Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts
Showing posts with label product review. Show all posts

Wednesday, July 10, 2024

Summertime and the Feet are Happy! ~ A Product Review

When summertime comes around I know that my feet are going to be happy.  Why?  Well let me explain!  Both my father and I suffer from hot feet!  Not just in summer time but all year long.  So the first thing that happens is the shoes or boots (especially in the winter) come off the minute we are in the front door.

But summertime is another story.  With the warm weather, my sandals must be open and toes must stick out!  

Now that is no problem in the summertime, but shoes are still an essential part of dressing for the day.  My days can be full of all kinds of activities.

Gardening, walking, swimming and more fill my days.  Now with sandals in the garden, quite often I find that my feet get quite dirty.  I love playing in the garden and I don't stop if a little dirt gets on my feet.  When I'm finished then I just get out the garden hose and give the feet a good rinse off.  

That would not be possible with a "nice" pair of leather sandals.  They would be ruined in no time at all!  But I have my CROCS!  Yes, I love my CROCS!  

Not only are they comfortable but because they are made of a really strong plastic, they are water proof and can take a really good rinse under the hose without losing their shape, color, and fit!  That would never happen with a pair of "good leather" sandals!



I love my CROCS so much I just had to get two pair!  This way I can use the light or the dark pair with whatever I happen to be wearing! But the great thing is you can get CROCS in almost any color!  With lots of different styles to choose from as well.  

These work for me in so many ways.  Even in my building, when I go for a swim, I wear a pair down to the pool, get into the pool, take them off while swimming and put them back before exiting the pool afterwards.  It doesn't matter if  I GET THEM WET or drip all over them.  I even take them into the shower.  Being a public (in the building) pool, you don't want to walk around in bare feet!  Who knows if there is a case of athlete's foot waiting on the tiles to grab your own foot.  The only thing that makes them a little obvious is sometimes when they are wet they can squeak!  

That doesn't bother me, but if it did a quick dry up with a towel and drying my feet solves that problem.  So there you go!

I must tell you that CROCS are a little more expensive than the knock-offs that are out there, but I have purchased the knock-offs before and they just don't last the way my CROCS do.  The soles are so much thicker and the treads are a lot better too!  The knock-offs are really dangerous once the tread is worn away!  In puddles, they can become very slick and be a fall hazard.  At my age, really at any age, you don't want to be doing that!

If you have never tried a pair of these sandals/shoes, I really would suggest that you do!  You just might like them as much as I do!  Plus they come in all kinds of styles and sizes for the whole family.  Baby CROCS are just so cute!




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, May 2, 2024

Black & Decker Cordless Drill - Reviewed

 Having the right tools for your DIY project makes all the difference between frustration and satisfaction. One of these indispensable tools is my Black & Decker cordless drill, the perfect companion for many of my home improvement tasks.

Black & Decker Cordless Drill - Reviewed

Black & Decker Cordless Drill Features:

Design and Build Quality: Black & Decker is a renowned name in the realm of power tools. My first impression is the drill is lightweight and fits comfortably in my hand, even for extended periods of use. The grip is rubberized, providing both comfort and control.

Performance: The Black & Decker Cordless Drill is equipped with a powerful motor and effortlessly tackles many drilling and driving tasks efficiently. Over the years I have used my cordless drill to drill holes and drive screws into wood, metal, and plastic with ease. The variable speed control allows for seamless adjustment for any of these tasks.

Battery Life and Charging: The Black & Decker is equipped with a 20V lithium-ion battery, it offers extended runtime, minimizing interruptions during long projects. Although, I have never had a project long enough where I ran out of power. I recommend a second battery if you consistently use the drill for long projects. That way you always have one charged.

Versatility and Ease of Use: The variable speed control makes it easy to transition between drilling and driving applications. The keyless chuck feature makes it easy to change drill and driving bits. Additionally, the drill has an LED light to illuminate the work area.

Value: The Black & Decker Cordless stands out as a compelling option with its performance, durability, and affordability. The Black & Decker is a reasonable price for all of the performance. I also purchased the handy accessory kit you see in the photo with many driver bits and drills. With that kit, I have always had whatever I needed for the task.

Find more product reviews on Review This

ReviewThisProductReviews.com

This Black & Decker Drill and accessory kit make the perfect Father's Day gift.

BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Driver, 3/8 Inch, With LED Work Light, Battery and Charger Included (LDX120C)BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Driver, 3/8 Inch, With LED Work Light, Battery and Charger Included (LDX120C)BLACK+DECKER 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Driver, 3/8 Inch, With LED Work Light, Battery and Charger Included (LDX120C)BLACK+DECKER Drill Bit Set/Screwdriver Bit Set Combo, 109-Piece (BDA91109)BLACK+DECKER Drill Bit Set/Screwdriver Bit Set Combo, 109-Piece (BDA91109)BLACK+DECKER Drill Bit Set/Screwdriver Bit Set Combo, 109-Piece (BDA91109)

 




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Reviewing Renovating Old Pine Furniture Project

 

Two Pine chairs one sanded, one painted grey

This review covers an easy DIY project to renovate old unremarkable furniture into something to grace our homes and fit with existing decor. 

In our case we wanted a new dining table and chairs but the only ones we could find to fit our space and circular were very expensive. We did however find a lovely circular table and four chairs that were perfect for our needs and very comfortable at a very good price, but the issue was that they were a quite horrible orange pine colour.

I am not usually an advocate of painting wood. If it is beautiful oak, mahogony, rosewood or reclaimed wood I will not paint it. 

However orange pine with a shiny finish is just not to us all that beautiful and did not fit in with the rest of our decor ideas for the dining room. 

I am not deterred by a minor issue like this and we really liked the style and comfort of this dining set. So we bought the dining set and went about cleaning, sanding and painting. 

Here I will tell you what we did with the chairs. 


Step One Sanding Down Pine Chair

First it was important to sand down the wood. It had a shiny surface to it and I did not think even the best paint would go on well over such a shiny surface. 

With some furniture paints they declare that you do not need to sand down first so it is always best to  check the instructions and perhaps do a patch test to make sure if you need to sand or not. 

So we sanded it with a fine sandpaper until all the shiny orange paint was no more! 

It is important to do this step carefully and take your time as skimping on this preparation will affect the whole project.

I don't have a workshop or anywhere to do this kind of work so for me it was a case of clearing a room and laying down dust sheets and working on the floor. Of course a work table or ideally a workshop would be wonderful but this project is perfectly possible with none of this.  


Pine chair sanded and masked ready to paint


Step Two Cleaning The Chair

Next I cleaned the whole chair including the seat cushion and back.

The wood was cleaned with sugar soap and the chair with an upholstery cleaner. There is no real skill to this, all this took was time and following the cleaning instructions.

Then we left it all to dry.

Close up of design on chair sanded


Step Three Masking Tape 

With a project like this it is important to use masking tape to mask off all the areas that you do not want to paint. I do find this step rather boring but it is necessary. 

It is worth spending a little time over this as it is a lot more difficult to remove paint from where you do not want it than to simply mask it off beforehand and does make the painting process easier. 


Step Four Painting The Wood

After laying down sheets I set about painting the whole chair. 

It needed to be done in two steps so that I could reach the whole wooden parts of the chair. So involved the chair standing up and laying down to reach it all. 

As I had two chairs on the go at the same time this was possible to do without wasting time. 

We chose a light grey colour. It did take two coats to cover the wood. I would always recommend two coats. A darker colour may have covered the wood more thoroughly with one coat but I always think two coats gives better coverage and longevity.


Two pine chairs one sanded and one painted grey


Furniture Paint. 

We used Rust Oleum Satin Finish Furniture Paint. It says on the tin it is a superior satin silky finish in slate grey.

I found that this paint went on very well and smoothly. I found it a really good paint to use.  It did not have an overpowering smell and did not give me a headache as many paints do. It went on well although was a little drippy, so it was essential to have sheets down. It is necessary to stir it well before starting to paint. 

The clean up is so easy as it is water based so it is just a case of wiping off most of the excess paint then washing in water. 

If I had a workspace I might have used a Rustoleum furniture spray paint which may have speeded things up. However I was doing this project in winter in our dining room so a spray paint would not have been a good idea in these circumstances. 

Any good furniture paint can be used, just choose the finish, application method and colour you like. I tend to go for water based and low odour for ease of use in the home and clean up afterwards. 


Tin of furniture paint


Due to the space and how intricate some of the work was I used a small paintbrush and I think this was a good idea so that there was more precision.

After the first coat the finish did not look all that good but I always expect this. 

I left it to dry thoroughly then applied a second coat and this is where the magic happens as the pine disappeared and the beautiful slate grey colour saturated the wood. I an no expert but I think the finish, even in the more difficult intricate parts is pretty good. 


Close up of painted chair



Finished Pine chair painted grey project


The four chairs took me two days to do at a fairly relaxed pace with lots of coffee breaks! It is a straightforward project that anyone could do really. All it takes is time and patience and a few basic painting skills. 


The Supplies You Need For This Furniture Project

Furniture Paint or Rustoleum paint 

Sandpaper 

A small paintbrush

Masking Tape

Old sheets, dust sheets or anything you have to protect the floor


We think it was a worthwhile project and we now have a lovely dining set at a fraction of the price. 

If we ever get fed up of the colour  or go for a different scheme, it will be very easy to change with a light sanding and a coat of new paint.


More Reviews


Reviewing Restoring A Metal Garden Swing Seat


More Reviews By Raintree Annie


Crafts & DIY Reviews By Contributors On Review This Reviews


Product Reviews By Contributors On Review This Reviews






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Caring For Elders Requires Attention and Willingness ~ A Product Review

Life brings us all opportunities to learn something new everyday!  I'm learning about caring for a Senior that I happen to love dearly, but, is having difficulty with day to day activities.

Caring for Elders requires that you be willing to do things that you thought were impossible and yet you know you have to do those things anyways.  There is a willingness to go beyond what we thought we would be doing and learning to do those things that might be distasteful and generally keep us moving away from the responsibility.  

elderly care


But there are things that make all the distasteful things a little easier to complete and one of these are pre-moistened and good sized  Adult Wipes.  We happen to have found the one we like called Inspire Premium Washcloths!

Back in late January, my elderly mother had taken ill.  She was in hospital for almost a whole month recuperating from pneumonia and the flu.  These illnesses can be quite debilitating for the elderly.  While in hospital, the signs of early dementia, turned into true brain fog, with doctors hoping that once she was home, that fog would clear up.

Such has not been the case.  She is now bed-ridden and the leg muscles so weak that she can no longer hold herself up.  So, we are learning to cope with our new reality.

Incontinence has become the major "problem".  While we have all had our share of diapering babies, we never think of the possibility that we will be diapering our parents.  With a little humour we can get through this stage of our lives.  

What's that old joke about diapers and the elderly?  Why don't they call diapers for adults Huggies and Pampers?  Because it Depends on who is in the will!  Just kidding of course.

Caring for adult skin in the nether regions is important especially when they are elderly, bed-ridden and have other health complications.  Bed sores are nothing to be scoffed at and can become infected causing even more problems.

With caring for the skin in those intimate areas, dependable quality wipes are a must.  Tiny wipes used for babies just don't quite cut it when it comes to adults.  You need something that will hold up and yet be soft, strong, gentle and do the job!  

We found that the Inspire brand Wet Wipes for Adults, was just what we needed.  They are large enough (8 inches x 12 inches).  they are moist without dripping all over the place. Latex and alcohol free,  they are Ph balanced and have Aloe Vera and Vitamin E for skin health included in each sheet.  The only down side is that they are NOT Flushable!  But when you are dealing with disposable diapers, that is not a game changer at all, they just go into the garbage with the diapers.  Quick and easy, clean and neat all in one package.


premium wipes washcloths

wipes

For anyone who has a need for a quick, easy and strong washcloth, these disposable ones are the greatest.  I love that they are not overly scented, yet they have a nice soft feel to them and one or two do the work and hold up through whatever mess you are facing.  These can be used to clean a face, hands or a butt......so many different places that you will find them useful. 

I'm signing off for now, but I'm sure I'll have more to share with caring for the Elderly in another Product Review right here on Reviewthisreviews.com.







Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, February 8, 2024

Review of Candle Warmer Lamps

Lamp  with Candle

 I love the wonderful scents that candles provide in my home, but I was always leery of having a burning flame.  I tend to forget about them and then they burn down too far.  Well for Christmas I received a wonderful candle warming lamp.  I had never seen one before and wasn't sure how they worked, but I can tell you now they are wonderful.  They are a great way to get light and the wonderful smell from a scented candle without having to worry about a flame and any fire hazard.

Features of my Candle Warmer Light

  • Dimmable
  • No Smoke
  • No Flame
  • Timer
My lamp is also very attractive and makes a wonderful addition to our decor.  It has a square wood base and a metal light stand.  The base will hold candles of many sizes.  I currently have one of the larger round candles in it as you can see pictured above, but I have also put other smaller candles in glass jars.  The base is a non-skid and non-scratch bottom that works well on any furniture.

I love the timer feature.  I can turn on the lamp and set the timer for 2,4,or 8 hours and then not worry about it again.

The light is dimmable, and the brightness will determine how soon the scent begins to flow through your home.

The lamp came with two 50-watt GU10 halogen bulbs, so there is no need to buy extra bulbs.

Another great feature is that the melting of the candle occurs from the light source and thus does not leave a hole like flames, this will double the life of the candles.

Great for Gifts

These candle warmer lamps come in a variety of styles and would make great gifts.  I can see them as a wonderful idea for Valentines Day, Birthdays and Mothers Day.

My lamp came from Amazon and I found that they have many different options.  Here are links to a couple of different Candle Warmer Lamps.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, February 7, 2024

There's a New Game That Has People Talking! ~ A Product Review

fun new game
Have you heard of the new Game in Town?  TALKING POINT, It has everyone talking and actually interacting with each other!  

With all of the "Tech" toys that people have these days, it seems that we are talking to each other less and less.  If you don't TEXT someone, they are likely to ignore you completely because they are hard wired to the cell devices or their Tablets.

What ever happened to actually talking?

Well there is a new game in town to help you rekindle that ability to look at each other and find out what you are actually thinking, It's called TALKING POINT!  

My other half actually picked up a set of these cards in the hopes that it would foster some conversations with my mother.  She tends to be very quiet and lost in her own world, so he thought it would be a great way to get her to open up a little and see what is happening in her gray matter!




Now in our case, it hasn't worked the way it was intended to, but it sure has us (the other half and I) talking a lot more. Each card (and there are about 200 in each set) has a question on it and everyone gets a chance to answer.

Not everyone will agree with everyone else's responses, but it will definitely get you talking!

The first question I picked was: What household chores do like to do and which do you try and avoid? Now that really made me stop and think, because being the mom (now retired from that position), you always have chores to do and delegating some to the offspring is generally a great idea. Wouldn't it be so much easier if you knew ahead of time that your daughter doesn't mind doing the laundry, but hates hanging up the shirts?

The other question that I love in this family set of Talking Point cards is: How did your parents meet and fall in love?

I wonder how many children actually know those stories and how it might make them smile to know those little tidbits of family history.

Family time would be a great time to make some pizza, grab some drinks and sit down together and ask some of these questions.

Can you just imagine the looks on the kids faces and maybe even the parents'. I'm sure the discussions around the table would be interesting and maybe even open an eye or two.

How about a question for the kids, Like: Are friends more important than family? You might just be surprised by some of the answers.

All I know is that in this day and age when people are busy looking down at their phones, something has to happen to engage our families with each other. Camping nights and cottage visits would be a great time to take along a small box of conversation starters that will have everyone laughing and enjoying each other without any right or wrong answers.

Just answers that might shed some light on other parts of their lives, or be a way to open a door to more pressing concerns or just great conversation with those we love.  

These cards get a big High Five from me and seeing how many have been sold already, I'm guessing that they are a hit with a lot of people from all over the world.

This is a great way to enjoy FAMILY DAY in February!  And you have lots of time still to get a set!

I hope that it will help you to get to know each other better and have a little (or a lot) of fun along the way!





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, January 10, 2024

Fantastic Kitchen Necessities You'll Wonder How You Did Without

A Product Review

This past year has been a struggle for our family and what was "normal" and "easy" is NOT so anymore.  Since bringing my mother to live with us, our lives have been turned upside down.  That includes doing all the things we took for granted.  I'm complaining, but not really complaining.  We are blessed that we can do what we are doing even though it causes some disruption to our routines or changes them altogether.

The point I'm trying to make is that we started to do things that don't take us out of our home as much. Mom needs constant supervision, so someone has to be with her.   Preparing for Christmas this year meant not going out so much.  We ended up  doing things in our home so that we worked together and got to include her as well.  She was more than a taste tester.  .

Baking was one of those things that we decided to do more of. .  We always baked, but this year saw us baking much more and sharing that baking with friends and family.

When you are gifting tins of cookies, you want to make them as presentable and pretty as possible. We are not professional bakers, but still like to make our gifts beautiful and a feast for the eyes.  Uneven and lopsided cookies just don't look or present themselves as nicely.  When your cookies are all the same thickness and baked just right, they make the gift that much nicer to present to your friends.

One tool that we found that has helped us immensely is this Adjustable Rolling Pin. 

 

adjustable rolling pin

All our cookies this year came out the same thickness thanks to this roller.  And the added silicone mat was helpful as well. 

It is filled with all kinds of information and size guides to make those pies just the right size.  A regular rolling pin just doesn't do that.  The baking mat has sizes in Imperial and Metric measurements too.  So that's a bonus for sure.

Made of stainless steel you can also chill it when working with pie crusts so that your crusts will be tender without being overworked.

I have been cooking for years and did not know that something this simple existed.  Well, let me tell you that baking will be something that we will do far more often now that we are truly kitchen tooled for the occasion.

The other must have that we love and can't do without is Parchment Baking Paper.  This was a game changer in our home.  I don't remember being able to get this wonderful paper years ago, but now it is available everywhere and I am thankful for that.  

Reynolds Parchment Paper


Clean up has never been so easy!  Lining baking sheets with this parchment makes your cookies slide off of the baking pan without having to grease and flour the pans ahead of time.  Step savers are always welcome in this kitchen.  We use it constantly now, not only for baking cookies but for anything that we bake in the oven.  Scrubbing baking sheets is a thing of the past.  

When you have the right tools everything is much easier and less complicated.  For us, these are two of our most favorite new gadgets.  They are in use weekly for sure and not relegated to some corner of the kitchen where they will never be used again.  I guarantee that once you have these you will wonder how you did without them.

Are you looking for a great cookie recipe?  Well let me tell you that the Linzer Cookies we made are so tasty and look so elegant that you will want to try them for sure.  With Valentines Day coming up, just imagine Linzer cookies in a heart shape for all the ones you love.  

You can do it and this is the recipe that I liked the best! 

linzer cookies
From Ali on Gimme Some Oven
See Her Recipe to Make These Cookies by Clicking the Link on the Picture





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Monday, December 18, 2023

Reviewing The Republic of Tea Ginger Peach

I recently purchased Ginger Peach full-leaf loose tea from The Republic of Tea and enjoy it so much that I had to make sure to share a review with you. As I am trying to make the move away from soda and toward more natural drinks, I have purchased several different teas and this, by far, is my favorite new tea.

Package of tea
Delicious Ginger Peach Tea


I am not a tea connoisseur. Far from it. However, I know what I like and what I don't like. I do not like sugary, syrupy teas or teas that have what seems like an artifical flavor. Most of the bottled teas that I have tried seem to fall into those categories. So I have been experimenting with herbal teas, such as Mullein, that I have harvested from my yard. I also enjoy Chamomile and plan to grow and harvest my own. In the meantime, I've purchased a large tea cup with a lid and infuser and have begun ordering small amounts of loose leaf tea. 

The Republic of Tea -- Ginger Peach

I purchased a 3.5 oz bag (steeps 50 cups) of full-leaf loose Ginger Peach Black Tea. The packaging describes it as:

"This full-leaf tea offers the natural flavors of a lush, juicy peach seasoned with the tingle of spicy ginger, creating a fresh and flavorful cup" 

I believe that description to be accurate. The peach flavor is wonderful, much like eating a fresh peach on a late summer day balanced with the earthy, spicy flavor of the ginger.

The ingredients list is: Black tea leaves, natural flavor, and ginger.

The packaging is a waxy-like, foil-lined, recloseble envelope. This envelope has kept my tea fresh and at my fingertips on the shelf. 

I chose the Ginger Peach for the possible health benefits and flavor of Ginger.  Because I am not a medical professional I will not repeat the alleged benefits of Ginger, Turmeric, and other herbs and roots. You may have already heard some of the reported health benefits. If not, there is a ton of opinions to be found with an internet search.  I do believe that there are likely some health benefits and if not, I do enjoy the spicy, earthy, or peppery flavors that these herbs and roots provide. I especially like the sweet peach and peppery ginger flavor combination.

Making Loose Left Tea for One

I use my Mueller electric pot to boil the water quickly (and without fear of leaving the stove on as I leave for work in the mornings) and my new tea mug with infuser to steep the tea. Because I prefer iced tea, I then pour my tea into a mason jar filled with ice with top with one of my mason jar lids and a straw. The Ginger Peach tea is delicious warm or iced. I just prefer iced tea. 

I ordered my Ginger Peach tea from Amazon. But the Republic of Tea website is great place to shop also. Whether you are shopping for yourself or a gift from someone else, there is a large variety of teas, sweeteners, mugs, and brewing accessories to choose from 

Additional Links:

I bought my Mueller Electric Kettle in January 2021 and I still use it on a frequent basis. This Kettle is a quality small appliance and hasn't given me a bit of trouble. If you'd like more information you can see my review here. 

I have tried a variety of infusers off and on over the years. My new mug is my favorite by far. I chose the Sweese ceramic 20 oz mug with lid and infuser. The infuser is durable with very small holes; not allowing the tea leaves to end up in my drink. The 20 oz size is great for making my single cup of iced tea. This mug would make a great gift.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Saturday, December 2, 2023

A Candle Day Review

Candle Day is held each year on the first Saturday in December. For 2023, that day is December 2.


A collection of candles


Candle Day


The retail company “Bath and Body Works” started 'Candle Day' to promote their annual candle sale. The sale gives candle lovers time to stock up on world-famous candles at special low prices. Since candles are great for gifting, especially during the holiday season, this annual 'sale' day in early December is perfectly timed.


Brief History of Candles


Candles have been around for more than 5,000 years. Early civilizations used wax made from available plants and beeswax. They were used to provide light in the many years before electricity was invented. 


Today, candles are mainly a symbol of celebration and for religious ceremonies. They come in many shapes, sizes and scents.


In addition to the Bath and Body Works sales day on December 2, we also celebrate World Candle Day on March 1.  That International candle day was begun by two associations, the Latin American Candle Manufacturers Association and the European Candle Manufacturers Association. 


Let's look at a few sources of candles.


Champagne Candle


A 3-wick candle by Bath and Body Works

Bath and Body Works is famous for their 3-wick candles. This Champagne Candle is perfect for a New Year's Eve celebration. It is a 14.5 oz jar candle with an amazing scent. 


Ocean Air


Yankee Candle called 'Ocean Air'

Another well-known candle brand is Yankee Candles. This Ocean Air candle will allow you to enjoy memories of your beach vacation or those of a fresh breeze off the ocean anytime you want, even in the middle of winter. 


Handmade Candles


Shopping on a handmade site like Etsy, you can choose any scent you want, from favorite kitchen odors like apple pie baking in the oven to holiday and seasonal scents. These candles come in standard jars or pretty glassware, in pretty tins and wood, in fancy & novelty shapes and sizes, and with delightful scents, including aromatherapy. 


Knot Candle


Knot Candles
Knot Candle on Etsy


Being a yarn crafter, I fell in love with this Knot Candle, as it reminded me of the Knot Knit Stitch. The twisted knot shape would look so pretty in my craft room. 


It's a homemade soy wax candle handmade by Urban Craft Style on Etsy.


Cat Candle


Cat-shaped soy candles
Chubby Cat Candle on Etsy


Round or square candles, stand-alone or in a glass jar, often appear to be the standard type of candles. But a novelty type candle in a cute shape is also popular. 


Cat lovers like me would love this adorable chubby cat candle. It comes in a variety of colors and scents from the Etsy Store of Melou Candles of Toronto, Canada. Lara also makes her candles in the shape of owls, elephants and teddy bears, among many others. I think they would make darling gifts.


Summary


Candles can give you magical mood moments. Depending upon the scent, they can transport you to a garden of roses or a sunny day on a tropical beach. Light the wick, take a deep breath, and let a favorite scent transport you where you want to be for a few quiet moments. 


So choose your favorite brand, or a fun handmade candle, and enjoy. 


Happy Candle Day!


Link to a Related Candle Review:



For more Holiday Reviews, Click Here
ReviewThisReviews: Holidays


*Candle Day Review written by Wednesday Elf




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Thursday, November 16, 2023

Elevate Your Festive Decor with Holiday Table Runners

 The holiday season is upon us, it's time to revamp your dining area with the perfect table runner for festive charm and elegance. A well-chosen table runner can instantly transform your dining area into a cozy and inviting space, setting the tone for many memories with friends and family. 

Capture the spirit of the season with stunning holiday table runners to add a touch of magic to your holiday season.

Elevae your Festive Decor with Holiday Table Runners

Fran has a table runner in our house for every holiday and season. I especially love how she decorates our Thanksgiving and Christmas dining areas. She always finds the perfect centerpiece to add to our dining area table to highlight the festive table runner. Our dining area is right off of the kitchen and the first thing you see when you come in our kitchen door. 

Holiday Table Runner Ideas for your Dining Area:

The Cassic Red and Green Plaid: Timeless and traditional, a red and green plaid table runner invites a rustic charm and warmth. For me, this traditional runner is a reminder of Christmas past.

Snowflakes and Icy Blues: Add a touch of winter to your table with delicate snowflakes and cool icy blue hues. this choice will bring a touch of frosty glamour to your dining table. 

Festive Holley and Berries: Embrace the true spirit of the season with a festive Holley and Berries table runner. The vibrant colors and cheerful design will bring a dose of holiday cheer to your dining table.

Glittering Gold and Silver: Create a touch of sophistication and glamour in your dining area with the elegance of Gold and Silver.

Whimsical Reindeer and Sleighs: A delightful, whimsical table runner with playful reindeer and sleigh motifs. The playful and festive design will add a touch of a joyful and merry celebration to your dining table.

With the holiday season fast approaching, selecting the perfect table runner will set the stage for unforgettable celebrations. Whether you prefer classic Christmas themes or contemporary designs that capture the joy of the season, these holiday table runners offer a variety of options. I hope you can find one that fits your style.

Amazon has a fine selection of festive table runners for the holiday season:

Elrene Home Fashions Farmhouse Living Holiday Buffalo-Check, 13Elrene Home Fashions Farmhouse Living Holiday Buffalo-Check, 13Elrene Home Fashions Farmhouse Living Holiday Buffalo-Check, 13Artoid Mode Beige Pine Tree Snowflake Merry Christmas Table Runner, Seasonal Winter Xmas Holiday Kitchen Dining Table Decoration for Home Party Decor 13 x 60 InchArtoid Mode Beige Pine Tree Snowflake Merry Christmas Table Runner, Seasonal Winter Xmas Holiday Kitchen Dining Table Decoration for Home Party Decor 13 x 60 InchArtoid Mode Beige Pine Tree Snowflake Merry Christmas Table Runner, Seasonal Winter Xmas Holiday Kitchen Dining Table Decoration for Home Party Decor 13 x 60 InchSeliem Winter Pine Needle Branches Table Runner, Pine Cone Cardinal Red Birds Berry Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table Decor, Christmas Holiday Home Decoration Indoor Outdoor Party Supply 13 x 72 InchesSeliem Winter Pine Needle Branches Table Runner, Pine Cone Cardinal Red Birds Berry Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table Decor, Christmas Holiday Home Decoration Indoor Outdoor Party Supply 13 x 72 InchesSeliem Winter Pine Needle Branches Table Runner, Pine Cone Cardinal Red Birds Berry Farmhouse Kitchen Dining Table Decor, Christmas Holiday Home Decoration Indoor Outdoor Party Supply 13 x 72 Inches

 

Find more Decor ideas on Review This here:



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Wednesday, November 15, 2023

Outdoor in the Winter Can Be a Challenge! ~ A Product Review

Winter and the outdoors are not necessarily a good combination for many people.  Can I jump in here and say that it's a much better combination if you have some tools at hand to make it more comfortable.

For years we spent the better part of a Sunday afternoon freezing outdoors while watching our local Santa Claus parade.  Our children loved going and knew that mom and dad would do their very best to keep them warm while they were sitting on the street curbs waiting with great anticipation.  

Back in those days we did not have the technically advanced materials that are all the rage today.  We had to make due with the woolen mitts, hats, scarves and blankets to keep the chill from ruining our day.

Fast Forward to today and there are so many materials that have been developed to combat the cold and wet weather that typically happens in my part of the world.  

Try as much as we like, in winter when the temperatures hover at freezing mark or below, you need some special items to keep you comfortable and dry! Snow storms, shovelling the walkways and drives takes time whether you do it with a shovel or a snowblower.  So it's best to be prepared.

Snow




It doesn't matter how long you are out there, you'll know it's not summer and the cold just might have you thinking twice about going out there.  But it doesn't have to be like that.

Preparation is key to being outdoors in the inclement weather!  It's amazing how much you can actually do when the need arises if you have a great pair of gloves in your winter arsenal.  You might even find that you enjoy the cold weather because you are prepared and the cold just doesn't seem to bother you so much.


snow ski

Kids just never seem to get enough of the snow when it's flying and coming down.  They will grab whatever is handy and go out to play for hours.  Mom and Dad need a little more coaxing to want to join in.  That's another place where being ready for the worst can make the time out there much more enjoyable for all.  Memories are made when the whole family goes out to build that snow fort or have that one great snowball fight.

Back to being prepared.  A good pair of winter gloves are a must have.  My son, who happens to love being outdoors at all times, has requested a special pair of gloves this year.  Not only are they great for keeping your fingers warm and cozy, but they also let you get some serious work done too.  And if you are one to be teathered to your phone, these gloves even allow you to use your touchscreens without having to remove the glove from your hand.  In these times this seems to be a must for many people.

If you are an outdoors person I know that you will enjoy having your hands warm and dry while your dexterity is still intact.  These IRONCLAD RANCHWORX  gloves are an Amazon Choice with over 2,000 reviews.  In the past month over 400 pairs have been purchased.  That says a lot!  




When crazy winter weather arrives and you find yourself being in the middle of it all, wouldn't it be nice to have a great pair of gloves to keep your fingers nimble and flexible enough to do just about anything?  Snow storms can be notorious for knocking tree limbs down.  Someone has to go out and take care of those things.  If it's you, then you are prepared with your Ironclad Ranchworx gloves!

Happy Wintering to Everyone and if you need a little extra help to keep you nice and toasty in the Winter months, check out these added little wonders that make life in the North so much easier to enjoy





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article. “As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and/or Esty (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from qualifying purchases.”


Most Recent Reviews on Review This Reviews






Search for Reviews by Subject, Author or Title

The Review This Reviews Contributors



SylvestermouseSylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMbgPhotoMbgPhotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasWednesday ElfWednesday ElfOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaThe Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelRaintree AnnieRaintree AnnieLou16Lou16Sam MonacoSam MonacoTracey BoyerTracey BoyerRenaissance WomanRenaissance WomanBarbRadBarbRadBev OwensBev OwensBuckHawkBuckHawkDecorating for EventsDecorating for EventsHeather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 


Review This Reviews is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner

We may be apart, but
You Are Not Forgotten





“As an Amazon Associate, Ebay (EPN) and or Etsy (Awin) Affiliate, I (we) earn from purchases.” Disclosure Statement

X