Showing posts with label kitchen. Show all posts
Showing posts with label kitchen. Show all posts

Friday, September 4, 2020

Set of Stainless Steel Stackable Magnetic Measuring Spoons Reviewed

Set of Stainless Steel Stackable Magnetic Measuring Spoons Reviewed
I have always enjoyed cooking, but there are times when it is more of a job than a joy. Having the right tools in any endeavor can make a world of difference in the overall experience.  It was truly shocking for me to discover how much these particular measuring spoons improved my attitude.  I had not previously realized how much I was struggling with my older measuring spoons.

I am no longer a spring chicken, but I embrace my age and appreciate the good things about being at retirement age.  Still, there are a few things I miss when cooking.  I can't read small numbers without reading glasses or a magnifying glass.  My hands are not as steady as they once were.  I have aches and pains from standing too long now.  Plus, I seem to get annoyed by insignificant stuff more easily.  The latter issue is most likely a result of the previous 3 issues.  I hate not being able to easy sail through the preparation of a recipe or meal.  

Lest you think I am complaining, I am not.  I recognize these are simple inconveniences, not problems.  I am only explaining in advance why the measuring spoons matter.


Stainless Steel Stackable Magnetic Measuring Spoons - Set of 6 


There are many reasons why I love these measuring spoons and think everyone should have a set. Whether you cook often or only occasionally, you will want the best measuring utensils available.  These are the best measuring spoons and here is why:

Because I have found these measuring spoons make such a huge difference for me, I own two sets.  Being able to see the measurement labels without the aid of reading glasses, plus not having to hold the measuring spoon in one hand, while I pour ingredients with the other hand, makes the task extremely easy.  

As incredible as it may sound, these measuring spoons make me feel like a spring chicken in my kitchen again.  Attitude affects the whole process!









Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 28, 2020

Cast Iron Trivets Reviewed

Cast Iron Trivets Reviewed
My Cast Iron Cow Trivet
I like to surround myself with pretty things that are functional. After all, an item doesn't have to be ugly simply because it is utilitarian.  This is especially true in the kitchen.

I have cooked with a cast iron skillet for as long as I can remember.  I use a cast iron trivet, which I have also had for as long as I can remember, to protect my counter top from the extremely hot and heavy skillet.  However, I recently purchased a cast iron dutch oven for baking bread. I immediately realized that I needed a second cast iron trivet for my new dutch oven's lid which is equally as hot and heavy as the pot itself.

I happened to be exploring an antique store a few weeks ago when I came across an adorable dog cast iron trivet finished just like my cow trivet.  Well, of course, I had to have that!  The dog trivet had a hanger on it which gives it a dual purpose.  It is also kitchen decor.  Yes, I can hang it right on my wall where it will be very convenient and easy to find when needed.

After I got home, I looked at my long time friend, the cow cast iron trivet. I couldn't believe it!  She has a hole for hanging too that I never noticed before.  It was pretty exciting to discover that my pretty cow can also be displayed.  

Using functional cast iron trivets as "pictures".  I love it!


Functional Beauty of Cast Iron Trivets


Unlike many current day trivets that sit flat on a counter top, my cast iron trivets are raised on feet.  That allows the pot or skillet to cool from the bottom as well as the top and sides while protecting my counters from the intense heat.  Since they are also made of cast iron, they are perfectly designed for the weight of cast iron cookware.


Features of the Cast Iron Trivets

Puppy Cast iron Trivet
My Newly Acquired Puppy Cast Iron Trivet
  • Protective rubber feet to protect walls or counter tops 
  • Strong enough to hold heavy skillets, pots & pans
  • Tolerates heat from hot pan without sustaining damage
  • Available in a variety of designs 

My trivets are bronze, clearly from an era when brass was prominent in home decor.  New cast iron trivets are most often black, which match the standard cast iron cookware.  However, there are a few available that are painted like the rooster trivet shown below.

Now, if I only had more wall space in my kitchen, I could have a whole barnyard of animal trivets surrounding me.  





Antique Cast Iron Trivets


If you prefer the bronze or antique trivets, Ebay is the perfect source.  Keep it mind, if you don't see one you love on Ebay today (linked for easy access), you just might see one tomorrow.  Items on Ebay change constantly thanks to the vast numbers of sellers on the site.






Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, July 10, 2020

Lodge Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven With Loop Handles Reviewed

Cast Iron Dutch Oven and Lid Skillet
When fellow contributor, Dawn Rae, started tempting me with homemade bread recipes, I decided I needed a dutch oven.  My husband loves homemade bread and I enjoy cooking, so it was time to test my bread baking skills again.

It has been years since I have baked bread other than my banana bread.  I used to bake bread every week, but I got out of that habit when I let my sour dough starter ruin.  I would love to find another really good sour dough starter.  Until then, Dawn's Artisan Bread Recipe is great!  Actually, it is faster and easier than the sour dough bread I used to make and my family seems to be just as happy with Dawn's Artisan Bread. 

There are a lot of dutch ovens available, but I wanted the cast iron version.


The Versatility of Cast Iron


 Lodge Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven on Gas StoveI have cooked with a cast iron skillet my entire life.  It is heavy compared to other skillets, but you can't beat it when frying fish, frying pork chops, or baking cornbread.  

You can use cast iron on a stove top, electric or gas, as long as it has range burner elements (not recommended by some glass stove top manufacturers for a flat surface glass stove top).  
Update: Contributor Sam Monaco comments below that he uses his cast iron skillet on his glass stove top all of the time.

Cast Iron will also go in the oven, which is how my mother, my grandmother, my great grandmother and I have all baked cornbread.  That is why I wanted the cast iron dutch oven.  I knew it would be most excellent for baking!

Cast Iron can also be used on a open flame, like a campfire.  I have been known to fish which is rather ironic since I don't eat trout or catfish.  However, when you come from a family with 4 brothers and a mother who loves catfish, you better fish or you are left behind counting the hours.  Besides, I love quietly floating down the river in a boat, soaking in the sun and the beauty of nature surrounding me.  

One year, Dad hired a guide.  We caught our limit by midday, but didn't have any desire to stop fishing.  So, we pulled to shore, built a campfire and cooked our fish in a cast iron skillet along with some potatoes the guide provided.  After lunch, we fished a few more hours and brought home fish for dinner.  That is how I discovered a cast iron skillet could be used over a open campfire!


My Cast Iron Dutch Oven


 Lodge Pre-Seasoned Cast Iron Double Dutch Oven With Loop Handles, 5 qtCheck PriceI purchased a 5 qt. Lodge brand cast iron dutch oven and I have be thrilled with it for several reasons.

  • The lid doubles as a skillet
  • I really like the handles on both the lid & the dutch oven
  • It is just the right size for the oven
  • Perfection in cooking due to even heating 
  • Easy to wash, dry & re-season* 
  • I know it will outlast me, which means I will never have to buy again
  • Lodge is a trusted name in cast iron.  Over 100 years in business

*Seasoning cast iron is simply rubbing it lightly with vegetable oil after washing while it is still warm from the hot water wash or you can place it back in a warm oven after applying the oil.

I chose the basic cast iron dutch oven mainly because I loved the dual purpose lid.  I knew I could flip the lid and bake cornbread on top while a roast baked below it in the dutch oven.  The top would not only be a lid for the roast, but also a skillet for the cornbread.  

One note about using the lid on the dutch oven.  In the photo, you see the lid and dutch oven handles are evenly aligned.  I prefer to offset them slightly so lifting the hot lid is much easier.

Dawn Rae chose an enameled cast iron dutch oven which should be fine for cooking on a flat, glass stove top.  You can read her review here: Enameled Cast Iron - Pricey But Worth It 


You too can Bake Dawn's Easy No-Knead Dutch Oven Artisan Bread! 
To make my bread in the intro photo, I used Dawn's recipe. 
I added 3/4 cup cranberries, 3/4 cup walnuts & 1T honey.
Simply click the image below for her recipe. 

crunchy-no-knead-round-loaf-bread





Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 28, 2020

Refrigerator Onion Storage Keeper Reviewed

Refrigerator Onion Storage Keeper Reviewed
Onions in the refrigerator are not always welcome! 

We all know it is not necessary to refrigerate onions before they are cut, unless you wish to extend their shelf life.  However, once they are peeled, sliced or diced, they should be refrigerated. 

Whether refrigerated or not, the great temptation is to store them in a plastic bag due to their strong odor.  However, according to the National Onion Association, you should never store a whole onion in a plastic bag.  They actually recommend wrapping them in paper towels or newspaper and placing them in the refrigerator to extend their shelf life.  That allows for air ventilation.  

But wait!  Air ventilation for the onion is exactly what the rest of my food does not want.  Not only does the other food not like it, I'm not real keen on onion smell permeating my refrigerator, kitchen, or my pantry.  Therefore, it became necessary for me to seek out a different method for onion storage.   

I've tried keeping onions in a Tupperware containers, refrigerator sandwich bags when diced, Saran wrapped plates, tucked away in the refrigerator drawer, and even sitting next to an open box of baking soda.  I still smelled those onions!  Plus, I really hated that residual smell in my Tupperware, which I use for many other things.

I finally found a solution that works for me!


Refrigerator Onion Keeper


 Hutzler Onion Saver, YellowCheck PriceI will be the first to admit that I was really surprised when this inexpensive onion keeper actually worked.  Now before I go too far, the keeper itself always reeks of onion smell, even after being washed.  But, once it is closed, sweet nothing!  No more onion odor!!!  Made me want to buy 5 of them.  I have no idea what I would do with 5 onion keepers, but I was so pleased with the results, I somehow wanted to show my great appreciation to the little "onion".

I also love the looks of my onion keeper.  I know exactly where my onion is now.  It is no longer hiding in plain sight disguised as a Tupperware bowl. 

The Hutzler Onion Saver is dishwasher safe, but the inside still smells like onion after it is washed.  That is fine with me as long as it blocks the odor in my refrigerator, which it does!  I have washed it several times on the top rack of my dishwasher.  My onion keeper still seals properly and works perfectly.  You can safely store an onion, whole or cut, in the refrigerator for 7 - 10 days.  The Onion Saver has a circular grid in the bottom that keeps the onion elevated for better air circulation within the keeper.  Obviously, that is not as well ventilated as open air, or a paper towel, but it beats the odor!
  

I doubt seriously that the Hutzler Onion Saver will last for years, but sometimes we are pleasantly surprised.  Regardless, it cost less than a box of refrigerator sandwich bags and doesn't have to be thrown away after each use.




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, December 6, 2019

Rubbermaid Brilliance Food Storage Container Reviewed

Airtight, Leakproof, Microwavable & Freezer Safe Storage 

 Rubbermaid Brilliance Food Storage Container Reviewed
I recently purchased 3 Rubbermaid Food Storage Containers. I needed an airtight container for rolls & crescents so they would last longer. I selected the 9.6 cup size which was perfect for my needs. As it turns out, there are many more uses for these containers than just bread storage. 

During the recent holidays, I discovered these containers will hold liquid or dry food.  Since they are leak-proof due to their tight seal, they will even store leftover homemade soup.  Plus, they are microwavable when it is time to reheat the leftovers.  Therefore, there is no need to transfer leftovers from their storage container to heat.  Less clean-up is always appreciated.

I love my faithful Tupperware, but sadly, if I can't see it, I am likely to forget it.  So much fruit is discarded simply because it is forgotten once it has been stored away.  Because these containers are transparent, it is easy to see at a glance what is stored in which container. 


 Rubbermaid Brillance Food Storage Container Reviewed


Rubbermaid Food Storage Containers


 Rubbermaid Brilliance Food Storage Container, Large, 9.6 Cup, Clear 1991158Check PriceNot only are they clear, airtight, leak-proof, microwavable and freezer safe, their flat design makes them stackable in the the refrigerator, freezer, or pantry.   

Since we don't have to worry about the spilling, transporting food from one location to another is easy.  Of course, if you are dropping off food, you might not get these nifty containers back. The recipient will be tempted to forget where they came from originally.

Now that I have had experience with the larger containers, I will definitely be buying the smaller single serve size as well.  That will make lunchtime so much easier! 

To use in the microwave, simply lift the locks for venting.  

The only possible negative that I have found with these containers is that they seal so tightly.  It takes more effort to remove the lids than it does with a snap lid.  But, after a few uses, I knew what to expect.  Now I grip the container with one hand and remove the lid with my other hand.  In my opinion, that is a simple inconvenience to enjoy the airtight storage.

Oh, and did I mention, the price is right!  No wonder they named these containers "Brilliance".








Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, October 11, 2019

Anti Fatigue Comfort Floor Mat By Sky Mats Reviewed

Anti Fatigue Comfort Floor Mat by Sky Mats Reviewed
I would be the first to say, I am extremely surprised that these anti-fatigue mats actually work! 

When we visited our daughter a few weeks ago, she had several anti-fatigue floor mats in her kitchen.  One in front of her sink and one in front of the counter they use when preparing food. Honestly, I thought they were the latest gimmick to separate us from our money.  I stood on one of her mats and thought, "wow, this really is comfortable".

Back home, I promptly ordered two anti-fatigue mats for my own kitchen.  As soon as they arrived, they were immediately placed on the hardwood floor.  Since then, I have prepared two recipes that require a lot of standing time.  Shockingly, I did not hurt after standing for over an hour either time.


Anti-Fatigue Floor Mats By Sky Mats 


Make sure you buy the right brand!  I tried several in the local store and most of them slid to easily.  The Sky mats have a backing that holds them in place.  Plus, they have sloped edges.  Therefore, I won't slip and fall.  That non-slip backing is a huge difference when comparing anti-fatigue floor mats.

The Sky Mats are not available in a lot of different colors or patterns.  Getting hung up on "looks" is what caused me to consider a different brand.  I am so glad I tried them in the store first!  I knew I would prefer comfort over appearance. After all, the reason I need the mats is because of the extreme back pain I experience after standing on my hardwood floors for long periods of time.


Anti Fatigue Comfort Floor Mats by Sky Mats Reviewed

I purchased two different Sky Mats.  They are the same matching color, but they are different lengths.  As you can see in the photos, I have the standard size (20x32x3/4-inch) in front of my kitchen sink.  However, I opted for a longer (24x70x3/4-inch) that covers the area in front of my counter and stove top.  This is totally awesome!  I never have to leave my "cloud of comfort" when preparing, cooking, or cleaning.  Plus, the smaller mat is easy to lift and move if needed.

I enjoy cooking and always hated the subsequent aches and pains.  I no longer have to worry about hurting simply because I need to stand at the counter or stove-top for several hours. That makes the meal so much more enjoyable for me! 










Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 8, 2019

Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maine Syrups & Gift Set Reviewed

Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maple Syrup & Gift Set Reviewed
I love cooking for my family, therefore a gift for my kitchen is always the right gift.  

When I received my Stonewall Kitchen gift set this year from my husband, I was immediately thrilled by the pretty blueberry batter bowl.  I admit, my one weakness is mixing bowls.  I love them, especially if they have a spout.  

I was also pretty excited to try a new pancake mix.  Turns out, I prefer the Stonewall Kitchen pancake mix to any other that I have ever tried.  That is rather surprising since I have used a popular grocery store brand for decades and have always liked the flavor and texture of the store brand.  However, the Stonewall Kitchen pancake & waffle mix has a better taste. 

The gift set also came with Wild Maine Blueberry Jam and Wild Maine Blueberry Syrup.  By now, you have probably guessed it was a blueberry themed gift set.  He also gave me a bottle of Wild Maine Maple Syrup separately.  Actually, he probably bought that for himself, but it was included with the gift.


Stonewall Kitchen Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix


 Stonewall Kitchen Farmhouse Pancake and Waffle MixCheck Price If you love pancakes, and you prefer using a mix, you will want to try the Stonewall Kitchen Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix.  As I said in the introduction, I was extremely surprised to find that I prefer it to the brand that I have used for a lifetime.

The mix requires that an egg, milk & melted butter be added, but I always have those on-hand, so no problem.  I quickly whipped up the batter and made our first batch of pancakes.  I wasn't sure what to expect since the batter was a lot thinner than other pancake batters, but my fears were unfounded.  The pancakes were delicious.

When we sat down to eat, neither one of us was talking, we were too busy eating!



My Preferred Method for Cooking Pancakes


 Oster Electric Skillet, 16 Inch, Black/Stainless SteelCheck PriceIt is important that I note how I cook the Stonewall Kitchen mix pancakes.  I use my electric skillet, set to 350°, with about a half-inch of Crisco vegetable oil covering the bottom of the skillet.  In effect, I am frying my pancakes in oil, uncovered.  I turn the pancakes when bubbles start to form on the side that is up.  I only turn them once.

Because the clean-up is easier, the second time I made these pancakes, I used my Cuisinart Griddler.  I can also cook more pancakes at one time since the Griddler opens out flat which allows me to cook on two grills at the same time.  I didn't expect there to be much difference, but there definitely was a difference.  The pancakes were simply not as good.  They still tasted okay, but after the first batch cooked in the electric skillet, they were disappointing.

Therefore, from now on, I will always cook my Stonewall Kitchen pancakes in oil in my electric skillet.


The Stonewall Kitchen Syrups


I am a huge fan of blueberry syrup when it is really good, but I hate it if it tastes artificial.  My husband prefers Maple syrup, but like me, he is selective.  It has to be real maple syrup.

Few blueberry syrups live up to my standards.  Stonewall Kitchen Wild Maine Blueberry Syrup is, by far, the best I have ever eaten!  

Believe it or not, my husband has said that the Stonewall Kitchen Maine Maple Syrup is the best maple syrup he has ever tried.  Big wins there for Stonewall Kitchen!  We are both very picky when it comes to our pancake syrup.

Oh, and the bottles are really cute too!



 Stonewall Kitchen Breakfast Gift Baskets and Sets (5 Piece Blueberry Gift Set)Check PriceMy Stonewall Kitchen Blueberry Gift Set


Yeah, I know.   Now you all want my gift set too.  Well, you can't have mine, but you can have one like it.  I can tell you from experience, this is a great gift for the cook.

Do note though that the blueberry set comes with blueberry syrup.  You may also wish to purchase the Maine Maple Syrup separately like we did.

The gift set includes everything you see in the picture and comes wrapped in the cellophane bag tied with a Stonewall Kitchen ribbon like mine in the top photo.  

Gift Set Includes:
  • Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix
  • Blueberry Batter Bowl
  • Wild Maine Blueberry Jam
  • Wild Maine Blueberry Syrup
  • Blue Spatula

 

 
Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maine Syrups, & Gift Set Reviewed

 

Related & Relative Articles


I am not the only blueberry loving Contributor!  Olivia has previously revealed her love for the fruit too. Plus, you may have recognized the phrase I used in the introduction, "my one weakness".  That is actually a quote from Lark Rise to Candleford.  Dorcas Lane uses that descriptive phrase several times in the movie and it always tickles me to hear her say it.

You may have noticed the Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix is also for waffles. Literally, it is named Farmhouse Pancake & Waffle Mix. You can make those waffles in a really cute heart-shaped waffle maker that was reviewed here by Bev Owens.

Olivia reviews some of the best recipes, as well as a cookbook recommendation, for all of us who love to consume this delightful bit of heaven on earth!

Lark Rise To Candleford ReviewLark Rise To Candleford Review

Enjoy Lark Rise To Candleford the BBC series which inspires, enlightens and entertains the entire family. The Lark Rise to Candleford series is based on the semi-autobiographical novels by Flora Thompson

Mini Muffins- Bake Ahead and FreezeMini Muffins- Bake Ahead and Freeze
Mary Beth shared her own personal recipe for blueberry apple oat muffins here. She also gave us the basic recipe for her bake and freeze muffins which could include many different fruits & nuts.

Heart Waffle Maker ReviewedHeart Waffle Maker Reviewed
Bev reviewed this heart shaped waffle maker to make our waffles in the shape of a heart as an expression of our love. Small and lightweight this heart shaped waffle maker can be a fun addition to any kitchen.




Stonewall Kitchen Pancake Mix, Maple Syrup & Gift Set Reviewed Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, November 9, 2018

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review

New CorningWare Bakeware Compared to Vintage CorningWare 


New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review
I have used CorningWare cookware in my kitchen for decades.  It is truly one of my favorite brands since it can be used to store and cook.  I always store leftovers in our CorningWare dishes simple because it can literally go from the refrigerator to the microwave or oven, lid and all.

When I recently visited our daughter, we had to go to a department store to pick up another curtain panel.  As we were walking through the store, I spied the new CorningWare bakeware and immediately fell in love with their looks.  The new style is cuter than the vintage CorningWare that I own and use weekly.  I just love the oval shape with the ribbed sides and the cute little handles.  

I thoroughly inspected them in the store, turning them upside down, considering their weight and questioning the new lid style.  I also noted they were made in China.  I set the little baking dish back down and moved on to the curtains so we could get what we came for and get done.  

Overnight, I kept thinking about the new CorningWare.  You could almost say I was haunted by it.  Needless to say, on our way out of town the next day, I asked my husband to stop at the store so I could get the new dish.  When he saw it, after hearing about it several times the day before, he suggested I buy two.  It didn't require much encouragement for me to pick up two instead of one.

CorningWare French White 1.5 Quart Oval Casserole with Glass Lid
Click to Check Current Price - CorningWare Oval Casserole


Vintage Style vs New Style CorningWare Comparison


My vintage CorningWare is heavier.  I think that is mostly due to the changes in the lid instead of the actual casserole dish.  The lid is a completely different design.  It is much thinner and much lighter weight.  Instead of being part of the glass, the lid handle is ceramic.  It is pretty, but I fear it won't last decades the way the thick glass lids for my vintage CorningWare has endured.  One more note about the lid before I move on, it cannot go from the freezer to the oven.  

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review


As I noted earlier, I love the ribbed design.  That ribbing style has been around for a while, but the rounded handles are new.  At least they are new to me.  I had never seen them before.  As you can see in the photo, all of my vintage CorningWare has smooth sides and squared handles.  

Not only does the ribbing look pretty, but it actually helps me get a better grip on the dish.  That does not mean I will be discarding my vintage CorningWare.  It is simply an observation for comparison.

I worried the light lid would not "seal" leftovers in the refrigerator.  I have used them multiple times now and find that was an unnecessary concern.  They seem to seal just fine.   

 Corningware French White III
Oval Casserole with Glass Cover, 1.5-Quart
Check Price
One awesome surprise, the oval shape seems to take up less room on the refrigerator shelf.   I have a side by side refrigerator which is nice for the freezer, but makes the shelves a lot smaller on the fridge side.  I can easily fit two of the oval shaped dishes on the same shelf.  


Additional CorningWare Features

  • Cleans up easily 
  • Refrigerator, Microwave, Oven Safe, Dishwasher
  • Dish is Freezer Safe
  • Non-porous Stoneware won't absorb odors or stains
  • Bake, Store & Serve in One Dish


My Conclusion

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review
As I said in the opening, I love the looks of the new CorningWare.  Plus, it is great for storing and reheating leftovers.  Overall, it will be great for us.  However, I do not expect it to be as durable and long-lasting as my vintage sets.  I fully expect the pretty lid handle to become an issue at some point.  

For us, these dishes are exactly what we needed because we almost always have leftovers from dinner.  The lighter weight allows me to effortlessly transfer them from the refrigerator to the microwave.  

Since I purchased the 1.5 quart size, I limited myself on what dinners and sides I could cook in them.  Most of my recipes call for a larger size.  But, one of the things I want to be able to do is to half recipes when I am cooking for two instead of four or more. 

New CorningWare French White Oval Casserole with Glass Lid Review
Original Roast Recipe on Cooking for the Holidays



Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 


House of Sylvestermouse




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, August 17, 2018

Wimaha Automatic Soap Dispenser for Your Home Reviewed

 Wimaha Automatic Soap Dispenser for Your Home Reviewed
I recently visited my daughter and son-in-law in their new home.  They have automatic soap dispensers in both bathrooms and two touchless soap dispensers in their kitchen.  The second soap dispenser in their kitchen is for dishwashing liquid, which is actually really convenient.  

Previously, the only time I had ever used a touchless soap dispenser was in restaurant restrooms.  I have always thought they were wonderful.  After all, do we really want to touch  the exact spot others have touched after they have used the restroom?  In spite of the fact that I logically realize I would be washing away all germs when I wash my own hands, it always seemed a little gross to me.   Anytime I see automatic soap dispensers in public places, I am thrilled.  In my opinion, they are only topped by the automatic faucets.  I truly love not having to touch anything in restrooms!  Now that I think about it, automatic restroom doors would be fabulous.

After being introduced to them, I want a Wimaha automatic soap dispenser for each bathroom in my own home and two for the kitchen!  



The Wimaha Automatic Touchless Soap Dispenser


Wimaha Automatic Sensor Soap Dispenser
My daughter chose the Wimaha automatic soap dispenser for their home.  I did giggle a little when I first saw it.  The sleek modern design of the dispenser reminded me of something from a Star Wars movie.  

It was pretty cool to simply place my hand under the dispensing nozzle and have soap automatically come out without having to touch anything.  The built-in sensor worked beautifully and knew exactly when to release a moderate amount of liquid soap.  My son-in-law told me he had it set for minimum soap, which was the perfect amount for washing hands.  Therefore, the dispenser also keeps us from wasting soap by not pumping too much onto our hands.

The Wimaha touchless soap dispenser works with four AAA batteries, so there are no ugly electrical cords in the way or that need to be hidden.  The batteries are not included.

I can hardly wait for my own Wimaha automatic soap dispensers to arrive!


Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com

 

House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, February 16, 2018

Copper Chef Square Fry Pan Review

 Copper Chef Square Fry Pan Review
I enjoy cooking, probably because I enjoy eating, and the kitchen is my shared domain.  You see, I share my kitchen with my husband because he also cooks.  He has his specialties and I have mine. 

Not only do we share the kitchen, we share our pots and pans, one of which is the Copper Chef square fry pan that my parents gave my husband for Christmas this past year.   We both love our new skillet.  Note I said "our".   It may have been a gift to my husband, but I now claim it equally because it is so totally awesome.  As a matter of fact, I purchased the Copper Chef round fry pan for my husband for Valentine's Day.  Give it a few days, and I will claim it equally as well.


Why I Love the Copper Chef Fry Pan


First and foremost, I love the Copper Chef fry pan because it cleans so easily.  Seriously, I can easily clean the pan with a paper towel.  Of course, I still hand wash it with dish soap, but it could pass for clean before it ever hits the sink.  According to the packaging information, the pan is dishwasher safe.  However, I always hand wash my coated cookware to preserve the coating for as long as possible.


Copper Chef Square Fry Pan Review


Copper Chef Square Fry Pan Reviewed
I also really like the square shape!  As you can see in the photo, I can fry 4 pieces of meat or 4 eggs at the same time.  With a round pan, I can usually only fry one or two pieces at a time depending on the size of the pan and I could only fry one egg at a time.  It is simply amazing that the square shape makes that much difference, but it does.

Another plus, you can put this pan in the oven, which means it is not just for stove-top frying.  

Oh, and lest I forget to tell you, it has a non-stick ceramic coating, which accounts for the easy cleaning.  And, it also has a hollow handle that doesn't get hot when frying.  That means I don't need a fabric pot holder to lift the skillet.  

Currently, we have the 9.5" square pan and the 8" round pan.   Now, I want the square pan with the lid!  Guess you all know what my husband's next gift will be.  

Copper Chef Square Fry Pan Review
 




Read More Product Reviews On
ReviewThisProducts.com


"Copper Chef Square Fry Pan Review"  written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

Mandoline Slicer Reviewed

Cutting Vegetables Made Easy

slicing with knife
Slicing onions image courtesy of Pixabay.com
Do you watch cooking shows? Have you ever wished that you could slice vegetables and other items quickly with a knife like they do? Shoot, I will admit that I can't even cut things evenly with a knife going slow let alone trying to speed it up. So, I have added a tool to my kitchen that will slice quickly without holding a knife in my hand to do it. I finally bought myself a mandoline slicer. 

Now, I won't have to worry about cutting myself with a knife and I can have thin slices or waffled (something I can't do with a knife!) veggies anytime I want them. I should also tell you that I have a history (not a pretty one!) with knives that would best be saved for another day. Let's just say, I have a healthy respect for a knife and fingers!

What I love about the Mueller Slicer is its versatility. I have five blades to choose from and the adjustable stand is awesome! There are two different styles of shredding blades which is something that a lot of the other mandolines don't offer. One gives a thicker cut that is good when I want things to be cubed. I can take the vegetable of choice and run it across the shredder and then cut those into cubes. The finer shredder blade works well for when I want carrots in a julienne style or shredded potatoes for hash browns. There is even a blade that cuts vegetables in a waffled or crinkled pattern.

I love being able to have thin slices of potatoes to make chips with or slices of onions for sandwiches! I can even slice up a tomato without getting a mushed up mess. When using the mandoline slicer by Mueller, I can adjust the thickness of the slices which is really handy. Sometimes you want a very thin slice for chips and other times a thicker slice is called for. I have that option with this slicer.

My only regret is not having treated myself to one of these handy tools sooner! Personally, I think every kitchen should have one. If you have someone on your gift list this holiday season who loves to cook or perhaps is just learning to cook, giving them a mandoline slicer would be a most welcome gift.  



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, February 27, 2017

Recipes for Real People a Site Review

Recipes for Real People is a recipe and kitchen website that offers recipes and food ideas that are quick, easy, and useful for everyday meals. From Aprons to Vegetables, you will find comfort food recipes, meal ideas, and kitchen gifts for you and your family.

Why I Turn to Recipes for Real People


I can't even begin to guess the number of recipe websites on the internet. So why would I turn to Recipes for Real People?  There are several reasons I look to this site for ideas. Just this morning I woke with many things on my mind. I have household chores to do, reports to write for work, and assorted things I would like to accomplish with my own website. I have to find a way to save some time today.

After unseasonably warm days, a thunderstorm rolled through last night and brought behind it a very cold and cloudy morning. I am craving comfort food and not sure what I have in the kitchen. After having spent the past few days driving around with the Jeep top open and enjoying the warm weather, I had no reason to buy ingredients to make chili or stew. But now it is very cold outside, the furnace is on, I am under the blankets, and I am craving something warm and filling. Something like stew or chili. However, to make either of those things, I'd have to run out to the store.

Thanks to a recipe found on Recipes for Real People, I have found a meal idea and won't have to go to the grocery after all.

I should clarify that I am writing this on Sunday and it will be published on Monday. On Monday I will be back at the office, hard at work - giving my time and energy to others. So I am especially thankful for time-saving ideas that allow me to spend more time on the weekends on myself. 

Hamburger Vegetable Soup Recipe


Susan's Hamburger Vegetable Soup recipe is just the type of thing I am craving.  Her four-ingredient recipe is easy and made from ingredients that are often found in the kitchen at any given time.  I do not currently have any fresh ground beef in the fridge. But I do have ground sausage. So I will substitute the sausage for the ground beef and have a filling, warm, comfort meal and won't have to leave the apartment today!  In fact, come to think of it, I have a few different cans of soup that I could use as substitutes for the vegetable soup in Susan's recipe. Perhaps I'll add the sausage to a can of creamy chicken soup.  I don't know. I will decide later.  But I am relieved that a trip to the grocery is something I can remove from today's full to-do list.  All thanks to Recipes for Real People.


 (photo by Susan)


A few more reasons I turn to Recipes for Real People


  • Recipes for Real People is a website owned by one of our Review This! contributors - Susan Deppner
  • I trust that Susan is sharing recipes that she cooks in her own home
  • these recipes call for few ingredients that are readily available
  • quick and easy prep recipes
  • leftovers are used in the Recipes for Real People kitchen - I am a firm believer in using leftovers



  • Susan's kitchen helpers are adorable


    Related Recipe Links


    The Review This! contributors share some of their favorite recipes on this site. The variety of recipes, meals, kitchen items, and food reviews that the contributors bring is amazing. From slow cooker beans and TexMex lasagna to buttery shrimp pasta and party menus, there is something to suit everyone's tastes. To see those recipes, use the Review This! recipes tab and scroll. Our own Sylvestermouse Cynthia enjoys food, entertaining, and the holidays.  She is the owner of two food-related sites Fun Food and Cooking for the Holidays.

    Fun Food focuses on "fabulous fun food". I swear some of the ideas shown are works of art!  From bright and colorful swirls of jello to snake cakes and food castles, these recipes are as fun to look at as they are tasty to eat.




    Cooking for the Holidays is exactly as advertised - meals, desserts, and appetizers specific to holidays and entertaining. This website is elegant and offers recipes that will likely never happen in my little kitchen for one but are perfect for those who enjoy celebrations and entertaining. 









    Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


    FOLLOW US ON:
    Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

    The Review This Contributors



    Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010RenaissanceWomanLou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieSam MonacoSam MonacoBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecoratingforEventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G




    Review This is Dedicated to the
    Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor


    We may be apart, but
    You Are Not Forgotten


    Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner




    “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

    X