Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Monday, December 6, 2021

Reviewing Handmade Kirigami Greeting Cards by Paper Love Cards

I recently received a card with a note in the mail at my new address. I was touched by the personal letter included in the card and mesmerized by the card. I opened and closed the card repeatedly, looking at the details. Throughout the day I moved the card from one shelf to another looking for the best place to display my new miniature piece of art. This card lay flat in the envelope but when I opened it I was surprised by an exquisite butterfly on a bouquet of foliage expanding into a three-dimensional paper sculpture. I was so intrigued by the card that I immediately looked up the company information.



This card was created by Paper Love Cards. Paper Love cards are exquisite pop-up cards handcrafted by origami and kirigami artists. I am familiar with origami. Origami is the art of paperfolding and making shapes (often birds, with the crane being one of the most popular. Origami utilizes folding only, no cutting or gluing.

I first learned the term kirigami when researching these cards. Kirigami is a form of origami that includes the folding and the cutting of paper that results in three-dimensional forms. I am unclear as to whether Kirigami originated in Japan or China, but all sources report that it has a very long history. By the 17th century, it was recognized as a true art form in Asian culture and became popular in America in the 1960s and 1970s. 

Paper Love Cards

The Paper Love Cards design office is based in New York, United States while the cards are made in by origami and kirigami artists in Vietnam. They advertise "A pop of art for every occasion" and they aren't lying. The offer cards for holidays, birthdays, changes of seasons, 

These cards are suitable for recipients of all ages. The Dabbing Santa Christmas card would tickle many younger people.

Paper Love can be ordered online via their website or Amazon store and are currently sold at Walmart and Walgreens.

The card sent to me was of a butterfly design. As I opened the card, it eclosed and fully displayed itself to me. The colors are vibrant and the foliage is in many shapes. My photos do not do the dimensions and details of this card justice but perhaps they will help show some of the details better than I am able to describe. 




The Lost Art of Tangible Communication

In this day and age of a constant barrage of text messages, video chats and constant conversations in our ears via earbuds, handwritten messages are becoming a lost art. How wonderful to recieve a heartfelt message from someone who takes the time to put a card into the mail. While I am not at all good at doing this on a regular basis, I had already sent out a few handwritten messages. 

Digital communication is very important. It is instant and frequent. It helps us to remain in close and quick contact. However, tangible communication, that can be held and saved, is a special thing. Especially when that communication includes a bit of handmade art.

Special Cards for Christmas, Thank You, Birthday, and More

The wide variety of cards available is wonderful. There is literally probably something for everyone and there are so many designs to choose from. There is a brief video on the Paper Love Cards Amazon store that currently shows the opening of a Christmas card.  It also shows the small insert of paper were a brief message can be written. It is about the size of a business card. 

I would like to encourage you to take a peek in order to see how these 3D designs pop open. And to take a peek at the selection of cards so you are prepared when you shopping for an extra special card for a special someone. 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, December 5, 2021

Gingerbread Man Aprons

If you love Christmas, you'll love these gingerbread men aprons.Do you love gingerbread, gingerbread men and Christmas? If you do, you are going to love the fun gingerbread aprons that I have gathered together for you here on this page. 

I remember taking my boys to the bakery when they were little and their eyes lighting up when they saw the gingerbread men in the display case. Why not bring a little of that joy home permanently with a gingerbread man-themed apron?

We loved the original children's story by Paul Galdone. The gingerbread man is not, despite what you might think, a one-season wonder. His story actually takes place in another season and it is quite appropriate to celebrate gingerbread men all year long. 

Disney Parks Baking Spirits Bright Mickey Mouse Christmas Gingerbread Apron

Gingerbread Man All-Over Print Apron

Gingerbread Boy Green Apron perfect for Christmas.

Gingerbread Apron with a Welcoming, Warm & Cheery Feeling for Christmas!

Numerous gingerbread men march across the bottom of this apron.

  1. Baking Spirits Bright is a retired, bright red apron from the Disney Parks that features Mickey and Minnie Mouse. You can find it on eBay by clicking right here.
  2. The all-over print, full length apron with the black strap (shown second) is from CSybel on Etsy. You can find it here in her shop.
  3. The green apron with a solid background and the image of a large gingerbread man (shown third) is from Amazon and can be found here.
  4. The red checkered apron with an embroidered gingerbread boy (shown fourth) offers a warm and cheery, old-fashioned feeling. It is also from Amazon and can be found here
  5. The final apron, the black one with the line up of gingerbread man, is available from Melanie Rose's Shop on Etsy. You can find it here in her shop.
Will you be wearing a gingerbread man-themed apron this year?

See you
in the kitchen!
Brenda 
Treasures By Brenda

MORE APRONS AND MORE CHRISTMAS 



If you spend a lot of time in the kitchen at Christmastime, you should definitely own a Christmas apron! Christmas Cookie Gift Ideas Love cookies and Christmas? You'll love these great Christmas cookie-themed gift ideas. 

The Best Sizzlin' Hot Barbecue Aprons 

Summertime and the living is easy. Great weather, good music and your trusty friend, the barbecue, will help you prepare some good food. Before you throw your meat on the grill though you might want to throw on a grilling apron. 


On this page, find the ingredients to create a cookie themed gift set, which include, unsurprisingly, a cookie-themed apron.


If you're looking for a sweet Christmas story that is a bit shorter than a novel, check out this novella. As I type this today, it is actually free in Kindle or audiobook formats.


If there's a The Grinch Who Stole Christmas fan in your life, there's a mug for him or her!


Love Hallmark movies? Check out this Christmas one.


Do you know when cookie day is? Discover that date and more about Christmas cookies.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 29, 2021

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

 

Battleship Classic Board Game Reviewed

Battleship is a classic naval combat board game of strategy and excitement. In this board game, you will search the ocean floor to destroy your opponent’s fleet of ships.

The board game was first introduced by Milton-Bradley in 1967 as a plastic board and peg game. The game battleship comes from earlier versions of a pencil and paper game from the 1930s.

Battleship has also evolved into many electronic versions of the game today. The game I had growing up was the original plastic board and peg game. I have spent many hours playing this game with my brothers and friends.

The game we have today is the same, but it was made by Hasbro. I have never tried one of the electronic versions but thought about it many times. Today I play the same battleship game with my grandchildren that I played growing up.

How to Play Battleship:

Each player has a fleet of five ships consisting of the following:

Class of Ship                       #of Hits to Sink the Ship

Aircraft Carrier                                  5

Battleship                                          4

Destroyer                                          3

Submarine                                        3

Patrol Boat                                        2

Battleship classic board game

Each player has a plastic case with two grids, white pegs, and red pegs. One grid is the ocean floor, this is where you place your fleet of ships either horizontal or vertical. The upper grid is to record your misses with white pegs and your hits with red pegs.

 You can also use your ocean floor to track your opponent's misses with white pegs. This is an option and I never use it.

A player calls out a location on the grid and the opposing player says either hit or miss. If it is a miss the first player marks the location with a white peg, so he doesn’t call that location again. If it is a hit, then he places a red peg in that location and the opposing player places a red peg in the ship that was hit.

Now, the first player must figure out if the ship is placed horizontal or vertical on the opposing player’s grid. Once a player has sunk the other player's entire fleet, he wins the game.

Battleship is just another classic game that has been around for many years and will provide hours of fun.

For more classic toys and games visit me at

 Cherished Toy Finds


Find more toys on Review This Here

ReviewThisToyReviews.com

 Battleship Board Game for ages 7 and up makes a perfect gift for hours of fun.

Hasbro Gaming Battleship GameHasbro Gaming Battleship GameCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, November 21, 2021

Christmas Aprons

If you're cooking for the holidays, you'll want to tie on one of these fun aprons!

Cooking for the holidays? Why not tie on a Christmas apron? Christmas aprons are a recipe for holiday fun! 

Don't ask me how something as simple as an apron can generate so much excitement but believe me when I say it can. Aprons are associated with warm memories. memories of moms, grandmas and great aunts. Memories of growing up and of home and yes, of course, of good food, too. So if you are cooking for Christmas, I suggest you strap on a holiday apron or maybe even present one as a beautiful gift to the cook in your family. On this page, we will review a few great Christmas aprons. 

NEW APRONS


New aprons abound but I liked the set shown above from Amazon that actually includes four aprons. I love the idea of being ready to put everyone to work in the kitchen this Christmas.

These four aprons start with the basic pattern of buffalo plaid in bright, Christmastime colors and are printed with assorted rustic Christmas and nostalgic themes like snowflakes, vintage trucks, bells, garlands, birds, mugs of hot chocolate and more. Find this set of four on Amazon by clicking right here.

The Grinch Who Stole Christmas
For fans of Dr. Seuss, a Christmas apron that reads, "In a world full of Grinches be a Cindy Lou Who."
Inspired by the Dr. Seuss story, here is a wonderful new apron featuring The Grinch Who Stole Christmas. It reads, "In a world full of Grinches, be a Cindy Lou Who!" Brilliant sentiment and of course, it features images of two of our favorite Christmas characters. Find it here on Amazon.

Santa Claus Believe


For those who embrace the spirit of Christmas, you'll love this handmade apron with its plaid, polka dot and Santa theme.

I love this handmade Santa Claus-themed apron from Etsy. It has so much spirit, featuring polka dots, plaids, Santa Claus and Christmas-themed words.  The presence of the simple word 'Believe' reminds me of the Chris Van Allsburg book and movie, The Polar Express. This apron would make a fabulous gift for any fan of that story or of the holidays in general.  Find it and a few similar aprons with other Christmas themes in the Etsy shop of Little Links Co. by clicking right here.  

Loved the Will Ferrell's Christmas movie Elf? You'll love this apron!
Elf the Movie

Can you find new Christmas aprons on eBay? Yes, you can! Often eBay has a much wider selection available than at our local shops because they have retired aprons, which are no longer available at retail. Anyway, to see the large selection of new aprons on eBay, just search on eBay for Christmas apron, click the condition box on the left and select new or simply follow this link to eBay. 

If you are interested specifically in this now-retired apron from the movie Elf, click here. It would suit fans of the movie and those who simply want to dress like an elf. eBay is the best place to find items like this that are out of production.

VINTAGE APRONS


For some old fashioned style, consider a vintage apron like this one with a cheery Santa Claus.

ETSY and EBAY both offer up a wide assortment of vintage holiday aprons that are practical and fun, too! Remember that vintage items are often one-of-a-kind pieces and once they are sold they are gone forever. If you see one you like don't hesitate. Don't let something you love get away.

The Santa Claus apron shown above is from the Etsy shop of Vintage Chic Dream. I love the cheery Santa. You can find it by clicking right here or, if it is sold, you can find more vintage Christmas aprons on Etsy here.

Rather shop on eBay? Follow this link to see eBay's collection of vintage Christmas aprons.

HOW TO MAKE A CHRISTMAS APRON


Christmas Aprons With Famous Stacie

If you are interested in making your own Christmas apron, you will appreciate this video with The Famous Stacie. It is a DIY video on how to make your own personalized Christmas aprons using a purchased apron. You will LOVE how simple Stacie's idea is with sayings like "Tidings of Comfort and GEORGE" and "Unto us a CHAD is born."

  

How To Make Holiday Aprons by Jo Pearson

This video is called How To Make Holiday Aprons and is by Jo Pearson, Michaels' Creative Expert. Jo demonstrates an easy way to make a holiday apron using paint and featuring a gingerbread man. She also shows numerous easy-to-do variations. "Run, run as fast as you can...you can't catch me, I'm the gingerbread man!"

 

How To Make An Apron Resource Page

Finally, if you are interested in making an apron, you might like to check out my resource page, How to Make an Apron, where you will find more interesting 'how to' videos, more aprons and more information about making your own aprons!

-------------------------------------------------------
 
I believe that an apron is the ultimate fashion accessory for the kitchen whatever the occasion. Will you be wearing a holiday-themed apron this Christmas?

See you
at Christmastime!
Brenda

MORE APRONS


Wear a Halloween Apron
Looking for a Halloween apron? You might find just what you are looking for here on this page.

Real Men Don't Wear Aprons, Do They?
There are so many amazing aprons for men available that the choice seems almost endless. On this page you will find a selection of humorous but tasteful aprons and a debate about whether or not men actually do wear aprons...I hope you will...

The Best Sizzlin' Hot Barbecue Aprons
Summertime and the living is easy. Great weather, good music and your trusty friend, the barbecue, will help you prepare some good food. Before you throw your meat on the grill though you might want to throw on a grilling apron.

On this page, find the ingredients to create a cookie themed gift set, which include, unsurprisingly, a cookie-themed apron.

Discover chef Julia Child's apron.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 19, 2021

Lazy One Fuzzy Feet House Slippers Reviewed

It seems I am cold all of the time, even in the summer.  That is in large part due to the fact that my husband prefers cooler temperatures. Because I can always layer clothing, we keep our home cold.  At least "cold" by my definition.  Therefore, warm fleece lined house slippers are the perfect gift for me!

When my parents visited Yellowstone National Park, they discovered the Lazy One Fuzzy Feet house slippers and decided they were exactly what I needed.  When my mother spied the slippers with the brown bear fabric, she knew those slippers were made for me.  There was only one pair available and fortunately, they were in my size.

To say I was thrilled with this gift would be an understatement.  I have worn them every day since I received them.  The first thing I do in the morning is slip them on before I leave the warmth of our bedroom carpeting.  The last thing I do at night is slip my Lazy One slippers off and leave them at the side of the bed for when I awake.

Our bathroom has tile flooring and can give quite a jolt to bare feet, but not to my feet when they are protected by my beautiful camping bear slippers.  The slippers also have a nonslip sole which keeps one foot firmly in front of the other when walking across smooth tile or hardwood floors.

I was recently discussing how much I love the slippers with my mom.  After I left that day, she decided to try to find me a second pair so I would have them if and when I wear out my original pair.  She even tried calling the Yellowstone gift shop, but was unsuccessful in obtaining a replacement pair.  Being my mother and relentless in a search for something for one of her children, she started searching online, which is a tremendous challenge for my mom.  She doesn't really like computers, therefore she would never be called computer savvy, but she is tenacious.  

Would you believe she found my beloved slippers on Amazon?  Of course, she ordered them immediately. I now have a back-up pair of my Camping Bear Lazy One Fuzzy Feet house slippers hidden away in my closet for the time when the originals need to be replaced. 


Lazy One Fuzzy Feet House Slippers

 Lazy One Fuzzy Feet SlippersCheck PriceAfter Mom discovered the house slippers on Amazon, I had to check out the other designs available.  The collection is so vast, it would seem there is a design for everyone.  I love my brown bear and do not desire to replace him, but I must say there are some really cute slippers that would be quite the temptation.  Plus, there are a few holiday designs.

Because the slippers can be washed on cold and tumble dried, they stay clean in spite of the fact that I might follow Merlin, our Labrador Retriever, out onto the patio on a chilly morning without changing from my slippers to shoes. 

The price is also right! Finding a gift that is less than $20 is difficult these days.  I know I will be looking closely at the Lazy One collection when buying Christmas gifts.  Perhaps, I should pick out a pair or two for my mom.  She tends to stay cold too!









Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisGifts.com




House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, November 2, 2021

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? SECOND EDITION

This is the second edition of WHAT SOLD ON EBAY. If you've ever been curious, discover some of my new, used and vintage sales!

Curious? People often are, whether purely out of simple curiosity or because they have considered or actually do sell on eBay. Let’s review What Sold on eBay since my last post. Once again, these are five items that sold from my eBay store, Treasures By Brenda. This time, they’re from a weekend in October.
Yes! This Hudson's Bay waist pouch (or fanny pack as you may call it) sold from my eBay store. Discover more interesting SOLD items here!

On this particular weekend, with one exception, the sales were used and vintage items. And once again, that demonstrates what I believe, that eBay is one of the best places to turn to for items that are out of production.

So here are the five items that sold from my store starting with the only item that was new:


WAIST POUCH / FANNY PACK


Did you ever use a fanny pack? Or maybe you wear a waist pouch today? Whatever you call them, there has been a resurgence in interest in fanny packs. Fanny pack, by the way, is what we called them when they were first popular in late 1980s and early 1990s when, according to The Globe and Mail, Adweek Magazine declared them “the hottest product of the year.” Well, they’re back. We have so many types of bags available today that I don’t imagine that fanny packs will ever be the hottest product of the year again but they are popular. This one had the advantage of also bearing the iconic stripes from Canada’s Hudson Bay Company and it is SOLD. I do have one HBC fanny pack left and you can find it here with my collection of  Hudson’s Bay Company merchandise

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? One cute-as-can-be wind-up pecking chick toy!
VINTAGE WIND-UP TOY


Are you intrigued by wind-up toys, vintage or not? The smallest item I sold was surely this fun little metal toy. In this case it was a tiny chick with the original box. Wind-up toys are tricky, they have certainly been reproduced and this one was vintage though not extremely old or very valuable. Still, it was a fun item, an addition to someone’s collection or maybe a fun stocking stuffer. It is SOLD but if you want one, you will find more of this vintage wind-up pecking chick here on eBay

KNIFE BLOCK


Do you use a knife block to store your knives? Whether you do or not, you might be surprised that some knife blocks have considerable monetary value. In this case, mine was a small Cutco brand block that was not particularly valuable but that definitely did have value to the person who purchased it and who wanted a smaller knife block. However, the large Cutco blocks, like the one shown in this picture that hold 32 pieces, can sell for over $300. Mine is SOLD but if you are interested, you will find more than 1,500 Cutco knife blocks on eBay here.
What sold on eBay? How about a handsome Cutco knife block?

BEER STEIN


Do you drink your beer in a stein? I don’t have a whole lot of luck selling beer steins and I had a vintage Lord Nelson HMS Victory beer mug in my store for a long time. Let’s just say for years during which it was listed at various price points until eventually it was clearance priced. It had some crazing and so, when I found another one like it that was in better condition in my pile of items to list, I removed the crazed one and listed the second one, which sold in a week proving that condition is very important to buyers. A lesson to all would-be eBay sellers! Mine is SOLD but if you’re after a Lord Nelson stein, look here

WOOL WINTER SCARF

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? How about a handsome pure virgin wool scarf. Discover more great sales here!

Do you wear a wool scarf in the winter? I have read that wool scarves are good sellers and I have sold a few but I would caution that they, too, need to be in very good condition and they have to be listed at the right price. In this case, my sale was of a handsome pure virgin wool men’s scarf in a tartan pattern. I have other scarves in my eBay store but none like this traditional one. Mine is SOLD but if you are looking for a pure virgin wool scarf, click here

BOWLING PINS


What would you do with an incomplete vintage set of 3.5 inch table top bowling pins? Whether or not they appeal to you, you might agree with me that they were the most unusual item I sold this weekend.  They have been used and loved whether as part of a game, as a toy or as a decoration, I do not know. In any case, these go against the idea of condition being very important to buyers and I believe that in this case the much beloved condition may have actually added to their appeal for the buyer. Mine are SOLD and when I looked today, I could not find anything exactly like them but you can follow this link to see the assortment of miniature vintage bowling pins that I did find on eBay. 

WHAT SOLD ON EBAY? Vintage tabletop bowling pins. What would you do with them?

While none of these items are available anymore in my eBay shop, I do have many other unique and interesting items. Do drop in to my shop, Treasures By Brenda, by clicking here

You never know
what I might have
in store for you!
Brenda

MORE READING:

Learn more about this vintage item that is enjoying a current resurgence in popularity.  

What Sold on eBay? First Edition
Discover what items sold the first time I wrote a post like this one.
Disney's television series, Tale Spin, continues to be popular as do these vintage toys.















Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, November 1, 2021

Air Fry Homemade French Fries

 

Air Fry Homemade French Fries

There is nothing like French Fries made from real potatoes. Oh, sure you can buy frozen French Fries, but I like fresh homemade the best. These real fries are so easy to make in your air fryer. They are crispy on the outside and so tender on the inside. My review will show you just how easy they are to make.

The way these French Fries turn out brings back some fond childhood memories for me. Growing up in New Castle a small town in Western Pennsylvania we lived near a small amusement park called Cascade Park.

The Park officially opened in May of 1897 and was a huge attraction. People would come from all over Pennsylvania and Ohio to visit Cascade Park. The park is still in existence today as a nature park.

As you walked through the midway of the park there were several food vendors. I had two favorites, one was the pizza vendor, and the other was the French Fries.

We would get a cup full of fresh real potato French Fries with vinegar and salt, oh my goodness, this was heaven when I was a kid. Now I enjoy that same goodness with my Air Fry homemade French Fries.

How to make the best Air Fryer French Fries:

3 to 4 medium potatoes (washed and peeled)

2 tablespoons of cooking oil

One-gallon plastic storage or freezer bag

Apple Cider Vinegar

Salt

Directions:

  1. Wash and peel the potatoes
  2. Cut to size (I have a French fry cutter for this you’ll see it below)
  3. Place the cut potatoes in the plastic bag, add the oil and shake
  4. Set your air fryer to 390 degrees
  5. Air Fry for 18 to 19 minutes
  6. When they are finished transfer to a dish or bowl, splash on the vinegar and add the salt while the fries are hot.
French Fry Cutter

This is a photo of our French fry cutter that we have had for years. I must tell you the story about this cutter.

When Fran and I were dating back in high school, yes, that was a long time ago. Fran's father knew how much I loved French fries. So, he went out and bought this French fry cutter just for me. We still use it today.

Just peel your potato, cut a flat spot on the bottom of the potato so the potato stands up. Set the cutter on top and push, Ha!! it's that easy.

We use our Ninja Foodi Grill and Air Fryer to make our French Fries. You can read my review of our Ninja here.

More recipes on Review This Here: ReviewThisRecipes.com

Get your very own French Fry Cutter, and may it last you as long as ours has.

Home Basics Stainless Steel French Fry Cutter, One Size, SilverHome Basics Stainless Steel French Fry Cutter, One Size, SilverHome Basics Stainless Steel French Fry Cutter, One Size, Silver

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 25, 2021

3M Lens Repair Tape Reviewed

 Whoops! Crunch! Ouch! From the "that does not sound good" to the visual inspection of "No, that is not good." And so goes the tail light or a healthy part of the tail light. Which began the search for a DIY tail light fix until the professionals can attend to the injured party.


After the inevitable google and youtube search for a tail light bandaid I decided upon the 3M lens repair tape to repair the injured party. The red part of the tail light was missing about 25 percent and it is a large tail light! 




Application

The tape is very easy to apply. Simply decided upon the length and cut the tape. The tape adheres very quickly and is very sticky. If absolutely necessary (though I would not recommend) the tape can be removed after applying, but for maximum adhesion another piece of tape should be cut.

There is enough tape on the roll for a few applications which does allow room for a redo if necessary.

TIP! If you desire to trim the tape I highly suggest the tape is trimmed prior to attaching the tape to the tail light. The tape is very sticky and difficult to trim once the tape begins to adhere to the tail light. All trimming is easier accomplished after the tape is unrolled to the desired length.



Why I Chose The 3M Tape

After researching my options the 3M Lens Repair tape was highly rated with over a 4.5/5 online rating. One of the main factors is the design of the tail light. Is it rounded? The tape allows easy application for tail light fixtures that are rounded and this is key for a waterproof repair. I had looked at a repair tape that in a sheet and many reviewers mentioned - for obvious reasons- how difficult it was to make a sheet bend to fit a rounded corner.

Recommendation

The tape and what is left of the tail light is holding up well until its' repair appointment. I recommend the tape as an easy fix to keep the tail light working and sealed from the elements until a permanent fix can be installed. And yes as I found out ... the entire tail light fixture is one unit so no repairing just the red part - of course that would be too easy. 






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, October 20, 2021

The Best Acrylic Fabric Paints for Painting Clothes and Accessories

Acrylic fabric paints, iron-on appliques and other embellishments are a fun and easy way to transform ordinary t-shirts, sweatshirts, denim jackets and jeans into special, one-of-a-kind clothing designs. 

Even if you don’t feel especially artistic, it’s extremely easy to add striking hand painted designs to basic wardrobe items by applying acrylic fabric paint through a stencil with a foam pouncer. 

Embellishing clothing with fabric paints is also a wonderful project to do with kids. Both my fashionista niece and her younger brother used to love taking solid color T-shirts and creating their own hand painted and stenciled designer tees, which they wore with pride.

Some fabric paints also work well on other materials, including leather and vinyl, so they’re great for painting shoes, sandals, handbags, belts and other accessories to give them a whole new look with fresh colors, color blocking, patterns or painted accents.

I have researched and used different types, brands and formulas of fabric paints in different price ranges. In this review I will share my favorite acrylic fabric paints for decorating clothing and accessories. 

The Best, Most Versatile Acrylic Fabric Paints for Embellishing Clothing & Accessories

Why Use Acrylic Fabric Paints?

Acrylic fabric paints, also called acrylic textile paints, are formulated specifically for use on fabric clothing and other textiles. Unlike fabric dyes and alcohol-based textile paints or inks, they do not spread and saturate the fibers. Most work best on untreated or pre-washed, natural fabrics and synthetic fabrics whose fiber content contains at least 50% natural fibers. 

Acrylic textile paints are usually thinner, penetrate fibers better and dry more flexible than standard acrylic paints formulated for art or craft uses. Fabric paints also contain a binder that helps them adhere much better to natural fibers after the paint dries and is heat-set (usually with an iron). This binder makes the painted designs more durable, so they can better withstand repeated washing and resist cracking, peeling or flaking when the fabric is gently stretched or folded, such as when you put on, move around in, take off or put away your painted clothing.   

More transparent colors usually have a thinner consistency and are softer to the touch when dry compared to more opaque fabric paints. They are great for lighter color fabrics, since the color of the clothing will show through them. For the same reason, opaque fabric paints will show up much better on darker clothing, although they are slightly thicker and will dry a bit stiffer than more transparent formulas.

Good Quality Fabric Paints Give the Best Results

Jacquard makes moderately priced, high-quality, highly pigmented paints, dyes, mica powders and other art and craft supplies. Jacquard's Textile, Neopaque and Lumiere lines are my go-to acrylic paints for painting fabrics.

Photo of Jacquard Textile acrylic paints "Exciter Pack" assortment

Jacquard Textile 

Jacquard Textile paints have a medium- to light-bodied consistency and come in 39 semi-transparent colors. Mixing any of the other colors with 123 White will create a pastel shade. You can make any color more transparent without affecting the quality or consistency by mixing it with Jacquard Textile 100 Colorless Extender. (Another option, which I don’t recommend, is diluting the paints with up to 25% water, since it will reduce their viscosity and negatively affect the quality.)  Mixing any other Jacquard Textile color with #220 Super Opaque White will make it more opaque. 

The Jacquard Textile Color Exciter Pack is an economical assortment that includes small bottles of nine of the most useful colors in the line. It's a great way to try these paints without investing a lot of money.

Jacquard Textile colors can also be mixed with Jacquard Lumiere, Neopaque or Dye-Na-Flow paints or with Jacquard Pearl Ex Powdered Pigments to create custom colors and effects.

Jacquard Neopaque and Lumiere

Neopaque is Jacquard’s line of light-bodied, opaque acrylic paints. They come in 21 colors plus a Flowable Extender medium that can be used to make the colors more transparent without altering the paint’s texture, consistency, adherence and other key properties. Lumiere is a companion line of 33 beautiful metallic and pearlescent paint colors designed to complement the Neopaque solid colors and have similar characteristics. My favorite Lumiere paints are the color-shifting duo-chrome colors!

Even though the Jacquard Neopaque and Jacquard Lumiere lines have not been optimized specifically for painting on fabrics, like the Jacquard Textile line, they have many of the same characteristics and are also considered fabric paints. After they have dried and been heat-set, both Neopaque and Lumiere paints adhere to textiles very well, remain flexible and resist cracking, peeling and chipping. I have used them to paint fleece sweatshirts, both freehand and with stencils, and they have withstood many washings well.

Both formulas are opaque, highly pigmented and provide good coverage, even on dark fabrics. You can mix any Neopaque or Lumiere shade with Neopaque Flowable Extender to make it more transparent without changing its consistency, thickness, flexibility, adherence or other important characteristics. 

Similarly to the Jacquard Textile line, you can mix pastel shades by blending a small amount of Neopaque White into any of the other Neopaque colors.

Photo of Jacquard Neopaque and Lumiere acrylic paints
I've been using my first Jacquard Neopaque and Lumiere acrylic paint Exciter Packs for many years. 

There are also a Lumiere Exciter Pack with 9 pearlescent and metallic colors and a Lumiere & Neopaque Exciter Pack with 7 metallic Lumiere shades plus black and white Neopaque. As with the Textile line, these two Exciter Packs are a great way to get a nice variety of colors in smaller quantities for a very affordable price. I have purchased both of these Exciter Packs as well as full-size bottles of the Neopaque black and white and Lumiere duo-chrome colors I use most. I recently bought another of the Lumiere assortments because some older colors have been discontinued and newer ones added.

Another advantage of Jacquard Lumiere and Neopaque acrylic paints is that they adhere well to a wide range of surfaces including paper, wood, rubber, vinyl, leather and rubber, in addition to fabric, and can be used for many different types of projects. I have gotten more than my money’s worth out of mine. 

For example, I completely transformed an old pair of boring, frumpy, beige comfort sandals by painting the leather with Lumiere for the uppers and black Neopaque to edge the sole, and then sewing on some faux jeweled trim. 

Before and after photos of beige sandals painted aqua and blue

Heat-Set Fabric Painting Medium 

You also can achieve successful results by mixing permanent, highly pigmented art or craft acrylic paints 50/50 with a good quality fabric medium, such as Golden GAC 900 Heat-Set Fabric Painting Medium or Martha Stewart Tintable Fabric Medium. 

Pébéo Setacolor

If you are painting a very special piece of clothing or textile, you may want to consider the Pébéo Setacolor line. These superb fabric paints come in an extensive range of beautiful colors and finishes. Although they are more expensive than the Jacquard fabric paints, superior quality, performance and product selection make Pébéo Setacolor products a favorite among many professional painted clothing artists and enthusiasts. 

Pébéo Setacolor Light Fabrics are transparent and include 44 matte, metallic, glitter, and fluorescent shades. Pébéo Setacolor Opaque comes in 77 matte and “shimmer opaque” shades with glitter, pearlescent, metallic and iridescent finishes that dry softer, smoother and more flexible than most other opaque textile paints. There are also Pébéo Setacolor 3D fabric paints that come in tubes with small nozzles that are great for adding raised outlines or dimensional accents to your painted clothing designs. 

The most affordable way to try these terrific paints is with one of the 10-color introductory sets, the Pébéo Setacolor Light Fabrics Discovery Kit or the Pébéo Setacolor Opaque Discovery Kit

Use Fabric Paints and Stencils for Beautiful, Affordable, One-of-a-Kind Handmade Gifts 

Stencils are made in just about any pattern or theme you could want and require no artistic talent to use.

I have used inexpensive fabric stencils of flowers, gardening tools and bees to decorate a sweatshirt for my mother-in-law who loves to garden. 

One of my husband’s favorite gifts from me is a forest green sweatshirt I purchased for him many years ago and stenciled with a cascade of metallic and pearlescent autumn leaves. It has been worn and washed so many times that the fleece is pilling, and the color has faded. By now, the paint isn’t quite as bright or shiny as it once was, either, but it’s still hasn’t cracked, flaked or worn off, and he still wears it proudly.

Photo of man wearing dark green sweatshirt with a stenciled metallic leaf design
My husband still loves and wears this sweatshirt I stenciled for him many years ago. 

You can use alphabet stencils to personalize a T-shirt, hoodie or other garment with the gift recipient’s name or add a meaningful word or message. 

Older children will also love using fabric paints and stencils to turn simple, inexpensive pieces of clothing into personalized gifts for special friends and family members.

Stenciled or hand painted tablecloths, napkins, placemats and table runners also make wonderful gifts. Painting them with snowflakes, pointsettias and other seasonal designs makes any holiday a bit more festive. 

I hope I have inspired you to give fabric paints a try!

The Best Acrylic Fabric Paints for Painting Clothes and Accessories


The Best Acrylic Fabric Paints for Painting Clothes and Accessories by Margaret Schindel


Read More Crafts Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More DIY Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, October 18, 2021

Wear a Halloween Apron This Year!

Love Halloween? Wear a Halloween apron this year!

WHY NOT WEAR A HALLOWEEN APRON THIS YEAR?


A Halloween apron is not necessarily meant to be a costume though it certainly can be one. It also is a rather practical accessory designed to help you get into the spirit of Halloween. Why not treat yourself to one this year? On this page we review five fun reasons to buy a Halloween apron and five great places to source one.  


FIVE REASONS TO WEAR A HALLOWEEN APRON

(Just in case you need a good reason!)

🎃 No time to prepare a costume for yourself.
🎃 No money to spend on an expensive costume that you'll wear once.
🎃 No time left after creating costumes for your children.
🎃 Not going to a party so wearing an apron at home seems more reasonable.
🎃 No costume appeals to you.

If you have any of these problems, I say, "Go ahead, buy yourself a fun Halloween apron!"

FIVE PLACES TO SOURCE A HALLOWEEN APRON


If you don't have much choice at home, you might consider sourcing your Halloween themed apron from one of the following online sources:

AMAZON - A simple search of Amazon, by clicking here, turns up more than 1,000 Halloween-themed aprons! They're abundant and affordable.

EBAY eBay has a much larger selection of Halloween-themed aprons, new and used, available than Amazon does and they have vintage ones, too. However, the number of vintage Halloween aprons is somewhat limited I expect because wearing a themed apron is a newer idea. For new aprons on eBay, click here and for vintage Halloween aprons on eBay, click here.

ETSY - The sellers on Etsy are a pretty creative bunch and Halloween aprons are found a plenty on that website. Check them out on Etsy by visiting this link.

MAKE YOUR OWN - You can make one on your own. If you are a seamstress, you might like to look through the resources shown on the page How To Make An Apron, from where you might find inspiration or assistance in crafting the exact Halloween apron that you have in mind.

Do you already have a Halloween apron or are you searching for the perfect one right now?

Happy Haunting!
Boo-renda

MORE HALLOWEEN AND APRON READING:

How about a Hocus Pocus T-Shirt?
Fans of the cult-favorite Halloween movie, Hocus Pocus will love this tee!

Have a youngster clamoring for scary movies? Here are a few safe choices.

Hey Monkeybrains! Real Men Don't Wear Aprons, Do They? 
Check out a fun debate and maybe even throw in your two cents worth.

Five Grandfather-Themed Aprons
Grandpa spends time in the kitchen? There's an apron for him!

If you love working puzzles and Halloween, you will enjoy these treats. They're calorie free!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, October 12, 2021

Forest Animals in Wood Reviewed

There are many clever artisans who create Woodland animals hand-cut from a variety of woods for children's play. Other crafters create them as wall hangings, some especially sweet for a baby's nursery or a child's room. Others create wooden animal puzzles.  


Some are finished in natural wood, many of which are considered 'Waldorf Toy Animals'.  Others are hand-painted. All are special because they are lovingly handmade.


These Forest Critters include the animals usually found in the woods, including foxes, wolves, bears, deer, squirrels, bunny rabbits and many others, including birds such as the Owl. 


This page presents a few creative sets of Woodland creatures and a couple individual animals as toys – all created in wood. 


Waldorf Toys


According to a description on Google....


Waldorf toys are wooden toys, they are eco-friendly toys and of course organic toys. ... Toys that are made from natural materials, with rich, natural colors, and that are lovingly handcrafted are inviting and contribute to a child's “sense of life.” Waldorf toys are often simple, without a lot of detail. 


Woodland Animal Sets in Wood


Woodland animals handcrafted in wood
Woodland Animal Nature Toys


All Natural toys for small children shaped like cute Woodland Animals to promote Nature-Based Play.


Each critter is hand-cut out of natural wood and sealed with a Non-Toxic Food Grade Sealant made from beeswax and olive oil. 


These natural wooden toys encourage key early childhood developmental skills such as brain development and small motor skills. They can practice balance by standing them up and stacking, counting the animal toys and families, or creative play with these fun natural toys. 


There are two sizes to the sets, which include a bear, a deer, a rabbit, a squirrel and a bird.  These wooden forest animals are handmade by Erik in Michigan and are available in his Etsy Shop Hessler Customs.


Animal Puzzle Handmade in Wood


Wooden Frog Puzzle

This stand up frog puzzle is handcut from 3/4" thick cherry on a scroll saw, sanded smooth, and finished it with a natural beeswax and organic jojoba oil polish.


The puzzle is 6 1/4" tall, 7 1/4" wide and 3/4" thick. It has four puzzle pieces.  This is a great beginner puzzle for ages 3+.


Woodland Frog puzzle is handmade by Susan who lives in Missouri near St. Louis. She has been creating adorable woodland creatures for many years and is a very talented craftsman. Susan and I met up several years ago when I was living in St. Louis and I have been a fan of her work ever since seeing them in person. You can find this frog puzzle and many other delightful wooden toys created by Susan in her Etsy Shop OohLookItsARabbit.


Woodland Animal Peg Dolls


Woodland Animal Peg Dolls

These Woodland animal peg dolls make for delightful playtime. They are made of solid beechwood, measure 2/5 inches tall and are hand-painted and sealed using CE tested (certified) non toxic paints and sealants.


Included in this listing are a Bear, a Fox, a Deer, a Hedgehog, an Owl and a Badger. They are available to purchase individually or as a set.


These Woodland animal peg dolls are handmade by Katie and are available in her Etsy Shop Multipegs.


Woodland Animal Wall Hangings for the Nursery


Woodland Animals Wall Art for the Nursery

This delightful array of Woodland animals for the nursery wall (or any child's room) are created by Lea of Michigan for her Etsy Shop NovelWares.


• Crafted from 1/4” solid walnut which is sourced from sustainable and responsibly harvested forests

• Sealed with a poly for durability and easy cleaning

• Comes with double sided tape for easy and quick installation on your wall.   


Some of Lea's forest animals include 


There is also a bear, a bee, a hedgehog and a wolf.  Check out Lea's shop for many selections in this world of wooden forest animals. 


Summary




Many more Woodland Forest Animals are available throughout Etsy cleverly created in wood.  Just do a search for Woodland Animals in Wood for a wide variety of these cute animals who live in the forest. 


Related Post:


Review of Woodland Forest Animals as Soft Toys


*Forest Animals in Wood reviewed by Wednesday Elf






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X