Showing posts with label Home Decor. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Home Decor. Show all posts

Wednesday, December 6, 2023

Genuine Wax Flameless Candles — An Elegant Gift Everyone Will Love

One of my favorite gifts to give or receive is genuine wax flameless candles with a lovely, flickering "flame," a timer, and a remote control that lets me "light" them or "blow them out" from across the room at the touch of a button.

When flameless wax candles first came out, the quality of the "flame" from most manufacturers was pretty poor. Fortunately, the technology has improved and prices have come down a bit over the years. Now you can buy nice ones that are suitable for both gift-giving and home decor at moderate as well as premium prices.

Whether you buy a single flameless pillar candle, a pair of tapers, or a set of votives, they're sure to add beauty and timeless elegance to your home and be a gift that keeps on giving.

Gift and Decorate with Flameless Real Wax Candles
Flameless wax candles are elegant and safe to leave unattended.
My favorites also include a timer and remote control that let you "light" and "blow them out" from across the room.

Why Choose Flameless Candles?

Here are some of the qualities that make flameless candles appealing for both gifts and home decor, during the holidays and year-round.

Long-Lasting Beauty

These flameless candles let you enjoy the timeless beauty of genuine wax candles that never burn down. We have used ours frequently for many years with no end to our enjoyment in sight (unless we run out of batteries).

Flickering LED "Flame"

The flame on these LED flameless candles moves randomly to simulate the flicker of an open flame on a traditional wax candle. Close-up, of course, no one will mistake it for a real flame. However, from farther away, the "dancing flame" effect can be quite realistic.

No Drips

Unlike traditional candles with wicks, the wax body of these flameless candles remains at room temperature and won't melt or drip (unless you subject them to excessive heat). A grouping of pillars or some tapers make a lovely centerpiece that can't set your tablecloth on fire if they're accidentally knocked over while passing a serving dish. You could even use them on a finely finished antique wood table without fear of marring the surface.

No Smoke

Another advantage is that flameless candles are smoke-free. You can "burn" as many of these beautiful candles as your heart desires without worrying about setting off the smoke alarm! I love the look of candles everywhere, especially during the holidays.

Candlelight That's Safe for the Whole Family

Since there isn't an open flame, these flameless candles can be left unattended, unlike traditional wax candles. They're safe to leave on in your windows during the holidays. They provide a romantic glow in the bedroom, with no worries if you happen to fall asleep before turning them off.

They're also safe to use around children and pets.

Perfect for the Dark Winter Months

Here in New England, the winter months can be brutally cold and the sun sets quite early. We have flameless LED candles in nearly every room of our house, and during the winter we set them to turn on at dusk, so we never have to walk into a completely dark room. The LEDs draw very little power, so a set of batteries usually lasts us the whole winter and beyond.

Melted edge wax flameless pillar candles
Two of our Luminara flameless pillar candles with our set of three color-changing flameless pillars

Luminara Flameless Candles: Perfect for Gifting

There are many brands of flameless candles, and the quality can vary significantly. We've tried a few inexpensive brands and have mostly been disappointed. The brand we count on for consistently high quality is Luminara.

Luminara makes top-of-the-line flameless candles made of hand-poured paraffin wax. Most styles have a timer and a remote, and all are boxed for easy gift-giving.

The company offers a wide range of styles, from everyday essentials to specialty items like real birch flameless candles filled with paraffin wax (gorgeous for country or rustic home decor) and Christmas-themed styles.

Here are some of my favorites.

Luminara set of 3 pillar candles with remote
Luminara set of 3 melted edge
wax pillar candles with remote -
click the image to view on Amazon

This set of three melted edge wax pillar candles is one of Luminara's best sellers. The graduated-height, 3-inch wide pillars are 4.5", 5.5" and 6.5" tall, respectively.

The included remote control operates all three candles. Even if you split them up and place them in three different locations, you can control each one with the same remote, which is very convenient.

These are unscented (although Luminara does make some scented styles), so they're ideal for someone who is sensitive to scents, has allergies, or prefers to use other home fragrance products such as potpourri or sprays.

These also come in a choice of colors. I think the burgundy is very festive for the holidays and would be great as an accent color in a mostly neutral decor palette, while ivory or white are more subtle and very elegant any time of year.

We own this set of three pillars in ivory as well as a tall pillar in a discontinued color (blue sage) that coordinates with our living room color scheme.

Luminara ivory flameless taper candles
Luminara ivory flameless taper candles -
click the image to view on Amazon

Another choice that will grace your or your gift recipient's dining table for years to come is this set of ivory flameless wax tapers.

Elegant ivory wax tapers are a classic, timeless style for good reason. Classic elegance with the safety and convenience of a flameless "flame" is a win-win!

Measuring 1" wide by 9.75" high, these flameless tapers can be used in any standard taper candle holder. Even reheated leftovers can become a festive meal with these flickering beauties on the dining table.

Although these do not come with a remote control, they do have a timer function that allows them to turn on for 5 hours and then shut off automatically for 19 hours.

These flameless taper candles also come in a variety of colors for a less classic, more contemporary style.

As with all Luminara candles, they come nicely boxed for easy gift-giving.

Luminara birch wax flameless candle
Luminara real birch wax pillar candle -
click the image to view on Amazon

Another of my favorite Luminara flameless candle styles is this hand-poured wax pillar wrapped in genuine birch bark. Every time I see one in a store I am tempted to add one to our collection!

This is available in a selection of sizes including 3.5" x 4.5", 3.5" x 6.5", 4" x 5" and 4" x 7".

Just one of these is striking enough to make a statement in any room. Investing in a group of them in different sizes would make a real conversation-piece display!

The on/off switch on the bottom also has a timer setting.

Although this beautiful birch pillar doesn't come with a remote, it is compatible with Luminara's on/off remote, sold separately, which is well worth the extra money, in my opinion. We use our Luminara remotes all the time.

Color-Changing Flameless Candles

One of the best gifts I ever gave my husband was a set of three color-changing wax flameless candles. I prefer white Christmas lights and he prefers colored ones, and it was a big concession for him to go with white icicle lights along our roof and on our Christmas tree. So, one year I decided to give him a form of colored lights we both could enjoy: color-changing flameless candles.

These turned out to be an even bigger hit than I had hoped. I took a video of ours to show the color-changing effect, which was hard to capture on video and is MUCH prettier in person. (If you can't see the YouTube video below, you can access it via this link to my color-changing flameless candles video.)

Set of 3 Flameless Candles with 12 Changing Colors
Set of 3 color-changing flameless candles
with remote control and timers -
click the image to view on Amazon

In real life, the color changes are smooth and seamless, and the unsightly flickering of the image caused by the low-resolution video doesn't exist. I wish I could show just how beautiful these are in person!

The candles have an on/off switch and a remote control that allows you not only to turn the candles on and off but also to choose from a wide range of different colors or rotate through the colors, as shown in the video.

There is also a timer feature, which we use to automatically turn on the candles in our bedroom at dusk and turn off either 4 or 8 hours later, depending on the time of year (and how late dusk arrives).

The brand I purchased a couple of years ago is no longer available. However, I found a similar set with a subtle, elegant, tone-on-tone damask pattern in the wax shell that makes them even prettier, in my opinion.

If you want to splurge, Luminara also makes lovely color-changing pillars.

Don't Forget Batteries!

Whether you're buying these for yourself or as a gift, make sure to also buy the appropriate batteries for your candles and, if applicable, the remote control.

The set of three Luminara pillar candles, the smaller Luminara birch pillars, and the Luminara tapers take AA batteries. The larger Luminara birch pillars take D batteries. The remote takes a CR2025 button battery.

The three candles in the set of color-changing pillars I featured all run on AA batteries.


Beauty, long life, safety, and convenience — just some of the reasons to treat yourself and those on your gift list to some genuine wax flameless candles!


Genuine Wax Flameless Candles — An Elegant Gift Everyone Will Love by Margaret Schindel


Read More Gift Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Home Decor Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Christmas Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, December 3, 2023

Deck the Halls: Embrace the Festive Spirit with Christmas Area Rugs

Christmas Area Rugs

The holiday season is upon us, and what better way to transform your home into a winter wonderland than with the magic of Christmas area rugs? These versatile and festive floor coverings are not just accessories; they're the secret ingredient to elevating the holiday ambiance in your home. 

Why Decking the Floors Can Be Fun

Instant Cheerful Transformation:

Rolling out a Christmas area rug is like waving a wand and turning your home into a festive haven. The vibrant colors, playful patterns, and iconic holiday symbols instantly infuse a sense of joy and merriment into any space.

Warm and Cozy Atmosphere:

There's something inherently cozy about the holiday season; a Christmas area rug takes that coziness up a notch. The soft, plush textures underfoot create a warm and inviting atmosphere, making your home the perfect retreat from the winter chill.

Express Your Style:

Christmas area rugs come in various styles, from traditional designs with classic motifs like snowflakes and reindeer to modern, whimsical patterns. This allows you to express your unique style while keeping with the festive theme. Whether your taste is timeless or trendy, a holiday rug suits every preference.

Kid-Friendly Fun:

If you have little ones running around, a Christmas area rug can become the focal point for holiday activities. From playing board games to opening presents, the rug serves as a designated festive zone that adds extra excitement for the kids.

Easy Seasonal Decor:

Only some have the time or energy to transform their home into a winter wonderland. A Christmas area rug is a quick and easy way to inject holiday spirit into any room without elaborate decorations. It's a hassle-free option for those who want maximum impact with minimal effort.

Take a Look at the Christmas Rug Product Page

Yearly Tradition:

Investing in a Christmas area rug can become a delightful annual tradition. Each year, as you unroll the rug and place it in its designated spot, it becomes a symbol of cherished memories and a reminder of the joyous holiday seasons.

Perfect for All Spaces:

Whether you're decorating the living room, bedroom, or kitchen, a Christmas area rug can seamlessly fit into any space. Choose a size and style that suits the room's aesthetic, and watch as the holiday magic unfolds.

Consider adding a festive flair to your home this holiday season with a Christmas area rug. These rugs enhance the visual appeal of your space and create a warm and inviting atmosphere that embodies the true spirit of the season. 

So, why wait? Roll out the festive carpet and feature some Christmas art on the floor.

πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„πŸŽ„

Check Out a Selection of Fun, Decorative Christmas Area Rugs Here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, November 16, 2023

Elevate Your Festive Decor with Holiday Table Runners

 The holiday season is upon us, it's time to revamp your dining area with the perfect table runner for festive charm and elegance. A well-chosen table runner can instantly transform your dining area into a cozy and inviting space, setting the tone for many memories with friends and family. 

Capture the spirit of the season with stunning holiday table runners to add a touch of magic to your holiday season.

Elevae your Festive Decor with Holiday Table Runners

Fran has a table runner in our house for every holiday and season. I especially love how she decorates our Thanksgiving and Christmas dining areas. She always finds the perfect centerpiece to add to our dining area table to highlight the festive table runner. Our dining area is right off of the kitchen and the first thing you see when you come in our kitchen door. 

Holiday Table Runner Ideas for your Dining Area:

The Cassic Red and Green Plaid: Timeless and traditional, a red and green plaid table runner invites a rustic charm and warmth. For me, this traditional runner is a reminder of Christmas past.

Snowflakes and Icy Blues: Add a touch of winter to your table with delicate snowflakes and cool icy blue hues. this choice will bring a touch of frosty glamour to your dining table. 

Festive Holley and Berries: Embrace the true spirit of the season with a festive Holley and Berries table runner. The vibrant colors and cheerful design will bring a dose of holiday cheer to your dining table.

Glittering Gold and Silver: Create a touch of sophistication and glamour in your dining area with the elegance of Gold and Silver.

Whimsical Reindeer and Sleighs: A delightful, whimsical table runner with playful reindeer and sleigh motifs. The playful and festive design will add a touch of a joyful and merry celebration to your dining table.

With the holiday season fast approaching, selecting the perfect table runner will set the stage for unforgettable celebrations. Whether you prefer classic Christmas themes or contemporary designs that capture the joy of the season, these holiday table runners offer a variety of options. I hope you can find one that fits your style.

Amazon has a fine selection of festive table runners for the holiday season:

Elrene Home Fashions Farmhouse Living Holiday Buffalo-Check, 13Elrene Home Fashions Farmhouse Living Holiday Buffalo-Check, 13Elrene Home Fashions Farmhouse Living Holiday Buffalo-Check, 13Artoid Mode Beige Pine Tree Snowflake Merry Christmas Table Runner, Seasonal Winter Xmas Holiday Kitchen Dining Table Decoration for Home Party Decor 13 x 60 InchArtoid Mode Beige Pine Tree Snowflake Merry Christmas Table Runner, Seasonal Winter Xmas Holiday Kitchen Dining Table Decoration for Home Party Decor 13 x 60 InchArtoid Mode Beige Pine Tree Snowflake Merry Christmas Table Runner, Seasonal Winter Xmas Holiday Kitchen Dining Table Decoration for Home Party Decor 13 x 60 InchSeliem Winter Pine Needle Branches Table Runner, Pine Cone Cardinal Red Birds Berry Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table Decor, Christmas Holiday Home Decoration Indoor Outdoor Party Supply 13 x 72 InchesSeliem Winter Pine Needle Branches Table Runner, Pine Cone Cardinal Red Birds Berry Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table Decor, Christmas Holiday Home Decoration Indoor Outdoor Party Supply 13 x 72 InchesSeliem Winter Pine Needle Branches Table Runner, Pine Cone Cardinal Red Birds Berry Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table Decor, Christmas Holiday Home Decoration Indoor Outdoor Party Supply 13 x 72 Inches

 

Find more Decor ideas on Review This here:



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, October 29, 2023

Check Out This Stunning Affordable King-Sized Grey & White Quilted Bedspread! 5 Star Review

Affordable and Gorgeous King Sized Bedspread

As usual, there are often frequent changes in my home. 

We've recently put another king-sized bed in one of the bedrooms (especially for company). 

The new bed, of course, needed new bedding.

When it comes to beds, I'm admittedly quite particular. The way they're made can make or break the overall look, and I'm definitely not a fan of that loosy-goosy appearance. That's why I was pleasantly surprised to find that this one sits perfectly flat, just the way I like it. 

Note that this is a bedspread, not a duvet! Duvets require an insert; this is not that.

Patterned Quilt Bedspread in Black, White and Grey
Available on Amazon - Multiple Colors and Sizes - This one is California King Size

A Gorgeous New California Bed-Spread for a Reasonable Price:

  • No puffy look here: If you're after a thick, billowy appearance, this might not be your pick. However, for me, it's just perfect. It boasts a sleek and even presence on the bed that I prefer.

  • Height matters: This bedframe is 16 inches off the floor. Though this particular bedspread doesn't quite reach the floor (a preference of mine is that it would reach the floor), it still looks incredibly stylish. I measured it beforehand, so it wasn't a surprise, but it's worth noting.

  • Five stars: In my book, this quilt set earns a solid five stars. It's not only good-looking but also of acceptable quality. The subtle plaid and floral pattern is very pretty and adds a unique touch to the space. Plus, it's lightweight, making it a breeze to handle. And let's not forget the value for money – it's certainly a steal.

Black, White and Grey Patterned Quilted Bedspread

Now, Let's Dive Into the Details of the Quilt Set Itself:

Unveiling the Quilt Ensemble:

This quilt set is a king-sized masterpiece composed of three essential elements. It boasts one Quilt measuring an expansive 96"x106" and a pair of Pillowcases at 20"x36". Together, they redefine the ambiance of your space with a captivating fusion of grey florals and plaid.

Elegant Floral Fusion:

The design is an amalgamation of floral motifs and paisley prints that gracefully adorn the washed patchwork. This infusion exudes an undeniable charm and a timeless elegance, bestowing upon this Quilt set the well-deserved status of the centerpiece in my bedroom decor.

Luxuriously Soft Microfiber Craftsmanship:

Crafted from the finest soft microfiber, this Quilt guarantees a cocoon of warmth and is not too warm all year round. Its versatility is further amplified by its reversible feature, allowing you to effortlessly alter your decor to match your ever-evolving mood.

All-Weather Versatility and Adaptability:

What sets this Quilt apart is its remarkable adaptability. It's an inviting cocoon during the breezy spring and sweltering summer months and is warm enough in the autumn and winter with extra blankets if needed. 

Effortless Maintenance and Enduring Beauty:

Caring for this Quilt is a breeze. According to the manufacturer, it can be machine-washed in cold water, and a gentle tumble dry on a low setting is all it takes to keep it pristine. It resists fading, shrinking, and wrinkling. I still need to wash it, so I can't personally attest to the claim by the manufacturer. Although it's light enough that I can understand why it's easy to wash.

Bedspread quilted in black, white and grey patterns
Available on Amazon

In summary, if you're looking for a quality bedspread for a very reasonable price, you have to check this one out. It comes in multiple sizes and colors, and they're all gorgeous. What a deal.

Would I buy another? Yes, absolutely.

A 5-star review from Me! ★★★★★




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, October 25, 2023

The Most Beautiful Christmas Stockings for Elegant Holiday Decor

The Christmas holidays are a time when many of us enjoy our festive traditions. One of the most cherished of these is decorating our homes for NoΘ…l.

Some families use the same holiday decorations year after year, while others enjoy changing things up and choosing a different theme each year. Similarly, some prefer traditional country cottage themes, while others like more sophisticated, elegant Christmas decor.

Today, I'll review a curated selection of Christmas stockings in elegant fabrics, such as velvet, satin, and brocade, with beautiful, sparkling, and lavish trims such as sequins, lace, faux jewels, and faux fur.

My picks focus on large stockings (18 to 22 inches in length) that will accommodate a lot of treats or long or unusually shaped stocking stuffers. The length is usually measured from the top corner (where the hanging loop is attached) to the end of the toe.

Also, please note that most of these styles feature embellishments on one side only.

If your stockings or other holiday decorations could use an update, or if someone you know will be celebrating the holidays in their own house or apartment for the first time, read on for some classy Christmas decor ideas.

Elegant Christmas Stockings

Gold and White or Ivory

Gold and off-white or ivory is a popular color scheme for those who love elegant holiday decor.

There's something magical about a gold-and-white or gold-and-ivory room, especially at Christmas. Maybe because it's a bit impractical for every day that makes it so appealing for this special occasion.

But gold and white or ivory Christmas stockings and other decorations are also a wonderful choice for a room with colorful walls or upholstery. The light colors really stand out against the colorful backdrop.

Following are some wonderful options that would be chic individually and also would mix and match beautifully for a lovely display on a fireplace mantle. All of them are generously sized (20- or 21-inch length) to accommodate stocking stuffers of many sizes.

Valery Madelyn off-white and gold embroidered Christmas stockings
View on Amazon

This set of 2 Valery Madelyn off-white and gold embroidered Christmas stockings is perfect for someone who loves elegant Christmas decor with a dash of bling. The off-white, pale ivory stockings are embroidered with metallic gold thread and sequins, are accented with clear faux jewels, and have a lavish gold brocade cuff.

One features ornaments and the other a floral lace design.

These come with Santa-themed tags so you can write the names of your family members to identify which stocking belongs to whom.

Valery Madelyn gold, ivory and white patchwork Christmas stockings
View on Amazon

The same manufacturer also makes this lovely set of 2 Valery Madelyn gold, ivory, and white patchwork Christmas stockings. While patchwork isn't usually associated with elegance, this style definitely qualifies.

They feature gold sequins embroidered in a patchwork of geometric triangles, stripes, and diamond patterns that remind me a bit of Argyle designs.

One is trimmed with ornate gold cords, while the other has a wide band of white faux fur trim near the top.

I think they would look great with either the embroidered set shown above or the gold sequin trimmed set with LED lights shown below.

Like the previous style, these come with Santa-themed tags so you can personalize each stocking with the family member's name.

White and Gold Sequin Christmas Stockings With LED Lights
View on Amazon

For those who love to go all-out with holiday bling, this set of 5 white and gold sequin Christmas stockings with twinkling LED lights is sure to please! There are five different sequined designs in the assortment, which may include a Merry Christmas greeting, a snowflake, a pair of reindeer, a Christmas tree, a pine bough with a pinecone, a wreath, or other holiday decor themes.

Each stocking is cuffed with white plush faux fur. The white LED lights are battery-operated. Just put the battery into the compartment, turn on the switch, and watch the stockings sparkle!

Note: Some customer reviews complain about the included batteries. I would suggest buying fresh, good-quality batteries separately if the ones that come with them aren't up to snuff.

Although these don't come with tags to personalize them, each design is different so it's easy to assign a specific design to each family member.

Silver and White

While not quite as popular as gold and ivory or white, pairing silver with white also makes a beautiful and festive color scheme for your holiday decor. As with gold and white or ivory, silver and white Christmas stockings and decorations also create a great contrast in a colorful room.

The following selections in this frosty and elegant palette include luxe, silky, or plush fabrics, and sparkling, luxurious trimming materials.

White Faux Fur Christmas Stockings With Silver Sequin Snowflakes
View on Amazon

This set of 2 White Faux Fur Christmas Stockings With Silver Sequin Snowflakes would help make even a warm-weather family or living room look like a winter wonderland.

The plush fabric is velvety soft and begs to be patted, while the silver sequin snowflakes add sparkle and shine to this pristine white set.

These stockings are also a generous 22 inches long, so there's plenty of room to stuff them with holiday goodies.

These are available without personalization, or you can choose the personalized faux fur stockings option to have names embroidered on the cuffs.

Another pick featuring white plush fabric with silver sequins is this lovely Set of 2 Valery Madelyn White Faux Fur Christmas Stockings With Silver Sequin Embroidery. Unlike the previous set, this one has two different but coordinating designs.

Set of 2 Valery Madelyn White Faux Fur Christmas Stockings With Silver Sequin Embroidery
View on Amazon

One design features silver sequin snowflakes in various sizes scattered across the velvety white plush background. The other is embroidered with silver sequins in a scalloped design reminiscent of a snowy, shingled roof.

The reverse side of each stocking is a silky, white panne velvet fabric.

These stockings are 21 inches long to hold a plethora of holiday treats, and they are trimmed with lavish, long-haired, white faux fur cuffs.

As with the other Valery Madelyn styles, these come with Santa tags that you can personalize with the designated family members' names.

One of my favorite selections is this set of 4 Gray and White Velvet Christmas Stockings With Silver Sequins, Rhinestones, and White Faux Fur.

set of 4 Gray and White Velvet Christmas Stockings With Silver Sequins, Rhinestones, and White Faux Fur
View on Amazon

Two of the stockings are fronted with gray velvet and two are white velvet. All four are embroidered silver sequins in different designs that might include a snowman, a reindeer, a Christmas tree, a snowflake, Santa in his sleigh, or a flatbed carrying a pine tree home to its new place of honor.

Each one is trimmed with a white faux fur cuff and is fully lined to prevent the contents from poking through the fabric.

These are 20 inches long and would mix and match well with either of the two previous selections if you have a large family.

Although there is no personalization option for these gorgeous stockings, each has a different design, so it's easy to tell whose is whose.

A similar and equally opulent choice is these stunning personalized silver and gray Christmas stockings with silver sequins and embroidered faux fur cuffs.

personalized silver and gray Christmas stockings with silver sequins and embroidered faux fur cuffs
View on Amazon

The luxurious silk fabric is the perfect foil for the silver sequin embroidery with clear crystal rhinestone accents. There are six different designs including snowflakes, Santa on his sleigh, Christmas trees, a bough with a pinecone, and other holiday themes. 

These hand-sewn styles are 20 inches long. The white faux fur cuffs can be personalized with family members' names in your choice of four fonts.

You can purchase individual stockings or sets of up to six assorted designs, depending on your needs.

Red or Green and Gold

Red and green are traditional colors for Christmas decorations. Either red or green accented with metallic gold can be a simple and elegant color scheme. This palette can create a bright pop of color in a room with a neutral or subdued color scheme. It also works well with traditional or country decorating styles.

Red, green, and gold can also be used in combination to create a more colorful, yet still classy home decor palette for the holidays. Consider mixing and matching the following selections to suit your preference.

set of 2 Valery Madelyn red velveteen Christmas stockings with gold embroidery
View on Amazon

Here are some of my favorite picks in this colorway.

I love the red and gold version of the first embroidered set I featured. The set of 2 Valery Madelyn red velveteen Christmas stockings with gold embroidery has the same two designs (ornaments and floral lace) as in the gold and off-white version, but the metallic gold thread and gold brocade cuff really stand out against the red velveteen fabric.

These are 21 inches long to accommodate plenty of treats from Santa.

Like all the Valery Madelyn styles, these come with Santa tags that you can personalize and tie to the hanging loops.

If you prefer more of a wine-red shade and a less ornate style that's still opulent, this set of 3 red velvet Christmas stockings with gold tassels and corded trim might be perfect for your fireplace mantle.

set of 3 red velvet Christmas stockings with gold tassels and corded trim
View on Amazon

The rich red color of the velvet and tailored style are sophisticated without being fussy, while the metallic gold tassels and twisted two-tone cord trim add gilded touches appropriate to the season.

These are 18 inches long, a bit shorter than most of the others I've chosen but still big enough to hold a nice selection of stocking stuffers.

This style has an almost vintage feel that would work beautifully with more traditional Christmas decor.

These come in several colorways and are available either as shown or personalized with embroidered names in contrasting colors. You can also choose sets with different numbers of stockings to accommodate the size of your family.

This set of 3 green velvet Christmas stockings with gold cord trim would be a great pairing with the red velvet set above.

set of 3 green velvet Christmas stockings with gold cord trim
View on Amazon

The velvet is a soft, slightly olive, forest green that would complement the wine-red velvet beautifully. They both have a simple elegance that would work beautifully in a traditional setting. They could also add a lovely, festive, holiday air to country-style decor.

These are 20 inches long to accommodate stuffers of many sizes and shapes.

They are also available in bright red or navy velvet with the same gold cord trim.

Please note that the embellishments spilling out of the tops in the product photo shown are not included!

These do not offer a personalization option, but you could either tie a gift tag to the hanging loop or, if you are handy with a needle, embroider your family members' names on the cuffs or sew a nametag inside.

Elegant Stocking Holders

set of 2 gold-toned stocking holders with removable reindeer embellishments
View on Amazon

Beautiful stockings deserve equally special holders. Here are a couple of suggestions that would look lovely with any of the above styles.

If you're going with gold as your holiday accent color, I think this set of 2 gold-toned stocking holders with removable reindeer embellishments would be a great choice.

I love the versatility of making the reindeer embellishments removable, so you can try these with and without them to see which you prefer. Using just the simple, unadorned base by itself lets your stockings be the star of the show. Even with the reindeer added, they're small enough not to detract from the main attraction they're holding.

Unlike many of the gold-toned stocking holders I looked at, these are a bright, shiny gold color. They're made of a sturdy zinc alloy with a nice weight so they stay put on the fireplace mantle.

set of 4 silver snowflake, reindeer, tree and snowman stocking holders
View on Amazon

These clip over the fireplace mantle and will accommodate a range of widths (check the product description to make sure it will fit yours).

Whether your color scheme features silver accents or you just want a neutral-toned, elegant accent to more colorful holiday decor, this set of 4 silver snowflake, reindeer, tree, and snowman stocking holders would be an excellent choice.

They range in height from 5.5 inches (the snowflake) to 6.9 inches (the Christmas tree), so they are easily enjoyed visually even from across the room.

They are well made from sturdy stainless steel with graceful lines and nice details. They come ready to use with no assembly required, and each holder is lined on the bottom with velour to protect the surface of your mantle from scratches.

8 Hook Deluxe Christmas Stocking Holder Stand
View on Amazon

If you don't have a fireplace, or if your fireplace doesn't have a mantle, consider this freestanding 8-hook deluxe Christmas stocking holder stand.

This stand measures 41” long x 11” wide x 35.3” tall to accommodate up to eight large stockings, like the ones featured above.

It comes in a choice of black or shiny gold (shown in the product photo). The black would be a great choice for the silver and white stockings, while either the black or the gold would work beautifully with the gold and ivory, red, or green styles.

You can place this stand either on the floor or on a tabletop. I think it would be pretty set on either a small rug or a table runner with a seasonal theme in colors complementing your stockings.


❄❅❆ From our house to yours, whatever you celebrate, may your holidays be peaceful, healthy, merry, and bright! ❆❅❄

The Most Beautiful Christmas Stockings for Elegant Holiday Decor by Margaret Schindel

Read More of my Product Reviews

Read More Christmas Reviews From Our Contributors

Read More Home Decor From Our Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, October 15, 2023

Shake Things Up: Rearranging Your Furniture Can Transform Your Space & Mood

Rearrange your furniture and your mood

Is your furniture stuck in the same old spot? It might be time for a change. Let's review this.

Why Rearranging Your Furniture is a Fantastic Idea

1. Solve the Urge to Move Without Moving:

Feeling the need for a change? That urge to sell your house and pack up your life might not be your only option. Moving is costly and disruptive. So, before you take the leap, consider a simpler solution: rearranging your furniture. Begin by giving your home a thorough cleaning, and while you're at it, think about changing the furniture layout for a fresh, inviting look.

2. A Deep Clean Opportunity:

When did you last vacuum behind your furniture? Probably not in a while, right? You also open the door to a thorough cleaning session when rearranging your furniture. Say goodbye to dust bunnies and hello to spotless and inviting rooms.

3. Transform Unused Spaces:

Your home should reflect your lifestyle. In today's ever-changing world, making the most of your space is vital. That underused living room could become a media room, office, or library. It's all about making your home work for you. Or simply rearrange it to breathe new life into the space, making it more inviting for guests.

4. If Your Family Doesn't Need a Dining Room, Swap the Room Out For Another Use:

Who says a dining room has to be a dining room? If your family rarely uses a particular space, switch it up. Say goodbye to the dining room and hello to something more practical. For example, turn it into a home office, another sitting room, a playroom, or a meditation space!

Our home's original floor plan features a living/dining room combination. Since our family is quite large and we need a big table, the living room has been transformed into a dining room and the dining room into my office.

Here's a personal example: Our home's designated dining room area is now my office. When the kids were little, it was one huge gathering room ... Over the years, it's been changed multiple times.

Dining Room into an Office Area

5. Revamp the Traditional:

Traditional floor plans are so last season. Don't be afraid to break the mold. Turn a family room into a game room, a living room into an office, or that unused dining room into a guest room or play area. These days, there's no such thing as a defined floor plan. Whatever works for your home is all that matters.

We're slowly empty-nesting and recently turned one of our five bedrooms into a TV/sitting room:

Alternate Use for a Bedroom
Bedroom to a TV Sitting Room

6. Achieve a Sense of Accomplishment:

Rearranging your furniture is a labor of love. It's hard work, but the payoff is incredible. Psychology Today even has a scientific explanation for this. 

Your home will feel fresh and exciting, and your family will appreciate the change. Sit back, relax, and enjoy your hard-earned satisfaction with a cup of tea or a glass of wine.

In the end, remember that changing your furniture layout can be a fun and cost-effective way to breathe new life into your space without the hassle of moving. 

Give it a try and see how your home and mood transform!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, October 8, 2023

Did You Know Your Home Has Wealth Corners? Let's Review This

Your Home's Wealth Corner

Hey there, fellow seekers of good vibes and positive energy! Today, once again, we're diving headfirst into the fascinating world of Feng Shui.

For the past two Feng Shui articles, we discussed whether your bed was in the "coffin position" and whether you should have a mirror in the bedroom. Today, we'll cover the "Wealth Corner" of your home.

The Quest for Wealth Energy in Your Home

Let's start with the basics: Did you know that your home and each room have their own little money magnets called wealth corners? Yep, you heard me right. Money corners! 

The Two Ways to Find Your Wealth Corner

So, how do you locate these elusive pockets of wealth energy? There are two schools of thought here: Classical Feng Shui and Western Feng Shui. Today, we're keeping things laid-back and going Western.

The Western Bagua Map:

Bagua Map

Point 1: Locate Your Wealth Corner

  • Here's what you need to know about the Bagua Map (if you're so inclined - there's more detail at that link).
  • You can print out a copy of the Bagua Map here or use the one above as a mental guide as you find the wealth corner in a room.
  • Stand at the room's door or the front door of the whole house, and hold the map physically flat with the title at the top of the page as a guide to the direction.
  • Your wealth corner for the home is the top left area of the house, as it is for each room.
By the way, each map section represents quadrant directions for those vibes. As an example, the love and relationship corner of your home (or a room) is in the top right area.

Point 2: Embrace the Element of Wealth

Now, here's where things get colorful – literally. According to the Feng Shui Bagua Map, the element that brings the big bucks is wood, and the color choices are as vibrant as a rainbow: purple, green, gold, red, and blue.

Ready to Decorate Your Wealth Corner? Here's What You Can Do:

  • Wood Frames: Picture this - a wooden-framed photo featuring a wealth-related scene, like a tropical beach holiday or a luxurious cruise ship. Just make sure that the water feature is squeaky clean. If you're jazzing up your bedroom's wealth corner, hang that photo above a dresser and add a tabletop waterfall. Some say you shouldn't have water in the bedroom, but hey, it's your call!

  • Plants and Mirrors: For some leafy green charm, consider Bamboo, a Money Tree, or a Fern. Or, throw a mirror into the mix, just not in your bedroom. Still, some folks swear it's no biggie, so do what feels right for you.

  • Shapes and Crystals: Go rectangular with a wooden accessory housing Citrine or Pyrite Crystals. If those crystals are large and in charge, let them shine as the star of your wealth corner show.

  • Bowl of Oranges: Oranges are a symbol of good luck and wealth, so create a lovely presentation for your wealth corner that happens to be in the kitchen.

  • Position a Tortoise or a Money Frog in your Wealth Corner: Choose ones made of glass, resins, mud, metals, wood, and crystals

  • An Added Overall Tip: Paint your front door red; yep, you heard correctly. Red. Red is considered good luck and is said to bring opportunity and good luck to a home. Darn! My door is blue!.

Declutter, Declutter, Declutter!

Whether you're a Feng Shui enthusiast or just tidying up, remember to keep your space clean and clutter-free. That way, positive energy can flow like a champ throughout the room. Bright lighting, groovy tunes, pleasant scents, and a touch of candle magic can also work wonders.

Hold Up! What NOT to Include in Your Money Corner:

  • Piles of clothes, boxes, or general chaos.
  • Plants that have seen better days.
  • A stack of unpaid bills (nobody wants that energy).
  • That noisy paper shredder - let's banish it elsewhere.
  • Leave your tools out of this.
  • Garbage cans or recycling bins? Nope, keep them hidden.
  • Sad or gloomy images - we're all about the good vibes.
  • Say no to painful memories and negative vibes.
  • Old, unattractive furniture - it's time for an upgrade.
  • And remember, while a touch of fire or metal is okay, don't overdo it in your wealth corner.

There you have it, folks – the secret to unlocking wealth energy in your home. Go forth, decorate those wealth corners, and let the money vibes flow! 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, October 1, 2023

The Quirky World of Feng Shui: Is Your Bed in the 'Coffin Position'?

The Quirky World of Feng Shui - Is Your Bed in the Coffin Position

Hi again - Will you shiver with fright? Here is another haunted Feng Shui principle to get stuck in your head!

With over 25 years in the real estate world, I've stumbled upon all sorts of interior decorating do's and don'ts. But for this blog post, we will dive into the mysterious realm of Feng Shui and its peculiar concept - the 'Coffin Position' for your bed placement. Don't fret; it's not as ominous as it sounds!

Bedroom Bedlam: The 'Coffin Position' Unveiled

I'm no Feng Shui guru, but I've had my fair share of chats with folks who swear by its importance. So, what exactly is this 'Coffin Position' hullabaloo? 

If your bed lines up perfectly with your bedroom door, congratulations, you've got yourself a 'Coffin Position' bed. This means your feet point straight to the door; according to Feng Shui, that's a big no-no. Apparently, this eerie alignment drains your energy while you snooze. Spooky, right?

Believe it or Not: The Power of Belief in Feng Shui

Before you panic, remember belief is a potent force in our lives. If you're a Feng Shui enthusiast, the position of your bed is the key to a good night's sleep. So, let's not brush it off too quickly!

Positioning Your Way to Zen

Now, if you're thinking, "Okay, I'm sold on this Feng Shui stuff, what do I do?" 

The Feng Shui experts suggest adjusting your bed so your feet don't directly point at the door. It's as simple as that! 

A little tweak in your bed's position can work wonders, and the best part is you get to decide how to make it happen.

My Feng Shui Bedtime Epiphany

I couldn't help but check out the bedrooms in my humble abode after stumbling upon the term 'coffin position' (a tad creepy, don't you think?). 

Lo and behold, not a single bed in my house aligns with the dreaded door. It's pure coincidence, I assure you! It seems like I've unknowingly been following Feng Shui's rules all along.

Phew! Crisis averted.

Maybe not; it feels like my energy is drained every night anyway! For nearly all of 2023, I've felt totally exhausted! 

Breaking the Rules...Or Not?

Now, you might wonder, "What's the worst that could happen if I disregard this Feng Shui rule?"

Well, the logical side of you might scoff and say, "Absolutely nothing!" After all, we're not superstitious, right? Or are we? Some folks avoid walking under ladders, fear stepping on cracks, and treat mirrors like fragile relics. 

To each their own, I say!

😈😈😈😈😈😈😈😈😈

In the end, what matters most is your personal preference. If you're a Feng Shui believer and want to dodge that 'Coffin Position,' go for it. 

If not, you've got a good chuckle out of it. Decorate your space your way, my friends! πŸ›️✨

🏠🏠🏠🏠🏠🏠🏠🏠🏠

Feng Shui Explained…

Feng Shui Basics – Understanding and Implementing Feng Shui into Your Home Decor




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, September 24, 2023

Bedroom Mirrors: Are They Lucky or Unlucky?

Bedroom Mirrors: Are They Good Luck or Bad Luck

Mirror placement in the bedroom has always been a topic of intrigue and debate in the world of Feng Shui. If you've ever ventured into the depths of the Internet for clarity on this matter, you're probably feeling as bewildered as a cow on Astroturf. Allow me to guide you through this mystifying realm.

Is It Bad Luck to Have a Mirror in the Bedroom?

So, is it bad luck to have a mirror in the bedroom? The answer, according to Feng Shui, is yes.

Depending on your perspective, there are three fundamental beliefs, myths, or truths regarding mirrors in the bedroom.

1. Mirror and the Soul: A Dance in the Night

First up, we have the notion that a mirror in your bedroom can inadvertently or even intentionally steal your soul while you slumber. This peculiar belief is rooted in the idea that our souls temporarily depart from our bodies when we sleep. With a mirror in the room, the concern is that your soul might get a little confused and choose the mirror over your body. Some folks even argue that this isn't a problem unless you're on the elderly side or gravely ill. 

Like most people, we have mirrors in our bedroom, and if my soul has been stolen, that would explain a lot! (Do I need to add the lol there?)

2. Mirrors and the Peril of Infidelity

Then, there's the belief that having a mirror in the bedroom can spell trouble in the fidelity department. According to this school of thought, a mirror symbolizes a third party in your relationship, essentially inviting trouble into your love life.

3. A Startling Reflection: Midnight Mirror Moments

Last but not least, there's the advice to avoid positioning a mirror where you can catch a glimpse of your reflection from your bed. The reasoning here is that if you happen to wake up in the middle of the night and spot your own reflection, you might startle yourself, suspecting the presence of a ghost or an intruder in the room.

What's the Truth Behind These Beliefs?

Now, the burning question is: are any of these claims true? Well, there's no straightforward answer to that, my friend. Why? Because what's gospel truth to one person is pure fiction to another.

It all comes down to your belief system. If you're a fervent follower of Feng Shui, these points might be cause for serious consideration. On the other hand, if you're intrigued by the concept but find it a tad hard to swallow, you might walk away from this article with nothing more than a hearty chuckle, and excessive eye-rolling.

Mirror Dilemmas and Superstitious Solutions

But what if you've never really worried about this mirror business, and now you're feeling a bit spooked? Don't fret. If a touch of superstition courses through your veins and you've already got mirrors in your bedroom, you can always cover them up at night with a sheet or some drapes. The mirrors should ideally have a frame, no beveling, and be a single piece instead of assembled squares.

I get it; I've been there too. In fact, one of my sons has a mirrored closet door in his room, right across from his bed! But I'm not planning to drape those mirrors anytime soon ... So far as I can tell, his soul hasn't been stolen... I think.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Review This Reviews Quick View Home Page

The Review This Reviews Contributors



Cynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWomanThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieTreasures by BrendaSam MonacoTracey BoyerLou16BarbRadBev OwensBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsHeather426Coletta TeskeMissMerFaeryMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the
Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner


We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X