Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Product Reviews. Show all posts

Friday, May 20, 2022

SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair Reviewed

Nail Repair
I confess, I do not worry much over my fingernails. I stopped painting my fingernails decades ago because I hated how polish would turn the actual nail yellow over time. I keep my nails clean and file rough edges, but otherwise I leave them alone, unless they break. I recently discovered SuperNail Nail Bandages which are fabulous as a temporary fix for nail breaks.

The one thing that has always bothered me is when a nail breaks or tears on the side, below the top line of the nail bed (the hyponychium).  It hurts and can bleed if the break is allowed to continue across the finger.  I try hard to protect the fingernail until it has grown out past the skin line enough to cut off. In the past, I have used band-aids to try to keep the nail from tearing more. However, a band-aid doesn't last long, it doesn't stay clean, and it can be annoying when I am working. Plus, it is very noticeable to everyone. 

When moving boxes recently, my thumb nail broke below the skin line of my nail (onychodermal band of the hyponychium) and into the nail bed. I knew it would be a while, possibly weeks, before the nail would grow out enough to be cut. Any time I have a break or tear in my nail like that, it catches on fabric or in my hair and tears a little more into the nail bed. Knowing I would be living with this break for a while, I was desperate to find tape or something that would cover the break. My search lead me to SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair on Amazon. I ordered this very inexpensive solution immediately. When it arrived two days later, I removed my band-aid (the temporary fix) and immediately applied the nail repair bandage.  

Six days later, I am writing this review and the initial bandage is still adhering, covering the break and keeping it from tearing further into the nail bed.  Keep in mind, I wash my hands dozens of times a day!  I expected to need to replace the first bandage long before now. 

 

SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair

 supernail Nail Bandage Instant Nail RepairCheck PriceI never want to be without SuperNail Nail Bandage Instant Nail Repair again!  The clear thick bandages are perfect for covering a nail break until the nail grows out enough to cut. 

The package comes with 30 clear adhesive tabs in varying sizes. I used the largest size on my thumb nail, but the smaller size would be great for my other fingernails.

The package also contains a really nice buffer for smoothing the edge and area of the break before applying the bandage. The blue side of the buffer is a file that can be used for filing the nail and for filing away any access bandage material.  

Obviously, I can't guarantee future nail bandages will last for more than 6 days, but with 30 bandages in the package, I think I am safe for a while.  I expect I will require at least 2 more bandages before the thumb nail has grown out enough to cut the nail.

For me, the SuperNail Nail Bandages have been a fabulous find. Not only do I appreciate the long lasting protection, but I love the transparency. 


For Additional Nail Care Read

14 Secrets to Growing Strong, Healthy, Beautiful Nails by Margaret Schindel

and 

Nice Fingernails Don't Have To Be Difficult to Achieve! by Olivia Morris


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Summertime is On the Way! Cool Off Easily ~ A Product Review

Summertime is almost here and with it comes the heat and humidity that most people love and hate at the same time!  We've all been waiting patiently (most of the time) for winter to end!  Well I think it's safe to say that it is now over!  At least here in the Southern parts of Ontario, winter has definitely left us and we have already moved through our short spring!  Most of the Magnolia trees have already blossomed and the Crab Apple trees are now in full bloom.  




Image by Ralphs_Fotos from Pixabay


Spring doesn't last too long here and summer is following quickly in the next few weeks.

At this time of year, being of a certain age, I find that my own body thermometer seems to get out of whack.  Call it hormones, if you like, but I know that the uncomfortable days are coming quickly and I want to be prepared. 

One of the things I love to do during the summer months is to enjoy the outdoors and still be comfortable.  Whether it's playing in my little garden area with my containers of veggies that are growing on my balcony or picking up my favorite book to read for a while, comfort to me is of utmost importance. 

There is nothing worse than trying to enjoy the great outdoors while dripping with perspiration due to the humidity.  Oh I could go indoors and sit in the comfort of the air conditioning, but what is the point in that? 

I waited for summer to come and now I want to be out there enjoying it. Now I can share with you my little lifesaver.  I was introduced to this gadget through a friend who is having hot flashes like crazy!  While visiting her for instructions on her dog's needs (I was going to doggie sit) she pulls out these neat little fans and puts them around her neck.   Not only does she cool right off, but, she can and does continue to take me through all the instructions with these little fans running.  They are quiet and cool her right off in a matter of minutes.  Now,  I'm older than she is and I thought I was all through those nasty hot flashes, then they came back with a vengeance.   That was a surprise to me and I needed help. 

 Thank God for girlfriends who share their great finds with each other. 


 


These small and inexpensive fans will cool you off and let you enjoy the outdoors while having a nice breeze blowing on you.  These are quiet enough that you can keep a conversation going without having to raise your voice.  These are a win-win for me and because they sit around your neck, without cords attached, you can move around with them on.  You can continue with your hobbies and crafts, reading or just sitting around with a certain level of comfort even on the hottest days.  If the outdoors becomes too overbearing I can always go indoors for a few minutes just to really cool down, but then I'm right back out again.  I love summer and these will make my summer even better!  


Image by Siggy Nowak from Pixabay


If this is something you think would work for you, just click on the  link and get a pair for yourself.  Happy Summer!  Be Cool and enjoy everyday!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Scotts Hand-Held Lawn Spreader

 My Scotts handheld lawn spreader reviewed

Scotts hand held lawn spreader

Most homeowners love a lush green lawn and achieving that beautiful lawn can be a lot of work. Luckily for me, I have a small yard so taking care of it is not so bad. 

If you have a large yard you probably have a lawn spreader on wheels. I honestly don't have room in my garage for one more thing, so I found this handy little handheld lawn spreader. It is perfect for my small yard.

Features of Scotts Hand-Held Lawn Spreader:

Great for small yards
All sturdy plastic 
Fully assembled  and ready to go
Five spreader settings
Holds up to 1,000 sq. ft. of lawn products
5-Feet of broadcast 
Easy hand crank

Scotts recommends feeding your lawn with weed and feed or lawn food four times a year. I would only feed twice a year, once in early spring and then again in the fall.

Because we live only two blocks from a lake I quit using weed and feed because of chemical runoff into the lake. I still use my lawn spreader in early spring. I spread granulated lime and a couple weeks after that I spread grass seed.

The lime increases the PH balance and calcium in the soil for thicker greener lawns and improves the soil structure and root development. The grass seed is for new growth and helps choke out weeds. The spreader is perfect for small yards, gardens, and flower beds.

In the winter this little lawn spreader is a handy tool to spread ice melt on my driveway and sidewalks. Although I prefer spreading the lime and grass seed much better. Scotts even makes a battery-powered spreader. For this one, you will need two AA batteries.

Find more Product Reviews here: ReviewThisProductReviews.com

Scotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScotts Wizz Battery Powered Fertilizer, Seed, and Ice SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand Held SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand-Held SpreaderScott's 71133 HandyGreen Hand Held Spreader

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, May 13, 2022

Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner Reviewed

Cerama Bryte Cleaner
The Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner really does make your stovetop look new again!  

My smooth surface cooktop is 20+ years old, I cook on it almost every day, and it will still clean and shine up beautifully.  My secret to a beautiful smooth surface cooktop is really no secret, but I am often surprised by how many people do not know about Cerama Bryte.

It easily removed splatters, grease, fingerprints, etc. Even when potatoes or pasta water overflows and makes a burnt-on mess, the Cerama Bryte, along with a Scrunge sponge, will clean the burner.  Occasionally, I will need to clean an area twice to get it spotless, but it will come clean. 

When I first had my smoothtop cooktop installed, I was hesitant to use the Scrunge scrub sponge for fear that it would scratch the surface.  However, in over 20 years of cleaning, it has not scratched it or harmed the stovetop in any way.

To this day, I love my smooth cooktop.  Sadly, I have heard several people lament that they removed their smooth cooktop because they couldn't get it as clean as new. That is a shame!  If only they had known about Cerama Bryte and the Scrunge scrub sponge, they would still be enjoying their lovely smooth surface cooktop.

 

Cerama Bryte Cleaner

Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner

 Cerama Bryte Ceramic Cooktop Cleaner 28 OzCheck PriceWithout Cerama Bryte, I know I would be listed among the disappointed customers who gave up on their smooth-surface cooktop.  Being able to thoroughly clean the cooktop without damaging it, really does make all the difference in the world!

I think my smooth surface cooktop looks almost as good as it did the day it was installed 20 years ago and it certainly looks just as clean, maybe even better.

A bottle of Cerama Bryte lasts a long time. I purchased two bottles the last time I bought it a few years ago and my second bottle (shown in the pictures) is still half full.

I replace my sponge about every six months.  I rinse it and squeeze it out thoroughly after each use, then let it air dry.  After it is dry, I store it in a Ziploc sandwich bag.

To clean a smooth top cooktop:   

Squeeze Cerama Bryte Cooktop Cleaner on the cooktop. With the rough side of a damp Scrunge sponge, spread the cleaner across the entire surface, bearing down slightly on any burnt-on food.  Wipe the cleaner off with the smooth side of the sponge, then completely dry the cooktop surface with a soft cloth or kitchen towel.  

Rinse your sponge and allow it to air dry for multiple uses. 




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, May 9, 2022

Carewell: The Caregivers Shop Review

Carewell: The Caregivers Shop is an online shop I found and used when assisting a family member to recover from surgery. This shop was a wonderful resource and their ability to ship quickly in the midst of a snowstorm was impressive!



Selection

Carewell carries all the major brands you will recognize, but the difference is the wide selection per product. Whether it be flavors, sizes, the medium or products you didn't even know were offered, the choices are voluminous. This makes shopping so much easier and definitely gives the shopper so many more options which helps to provide exemplary care.

Shipping

Quick! Very very quick even when one part of the order was caught in a snowstorm mid route. The communication was on point and efficient to give notice of the package arrival. Free 1-2 shipping is available for orders beginning at $49.00. The quantity of each product offered is similar to a big box store like Costco or Sam's Club.

Bridges The Gap

The selection at Carewell's helps bridge the gap between items which are necessary, but not easily (if at all) available for in person purchase at a bricks and mortar store. I was surprised to find a product I found at the local drugstore actually came in many more sizes and flavors, but only found online at Carewell. Phone assistance is available 24/7 to help with product selection if needed.






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, May 3, 2022

World of Warcraft Review - Why It's a Great Game for Older Folks

 

The online video game World of Warcraft was released in 2004. It was among the first major online video game that was American made and had a big enough budget to deliver on it's promises.  Since it is still alive and well, in 2022, and still going strong, it has delivered everything a gamer could hope for.  WoW has a great storyline, a multitude of  races and classes, professions, thousands of quests, and a huge multi planet landscape to be explored.  

I started playing WoW in early 2005, I was in my forties and had never played an online game in my life.  I have to admit, the first time I logged in, I was in awe of what I found.  You have a character and you are in a fantasy world.  The other characters in the game are other people from all over the world that you can meet and make friends with.  There are cities with stores and banks and inns and embassies!  In the country there are cottages and animals and lakes you can fish in.  It was beautiful!

It is pretty over whelming, but right away they give you things to do, and the tutorial explains most everything you need to know.  You just take off and never look back!  Check out the video below for a look at the fun this game is!




What does this have to do with Older Folks?

Most people think that video games are for kids and that most of the people that play are under 18.  This may have been true in the beginning, but it most certainly is not true now, 18 years later, and not for the reason you might think.  Sure, a lot of people who started in their teens are now in their 30s which could skew the average age upward, but also, many older people have taken to playing the game because their kids were playing it and because their friends were playing it.   There is so much included in the game World of Warcraft, it has interests for all ages.

Can An Older Person Really Keep Up with Kids in a Video Game?

This is the great thing about World of Warcraft.  You don't have to compete with anyone if you don't want to.  WoW can be anything you want it to be.  You can play completely alone, if that is what you prefer, or you can be very social and make friends, join a guild, or even role play if that is something you enjoy.  If you like to compete, you can group with larger amounts of people and do raids where large groups of people get together to slay big monsters for rewards.  There are even player versus player fights, should you want to participate, from one on one duels, to armies fighting armies.  You can make this game whatever you want it to be.

Why Would An Older Person Want to Play a Video Game Online?

Many older people are lonely and miss the socializing that they enjoyed when they were younger and more mobile.  WoW gives you the opportunity to make friends and enjoy the company of people around the world.  You can explore places, go on adventures, battle monsters, or just sit and talk.  It offers an outlet to a greater world instead of the smaller world that some older people live in.

It also provides fun and entertainment and a never ending list of things to do.  It can give purpose and joy to people who have too many hours in a day and just sit around being bored.  WoW also helps to keep people sharp and thinking.  It keeps the cognitive juices flowing which something we all need!

Will the Other Players Make Fun of Me When They Find Out My Age?

For years I kept my age a secret in WoW.....until I learned that many of the people I knew were around my age, or even older!  In the last 5 or 6 years, I have noticed guilds that are strictly for older people, guilds like "Over Fifty, "Ancient Artifacts," and even one called "Old Farts!"  Older people that want to play WoW will be in a lot of good company.  

So if you want try something new, maybe open a whole new world give WoW a try!  World of Warcraft is a subscription based game, which means that in addition to buying the game itself, you also have to pay a monthly fee of about $15, to access the game.  For less that a fast food meal, you get a whole month of great times!  You can get a free trial of the game and play up to level 20 to see if you like it, but I am confident you will!   

Click Here to Try the Free Trial of World of Warcraft







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, April 30, 2022

Reviewing The Healthy Habits Set from Arbonne

 If you've been intrigued by the idea of doing the 30 Days to Healthy Living with Arbonne, but aren't sure if you could follow it, then you may want to do a 'test run' with the Healthy Habits set.


Arbonne's Healthy Habit Set
Photo adapted by Lou16 on Canva

Arbonne's Healthy Habits set seems to be used in three different ways, but before I go into them let's take a look at what is in the Healthy Habits Set.


  • 1 x Bag of Protein Powder (your choice of flavour) 
  • 1 x Box of Fizz Sticks (your choice of flavour)
  • 1 x Box Gut Health
  • 1 x Box of CleanTox Herbal Tea

Note: All of Arbonne's products are vegan, kosher, gluten-free and non-GMO.

How to Use the Healthy Habits Set

I talk about how I love the 30 days to healthy living plan in this post  How to Reboot Your Body.   I have noticed, however, that some people aren't sure that they could follow the plan.   I've been told I'd love to but ... I can't give up my coffee ... I can't give up alcohol ..... I'm not giving up dairy ..... I'm not sure it sounds like something I could stick to. 

A Trial Run for the 30 Day Plan

The Healthy Habits Set is great if you're not sure about the 30 days to healthy living plan as you can try it out for two weeks and see how you feel before you commit to purchasing a full 30 days to healthy living set.

The Breakfast Club

We used to run something called The Breakfast Club for the month of December and you can use the Healthy Habits Set to run this whenever you like.   It's almost like easing into building healthy habits without committing to going the whole nine yards.

I actually followed this principle for 3 weeks before I started my very first 30 days to healthy living plan.   It goes as follows:

When you get up take the gut health supplement which contains probiotics, prebiotics and digestive enzymes.   It basically helps your gut health which is key to so many aspects of good health.   

You then want to make sure to start the day with a good quality protein-rich breakfast.   This is where the protein powder comes in and most people would have a protein smoothie as their breakfast of choice.   If you didn't want a smoothie you could use the powder to make things such as protein pancakes, protein waffles, proats, or overnight oats.   

When I tried it initially I just had a protein shake initially as it was quick and easy to prepare and drink.   Using the protein powder has become a daily part of my life now and I usually alternate between proats, overnight oats, breakfast parfaits and about once a week - pancakes.

Next, you want to look at reducing the amount of coffee/caffeinated tea/energy drinks that you have in a day.   Substitute one of them with the CleanTox tea - this tea has lots of benefits which you can read about here.   Substitute another of them with a Fizz Stick - this gives you more sustainable energy and is non-acidic in your body which helps your gut.

While doing this you try and make healthier choices during the day, but allow yourself treats as well as it's all about balance.   It is ideal at Christmas to counteract all the rich food and (if you indulge in alcohol) the alcoholic drinks that are often part of your holiday celebrations.   If you're like me you will usually have a month or two that it feels like everyone has celebrations (in my family we have way too many birthdays to celebrate in August!)

You should also try moving your body as well, whether it's walking 10,000 steps every day or doing some other activity that you enjoy.

Now, creating healthy habits isn't just about nutrition and exercise, creating and maintaining habits that are good for you is really done in the mind.   Arbonne used to have a program for subscribers only that helped your mental health and was a great way to start the day.   I'm happy to let you know that they have now opened it up to everyone for free.   It's called the Be Well Club and it is a great way to start (or build on your existing) your personal development journey.

Here is the link to the Be Well Club if you have any questions please do not hesitate to reach out to me via my Facebook page or Instagram and I'll be more than happy to answer them.

Maintaining Habits

I use a number of nutritional products, such as the ones in this set, on an ongoing basis as they make me feel good.   Often I will grab this set to top up my products instead of buying a full set or getting them individually - I know other people who do this too.

How Would You Use the Healthy Habits Set?

If you decided to try the Healthy Habits Set which of the three ways would you be using it, or have I missed an option that fits you?






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 27, 2022

The Original Lysol Concentrate - Reviewed

 This 12oz. little brown bottle of the original Lysol concentrate will make 9 gallons of cleaning solution.

Lysol Concentrate

With all of the convenience today of easy-to-use cleaners in spray bottles, and wipes, it makes me wonder does anyone still use this little brown bottle of Lysol concentrate? Well, we always have a bottle under our kitchen sink.

Lysol concentrate cleans, disinfects, deodorizes, and eliminates germs on non-porous surfaces. It will eliminate bacteria and viruses that I can't even pronounce. 

Some of the many uses for Lysol Concentrate:

  • Floors
  • Washable Walls
  • Appliance exteriors
  • Counter Tops
  • Bathtubs
  • Showers
  • Doorknobs
  • Toilet Bowl exteriors
To clean and deodorize just mix 2 to 3 tablespoons with one gallon of warm water. To disinfect and remove heavy dirt, grease and grime use 5 tablespoons to one quart of warm water.

True Story about this little brown bottle:

Many years ago in high school my buddy and I needed some extra money to take our dates to the prom. We had to buy flowers and take our dates to dinner. Since it was early in the spring we knew that people would be spring cleaning their homes. So we advertised for washing walls.  

Well, the ad worked and we had several customers lined up. So we gathered up our buckets, ladders, and rags. My mother handed me the little brown bottle of Lysol concentrate and told us to add a couple of cap fulls to every bucket, it will leave a fresh scent in their home. I still use the little brown bottle today.

Oh, and by the way, I married my prom date. Fran and I will soon be celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary.


Find more Product Reviews Here:

LYSOL Concentrate Disinfectant, Original Scent 12 oz (Pack of 5)LYSOL Concentrate Disinfectant, Original Scent 12 oz (Pack of 5)LYSOL Concentrate Disinfectant, Original Scent 12 oz (Pack of 5)LEAKTITE 500 5-Quart Plastic PailLEAKTITE 500 5-Quart Plastic PailLEAKTITE 500 5-Quart Plastic Pail

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, April 26, 2022

Crafty Kitchen Critters Review

Animal décor for the kitchen




Animals are loved by almost everyone, so it is no surprise to see someone's favorite animal displayed as a design on many items.  Kitchens are an easy and fun place to show off your love for the animal of your choice, as there are so many areas that lend themselves to this type of décor.


Since I am a crafter, I love to show off the clever creations by my fellow crafters.  On many handmade sites, especially Etsy, one can find any animal that appeals to you. Whatever you need, from kitchen towels to potholders to signs and more, this 'kitchen critter' guide will give you a place to start.


Farm Animal Décor


Many kitchens are designed with a country décor and animal lovers can easily find items with images of any or all of their favorite farm animals.


Cow Farmhouse Kitchen Canisters

Cows are probably at the top of the list when it comes to animal décor in a country kitchen.  
I have noticed that sheep are also loved by many. 

Pictured above is a cute set of cow canisters for your kitchen. Created by Crystol of Missouri, these cow canisters consist of a soap jar, sugar jar, flour jar, utensil holders and S & P set. They can be found (individually or as a set) in her Etsy shop she calls CrystolsCountryKraft

Cats and Dogs


Flour Sack Kitchen Towel

If you want an animal décor in your kitchen that is not country-themed, cats and/or dogs are most likely the next big favorite.

For owners of Labrador Retrievers, this is the most adorable kitchen towel I ever saw. Handmade from Etsy and found in the shop of Boss Babe Productions.  Design printed on a flour sack kitchen towel.


Woodland Creatures


Woodland Animal Napkins

After farm animals and cats & dogs, comes any number of nature's woodland creatures.

Looking through the choices on Etsy, for instance, it is easy to see that the fox is very popular.  Depending on where you live, woodland animals in décor favorites range from large animals such as bears and moose, to the smaller squirrels, frogs, and especially owls. There is no end to the variety available. 

This featured set of cloth napkins is handmade by Linsey for her Etsy Shop Naughty Cat Apparel


Sea Animals


Manatee Potholders

In coastal communities, and especially in states such as Florida, sea life becomes a popular choice for animal décor in the kitchen.

Spruce up your kitchen 'sea' décor with this pair of handmade potholders with a design of manatees. These potholders are made by Carol for her Etsy Store 'Wilderness Ties'


Summary


Hand-Painted Wood Mini Signs

I have presented just a few of the many, many animal designs available to decorate your kitchen. Whichever animal is your favorite, you will find just what you are looking for to complete  your décor. I have focused on those items that are handmade because I love anything 'crafty', but there is no limit to animal décor anywhere you look. 


*Crafty Kitchen Critters review written by Wednesday Elf


**Intro Image of Floral Farm Animal Kitchen wood spatula - laser engraved. Product of  TreeSunCrafts on Etsy.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, April 25, 2022

Dog Raincoat Reviewed

April showers is so true in this state. Every year this northern state seems to have a very rainy, very muddy spring with a few days of monsoon like rains.  The battle is real if you own a dog with the elements. Just when the coast is almost clear after battling a snowy winter in comes spring rains like the proverbial lion.

Spring is not the dog owner's best friend. After a few very soggy outings I decided to try out a dog raincoat I had seen a few dogs successfully wear. As every dog owner will attest, every dog has their own distinct personality, likes, loves and quirks. 
I'd consider the raincoat falling into that category of  I will give it a try, but will it fly with the Fluff?

Wash And Wear Dogs

The Fluff is a nickname referring to a dog that needs to be "fluffed" due to the dog having hair verse fur. The Fluff  is not a wash and wear dog. Rain makes the Fluff look pretty much like a very large rat. It is not pretty. 

However, the reality of not being a wash and wear dog is a wet Fluff must then be dried with a hair dryer (that is an event) and the hair blown out (that is an event) so the curly hair does not mat. All of the above is an EVENT and requires much labor, a few temper tantrums and lots of treats. Enter the rain coat.


Overall the rain coat delivers as promised. Very easy to put on and take off. The coat provides great coverage from the rain and keeps the entire back rain free. There is a small opening along the back to hook a leash should the dog be wearing a harness which is very convenient.  I put the rain coat on over the harness. I have also put the raincoat on over a harness and a dog sweater!  

Along with the very bright yellow the coat also has reflective stripes to ensure the dog can be seen at night or in cloudy weather. My one concern was the hood...

The Hood

The hood is flexible! It can be worn up or down just like a human's rain coat. I was a little skeptical about how the Fluff would react to the hood. The opening of the hood attaches under the dog's chin with a velcro closure. What was nice and practical is the bottom closure of the hood is not tight around the dogs' muzzle and I believe allows the dog to wear the hood without feeling constrained or like a tight hat.

The Fluff Approves

The Fluff actually likes the rain coat! Who would have known! The coat is easy to put on with a velcro strap which goes under the dogs belly. The hood has another velcro opening. Quick, easy, no muss, no fuss. The coat goes on in a flash and provides great coverage to keep the majority of the dog rain free in even the heaviest of down pours.

Is your dog hood friendly? Well, on a scale of hat friendly aka I will wear whatever my owner puts on my head the Fluff is about a 9/10 on the laid back wearing hats scale. Yes, the hood does occasionally generate a side eye look of "Oh, it's that thing... again." But ok and off he goes into the rain with hood. 

As with any dog coat, hat, sweater it is of course up to the dog if the accessory is acceptable! Because the coat is not tight or restrictive and is light weight I think there is a good chance the rain coat would be accepted by your furball.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, April 24, 2022

Cat Houses that Double as Furniture - Space Saving Solutions


Having a big family like I do, managing the space in our home has been a number one priority when decorating. In fact, it's such a passion of mine (to maximize space) that I've created a Pinterest Board with several years of creative storage solution suggestions.

City apartments and homes can be pretty small these days. Depending upon which city you live in, it's not uncommon to have to settle for suites as small as 500 square feet. If you think the rent must be low for such an apartment in the city, think twice. The average rent for a small one-bedroom in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, is approximately $2145/month. 

Whether you're battling space or not, pet owners can manage square footage by implementing the use of a cat house that doubles as a useable piece of furniture.

Types of Furniture You'll Typically Find that Doubles as a Home for Kitty

  • End Tables
  • Ottomans
  • Benches
How You Can Include Cat House Furniture:

End Tables

The products featured offer various end-table designs. You can plan to use a cat end-table in bedrooms, playrooms, or even the house's main room. For those who live in tiny spaces, cat end tables are an ideal spot for a kitty's bed.

Ottomans

Try a kitty ottoman house if you're nervous about setting up a cat bed inside an end-table. They're so cute. They provide a place for kitty to sleep while also giving you a spot to raise your tired legs. These can be used anywhere; a bedroom, an enclosed porch, the main room, or the kid's playroom area.

Benches

A small seating bench can double as a place for a kitty to hide and sleep. The cat benches featured are not overly large, so they can easily be included in small entryways as a place that doubles as a kitty's house and a way to sit down to put on your shoes.

Of course, you can find a wide variety of cat houses; however, when square footage is an issue, check out furniture that doubles as a place for kitty to relax and sleep.





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, April 22, 2022

Pampered Chef Boil-Over No More Pot Cover Splatter Guard Reviewed

Boil-Over No More
When I was invited to a Pampered Chef party recently, I attended only because a friend was hosting it.  I have a few Pampered Chef items in my kitchen and love them, but I wasn't shopping their catalog or seeking more of the products before I received the party invitation.  I ended up finding several new products that I really wanted in my kitchen. One of those products was the large Boil-Over No More. 

I was shocked by how much I love the Boil-Over No More pot cover. The first time I used it with my T-fal 5 quart dutch oven stockpot, I was dancing around the kitchen praising the cover.  I could not believe it actually kept the pot of boiling chicken from boiling over.  After that experience, I could hardly wait to try it while boiling potatoes, which makes a huge starch-water mess on my smooth top stove when they boil over. I was thrilled to see that the boiled potato water did not boil over.

Needless to say, this is my favorite new kitchen cooking accessory! Now I always use it instead of the pot lid and my smooth top stove stays clean. 

 

The Pampered Chef Boil-Over No More 

There are two sizes available.  I only purchased the large Boil-Over No More for my large dutch ovens or stockpot, which are the pots I use most often when when boiling anything.

The Boil-Over No More sinks slighting into the pot and has little flaps on the top for steam release.  It is almost 13" wide and will fit most standard size skillets too.  The small handles on each side allow you to easily lift the cover off.  To check the water level, I simply lift one of the flaps to peak inside the pot without removing the Boil-Over No More.  I do remove the entire cover if I need to add water.

The Boil-Over No More is dishwasher safe.  I store my cover by leaning it against the wall inside my cabinet, next to my stacked pans. That makes it very easy to locate and pull out when needed. 

 

You can purchase your own Boil-Over No More by clicking the E-bay link below.


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, April 20, 2022

Special Days in May ~ A Gift Review

 While all of us are desperately waiting for Spring to bring forth it's flowers and warmer weather, May is coming along fast and furious with many "special days" to look forward to.  

Of course everyone knows it's Mother's Day on the 8th of May, but did you also know that we celebrate Nurses Day and Teachers Appreciation Week in the same month?


Mother's Day can be a time to give her something that she can really use to pamper herself just a little bit!  Instead of the usual chocolates, flowers or cards, give her the gift of Color Street and let mom indulge herself with a little self-care.

Teachers can be undone with all the coffee mugs and chocolates as well.  Why not think outside the box and give them some fun for their fingertips.  I can just see the little eyes wanting to check out the fancy nails on their favorite teacher.  

Nurses who are run off their feet with caring for others, could also use a nice little pick me up.  Color Street Nail Strips are perfect!  While your favorite nurse is on a coffee break, she can do up her nails in less than ten minutes.  A little self care help for the ones who care for everyone else before themselves.  

Your hands are always visible to everyone and when your nails are nice and polished they make a statement without having to say anything out loud.  It says, " I care about myself too!"

If you are anything like me, I don't like to sit waiting for things to be ready.  Color Strips Nail Strips are ready and done in less than 10 minutes.  Once applied, you can continue on your day and accomplish all the things that need doing.  No waiting for nail polish to dry and once applied, they last for at least 2 weeks.  No cracking, peeling, smudging is going to happen, unlike liquid nail polish!

Until I found these Color Strips, I hated doing my nails.  I just could not seem to get a good application happening.  One coat would go on great and the second coat would get all smudged.  Frustration was the name of the game in my case.  NOT anymore! 

What I really like is that with these Nail Strips you can mix and match or mix and contrast as you like.  One set of strips are enough to do a full manicure if you have long nails, or two if your nails are kept on the shorter side.  Just make sure that you seal the package after you are finished with the Strips.  A curling iron will seal the package nicely until you need them again.  

https://www.colorstreet.com/Olivia72/nailbar/3523400


Color Street Nail Strips are only available through a Stylist and they are not hard to find. So if your Teacher, Nurse or Mom really likes this gift, she can order for herself after having used your gift!  They are affordable and a really nice gift that says so much.

If you are a little bit artistic, you can do so much with these Nail Strips by thinking outside the box (so to speak).  

When you have a great product, people begin to notice and the awards for excellence start to roll in.  So it is with Color Street!  They have been awarded the Best in Nail Care!  Check this out:
 



Needless to say, I'm pleased to have joined this company as a Stylist and also appreciate that this company gives back to their communities.  You will find that they support causes like Epilepsy, Birth Defects, March of Dimes, Breast Cancer Awareness and so much more.  

If you want to see for yourself just how easy Color Street Nail Strips are to apply you can watch this You Tube video!

I hope you get a chance to try these out for yourself and I would love to know what you think!  Don't hesitate to leave a message!   For those of you who look after "Elders" these Color Strips also make a wonderful way to spend some time spoiling them with a little bit of fun!  




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:
Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G



Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X