Thursday, January 19, 2017

John Sandford Extreme Prey Book Review

First off, a confession. I have not read a SINGLE solitary John Sandford book. There are, however, many of them in my household.

Over the course of the last couple of years, my husband Chris discovered John Sandford and worked to collect and read his way through every single one of Sandford's books. I have a feeling there will be a Sandford book in my future.

Chris' most recent read was Extreme Prey and what follows is his review, which I thought I would share with you here.

John Sandford’s Extreme Prey is an exceptional read.

In the previous novel, the protagonist Lucas Davenport was leaving the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA) with his daughter Letty asking, “What are you going to do next?” Extreme Prey flawlessly transitions Davenport from a badge carrying cop to a private citizen doing a favour for the state governor Elmer Henderson; a favour that finds Davenport investigating a potential threat against a presidential candidate. The fact that Davenport is not carrying a badge and has no authority kicks the story up a notch. Davenport uses old contacts and his reputation to gain support from local police while trying to convince others that there is a real and credible threat. Of course the threat is real and time is short, so the action is non-stop.

As the story unfolds, Davenport chases loose threads of evidence as he puts pieces of the puzzle together until the climactic scene arrives that is so engulfing that it will make you miss your bus stop; at least that happened to me.

For long-time fans of John Sandford, Extreme Prey effectively interweaves characters from previous books into the action as well as providing cameo roles for characters from the Virgil Flowers and Kidd series, also by John Sandford. If this is your first time reading a John Sandford book and don’t insist on starting at the beginning of a series, you will find a great read that can stand alone. Sandford gives you enough information to introduce every character without slowing down the action or distracting from this story.

Extreme Prey is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for anyone who likes police mysteries. For current fans of the “Prey” books you will find it an exciting surprise as Lucas Davenport adapts to not having a badge and the official support of the BCA. Personally I am already looking forward to Golden Prey scheduled for release in April 2017 to see what’s next for Lucas Davenport.

Extreme Prey definitely sounds like an excellent read to me and I have to thank my husband for the introduction to another author and for writing this post. I am especially thankful that he shared the fact that this book caused him to miss his bus stop. What a hoot!

Will there be a John Sandford book in your future?

Happy Reading!
Brenda & Chris

Quick Links:

Order Extreme Prey on Amazon.
Steve Berry's Amber Room reviewed.









Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas

Lifestyle Awareness Organic Teas 


Last time I shopped for tea, I noticed a new brand on the shelf: Lifestyle Awareness Teas. I noticed they were organic and that they appeared to support specific aspects of health. I also noticed the introductory pricing that made trying a new brand seem less risky. Since it was the beginning of a new year and flu season was well underway, I decided to purchase two of the teas: Immunity Now and Serene Slumber.

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas

I have to admit that the artwork on the packages helped sell me on these teas. I had just finished reading Elderberry Croft: Complete Collection. (Read my review of it here.)  This novel of healing hurting souls spoke often of the virtues of elderberries, and especially elderberry tea.

Although I have an elderberry tree, I've never taken the trouble to find out how to capture its healing powers by learning to make the teas and syrups talked about in the book. When I saw Immunity Now on the shelf, I decided it was time for me to try elderberry tea the way Willow served it to her friends -- with honey and lemon juice.

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas


Immunity Now Tea Supports Healthy Immune Function

About a week after I bought Immunity Now tea, my husband came down with the flu. Although we take supplements that support the immune system year round, when you have the flu, your immune system needs all the help it can get. I decided it was time to make a pot of the Immunity Now tea. I used a small, three cup pot.

 All Life Awareness teas are best made with boiling water steeped in a covered pot or mug to keep all the goodness of the herbs intact. I'm lazy, especially when I don't feel good. I'd rather make one larger pot of tea and reheat when I need more than to make tea cup by cup as needed. It works for me. Of course, if you want to keep switching your variety of tea, a single covered cup or mug may work better. Find some of each below. Tea price shown is for a multipack of six boxes. That's the deal I chose when I reordered after trying my first package of this tea. I found Amazon's price lower than the regular store price. 





My Experience with Immunity Now Tea

I started drinking Immunity Now the minute I knew Hubby had the flu. (Of course, I gave him some, too.) I don't usually sweeten my tea, but I knew that honey and lemon juice are helpful when one has a cough, so I added them to my tea.  It so happened that I had a jar of raw organic honey left from the days when my husband kept bees, so I used that. Adding the honey and lemon juice made the tea much tastier than I expected. It was also soothing. 

I kept drinking it after I got the flu myself. It made me feel better, though I have to admit it didn't seem to discourage my flu too much. I'm quite sure, though, it was a beneficial hot fluid that kept me more comfortable. 

Next, I Tried Serene Slumber


I have a terrible time getting sleepy at night. Even though I was tired and sick, I knew I would need some help relaxing enough to get to sleep. I made myself a pot of Serene Slumber. It has a number herbs that support a good night's sleep, including lavender, avena, rosepetals, chamomile, and catnip. After the tea had brewed, one sniff made me sleepy. I drank a cup, went to bed, and slept. I'm going to add this to my bedtime routine. 

A Bit More Information on Lifestyle Awareness Teas 

Lifestyle Awareness teas are medicinal. For this reason, you should pay attention to recommended dosages, or the number of cups to drink a day. The manufacturer recommends, for example, five or six cups of Immunity Now per day.  Before you take a medicinal tea, you should check with your doctor if you have a medical condition or take prescription drugs. Medicinal herbs can interact with prescription drugs, just as those drugs can sometimes interact with each other. 

Although drinking a medicinal tea may work with your body to make you more comfortable, these products are not intended to prevent, cure, or treat any disease. These teas have not been evaluated by the FDA. 

Lifestyle Awareness Teas are certified organic by the USDA. They are also Fair Trade, Kosher, gluten-free, and vegan. The tea bags are manufactured using totally chlorine-free methods. Packaging is also environmentally friendly and recyclable.

Most of all, these are some of the best-tasting medicinal teas I've tried. Each tea supports a different bodily system or function. You will want to explore all the varieties to find those that will best meet your own needs

See all Lifestyle Awareness Tea varieties here

Review of Lifestyle Awareness Teas






Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

TexMex Lasagna Recipe Reviewed

A Twist On A Classic Recipe

texmex lasagna
TexMex Lasagna By Bev Owens
Typically one thinks of lasagna as a classic Italian dish. Today I want to share a recipe that I created for TexMex Lasagna. It is a  little twist to an old favorite. 

I was inspired by a commercial that I kept seeing on television advertising Creamette pastas. A young woman finds out that her husband likes her Texmex lasagna even better than his mother's chicken noodle casserole. I kept thinking that it sounded good and what would I put in a dish like that. 

So, I put my thinking cap on and came up with an idea to try. I will admit that I could never con a panel of judges into thinking that I was a professional chef. On the other hand my cooking is not so bad that I would be invited to the show "Worst Cooks" either. My presentation isn't always the most lovely but usually the meal is pretty good. I think I would be graded as a decent cook with a fair amount of successes and more than enough failures in my lifetime.

When it comes to this little creation, my husband gave his seal of approval with the comment, "Honey, this is really good! I think it is my new favorite meal!" 

Momma Bev's TexMex Lasagna Recipe


Ingredients:

1 box Creamette lasagna noodles (or your favorite brand)
1 1/2 lb lean ground beef
1 16 oz container sour cream
2 large eggs
lemon juice
2 cups 4 cheese Mexican blend
1/2 tsp chili powder
1/2 tsp minced garlic
salt
pepper

Directions:


Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a dutch oven size pot boil your lasagna noodles in salted water for 10 minutes. The salt keeps the pasta from getting sticky.

Brown the ground beef with the chili powder, garlic and salt and pepper to taste. When you add the seasoning to the raw beef the flavors are sealed in better to the meat as it browns. Once browned add the jar of picante sauce and simmer for 5 minutes.

In a mixing bowl beat the 2 eggs, add a little salt and pepper, lemon juice (about 2 cap fulls) and the sour cream. Blend well. Set aside.

Grease a 9 by 13 inch baking dish. Cover the bottom with a thin layer of the meat mixture. Place a layer of noodles on top. Pour about 1/3 of the sour cream mixture on top of the noodles. Sprinkle a light layer of the cheese blend. Add a new layer of noodles, thin layer of meat sauce, repeating the layers ending with meat sauce on top. Sprinkle more of the cheese blend on top.

Bake for 30 to 35 minutes.


Mildly hot or hotter?


Depending on what your family likes, you have the option of using a mild, medium or hot version of the picante sauce. We used the medium and that was just right for the two of us. Also, I chose picante sauce instead of salsa because it is better for cooking. Both have the same ingredients it is just that the picante is basically a pureed version of a salsa and will bake better in this recipe. 

I hope you will give this recipe a try and I sincerely hope that you and your family like it as much as my husband and I did. I know I will make it again! 








Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Monday, January 16, 2017

Reviewing Valentine's Day Address Labels

http://www.reviewthisreviews.com/2017/01/reviewing-valentines-day-address-labels.html
Valentine address labels help you send love across the miles this Valentine's Day and every day thereafter. While we have become a digital society there are many  wonderful reasons to send those heartfelt messages through the mail. In this review I will explain why I think Colorful Images is the best place to order your personalized address labels.

Colorful Images Review


Colorful Images has been my go-to for address labels for over a decade. I ordered address labels to denote the change of seasons and to individualize my mail.  I also enjoy their choices of holiday designs and love that I can choose Valentine's designs that send a bit of love no matter what time of year I use them.

After a few changes of address and becoming accustomed to paying bills and keeping in touch with loved ones via the internet, I stopped buying address labels. But I recently placed an order again and was reminded of why Colorful Images is where I will always order my address labels. Just a few of those reasons are:
  • huge selection of address label designs - I can find something that is "me"
  • variety of address label sizes
  • choice of two different fonts
  • when ordering, you type in your address and have an immediate visual sample
  • fast delivery - 6 business days for address labels and other personalized items via standard delivery
  • faster delivery options - you can choose even faster delivery methods (adding 2 days for the printing of the labels)
  • choice of flat pages of address labels or rolls
  • reliability - I have never had a problem with an order


Why Sending Cards Through the Mail is Still Important


We have moved into the instant and digital world eliminating much of our use of sending correspondence via the mail.  However, there are many reasons to continue to send things the old-fashioned way. These are only a few:
  • recipients of handwritten mail are aware that extra time and thought was put into contacting them
  • children love to receive mail
  • elderly folks who are separated from family enjoying knowing someone is thinking of them - often displaying their cards for all to see
  • people who are hospitalized often enjoy receiving cards
  • military folks who are far from home are able to feel more connected when friends and family keep in touch via the mail


Address Labels for Valentine's Day


Colorful Images offers several Valentine's designs.  Designs range from the large round label with the Cupid design to smaller, more traditional labels with hearts.  These LOVE labels are my favorite heart design. The design is visually pleasing and these labels and their message can be used for every day.


LOVE labels fromColorful Images


Related Article - In the review of The Gift of a Letter, Wednesday Elf explains beautifully why handwritten letters are not something to be forgotten and are, in fact, a gift. 


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Sunday, January 15, 2017

A Moving Country Song About Time Passing By - A Song Review

"Living Like that Year Book Picture Wouldn't Fade" (Lyrics)

Do you remember this time in your own life?

Just starting out .... the entire world in front of you and not a thought on your mind about the 'end' of anything.

All of it new, all of it ongoing, all of it always there. You never doubted that the ones you love were just a room away, a few hours away or a few days away.

To you, at this time, a kiss goodbye was merely, 'a kiss until later'.

Your journey was new and the anticipation of the trip you were about to take consumed your travels: "I want to be this", "I want to go there", "I want to accomplish that". Your path always in your thoughts, and those you loved, well they would always be there wouldn't they.

"Student hire and a fancy job, big old house and a two car garage" (Lyrics)

Chapter two of your life is in full gear. You're achieving, or trying to. You're moving forward, or planning to, and most of all you're enjoying the freedom!

You love your parents, but this time in your life feels like the reward it should be for the countless hours of work you put in to get here.

You still see your family of course, and hug them and enjoy your visits, but if you're being honest with yourself, you're having too much fun building your own life.

On lonely days you pick up the phone to call mom; she makes you feel better and you're grateful knowing that if you want, you can call her again tomorrow.

"Teenage girl and her granddad, he takes her fishing he feels bad, cause she can't take her eyes off that 'ole Facebook page, someday soon, who knows how long, she'll look up from that phone and he'll be gone" (Lyrics)

Chapter three is here and you've been fortunate to have your grandchildren in your life.

However, you're now in that special club of people who understand what it's like to view life from the road looking back. You reflect back to your own grandpa, and with a knowing grin, you get what he felt.

The view from your chair in life can't be seen by young people starting out. You recognize your younger self in them, and part of you wishes they could see it all from where you sit to spare them life's costly lessons. But they can't, and you can't.

"The Trouble is You Think You Have Time" (Lyrics)

You want to explain time to your grandchildren, but how can you. They have to travel their path and with God's good grace get to be where you're sitting now so they too can pass along treasured words of wisdom that were spoken to you yesterday .... after-all, wasn't it just yesterday?

When you look back at the choices you've made, you forgive yourself for not harnessing those unrepeatable moments with those you love; for not hugging your brother one more time; for shrugging mom off when all she wanted was another kiss from her baby; for moving far away and for any other selfish act that robbed a little love from someone you cared about.

But you're grateful to have learned so much about this trip through life. If nothing else, you see clearly now.

You realize, the trouble was you thought you had time.

Enjoy 'Time' by Award Winning Canadian Country Music Artist, Dean Brody: - More on the song here




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Book Review: Illusions of Magic

Illusions of Magic
It doesn't take long to realize that author J. B. Rivard has a talent for writing fiction. In Illusions of Magic, his first fiction work of intrigue, page one draws you into the characters. Most especially the main character, Nick Zetner. From then on, you race through a world of excitement, humor and love. The subtitle is Love and Intrigue in 1933 Chicago. True to it's name.

Illusion of Magic: The Plot, The History


The setting is Chicago in the era of the depression, gangsters and political turmoil. It's also an era that is ushering out live stage presentations in favor of the new world of Hollywood movies. Our hero Nick Zetner, known as the Amazing Mr. Z, is losing out. His magic show bookings have dwindled to nothing. The man is in need of some money.

In steps a dubious banker in need of a man who can quietly find and return some stolen photos. And pay well for success. Nick's mysterious adventure is off and running.

The setting of political turmoil in 1933 Chicago is a fascinating feature of the plot. Franklin D. Roosevelt is about to be inaugurated as president. When giving a speech in Miami, an assassination attempt is made on his life. Roosevelt is uninjured, but the beloved mayor of Chicago, Anton Cermak, is mortally wounded instead.

Little known bit of history here. At the time, Chicago had no procedure for replacing it's mayor! Ergo, tremendous political turmoil in the city. For 19 days after the shooting, Mayor Cermak lived. And this is where Nick finds himself as he searches for the stolen photos.

Author Rivard's Writing

Illusions of Magic

So lots of people write mysteries and stories of intrigue. It's Illusions of Magic author Rivard who writes fast paced. The man has a talent for not wasting words. It comes from a 25-year career as a technical writer, but he has translated it well. Rivard pulls you in to the story quickly, then never lets up as the plot takes twists and turns I never expected.

As the owner of the site, Mystery Book World Live, I've read thousands of mysteries. Very few have the style of writing as Illusions of Magic. Minus a wealth of flowery adjectives and adverbs, Rivard sets a pace from the beginning that continues to the end. Few first time authors can achieve that.

Illusions of Magic Review


Yes, I am a fan of mysteries of all varieties and I have some history myself of living in Chicago, so this story was a match from the beginning. But, it certainly exceeded my expectations. I was impressed from the start with the writing style and impressed further with the plot development.

An added feature is the author's illustrations. This is something we rarely see in fiction these days, other than children's books. Many of the characters Nick meets on his quest are illustrated for us to enjoy.

Author Rivard draws on his own artistic talent as well as his ability in sleight-of-hand to offer up an intriguing story. I found it to be a fast-paced novel worthy of my time to read it.

See more book reviews, including more mysteries, at ReviewThis! Book Reviews.


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Friday, January 13, 2017

A Shelter of Hope by Tracie Peterson - Book Reviewed

The Christian fiction book, Shelter of Hope is quite detailed as it walks us through Simone's troubled life as she survives an abusive father and finds a shelter of hope in the Harvey House.
There are times in everyone's life when we need a shelter and our home is most often our shelter.  However, in the book A Shelter of Hope, Simone needs a shelter from her home.  She endures regular beatings at her father's hands.  Since she had never known any other environment other than her horrendous home, she doesn't know where or how to find a shelter from the evil. When her mother tried to escape to get help, she was tracked down and murdered.  This knowledge completely trapped Simone.  She knew if she tried to run, she would also be murdered.

The book, A Shelter of Hope, was written by one of my favorite authors.  I doubt I would have stuck with the book beyond the first chapter if I didn't trust the author, Tracie Peterson, to deliver her child character.  A Shelter of Hope is a historical fiction set in the late 1800's in the backwoods, mountain country of Wyoming.  Because of the time period and seclusion of the family, it is easy to believe the horrific details of the book could actually take place.


Synopsis of "A Shelter of Hope"


 A Shelter of Hope (Westward Chronicles, Book 1)Simone Dumas had no hope of ever being rescued from her father's abuse.  Her mother was murdered when Simone was only ten and Simone felt abandoned by her mother, by love itself.  There were few women around and those women were just as powerless as Simone.  The men in the town only leered with lust at the now seventeen year old Simone.  She knew there was no one who was willing to help her escape the monster.  However, even Simone didn't know how very low that man, her father, was capable of going until he sold her, along with their home and property, to a stranger in town.  

Louis Dumas had decided it was time for him to unburden himself.  There were no longer many animals to trap in the area.  Supporting himself, his daughter, Simone, and their home was simply too hard for him now.  He wanted to go where he could take a new wife and earn an easier living.  He certainly wasn't beyond stealing that living either.  When Garvey Davis showed up in town with a lot of money, Louis saw his opportunity to rid himself of everything all at once.  He sold Davis his home, his property and his daughter.  Dumas assured Davis that Simone was a hard worker and would make a wonderful wife for him.  Louis took Davis out to his home, introduced Simone to Garvey and announced that he was leaving.  He told Simone that she had been sold to Garvey along with the rest of his property and would not be going with him.  Simone knew she had once again been abandoned by a parent.

When Davis tried to force his husband rights, Simone grabbed a nearby water pitcher and hit him in the head.  While Davis was unconscious, perhaps dead, Simone quickly gathered her few things, stole his horse and started riding away from the only home she had ever known.

She rode for weeks until she arrived in Laramie where she saw a train for the first time in her life.  When she discovered it could take her a lot further away, a lot faster, she sold Davis' horse and bought a ticket to Chicago.  Once in Chicago, she realized she needed a paying job.  After all, she needed a place to live, food to eat and clothes to wear.  She came across an employment ad to become a Harvey girl in the Harvey chain of restaurants along the railroad line.  She took a bath, bought a new outfit and went for an interview where she realized a name change would be necessary.  Jeffrey O'Donnell hired Simone "Irving" immediately without doing the normal background investigation.  She looked nice and he needed servers for the Harvey House immediately.  She left with him the next morning on a train bound for Topeka, Kansas and training to become a Harvey girl.

Back in Wyoming, Louis Dumas realized he had sold Simone way too cheap.  After all, he could have sold her many times over if he had only kept her.  He decided she could be his goldmine.  All he needed to do was take Simone back from Davis.

When Davis' body is found in the old Dumas home, Deputy Sheriff, Zack Matthews, embarks on a mission to hunt down Simone Dumas who he believed either murdered, or played a part in murdering, Garvey Davis.

Simone knows she is running for her life, but she doesn't realize that she is being chased by her own father and the law.


Conclusion

Please do not think I have given away the entire story in this review.  Because there are so many developed characters, and so much happens in the first part, it was necessary to give more of the plot background in this review then I would normally write.  I assure you, there is a lot more to this book, including a love story.  A Shelter of Hope is quite detailed as it walks us through Simone's troubled life as she, herself, finds a shelter of hope in the Harvey House.

The book also gives us a inside look at the struggle of the young woman to ever trust anyone, including God.  






Read More Book Reviews at
ReviewThisBooks.com




A Shelter of Hope Book Review Written by:
House of Sylvestermouse





Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Thursday, January 12, 2017

Review of Guide for Bird Watchers

Blue Jay in the Snow

Favorite Bird Guide

I have always loved to photograph birds, but only recently have I gotten really interested in identifying the birds in my backyard.  I have looked up birds online to try to find out what species of bird I have captured in my photos, but was never completely satisfied with my searches.  So my next step was to look for a paperback book that would fit my needs.  I found just what I needed in a delightful book by Jonathan Adererfer and Paul Hess National Geographic Backyard Guide to the Birds of North America.

 


Bird Identification

This delightful book has a detailed guide to 150 species of birds of North America.  The photo below is one example of a bird I identified from the book.  I knew the bird was some type of sparrow so I first looked up sparrows in the index of the book. This brought me to a series of pages with over ten different types of sparrows. As I looked through the photos  I narrowed it down to several that looked similar.  When I looked closer only one was exactly like my sparrow.  The white throat and small yellow spot above the eye were my biggest clues. Besides looking at the photos I read the identification section and checked the range to make sure this sparrow came to my area.  All of these things agreed so I concluded that this was a White-throated Sparrow.  The page on this sparrow also gave information on the food and nesting habits of the bird.


Here are two more birds I identified using the same general steps that I used above.  The first is a Tufted Tit Mouse, which I learned is native to my area of the country (mid-west).  I also learned it is a very vocal bird and that its' song is a loud peter-peter-peter, repeated over and over.
The next bird is a Carolina Wren. It is common in my area and I found out that it is the only wren that commonly feeds at feeders and suet feeders.  I have seen this bird often at our feeders.  I also learned that it is a year round resident.

Additional Features of the Book

In addition to the bird identification features I found several other sections of the book that were very interesting and helpful.
  • Basics of Bird Watching- this section gives you hints on where and when to watch for birds.  It talks about migratory birds and those that are year round residents.
  • Feeding Birds- this section gives hints on the types of feeders to use, where to place them and what food to put in the feeders to attract different birds.
  • Birdhouses- If you are wanting to place a bird house for your birds this section is a must read.
  • Bird-Friendly Yards-This is a great section that gives you hints on planting your yard to attract birds.
  • Birding Skills-If you want to increase your skills at watching and identifying birds this is the section for you.
  • Citizen Science- This section talks about the birding community and ways that you can help.  It also talks about keeping a birding journal.

Bird Journal

Here is a journal I have created using my photographs.  You can order it on Zazzle by clicking on the link below the photo.




Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

2017 An Amazing Year to Visit Canada! Come and Celebrate

https://pixabay.com/en/canada-day-flag-canadian-symbol-614290/

2017 Marks the 150th Birthday of Canada!  Let's Review some of the excitement and Parties that will be happening this Year!

January marks the beginning of the New Year for everyone, but in Canada,  it marks the beginning of our 150th Birthday celebrations,  that will be happening all over the country for the whole year.  If you have never made the journey north, I would like to suggest that this year would be a good one to jump on that bandwagon.

Vancouver, Toronto, and Ottawa are calling on everyone to make this year a delight for Canadians and for all those people that will be visiting us too!  Everywhere in Canada,  you will find reasons to celebrate with us. Even the small towns will have special events happening during this upcoming year!

July 1st is our National Holiday, and you can rest assured that it will be honored in full force this year.  If you are planning to be in Canada during that time, make sure your hotel accommodations are reserved well in advance.

Places like Jasper, Alberta,  offer some of the most beautiful vistas in the world.  Pristine lakes and mountains that will take your breath away.  Bring your camera to capture some of the most beautiful places in the world right here!  Summer nights are full of the Aurora Borealis, you don't have to go to Iceland for those.


Patricia Lake, Jasper Alberta
 (https://pixabay.com/en/patricia-lake-lake-reflection-1407958/)



Ottawa is Canada's Capital City, so understandably most of the partying will be happening right here.  Our Parliament Buildings and the surrounding areas will be dressed their best just for you to enjoy.  There are so many events happening throughout the year that I have included a link for your to check it out for yourselves. You can also book flights, hotels and more through that link!  Ottawa Tourism 150th Celebrations

Toronto is Ontario's Capital city and it will also be taking part in celebrations of the 150th Birthday of Canada. Toronto Party 2017

Montreal will party as well with many historic sites celebrating our Birthday.  Montreal is not only joining the celebration of 150 years in Canada, but also 375 years of being Montreal.  Rest assured there will be lots of parties happening here.  

For your reading pleasure, there is an article from McLeans' magazine on how you can celebrate Canada's 150 Birthday all over the country. If you are interested, in coming up for a visit, this would be a great place to start your planning.  To read the article just click on this link: How You Can Celebrate Canada's 150th!

Vancouver on the West Coast is also a hub of celebrations and you know you just have to come here for a visit.  Canada's geography is so diverse all across the nation, from the East to the West, there is no place like Canada.  To check out Vancouver's' party plans click on this link:  Vancouver Celebrations for 150th !

All of Canada's National Parks will waive their daily parking fees, so that anyone who wants to visit can. If you want to come up to camp on the Grounds of the National Parks, it would be best to reserve your spot and time, so that you are not disappointed. Parks Canada Reservations

For your convenience and ease of use, I have included a guide that covers all of Canada.  You may not do this traveling all at once, but with this guide, you can decide for yourself which areas you would like to start at.  One thing is certain, once you visit Canada and see how friendly the people are, you will come back again.  We welcome with open arms all of our friends south of the border!  Come on up to Canada for a visit, you won't be disappointed!


                                                             


This guide will help you travel by rail, but also offers city guides all across Canada. Hope to see you soon.

Happy 150th Birthday Canada!


Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Sea Bond Adhesive Wafers Reviewed

An Alternative To Adhesive Paste

denture
Denture image from pixabay.com
Let's discuss an alternative to your denture paste. Sea Bond adhesive wafers are a very nice option to help hold your dentures in place and to keep those small particles of food from getting trapped between your denture and gums. 

If you read the articles on this site regularly, you will know that last year I went through the process of getting an upper set of dentures. After the denture has been delivered there are certain products that you use on a daily basis and a good adhesive is one of them. 

In the beginning I used what my mother had always used, Polygrip. It worked just fine as far as keeping my denture in place but I really did not like dealing with the residue left on my gums when it was time to remove my denture for the night. I tried other pastes and they all seemed to leave that unpleasant rubbery residue. So, I looked at some other options and found what has been my current choice for a denture adhesive. 

These little wafers are so much easier to use! First of all at night there is no more fighting with any residue on my gums. If you have used the pastes, you know what I am talking about. It is almost the consistency of rubber cement and it is quite frankly gross. It is also difficult to remove from your gums. These Sea Bond wafers do not leave any residue on my gums and they are so easy to remove from the denture. Just peel it off and discard in the trash, rinse the denture and place in the denture bath.

How To Apply Sea Bond Adhesive Seals

When you open the package for the first time there are either 15 or 30 of the wafers in the box. The wafer is going to be too large (most probably) for your denture and mouth. Place the paper like seal on top of your denture and with a pair of scissors cut it to fit your denture. I use that first one as a template and go ahead and cut the others to the same size. It takes a few minutes but saves time the next morning when I am ready to apply a fresh one. 

After cutting a wafer to size, lay it on top of your denture and gently mist it (I use a spray bottle) while holding it in place with your finger and thumb. Once it is damp, press it gently to adhere to the denture. The "v" cut at the front will probably overlap a bit and that is just fine. Now, place it in your mouth and hold your teeth clamped for 5 or 10 seconds. Voila! You are good for the rest of the day! Another advantage to these adhesive wafers is that there is no oozing of paste into your mouth. 

I am so glad that I tried these adhesive wafers by Sea Bond and I doubt that I will ever go back to using a paste. These thin little seals do a fantastic job and do not leave that nasty rubbery stuff on my gums. If you happen to be a denture wearer like me, I can highly recommend switching to a wafer instead of the paste.



Note: The author may receive a commission from purchases made using links found in this article.


FOLLOW US ON:


The Review This Contributors

Cynthia SylvestermouseCynthia SylvestermouseDawn Rae BDawn Rae BMary Beth - mbgphotoMary Beth - mbgphotoBrite-IdeasBrite-IdeasBev OwensBev OwensWednesday ElfWednesday ElfBarbRadBarbRadOlivia MorrisOlivia MorrisRenaissanceWoman2010Renaissance
Woman2010
Lou16Lou16The Savvy AgeThe Savvy AgeTreasures by BrendaTreasures by BrendaMargaret SchindelMargaret SchindelBuckHawkBuckHawkDecoratingforEventsDecorating
forEvents
Heather426Heather426Coletta TeskeColetta TeskeMissMerFaeryMissMerFaeryMickie_GMickie_G

 

Review This is Dedicated to the Memory of Our Beloved Friend and Fellow Contributor
We may be apart, but You Are Not Forgotten

Susan DeppnerSusan Deppner