interest throughout any series is the characters. It took very few chapters of the first book for me to know that I'd be reading the entire series beginning to end. That early assessment definitely proved to be true and now I can hardly wait for the next installment to learn exactly what Jack and Alice have been up to and what comes next.

2. The story lines hold me captive and keep me reading into the night. Gotta love a book that's hard to put down.

3. The military and police connections. I can relate to both as law enforcement and military experience play a major role in my own family. Plus, Jack is around the age of my own sons, so my maternal instincts didn't take long to kick in, even in the first book.

4. Continuity through the series, yet each book stands alone. Read the books in any order that you wish, though if you prefer good chronological order start by reading the most recently published book (And Then She Was Gone) first. Referring to this book as a "prequel" would be accurate and though I read this one first, in some ways I wish I would have saved it for last. I'm currently considering re-reading it while I'm waiting for book seven in the series. (Who says you can't have it both ways?)

5. I like the action scenes. There is plenty of action throughout these books and the author does not spare the details. In fact, many of the fight scenes are described move by move. Frankly, I'm surprised that I liked the descriptive detail, but I did. It didn't bog me down as I read and it offered a clear perspective on the situations and scenes that followed.

6. The venues vary greatly by book. Although most of the stories center around Jack's hometown, you'll find action occurring in Aunt Haddie's foster home, in the dark recesses of a city park, in the bowels of a sophisticated college data and research center, among conflicting crime families crawling with assassins and hit men, in a wealthy jet-setter tycoon's amazing mansion, and even across the battlefields of Iraq.

7. The moral high ground. I prefer "clean" books that avoid profanity and sexual scenes that make me want to look away (or close the book forever). At first I wasn't sure that would be possible with this series, given the murder plots, the seriously-bad bad guys, and the police involvement and military flashback scenes. Let's face it, those topics in real life are usually accompanied by bad language and, in books and movies at least, scenes that involve descriptive sexual exploits. Not so in the Jack Stratton series and I thank the author for that and for the sweet romance that grows with the characters.

Did I mention I can hardly wait for book seven to be released? It's called Jack of Hearts. Watch for pre-order information or choose which book (Kindle or paperback edition) you want to read first from author Christopher Greyson's Amazon page.

If you've read books from the Detective Jack Stratton series, I'd love to read your impressions in a comment below.

~Susan
Read more of my reviews.


Reviewing the Detective Jack Stratton Mystery Series by Christopher Greyson
Thank you for sharing!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

Mom's New Nescafe Coffee Machine

Mom's New Nescafe Coffee Machine - the Dolce Gusto
Today I'm going to review the Dolce Gusto coffee maker that is my mom's new Nescafe Coffee Machine.   Now as you all know I'm a confirmed tea drinker, but I do also enjoy a nice coffee or a hot chocolate and this machine delivers with both.

My mom was given the Nescafe Dolce Gusto coffee maker by my brother and sister-in-law and was looking forward to seeing what I thought of her hot chocolate when I stayed (mom always makes me a hot chocolate at night when I'm at her house).   The Nescafe Dolce Gusto Chocoletto was delicious!

Mom's Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee Maker


I've seen that this coffee maker comes in sophisticated black and glamorous silver, but my mom was given a rather racy looking red which is very attention seeking in her kitchen!   The actual machine is one that takes capsules which are very popular at the moment.

Not only does the Dolce Gusto coffee maker make coffee and hot chocolate it can also make iced tea which is apparently delicious, although I didn't get around to trying that one myself.   Let's have a look at the coffee machine and see how it works.


Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee Machine - Easy to use in four simple steps


As you can see this is a sleek looking machine which is what you expect from Nescafe, but let's look at each part and talk about how they all work together to bring you whatever elixir you crave!


  1. You can see that the water is kept at the back of the machine - this is just room temperature water filled from the tap or from your purifier whichever you prefer.   A bonus with this machine is that if you forget to check if you have enough water before starting it up (lack of caffiene can cause concentration problems after all!) the machine will stop midway and allow you to add water.
  2. Here you can see where you add the pods or coffee capsules (I'm never quite sure which term to use!)  For the hot chocolate, chai latte and other specialty coffees there are two capsules required a 'coffee' one and a 'milk' one.   Nescafe make the coffee ones black and the milk ones white to make it easy to grab one of each from the box.
  3. Depending on what drink you're making it will tell you how many levels to 'dial up' on the machine - the green lights indicate the level on the Dolce Gusto machine.   When I say tell you, it doesn't actually speak but rather is shown on the capsule lid!  My niece told my mum to go up an extra level and we enjoyed it just as much doing that so I would just use their instructions as a guideline as opposed to written in stone.
  4. The final part of the Dolce Gusto coffee maker is the switch which you put to the hot or cold side depending on what you're making because this gem of a machine makes iced drinks too!   Apparently the iced tea is delicious, but I didn't try it myself as mom had a peach flavored one which I wasn't too keen on.

Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee Capsules


Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee Capsules
Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee Capsules
Let's look at the fuel of the machine, the coffee capsules or coffee pods whatever you want to call them.  They are available in a wide range of flavors and as you've seen above the Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee machine allows you to make both hot and iced drinks.

Looking on Amazon I can see a range of flavors that my mom hasn't even mentioned so I'm excited about my next trip to stay with her.........or maybe I'll just have to get one of these machines myself and call it Lou's New Nescafe Coffee Machine!

I can thoroughly recommend the Chocoletto and the Chai Tea Latte and on my next visit I want to try the Mocha because combining chocolate and coffee is just like manna from heaven in my mind!  My daughter was looking over my shoulder as I checked out what capsules were available and has decided that her Nan will just have to get some Dolce Gusto Nesquik capsules!

Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee Maker




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.