Showing posts with label DIY. Show all posts
Showing posts with label DIY. Show all posts

Thursday, June 20, 2024

Starting and Maintaining the Temperature in an Off-Set Smoker

 There is something magical about cooking on an off-set smoker. The slow process of smoking meats creates flavors unmatched by any other cooking method.

 However, mastering an off-set smoker can be a daunting task for a beginner. I have been using my off-set smoker for the last six years, and in my review today I'm going to share some things I've learned about starting and controlling the temperature.

Starting and maintaining the temperature in an off-set smoker

Starting Your Off-Set Smoker:

Choose high-quality lump charcoal or charcoal briquettes. It's the foundation of your fire and will provide the steady heat needed. 

Select hardwoods like oak, hickory, cherry, maple, or applewood. These woods burn slowly, adding a rich smokey flavor to your meats. Hickory is my favorite and my go-to hardwood, I love the flavor it adds to the meats.

Fire Box

Building a solid base fire is the key. I start by piling unlit charcoal in the firebox closest to the cooking chamber. Then, I fill my charcoal chimney starter, and when the coals are hot dump them next to the unlit charcoal in the firebox, then, add some wood on top. Close the firebox to bring the cooking chamber up to the temperature I want. 


Smoker Temperture

My temperature is coming up nicely. I'm looking for a temperature between 225 and 275 degrees. The temperature is reading 280 degrees so, that means my surface temperature on the cooking chamber surface is about 230 or 240 degrees. The reason for the variance is that the thermometers are placed high on the lid of the grills, and the temperature will be about 40 to 50 degrees less on the cooking surface.

Firebox Intake Vent


Controlling the Airflow:

This is the intake vent on the back of the firebox. At this point, I leave it wide open for a higher temperature. When I need to lower the temperature I will close it but not all of the way, this allows less air and will lower the temperature.

Smoke Stack

Exhaust vent or smoke stack, I always keep my smoke stack wide open. This allows the smoke to escape, preventing it from becoming stale and bitter. 

I find this method to give me 2 to 3 hours of constant heat before I have to add more fuel for heat. For a long smoke, I'll add more fuel about every 45 minutes to an hour to maintain the temperature.

Patience is the key, smoking meat is a low and slow process. Rushing it will not yield the best results.

Practice, the more you use your off-set smoker, the more you'll understand how it reacts to adjustments.

Find more Product Reviews Here:


Char-Griller 8125 Competition Pro Charcoal Grill, BlackChar-Griller 8125 Competition Pro Charcoal Grill, BlackCheck the PriceWeber Rapidfire Chimney Starter, Standard, SilverWeber Rapidfire Chimney Starter, Standard, SilverCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, June 5, 2024

The Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit With Useful Tools

My husband is a serious tool aficionado. The Christmas and birthday gifts on his wishlist often include specific tools to add to his extensive collection. He is extremely picky about his tools but doesn't like to overpay. So, whether he buys them for himself or asks for them as gifts, he always chooses high-quality tools that are also well-priced, delivering good value.

After considerable research, he designed a small but well-appointed, versatile, lightweight tool kit that he could wear on his belt on weekends, when he typically works on DIY, home, and auto repair projects. This past Christmas, his gifts wishlist included the components he would need to bring that design to life.

In this review, I will share his ingenious compact, lightweight, wearable toolkit configuration, including everything you need to replicate it. With Father's Day coming up, this would make a terrific Father's Day gift!

The Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit

How to Assemble the Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit

Here is everything you need to know to replicate my husband's clever design. Of course, you can customize this wearable toolkit to suit your needs and preferences, using this design to spark your imagination.

What You Will Need

Front of OneTigris phone pouch
The front flap of the OneTigris phone pouch has a strap with a stitched loop and a latch to secure the contents. There is also a wide strip of hook-and-loop (like Velcro) material (the loop side) for attaching items to the front flap.

Interior of OneTigris phone pouch
The body of the pouch features two pockets: a smaller one in front that zips closed (for money or small accessories or, in our case, tools and attachments) and a larger, padded one behind it that holds your mobile phone and is lined with a soft, velvety material to protect against scratches. There are also two elastic side loops, one on either side.

Back of OneTigris phone pouch
The back has a sleeve that slides onto your belt, with two MOLLE straps with loops and snap closures.

Rocktol 29-in-1 Multitool
The Rocktol 29-in-1 Multitool has a wide array of functions. Most notable are the needle nose pliers, replaceable wire cutters, saw, and (most important for John's compact, wearable toolkit configuration) a ¼-inch bit driver. It also comes with a small pouch and collection of double-ended bits that my husband rarely uses, which he stores in this pouch separate from his wearable tool kit.

VIM Tools small Flex Socket Ratchet to T Handle Wrench Set with Socket Extension and Adapter and DEWALT 7-piece bit driver set
The VIM Tools 1/4-inch Small Flex Socket Ratchet to T Handle Wrench Set with Socket Extension and Adapter and the DEWALT 7-Piece Bit Set with 6-in-1 Flip and Switch Driver System are key additions to the Rocktol multitool in this compact wearable toolkit. The 1/4-inch drive ratchet has a locking swivel head and an extension that can fit into either the ratchet or the Rocktol multitool 1/4-inch driver. The DEWALT 1/4-inch bit driver set also can fit into either the ratchet or the multitool 1/4-inch driver, or even into the ratchet extension for extra reach. It comes with four double-ended bits (8 bits total) that fit into two carriers and can also fit directly into the ratchet or the Rocktol multitool 1/4-inch driver.

Stanley PowerLock 3-foot tape measure and EGUKU LED Bright Mini Portable Clip-on or Keychain EDC Flashlight
The Stanley 3-foot x 1/4-inch PowerLock Key Tape Measure is designed to fit on a keychain, although for our purposes it will clip onto the pouch's carabiner. It features a locking mechanism to hold the tape extended when needed. The EGUKU LED + COB Bright Mini Portable Clip-on or Keychain EDC Flashlight is extremely small and compact, but very bright for its size. It has five settings: LED high, LED low, COB high, COB low, and COB strobe. The clip on the back can be attached to a pocket, the neck of a shirt, etc.

Flashlight on wearable tool kit
It's surprising how brightly this very small flashlight can light up a dark area! My husband clips his to one of the side loops so that when he slides the wearable tool kit pouch to the side of his belt, the light faces forward. The spotlight also swivels 180° so you can aim the light at whatever you are working on.


Configuring and Assembling Your Wearable Toolkit

While the pouch is not a perfect fit for all the tools, it works remarkably well. My husband loves his and uses it all the time. On weekends, it is his constant sidekick. Here is how it is put together.

The assembled toolkit

  1. Cut two short lengths of self-adhesive hook-and-loop tape and discard the loop side. Attach one of the hook sides to the yellow main body of the DEWALT extension bit set. Attach the other hook side to the back of the Stanley PowerLock tape measure.
  2. Remove the extension rod from the ratchet set and replace it with the body of the DEWALT bit driver set and one of the bit sets. Slide this assembly into the loop on the phone pouch's flap, making sure the hook tape strip you adhered to the yellow DEWALT bit driver body is secured to the pouch flap's loop tape strip.
  3. Place the Rocktol multitool and replacement saw blades, the remaining DEWALT bit set, and the ratchet extension rod into the zippered front pocket of the pouch. (You won't be able to zip the pocket when filled with these items, but the latched strap will secure them in the pocket.)
  4. Place your phone in the lined larger pocket.
  5. Clip the flashlight to one of the side loops (left or right, depending on which side of your belt you plan to wear the toolkit, so that the light will face forward).
  6. Clip the Stanley tape measure's keychain loop to the pouch's carabiner, then close the front flap, latch the top strap, and attach the hook tape strip on the back of the tape measure to the loop tape strip on the front of the pouch (so it stays out of the way until needed).
Interior view of assembled wearable tool kit
Here's a view inside the assembled wearable toolkit.

Small But Mighty

wearable toolkit

As you can see, this entire wearable toolkit is small and compact. Despite its diminutive size, however, it can handle the majority of routine DIY projects and repairs without having to lug around heavier, full-size tools. Here are just a few of the things my husband uses it for:

  • DIY projects
  • Household repairs
  • Automotive projects and car repairs
  • Bicycle repairs
  • Model railroad projects and repairs
  • Trimming and pruning plants and small branches
  • Miscellaneous uses, such as cutting wires, tightening or loosening screws or nuts and bolts (especially in hard-to-reach or tight spaces), bending and filing wire and lightweight metal, opening shipping boxes and product packaging, task lighting for work areas, lighting dark hallways/passages

A Terrific Gift (and Not Just for Men)

While this compact, lightweight, wearable toolkit makes a great Father's Day gift, it's also a gift that both men and women who use hand tools for DIY projects, repairs, hobbies, etc., would appreciate.

Although it doesn't eliminate the need for full-size tools completely, you might be surprised at how rarely you need to haul them out once you have this well-equipped, compact, wearable tool kit on your belt.


The Ultimate Compact, Lightweight, Wearable Toolkit With Useful Tools by Margaret Schindel


Read More Product Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More DIY Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors

Read More Gift Reviews by Our Review This Reviews Contributors




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, May 2, 2024

Black & Decker Cordless Drill - Reviewed

 Having the right tools for your DIY project makes all the difference between frustration and satisfaction. One of these indispensable tools is my Black & Decker cordless drill, the perfect companion for many of my home improvement tasks.

Black & Decker Cordless Drill - Reviewed

Black & Decker Cordless Drill Features:

Design and Build Quality: Black & Decker is a renowned name in the realm of power tools. My first impression is the drill is lightweight and fits comfortably in my hand, even for extended periods of use. The grip is rubberized, providing both comfort and control.

Performance: The Black & Decker Cordless Drill is equipped with a powerful motor and effortlessly tackles many drilling and driving tasks efficiently. Over the years I have used my cordless drill to drill holes and drive screws into wood, metal, and plastic with ease. The variable speed control allows for seamless adjustment for any of these tasks.

Battery Life and Charging: The Black & Decker is equipped with a 20V lithium-ion battery, it offers extended runtime, minimizing interruptions during long projects. Although, I have never had a project long enough where I ran out of power. I recommend a second battery if you consistently use the drill for long projects. That way you always have one charged.

Versatility and Ease of Use: The variable speed control makes it easy to transition between drilling and driving applications. The keyless chuck feature makes it easy to change drill and driving bits. Additionally, the drill has an LED light to illuminate the work area.

Value: The Black & Decker Cordless stands out as a compelling option with its performance, durability, and affordability. The Black & Decker is a reasonable price for all of the performance. I also purchased the handy accessory kit you see in the photo with many driver bits and drills. With that kit, I have always had whatever I needed for the task.

Find more product reviews on Review This

ReviewThisProductReviews.com

This Black & Decker Drill and accessory kit make the perfect Father's Day gift.

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Driver, 3/8 Inch, With LED Work Light, Battery and Charger Included (LDX120C)BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Driver, 3/8 Inch, With LED Work Light, Battery and Charger Included (LDX120C)BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Driver, 3/8 Inch, With LED Work Light, Battery and Charger Included (LDX120C)BLACK+DECKER Drill Bit Set/Screwdriver Bit Set Combo, 109-Piece (BDA91109)BLACK+DECKER Drill Bit Set/Screwdriver Bit Set Combo, 109-Piece (BDA91109)BLACK+DECKER Drill Bit Set/Screwdriver Bit Set Combo, 109-Piece (BDA91109)

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, October 10, 2023

How to Clean and Season a Cast Iron Skillet

 I love cooking with my cast iron skillets. Lodge cast iron skillets are the only brand I buy. I have three cast iron skillets, 8-inch, 10-inch, and 12-inch. When you buy a Lodge cast iron skillet, it is already seasoned and ready to use. But over time and use, you must re-season your cast iron skillet.

Last week I was making some hash brown potatoes in my 10-inch skillet, and they stuck to the bottom of the skillet. I knew it was time to re-season my skillet.

How to Clean and Season a Cast Iron Skillet
My 8, and 10-inch skillets are seasoned and ready to cook again

You can search YouTube, and you will find many videos on how to season a cast iron skillet. Today, I'm reviewing the method that I use and that has worked well for me over the years.

Cleaning a Cast Iron Skillet


The first thing that I do is clean my skillets. I use mild dish soap, warm water, and this copper scrub pad.

 I want to make sure that I get any food particles left behind. 

Next, I dry them with a soft towel. Then, I put them in the oven at 200 degrees for about 10 minutes. 

This ensures my skillets are completely dry.

Season cast iron skillet


Now that my pans are dried, I added a thin layer of olive oil. Then, I pre-heated my oven to 400 degrees. 

Olive oil has a smoke point of about 350 degrees, so you want to be at least 20 degrees higher than the smoke point.

When the oil hits the smoke point and above a chemical reaction occurs called polymerization. 

This chemical reaction bonds the oil to the pan, creating a layer of natural seasoning.

Cooking with cast iron frequently using oils also helps build up a layer of seasoning in your pan.


I set the pans in the 400-degree oven upside down and baked them for 1 hour. You can add a cookie sheet or tin foil under the pans to catch any oil that may drip. Then, I turned the oven off and let them cool while still in the oven. After 1 hour if you need to use your oven remove the pans with an oven mitt and set them on a cooling rack.

You can repeat this process as many times as needed to develop a layer of natural seasoning. With proper care, your cast iron skillets will give you years of cooking delicious food. 

These are three Lodge cast iron skillets I own and use:

Lodge Seasoned Cast Iron 3 Skillet Bundle. 12 inches and 10.25 inches with 8 inch Set of 3 Cast Iron Frying PansLodge Seasoned Cast Iron 3 Skillet Bundle. 12 inches and 10.25 inches with 8 inch Set of 3 Cast Iron Frying PansLodge Seasoned Cast Iron 3 Skillet Bundle. 12 inches and 10.25 inches with 8 inch Set of 3 Cast Iron Frying Pans


 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, August 14, 2023

Setting up a Backyard Birdhouse

 Our grandson Bobby made this birdhouse in his school woodshop. This birdhouse was a Christmas gift for his mother. We finally set the birdhouse up in their backyard. Here is a review of how we did it.

Setting up a Backyard Birdhouse
Photo Credit Sam Monaco

Bobby had a good idea of how he wanted to set the birdhouse up. His thought was to cement a threaded pipe in the ground then, attach a flange to the bottom of the birdhouse and screw it together.

We looked up how high the birdhouse should be, and found the recommended height to be five feet off the ground. The problem was the hardware store did not have a pipe long enough to be able to cement at least 2 feet in the ground and give us five feet above the ground. Thus we would have needed a seven-foot pipe.

We finally decided on using a 4x4 treated lumber post and a 4x4 post anchor. So, we bought a six-foot 4x4 post and the post anchor along with four L-Brackets to attach the birdhouse to the post.

4x4 post anchor

This is the post anchor, the one we purchased goes into the ground two feet. These post anchors are also great for setting up mailboxes

How we set up our Birdhouse:

First, we cut 12 inches off of the six-foot 4x4 post making it five feet the recommended height we needed.

Next, we used the 12 inches we cutoff to drive the post anchor into the ground with a sledgehammer. Bobby did the sledgehammering.

We inserted the post into the post anchor, and Bobby tightened the bolts at the bottom to secure the post.

We centered the birdhouse on top of the post. Tyler, our other grandson was in charge of the L-Brackets.

Tyler handed the brackets and screws to Bobby, while I held the birdhouse in place. Bobby screwed in all four brackets, and we were finished.

Backyard birdhouse

Here is the happy crew with a job well done. We set the birdhouse up in less than an hour. Now, we just need to wait for some birds to make their happy homes. 

COLEBA Bird Houses for Outside,Outdoor 5 Hole Bird House Room for 5 Bird Families Bluebird Finch Cardinals Hanging Birdhouse for Garden (Brown - Set of 1)COLEBA Bird Houses for Outside, Outdoor 5 Hole Bird House Room for 5 Bird Families Bluebird Finch Cardinals Hanging Birdhouse for Garden (Brown - Set of 1)COLEBA Bird Houses for Outside,Outdoor 5 Hole Bird House Room for 5 Bird Families Bluebird Finch Cardinals Hanging Birdhouse for Garden (Brown - Set of 1)Ashman Fence Post Anchor 30 Inches Tall, 3.25 x 3.25 Inches Wide, Ideal for securing Mailbox Posts, Deck Posts, Gazebo Posts, Street Lamps and More, 1 PackAshman Fence Post Anchor 30 Inches Tall, 3.25 x 3.25 Inches Wide, Ideal for securing Mailbox Posts, Deck Posts, Gazebo Posts, Street Lamps, and More, 1 PackAshman Fence Post Anchor 30 Inches Tall, 3.25 x 3.25 Inches Wide, Ideal for securing Mailbox Posts, Deck Posts, Gazebo Posts, Street Lamps and More, 1 Pack

 

Find more DIY projects on Review This here:



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, February 22, 2023

Prostormer Electric Paint Sprayer - Reviewed

Springtime is on the way, and with spring and summer weather comes many outdoor projects. One, in particular, is outdoor painting. Last year I took on the task of painting our deck.

Prostormer Electric Paint Sprayer

We have a large deck on the back of our house, it measures 35 ft. x 12ft. deep. Our large deck along with good weather provides us with the perfect outdoor space for fun, and entertaining family and friends.

Last summer it was time to paint the deck for another season of outdoor fun. The first thing that I had to do was clean and remove all of the dirt and loose paint. For this, I used my Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer click the link to see my review of the pressure washer.

After cleaning the deck it was time to paint, so, I painted all of the railings with a brush and the deck floor with a roller. 

lattice

That only left the lattice around the outside of the deck. Lattice is the framework of crossed boards around the bottom of the deck as seen in the photo. 

The last time that I painted our deck I painted the lattice with a small brush. This was not only backbreaking but took a long time to complete as I have 35 ft. and 12 ft. deep on both sides to paint. 

I needed an easier way to paint the lattice so, I started looking for an electric spray gun. I've never owned a spray gun before and really didn't want to spend a lot of money. After looking through what Amazon had to offer and reading many of the reviews, I found this Prostormer 750-Watt Spray Gun.

The Prostormer was reasonably priced and easy to use. We followed the easy operating instructions to get it all set up and ready to go. While I continued to paint the deck, my grandson Tyler sprayed the lattice around the bottom of the deck with the Prostomer 750. 

What you get with this Prostormer Spray Gun:

  • 1 Prostormer electric paint sprayer
  • 1 1200ml tank
  • 4 different size spray nozzles
  • 1 Funnel to fill the tank
  • 1 cleaning needle
  • 1 cleaning brush
  • 1 user manual

My new spray gun was also very helpful in between the deck boards. The roller or even a paintbrush didn't get paint in between the deck boards very well but, the sprayer did the job with ease.

Spray guns are a perfect option for fences, window shutters, furniture, ceilings, and hard-to-reach places with a roller or brush.

I'm very happy with my Prostormer spray gun, and as you can see it is a great price.

Prostormer Paint Sprayer, 750 Watt High Power HVLP Electric Spray Gun with 1200ml Container, 4 Nozzles, Easy Spraying and Cleaning for Home PaintingProstormer Paint Sprayer, 750 Watt High Power HVLP Electric Spray Gun with 1200ml Container, 4 Nozzles, Easy Spraying and Cleaning for Home PaintingProstormer Paint Sprayer, 750 Watt High Power HVLP Electric Spray Gun with 1200ml Container, 4 Nozzles, Easy Spraying and Cleaning for Home Painting

 

Find More Product Reviews here:




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Christmas Wreath Storage Containers


christmas wreath storage container with stored wreath inside showing slightly
Christmas Wreath Storage Containers Reviewed

Halloween is over and that means the Holidays are now in full swing. It's time to think about getting all of those Thanksgiving and then, Christmas decorations out of storage.

Soon Fran and I will have our basement floor lined with the dozen or so totes where we store all of our decorations.

Call us old-fashioned, but we really don't decorate for Christmas until Thanksgiving is over.


 It seems that the retail stores begin earlier every year. Our Wal-Mart store had Christmas decorations out before Halloween.

We decorate all of our windows and doors with wreaths. We have several different sizes of wreaths, from 24-inches to 36-inches. Our Christmas wreaths are one item that doesn't seem to store very well in totes.

 Every year when the Holidays are over and it's time to pack it all up, I found myself battling to store the wreaths in plastic bags.

A couple of years ago I finally broke down and bought these handy Christmas wreath storage containers. Now it is so easy to get them out and store them every year. No more fighting pulling them out, and putting them back in plastic bags.

These wreath storage containers are made with tear-resistant plastic, and feature heavy-duty sturdy handles, with dual zippers and a card slot.

They are large enough to also fit garland and string lights on top of the wreaths for easy storage. These containers come in different sizes to easily store and protect all of your seasonal wreaths.

Zober 2-Pack Christmas Wreath Storage Bag 36Zober 2-Pack Christmas Wreath Storage Bag 36Buy Now

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Sunday, August 14, 2022

Simple DIY Home Hacks

 I'm certainly not a professional or an expert on home improvement or repairs, but I have learned some things over the years. Here is a review of some simple DIY home hacks that I have used over the years.

Simple DIY Home Hacks

The estimated cost of minor home repairs is said to be about 1% of the cost of your home per year. So, as the value of your home increases so do your repair costs.

Some of these hacks may save you a little money and some may save some time. These are just some tips that I have used myself over the years.

DIY Home Hacks:

Easy plumbing hack
This one is an easy plumbing hack. It's late night and all the stores are closed, and suddenly you find a leak under your sink in the drain pipe. What do you do?

Since there is no water pressure involved in drain pipes, simply wrap some electrical tape tightly around the leak.

This will stop the leak temporarily until you can replace the broken drain pipe.





Clogged drain

If you have a slow-running drain try some baking soda and white vinegar. Pour 1/2 cup of baking soda into the drain, have a stopper or washcloth handy. Then, pour 1/2 cup of white vinegar into the drain and quickly cover with the stopper or washcloth.

Wait about a minute and then flush with boiling or hot water. To keep my drains running free I do this about once a month. This really works for slow-running drains. If your sink is completely clogged you are going to need a drain cleaner or plunger.


Bees wax

Are you planning some interior painting? Painting around windows can be tedious work. Personally, I like to free-hand paint around windows. But, if you don't have a steady hand you can really make a mess on the windows, and create some extra work to remove the paint.

Applying masking tape takes some time, and is also a real pain to do. Try this, use a stick of Bees Wax and apply it to the window. Be careful not to get any wax on the wood that you're going to paint. Now, paint around the window, and after the paint dries wipe off the Bees Wax. The paint will not stick to the wax.


Denatured alcohol
Denatured Alcohol can be used for many things, such as cleaning glass, metal, and fuel for marine stoves.

This is another painting hack. If you are painting your walls and accidentally drip some onto the finished wood trim and you don't see it until it dries.

Denatured alcohol will remove latex paint without affecting the finish on the wood trim.

Just gently rub the paint spots with a rag wet with the alcohol.


One more hack that I have is removing old window glazing. This one applies only if you have old-style windows. The new windows today do not have window glazing. I don't have a photo because I haven't used this hack in years.

If you happen to have old windows, the glazing over time will dry out and crack.  It's not difficult to apply new glazing around the window, but removing the old glazing can be a pain.

To make this job easy use a heat gun or propane torch, the heat will soften the old glazing to make it easy to remove. A word of Caution: Be careful not to overheat, too much heat will crack the glass. After removing to old glaze, clean the area with a brush, and then brush on some linseed oil before applying the new glaze.

Find more Diy Tips on ReviewThis Here: ReviewThisCrafts.com

ReviewThisDecor.com







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, July 5, 2022

Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer

 My new Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer Reviewed

Wholesun Electric Pressure Washer


For so many years I have wanted to buy a pressure washer. A pressure washer is just one of those things that you don't think you need but there are so many times when you need one. When I needed one I found myself borrowing one from a friend.

A pressure washer is a great tool for cleaning patios, decks, walks, driveways, the siding on your house, grills, and your car. 

I finally bought one of my own and I am so glad that I did. Our deck was in need of a makeover, and I knew that I needed a pressure washer to remove the loose paint. I did some research to find out how much PSI (Pounds per square inch) I needed to remove loose paint.

I found that between 2500 and 4000 PSI was good enough to remove loose paint. I also knew that I didn't want a gas-powered one, I wanted an electric one. So, I found this Wholesun electric pressure washer on Amazon. The reviews I read were all positive.

Features of my new Wholesun Pressure Washer: 

3000 PSI
2.4 gallons per minute
4 adjustable nozzles
20-foot pressure hose
Long electric cord
Detergent Bottle
Easy connect water and pressure hose

When my pressure washer arrived I found it very easy to assemble. I had it together and ready to use in about 10 minutes.

Deck

The very first project I used it for was our deck. There was so much winter dirt to clean up and I really needed to get that loose paint removed. As you can see, my new pressure washer worked like a charm. It removed the loose paint down to the bare boards.

Porch Rail

We have a small front porch, we don't use our front door entrance at all so this has not been cleaned in a couple of years. This little pressure washer cleaned the dirt build-up off with ease. This is a photo of the porch railing halfway cleaned. The porch now looks like it is brand new and is ready for a fresh coat of stain.

I am so very happy with my new Wholesun electric pressure washer, and would highly recommend it to anyone for their outdoor cleaning projects.

Find more amazing product reviews here:

WHOLESUN 3000PSI Electric Pressure Washer, 2.4GPM 1600W High Power Washer Machine with Spray Gun & 4 Nozzles for Cars, Homes, Driveways, PatiosWHOLESUN 3000PSI Electric Pressure Washer, 2.4GPM 1600W High Power Washer Machine with Spray Gun & 4 Nozzles for Cars, Homes, Driveways, PatiosCheck the Price

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, June 30, 2022

How to Recharge Auto Air Conditioning

Holy heat wave, Batman! On the hottest day of the year so far here in the Desert Southwest, I discovered something I never want to do again: drive for twelve hours straight without A/C (with the temperature right at 100 degrees). There's nothing that will melt your superpowers faster (and I was on a rescue trip at the time).

What's a girl to do? Thankfully, you don't need to call in a superhero, aka mechanic, when you can easily solve the problem with an affordable, easy-to-use A/C Pro air conditioning recharge kit. Best ten minutes and $37 I have spent this summer. Here's a quick DIY tutorial on how you, too, can beat the heat by knowing how to recharge your vehicle's air conditioning system. 
 
AC Pro for recharging auto air conditioning

 
Step 1: Purchase the right kind of A/C refrigerant for your vehicle. Most vehicles after 1990 use R-134a (which complies with the EPA Clean Air Act). Check your vehicle's maintenance manual, or find the sticker under the hood, to verify. After reading online product reviews, and watching YouTube videos, I decided to go with the bestselling A/C Pro recharge kit. This kit is sold at automotive stores, Amazon, Walmart, and many other retail locations.

find the low pressure service port on your vehicle

Step 2: Find the low pressure service port in your vehicle's engine. If you're not sure where to look for it, download the A/C Pro app for specific information linked to your car or truck model year. Mine was easy to find (a blue cap with an "L" imprinted on it). 

auto air conditioning controls

Step 3: Start your engine. Set A/C to its maximum cooling level and recirculation mode (with fan on highest setting).

hose coupler

Step 4: Place hose coupler on low pressure service port and press down. It will click into place and lock down securely. 

AC Pro gauge

Step 5: Check gauge to determine if your vehicle's A/C system is low on refrigerant. My gauge reading indicated I needed a major fill (it was on zero).

top of AC pro

Step 6: If low, remove coupler from the service port. Unscrew gauge/hose assembly from the new can of A/C Pro. Unscrew the protective shipping tab on the top of the dispenser. Screw gauge/hose back on the refrigerant can. (Be sure to wear protective gear: gloves and safety goggles.)

Step 7: Affix hose coupler to low pressure service port. Hold can upright. Squeeze dispenser trigger to begin filling A/C system with refrigerant. While squeezing the trigger, move the can from a 12 o'clock position back and forth to a 3 o'clock position (to keep the contents mixed and flowing properly). Release the trigger after about ten seconds.

AC Pro gauge

Step 8: Check the gauge to see if the needle is in the green filled section. Do not overfill! If the level is still low, repeat step seven. If filled to the mid part of the green section, you are done. Check the air temperature coming out of the vents inside your car. My air was perfectly chilled at this point.

Step 9: Remove the coupler from the service port. Replace the port cap. Turn off your engine and close the hood.

I cannot even begin to express the satisfaction I felt to have solved this common air conditioning issue so quickly and so cheaply. You should have seen the big smile on my face. Not only did I save at least $100 with this DIY fix, but I learned how to keep myself out of a dangerous situation in the future. 

It would be smart for all of us to keep a canister of A/C Pro in our vehicles' emergency supply kits. I am totally sold on this product and highly recommend it. It's not just about comfort. Heat kills. I have lost count of the number of heartbreaking articles I have read this week about individuals, especially children, who have died in hot vehicles. Incredibly tragic.

You never know when you might be called upon to provide assistance with something you keep in your vehicle for emergencies. My recent rescue trip was all about rendering aid to a young family broken down roadside in excessive heat (in a remote area without services). With this weighing on my mind and heart, I wanted to share a product that I now consider essential. Let's all be safe out there!











Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X